Regretting You
From #1 New York Times bestselling author of It Ends with Us comes a poignant novel about family, first love, grief, and betrayal that will touch the hearts of both mothers and daughters.Morgan Grant and her sixteen-year-old daughter, Clara, would like nothing more than to be nothing alike.Morgan is determined to prevent her daughter from making the same mistakes she did. By getting pregnant and married way too young, Morgan put her own dreams on hold. Clara doesn’t want to follow in her mother’s footsteps. Her predictable mother doesn’t have a spontaneous bone in her body.With warring personalities and conflicting goals, Morgan and Clara find it increasingly difficult to coexist. The only person who can bring peace to the household is Chris—Morgan’s husband, Clara’s father, and the family anchor. But that peace is shattered when Chris is involved in a tragic and questionable accident. The heartbreaking and long-lasting consequences will reach far beyond just Morgan and Clara.While struggling to rebuild everything that crashed around them, Morgan finds comfort in the last person she expects to, and Clara turns to the one boy she’s been forbidden to see. With each passing day, new secrets, resentment, and misunderstandings make mother and daughter fall further apart. So far apart, it might be impossible for them to ever fall back together.

Regretting You Details

TitleRegretting You
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseDec 10th, 2019
PublisherMontlake Romance
Rating
GenreDrama, Family, Womens Fiction, Contemporary, Romance, Fiction, Realistic Fiction, Novels, Contemporary Romance, Young Adult

Regretting You Review

  • Alex ✰ Comets and Comments ✰
    January 1, 1970
    “I’ve only ever wanted to be with you.” If books were dresses, Colleen Hoover comes out with the ones WITH pockets!!! _______________ A Story You Won't Regret Every single time I pick up a CoHo, I get pulled into such a distinct feeling. It's a nostalgic, hopeful, smiling-through-the-tears feeling that I can never find elsewhere. Regretting You exceeded my expectations and completely annihilated me. There is so much to be said of how well-crafted and beautiful this book was and I don't “I’ve only ever wanted to be with you.” If books were dresses, Colleen Hoover comes out with the ones WITH pockets!!! _______________ A Story You Won't Regret Every single time I pick up a CoHo, I get pulled into such a distinct feeling. It's a nostalgic, hopeful, smiling-through-the-tears feeling that I can never find elsewhere. Regretting You exceeded my expectations and completely annihilated me. There is so much to be said of how well-crafted and beautiful this book was and I don't even know where to begin... "Sometimes when we’re alone, he looks at me in a way that makes me feel empty when he looks away." Let me start by suggesting that you should read this book with no prior knowledge of what the story entails. This is why this review is going to be spoiler-free, because that is honestly the only way you get to experience all the shocking and heartfelt moments for what they truly are. Morgan and Clara's story are both so different but the way they weave together is flawless. Colleen Hoover always writes more than just a simple boy meets girl romance book. The main aspect of this book that I loved was the way Morgan and Clara loved and struggled with each other. This book could be read by a father, a mother and a daughter - it has a different tale to tell for each I think. Her writing is exceptional in this especially because she dealt with two completely different characters undergoing two completely different story arcs and developments. I could clearly distinguish between the voices and the separate accounts of grief. “Dinner is ready. Go tell them before he gets her pregnant.” You always get a mixture of humor, love and loss with CoHo books and this did not fail to go above and beyond that. Also, I do think this can be placed on the boundary of YA and NA. (I'd personally agree with the YA Contemporary rating).At first, I worried that I wouldnt be able to appreciate the romance stories within this book because I was too invested in the actual plot of the family, but I could not have been more wrong. The romance in this made my heart pitter-patter just like a CoHo book always does. I swear, Colleen outdoes herself every year. It's weird writing this review because I usually have to go through pages and pages of highlights and notes that I made so that I can end up with a clear and succinct review to express my thoughts but I had close to no notes/highlights for Regretting You. That's how unputdownable this was. I was a 4 am in the morning type of crazy when I realized I had finished 80% of the book in less than a day. That's the worst kind of obsession with CoHo books, you end up reeling because you just swallowed the entire story up and now you're left having to wait for the next time she decides to grace us with a novel. “I didn’t think our first kiss would be like that,” he says quietly. “Like what?” “Sweet.” “How did you think it would be?” His eyes wander to the few remaining customers still lingering. “I can’t show you in here.” I absolutely loved this and my adoration of how this woman can take a story and make a masterpiece never fails to leave me stunned.
