Twice in a Blue Moon
Sam Brandis was Tate Jones’s first: Her first love. Her first everything. Including her first heartbreak. During a whirlwind two-week vacation abroad, Sam and Tate fell for each other in only the way that first loves do: sharing all of their hopes, dreams, and deepest secrets along the way. Sam was the first, and only, person that Tate—the long-lost daughter of one of the world’s biggest film stars—ever revealed her identity to. So when it became clear her trust was misplaced, her world shattered for good. Fourteen years later, Tate, now an up-and-coming actress, only thinks about her first love every once in a blue moon. When she steps onto the set of her first big break, he’s the last person she expects to see. Yet here Sam is, the same charming, confident man she knew, but even more alluring than she remembered. Forced to confront the man who betrayed her, Tate must ask herself if it’s possible to do the wrong thing for the right reason… and whether “once in a lifetime” can come around twice. With Christina Lauren’s signature “beautifully written and remarkably compelling” (Sarah J. Maas, New York Times bestselling author) prose and perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner, Twice in a Blue Moon is an unforgettable and moving novel of young love and second chances.From the New York Times bestselling author of The Unhoneymooners and the “delectable, moving” (Entertainment Weekly) My Favorite Half-Night Stand comes a modern love story about what happens when your first love reenters your life when you least expect it…

Twice in a Blue Moon Details

TitleTwice in a Blue Moon
Author
ReleaseOct 22nd, 2019
PublisherGallery Books
ISBN-139781982135706
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary, Contemporary Romance, Adult, Fiction, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit, Adult Fiction, New Adult, Audiobook, Young Adult

Twice in a Blue Moon Review

  • Chaima ✨ شيماء
    January 1, 1970
    By now, most of you probably know how much I was excited to read this book. Well, I've read it and it wasn't...great. As you can imagine, this has taken quite a toll on me. Please respect my privacy during this very difficult time. Thank you.It pains me to say this but this was the pretty forgettable, and remarkably...unremarkable. It actually makes my love life seem more alluring in comparison and I don't even have a love life! I'm usually generous with my ratings when it comes to r By now, most of you probably know how much I was excited to read this book. Well, I've read it and it wasn't...great. As you can imagine, this has taken quite a toll on me. Please respect my privacy during this very difficult time. Thank you.It pains me to say this but this was the pretty forgettable, and remarkably...unremarkable. It actually makes my love life seem more alluring in comparison and I don't even have a love life! I'm usually generous with my ratings when it comes to romance. It's like, oh a love story that made me feel more than a seething, vaulted indifference? Made me also acutely aware of the lack of wooeing and romancing I'm experiencing right now? 5 stars! But this wasn't it.
    more
  • Melissa
    January 1, 1970
    “It’s so crazy to think that things that I thought only lived in my imagination can be real.”The one constant threaded throughout Christina Lauren’s body of work, chemistry-ridden love. From meet-cute to flirty banter and the intoxicating solidification of feelings, this dynamic writing duo delivers on what romance readers crave. Storylines that unfold through the thoughts, feelings, and vulnerabilities of an easy-to-adore cast, ready and willing to steal hearts.What’s noticeably absent this t “It’s so crazy to think that things that I thought only lived in my imagination can be real.”The one constant threaded throughout Christina Lauren’s body of work, chemistry-ridden love. From meet-cute to flirty banter and the intoxicating solidification of feelings, this dynamic writing duo delivers on what romance readers crave. Storylines that unfold through the thoughts, feelings, and vulnerabilities of an easy-to-adore cast, ready and willing to steal hearts.What’s noticeably absent this time around, the snark or quirkiness fans have come to adore. The heady mix of humor and romance present in some of the writing duo’s past releases, have felt akin to magic (ahem, the BEST to-date being Josh and Hazel). With that said, bliss often comes from setting aside preconceived notions or the desire for a previous experience to be emulated and fully succumbing to the journey at hand. Different doesn’t have to be a dirty word. After all, second chance love stories of this caliber only come along every once in a blue moon.On the precipice of college and freedom from the constraints of the small northern California town she calls home, Tate learns that sometimes the most life-altering things happen when we least expect it. By happenstance, while on a two-week trip to London with her grandmother, Tate meets Sam. A small-town guy from Vermont with plans to farm and a dream to write. Tate and Sam’s connection tempts fate, releases inhibitions and inspires that elusive L-word to linger. Even post-heartbreak and disappearing act. Fourteen long years after those impulsive London nights spent stargazing in the grass, Tate and Sam find their way back to one another. Not an ideal time for Tate, considering it’s on the set of the most demanding role of her acting career yet and the one chance she has to cement a connection with her Hollywood god of a father. Naturally, Tate’s feelings surrounding Sam are a confusing mix of disdain, assumptions, and to her complete and utter surprise, lust. I won't deny, I was a little less than enthused with the Hollywood aspect of the storyline initially. My tune changed quite a bit once the characters stepped foot on set and were ingrained in the process. The deeper meaning behind the script and what it managed to provoke from Tate and Sam worked to pull the entire story together. To reignite, and solidify, those deep feelings the lovers caught way back in London. While the two plots vary vastly, there are some notable similarities between Twice in a Blue Moon and Roomies. Both lack outright humor (of course, there are a few one-liners) and dual perspectives (this one is told solely through Tate’s eyes), but deliver leading couples that command the spotlight. In typical Christina Lauren fashion, devour-able writing meets intense connection, making a binge session imminent. *Thank you to Gallery Books for providing a review copy.
