Little Secrets
From the author of Jar of Hearts, a mother driven to the edge by the disappearance of her son learns her husband is having an affair with the woman who might have kidnapped him.Four hundred and eighty seconds. That’s how long it took for someone to steal Marin Machado's four-year-old son.Marin had the perfect life. Married to her college sweetheart, she owns a chain of upscale hair salons, and Derek runs his own company. They're admired in their community and are a loving family. Up until the day Sebastian is taken.A year later, Marin is a shadow of herself. The FBI search has gone cold. The publicity has faded. She and her husband rarely speak. The only thing keeping her going is the unlikely chance that one day Sebastian reappears. She hires a P.I. to pick up where the police left off, but instead of finding him, she discovers that Derek is having an affair with a younger woman.Kenzie Li is an artist and grad student—Instagram famous—and up to her eyeballs in debt. She knows Derek is married. She also knows he's rich, and dating him comes with perks: help with bills, trips away, expensive gifts. He isn't her first rich boyfriend, but she finds herself hoping he'll be the last. She's falling for him—and that was never part of the plan.Discovery of the affair sparks Marin back to life. She's lost her son; she's not about to lose her husband, too. Kenzie is an enemy with a face, which means this is a problem Marin can fix. But as she sets a plan in motion, another revelation surfaces. Derek's lover might know what happened to their son. And so might Derek.

Little Secrets Details

TitleLittle Secrets
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseApr 21st, 2020
PublisherMinotaur Books
ISBN-139781250154224
Rating
GenreThriller, Mystery, Mystery Thriller

Little Secrets Review

  • Nilufer Ozmekik
    January 1, 1970
    This is one of my fastest read I’ve lately done because this soul haunting, gripping, mend nerving, page turner truly captivates you from the beginning. You get hooked. You cannot resume doing your basic things like watching TV (thankfully I finished this one before binge watch Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, because reading this book or binge watching one of my favorite series may force me to invent a new activity like binge reawatching- read one page, look at the tv for one minute and repeat this This is one of my fastest read I’ve lately done because this soul haunting, gripping, mend nerving, page turner truly captivates you from the beginning. You get hooked. You cannot resume doing your basic things like watching TV (thankfully I finished this one before binge watch Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, because reading this book or binge watching one of my favorite series may force me to invent a new activity like binge reawatching- read one page, look at the tv for one minute and repeat this action several times- till you start to think your favorite stand up star lost her son and deals with her cheating husband,- see how two storylines merged perfectly- well at least both Mrs. Maisel and Marin suffers the same kind of assholish husband’s betrayals. ), eating proper food (I bribed my husband to feed me but he backstabbed me and ate whole pizza by himself, I hope he gains 100 pounds and I’ll reject to push him out of the door!), taking bathroom breaks (adult diapers are the best invention of the history, what, you said: there is no such a thing as adult diapers! Okay this is humiliating! I’ll kill those so called best friends who notoriously pranked me so bad!) I went back and forth between 4 and 5 stars. Writing, pacing, story-building, ending, twists and surprises (some of them could be foreseen but they were still amazing) are intriguingly stunning and excitingly gripping. But I hate most of the characters. The husband, the mistress, even the shady best friend! Marin is probably my favorite even though she is pretentious, self- destructive, unpredictable and inconsistent but I didn’t care about her flaws, the mistakes she makes over and over again which makes her more human and connectable character. She can be considered mean and unfair for using her best friend and ex-lover Sal as a shield to protect herself not to feel unwanted and undesired but Sal never seemed like a great and trustworthy personality to be chosen as a future husband figure. Her son has been kidnapped and her husband douchebag Derek is having an affair ( he should get a statue because he also cheated her when she was pregnant so I don’t know which one made me pissed off more, the cheater or accepter of his wrongdoings!) with a 24 year old art student and here’s the big blow: this girl could have involved with the people who had kidnapped her son! Did I get your attention? I think the blurb of the book gave too much information about the mystery but thankfully they hid the most delicious and mind blowing revelation! McKenzie is the another woman ( let’s say, the other girl!) and it’s so normal to detest every particle of her. But the reason I hate the guts and have an urge to rip her eyes out, when I read her story, I couldn’t find anything concrete to feel sympathy or empathize her. She knows exactly she’s doing something so terrible but she kept doing it for years like a parasite to suck people’s blood to have a better living. The part Marin visited McKenzie’s coffee to see her own enemy, I couldn’t decide to appraise her or scream at her face when she wanted to cut the girl’s head off, she kept calm and said nothing. ( she might be aquarius woman because an Aries woman like me throws the hot coffee at pink bleached haired homewrecker’s face and shove the cookie to her… okay you may imagine the rest of it!) So Marin hardly functions after her child’s loss and committed suicide before, seeing a therapist and joining a grief club at a donut place with group of people she normally never considers to engage if it isn’t for their common grief and shared experiences. And now she is about to lose her husband, too. But will she let the other woman take him away from her? Hell, no! So take a seat, grab the book and start devouring the pages with full excitement because the book is getting so much better. Overall: even though I wanted to hire contract killers from other books (yes, my shrink told me this is literally impossible and consciously it’s really mean thing to think about) to torture viciously some of those despicable characters, I’m rounding up 4.5 stars to 5 because I had really great time when I’m reading it.Thankfully I also have “Jar of Hearts” on my reading list now so I’m looking forward to get my hands on it, too.Special thanks to NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press/Minotaur Books for sharing this one of the most promising 2020 thriller’s ARC COPY with me in exchange my honest review.
