What Happens in Paradise
Secret lives and new loves emerge in the bright Caribbean sunlight, in the follow-up to national bestseller Winter in Paradise A year ago, Irene Steele had the shock of her life: her loving husband, father to their grown sons and successful businessman, was killed in a helicopter crash. But that wasn't Irene's only shattering news: he'd also been leading a double life on the island of St. John, where another woman loved him, too. Now Irene and her sons are back on St. John, determined to learn the truth about the mysterious life -and death - of a man they thought they knew. Along the way, they're about to learn some surprising truths about their own lives, and their futures. Lush with the tropical details, romance, and drama that made Winter in Paradise a national bestseller, What Happens in Paradise is another immensely satisfying page-turner from one of American's most beloved and engaging storytellers.

What Happens in Paradise Details

TitleWhat Happens in Paradise
Author
ReleaseOct 8th, 2019
PublisherLittle, Brown and Company
ISBN-139780316426077
Rating
GenreFiction, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit, Romance

What Happens in Paradise Review

  • Book of the Month
    January 1, 1970
    Why I love itby Siobhan JonesWhat Happens in Paradise is Elin Hilderbrand’s wonderful follow-up to the first book in her romantic mystery series set on a sleepy—or not so sleepy?—Caribbean island. It’s also the second book that BOTM has featured by Hilderbrand this year, and the one that establishes her as our second-ever “threepeat” author.Longtime fans of the author and her cozy yet elevated books—and I know there are millions of them out there—are probably delighted to see this as a selection Why I love itby Siobhan JonesWhat Happens in Paradise is Elin Hilderbrand’s wonderful follow-up to the first book in her romantic mystery series set on a sleepy—or not so sleepy?—Caribbean island. It’s also the second book that BOTM has featured by Hilderbrand this year, and the one that establishes her as our second-ever “threepeat” author.Longtime fans of the author and her cozy yet elevated books—and I know there are millions of them out there—are probably delighted to see this as a selection, while others may be wondering if we chose this book simply because there are millions of them out there. All I have to say about that is: Don’t knock this book until you’ve read it. The Paradise series is a treasure chest of can’t-guess-it plot twists, salty family drama, and pure reading bliss.This book picks up where Winter in Paradise left off: Iowa housewife Irene is struggling to accept the unexpected death of her jetsetting businessman husband, her sons Cash and Baker are each struggling with their girl dramas, and Ayers—the deeply relatable St. Johns local—is making bad decisions. If you didn’t read Winter, I encourage you to grab both books now and dive in, because this trilogy is heating up, and you can tell it’s only going to get better. Intricate plotting, a diverse cast of likeably flawed characters, and a beachy setting right as I’m swapping my summer clothes for sweater weather are all I need right now—surely you can’t disagree?Read more at: https://bookofthemonth.com/what-happe...
    more
  • Debbie Oliphant
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 StarsGreat storytelling, could not put down, what a cliffhanger.Review to follow
  • Erin
    January 1, 1970
    WARNING: If you haven't read book one, proceed with caution as I have a lot to say! One of my most anticipated books of the fall. Read it in one swoop, but....and there is a but... So book two picks up very close to where Winter in Paradise left off. Irene returns home to deal with the legal and personal challenges in making it known that Russ has died. Yet she cannot resist the pull to return to the villa and Huck. Sons Cash and Baker are both changed for the better by their experiences and s WARNING: If you haven't read book one, proceed with caution as I have a lot to say! One of my most anticipated books of the fall. Read it in one swoop, but....and there is a but... So book two picks up very close to where Winter in Paradise left off. Irene returns home to deal with the legal and personal challenges in making it known that Russ has died. Yet she cannot resist the pull to return to the villa and Huck. Sons Cash and Baker are both changed for the better by their experiences and set about to start anew. Of course, Ayers is still a big issue between the brothers.But she's back with her cheating ex and it appears to be going well. Finally, Huck realizes that it's not so easy to deal with a teenage Maia. But when the FBI comes a knocking, none of our characters might be prepared for what happens next. It felt so great to be back in the Virgin Islands and with Elin Hilderbrand's fantastic characters. As a reader, I just cannot help but feel that I am revisiting old friends or family. Now here comes the BUT! As much as I loved and give this book a 4 star(which is by no means a bad rating), I felt that it wasn't as strong is its predecessor. In fact, it felt a bit like filler. Things happened fast for our characters, but there's a lot of wishy washy behavior (looking at you, Ayers). Almost like EH had to pull herself back and "save the good stuff" for book 3. Also? I haven't mentioned it previously but we get increments of Rosie's diary and how she met Russ and their whirlwind courtship. Now I TOTALLY understand as a writer why EH might feel the need to give that backstory. After all, it does explain a few plot points. As a reader with a personal opinion, I am not sure that I needed that "voice." Don't let me deter you because we all need a healthy dose of EH in our reading selection and I look forward to what happens next. Thanks to Netgalley and Little, Brown and Company for a digital galley in exchange for an honest review. Goodreads review published 18/09/19 Publication Date. 08 /10/19
    more
  • Toni
    January 1, 1970