    more
  • jessica
    January 1, 1970
    the only thing wrong with this book is that its WAY TOO SHORT! oh, what i wouldnt give for another 100 pages of this. i honestly cant get enough of it - the romance of a second chance at love, the tender connection between tate and sam, the swoon-worthy motivation behind sams writing, the innocence of firsts and the desire to make them lasts, and the adoration for those who raised you - this story has it all. while i love christina laurens trademark snark and humour, i cant help for fall head ov the only thing wrong with this book is that its WAY TOO SHORT! oh, what i wouldnt give for another 100 pages of this. i honestly cant get enough of it - the romance of a second chance at love, the tender connection between tate and sam, the swoon-worthy motivation behind sams writing, the innocence of firsts and the desire to make them lasts, and the adoration for those who raised you - this story has it all. while i love christina laurens trademark snark and humour, i cant help for fall head over heels and love with their more serious stories. it makes both the heartwarming and the heartbreaking parts feel more real, and this story is no exception. this has literally checked all my boxes and i couldnt be happier that CL has done it again. ↠ 5 stars
    more
  • Meredith
    January 1, 1970
    The Magic Comes LateTwice in a Blue Moon is a second chance romance about first love, heartbreak, and betrayal. I am a huge CL fan. In no way shape or form is Twice in a Blue Moon Bad, it just lacked the magic of other CL books. The beginning reads like a YA novel. In the first part of the book, the reader is introduced to 18-year-old Tate and her grandmother who are in London for two weeks, While dining at a restaurant near their hotel, they meet 21-year-old Sam and his grandfathe The Magic Comes LateTwice in a Blue Moon is a second chance romance about first love, heartbreak, and betrayal. I am a huge CL fan. In no way shape or form is Twice in a Blue Moon Bad, it just lacked the magic of other CL books. The beginning reads like a YA novel. In the first part of the book, the reader is introduced to 18-year-old Tate and her grandmother who are in London for two weeks, While dining at a restaurant near their hotel, they meet 21-year-old Sam and his grandfather, Luther. Tate and Sam quickly fall in love. She confides in him her greatest secret only to have him betray her in the most awful way possible. Fast-forward 14 years: Tate, now a famous actress, is about to begin filming her next role. When she arrives on location to begin filming,, much to her surprise, she discovers Sam on set. She now must face the man who betrayed her.In some ways, Twice in a Blue Moon reminds me of my favorite CL novel Love and Other Words, but there are differences in narrative structure and plot line. In Love and Other Words, the tension between Elliot and Macy never waned, whereas with Tate and Sam it was lacking in intensity.Twice in a Blue Moon was my Hurricane Barry read. I was hoping to escape into the blissful world that CL oftentimes creates, but I wasn’t able to get completely pulled in. While I liked Tate and Sam during their younger years, I didn’t feel the love of your life chemistry that was supposed to have developed. It wasn’t until I was at the 95% mark that I finally felt the magic I should have been feeling from the beginning. The ending saved it for me. This is probably just a case of me and not the book--ignore my review and TIABM for yourself! I received an ARC of this book from NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Chelsea Humphrey
    January 1, 1970
    I'm kicking myself for not loving this as much as CL's previous novels. Perhaps it's just me? It's not a bad book by any means, it simply lacked the particular brand of charm I've come to adore when I pick up one of the duo's novels. The publisher stated ahead of time that Twice in a Blue Moon would have a different feel than their zany humorous vibe as of late, but it seemed still worth taking a chance on, and I'm glad I read this book. My main issues lie within my trouble connecting with the chara I'm kicking myself for not loving this as much as CL's previous novels. Perhaps it's just me? It's not a bad book by any means, it simply lacked the particular brand of charm I've come to adore when I pick up one of the duo's novels. The publisher stated ahead of time that Twice in a Blue Moon would have a different feel than their zany humorous vibe as of late, but it seemed still worth taking a chance on, and I'm glad I read this book. My main issues lie within my trouble connecting with the characters and not feeling that special spark until nearly the end of the story, but please take my opinions loosely and check out one of the many 5 star reviews before deciding for yourself whether this is the book for you. *Many thanks to the publisher for providing my review copy.
    more
  • Larry H
    January 1, 1970
    I wish I could bottle the feelings I experience when I'm reading a book by Christina Lauren. First there's anticipation, as I've now read eight of their books, and I just love the way they tell a story. Then there's excitement, as the main characters encounter one another and begin the awkward dance of attraction and emotion, tinged with the reluctance of acknowledging their feelings. Excitement gives way to complete emotional immersion, and I find myself rooting for the characters to find their I wish I could bottle the feelings I experience when I'm reading a book by Christina Lauren. First there's anticipation, as I've now read eight of their books, and I just love the way they tell a story. Then there's excitement, as the main characters encounter one another and begin the awkward dance of attraction and emotion, tinged with the reluctance of acknowledging their feelings. Excitement gives way to complete emotional immersion, and I find myself rooting for the characters to find their happily ever after. Then, of course, there's satisfaction, which quickly gives way to sadness...because I realize I'll have to wait at least six months for their next book! (Boy, am I fortunate they've been giving us two books a year lately!)Their newest book, Twice in a Blue Moon , has now become my favorite. There's a love story, of course, but it's coupled with complicated family issues and the added appeal of the entertainment world. It's ironic, too, that a book which in part takes place on a movie set is one of the books I'd most love to see adapted for the big or small screen!Tate Jones and her grandmother are on a trip to London to celebrate Tate's 18th birthday and her impending departure for college. Apart from the early days of her childhood, Tate has lived with her mother and grandmother in a small Northern California town, where everyone knows everyone and tourists are plentiful in season. She's always longed for more, but since she bears a secret that the world would die to know—she's the long-lost daughter of a famous film actor—she has always had to live life quietly.While Tate enjoys everything about London, early on in her trip she meets Sam Brandis, a handsome college student on a similar vacation with his grandfather, who raised him. Tate and Sam are drawn to each other immediately, and over the course of a few late nights spent talking (and more), they fall in love with each other. Tate gives Sam her heart, and at the same time, shares the secret of who her father is, and all of the facts and feelings she's kept hidden deep inside. Within a day or two, her truths are exposed for the world to see, and she never sees Sam again.Fourteen years later, Tate has made a name for herself as an actress. She's been lucky professionally, but romantically, not so much. She is set to make a movie with her father for the very first time, a movie she believes might change the course of her career, and perhaps the dynamics of her relationship with her father. And when she steps on to the set, one of the first people she sees is the one who betrayed her trust all those years ago, leaving her life and heart in turmoil. Twice in a Blue Moon is a story of whether love can withstand anything thrown in its path, and whether a second chance is really ever possible. It's a story of the complicated relationship between fathers and daughters, particularly when both are in a business where image is everything, as well as a story of the sacrifices parents are willing to make for their children. The book also explores the idea of whether there's really one true love out there for everyone, or whether you can find it in yourself to move on.Christina Lauren's books are always full of humor, emotion, steamy sex, chemistry, and an immense amount of heart, and Twice in a Blue Moon is no exception. Most importantly, though, the way they tell a story (Christina Lauren is the pen name for the collaboration of two writers who are best friends) is so compelling that I can never seem to tear myself away, even though I know I might be left without one of their books for a while.I can't recommend this or any of their other books enough. Love and Other Words was my favorite until now, mainly because, like this book, I tend to like love stories that have some emotional history to them. But every single one of their books that I've read have left me in awe of their talent and left me a little teary-eyed at the end.NetGalley and Gallery Books provided me an advance copy of this book in exchange for an unbiased review. Thanks for making it available! This book will be published October 22, 2019.See all of my reviews at itseithersadnessoreuphoria.blogspot.com.Check out my list of the best books I read in 2018 at https://itseithersadnessoreuphoria.blogspot.com/2019/01/the-best-books-i-read-in-2018.html. You can follow me on Instagram at https://www.instagram.com/the.bookishworld.of.yrralh/.
    more
  • Kaceey
    January 1, 1970
    3.5*I’m a newbie to the delightful, rom-com world of Christina Lauren, having only read three of their earlier works.So from what I've experienced in their past reads, I was hopeful for something heart-felt to keep me smiling throughout. But lets just say, this book had a very different feel to it.Tate and Sam have known each other since they were young. Traveling through Britain with their families. Tate, with her grandmother, and Sam with his dad. The two instantly hit it off. 3.5*I’m a newbie to the delightful, rom-com world of Christina Lauren, having only read three of their earlier works.So from what I've experienced in their past reads, I was hopeful for something heart-felt to keep me smiling throughout. But lets just say, this book had a very different feel to it.Tate and Sam have known each other since they were young. Traveling through Britain with their families. Tate, with her grandmother, and Sam with his dad. The two instantly hit it off. Sparks were flying! A whirlwind romance with all the brilliant stars in the sky that only a first love can present. But surely, all good things must come to an end.And leave it to the cosmic fates that fourteen years later, their two love-struck paths cross once again. Will the spark ignite once again? Is it possible to rekindle the magic of first love? But a bigger immediate question is...can betrayals of the past be forgiven? If you’re looking for the same chemistry that make their previous books unputdownable, be prepared. It’s a fun and charming read but it lacked the humor and heart I’d grown accustomed to.A buddy read with Susanne!Thank you to NetGalley, Gallery, Pocket Books and Christina Lauren for this ARC to read and review.
