The New Husband
Just because you love someone doesn't mean you know them.Nina Garrity learned that the hard way after discovering that her missing husband, Glen, had been leading a double life with another woman. But Glen's gone--presumably drowned while fishing on his boat--so she can't confront him about the affair or any of his other misdeeds. A year and a half after the accident, Nina considers herself a widow, even though the police never found a body. Following a chance encounter with Simon Fitch, a teacher from her daughter Maggie's middle school, Nina finds love again and has hopes of putting her shattered life back together.Simon, a widower still grieving the suicide of his first wife, has found his dream girl in Nina. His charm and affections help break through to a heart hardened by betrayal. Nina's teenage son, Connor, embraces Simon as the father he wishes his dad could have been, but Maggie sees a far darker side to this new man in their lives. Even Nina's good friends wonder if Simon is supremely devoted--or dangerously possessive.But Nina is committed, not only to her soon-to-be new husband but also to resuming her former career as a social worker. Before she can move forward, however, Nina must first clear her conscience that she's not making another terrible choice in a man. In doing so, she will uncover the shocking truth: the greatest danger to her, and her children, are the lies people tell themselves.

The New Husband Details

TitleThe New Husband
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseApr 14th, 2020
PublisherSt. Martin's Press
ISBN-139781250107497
Rating
GenreThriller, Mystery, Fiction, Mystery Thriller

The New Husband Review

  • Nilufer Ozmekik
    January 1, 1970
    WOWWWW! This is SOOOO DISTURBING, MINDBENDING! This is nightmar-ish, terrifying, unputdownable, sick, nasty! My head is spinning! My mind already left my head, running out of the town with a valise filled with my remaining grey cells! This book hooked me up from the first sentence. I couldn’t stop reading. I couldn’t also bite my nails because they were too short and freshly manicured so I accidentally consumed 3 bags of doritos, 2 bags of gummy bears, 2 pounds of tomatoes (I might have killed WOWWWW! This is SOOOO DISTURBING, MINDBENDING! This is nightmar-ish, terrifying, unputdownable, sick, nasty! My head is spinning! My mind already left my head, running out of the town with a valise filled with my remaining grey cells! This book hooked me up from the first sentence. I couldn’t stop reading. I couldn’t also bite my nails because they were too short and freshly manicured so I accidentally consumed 3 bags of doritos, 2 bags of gummy bears, 2 pounds of tomatoes (I might have killed my husband’s cooking tomato soap dream, but they were only eatable things on the fridge), 2 tubes of Colgate (don’t judge it, at least I rejected to bite lavender soaps!) as a result I took a nice visit to ER for stomach pumping. (After my lack of culinary skills, ER crew got used to our visits and they planned to give my name to the one of the hospital room!) But throughout the stomach pumping experience, I resumed reading ( thanks to lovely nurses gave their permission to use their fingers for turning the next page at my kindle!!! They even gave audiobook services by sharing the characters to read!) I adored D. J. Palmer’s spooky, sneaky, thrilling words, even though there are some missing pieces about characters’ motives, some exaggerations, nonsense and illogical parts, I could only cut half star and I’m willingly rounding 4.5 to 5 stars again. I didn’t like “Saving Meghan” so much and had difficult time to relate with the characters and the slow paced storytelling even though I enjoyed stories about Muchausen by proxy syndrome. (Stephanie Wrobel’s upcoming book “Darling Rose Gold” is an amazing example how to create so disturbing but also entertaining thriller about that subject) But at this book, all characters are vivid and I liked to read their POVS, visiting their minds and learning more about their struggles, motives and different opinions. And pacing was incredibly fast, heart throbbing. I kicked the air with my legs in excitement and fear to learn what was gonna happen next!!! I mostly loved teenage daughter Maggie and her determination to believe in her own instincts to save her family from the danger. And of course Nina, a survivor and strong character who struggles to get on her feet after her husband’s betrayal, disappearance, left them penniless, vulnerable. The story starts with Glen a.k.a seems like a douchebag husband deserves my ten thousand slaps or five thousand punches in the face punishment campaigns, disappears, leading a double life with another woman. Two years passes and his body has never been found. Nina builds a new life by moving with Simon Fitch, teacher from her daughter’s middle school. Simon seems like a dreamy boyfriend, financially supports to the family, having a close relationship with Nina’s son Connor. He is protective, romantic, caring and supportive guy. But according to Nina’s daughter Maggie, those dreamy attributes of Simon were not sincere. Her gut tells her there is something wrong and dangerous with this guy and she still believes her father is out there, alive, coming back to them.So is Glen really liar douchebag who left his family and having a fantastic new life with his mistress?Is Maggie jealous of her mother’s second chance of love? Is she too paranoid about Simon’s motives?Is Simon really too good to be true kind of manipulating, obsessive guy? Could Nina be sleeping with her own enemy?There are too many twists, surprises, nothing as it seems (my spider senses caught them all but I still enjoyed each one the twists!)There are not so many things really thrill me. If I listed what I really scare me below:MY HUSBAND’S NIGHTIME CONCERTS: Most of my neighbors think our house is sound effects studio or a zoo only works at the midnight time because my husband’s snoring resembling the wild animals’ chorus singing “We’re the world! We’re the animals just left the National Geography Wild Channel” My neighborhood kids still ask for zoo tickets to visit our house and see all those wild animals (I couldn’t tell them only one man made all those sounds by snoring! Nobody believes me!)Second thing is CLEANING: When I see a vacuum cleaner I thought it can become alive any minute and choke me with its hose and I’m allergic to bleach! But this book more terrifying than husband snores and acrid smell of bleach! It excited me, made me sit at the edge of my seat and fall down too many times, also gave me paranoid thoughts. (I still give my suspicious looks to my husband with widen eyes which make him check if something are wrong with my contact lenses. So I’m not threatening enough. I should practice my looks in the mirror.)I highly recommend this to all thriller lovers looking for twisty, smart, entertaining but also agitating stories.Special thanks to NetGalley and St. Martin Press to share with amazing ARC COPY in exchange my honest review! Maybe it’s early to say but I might have read one of the best thrillers of 2020!
