Conquer the Darkness (Guardians of Eternity, #15)
As allegiances shift and new powers align for Alexandra Ivy’s Guardians of Eternity, one immortal defender knows the sweep of change brings danger—and possibility . . .   On the edge of the Mojave desert, out of the lights of Las Vegas, even a werewolf can expect a share of peace and solitude. For Ulric, the last surviving member of a pack hunted through centuries, it’s one of few places he’s willing to drop his guard. Until he spots Brigette, a beautiful wolf-woman he thought dead long ago. When he gives chase, he loses her—and discovers he’s being followed himself.   His pursuer is a zephyr sprite, Rainn, on the trail of a frightening prophecy she can’t predict or understand. All she knows is that Ulric is at its center. If he’s determined to find Brigette, she’ll do what she must to keep him with her.   When the search leads them to a place where Ulric’s ghosts and Rainn’s portents intertwine, a lurking evil waits to swallow them both. But as they fight for survival, their need for each other will become impossible to deny . . .

Conquer the Darkness (Guardians of Eternity, #15) Details

TitleConquer the Darkness (Guardians of Eternity, #15)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseDec 10th, 2019
PublisherLyrical Press
Rating
GenreRomance, Paranormal Romance, Fantasy, Paranormal, Shapeshifters, Vampires, Demons

Conquer the Darkness (Guardians of Eternity, #15) Review

  • Leigh
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsConquer the Darkness is book 15 in the Guardians of Eternity series and I loved it from beginning to end. As I've said in previous reviews I have followed and enjoyed this series for many years. I love that this author continues to introduce new characters and how she keeps this series fresh. Ulric and Rainn were a great pair. I loved how they spent over 20 years together and neither of them admitted to their attraction until Ulric's wolf finally decides he wants his female. Both Ulric 4.5 starsConquer the Darkness is book 15 in the Guardians of Eternity series and I loved it from beginning to end. As I've said in previous reviews I have followed and enjoyed this series for many years. I love that this author continues to introduce new characters and how she keeps this series fresh. Ulric and Rainn were a great pair. I loved how they spent over 20 years together and neither of them admitted to their attraction until Ulric's wolf finally decides he wants his female. Both Ulric and Rainn's past is filled with some form of pain. Ulric's entire pack is slaughtered and Rainn was born with the mark of the Oracles. The twist of what happened to Ulric's pack is heartbreaking and I can't wait to find out what he does with Brigette. Also there is the young human female that was brought to our world. We got lots of Levet and Inga time which I really enjoyed. Inga still has a lot of insecurities and is having trouble dealing with being Queen. Levet is in love but doesn't understand his feeling. I love how he sees Inga so differently than most. Overall this was a terrific addition to this series and I can't wait for more.***ARC Provided by NetGalley***
    more
  • Marta Cox
    January 1, 1970
    I always enjoy this series and confess I'm loving the way these recent books are following on with the characters so quickly. We've only just got over Tarek getting his freedom whilst shaking up the Mermaids world and now we are straight back with Ulric . You have to feel for the werewolf though because he believed he was the last of his Pack so seeing his sister stroll through the hotel he helps run is a huge shock. Time to return to his birthplace and find out what she's been up to. Rainn I always enjoy this series and confess I'm loving the way these recent books are following on with the characters so quickly. We've only just got over Tarek getting his freedom whilst shaking up the Mermaids world and now we are straight back with Ulric . You have to feel for the werewolf though because he believed he was the last of his Pack so seeing his sister stroll through the hotel he helps run is a huge shock. Time to return to his birthplace and find out what she's been up to. Rainn accompanies him but she has a secret that is about to come to light and you could say that it's always been fated !Ok I'm going to say right away my favourite parts are the glorious and terribly arrogant Levet ! Add in his feelings for a certain Ogress and for some reason I'm seeing a whole new version of Shrek ! They however are in some ways incidental because obviously this is the romance that brings Ulric and Rainn together and sadly for me they didn't work. They've known each other over twenty years and suddenly bam they are in love ! I just couldn't believe it. I did however enjoy the resolution to the story and I'm so hoping the author revisits the female who makes such a dramatic appearance near the end oh and a certain Imp is definitely someone I want more of. This was fun to read because yes I'm a huge Levet fan but it also featured some of my favourite Vampires from this series so even though it's not my favourite I would still recommend it.This voluntary take is of a copy I requested from Netgalley and my thoughts and comments are honest and I believe fair
    more
  • Beth
    January 1, 1970
    Ulric, who lost his entire pack over a half century ago, suddenly scents family in the Vegas casino he helps run. A brief encounter with his long, lost cousin, Brigette, sends Ulric back to the place his pack was slaughter years ago in search of Brigette and answers.Rainn has been a coworker of Ulric for years, but when Brigette shows up in the casino, Rainn knows something evil is afoot. She decides she is going to be Ulric’s unwanted back up and they even end up with a tiny gargoyle stow-away. Ulric, who lost his entire pack over a half century ago, suddenly scents family in the Vegas casino he helps run. A brief encounter with his long, lost cousin, Brigette, sends Ulric back to the place his pack was slaughter years ago in search of Brigette and answers.Rainn has been a coworker of Ulric for years, but when Brigette shows up in the casino, Rainn knows something evil is afoot. She decides she is going to be Ulric’s unwanted back up and they even end up with a tiny gargoyle stow-away.Uncovering what caused the destruction of Ulric’s pack puts Ulric and Rainn in the crosshairs of the ancient evil that demolished his family.There has always been an attraction, strong chemistry, between Ulric and Rainn but these close quarters reveal they are destined mates. Ghosts of the past and present collide. And a certain tiny gargoyle might find himself in the perfect place to save the world once again.I devoured Ivy’s Conquer the Darkness in one reading. Fun, fasted paced and enchanting crossovers from some of our favorite characters, Ivy pens paranormal romances that I just can’t miss.I received this ARC copy of Conquer the Darkness from Kensington Books - Lyrical Press. This is my honest and voluntary review. Conquer the Darkness is set for publication December 10, 2019.My Rating: 4 starsWritten by: Alexandra IvySeries: Guardians of Eternity (Book 15)Paperback: 214 pagesPublisher: Lyrical Press Publication Date: December 10, 2019ISBN-10: 1516108477ISBN-13: 978-1516108473Genre: Urban Fantasy | RomanceAmazon: https://www.amazon.com/Conquer-Darkne...Barnes & Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/conq...
