Get a Life, Chloe Brown (The Brown Sisters, #1)
Talia Hibbert, one of contemporary romance’s brightest new stars, delivers a witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who’s tired of being “boring” and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbor to help her experience new things—perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory, and Helen Hoang.Chloe Brown is a chronically ill computer geek with a goal, a plan, and a list. After almost—but not quite—dying, she’s come up with seven directives to help her “Get a Life”, and she’s already completed the first: finally moving out of her glamourous family’s mansion. The next items?Enjoy a drunken night out.Ride a motorcycle.Go camping.Have meaningless but thoroughly enjoyable sex.Travel the world with nothing but hand luggage.And... do something bad.But it’s not easy being bad, even when you’ve written step-by-step guidelines on how to do it correctly. What Chloe needs is a teacher, and she knows just the man for the job.Redford ‘Red’ Morgan is a handyman with tattoos, a motorcycle, and more sex appeal than ten-thousand Hollywood heartthrobs. He’s also an artist who paints at night and hides his work in the light of day, which Chloe knows because she spies on him occasionally. Just the teeniest, tiniest bit.But when she enlists Red in her mission to rebel, she learns things about him that no spy session could teach her. Like why he clearly resents Chloe’s wealthy background. And why he never shows his art to anyone. And what really lies beneath his rough exterior…

Get a Life, Chloe Brown (The Brown Sisters, #1) Details

TitleGet a Life, Chloe Brown (The Brown Sisters, #1)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseNov 5th, 2019
PublisherAvon
ISBN-139780062941206
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary, Fiction, Adult, Contemporary Romance

Get a Life, Chloe Brown (The Brown Sisters, #1) Review

  • Nilufer Ozmekik
    January 1, 1970
    Upgraded review: this book is a real gem and I wish it got nomination from best romance category. Because in my opinion this is one of the surprising, emotional, humorous, smart, remarkable books of the year!!!Wow 4.25, I wasn’t expecting to like this book so much, I was so ready to have an easy peasy cheesy rom-com reading but I got: emotions are everywhere, heart wrecking second chances of traumatized, struggling two beautiful soul’s story and I adored, devoured, savored and finally found my Upgraded review: this book is a real gem and I wish it got nomination from best romance category. Because in my opinion this is one of the surprising, emotional, humorous, smart, remarkable books of the year!!!Wow 4.25, I wasn’t expecting to like this book so much, I was so ready to have an easy peasy cheesy rom-com reading but I got: emotions are everywhere, heart wrecking second chances of traumatized, struggling two beautiful soul’s story and I adored, devoured, savored and finally found my juicy romance STARS! Amen to that! I’m so happy because in the meantime, I was reading another romance story which I detested (its review is coming up and unfortunately it’s one of the most popular and highly promoted books of the year) and I was about to give up reading something decent and lovable book, something makes you feel alive, something makes your heart ache, refresh your soul, put a smile on your face which couldn’t be wiped so easily. I’m happy to announce: this book gave me more than I expected and I finally found LOVABLE AND ADORABLE AMAZING CHARACTERS. Chloe, witty, sophisticated, who has great taste when it comes to buttoned cardigans and colorful vintage dresses, carries the pain as indispensable piece of your life because she’s suffering from fibromyalgia, accompanied by fatigue and altered sleep, memory, mood. One day she had a nearly dead experience. A drunk driver got into a store, instead of crashing her which made her think she had one life to live so she needed to escape from the cocoon that her protective and lovely family wrapped around her and prepare a list to teach her how to take more risks and bring more fun into her dull, foreseeable life. As soon as she moved to an apartment she meet with super-duper hottie intendent Red-ford who was always seeing red on their encounters. Then we start witnessing their slow burn romantic relationship. Chloe has to deal with her insecurities because of her illness. Her own fiancée and close friends ghosted her after they found out her chronic disease. And Red who was once upon a time a selected, famous painter, still trying to bury the ghost of ex girlfriends’ ghost, suffering from wrong decisions of his life. Now he needs a take a step to embrace his new opportunities by opening his heart to new and meaningful love. Two of them literally collided and made wrong impressions about their real intentions. They started to think the worst of each other. But a beautiful cat made her job as a secret cupid to bring them together and helped them connect. So they took a first step from enemies to become friends. Chloe needs help of Red to fulfill her list and Red needs an efficient website for his comeback operation for his new drawings. It started with friends with benefits agreement (not including sex, Chloe excluded that option from her list) but then…. No more spoiler… Grab the book and keep your sassy smile. A small spoiler… The chemistry between the couple is hot as hell. I was truly adamant to give five stars to this book. But… there is an angsty moment… which is not too necessary… a little pissed me off… I know every new relationship with the characters who have heavy baggage from their pasts can stumble with struggles but I wish the author visualized far better obstacles between those characters. I love edgy, heart breaking moments about the characters’ breakup to realize how they cannot live without each other. But this hearsay kind of misunderstanding caused a great cliffhanger of their relationship didn’t work with me! But I still loved this romantic story! I adored the couple! And I’m curious about those incredible sisters’ entertaining stories! I’m all in for the sequels!Special thanks to Avon and Netgalley to share this wonderful read with me in exchange my honest review!
    more
  • Chaima ✨ شيماء
    January 1, 1970
    I used to think that 20/22 years old people were adults with a job and a house of their own…and here I am reading romance to fill the void inside my heart.