    “It was just in the week before, only a couple days after they’d arrived home from St. John, an FBI agent named Colette Vasco called Irene, Cash, and Baker to let them know that the Virgin Islands Search and Rescue team had contacted the Bureau with suspicions that there might be more to the helicopter crash and the lightning. There was lightning in the area, but the damage to the helicopter seems to have been caused by an explosive device.” (paraphrased)“What now,” thought the three remaining m “It was just in the week before, only a couple days after they’d arrived home from St. John, an FBI agent named Colette Vasco called Irene, Cash, and Baker to let them know that the Virgin Islands Search and Rescue team had contacted the Bureau with suspicions that there might be more to the helicopter crash and the lightning. There was lightning in the area, but the damage to the helicopter seems to have been caused by an explosive device.” (paraphrased)“What now,” thought the three remaining members of the Steele family. The first shock was the death of Russell Steele, Irene’s husband, and Cash and Baker’s father, on New Year’s Day in the US Virgin Islands. Once they got there, they discovered Russell had a second life that included another woman, their child, plus an extravagant condo he owned. Now they’re saying the helicopter crash that killed him may have been intentional. Irene needed to talk to their family lawyer, someone she knew and trusted, for guidance. Her next step was to get a certified copy of Russ’s death certificate; otherwise her lawyer told her, he was considered, “alive.”One by one, the Steele family members make their way back to island of St. John they both love and want to hate. The pull of this beautiful paradise is almost magnetic, and not just for its natural wonders. The people they all met, well certain people, have charmed each of them. (Note: it would benefit readers to have read the first book in this trilogy: ‘Winter in Paradise’) Irene is concerned about Maia, the thirteen-year-old daughter of Rosie, who was killed in the crash with Russ. Russ is Maia’s biological father. Irene also wants to see Huck again, Rosie’s stepfather, and subsequent Grandfather of Maia, whom Irene felt definite sparks with.Keeping up?! Cash and Baker are both in love with the same women, Ayers, who was Rosie’s best friend and helper in caring for Maia, since Rosie’s mother passed away. They need to figure out who Ayers really cares about since when they left the island she went back to her cheating boyfriend, Mick. Both Cash and Baker definitely think Mick is wrong for her, but who is the right guy. Finally, that leaves all the suspicions around Russ’s boss, Todd Croft and his company. The big plus in this second book is we hear from Rosie and a little about what went on when she met Russ. Ayers found all her diaries when cleaning out Rosie’s room. Ayers and Huck found more, but you have to read this book to find out.So much happens in this second book it’s truly an adventure. I raced through it the first time, then like a movie you love but were afraid you missed something, I read it again. Honest, I did. I might actually read it a third time; it was that good.A MUST READ! (Mm, a movie?! HBO series?!)Thank you NetGalley, Little, Brown and Co., Inc. and Elin Hilderbrand
    more
  • Zoe
    January 1, 1970
    Escapist, addictive, and downright enthralling!In this latest novel in the Paradise series, What Happens in Paradise, we head back to the idyllic island of St. John and into the lives of the Steele family who after the turbulent events triggered by the death of the patriarch in the first novel begin to accept, heal, move on, take chances, forge new friendships, and find new love even while the underlying feelings of dread still linger.The writing is smooth and seamless. The characters are hesita Escapist, addictive, and downright enthralling!In this latest novel in the Paradise series, What Happens in Paradise, we head back to the idyllic island of St. John and into the lives of the Steele family who after the turbulent events triggered by the death of the patriarch in the first novel begin to accept, heal, move on, take chances, forge new friendships, and find new love even while the underlying feelings of dread still linger.The writing is smooth and seamless. The characters are hesitant, multilayered, and intriguing. And the plot is an alluring tale of life, loss, heartbreak, friendship, family, coming-of-age, secrets, deception, corruption, and new beginnings.Overall, What Happens in Paradise is a heartwarming, mysterious, romantic, domestic drama that keeps you engaged and invested from start to finish and with its beautiful infusions of island living and tantalizing cliffhanger ending it will undoubtedly leave you eager for more and counting down the days until the third and final novel in this trilogy becomes available.Thank you to HBG Canada for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Robin
    January 1, 1970
    This was an easy read with a fairly predictable cliff-hanger ending but that didn't stop me from enjoying it. A word of caution, though: the story continues where Winter in Paradise left off and there are very few backstories as to what happened in the previous book and who is who. If you can wait until the third book is published next year, binge by reading all three in one sitting. Thanks to the publisher for the advance digital reading copy. To be published October 2019.
    more
  • Marisa
    January 1, 1970
    This book was everything a second book in a trilogy (or hopefully more!) should be. It shed some light on events in the first book... fleshed out the characters....and left the reader wanting more! I loved the first book in this series and loved this installment even more. As summer comes to an end it is nice to have a story that will leave me dreaming of summer!!
    more
  • Donna Hines
    January 1, 1970
    That moment when you think you know your spouse after 35 yrs of marriage only to find out you married a con artist and have two sons Cash and Baker.To make matters worse Russ was killed in a helicopter crash on New Years Day so closure may never be offered up on that silver platter.However, the story doesn't end there as this is St. John's a beautiful tropical and lush paradise that was unfortunately set back with mother nature but that doesn't stop the action and suspense here and trust me ther That moment when you think you know your spouse after 35 yrs of marriage only to find out you married a con artist and have two sons Cash and Baker.To make matters worse Russ was killed in a helicopter crash on New Years Day so closure may never be offered up on that silver platter.However, the story doesn't end there as this is St. John's a beautiful tropical and lush paradise that was unfortunately set back with mother nature but that doesn't stop the action and suspense here and trust me there's plenty of affairs and one night stands.So much talk about money laundering, tax evasion, fraud and the like that it's hard to understand why it's so difficult to live a life on the up and up especially with a fab biz like Ascension."Love is messy, complicated, and unfair."Truth be told it's insane how crazy these relationships became and sad how it ended but you never know there may just be that glimmer of hope.I was ok with this one till the end and didn't really have much interest in the closure offered.All in all not a bad read as I love to read Elin's work and it's such a pleasure to be chosen for auto approval at NetGalley with this publisher Little Brown and Company.