    more
  • Nilufer Ozmekik
    January 1, 1970
    MY UPDATED REVIEW IS FRESHLY BAKED AND READY TO BE SERVED!IIIIIIIIII LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVVVEEEEEE ITTTTTTTTTTTTT SOOOOOOOOOO MUCCHHH! And I decided to name this book “Loving You” with fuchsia colored cover (of course it’s my favorite color)COLHO!!! You’re my all-time favorite romance writer who can perfectly create both YA and adult stories and thankfully with this book, you gave us two different amazingly heart wrenching and emotional stories.And I finally understand why you chose “ORANGE” MY UPDATED REVIEW IS FRESHLY BAKED AND READY TO BE SERVED!IIIIIIIIII LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVVVEEEEEE ITTTTTTTTTTTTT SOOOOOOOOOO MUCCHHH! And I decided to name this book “Loving You” with fuchsia colored cover (of course it’s my favorite color)COLHO!!! You’re my all-time favorite romance writer who can perfectly create both YA and adult stories and thankfully with this book, you gave us two different amazingly heart wrenching and emotional stories.And I finally understand why you chose “ORANGE” as a cover color you queen of sarcasm! I waited too long to get this book into my hands and definitely hate all the lucky readers who are chosen to read it before me!! It was more painful than waiting for GOT’s last season for whole 2 and 5 years (we all know how it resulted! I threw away my TV from window and cancel my HBO membership!), listening Matthew McConaughey’s Oscar speech, eating brussels sprouts for dinner ( because there is nothing in your fridge and you need to fill your stomach to consume more booze!), listening my besties’ and husband’s burping contest (yes, I have to find better friends and educate my husband with raw meat)! So yes, I celebrate the release date with too much champagne and next day, I started my reading with a heavy head (I thought some construction company rented my brain cells and start to build a skyscraper inside my brain!) THOUGHTS: At the end of first quarter COLHO terribly punched us! (Some kind of same twist we got from the beginning of “All your perfects” but this one cut deeper to me, to entire characters of the book and my entire neighborhood because I read this book aloud to educate my environment and guess what my mother and sister in law already start wearing matching t-shirts that words printed on: -We love you COLHO- and of course they stole her books from my library but I forgave them because I changed the covers with Lord of the Rings series just teaching them some manners!) I think I rooted more for YA romance parts because Miller and his grandfather stole my heart from the beginning. Miller and Clara’s love story started with an obstacle like “Maybe Someday” book has. But it resolved faster and we reach for the good parts, seeing their attraction and falling in love with each other.I’m not gonna talk much about the story but I want to tell how this book made me feel: It made me cried several times, it made me pissed off, it made me excited, it made me sigh million times, it made me smile, it made me laugh, it made me scream and finally IT MADE ME FALL IN LOVE WITH THIS BEAUTIFUL CHARACTERS AND THIS FANTASTIC BOOK!I had a sh**ty romance year because most of my favorite romance writers released what the hell is that kind of disturbing, disappointing books. And some of them released their thriller debuts (actually they were good but I still wonder why they gave up creating emotional, tear jerker, pant melting romance stories?)I can only say that: I loved Morgan’s strength and standing for her daughter to save her from emotional turmoil even it makes her look like an unlikable mother. Jonah was a little doormat hero but he was still adorable, trustworthy, humble guy. I adored how he raised Elijah and how he treated with respect and caring to Morgan.Miller ( I also love the beer brand) is my raising star and his final gesture made me want giving him 5 gazillion stars! And Clara’s smartness, toughness, maturity to face the depressing ( at some parts she pissed me off and completely lost her control which made me sad for Miles but she was still likable and better character from most of the YA characters I’ve read lately) situations earned her several brownie points which I wanted to share her but I already ate them.OVERALL: Thanks to my staring Queen (take a look her beautiful staring photos at her instagram account) who never ever disappoint me with her talented writing and memorable!
    more
  • Christy
    January 1, 1970
    5 stars Regretting You just made it’s way into my top 3 Colleen Hoover books. I loved it so much. It was a beautiful story with many different themes. It was a mix of young adult and contemporary romance. It’s one of those books that you can’t put into one box.This book felt like I was reading 3 separate stories at once, yet they came together seamlessly. It was the story of a mother and teenage daughter and their changing relationship. The story of young love. And the story of a grieving 5 stars Regretting You just made it’s way into my top 3 Colleen Hoover books. I loved it so much. It was a beautiful story with many different themes. It was a mix of young adult and contemporary romance. It’s one of those books that you can’t put into one box.This book felt like I was reading 3 separate stories at once, yet they came together seamlessly. It was the story of a mother and teenage daughter and their changing relationship. The story of young love. And the story of a grieving woman navigating an adult relationship while looking for answers. I know that sounds mismatched and kind of vague but it needs to be. As a matter of fact, PLEASE don’t read the blurb to this book. I didn’t, and I’m so glad I didn’t. I feel like it gives so much away that is much more impactful if you don’t know what direction the story will take.I really loved the romances in this book, but my favorite part was the mother/daughter relationship. Morgan and Clara go through so much, but they go through it together. Morgan is a mom who will do anything to protect her daughter. She’s selfless, unwavering, and so strong. I loved her so much. And I also loved watching Clara grow change. Sometimes life throws a lot at you, and all you can do is get through it. And get through it she does. “That’s a lot of pressure for someone your age.” Miller rests a hand on my cheek. “You’re only sixteen and look what you’ve been through. Life doesn’t play favorites.” This is one of my favorite Colleen Hoover books, and I have no doubt it will make my favorites list for the year. It was a beautiful journey, that was heartbreaking and heartwarming all at once. It was emotional, real, raw, and made me feel so much.This is a book about grief, betrayal, and heart break. But it’s also a story about love, forgiveness, and moving forward. Life isn’t easy. But there are people in your life that make it easier and all around better. Regretting You is a captivating and refreshing story of a mother and daughter. It’s a story about all different kinds of love and I adored it. A new five star favorite! “I’m confident that I’ll never spend a single second of my life regretting you.”
    more
  • jessica
    January 1, 1970
    ive never given a CoHo book fewer than 5 stars and im sure as heck not gonna start now. what really surprised me was how much i enjoyed the family aspect of this. i really love how CoHo portrays her romance, so i was worried the focus on the mother/daughter relationship would detract from that, but it doesnt! if anything, focusing on two different romances is what bothered me (if i can even consider it bothersome - which i probably cant). i really appreciate both them. i actually wish she had ive never given a CoHo book fewer than 5 stars and im sure as heck not gonna start now. what really surprised me was how much i enjoyed the family aspect of this. i really love how CoHo portrays her romance, so i was worried the focus on the mother/daughter relationship would detract from that, but it doesnt! if anything, focusing on two different romances is what bothered me (if i can even consider it bothersome - which i probably cant). i really appreciate both them. i actually wish she had written two separate books and given each pairing their own story, just so i could have that much extra time with them. but i understand how each character connects and i think the story does benefit from it. so again, another wonderful book by the queen of romance and human connection. ↠ 4.5 stars
    more
  • BernLuvsBooks (Mom to 2 Posh Lil Divas)
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 Gave Me All The Feels, Emotional Stars! Simply put Colleen Hoover does it again. This book about grief, love, friendship and family took me on such an emotional roller coaster. I loved the characters - CoHo has such a way of making her characters come to life. It feels as if you know them. I definitely felt that here. There is a dual romance that worked really well within the story. You will find yourself invested in both these relationships and rooting for the characters to have a true shot 4.5 Gave Me All The Feels, Emotional Stars! Simply put Colleen Hoover does it again. This book about grief, love, friendship and family took me on such an emotional roller coaster. I loved the characters - CoHo has such a way of making her characters come to life. It feels as if you know them. I definitely felt that here. There is a dual romance that worked really well within the story. You will find yourself invested in both these relationships and rooting for the characters to have a true shot at some well deserved happiness. The mother-daughter relationship represented really resonated with me and touched my heart. Doesn't Hoover have a gift for thinking up the BEST leading men?! She knows how to make you fall for these fictional characters as if they were real. Both Jonah and Miles stole my heart. They now have a special space for themselves amongst my most beloved "book boyfriends". Trust me - you'll fall for them too. Just remember I claimed Jonah first! 🥰So if I loved this book so much, why then the picky 4.5 rating you ask?! I don't want to give away any spoilers BUT there was one piece of the story that was left unanswered and this girl wanted in on the first hand knowledge - badly! I closed my kindle with a thud of aggression at NOT having the satisfaction I wanted. Why CoHO, Why? Your characters might have been fine with it but this reader wanted, no I needed, that closure! 😉 Still, I can't really hold it against you. You know just how to get to me and I'm here for whatever you decide to write next girl! A HUGE thank you to Colleen Hoover, Montlake Romance and NetGalley for the opportunity to read and review an arc of this book!