  • Chelsea Humphrey
    January 1, 1970
    BOTM pick for November 2019!I've been extremely generous with my 5 star ratings recently, but Talia Hibbert is an author that truly earns every freaking star she receives. She's a national treasure and we do not deserve her, folks. If you enjoy meaningful romances that are as diverse as they are steamy, please do yourself a favor and pick this one up. Dani's story is next in the trilogy, and you bet I'm waiting on pins and needles for it to be released. *FYI, this book does contain graphic BOTM pick for November 2019!I've been extremely generous with my 5 star ratings recently, but Talia Hibbert is an author that truly earns every freaking star she receives. She's a national treasure and we do not deserve her, folks. If you enjoy meaningful romances that are as diverse as they are steamy, please do yourself a favor and pick this one up. Dani's story is next in the trilogy, and you bet I'm waiting on pins and needles for it to be released. *FYI, this book does contain graphic sexual content and may not be suitable for all audiences.Me, when I shed my dark, thriller reading persona, and pick up a feel good, steamy romance:*Many thanks to the publisher for providing my review copy.
    more
  • Chloe
    January 1, 1970
    THIS WAS TRULY EVERYTHING AHHHH
  • Chelsea (chelseadolling reads)
    January 1, 1970
    This was one of my most anticipated books of the year and I am SO happy to report that I loved it just as much as I was hoping I would. Chloe was so strong and smart and hilarious and Red was so swooney and kind and loving and MY HEART IS SO FULL. If you want to read a romance that is equal parts sexy and swooney, look no further. PLUS THERE IS A CAT WHAT MORE COULD YOU WANT
    more
  • destiny ♡⚔♡ [howling libraries]
    January 1, 1970
    That was fucking flawless. I didn't think any romance book ever could top Talia's A Girl Like Her, but I think this one just did. Full review coming once I can stop weeping tears of joy That was fucking flawless. 😭💕 I didn't think any romance book ever could top Talia's A Girl Like Her, but I think this one just did. Full review coming once I can stop weeping tears of joy 💕
    more
  • Larry H
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars. Get a Life, Chloe Brown is a rom-com that really made me think. (Plus: super steamy.)Chloe Brown is feisty and independent, but the chronic pain of her fibromyalgia leaves her choosing the safe path more often than not, and she doesn't let people help her for fear she’ll be a burden."She hadn't always been like this, a tongue with the tip bitten off, her feelings squashed into a box. But help and concern, even from the people she loved—even when she needed it—had a way of grating. Of 4.5 stars. Get a Life, Chloe Brown is a rom-com that really made me think. (Plus: super steamy.)Chloe Brown is feisty and independent, but the chronic pain of her fibromyalgia leaves her choosing the safe path more often than not, and she doesn't let people help her for fear she’ll be a burden."She hadn't always been like this, a tongue with the tip bitten off, her feelings squashed into a box. But help and concern, even from the people she loved—even when she needed it—had a way of grating. Of building up, or rather, grinding down. Truthfully, guiltily, sometimes simple gratitude tasted like barely sweetened resentment in her mouth."When she nearly escapes being hit by a car, Chloe realizes her life has lacked excitement, so she—a compulsive list-maker—puts together a list of items she wants to accomplish. Things like enjoy a drunken night out, go camping, and have meaningless but thoroughly enjoyable sex.Although she and her building’s superintendent, the handsome Redford (Red) Morgan, seem to hate the very sight of each other, there’s much more to him than meets the eye. He’s artistic, kind to everyone (but her), and sexy as hell. Chloe starts to realize that maybe Red can help her cross some items off her list—perhaps in exchange for creating a website to sell his art.Of course, if you read rom-coms, you know how often hatred masks chemistry and strong attraction to one another, and Chloe and Red are no different. But there’s far more to this story than meets the eye. Both are vulnerable, both bear the painful scars of past hurts which keep them from moving on. Can they allow themselves the luxury of giving in to their feelings, no matter what the risk?"Love isn’t safe, as that story proves. But is it worth it?"What struck me about this book is the amount of depth Talia Hibbert gave to both of her main characters, not just Chloe. It’s one of the first rom-coms I’ve read where the male character is as vulnerable as the female, and it really deepened the narrative and my investment in the story. I also thought Chloe’s fibromyalgia was treated with real seriousness—it’s rare you see a character in a rom-com deal with this sort of challenge, and I know that these are real battles that those living with fibromyalgia have to deal with on a daily basis.This was really enjoyable, although as happens so often in this type of book, I wanted to shake these characters into saying what’s on their mind instead of assuming the wrong thing, to save all of us grief. But that won't stop me from eagerly awaiting Hibbert’s follow-up, which will feature one of Chloe’s sisters.See all of my reviews at itseithersadnessoreuphoria.blogspot.com.You can follow me on Instagram at https://www.instagram.com/the.bookishworld.of.yrralh/.