    more
  • Susanne Strong
    January 1, 1970
    3.25 Ho Hum Stars. Do you remember that moment when you met and got to know your first love? Those looks you exchanged, the heart stopping moments, the minute your breath caught and you got that that jittery feeling in your stomach that amounted to butterflies? I do.. it was a very long time ago but I remember it like it was yesterday. “Twice in a Blue Moon” by Christina Lauren almost made me remember what it felt like to fall in love...almost. Tate is eighteen years old when she and her grandmother take a twlove...almost. 3.25 Ho Hum Stars. Do you remember that moment when you met and got to know your first love? Those looks you exchanged, the heart stopping moments, the minute your breath caught and you got that that jittery feeling in your stomach that amounted to butterflies? I do.. it was a very long time ago but I remember it like it was yesterday. “Twice in a Blue Moon” by Christina Lauren almost made me remember what it felt like to fall in love...almost. Tate is eighteen years old when she and her grandmother take a two week trip of a lifetime to London. There, she meets twenty-one year old Sam. As soon as their eyes meet, it’s kismet. Sharing their most intimate hopes and dreams, they fall for each other. And then Sam does the unthinkable, he breaks her heart, in the most unbearable way.Fourteen years later, Tate is a movie star. She’s about to make it big. Working on a movie set, with her best friend Charlie and her absentee movie star father. This should be interesting! Unfortunately for Tate, it’s about to get even more interesting - in fact, it’s about to get real. As in really difficult. The screenwriter of this movie is none other than Sam, her first love. Will Tate face her fears or run far away from them? What could have been a sweet, romantic novel that made me connect with the characters, left me wanting. It wasn’t until I got to about 90% that I got that “feeling” where I almost remembered what it felt like to be young and in love. I had high hopes for this one but in the end think I was simply the wrong reader for this novel.This was another buddy read with Kaceey!!Thank you to NetGalley, Gallery, Pocket Books and Christina Lauren for an arc of this novel in exchange for an honest review. Published on Goodreads and NetGalley on 9.1.19.
    more
  • Tucker
    January 1, 1970
    Many thanks to Rachel at Gallery Books for sending me a copy in exchange for an honest review ”I want every wish he ever makes to be for this. A penny in a fountain. The first star. An eyelash. Eleven eleven. Just for one more time.” Dear god, this book fell flat on its face. We all know that I LOVED their recent novel, The Unhoneymooners. And so I was obviously disappointed when I ended up not enjoying this. It didn’t have any of the humor, romance or smut that The Unhoneymooners did. So, what’s this book about? When on a vacation in London,review Many thanks to Rachel at Gallery Books for sending me a copy in exchange for an honest review ”I want every wish he ever makes to be for this. A penny in a fountain. The first star. An eyelash. Eleven eleven. Just for one more time.” Dear god, this book fell flat on its face. We all know that I LOVED their recent novel, The Unhoneymooners. And so I was obviously disappointed when I ended up not enjoying this. It didn’t have any of the humor, romance or smut that The Unhoneymooners did. So, what’s this book about? When on a vacation in London, Tate Jones meets a charming young man named Sam Brandis. Over a few days, they become closer than friends (*cough*theyhavesex*cough*). But then, Sam betrays Tate by revealing her celebrity(ish) status to the media, breaking Tate’s heart. A decade later, Tate has embraced her celebrity lineage and is now a successful actress. When she joins a new project, she is horrified to find that Sam is working on it as well. She does her best to avoid him but troubled to find that she still has feelings for him. That may sound romantic and funny but it. is. not. Don’t get me wrong. I love the enemies-to-lovers trope in rom coms. It’s probably my favorite trope in the entire genre because it’s so easy to do well and is super funny and entertaining. In Twice In A Blue Moon, Sam and Tate’s relationship was not only underdeveloped but also annoying. With the ETL trope, there is always an underlying feeling of love or appreciation but Tate completely hated Sam with every fiber of her being. I also really didn’t like Sam or Tate. Tate felt like an exact copy of Olive from The Unhoneymooners but without any of the charm, wit or overall lovability. Sam wasn’t dislikable but I just couldn’t care about him. Sure, he was hot- Here’s what he looks like inside my head (your welcome):[Credit: Eric LeBlanc]-but I couldn’t find any reason to care about him. The only good characters were the side ones. Nana, for instance. ” I was having flashbacks to the time walked in on me and Jesse tangled on my bed, shirtless, and chased him out of the house with a spatula.” Or Charlie: ” Knocking back the rest of her drink, she eyes me shrewdly before reaching my hand and pulling me toward the door. ‘Follow me, young lady.’” See, that’s the humor I’m looking for in a Christina Lauren novel but the line from Nana was the ONLY line in the book that made me laugh. Even the sex fell short. Now, I know that Christina Lauren has been watering down their sex scenes lately, which is fine but I’ve seen raunchier stuff in YA books. Every time it felt as though the scene was getting pretty smutty, it ended. The only good aspect was the movie and filming parts. It was super interesting to get a behind the scenes look at the process of filming and how actors do what they do. Overall, I was extremely disappointed by this novel but I’m hoping and praying that it was a dud. A fluke. Their next one will be better. I’m sure. Bottom Line:2.5 StarsAge Rating: [ PG-13 ]Content Screening (Spoilers) - Educational (2/5) - [Behind the scenes on film, movies, and acting.] ~ Positive Messages (0/5) ~ Violence (0/0) ~ Langauge (3/5) - [F**k, sh*t, b*tch, d*mn] ~ Drinking/Drugs (3/5) - [Legal drinking]Trigger and Content Warning - Loss of loved one, social anxiety, racismReps: [NONE (they tried)]Cover: 3/5 ~ Characters: 2/5 ~ Plot: 2/5 Publication Date: October 22nd, 2019Publisher: Gallery BooksGenre: Romance/Comedy***********This was not funny. This was not sexy. This was not romantic. Christina Lauren, you have let me down***********To take away from the pain that is back-to-school season, I shall read a Christina Lauren novel***********It's crazy to think that a year ago, i didn't know who Christina Lauren was. now, i would trade a limb for their books.| Goodreads | Blog | Twitch | Pinterest | Reddit | Buy
    more
  • Heather K (dentist in my spare time)
    January 1, 1970
    I love my Kindle more than anything that I own, and I've even been known to snuggle it (yes, my husband also thinks that's weird), yet this book make me seriously debate throwing my Kindle across the room with rage. I hated this book so much. It's been a long time since I've felt this way about a (so-called) romance book. I want to state for the record that I'm a total Christina Lauren stan. I met them recently at a book con, and they couldn't have been lovelier, and but I wish I could go back in time and un(, I love my Kindle more than anything that I own, and I've even been known to snuggle it (yes, my husband also thinks that's weird), yet this book make me seriously debate throwing my Kindle across the room with rage. I hated this book so much. It's been a long time since I've felt this way about a (so-called) romance book. I want to state for the record that I'm a total Christina Lauren stan. I met them recently at a book con, and they couldn't have been lovelier, and but I wish I could go back in time and un-read this book. Twice in a Blue Moon starts off with a prolonged flashback, which, okay, I always hate, but I was willing to roll with it for the sake of these authors. But it felt so, SO juvenile. Just incredibly predictable and young, and not in an endearing way. So, the meat of the story had to be better, right? Absolutely not. My biggest issue, which can't be ignored, is the total lack of grovelling. I mean, what the hell, Christina Lauren?!? I know I'm a total sucker for grovel-porn, but in a book like this one, I need EXTRA grovelling. I need begging, pleading, nose-on-floor- style action. I got literally none of that. A few half-hearted apologies and a "I'm having a bad day, too" and that's all we get??? I DON'T FORGIVE HIM.To top it off, the story was very one-note, just ho-hum and predictable all the way through. I was hoping for some intense emotions, intense chemistry, but I didn't get any of that. In fact, I felt like the story was vaguely familiar (kind of Swear on This Life vibes), and the book felt very junior, not like an adult romance. Twice in a Blue Moon not only didn't engage me, it angered me (could you tell??), which just compounds my negative feelings about the story. Sadly, my least favorite Christina Lauren to date. *Copy provided in exchange for an honest review*goodreads|instagram|twitter|blog
    more
  • .
