The Gravity of Us
As a successful social media journalist with half a million followers, seventeen-year-old Cal is used to sharing his life online. But when his pilot father is selected for a highly publicized NASA mission to Mars, Cal and his family relocate from Brooklyn to Houston and are thrust into a media circus.Amidst the chaos, Cal meets sensitive and mysterious Leon, another “Astrokid,” and finds himself falling head over heels—fast. As the frenzy around the mission grows, so does their connection. But when secrets about the program are uncovered, Cal must find a way to reveal the truth without hurting the people who have become most important to him.Expertly capturing the thrill of first love and the self-doubt all teens feel, debut author Phil Stamper is a new talent to watch.

The Gravity of Us Details

TitleThe Gravity of Us
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseFeb 4th, 2020
PublisherBloomsbury YA
ISBN-139781547600144
Rating
GenreLGBT, Young Adult, Contemporary

The Gravity of Us Review

  • Phil Stamper
    January 1, 1970
    me: it's a little weird when authors 5-star their own books right?also me: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐--UPDATE-- Anyone want to see a little teaser?
    more
  • Shaun Hutchinson
    January 1, 1970
    You guys!!! YOU GUYS!!!!! This book is AMAZING!!!! 👬❤🚀 You guys!!! YOU GUYS!!!!! This book is AMAZING!!!! 👬❤️🚀
  • ellie
    January 1, 1970
    sounds gay, i'm in
  • anna (readingpeaches)
    January 1, 1970
    we always knew the space was gay
  • Jackie
    January 1, 1970
    SPACE MISSION DRAMA. BOYS FALLING IN LOVE. MARS. NASA. A NERDY LOVE STORY ABOUT SONS OF ASTRONAUTS. SIGN ME UP
  • Adam Sass
    January 1, 1970
    This is far too long of a wait to see this in print, but it will be worth it. Stamper slings together two young men falling in love against the backdrop of a space race to Mars with the warm, light touch of the best romantic comedy films of the 90s. I'm ecstatic this is going to meet the world soon!
    more
  • Ivy
    January 1, 1970
    space gays? space gays.EDIT: So this cover is fucking perfect huh
  • Mary H
    January 1, 1970
    Eagerly awaiting Phil and Jeremy West's co-written YA sleuth series, but yeah. This'll work. I do love me some Teens in Space who are space adjacent! I love the increase of sci-fi books set in space, but I love that there's also been an increase of contemp books featuring characters who are interested in science and space.
    more
  • Iris
    January 1, 1970
    OMFG THIS IS THE ACTUAL CUTEST COVER
  • blush
    January 1, 1970
    Gays in Space? Yes, please.
  • Caroline
    January 1, 1970
    I was lucky enough to read this manuscript and I cannot recommend it enough!! Queer kids and messy families and NASA and romance, this book checks so many boxes. I loved every minute of this one
  • Kevin
    January 1, 1970
    This. Book. Is. So. Good. Seriously. Pre-order this as soon as possible. Hell, pre-order two copies! Give it to your friends. Give it to your family. Buy seven more copies for yourself. It's full of swoons and science and NOT SPACE. THIS TAKES PLACE ON EARTH. I love it so much.Buy it.
    more
  • Kosoko Jackson
    January 1, 1970
    A stunning debut. Treated with love, honesty, and affection, THE GRAVITY OF US, is for the dreamers, the hopefuls, the realists, and all of those who need a reason to believe. A must-have for anyone who believes in goodness, and wants to fight for a better world.
    more
  • Jeff Bishop
    January 1, 1970
    For fans of Vanderpump Rules and Buzz Aldrin, a venn diagram I almost almost certain did not exist until now. Yet Gravity of Us finds a way to bring those groups together in one of the most unique YA contemporary premises I've read in a long time. Stamper's ability to lampoon a particular strain of nostalgia that often infects the American thinking makes this a story uniquely-suited for born almost fifty years after we first put a man on the moon. Plus any book that provides the space (DID YOU S For fans of Vanderpump Rules and Buzz Aldrin, a venn diagram I almost almost certain did not exist until now. Yet Gravity of Us finds a way to bring those groups together in one of the most unique YA contemporary premises I've read in a long time. Stamper's ability to lampoon a particular strain of nostalgia that often infects the American thinking makes this a story uniquely-suited for born almost fifty years after we first put a man on the moon. Plus any book that provides the space (DID YOU SEE WHAT I DID THERE) to touch on a topic near and dear to my heart gets an automatic A in my book. That topic is athleisure, and everyone on Mars is wearing it.
