Wayward Son (Simon Snow, #2)
The story is supposed to be over.Simon Snow did everything he was supposed to do. He beat the villain. He won the war. He even fell in love. Now comes the good part, right? Now comes the happily ever after… So why can’t Simon Snow get off the couch?What he needs, according to his best friend, is a change of scenery. He just needs to see himself in a new light…That’s how Simon and Penny and Baz end up in a vintage convertible, tearing across the American West.They find trouble, of course. (Dragons, vampires, skunk-headed things with shotguns.) And they get lost. They get so lost, they start to wonder whether they ever knew where they were headed in the first place… With Wayward Son, Rainbow Rowell has written a book for everyone who ever wondered what happened to the Chosen One after he saved the day. And a book for everyone who was ever more curious about the second kiss than the first. It’s another helping of sour cherry scones with an absolutely decadent amount of butter.Come on, Simon Snow. Your hero’s journey might be over – but your life has just begun.

Wayward Son (Simon Snow, #2) Details

TitleWayward Son (Simon Snow, #2)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseSep 24th, 2019
PublisherWednesday Books
ISBN-139781250146076
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult, LGBT

Wayward Son (Simon Snow, #2) Review

  • Katytastic
    January 1, 1970
    9/24/19 - I FINISHED!!!!!! .........okay where's book three3/15/19 - WE HAVE A COVER! AND IT IS BEAUTIFUL! i made a video reacting to the cover/synopsis and sharing some of my theories if you wanna watch it! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X2A7B...6/3/18 - HOLY FORKING SHIRTBALLS THIS IS THE ONLY THING I'MMA TALK ABOUT FOR THE NEXT TWO YEARS (AND THEN I'M JUST GONNA KEEP TALKING ABOUT IT, BUT LOUDER AND IN MORE DETAIL)
    more
  • Chaima ✨ شيماء
    January 1, 1970
    I have 99 problems, and the fact that this book already has multiple GORGEOUS covers is all of them!!!On a slightly unrelated but equally important note, Baz’s floral Gucci suit look™ is 100% inspired by Harry Styles, you can’t look me in the eyes and say otherwise! I have 99 problems, and the fact that this book already has multiple GORGEOUS covers is all of them!!!On a slightly unrelated but equally important note, Baz’s floral Gucci suit look™️ is 100% inspired by Harry Styles, you can’t look me in the eyes and say otherwise!
    more
  • Kai
    January 1, 1970
    MORE SIMON AND BAZ, I REPEAT MORE SIMON AND BAZ
  • Elise (TheBookishActress)
    January 1, 1970
    acknowledge Simon as bi or pay me $10,000
  • Virginia Ronan ♥ Herondale ♥
    January 1, 1970
    HOLY MOLY!!!ARE YOU AUTHORS TRYING TO KILL ME???!!!First there's going to be a 3rd SoC book and now THIS!??!!??I'm having a heart attack right here!!! I love Simon and Baz!!! I FREAKING LOVE THEM!!!! If this is true I'm going to die!!! <333OH JEEZ!!!My heart can't take this anymore!!!!__/\__/\__/\__/\__________________P.S: Am I the only one who thinks about Kansas' "Carry on Wayward Son". "Carry on my wayward sonThere'll be peace when you are doneLay your weary head to restDon't you cry no m HOLY MOLY!!!ARE YOU AUTHORS TRYING TO KILL ME???!!!First there's going to be a 3rd SoC book and now THIS!??!!??I'm having a heart attack right here!!! I love Simon and Baz!!! I FREAKING LOVE THEM!!!! If this is true I'm going to die!!! <333OH JEEZ!!!My heart can't take this anymore!!!!__/\__/\__/\__/\__________________P.S: Am I the only one who thinks about Kansas' "Carry on Wayward Son". "Carry on my wayward sonThere'll be peace when you are doneLay your weary head to restDon't you cry no more."Is this a pun Rainbow? Ingenious... So damn ingenious. *lol*
    more
  • Sabrina
    January 1, 1970
    FUCKING SHIT I JUST HAD A HEART ATRACK My SPN fandom heart is extremely happy with this title 2019? Better than 2020, I know that the year is almost over already, but still... Simon and Baz look SO GOOD in this coverMy babies are coming back to me!