    more
  • Ashley (pawingthroughpages)
    January 1, 1970
    UPDATE: 5-31-19 My name is Ashley, and I approve this cover. *two thumbs up* The cover was just revealed on Colleen's InstagramDear Montlake Romance,I hope this finds you well. Please DO NOT put awkward people on Colleen's covers. It's tacky and off brand for her. Don't think I didn't look up your other covers...I did.. Please do right by the queen.Let's recap: NO PEOPLE ON COLLEEN'S COVERS.Best of Luck, Ashley
    more
  • ✨ A ✨
    January 1, 1970
    Well hello there future CoHo book. I know it's too soon but... I can tell that I'm going to love you!! Well hello there future CoHo book. I know it's too soon but... I can tell that I'm going to love you!! 😌
  • Gabby
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 StarsWow, this story is incredible. I will admit, after discovering this book is YA (or at least has a POV from a sixteen year old character) I was trying to lower my expectations, because I haven’t been a huge fan of Colleen’s past YA books. But this book is exceptional.I went into this book completely blindly, which I love to do with Colleen Hoover books because her stories are so surprising and she’s able to write so many plot twists into a contemporary story, it’s fascinating. So I 4.5 StarsWow, this story is incredible. I will admit, after discovering this book is YA (or at least has a POV from a sixteen year old character) I was trying to lower my expectations, because I haven’t been a huge fan of Colleen’s past YA books. But this book is exceptional.I went into this book completely blindly, which I love to do with Colleen Hoover books because her stories are so surprising and she’s able to write so many plot twists into a contemporary story, it’s fascinating. So I recommend jumping into this book without knowing much, all you need to know is that it mainly centers on a mother/daughter relationship and that it will make you cry. The only reason I hesitate to give this a full five stars is because I wasn’t super obsessed with the YA romance in this book, I never really am when it comes to YA romance for some reason so that’s probably just a me thing, but I was 100% here for the adult romance happening in this book. This book also really hit me emotionally and I cried a few times. This book described grief in such a raw and honest real way it hurt my heart to read at times. I think Miller’s grandpa is my favorite character in the book, he’s just so awesome. (view spoiler)[I love Jonah so much, he was so freaking swoon worthy and kind and selfless. I adored all the scenes with him and Elija, and I love the way he stepped up and patented him considering the circumstances. I wasn’t a huge fan of the romance between Clara and Miller, they were cute but forgettable. I do like though that she wants to be an actress and he wants to be a director, that’s cute! I kind of wish we found out more about Chris and Jenny and when it all began and how it happened - but I guess I can appreciate the real ness of never finding out about it like Morgan is never able to find out about it... but the curious part of me is dying to know!!! (hide spoiler)]HUGE thanks to Kristen Dwyer for sending me an ARC copy, I appreciate you!!!
    more
  • Lindsey Domokur of Crazy Reader Chicks
    January 1, 1970
    This book stabbed me in the heart, just like each and every Colleen Hoover book does, this one was just a lot earlier than the others. This isn’t your traditional romance novel, but don’t worry, CoHo won’t leave you wanting for more. Regretting You is about the relationship between a mother and daughter and how they navigate personal tragedy. The reason I love Colleen Hoover’s writing so much is that no matter what, I find a way to relate to her characters. Yes, I know, you’re thinking “Wait, This book stabbed me in the heart, just like each and every Colleen Hoover book does, this one was just a lot earlier than the others. This isn’t your traditional romance novel, but don’t worry, CoHo won’t leave you wanting for more. Regretting You is about the relationship between a mother and daughter and how they navigate personal tragedy. The reason I love Colleen Hoover’s writing so much is that no matter what, I find a way to relate to her characters. Yes, I know, you’re thinking “Wait, what? You related to Verity!?” Well, maybe I’m a crazy pants too, but I digress. This book is filled with miscommunications and second chances, pain and healing. As parents we always want to do what is best for our children, but maybe what we think is best, really isn’t. Once again, Colleen’s writing stresses the importance of communication in any relationship. I adored this book and love that she was able to write something outside the box yet again. She continues to evolve her writing while staying true to who she is.
    more
  • Holly B
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 STARS You get a little bit of everything.... A story full of emotion, both a mother's and a teenage daughter's POV, authentic characters and some sticky situations that may have you questioning their decisions, motives, and wondering how many more secrets are lingering in the past.This story was easy to fall into and I became invested in the mother/daughter journey which is full of life lessons, drama, regrets and trying to hold it all together.At times I was shocked and teary-eyed. I was 4.5 STARS You get a little bit of everything.... A story full of emotion, both a mother's and a teenage daughter's POV, authentic characters and some sticky situations that may have you questioning their decisions, motives, and wondering how many more secrets are lingering in the past.This story was easy to fall into and I became invested in the mother/daughter journey which is full of life lessons, drama, regrets and trying to hold it all together.At times I was shocked and teary-eyed. I was asking myself, "How would I handle this?" There are also moments of humor, holding my breath for the next chapter and hoping for the ending I wanted so badly!I won't give anything away, but this one is beautifully done with the right amount of drama and a few shocking revelations! Get ready!Thanks to the Publisher for my review copy. OUT on December 10, 2019  
    more
  • Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤
    January 1, 1970
    5 STARS What an emotional and captivating story!Colleen always has a way with her words that once I start a story of her I just can't put it down until I finish it!This is exactly what happened with this one, I was hooked and intrigued and I wanted more and more. Regretting You is one of the best books I have read from her, the story is interesting and full of emotions!I cried I swoon and I was so frustrated that I wanted to brake my kindle!We see how the relationship between a mother and 5 STARS What an emotional and captivating story!Colleen always has a way with her words that once I start a story of her I just can't put it down until I finish it!This is exactly what happened with this one, I was hooked and intrigued and I wanted more and more. Regretting You is one of the best books I have read from her, the story is interesting and full of emotions!I cried I swoon and I was so frustrated that I wanted to brake my kindle!We see how the relationship between a mother and daughter breaks after an unfortunate event, how their lives change.This is a must read, an unforgettable story!I was a part of it and I felt sorry for them!It was realistic and original!I loved it with all mmy heart!     
