This Is Not How It Ends
From USA Today bestselling author Rochelle B. Weinstein comes a moving novel of hearts lost and found, and of one woman torn between two love stories. When Charlotte and Philip meet, the pair form a deep and instant connection. Soon they’re settled in the Florida Keys with plans to marry. But just as they should be getting closer, Charlotte feels Philip slipping away.Second-guessing their love is something Charlotte never imagined, but with Philip’s excessive absences, she finds herself yearning for more. When she meets Ben, she ignores the pull, but the supportive single dad is there for her in ways she never knew she desired. Soon Charlotte finds herself torn between the love she thought she wanted and the one she knows she needs.As a hurricane passes through Islamorada, stunning revelations challenge Charlotte’s loyalties and upend her life. Forced to reexamine the choices she’s made, and has yet to make, Charlotte embarks on an emotional journey of friendship, love, and sacrifice—knowing that forgiveness is a gift, and the best-laid plans can change in a heartbeat.This Is Not How It Ends is a tender, moving story of heartbreak and healing that asks the question: Which takes more courage—holding on or letting go?

This Is Not How It Ends Details

TitleThis Is Not How It Ends
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 1st, 2020
PublisherLake Union Publishing
Rating
GenreRomance, Fiction

This Is Not How It Ends Review

  • Elyse (retired from reviewing/semi hiatus) Walters
    January 1, 1970
    NO SPOILERS.... only a few teasers....This is the fifth book I’ve read by Rochelle B Weinstein. Her books - [contemporary/poignant/ heartfelt] - speak to us. None of her books are overly depressive or overly fluffy. She writes smart emotionally - thought-provoking novels that challenge us to look at our relationships with ruthless honesty- displaying an innate understanding of human emotions.Her characters are so real....it’s hard to let them go. “This Is Not How It Ends” begins July 2018, NO SPOILERS.... only a few teasers....This is the fifth book I’ve read by Rochelle B Weinstein. Her books - [contemporary/poignant/ heartfelt] - speak to us. None of her books are overly depressive or overly fluffy. She writes smart emotionally - thought-provoking novels that challenge us to look at our relationships with ruthless honesty- displaying an innate understanding of human emotions.Her characters are so real....it’s hard to let them go. “This Is Not How It Ends” begins July 2018, *Present Day*...Islamorada, Florida. The ‘very’ beginning - Chapter 1 - opens - with an expert worth reading more than once.....allowing us to ponder deliberate choices we’ve made in life - and those we haven’t. “I’ve heard it said that life is about choices. Paths stretch out ahead of us— sometimes, we make conscious decisions and other times, fate intervenes and chooses for us. Had I known my life was about to take a sharp turn in those early hours of morning, I might have walked Sunny in a different direction”. What follows - is a gripping opening scene - when Charlotte Myers sees a young boy named Jimmy, about 9 years old - ( his dad, Ben’s back was turned shopping for groceries). Jimmy appeared to be gasping - clutching his neck - then fell to the ground. Charlotte, a complete stranger at the time, shared a life & death moment with Jimmy and Ben Hearst. Chapter 2 ...May 2016, *Back Then*,.....takes us on a fun flirty flight on United Airlines, Miami Florida, to Kansas City, Missouri , Fight 517, when Charlotte Myers, 30 years of age, and Philip Stafford, 40 years of age, meet in row 13 - seats C and DThe dialogue was playful and fascinating between Charlotte and Philip....and we begin to know them both. Philip: British - wealthy - handsome - ( looks like the men on Game of Thrones with dangerous sexy eyes), arrogant, cocky, and acted entitled ‘at first’, when he lost his first class seating due to a plane change - but soon redeemed himself by buying the entire flight of passengers drinks to make up for his prior shameless- rude behavior. He was also definitely interested - flirting with Charlotte. Charlotte: taught High School Honors English.....Kansas City girl.....was flying back home after attending a seminar in Miami. She was watching a remake of the movie *Endless Love*. Her students were reading the book. Charlotte tells Philip that one of her students brilliantly exposed the theory of “wanting what you can’t have”. “There was an allure to meeting someone on a plane, sharing a brief moment in time, knowing your paths may never cross again”.....Ha....but the intriguing conversation that Philip and Charlotte shared about “Forbidden fruit”, their love-talk-about a ‘happily- ever- after- hypothesis was too good —- that we knew this couple would meet again. We also know .... all the above characters will intertwine: Charlotte, Philip, Ben, ( sometimes called Goose), Jimmy, and Sunny, ( Charlottes Dog) ......There are other wonderful minor characters, too....the type of minor characters who contribute major wisdom: Mom, ( Momism’s), dad, ( life lessons) , Liberty, ( a committed friend who’s dedicated to supporting health and wellness)... OTHER MINOR characters include environmental elements —sweltering hot humid days in “The Keys” - the homes - (with names)- in Islamorada - a love shack - a Hurricane: Hurricane Kelsie. Brett playing music by favorite artists: James Taylor, The Eagles, and Don Henley. Delicious foods, natural beauty and styles,....Serious topics are explored - pancreatic cancer, severe allergies, abandonment, ......along with the big themes: love, loss, dying & death, friendships, boundaries, morality, choices we make or not, hurt, regret, betrayal, fears, sadness, risks, mistakes we make, courage, assumptions, our vulnerability, our worthiness, forgiveness, and healing. “This is Not How it Ends”, weaves a heartfelt exploration of love and the choices we make - told in alternating timelines: Present Day, and back then ( as examples in Chapter 1 and 2).SO MUCH TO ENJOY in this packed-filled novel.....every sentence is an experience.....dealing with issues of the heart. But the 3 dominate characters - 2 strong successful men and 1 passionate exceptional woman ....plucks the raw nerves of love and the forbidden with rewarding psychological depth.....with storytelling skill!!! Radiant and pristine....a book to read, absorbed, and discuss!!!! Highly recommended!!!!Thank you Netgalley, Lake Union Publishing, and Rochelle B. Weinstein. ( I love love love her novels)... the author is a gem of a human being, too....which certainly shows up in writing!!!A powerful excerpt: “Loss didn’t discriminate, it was a game of chance. Like Love. And sometimes even love lead to isolation. Loneliness, by definition, is a solitary experience, but I learned painfully fast how loneliness travels through skin and body and binds you to those with similar hurt”.