    more
  • Dita
    January 1, 1970
    5 STARS! EVERY STAR!This is the best book I have read in a long time and I've read about 300 books this year. Do yourself a favor and read as little about it as possible before diving in.This is not one to miss, I predict it will be all anyone in the book world is talking about in April 2020!Thank you to Jennifer Hillier, Minotaur Books and NetGalley for giving me this ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Kim ~ It’s All About the Thrill
    January 1, 1970
    This was so damn good! I will admit, I went into this blind, didn't read reviews, the blurb, nothing. I just saw that it was the author of one of my top reads last year ( Jar of Hearts) and I grabbed it as quick as I could. So I was a bit surprised that it was a story about a child abduction. I almost sighed because there have been so many of those lately...but don't you worry, this is a completely unique thriller and you will not be doing any sighing! As if a child missing is not enough, there This was so damn good! I will admit, I went into this blind, didn't read reviews, the blurb, nothing. I just saw that it was the author of one of my top reads last year ( Jar of Hearts) and I grabbed it as quick as I could. So I was a bit surprised that it was a story about a child abduction. I almost sighed because there have been so many of those lately...but don't you worry, this is a completely unique thriller and you will not be doing any sighing! As if a child missing is not enough, there is plenty more going on in the life of Marin and Derek! First off the title is perfect! Little secrets like BIG secrets! These people all have secrets! We are not talking about I went out and bought a sweater and shoes I don't need and hid them at the back of my closet secrets. We are talking about...you are going to jail for a long time secrets- if you are caught! I loved Marin Machado- she is a successful salon owner that literally had it all. Her salon was so high end that she was featured in magazines due to her many celebrity clients. Her husband Derek is a successful businessman and they have a gorgeous 4 year old son named Sebastian...."all it took was a lollipop, a santa suit and 4 minutes," for her entire world to be turned upside down. I really felt for Marin because even though she had it all, she has so many insecurities that it made her feel real to me. She could put on a big front but inside she didn't feel glamorous and successful. A single minute of paying more attention to her phone than her 4 year old and she is going to pay...maybe forever. Can you imagine the guilt?!Then there is Kenzie- ughhhhhhh- 20 something, barista, art student that lives out her life on Instagram. Including the time she put pictures of herself with her feet propped up on the dash of Marin's husbands Maserati.......girlfriend it is GAME ON...Don't screw with a this wronged mom and wife! Did Kenzie know where her son is? Is this some sort of wicked game to mess with Marin? There are so many secrets in this twisty thriller that it did keep me guessing. I was shocked at the level of crazy secrets these otherwise "normal" people had! I loved, loved, loved this one and devoured it in a day! Oh Jennifer Hillier you have done it again!!! Thank you so much to St. Martin's Press/ Minotaur books for this ARC via Edelweiss!
    more
  • Holly B
    January 1, 1970
    Wow, so many surprises and twists! If you like dark, twisty and edge of seat suspense.... this is it! This novel was so riveting from the very first chapter! What I thought was going be a typical kidnapping, missing child tale, turned into a thriller not to be missed."Exhale. Deep Breath in. Exhale."It is a roller coaster of suspense that has a .... this could really happen..... in a reality is stranger than fiction kind of way.Emotion filled, spine-tingling chills, and high five that Karma Wow, so many surprises and twists! If you like dark, twisty and edge of seat suspense.... this is it! This novel was so riveting from the very first chapter! What I thought was going be a typical kidnapping, missing child tale, turned into a thriller not to be missed."Exhale. Deep Breath in. Exhale."  It is a roller coaster of suspense that has a .... this could really happen..... in a reality is stranger than fiction kind of way.Emotion filled, spine-tingling chills, and high five that Karma baby!Last thought- This will be a HIT in 2020.Thank you Minotaur Pub. for my early review copy! OUT APRIL 2020 
    more
  • marilyn
    January 1, 1970
    A mother's four year old son, Sebastian, is kidnapped from right beside her, in a busy shopping area. Marin will never forgive herself and will never stop looking for her son. Sixteen months later, she's still living the nightmare of her missing son and knows that she is barely hanging on by a thread. She's already attempted suicide once and if she ever learns that her son is dead, she knows she'll kill herself.Marin's marriage to Derek is in shambles. She knows he blames her for losing sight of A mother's four year old son, Sebastian, is kidnapped from right beside her, in a busy shopping area. Marin will never forgive herself and will never stop looking for her son. Sixteen months later, she's still living the nightmare of her missing son and knows that she is barely hanging on by a thread. She's already attempted suicide once and if she ever learns that her son is dead, she knows she'll kill herself. Marin's marriage to Derek is in shambles. She knows he blames her for losing sight of Sebastian and knows he's walking on eggshells, afraid to set her off, knowing that another suicide attempt is right around the corner. The couple hardly ever talk to each other, moving through a life filled with grief and guilt. I'm not going to say any more because I read this book without knowing much more and it was a thrill to read. I only put it down to sleep last night, I did not want to stop reading it. Jennifer Hillier did such a fantastic job of stringing me along, I want more books like this one, real thrillers that keep me on the edge of my seat. Thank you to St. Martin's Press, Edelweiss, and NetGalley for this ARC.
    more
  • Kaceey
    January 1, 1970
    If you’re searching for the perfect thriller to lose yourself in over a weekend.... then this is your lucky day! This will most certainly fit the bill!Marin has it all! A successful chain of salons catering to the movers and shakers. Not to mention several Hollywood Stars as well. Her marriage is a dream come true! Even after all these years together her husband still flirts with her. (You heard me right ladies!) Her dashing prince can still make her knees buckle. Then there’s her perfect son If you’re searching for the perfect thriller to lose yourself in over a weekend.... then this is your lucky day! This will most certainly fit the bill!Marin has it all! A successful chain of salons catering to the movers and shakers. Not to mention several Hollywood Stars as well. Her marriage is a dream come true! Even after all these years together her husband still flirts with her. (You heard me right ladies!) Her dashing prince can still make her knees buckle. Then there’s her perfect son Sebastian. This adorable boy was their miracle baby. Didn’t I tell you? Marin has it all! That is... until she doesn’t! In the time span of mere seconds she’s about to lose everything! As her son vanishes right before her very eyes. Gone!Marin is hanging by the smallest of frayed threads and she’s about to take one more serious hit. A stunning, tall, blond (and occasionally pink) haired college-aged girl steps into her suddenly nightmarish life. But look out, sweetheart! Marin isn’t about to let the last bit of her life walk away without a fight! Just how far is Marin willing to go!Jennifer Hillier is absolutely the queen of the thrillers! She knows exactly how to pull you in to the point that the world around you fades away! You are under her spell! Her twists are perfectly placed and jaw dropping! When I saw this new release I was so excited to read it and rightly so! It deserves all the stars! Highly recommend to all thriller fans!A fabulous thrilling buddy read with Susanne that we both loved!❤️Thank you to Minotaur books and Edelweiss for an ARC to read and review.