    more
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    4.5/ 5 starsRegretting You was my most anticipated read of the year. There are very few books that I would drop everything to read. But Colleen Hoover is one of my absolute favorite authors. So I was beyond excited to read this new book.Regretting You is sort of a combination between Women's Fiction, Contemporary Romance and Young Adult fiction.I have read every book that Colleen Hoover has written. And I have loved them all. Regretting You is definitely a bit different from most of her other 4.5/ 5 starsRegretting You was my most anticipated read of the year. There are very few books that I would drop everything to read. But Colleen Hoover is one of my absolute favorite authors. So I was beyond excited to read this new book.Regretting You is sort of a combination between Women's Fiction, Contemporary Romance and Young Adult fiction.I have read every book that Colleen Hoover has written. And I have loved them all. Regretting You is definitely a bit different from most of her other books. Instead of a male and female POV, we have a dual POV of a mother and daughter. This made it very interesting. Because we get the story from both points of view. But we also see each of their romantic relationships.I am very happy that I did not read the book blurb for this book. All I knew going in was that there was a mother and a daughter. Sorry, but there is a huge spoiler in the book blurb. This is a huge pet peeve of mine. I realize that it is hard to give enough detail to make the book sound interesting vs giving away too much. But in this book something happens that is so shocking. You need to experience it for yourself. Trust me on this!The narrators are Morgan (34) and her daughter Clara (16-17). Clara is a high school student who wants to be an actress. Morgan is a stay-at-home mom. The book starts with a chapter from 17 years before. This chapter definitely set up the rest of the book. So I can understand why the author decided to give us this glimpse into the past.The main adult characters in this book are Morgan, Chris, Jonah and Jenny. The main teenage characters in this book are Clara, Lexie and Miller. The story is set in a small East Texas town.At around the 20% point what the book was about really came into play. The book took a massive turn. I was in complete shock. This part of the book was so well done.This book was about family. But it also really focuses on the mother and daughter dynamic. The book deals with misunderstandings, lies, betrayals, and secrets.I really enjoyed the dual pov. It was interesting to get two female povs. And to get the story from two generations. We have one story about their family. But we have two perspectives, two romances.I could not put this book down. I did not want to stop reading. But all I could think about was how would the story end?  The last chapter was very strong. But it was missing one crucial thing for me.(view spoiler)[I was so disappointed that Morgan did not read the letters. Coho did explain why she didn't. And it was an okay explanation. But I really think that this was a big missed opportunity. I was looking forward to this for the entire book. And I really think that Coho could have done something amazing here. (hide spoiler)]Overall, there was a lot to like about Regretting You. The book did make me feel. But maybe not as much as some of the author's previous books. The story does look at some serious issues. And I liked that. I think that my favorite thing was how the author took some things that I wasn't expecting from the beginning and middle of the story and tied them into the end. She is absolutely brilliant at doing this. I think that I would have liked an epilogue to see what happened a bit in the future. But it was a good book!Thank you so much to Montlake Romance and netgalley. This is my most anticipated book of 2019!
    more
  • Ambur
    January 1, 1970
    I'm kind of lost for words right now, so this is going to be a very ramble-filled first impression after having finished Regretting You. First off, as soon as I started Regretting You, I didn't want to put it down! My emotions are currently all over the place, and like I typically do with CoHo's books...I cried (more than once haha), but I loved this book so, so much! I don't think I've ever read a book where a mother/daughter relationship was such a central focus or portrayed the way that it I'm kind of lost for words right now, so this is going to be a very ramble-filled first impression after having finished Regretting You. First off, as soon as I started Regretting You, I didn't want to put it down! My emotions are currently all over the place, and like I typically do with CoHo's books...I cried (more than once haha), but I loved this book so, so much! I don't think I've ever read a book where a mother/daughter relationship was such a central focus or portrayed the way that it was here, and plot-wise, I most certainly have never read anything remotely like Regretting You. This book is raw and doesn't hold back...it actually made my jaw drop several times. It completely enraptured me and I'm currently so overwhelmed feeling-wise, but in the best way. This is the sort of book that you finish and it makes you realize why you love reading. I loved Morgan and Clara and I loved how the story alternated between their POVs...I loved the romantic parts of the story, the family struggles...absolutely everything! I wasn't sure what kind of story to expect going in, but I loved every moment. For a long time Maybe Someday has sat at the top of my mind as my favourite CoHo book, but honestly I think Regretting You just topped the list (sorry Maybe Someday!). Soooooo amazing!Will likely tweak this review a little, but all in all I just have to say that I absolutely LOVED this book! I'd recommend it to readers who already love CoHo (trust me, you'll LOVE this one, too), but I'd also recommend it to readers who are new to Colleen Hoover and are looking for books that kind of toe the line between romance and woman's fiction, especially if you like stories that unfold in unexpected ways and push you to think and feel. Highly, highly recommend...especially as Regretting You is definitely going on my top books list for 2019--I'm calling that already! ;)
    more
  • Sophie
    January 1, 1970