    more
  • Dita
    January 1, 1970
    Reviews are all over the place for this and I get all of them.I agree that it was a little slow to start but when it did? It zooooomed and it was a really wild ride.The writing is quite good. The author expertly shows us how emotional abusers ramp up gradually making their target feel crazy; the gaslighting in particular was so perfectly illustrated. (TW here, BTW.)The real star of this show, however, is the characterization of 13 year old Maggie. She is everything. Thank you to D.J. Palmer, St. Reviews are all over the place for this and I get all of them.I agree that it was a little slow to start but when it did? It zooooomed and it was a really wild ride.The writing is quite good. The author expertly shows us how emotional abusers ramp up gradually making their target feel crazy; the gaslighting in particular was so perfectly illustrated. (TW here, BTW.)The real star of this show, however, is the characterization of 13 year old Maggie. She is everything. Thank you to D.J. Palmer, St. Martin's Press and NetGalley for giving me this ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Meredith
    January 1, 1970
    CAMPYThe New Husband is an over-the-top psychological thriller about a woman who finds love with a man who may or may not be a psychopath. Nina, a single mother of two, has found love again. After her husband mysteriously disappeared without a trace a year and a half ago, she began dating Simon Fitch, a teacher at her daughter, Maggie’s middle school. Nina’s friends and Maggie have qualms about Simon, but she decides to embrace love and move in with him. Nina thinks she has found the man of her CAMPYThe New Husband is an over-the-top psychological thriller about a woman who finds love with a man who may or may not be a psychopath. Nina, a single mother of two, has found love again. After her husband mysteriously disappeared without a trace a year and a half ago, she began dating Simon Fitch, a teacher at her daughter, Maggie’s middle school. Nina’s friends and Maggie have qualms about Simon, but she decides to embrace love and move in with him. Nina thinks she has found the man of her dreams but is Simon too good to be true? Is he hiding deep, dark secrets or is he really the man he seems to be?Reading this book was like watching a Lifetime movie--it was a trainwreck that I couldn’t look away from. The first half moves slowly and the narrative makes one question whether or not Simon is simply a good partner or a crazy, controlling a**hole. In the second half of the book, a huge twist is revealed that provoked me to say out loud, “this is really f*cking stupid!” I tried to explain to a friend what was going on in this book and could barely get the words out because I was laughing so hard. It’s not meant to be funny, but it’s kind of hard not to laugh at the stupidity.I had to decide whether or not to keep on reading. I wanted to give up and close this book, but I decided to turn off the critical side of my brain and see if it could coast on pure entertainment value. Sadly, I was never able to give in and have fun with it the way I wanted. Part of my issue was the writing, the other was the plot. I did enjoy reading Maggie's perspective. Ben, Maggie's best friend, is charming and Daisy the dog is awesome! But the rest of the book? Not so much. Too much eye-rolling and ridiculousness ruined this one for me. This book has received many 4 and 5-star reviews. I am very much in the minority with my feelings, so please don't let my review stop you from reading this book!I received an ARC of this book from NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • marilyn
    January 1, 1970
    Nina's husband disappears and evidence leads her and the police to believe he probably abandoned the family due to secretly losing his job two years before his disappearance. Within a couple of months of her husband's disappearance, Nina is in a committed relationship with "too good to be true" Simon, a teacher at her daughter Maggie's school. Maggie is very upset about the relationship for a number of reasons and now, two years into the relationship, friction between Maggie and Simon is just Nina's husband disappears and evidence leads her and the police to believe he probably abandoned the family due to secretly losing his job two years before his disappearance. Within a couple of months of her husband's disappearance, Nina is in a committed relationship with "too good to be true" Simon, a teacher at her daughter Maggie's school. Maggie is very upset about the relationship for a number of reasons and now, two years into the relationship, friction between Maggie and Simon is just one of the problems Nina is facing. The story started out slowly, with Nina allowing Simon to pretty much dictate how things were in the relationship but when Nina rekindles her career, Simon starts showing his true colors. Maggie blames Simon for misunderstandings, missed appointments, and other things going on in the household although Nina doesn't want to believe he's causing these problems. But as Nina realizes that Simon does seem to be trying to keep Nina away from her family, friends, work, and anything that keeps her from him, she decides to look further into her husband's disappearance and further into Simon's past, a past that he doesn't want to talk about. Once Nina develops a backbone and starts thinking for herself, the story got better for me. Maggie is a delight, a smart, creative, young lady with a mind of her own. Her father's abandonment of the family, along with schoolmate jealousies, has her being bullied at school but she's smart enough to know that she has done nothing wrong. She is also smart enough to become friends with Ben, another intelligent, funny, kind, loner...they become best friends and this gives Maggie a stability she doesn't have a home. Sadly, the last part of the story had me rolling my eyes more than Maggie does, behind Simon's back. Nina gets dumb and I can't stand it when characters start doing dumb stuff and keep on doing dumb stuff. She even knows she's doing it and says so over and over that she needs to do something differently, in italics! During this time in the book, all the kudos go to Daisy and that's all I'm going to say. Thank you to St. Martin's Press, NetGalley, and Edelweiss for this ARC.
    more
  • Debra
    January 1, 1970
    How well do you know someone?Whew! FINALLY!!! I have been reading (or attempting to read) some less than enjoyable books lately. This was like a breath of dark, twisted, creepy air. My first bit of advice is this: go into this one as blind as possible. The synopsis is enough. Nina Garrity has moved on since the disappearance of her husband, Glen. After the police came to her door to tell her that his bloody boat was found but not his body, she learned some hard truths about him. Then she took a How well do you know someone?Whew! FINALLY!!! I have been reading (or attempting to read) some less than enjoyable books lately. This was like a breath of dark, twisted, creepy air. My first bit of advice is this: go into this one as blind as possible. The synopsis is enough. Nina Garrity has moved on since the disappearance of her husband, Glen. After the police came to her door to tell her that his bloody boat was found but not his body, she learned some hard truths about him. Then she took a deep breath....and moved on...to Simon. Simon, a widower, is a high school teacher who has swooped in and swept Nina off her feet. He is making a life with her even if her teenage daughter, Maggie is not okay with their romance. Nina's son, Connor, enjoys his time with Simon - he finally has a man in his life who is spending time with him.That's all you are getting from me folks. I loved how the story unfolded and certain "truths" were discovered. This is a psychological thriller done right! I found this to be perfectly paced and plotted. The pages kept turning as I desperately wanted to know not only when the truth would be revealed and how the truth would be revealed. As the tension mounted and the danger level rose, I was glued to my seat, rived to the pages with a happy grin on my face. What's the truth and what is a lie? How do some see situations for what they are while others view them through rose colored glasses? I received a copy of this book from the publisher and Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. All the thoughts and opinions are my own.
