Night of the Scoundrel (The Devils of Dover, #3.5)
Can he trust her with his darkest secret?Ruthless. Dangerous. Known simply as King. No one knows his true name or where he came from. And when he learns that the man who betrayed him has returned to London, King has only one goal: vengeance. But first, he must seek out an unlikely ally to aide him in his pursuit...Adeline Archambault is as mysterious as she is beautiful. Exiled after the French Revolution, she's determined to reclaim her birthright and deliver the justice that is owed her. King's offer to help her, in exchange for her assistance, is a bargain she can't refuse. But will this deal with a devil lead to a future she never dared hope for?

Night of the Scoundrel (The Devils of Dover, #3.5) Details

TitleNight of the Scoundrel (The Devils of Dover, #3.5)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseNov 26th, 2019
PublisherForever Yours
Rating
GenreRomance, Historical Romance, Novella, Historical, Historical Fiction

Night of the Scoundrel (The Devils of Dover, #3.5) Review

  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    Finally! King’s story. The crime lord has stolen every scene he was in during this series so I was thrilled when he got his own story. King needed a strong heroine and he definitely got that in Adelaide. We finally find out about King’s past and who he really is. It was a lovely little novella that had excellent character growth. I usually find character growth hard to achieve in novellas but not so with this book. I think that’s the mark of a great writer, being able to convey so much with so Finally! King’s story. The crime lord has stolen every scene he was in during this series so I was thrilled when he got his own story. King needed a strong heroine and he definitely got that in Adelaide. We finally find out about King’s past and who he really is. It was a lovely little novella that had excellent character growth. I usually find character growth hard to achieve in novellas but not so with this book. I think that’s the mark of a great writer, being able to convey so much with so little.
    more
  • Heather K (dentist in my spare time)
    January 1, 1970
    Oh, I REALLY liked this. I'll review soon!!
  • eyes.2c
    January 1, 1970
    Volatile! Riveting!King, "Lord of London's underworld," always enigmatic and aloof. Dangerous!I felt King's story was going to be something special, I knew this was going to be a five star read before I'd reached the end of the first page. King witnesses a fight in a darkened alleyway between three ruffians and a mysterious angel with a rapier and a knife. He is both disturbed and intrigued, "He might not know who this woman was, but he knew what she was—one who understood what lurked in the Volatile! Riveting!King, "Lord of London's underworld," always enigmatic and aloof. Dangerous!I felt King's story was going to be something special, I knew this was going to be a five star read before I'd reached the end of the first page. King witnesses a fight in a darkened alleyway between three ruffians and a mysterious angel with a rapier and a knife. He is both disturbed and intrigued, "He might not know who this woman was, but he knew what she was—one who understood what lurked in the dark corners of the soul. Like recognized like, after all."What follows is a story that reaches into the depth of King's dark corners, exposing who he is and matches him with a stunning partner grown from similar hidden places.Adeline Archambault sees in King something that causes her to stumble, to be wary. He is "predatory and remote. Piercing and impenetrable."In her line of work Adeline uses the nom de plume "Adrestia ... ‘the inescapable.’ Goddess of retribution and vengeance.” Adeline prefers the notion of "justice."She infiltrates King's annual art and valuables auction at his home Helmsdale House, breaking into his study in search for a specific jewel. All to do with justice! Of course King is present, standing silently in the shadows in his omnipotent manner.A standout vignette is King and Adeline's discussion of Caravaggio's Judith. In fact the more I think about that discussion, the ramifications, the understandings drawn from the painting, the more I am awed by the way Bowen uses that work to give leverage to the tensions and understandings between King and Adeline. A discussion that heightens the aloneness that is part of both these coldly capable people whose surface personas cover volcanic depths. This is a fulcrum moment in this fabulously well written taut novella. Everything pivots. The earth moves.It follows that the initial sexual congress between King and Adeline would be supercharged with promise and longing. After all, "like recognizes like."When these two join forces the result is explosive. Secrets are revealed, yet the sky doesn't fall Chicken Little.What can I say, only that the story of these two Marvel type anti heroes, dangerous and decisive, honorable and astute, combining smoking hot sexuality with tenderness and loss is absolutely captivating. This novella packs so much punch that the length is irrelevant. The story reigns supreme.A Forever Grand Central Publishing ARC via NetGalley
    more
  • Elodie
    January 1, 1970
    Night of the ScoundrelA Devils of Dover novellaKelly Bowenhttps://www.facebook.com/AuthorKellyB...Release date 11/26/2019Publisher Forever YoursBlurb :Can he trust her with his darkest secret?Ruthless. Dangerous. Known simply as King. No one knows his true name or where he came from. And when he learns that the man who betrayed him has returned to London, King has only one goal: vengeance. But first, he must seek out an unlikely ally to aide him in his pursuit...Adeline Archambault is as Night of the ScoundrelA Devils of Dover novellaKelly Bowenhttps://www.facebook.com/AuthorKellyB...Release date 11/26/2019Publisher Forever YoursBlurb :Can he trust her with his darkest secret?Ruthless. Dangerous. Known simply as King. No one knows his true name or where he came from. And when he learns that the man who betrayed him has returned to London, King has only one goal: vengeance. But first, he must seek out an unlikely ally to aide him in his pursuit...Adeline Archambault is as mysterious as she is beautiful. Exiled after the French Revolution, she's determined to reclaim her birthright and deliver the justice that is owed her. King's offer to help her, in exchange for her assistance, is a bargain she can't refuse. But will this deal with a devil lead to a future she never dared hope for?My review :When he meets a woman who can stand by him, which road will he choose ...I felt like I had slipped in a spy tale with the heroine as a feminine version of The Saint. She is skilled and determined, she needs no one’s help.Adeline like many has lost everything due to the French Revolution, and it shaped her future, to become an avenger for those whom are left behind by justice.And sure for her time, she is an anomaly, but never felt as if she was out of place. Even more she is justified.King, as it is my second read by Mrs Kelly Bowen, I do not remember him but behind the mask, he is just WOWWWW, my heart beat faster at each of his appearance.While I immediately knew what was driving Adeline, King is like his name, a mystery, he is so multi-layered, I did not know who I faced, a gentleman, a vigilante, a criminal. He is a chameleon, with many purposes and adapting to every new situations.Why they were perfect for each other, despite she having to hide to reach her goals, and his flirting with the sunlight to attract his preys, she is the diamond to his gloom, if he chooses to step fully into the light to claim her.It is a very emotional read Mrs Kelly Bowen offers us, and one definitively to not miss as it will make you sense the tragedy but also the love hiding in both these resilient and shrewd souls.5 stars I was provided through Netgalley by the publisher an advance copy, I purchased my own too.Here is my true and unbiased opinion.https://www.facebook.com/429830134272...