    4,5 starsI vow not to spoil anything in this review and …it will be difficult as the synopsis is fairly vague about major events but let’s do it! First, I will begin by telling you that not all of Colleen Hoover’s books appeal to me as some had triggers and others are darker but I am happy to report Regretting You was just one of these favorite reads for me.If I had to put a label on this book though I would be very puzzled as it’s not exactly YA nor mainly adult so maybe NA? There is romance 4,5 starsI vow not to spoil anything in this review and …it will be difficult as the synopsis is fairly vague about major events but let’s do it! First, I will begin by telling you that not all of Colleen Hoover’s books appeal to me as some had triggers and others are darker but I am happy to report Regretting You was just one of these favorite reads for me.If I had to put a label on this book though I would be very puzzled as it’s not exactly YA nor mainly adult so maybe NA? There is romance yes but also some secrets. You also have heavy feelings and lots of tears. And if it wasn’t enough this story gives you many things to think about as far as mother/daughter relationship are concerned!No label then! In this story we will alternate between Morgan (the mom)’s point of view and her daughter’s (Clara). All are faced with a drama and will have to learn to go on with life, make the most of it all while struggling to communicate.You will also have some romance and the male characters were really great guys but my only regret is that we did not have any chapter from their insight. Yet these men were so interesting that I would have loved seeing the story through their eyes. What did I learn in this story? I am borrowing this idea from Lili @lilisblissfulpages as I think it’s perfect not to spoil anything! I learned that you never know people close to you and that they can always betray you or hide some secret feelings; I learned (but from my personal experience I already knew this) that relationships between a mom and her teenage of a daughter is a very hard exercise! Communication is difficult between Morgan and her daughter Clara.When life is great this is intricate to communicate properly and navigate the slippery paths of teenage years but when something dramatic happens to shake your world to its core it becomes an impossible task!Now THIS is a quote that I will use with my kids when they tell me I can’t give them advises as I made these mistakes while young: “It means people who make mistakes usually learn from them. That doesn’t make them hypocrites. It makes them experienced.” I learned that when you are dutiful and selfless like Morgan it’s easy to get subjugated by your beloved ones and forget who you are in the process. After some years you will realize that you have lost yourself and don’t know the person you’ve become anymore. “Little did I know, that routine would go on for a long time. Me being Chris’s devoted wife, taking care of his house and his daughter and his needs. Me being loyal to my little sister, helping her study her way through nursing school, cleaning up the messes she made of her twenties, giving her a place to stay every few years when she’d need help getting back on her feet. The day I found out I was pregnant, I stopped living life for myself. I think it’s time I figure out who I was meant to become before I started living my life for everyone else.” I learned that when you hurt and feel betrayed you can think about any way to rebel against authority when you are a teenager. You just lash out because you are in pain. But when you are also a good person you will regret it pretty quickly because you are just not that bad girl. That’s what happened with Clara. She is a very mature and grounded girl but when everything is falling apart she needs something to numb the pain or make her forget. It did not help that her mom, Morgan, was determined to protect her daughter and did not explain some very important things. I learned that even if the truth is painful and you want to protect your kids by staying silent this will cause more damage in the long term. Because we have to trust our kids and because they’ll always feel something is amiss.When Clara suspected that Morgan hid something, she imagined the worse and lashed against her mom while all Morgan wanted to was to protect her daughter, even if she had to play the bad guy and be the one Clara despised. I also learned that as long as you are not with your someone “special” you’ll have a content life but not the amazing life you could have experienced. Yet some people are ready to shoulder their responsibilities and make the most of it like Morgan while others won’t be able to stay honorable. I particularly love this quote as Colleen captured perfectly the working of relationship if you intend to stay with that person. “Attraction is fun. So when you decide to commit to someone, you aren’t saying, ‘I promise I’ll never be attracted to anyone else.’ You’re saying, ‘I promise to commit to you, despite my potential future attraction to other people.’” I look at Clara. “Relationships are hard for that very reason. Your body and your heart don’t stop finding the beauty and the attraction in other people, simply because you’ve made a commitment to one person. If you ever find yourself in a situation where you’re drawn to someone else, it’s up to you to remove yourself from that situation before it becomes too hard to fight.”” This story and its character were wonderful and painful at the same time.From the very first pages Colleen drew me in Morgan and Clara’s world. And honestly after the first chapter I feared that I would have a very frustrating book as Morgan made a sensible choice but one that I could already see was wrong for her or rather, asked a big sacrifice of her.I was relieved to see it would not go as I expected and yet I felt ashamed for feeling happy as what launched the story in a totally different direction was an event that cut very deep into Morgan and Clara’s happiness.This story is heavy with grief, with regrets, with unspoken truths and secrets. Yet this is also a very realistic story as this might happen (and probably happened in someone’s life) and that’s what made it so relatable.The characters were complex, conflicted and battling their way through these hard times.Both Morgan and her daughter had to learn something, to become different. They had to live their lives to the fullest, even with what happened. And that’s another lesson here: when life is hard, YOU make the choice of making peace with it and go on stronger or you choose to resent life for throwing such a curveball at you and stay bitter, never going forward. Would I recommend this story?Absolutely if you are not afraid to deal with some sad topics and are looking for flawed but courageous characters living their life the best they could: imperfectly but selflessly. Most relatable quote as a true bookworm (Clara is speaking here): “He’s right. When I’m here, I don’t have a clue what’s going on around me. Sometimes I sit here for two hours reading, and when I close the book, I’m surprised to look up and see that I’m not at home.” Many thanks to Montlake Romance for this copy of Regretting You sent through Netgalley! This had no influence on my willing and always honest review.Have you read Colleen Hoover’s books?