    more
  • Whitney Atkinson
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to Avon for the advanced review copy!This book struck the perfect balance between feel-good and meaningful. At the same time that there were important discussions about chronic pain and abusive relationships, it was also so damn cute and fun and lighthearted. I loved Chloe and Red's banter and the way that they supported one another, and this book was so addicting that I read it practically in two sittings--which is rare for me nowadays. It definitely held up to my expectations. The one Thanks to Avon for the advanced review copy!This book struck the perfect balance between feel-good and meaningful. At the same time that there were important discussions about chronic pain and abusive relationships, it was also so damn cute and fun and lighthearted. I loved Chloe and Red's banter and the way that they supported one another, and this book was so addicting that I read it practically in two sittings--which is rare for me nowadays. It definitely held up to my expectations. The one problem I encountered with this book is a personal preference and not even entirely a criticism, but sometimes the dialogue in this felt a bit too sickly sweet and Lifetime movie-esque. If that's your thing, then you will love this book. But sometimes I found myself glossing over long paragraphs of I-love-you-monologues because it felt a bit generic. Tangentially related to this is that sometimes the characters spoke like they're from a YA novel, which isn't a dunk on teens, but rather I wish that silliness and sarcasm could have been backed up by some maturity. I only noticed this in the dialogue, though, so I really enjoyed the writing style otherwise and tabbed quite a few parts.If you're looking for a book that's cute and wholesome but also delves into grittier topics like chronic illnesses and recovering from abuse, I definitely still recommend this one. It has so many great themes and the characters are so supportive of one another, and I applaud the author for tackling certain subjects like the importance of therapy in a story that's also cuddly and easy to read.
    more
  • Paromjit
    January 1, 1970
    This is a lovely rom-com by Talia Hibbert, set in Nottinghamshire featuring IT website designing geek, Chloe Brown, whose life was ripped apart 10 years ago when she suffered a debilitating bout of pneumonia, which left her so weak and exposed further health issues. She suffers from chronic pain, Fibromyalgia, an invisible disability that affects every aspect of her life, leaving her dependent on a mass of daily medications. She has good days and bad days, often breathless, easily tired, often This is a lovely rom-com by Talia Hibbert, set in Nottinghamshire featuring IT website designing geek, Chloe Brown, whose life was ripped apart 10 years ago when she suffered a debilitating bout of pneumonia, which left her so weak and exposed further health issues. She suffers from chronic pain, Fibromyalgia, an invisible disability that affects every aspect of her life, leaving her dependent on a mass of daily medications. She has good days and bad days, often breathless, easily tired, often needing to sleep in the day and having disturbed painful nights. She has become a very different woman from her pre-fibromyalgia days, she wasn't believed about her illness initially, and lost all her friends and fiance, Henry. This has left her with an inability to trust and a zero social life. The only people she has been able to rely on are her wealthy family, particularly her free spirit of a grandmother, Gigi, and her sisters, Dani and Eve.After coming close to death, Chloe is jolted into the need to change her boring life as she compiles her Get a life list. She wants to live an independent life, and moves into a ground floor flat equipped with disability features in a block of flats, with a superintendent serving as a handyman, Redmond 'Red' Morgan. The two of them awkwardly avoid each other, until the day Chloe gets stuck in a tree rescuing a cat, and Red comes to her aid. Chloe decides to keep the cat, naming it Smudge, unless the owner emerges. On closer inspection of Red, including some illicit spying on him painting at night in his flat, Chloe feels that he is the ideal person to help her achieve some items on her Get a Life list, such as riding a motorbike, going camping, going out partying and getting blind drunk. Red has a disturbing past that has given him reasons to beware of rich women, and left him with low self esteem as a artist, and so Chloe sets off all his trigger points, but despite this he can't help becoming drawn to her. Chloe and Red's traumatic pasts pose substantial obstacles in their relationship, will they be able to negotiate their way past them?There is plenty of humour and warmth in Talia Hibbert's story of love, art, mental health issues, abuse, and a richly detailed picture of the everyday impact of someone suffering from Fibromyalgia with Chloe. There are serious and heavy duty issues in this irresistible romantic comedy with a difference, with its diverse protagonists, and their complex lives. This is a entertaining and comic read which I enjoyed, and I see that this is the first in a series, I am already looking forward to reading the next book! Many thanks to Little, Brown for an ARC.