    more
  • Susanne Strong
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsIt’s What You Don’t Know.. Shopping in Pike’s Place Christmas Market with her son Sebastian (Bash), Marin’s life is absolutely perfect, until the moment that Bash is taken. Chaos ensues, yet he is nowhere to be found. Four Hundred plus days later, Marin’s life is in shambles, while her husband Derek has been trying to move on. The Private Investigator that Marin hired back when Bash went missing has turned up no new leads, at least not about Marin’s son. What she has discovered however 4.5 starsIt’s What You Don’t Know.. Shopping in Pike’s Place Christmas Market with her son Sebastian (Bash), Marin’s life is absolutely perfect, until the moment that Bash is taken. Chaos ensues, yet he is nowhere to be found. Four Hundred plus days later, Marin’s life is in shambles, while her husband Derek has been trying to move on. The Private Investigator that Marin hired back when Bash went missing has turned up no new leads, at least not about Marin’s son. What she has discovered however is that Derek has been cheating on Marin, with Kenzie Li, a twenty four year old College Student. When Marin is told, it gives her something to live for. Revenge. How sweet it is. Derek, the old sod that he is, has no idea that Kenzie has a few plans of her own. Talk about a wild one my friends! “Little Secrets” by Jennifer Hiller made me feel oh so many emotions it was unreal, scared, sad, terrified, crazed… my pulse was pounding and my heart was aching. There were times while reading this when my eyes just about popped. (Good thing they didn’t!). Though none of the characters were all that likeable, I truly enjoyed the twists and turns of this crazy novel and can’t wait to see what Jennifer Hiller has in store for us next.This was a fabulous December buddy read with Kaceey! Thank you to Minotaur Books, Edelweiss and Jennifer Hiller for the arc.Published on Goodreads on 12.28.19.
    more
  • Jayme
    January 1, 1970
    “THE ONLY THING WORSE THAN NOT KNOWING....IS KNOWING” 240 seconds was all it took for someone to lead her son out of Pike’s Place Market when she let go of his hand for just a moment to respond to a text message...It’s now been 485 mornings of this nightmare...of not knowing if her son, Sebastian is dead or alive. On the 486th day, Marin finds out that she might lose her husband Derek, too.Her husband has been sleeping with a younger woman for six months. Marin is enraged. Excerpt: “She welcomes “THE ONLY THING WORSE THAN NOT KNOWING....IS KNOWING” 240 seconds was all it took for someone to lead her son out of Pike’s Place Market when she let go of his hand for just a moment to respond to a text message...It’s now been 485 mornings of this nightmare...of not knowing if her son, Sebastian is dead or alive. On the 486th day, Marin finds out that she might lose her husband Derek, too.Her husband has been sleeping with a younger woman for six months. Marin is enraged. Excerpt: “She welcomes it. It’s been a long time since she felt anger like this, and she”ll take anger over sadness, any day! For the past four hundred eighty-six days, sadness has knocked her sideways, debilitated her, confused her, made her weak, talked her into settling for things she doesn’t want, and never did. RAGE, on the other hand, will get shit done.” 12 Minutes. That’s how long it took me to read chapter one and become completely engrossed in this book! Jennifer Hillier’s latest is “unputdownable!” She has created two VERY real, VERY different women in Marin and McKenzi. Both are well developed characters, with distinct voices, each one flawed, neither one completely good or bad. 494 days. That is how long it will take for Marin to get some answers. When is the last time a thriller made you cry? I would like to thank Edelweiss, Minotaur books and the author for the digital ARC, I received in exchange for a candid review! 4/21/2020 - that’s the release date for this one! Mark your calendar or pre-order now...this is one you won’t want to miss!!I am pretty sure it will be making my “favorite thrillers list for 2020!”
    more
  • Michelle
    January 1, 1970
    Marin is happily married to her college sweetheart Derek and they have a beautiful son Sebastian. A few days before Christmas, and while at the farmers market, Marin drops Sebastian's hand for just a moment to answer a text but when she looks back up Sebastian is gone and never to be seen again. 16 months later and after two suicide attempts Marin is a shell of her former self. The rift in her marriage has grown and Derek spends more and more time traveling for work. The case for Sebastian has Marin is happily married to her college sweetheart Derek and they have a beautiful son Sebastian. A few days before Christmas, and while at the farmers market, Marin drops Sebastian's hand for just a moment to answer a text but when she looks back up Sebastian is gone and never to be seen again. 16 months later and after two suicide attempts Marin is a shell of her former self. The rift in her marriage has grown and Derek spends more and more time traveling for work. The case for Sebastian has gone cold but Marin can not accept this so she hires a private investigator to keep searching. What the investigator finds is that Derek is having an affair. Marin has already lost the most important person in her life and she will be damned if some little tramp is going to come and steal her husband too. Marin is determined to make sure Mackenzie Li, the homewrecker, gets exactly what she deserves. That's all I'm going to say plot wise because it would be a shame to have this book spoiled for you. This book kept me riveted to the pages and I never once had a grasp on what was happening. My feelings were all over the place while I was reading this and I even needed a tissue toward the end. It's impossible not to feel the pain that Marin's in - I adored her character, flaws and all. This book is sure to be a huge success for Hillier in 2020 and it will be well deserved. Simply put this book is fantastic. 4 stars! Thank you to Edelweiss and Minotaur Books for providing me with a digital ARC in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Elyse Walters
    January 1, 1970
    “Four minutes. That’s all it took to steal a child. A lollipop, a Santa Suit, and two hundred forty seconds”.Three days before Christmas... in the busy Seattle market, Marin Machado let go of her 4-year old son’s hand...Sixteen months later....“They say if a missing child Sebastian’s age isn’t found within 24 hours of his disappearance, chances are he never will be”. It’s been 485 days since Marin and Derek lost their 4 year old son, Sebastian. “Marin needed to stay home and fall apart, which “Four minutes. That’s all it took to steal a child. A lollipop, a Santa Suit, and two hundred forty seconds”.Three days before Christmas... in the busy Seattle market, Marin Machado let go of her 4-year old son’s hand...Sixteen months later....