    more
  • Ira
    January 1, 1970
    King’s book!!Why is only novella? King’s book!!❤️❤️❤️Why is only novella? 😫
  • Monique
    January 1, 1970
    Kelly Bowen did it! She totally did it! If you have been waiting for King's story for years, as I had, fear not and grab this amazing book as soon as you can!The dangerous, mysterious, enigmatic King, the "lord of London's underworld", who solves problems when others can't, gets you what you want, and demands a steep price for it. Now King has met his match, Adeline Archambault - Adrestia - the "goddess of retribution"; she gives people peace of mind and revenge. King has one unresolved issue Kelly Bowen did it! She totally did it! If you have been waiting for King's story for years, as I had, fear not and grab this amazing book as soon as you can!The dangerous, mysterious, enigmatic King, the "lord of London's underworld", who solves problems when others can't, gets you what you want, and demands a steep price for it. Now King has met his match, Adeline Archambault - Adrestia - the "goddess of retribution"; she gives people peace of mind and revenge. King has one unresolved issue and Adeline will help him; this he cannot do alone.NIGHT OF THE SCOUNDREL starts out with a bang with the introduction of the magnificent Adeline, and the story continues in the same fashion to the perfect conclusion. As much as I wanted King's story, I was afraid some things would change, but Kelly Bowen stayed faithful to the character while providing us with his horrifying backstory, which made him the man he is.The atmosphere remains as dark as it had been every time King appeared in a novel, where danger and secrets lurk around every corner, and few are to be trusted. This is not a story for the faint of heart; King's world is a brutal one, so is Adeline's. They are extraordinary characters, beautifully fleshed out, lethally seductive, ideally suited to each other, and their romance is entirely convincing. Their attraction is visceral, powerful; the romance evolves exactly as it should have.The writing is impeccable, flowing and eloquent; the dialogues meaningful and deep; the descriptions vibrant; and every emotion - from tenderness to passion to murderous rage - expressed in startling clarity. I had hoped that Ms. Bowen would give King a satisfactory story, and she went above and beyond: NIGHT OF THE SCOUNDREL is epic, spectacular, phenomenal. It was well worth the wait; I am ecstatic! If you don't know the fabulous King, it's high time to meet him.I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced reader copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
    more
  • Sissy's Romance Book Review
    January 1, 1970
    Night of the Scoundrel by Kelly Bowen is book 3.5 in The Devils of Dover Series. This is the story of Adeline and King. I have read the previous books which I think helped with my enjoyment and understanding of this one but you could make this a standalone book if you wish to do so. King is a mysterious underworld who has gotten the name King. King is out for revenge and needs the help of Adeline. Adeline is just a mysterious as King. When they start working together of course their feelings Night of the Scoundrel by Kelly Bowen is book 3.5 in The Devils of Dover Series. This is the story of Adeline and King. I have read the previous books which I think helped with my enjoyment and understanding of this one but you could make this a standalone book if you wish to do so. King is a mysterious underworld who has gotten the name King. King is out for revenge and needs the help of Adeline. Adeline is just a mysterious as King. When they start working together of course their feelings take over. I am a big fan of Ms. Bowen so this was a must read for me.
    more
  • Karma♥Bites ^.~
    January 1, 1970
    **ARC provided by Forever Yours (Grand Central Publishing) via NetGalley**READ 25 Nov 2019 ()NIGHT OF THE SCOUNDREL by Kelly Bowen is a smart/well-written novella about kindred souls—an honourable “anti-hero” H & a justice-seeking h—who unexpectedly find love when their paths cross. It’s a quick & easy read, perfect as a mini-break from year-end obligations/frenzy. And great intro for readers new to Bowen’s titles.FWIW, I approached this novella mostly as re-intro to Bowen’s writing. **ARC provided by Forever Yours (Grand Central Publishing) via NetGalley**READ 25 Nov 2019 (★★★)NIGHT OF THE SCOUNDREL by Kelly Bowen is a smart/well-written novella about kindred souls—an honourable “anti-hero” H & a justice-seeking h—who unexpectedly find love when their paths cross. It’s a quick & easy read, perfect as a mini-break from year-end obligations/frenzy. And great intro for readers new to Bowen’s titles.FWIW, I approached this novella mostly as re-intro to Bowen’s writing. Given its novella length, I d/n expect in-depth romance or charaterisations (barely remember King from previous books & think h is new character). Thus, I simply enjoyed NIGHT OF THE SCOUNDREL for the story & writing (even if decision at end puzzled me somewhat).FYI: when I sat down to read ARC, I posted following update on GR: “Going in totally blind—d/n even read blurb. Know I read some of Kelly Bowen’s earlier titles but not this series. So got ARC solely on basis of beautifully-done cover & author name.” So imagine my surprise when I realised that past incidents & cameos by certain secondaries relate back to Bowen’s Season for Scandal series, *not* the Devils of Dover series. But then, IDK if the H &/or h appear in any Devils of Dover book or if Bowen contemplates their re-appearance in a future one. Thus, this novella may be disappointment for fans of DoD series (or those who hoped King would get his own full-length book) & bonus for those of SoS.