    January 1, 1970
    🌼review can be found on my blog! 🌼 do christina and lauren ever sleep?
  • Whitney Atkinson
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to Gallery Books for an advanced review copy! I'll be honest, whereas I was highly anticipating Christina Lauren's previous releases like The Unhoneymooners and Josh & Hazel, my excitement for this one was pretty low. Turns out, my hesitation had no grounds because I actually thought this was beautiful, soft, and had a lot of heart. I like that this book was told in a then-and-now format, but those sections are entirely separate rather than frequently jumping back and forth. It was almost like two stories in Thanks to Gallery Books for an advanced review copy! I'll be honest, whereas I was highly anticipating Christina Lauren's previous releases like The Unhoneymooners and Josh & Hazel, my excitement for this one was pretty low. Turns out, my hesitation had no grounds because I actually thought this was beautiful, soft, and had a lot of heart. I like that this book was told in a then-and-now format, but those sections are entirely separate rather than frequently jumping back and forth. It was almost like two stories in one where you got to see their relationship develop at each stage in their life, both written exceptionally well. I did prefer the first half of the novel just because it had a Just One Day vibe (and also I'm not a huge fan of books about the film industry, so the second half lost me a little). But the two halves flowed seamlessly and played off of one another. Even so, I feel like this book had an opportunity to be more than a second chance romance. The scope of it is HUGE with so many littler side plots, and I could see this book being so much more substantial if the authors hadn't only focused on the scenes where the two main characters were on page together. I know the authors intended to write this as a romance so I shouldn't be judging it as a different genre, but this book's conflict felt so surface level and basic compared to where I feel like this story could have gone in exploring character relationships deeper than just the main character and the love interest. It doesn't help that this book ended abruptly as soon as the relationship was sorted out and I wish we could have had some closure with the book's characters/plot lines other than the main relationship. This book is different from other Christina Lauren books in a way that I can't pinpoint, and in a way I also can't say if I like better or worse. It was enjoyable to read and CL's writing continues to evolve and grow more and more beautiful, but I didn't feel super attached to the main character. It's difficult for me to sum up this review in only a few paragraphs because I have a lot of little things to say about it. It was sweet, just not my favorite of theirs.
    more
  • Kim ~ It’s All About the Thrill
    January 1, 1970
    So I ............Loved it💕💕 Love at first sight? Well maybe. Tate can't help being swept off her feet when she meets a fellow American while on a trip to London. Tate has barely turned eighteen when she meets Sam who is twenty one. Tate finds herself completely enamored with him and he with her. Or so she thinks....until he screws her over!Fast forward fourteen years and alot and I mean alot has changed. Tate is no longer the naive little girl hanging out with Nana Jude. Tate i So I ............Loved it💕💕 Love at first sight? Well maybe. Tate can't help being swept off her feet when she meets a fellow American while on a trip to London. Tate has barely turned eighteen when she meets Sam who is twenty one. Tate finds herself completely enamored with him and he with her. Or so she thinks....until he screws her over!Fast forward fourteen years and alot and I mean alot has changed. Tate is no longer the naive little girl hanging out with Nana Jude. Tate is assertive, successful and famous. There is nobody that can bring Tate down...until "he" walks through the door. Sam can still bring her to her knees, even after he betrayed her.I loved, loved, loved this story. I am seeing alot of mixed reviews on this one. Put me down for the " I love this one team!" I have read two previous Christina Lauren books in the past and found them to be a little more silly and lighthearted. This one has a bit more depth to it in my opinion and personally I liked it more than the others. I enjoyed the others as well, but this one grasped me more and pulled me into the story more. I felt like I connected more with the characters and had empathy for them.I was soooo flipping angry at Sam I couldn't see straight. I wondered how on earth Tate would deal with her emotions if she ever saw him again. I could feel Tate's pain as she thought she had been used by Sam when she was head over heels in love.Fantastic, entertaining enduring story of young love, betrayal and finding yourself. I loved this story and can't wait for this duo's next one!!Thank you so much to Gallery Books for this ARC via Netgalley!
    more
  • Gabby
    January 1, 1970
    This was one of my most anticipated books of the year and I am so grateful to Gallery Books for sending me an ARC, but this book was not my jam.This should’ve been right up my alley because I love books that follow actors working on sets and the behind the scenes of Hollywood vibes - but this book was such a snooze fest. I couldn’t connect with these characters at all, and this book reminded me a lot of the only other Christina Lauren book I didn’t enjoy: Love And Other Words.This book start This was one of my most anticipated books of the year and I am so grateful to Gallery Books for sending me an ARC, but this book was not my jam.This should’ve been right up my alley because I love books that follow actors working on sets and the behind the scenes of Hollywood vibes - but this book was such a snooze fest. I couldn’t connect with these characters at all, and this book reminded me a lot of the only other Christina Lauren book I didn’t enjoy: Love And Other Words.This book starts with Tate and Sam when they are teenagers, and the first 120 pages feels like a YA novel as they fall in love within two weeks while on a trip in London. I was immediately bored because it felt very insta-love from the beginning, and I didn’t sign up to read a YA romance (this is the same problem I had with Love And Other Words - The YA sections take up way too much of the story and I lose interest.) Then after 120 pages we finally get the present day when Tate is a successful actress and Sam finds his way back into her life. And to be honest - I still didn’t care about these characters. I didn’t care about the movie set and the Twitter drama, and Tate’s complicated relationship with her super famous Dad. I love Christina Lauren’s writing so much, and I still think this book is beautifully written, but I didn’t give two shits about these characters sadly. I also realized something about my personal taste is that I usually don’t enjoy romance novels about first loves reconnecting. They just aren’t my jam. I’m still sad I didn’t love this book though because I really wanted to.
