The Look-Alike
From the New York Times bestselling author of The Other Girl and Justice for Sara comes a thrilling psychological drama about a woman who believes she escaped a brutal murder years ago—but does anyone else believe her?Sienna Scott grew up in the dark shadow of her mother’s paranoid delusions. Now, she's returned home to confront her past and the unsolved murder that altered the course of her life. In her mother’s shuttered house, an old fear that has haunted Sienna for years rears its ugly head —that it was she who had been the killer’s target that night. And now, with it, a new fear—that the killer not only intended to remedy his past mistake—he’s already begun. But are these fears any different from the ones that torment her mother?As the walls close in, the line between truth and lie, reality and delusion disintegrate. Has Sienna’s worst nightmare come true? Or will she unmask a killer and finally prove she may be her mother’s look-alike, but she’s not her clone?

The Look-Alike Details

TitleThe Look-Alike
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 28th, 2020
PublisherSt. Martin's Press
ISBN-139781250083678
Rating
GenreThriller, Mystery, Mystery Thriller, Fiction

The Look-Alike Review

  • Nilufer Ozmekik
    January 1, 1970
    Another interesting, fast-pacing thriller is centered on mother-daughter dysfunctional relationship and mental illness. Thrilling elements, intriguing, attention taker clues was like breadcrumbs spread around the pages push you harder follow and find them to solve the case. The author was completely genius of misleading. She definitely killed my spider senses and till the end I couldn’t get whodunit and she came behind sucker punched me at the end. Great job because as a born in the April Fool’ Another interesting, fast-pacing thriller is centered on mother-daughter dysfunctional relationship and mental illness. Thrilling elements, intriguing, attention taker clues was like breadcrumbs spread around the pages push you harder follow and find them to solve the case. The author was completely genius of misleading. She definitely killed my spider senses and till the end I couldn’t get whodunit and she came behind sucker punched me at the end. Great job because as a born in the April Fool’s day kind of person (not kind of actually, literally I was born on that day and I never forgive my parents for the pranks I’ve been enduring for years) I always tried to more cautious to catch the clues hid behind the lines but the author’s misdirection was impeccable. One more time I became the fool one! (At least I am not floating clown! Bite me Pennyweise)The characters were surprisingly fine and I didn’t feel itchy fingers to punch or slap them. Maybe I’m losing my touch or becoming sweeter or nicer person (The woman I screamed at today who was grabbing the last bottle of Chardonnay wouldn’t think the same but this is irrelevant! I’m still softhearted angel!)Sienna turned back to her childhood town, gathered the dark and broken pieces from her past and took care of her mother who suffered from mental illness. (I visualized her as Sissy Spacek. She would be a great paranoid mother) By the way a murder case related to her reopens. She’d found the corpse and she always thought the killer had been behind her, he had wrongly killed the other girl. As soon as she got back in town, she started getting suspicious phone calls. Maybe the killer learned she was back and he planned to finish what he had started. And look out the handsome neighbor who recently moved next door, acting like Sienna’s knight in shining armor. Yes : hottie boy next door alert! But is the neighbor trustworthy hottie or devil disguised behind angel face? Or does Sienna’s protective and goodhearted step brother have really good intentions about his sister or is he hiding something? Or could her mother’s paranoid thoughts be somewhat true? No spoils! Mouth zipped! Read it and get ready to be surprised! That book was not the best thriller I’ve read on this year because there is really serious competition. And there are many perfect examples I’ve read lately. But it is still great, heart throbbing, witty, gripping, fast reading. I didn’t get bored for a second.It earned my 3.5 stars rounded definitely and unquestionably up to 4 STARS!Special thanks to NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press to share this amazing ARC COPY in exchange my honest review!
    more
  • Mary Beth *Traveling Sister*
    January 1, 1970
    I freaking loved this book!Sienna has been living with her grandmother for ten years in London. When Sienna was a teenager she found a girl dead in the snow, when she was walking back to her dorm room. The girl was one of her classmates. Sienna thought she might of been the killers target that night since her classmate was wearing a white coat that was identical to hers. So that is why she moved to her grandmother's house. She then decides to move back home because her mother has been having I freaking loved this book!Sienna has been living with her grandmother for ten years in London. When Sienna was a teenager she found a girl dead in the snow, when she was walking back to her dorm room. The girl was one of her classmates. Sienna thought she might of been the killers target that night since her classmate was wearing a white coat that was identical to hers. So that is why she moved to her grandmother's house. She then decides to move back home because her mother has been having paranoid delusions, and she is always thinking people are after to harm her and her family. She has a mental illness. Sienna wants to take care of her because her mother had been in and out of treatment facilities. Sienna's biggest fear is that she will inherit her mother's mental illness. The case of the murdered classmate has never been solved and the case has been reopened when she returns home. She sees a white van that passes her house multiple times every day. Sienna starts feeling paranoid. This is the second book that I read by this author and I am becoming a big fan of this author. This book kept me captivated. I could not put this book down. I kept guessing and guessing who the murderer was. Every character seems to be untrustable. I didn't know who I could trust. Each time I guessed, I was wrong. I even guessed the killer at one point, but then changed my mind to someone else. When the killer was revealed, I wasn't surprised. This was not a predictable read for me. This is a fast paced read and is filled with suspense. The chapters were short and I kept telling myself one more chapter before I put the book down and would read a lot more chapters. I love short chapters and wish every that every book was written this way. This book was very well written.The characters were very well developed with a lot of unlikable characters. I really loved Sienna though which is a good thing because I have to at least love one of the characters. I also felt so sorry for Sienna's Mom and what she went through every day.I loved the twist at the end and I did not see it coming. I was on the edge of my seat reading this book.I want to thank the publisher, Macmillan for the free arc of The Look-Alike in exchange for an honest review.Available Now