    more
  • Ami
    January 1, 1970
    Full disclosure, this is my first experience with Kelly Bowen. I haven't read any of her books, including the three books in The Devils of Dover series prior to this novella. I admit that I feel a little lost in the beginning -- because I wasn't familiar with King and other characters that seemed to be very close to the man. However, I was immersed to the story soon enough. I was swept away with the emotion, when King saw the man he thought was dead. The man from his past. And how King asked for Full disclosure, this is my first experience with Kelly Bowen. I haven't read any of her books, including the three books in The Devils of Dover series prior to this novella. I admit that I feel a little lost in the beginning -- because I wasn't familiar with King and other characters that seemed to be very close to the man. However, I was immersed to the story soon enough. I was swept away with the emotion, when King saw the man he thought was dead. The man from his past. And how King asked for Adeline to help him.I loved Adeline immediately. She was able to stand head-to-toe against King -- outsmarted him, even. But she also able to give King what he needed the most, to deal with needs and wants, to let someone in, to share the truth about his past. I got teary eyed a little bit near the end. I thought King and Adeline were good for each other, and even if this is only a novella length, I feel satisfied. Based on several reviews I read about the other books, I think King is quite a character, that readers are looking forward to read his stories soon. I'm not sure if they will be as satisfied as I am because his story is only a novella. But I hope they do... The ARC is provided by the publisher via Netgalley for an exchange of fair and honest review. No high rating is required for any ARC received.
    more
  • Lubnaa (Romance Library)
    January 1, 1970
    I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.Night of the Scoundrel by Kelly Bowen is officially listed as being a Devils of Dover novella, which makes zero sense to me. I have no clue why the publisher decided to do that. This novella belongs to the Season for Scandal series and readers who read this series would agree with me on that assessment. I don’t care if the hero, King, appeared in A Rogue by Night. King was introduced in the Season for Scandal series and his arc I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.Night of the Scoundrel by Kelly Bowen is officially listed as being a Devils of Dover novella, which makes zero sense to me. I have no clue why the publisher decided to do that. This novella belongs to the Season for Scandal series and readers who read this series would agree with me on that assessment. I don’t care if the hero, King, appeared in A Rogue by Night. King was introduced in the Season for Scandal series and his arc began there and now ends in Night of the Scoundrel. The supporting characters from the Season for Scandal series also appeared in this novella. Furthermore, many important events from that series are briefly mentioned here. So if you haven’t read the Season for Scandal series, you will have no idea what the characters are referring to and you will be missing important pieces of information that are essential to King’s character growth. So…in my personal opinion, this novella does not stand alone. I would recommend that you read the Season for Scandal series first. When I first found out that King’s story was only going to be a novella, I was disappointed. He is an antihero who had a strong presence in the Season for Scandal series and the buildup for his character arc was exceedingly well-done. So I was worried that he would not get kind of fully-fleshed out story that he deserves. Do I still think that King deserved a full-length novel? Hell yes. You can’t build a character like that and just give him a short novella. That’s equivalent to Lisa Kleypas giving Sebastian a novella or Elizabeth Hoyt giving Val a novella. It boggles the mind! That being said, I think Kelly Bowen manages to do justice to his character as best as she could. Despite being a novella, Night of the Scoundrel has a meaty storyline and King is paired up with the kind of heroine who is his perfect counterpart in every way. Night of the Scoundrel answers the questions I had about King, especially about his motivations for doing certain things in the Season for Scandal series. Ultimately, I enjoyed his character arc. Do I wish it was longer? Of course. If King was given a full-length story, he could have given other popular antiheroes a run for their money. But I’m satisfied with the novella that Kelly Bowen gave us.
    more
  • Niki
    January 1, 1970
    As the undisputed ruler of the London underworld, the man known simply as King is shrouded in danger and mystery. No one knows his true name or origins, not even the one man he calls friend. When the man who betrayed him years ago, a man he believed dead, returns to London, King is determined to have his revenge. But King can't trust himself not to simply kill the man, so in order to make sure his enemy truly suffers, he'll need an unlikely helper.Adeline Archambault is also surrounded by As the undisputed ruler of the London underworld, the man known simply as King is shrouded in danger and mystery. No one knows his true name or origins, not even the one man he calls friend. When the man who betrayed him years ago, a man he believed dead, returns to London, King is determined to have his revenge. But King can't trust himself not to simply kill the man, so in order to make sure his enemy truly suffers, he'll need an unlikely helper.Adeline Archambault is also surrounded by mystery. Since her family was destroyed by the French Revolution she has lived a life in exile, working to bring peace and justice to those her hire her to seek retribution from their enemies. Now she's determined to reclaim her family's vineyard in France and try to find some measure of peace for herself. When King offers to help her achieve her goal in exchange for her assistance, she cannot refuse, but the unseemly deal rapidly leads her to hope for things she never dared dream of.This book was fast-paced and I couldn't put it down. I loved finally learning King's story and my goodness was it heart wrenching. Even though this was only novella length, I found it to be very emotional. Adeline was the perfect foil for King and his learning how to trust and open up to another person again was as lovely as it was gut-wrenching. He had so many layers and it great to see them peeled back. With the nearly instant attraction these two had and their deeper connection beyond the physical, the pacing of their story felt perfect. This was a fantastic story with an absolutely fabulous, rather tragic anti-hero turned hero in truth.I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
    more
  • Aly
    January 1, 1970
    If you've read the Devils of Dover or the Season to Scandal series, you were probably, like me, waiting eagerly for King's story. The powerful and enigmatic man we know as some kind of Lord of London's underworld had many secrets and it's now time to learn about them.An heartbreaking past,A dangerous present,What's in King's future? I'm not saying. But if you know the man, than you can guess that only a special woman could catch his attention and win his heart. If you've never read this author If you've read the Devils of Dover or the Season to Scandal series, you were probably, like me, waiting eagerly for King's story. The powerful and enigmatic man we know as some kind of Lord of London's underworld had many secrets and it's now time to learn about them.An heartbreaking past,A dangerous present,What's in King's future? I'm not saying. But if you know the man, than you can guess that only a special woman could catch his attention and win his heart. If you've never read this author before, I think this novella would make a great introduction to Kelly Bowen's books for new readers. A mix of romance, intrigues and ventures.