    more
  • Ashley
    January 1, 1970
    Reviewed on: Ashes Books & Bobs.Thank you to Montlake Romance and Netgalley for the chance to read this book and to Colleen Hoover for acknowledging that orange is the worst color on the planet.With every Colleen Hoover book, I’m in awe. The readability alone is astounding, but I’m convinced no one sees the world quite like she does until we’ve read her books. We get the tiniest glimpse into her brilliant mind and are somehow persuaded to view others with a little more love and compassion Reviewed on: Ashes Books & Bobs.Thank you to Montlake Romance and Netgalley for the chance to read this book and to Colleen Hoover for acknowledging that orange is the worst color on the planet.With every Colleen Hoover book, I’m in awe. The readability alone is astounding, but I’m convinced no one sees the world quite like she does until we’ve read her books. We get the tiniest glimpse into her brilliant mind and are somehow persuaded to view others with a little more love and compassion than we could have thought possible.When I found out this was going to be a mother-daughter book, I was expecting it to hurt. Saying I don’t have the best relationship with my own mother is the understatement of the century, so I wasn’t sure how much I would enjoy this story. I don’t particularly enjoy diving too far into that realm of my brain. I should have known preconceived ideas are complete nonsense when it comes to Colleen’s books. I never know what to expect and I never know when or where a twist will catch me off guard – it creates the ideal reading experience! Despite guessing what the twist would be, it didn’t detract in the least from the reading experience. I didn’t want to put this book down!My favorite thing about this story was how convincingly I was put into the shoes of both Morgan (a 35-year-old mom) and Clara (her 16-year-old daughter). I felt like I was constantly bouncing between my current adult brain and my former teenage brain. I have to say, Morgan’s perspective was the most enjoyable to be in because the angst of Clara’s mind made my chest hurt. I’m ridiculously grateful I’m no longer sixteen!The book covers a variety of topics and struggles we or someone we know will inevitably face (though hopefully not as drastically as her characters). Colleen helps her readers navigate reality armed with significantly more grace and understanding. I think the most important lessons readers will take away from this novel are ultimately “love covers a multitude of sins” and communication is the most valuable tool we have in our arsenal.This was yet another beautifully done novel by Colleen Hoover with Slammed-level romance. I felt every emotion imaginable and had tears in my eyes by the end. For me, that’s always a sign of a stellar read.Available today.
    more
  • KAT ♕ Kitty Kats Crazy About Books ♕
    January 1, 1970
    Regretting you was one of my most highly anticipated reads of December. As soon as it went live I was off like a rocket one clicking!! And it lived up to everything I hoped it would.No words can describe how much I loved this. Straight away I fell under Colleen Hoover's spell, aliens could've taken over my little spot in the world and I never would've noticed. This book took me on such a such profound, emotional journey that life ceased to exist..And this is why I love reading as much as I do. Regretting you was one of my most highly anticipated reads of December. As soon as it went live I was off like a rocket one clicking!! And it lived up to everything I hoped it would.No words can describe how much I loved this. Straight away I fell under Colleen Hoover's spell, aliens could've taken over my little spot in the world and I never would've noticed. This book took me on such a such profound, emotional journey that life ceased to exist..And this is why I love reading as much as I do.This easily by passed 5 stars and went right to one of my most favourite reads of 2019!! What a way to celebrate December!!
    more
  • Kendall
    January 1, 1970
    OH MY GAWWWWDDDDDD all the DAMN feels!!! Ok let's be real Colleen I would read your Christmas list if you published it! Ok... hands down every time I read a book by Hoover I know that I either can be pulled out of a book slump or just completely fall head over heels in love!! This book will take you for an emotional ride my friends. My goodness did I have some teary eyes in this one and I couldn't get enough of all of these characters. Ugh Colleen you KILL me in the best way. You tore my heart OH MY GAWWWWDDDDDD all the DAMN feels!!! Ok let's be real Colleen I would read your Christmas list if you published it! Ok... hands down every time I read a book by Hoover I know that I either can be pulled out of a book slump or just completely fall head over heels in love!! This book will take you for an emotional ride my friends. My goodness did I have some teary eyes in this one and I couldn't get enough of all of these characters. Ugh Colleen you KILL me in the best way. You tore my heart out and put it back together again.One of my top reads for 2019 easily!! Another shiny 5 star for you Colleen!!OK.... equation is go BUY this book THE END :)Thank you so much to MontLake Romance Publishing and Netgalley for the arc in exchange for an honest review.Publication date: 12/10/19Published to GR: 11/24/19
    more
  • Nina
    January 1, 1970
    *ARC provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.* Colleen Hoover has done it once again. She’s definitely a hit or miss author for me but Regretting You was such a good book and in my opinion, one of the best ones she’s written so far! Before I started reading this one I honestly didn’t think I’d love it as much as I ultimately did. Based on the synopsis it didn’t exactly sound like a book I’d enjoy but I’m very happy I was proven wrong. I was hooked after the *ARC provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.* Colleen Hoover has done it once again. She’s definitely a hit or miss author for me but Regretting You was such a good book and in my opinion, one of the best ones she’s written so far! Before I started reading this one I honestly didn’t think I’d love it as much as I ultimately did. Based on the synopsis it didn’t exactly sound like a book I’d enjoy but I’m very happy I was proven wrong. I was hooked after the first two chapters and read most of the novel in one sitting. The characters were great, the plot was great and the book was so very well-written. Regretting You was heartbreaking, gripping, and just everything I hoped it would be and more. Some parts of it almost made me cry while some other parts made me smile like a maniac and I just loved it so much. Five out of five stars! instagram || my blog || twitter
    more
  • KP
    January 1, 1970
    Is there a teaser? Anything to get us by until December rolls over?If not, then this is just cruel. CRUEL. Torture. Waiting...waiting...waiting....arrgh.
  • Jenny
    January 1, 1970
    I am constantly amazed that Colleen can write so many styles and they are all still fabulous. She has a way with words that just draw me in no matter the content. Regretting You is about a teenage daughter and mother during the hardest time of their lives. They already have a hard relationship and when tragedy strikes it take a huge toll on them. they both keep things from each other which causes so many problems. It’s a reminder to always be honest no matter what. The characters, despite my I am constantly amazed that Colleen can write so many styles and they are all still fabulous. She has a way with words that just draw me in no matter the content. Regretting You is about a teenage daughter and mother during the hardest time of their lives. They already have a hard relationship and when tragedy strikes it take a huge toll on them. they both keep things from each other which causes so many problems. It’s a reminder to always be honest no matter what. The characters, despite my lack of things in common, are so relatable. It’s Colleen’s way no matter the character or the situation I can understand and relate to their story. I couldn’t put it down and finished in a day. This is a must read if you like a story with a good flow and enjoyable characters.