    more
  • Rebecca
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to the publisher, via Netgalley, for an advance e-galley for honest review.Romance, island life, secrets and mysteries- this Elin Hilderbrand story was just as juicy and page-turning as the first in the series (last year's Welcome to Paradise). More is revealed about Russ and Rosie, their relationship and what they were hiding, and Cash, Baker, and Irene (as well as Huck), are all trying to adjust to new realities and trying to embrace St. John. There is a definite cliffhanger at the end, Thanks to the publisher, via Netgalley, for an advance e-galley for honest review.Romance, island life, secrets and mysteries- this Elin Hilderbrand story was just as juicy and page-turning as the first in the series (last year's Welcome to Paradise). More is revealed about Russ and Rosie, their relationship and what they were hiding, and Cash, Baker, and Irene (as well as Huck), are all trying to adjust to new realities and trying to embrace St. John. There is a definite cliffhanger at the end, and I can't wait to find out what happens next.
    more
  • Denise
    January 1, 1970
    "Love is messy, complicated, and unfair."This second book in a planned trilogy picks up right where "Winter in Paradise" left off so I urge you to read the first one before plunging back into the drama and romance. The big bombshells from book one are lingering and still producing damage to the family Russ Steele left behind when he died in a helicopter crash along with his island mistress, Rosie. Russ's wife, Irene, and his sons, Baker and Cash, spent some time on St. John before returning to t "Love is messy, complicated, and unfair."This second book in a planned trilogy picks up right where "Winter in Paradise" left off so I urge you to read the first one before plunging back into the drama and romance. The big bombshells from book one are lingering and still producing damage to the family Russ Steele left behind when he died in a helicopter crash along with his island mistress, Rosie. Russ's wife, Irene, and his sons, Baker and Cash, spent some time on St. John before returning to their homes in the USA. Unsettled, they all long to return to St. John and to the people they met during their brief visit after the shocking death and revelations. So they all end up back on the island trying to make sense of their discoveries but it seems the FBI has now taken an interest in them as well. It seems that whatever Russ had been doing at his job with hedge-fund Ascension wasn't exactly legal. Secrets and lies are keeping each member of the family from finding happiness. As they come to grips with their new reality and try to settle in on St. John, there is a big storm (not the weather kind of destruction) coming their way and this book ends with quite the cliffhanger. NO SPOILERS.I recently made my first trip to the lovely island of St. John and fell in love with it. It was so much fun to be able to recognize many of the places described in loving detail and it brought back some great memories that I hope to repeat. The descriptions make you feel as if you are there and a part of island life. The characters are quite interesting though some need a good shake to get themselves together and make some good decisions. Of course there is a lot of romance going on and it seems ever so convenient but hey, I took it all in stride! I very much enjoy this series and can't wait to see how it all ends in the next book. This was a book that was easy to read in one sitting!Thank you to NetGalley and Little, Brown and Company for the e-book ARC to read and review.
    more
  • Mandi Rink
    January 1, 1970
    Last year I listened to the audiobook, “Winter in Paradise” by Elin Hilderbrand. I was forcing myself to branch out of my normal ‘thriller/horror’ genre. I thoroughly enjoyed ‘Winter in Paradise’ and could not wait for the second book in this chick lit trilogy, ‘What Happens in Paradise.” You could read this book as a standalone but I really do not recommend it. ‘What Happens in Paradise’ picks up right where we left our characters at the ending of the first in this trilogy. Irene is struggling Last year I listened to the audiobook, “Winter in Paradise” by Elin Hilderbrand. I was forcing myself to branch out of my normal ‘thriller/horror’ genre. I thoroughly enjoyed ‘Winter in Paradise’ and could not wait for the second book in this chick lit trilogy, ‘What Happens in Paradise.” You could read this book as a standalone but I really do not recommend it. ‘What Happens in Paradise’ picks up right where we left our characters at the ending of the first in this trilogy. Irene is struggling to understand her husband’s death, her fresh feelings for Huck, and her new life on the island. Cash has decided to start over on the island, accepting a new position on a snorkeling boat. Baker, in the midst of divorcing his wife, has similarly decided to return to St. John. Both men are hopeful of a new relationship with the island’s most sought out bachelorette, Ayers Wilson. The conclusion of the book leaves you guessing and wanting more out of these characters. I really love Hilderbrand’s writing style. She seems to be able to construct a storyline that captivates me when most authors would bore me writing of the same subjects. The characters are not always loveable, I am looking at you Baker and Ayers, but they are always real. I was able to read ‘What Happens in Paradise’ in three days and I really wished I had paced myself. This book helps build the characters and their relationships better and, presents us with glimpses of characters that were not directly in the first volume. I really do recommend this series to many patrons that come to the library because I enjoyed it so much. I hope Mrs. Hilderbrand does not make us wait too long for the conclusion. Thank you Netgalley and the publisher for the prepublished eBook.
    more
  • Cassie-Traveling Sister-
    January 1, 1970
    Oh my gosh another amazing book I couldn’t put down I finished in a day! Yes you read that correctly in a day! This continues the story from Winter In Paradise right where it left off. After leaving St. John’s Irene, Cash and Baker are all missing the island life. They each return and begin to rebuild their lives after losing their father and husband. The readers get more insight on how Russ and Rosie meet and begin their affair and also what kind of seedy business Russ was in. To make matters w Oh my gosh another amazing book I couldn’t put down I finished in a day! Yes you read that correctly in a day! This continues the story from Winter In Paradise right where it left off. After leaving St. John’s Irene, Cash and Baker are all missing the island life. They each return and begin to rebuild their lives after losing their father and husband. The readers get more insight on how Russ and Rosie meet and begin their affair and also what kind of seedy business Russ was in. To make matters worse the FBI are now investigating the helicopter crash along with Russ and his now missing business partner/ boss. This includes Iowa and the St. John villa. Of course the relationship with Cash, Baker and Ayers is still complicated and I just adore Huck and Irene. The book is told in multiple points of view include the past with Rosie’s diary. I give this five stars and just love the island and the mystery surrounding the characters. I don’t want to give to much away but cliff hanger is killing me!!