    more
  • Aga Durka
    January 1, 1970
    This Is Not How It Ends is not a book I would normally read, but I decided to get out of my comfort zone and WOW, this was just way too emotional for me (in a good way!).Rochelle B. Weinstein wrote a beautiful, emotionally charged, and highly addictive story. I fell in love with all the characters and I found them very relatable. I felt with them and their stories made me re-think many things in my own personal life. The story was written in beautiful prose and I found myself re-reading few of This Is Not How It Ends is not a book I would normally read, but I decided to get out of my comfort zone and WOW, this was just way too emotional for me (in a good way!).Rochelle B. Weinstein wrote a beautiful, emotionally charged, and highly addictive story. I fell in love with all the characters and I found them very relatable. I felt with them and their stories made me re-think many things in my own personal life. The story was written in beautiful prose and I found myself re-reading few of the passages to fully grasp the depth of the words I have just read. Even though the plot was predictable, I could not stop reading this novel. I read this book in 24 hours, and I cried...oh how I cried. I am looking forward to reading more books from this author, however now I will be more emotionally prepared for each one of them before I dive into reading (or at least I will try to prepare myself for the emotional roller-coaster).Thank you NetGalley, Lake Union Publishing, and the author for providing me with an ARC copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.
    more
  • Mackenzie - PhDiva Books
    January 1, 1970
    A woman torn between the love she feels now and the love that was always there for her before. In an emotional novel of forgiveness and being true to ourselves, Rochelle B. Weinstein explores the intricacy of love and how we move forward as relationships evolve. A beautiful novel that will pull you in.I found this to be a very emotional book to read. And while it may not be like this for everyone, this one definitely made me cry a few times. It’s a credit to Rochelle Weinstein’s writing that she A woman torn between the love she feels now and the love that was always there for her before. In an emotional novel of forgiveness and being true to ourselves, Rochelle B. Weinstein explores the intricacy of love and how we move forward as relationships evolve. A beautiful novel that will pull you in.I found this to be a very emotional book to read. And while it may not be like this for everyone, this one definitely made me cry a few times. It’s a credit to Rochelle Weinstein’s writing that she drew characters and a story that hit me in a very raw way. The characters themselves feel very authentic and I found them to be relateable. I didn’t really find any character to be good or bad, which was important to understanding the challenges that come with this type of situation.The book shows Charlotte and Phillip from the moment they meet on a flight through their relocation to the Florida Keys, their engagement, and beyond. I really enjoyed the way this was written. The story wove back and forth in time so we got to see their instant connection and then where they are now that they have moved and things aren’t as simple as they were when they first met. Back then, it was all spark and discovering one another.The way Charlotte experienced Phillip seeming to pull away from the relationship was also very real. I thought that the evolution of the circumstances that allowed Charlotte to begin to feel drawn to Ben, while still holding onto her love for Phillip was so subtle that I became completely immersed in the events unfolding. I understood how emotions can deepen without someone meaning for them to. I understood how a break down in communication over an extended time can deeply impact a relationship. I also understood how all three of these people did things that were not okay. None of them is the hero or the villain. These are just people who make mistakes and who feel things that they may not have intended to. That’s what I mean when I say that I found it raw and authentic. This was a deeply touching story and one that it was hard to not get pulled into and feel as though it were happening to you instead of to the characters in a book.A beautiful story of friendship, forgiveness, imperfection, and ultimately discovering what you value. I loved the theme of not just learning to let go, but even before that how you decide whether to hold on or to let go.Thank you to Suzy Approved Book Tours for my copy. Opinions are my own.