    more
  • Laura_sommeils
    January 1, 1970
    I've got an arc from Netgalley in exchange of an honest opinion.I have conflicting feelings about this novella because the author created King's idk if you can call it legend, aura, maybe? during a lot of her books and I think his redemption needed more than one sentences of "I didn't really mean it, i was protecting her,lol" and the amount of times he called her angel on his mind in the first chapter made me feel really annoyed. I was expecting way more of King's story, and I don't think I got I've got an arc from Netgalley in exchange of an honest opinion.I have conflicting feelings about this novella because the author created King's idk if you can call it legend, aura, maybe? during a lot of her books and I think his redemption needed more than one sentences of "I didn't really mean it, i was protecting her,lol" and the amount of times he called her angel on his mind in the first chapter made me feel really annoyed. I was expecting way more of King's story, and I don't think I got it. And I feel really cruel saying this, but it is my honest opinion. And, anyways, I'm sure other people will like it, I just couldn't.
    more
  • Syl
    January 1, 1970
    Well, Kelly Bowen did it again and delivered a fantastic novel ! If you have been waiting for King's story for a long time, fear not, his story is finally out ! And Kelly Bowen made the book worth the wait.This story revolves around King, the dangerous, mysterious, alluring man, the "Lord of London's underworld", who solves problems when others can't has finally met his match. It's a woman at that,- Adeline Archambault - Adrestia - the "goddess of retribution". Adeline is equally as mysterious Well, Kelly Bowen did it again and delivered a fantastic novel ! If you have been waiting for King's story for a long time, fear not, his story is finally out ! And Kelly Bowen made the book worth the wait.This story revolves around King, the dangerous, mysterious, alluring man, the "Lord of London's underworld", who solves problems when others can't has finally met his match. It's a woman at that,- Adeline Archambault - Adrestia - the "goddess of retribution". Adeline is equally as mysterious as King. She also has some enormous fighting skills, so it's no wonder that King is intrigued by her. Exiled after the French Revolution, she's determined to reclaim her birthright and deliver the justice that is owed her. King offers her a once in a lifetime bargain, helping her in exchange for her assistance. But can she keep up with the man behind the mask ? I really enjoyed this story. Especially since I've wanted to read about King for such a long time. His character is perfectly created. He is so multi-layered, I did not know who I faced, a gentleman or a criminal. He is a chameleon, with many purposes and many wicked ways to reach his goal. There is a reason why he is closed off, why he turned to the 'dark' side and became a criminal. I got invested in his character development and his story and that is a sign of a great book. Our heroine, Adeline Archlambault, was how shall I put it ? A badass woman ! She's confident and very good at what she does. The only thing I didn't like was that she went from cold to hot a little too quickly for me.S he's complicated too, and I'm left with the feeling that she needs her own novella. The chemistry between these two was off the charts, the passion literally crackled from the first scene where they were introduced to each other to the very last page. The adorable moments squeeze your heart and give you this warm, fuzzy feeling. The story was a little too short for my liking, which is sad because I wanted to read more of King and Adeline. However the length didn't have an impact on the romance story. it was perfect. There weren't too many sex scenes (which I always appreciate) and the whole story had this perfect mix of strength and sweetness. This novella packs so much punch that the length is irrelevant. A must read in this genre !ARC kindly provided by the publisher via Netgalley
    more
  • Amy ~ Love At 1st Read
    January 1, 1970
    Kelly Bowen has done it again! I’d been anxious to know the enigmatic King’s story ever since Bowen’s Seasons of Scandal series. He’d seemed so merciless, ruthless, and unfeeling. I just knew there had to be more to him than what he allowed others to see. Boy, was there ever!King was a bad boy. One of those dark and dangerous men that you know will be trouble. The kind of man you know you should avoid but he has the ability to make the mercury rise from within the pages of his story. Who could Kelly Bowen has done it again! I’d been anxious to know the enigmatic King’s story ever since Bowen’s Seasons of Scandal series. He’d seemed so merciless, ruthless, and unfeeling. I just knew there had to be more to him than what he allowed others to see. Boy, was there ever!King was a bad boy. One of those dark and dangerous men that you know will be trouble. The kind of man you know you should avoid but he has the ability to make the mercury rise from within the pages of his story. Who could blame Adeline for falling for him and getting caught up in his world? Adeline was perfect for King. She was a survivor just like him. Both had lived among aristocrats and criminals. Both had survived brutal pasts. Pasts that made them into the people they were. Alone and weary of “surviving in a world where honor was scarce and trust scarcer still”. They saw each other for who they were and they understood and accepted each other. When a demon from King’s past, a past he’d never healed from, emerges, King and Adeline work together to destroy the man. But in doing so, layers of their own lives are peeled back and exposed. Secrets revealed. Where each had thought that would make them weak, they learned that those secrets and grief lose their power when exposed. That needing someone can only make you stronger. And help you to find healing and peace. This entire series is masterfully written with a mesmerizing plot and characters that come alive. King was such a complex character. One you didn’t know whether to love or hate. But Kelly Bowen exposed the man behind the myth he’d carefully constructed. He became a hero I could root for. Adeline helped him to let all that pain go. She was the only woman strong enough to challenge someone so powerful and threatening. This story may have been short on length but it’s jam packed with the passion, intrigue, and danger of a full length novel. Such an emotional yet satisfying story! Fans of Bowen’s The Devils of Dover series will be absolutely thrilled with King’s story.