    more
  • Brittany
    January 1, 1970
    I started this one on Friday night, planning to read just a few chapters since I'm in the middle of two other books. I couldn't stop reading and ended up finishing it this weekend--it's that good! The story picks up right where the first book ends, so you may want to spend some time reviewing the first book in the series before you start this one. Ayers and Huck are still grieving on the island, while Irene and her sons have returned to the states. Eventually, the Steele family returns to St. Jo I started this one on Friday night, planning to read just a few chapters since I'm in the middle of two other books. I couldn't stop reading and ended up finishing it this weekend--it's that good! The story picks up right where the first book ends, so you may want to spend some time reviewing the first book in the series before you start this one. Ayers and Huck are still grieving on the island, while Irene and her sons have returned to the states. Eventually, the Steele family returns to St. John to start a new life there, and to learn more about their island family. The reader gets a tantalizing glimpse at the backstory between Rosie and Russ, but the novel ends with another cliff-hanger. It will be a long wait to find out how the trilogy resolves! Thanks so much to Little, Brown and Netgalley for the preview!
    more
  • Amanda Costopoulos
    January 1, 1970
    The second book to the TRILOGY! Ended in a huge cliff hanger! The family has moved back down to St. John and they’re living in the villa. There are 4 sections, each with a perspective from each main character and at the end of each section is an entry from Rosie’s diary!!!!Irene takes a job working as the first mate on Huck’s charter boat, he falls in love with her but she tells him it’s too soon.Cash gets a job with Ayers on the Treasure Island boat tour. He likes Ayers, but eventually starts a The second book to the TRILOGY! Ended in a huge cliff hanger! The family has moved back down to St. John and they’re living in the villa. There are 4 sections, each with a perspective from each main character and at the end of each section is an entry from Rosie’s diary!!!!Irene takes a job working as the first mate on Huck’s charter boat, he falls in love with her but she tells him it’s too soon.Cash gets a job with Ayers on the Treasure Island boat tour. He likes Ayers, but eventually starts a relationship with Tilda, a waitress at La Tapa.Baker’s lesbian ex-wife Anna is moving to Cleveland with her partner Louisa, so Baker packs up Floyd and heads to St. John to reconnect with Ayers.Ayers is dating Mick and it’s going ok, she definitely doesn’t trust him. Rightfully so, because she sees Mick on the ferry with Brigid (the waitress Mick cheated on her the first time with) and breaks up with him. She invites Baker over and they have sex, but he had to leave in the morning to Houston to tie up the loose ends. Mick is there the next morning and convinces Ayers to join him for the day for some surprises and he PROPOSES! Ayers kinda says yes, but literally that night Maia sees Mick kiss a hysterically crying Brigid on the beach and tells Ayers.From Rosie’s diary, we follow the story of her first meeting Russ 12 years ago when they spend a weekend together and he left, them both thinking they’d never see each other again. But she got pregnant. For a while, Russ was only sending money because Rosie felt guilty about being a mistress, but eventually Russ bought the villa to put down more permanent roots with his secret island family. Russ tells Rosie so much more about his work than he ever told Irene. Telling her that it was laundering money and investing for very bad people. Russ wants to quit his job because he feels guilty about working for an illegal business. Todd Croft is mad that Russ wants to leave and tries to intimidate Rosie into convincing him to stay with the company. Russ says that he has made a deal with Todd’s business partner, Stephen Johnson to sign a nondisclosure and a noncompete. Rosie gives him an ultimatum to propose by New Years or she’s done. The night of New Years, Russ said Stephen has offered to fly them to Anegada via helicopter, where Rosie thinks he is going to propose. ......but as we know the helicopter goes down in a lightening strike (which we learn is a lie, it was actually a type of bomb) and all 3 passsengers, Russ, Rosie and Stephen, die.So at the end of the book, the FBI is seizing the villa and the house in Iowa City, and probably all the other assets of Russ, because it was bought with illegal money. They have Todd Croft in custody and he threw Russ under the bus and a co-conspirator.
    more
  • Laura Jones
    January 1, 1970
    The second installment in her Winter in Paradise series, What Happens in Paradise gives readers a little more insight into the story of the late Rosie Small and Russ Steele and their love affair that was tragically cut short when both were killed in a helicopter crash as the first book began. As with all of her spectacularly written beach reads, this one leaves readers on a cliffhanger wondering what will happen next. Waiting for the next installment is going to be torture for me! Ironically, th The second installment in her Winter in Paradise series, What Happens in Paradise gives readers a little more insight into the story of the late Rosie Small and Russ Steele and their love affair that was tragically cut short when both were killed in a helicopter crash as the first book began. As with all of her spectacularly written beach reads, this one leaves readers on a cliffhanger wondering what will happen next. Waiting for the next installment is going to be torture for me! Ironically, the remaining members of the Steele family, Irene, Baker, Cash, and Baker's young son, Floyd, all end up on the island of St. John once again, a place where Russ had a secret sprawling villa on Little Cinnamon as well as a secret mistress and tween daughter, Maia. To complicate matters, the FBI is now investigating the helicopter crash, along with Russ and his business partner Todd Croft, searching around both the Iowa City and Little Cinnamon villa for clues. Baker and Cash are both still vying for Ayers' (Rosie Small's best friend) attention, though Baker more seriously, after his wife Anna, now a lesbian, agrees on a divorce and then decides to move out of state to work, live, and start a family with her lover. Ayers is back with her ex-husband Mick, even though he cheated on her in the past with one of his bar employees. Let's just say, once a cheater, always a cheater. Things are looking good for Baker on that front. Cash doesn't really have anything tying him to Colorado just as Irene feels a pull to St. John and her budding friendship with Huck, Meanwhile, Ayers and Huck find some unsettling information while cleaning out and searching Rosie's room before the FBI does the same thing. Rosie's step-father. As the Steele family settles into St. John, more fireworks from the past ignite, forcing each of them to consider what the future holds for them and where they should call their home - Iowa City or St. John? Readers will love the atmospheric setting of St. John with its picturesque beaches and quaint streets. What Happens in Paradise is a quick read which is written in multiple points of view between characters in short chapters, keeping readers interested and wondering what Elin has up her sleeve for the third and final book in the series. Thank you to Netgalley for providing me with an advance reader's edition of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Jan Fore