    more
  • Vanessa theJeepDiva
    January 1, 1970
    The Guardians of Eternity happens to be one of those first paranormal romance series that got me addicted to that genre in the first place. I've always enjoyed the mix of paranormals that the series focused on. Levet brings some quirky humor to the pages. It's just one of those series that overall works for me. Readers first meet Ulric and Rainn in Darkness Returns. You can tell by the sexual tension between them in that book that Ivy has something in store for them later on. She did not The Guardians of Eternity happens to be one of those first paranormal romance series that got me addicted to that genre in the first place. I've always enjoyed the mix of paranormals that the series focused on. Levet brings some quirky humor to the pages. It's just one of those series that overall works for me. Readers first meet Ulric and Rainn in Darkness Returns. You can tell by the sexual tension between them in that book that Ivy has something in store for them later on. She did not disappoint with their book. I enjoyed how their paths in life crossed too. It didn't feel like the fated mate trope but it had all of the makings for their story to go in that direction. Ivy wrapped everything that has happened in the last three books up nicely with the end of Conquer the Darkness. In fact the way things wrapped up these three books easily work as a trilogy. I'm left hoping that there will be more books to come. Nothing happened between any secondary or tertiary characters that leads me to believe they will get the next book in the series.
    more
  • Sandy S
    January 1, 1970
    4 starsABOUT THE BOOK: Release Date December 10, 2019As allegiances shift and new powers align for Alexandra Ivy’s Guardians of Eternity, one immortal defender knows the sweep of change brings danger—and possibility . . . On the edge of the Mojave desert, out of the lights of Las Vegas, even a werewolf can expect a share of peace and solitude. For Ulric, the last surviving member of a pack hunted through centuries, it’s one of few places he’s willing to drop his guard. Until he spots Brigette, a 4 starsABOUT THE BOOK: Release Date December 10, 2019As allegiances shift and new powers align for Alexandra Ivy’s Guardians of Eternity, one immortal defender knows the sweep of change brings danger—and possibility . . . On the edge of the Mojave desert, out of the lights of Las Vegas, even a werewolf can expect a share of peace and solitude. For Ulric, the last surviving member of a pack hunted through centuries, it’s one of few places he’s willing to drop his guard. Until he spots Brigette, a beautiful wolf-woman he thought dead long ago. When he gives chase, he loses her—and discovers he’s being followed himself. His pursuer is a zephyr sprite, Rainn, on the trail of a frightening prophecy she can’t predict or understand. All she knows is that Ulric is at its center. If he’s determined to find Brigette, she’ll do what she must to keep him with her. When the search leads them to a place where Ulric’s ghosts and Rainn’s portents intertwine, a lurking evil waits to swallow them both. But as they fight for survival, their need for each other will become impossible to deny .•••••••••REVIEW: CONQUER THE DARKNESS is the fifteenth instalment in Alexandra Ivy’s contemporary, adult GUARDIANS OF ETERNITY paranormal / fantasy romance series. This is werewolf and casino operator Ulric, and zephyr sprite Rainn’s story line. CONQUER THE DARKNESS can be read as a stand alone without any difficulty. Any important information from the previous instalments is revealed where necessary. Told from several third person perspectives including Ulric, Rainn, Brigette and Levet CONQUER THE DARKNESS follows Ulric as he comes face to face with his past, a past he believed had been destroyed by Anasso hundreds of years before. With the return of his cousin Brigette, Ulric had hoped that perhaps more of his family had survived the destruction but not everything was as it appeared to be. Rainn suspected something wasn’t right with the return of Ulric’s cousin Brigette, and in an effort to protect the man with whom she would fall in love, Rainn played guardian and protector when Ulric headed to Europe in an effort to reconnect with his long lost cousin. What ensues is the building relationship and romance between Rainn and Ulric, as our couple come face to face with an evil that is hoping to finish what was started years before.Rainn is a zephyr sprite who has been fated by birth to do the Oracles’ bidding , and their bidding included destroying the evil that demands control of the world but Rainn and Ulric find themselves struggling to survive as the evil has taken control of the woman Ulric was hoping to find, an evil that has plans for our story line hero.Meanwhile, Levet the gargoyle has stowed away on Ulric and Rainn’s flight to Ireland, where he will be tasked with locating an ancient book that will hopefully explain about the evil that is about to engulf the world.The relationship between Rainn and Ulric is a friends/employees to lovers relationship wherein Ulric reveals, while on their search for Brigette, that Rainn is his mate but Rainn struggles with the task at hand, and refuses to accept that Ulric is her happily ever after. The $ex scenes are intimate and passionate without the use of over the top, sexually graphic language and text.There is a large ensemble cast of colorful and familiar secondary and supporting characters including gargoyle Levet and ogress / mermaid Inga and her assistant Troy, vampires Chiron, Javad, Tarik and his mate Waverly ; Cyn, the clan chief of Ireland and his mate Fallon, Ulric’s cousin Brigette, and a powerful demon known as Zella. WE are introduced to Chaaya, a woman who calls herself the gatekeeper, but a woman who will find her place amongst the Guardians back home.CONQUER THE DARKNESS is a story of betrayal and vengeance; of power and control; of fate and happiness. The premise is entertaining and imaginative; the romance is seductive and captivating; the characters are energetic and spirited.Copy supplied by Netgalleywww.thereadingcafe.com
    more
  • Mary Kirkland
    January 1, 1970