“They say if a missing child Sebastian’s age isn’t found within 24 hours of his disappearance, chances are he never will be”. It’s been 485 days since Marin and Derek lost their 4 year old son, Sebastian. “Marin needed to stay home and fall apart, which she did, for months until Derek and her therapist suggested it was time for her to go back to work”. Minor celebrities came into Marin’s salon - they paid $600 an hour to have their hair done personally by “Marin Machado of Marin Machado Salon & Spa”.Marin owned three salons. Police had no solid information. The stranger who took Sebastian, ‘Bash’, was a kidnapper. There was no certainty about whether or not it was planned in advance, or not. There was also no evidence to suggest that the person who took Sebastian was a friend or acquaintance of the family. The Santa costume, was denoted the persons intent to steal a child— possibly any child from a busy store. Marin attended group therapy once a week. Those who attended all had missing kids. Group therapy was very different than ‘one-on-one’ therapy. It was the one place where Marin could feel as miserable as she needed without feeling a need to apologize for it. The other people in the room were more miserable than she was. Marin’s best friend, SalPalermo, described going to group as an act of self-flagellation. Marin didn’t think he was wrong. Some nights, it was exactly what she needed. “One year, three months, and twenty-twodays ago was the worst day of her life”.Police still had no leads...Marin and her husband Derek were living parallel lives, side by side for the most part, but never converging. Derek was a CEO of a health food chain. He traveled for work. often since his son disappeared. Dr. Chen was Marin’s private therapist. He was soothing, understanding, easy to talk to—all the things a therapist should be -but Marin was not sure she wanted to go back. Therapy was hard work. However, she finally told Dr. Chen her secret: .... there were more secrets.... ... and twists ... and turns ... and surprises ... THE SURPRISES were really surprising. Marin hired private investigator, Vanessa Castro...(she never told her husband, Derek). The first important news that Vanessa had for Marin, was ‘important’, but it wasn’t about her son. Questions started race through my head early on...but I never had this book figured out. “A strange thing happens when you’re going through something terrible. It’s as if your body and mind separate, and you cease to become a whole person”. A little fun...Try untangling these words to figure out all the “Little Secrets”.....Cracker crumbs, milk stains, Lego pieces, celebrities, coffee, mochaccinos, hipster professionals, Oxy and Vicodin, amaretto sours, gummy bear edibles, friends es, Big Macs, ramen noodles, avocado toast, tacos, roasted brussels sprouts cooked with bacon and smothered in Parmesan cheese, Instagram photos, an obnoxiously expensive Maserati, etc. etc etc.....Can’t do it... can you? 🧐GREAT THRILLER! Thank you Saint Martin’s Press, Netgalley, and the very talented Jennifer Hillier.
    more
  • Jasmine from How Useful It Is
    January 1, 1970
    This book is a fantastic read! The first chapter is excellent and I can imagine something like that could easily happen. The alternating view's first chapter is awesome as well! It's brutal honesty. Instagram is well played in this story and at times, hilarious. I like the reminder that what we see isn't always glamorous as presented. Both views are fascinating of each other and their individual lives. McKenzie's love life is interesting and I'm one to blame the guy for her mission on love and This book is a fantastic read! The first chapter is excellent and I can imagine something like that could easily happen. The alternating view's first chapter is awesome as well! It's brutal honesty. Instagram is well played in this story and at times, hilarious. I like the reminder that what we see isn't always glamorous as presented. Both views are fascinating of each other and their individual lives. McKenzie's love life is interesting and I'm one to blame the guy for her mission on love and money instead of the women.
This book is told in the third person point of view following Marin, business owner, as she and her 4 year old son Sebastian (Bash) went Christmas shopping at the crowded market. Distracted by texting, Marin lost sight of her son. Then the story begins 16 months later with Marin still reeling from the kidnapping of her son. Her PI surprises her with a new lead regarding her husband's extracurricular activities that makes her want to hire the "guy". The alternating view is McKenzie. She doesn't have good luck on love and money so she's following her plans the only way she knows how. This book is divided into 4 parts.
Little Secrets is a fast paced and realistic read. I love that twist near the end when realizations hits and it got me flipping back through the pages to read some passages again. The ending when it all comes together is hard to put down and I find myself reading throughout the night to finish the story at 4:50am. I love mystery for twists and this one is another story I could not guess who the bad guy is. Jennifer Hillier is definitely one of my favorite authors after how much I loved her Jar of Hearts last year. I planned on reading all of her past books. I highly recommend everyone to read this book!***Many thanks to Minotaur Books for the opportunity to read and review. Please be assured that my opinions are honest.xoxo,Jasmine at www.howusefulitis.wordpress.com for more details
    more
  • Gabby
    January 1, 1970
    First read of 2020 and it was great! I was really excited to receive an ARC of this because it’s a thriller that sounded like something I would really enjoy. It’s about a mother who’s son goes missing, two years later and the police still haven’t found anything so she hires a PI who discovers her husband is having an affair. Marin will do anything to make sure she doesn’t lose her husband too. This thriller did take a bit to get interesting, but after the first 100 pages the story really took First read of 2020 and it was great! I was really excited to receive an ARC of this because it’s a thriller that sounded like something I would really enjoy. It’s about a mother who’s son goes missing, two years later and the police still haven’t found anything so she hires a PI who discovers her husband is having an affair. Marin will do anything to make sure she doesn’t lose her husband too. This thriller did take a bit to get interesting, but after the first 100 pages the story really took off and I got invested and I didn’t see the big plot twist coming, even though looking back in it now I think I could’ve guessed it if I tried. 😅 But this was a good thriller and it was a great wya to start the year!
    more
  • Mary Kubica
    January 1, 1970
    What starts as a child abduction soon warps into something far more twisted and nefarious, thanks to the brilliance of mastermind, Jennifer Hillier. LITTLE SECRETS will leave readers completely floored. You don’t just read this book; you inhale it.
    more
  • Theresa Alan
    January 1, 1970
    This novel won’t be released until spring, which is a good thing, because this is decidedly NOT a holiday read, even though Marin’s four-year-old son is kidnapped by someone in a Santa suit three days before Christmas.Marin has become a successful businesswoman married to a successful businessman. After four attempts with IVF, she had Sebastian—she now, officially, had it all. Until, for just a few seconds, she stopped holding her son’s hand on a busy day of Christmas shopping at the mall so she This novel won’t be released until spring, which is a good thing, because this is decidedly NOT a holiday read, even though Marin’s four-year-old son is kidnapped by someone in a Santa suit three days before Christmas.Marin has become a successful businesswoman married to a successful businessman. After four attempts with IVF, she had Sebastian—she now, officially, had it all. Until, for just a few seconds, she stopped holding her son’s hand on a busy day of Christmas shopping at the mall so she could answer a text. In those few seconds, he wandered away. Security cameras show that he left with someone in a Santa outfit.For the first portion of the book, I didn’t know if I’d be able to finish it because it was just Marin beating herself up more than a year after his disappearance. Then, things take a very different turn, followed by other decidedly unexpected twists. This is well-written and a good choice if you’re in the mood for something dark. No villain or victim is all villain or all victim, which makes it interesting. Thanks so much to NetGalley for the opportunity to preview this book, which RELEASES APRIL 21, 2020.