    more
  • Paromjit
    January 1, 1970
    This is a intense, tense and utterly twisted psychological thriller of lies and secrets by DJ Palmer. Just how well is it possible to know your partner in a marriage? Nina Garrity finds everything she thought she knew about her husband, Glenn, collapses after he goes missing on a fishing trip, the boat has lots of blood but questions as to Glenn's whereabouts remain unanswered. Simon Fitch, a teacher, appears on the scene, a sweet, caring and kind man, the complete antithesis to the This is a intense, tense and utterly twisted psychological thriller of lies and secrets by DJ Palmer. Just how well is it possible to know your partner in a marriage? Nina Garrity finds everything she thought she knew about her husband, Glenn, collapses after he goes missing on a fishing trip, the boat has lots of blood but questions as to Glenn's whereabouts remain unanswered. Simon Fitch, a teacher, appears on the scene, a sweet, caring and kind man, the complete antithesis to the untrustworthy Glenn as far as Nina is concerned, in short he is the perfect man that she has been lucky to snag. He is a grieving widower, mourning the loss of his wife who committed suicide, successfully worming his way into Nina's life. Nina's son, Connor, takes to him but her daughter, Maggie, is more sceptical and hostile, she doesn't buy into his good guy shtick and intuitively understands that he is bad news. Nina tries to learn the lessons of her past, she begins to look into who exactly Simon is, and Simon is a man with secrets. What happened to Glenn? This is a well written and wonderfully plotted read, of the terrors of who you can let into your home and family, a gaslighting, manipulative and controlling psychopath, secrets and lies, and the courageous Maggie. A dark, disturbing and unsettling thriller, a great read that you will have to suspend disbelief for, that fans of psychological thrillers are likely to love. Many thanks to St Martin's Press for an ARC.
    more
  • Elyse Walters
    January 1, 1970
    SPOILER INCLUDED....( NOT ‘the’ *major* spoiler - but...’a’ spoiler)....I can’t resist ... I don’t drop spoiler-bombshells - often in reviews- but I was ROLLING ON THE FLOOR LAUGHING ... when discussing this book with my husband, Paul. It’s amazing how fun & alive books become with buddy/chats. This wasn’t the first time I’ve laughed (inappropriately actually) - when reading a domestic-psychological thriller book. The uncontrollable laughter happened to me at the end of the book, “The Couple SPOILER INCLUDED....( NOT ‘the’ *major* spoiler - but...’a’ spoiler)....I can’t resist ... I don’t drop spoiler-bombshells - often in reviews- but I was ROLLING ON THE FLOOR LAUGHING ... when discussing this book with my husband, Paul. It’s amazing how fun & alive books become with buddy/chats. This wasn’t the first time I’ve laughed (inappropriately actually) - when reading a domestic-psychological thriller book. The uncontrollable laughter happened to me at the end of the book, “The Couple Next Door”, by Shari Lapena, too. So... in D.J. Palmer’s, “The New Husband”.....I/we laughed silly about scenes in this book. We are a sick human beings in this house. HERE’S A SPOILER:A ‘therapist’ gets murdered in this story. (you’ll get details when you read the entire book)...Paul and I were cracking up & cracking jokes - “REALLY?”......”the *therapist* has to die?”. What did she do that was so bad? THIS IS A FUN BOOK TO DISCUSS... whether you like it or don’t.... whether you find fault with it or not....Whether you like the characters or not. “Lying takes effort…because eventually everyone gets tripped up in their deceit… because secrets don’t stay hidden forever”. The above excerpt epitomizes my over all feelings about “The New Husband”.....(a domestic psychological thriller). The first half of this book was both ‘readable’ - page turning interesting ‘and’ a little boring...( not awful boring)...but familiar -in storytelling...( “Sleeping With The Enemy”?).... and familiar dialogue: yada, yada, yada... with typical teenage-issues & attitudes - typical ‘mom’ denials: a story that started out sounding like many other stories we’ve read or seen in movies. But... this book kept getting better - more original in time. By around 50% into this book - things became much more sinister-twisty. Honestly, I saw problems...a few odd sentences...a little too repetitive...a little draggy at times...could be classified as a young adult book...but ....overall it was mindless-puzzling-intense in parts-entertaining reading. This will be a popular book for twisty-psychological thriller readers. It’s good. It’s creepy. It possibly lowers our intelligence...(by that I mean ... SUSPEND DISBELIEF)... ha...ha ...🤨.......it’s got that adrenaline addictive thing going on. (especially towards the end).A few more details: BUT NO MORE SPOILERS...Chapter 1…The beginning....“It was a chilly predawn morning when Anthony Strauss eased ‘Sweet Caroline’, his seventeen-foot-Boston whaler, from the trailer into the water so dark it was indistinguishable from the sky.”“Anthony thought he was alone on the water, but then saw another boat with only a dog on board. A sickening realization set in when he saw the amount of blood that covered the deck”. NOTE: Do not get hung up on the name Anthony Strauss. He’s only a name-drop character. Chapter 2....*Seventeen* months later:We are introduced to Nina Garrity and her 13-year-old daughter, Maggie...(“a middle school aged tennis player with unmistakable hostility”)....MAGGIE NEVER PLAYS TENNIS ONCE IN THIS STORY...She played lacrosse until needing to wear a ‘boo-boo’ cast-boot on her leg from an accident for a few weeks or longer.Maggie was wise beyond her years - but no tennis matches are in this novel......unless.... you think of tennis as symbolically reflecting relationships. Hm?🎾Nina’s other offspring is 16-year old son, Conner ( a High School football player:not hostile like his sister)NOTE: don’t expect much football playing either).Conner ‘might’ be the wisest character in this tale ( I’m kinda kidding - and kinda not), — [*13-*YEAR OLD **MAGGIE**is the wisest character]...Conner is not in the story very much. Yet....he was cool, calm, and collective....He disconnected from the emotional-heat taking place in his family every day. Smart guy! Daisy, the golden retriever, was easy to feel neutral about. Nothing not to love about her! *Simon Finch*: he was the new man in Nina’s life. YIKES...Keep your eye on this guy...Super good cook? YesSuper secretive? YesSuper lier? YesSuper controlling and manipulative? YES!Super CREEPY? Yes!!!Super DISTURBING? YES, YES, YES!!!Maggie ( superstar character)....had many reasons to be angry. “Nina was partly to blame because she had opened her heart and soul to another man –– a man who was not her daughter‘s father”....Nina was hooking up with Maggie’s social studies teacher from her middle school. Nina’s divorce was not finalized yet with Glen, (the missing husband/seventeen months earlier), ...when only his bloody boat was found.However...She was planning on saying ‘yes’ to the marriage proposal from Simon, soon. In the meantime Nina, Simon, Maggie, Conner, and Daisy, moved into a new house....in Seabury, New Hampshire, ....a few miles away from where Nina and her kids had lived before... with Glen. Nina was no longer living near her two very close friends Susanna Garston and Ginny Cowling. However... Susanna and Ginny were great supporting characters... women I enjoyed. They contributed feelings of normalcy.... in a story that was everything but! A favorite supporting character - another 13 year old: is Ben: ( friend to Maggie) Nina ( the character I often felt the most exhausting heartache for even with her blindspots and naïvely), was dealing with a lot!!!Her husband, Glen, was missing. She was filled with confusion, anger, and shock........she was moving on pretty fast. She was often in ‘hope’... but not awake to her potential disasters. Nina discovered Glen hadn’t been working for two years. She discovered his lies and secrets. Readers will learn as the story unfolds. Nina was an opening to receiving the sweet talk-support- that Simon was dishing out...but less an opening to believing he was dangerous or a lier. With so many lies - secrets - betrayals - and downright frightening/ unsettling situations going on in this book...from everyone...in the very end....It’s **Maggie** whom I’d most like to see again in another novel. I loved this young mature pre-teen! If D. J. Palmer writes another book about Maggie, I’ll jump right in! In the meantime... I’m happy with my old husband! Thank you, Netgalley, St. Martin’s Press, and D.J. Palmer