    January 1, 1970
    What Happens in ParadiseElin HilderbrandOctober 8, 2019Irene Steele is plagued with dreams of her late husband, Russ returning from the dead since returning from St. John, Virgin Islands where she and her sons, Cash and Baker spread his ashes in the ocean. She and Cash have come back to her home in Iowa City. Irene is trying her best to put her life back together since the helicopter crash with Russ and his mistress, Rosie aboard. The storyline picks up at exactly at the point it ended in the bo What Happens in ParadiseElin HilderbrandOctober 8, 2019Irene Steele is plagued with dreams of her late husband, Russ returning from the dead since returning from St. John, Virgin Islands where she and her sons, Cash and Baker spread his ashes in the ocean. She and Cash have come back to her home in Iowa City. Irene is trying her best to put her life back together since the helicopter crash with Russ and his mistress, Rosie aboard. The storyline picks up at exactly at the point it ended in the book, Winter in Paradise. I found myself backtracking trying to remember the last of the book. Paradise 2 continues on in a chapter by chapter view by each of the prominent characters. Baker and his son, Floyd plan on moving to the islands where Floyd will enter the gifted school for the school year. Cash has taken a job as a dive instructor with the Treasure Island boat. Ayers is still in the tropics trying to work it out with Mick. She too works on the Treasure Island and weekend nights at La Tapa. Rosie’s daughter lives with grandfather, Huck. She is back in school while spending much off-time with Ayers or Cash. Irene has left her job in journalism to join Huck’s boat crew. Irene is at ease on the water as she and Huck enjoy each other as much as the passenger’s view while fishing. Aside from the characters private lives we find the FBI is hard at work to discover the details behind Russ and his coworkers illegal business actions.Details are complex but entertaining as typical for Hilderbrand’s books. It isn’t really necessary to have read the first book in the series but knowing the characters helps to keep the story line clear. I really enjoyed this second book on Paradise and look forward to number 3. Yes, there has to be a sequel to What Happened in Paradise as it’s end was abrupt, just as the first was. I look forward to it. What Happens in Paradise by Elin Hilderbrand will be published on October 8, 2019 by Little, Brown and Company. If you enjoy her books make sure to pick up a copy of this one. It was truly a pleasure to read the digital galley edition. Ms. Hilderbrand has once again hit the mark with the follow up in the Paradise series.
    more
  • Pam
    January 1, 1970
    What Happens in Paradise: Paradise series Book 2 is by Elin Hilderbrand. This is fantastic. The writing is such that it takes you right to St. John and places you in the exact places the characters are in. You can visualize the stunning beaches and the turquoise water as well as the bars and restaurants. When they are on The Mississippi, you can visualize what they are seeing and feeling. Elin’s way with words is amazing. The book continues the story of Russell Steele and his dual lives. One lif What Happens in Paradise: Paradise series Book 2 is by Elin Hilderbrand. This is fantastic. The writing is such that it takes you right to St. John and places you in the exact places the characters are in. You can visualize the stunning beaches and the turquoise water as well as the bars and restaurants. When they are on The Mississippi, you can visualize what they are seeing and feeling. Elin’s way with words is amazing. The book continues the story of Russell Steele and his dual lives. One life was with his wife Irene and their two sons, Cash and Baker in Iowa City. The other was on St. John with Rosie and his daughter, Maia. How he managed to keep Irene from knowing about his twelve-year affair with Rosie is amazing. She just put his being absent off on his job with Tom Crofts. On the other hand, Rosie knew from the start that he was married but continued to hope that he would leave Irene and stay on St. John with her. In the meantime, he also managed to keep everyone from knowing just what he did to make all the new money that he had. Irene and both her sons end up back on St. John. Cash to work on the tour boat, Treasure Island, with Ayers and hopefully get her to like him as much as he likes her. Baker and his son Floyd come to the island with the intention of moving there. His wife has left him for Louise and they are moving to Cleveland so it no longer matters where he lives as long as he gets Floyd to Cleveland for his visits. He intends to marry Ayers as soon as his divorce is final if she will have him. Irene comes back to work for Huck on his fishing tours. It gives her something different to so which she loves. She hopes to come to some final closure on the death of Russ. Now, waiting for the final book in the series will be difficult. I can hardly wait to see what happens to all of the characters. Russ certainly left a mess behind him.
    more
  • Denise Reed
    January 1, 1970
    Love me some Elin Hilderbrand! Whether it's on Nantucket or on St. John, Hilderbrand whisks me away from the chilly New England fall to the sun and sands of the beach, and I am never disappointed. What Happens in Paradise is the second book in the trilogy, and picks up right where Winter in Paradise leaves off (I did go back and skim through Winter in Paradise first, to refresh my memory). In my opinion, this is definitely not a stand alone though, as the first book is crucial to understanding a Love me some Elin Hilderbrand! Whether it's on Nantucket or on St. John, Hilderbrand whisks me away from the chilly New England fall to the sun and sands of the beach, and I am never disappointed. What Happens in Paradise is the second book in the trilogy, and picks up right where Winter in Paradise leaves off (I did go back and skim through Winter in Paradise first, to refresh my memory). In my opinion, this is definitely not a stand alone though, as the first book is crucial to understanding and fully enjoying this one. What Happens in Paradise is the perfect second book in a trilogy - it gives a lot of insight on events from the first book, grows the characters more deeply, and leaves you eagerly anticipating the final book! All of the players from the first book return - Irene, Huck, Maia, Ayers, Cash, and Baker, and they are all continuing to make new lives for themselves after the death of their mutual connection, Russ Steele. I really liked how this book offered a new and interesting perspective from Rosie's journals, and seeing the situation through her eyes, shed a new light on the story. I will say that oddly, I like Irene a bit less after reading Rosie's journals, although in fairness, she has never been my favorite character in this series for some reason. That being said, after finishing this book, another character is now a close second in my least favorite category (Ayers, I'm pointing a finger at you, girl, make up your damn mind!) I also liked the cliffhanger ending, and the hints to what will take place, as far as relationships, in the final book. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and the only downside is that I now have to wait another year for the final book in the trilogy. 4 stars!