    more
  • Carol
    January 1, 1970
    LOSS. LIES. SECRETS. LITTLE SECRETS is a complex story that begins with a little last minute Christmas shopping in Seattle. Marin has everything. A great salon business, a tall, handsome....and rich husband, close friends she can count on...one guy in particular and the love of her existence, her little four year old, Sebastian....who at the moment is antsy to get his promised lollipop. It only took a minute, a phone call, a released hand-hold and he was gone, disappeared in a crowed LOSS. LIES. SECRETS. LITTLE SECRETS is a complex story that begins with a little last minute Christmas shopping in Seattle. Marin has everything. A great salon business, a tall, handsome....and rich husband, close friends she can count on...one guy in particular and the love of her existence, her little four year old, Sebastian....who at the moment is antsy to get his promised lollipop. It only took a minute, a phone call, a released hand-hold and he was gone, disappeared in a crowed market....and thus her nightmare begins, and life becomes so difficult and complicated with so many secrets that bring to light shocking and hurtful revelations. But one thing is certain....money is no problem! So much more going on here than the kidnapping, and while I had my suspicions of the outcome, LITTLE SECRETS turned out to be one very fine read! Many thanks to St. Martin's Press via NetGalley for the arc in exchange for review.
    more
  • Erin Clemence
    January 1, 1970
    Special thanks to the publisher and NetGalley for a free, electronic ARC of this novel. Expected pub date: April 21, 2020 Marin is a successful hairstylist with an elite clientele, and her husband Derek is a hard-working entrepreneur. After several bouts of IVF, the two are blessed with a son, Sebastian. While out at the market one day, Sebastian disappears, last seen leaving a parking garage with an individual dressed as Santa Claus. Marin, of course, blames herself and her relationship with Special thanks to the publisher and NetGalley for a free, electronic ARC of this novel. Expected pub date: April 21, 2020 Marin is a successful hairstylist with an elite clientele, and her husband Derek is a hard-working entrepreneur. After several bouts of IVF, the two are blessed with a son, Sebastian. While out at the market one day, Sebastian disappears, last seen leaving a parking garage with an individual dressed as Santa Claus. Marin, of course, blames herself and her relationship with Derek is left in shambles. Refusing to give up on her son, Marin hires a private investigator to continue the search for Sebastian that the FBI and police have ceased. When the PI uncovers secrets about her husbands’ activities, it leads Marin down a dark road where even darker secrets are revealed. Could her husband possibly have had a hand in the disappearance of her son? Is Sebastian still alive? “Little Secrets” is the newest novel by Canadian novelist Jennifer Hillier. I am a huge fan of Hillier’s creepy horror novels, such as Jar of Hearts and Creep and although this one was good in its own right, I would classify it more as a domestic suspense as opposed to outright horror like her previous novels. That being said, “Secrets” has just as much drama and intensity as any other Hillier novel. Marin and Derek are characters, for all their flaws, are both suffering the loss of their child. Though both characters are not entirely likable at all points in the story, it is this fact that generates pure sympathy for them both. Their honest and dysfunctional marriage breakdown is heart-wrenching and emotional, as both deal with their grief in very different ways. The story starts hot and keeps going, and it held my attention from the beginning. Although the plot has some predictability, in general there is enough suspense and surprise to keep the pages turning at a rapid pace. The outcome is predictable as well, but oh-so-justified and satisfying. Well-told and emotional, full of suspense, with authentic characters dealing with very real struggles, “Little Secrets” will put you through the emotional wringer and have you at the edge of your seat.
    more
  • Debra
    January 1, 1970
    Marin appeared to have the perfect life. She had been happily married to her lying, cheating, scumbag, SOB husband, Derek (I don't have strong feelings about this at all) when one day their son, Sebastian is kidnapped. With no real suspects in sight, no hide nor hair of their son, the case goes cold. Marin is now a wreck. She can't get past the pain of losing her son, she was right there holding his hand, she let go of his hand for a just a few seconds and in that time, he was gone. She is Marin appeared to have the perfect life. She had been happily married to her lying, cheating, scumbag, SOB husband, Derek (I don't have strong feelings about this at all) when one day their son, Sebastian is kidnapped. With no real suspects in sight, no hide nor hair of their son, the case goes cold. Marin is now a wreck. She can't get past the pain of losing her son, she was right there holding his hand, she let go of his hand for a just a few seconds and in that time, he was gone. She is stuck, living in a home where she and her husband rarely speak, going to a support group, and waiting to learn the truth. Her world is so sad and lonely. Then one day the PI she hired to find her son, calls to tell her she has found someone - but it's not her son - it's Mackenzie Li, her husband's mistress. A mistress who makes having wealthy "boyfriends" a habit. She doesn't care if they are married. She only cares about what they can give her.What's a woman to do? Who would you react? How does Marin? Whew! Marin doesn't always make the best choices, but she makes interesting ones. It was fun to be a fly on the wall while watching these people implode. It was also fun to imagine throwing rotten tomatoes (or eggs) at Mackenzie "Kenzie" and Derek. Both are douches who deserve each other IMO. Again, not that I have strong feelings about this at all....Hillier continues to deliver the thrills, twists, turns all the while tugging on readers emotions. She had me feeling sorry for certain characters, booing and hissing others, but all the while having me on the edge of my seat, turning the pages to see how this book would end. This book was fast paced and there was always something going on. Plus, "Little Secrets" is well written and well thought out. Additionally, all of the characters are interesting - even the unlikable ones. They all have that little bit of something - that makes them jump off the page.Talk about a page turner! I literally got nothing accomplished while reading this book. I was too enthralled in the story. Literally glued to my seat, trying to figure things out, wondering what the truth would be, and praying my butt wasn't expanding too much form the hour after hour of sitting I did while reading this book. This book is full of secrets, lies, twists, turns, revelations, tears, anxiety, heartbreak and guilt.Riveting, emotion provoking, compelling and unputdownable. Hillier delivers again! I can't wait to see what she writes next!Thank you to St. Martin's Press- Minotaur Books and NetGalley who provided me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All the thoughts and opinions are my own.