    more
  • Chloe
    January 1, 1970
    Okay I decided that my rating is actually 2 stars. This book just really fell flat for me. So many things that made Carry On amazing just weren't present in this book. This book is just so incredibly different to Carry On. The tone of Carry On is fun, fluffy and it doesn't take itself too seriously whereas in Wayward Son, the tone completely shifts to a more serious tone with the characters going through their own struggles. I appreciated what it was going for, but unfortunately it just didn't Okay I decided that my rating is actually 2 stars. This book just really fell flat for me. So many things that made Carry On amazing just weren't present in this book. This book is just so incredibly different to Carry On. The tone of Carry On is fun, fluffy and it doesn't take itself too seriously whereas in Wayward Son, the tone completely shifts to a more serious tone with the characters going through their own struggles. I appreciated what it was going for, but unfortunately it just didn't work for me and what I personally wanted out of the sequel. I feel like it's hard for me to articulate my thoughts and feelings on this book but basically Carry On was everything and Wayward Son was jarring and lacklustre (I'm really sad about it).-------So many mixed feelings ah!!! I will try to write a review once I feel like I can better articulate my thoughts.
    more
  • Alex ✰ Comets and Comments ✰
    January 1, 1970
    UPDATE: this fucking cover is everything i have ever wanted and my lil gay heart cannot cope. we have the new doomsday date: we all gonna die™ sometime in 2020. - this gives you enough preparation to fully appreciate that our gay bois will be once again returning.- this also gives goodreads sufficient amount of time to update their rating scale to 10 stars. ©©
    more
  • chan ☆
    January 1, 1970
    my sexuality: being attracted to all women and (1) floral suit wearing rat sucker
  • enqi ☁️✨ kell maresh lovesite
    January 1, 1970
    wayward son HURTS. in the best way. and to me, it's one of the most important books rainbow has ever written. full review after i reread carry on so i can read this a second time and read the series back to back
  • Kaylin (The Re-Read Queen)
    January 1, 1970
    Why is Baz wearing a carpet
  • - ̗̀ DANY ̖́- (danyreads)
    January 1, 1970
    i woke up and saw this on instagram as soon as i opened the app and i'm not gonna lie i thought i was dreaming???wake me up when it's 2020
  • Prince Charming Doesn't Exist
    January 1, 1970
    are they like ... lost on the moondid their cranky convertible fly off like the flying lawnmower?
  • Iris
    January 1, 1970
    Guys. GUYS. GAYWARD SON. Okay I'm sorry I'll show myself out now.***As if I didn't have a hard enough time not getting this song stuck in my head EVERY SINGLE TIME I saw the words Carry On. Of course they just HAD to name the next one Wayward Son, which is even harder.But whatever, I'm thrilled we're getting a new one... I was never quite satisfied with the way Carry On ended. And also just more of Simon and Baz.*Walks away grinning and humming Carry On My Wayward Son*
    more
  • Grace (BURTSBOOKS)
    January 1, 1970
    HOLY SHIT HOLY SHIT HOLY SHIT HOLY SHIT HOLY SHIT I DIDN'T WANT TO GET MY HOPES UP AND WISH FOR THIS SEQUEL AND NOW ITS HAPPENING AND THE ART IS PERFECT AND HOLY SHIT
  • Larry H
    January 1, 1970
    That feeling when you’ve been anticipating a book for over a year and it’s, well, lackluster...Some background: a few years ago Rainbow Rowell wrote an amazing book called Fangirl . One of the main characters in that book wrote fan fiction about a Harry Potter-esque character named Simon Snow and his nemesis/crush Baz (think Draco Malfoy).Rowell then wrote Carry On , which followed Simon and Baz, Simon’s best friend Penny, and their battles to save the magickal world.This book is the sequel. I That feeling when you’ve been anticipating a book for over a year and it’s, well, lackluster...Some background: a few years ago Rainbow Rowell wrote an amazing book called Fangirl . One of the main characters in that book wrote fan fiction about a Harry Potter-esque character named Simon Snow and his nemesis/crush Baz (think Draco Malfoy).Rowell then wrote Carry On , which followed Simon and Baz, Simon’s best friend Penny, and their battles to save the magickal world.This book is the sequel. It chronicles what happened after the events in Carry On , what it’s like to be the Chosen One when what it seems like you were chosen to do is all but done, and how to move on.Simon and Baz are in love with each other but they’re reluctant to fully express it. And Simon has been so depressed and unable to do magick that it’s taking a toll on all of them. So Penny decides they need a road trip to America and they’ll go see an old friend, Agatha (Simon's ex-girlfriend of sorts), who’s in San Diego.What they get is far much more than they bargained for. Their magick, their relationships, their lives will be tested by circumstances they would never have expected, as they try to rescue their friend and each other.I love these characters. Simon and Baz make my heart melt and there were so many tender moments I loved between them. But those moments were fleeting, and their relationship is in such stress, that it was hard to enjoy the highs as much as I wanted to.This book is narrated by five or six people, which also irritated me, because I didn’t feel enough of a distinction between their storytelling. And the whole storyline with Agatha really didn’t catch my interest until the end.I’m disappointed but of course I've hyped this book up for a year, so it's partially my fault. This clearly has been written to set up a third book, which of course I’ll still read, because I love the way Rowell writes and I can’t get enough of Simon and Baz. Others have felt differently so if you’re a fan of the series give it a go and let me know what you think.See all of my reviews at itseithersadnessoreuphoria.blogspot.com.Check out my list of the best books I read in 2018 at https://itseithersadnessoreuphoria.blogspot.com/2019/01/the-best-books-i-read-in-2018.html. You can follow me on Instagram at https://www.instagram.com/the.bookishworld.of.yrralh/.
    more
  • Isabel
    January 1, 1970
    I hate the cover. Brb I am going to cry.13/3/2019Cover reveal this week...7/11/2018OMG OMG OMG KEEP CALM!! WAYWARD SON HAS BEEN MOVED UP TO 2019!!! 14/10/2018Rowell finished the first draft and she released a teaser and I'm like ASDFGHJKL23/7/2018Is it 2020 already? No? *cries*3/6/2018I am:a) dyingb) cryingc) ready to sell my organs for this bookd) all of the above and moreHonestly, this is a blessing. Carry On is one of my favorite books so to know that we're going to get more Baz and Simon and I hate the cover. Brb I am going to cry.13/3/2019Cover reveal this week...7/11/2018OMG OMG OMG KEEP CALM!! WAYWARD SON HAS BEEN MOVED UP TO 2019!!! 14/10/2018Rowell finished the first draft and she released a teaser and I'm like ASDFGHJKL23/7/2018Is it 2020 already? No? *cries*3/6/2018I am:a) dyingb) cryingc) ready to sell my organs for this bookd) all of the above and moreHonestly, this is a blessing. Carry On is one of my favorite books so to know that we're going to get more Baz and Simon and Penelope... it warms my heart. I am so deliriously happy right now! I can't stop crying!EDIT: My dumb ass didn't see the release date so now I am crying even more. TWO YEARS!? Am I in Azkaban?EDIT 2: Obviously this cover is my new screensaver. My boys look amazing!EDIT #I HAVE TOO MANY THINGS TO SAY: Baz's suit reminds me of this interaction between him and Fiona: "Go home and figure out how to take down the Mage.""I told you. I'm going dancing."I look at his suit again and his shiny black shoes. "Basil. Have you met a bloke?"He smiles, and he's made of trouble. We should have dropped him in the Thames in a bag of scones. We should have left him out for the fairies."Something like that." YES, FIONA. HE MET A BLOKE CALLED SIMON AND THEY ARE CRAZY FOR EACH OTHER
    more
  • Camile Souza (This Chamber of Books)
    January 1, 1970
    EXCUSE ME THE COVER AND SYNOPSIS FOR MY MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF THE YEAR ARE OUTDON'T WORRY I'M OKAY. I'M FINE. I'M ABSOLUTELY CHILL.me when this book comes outI'm so excited I can't even
  • Kiki
    January 1, 1970
    WHAT IS THISWHAT ISTHIS OH MY GOD OH MY HELP
  • Lauren Lanzilotta
    January 1, 1970