    more
  • Dita
    January 1, 1970
    HAPPY PUBLICATION DAY!I haven't read any Erica Spindler thrillers in a few years but have always loved them. She deftly lobs red herrings and masterfully misdirects while delivering excellent characters.This book does a great job of sensitively illustrating the impact of mental illness on entire families but manages to weave it into the mystery and it doesn't drag down the story. It moves quickly, has many likable and unlikable characters, and resolves surprisingly and satisfactorily.I really HAPPY PUBLICATION DAY!I haven't read any Erica Spindler thrillers in a few years but have always loved them. She deftly lobs red herrings and masterfully misdirects while delivering excellent characters.This book does a great job of sensitively illustrating the impact of mental illness on entire families but manages to weave it into the mystery and it doesn't drag down the story. It moves quickly, has many likable and unlikable characters, and resolves surprisingly and satisfactorily.I really enjoyed it.Thank you to Erica Spindler, St. Martin's Press and NetGalley for giving me this ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Miranda Reads
    January 1, 1970
    "What time is it there?""Same time as it is in Tranquility Bluffs...I've come home." Sienna Scott spent the last ten years in England, escaping from a brutal murder and her paranoid mother.Ever since Sienna was born, her mother has had paranoid delusions regarding her daughter's safety. "You can't protect yourself from what you don't see. I see them, you don't. Your dad couldn't either, no matter how hard he tried." Ten years ago, Sienna was walking home from her college study group in the "What time is it there?""Same time as it is in Tranquility Bluffs...I've come home." Sienna Scott spent the last ten years in England, escaping from a brutal murder and her paranoid mother.Ever since Sienna was born, her mother has had paranoid delusions regarding her daughter's safety. "You can't protect yourself from what you don't see. I see them, you don't. Your dad couldn't either, no matter how hard he tried." Ten years ago, Sienna was walking home from her college study group in the middle of a blizzard and stumbles upon a girl's body. The horror of the body and the shock of so narrowly missing death sets off her mother in a way Sienna's never experienced before.And so she escapes to England, returning only now to take care of her mother - and possibly to achieving her dream of opening up a restaurant. But her mother is not in a good place. "You need to understand, Sienna. This isn't going away. She's never going to get better." and keeps insisting that there are people - horrible people - prepared to kill Sienna at the slightest provacation.And at first...Sienna dismisses it...but the more she thinks about it, the more she realizes that maybe (just maybe) her mother was right all along... I'm sorry, Sienna. The lid's off the box, I can't put it back on. It was great... but the ending threw me, and not entirely in a way I liked...There was quite a bit that I enjoyed about this book - Sienna's character was wonderfully fleshed out and her mother was really well done. In particular, I loved how Sienna treated her mother's illness as a part of her rather than a demon or a terrible all-consuming madness. There was always love between them - no matter the situation. The relationship between Sienna and her brother was a bit odd... and I mean other than calling each other "bro" and "sis" (if I'm being perfectly honest, I don't think I ever saw that outside of literature).Essentially, one of them does multiple unforgivable things - absolutely abhorrent - to the other. And the other one is just like, "it's cool sibling. I forgive you because I love you."Maybe it's because I have never had a brother, but I honestly cannot see anything happening like that could possibly warrant forgiveness so easily given... or given at all. I also adored how Spindler wove the mystery - piecing together the past and the present - as Sienna began piecing together the unsolved mystery.The only thing that threw me was the end. I don't want to give anything away, but suffice to say that the ending took me completely by surprise. But it was more like a..."Well...that came out of nowhere." rather than a, "ohmygosh. I never saw that coming." There just wasn't enough build or enough substance for me to really buy the ending.All in all, I really did enjoy the first 3/4 of the book.It was smart, fun and tense! A rather enjoyable read!I recieved a free ARC of The Look-Alike by Erica Spindler from Macmillan in exchange for an honest reviewAll quotes come from an uncorrected proof and are subject to change upon publicationYouTube | Blog | Instagram | Twitter | Snapchat @miranda.reads Happy Reading!
    more
  • Meredith
    January 1, 1970
    Meh.2.5 starsThe Look-Alike is a psychological thriller about a woman who stumbles across a murder victim. She comes to believe she was the intended victim, leading her to question her sanity.There are two look-alikes in this book: There is the murdered girl who was wearing the same coat as Sienna. And then there is Sienna’ mother to whom bears an uncanny resemblance. Because she was wearing the same coat as the murder victim, Sienna must have been the target. And since she looks like her Meh.2.5 starsThe Look-Alike is a psychological thriller about a woman who stumbles across a murder victim. She comes to believe she was the intended victim, leading her to question her sanity.There are two look-alikes in this book: There is the murdered girl who was wearing the same coat as Sienna. And then there is Sienna’ mother to whom bears an uncanny resemblance. Because she was wearing the same coat as the murder victim, Sienna must have been the target. And since she looks like her mother, she must have inherited her mother’s illness--this train of thought drove me crazy, as it oversimplifies the complexity of mental illness. There are additional reasons why Sienna believes she might have the same illness as her mother, but they are not fully explored.The Look-Alike is just not all that exciting. I figured out who the murderer was early on. I didn’t know their motive until later, which gave me something to read for. I found the writing, especially the dialogue, stilted. Additionally, I had some issues with Sienna’s character. She makes a lot of stupid choices, whines a lot, and is quite immature (her immaturity is intentional). Her romantic life plays a significant role and had me rolling my eyes. She sees what’s happening around her in black and white terms. Had her character been more dynamic or had she been an unreliable narrator, this book could have been much more interesting. The role of mental illness is the most interesting element of the Look-Alike, but Sienna’s character and the plot take away from what could have been a fascinating and impactful read. Overall, I would say this is an O.K. read, but it could have been so much more. I received a free copy of The Look-Alike from Macmillan in exchange for an honest review. After posting this review, they might never send me another book!