    more
  • Bibi
    January 1, 1970
    *Outstanding*The simplicity and consistency of the storytelling is the strongest aspect of this book. With faultless pacing from the very first page, we meet characters who are in the midst of defining moments predicated on a singular decision. When fate dealt its hands, that tapestry provides the backdrop for a story with much heartache, but also hope and growth and love. The thing I most appreciate is how Hoover kept a distance, never manipulating the situation. To take a premise such as this *Outstanding*The simplicity and consistency of the storytelling is the strongest aspect of this book. With faultless pacing from the very first page, we meet characters who are in the midst of defining moments predicated on a singular decision. When fate dealt its hands, that tapestry provides the backdrop for a story with much heartache, but also hope and growth and love. The thing I most appreciate is how Hoover kept a distance, never manipulating the situation. To take a premise such as this without embellishments or distractions is nothing short of masterful storytelling. This book is one that should be read without spoilers so I'm not even going there. Suffice to say it dealt with weighty issues which, considering the enormity, were handled with respect to both the characters and THE READER.At the tail end, and as if she knew we needed a good laugh, Hoover throws us a bone with the mockumentary which was the perfect antidote to the many heartaches and tears we'd just experienced. Unexpectedly, I exited the lives of these characters with a sigh of joy instead of a heavy heart. Thank you!
    more
  • Sarah/DragonflyReads
    January 1, 1970
    When was the last time you finished a book and thought...”I need to buy this for my mom.”?Colleen Hoover is a boy mom and she wrote the mother daughter dynamic better than a true story. Regretting You is so heartbreaking that it made me uncomfortable. It’s so moving that I’m filled with so much warmth and love and I need this physical copy so I can give it to my daughter when the time is right. This book needs to be read. With all Hoover books, go in blind, don’t worry about the synopsis. Just When was the last time you finished a book and thought...”I need to buy this for my mom.”?Colleen Hoover is a boy mom and she wrote the mother daughter dynamic better than a true story. Regretting You is so heartbreaking that it made me uncomfortable. It’s so moving that I’m filled with so much warmth and love and I need this physical copy so I can give it to my daughter when the time is right. This book needs to be read. With all Hoover books, go in blind, don’t worry about the synopsis. Just know your heart will thank you.
    more
  • Shannon
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to Montlake Romance for providing me an ecopy via NG. It’s no secret I’ve been a huge fan of Colleen Hoover since I read her novel It Ends With Us. And after reading Verity last year, I’ve been itching for my next Hoover fix. Regretting You came just in time to get me out of a horrible book slump!This book gave me alllll the feels. It was sweet, cute, emotional and it was exactly what I needed. If you are a fan of Hoover, or even if you haven’t read her yet, I highly recommend this one! 5 Thanks to Montlake Romance for providing me an ecopy via NG. It’s no secret I’ve been a huge fan of Colleen Hoover since I read her novel It Ends With Us. And after reading Verity last year, I’ve been itching for my next Hoover fix. Regretting You came just in time to get me out of a horrible book slump!This book gave me alllll the feels. It was sweet, cute, emotional and it was exactly what I needed. If you are a fan of Hoover, or even if you haven’t read her yet, I highly recommend this one! 5 ⭐️.
    more
  • Amy | Foxy Blogs
    January 1, 1970
    NO REGRETS GIVEN!! This book was something I couldn’t put down. I spent my birthday reading it. I took a break to go to lunch with my husband and then came home and finished it. It was the most amazing birthday gift I gave to myself: spending the day with no distractions and reading Regretting You! I’m calling it now: it’s my new favorite CoHo book. Okay, maybe I should say it’s tied with my longtime CoHo favorite, Hopeless. I guess in some ways they have a similar vibe and in other ways, they NO REGRETS GIVEN!! This book was something I couldn’t put down. I spent my birthday reading it. I took a break to go to lunch with my husband and then came home and finished it. It was the most amazing birthday gift I gave to myself: spending the day with no distractions and reading Regretting You! I’m calling it now: it’s my new favorite CoHo book. Okay, maybe I should say it’s tied with my longtime CoHo favorite, Hopeless. I guess in some ways they have a similar vibe and in other ways, they are totally different. “Life doesn’t play favorites.” The truth behind that quote is smack dab the essence of this book. You can be a good person and do all the “right” things by being selfless and life can still knock you down and leave you wondering what you ever did to deserve this type of treatment. Regretting You is a story about how messy life can be and how family ties bond us together. The story alternates between a mother, Morgan, and her teenage daughter, Carla. Readers view the world through their eyes. The story is immersed in a tragic event that pulls on everyone’s heartstrings, even the readers. When secrets are brought to the forefront, everyone's world becomes a lot messier. There were times in the book where I wore a shocked look on my face and other times when my heart broke. At times I laughed and other times I swooned. It’s a story full of FEELS.✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦RELEASE DATE: December 10, 2019Pre-order | order: https://amzn.to/2IKYTl0**Complimentary copy in exchange for an honest review.** Follow Foxy Blogs at: Foxy Blogs ♥ Twitter ♥ Instagram ♥ Facebook
    more
  • ♡ ᴅ ʀ ᴇ ᴀ ᴍ ♡ (semi-hiatus)
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 / 5 stars[ UPDATE : 15 December 2019 - FULL REVIEW ]If you’ve seen my ratings of CoHo’s books before, you might already see that I’ve never gave her books lower than 4 stars. But..... why is this book different? Let me tell you.First of all, a warning. Regretting You is teeming with dramas as always as her previous books (maybe a little bit more than the older ones, I guess) so if you want to add some drama to your life and in case you don’t mind being upset because of its story, just go ❥ 3.5 / 5 stars[ UPDATE : 15 December 2019 - FULL REVIEW ]If you’ve seen my ratings of CoHo’s books before, you might already see that I’ve never gave her books lower than 4 stars. But..... why is this book different? Let me tell you.First of all, a warning. Regretting You is teeming with dramas as always as her previous books (maybe a little bit more than the older ones, I guess) so if you want to add some drama to your life and in case you don’t mind being upset because of its story, just go for it. But if your life is already stressful enough, I suggest you pass it since it also actually gave me a headache.Okay, I’m getting to the point now. The reason why I gave it only 3.5 stars is that there are a few things in the story that bothered me.The first and most frustrating one is the character named ‘Clara’ or the daughter. I know she’s only a 16/17-year-old girl so being hot-tempered or childish sometimes is kinda understandable but I just can’t stand the way she thought of her mom. It seems like she had prejudice against her all the time. Whatever her mom did or said was always wrong to her. And it got me like ‘Can’t you just stop whining and listen to your mom?’ because it was really annoying. Oh, and I don’t like her decision to do that action after finding out something that night, either. (if you know what I mean) That was the stupidest decision EVERRRR. If you to revenge someone, find some ways more creative!Next is the plot. I don’t know what others think but it’s sort of repetitive and predictable to me that I can predict what would happen next in the story and when the supposed-to-be twists actually occurred, I didn’t even surprise. To be honest, I was a bit disappointed by that because I truly want CoHo to prove my predictions wrong but unfortunately, she didn’t. (Sometimes I think that maybe I was being under her desk while she was writing this. If not, maybe I read too many books. LOL)Furthermore, some parts in the book were quite boring since nothing happened much. I think it could be shortened. (No offense but I mostly mean Clara’s parts. I don’t want to know about her. Period.)Next next next, this is not even important but...... WHY DIDN’T MORGAN READ THOSE LETTERS?!!!!!!!!I waited and waited until the end of the book, keeping thinking when she would read them because I really wanted to know what it said inside and it turned out that BOOM! she didn’t read them and even worse, she teared them into pieces. WHATTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT? ARE YOU FREAKING KIDDING ME?!!!!!!!!! You made me so curious and then, you turned your back on me. THANKS.However, although this is not one of the best of CoHo’s books, it’s still in the mediocre list when compared to other books and I still recommend it because even if there is something in the book that bothered you, trust me, you’d still enjoy it because of her writing that makes the book so addicting and unputdownable. Plus, it might help get you up from reading slump. (like me, for instance. I have to thank her for that.😂)In short, it’s a not-that-great-but-absolutely-fun read.P.S. Please tell me that I’m not the only one who laugh at this....“He feels like a professor of my body, and I feel like an inexperienced student.”Don’t know why though but it’s funny and kinda cringey to me.