    more
  • Lisa
    January 1, 1970
    A beautiful and emotional story of friendship, love, loss and forgiveness.SUMMARYCharlotte and Phillip are accidental seatmates on a flight from Miami to Kansas City. By the end of the flight sparks are flying. Together they moved to the Florida Keys with plans to marry. But just as they should be planning their wedding Charlotte feels as if Phillip is slipping away. Philip’s constant traveling and excessive absences has her wondering if this is really what she wants in a relationship. When A beautiful and emotional story of friendship, love, loss and forgiveness.SUMMARYCharlotte and Phillip are accidental seatmates on a flight from Miami to Kansas City. By the end of the flight sparks are flying. Together they moved to the Florida Keys with plans to marry. But just as they should be planning their wedding Charlotte feels as if Phillip is slipping away. Philip’s constant traveling and excessive absences has her wondering if this is really what she wants in a relationship. When Charlotte meets Ben, Phillip’s, best friend a close friendship naturally develops. She tries to ignore the pull between the two of them but a hurricane drives them together and challenges both of their their loyalties. REVIEWTHIS IS NOT HOW IT ENDS is a beautiful and emotional story of friendship, love, loss and forgiveness. It’s women fiction with great and highly relatable characters. You’ll fall in love with them all...Charlotte, Phillip, Ben, Billy and even Sunny. The storylines are creatively intertwined Author ROCHELLE WEINSTEIN’s writing is brilliantly plotted and full of emotional storms. It’s a gem of a novel you don’t want to miss. The very beginning of the story grabs you with this lyrical statement from Charlotte...“I’ve heard it said that life is about choices. Paths stretch out ahead of us—sometimes we make conscious decisions and other times, fate intervenes and choose for us.” I loved this statement when I read it in the first chapter. And then I fell in love with it again at the end of the book. It’s is the epitome of the book. Thanks to Netgalley for an advance reading copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Publisher Lake UnionPublished January 1, 2020Review www.bluestockingreviews.com
    more
  • Jamie beauty_andthebook_
    January 1, 1970
    If there is one thing I've learned from reading Rochelle Weinstein's novels, it is that she has a uniquely talented way of creating characters that readers are able to relate to and when she places them in heartbreaking situations, the reader is able to go down that emotional journey with the character, a feat that is certainly not accomplished often.In her prior novel, Weinstein tackled a tough side of parenting and in This is Not How it Ends, she returns with an exploration into relationship If there is one thing I've learned from reading Rochelle Weinstein's novels, it is that she has a uniquely talented way of creating characters that readers are able to relate to and when she places them in heartbreaking situations, the reader is able to go down that emotional journey with the character, a feat that is certainly not accomplished often.In her prior novel, Weinstein tackled a tough side of parenting and in This is Not How it Ends, she returns with an exploration into relationship perils. While Charley and Phil should be enjoying their engagement and the happiest time of their lives, Phil's constant absence due to work trouble has Charley leaning on a new friend, a widowed father. Now, you might be thinking - a love triangle, an emotional affair - been there, done that. I'm telling you now - no you have not. And you certainly have not read this story the way Weinstein writes it. Pick this one up on January 1st and find out just what makes this one the magic it is.Thank you to Lake Union for an advanced copy. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Lisa Aiello
    January 1, 1970
    So many damn tears. Sad tears, happy tears, heart-broken and heart-overflowing tears. This is Not How it Ends is a tremendously moving story of love, loss, sacrifice, honor, family, friendship, healing, acceptance, first and second chances, doing the right thing for the wrong reasons and the wrong thing for the right reasons. There is so much packed into these pages. I feel so much right now. I mostly feel wrung out, yet hopeful and happy. For those with triggers, there is illness and loss So many damn tears. Sad tears, happy tears, heart-broken and heart-overflowing tears. This is Not How it Ends is a tremendously moving story of love, loss, sacrifice, honor, family, friendship, healing, acceptance, first and second chances, doing the right thing for the wrong reasons and the wrong thing for the right reasons. There is so much packed into these pages. I feel so much right now. I mostly feel wrung out, yet hopeful and happy. For those with triggers, there is illness and loss inside. If you can weather through that, I promise you will come through with tears in your eyes but hope in your heart, just like I did.
    more
  • Christine Nolfi
    January 1, 1970
    Can a chance encounter change your life? For Charlotte Myers, the unexpected will challenge her assumptions about the meaning of love and family, and question her ability to forgive the sins of the past. Elegant and timely, This Is Not How It Ends weaves a poignant tapestry of three lives threaded together by devotion and secret passion—and will leave readers guessing until the satisfying conclusion.
    more
  • Nursebookie
    January 1, 1970
    When was the last time you cried after reading an amazing story? Weinstein pulled every string I had in my heart and in my gut for the most beautiful and unpredictable story about three lives interwoven into a remarkable story about love and friendships, guilt and loss, and mistakes and forgiveness. I absolutely thought the storytelling to be brilliant with amazing casts of characters. I was sucked in to the story from the first two chapters and did not want this to end at all. What a fantastic When was the last time you cried after reading an amazing story? Weinstein pulled every string I had in my heart and in my gut for the most beautiful and unpredictable story about three lives interwoven into a remarkable story about love and friendships, guilt and loss, and mistakes and forgiveness. I absolutely thought the storytelling to be brilliant with amazing casts of characters. I was sucked in to the story from the first two chapters and did not want this to end at all. What a fantastic read and highly recommend!!!Now available as Amazon FIRST READ!! Read and download for Free this December 2019! DOWNLOAD THIS NOW!!