    more
  • Felicia
    January 1, 1970
    I read this book in one sitting. Or perhaps laying is the more accurate term. Or is it lying? Anyways, that's unheard of for me.You're probably saying to yourself ... "Self (that's you), she (that's me) must have reallyyyy loved this book." And you'd be right, however, there's absolutely no reason for me to have enjoyed this book. 1. It's written in third person. Yuck.2. I hated the characters. 3. Zero character development. 4. It's repetitive and doesn't really go anywhere. Like, ever.5. I read this book in one sitting. Or perhaps laying is the more accurate term. Or is it lying? Anyways, that's unheard of for me.You're probably saying to yourself ... "Self (that's you), she (that's me) must have reallyyyy loved this book." And you'd be right, however, there's absolutely no reason for me to have enjoyed this book. 1. It's written in third person. Yuck.2. I hated the characters. 3. Zero character development. 4. It's repetitive and doesn't really go anywhere. Like, ever.5. Insta-Love. 'Nuff said, amiright?6. The ending is cringeworthingly (I think I just made up a word) cliché.I couldn't put it down.Maybe the publisher put some sort of subliminal messages in the text like "You'll get a lifetime supply of Lindor Truffles if you like this book."So, there you have it. 4 Stars for the bookLess 1/2 Star for that endingRounded up because Lindor Truffles4 ⭐** I recieved an ARC and chocolate in exchange for an honest review. **
    more
  • Debra
    January 1, 1970
    2.5/2.75 starsOn a dark winter's night, Sienna Scott comes across a young woman who was just murdered. She soon begins to believe that she was the intended victim as that was the path, she always took home after her study group. Plus, the dead woman was wearing a coat that looked just like hers. Sienna's mother who suffers from Mental Illness, also believes her daughter was the intended target.After spending ten years living away from home, Sienna has returned to learn that the murder 2.5/2.75 starsOn a dark winter's night, Sienna Scott comes across a young woman who was just murdered. She soon begins to believe that she was the intended victim as that was the path, she always took home after her study group. Plus, the dead woman was wearing a coat that looked just like hers. Sienna's mother who suffers from Mental Illness, also believes her daughter was the intended target.After spending ten years living away from home, Sienna has returned to learn that the murder investigation has been re-opened and soon begins receiving phone calls telling her she was the intended victim. So, was she the intended victim? Is she being paranoid? Is someone toying with her? Will she ever learn the truth?This one fell a little flat for me. I figured out the killer right away but not the motive. I appreciated how the author tried to point the reader in other directions, but I just knew whodunit. Even when the motive was revealed, I just didn't care. This is not one I will think about or remember in months to come. I enjoy when books shock, surprise or trick me, this one did none of those things. I'm in the minority here, but this one just didn't live up to my high hopes for it. It won't keep me from reading this Author in the future, this one just wasn't for me.Thank you to St. Martin's Press and NetGalley who provided me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All the thoughts and opinions are my own.
    more
  • Paula
    January 1, 1970
    The Look-Alike is a psychological thriller about a mother and daughter relationship. Sienna Scott comes back from England after living with her grandmother for the past 10 years. She was sent away after finding a murder victim at her college years ago. Meanwhile, her mother has been diagnosed with a paranoid disorder that has left her unable to cope with the world.Sienna starts feeling paranoid herself when strange things start happening to her upon her return. Was she the target that was The Look-Alike is a psychological thriller about a mother and daughter relationship. Sienna Scott comes back from England after living with her grandmother for the past 10 years. She was sent away after finding a murder victim at her college years ago. Meanwhile, her mother has been diagnosed with a paranoid disorder that has left her unable to cope with the world.Sienna starts feeling paranoid herself when strange things start happening to her upon her return. Was she the target that was supposed to be murdered years ago and not the girl she discovered?I found the treatment of mental illness to be over simplified in the book. It is an easy read with simple dialogue and plot. Personally, I prefer my thrillers to have more intensity and could not get engaged.2.5 stars out of 5I received a free ARC of The Look-Alike by Erica Spindler from Macmillan in exchange for an honest review.Publication date - January 28, 2020
    more
  • marilyn
    January 1, 1970
    Chef, Sienna Scott, has grown up under the cloud of her mother's paranoid delusions and has spent her thirty years fearing that she also suffers from the same mental disorder as her mother. As an eighteen year old college student, she trips over the body of another girl, who is wearing a coat just like hers. As a murder investigation begins, Sienna fears that she was the intended stabbing victim and those fears, added to her mom's insistence that she was the intended victim, leads to her father Chef, Sienna Scott, has grown up under the cloud of her mother's paranoid delusions and has spent her thirty years fearing that she also suffers from the same mental disorder as her mother. As an eighteen year old college student, she trips over the body of another girl, who is wearing a coat just like hers. As a murder investigation begins, Sienna fears that she was the intended stabbing victim and those fears, added to her mom's insistence that she was the intended victim, leads to her father sending Sienna to London, to live with her grandmother. Ten years later, Sienna is back to make a career and life, in her hometown, ready to help care for her mom and move on from the past. But at the same time, the murder investigation is opening again and there are a slew of suspects and a ton of red herrings. Sienna is once again fighting against her mother's claim that she was the intended victim and her own belief that she was the intended victim and she is getting mysterious, threatening phone calls, claiming just that very thing. This story has a lot of things that I do not like. Insta-love, the main character doing very unwise things, a murderer that seemed way to obvious to me, and a clunky resolution, so many things left unsaid and unasked...the list goes on and on. At the same time, I could not put the book down. Even as I was rolling my eyes, I was enjoying the story. This was pure entertainment to me, no need to overthink things, just go with the flow and find out how it ends. Thank you to St. Martin's Press and NetGalley for this ARC.
    more
  • megs_bookrack
    January 1, 1970
    **2.5-stars rounded up**Ten years ago, Sienna Scott, stumbled across the body of a murdered girl. Sienna was leaving the library of her college and it turned out the dead girl was a classmate. Understandably traumatized by this event, Sienna has a hard time forgetting the incident. In fact, she has analyzed it so much, she thinks she was the actual target that night, not the poor dead girl.This coupled with some family issues, leads to Sienna getting shipped off to live with her Grandmother in **2.5-stars rounded up**Ten years ago, Sienna Scott, stumbled across the body of a murdered girl. Sienna was leaving the library of her college and it turned out the dead girl was a classmate. Understandably traumatized by this event, Sienna has a hard time forgetting the incident. In fact, she has analyzed it so much, she thinks she was the actual target that night, not the poor dead girl.This coupled with some family issues, leads to Sienna getting shipped off to live with her Grandmother in London, where she becomes a professional chef.Now upon returning to Tranquility Bluffs, a decade later, Sienna immediately begins to fixate again on the murder. They never caught the real killer after all. He could still be out there and after her.Sienna's mentally unstable mother is a huge part of this narrative. Her delusional disorder makes it close to impossible for her to be around Sienna, as Sienna's safety is one of her biggest triggers. I have to be honest and say, this whole dynamic made me super uncomfortable. Something about it just did not work for me.I would actually say, overall, the author's writing didn't work for me. There were entire aspects to the plot that drove me crazy. Number one being the relationship with the neighbor.There were a lot of red herrings and plot twists. At times, I felt myself sort of getting into it. Then something wonky would come up and it would kick me right out of the story again.I would put this in a middling to average category for Adult Thrillers. With this being said, there is a reader for every book and just because this didn't work for me personally, doesn't mean you won't love it!If the premise sounds interesting to you, give it a try. Don't let me sway you!Thank you so much to the publisher, Macmillan, for providing me with a copy of this to read and review. Even though this one wasn't necessarily for me, I still appreciate the opportunity so much!