    more
  • Janet
    January 1, 1970
    Simply known as King. No one knows his true name or where he came from. And when he learns that the man who betrayed him has returned to London, King has only one goal: vengeance. Adeline Archambault is as mysterious as she is beautiful. Exiled after the French Revolution, she's determined to reclaim her birthright and deliver the justice that is owed her. King's offer to help her, in exchange for her assistance, is a bargain she can't refuse. A short story that certainly packs a punch & I Simply known as King. No one knows his true name or where he came from. And when he learns that the man who betrayed him has returned to London, King has only one goal: vengeance. Adeline Archambault is as mysterious as she is beautiful. Exiled after the French Revolution, she's determined to reclaim her birthright and deliver the justice that is owed her. King's offer to help her, in exchange for her assistance, is a bargain she can't refuse. A short story that certainly packs a punch & I read it in a sitting as I just couldn't put it down. Whilst it could be read on its own I'd recommend reading the series in order to fully appreciate it. Characters of depth & a fast paced story made for a riveting read. King is an enigmatic character & I just loved him, Adeline is certainly no simpering debutante & together they sizzle. I only wish it had been longer as I didn't want it to end.My honest review is for a special copy I voluntarily read
    more
  • Lori D
    January 1, 1970
    The enigmatic King takes the stage in this new addition to the Devils of Dover series. As you may have read from many of the reviews, his story was long in coming, but well worth the wait.One of my favorite hero's... dark, mysterious, ruthless, but with a past that breaks your heart because you know this is a soul that needs to find love and acceptance or as near to that as possible.He finds it in his female counterpart, Adeline Archambault. Deadly, take no prisoners and with that outer layer of The enigmatic King takes the stage in this new addition to the Devils of Dover series. As you may have read from many of the reviews, his story was long in coming, but well worth the wait.One of my favorite hero's... dark, mysterious, ruthless, but with a past that breaks your heart because you know this is a soul that needs to find love and acceptance or as near to that as possible.He finds it in his female counterpart, Adeline Archambault. Deadly, take no prisoners and with that outer layer of armour just as King.As these two come together, a combustable spark ignites and it may be like has found like and there may be a chance at a road to happiness if that is possible.Amazing, intriguing, dark and romantic while keeping me riveted to the pages. What more can you ask for? Perfect.
    more
  • Michelle
    January 1, 1970
    ARC provided by the publisher via NetGalleyRomance, action, and intrigue all in one novella-sized package - I loved it!Night of the Scoundrel was my first Kelly Bowen book, but it won't be my last. It's a great entry point into her storytelling and the Devils of Dover series. I loved that King and Adeline were an evenly matched pair in wit, skill and power dynamics. I hope that'll be the case with the rest of the series - I'm looking forward to picking it up!
    more
  • Michelle
    January 1, 1970
    I was generously provided an ARC by the publisher for an honest review. Sexual violence and sex abuse are major plot points used across the romance genre. My day job is in the anti-sexual violence movement and so I will own that I am deeply critical of these novels. I am so critical because I view any novel that discusses sexual abuse as an opportunity to educate the public on the long term effects of victimization. And I take these opportunities seriously because sexual violence is endemic in I was generously provided an ARC by the publisher for an honest review. Sexual violence and sex abuse are major plot points used across the romance genre. My day job is in the anti-sexual violence movement and so I will own that I am deeply critical of these novels. I am so critical because I view any novel that discusses sexual abuse as an opportunity to educate the public on the long term effects of victimization. And I take these opportunities seriously because sexual violence is endemic in our culture and we must take every chance possible to challenge rape culture. Kelly Bowen's newest novella "Night of the Scoundrel" revolves around a long forgotten and covered-up story of childhood sexual abuse. Bowen's hero, King, is the mysterious art thief and smuggler introduced in the prior book. Our heroine is a young french exile whose unique skill set has allowed her to create a unique business--Adeline helps people get justice when all other avenues have failed. It's hard for me not to think of Jeffrey Epstein, whose countless victims will never get their day in court because of his early death while in police custody (this review is not interested in debating the many conspiracy theories surrounding his death and crimes). And it's hard for me not to think of Donald Trump, who has nearly thirty women accusing him of sexual misconduct and is facing an impeach trial that has nothing to do with this victimization. These men along with many others, have faced and will face little to no accountability for the harm that they have caused. And this injustice makes me sick. Like myself, King is also disgusted by injustice. He hires Adeline to ruin the man who murdered his childhood playmate, and who has returned as a member of the British aristocracy. I appreciate how Bowen clearly shows how political, economic, and cultural power can be wielded to cover-up the abuse of children. Today, just as in the regency era, those with privilege are better able to navigate the criminal legal system than those without money or power. Bowen accurately captures the many systems that the British aristocracy has at its disposal that can be weaponized against children, even children whose powerful parents want to make them disappear. And while I enjoyed the book, my favorite part is how Bowen carefully handled discussing details of a character's victimization. Many times in romance novels the reader is forced to relive the violence with the character. This can be extremely triggering for survivors and I don't believe that these details improve the narrative. Bowen instead showed us she can hint at the actual violence without de-emphasizing the incredible toll the past assault had on the character. Bowen builds a fully fleshed out character whose experience of childhood violence subtly colors his entire life. Just like real survivors of childhood sexual violence, Bowen's adult character must process their past in order to heal and move fully into the future.