    Ulric thinks he's the last of his pack until he sees a cousin that he thought long dead. His entire pack had been slaughtered over 500 years ago but there was no mistaking the females scent, she smelled like pack...his pack. But she vanishes almost as soon as he finds her and tells Ulric to forget he's seen her that it's too dangerous. There's no way he'll stop looking for her now that he knows she's alive though. Rainn is a rare Zephyr Sprite that also works in the place that Ulric works. She Ulric thinks he's the last of his pack until he sees a cousin that he thought long dead. His entire pack had been slaughtered over 500 years ago but there was no mistaking the females scent, she smelled like pack...his pack. But she vanishes almost as soon as he finds her and tells Ulric to forget he's seen her that it's too dangerous. There's no way he'll stop looking for her now that he knows she's alive though. Rainn is a rare Zephyr Sprite that also works in the place that Ulric works. She was watching the cameras and saw the supposed cousin wait to get Ulric's attention before running outside and disappearing. Rainn thinks it's a trap for him, knowing that he'll go after her but he has to find out what's going on even if it is a trap. So Rainn and Ulric team up and go after the cousin and find out what's going on. But they are confronted with danger at every turn in their search and as the danger gets worst, the mystery around the missing cousin gets real interesting.While Rainn and Ulric are trying to figure out what the evil is and how to get rid of it, they find themselves owning up to their feelings, feelings they've had for each other for years but never acted on it because they've had bad things happen to them and have closed themselves off. But they can't lie to themselves any longer.I think it's better to read this series in order to know who all of these characters are but I've only read two books so far and I think I caught up pretty good so it can be read out of order if you wish to. I really liked seeing some of the other characters from the other book that I read appear in this one. It's always nice to see characters that you know come back so you can see what they've been up to.I liked how this book wrapped everything up at the end and how some hard truths and secrets came to light. I had a good time with this story.Disclosure: I was given a free ARC of this book via NetGalley but all thoughts and opinions are my own.
    more
  • Stacey
    January 1, 1970
    I felt for Ulric. He believed he was the last surviving member of his pack, until he runs into a woman who looks like his cousin, Brigette, and smells like pack. He’s determined to find her, but what he gets isn’t the happy family reunion he was hoping for.Rainn, a zephyr sprite who works with Ulric, follows him on his quest to find Brigette. She’s on a quest of her own, having been sent to fulfill a prophecy that wasn’t made clear to her. I felt for her, too, as she was ripped from her home and I felt for Ulric. He believed he was the last surviving member of his pack, until he runs into a woman who looks like his cousin, Brigette, and smells like pack. He’s determined to find her, but what he gets isn’t the happy family reunion he was hoping for.Rainn, a zephyr sprite who works with Ulric, follows him on his quest to find Brigette. She’s on a quest of her own, having been sent to fulfill a prophecy that wasn’t made clear to her. I felt for her, too, as she was ripped from her home and sent on this journey. I liked the pair together. While Ulric was determined to see the best in Brigette, Rainn keeps her head and lets him know that not everything is what it seems. She’s the voice of reason when he, himself, can’t bring himself to admit the truth.This is the 15th book in the series, but it can be read as a standalone. For those who have read other books in the series though, you’ll get to see quite a bit of Levet, the gargoyle. I’ve always enjoyed him, and he provides for some laughs in this book. I’m looking forward to seeing what he gets into next.Those who enjoy paranormal romances will enjoy Conquer the Darkness. Even though this is the 15th book, the author manages to keep the series fresh and interesting. **I voluntarily read and reviewed an ARC provided through Netgalley**
    more
  • Suzi (Obsessive Reading Disorder)
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 StarsI love a good werewolf story. Throw in the history of this series and I would not say no to this book. We have met Ulric already as he is the right hand to Chiron. He has lived most of his life as a lone wolf, adopting Chiron's people as his own. Rainn is his co-worker (and a new breed to learn about) and she decides to keep and eye on him. The whole story is a ploy to release the dark entity from it's prison. Lots of smoke and mirrors (no pun intended) leading up to the climax. The 4.5 StarsI love a good werewolf story. Throw in the history of this series and I would not say no to this book. We have met Ulric already as he is the right hand to Chiron. He has lived most of his life as a lone wolf, adopting Chiron's people as his own. Rainn is his co-worker (and a new breed to learn about) and she decides to keep and eye on him. The whole story is a ploy to release the dark entity from it's prison. Lots of smoke and mirrors (no pun intended) leading up to the climax. The romance between Ulric and Riann takes it's time. They finally both admit thier feelings and Ulric admits to her being his mate and then the fireworks go off. Meanwhile, we get lots of Levet and the Vampire clan trying to help out as much as they can. Add in the mermaids and this is just a great paranormal read! Looking forward to more from the Guardians! *Complimentary copy provided via Netgalley for an honest review.
    more
  • Sissy's Romance Book Review
    January 1, 1970
    Conquer the Darkness by Alexandra Ivy is book 15 in the Guardians of Eternity Series. This is the story of Ulric and Rainn. I have read the previous book but you could make this a standalone book if you wish to do so. Ulric had thought he was the last of his pack but he happens to spot someone from his past that leads him on the chase to where it all began. Rainn is feels something isn't right and sneaks her way on the trip with him leading the to open their relationship to something more than Conquer the Darkness by Alexandra Ivy is book 15 in the Guardians of Eternity Series. This is the story of Ulric and Rainn. I have read the previous book but you could make this a standalone book if you wish to do so. Ulric had thought he was the last of his pack but he happens to spot someone from his past that leads him on the chase to where it all began. Rainn is feels something isn't right and sneaks her way on the trip with him leading the to open their relationship to something more than it has been since they known each other. Enjoyed this book.