    more
  • preoccupiedbybooks
    January 1, 1970
    A wonderful, sweet and sexy tale of enemies to lovers, but also an emotional story about healing I loved this book soooo much! This was hands down my favourite romance book of the year so far! I had already read, and loved A Girl Like Her by Talia Hibbert, so I was so excited to get an ARC of Get a Life, Chloe Brown. I love the diversity in this author's books, but also the unexpected emotional depth. I must also mention the author's note at the start. She actually included a trigger warning for A wonderful, sweet and sexy tale of enemies to lovers, but also an emotional story about healing 😍I loved this book soooo much! This was hands down my favourite romance book of the year so far! I had already read, and loved A Girl Like Her by Talia Hibbert, so I was so excited to get an ARC of Get a Life, Chloe Brown. I love the diversity in this author's books, but also the unexpected emotional depth. I must also mention the author's note at the start. She actually included a trigger warning for healing from emotional abuse, and that was much appreciated.Chloe Brown, a chronically ill website designer almost got hit by a car, and she realised that she hadn't really been living her best life at all, so she made a plan and a list (she was really great at those) of things that she wanted to do so she could get a life.Red, the superintendent of Chloe's new flat and a sexy artist, seemed to like everyone but Chloe! After they both make incorrect assumptions about each other, they got off on the wrong foot, but could he help her with her list?!Lets see so this had realistic and likeable characters, the two main character's Chloe and Red were everything! I felt such a connection to them both, and just fell in love with them. Chloe was smart, strong, snarky, hilarious and adorable! She came across as rude to start with, but that was just her armour, her defence mechanism if you like, to protect herself from being hurt. She was so relatable with her nerdiness, and her lists! I really felt for Chloe, life had certainly thrown some shit her way.Red...Oh my gosh, I do not usually go for men with long hair, but Redford Morgan can do no wrong in my eyes! 😍 He had flaws, and a past, but he was so open and honest, and had such a sensitive soul. He was kind, loving and mature, which was so refreshing. I just adored him!The secondary characters were also interesting. I loved Chloe's sisters, and her relationship with them, and Gigi was just awesome! Any of them could have their own book! I also liked Red's friend Vik, and their friendship.I don't have any personal experience of living with chronic pain, but I felt that this book handled it really well. Chloe suffered from fibromyalgia and also with fatigue because her illness affected her sleep. I liked the way the book showed how Chloe dealt with her illness, how she managed her pain and her day to day life. It felt authentic.This book... gosh it touched on so many things....1) The different types of healing, both physical and emotional.2) Wrong assumptions made by judging someone on your first impression of them-which I am definitely guilty of sometimes!3) Getting out of your comfort zone.4) Positive body image. Chloe Brown was a curvy, plus size black woman, but her size was not talked about at all! Her size didn't define her, and she was a sexy, confident woman! I loved that about her, she owned her body, and I am so inspired by her!5) It's not just women who suffer from emotional abuse.6) Making new friends, trusting them and putting yourself out there!It was all so lovely!Chloe and Red had some chemistry that's for sure! They had great banter, and there were a few very steamy scenes! Most of all though, they were so good for each other!I must have gone through nearly every emotion reading Get a Life, Chloe Brown, and when I had finished reading, I felt like I could float away, I had such a grin on my face! This book had such heart, and I fell hard for it. I cannot recommend it enough, in fact I will be buying a copy of it on November 5th when it is published, and devouring it again very shortly!Many thanks to Edelweiss and Jessica Lyons at HarperCollins for my digital review copy in exchange for an honest review.------------------------------------------------------------------------------All the stars!!! I'm so bloody emotional after reading this! Red and Chloe are the sweetest and must be protected at all costs.Review to come once I stop swooning ❤️☺️😂
    more
  • EmBibliophile
    January 1, 1970
    5 stars ‘Button’ starsThis was my first Talia Hibbert book and I’m in love!! This was such a really sweet sexy romance with the exact perfect dose of humor.I loved everything about this book;•The banter between the characters made me feel so happy. Is it bad that I want someone to banter with? Because I do and I hope that it doesn’t make me a bad person, lol. I was smiling like a fool whenever these two start to banter. They were so adorable. •Chloe is an amazing character. I loved her and how 5 stars ‘Button’ starsThis was my first Talia Hibbert book and I’m in love!! This was such a really sweet sexy romance with the exact perfect dose of humor.I loved everything about this book;•The banter between the characters made me feel so happy. Is it bad that I want someone to banter with? Because I do and I hope that it doesn’t make me a bad person, lol. I was smiling like a fool whenever these two start to banter. They were so adorable. •Chloe is an amazing character. I loved her and how she deal with things. She’s a chronically ill person who after an almost dying experience decided that she doesn’t wanna die like that, so she made a list of things she need to do in order to “get a life”•Red is so sweeeet!! He’s such a nice sweet person and I want to hit his ex girlfriend for treating him like that! I loved how we get to see that it’s not only women who suffer from emotional abuse. Red was such a good swoon worthy hero. •The book is British. If that’s not sexy enough I don’t know what is.•The diversity, emotional depth, and the humor. It will make you feel everything. I’m still swooning over this book.Song recommendation:Halo by Beyoncé Love me now by John legendHanging by a moment by lifehouse
    more
  • emma
    January 1, 1970
    i am satisfied.review to come / 3.5 or 4 stars I DON'T KNOW-------------not asking for much from this book, just that it be the cutest thing in existence and make me happy and fill the void within me. you know. casual reading stuff
  • sarah xoxo
    January 1, 1970