    more
  • ✨ A ✨
    January 1, 1970
    Another Christina Lauren book with the second chance at love trope?? Quick!!! Someone CALL THE AMBULANCE NOW 🚑🚑
  • Patty ~ Wrapped Up In Reading Book Blog
    January 1, 1970
    *****4.5 STARS*****{Netgalley ARC}He’s shaking, shaking under my palm at the back of his neck and my other hand pressed to his chest, feeling his heart under there. It’s like a treasure in a fortress, this heart. I wonder what it’s felt, how many times it's beat painfully enough to make him wonder whether he’s dying. He did that to me.Christina Lauren are one of my most beloved writing duos. I actually started reading them when their fan fiction version of ”BeaARC}He’s *****4.5 STARS*****{Netgalley ARC}He’s shaking, shaking under my palm at the back of his neck and my other hand pressed to his chest, feeling his heart under there. It’s like a treasure in a fortress, this heart. I wonder what it’s felt, how many times it's beat painfully enough to make him wonder whether he’s dying. He did that to me.Christina Lauren are one of my most beloved writing duos. I actually started reading them when their fan fiction version of ”Beautiful Bastard” was out in circulation. Basically, there isn’t anything that I wouldn’t read by them. ”TWICE IN A BLUE MOON” is a heart aching and angsty tale of first love, innocence lost, gut-wrenching betrayal, and second chances.While on a trip to London with her grandmother, Tate meets the gorgeous and charismatic Sam, who also happens to be on vacation with his grandfather. Tate has never had a connection in her past relationships the way that she does with Sam. Something draws her to him and she finds herself confessing her hopes, fears and deepest secrets to him. She even loses her virginity to him, but soon after, Sam breaks her heart and commits the ultimate betrayal that changes the trajectory of her life. Fourteen years later, Tate is one of Hollywood’s most popular actresses. She’s starting a new project that has Oscar-winning potential. She’s also about to have her world flipped on its axis when the screenwriter turns out to be Sam. Fourteen years have done little to ease the pain of her broken heart. Will this be her chance for closure? Can this be an opportunity to start over for Sam and Tate?Sam isn’t the only man who has let her down in the past. Her relationship with her Hollywood actor father has been non-existent since her parents divorced when she was a young girl. Her struggles with feelings of abandonment and the deep need for a connection with her father made my heart break for Tate.Here are my overall ratings:Hero: 4Heroine: 4Plot: 4.5Angst: 4.5Steam: 4Chemistry Between Hero & Heroine: 4.5”TWICE IN A BLUE MOON” will be available on October 22nd!Amazon: https://amzn.to/2YHyryQ
    more
  • Debra
    January 1, 1970
    A whirlwind vacation, a chance meeting, a first love, a first time trusting a stranger, a first heartbreak....During a trip to London with her grandmother, Tate meets Sam, a farm boy from Vermont who she falls for, he is the first person she confides her true identity - she is the long-lost daughter of a famous Hollywood actor. As their love/romance blooms, their vacations come to an end, but little did Tate know it would end with heartbreak.Fourteen years later, Tate is A whirlwind vacation, a chance meeting, a first love, a first time trusting a stranger, a first heartbreak....During a trip to London with her grandmother, Tate meets Sam, a farm boy from Vermont who she falls for, he is the first person she confides her true identity - she is the long-lost daughter of a famous Hollywood actor. As their love/romance blooms, their vacations come to an end, but little did Tate know it would end with heartbreak.Fourteen years later, Tate is a Hollywood actor herself and has the shock of her life when she runs into a blast from her past on set. Sam is just as handsome as she remembered, and she can't shake him. What happens when you make a decision for all the right reasons but still cause harm? I usually fall head over heels for Christina Lauren novels. They are fabulous ROM-com's that pack a punch and deliver on the feels. This one didn't grab me as much as their other books have. I still enjoyed this book and appreciate how the writing duo examined relationships - healthy ones, unhealthy ones, relationships between friends, between family members and the pain that comes when someone does not like up to your expectations. What happens when someone we love hurts us? What happens when someone who is supposed to love us doesn’t love us in a way we want, need or expect them to love us? How does one cope with betrayal, with heartache and forgiveness. Even with this book’s positive elements, I still did not go all in with this one. This was a good book that had me wanting more.Thank you to Gallery Pocket books and NetGalley who provided me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All the thoughts and opinions are my own.
    more
  • Hollis
    January 1, 1970
    It's happened. I've finally rated a CLo book two stars (we won't count BEAUTIFUL BASTARD in this tally because reasons).I don't really know where this trend of having a chunk, or even half, of a contemporary set in the past (aka making it YA) started but.. I don't want it, or like it. Is this because these books now qualify as women's fiction? Unsure. That said, if you want to write a YA romance, go for it. Flashbacks, fine. But not full, long, chapters of it. It's just not for me. L It's happened. I've finally rated a CLo book two stars (we won't count BEAUTIFUL BASTARD in this tally because reasons).I don't really know where this trend of having a chunk, or even half, of a contemporary set in the past (aka making it YA) started but.. I don't want it, or like it. Is this because these books now qualify as women's fiction? Unsure. That said, if you want to write a YA romance, go for it. Flashbacks, fine. But not full, long, chapters of it. It's just not for me. Likewise, and in a related vein, second-chance romances aren't my favourite. But I thought CLo could make it work for me. And sometimes it felt like it could've, like it was almost there but, overwhelmingly, it didn't.This story is about finding that one-true-love twice in a lifetime. And it's also about twice the betrayals.I didn't like the hero because, let's be honest, he only served a purpose to the plot and as result had no real personality besides muscles. I only liked the heroine when she was confronted with said hero after said betrayal, and after fourteen years of time passing, and let him have it. She stood up for herself, she addressed the elephant in the room, and I rooted for her (we were all rooting for you!). Every other time she was just.. fine, I guess. But her family was made up of mostly frustrating concepts, and while she did have one good friend, she didn't get half as much page time as she deserved — and that's probably because so much page time was given over to the script of the movie that took up the focus of the story. And the catalyst for getting these two leads back together.There just wasn't a lot to love here. Like many of CLo’s recent books, the heat factor is tame, they seem to only insert humour for every other release (so, this wasn't one that was funny), and nothing about it left any kind of impression. The whole thing felt kinda basic, pretty muted, and just.. standard.Like another recent release by another favourite author, I think I'm getting off this train. Or at least the ARC list. I'd much rather wait for reviews, and borrow from my library, then be posting early about my disappointment or not knowing if it's even one I’ll want to read in the end. ** I received an ARC from NetGalley and the publisher (thank you!) in exchange for an honest review. **---This review can also be found at A Take From Two Cities.