    more
  • Jayme
    January 1, 1970
    Reviews have been mixed on this one...which always makes me curious to find out which side of the fence I will end up on! It wasn’t a favorite for me. Glen Garrity went out fishing one morning and never returned. His boat was floating, the deck covered in blood, but no body was found. Did he drown? Or did he run off with another woman, as a certain photo might suggest? His wife, Nina, has moved on with Simon Fitch, a teacher from her daughter Maggie’s middle school. Nina is amazed that she has Reviews have been mixed on this one...which always makes me curious to find out which side of the fence I will end up on! It wasn’t a favorite for me. Glen Garrity went out fishing one morning and never returned. His boat was floating, the deck covered in blood, but no body was found. Did he drown? Or did he run off with another woman, as a certain photo might suggest? His wife, Nina, has moved on with Simon Fitch, a teacher from her daughter Maggie’s middle school. Nina is amazed that she has found such a thoughtful and caring new partner..but Maggie sees a darker side of him...Nina and Maggie both narrate, though in this ARC, the chapters were not labeled as such, and I would be a paragraph or two into the chapter, before I would realize we had switched from one to the other, and I had to backtrack and reread from the top. That was annoying but, maybe it will be different by publication date...The author definitely created an “ick” factor, as I wondered how Nina could even be attracted to this man who said things like “Dang” and “My Bad”, and who called her at work seven times a day! And, then there was the “telling” instead of “showing” which always removes me from the story as well, as summaries of what happened as opposed to the characters actually doing these things, just don’t work for me. Excerpt/Example “ Later that evening, when the kids had gone to bed, after giving Nina a foot massage, preparing her lunch, consulting with her on day two’s outfit, and refilling her glass of wine, Simon took her in his arms and made love to her with exquisite tenderness.” The book got a little bit better in the second half, when Nina finally looked past Simon’s “charm” and started to question his intentions..I wasn’t bored, and I loved Maggie but because of the flaws mentioned...just ⭐️⭐️⭐️ from me!! If you think the things that bothered me, wouldn’t bother you, pick this up on April 14, 2020! Thank You to Edelweiss, St Martin’s Press and D J Palmer for the ARC I received in exchange for a candid review!
    more
  • Marialyce
    January 1, 1970
    There are times when a book calls to you and says why not take a chance and see how it goes. For this reader, that chance paid off. I was ready for the typical story about a missing husband and the man who comes to take his place. But this book was deliciously devious and offered a few heart racing moments.Poor Nina Garrity! Not only is her husband missing, but it seems as if he was a two timing embezzler who had her fooled from the get go. So much for wine and roses! However Nina has a new man There are times when a book calls to you and says why not take a chance and see how it goes. For this reader, that chance paid off. I was ready for the typical story about a missing husband and the man who comes to take his place. But this book was deliciously devious and offered a few heart racing moments.Poor Nina Garrity! Not only is her husband missing, but it seems as if he was a two timing embezzler who had her fooled from the get go. So much for wine and roses! However Nina has a new man in her life, and although her daughter is bitterly opposed to this new match, Nina plows on ahead moving in with Mr Right and taking her two children with her.There's a lot going on and most of it is basically lies and rumors that are sending rippling effects into Nina's family. As the story continues, we find out, as usual, things we thought we knew about the people we love are often not really so. Yes, Simon Fitch is the perfect man making Nina, a year and a half after husband Glen went missing, presumably dead, jumping at the chance to become a couple and move him with him. Simon is a teacher, a catch really, but Maggie, Nina's teenage daughter sees something in Simon that is off. Perhaps it's jealousy that her mother has moved on, but there is something sinister in Simon and Maggie is determined to make her mother see the Simon that Maggie views.It's a game for Simon as he tries to ingratiate himself into the family, but with Maggie he has a capable adversary. As the secrets are revealed, we find once again what appears to be real is further from the truth than anyone thought.This was a fine psychological thriller that had me wondering if all the pieces would finally come together wondering if Nina would eventually realize that all that glitters is not gold.Thank you to D.J. Palmer, St Martin's Press, and NetGalley for an advanced copy of this exciting thriller due out April 14, 2020
    more
  • Rose
    January 1, 1970
    I have just finished reading The New Husband by D.J. Palmer. Thank you to Netgalley, the author and St. Martin's Press. for my advanced copy, in exchange for an honest reviewI am giving this book 2.5 starsIt started off quite interesting, and then I quickly began to lose interest. I thought that it was very predictable, and that the characters were ones that I could not emphasise with. The storyline was just a tad on the hokey side for my liking. This actually felt like a YA book to me, and I have just finished reading The New Husband by D.J. Palmer. Thank you to Netgalley, the author and St. Martin's Press. for my advanced copy, in exchange for an honest reviewI am giving this book 2.5 starsIt started off quite interesting, and then I quickly began to lose interest. I thought that it was very predictable, and that the characters were ones that I could not emphasise with. The storyline was just a tad on the hokey side for my liking. This actually felt like a YA book to me, and perhaps that is a good audience for it.I realise that I am not giving a rating that the majority of readers are for the book, but it was not one for my liking, and I just wanted to get through it once I started it.#NetGalley
    more
  • Theresa Alan
    January 1, 1970
    The first half of this novel is excruciatingly slow moving. I didn’t think the writing was fabulous. At the halfway mark, things get considerably more interesting. The ending is an absolute heart-wrenching page turner. If you can deal with that pacing, you might like this book. WARNING, I’m about to give something away so stop reading now if you don’t want to know: because I have an aunt you was a victim of domestic violence (which ended in her gruesome murder), I volunteered at a shelter and The first half of this novel is excruciatingly slow moving. I didn’t think the writing was fabulous. At the halfway mark, things get considerably more interesting. The ending is an absolute heart-wrenching page turner. If you can deal with that pacing, you might like this book. WARNING, I’m about to give something away so stop reading now if you don’t want to know: because I have an aunt you was a victim of domestic violence (which ended in her gruesome murder), I volunteered at a shelter and learned the many different ways a man can be abusive. It’s not just bruises. If he doesn’t want you to earn your own money or associate with friends and family—RUN. Thanks to NetGalley for the opportunity to read this book, which RELEASES APRIL 14, 2020.