    Get a Life Chloe Brown washilarioussexyheartwarmingempoweringa freaking delight.The witty, sarcastic dialogue and banter had me hooked from the first page, but what kept me reading was the characters. Everyone, from the main couple to their cat smudge had such distinct and lively personalities that it feels like they should all have their own book. (yep, even the cat)Chloe was such a badass, I loved the way Talia Hibbert wrote her chronic pain, she didn't gloss over the illness, but it wasn't Get a Life Chloe Brown washilarioussexyheartwarmingempoweringa freaking delight.The witty, sarcastic dialogue and banter had me hooked from the first page, but what kept me reading was the characters. Everyone, from the main couple to their cat smudge had such distinct and lively personalities that it feels like they should all have their own book. (yep, even the cat)Chloe was such a badass, I loved the way Talia Hibbert wrote her chronic pain, she didn't gloss over the illness, but it wasn't her entire personality. I found myself relating to her meticulously organised nature, as well as her struggles with stepping outside her comfort zone. Redford. Aaaah red. *swoons*Not only was he the sweetest cinnamon roll, he was an artist afraid of showing his work because of his abusive ex girlfriend. His issues are not put on the backburner or solved by love- he begins to go to therapy! This book was so fast and fun to fly through, but not just complete fluff. Finishing this book made me feel severe withdrawals- I had to reread some of my favourite passages to alleviate the hangover this story left me with. This is my first book from Talia Hibbert but I definitely plan on picking up anything and everything else she writes!Thanks to Thomas for passing along his ARC to me. I loved it! ________________________________________________eeeek! I'm hyperventilating because this book was So. Damn. Good. Aaaahhh. review to come when I can control my emotions sufficiently!
    more
  • bella ϟ [ bella farren ]
    January 1, 1970
    5 / 5 stars “It’s very awkward, dating while disabled. People can be quite awful. And you know I don’t have much energy to spare for social nonsense.” I can't even begin to explain what this book meant to me. I have never, in my entire life, read a book with a character that has suffered exactly like me. To see what I have been through reflected on a page, and to see the beautiful story of self-betterment and healthy romance that Chloe went through had me in tears. There was just a lot of tears 5 / 5 stars “It’s very awkward, dating while disabled. People can be quite awful. And you know I don’t have much energy to spare for social nonsense.” I can't even begin to explain what this book meant to me. I have never, in my entire life, read a book with a character that has suffered exactly like me. To see what I have been through reflected on a page, and to see the beautiful story of self-betterment and healthy romance that Chloe went through had me in tears. There was just a lot of tears (happy, sad, overwhelmed, and relieved tears), which lead to me highlighting roughly 45% of the book (not even exaggerating, I fell in love with every second sentence). Although this book features a character with chronic illnesses, it did not define her or make this book serious/dark/depressing; it was a fun and warm romance that blew me away. This is the story of Chloe Brown, a thirty-one-year-old that when faced with a near-death experience, realises that she has let her chronic illnesses (Chronic Pain, Fibromyalgia, CF, migraines, muscle weakness) stop her from living the life she wants. This isn’t an unrealistic story where the character with chronic illnesses ‘puts their mind to it’ and gets better, or lives a pretty unaffected life despite the unrealistic amount of activity they partake in. This was painfully real, you read about all of Chloe’s flareups, all her couch-bound and painkiller fogged moments. But she was sassy, sarcastic, brave, hilarious and beautifully vulnerable. She was a strong character, who despite her faulty body and the potential kickback that comes with attempting to live even a slightly normal life, was determined to challenge herself. Due to her ‘Get a Life List’, she moves out of her family home and into an apartment complex where she meets Redford, the 6’3 tattooed, charismatic and way too attractive (for the state of Chloe’s cognitive abilities) superintendent. The two don’t immediately get on, but when they’re forced together in an attempt to save an endangered cat, they begin to realise there may be more to each other than first impressions let on. Now Redford. My dear, beloved Red. I truly can’t even begin to explain how much I truly loved and adored him. I was very interested to see what kind of hero would be paired with Chloe, and how the story would run (I was a little frightened that Chloe’s chronic illnesses may become the/a point of angst or drama) but I had no reason to worry. Red was thoughtful and sensitive despite his rough exterior and was always conscious of Chloe, thinking of ways to subtly help her. “She seemed fine, but then, she seemed fine all the time…and yet she was in pain all the time too. When it came to looking after Chloe, that pretty face of hers couldn’t be trusted.” There is such a fine line when writing romance with a disabled character, sometimes it can come off as a more carer or mother-y dynamic, but I never once felt that between Red and Chloe. Red himself carried around some emotional trauma and baggage from a past emotionally and physically abusive relationship, and the way you see him slowly work through it (a man taking part in therapy, HELL YES! Living for this healthy rep and romance) was a true highlight. The romance between these two characters was so incredibly heart-warming and HEALTHY. I just couldn’t get over how much I loved this book.It touched on so many subjects; but for me, the chronic illnesses rep meant the most. It’s so hard to find anything like this in literature, especially in romance, and it was just done so well. I couldn’t handle how much hard-edged truth Talia weaved into the book. “Like being unwell was a crime or a scam or a self-indulgence.” Even the author’s note had me in tears, “To Dr. Griffiths, who looked me in the eye and said ‘First things first: I believe you’”. I mean if that isn’t the most relatable (and crushing) chronic illness thing, then I don’t what is. I’m just utterly thankful to Talia Hibbert for writing such inclusive and diverse romance. It’s what this genre is sorely lacking, but so far, 2019 has been an amazing year for diversity!Thank you so much to the publishers for the eARC in exchange for a review!