    more
  • Marsha Keeper Bookshelf
    January 1, 1970
    Reviewed at Keeper BookshelfNIGHT OF THE SCOUNDREL is a story that I’ve been waiting for – King’s story – and what a tale it is. Frankly, I wish it had been a full-length novel as I don’t know what brings about the decision for a novella or a full-length story I cannot really comment but I was more than content with the story I got about a man who lingered on in my mind throughout two series. And the lady who was perfect for this anti-hero in so many ways, Adeline, was well worth waiting for Reviewed at Keeper BookshelfNIGHT OF THE SCOUNDREL is a story that I’ve been waiting for – King’s story – and what a tale it is. Frankly, I wish it had been a full-length novel as I don’t know what brings about the decision for a novella or a full-length story I cannot really comment but I was more than content with the story I got about a man who lingered on in my mind throughout two series. And the lady who was perfect for this anti-hero in so many ways, Adeline, was well worth waiting for their story to be told.Neither King nor Adeline are as they appear on the surface. Both have deep secrets, take actions that they feel must be taken for their own reasons, neither allows glimpses behind their masks often yet there is a connection between them beyond their agreement. I loved discovering who Adeline was at heart, and I am so glad to know the true King and how he became the man he is or was. Adeline will bring walls down, but then so will King. This is a romance between two people who will heal each other from wounds they never believed possible to heal. It was one of those reader moments when King finally let down his guard and welcomed Adeline into his heart that truly won me in this story. I’ve wanted something truly good for King for so long and Adeline turned out to be exactly what this man needed.Because King’s story begins not in the Devils of Dover series but back in the Seasons of Scandals series it’s hard for me to realistically suggest that you start from his beginning — but, for me, King’s story is completed here but began a while back, so if you possibly can read both series then I’d strongly suggest it. If you can’t buy them, perhaps your local library has them on the shelves. All those earlier stories are well worth the time and effort to enjoy, in my opinion. I loved King and Adeline’s story and would highly recommend it to any Historical Romance reader.*I received an e-ARC of this novel from the publisher via NetGalley. That does not change what I think of this story. It is my choice to leave a review giving my personal opinion about this book.*
    more
  • Stephanie Panach
    January 1, 1970
    I have been WAITING for this book for so long. Like so long. Why do I so adore these irredeemable bad boys? This is the story all Kelly Bowen fans have been waiting for since the first time we encountered King, I believe in Duke of My Heart. King is such an intriguing character. His back story was such a mystery and his motivations even more so. Here he meets his true match in Adeline Archambault. Adeline is equally as fascinating and mysterious as King. They are such a matched pair - in skills, I have been WAITING for this book for so long. Like so long. Why do I so adore these irredeemable bad boys? This is the story all Kelly Bowen fans have been waiting for since the first time we encountered King, I believe in Duke of My Heart. King is such an intriguing character. His back story was such a mystery and his motivations even more so. Here he meets his true match in Adeline Archambault. Adeline is equally as fascinating and mysterious as King. They are such a matched pair - in skills, life, and experience. They both fully accept each other as they are - without seeking to change each other. Their instant attraction and love - is utterly believable and maybe understandable because of their backgrounds. Like recognizing like. King has had one heck of a difficult life. He is patently not a good person. But he isn't bad either. He has been portrayed as ruthless and utterly disinterested in anything that doesn't directly benefit himself. In this book, we see that while he certainly is a ruthless businessman, he is also a protector. While he keeps most at a distance, of those he is close to he protects with fierceness and loyalty that they themselves may not recognize. Adeline is somewhat of a robin hood - or justice-bringer. She has not had an easy time of it either. She encounters King for the first time as she is trying to bring justice to someone else. King is utterly at ease with her skills and persona. She, in turn, is totally secure in herself and her past. You can see that being together brings Adeline and King so much peace. Even there temporary separation at the end isn't overly dramatic - there is no begging or pleading. Just sadness and acceptance and a lot of regret on King's part. Overall - I loved this mostly bittersweet and ultimately happy story. I received an ARC of this story - but these opinions are my own. This one goes on the keeper shelf for sure. LOVED it. As a side note - it could certainly be read as a standalone - but you won't get the full level of awesomeness if you haven't read some of Kelly Bowen's other stories.
    more
  • Anne
    January 1, 1970
    "Too late, he felt the edge of her blade pressing against his abdomen... If such a thing had been possible, King would have fallen in love right there."Adeline Archambault is a woman on a mission. She works to administer her own form of justice to right past wrongs, and her latest led her to retrieve a valuable diamond from the home of the lord of London's underground, a man simply known as King. She's caught by the man himself before she can leave, but instead of showing her the ruthlessness "Too late, he felt the edge of her blade pressing against his abdomen... If such a thing had been possible, King would have fallen in love right there."Adeline Archambault is a woman on a mission. She works to administer her own form of justice to right past wrongs, and her latest led her to retrieve a valuable diamond from the home of the lord of London's underground, a man simply known as King. She's caught by the man himself before she can leave, but instead of showing her the ruthlessness he's known for, he hires her to help him dispose of a man who newly returned from America, a man who ruined King's life.Adeline is a kickass heroine: a woman who uses violence only when she must, one who walks through the world with her eyes wide open to its faults but still believes in a future where she can be happy and at peace. King is wowed by her prowess, but it's her tenderness and kindness that start to melt the ice around his heart. He's recovering from a horrific childhood trauma, the details of which are slowly revealed to readers. Trusting doesn't come easily to him, even when he wants it to.If you're like me and you're a fan of romances that deal in recovery and healing, you'll find a lot to love here. Despite it's short length, this book gives a great look at the depth and weight of grief, as well as the non-linear path of trauma recovery. This is the first Kelly Bowen book I've read, and I know it won't be the last! I left this novella immediately wanting to know more about the side characters we met here. If an author can deliver a satisfying romance and character development in only 133 pages, I can't wait to see what she does with a whole novel.This book deals with a few sensitive matters and I'll put a content warning here for readers who need it: (view spoiler)[There's murder, death of a child, and a man sexually assaulting young boys. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Darlene Foster