    more
  • Jaymi Couch
    January 1, 1970
    Emotionally driven, love story/love triangle with a compelling and realistic storyline and well-drawn characters, together with a steamy Florida setting. Gorgeous Brit Philip falls for Charlotte. It’s a fairy tale relationship except the prince is always traveling. They get engaged and despite their love for each other, she begins to think about a future with someone who is always gone. Then Charlotte meets Ben and saves his son’s life after an allergic reaction. They have a strong connection Emotionally driven, love story/love triangle with a compelling and realistic storyline and well-drawn characters, together with a steamy Florida setting. Gorgeous Brit Philip falls for Charlotte. It’s a fairy tale relationship except the prince is always traveling. They get engaged and despite their love for each other, she begins to think about a future with someone who is always gone. Then Charlotte meets Ben and saves his son’s life after an allergic reaction. They have a strong connection which leaves Charlotte feeling guilty. And so begins an epic roller coaster of a story. This book just tossed me all around and left me in a puddle. I was completely drained after finishing it. Which is probably why the publisher sent a branded pack of tissues!Favorite parts: The day the three of them went on the boat. The letter at the end. Her dog Sunny. I was pleased with the ending and shed so many tears, but it felt a little hurried, after the first three-quarters of slow buildup. Certain details felt contrived and a bit predictable but overall it was an entertaining and tremendously moving story, with a writing style similar to Colleen Hoover. Themes of grief, abandonment, romance, love, infidelity, shame, remorse – all make this a solid read. I will definitely read more by this author.
    more
  • Debbie
    January 1, 1970
    Powerful. All consuming. Emotionally charged. One thing I know is this, when reading a book by Rochelle, keep tissues near by. Always emotional but this novel was something more. Phillip and Charlotte (Charley) met on a flight while she was watching Endless Love. Charley never really believed in love that is until she debates the merits of love with Phillip that day. Back then she couldn't get him out of her head. Then a chance meeting while dining with her mom brings them together again. Their Powerful. All consuming. Emotionally charged. One thing I know is this, when reading a book by Rochelle, keep tissues near by. Always emotional but this novel was something more. Phillip and Charlotte (Charley) met on a flight while she was watching Endless Love. Charley never really believed in love that is until she debates the merits of love with Phillip that day. Back then she couldn't get him out of her head. Then a chance meeting while dining with her mom brings them together again. Their feelings for each other can not be denied. Soon they move in and relocate to the Florida Keys. Phillip proposes and all Charley can think about is marrying him. The book goes back and forth from past when the two first meet as well as the present where they are living in the Florida keys along with Philip's best friend Ben, and Ben's son Jimmy. The three are inseparable when Phillips home and Charley and Ben are together when he is traveling. Nothing could break the bond these three people share, until the unthinkable happened. Fast paced and extremely well written, I suggest any reader who likes romantic drama pick this book up.
    more
  • Megan
    January 1, 1970
    Charlotte Myers meets Philip, an older British man, on an airplane and there is an immediate connection. Their relationship moves quickly and they are soon living together in the Florida Keys, with a dog and a future wedding to plan. As Charlotte looks forward to their future together, she realizes that Philip seems to be pulling away. He begins acting strangely, from shaving his head to lying about what city he is traveling to. While Charlotte does not doubt their love, she quickly finds Charlotte Myers meets Philip, an older British man, on an airplane and there is an immediate connection. Their relationship moves quickly and they are soon living together in the Florida Keys, with a dog and a future wedding to plan. As Charlotte looks forward to their future together, she realizes that Philip seems to be pulling away. He begins acting strangely, from shaving his head to lying about what city he is traveling to. While Charlotte does not doubt their love, she quickly finds herself drawn to Ben, one of Philip's closest friends and a widower with a son. As Philip practically pushes Charlotte and Ben together during his frequent absences, they begin to fall for each other. A hurricane passes through and causes much devastation, but it is a figurative hurricane that will change the course of Charlotte's life. This is Not How it Ends by Rochelle B. Weinstein is not the type of book that I typically read. However, when I read the description I was intrigued and decided to give it a shot. I'm so glad I did! I really enjoyed this novel. It was touching and heartbreaking and I couldn't put it down. Charlotte's love story was beautifully written and I can see why many readers cried while reading it! I am not a crier or an emotional person but this story touched me. Weinstein's characters were complex and relatably flawed. I quickly became invested in what happened to each of the characters and I felt both their pain and their happiness. While it took me a little time to get into the story, I think that was only because this book is not my usual genre.Overall, an enjoyable and moving story. Thank you to Netgalley and Lake Union Publishing for this ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Shalini
    January 1, 1970