    more
  • Susie Williams
    January 1, 1970
    (thank you to the publisher and NetGalley for my copy of this book!)3 1/2 stars rounded up to 4.Let me start by saying I absolutely LOVE Elin Hilderband and will forever read everything by her. That doesn't mean all of her books blow me away... But they do bring me a certain level of happiness and comfort and I eagerly anticipate them always. What Happens in Paradise is the second book in Hilderbrand's winter series. I read and enjoyed Winter in Paradise and have been waiting for the continuatio (thank you to the publisher and NetGalley for my copy of this book!)3 1/2 stars rounded up to 4.Let me start by saying I absolutely LOVE Elin Hilderband and will forever read everything by her. That doesn't mean all of her books blow me away... But they do bring me a certain level of happiness and comfort and I eagerly anticipate them always. What Happens in Paradise is the second book in Hilderbrand's winter series. I read and enjoyed Winter in Paradise and have been waiting for the continuation of the story in this new book. I read it and enjoyed it, but have to say, nothing really happened that was exceptionally exciting or novel.For me, these books seem to be most about characterization. I like that I got to know Ayers a lot better and that we got a serious peek into Rosie and Russ's relationship (though it felt a bit cliche that she just happened to write every detail down in her journals). I also found myself continuing to cheer for Irene and Huck. While I'll definitely read the third book in the series (and happily, too!), I'm pretty sure I can guess at how almost everything will happen. Like I said, these books are more about comfort to me and I don't read them because they're going to blow me away. And that's OK! I just think Hilderbrand raised my expectations a bit after writing Summer of '69.Oh, and I HIGHLY recommend you read Winter in Paradise before picking this book up. Yes, it could potentially stand on its own, but I think you might be a bit confused by the characters and will have missed out on a lot of backstory that will help you enjoy the story more.
    more
  • Rachel De
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to @hbgcanada for my ARC of this one in exchange for an honest review! It was the perfect pick my up after my sad September reading I’ve done thus far. It was a quick, light and addicting read!Continuing the story from Winter in Paradise where Irene’s husband died in a helicopter accident and she and her sons, Cash and Baker, discovered he has a whole second life in the Caribbean! Now that they have been there, they are all missing St. John’s, each for their own reasons. While they con Thank you to @hbgcanada for my ARC of this one in exchange for an honest review! It was the perfect pick my up after my sad September reading I’ve done thus far. It was a quick, light and addicting read!Continuing the story from Winter in Paradise where Irene’s husband died in a helicopter accident and she and her sons, Cash and Baker, discovered he has a whole second life in the Caribbean! Now that they have been there, they are all missing St. John’s, each for their own reasons. While they consider coming back down permanently, romances bloom, and the investigation into the mystery crash gets more and more intense!I am already dying for book three because this one is just as addictive as the first! This time around we have the added benefit of Rosie’s perspective on top of the multiple perspectives we have going through the main characters.Elin Hilderbrand makes me so obsessed with her books and their characters...It was like checking back in with old friends to get back into this story! If you haven’t read the series, it’s worth getting into for the characters alone!Finally, Hilderbrand spends weeks each year in St. John’s so the scene she sets there is just impeccable! Makes me miss the beach an insane amount.Can’t wait for the next instalment! This one hits shelves in October 8th!
    more
  • Kathy
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for the Kindle ARC of "What Happens in Paradise," by Elin Hilderbrand. I have just recently discovered Elin Hilderbrand's books - and my first one was "The Rumor." I was hooked. "What Happens in Paradise" is the second book in a planned trilogy, following Irene, her two sons and the residents of St. John, BVI. In "Winter in Paradise," Irene's world is rocked when she finds out that her husband, Russ, had been living a double life in St. John, under the gu Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for the Kindle ARC of "What Happens in Paradise," by Elin Hilderbrand. I have just recently discovered Elin Hilderbrand's books - and my first one was "The Rumor." I was hooked. "What Happens in Paradise" is the second book in a planned trilogy, following Irene, her two sons and the residents of St. John, BVI. In "Winter in Paradise," Irene's world is rocked when she finds out that her husband, Russ, had been living a double life in St. John, under the guise of travel elsewhere for his business. Irene is told that he, an island woman and a helicopter pilot died in a New Year's Day crash in the islands. In "What Happens in Paradise," Irene and her two adult sons, Cash and Baker, return to St. John, which they had visited after the alleged helicopter crash. Each member of the family starts a relationship or entanglement with a different islander. Ms. Hilderbrand's "Paradise" series is engrossing and hard to put down. Her writing style is light and breezy but tells a gripping story. I can't wait for the third book in the "Paradise" series. In the meantime, I'll check out one of her older novels.