    more
  • Cortney LaScola - The Bookworm Myrtle Beach
    January 1, 1970
    I'm struggling to understand how this book has such high ratings. I was really tempted to DNF it a bunch of times.I loved Saving Meghan, loved. This book does not read like it was written by the same author. The writing wasn't good, the story was choppy and didn't flow, the dialogue was forced, and I hated all of the characters. The chapters written from Maggie's perspective were the worst. Even the fact that Nina moved in with Simon because she couldn't afford her current house was ridiculous. I'm struggling to understand how this book has such high ratings. I was really tempted to DNF it a bunch of times.I loved Saving Meghan, loved. This book does not read like it was written by the same author. The writing wasn't good, the story was choppy and didn't flow, the dialogue was forced, and I hated all of the characters. The chapters written from Maggie's perspective were the worst. Even the fact that Nina moved in with Simon because she couldn't afford her current house was ridiculous. Once she realized her husband was gone and so was all their money, she should have immediately found a job instead of living off what was left for a year and a half! What capable person with two kids to take care of does that?The book did get marginally better about halfway through... not enough to change my rating from 2 stars though.
    more
  • Andrea Pole
    January 1, 1970
    The New Husband by D.J. Palmer is a wholly addictive read that pulled me in from the very start. Having read the author's previous novel, and enjoying it immensely, I knew that I was in for a treat. Let it suffice to say that my expectations were far exceeded by this one. D.J. Palmer is an author to watch.When her husband Glen goes missing and is presumed dead, Nina soon finds love again with teacher Simon, and moves him into the family home with her children Maggie and Connor. Daughter Maggie The New Husband by D.J. Palmer is a wholly addictive read that pulled me in from the very start. Having read the author's previous novel, and enjoying it immensely, I knew that I was in for a treat. Let it suffice to say that my expectations were far exceeded by this one. D.J. Palmer is an author to watch.When her husband Glen goes missing and is presumed dead, Nina soon finds love again with teacher Simon, and moves him into the family home with her children Maggie and Connor. Daughter Maggie is reluctant to allow Simon to fill the gaping hole that her father has left, and tensions simmer between the two from the very start. Maggie is convinced that Simon has a dark side that he has somehow managed to conceal from Nina and Connor, and she is determined to expose his true nature, but at what cost?This is an engrossing thriller that had me on the edge of my seat as the tension continues to escalate throughout. I will say no more, but I would highly recommend reading this one. I cannot wait to see what comes next from this talented author.Many thanks to NetGalley and St. Martin's Press for this ARC.
    more
  • Mary Jackson _TheMaryReader
    January 1, 1970
    My second book by Palmer and let me tell you, he is a storyteller like no other. If you love books that you sit down and devour in one sitting then he's your author. I despised Simon and loved Maggie, you have to read this book to find out why. Twists and turns and so much going on that you had to keep turning the pages.5 stars two times. I HIGHLY recommend this book. The Mary Reader received this book from the publisher for review. A favorable review was not required and all views expressed are My second book by Palmer and let me tell you, he is a storyteller like no other. If you love books that you sit down and devour in one sitting then he's your author. I despised Simon and loved Maggie, you have to read this book to find out why. Twists and turns and so much going on that you had to keep turning the pages.5 stars two times. I HIGHLY recommend this book. The Mary Reader received this book from the publisher for review. A favorable review was not required and all views expressed are our own.
    more
  • Donna Hines
    January 1, 1970
    Can you really and truly know someone just by simply being married?Nina is coming upon this realization after uncovering the truths about her husband Glenn who has gone missing after fishing on his boat.Not to jump to conclusions but what if he was leading a double life and doesn't want to be found?Nina for all intense purposes has moved on and declared herself a widow even though a body was never found.She is now dating a handsome teacher from her daughter Maggie's middle school and believes Can you really and truly know someone just by simply being married?Nina is coming upon this realization after uncovering the truths about her husband Glenn who has gone missing after fishing on his boat.Not to jump to conclusions but what if he was leading a double life and doesn't want to be found?Nina for all intense purposes has moved on and declared herself a widow even though a body was never found.She is now dating a handsome teacher from her daughter Maggie's middle school and believes she has finally found love.Or has she?Sam it turns out is also a grieving widow after his first wife committed suicide.Supremely devoted or a dangerous predator? You decide...Maggie refuses to accept him as her dad feeling offset by his demeanor while the other son Connor is more welcoming.A terrible choice in man or new and happy beginnings?Everyone is being overly cautious but for good reason as the warning signs are present.The shocking truth could lead to danger both for Nina, her kids, and those in her inner circle.A true thriller of epic proportions.As we ask ourselves can you ever truly run and hide from terror and or abuse?
    more
  • Obsidian
    January 1, 1970
    Please note that I received this via NetGalley. This did not affect my rating or review.This was just okay. I think once we get the reveal about what was really going on the book lost any interest to me. I think if Palmer had cut out one of the POVs so that we (readers) could be shocked about what was going on, it could have worked better. I also have to call BS for some of the explanations we get in the end. The big had some small plot holes that I just rolled with. I would be interested in Please note that I received this via NetGalley. This did not affect my rating or review.This was just okay. I think once we get the reveal about what was really going on the book lost any interest to me. I think if Palmer had cut out one of the POVs so that we (readers) could be shocked about what was going on, it could have worked better. I also have to call BS for some of the explanations we get in the end. The big had some small plot holes that I just rolled with. I would be interested in reading Palmer again in the future. "The New Husband" follows, well not the new husband, but the new boyfriend of Nina Garrity. About 17 months ago, Nina's husband Glen disappeared. It takes a long time to find this out, but it seems that Nina's husband was having an affair, wasn't working for several years, and then poofed into the wind. Nina assumes he left her for the other woman and is now trying to repair her life with her two kids, Connor, and Maggie. Nina is now living with her boyfriend, Simon, who is a high school teacher and the community is side-eyeing Nina a bit for moving on so quickly after Glen disappeared. Nina is trying to get a new job though and get more settled with Simon. Too bad her daughter Maggie hates him and now Nina is getting weird warnings about Simon. The POVs in this book jump to Nina, her daughter, and another character (no spoilers). I have to say at first I was annoyed with Maggie cause she was acting bratty, but you feel for her when you realize what she is going through at school and how much she misses her dad. I wish that Palmer had included the character of Conner as a POV. I think if we had just stayed with Nina things would have been better honestly. She had a lot to deal with. Having us get Nina in therapy, and then Nina alone was weird. And then we get Maggie's POV's too. I started getting a bit jumbled after a while. The ending felt a bit rushed to me. We follow up with everyone 3 years later and I maybe just rolled my eyes at the too pat ending. I wish that Palmer had gone darker a bit with this book or had not revealed so much up front which took out some of my enjoyment of this book.