    more
  • Corina
    January 1, 1970
    It's a sign of my devotion to all things Christina Lauren that I'm nowadays going blind into their books. I don't need to read the blurb or know anything else except that it is a CL book. That's all I need to be excited and incredibly happy to start a new Christian Lauren book.Over the last two years I've become a huge fan of all things Christina Lauren. And even though I enjoy all of their novels, I have a weakness for their more serious, thoughtful and moving novels, like Love and It's a sign of my devotion to all things Christina Lauren that I'm nowadays going blind into their books. I don't need to read the blurb or know anything else except that it is a CL book. That's all I need to be excited and incredibly happy to start a new Christian Lauren book.Over the last two years I've become a huge fan of all things Christina Lauren. And even though I enjoy all of their novels, I have a weakness for their more serious, thoughtful and moving novels, like Love and Other Words.Twice in a Blue Moon very much reminded me of LAOW.I don't read second chance romances often enough to be an expert, but Tate and Sam's story was touching, moving and beautiful. They needed a second chance. It was like neither was able to move on without the other. Both of them already found THE ONE, now it was just a case of letting the past be the past and moving on! The circumstances might have been unfortunate but the endgame was already written in the stars.I love Hollywood inspired novels. It's like getting a glimpse of how it's done in Hollywood. Moreover I enjoyed all the movie related details about the set, the crew, the process.Although part of the story was mostly about Tate's journey, it didn't take away from the overall beautifully crafted love story between the two star-crossed lovers. Instead it allowed for a more deeply insight into Tate's life after the tumultuous event in London. The past and present collided in a very emotional, and heart tugging way. And I had a hard time putting the book down, which made going to work really inconvenient.With each CL book, it has become clearer, that their standalone novels are some of my favorites of all in this industry. I'm always looking forward to the next, excited to see what it will be about, because each one is unique, distinctive and compelling in its own way. Twice in a Blue Moon was no exception.The one thing I always lament about is the missing epilogue. The ending comes way too soon, I'm always unprepared and need just a little more time to say goodbye to my favorite characters.✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ ARC generously provided in exchange for an honest review.For more book recommendations, follow me on Instagram✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵
    more
  • Kendall
    January 1, 1970
    "I wanted to possess him and be possessed by him in a way that made me feel nearly wild" Isn't that the truth? When you fall in love nothing else matters and it's just you and that person that consumes you forever. There is just something that I crave about Christina Lauren novels and I always always love their novels. I don't think I've been disappointed once in the 4 books that I've read by them. From flirting to crazy love is what romance fans will crave in this one!I have been se "I wanted to possess him and be possessed by him in a way that made me feel nearly wild" Isn't that the truth? When you fall in love nothing else matters and it's just you and that person that consumes you forever. There is just something that I crave about Christina Lauren novels and I always always love their novels. I don't think I've been disappointed once in the 4 books that I've read by them. From flirting to crazy love is what romance fans will crave in this one!I have been seeing a lot of mediocre reviews for this one... which I do have to say the comical/quirkiness/sassy tone is missing from this one BUT this second chance romance story was oh so perfect in so many ways. Such an easy cast that will steal your heart multiple times! It's a refreshing outlook on the heartaches of love, romance, and second chances with a mix of Hollywood lifestyle. I devoured this book in a little over a day and cannot wait to read the next novel by this lovely duo!! <34.5 stars! Thank you so much to Netgalley and Gallery Publishing for the arc in exchange for an honest review.Published to GR: 9/23/19Publication date: 10/22/19
    more
  • Jayme
    January 1, 1970
    Almost a 4...(but not quite...3.5-3.75?) Believe it or not, I have not read a book by this duo before. I STARTED one, earlier this summer at the urging of friends, but found the dialogue of the characters to be crude and immature, and it was a DNF for me! 🤷🏻♀ I know!! The “humor” is what most readers like about these romances! Which is why, several devoted fans have been disappointed by this book. Since the publisher said that this book would have a “different feel” from the others...I decided t Almost a 4...(but not quite...3.5-3.75?) Believe it or not, I have not read a book by this duo before. I STARTED one, earlier this summer at the urging of friends, but found the dialogue of the characters to be crude and immature, and it was a DNF for me! 🤷🏻‍♀️ I know!! The “humor” is what most readers like about these romances! Which is why, several devoted fans have been disappointed by this book. Since the publisher said that this book would have a “different feel” from the others...I decided to give this one a try. It is a more serious romance. Not humorous at all, in fact. And, I liked it!! Tate and Sam meet while vacationing with their respective grandparents in Europe. He is her “first love” and the first person she reveals her true identity to. But her trust was misplaced. Fourteen years later, she is an up and coming actress, and is shocked when she walks onto the set, of the film, “Milkweed” and Sam is there. She has not seen or spoken to him since Europe. Forced to confront the man who betrayed her, she must ask herself the question: “ IS IT POSSIBLE TO DO THE WRONG THING FOR THE RIGHT REASON?” YOUR answer to this question may determine if you root for them in this story. I enjoyed the “movie set” and getting to know all of the characters. But, I cannot say that I was really rooting for Tate and Sam to reunite. It was a touching story of forgiveness, MUCH MORE so than a “once in a blue moon” romance to me. Let alone TWICE! I am okay with the ending , but would’ve been just as fine with another outcome...which is not supposed to be the case in a romance where “happily ever after” of your two lead characters is requisite. What is important though is that I was was fully engaged with the story and have no hesitation in recommending this book! Just go into it expecting something a bit different from their earlier work. I would like to thank Netgalley, Gallery, Pocket Books, and Christina Lauren for the digital ARC I received in exchange for a candid review! This title will be released on Oct. 22, 2019!
    more
  • Liv (Stories For Coffee)
    January 1, 1970
    *I was given a physical ARC of this novel from Book Expo in exchange for an honest review*Twice in a Blue Moon‘s Insta-Love wasn’t Compelling or EndearingFirst of all, Tate and Sam fall in love with each other within a week or so. I’m sorry, but I cannot take characters seriously when they say that they are meant for each other and love one another when they haven’t even exchanged phone numbers, yet. That alone made me question what I was getting into because I’m not a fan of insta-love and never/>Twice *I was given a physical ARC of this novel from Book Expo in exchange for an honest review*Twice in a Blue Moon‘s Insta-Love wasn’t Compelling or EndearingFirst of all, Tate and Sam fall in love with each other within a week or so. I’m sorry, but I cannot take characters seriously when they say that they are meant for each other and love one another when they haven’t even exchanged phone numbers, yet. That alone made me question what I was getting into because I’m not a fan of insta-love and never find the romance to be compelling enough for me to fall for the story or the “love” blossoming between two characters.I didn’t realize that this detail was mentioned in the synopsis before picking up the novel. I was hoping that it would have been less drastic than two characters confessing their love for one another during a two-week vacation to London, but alas… Then, after Sam betrays Tate’s trust, 14 years pas before they bump into each other again on the set of a movie. There, Tate states that she has “nostalgic feelings” for Sam, but, honestly, how can you feel nostalgic for a person you only knew for a week? I’d really love to know, Tate.One reason why I didn’t enjoy this novel was the fact that the love interest, Sam, doesn’t have a personality or any substance that would have made him a memorable character. The only intrigue he has is his grandmother and grandfather’s history which isn’t his story. He doesn’t have a personality of his own.What are his likes and dislikes? Who are his friends? What was it like being a teen in Vermont? How was college? Did he attend college? He and Tate meet when she was 18 and he was 21, and he never mentions what it was like growing up. How did he end up being a successful screenwriter? I had so many questions about Sam’s past and personality, but all that was delivered was a one-dimensional character without any real interests or intrigue.Due to Sam’s lackluster personality, that also affected his romance with Tate. Their romance is one of the least memorable romances that I’ve ever read. Both of these characters’ lack of personalities make it feel like two complete strangers suddenly saying that they love one another. They only share about three romantic moments with one another within the entire story. Other than that, it is mutual pining from a distance, so how can you say you love someone when you hardly know their likes, dislikes, quirks, etc.? In most romances, the protagonist and love interest have banter, flirtations, moments where they get to know one another, but in Twice in a Blue Moon it always felt as if Tate was longing for the idea of Sam, the guy she knew for literally seven days, rather than actually being near, now 32-year-old, Sam.Sam is always either in the background of the scenes Tate is filming on set, or he’s up-and-vanished when Tate needs him most (when the paparazzi hounds her for an exclusive about her personal life that is leaked to the press). Sam isn’t a present character, in my eyes, and I’ll be honest, I didn’t root for them as I read this book. How can you root for a couple that