    more
  • DeAnn
    January 1, 1970
    5 secret stars (couldn't resist)Wow, this one has stayed with me for a few days. Fantastic new book from Jennifer Hillier. I've previously read "Jar of Hearts" from her and it's great as well. This one isn't out until April 2020 but I think it will be a top 2020 book. This one starts with a very chilling child kidnapping scene in Seattle’s Pike Place Market right before Christmas. Having just returned from Seattle, it was especially chilling to me because I could picture it so clearly! We learn 5 secret stars (couldn't resist)Wow, this one has stayed with me for a few days. Fantastic new book from Jennifer Hillier. I've previously read "Jar of Hearts" from her and it's great as well. This one isn't out until April 2020 but I think it will be a top 2020 book. This one starts with a very chilling child kidnapping scene in Seattle’s Pike Place Market right before Christmas. Having just returned from Seattle, it was especially chilling to me because I could picture it so clearly! We learn all about the Mom-Marin, a hair stylist to the wealthy and her husband Derek is CEO of an organic food company. As a mother myself, it’s hard to imagine what this whole experience would feel like and how I would cope. It was interesting to read about Marin’s experience with a support group of other parents of kidnapped children. The story picks up 18 months later and we can feel Marin’s desperation. She’s still using a private investigator to look for her son as the FBI has stopped its search. She starts to discover that she doesn’t really know her husband and their relationship is strained.She’s got a best friend/old boyfriend Sal that she still confides in and she’s spending more time with him. As things start to unravel in her home life, more secrets come out about Derek and Marin’s determined to get to the bottom of things.This one is a thrill-a-minute and definitely had an action-packed conclusion. For once, I figured it out but that didn’t take away any of the enjoyment.Thank you to Edelweiss, Jennifer Hillier, and Minotaur Books for an early edition of this one to read and review. I’m still thinking about this one!!
    more
  • Tammie
    January 1, 1970
    Little Secrets was a solid 5 star read. The book centers around main character Marin, a woman that is living the American dream -with a successful career, wealth, and loving family, she seems to have it all. Marin’s life is nearly destroyed however when her young son is kidnapped and and she later learns that her husband is having an affair with a much younger woman named Kenzie. Marin begins to investigate Kenzie, a struggling grad student with an ailing mother to care for, and wonders what Little Secrets was a solid 5 star read. The book centers around main character Marin, a woman that is living the American dream -with a successful career, wealth, and loving family, she seems to have it all. Marin’s life is nearly destroyed however when her young son is kidnapped and and she later learns that her husband is having an affair with a much younger woman named Kenzie. Marin begins to investigate Kenzie, a struggling grad student with an ailing mother to care for, and wonders what exactly is Kenzie after and is she involved in her son’s disappearance.Little Secrets is a fast-paced book that readers won’t want to put down. Full of twists and turns, I definitely would have read this in a one sitting (if my life wouldn’t have gotten in the way). Highly recommended to fans of crime, fiction, and mystery/thrillers books. Thank you NetGalley for providing me a copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Bridgett
    January 1, 1970
    So, I just checked...I've read every single Jennifer Hillier novel ever written, and have given them all 4 or 5 star ratings. Do you have any idea how unusual that is for me? Throughout my entire life, I've never had an author so consistently write books I've unequivocally loved. It's a Festivus miracle! I think Ms. Hillier has slowly worked her way up through the ranks, and is currently my absolute favorite author. What starts as a child abduction story, quickly morphs into something far more So, I just checked...I've read every single Jennifer Hillier novel ever written, and have given them all 4 or 5 star ratings. Do you have any idea how unusual that is for me? Throughout my entire life, I've never had an author so consistently write books I've unequivocally loved. It's a Festivus miracle! I think Ms. Hillier has slowly worked her way up through the ranks, and is currently my absolute favorite author. What starts as a child abduction story, quickly morphs into something far more diabolical. As is typical of JH, and one of the reasons I wholeheartedly adore her novels, she's unflinching in her writing. She's never afraid to go there. Many authors have tried mimicking her style...few have succeeded. She's the queen of "bravely going where most writers have been too wimpy to go before."Another reason I loved this story? Our protagonist, Marin, drinks Amaretto Sours...the most delicious cocktail of all time, and my personal favorite. So, my actual rating for Little Secrets is 4.5 stars. Why? Because I actually figured out the antagonist early on. Thankfully, it wasn't a huge deal because there were several other twists I didn't figure out, and the writing was on point, as always. Yes, I'll be recommending this book to every person I know. If you've never read any JH novels, stop what you're doing, go get a copy of every single book, and have a reading marathon this weekend. You won't regret a single minute. **My sincere thanks to the publisher for my review copy.
    more
  • NZLisaM
    January 1, 1970
    How far would you go to save your marriage?Marin Machado's entire world fell apart the day her five-year-old, Sebastian, was abducted from a crowded farmers market. She only let go of his hand for a second to answer a text, but in an instant, he was gone.Sixteen months later, and Marin is barely functioning. Her husband, Derek, is distant and absent, and the FBI have no leads or suspects regarding Sebastian’s disappearance. When Marin is informed of Derek’s infidelity with a How far would you go to save your marriage?Marin Machado's entire world fell apart the day her five-year-old, Sebastian, was abducted from a crowded farmers market. She only let go of his hand for a second to answer a text, but in an instant, he was gone.Sixteen months later, and Marin is barely functioning. Her husband, Derek, is distant and absent, and the FBI have no leads or suspects regarding Sebastian’s disappearance. When Marin is informed of Derek’s infidelity with a twenty-four-year-old, graduate student, McKenzie Li, her numbness morphs into rage. The person who took her son may be elusive, but Kenzie is a threat she can fight. Marin’s already lost Sebastian, and she doesn't intend to lose Derek as well.Dark and twisty, I devoured this, as desperate as Marin to get to the truth. Little Secrets main focus is on emotional violence – grief, despair, vengeance, betrayal, and post-traumatic stress, therefore it isn't as gruesomely shocking as Jar of Hearts, The Butcher or Wonderland (there was a nod to Wonderland by the way, and the setting shared a commonality with The Butcher), but it is just as utterly addicting. You won't be able to put it down – I guarantee it!Because the plot involves a missing child, prepare yourself for the onslaught of emotions that evokes – the anguish, heartbreak, and uncertainly Marin experiences, not knowing what has happened to her child, where he is, what he's going through, and whether he's alive or dead. I may have painted a bleak picture, but this is never a depressing read, its aim is to thrill you, and it certainly accomplishes that. So get ready for an exploration into twisted, unhealthy relationships, multiple secrets, lies, and surprises aplenty, as well as the disintegration of a marriage in the wake of unimaginable tragedy. Chapters are medium length, with few POV's. As I mentioned, Jennifer Hillier held back on this one in terms of graphic content, therefore Little Secrets will appeal to a wider range of audience. Consider this your binge-read alert. If it's not on your 2020 tbr, add it immediately!I'd like to thank Netgalley, St. Martin’s Press – Minotaur books, and Jennifer Hillier for the e-ARC.Release Date: 21st April, 2020.