    more
  • Cailin
    January 1, 1970
    Heck yeah!I really enjoyed this book! The plot and backstory went very interesting places and the characters were nuanced and fun. I always love the interactions that Alexandra Ivy creates, I'm never not amused by these characters and this series! This is definitely a must read for fans of Guardians of Eternity!
    more
  • Heather andrews
    January 1, 1970
    Like a typical male Rainn needs to bring her man back into focusing, "she clicked her tongue. Was he deliberately making this difficult? “You keep forgetting that whole listening thing.” Ulric tends to focus on certain parts of what his woman says, "his eyes darkened, the heat in the room ratcheting up several more degrees. “Sexy,” he growled. “I like the sound of that.” I liked this book, I loved Ulric.
    more
  • Donna
    January 1, 1970
    Conquer the Darkness is filled with all the action, adventure and love we have come to expect from this series. This time it’s werewolf Ulric and zephyr sprite Rainn’s turn at finding love. This book is filled with fantastic world building, fascinating characters, magic and the magic of love. A terrific addition to the series.
    more
  • Speed
    January 1, 1970
    Ulric finds his mate in Rainn, a zephyr sprite. Ulric and Rain have been working together at the casino for several years now, but Rainn has a secret. Once Ulric is lured into a trap, Rainn has to admit all or fear losing the man she truly loves. Filled with action, some of our past characters and the wonderful and lovely Levet, make for an awesome read!!! Once Rainn, eradicates the evil, it leaves Ulric and Rainn to enjoy their HEA! I really do hope that Levet and Inga get together, they would Ulric finds his mate in Rainn, a zephyr sprite. Ulric and Rain have been working together at the casino for several years now, but Rainn has a secret. Once Ulric is lured into a trap, Rainn has to admit all or fear losing the man she truly loves. Filled with action, some of our past characters and the wonderful and lovely Levet, make for an awesome read!!! Once Rainn, eradicates the evil, it leaves Ulric and Rainn to enjoy their HEA! I really do hope that Levet and Inga get together, they would make a fabulous couple 4 solid stars********I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book provided by NetGalley*****
    more
  • Angel Hatfield
    January 1, 1970
    Ulric released a howl of pleasure as he loped through the vast darkness. It’s had been far too long since he had the luxury of leaving the glittering lights of Las Vegas to run across the desert. This week Chiron returned to his elegant casino on the strip. That meant Ulric could shift into his wolf form and lose himself in the wild pleasures of the night . Dawn was nearing and he halted at the end of the desert and returned to his human form. Ulric also had the rapid temper of his animal and Ulric released a howl of pleasure as he loped through the vast darkness. It’s had been far too long since he had the luxury of leaving the glittering lights of Las Vegas to run across the desert. This week Chiron returned to his elegant casino on the strip. That meant Ulric could shift into his wolf form and lose himself in the wild pleasures of the night . Dawn was nearing and he halted at the end of the desert and returned to his human form. Ulric also had the rapid temper of his animal and the willingness to use violence when necessary. He took the ,ost direct route to Dreamscope even though he was strolling through one of the most dangerous neighborhoods in Vegas. He had a bad butt vibe that sent humans and demons scurrying out of his path. Chiron had strict rules of what Ulric could do to customers., even if they were trying to cheat or being drunk pains in the butt. Only the high end gamblers walked through the Dreamscapes doors or stayed in the luxury suites. Chiron was Ulric’s master and a vampire. Ulric had money,security, and females if he wanted them. And a mas5ter who was as close as a brother. So why did he feel such a dark cloud forming over just over the horizon? Ulric trusted Chiron but the rest of the leeches could sink back into the Netherworld they crawled out of. Chiron knew Ulric was a growly, bitey, dangerously rabid sort of dude. He talked when he wanted to talk. Ulric liked Chiron’s mate Lilah. She was a perfect partner. When Ulric mentioned moving on Chiron told him they started this journey together and as far as he was concerned they would finish it together. They were family. Than Ulric saw a beautiful woman in a long backless black gown . Then he caught a scent of musk and froze. Disbelief exploded through froze. She smelled like pack, like family. It was impossible for his pacl had been slaughtered over five hundred years ago. Still… there was no denying the scent. A person’s smell remained the same unlike their looks. Shaking himself out of his stunned inertia and rushed through the casino. Than she was in front of him and memories bombarded Ulric. He said “ Brigette.” Her eyes widened , her expression stricken as she suddenly recognized him”Ulric.” He asked if she was real she said the same and added she thought he was dead. Ulric asked her to come back inside and Brigette said to forget her and than a shiny silver Jaguar squealed into the circle drive and she jumped in the car and it went squealing away. Ulric ran after the car but it got to far away and he got the sense he was being followed. Then he went back to the hotel. He stopped in front of the storage room that led to the kitchen. He found Rainn - a rare zephyr sprite appeared out of the desert twenty years ago and quickly earned Chiron’s trust. Ulric growled “ Why the hell are you following me ? “ Ulric told Rainn the woman was his cousin and it’s a miracle. But rainn said or a trap and that she had her eyes on the female her. When Ulric asked why Rainn said to follow her. Rainn told him Brigette was waiting for him as they watched the security camera. There was one way to find out, ask Brigette. First he had to find her. Rainn raised magic to enter the plane Ulric would be on. Soon Ulric entered the plane and it took off. Rainn felt this is sher destiny. Ulric deeply lusted for Rainn but never let her know. They were on their way to his old lair. When they got there he changed and ran toward home. Than Ulric realized felt like howling, emptiness unnerved him, he changed to his human form. I loved this book . It was filled with danger, betrayer, intrigue lust for power, werewolves, sprites, demons, evil, a battle, merpeople, a sealed door, lust, and so much more. I really didn’t want to set this down as I wanted to see what happened next. At times I was on the edge of my seat. I love the ending. I loved the plot and pace. I loved the characters and the ins and outs of this book and I highly recommend it.