    more
  • Hollis
    January 1, 1970
    The fact that this book exists makes me a little less angry that the world is a dumpster fire. Which isn't to say that the world should continue stinking and burning, just that.. maybe this is proof we might one day be okay. Because this book? This b o o k.She hadn't always been like this, a tongue with a tip bitten off, her feelings squashed into box. But help and concern, even from the people she loved — even when she needed it — had a way of grating. Of building up, or rather, grinding down. The fact that this book exists makes me a little less angry that the world is a dumpster fire. Which isn't to say that the world should continue stinking and burning, just that.. maybe this is proof we might one day be okay. Because this book? This b o o k.She hadn't always been like this, a tongue with a tip bitten off, her feelings squashed into box. But help and concern, even from the people she loved — even when she needed it — had a way of grating. Of building up, or rather, grinding down. Truthfully, guiltily, sometimes simple gratitude tasted like barely sweetened resentment in her mouth.Hibbert really went there. She did it. She gave us a book that tackles chronic pain in a way that I, as a reader, don't think I’ve seen before. Chloe Brown is a force. She hurts, every day, but more than that she's been hurt by being left. She has walls but wants to.. not remove them but maybe install a door into said perimeter. She wants to open up, live her life; even, maybe, get one. And she wants to stop letting her physical pain get in her way; or at least stop it from being an excuse for not trying. Not recklessly, not at her own expense, but she wants to find her limits and go there. There is so much grace in giving us a character like Chloe. And I loved her so much."We don't have moose, Chlo. Or bears.""I'm quite certain that we do.""We don't.""We definitely have bears.""We don't. If we had bears it'd be in the news all the time. You know, Fine upstanding British man attacked by a bear, EU to blame, Brexit now.""I'm quite certain I saw that headline on a copy of the Daily Mail the other week."The author has also offered us a man who has been hurt, and is hurting, and yet doesn't take that as a license to be an asshole to the world or to our leading lady. It doesn't mean he's a pure soft boy of total goodness, because like anyone who hurts they get low, they get scared, they maybe lash out, but he's so self-aware. He apologizes. He makes amends. He strives to be better, to do better, and is more than just words. And that does, actually, make him as close to total goodness as one can get, I think."The thing is, Red.. some of us have so many marginalizations, we might drown if we let all the little hurts flood in. So there are those, like me, who filter. I think you've noticed I filter a lot."This book took me so long to read and I think it was because, subconsciously (unconsciously?), I wanted to delay the satisfaction a bit. Savour it. Because lowkey this book was equal parts a hilarious, swoony, delight, and also quietly devastating. Which isn't to say those quiet moments weren't also loud but.. the way they were handled was quiet. Carefully. Again, I'll use the word gracefully. It made those moments pack an unexpected punch without amping up manufactured drama. It made it feel natural and real and all the more potent. And as a result I probably just needed a few more breaks than normal with this particular read but oh man was it worth it."Throw a tantrum, if you must.""Throw a–? I'm not doing this with you.""Doing what?""Arguing. I don't argue with people.""That sounds dull."And speaking of potent. Those swoons? Oh my god. This book was steamy af on multiple occasions but still maintained a slow sexy burn that was so delicious I have no words. None. Just (fire emoji fire emoji fire emoji)."Wait until you see the air mattress.""The what?""Well, you didn't think I was going to fuck you on the ground, did you? I'm not a complete animal."If you're looking for deletes all previous listings of what this book contains. No. Wait. If you like books, read this one. Full stop.** I received an ARC from the publisher (thank you!) in exchange for an honest review. **---This review can also be found at A Take From Two Cities.