hardly has any romantic moments?Smaller Details that Annoyed me About Twice in a Blue MoonThe number of times Tate comments about how “big, large, muscular, etc.” Sam is is astounding. I get it; the boy is reminiscent of Tom Hardy, but constantly commenting about that or how much room he takes up in a space is exhausting. Think of something else to comment about. Tell us details of his facial expressions, his eyes, his body language, not just the fact that Sam lifted often. We barely got any descriptions about the character’s features or expressions. All we got was Sam is a big guy who probably towers over Tate. Cool, next. Next, for a book about Hollywood, we hardly see any details of Tate being an actress or how she even works to become an up-and-coming star. Sure, we see her moving onto set, filming one (1) scene, and then the wrap party, but that’s it. For a novel set primarily on a movie set, I wish we saw more details about being an actress and how much time, energy, and effort it takes to film a movie in a remote location.Along with that, the screenplay for the movie in the book is said to be profound and moving when it’s mostly basic dialogue with no actual uniqueness that makes it stand out from the rest of the book. The lines are choppy and simple, and it didn’t make me feel as though it was a moving script that Tate could have fallen in love with like she claims she did. Sam is said to be a deep and emotional writer, but what I got from the screenplay was a simple story that didn’t leave me awe-inspired by his work.I wish I had more fun with Twice in a Blue Moon, considering I previously loved Christina Lauren’s Beautiful Bastard series, but this really missed the mark for me. It felt rushed, basic, uninspired, and left me wondering if this is even considered a romance since both the protagonist and love interest only shared a few scenes together that could be counted as romantic moments.I miss Christina Lauren’s raw, gritty, sensual romances filled with steamy moments, flirtations, and characters who fall towards one another and share a romance that makes my heart flutter, but I guess they’ve moved towards simplistic, unmemorable stories that are a quick weekend read.READ MORE REVIEWS HERE https://storiesforcoffee.wordpress.com/
    more
  • may ❀
    January 1, 1970
    I’m 👏 so 👏 tired 👏 of 👏 being 👏 disappointed 👏 by 👏 my 👏 favs 👏See the problem I have with this book is that its supposed to be this whirlwind, vacation romance that goes wrong and then the characters reconnect years later in passion and anger and angst which sounds GREATbut the reality is, ITS SO DAMN FORGETTABLE So to start, we have our main character tate, who has this big identity secret that she’s hiding from the world (I won’t say bc I’m not a spoiler), going on a v I’m 👏 so 👏 tired 👏 of 👏 being 👏 disappointed 👏 by 👏 my 👏 favs 👏See the problem I have with this book is that its supposed to be this whirlwind, vacation romance that goes wrong and then the characters reconnect years later in passion and anger and angst which sounds GREATbut the reality is, ITS SO DAMN FORGETTABLE So to start, we have our main character tate, who has this big identity secret that she’s hiding from the world (I won’t say bc I’m not a spoiler), going on a vacation with her grandmother and there she meets nice boi sam and his grandfatherCute, cute, cute. They fall heavily into instalove and share lots of secrets and make lots of plans and then something BIG AND BAD happens and then poof, we’re taken into the futureAnd honestly up until that part I was very much focused on the story. The instalove was very present but I didn’t mind it bc the characters connected well and had lots of communication and IT WAS CUTE OKAY But oh my god I hated the ‘present’ set chapters In the present, the story heavily shifts to the characters on set of filming and SO MUCH OF THE STORY IS JUST THE SCRIPT OF THE MOVIE AND this is where I tell you, I DON’T CARE ABOUT THATI wanted the characters and theyre unlikely romance, I wanted to beautiful building of friendship that Christina Lauren is so famously known for, I wanted the witty dialogue and funny momentsBut it just felt like everything was rushed And after reading and LOVING the unhoneymooners, this feels like such a bust :/1.5 stars buddy read with marami
    more
  • Debbie Oliphant
    January 1, 1970
    I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.I'm a fan of this author's books and can usually devour a story in one sitting because i'm engaged immediately, but this took awhile to get there. I'm glad I finished the book as the ending was the best part.Sam and Tate meet while on vacation in London. Their chemestry is immediate and they wonder if their feelings are the real thing. After all, Tate is 18 and Sam is 21, but their feelings are intense and they enjoy the I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.I'm a fan of this author's books and can usually devour a story in one sitting because i'm engaged immediately, but this took awhile to get there. I'm glad I finished the book as the ending was the best part.Sam and Tate meet while on vacation in London. Their chemestry is immediate and they wonder if their feelings are the real thing. After all, Tate is 18 and Sam is 21, but their feelings are intense and they enjoy the time they have together with plans to see one another in the future. However, a betrayal is revealed that ends their relationship.Fourteen years later, Tate is a star on the rise as an actress and is starting a new film that could propel her status. Unbeknownst to her, she is reunited with Sam and the old feelings begin to surface again, beginning with the pain of their separation. They can no longer avoid one another and are forced to discuss the event that divided them and if there is any chance to move past that.I did like Tate and Sam's characters, however, there were so many supporting characters that did not add alot of value to the narration and they became a distraction. Good story, not the best.
    more
  • Kristy
    January 1, 1970
    Tate first fell in love on a trip to London, where she met the mysterious Sam Brandis. They shared all their deepest secrets and dreams together every night in their hotel's garden. It was a whirlwind, beautiful romance. Sam was the only person that Tate told her biggest secret: she is the daughter of one of Hollywood's biggest film stars. But their brief love story ended abruptly when Sam betrayed Tate, revealing her secret and outing her to the world. Now, fourteen years later, Tate is a famou Tate first fell in love on a trip to London, where she met the mysterious Sam Brandis. They shared all their deepest secrets and dreams together every night in their hotel's garden. It was a whirlwind, beautiful romance. Sam was the only person that Tate told her biggest secret: she is the daughter of one of Hollywood's biggest film stars. But their brief love story ended abruptly when Sam betrayed Tate, revealing her secret and outing her to the world. Now, fourteen years later, Tate is a famous actress herself. She's on set on her biggest project to date. The last person she's expecting to see is Sam Brandis. But here he is. Now Tate is forced to confront what happened fourteen years ago--and how it has affected her all these years later. "What would you do if you got a second chance with your first love?" Well, I was totally caught up in this captivating romance. I'm a real sucker for Hollywood drama, so this was right up my alley. The daughter of a Hollywood star, who abandoned her and her Mom after a messy divorce? Said daughter grows up and decides to be a film star after being outed by her first love? I'm so in. This Christina Lauren novel is told just from Tate's point of view, so we don't get some of the back-and-forth POV that we see in some of the duo's other books. There is more drama, less witty banter, than we might see in other books. But there's still plenty of the usual lies, longing, and misunderstandings. There are also lots of sexy moments and romantic interludes, too. Tate is a fun character; I liked the divide between young Tate and Sam and then cutting to them fourteen years later. Honestly, older Tate is a little clueless at times. It takes her a while to catch on to things that seem pretty obvious to the rest of us. As usual, some things are rather predictable and other moments are a bit overblown, but it didn't diminish my enjoyment of the book. While Sam and Tate might not have had a constant humorous dialogue going, I liked the seriousness that the book brought to their relationship, as well as the funny moments it dropped in too. Tate's family, friends, and co-stars add a lighthearted touch, too. Overall, this is a sweet, engaging romance. I loved the Hollywood aspect and the changing dynamic between Tate and Sam. 4 stars. I received a copy of this novel from Gallery Books and Netgalley in return for an honest review; it is available 10/22/2019. Goodreads ~ Twitter ~ Facebook ~ Google+
    more
  • Chris C - A Midlife Wife
    January 1, 1970
    My heart is so full... ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Last year I was excited to read The Un-honeymooners and enjoy their hilarious take on weddings and the guys you love to hate.Twice in a Blue Moon is different. A different style of writing. A different type of story than what we traditionally see from this team. This is not the rom-com we tend to see from them. But they still managed to get to my heart.This is the story of second chance love. A story of your first real My heart is so full... ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Last year I was excited to read The Un-honeymooners and enjoy their hilarious take on weddings and the guys you love to hate.Twice in a Blue Moon is different. A different style of writing. A different type of story than what we traditionally see from this team. This is not the rom-com we tend to see from them. But they still managed to get to my heart.This is the story of second chance love. A story of your first real love and the feelings that never go away. The story of betrayal, broken hearts, tender memories, and healing.This book has a great plot and is totally something we can all relate to. The duo once again showed their amazing capabilities with their craft to develop relate-able and likable characters that come alive in the pages. Intense feelings of all types will grab you and string you along for the ride.Christina Lauren has a place in my heart forever because of their fabulous storytelling abilities that will leave you desperate for more.(copy received for review consideration)full review- https://amidlifewife.com/twice-in-a-b...