    more
  • Les Romantiques
    January 1, 1970
    Posted on Les Romantiques - Le forum du siteReviewed by FabiolaReview Copy from the PublisherI voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.Conquer The Darkness is the 15th volume in the Gaurdians of Eternity series, and the 3d volume in the new story arc. At this stage, I don’t even know if it’s useful to present (again) the previous volumes LOL.When I finished this book, I wondered (once again) how Alexandra Ivy did to captivate the readers Posted on Les Romantiques - Le forum du siteReviewed by FabiolaReview Copy from the PublisherI voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.Conquer The Darkness is the 15th volume in the Gaurdians of Eternity series, and the 3d volume in the new story arc. At this stage, I don’t even know if it’s useful to present (again) the previous volumes LOL.When I finished this book, I wondered (once again) how Alexandra Ivy did to captivate the readers with such a long series. Each time, I think I won’t be surprised and each time, I am. In any case, I’m amazed by her imagination and her ability to create twists in her universe.In Conquer The Darkness, Alexandra puts a scene between Ulric and Rainn we already saw in Darkness Return, the first volume in this arc. They both are Chiron’s right-hand men and even if I felt some attraction, I wasn’t sure they would end together. I’m thrilled it’s the case.The book begins a few weeks after the previous volume. Ulric comes back to Las Vegas after some time away. The first thing he sees in the casino where he works is his cousin he’s thought dead for some centuries. He lost his family after the raid by another species and he never recovered. So he’s thrilled when he sees a cousin he’s thought dead. And so he isn’t suspicious. Fortunately Rainn intervenes and tries to show him he must act with caution. But Ulric being a usual Alexandra’s hero (headstrong, arrogant, reckless), he rushes headlong, followed by Rainn.Apart from the plot around the murder of Ulric’s family, it’s most of all Rainn who’s going to surprise us while we discover her past. She’s a very strong heroine with abilities I never saw before but she also has secrets that will be revealed to readers as to the hero.What’s more, I still don’t know if the author is planning a sequel to her story, but here we have some sort of closure for the arc with the intervention of previous characters that I let you discover. Let’s say that if she stops here it wouldn’t be a surprise. If she goes on, I don’t know what awaits us LOL.As for the evolution of the feelings, as the heroes have known each other for 20 years, we mainly have an acceptation of their feelings for the other and the personal trust that is made little by little. Their attraction is very present, we believe in their HEA and the few love scenes are well brought.To conclude, once again a great opus by the author full of action, surprise, twists with characters very likeable we can follow till the end. I highly recommend the series.
    more
  • Kristine
    January 1, 1970
    I alternated between listening and reading the print version of this book. I will say first off that this book is well into a series that I have never read. I have read this author many times previously in the past and enjoyed her books. This was the second book I've reviewed from this author that dropped me into a well established series. This book, however, makes it very apparent that it is a continuation of a storyline and I had no idea who any of the other characters were. There were many I alternated between listening and reading the print version of this book. I will say first off that this book is well into a series that I have never read. I have read this author many times previously in the past and enjoyed her books. This was the second book I've reviewed from this author that dropped me into a well established series. This book, however, makes it very apparent that it is a continuation of a storyline and I had no idea who any of the other characters were. There were many and many supernatural characters who were coupled up so I'm assuming each relationship was a new book. As to this book. It didn't grab me and almost lost me as it took quite a while for me to even care why Ulric was doing something that blatantly just screamed "walking into a trap". Was I supposed to like him automatically, or is this a part of where possibly reading the prior books in this series had already introduced him to me and made me like and care for him to begin with? Regardless, there was no character building and between Ulric and Rainn, I really was not very invested. But, I was driving in the middle of nowhere, coming back from a family dinner and could not take the time to change the audiobook, so I was a bit stuck.Eventually, I guess I caught up and the story seemed to come to a happy ending - back to that coupling up from earlier - but honestly, I was ready to be done. Will I continue with the series, I'm not sure. Probably not. But I will not hesitate to come back to this author for other series - there are always one off bad experiences. And, the character of Levet made me laugh - he made reading the entire book worth it. Seems like he has some repressed feelings for a Ogress. Or was it a Mermaid/Ogress...I didn't really understand that - more info from the prior books I guess.Thank you to NetGalley for providing this copy to me for an honest review.
    more
  • Kristine
    January 1, 1970
    I alternated between listening and reading the print version of this book. I will say first off that this book is well into a series that I have never read. I have read this author many times previously in the past and enjoyed her books. This was the second book I've reviewed from this author that dropped me into a well established series. This book, however, makes it very apparent that it is a continuation of a storyline and I had no idea who any of the other characters were. There were many I alternated between listening and reading the print version of this book. I will say first off that this book is well into a series that I have never read. I have read this author many times previously in the past and enjoyed her books. This was the second book I've reviewed from this author that dropped me into a well established series. This book, however, makes it very apparent that it is a continuation of a storyline and I had no idea who any of the other characters were. There were many and many supernatural characters who were coupled up so I'm assuming each relationship was a new book. As to this book. It didn't grab me and almost lost me as it took quite a while for me to even care why Ulric was doing something that blatantly just screamed "walking into a trap". Was I supposed to like him automatically, or is this a part of where possibly reading the prior books in this series had already introduced him to me and made me like and care for him to begin with? Regardless, there was no character building and between Ulric and Rainn, I really was not very invested. But, I was driving in the middle of nowhere, coming back from a family dinner and could not take the time to change the audiobook, so I was a bit stuck.Eventually, I guess I caught up and the story seemed to come to a happy ending - back to that coupling up from earlier - but honestly, I was ready to be done. Will I continue with the series, I'm not sure. Probably not. But I will not hesitate to come back to this author for other series - there are always one off bad experiences. And, the character of Levet made me laugh - he made reading the entire book worth it. Seems like he has some repressed feelings for a Ogress. Or was it a Mermaid/Ogress...I didn't really understand that - more info from the prior books I guess.Thank you to NetGalley for providing this copy to me for an honest review.