    “I'd give him all that I am. I'd give him all that I was. I'd open up a vein.I'd tie our hearts together, chamber by chamber.” At this point I am being willingly dragged by SnowBaz.Simon believes that his only purpose in life was magic, to be the chosen one that everyone needed. Now that it’s over, Simon thinks that Baz and Penny don’t love him, that they only ever did because of his power. My heart. My poor, poor soul. All I wanted was for Simon to accept the love that his best friend and boyf “I'd give him all that I am. I'd give him all that I was. I'd open up a vein.I'd tie our hearts together, chamber by chamber.” At this point I am being willingly dragged by SnowBaz.Simon believes that his only purpose in life was magic, to be the chosen one that everyone needed. Now that it’s over, Simon thinks that Baz and Penny don’t love him, that they only ever did because of his power. My heart. My poor, poor soul. All I wanted was for Simon to accept the love that his best friend and boyfriend were giving him. It made me so upset to see Simon struggling with depression, but great to see him slowly overcome it on a road trip with Baz and Penny. “Sometimes Simon kisses me like it’s the end of the world, and I worry he might believe that it is.” The romance! The SnowBaz scenes we got filled me with the same giddiness that Carry On did. I still smiled like a little kid and buried my face into my covers, overjoyed that our two loves could be happy together for even a short time. The plot of Wayward Son was outstanding. I was thoroughly entertained and intrigued through it all, (*cough* also cried when things got especially dangerous) and loved to follow Simon, Baz and Penny as they became an even more tight knit team. “Can I?” he asks.Can you what, Simon? Kiss me? Kill me? Break my heart?I touch him like he’s made of butterfly wings.“You don’t have to ask.” I say it loud enough that he’ll hear me, over everything.” Many people have had issues with Simon and Baz’s communication in this book. I admit it was a little frustrating at times, though it didn’t bother me very much. I liked seeing that both Simon and Baz love each other endlessly (even if they don’t say it) and were each dealing with their own personal demons. It was beautiful to see their love for eachother blossom and crumble and ultimately piece back together. I loved watching them discover just how much they mean to each other.The light banter between Penny, Simon and Baz was hilarious, I didn’t realize just how much I missed Baz’s snarky retorts. Bless Rainbow Rowell’s soul for giving Baz particularly expensive suits and an obsession with his beautiful hair. That was very much appreciated. “But it was a mistake thinking of that as an end. There is no end. Bad things happen, and then they stop, but they keep on wreaking havoc inside of people.” No one can tell me there won’t be a third book. That cliffhanger set everything up for another, and the acknowledgments suggest Rainbow Rowell will definitely continue writing Simon and Baz’s journey.Hey, I’m not complaining.-----------------------------------23/09/19 A friendly reminder that we're LESS THAN 24 HOURS until more of: “You were the sun, and I was crashing into you.” ☀️“What you are is a fucking tragedy, Simon Snow." 😍“You called me Simon before.""No, I didn't.” 💞“Enough, Snow, I'm not the Queen.” 👑“Carry on, Simon.” 🌈OUR SUFFERING ENDS TOMORROW FOLKS!!
    more
  • Maria
    January 1, 1970
    FUCKING SIMON SNOW AND TYRANNUS BASILTON GRIMM PITCH AGAIN FUCKING MAGIC AGAIN FUCKING EVERYTHING AGAIN AND WHERE THE FUCK IS 2019??? CARRY ON MY WAYWARD SOOOOOON
  • delaney
    January 1, 1970
    UM. NO. YES? So I have to be honest, I thought Carry On had the best ending, and really, these characters were great in a standalone--it was...enough (it's never enough, my friends). Hearing that there was going to be a second book (i.e. Wayward Son) I thought it was unnecessary. However: I WAS OFC HAPPY TO SEE BAZ, SIMON, AND PENELOPE AGAIN. BUT: I was skeptical if it would be necessary. UH--NECESSARY EVIL. I literally hugged this book when I finished and I wanted to go grab my copy of Carry On UM. NO. YES? So I have to be honest, I thought Carry On had the best ending, and really, these characters were great in a standalone--it was...enough (it's never enough, my friends). Hearing that there