    more
  • Michelle
    January 1, 1970
    It was only at the 10% mark before I thought to myself "This book sucks." It has been awhile since I've read dialogue this cheesy and repetitive. There is no way that I can endure this for another 300 pages. I'm out! No rating and will not be included in my reading challenge.
    more
  • Katie B
    January 1, 1970
    A book doesn't always have to be filled with twists and turns for it to be a good read. I enjoyed this one because I had so many theories floating around in my head as to who killed the young woman but I never knew for sure what happened until the author revealed everything at the end. It was definitely a page turner. If I hadn't had some real life stuff going on, this is the type of book I would normally have finished all in one day because I was so into it.Ten years ago when Sienna Scott was A book doesn't always have to be filled with twists and turns for it to be a good read. I enjoyed this one because I had so many theories floating around in my head as to who killed the young woman but I never knew for sure what happened until the author revealed everything at the end. It was definitely a page turner. If I hadn't had some real life stuff going on, this is the type of book I would normally have finished all in one day because I was so into it.Ten years ago when Sienna Scott was in college she found the body of a murdered classmate. The murder remains unsolved and given some similarities with the victim, Sienna has often wondered if she was killer's intended target. Her mother suffers from paranoid personality disorder and Sienna is worried she might inherit the same condition. After years away, Sienna is back in town and staying with her mother. She is determined to solve the murder but mysterious stuff keeps happening to her. What's going on? Is there a reason for Sienna to be afraid or is it just paranoia?This book belongs in several genre categories such as mystery, thriller, psychological thriller, etc.. But regardless of what you want to label it as, it's a good read. As I mentioned before, you aren't completely sure what's going on until the final chapters. You don't know if Sienna is a reliable narrator which adds to the confusion and there's a handful of suspects. The author doesn't lay down her cards until the end so the many directions the story could go in remain until everything is finally revealed. Some readers might feel the ending isn't anything special or exciting, and in some ways I can agree with that. This probably would have been a perfect, 5 star read had I been caught completely off guard with the ending. My 4 star rating indicates though I do consider this a very good book and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. I received a free copy of The Look-Alike by Erica Spindler from Macmillan in exchange for an honest review!
    more
  • Fran
    January 1, 1970
    Minutes past midnight. A blinding snowstorm. Sienna Scott leaves the college library after study group and follows her usual shortcut, an isolated cut-through, to return to her dorm. Losing her balance, falling near a dead girl in a white parka...blood everywhere in stark contrast to the white snow. "...odd, that Madison Robie and I were wearing the same coat...Our jackets. They were almost identical...Maybe it was supposed to be Sienna that was supposed to die?"Vivienne Scott, Sienna's mother Minutes past midnight. A blinding snowstorm. Sienna Scott leaves the college library after study group and follows her usual shortcut, an isolated cut-through, to return to her dorm. Losing her balance, falling near a dead girl in a white parka...blood everywhere in stark contrast to the white snow. "...odd, that Madison Robie and I were wearing the same coat...Our jackets. They were almost identical...Maybe it was supposed to be Sienna that was supposed to die?"Vivienne Scott, Sienna's mother suffered from persecutory delusional disorder. Viv was "...on guard all the time...see[s] the world and everyone in it, as dangerous." "I have enemies...And they'd love nothing better than to hurt me through Sienna."Sienna worries. Will a police inquiry into Madison's death set off a "full-blown paranoiac episode" for Viv? Is Sienna like her mother? Has she inherited her mental illness?Going on ten years, Sienna has been living in England with her grandmother. "One did not forget the unforgettable, but time and distance diminished its impact...Sienna had...spent all those years running away from who she might be instead of enjoying who she was. Years wasted on fear." She flies back to Tranquility Bluffs, Wisconsin to stay with her mother in her childhood home. Strange...the TBPD had recently reopened the cold murder case. Police Chief Thompson was set to retire in one year but was determined to solve the case. Sienna got entangled in the new investigation. Who dun it? Was it the new neighbor living directly across the street? He constantly looked out his window. Whose vehicle kept driving by? Was Sienna safe? Any one of a cast of characters could have committed the crime. Author Erica Spindler teases the reader by misleading and pointing to a potential murderer then changing direction. Who could be trusted? This reader was kept guessing. Great stuff!I received a free "The Look-Alike" by Erica Spindler from Macmillan in an exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Jasmine from How Useful It Is
    January 1, 1970
    This book has interesting ideas. The mental health on paranoid delusional is a new read for me. Going through life with constant worry that someone is out to get you is tough. At times I’m annoyed that it’s the focus of this book instead of the killer potentially killing the wrong girl and so it takes away the thrill. On the other hand, I do like how this delusional affect Sienna’s thinking. Anytime she thinks something is not right, she afraid to voice out because she doesn’t want people to This book has interesting ideas. The mental health on paranoid delusional is a new read for me. Going through life with constant worry that someone is out to get you is tough. At times I’m annoyed that it’s the focus of this book instead of the killer potentially killing the wrong girl and so it takes away the thrill. On the other hand, I do like how this delusional affect Sienna’s thinking. Anytime she thinks something is not right, she afraid to voice out because she doesn’t want people to think she’s crazy like her mom. I’m liking that I get to learn of different types of mental health from this book. There is suspense in this story because the present day deal with her mom and the past deal with police not yet catching the killer. I’m just not patience enough to wait. I prefer cliffhangers at the end of each chapter and there seems to be a couple with Jonathan about to tell Sienna something as she drift off to sleep and when she left the house unlocked and not noticing a car slowly drive by but there were no follow up on the next chapter. So most times I lose interest in the story.This book started with a prologue, told in the third person point of view following Sienna, 18. She got freaked out when she saw a dead body on her way back to her dorm. Then the story begins 10 years later with Sienna, 28, (somehow the story indicates she’s 29 going on 30) a chef, now coming back home from London. She looks like her mom who has mental health issues and growing up she afraid that she will be like her mom. The story switches back and forth, then and now, more now than then. Now the police reopen the case of the dead girl to find her killer. Back then, what’s freaky was that the dead girl had on the same winter jacket as Sienna was wearing because then a wrong girl could have been killed.The Look-Alike has the idea that makes me want to read. I used to want more details in stories but now I’m not so sure because this story is very detailed. An example is about Sienna turning on the car, “she let it run a few minutes, then backed out of the garage, down the drive, and into the street.” I never noticed step by step like this before. Because of the details, the read is slow going for my liking. I’m feeling so-so with Sienna. She seems to take precautions with one person but not the other. I guess nobody can fight off their hormones. That being said, I don’t like instalove. That man to man bicker between Randy and Jonathan is awesome. I do like that I couldn’t guess who the killer is. I also learned a lesson about siblings, to treat both children fairly and that the older one need as much love and protection as the younger one.***Disclaimer: Many thanks to St. Martins Press for the opportunity to read and review. Please be assured that my opinions are honest.xoxo,Jasmine at www.howusefulitis.wordpress.com for more details
    more
  • Thomas