    This is the book that broke my heart into a million pieces, then joined them together in the last few pages.2 people in love, then cracks occurred and life threw an unexpected curveball. All that remained was the strength in their hearts. Charlotte and Philip were the couple, but this was not just their love story. It was about life, bigger and more beautiful than we could imagine even in the midst of a tragedy.My second book by author Rochelle B. Weinstein, I was absolutely withered away by the This is the book that broke my heart into a million pieces, then joined them together in the last few pages.2 people in love, then cracks occurred and life threw an unexpected curveball. All that remained was the strength in their hearts. Charlotte and Philip were the couple, but this was not just their love story. It was about life, bigger and more beautiful than we could imagine even in the midst of a tragedy.My second book by author Rochelle B. Weinstein, I was absolutely withered away by the time I finished the book. The power that the prose held had me crying while trying to smile. Emotions ravaged me like the winds of a storm. The gentle ones gave me time to stabilize myself, to prepare for the heavy gales.The characters were larger than life, but they were so real. They made mistakes; they took decisions which might be wrong or right. How were we to know? Life changes every second, so what is right today, may be wrong tomorrow. All we have to do is to live it.I always believed life was about relationships, living them, getting angry, being cajoled, forgiving some, forgetting others. The book showed me the depth of these relationships. It made me see something beyond and something beneath. It made me wonder what I would do. I loved Charlotte, I understood her emotions. I saw myself in her. I could understand her need to be sunlight and shade. That's life. This story was her life. This story was my life.I quote from the bookNone of us have time. We only have moments. Strung on a string that can break at any minute. All I could say wasWe only have books like these. Words strung on lines that could break our hearts at any minute, but join them back the next. Simply a beautiful book, and I felt honored to have read the story.
    more
  • Susan Peterson
    January 1, 1970
    This is Not How it Ends is a beautifully written, poignant and compelling story. This book is an emotional journey, as we get a deep, intimate look at Charlotte; her loves, her hopes, her fears, her guilt, her dreams, her desires, and her losses. I was completely swept away by this novel, utterly captivated and involved in Charlotte's story. I felt as if I were in her skin, making choices, dealing with circumstances beyond her control, chance encounters, moving on from her feelings of This is Not How it Ends is a beautifully written, poignant and compelling story. This book is an emotional journey, as we get a deep, intimate look at Charlotte; her loves, her hopes, her fears, her guilt, her dreams, her desires, and her losses. I was completely swept away by this novel, utterly captivated and involved in Charlotte's story. I felt as if I were in her skin, making choices, dealing with circumstances beyond her control, chance encounters, moving on from her feelings of abandonment, and vacillating between her two loves. This book made me fall in love with the characters; I laughed with them, I cried with them, I suffered with them, I celebrated with them--mostly, I simply loved them. And I am going to miss them, although they will be safely stowed in my heart. There are such beautiful lines in this books, sentences that I read over and over to recapture the emotions behind them. Here is one: "There comes that moment when you're holding someone and the pieces of you just fit. Words are useless. The parts of you string together--souls touch through gentle fabric--and when you separate you know there's a lingering strand that forever connects."
    more
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    t's been a while since I ugly cried while reading a book. To be more precise, it would have been in January or February when I finished beta-reading Kelly Moore's Gypsy. So, I was surprised that things took such a gut-wrenching turn when I started reading This is Not How it Ends!First of all, as a lover of all things related to the Florida Keys, I loved the setting of this novel. Secondly, as a borderline stalkerish dog-lover, I loved the prominent role that Charlotte's dog, Sunny, played in the t's been a while since I ugly cried while reading a book. To be more precise, it would have been in January or February when I finished beta-reading Kelly Moore's Gypsy. So, I was surprised that things took such a gut-wrenching turn when I started reading This is Not How it Ends!First of all, as a lover of all things related to the Florida Keys, I loved the setting of this novel. Secondly, as a borderline stalkerish dog-lover, I loved the prominent role that Charlotte's dog, Sunny, played in the novel. And of course, I love all things involving funny, charming, good-looking men - a.k.a. Phillip. So this was looking to be the perfect read for me. But then, good Lord, things got sad so fast!I won't even hint about the overall premise of the novel, but here's what I can say for certain. This novel is an absolute gem about love, friendship, what we think we want, and what we realize we need. As much as I loved this novel, I'm not going to sugar-coat things and pretend that Charlotte was the most amazing heroine ever because she wasn't. She relied on Phillip and his presence as indicators of her happiness. I was this close to loving her character, but as I read and when I reflected on everything afterward, I realized that she put too much ownership of her own happiness into a man's hands. I wasn't sure about Phillip in the beginning, but ended up completely in love with him in the ending - but I will not say why.Then there was Ben and his son Jimmy....I will shamelessly admit that I was in love with this man within a paragraph or two of him being introduced into the novel. His charisma, charm, subtle shyness, and his relationship with his son just did it for me. This is Not How How it Ends was a very emotional read on several levels. Weinstein touches on parents separating and leaving, sudden, accidental death, prolonged death to illness, romance, love, infidelity, shame, remorse - and anything else you could possibly imagine. But, it's a damned good book. I was hooked after a chapter or two, then I was obsessed with finishing it, and then I was blubbering like an idiot and cursing the author's name. I regret that I never connected with Charlotte and I regret that I never really cared to connect with her. However, the rest of the novel made up for that issue, and I highly recommend this one. *Thanks to NetGalley and Lake Union for providing this ARC in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Really Into This