was going to be a second book (i.e. Wayward Son) I thought it was unnecessary. However: I WAS OFC HAPPY TO SEE BAZ, SIMON, AND PENELOPE AGAIN. BUT: I was skeptical if it would be necessary. UH--NECESSARY EVIL. I literally hugged this book when I finished and I wanted to go grab my copy of Carry On and reread it all over again and then go and reread Wayward Son all over again. YEAH, THAT'S THE BEST COMPLIMENT YOU CAN GIVE A BOOK. Truthfully, the vibe in this book is definitely different from the first. There are a lot of mentions and parallels and it's still funny, but it's dark and deals more with emotions, trauma, depression, relationships...the real stuff. I did find the first to be more fanfic-y so this one felt more real to me, in a way, and I appreciated that. Seriously, I think that's why I enjoyed it so much--it gave me substance and maturity instead of just fluff, which was exactly what I needed (even though I didn't know it). The characters are maturing and Snowbaz is not the perfect couple. They need to communicate with each other, sit down and talk without having to deal with vampire cults and magic mishaps. I always liked how REAL Rowell depicts relationships and this one, no less. The two are so used to fighting with each other and being full of magic that Simon having wings&tail and being without magic while Baz is a vampire has thrown their whole dynamic in a spiral. They are still figuring things out and every time they get somewhere, they argue and fight as it is something they have always done--BUT THEY STILL LOVE EACH OTHER SO, SO MUCH, AND IT'S MORE THAN JUST A CRUSH. I AM HERE FOR THE ANGST, BUT ALSO GIVE ME THE FLUFF. Simon did feel sidelined in this book...I felt that there was more exploration of Baz, which I didn't mind, I am totally here for this flammable queen and his flower outfits. But Simon is depressed, he's lost, he's traumatized and the only time he feels whole is in battle, so now he needs to learn to come home. There is also a new character: SHEPARD. His first word from his chapter, and I quote, "Welp." YUP, you can literally pinpoint when I fell in love with this character. What a broken yet beautiful character to join the cast of other broken yet beautiful characters (Rowell is a master at making realistic characters). I will be very, VERY SAD if Rowell does not release another book, because that ending was abrupt and I NEED SOME CLOSURE WITH SNOWBAZ. URG, THEY NEED TO STILL TALK AND ONLY THEN WILL THEY UNDERSTAND EACH OTHER AND THEIR RELATIONSHIP.Okay, I'll leave with a spoiler section of my favorite parts/quotes (and other stuff I think maybe spoiler-y).(view spoiler)[~Starting the book with an epilogue and ending it with a prologue is such a power move!! Like, that is literally saying Simon's end in magic and now the start in something new. LOVING the depth that isn't seen immediately, LOVING IT. ~Simon:"It's sitting in economy that's making us gay."~Also Simon: "If I thought I looked cool behind the wheel, I wasn't prepared for Baz."~Also Simon: turned on by Baz slaying vampires and gets hella jealous whenever any guy makes eyes or flirts or feels up his hot AF boyfriend. Literally tells Lamb to back off because he's my boyfriend.~Also Simon: my sexuality is "Baz-only-sexual."~Simon not trusting vampires, but realizing that's exactly how he fell for his boyfriend (by teaming up with the enemy, trusting the first vampire you meet, and following them into the desert). ~Baz's list of things he hates includes THE SUN and THE WIND as #1 & #2. And special shout out to his mom's scarf (I thought he would lose it).~Baz yelling at Simon that he's beautiful even though Simon didn't hear it. :'(~Baz kissing Simon good night (Baz, just call him Simon :( and also tell him that you love him because you realized you haven't).~Ren Faire vampire slaying~CHAPTER 41 IS LITERALLY THE NEW CHAPTER 61!!! The whole part of tying hearts together is gruesome and dramatic yet so very beautiful. "WHY CAN'T YOU SEE THAT I WOULDN'T BE HAPPY ANYWHERE WITHOUT YOU?"(do you hear my bawling in my own tears?) (hide spoiler)]PRE-RELEASE REACTIONS:WE HAVE A COVER.Baz looking hella gay and hella fine with the golden sun behind him like he's Jesus holy wow. And Simon wow in that leather jacket damn. OMG ROAD TRIP.