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 stars rounded up to 4 stars.I enjoyed reading this psychological thriller. Sienna Scott returns home to fictional Tranquillity Bluffs, Wisconsin. She has been living in London, England, for 10 years. Her father sent her there after she was traumatized by the discovery of a murdered college classmate. Sienna is haunted by the possibility that she was the intended victim. Her father is dead and her mother suffers from persecution delusions. While dealing with the unsolved murder and her 3.5 stars rounded up to 4 stars.I enjoyed reading this psychological thriller. Sienna Scott returns home to fictional Tranquillity Bluffs, Wisconsin. She has been living in London, England, for 10 years. Her father sent her there after she was traumatized by the discovery of a murdered college classmate. Sienna is haunted by the possibility that she was the intended victim. Her father is dead and her mother suffers from persecution delusions. While dealing with the unsolved murder and her mother, she starts a romance with a mysterious neighbor. There are enough false clues that I wasn't sure who the killer was until near the end. The story was a little slow at times. Since there were only 2 deaths and no graphic violence, it would be ok for cozy mystery fans.One quote: "You're right, Mom. I don't see what you see. And I don't want to. I love you, but I can't live my life in fear." " For a long moment, her mother was quiet. When she finally spoke, the words broke Sienna 's heart. 'You can't live in fear. And I can't seem to live without it. "Thanks to Erica Spindler and St.Martin's Press for sending me this eARC through NetGalley.
    more
  • Madison Warner Fairbanks
    January 1, 1970
    The Look Alike by Erica SpindlerA who-dun-it thriller. Trying to guess who the killer was, was like bouncing around on a playground. Sure I had guesses but they kept changing as the book progressed. This book has a focus on mental illness and it’s impact on family. Overall a quick read, not to intense, but I didn’t want to read it home alone at night! What’s that noise? They say it’s a mental illness but could there really be someone there?The heroine make some stupid decisions that made me care The Look Alike by Erica SpindlerA who-dun-it thriller. Trying to guess who the killer was, was like bouncing around on a playground. Sure I had guesses but they kept changing as the book progressed. This book has a focus on mental illness and it’s impact on family. Overall a quick read, not to intense, but I didn’t want to read it home alone at night! What’s that noise? They say it’s a mental illness but could there really be someone there?The heroine make some stupid decisions that made me care less than I might have otherwise. I received a copy of this book from NetGalley.
    more
  • DJ Sakata
    January 1, 1970
    Favorite Quotes:Her mother released her and held her at arm’s length, studying her. It was like looking in a mirror, Sienna thought. One that bent time — herself thirty years from now.She found each step akin to another crank of a jack-in-the-box, and with each a growing anxiety for what was going to jump out at her.For a long moment, her mother was quiet. When she finally spoke, the words broke Sienna’s heart. “You can’t live in fear. And I can’t seem to live without it.”My Review:This was my Favorite Quotes:Her mother released her and held her at arm’s length, studying her. It was like looking in a mirror, Sienna thought. One that bent time — herself thirty years from now.She found each step akin to another crank of a jack-in-the-box, and with each a growing anxiety for what was going to jump out at her.For a long moment, her mother was quiet. When she finally spoke, the words broke Sienna’s heart. “You can’t live in fear. And I can’t seem to live without it.”My Review:This was my first exposure to the devious word-stylings of Erica Spindler and I chose an excellent start point, if I do say so myself ~ well, honestly, how else could anyone recognize my genius if I don’t point it out? I instantly fell into this diabolically and ingeniously crafted, tautly written, and brain itching tale of intrigue, murder, family drama, and card-carrying mental illness. I conjured and cast aside a bevy of questionable and brilliant theories, as everyone was suspect at one time or another. The writing was stellar and the storylines were maddeningly paced and cunningly crafted while cast with a wide assortment of curiously compelling and brain-tickling characters. Now that I have had a taste of her word voodoo, I am greedy for all of Ms. Spindler’s clever words. I was provided with a review copy of this wily written book by Macmillan Publishing.
    more
  • preoccupiedbybooks
    January 1, 1970
    An intense psychological thriller about an unsolved murder, mental illness and a mother/daughter whose dysfunctional relationship is affected by it all.(1/2 stars)Sienna, a chef, was sent away to live with her grandmother in London 10 years ago after a stumbling across a brutal murder. After growing up with a mother suffering from paranoid delusions that someone was after them, Sienna was plagued with thoughts that she was the intended victim. Now back in town, to reconnect with her mother and An intense psychological thriller about an unsolved murder, mental illness and a mother/daughter whose dysfunctional relationship is affected by it all.(⭐️⭐️1/2 stars)Sienna, a chef, was sent away to live with her grandmother in London 10 years ago after a stumbling across a brutal murder. After growing up with a mother suffering from paranoid delusions that someone was after them, Sienna was plagued with thoughts that she was the intended victim. Now back in town, to reconnect with her mother and brother, and to face her fears over the still unresolved murder, she starts getting suspicious calls, and starts to question the murder again. Was she the intended target? Or is she suffering from delusions like her mother?This story was told using a dual timeline, alternating between the present and 10 years ago, when the murder took place.I was really excited by the premise of this book, but it had a very slow start, and I didn't really feel engaged until about the 50% mark. I was reluctant to pick it up, and could only manage a few chapters at a time. It was almost a DNF for me! I think the third person narrative didn't really help here, as I felt quite disconnected to the characters. Around half way through, the pace picked up, it became more enjoyable, and I decided that I wanted to finish the book. Now I thought that the mental illness was used quite effectively here, because when Sienna's mother (Vivian) had delusions, I didn't know what was real or not. Vivian was actually a very well written character, and it felt disorientating to read about her. Her relationship with her daughter was extremely dysfunctional, not helped by the fact that they looked so alike.Unfortunately, I actually guessed who the killer was from very early on, and I felt that there were some really obvious clues, but there were plenty of red herrings along the way to make me doubt myself, which I liked. I wanted to read on to find out if I was right, or if there was a different ending.Sienna, the main character was very unlikeable. She was immature, and made really silly decisions like (view spoiler)[having unprotected sex with a stranger who seems to be watching her, and meeting shady characters by herself (hide spoiler)] I also thought her relationship with her brother was a bit...odd? Do people really call their brothers and sisters sis and bro in real life?! I've definitely never called or been called that by my siblings! Overall I found the characters to be a little bland and two dimensional.Whilst the plot was quite enjoyable, I found details like what Sienna's childhood, or the last ten years she spent in London a little vague, and just couldn't really visualise them. And details we were given like the murder, were repeated over and over, which was tiresome! Another thing that irked me was the use of the dreaded line "I let go of a breath I didn't know I was holding" three times!!(view spoiler)[The insta-love was pretty awful too! Love at first sight blah blah blah, but then zero chemistry with the love interest! I feel like the romance was thrown in just to have some romance in the book, not to further the plot, and it was a very unrealistic romance too. (hide spoiler)]The epilogue was so cringe, and I rolled my eyes so hard, that they almost fell out! I really dislike it when authors feel the need to tie up every loose end, and in this case it was unrealistic and a bit too sickly sweet.Overall, this felt a bit average to me. It was an okay read, but not one of my favourite thrillers.Many thanks to Edelweiss for making this e-arc available as a download!