    more
  • ♥︎ ゚➽ ellie
    January 1, 1970
    weLL I MEAN SHAWN DAVID HUTCHINSON SAID IT WAS GOOD WHICH OBVIOUSLY MEANS THIS SHIT GONNA BE LEGENDARY SO IM ABSOLUTELY HYPE
  • Kim
    January 1, 1970
    This is a remarkable debut novel! There's so much heart in it and I loved Cal and Leon both so much. They compliment each other as characters so well from the start and watching their romance bloom in the midst of such drama was heart aching and thrilling at the same time. 10/10 recommend pre-ordering this book asap.
    more
  • Sara
    January 1, 1970
    Phil Stamper's The Gravity of Us is such a sweet story about an ambitious teen Cal Jr. and how his life goes through an upheaval when his dad signs up and gets chosen to be the last astronaut for a new team heading to Mars. Cal and his parents have to move from Brooklyn to Houston, but also they have to sign up to be the stars of a reality show that follows the astronauts and their families through the prep work before the mission. Cal Jr. is an aspiring reporter and has his own FlashFame accoun Phil Stamper's The Gravity of Us is such a sweet story about an ambitious teen Cal Jr. and how his life goes through an upheaval when his dad signs up and gets chosen to be the last astronaut for a new team heading to Mars. Cal and his parents have to move from Brooklyn to Houston, but also they have to sign up to be the stars of a reality show that follows the astronauts and their families through the prep work before the mission. Cal Jr. is an aspiring reporter and has his own FlashFame account where he reports on political campaigns and local news in Brooklyn, and of course he takes his reporting to Houston and starts covering the upcoming mission. Things get dramatic and political and I was so into that.I loved these characters! Stamper did such a great job of emphasizing the strengths of young people while also showing their vulnerabilities. Cal is so ambitious and smart, but he also has so much anxiety weighing him down. He has to work on some of those anxieties, but it just proves how strong he is that he's thinking about and working on them. I also really liked how adults weren't perfect, but they were mostly trying and the villains weren't black & white. Actually, now that I think about it there's a lot of duality and exisiting in the grey areas in this book and I love that! Characters aren't perfect and they're learning and can live in indecision or change their minds.The romance between Cal Jr. and Leon? *kiss fingers emoji* They have to weather some heavy emotional moments and experiencing their empathy for each other in those hard times really made their love real for me. Leon's depression felt authentic and relateable for me too and the representation of someone currently working on their stuff, but still able to love and be loved, that was such a good message for people to internalize. Also, Cal is such a good friend in general and even though he made mistakes, he figured out how to fix those mistakes and strengthened his relationships.
    more
  • Sanders Kennedy
    January 1, 1970
    Is this book isn’t turned into a Netflix movie or even on the Silver Screen then I’m gonna be pissed. Being that I’m from Brooklyn and cover pop culture stories on my YouTube channel I felt a close connection to Cal. I have to admit a tear or two fell from my eyes but also laughed at some parts that were too relatable. You don’t need to know a lot about NASA or love for that matter to enjoy this book, but you will differently walk way learning about both. Can’t wait to see what Phil writes next.
    more
  • Matthew
    January 1, 1970
    Phil Stamper’s THE GRAVITY OF US is a remarkable read. The story has its own gravitational force, pulling you to keep reading chapter after chapter. Stamper crafted such a binge-readable story of Cal and NASA’s mission to set foot on Mars. There are moments that make you smile and moments that’ll make you feel seen—but the best moments are the ones that’ll make you loudly cheer for Cal, young love, NASA’s space exploration, and the heartfelt hurdles one must jump over when coming-of-age.
    more
  • Ryan
    January 1, 1970
    One of the best romances I've read in a long time. Nicely done, Phil!
  • Stephanie
    January 1, 1970
    SPACE!
Write a review