    January 1, 1970
    I voluntarily read and reviewed an advance copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.Night Of The Scoundrel, by Kelly Bowen, is available at booksellers on 11-26-19, just in time for the holiday weekend. Scoundrel is a novella, 3.5, in The Devils Of Dover series, but works well as a stand alone. It's always helpful to have the full background of characters in a series but not necessary. I've given Scoundrel a, rare for me, 5 stars. Ms Bowen gave me an adventure, mystery story with I voluntarily read and reviewed an advance copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.Night Of The Scoundrel, by Kelly Bowen, is available at booksellers on 11-26-19, just in time for the holiday weekend. Scoundrel is a novella, 3.5, in The Devils Of Dover series, but works well as a stand alone. It's always helpful to have the full background of characters in a series but not necessary. I've given Scoundrel a, rare for me, 5 stars. Ms Bowen gave me an adventure, mystery story with romance as a side story. I love it. Not too much sex, and what there is happens between two consenting of age adults with experience. No virgins here. I'm drawn to anti-hero male characters. Their redemption is always a blast to read. They get their comeuppance, delivered by a loving female. King is just such a man. He's called the king of the underworld and it fits. Smuggler is only one of his job titles. He's got plenty of reason to be a closed off, unemotional person. I won't tell you why, you have to read the story. He's complicated and yet when you peel back the layers he's a mess like everyone else. I became invested in his journey and that's the sign of a good book.Our heroine, Adeline Archlambault, was more difficult to like. I did like that she works to right wrongs. She's a pistol and very good at what she does. She went from cold to hot a little quick for me. She's complicated too, and I'm left with the feeling that she needs her own novella. What we're told of her life is interesting and would make a good tale. Adeline and King remind me of an old joke. How do two porcupines make love? Carefully. These two are porcupines. #Netgalley #KellyBowen #NightOfTheScoundrel #TheDevilsOfDover #HachetteBookGroup #HistoricalRomance
    more
  • Laurie
    January 1, 1970
    I loved Kelly Bowen's "Night of the Scoundrel," a unique and engaging tale featuring likeable characters that were incredibly well developed for such a short story. I was intrigued by the male lead character, King, when he was introduced in a previous story, so it was very exciting for me to learn more about him in this novella. At first, King seemed like such a contradiction because he was a leader of the criminal underworld but at the same time so urbane, demonstrating great interest in fine I loved Kelly Bowen's "Night of the Scoundrel," a unique and engaging tale featuring likeable characters that were incredibly well developed for such a short story. I was intrigued by the male lead character, King, when he was introduced in a previous story, so it was very exciting for me to learn more about him in this novella. At first, King seemed like such a contradiction because he was a leader of the criminal underworld but at the same time so urbane, demonstrating great interest in fine art and a talent for playing the piano. Given those interests, I wasn't surprised to learn that King was connected to the aristocracy in his childhood. It was nice to see him get the opportunity to reclaim some of his past after the trauma of his youth, as well as find a partner like Adeline who made him so happy.Adeline was also an intriguing lead character. She had to find a way to survive on her own after losing her parents during the French Revolution, and she came up with a very clever, if unorthodox, way of doing so that allowed her to help others at the same time. I really admired Adeline's strength and independence, as well as her willingness to show her vulnerability with King, expressing her feelings for him even though she didn't know how he would respond. It was lovely that King and Adeline were able to bring light to each other's lives after they both experienced so much darkness in the past. Even though this novella is nominally a part of the Devils of Dover series and follows up on King's appearance in the third book, it seems to me to be more strongly connected to the Season for Scandal series because the secondary characters who appear in this story were all featured in that series. Regardless of its connection to both of those series, this novella stands very well on its own. I have only read one or two of Ms. Bowen's earlier books but did not feel lost at any point, although it's possible that I would have enjoyed the story even more if I fully understood the characters' background and relationships.At any rate, I very much look forward to reading more of Ms. Bowen's work in the future! *ARC provided by the publisher via NetGalley. All opinions expressed are my own.
    more
  • Suzanne
    January 1, 1970
    I’ve never been so disappointed in a book by Kelly Bowen. A novella is tricky to pull off and not only did King deserve a full novel, there’s a child sexual abuse plot that isn’t handled with care. I am beyond tired of pedophilia being the “big shocking reveal” at 80%.Not only is there a scene in which a boy is chained to a wall and attacked by the villain, then stabbed (he bleeds out), but we go right from that scene into the only sex scene in the book. Everyone deals with trauma differently, I’ve never been so disappointed in a book by Kelly Bowen. A novella is tricky to pull off and not only did King deserve a full novel, there’s a child sexual abuse plot that isn’t handled with care. I am beyond tired of pedophilia being the “big shocking reveal” at 80%.Not only is there a scene in which a boy is chained to a wall and attacked by the villain, then stabbed (he bleeds out), but we go right from that scene into the only sex scene in the book. Everyone deals with trauma differently, so I’m not going to say that it’s impossible for them to have wanted to have sex, but it IS impossible for me to want to read sex after reading about child sexual abuse. Again, the length of a novella does not provide adequate space for handling this kind of content.Oh, and of course King is actually supposed to be a Baron but his parents faked his death for “lying” about the uncle abusing King’s brother for years. So then the uncle inherits. Sigh. I did appreciate that King says “I believe you” over and over to the boy, because no one ever believed him and he knows that’s important. But otherwise, Bowen could have generated King’s backstory without the sexual abuse. It was 100% unnecessary.I liked the heroine.I received a copy of this book from the publisher for review.