    more
  • Rose
    January 1, 1970
    Just finished reading Little Secrets by Jennifer Hillier, and thoroughly enjoyed it from start to finish!Great writing with lots of twists and turns. I really like this author's style of writing. I had previously read her book " Jar of Hearts", and will definitely look to read the rest of her booksThanks you to The NetGalley team, St. Martin's Press, and the author for this copy in exchange for an honest reviewI am also from Toronto as is the author, and currently live on the west coast in Just finished reading Little Secrets by Jennifer Hillier, and thoroughly enjoyed it from start to finish!Great writing with lots of twists and turns. I really like this author's style of writing. I had previously read her book " Jar of Hearts", and will definitely look to read the rest of her booksThanks you to The NetGalley team, St. Martin's Press, and the author for this copy in exchange for an honest reviewI am also from Toronto as is the author, and currently live on the west coast in Vancouver BC. I often visit Seattle - so the setting of this book was very realistic to me.Great book!#NetGalley
    more
  • Tammy
    January 1, 1970
    Marin’s son is snatched while shopping, the trail is cold, and her marriage is suffering. What else can go wrong? Quite a lot, actually. This is a lacerating thriller and that’s all you need to know.
  • Ash
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review.This book wasn’t at all what I expected, but I enjoyed it nonetheless. It had a few flaws, but it featured strong characters and kept me entertained throughout.Little Secrets stars two female protagonists who couldn’t be more different. Marin is the wealthy, successful owner of a chain of high-end salons, married to business mogul Derek. Their son, Sebastian, was kidnapped a year ago in Thank you to NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review.This book wasn’t at all what I expected, but I enjoyed it nonetheless. It had a few flaws, but it featured strong characters and kept me entertained throughout.Little Secrets stars two female protagonists who couldn’t be more different. Marin is the wealthy, successful owner of a chain of high-end salons, married to business mogul Derek. Their son, Sebastian, was kidnapped a year ago in plain sight. Kenzie is a broke twenty-four-year-old MFA student, barista, and “professional girlfriend” having an affair with Derek. They were complex, well-written protagonists, and very flawed, which only made them more compelling. Jennifer Hillier’s writing style gives plenty of insight into her protagonists’ thoughts and feelings, which drove the story. Her side characters were as complex and flawed as her main characters.The pacing was excellent. The plot was complicated, sort of in a good way, sort of in a bad way. There were a few different things going on – Marin trying to find out what happened to Sebastian, Kenzie trying to get as much money as she can from Derek, Marin finding out about the affair and dealing with it, and more I won’t give away – and I didn’t know until around the three quarter mark where it was all leading. There wasn’t a strong, central arc running through the entire story, which kept me guessing but was also a little frustrating. There were quite a few red herrings in the mix, and I was genuinely surprised by the twist.There were some minor details that I didn’t like. Kenzie’s sick mother felt like she was added at the last minute to make Kenzie a more sympathetic character, even though Kenzie was, in my opinion, plenty sympathetic in her own right. The biggest flaw was that the ending was slightly rushed, a little too “out of nowhere,” and wrapped things up just a tad too neatly.
    more
  • Kathi Defranc
    January 1, 1970
    A FANTASTIC story that will have you Praying, Crying, Fearful And Shocked as you travel with Marin Machado through some of the worst moments of her life,only to have more added to her misery as she attempts to recover! Be ready when opening this story, for the losses will grab you and drag you in to a swirling cyclone of Life, the Good and the Very bad! Marin seems to have a perfect life, married to her college love, owning high-scale hair salons, and has a perfect four year old son, Sebastian. A FANTASTIC story that will have you Praying, Crying, Fearful And Shocked as you travel with Marin Machado through some of the worst moments of her life,only to have more added to her misery as she attempts to recover! Be ready when opening this story, for the losses will grab you and drag you in to a swirling cyclone of Life, the Good and the Very bad! Marin seems to have a perfect life, married to her college love, owning high-scale hair salons, and has a perfect four year old son, Sebastian. Life is amazing..Until shopping a day near Christmas,Sebastian slips his hand from her's, and when she looks up..He Is Gone... Marin feels it is Her fault,and though the Police,FBI and everyone in the town searches, the young Boy has disappeared...Life is unmanageable for Marin and husband Derek,but Marin plunges into deep depression,even attempting to take her own life as time passes with no little boy by her side. As she finally tries to return to the living, the PI she hired to find her son comes to her with something else..Something that, although nothing in her life has been normal, shocks her, bringing her back to the doors of Hell! This is a story that will hold you tightly as you quickly read, wanting to know just What happened now! My first by this author, but Definitely NOT my last!! I thank the author and Netgalley for the chance to read this amazing story, and I give You my honest thoughts and feelings in this review. When this book is published in April 2020, GRAB IT, you will thank me after you read it!
    more
  • megs_bookrack
    January 1, 1970
    This book has been popping up for me everywhere of late. So happy we will be getting a new Jennifer Hillier in 2020!!! Even more excited to have received an ARC!!Thank you so much, St. Martin's Press. You are too kind!