    more
  • Kelly (and the Book Boar)
    January 1, 1970
    Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/My face when I saw the rating for this one . . . . . Oh I was so looking forward to it. Sadly . . . . . . Coincidentally, Chloe herself was a bit of a Debbie Downer. Not to mention . . . . I love when what should theoretically be simple romcoms tackle larger issues as the case was here with the leading lady suffering from chronic pain due to fibromyalgia and the leading male dealing with . . . something else that I’m not going to Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/My face when I saw the rating for this one . . . . . Oh I was so looking forward to it. Sadly . . . . . . Coincidentally, Chloe herself was a bit of a Debbie Downer. Not to mention . . . . I love when what should theoretically be simple romcoms tackle larger issues as the case was here with the leading lady suffering from chronic pain due to fibromyalgia and the leading male dealing with . . . something else that I’m not going to spoil since it’s not in the blurb. However, authors need to assume their readers aren’t dolts. I felt like I was beaten over the head with reminders about Chloe’s illness to the point where she became nearly intolerable to me – not to mention the fact that her personality was just pretty much intolerable. (And trust that I can get on board with a character who isn’t Mary Sunshine because I loved The Cactus and everyone else hated that poor broad.) So much time was spent in Chloe’s head with her talking about herself that some important issues failed to get explained. Like, maybe her fiancé was a douchecanoe who couldn’t handle marrying someone with a forever type of illness, but seriously ALL of her friends were assholes too? And her family????? (Who, by the way, were ALWAYS there for her whenever she needed them and sat on a wad of dough so she never had to worry about finances either.) It seemed to me like it was Chloe herself who turned into a hermit/thought of her diagnosis as a death sentence because no evidence was given to the contrary. Unfortunately her redemption arc didn’t come until the 70% mark so by then it was too little too late for me to decide I liked her after all.Obviously the rating was already going to take a hit due to this personality conflict, but I did (and still do) love the premise that Chloe needed to take her life back. And I loved that she was a curvy girl. And I always love some diversity. And I loved Smudge the cat. I didn’t love Red but I didn’t hate him either so that wasn’t the worst. And I was prepared for there to be a bit of steam because I is smort and you can only fool me once with that "a cartoon cover means PG sexytimes" (looking at you The Kiss Quotient). Buuuuuuuuuuuuuut, I was not prepared for this snooty upperclass leading lady to refer to her own bits as the “P Word” incessantly (like when she wasn’t actively engaged in intercourse or foreplay) . . . . . If you know me, you know I’m not a prude, but I only tolerate that shit in a porno featuring motorcycle gang members or dudes who shift into things like wolves and bears in their spare time. And then when they had their first sexual encounter ON THE GODDAMN SIDEWALK IN FRONT OF A FUCKING PUBLIC STATUE?????? (Fez at the end there is everyone else who read this book and is not named Kelly or Mitchell.)If my poor husband had the idea that he was going to be getting some action after this one, he was sadly mistaken . . . . The bright side is I think this might have just been a fluke miss for me. I’ll definitely give this author another go.
    more
  • Jane (It'sJaneLindsey)
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars. This was such a freaking delight.
  • may ❀
    January 1, 1970
    this is more like a 3.75 stars. it seriously adorable and sweet. i really enjoyed the lighthearted banter and the deep conversations. love me that character development. the ending was kind of over-dramatic and felt unnecessary to bring up issues that deep in the book (imo) but other than that, i had a fun time rtc
    more
  • Meredith B. (readingwithmere)
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 Stars!Have you ever read a book where you feel like the character can relate to pretty much everyone in some kind of way? This is how I felt about Chloe Brown and I'm here for it.Chloe is a single girl living on her own and codes websites for a living out of her house. She is also incredibly organized and makes a list for everything. She makes a special one help her "get a life" after she has a near death experience one day. Chloe realizes she needs someone to help her with the list and she 4.5 Stars!Have you ever read a book where you feel like the character can relate to pretty much everyone in some kind of way? This is how I felt about Chloe Brown and I'm here for it.Chloe is a single girl living on her own and codes websites for a living out of her house. She is also incredibly organized and makes a list for everything. She makes a special one help her "get a life" after she has a near death experience one day. Chloe realizes she needs someone to help her with the list and she happens to stumble upon Red, the handyman in her building. It's not all roses and sunshine at first, they have a pretty intense banter back and forth however they can't seem to stay away with each other.There's something else you should know about Chloe Brown, she has chronic pain and it effects her everyday life. This makes her list harder to do but she's determined and Red is has the kind of patience she needs. On the other hand, Chloe has the force that Red needs to pursue what he's really passionate about - Art (and he's really good at it too). This relate able couple go through Chloe's list and through ups and downs they end up exactly where they both should be...I love this book SO much. It was so much more than just a romance book. The layers of each character alone were enough to keep me engaged. Chloe with her chronic illness, her shyness, coming out of her shell, letting someone love her, etc. and Red with standing by Chloe when he does not have to. I also related to Chloe in the list and planning sense, I am very Type A and love to plan. However I did enjoy watching her let go a bit and it makes me think if maybe I should let go of things a bit easier as well.I know there's a second book coming and I cannot wait to read this one. This was easily one of my favorite books of the year and I highly recommend to anyone who enjoys rom-coms and a unique love story.Thank you to the author Talia Hibbert and Avon books for providing me with an ARC of this book! It's out now so go get it!