    more
  • Lindsay S
    January 1, 1970
    The Alpha hero has a heart! After seeing King, lord of London’s underworld pop up throughout the Devils of Dover series and cause trouble for our heroes and heroines, its nice to see his backstory.King rules with an iron fist and lets no one in his inner circle. When you trust, that’s when you are the weakest… Miss Adeline Archarbault is not a stranger to loss and feeling powerless. Now a highly skilled vengeance maker, perhaps she can help King find the solace he needs and thaw his frozen heart The Alpha hero has a heart! After seeing King, lord of London’s underworld pop up throughout the Devils of Dover series and cause trouble for our heroes and heroines, its nice to see his backstory.King rules with an iron fist and lets no one in his inner circle. When you trust, that’s when you are the weakest… Miss Adeline Archarbault is not a stranger to loss and feeling powerless. Now a highly skilled vengeance maker, perhaps she can help King find the solace he needs and thaw his frozen heart…This was a fast paced novella that grabs you from the beginning. I love a good story of the heartless badboy finding redemption and love, and King is the poster boy! This was an enjoyable read and has inspired me to look beeping in Kelly Bowen’s backlist to find the story of Kings friend Ashland! (A Duke to Remember). I like how this novella wraps up the Devils of Dover series by tying up this last characters loose end.Night of the Scoundrel by Kelly Bowen was released November 26th, 2019.I received a complimentary copy of this book from Forever (Grand Central Publishing) through NetGalley. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own. #NightoftheScoundrel #KellyBowen #NetGalley #pinkcowlandreads
    more
  • Brenda
    January 1, 1970
    Can he trust her with his darkest secret?Ruthless. Dangerous. Known simply as King. No one knows his true name or where he came from. And when he learns that the man who betrayed him has returned to London, King has only one goal:.Adeline Archambault is as mysterious as she is beautiful. Exiled after the French Revolution, she's determined to reclaim her birthright and deliver the justice that is owed her. King's offer to help her, in exchange for her assistance, is a bargain she can't refuse. Can he trust her with his darkest secret?Ruthless. Dangerous. Known simply as King. No one knows his true name or where he came from. And when he learns that the man who betrayed him has returned to London, King has only one goal:.Adeline Archambault is as mysterious as she is beautiful. Exiled after the French Revolution, she's determined to reclaim her birthright and deliver the justice that is owed her. King's offer to help her, in exchange for her assistance, is a bargain she can't refuse. Will this deal with a devil lead to a future she never dared hope for?Kelly Bowen never fails to entertain her readers. This latest book in the Devils of Dover series not withstanding. This one is considered a novella but it is longer than most but shorter than this author's full length novels.The characters have appeared in previous books in this series but now get their own story.Ms Bowen doesn't fail to weave a wonderful story for these two.I gave this book 4.25 of 5.0 stars for story line and the continuation of characterization of this duo.I received a complimentary ARC of this book via NetGalley to read. This in no way affected my opinion of this book which I read and reviewed voluntarily.
    more
  • Jessica (the naptime writer)
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to Netgalley for my complimentary ARC of this book. All opinions provided are my own. The stars aligned earlier this week and I was gifted a copy of Kelly Bowen’s novella Night of the Scoundrel when I needed it most. Featuring her long-mysterious character King as lead, Scoundrel starts with a rush as he watches a beautiful woman expertly take down her foes with a rapier and a knife in an alleyway. The woman is known as Adrestia (real name: Adeline), and she’s come to achieve justice for Thanks to Netgalley for my complimentary ARC of this book. All opinions provided are my own. The stars aligned earlier this week and I was gifted a copy of Kelly Bowen’s novella Night of the Scoundrel when I needed it most. Featuring her long-mysterious character King as lead, Scoundrel starts with a rush as he watches a beautiful woman expertly take down her foes with a rapier and a knife in an alleyway. The woman is known as Adrestia (real name: Adeline), and she’s come to achieve justice for one of her clients. That’s what she does. Shortly thereafter King is confronted with the worst part of his awful past and he hires Adeline to get justice for him. Easy enough, right?, especially since he knows who deserves the justice coming for him and where the man is. But to King’s dismay/discomfort/fear, though he’s done everything he can to bury his past none of those skeletons want to stay buried when Adeline starts her investigation. Suddenly the hard-won control he has over his life seems threatened from every angle. This novella is just wonderful. Scoundrel gave me all the warm fuzzies on a day when I really needed them, and as I followed the magnetic story of King and Adeline I was reminded again of how lovely a writer Kelly Bowen is. Both King and Adeline are impenetrable, unfathomable forces of nature to others, and the most exquisite moments of Scoundrel are when they let down their guard for one another. The passion that circuits between them is so well done, but even more hit-you-in-the-heart is a beautiful moment when King holds her while they sleep. Do you see the potential for loveliness, here? Scoundrel had that enviable balance of strength and sweetness—the skirmishes and the kisses—the pain and the hope—that I adore in a story working its way to a HEA, and I loved it. 4.5 ⭐️
    more
  • Myarn
    January 1, 1970
    Night of the Scoundrel by Kelly Bowen (Devils of Dover novella) 5 starsIt's a Devils of Dover crossover with A Season of Scandals. Background character King, criminal?, fence, information broker gets his own story in this terrific novella. If you have always wondered what is behind the calm and cold facade, you will get some answers in this story. What could cause a tremor in his world, a woman of daring, courage and skill - meet Adeline Archambault (aka Adrestia). Their initial meeting starts Night of the Scoundrel by Kelly Bowen (Devils of Dover novella) 5 starsIt's a Devils of Dover crossover with A Season of Scandals. Background character King, criminal?, fence, information broker gets his own story in this terrific novella. If you have always wondered what is behind the calm and cold facade, you will get some answers in this story. What could cause a tremor in his world, a woman of daring, courage and skill - meet Adeline Archambault (aka Adrestia). Their initial meeting starts with Adeline beating up three men in an alley who thought she was easy prey. Their next meeting is at his mansion library. What follows is a wonderful love story about courage, resilience, and understanding. If this is the end to the Devils of Dover series, it's a magnificent finale. I look forward to Ms. Bowen's next book.Thank you Netgalley and Forever (Grand Central Publishing) for this ARC
    more
  • Catherine Heloise
    January 1, 1970
    This is just enormous fun, with a deliciously fierce, competent and compassionate heroine, and an equally competent and ruthless hero with a well-hidden protective streak. If you like a heroine who is good with swords, knives and retribution, and a plot that includes jewel theft, disguised, grave robbers, humour, sweetness, and terrible people getting what they deserve, then you will enjoy this. I haven’t read any of Bowen’s other books, but I’ll certainly be looking for them now.Content This is just enormous fun, with a deliciously fierce, competent and compassionate heroine, and an equally competent and ruthless hero with a well-hidden protective streak. If you like a heroine who is good with swords, knives and retribution, and a plot that includes jewel theft, disguised, grave robbers, humour, sweetness, and terrible people getting what they deserve, then you will enjoy this. I haven’t read any of Bowen’s other books, but I’ll certainly be looking for them now.Content warning: both the hero and heroine have experienced and witnessed some terrible things. While nothing dreadful happens to them in the course of the book, there are references to child abuse (including sexual abuse and rape), as well as the murder of family members. These are not described in detail but they are integral to the plot.
    more
Write a review