    more
  • Christy
    January 1, 1970
    This is Colleen Hoover at her best. Regretting You took me back to all the feelings I had with Slammed. This book was so addictive. I read it all in one sitting, ignored my family and bathroom breaks. I’m not joking about the addictive part. I was fully invested in this story from the first chapter. The characters were so relatable, I feel like we’re friends now and I’m going to miss them so much. This story was all the things and so much more!
    more
  • Berit☀️✨
    January 1, 1970
    UPDATE this book is available in print and audio on KU!Now I have an audio copy, a print copy, and a digital copy, the question is what am I waiting for? I want to cherish this book so I’m waiting for the perfect time and I’m thinking it is this week!This book is now downloaded onto my Kindle and I could not be more excited!!! 🎉🎉🎉 UPDATE this book is available in print and audio on KU!Now I have an audio copy, a print copy, and a digital copy, the question is what am I waiting for? I want to cherish this book so I’m waiting for the perfect time and I’m thinking it is this week!This book is now downloaded onto my Kindle and I could not be more excited!!!💕💕
    more
  • Cardan Greenbriar
    January 1, 1970
    CoHo, sweetie, you need to do something about your obsession with car accidents in your books
  • Nursebookie
    January 1, 1970
    Regretting YouIf Morgan Grant could turn back time, she would probably do it to correct some of the mistakes that happened in her past – an unplanned pregnancy, marrying way too early, and a career put on hold to raise her daughter.Her daughter Clara is now sixteen, and her relationship with Morgan is fractured from her over protection. Clara’s confidants have been her father Chris and her aunt (Morgan’s sister). As the story progressed, you realize that what happens are that the betrayals, and Regretting YouIf Morgan Grant could turn back time, she would probably do it to correct some of the mistakes that happened in her past – an unplanned pregnancy, marrying way too early, and a career put on hold to raise her daughter.Her daughter Clara is now sixteen, and her relationship with Morgan is fractured from her over protection. Clara’s confidants have been her father Chris and her aunt (Morgan’s sister). As the story progressed, you realize that what happens are that the betrayals, and the secrets that protect the people you love, may just hurt them more than simply telling them the truth. How far do you protect your family in exchange for your own downfall? How far would you sacrifice to your own demise and unhappiness? This was my first Colleen Hoover novel, and I now understand why she has such a huge following of loyal readers. This book was so well told, and powerful that I read this in less than four hours. There simply was no putting this book down. You had to know what will happen next! Each of the characters played an important role, and you will be completely immersed in their role in the story. It had been a long time since I cried over a book, and this one made me ugly cry and wrecked me to the core. I felt every emotion the characters were feeling from the painful regret and disappointment, to the hurt and betrayal for those left behind. I loved the development of the story and how it tells about the sacrifices we go through for people that we love and care for, and that people are not always what they seem. Some people will disappoint you, but many people will also surprise you in the end. I highly recommend this amazing book for an excellent family drama, and a story of first loves, gut wrenching betrayal, devastating loss and disappointments, and in the midst of all this finding truth and love.Simply amazing!!!
    more
  • Kate Page
    January 1, 1970
    Wow. Welcome to my bookshelf Colleen Hoover. This is the first book I have read of Hoover's and it will definitely not be my last. I loved her writing style and am super keen to experience more of it.Regretting You had me hooked from the first chapter. We have two narrators in this book, a mother, Morgan, and her teen daughter, Clara, and the story is told from both of their perspectives, over alternating chapters. The relationship between Morgan and Clara is rocked and tested by an incredible Wow. Welcome to my bookshelf Colleen Hoover. This is the first book I have read of Hoover's and it will definitely not be my last. I loved her writing style and am super keen to experience more of it.Regretting You had me hooked from the first chapter. We have two narrators in this book, a mother, Morgan, and her teen daughter, Clara, and the story is told from both of their perspectives, over alternating chapters. The relationship between Morgan and Clara is rocked and tested by an incredible tragedy that strikes their close family. This story tugged at my heart in so many ways - from grief, to first love, to unbreakable parent-child bonds being pushed to their absolute limit, to betrayal and frustration. Hoover captures the angst of a mother and teen daughter relationship beautifully. It feels so real the misinterpretation in communication, the reaction and triggering that can happen at the best of times but is magnified under extreme grief.Regretting You was an un-put down-able read for me. I raced through it in a couple of days, devouring Hoover's relatable characters and this gripping story line. At the heart of it is several love stories - each one unique and equally pleasing.Thank you NetGalley and Montlake Romance for this advance e-copy in exchange for this honest review.
    more
Write a review