    more
  • Sue's Romance Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    How this author is able to keep me giddy and excited book after book throughout this series in beyond me.The action is right on par and had me gripping my kindle. I loved the scene between Rainn and Zella but the final fight was a little disappointing. It was really short and a little too easily resolved.The romance between this couple is a slow burn. There really are no intimate scenes whether sexual in nature or not with this couple for the first half of the book. Although the attraction is How this author is able to keep me giddy and excited book after book throughout this series in beyond me.The action is right on par and had me gripping my kindle. I loved the scene between Rainn and Zella but the final fight was a little disappointing. It was really short and a little too easily resolved.The romance between this couple is a slow burn. There really are no intimate scenes whether sexual in nature or not with this couple for the first half of the book. Although the attraction is there, no one is acting upon it.I should’ve loved this couple together because I love them each separately. But I found they lacked fire and passion together. They were missing an undeniable spark, desire and togetherness. For me, there was not enough time together and the attraction between them took too long to heat up. Then once is started, it was over. I really wanted to experience them as a couple. I loved Ulric in previous books and wanted so much more for him. I feel a little cheated out of his relationship with Rainn.On another note, in EVERY book in this series I have LOVED Levet. This author brings a lightness with this character that, for me, is unparalleled and this instalment is no different. This author also has me all kinds of curious about Levet. He has been in this series since the beginning and I figure he must have a MAJOR role somewhere in future books. He has to be important somehow.For fans of the series, there are also cameos from Cyn and Fallon as well as Tarak and Everly.This is an entertaining and action-packed read you won’t want to miss!I received an ARC via NetGalley of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
    more
  • Karen Roma
    January 1, 1970
    While some series lose their rhythm and flow after so many books (Conquer the Darkness is book 15), Alexandra Ivy has revived the appeal of the Guardians of Eternity by going back to its grass roots. Characters like Chiron, Tarak and now Ulric, are the perfect example of what readers have come to expect and love about this enthralling series. And then there’s the women who bring these dominate and powerful immortals to their knees; they are the real foundation of each and every story. Ulric and While some series lose their rhythm and flow after so many books (Conquer the Darkness is book 15), Alexandra Ivy has revived the appeal of the Guardians of Eternity by going back to its grass roots. Characters like Chiron, Tarak and now Ulric, are the perfect example of what readers have come to expect and love about this enthralling series. And then there’s the women who bring these dominate and powerful immortals to their knees; they are the real foundation of each and every story. Ulric and Rainn’s story has absolutely everything! Action, danger, mystery and sizzling chemistry, which all combine to provide readers with a non-stop, adrenaline fuelled read. The characters are portrayed with empathy and strength, and their relationship develops from respect and solidarity, to an all-consuming passion that fortifies their emotional connection and the power each possess. And let’s not forget the ever annoying and loveable Levet; he may be small in stature, but his heart is enormous, and he wields his Knight in Shining Armour title with earnestness and pride. My love of this series has been renewed, as Ms Ivy writes her characters with depth and fortitude, while her plots are well delivered with and ebb and flow that ensures a thoroughly addictive read. Guardians of Eternity was, and is one of my favourite series, and I encourage lovers of paranormal romance to dive into this captivating world.
    more
  • Sandy Kelly
    January 1, 1970
    This is book 15 in the Guardians of Eternity series and at the very least you should read the previous 2 books before reading this one. In this one we get Ulric and Rainn's story! Ulric had thought his whole pack had been lost years before when he suddenly see's Brigette and gives chase to find out where she has been. He doesn't expect for someone to follow him while he follows her. Rainn knows that Ulric is at the center of a prophecy and has been charged with keeping him safe, even if that is This is book 15 in the Guardians of Eternity series and at the very least you should read the previous 2 books before reading this one. In this one we get Ulric and Rainn's story! Ulric had thought his whole pack had been lost years before when he suddenly see's Brigette and gives chase to find out where she has been. He doesn't expect for someone to follow him while he follows her. Rainn knows that Ulric is at the center of a prophecy and has been charged with keeping him safe, even if that is from himself. She doesn't expect that to mean they will face an evil they have never seen before or that he will come to mean so much to her.I love how this seems to pick up right from where the last book left off, and that we still get to see characters that we love! Ulric has always been this character that I wanted to know more about. I just never expected his story to be as heart wrenching as it becomes. Rainn has always been mysterious and this book explains exactly why she has always been so. There is action right from the start along with suspense and I loved that! My only drawback is I felt like I was left needing to know more about a certain character introduced later on who helps them. I am hoping there will be a book about her, especially after everything she went through!