    January 1, 1970
    Melissa contributed this review to Really Into ThisCheck out all of our reviews at https://reallyintothis.comHappy Reading, friends!Special thanks to Rochelle Weinstein & Suzy Approved Book Tours for providing our copy in exchange for an honest & fair review.This is Not How it Ends by Rochelle B Weinstein is a love story. Immediately, the narrative sucks you in. Just try to put this book down! At one point, you think Rochelle lays all her cards on the table. The story is settled & I Melissa contributed this review to Really Into ThisCheck out all of our reviews at https://reallyintothis.comHappy Reading, friends!Special thanks to Rochelle Weinstein & Suzy Approved Book Tours for providing our copy in exchange for an honest & fair review.This is Not How it Ends by Rochelle B Weinstein is a love story. Immediately, the narrative sucks you in. Just try to put this book down! At one point, you think Rochelle lays all her cards on the table. The story is settled & I think I've got it all figured out. But, This is Not How it Ends (see what I did there?)Amazing CharactersRochelle creates characters that readers are heavily invested in. Honestly, each & every character, no matter how insignificant makes you feel something. When I read a book as good as this one, I don't even liken it to reading a story. For me, the book comes to life in a way that I connect with these people & care about them. That is the hallmark of fantastic writing & storytelling. Rochelle takes you beyond where most authors stop.Love in All FormsWhile I say this is a love story, I don't mean its a sappy story that ends with a big wedding. The story really digs deeper into what love is. Not just romantic love, but selfless & all-encompassing love. We all find & relate to love differently. Love in all forms is personified in this book.THE VERDICTI am Really Into This book! This is Not How it Ends by Rochelle B Weinstein is a love story built for everyone. Read this if you're in the mood for a heartwarming, engrossing & wonderful read. All the stars for this book.
    more
  • Pam
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you NetGalley for ARC. 4 for this page turning read. It’s Love Story (Book/Movie) meets a love triangle set on Florida’s Islamorada. But this is no beach read. Grief and abandonment are strong themes as are love, friendship and sacrifice. Put this one on your January 2020 TBR. In the meantime, read the author’s 5 Somebody’s Daughter. Thank you NetGalley for ARC. 4⭐️ for this page turning read. It’s Love Story (Book/Movie) meets a love triangle set on Florida’s Islamorada. But this is no beach read. Grief and abandonment are strong themes as are love, friendship and sacrifice. Put this one on your January 2020 TBR. In the meantime, read the author’s 5⭐️ Somebody’s Daughter.
    more
  • Judy Collins
    January 1, 1970
    LOVED Who doesn’t love a poignant beautifully written love story set in one of my favorite spots: idyllic Morada Bay and Pierres —Islamorada, FL in the beautiful Keyes. I am a former Monroe County resident - FL Keys gal. Look for my upcoming fascinating QA Elevator Interview with Rochelle on Jan 1, 2020 and a glowing 5 stars +++ review. Learn more about “the story behind the story” and this mega-talented author. I have been an avid fan since her first book!! Get this gem on your list now!!! LOVED🤩 Who doesn’t love a poignant beautifully written love story ❤️ set in one of my favorite spots: idyllic Morada Bay and Pierres —Islamorada, FL 🌴 in the beautiful Keyes. I am a former Monroe County resident - FL Keys gal. Look for my upcoming fascinating QA Elevator Interview with Rochelle on Jan 1, 2020 and a glowing 5 stars +++ review. Learn more about “the story behind the story” and this mega-talented author. I have been an avid fan since her first book!! Get this gem on your list now!!! More coming. Top Books of 2020🥳 What a great way to kick off the new year. Set aside the time because once you start reading you will not be able to put it down. 😎
    more
  • Camille Maio
    January 1, 1970
    Exceptional book - I finished it in less than 24 hours! Weinstein created distinct and compelling characters that I am still thinking about. Tackling love, marriage, tragedy, parenthood, and the boundaries of friendship, she weaves all the feels into a story that readers are sure to love as much as I did.
    more
  • Evelyn13
    January 1, 1970
    I received an early copy of This is Not How it Ends, and I actually wished the book didn’t end. Like all of the author's novels, Weinstein draws you into the lives of her characters, connecting you to their emotions as though you are right there with them. Life is a journey, and the novel is the journey of Ben, Philip, and Charley. In friendship and love, they have the reader laughing and crying, all while making selfless sacrifices for each. When faced with one of life's many challenges, we see I received an early copy of This is Not How it Ends, and I actually wished the book didn’t end. Like all of the author's novels, Weinstein draws you into the lives of her characters, connecting you to their emotions as though you are right there with them. Life is a journey, and the novel is the journey of Ben, Philip, and Charley. In friendship and love, they have the reader laughing and crying, all while making selfless sacrifices for each. When faced with one of life's many challenges, we see a rare loyalty and courage and the true meaning of "being there" for one another. This is a book you won't want to put down because you can't wait to find out how it all ties together. Weinstein writes until each character touches your soul and then when the book is over, you want more. A LOT MORE!