    more
  • Sherri Thacker
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to the publisher and NetGalley for an early release of this book for my honest review. This started out a little slow for me and I almost put it down. I kept reading, thinking I know where this is going but nope, I was wrong so of course I had to keep going. A twist through me completely off base in the middle of the book. So yes, I kept reading! Without giving too much away, Simon is not who he thinks he is! A pretty good book and it kept me glued to the pages till the end. Thanks to the publisher and NetGalley for an early release of this book for my honest review. This started out a little slow for me and I almost put it down. I kept reading, thinking I know where this is going but nope, I was wrong so of course I had to keep going. A twist through me completely off base in the middle of the book. So yes, I kept reading! Without giving too much away, Simon is not who he thinks he is! A pretty good book and it kept me glued to the pages till the end. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
    more
  • Carol
    January 1, 1970
    New Hampshire. An unmanned boat....a barking dog....blood....and the mystery of a missing husband. This is how it all begins. THE NEW HUSBAND (to be)....devoted new beau or too good to be true? The answer seemed obvious (to me) early on....But what is this dude's agenda?I had to keep turning the pages to find out as Nina continually questions her memory, her conversations, her hostile daughter Maggie and her rather quick decision to move her two children into a new home with a new man when New Hampshire. An unmanned boat....a barking dog....blood....and the mystery of a missing husband. This is how it all begins. THE NEW HUSBAND (to be)....devoted new beau or too good to be true? The answer seemed obvious (to me) early on....But what is this dude's agenda?I had to keep turning the pages to find out as Nina continually questions her memory, her conversations, her hostile daughter Maggie and her rather quick decision to move her two children into a new home with a new man when husband Glen is still missing. As the story progresses, we see conniving and controlling become dark and unsettling, but still Nina proclaims they all need to work harder to get along and make their new family work....until Maggie's big scare. There are secrets, there are lies, even intensity in the storyline at times, but there are also times you'll shake your head not believing the inane actions of a mother. Really good characters in thirteen year old Maggie, friend Ben (such a good guy) and Daisy the dog! Many thanks to St. Martin's Press via NetGalley for the arc in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Martie Nees Record
    January 1, 1970
    Genre: Mystery and ThrillerPublisher: St. Martin’s PressPub. Date: April 14, 2020 Mini Review After minor hand surgery, I wanted an easy read to keep my mind off the discomfort. (Please forgive me if this review is not up to par; typing is still a challenge). I wanted easy, but this book is, well, sophomoric. I know many other ARC reviewers enjoyed this one, but once again, I am in the minority. However, this time I am not completely alone. As Goodreads reviewer Meredith puts it, this book reads Genre: Mystery and ThrillerPublisher: St. Martin’s PressPub. Date: April 14, 2020 Mini Review After minor hand surgery, I wanted an easy read to keep my mind off the discomfort. (Please forgive me if this review is not up to par; typing is still a challenge). I wanted easy, but this book is, well, sophomoric. I know many other ARC reviewers enjoyed this one, but once again, I am in the minority. However, this time I am not completely alone. As Goodreads reviewer Meredith puts it, this book reads like a Lifetime movie. Those were my exact thoughts on this one. (I had already written this before reading her review). You know what I mean, with movie titles such as “Sleeping with the Devil” or “Escaping My Stalker,” etc. you know you are watching a film that will be somewhere between a weepy melodrama and a campy thriller focusing on the various ways women suffer by men who first charm them until they show their true colors. “House” revolves around a single mom with two kids. Her husband has been missing for two years. His family and the police assume he is dead. The wife lets a new man into her life. He moves in, gets along with her teenage son, but not with her middle school-aged daughter. That is really all you need to know because, from the moment, the new husband begins keeping her from her friends, you know exactly what you’re reading. Of course, there are twists, though, in my opinion, unbelievable ones. Like a Lifetime movie, this novel can feel like mindless entertainment to be read when you want to keep your mind off real life. Since the novel accomplished this for me, as lame as it is, I feel obligated to give it two out of five stars. I received this Advance Review Copy (ARC) novel from the publisher at no cost in exchange for an honest review. Find all my book reviews at: https://www.goodreads.com/review/list...https://books6259.wordpress.com/https://www.barnesandnoble.com/review...https://www.facebook.com/martie.neesr...https://www.instagram.com/martie6947/https://www.pinterest.com/martienreco...\https://www.amazon.com/https://twitter.com/NeesRecord
    more
  • DeAnn
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 troubling starsThis one centers around a family grieving the loss of the head of the family, he disappeared fishing one day and has been gone almost two years. Nina is the wife and there are two teenage children – Maggie and Charlie.Nina has gotten involved with another man and her kids are struggling with having a new man around. It’s especially tough for Maggie because the new man, Simon, is a teacher at her middle school. Nina has decided to move to a new house with Simon because the 3.5 troubling starsThis one centers around a family grieving the loss of the head of the family, he disappeared fishing one day and has been gone almost two years. Nina is the wife and there are two teenage children – Maggie and Charlie.Nina has gotten involved with another man and her kids are struggling with having a new man around. It’s especially tough for Maggie because the new man, Simon, is a teacher at her middle school. Nina has decided to move to a new house with Simon because the bills are piling up and she can’t afford the house any longer.Simon starts to exhibit some questionable behavior and that made me a bit crazy considering Nina’s reactions. She defends Simon at every turn.This one has a really slow first half and then things pick up at the half-way mark. I struggled with believability on this one though – especially with Nina’s character. As a mother, I would trust my children much more than a new man in my life.Thank you to Edelweiss, St. Martin’s Press, and DJ Palmer for an early copy of this one to read in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Books Just 4 Me
    January 1, 1970
    Definitely, an intense psychological thriller! It was a nice, non-overwhelming slow start. Learning the story of how Glen disappeared and is presumed dead since they can’t find a body. Nina moves on with Simon even though her daughter Maggie was struggling with the new relationship. The story was moving at a steady pace and then BAM! It was non-stop crawling out of my skin moments! Shocking, jaw-dropping! It was filled with such intensity, suspicion, & manipulation. It was so good, highly Definitely, an intense psychological thriller! It was a nice, non-overwhelming slow start. Learning the story of how Glen disappeared and is presumed dead since they can’t find a body. Nina moves on with Simon even though her daughter Maggie was struggling with the new relationship. The story was moving at a steady pace and then BAM! It was non-stop crawling out of my skin moments! Shocking, jaw-dropping! It was filled with such intensity, suspicion, & manipulation. It was so good, highly recommend! I especially liked the epilogue and the lessons it offers. Thank you to D.J. Palmer, Martin Press, and NetGalley for the opportunity to read this and offer my unbiased opinion.
    more
  • Lisa
    January 1, 1970
    This story will keep you up at night. It's a slow build in the beginning- setting the scene, if you will. We get to know Nina, Simon, Nina's kids. Most of the story is told in third person but some of it in Nina's daughter's perspective. Obviously a young teen girl whose dad disappeared would have different thoughts on the new man in their lives.The second half is where things get, um, crazy. Like crazy crazy. Disturbing, suspenseful, a story it's hard to walk away from but at times hard to This story will keep you up at night. It's a slow build in the beginning- setting the scene, if you will. We get to know Nina, Simon, Nina's kids. Most of the story is told in third person but some of it in Nina's daughter's perspective. Obviously a young teen girl whose dad disappeared would have different thoughts on the new man in their lives.The second half is where things get, um, crazy. Like crazy crazy. Disturbing, suspenseful, a story it's hard to walk away from but at times hard to read. Even when I knew the how and why, I still couldn't guess what all would happen. This was just the kind of book I was looking for right now.
    more
  • Kim Bruce Daniel
    January 1, 1970
    Wow!!! I didn’t want to put the book down!! Oh so good of a thriller!!! I booed Simon & cheered for Nina & the kids!! DJ did it again! I highly recommend it!!