    more
  • Paula
    January 1, 1970
    Hard to believe that this is the 15th book of the Guardians of Eternity Series Alexandra Ivy. Conquer the Darkness is just as great as when the series first started years ago. It has some favorite characters making appearances with the focus on Ulric and Rainn. Werewolf and zephyr spite characters with hints of perhaps a gargoyle and mermaid romance to come, make this an interesting read. More fun than suspenseful, not being a scary read at all.Being the last of a pack can be lonely so when it Hard to believe that this is the 15th book of the Guardians of Eternity Series Alexandra Ivy. Conquer the Darkness is just as great as when the series first started years ago. It has some favorite characters making appearances with the focus on Ulric and Rainn. Werewolf and zephyr spite characters with hints of perhaps a gargoyle and mermaid romance to come, make this an interesting read. More fun than suspenseful, not being a scary read at all.Being the last of a pack can be lonely so when it seems as if Ulric sees a former pack mate the search is on. One can do foolish things in search of family so of course, someone needs to have his back which brings Rainn into the story. There is the humor that is the trademark of the series along with the romance, mystery, action and magic. Just when you think you have figured it all out a twist comes along. Fans of the series will love the book. New readers will become fans wanting to go back to the beginning to catch up with all the former characters. An ARC of the book was given to me by the publisher through Net Galley which I voluntarily chose to read and reviewed. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
    more
  • Beth
    January 1, 1970
    This is book #15 in a series. Although there are many characters mentioned from past books this works well as a stand alone. I have read a few books in this series so I was familiar with a lot of the characters. Ever since she was born, Rainn, a zephyr, was marked by the Oracles and told that her duty was to save the earth from evil. She’s sent to Las Vegas to protect Ulrick, a werewolf whose pack was killed and he was enslaved but rescued by Chiron, a vampire, Now they are partners who own a This is book #15 in a series. Although there are many characters mentioned from past books this works well as a stand alone. I have read a few books in this series so I was familiar with a lot of the characters. Ever since she was born, Rainn, a zephyr, was marked by the Oracles and told that her duty was to save the earth from evil. She’s sent to Las Vegas to protect Ulrick, a werewolf whose pack was killed and he was enslaved but rescued by Chiron, a vampire, Now they are partners who own a casino hotel. Ulrick gets a glance at someone he believes is a pack member. He pursues her back to his pack lands only to find utter destruction. He and Rainn must battle evil in order to save the world. During all this there are two romances blossoming. I liked it, however fanciful it was. There was a lot of porting here and there and meeting with mated couples of all species but it is what it proclaims to be, a paranormal romance. Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for giving me an ARC in exchange for a fair and honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.
    more
  • Miriam Wolfe
    January 1, 1970
    This is a voluntary review of an advanced copy.It has been a while since I read a book in this series so I don't remember much but I did remember Inga and her story! So, you can pretty much read this book as a stand alone but more fun when you know the background of the other characters.I loved Ulric and Rainn as they kind of fought their attraction for a bit and she knew that she had to follow him and save him but not from what.Some parts of this story are left hanging as we still don't know This is a voluntary review of an advanced copy.It has been a while since I read a book in this series so I don't remember much but I did remember Inga and her story! So, you can pretty much read this book as a stand alone but more fun when you know the background of the other characters.I loved Ulric and Rainn as they kind of fought their attraction for a bit and she knew that she had to follow him and save him but not from what.Some parts of this story are left hanging as we still don't know what is going to happen with Inga and Levvat and is Brigette totally evil and nonredeemable? Will we see more of Chaaya?The book was filled with lots of action and drama as Ulric is confronted with his past and rushes into danger and possibly a trap to get answers and find family. Throughout the adventure, Rainn keeps him safe and fulfills her mission from the Oracle as well as saving her true love.Great wrap up and loved seeing the previous characters back in the story, and hope there are more books in this series!
    more
  • Beth
    January 1, 1970
    This is book #15 in a series. Although there are many characters mentioned from past books this works well as a stand alone. I have read a few books in this series so I was familiar with a lot of the characters. Ever since she was born, Rainn, a zephyr, was marked by the Oracles and told that her duty was to save the earth from evil. She’s sent to Las Vegas to protect Ulrick, a werewolf whose pack was killed and he was enslaved but rescued by Chiron, a vampire, Now they are partners who own a This is book #15 in a series. Although there are many characters mentioned from past books this works well as a stand alone. I have read a few books in this series so I was familiar with a lot of the characters. Ever since she was born, Rainn, a zephyr, was marked by the Oracles and told that her duty was to save the earth from evil. She’s sent to Las Vegas to protect Ulrick, a werewolf whose pack was killed and he was enslaved but rescued by Chiron, a vampire, Now they are partners who own a casino hotel. Ulrick gets a glance at someone he believes is a pack member. He pursues her back to his pack lands only to find utter destruction. He and Rainn must battle evil in order to save the world. During all this there are two romances blossoming. I liked it, however fanciful it was. There was a lot of porting here and there and meeting with mated couples of all species but it is what it proclaims to be, a paranormal romance. Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for giving me an ARC in exchange for a fair and honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.
    more
  • Johanna Sawyer
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to the publisher for an ARC to read and give my honest opinion. Book fifteen in the guardian series. I guess it can be a standalone but for best practices, reading the entire series in order is probably best. Ulric thinks he’s the only member left of his pack killed by demons centuries before when he sees one. A cousin that should have perished with all rest shows at the casino he co-owns, and then disappears. Finding her becomes imperative.What did I like? Rainn and Ulric start out as Thanks to the publisher for an ARC to read and give my honest opinion. Book fifteen in the guardian series. I guess it can be a standalone but for best practices, reading the entire series in order is probably best. Ulric thinks he’s the only member left of his pack killed by demons centuries before when he sees one. A cousin that should have perished with all rest shows at the casino he co-owns, and then disappears. Finding her becomes imperative.What did I like? Rainn and Ulric start out as opposites but their ordeals bring them together. I really love the gargoyle though, he seems to make me chuckle and steal the show at the same time. I also enjoyed the sneak peak into previous characters lives. Would I buy this book or recommend? Best reading experience will come if you have read all or any of the series. It’s a lovely series and definitely worth having. This is an amazing author.Thoughts for the author? Another great book! Thanks for allowing me a copy!