    more
  • Mikaela (Booklover1974)
    January 1, 1970
    Wow, this is a book I won't forget easily! At first I didn't like the structure with two timelines but the second half of the book was very gripping and emotional. This is the first time I read this author but not the last.Charlotte is engaged to Philip, who travels a lot for his work, and lately this is a source to discontent for her. At the same time Philips best friend, Ben, moves to their neighborhood with his son. I don't want to write anything more, only: Read it!The publisher kindly Wow, this is a book I won't forget easily! At first I didn't like the structure with two timelines but the second half of the book was very gripping and emotional. This is the first time I read this author but not the last.Charlotte is engaged to Philip, who travels a lot for his work, and lately this is a source to discontent for her. At the same time Philips best friend, Ben, moves to their neighborhood with his son. I don't want to write anything more, only: Read it!The publisher kindly provided me with a free copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Carolyn Stumpf
    January 1, 1970
    Oh wow! I absolutely loved this book! Weinstein did a beautiful job weaving together a story that I could not put down! Charley is an attractive and pensive teacher who by chance meets her new beau in aisle 13 of her flight! Her and Philip really strike up an interesting conversation and they’re incredibly drawn to each other. I found myself enjoying Philip’s character.... that is until I “met” Ben! How could I not root for him? What a unique friendship the three of them end up cultivating. Oh wow! I absolutely loved this book! Weinstein did a beautiful job weaving together a story that I could not put down! Charley is an attractive and pensive teacher who by chance meets her new beau in aisle 13 of her flight! Her and Philip really strike up an interesting conversation and they’re incredibly drawn to each other. I found myself enjoying Philip’s character.... that is until I “met” Ben! How could I not root for him? What a unique friendship the three of them end up cultivating. Weinstein truly makes you love both men as partners for Charley and it’s quite hard to choose one over the other.Philip and Charley must weather some difficult times in their relationship and Ben is always right there for her to lean on.I found myself so sad when this book ended! What a beautiful story of love and loss and then love again ❤️ I will definitely be reading more of Rochelle B Weinstein’s books after this one :)5 stars!!Thank you NetGalley and Lake Union Publishing for the ARC.
    more
  • Lynne
    January 1, 1970
    This is a very nice love story told from the POV of Charlene. Originally an English teach from Kansas City, falls in love and moves to the Florida keys with a wealthy workaholic. I enjoyed the storyline of food allergies and how to become desensitized. The love part was a bit syrupy for me. Thank you NetGalley for the ARC.
    more
  • Jennifer Newell
    January 1, 1970
    I was given an advanced copy to read in exchange for an honest review.Wow what an amazing heart felt story about love and life. I loved this book. I highly recommend reading it if you enjoy a live story. This is a story about Charley who meet Phillip on a flight back from a conference. Phillip is spontaneous and exciting, it is not long until Charley is madly in love. When Charley’s mom gets sick the cancer Phillip does all he can to help Charley through it. After her mom dies Charley moves to I was given an advanced copy to read in exchange for an honest review.Wow what an amazing heart felt story about love and life. I loved this book. I highly recommend reading it if you enjoy a live story. This is a story about Charley who meet Phillip on a flight back from a conference. Phillip is spontaneous and exciting, it is not long until Charley is madly in love. When Charley’s mom gets sick the cancer Phillip does all he can to help Charley through it. After her mom dies Charley moves to the Florida keys with Phillip.Phillip has a demanding job that keeps him traveling. This causes Charley to wonder if they want the same things. Will Charley and Phillip get married? Will the loneliness be too much for Charley? Will she walk away from a man she dearly loves but he just can’t give her all she needs?
    more
  • Rebecca
    January 1, 1970
    ***SPOILER ALERT*** While I'm reading this book, my review may contain spoilers. Proceed at your own risk ;)(view spoiler)[ (hide spoiler)]Location: ___I received an advance copy of this book. All opinions are my own.