  • Brandy
    January 1, 1970
    Depression and the darkness that encompasses it has a way of swallowing you whole. Soundgarden said it best with, “I’m only faking when I get it right.” Marin understands darkness; she’s lived it. In a mere two hundred and forty seconds her young son, Bash, was ripped out of her life - abducted by a stranger. Yet, was the person dressed as Santa, who took her son truly a stranger? As Marin, continues to search for her son, yet trying to go on with her life she begins to question all that she Depression and the darkness that encompasses it has a way of swallowing you whole. Soundgarden said it best with, “I’m only faking when I get it right.” Marin understands darkness; she’s lived it. In a mere two hundred and forty seconds her young son, Bash, was ripped out of her life - abducted by a stranger. Yet, was the person dressed as Santa, who took her son truly a stranger? As Marin, continues to search for her son, yet trying to go on with her life she begins to question all that she thinks she knows. She begins to question who she can trust. To give you better perspective, she said it best with, “Who would have thought who you love and who you feel safe with might not be the same person.” Yet another - mind f$ck of a book. It’s every parents nightmare delivered in a Santa suit! I’m happy to give this one 5 stars
    more
  • Dennis
    January 1, 1970
    Jennifer Hillier has done it yet again, but this time with her upcoming novel Little Secrets , I finished this book in one-sitting! I've been sick for the past couple of days, so I definitely needed something fast-paced and wild to keep me from sneezing all over my apartment. Luckily, Ms. Hillier strikes again with a novel that sounds complicated, but fits perfectly for those psychological thriller fans.In Hillier's Little Secrets , we meet Marin and her husband Derek. The two are successful Jennifer Hillier has done it yet again, but this time with her upcoming novel Little Secrets , I finished this book in one-sitting! I've been sick for the past couple of days, so I definitely needed something fast-paced and wild to keep me from sneezing all over my apartment. Luckily, Ms. Hillier strikes again with a novel that sounds complicated, but fits perfectly for those psychological thriller fans.In Hillier's Little Secrets , we meet Marin and her husband Derek. The two are successful in their own rite—with Marin owning a hair salon to the stars and Derek a successful hedge fund manager (I think that's what it was, but don't hold me to it!). The duo have a young son, Sebastian, who is the apple of their eye. One day while Marin is shopping, she is distracted by a phone call from her husband, and within minutes, Sebastian is missing. In fact, CCTV footage show that he was kidnapped! Fast-forward sixteen months later, Marin and Derek's lives have gone into turmoil. Marin has tried to commit suicide and has had psychological evaluations, and now she has found out that Derek is cheating on her with a young barista! Will this be the final straw that breaks Marin? I mean, who could blame her. I've only read one of Jennifer Hillier's books prior to this read and that was her recently released novel, Jar of Hearts. After devouring that book immensely, I knew that whatever this author chooses to write, I will read it. The formula for Little Secrets may sound like something you've read before, but Hillier's writing shines in a way that I've never witnessed before. This novel interweaves multiple story arcs effortlessly. It could possibly be my favorite book ever that includes a cast of "hateable" characters (I think I just invented a new phrase "hateable"). While I may have hated a majority of this book's characters, I was so deeply connected to this plot that I completely forgot that I was sick and finished the whole book before I went to bed. Nothing is better than a book that completely entertains you to the brink of forgetting everything around you. Little Secrets is immersive, dark, and filled with juicy conflict that will definitely continue to grow Jennifer Hillier's fanbase.
    more
  • Martie Nees Record
    January 1, 1970
    Genre: Mystery & ThrillerPublisher: St. Martin’s PressPub. Date: April 21, 2020Mini-ReviewThe story is a decent read regarding a young child’s abduction. It could have been a very good read. It is written as a mystery. This makes sense because when the child is kidnapped and there is no ransom note what else can it be other than a mystery? But, the story is written basically as a thriller with all sorts of twists. (I guess I should have looked at the cover). This is where the author lost me. Genre: Mystery & ThrillerPublisher: St. Martin’s PressPub. Date: April 21, 2020Mini-ReviewThe story is a decent read regarding a young child’s abduction. It could have been a very good read. It is written as a mystery. This makes sense because when the child is kidnapped and there is no ransom note what else can it be other than a mystery? But, the story is written basically as a thriller with all sorts of twists. (I guess I should have looked at the cover). This is where the author lost me. Other ARC reviewers seem to love this book. I guess I should have paid more attention to the genre. I thought I was reading a family tragedy story, not a twisty tale. Still, the author did a good job regarding the heartbroken parents, especially the mother’s overwhelming pain and guilt. The missing-child support group scenes are very well written. You can feel just how brutal it must be to not know if your child is dead or alive. It is these scenes that I found fascinating, not the mixing of genres. But if you want a Jillian Flynn read then this is the book for you.I received this Advance Review Copy (ARC) novel from the publisher at no cost in exchange for an honest review.Find all my book reviews at:https://www.goodreads.com/review/list...https://books6259.wordpress.com/https://www.barnesandnoble.com/review...https://www.facebook.com/martie.neesr...https://www.instagram.com/martie6947/https://www.pinterest.com/martienreco...\https://www.amazon.com/https://twitter.com/NeesRecord
    more
  • Christina McDonald
    January 1, 1970
    Cleverly plotted, absolutely riveting and utterly stunning, Little Secrets is a story of a mother whose son goes missing and her subsequent disintegration into depression. But when the PI she’s hired to try to find her son tells her that her husband is having an affair, she goes from depressed to plain old mad. She lost her little boy, she doesn’t intend to lose her husband, too.A beautiful thriller that's gracefully written with genuine heart and a lot of emotion, I had all the feels for this Cleverly plotted, absolutely riveting and utterly stunning, Little Secrets is a story of a mother whose son goes missing and her subsequent disintegration into depression. But when the PI she’s hired to try to find her son tells her that her husband is having an affair, she goes from depressed to plain old mad. She lost her little boy, she doesn’t intend to lose her husband, too.A beautiful thriller that's gracefully written with genuine heart and a lot of emotion, I had all the feels for this book. Beautiful and evocative, the story follows Marin as she balances on a black razor blade after her son is kidnapped. The plot is fast, the writing evocative and beautiful, the themes of loss, grief and betrayal strong and clear. The thing I love about Jennifer’s writing is how every word flows so smoothly, the story stays clear and elegantly told, the characters so well developed.If you loved Jar of Hearts, you’re definitely going to want to get yourself this book. This is Jennifer Hillier at her absolute finest.
    more
Write a review