    more
  • Read All About It
    January 1, 1970
    This is the 15th book in this series and it just gets better with every installment.You can look forward to all the adventure and romance we’ve come to expect from a Alexandra Ivy book. The world building is superb. I don’t ever want this series to end.Ulric is the only surviving member of his pack or so he thinks. Then into his casino walks a woman who smells like family.Rainn is a rare zephyr sprite. She has been chosen to stop a prophecy of evil. She knows this woman is setting a trap.After This is the 15th book in this series and it just gets better with every installment.You can look forward to all the adventure and romance we’ve come to expect from a Alexandra Ivy book. The world building is superb. I don’t ever want this series to end.Ulric is the only surviving member of his pack or so he thinks. Then into his casino walks a woman who smells like family.Rainn is a rare zephyr sprite. She has been chosen to stop a prophecy of evil. She knows this woman is setting a trap.After knowing each other 20 years they realize they are mates. Of coarse the book would not be complete without Levit our favorite tiny gargoyle.He has to be there to help save the world again. Inga the Queen mermaid- ogress also makes a prominent appearance. These two together make for the best laugh out loud moments.I think there might be a unusual romance brewing between these two. We’ll have to see what happens in future books.
    more
  • Khrista Baxter
    January 1, 1970
    Saving the world from evilConquer the Darkness was a fun, thrilling read. Guardians of Eternity is one of my favorite series, this world is full of surprises and adventure. The characters are all amazing, Levet is the all time best! Ulric lost his family 500 years ago when demons attacked his village, taken hostage and sold to the previous vampire anasso he was kept in a dank prison until Chiron rescued him, they have been together ever since. Believing his entire family died in the massacre Saving the world from evilConquer the Darkness was a fun, thrilling read. Guardians of Eternity is one of my favorite series, this world is full of surprises and adventure. The characters are all amazing, Levet is the all time best! Ulric lost his family 500 years ago when demons attacked his village, taken hostage and sold to the previous vampire anasso he was kept in a dank prison until Chiron rescued him, they have been together ever since. Believing his entire family died in the massacre seeing his cousin Bridget in his casino was a shock. The reunion wasn't what he expected when she ran from him, he followed her back to their village only to find out it was a trap. Bridget is working with an evil entity trying to come back to earth. Rainn follows Ulric because it is her destiny to do so, in service to the Oracles she has known that Ulric would lead her to the evil she needs to defeat. Rainn didn't expect to get a mate out of the deal though.
    more
  • Danielle Bailleu
    January 1, 1970
    Ulric is the last surviving member of his werewolf pack, that is, until he spots his cousin Brigette walking through the Casino he works at. Just a quickly, she disappears without a trace. Rainn, a zephyr sprite and who also works with Ulric, pursues him on his quest to find Bridgette. Rainn senses a trap and will do all she can to save Ulric from harm. This was a journey that I thoroughly enjoyed! It kept me hooked throughout the whole story. I have not read previous Alexandra Ivy books in this Ulric is the last surviving member of his werewolf pack, that is, until he spots his cousin Brigette walking through the Casino he works at. Just a quickly, she disappears without a trace. Rainn, a zephyr sprite and who also works with Ulric, pursues him on his quest to find Bridgette. Rainn senses a trap and will do all she can to save Ulric from harm. This was a journey that I thoroughly enjoyed! It kept me hooked throughout the whole story. I have not read previous Alexandra Ivy books in this series so I did not understand some references, but I will definitely be picking them up in the future! Enough information was provided about previous characters without fully giving away their stories. This book was given to me an an ARC from the publisher through NetGalley in an exchange for an honest review. I was not compensated in any way.
    more
  • Nikki Brooks
    January 1, 1970
    Talk about slow-burn romance! Ulric and Rainn have taken DECADES to admit what they are to each other. It's taken Ulric's wolf taking charge to make Ulric want to claim his mate!They both have enough baggage to open a shop. Ulric lost his pack in a slaughter and Rainn was born with a mark, the mark of the Oracles, which pretty much ostracised her from her family. The traitorous pack member was a bolt from the darkness, did not see that coming! I'm now tumped as to what will happen to the human Talk about slow-burn romance! Ulric and Rainn have taken DECADES to admit what they are to each other. It's taken Ulric's wolf taking charge to make Ulric want to claim his mate!They both have enough baggage to open a shop. Ulric lost his pack in a slaughter and Rainn was born with a mark, the mark of the Oracles, which pretty much ostracised her from her family. The traitorous pack member was a bolt from the darkness, did not see that coming! I'm now tumped as to what will happen to the human that has managed to enter into out little supernatural world! Levet and Inga are back to keep you in chuckles! Levet is sweet in his own way, he sees Inga only as his love, not as the scary mermaid/troll hybrid that everyone else sees. Can't wait to see what happens next!
    more
  • Cheryl
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks for a wonderful adventure. I wasn't that find of Ulric in the beginning. Just seemed an angry were in the previous boo. As this is his story he evolved. I thoroughly enjoyed Rainn and loved Alexandra Ivy bringing in new mystical paranormal beings and happenings. Evil is spreading and I swear I could feel it. Levet pops up, literally. We see Taryn, Cyn and their mates. Levet sees Inga again and they all have their part in saving the world. Action, suspense, romance, laughter and a new Thanks for a wonderful adventure. I wasn't that find of Ulric in the beginning. Just seemed an angry were in the previous boo. As this is his story he evolved. I thoroughly enjoyed Rainn and loved Alexandra Ivy bringing in new mystical paranormal beings and happenings. Evil is spreading and I swear I could feel it. Levet pops up, literally. We see Taryn, Cyn and their mates. Levet sees Inga again and they all have their part in saving the world. Action, suspense, romance, laughter and a new character. Thank you for the arc. I voluntarily leave this review. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and we're unsolicited.
    more
Write a review