    more
  • sofia (sam willows)
    January 1, 1970
    I really really liked this, but i did have some big issues. Mostly, it was just that while the plot's arc felt well resolved, the character arcs for simon and baz were anything but. RTC + will rate this later
  • Corina
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsEver since I finished Carry On, last year, I wanted, NEEDED more of Baz and Simon. It took them so long to get together in the first book, but I was fine with it, because they were Baz and Simon, I just never thought I'll get more. And now maybe even a third book??????Anyway, Wayward Son, wasn't perfect. Far from it, but it gave me pretty much what I wanted, Baz and Simon, and of course Penelope in forced proximity on a road trip through the US.Baz and Simon, had the typical issues of n 4.5 starsEver since I finished Carry On, last year, I wanted, NEEDED more of Baz and Simon. It took them so long to get together in the first book, but I was fine with it, because they were Baz and Simon, I just never thought I'll get more. And now maybe even a third book??????Anyway, Wayward Son, wasn't perfect. Far from it, but it gave me pretty much what I wanted, Baz and Simon, and of course Penelope in forced proximity on a road trip through the US.Baz and Simon, had the typical issues of not talking about their problems, and silently suffered instead which was hilarious in a way. Penelope rounded out the couple by being close to both of them, her connection to Baz made me really happy. I loved this trio so much. The humor, the sarcasm - it all worked so well together.Now, they were also typical teenagers, they seemed to be even more spoiled then regular teens, since they mostly relied on magic all their life, and now suddenly they were in a country where using magic could produce some BIG waves. So, there were quite a few scenes that had me roll my eyes. Also their non-stop complaining about the US, was a bit OTT.Anyway, overlooking the obnoxious teenage attitude, and miscalculations on Penny's part, this book gave me exactly what I wanted. More time with Baz and Simon.The first 3/4 of the book was low on action. The author rather focused on each person, on their doubts and struggles. The real plot/action happened in the last quarter. Which was actually an interesting turn of events, and makes me wonder about what's coming next, because there are so many questions that still weren't answered.Also Shepard was a sweetie. He was an unexpected addition to my favorite trio, and I can't say that I minded. I'm looking forward to hearing more about him too.I still am kinda miffed that Simon, with his wings and tail, doesn't have anything more special hiding away. It's a bit of a let down - a tiny bit. But maybe the author has plans.... we'll see!
    more
  • Tara ☽
    January 1, 1970
    Edit 30/05/19: THE COVER HAS CHANGED AGAIN AND IT'S EVEN MORE VIBRANTLY BEAUTIFUL.*********This cover looks like a Supernatural TV poster redrawn with crayons and tbh I adore it
  • nova ryder ☼
    January 1, 1970
    WHAT THE ACTUAL FUCK
  • Devika ➶ Fangirl of Seelie Court
    January 1, 1970
    SOMEBODY GIVE ME A TIME MACHINE BECAUSE I NEED THIS NOW THANKS
  • Lucy
    January 1, 1970
    Well. That was disappointing. In fact, ‘disappointing’ is putting it mildly.I knew going in that this wasn’t going to be a happy road trip story. I was prepared for a frank and honest look at characters dealing with depression and PTSD. What I wasn’t prepared for was a book that offered no hope, no resolutions, no healthy coping mechanisms and no communication. Even a bleak book can be enjoyable, but Wayward Son isn’t because there’s no catharsis. Instead, we’re dragged through Simon, Baz and Pe Well. That was disappointing. In fact, ‘disappointing’ is putting it mildly.I knew going in that this wasn’t going to be a happy road trip story. I was prepared for a frank and honest look at characters dealing with depression and PTSD. What I wasn’t prepared for was a book that offered no hope, no resolutions, no healthy coping mechanisms and no communication. Even a bleak book can be enjoyable, but Wayward Son isn’t because there’s no catharsis. Instead, we’re dragged through Simon, Baz and Penny’s relationship problems and post-war identity crises for 300 pages only for it to end abruptly on a cliffhanger. Presumably Rowell wanted to save all the cathartic moments for the surprise third book of the series, but she’s done so at the expense of this instalment.Alongside the lack of communication between the characters, I also felt that there was a general lack of introspective character-driven moments. Simon, Baz and Penny seemed cold and two-dimensional in comparison to their characterisation in Carry On. Of course, that could have been a deliberate writing choice - to show that these aren’t the plucky young teenage heroes they once were - but it was just one more thing that made reading Wayward Son an uphill struggle.Maybe I’d have liked Wayward Son more if I’d known in advance that this was a middle book and not the end of Simon and Baz’s story - then, at least, the lack of satisfying scenes would have made more narrative sense. As it is, I just grew more and more frustrated as I neared the end of the book and realised that the pay-off I’d been waiting for was never coming. Wayward Son is clearly a set-up for the next book in the series and doesn’t stand well on its own.If you’re not particularly invested in the characters, there’s still plenty of magickal hijinks in this book - and new character Shepard is a lot of fun - but if you’re a fan of Carry On and you like how it ended, I’d suggest skipping this sequel (or perhaps waiting until the third book is out, so you can read both in one go and get the closure this book doesn’t offer).Publisher: Pan MacmillanRating: 2 stars | ★★✰✰✰Review originally posted to Paperback'd Reviews.