    more
  • Linda
    January 1, 1970
    But then looks can be disceiving, can't they?The Look-Alike hones in on a mother/daughter relationship that has suffered from deep wounds throughout the years. Sienna Scott has a very similar reflection in the mirror to that of her mother, Viv. But that's where the similarity dies on the branch. Sienna has lived in London for the last ten years as a successful chef. She left her midwestern town of Tranquility Bluffs, Wisconsin at the insistence of her father. You see, while attending college But then looks can be disceiving, can't they?The Look-Alike hones in on a mother/daughter relationship that has suffered from deep wounds throughout the years. Sienna Scott has a very similar reflection in the mirror to that of her mother, Viv. But that's where the similarity dies on the branch. Sienna has lived in London for the last ten years as a successful chef. She left her midwestern town of Tranquility Bluffs, Wisconsin at the insistence of her father. You see, while attending college Sienna had come upon the bloodied dead body of one of her fellow students late one night. She'd taken a short-cut behind some of the buildings to get back to her dorm. Traumatized, London was the next destination for her.Mom Viv has suffered from multiple delusional episodes throughout the years especially after the death of Sienna's father. Viv, with a history of not taking her medications, feels that she is being spied upon at all hours. Sienna's half-brother, Brad, has tried to care for her. It's been a hit and miss situation.But Sienna decides to move back to her home town. She's even got her eye on buying a local restaurant. Normal living sounds about right. Doesn't seem to be in the cards for Sienna after all. And we'll soon become aware that the acorn doesn't fall far from the tree as Sienna starts to become paranoid herself. Is she becoming her mother after all?I kicked this one up from a 3.5 stars to 4 stars. While the story started off well, it soon became a bit predictable. Coincidences occur left and right and eyebrows just automatically go up. Returning home after ten years from big-time London to small town Wisconsin was a smidge of a stretch. But the writing is well done and the interest factor still sails in this one. I'd like to see Erica Spindler take on a more complex and quirky main character in the next one. A few trap doors here and there and a nice left hook would be just the right combo next time.I received a copy of The Look-Alike through NetGalley for an honest review. My thanks to St. Martin's Press and to Erica Spindler for the opportunity.
    more
  • Erin
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to Netgalley and St. Martin's Press for an e-arc in exchange for an honest review.After spending ten years exiled to London, Sienna Scott has returned to her hometown. With dreams of running her own restaurant, the young chef hopes to reunite with her mother and half brother. However, Sienna finds her beloved mother more than ever consumed by dark delusions and her brother, Brad, a local real estate agent, hostile and secretive. Added to her homecoming is the local police department's Thanks to Netgalley and St. Martin's Press for an e-arc in exchange for an honest review.After spending ten years exiled to London, Sienna Scott has returned to her hometown. With dreams of running her own restaurant, the young chef hopes to reunite with her mother and half brother. However, Sienna finds her beloved mother more than ever consumed by dark delusions and her brother, Brad, a local real estate agent, hostile and secretive. Added to her homecoming is the local police department's re-opening of an old cold case, the death of a young woman who bore startling similarities to Sienna. As Sienna tries to begin a new life, a series of terrifying phone calls tell Sienna that the killer is still out there and he isn't finished with her yet. I couldn't tear myself away from this suspense novel that felt a bit like a Mary Higgins Clark story. There were loads of suspects and I begin to worry that I was as delusional as Sienna. As the tension built, I was increasingly concerned that a white van might be driving around outside my apartment building. Overall, an excellent read that has me wanting to watch out for this author. Goodreads review published 23/01/20 Publication Date 28/01/20
    more
  • Julie (JuJu)
    January 1, 1970
    A romantic thriller that goes down the rabbit hole of mental illness...one of my favorite subjects.It was hard to rate this book and write the review. But I think it’s more about me and my timing, than the book itself. The mental illness element was the big draw for me. Reading about Viv’s paranoid delusions, and how her family members are the focus of her issues, was the highlight of the book. I was excited to get this ARC and my expectations were very high! It’s been several years since I’ve A romantic thriller that goes down the rabbit hole of mental illness...one of my favorite subjects.It was hard to rate this book and write the review. But I think it’s more about me and my timing, than the book itself. The mental illness element was the big draw for me. Reading about Viv’s paranoid delusions, and how her family members are the focus of her issues, was the highlight of the book. I was excited to get this ARC and my expectations were very high! It’s been several years since I’ve read this author and I’ve loved her previous work. I enjoyed this one, but not as much as I’d hoped. But I understand why her fans are drawn to her suspenseful stories, filled with romance and thrills. I try to stay away from romantic thrillers, but Ms. Spindler is one of the few author’s that I’ll read, even though I’ll have to plod through the wretched romance! The whole “love at first sight” isn’t my thing!!Thank you to NetGalley, St. Martin’s Press and Erica Spindler for this digital ARC, in exchange for my honest review!My Rating: 3.5 ⭐️’s (rounding down) Published: January 28th 2020 by St. Martin's PressPages: 320Recommend: Yes, if you don’t mind the “love at first sight” element.#TheLookAlike #NetGalley #RomanticThriller
    more
  • Erin Clemence
    January 1, 1970