  • Christine
    January 1, 1970
    4.25 stars! This book kept me on the edge of my seat!
  • Judy Collins
    January 1, 1970
    Look for my Q&A Elevator Ride with the author coming April 2020! WOW! 2020 books are smoking! Palmer has switched over to the "dark side!" What an awesome read! THE NEW HUSBAND is INTENSE, ADDICTIVE, MIND-BLOWING! Top Books of 2020. More of this, please. This one will turn heads (360 degrees). Readers, move this to the TOP your list! This may be one of his best. The manipulation is off the charts! A WINNER! Cover crush. I am a huge fan of Daniel and Michael Palmer's books —have read them Look for my Q&A Elevator Ride with the author coming April 2020! WOW! 2020 books are smoking! Palmer has switched over to the "dark side!" What an awesome read! THE NEW HUSBAND is INTENSE, ADDICTIVE, MIND-BLOWING! Top Books of 2020. 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 More of this, please. This one will turn heads (360 degrees). 🙌 Readers, move this to the TOP your list! This may be one of his best. The manipulation is off the charts! A WINNER! 🥂 Cover crush. I am a huge fan of Daniel and Michael Palmer's books —have read them all. I am certainly enjoying the new titles under the DJ name, including this one and his most recent, Saving Meghan Top Book of 2019. I was hooked from page one to the explosive ending! Each time I had to put this down, I could not wait to get back to it. Cross out the time, it is UNPUTDOWNABLE! Simon was one bad manipulative psycho guy and Palmer does a great job with the pacing, suspense, and character development, as always. Simon (reminds me of my "ex" husband-strong emphasis on "ex). Nail-biting domestic suspense crosses psychological thriller at its finest! All this is very believable. Plus the daughter Maggie's character was superb. Quick notes and full review to follow. First, you had me at Golden Retriever on the boat. Daisy reminds me of my "Golden Duke" for 15 glorious years. Miss him every day. Daisy was the hero with some help from Maggie, Connor, and friend, Ben. Great kids! A powerful story of blending good vs. evil. Simon (is a very bad bad bad boy) —he should really hook up with Kaira Rouda's bad girl Jane Harris in The Favorite Daughter or Victoria Helen Stone's Jane Doe , (both top books of 2018); and Kimberly Belle's Dear Wife (hubby), Michele Campbell's A Stranger on the Beach and Charlie Donlea's Some Choose Darkness. All Top Books of 2019 . PS you can view my elevator interviews with all five of this fine authors via the links. If you enjoyed these books, you are sure to devour THE NEW HUSBAND. THE NEW HUSBAND would make for a great movie or TV series! 🎬 Fans of "Dirty John" and "Sleeping with the Enemy" will find a lot to like here. There are so many things to LOVE which I will go into more detail later. I wanted to give you a heads up to get this on your list. More coming closer to the pub date. I will be working on an interview with DJ (if I can score), to get more of the story behind the story. This one will be a riot! So intriguing. I LOVED IT! Readers and bloggers, let me know your thoughts. I can't wait to hear from you. St Martin's Press is one of my favorite publishers and they know how to crank ou the WINNERS! A special thank you 💕to St. Martin's Press for an advanced reading copy. #JDCMustReadBooks
    more
  • PinkAmy loves books, cats and naps
    January 1, 1970
    ***Thanks to NetGalley for providing me a complimentary copy of THE NEW HUSBAND by DJ Palmer in exchange for my honest review.***4.5 STARSNina’s husband Glen vanishes from a fishing boat, leaving behind a trail of blood. Two years later, he’s presumed dead and she’s moved on with Simon, much to the chagrin of her tween daughter, Maggie who sees a darkness in her mom’s boyfriend her older brother Connor and mom do not.From the moment Simon appeared on my kindle screen, I knew he was bad news. His ***Thanks to NetGalley for providing me a complimentary copy of THE NEW HUSBAND by DJ Palmer in exchange for my honest review.***4.5 STARSNina’s husband Glen vanishes from a fishing boat, leaving behind a trail of blood. Two years later, he’s presumed dead and she’s moved on with Simon, much to the chagrin of her tween daughter, Maggie who sees a darkness in her mom’s boyfriend her older brother Connor and mom do not.From the moment Simon appeared on my kindle screen, I knew he was bad news. His subtle manipulation gave me a visceral reaction, making my skin crawl as I aligned myself with Maggie. DJ Palmer masterfully showed his escalating control in a way readers could understand why a vulnerable, yet self-aware Nina could miss the earlier signs. Palmer made Nina strong and capable of standing up to Simon by not falling for all the BS he flung her way. Maggie, oh Maggie, was a hero. Awkward and imperfect she turned the loss of her father, strife of Simon and middle school bullies into incentives to kick ass and take names. She knew in her soul that Simon was problematic, never falling for the act her mother and brother bought.Palmer’s sophomore effort was even more riveting than her debut, SAVING MEGHAN. One of the reveals stopped me cold yet made so much sense. THE NEW HUSBAND is both a thriller and a psychological thriller, satisfying from start to finish (which doesn’t necessarily mean a happy ending), in part because Palmer’s characters evoke empathy and her plot is solid. Add this to your TBR list ASAP.