    more
  • Kyle
    January 1, 1970
    Actual rating: 1.5 (rounded down)“The story is supposed to be over...”My thoughts exxxxxactlyyyyyy!Honestly, I found this book kind of unnecessary and (dare I say?) pointless. I was not the biggest fan of the first book, so I don’t know what possessed me to think this would be any different. (And if I’m being truthful here: I totally forgot I had pre-ordered this on my Kindle many months ago, and then I got the release notification and a charge on my account)... so, yeah, I gave it a shot. But t Actual rating: 1.5 (rounded down)“The story is supposed to be over...”My thoughts exxxxxactlyyyyyy!Honestly, I found this book kind of unnecessary and (dare I say?) pointless. I was not the biggest fan of the first book, so I don’t know what possessed me to think this would be any different. (And if I’m being truthful here: I totally forgot I had pre-ordered this on my Kindle many months ago, and then I got the release notification and a charge on my account)... so, yeah, I gave it a shot. But this book is simply a bunch of disappointing and, again, pointless misadventures across the American Midwest, completely irrelevant filler narrative, and all culminating in an absurdly abrupt, infuriating ending.I should’ve known a road-trip-styled story with these characters would be hit or miss. Hindsight is a bitch.The POV’s alternate between Simon, Baz, Penelope, and Agatha (as well as a sprinkling of *new* ones). I feel like for a book this length (under 400 pages), having four+ separate narrators was just faulty— it does not give enough time for each individual... even after knowing background from the first book. It didn’t help that there was very, very minimal progression or development for any of the characters. This is a 350 page book of filler fan-service (and it does a truly shit job at that, too!). But more on that in a bit...The whole time I was reading this, I kept asking myself, “Why does this exist? What is the POINT?”Carry On works better as a standalone. If this sequel had delivered on the promises of character and relationship development, than it would have been 100x times better. Instead, we’re left with a bunch of empty action and side-plots that don’t matter whatsoever in the end, and characters that don’t know how to talk to each other anymore. Around the 80% mark, things started kicking into gear, but it’s so goddamn rushed. The ending was so anti-climactic. The whole thing was resolved pretty easily. Then, at the 95% mark, we get what’s titled the “Prologue”, whereas at the beginning of the novel there was the “Epilogue”, and I don’t know if that’s a glaring mistake, or a purposeful addition (was the “epilogue“ at the beginning of this book meant to be carried over from Carry On, and the “prologue” at the end signifying a potential third book??). Either way, it was TERRIBLE!!! Those last few pages were just complete nonsense... and then that last line was ???? I’m just going to say it: this whole thing reeks of a cash grab. The conception of this sequel was a cheap, nasty trick that Rainbow Rowell pulled— teasing fans into thinking it would be SnowBaz fluff, but delivering only two pages of meaningful dialogue out of the 350. Many fans have been clamoring to read this in the hopes of more SimonxBaz scenes. And then to spend the entire length of the book having these angsty miscommunications, without any real or meaningful conversations about relationships and depression and PTSD... it’s just gross. You cannot string readers along like that until the very last page and be like, “LOL JK, TBC IN BOOK THREE (maybe).” F*ck right off!I’m actually ticked off that I wasted my time with this.