    Special thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for a free, electronic ARC of this novel received in exchange for an honest review. Publication date: January 28, 2020.Sienna Scott has forever lived under the shadow of her mother’s mental illness; not only of the illness symptoms themselves but of the constant fear that she may one day suffer the same fate. After witnessing a murder, Sienna is sent away to live with a grandmother in London, to try and escape her past. After ten years living away Special thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for a free, electronic ARC of this novel received in exchange for an honest review. Publication date: January 28, 2020.Sienna Scott has forever lived under the shadow of her mother’s mental illness; not only of the illness symptoms themselves but of the constant fear that she may one day suffer the same fate. After witnessing a murder, Sienna is sent away to live with a grandmother in London, to try and escape her past. After ten years living away from home, Sienna returns to redevelop her relationship with her mother and try and move past the painful memories she tried to leave behind. However, when the murder she witnessed is re-opened, and family members close to her are being examined as possible suspects, Sienna begins to wonder if there have been some truth to mother’s delusions after all. This novel is unique and intriguing, depicting an honest yet horrible picture of living with mental illness, without being belittling or condescending. Both Sienna and her father live in a constant state of anxiety and worry, forever wary of when Sienna’s mother will have an episode, and tiptoeing around what they know to be triggers. That mixed with Sienna’s fear of the biological transference, and it is difficult to not sympathize with the Scott family, Vivienne (the mother) included. None of the characters in this novel can be trusted, and it is no wonder Viv trusts no one. Absolutely everyone Sienna is in contact with in this novel is keeping secrets, and none of them are who they claim to be. As the story unfolds, there are several characters throughout the novel who become a prime suspect to the reader; that being said, in the next chapter, a new character takes centre stage. Some are too obvious to be the culprit, some too vague, but the real ending of the novel is not completely unsurprising but still shocking enough to provide satisfaction. Right on par with Spindler’s other novel, The Other Girl (the only other novel I’ve read of hers to date), “The Look-Alike” features suspense, intrigue, and paranoia (both mental illness related and legitimate) and will definitely keep readers engaged right to the end.
    more
  • Bridgett
    January 1, 1970
    A decent little romantic thriller which focuses heavily on mental illness, and how it affects those we love most. This is my first Erica Spindler novel, and I was mostly satisfied. It was a quite different take on the thriller genre, which I appreciated. I'd say it's a little long-winded, as evidenced by the superfluous details throughout, but I was still absolutely engaged while reading.Told strictly from Sienna's point of view, she has just arrived back home after a decade overseas in London. A decent little romantic thriller which focuses heavily on mental illness, and how it affects those we love most. This is my first Erica Spindler novel, and I was mostly satisfied. It was a quite different take on the thriller genre, which I appreciated. I'd say it's a little long-winded, as evidenced by the superfluous details throughout, but I was still absolutely engaged while reading.Told strictly from Sienna's point of view, she has just arrived back home after a decade overseas in London. She's justifiably concerned about her mother's mental illness, and how their close proximity might affect her day-to-day life. Nevertheless, she's still happily making plans for her future in Tranquility Bluffs. That is until she discovers the local police force is reopening a homicide case from 10 years earlier...a case in which she was a key player. Thankfully, Sienna and the rest of the gang were all well-developed and interesting characters. Although the red herrings were quite good, I did manage to pick up a few clues which pointed to the killer almost immediately. For that reason, I deducted a star from my rating. While a few people may miss the clues, I doubt most will as they're glaringly obvious. Overall, I was a fan, and I definitely plan to read more of Ms. Spindler's books in the future. Recommended.3.5 stars rounded down**Many thanks to the publisher for my review copy.
    more
  • Linda Strong
    January 1, 1970
    Just because you're paranoid doesn't mean they aren't after you. Sienna Scott grew up with a mother suffering from paranoid delusions. Her mother always said 'someone' was after them ... she was afraid to leave her house ..and she was mostly afraid that whoever it was would try to hurt her family. While attending school, leaving the library one night, she literally falls across a young woman ... dead ... her jacket covered in blood. When Sienna realizes that the woman was wearing an identical Just because you're paranoid doesn't mean they aren't after you. Sienna Scott grew up with a mother suffering from paranoid delusions. Her mother always said 'someone' was after them ... she was afraid to leave her house ..and she was mostly afraid that whoever it was would try to hurt her family. While attending school, leaving the library one night, she literally falls across a young woman ... dead ... her jacket covered in blood. When Sienna realizes that the woman was wearing an identical coat to hers, she begins to believe that she had been the targeted victim and the woman just happened to be in the wrong place at the worng time.Her father ships Sienna off to London to live with her grandmother. He was terrified that his wife's mental illness was infecting his daughter.Ten years have passed and Sienna is returning home for the first time. Her father has died ... her brother has been taking care of Mom all these years ... Sienna decides it's time to confront her past and the unsolved murder from years ago.The fear is still with her .... that it was she who had been the killer’s target that night. And now, with it, a new fear—that the killer not only intended to remedy his past mistake—he’s already begun. But are these fears any different from the ones that torment her mother?This is an excellent psychological thriller, well written, full of surprises leading to an unexpected ending. The characters are finely drawn, flaws and all. Many thanks to the author / St Martin's Press / Netgalley / McMillan Readintg Insiders Group for the digital and physical copies of THE LOOK ALIKE. Read and reviewed voluntarily, opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.