    more
  • Wendy'sThoughts
    January 1, 1970
    5 Stay Up All Night Stars* * * * * Spoiler Free There are certain authors you change your day to day existence for...Every devoted reader knows from where I speak. When one of those precious authors drops a book, you will put everything aside, clear all the commitments, and figure out a way to be one with the book. Christina Lauren, this infamous writing duo under one name, is one of those authors for me. The timing was perfect, I was recovering from a nasty cold and had no real obligations. I started 5 Stay Up All Night Stars* * * * * Spoiler Free There are certain authors you change your day to day existence for...Every devoted reader knows from where I speak. When one of those precious authors drops a book, you will put everything aside, clear all the commitments, and figure out a way to be one with the book. Christina Lauren, this infamous writing duo under one name, is one of those authors for me. The timing was perfect, I was recovering from a nasty cold and had no real obligations. I started Twice in a Blue Moon with only the blurb and proceeded to go without sleep. When I saw the 4 o'clock hour turn into 5 A.M. I had to take a little break. Upon awakening, doing what was necessary, I was back at it again until I finished. I would do it all over again...This Book...New Discovery...First Love...Lost Love...Pain From Love and Betrayal...Confrontations...Reconnecting...Doubting...Knowing...And Loving Again...This Book...These Authors...Just a Wonder and Delight...This book will be the subject of many many reviews and will more than likely be on favorites of 2019. This is not hype or agenda driven. This is told to you by a reader who feels what these writers puts down on paper. Take the time, clear your day and enjoy this ride.A gifted copy was provided by author/publisher for an honest review. For more Reviews, Free E-books and Giveaways
    more
  • Melanie (mells_view)
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 I want every wish he ever makes to be for this. A penny in a fountain. The first star. An eyelash. Eleven eleven. Just for one more time.Twice in a Blue Moon was a good read from Christina Lauren. This book takes place in the past and present of our main characters lives. In the past Tate and Sam meet while each on a London vacation celebrating life milestones. Sam turning 21, and Tate turning 18 and preparing to start college. I loved this part of the story because you could honestly fe 3.5 I want every wish he ever makes to be for this. A penny in a fountain. The first star. An eyelash. Eleven eleven. Just for one more time.Twice in a Blue Moon was a good read from Christina Lauren. This book takes place in the past and present of our main characters lives. In the past Tate and Sam meet while each on a London vacation celebrating life milestones. Sam turning 21, and Tate turning 18 and preparing to start college. I loved this part of the story because you could honestly feel the sweet tingly excitement of first love that Tate was experiencing with Sam. This part of the story takes place over two weeks, but it was very easy to fall for and invest in these characters feelings for each other. I loved every pillowy soft, with a dash of angst, new adult minute of it.Then, comes the betrayal. Tate has a big secret that she shared with Sam. She’s the long time hidden away daughter of one of the most famous actors in the world, Ian Butler. While Sam has supported Tate on this subject during their time spent together, in the end he essentially rats her out to the press. Everything she thought about him has been stepped on by this betrayal. It was only two weeks, but she just KNEW she could trust him. Her first love ends with sudden and unexplained heartbreak. It takes the “unexpected people coming into your life and changing it forever” idea to the next level, because Sam changes the course of Tate’s life in so many ways.The next part of the story is a fast forward. Here is where things get a little tricky. The story essentially goes from a sweet new adult romance, to chick lit. Which there is nothing wrong with that at all! It was just simply less about romance and more about Tate’s journey from 18 and in love in London, to becoming a Hollywood starlet seemingly overnight, and then finally being cast in the role of a lifetime. A role that not only brings her a second chance at love, but allows her to have new eyes on her life in general.Don’t get me wrong I ENJOYED the story immensely. How Tate dealt with life through everything. Her relationships with men. Her relationships with her family and friends. The set and message of the movie and all that good stuff. Her second chance with Sam. It was a good read over all, but I will say that the romance aspect kind of let me down in the second half. It was almost not enough about it, and too easy once things start rolling. What I will say is that some of the additional characters were an absolute JOY to read. I wanted more and more of them. Some were frustrating as all get out, but that lends to the fact that it was just an outstanding cast of characters given to us by these authors.All in all this was a great read. If you’re looking for romance heavy, this may not be it, but if you’re looking for a young woman’s journey from first love to figuring out a successful and happy adult life, then Twice in a Blue Moon is where it’s at!Coming October 22nd!*ARC provided by NetGalley
    more
  • Shannon
    January 1, 1970
    Sad to say I didn’t love this one. Twice in a Blue Moon felt different from CL’s previous work. Im glad I read it, it was a fast read but I feel like it was missing something. Possibly the laughs that I’m used to getting while reading their books? Or the tiny bit of romance in this story? I’m not sure. 3⭐ Sad to say I didn’t love this one. Twice in a Blue Moon felt different from CL’s previous work. Im glad I read it, it was a fast read but I feel like it was missing something. Possibly the laughs that I’m used to getting while reading their books? Or the tiny bit of romance in this story? I’m not sure. 3⭐️
    more
  • Mlpmom (Book Reviewer)
    January 1, 1970
    I don't think I have tried a Christina Lauren book that I haven't either seriously liked or even been a little bit in love with but, every once in awhile I will come along one that really resonates with me for whatever reason. I can have nothing in common with the heroine and know nothing about her situation or world but yet...I feel connected to her. I get her. I understand her and most of all, I feel for her. Tate is one such character.I know nothing about being an actress or havin I don't think I have tried a Christina Lauren book that I haven't either seriously liked or even been a little bit in love with but, every once in awhile I will come along one that really resonates with me for whatever reason. I can have nothing in common with the heroine and know nothing about her situation or world but yet...I feel connected to her. I get her. I understand her and most of all, I feel for her. Tate is one such character.I know nothing about being an actress or having a famous father or even about her heartbreak but yet, I feel like I know her and she could very well be me simply because I just....get her. These two authors really do have an amazing ability to bring characters to life. Their situations and experiences to feel real and believable no matter how far fetched or out there they are from our own and for that reason alone, they are authors that you come back to time and time again. *ARC provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.*
    more
Write a review