    more
  • Diana Iozzia (Bookworm Banter)
    January 1, 1970
    “The New Husband”Written by D.J. PalmerReviewed by Diana Iozzia“The New Husband” was an exciting and entertaining thriller, that follows a mother named Nina, who’s daughter is very suspicious of her new stepfather, Simon. Nina is a very strong-willed and likable character, whose first husband either perished or disappearing during a fishing boat accident a few years ago. After falling in love with her daughter’s teacher, Simon, Nina feels happy and at peace. When her daughter, Maggie, begins to “The New Husband”Written by D.J. PalmerReviewed by Diana Iozzia“The New Husband” was an exciting and entertaining thriller, that follows a mother named Nina, who’s daughter is very suspicious of her new stepfather, Simon. Nina is a very strong-willed and likable character, whose first husband either perished or disappearing during a fishing boat accident a few years ago. After falling in love with her daughter’s teacher, Simon, Nina feels happy and at peace. When her daughter, Maggie, begins to suspect that her new stepfather is lying and has a hostile temper, Nina feels empowered to protect Simon and her family, by squelching the lies. So why does Simon seem so perfectly innocent when he’s around everyone? Is he just the perfect fiancé, who cooks wonderful dinners, loves his new stepchildren, and always remains a calming presence? Or is Maggie right, that Simon is truly dangerous?I have always loved thrillers like this; the new partner joins the family and perhaps they are not all that innocent. D.J. Palmer is not a new writer to me. I read his book “Saving Meghan” over the summer, which again, was a novel where you are not meant to trust the narrators or any characters for that matter. Palmer creates appealing and interesting characters, with relatable traits and qualities that either allows the author to build trust or completely demolish it. We readers project our trust and distrust onto the characters, siding with those who uphold the same morals.I truly enjoyed this novel as a whole, but there were some aspects that did not cement this book as a perfect new favorite. To begin, I personally did not enjoy the perspective told through Maggie. Having an omniscient narrator tell the rest of the story was great, but Maggie’s perspective certainly flawed the story. A thirteen-year-old narrator would not use the vocabulary, idioms, and overall language that this one did. For example, Maggie uses the word “miffed”. She explains events in ways that adults would, using expressions that thirteen-year-olds do not use, unless they are English and History prodigies.Additionally, there are quite a few cheap cliffhangers that finish off certain chapters, attempting to create shock value. These cliffhangers are immediately popped like balloons the very next page, leaving the cliffhangers to be unnecessary and a tad over-dramatic. For example, Simon enters the living room, with a gun!!! Wait. Next page, it’s revealed that since he’s a history teacher, it’s a Civil War musket he plans to take on a field trip. There are a few more mystery thriller tropes that could have been eliminated. How many times do we need characters to have an allergy, that naturally is played upon by the villain? I truly love the red herrings in this story. This is one of those mysteries until the absolutely last page that prevents you from being completely sure of the truth. Switching from so many different clues and details, with suspicious elements and scares, Palmer truly accomplished creating his plot efficiently. Lastly, I found the final act of this story to be very well-executed. The reveal of the villain occurs halfway through the book, leaving the main characters to decide whom to believe, while also trying to escape to safety. Although I certainly enjoyed “Saving Meghan” more, this was an excellent addition to the mystery thriller and psychological thriller sub-genres. I believe if you enjoyed books like “The Girl Before”, “A Nearly Normal Family”, and “The Whisper Man”, you’ll enjoy this. I truly loved the family element, how much one would go to save their family, similar to the other books suggested here.This was a four-star read for me, which is still pretty great. Although the book will not cement itself as a favorite, I will still highly recommend it to those who enjoy reading thrillers. I received an advance edition of this book in exchange for reading and reviewing purposes. Thank you to the wonderful St. Martin’s Press for organizing this opportunity.
    more
  • Janet
    January 1, 1970
    When it is snowy and cold outside, superspeed readers like me can read 150 - 200+ pages/hour, so yes, I have read the book … and many more today. LOLI received a temporary digital Advance Reader Copy of this book from #NetGalley, the publisher and the author in exchange for an honest review. From the publisher, as I do not repeat the contents or story of books in reviews, I let them do it as they do it better than I do .The New Husband is a riveting thriller about the lies we tell ourselves from When it is snowy and cold outside, superspeed readers like me can read 150 - 200+ pages/hour, so yes, I have read the book … and many more today. LOLI received a temporary digital Advance Reader Copy of this book from #NetGalley, the publisher and the author in exchange for an honest review. From the publisher, as I do not repeat the contents or story of books in reviews, I let them do it as they do it better than I do 😸.The New Husband is a riveting thriller about the lies we tell ourselves from D. J. Palmer, the author of Saving Meghan.Just because you love someone doesn’t mean you know them.Nina Garrity learned that the hard way after discovering that her missing husband, Glen, had been leading a double life with another woman. But Glen's gone—presumably drowned while fishing on his boat—so she can't confront him about the affair or any of his other misdeeds. A year and a half after the accident, Nina considers herself a widow, even though the police never found a body. Following a chance encounter with Simon Fitch, a teacher from her daughter Maggie's middle school, Nina finds love again and has hopes of putting her shattered life back together.Simon, a widower still grieving the suicide of his first wife, has found his dream girl in Nina. His charm and affections help breakthrough to a heart hardened by betrayal. Nina's teenage son, Connor, embraces Simon as the father he wishes his dad could have been, but Maggie sees a far darker side to this new man in their lives. Even Nina’s good friends wonder if Simon is supremely devoted—or dangerously possessive.But Nina is committed, not only to her soon-to-be new husband but also to resuming her former career as a social worker. Before she can move forward, however, Nina must first clear her conscience that she's not making another terrible choice in a man. In doing so, she will uncover the shocking truth: the greatest danger to her, and her children, are the lies people tell themselves.Having ADORED "Saving Meghan" I was excited to have a chance to read this book. It is amazing - a tight, terse plot with fascinating characters and the kind of book that makes you hold your breath in anticipation of what is happening next. There is a very fine line between being devoted and possessive and I can see book clubs inhaling this book and talking about the men in their past and present: add some wine to make it seriously interesting. As always, I try to find a reason to not rate with stars as I love emojis (outside of their incessant use by "🙏-ed Social Influencer Millennials/#BachelorNation survivors/etc. " on Instagram and Twitter... Get a real job, people!) so let's give it 🍑🍑🍑🍑🍑
    more
  • lady book reader
    January 1, 1970
    Great book! Suspenseful! Nina finds out her husband is missing. She finds out he lived a double life she or their children knew nothing about. Glen supposedly drowned while fishing All they found is their dog and blood on the boat. Nina meets a man named Simon about a year later. He’s a teacher at her daughter’s middle school. Maggie is not happy her mom moved on so fast with Simon and neither are her friends. Are they right? Did Nina unwillingly put her family at risk?
    more
  • Christy Wv Tate
    January 1, 1970
    Oh my did this book keep me on the edge of my seat. This book had many twists that I didn’t see coming. I thought I had it figured out but I was wrong.A fisherman finds a boat with a dog and blood. Nina’s husband has suddenly vanished- no clue as to why...Simon the kind hearted middle school teacher is there to lend his shoulder, help with searching for her husband. Nina starts to have feelings for Simon.Does Glen come back. This book hits the market in April of 2020 and I’m telling you to put Oh my did this book keep me on the edge of my seat. This book had many twists that I didn’t see coming. I thought I had it figured out but I was wrong.A fisherman finds a boat with a dog and blood. Nina’s husband has suddenly vanished- no clue as to why...Simon the kind hearted middle school teacher is there to lend his shoulder, help with searching for her husband. Nina starts to have feelings for Simon.Does Glen come back. This book hits the market in April of 2020 and I’m telling you to put the date on your calendar and put this book on your TBR.Thank you Goodreads and St.Martins Press...
    more
Write a review