    more
  • Lisa Leone-campbell
    January 1, 1970
    Sienna Scott has always been told she looks exactly like her mother. But when your mother has suffered from paranoid delusions all your life, it may not be exactly what you want to hear.As a college student, Sienna accidentally stumbled upon a dead body on campus. Clearly traumatized she tried to assist the police with everything she saw. But between her father’s attitude of her not getting involved and her mother’s paranoia, Sienna starts to unravel. It’s only when she realizes that she and the Sienna Scott has always been told she looks exactly like her mother. But when your mother has suffered from paranoid delusions all your life, it may not be exactly what you want to hear.As a college student, Sienna accidentally stumbled upon a dead body on campus. Clearly traumatized she tried to assist the police with everything she saw. But between her father’s attitude of her not getting involved and her mother’s paranoia, Sienna starts to unravel. It’s only when she realizes that she and the dead girl were wearing the same jacket that she begins to wonder if she had been the actual intended target. When she mentions this to her parents she is sent to live in London with her grandmother.Flashforward 10 years when Sienna, a chef now, decides to come back home and stay. With her father having passed, she chooses to live with her mother whose delusions seem to have gotten worse through the years and her paranoia even stronger.She finds out the Chief who was in charge of the school murder is retiring and he wants to reopen the case to see if he can give closure to the family as his last accomplishment.But what ends up happening is Sienna seems to be the target of someone, reopening her fears that she was actually the intended victim. Was it really her that the person was after? Or is she becoming her mother and developing a mental illness she has kept hidden through the years? She begins her own investigation into the truth.Scared and confused she turns to those who knew her then and to some she has recently met. But are they protectors or killers? How does she know? Or is she just being paranoid…like her mother!The Look-Alike is a terrific psychological thriller with a little romance thrown in which I must admit I had figured out at about page 100, oh yes, I am that good…WRONG! Spindler throws enough sneaky clues to lead you down one path, only for you to discover you have been led down a dead end!My thanks Goodreads and St. Martin's Press for the advanced copy.
    more
  • Darinda
    January 1, 1970
    Sienna Scott returns to her hometown after being gone for ten years. She left town soon after she found a dead body while walking across her college campus late at night. Sienna believed she may have been the intended target that night, but nobody gave her worries any thought. The killer was never found, so Sienna's fears were never confirmed nor denied. Coinciding with Sienna's return to town, the case into the murder is being reopened. Sienna fears she may be a target again.Sienna is an Sienna Scott returns to her hometown after being gone for ten years. She left town soon after she found a dead body while walking across her college campus late at night. Sienna believed she may have been the intended target that night, but nobody gave her worries any thought. The killer was never found, so Sienna's fears were never confirmed nor denied. Coinciding with Sienna's return to town, the case into the murder is being reopened. Sienna fears she may be a target again.Sienna is an intriguing character. Her mother suffers from paranoid delusions, and Sienna is afraid she may be like her mother. With a killer on the loose, Sienna may be a target, or it may have nothing to do with her. She doesn't want anyone thinking she's crazy, so she's not always forthcoming with her concerns and actions.An intense psychological thriller that kept me wanting to read more. Slow-burning, atmospheric, and suspenseful.I received a free ARC of The Look-Alike by Erica Spindler from Macmillan in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Kristy K
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 StarsI owe Spindler an apology. I went into this book expecting I wouldn’t like it. The last few mysteries I’ve read have disappointing me and for the first few chapters I was determined this would end the same. But Spindler’s writing is compelling; she draws you into the story and keeps your interest. I had an inkling of an idea who the murderer may be and even though I was correct, she did keep me guessing much of the time. I enjoyed how she kept the suspense of whether Sienna was being 3.5 StarsI owe Spindler an apology. I went into this book expecting I wouldn’t like it. The last few mysteries I’ve read have disappointing me and for the first few chapters I was determined this would end the same. But Spindler’s writing is compelling; she draws you into the story and keeps your interest. I had an inkling of an idea who the murderer may be and even though I was correct, she did keep me guessing much of the time. I enjoyed how she kept the suspense of whether Sienna was being paranoid or if what she sensed and believed was real. I was afraid that having Sienna’s mom have persecutory delusion disorder may be used as only a plot device, but it didn’t feel that way and I liked the dynamic between Sienna and her mom. The ending felt a little too tidy (I’m not a fan of the long killer monologues explaining everything) but overall a satisfying thriller. I received an advanced copy from the publisher in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Bam cooks the books ;-)
    January 1, 1970
    *3.5 stars rounded up. This is a nice, light, entertaining thriller with a little romance thrown in. Ten years ago, Sienna Scott stumbled over the body of a young woman who had been stabbed to death while returning to the dorm at midnight in the midst of a blinding snowstorm. The police never did find the killer and at some point, Sienna began to wonder if SHE was the intended victim because the two girls were wearing the same color coats. Because Sienna's mother suffers from persecutory *3.5 stars rounded up. This is a nice, light, entertaining thriller with a little romance thrown in. Ten years ago, Sienna Scott stumbled over the body of a young woman who had been stabbed to death while returning to the dorm at midnight in the midst of a blinding snowstorm. The police never did find the killer and at some point, Sienna began to wonder if SHE was the intended victim because the two girls were wearing the same color coats. Because Sienna's mother suffers from persecutory delusional disorder, her family began to worry that Sienna herself was showing signs of the disorder with this kind of thinking, and she was sent to live with her paternal grandmother in London. Now she's come back home to Wisconsin unannounced and is surprised to learn the cold murder case has been reopened after ten years. Once again Sienna wonders if she was the intended victim, especially when she begins to get anonymous phone calls telling her she was right all along...Sienna is an interesting character. There are two aspects to the 'look-alike' of the title of this story: One, that she looks so much like the murder victim; and the other, that she looks so much like her mother. But does that mean that she will also develop the same mental disorder? Sienna seems a little immature for her age--perhaps because she's been coddled all her life, the adored family 'princess.' Now at nearly 30, she finds she has a lot to deal with when she moves back in with her widowed mother whose attacks of paranoia seem so much worse than Sienna remembers, especially when her mother refuses to take her meds. Sienna needs to prove to herself and the rest of the town that she is not her mother's clone. As the saying goes, you are not paranoid if someone is really out to get you. As Sienna begins to feel her life is once again in danger, she tries to sort through her memories and the clues of the old murder case to see if she can solve it herself. She needs help but whom can she trust? The handsome new neighbor across the street? Her half-brother who has been dealing with his stepmother since the death of their father? The campus cop who came to her rescue on that horrible night ten years ago? Erica Spindler throws enough red-herrings into the plot to keep the reader guessing till the exciting conclusion. I received an arc of this new thriller from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Many thanks.
    more
  • J.T.
    January 1, 1970
    Great whodunnit!
  • Rose
    January 1, 1970
    A thank you to NetGalley and St. Martin's Press for an advanced copy of The Look-Alike by author Erica Spindler, for my honest reviewI must say that this was a tough read for me, a book that just was not for meI had found it interesting at the beginning, but as the story moved along I just struggled getting through it and became quickly boredI found that I cold not get into the characters, or storyline either. I just wanted to finish and get on to reading other books that I would enjoy more
    more
Write a review