  • Toya
    January 1, 1970
    This is Not How it Ends was my first foray into Rochelle Weinstein’s writing and it most certainly will not be my last. This story was heartbreakingly beautiful that left me in a puddle of tears.Charley and Philip should be enjoying the highs of their engagement, but with Philip’s constant absence due to work travel, their relationship is starting to feel the strain. In Philip’s absence, Charley begins spending time with Ben, a widowed father. Charley begins to question if she wants a life This is Not How it Ends was my first foray into Rochelle Weinstein’s writing and it most certainly will not be my last. This story was heartbreakingly beautiful that left me in a puddle of tears.Charley and Philip should be enjoying the highs of their engagement, but with Philip’s constant absence due to work travel, their relationship is starting to feel the strain. In Philip’s absence, Charley begins spending time with Ben, a widowed father. Charley begins to question if she wants a life with an absent husband or if she needs more.Now, you may be thinking that this is just another love triangle/affair type of story. I’ll be honest, I did. But, my god, it’s not. The characters were incredible. The story evokes so many emotions, and there were certain parts where I had to put the book down just to cry. This book is so incredibly raw and honest, and makes you question everything you think you know about relationships and people’s motives. Thank you to Suzy Approved Book Tours for the blog tour invite. That you to the author and Lake Union Publishing for providing an ARC. This did not influence my review. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • LianaReads blog
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsA new to me author and a great read to start with.Sometimes in life when you expect less, someone will come into your life like a whirlwind and turn it upside down. A once in a lifetime encounter with a mysterious but very gentleman British man, makes the lovely teacher to reconsider her life options and a romantic love story begins. I loved the writing and the fast-paced action with a few reliable moments of a couple that is trying to have a relationship while Philip is travelling 4.5 starsA new to me author and a great read to start with.Sometimes in life when you expect less, someone will come into your life like a whirlwind and turn it upside down. A once in a lifetime encounter with a mysterious but very gentleman British man, makes the lovely teacher to reconsider her life options and a romantic love story begins. I loved the writing and the fast-paced action with a few reliable moments of a couple that is trying to have a relationship while Philip is travelling around the word and Charley is feeling lonely and insecure at times. That until she meets Ben and his son. There are some twists and turns that I honestly didn't see it coming but left me speechless. There are also many life lessons and phrases that I've liked and saved because the author has created a beautiful story about love, illness, loss and how one should overcome the obstacles in their path to find the happiness that everyone deserves in life.I gave 4.5 stars because there is a twist that I personally can't agree with but I totally understand why was happening.''Happiness wasn't overrated. It was a gift meant to be cherished and held tight.''I am looking forward to more stories by the author as I am intrigued to see what great books she will bring towards us.Arc received in exchange of an honest review from NetGalley and Lake Union Publishing-very grateful
    more
  • Donna Hines
    January 1, 1970
    Torn between two lovers...is more than just a fab song it's the idea behind much of this book.What if love is elusive, challenging, too demanding, and overall not worth the effort but then again what if it's everything you hoped and dreamed it would be?Charlotte is at the crossroads of romance with two men and ladies shouldn't we all be so unfortunate right?I'm serious when I say she's ready to settle down with Philip in beautiful Florida Keys but he's been absent lately.So what's up??Meanwhile Torn between two lovers...is more than just a fab song it's the idea behind much of this book.What if love is elusive, challenging, too demanding, and overall not worth the effort but then again what if it's everything you hoped and dreamed it would be?Charlotte is at the crossroads of romance with two men and ladies shouldn't we all be so unfortunate right?I'm serious when I say she's ready to settle down with Philip in beautiful Florida Keys but he's been absent lately.So what's up??Meanwhile just as she begins second guessing her choice in men here comes single dad extraordinaire Ben to swoop her away.He's charming, attentive, handsome, everything a woman needs so what's the problem?So if you had to answer this one question how would you answer: Which takes more courage—holding on or letting go? That's the key to it all because the hurricane is batting down upon them all and there's choices and there's consequences and time is of the essence.Death may be imminent....Love may be eternal....Friendships may forever be locked into memories!Thank you to Rochelle, the publisher, NetGalley, and Amazon Kindle for this ARC in exchange for this honest review.
    more
  • Patricia Sands
    January 1, 1970
    Charlotte Myers' life was about to change in ways she would never have imagined. Relocating from Kansas City, the only home she had known, to the stunning Florida Keys was simply one small detail. Being swept into two intense love stories was something else. Weinstein delivers a captivating narrative of love, family, loss and forgiveness, in the brilliant manner readers have come to expect from her writing. A "must read"!
    more
  • Lynn
    January 1, 1970
    5* Deeply Emotional StarsThis was a beautifully powerful well-written story of love, unforseen loss and finding love again. The writing style of the author is flawless and the story of Philip, Charlotte, and Ben is emotionally haunting. You will connect with these three from the beginning and they will enter your heart and stay there until the last page is read.The secondary characters in the book were very likeable and were pivotal in the lives of Charlotte, Ben and Philip.The story is very 5* Deeply Emotional StarsThis was a beautifully powerful well-written story of love, unforseen loss and finding love again. The writing style of the author is flawless and the story of Philip, Charlotte, and Ben is emotionally haunting. You will connect with these three from the beginning and they will enter your heart and stay there until the last page is read.The secondary characters in the book were very likeable and were pivotal in the lives of Charlotte, Ben and Philip.The story is very heartfelt and real and you will be left thinking about this highly emotional raw read for many days to come. I have found a new Author whose story has left me wanting to read more from her.Many thanks to Lake Union Publishing and NetGalley for my copy to read and review.
    more
  • Christina (Bookwormmommyof3)
    January 1, 1970
    What a way to end the month of May. Rochelle writes with such beauty & grace in the utmost delicate fashion. I appreciate the characters she created, the structure, and over all story that she wove together. She takes on constructs of relationships, love and life in such an interesting scope that I deeply appreciate as a reader. Thank you Lake Union Publishing for the opportunity to read in advance.
    more
Write a review