    more
  • Kathy
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for the Kindle ARC of "What Happens in Paradise," by Elin Hilderbrand. I have just recently discovered Elin Hilderbrand's books - and my first one was "The Rumor." I was hooked. "What Happens in Paradise" is the second book in a planned trilogy, following Irene, her two sons and the residents of St. John, BVI. In "Winter in Paradise," Irene's world is rocked when she finds out that her husband, Russ, had been living a double life in St. John, under the gu Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for the Kindle ARC of "What Happens in Paradise," by Elin Hilderbrand. I have just recently discovered Elin Hilderbrand's books - and my first one was "The Rumor." I was hooked. "What Happens in Paradise" is the second book in a planned trilogy, following Irene, her two sons and the residents of St. John, BVI. In "Winter in Paradise," Irene's world is rocked when she finds out that her husband, Russ, had been living a double life in St. John, under the guise of travel elsewhere for his business. Irene is told that he, an island woman and a helicopter pilot died in a New Year's Day crash in the islands. In "What Happens in Paradise," Irene and her two adult sons, Cash and Baker, return to St. John, which they had visited after the alleged helicopter crash. Each member of the family starts a relationship or entanglement with a different islander. Ms. Hilderbrand's "Paradise" series is engrossing and hard to put down. Her writing style is light and breezy but tells a gripping story. I can't wait for the third book in the "Paradise" series. In the meantime, I'll check out one of her older novels
    more
  • Dawn
    January 1, 1970
    I adore Elin Hilderbrand and this new trilogy is amazing. This is the second book of a trilogy involving a woman and mother named Irene who discovers some pretty large secrets after her husband dies in a helicopter crash in the Virgin Islands.I do not want to spoil anything, but all our favorite characters from the first book, Maia, Huck, Ayers, Cash, and Baker are back in the U.S. Virgin Islands to continue to make new lives for themselves after the death of their loved ones. The book also offe I adore Elin Hilderbrand and this new trilogy is amazing. This is the second book of a trilogy involving a woman and mother named Irene who discovers some pretty large secrets after her husband dies in a helicopter crash in the Virgin Islands.I do not want to spoil anything, but all our favorite characters from the first book, Maia, Huck, Ayers, Cash, and Baker are back in the U.S. Virgin Islands to continue to make new lives for themselves after the death of their loved ones. The book also offers a lot of new and interesting perspective from Rosie, and seeing the situation from her eyes led a new dimension to the story. While I would highly recommend getting the first book, Winter in Paradise, you could read this without it. It's Elin Hilderbrand, she could write a car manual and it would be enjoyable!I really enjoyed the touch of mystery that continued in this book, and I am looking so forward to being able to read the end of the trilogy. Thanks to the author, publisher, and www.NetGalley.com for my ARC.
    more
  • Jilly
    January 1, 1970
    This is the second book the in Winter in Paradise trilogy, and it is a really solid follow up to the first book. The story line picks up right where the first book left off, and luckily Hilderbrand includes enough reminders for the readers about who the main characters are and the conflicts associated with them. I felt like the first book really focused a lot on Baker and Cash, but I really like that this book focuses more on Irene and how she's moving forward after the death and betrayal of her This is the second book the in Winter in Paradise trilogy, and it is a really solid follow up to the first book. The story line picks up right where the first book left off, and luckily Hilderbrand includes enough reminders for the readers about who the main characters are and the conflicts associated with them. I felt like the first book really focused a lot on Baker and Cash, but I really like that this book focuses more on Irene and how she's moving forward after the death and betrayal of her husband. Like some other readers mentioned, the only part of the book I did not like was Ayers and the love triangle (square?). It's too much back and forth, and really made her less sympathetic in this book. I'm over that whole plot line and hope that there's even less focus on it in the third book. This book ends on a huge plot point, so I'm really looking forward to the third book to see how the series ends.Thank you NetGalley for the ARC of this book.
    more
  • Cathy Branciforte
    January 1, 1970
    The second book in the Paradise trilogy did not disappoint! I always drop everything when I can get my hands on a DRC of Elin Hilderbrand’s books, since I know I will be in for a treat. I have been waiting for this one since last year, as the story of the Steele family continued. I have to say that I did go back and reread Winter in Paradise very quickly to refresh my memory and it did help to keep the story going; I’m not so sure this could be a stand alone book as the author says it can be.The The second book in the Paradise trilogy did not disappoint! I always drop everything when I can get my hands on a DRC of Elin Hilderbrand’s books, since I know I will be in for a treat. I have been waiting for this one since last year, as the story of the Steele family continued. I have to say that I did go back and reread Winter in Paradise very quickly to refresh my memory and it did help to keep the story going; I’m not so sure this could be a stand alone book as the author says it can be.The characters, as always in a Hilderbrand book, are so well developed, as she juggles her chapters around focusing on each character and slowly unfolding the plot while doing so. It’s what she does best and why I love her books so much! Of course the setting is another character in the book. Like Nantucket, St John is now well imagined in my mind and on my bucket list to visit some day!Thanks to Little Brown & Co and Netgalley for the opportunity to read the digital review copy!
    more
  • Natalie
    January 1, 1970
    OH NO! Will I have to wait a year to read the final installment of this trilogy? I love Hilderbrand’s Nantucket books, and she has transferred the magic to St John. The characters are tremendously likable, and I was glad to read this follow up to the first part of the trilogy. Once again, Irene returns to the island to deal with the secrets and lies of her late husband. She is portrayed as a woman of huge warmth and kindness who has managed to embrace the detritus of her husband’s secret life. T OH NO! Will I have to wait a year to read the final installment of this trilogy? I love Hilderbrand’s Nantucket books, and she has transferred the magic to St John. The characters are tremendously likable, and I was glad to read this follow up to the first part of the trilogy. Once again, Irene returns to the island to deal with the secrets and lies of her late husband. She is portrayed as a woman of huge warmth and kindness who has managed to embrace the detritus of her husband’s secret life. The setting is so delightful and the characters so engaging that the reader feels like part of the community. I was lucky enough to have visited pre-Hurricane St John and these descriptions made my mouth water at the thought of returning. No spoilers, but this novel ends with a huge cliffhanger which makes me yearn for resolution. Thanks Netgalley, for this delightful read.