    more
  • Ashley
    January 1, 1970
    Star Rating: —> 5 Stars🌟⭐🌟⭐🌟Oh, by 5 I mean all the Stars in the galaxy, obvs.HELL YAHThis was fucking fantastic. I really hope there are more sequels coming because man... Rowell ALWAYS has this way of tapping into magic channels (there’s no other explanation for her brilliance) & flaunts it when she enchants us with her novels... but it’s ALWAYS the strongest for me when it involves Simon & Baz. Rainbow Rowell has created two of my favorite characters on the freakin’ planet & I Star Rating: —> 5 Stars🌟⭐️🌟⭐️🌟Oh, by 5 I mean all the Stars in the galaxy, obvs.HELL YAHThis was fucking fantastic. I really hope there are more sequels coming because man... Rowell ALWAYS has this way of tapping into magic channels (there’s no other explanation for her brilliance) & flaunts it when she enchants us with her novels... but it’s ALWAYS the strongest for me when it involves Simon & Baz. Rainbow Rowell has created two of my favorite characters on the freakin’ planet & I swear, let me just say... Rainbow Rowell was BORN to write about Simon and Baz .It’s like she’s this perfect angel who writes about/ has gifted us with... other... perfect... angels(? 😂)... to read about & have live inside the pages on our shelves where we can visit them any time we wanttttttt.Please excuse me, I’m enamored with this book and I’m drunk on it. Just saying. I’m also packing for a trip & distracted. The entire cast of characters was fantastic. And I LOVED a new character that was introduced- SHEPHARD! (I don’t know if any of you watch The Good Place- But I kept picturing a younger Chidi lol)It also really seems like we will getting more sequels!!!! Yay! 🤞🏻🤞🏻🤞🏻But WOW, just WOW.ABSO-FUCKIN’-LUTELY FANTABULOUS!Also. Let’s just take a moment to talk about BAZ.I mean, we all know he’s EVERYTHING. I’d go so far as to call him a sexy beast. 😂😂😂BUT. My point better IS-Baz is fucking hilarious. He is just my kinda guy & I want him to be my biffles. K. Cool. Glad we talked. 😉Oh my goodness, and l have to say... Baz’s hilarity is captured *perfectly* in the audiobook.The audiobook is INCREDIBLE TO THE NTH DEGREE. It’s damn fantastic. Damn fucking fantastic. OBVS just reading the physical book is hilarious in and of itself, BUT I gotta say... listening to that freakin audiobook had me doubled over laughing. DYING! The narrator is SO talented. Seriously. Best audiobook I’ve ever listened to.HANDS DOWN !(And i’m not even an “audiobook person”!)100% Recommend. READ THIS. DO IT!💙___________________________________________ 03/28/19 eeeyyyy let’s bring this to present day (after writing in my completely, in no way fabricated, new additions to my past update below): I’m so over this wait 😩! If it had ended up with a 2020 release date instead of one this year, I think I may have died by now just anticipating the wait. Neeeeed nowwwww! A need for instant gratification I guess is a flaw but whatever, regardless, I have it. BIG TIME.____________________________________________ So; Let me just CASUALLY say- I will gladly sell my soul for an ARC of this book. If it so happens that you require only part of my soul as payment, I will gladly split my soul into however many horcruxes that I need to so that I may still be able to read the book & have enough of me to review it. I mean, just saying; just bein’ chill, cahj. obviously... I definitely am not kneeling and pleading to the powers that be/ whoever will listen 😂(But like, really. I will sell my soul. Glad we’re on the same page).ALSO This is me having realized that I forgot to date my first update upon posting 😂: Sometime in late 2018 or very early 2019, somewhere in South FL, a girl took a break from her latest read to check out that GR buzz. Little did she know that she was about to stumble upon news that would forever change everything . T’was this news that inspired her to leap from rooftop to rooftop shouting with glee, each leap filled with more enthusiasm than the last. She sat down to open GR, & recount her feelings e-style. This is that very reaction:WHENWHENWHENWHENWHENOMGOMGOMGIM A TAD LATE ON THE REALIZATION THIS IS BEING RELEASED A WHOLE YEAR EARLIER TRAIN- WHY IS THIS IN CAPS TOO- SORRY IM STILL JUST A BIT EXCITED.SQUUUUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE2019! The year that will bring about mass bankruptcy among the bookish! I know. It’s way underwhelming in comparison Hahah.But to think- now we have AN EXACT RELEASE DATE! No more wondering when! Just waiting until. Excitement & dread all in one package haha.***My reaction did not actually involve any rooftops. No leaping on them, no sitting on them, & no wind blowing through my hair for effect whilst I updated my goodreads on, ROOFTOPS. In all honesty I’m not all hardcore parkour & able to just pick up a pole like Jasmine and vault from roof to roof. Sorry.***
    more
Write a review