    more
  • Erica (sand_between_pages)
    January 1, 1970
    Unexpectedly, I find myself in a "meh" state of mind..So, I was a HUGE fan of Winter in Paradise. It was easily a 5-star read for me: entertaining, thought-provoking, compelling, and a cliff hanger to boot..Well, What Happens in Paradise has the cliff hanger. It's sorta entertaining at parts. It's not very thought-provoking, and the only thing that compelled me to keep going was the attachment I fostered to the characters in the first novel..Maybe it's me? I'm coming off an 800 page book with lo Unexpectedly, I find myself in a "meh" state of mind..So, I was a HUGE fan of Winter in Paradise. It was easily a 5-star read for me: entertaining, thought-provoking, compelling, and a cliff hanger to boot..Well, What Happens in Paradise has the cliff hanger. It's sorta entertaining at parts. It's not very thought-provoking, and the only thing that compelled me to keep going was the attachment I fostered to the characters in the first novel..Maybe it's me? I'm coming off an 800 page book with lots of character development and maybe this just felt... too... short? Too unfinished? Too rushed? I'm bummed though, I've been looking forward to this read all dang year!.Will I stick around for number three of the series? Absolutely! But I'm hoping number three can recapture the magic that the first book has.
    more
  • Robin
    January 1, 1970
    The second book in the trilogy has Irene and her sons Cash and Baker, and her grandson Floyd, returning to St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands, to live in the villa and work on the island. They are still trying to come to terms with Russ's death and his subterfuge. Ayres and Huck find money and diaries in Rosie's bedroom, leading to speculation that Russ was into something illegal. The diaries help the reader to learn more about Russ and Rosie. Relationships continue to develop between new friends, as The second book in the trilogy has Irene and her sons Cash and Baker, and her grandson Floyd, returning to St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands, to live in the villa and work on the island. They are still trying to come to terms with Russ's death and his subterfuge. Ayres and Huck find money and diaries in Rosie's bedroom, leading to speculation that Russ was into something illegal. The diaries help the reader to learn more about Russ and Rosie. Relationships continue to develop between new friends, as the FBI hovers nearby. I did grow tired of Ayres and her relationship indecisiveness, and everyone seems to be constantly drinking, but I still enjoy the author's style of writing. However, this book has the same problem that all "second in a trilogy" books have -- not enough happens and nothing is resolved. Thanks to NetGalley for providing an ARC.
    more
  • Laura Jones
    January 1, 1970
    Set for release on October 8th, 2019, the second installment in the Winter in Paradise series, What Happens in Paradise gives readers a little more insight into the story of the late Rosie Small and Russ Steele and their love affair that was tragically cut short when both were killed in a helicopter crash as the first book began. As with all of her spectacularly written beach reads, this one leaves readers on a cliffhanger wondering what will happen next. Waiting for the next installment is goin Set for release on October 8th, 2019, the second installment in the Winter in Paradise series, What Happens in Paradise gives readers a little more insight into the story of the late Rosie Small and Russ Steele and their love affair that was tragically cut short when both were killed in a helicopter crash as the first book began. As with all of her spectacularly written beach reads, this one leaves readers on a cliffhanger wondering what will happen next. Waiting for the next installment is going to be torture for me! Ironically, the remaining members of the Steele family, Irene, Baker, Cash, and Baker's young son, Floyd, all end up on the island of St. John once again, a place where Russ had a secret sprawling villa on Little Cinnamon as well as a secret mistress and tween daughter, Maia.To complicate matters, the FBI is now investigating the helicopter crash, along with Russ and his business partner Todd Croft, searching around both the Iowa City and Little Cinnamon villa for clues. Baker and Cash are both still vying for Ayers' (Rosie Small's best friend) attention, though Baker more seriously, after his wife Anna, now a lesbian, agrees on a divorce and then decides to move out of state to work, live, and start a family with her lover. Ayers is back with her ex-husband Mick, even though he cheated on her in the past with one of his bar employees. Let's just say, once a cheater, always a cheater. Things are looking good for Baker on that front. Cash doesn't really have anything tying him to Colorado just as Irene feels a pull to St. John and her budding friendship with Huck, Meanwhile, Ayers and Huck find some unsettling information while cleaning out and searching Rosie's room before the FBI does the same thing. Rosie's step-father. As the Steele family settles into St. John, more fireworks from the past ignite, forcing each of them to consider what the future holds for them and where they should call their home - Iowa City or St. John?Readers will love the atmospheric setting of St. John with its picturesque beaches and quaint streets. What Happens in Paradise is a quick read which is written in multiple points of view between characters in short chapters, keeping readers interested and wondering what Elin has up her sleeve for the third and final book in the series. Thank you to Netgalley for providing me with an advance reader's edition of this book in exchange for an honest review. As with all of her books, I loved this one so much!
    more
  • Kelly Hager
    January 1, 1970
    This is exactly the book I needed. Elin Hilderbrand writes irresistible novels, and this one is no exception. I loved Winter in Paradise and this one is just as good. I can't even imagine what will happen in the next book, but I'm really excited to find out. I want to find out more about what exactly Russ was doing and how culpable he is in all his business partner's shady dealings (I'm guessing more than even Rosie knew), but I'm just as invested in the lives of the people left behind. Will Ire This is exactly the book I needed. Elin Hilderbrand writes irresistible novels, and this one is no exception. I loved Winter in Paradise and this one is just as good. I can't even imagine what will happen in the next book, but I'm really excited to find out. I want to find out more about what exactly Russ was doing and how culpable he is in all his business partner's shady dealings (I'm guessing more than even Rosie knew), but I'm just as invested in the lives of the people left behind. Will Irene end up with Huck? Will Baker and Ayers end up together? Will Cash ever grow up? I have so many questions and the next and final book probably needs to be 1,000 pages long to answer them all.While I probably have a year or so to wait, at least I have a lot of her backlist to try and work through. Challenge accepted.
    more
Write a review