    more
  • Aoife - Bookish_Babbling
    January 1, 1970
    This book could easily be the romance by which I ruthlessly judge all others going forward. It ticked all the boxes: fun & funny swoony & steamy 'enemies' -> friends -> lovers characters that COMMUNICATE representation in the MCs & brilliant sub-characters out the wazoo for spin-off options realistic acknowledgment/discussion of sensitive topics between people who have walked different paths in lifeI related so hard to Chloe's use of sarcasm as a form of protection. Mix in This book could easily be the romance by which I ruthlessly judge all others going forward. It ticked all the boxes:✔ fun & funny✅ swoony & steamy✔ 'enemies' -> friends -> lovers✅ characters that COMMUNICATE ✔ representation in the MCs & brilliant sub-characters out the wazoo for spin-off options✅ realistic acknowledgment/discussion of sensitive topics between people who have walked different paths in lifeI related so hard to Chloe's use of sarcasm as a form of protection. Mix in some self-deprecation + remove the chronic illness and I could have been reading about my perception of myself #selfishlyinsertingmyselfintothenarrative. She even has 2 outgoing younger sisters and a wonderful grandmother...now where's my tongue-tied blushing dude with BGE?Another fun read where the male MC has Big Ginger Energy(™) 😉 - I've also decided to retroactively add Henry from Red, White & Royal Blue to the BGE gang as although he is technically strawberry blonde I cannot be the only one who pictured him as a Prince Harry-type right ... woops I seem to have rather wandered off topic 😇Smudge is a legend & Chloe's depictions of the kitty shenanigans are priceless and inventively descriptive. Annie, although limited in page time deff keeps your attention and leaves you wanting to know more.Red & Vik's friendship seemed truly genuine although their interaction on page was small in the grand scheme of the story...it still stood out in the best way - such wonderful supportive networks around these MCsBetween Gigi and Chloe's sisters, Dani & Evie, I am 100% here for this family and their wonderful brand of supportive sarcasm. This is the kind of family I belong in, please made-up people adopt me *puppy-dog-eyes* 🐶The way these two MCs SEE each other & communicate gives me false expectations for what to expect from RL! It does unfair things like give my cold dark heart hope that there are people out there willing to take the time to get to know you, quirks and all, plus see through your defence mechanisms be they sarcasm or seemingly effortless charisma to get to know the real you underneath.They actually talk like true friends might as the book progresses, wonderful quippy back-and-forth banter between them that kept a ridiculous grin on my face as I read 😬Romance authors please read this book...conversations are a thing two grown-ass humans can have!The communication between these 2, though patchy and/or slightly delayed at times struck me as realistic and all I want from a romance read. Why is it so hard to find?!(I tell a little white lie, the smexy times also make for fun romance reads #girlwitnoshame)Sure there is plenty they don't share with one another initially but they pick up on things about each other and collect nuggets of intel through fun bants...this is communication in it's simplest form guys. Powers of observation + words exchanged...surely we all interact this way on the daily! I fail to understand why romcom drahmz so often plump for mis- or lack of communication tropes *sigh*Off topic again, but it truly does baffle me There's a big difference between being a coward and putting your emotional safety first - this is a MOOD & resonated so much for me!The way Chloe shields herself from others & tries to keep everyone at arms length with her sharp tongue speaks to my darkly twisted soul. Including internal remorse at certain conversational reactions which become so ingrained and knee-jerk we don't really know why we keep doing them.I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed Reds way of deciphering and calling her on this in his own way gaining strength and belief from her while she in turn softens and starts to open back up to people. I am so delighted that someone outside her super supportive family finally bothered to look past her façade - I related to her so hard on that front. People willing to look beyond your BS are worth their weight in platinum & rose gold (the only golds I like and therefore the only golds that matter imho lolz 😋).In case this verbal vomit gushfest of a "review" doesn't make my enjoyment of this book obvious enough - I loved this and cannot recommend it highly enough for any like me -> who are tired of the lack of communication trope in romcom reads, -> who like diversity and own voices rep for so many marginalised underrepresented communitiesor -> who just enjoy a fun story about fab characters with a glittering supporting cast who will hopefully get cross-generational spin offs and/or cameos in this wonderful world thought up and fleshed out by Talia Hibbert.Now to decide which of her backlist books to try next...recommendations anyone?
    more
  • Ⓐlleskelle - teamSøren♗ ⊲I like big b00ks⊳
    January 1, 1970
    4 stars for Chloe Brown!I enjoyed myself a lot reading my first Talia Hibbert book!So many tropes I loved combined into one book.Next door neighborHate To LoveHeroine making a life altering listChloe was such an adorable character, sarcasm and eccentricity her coping mechanisms for a chronic illness she’s been dealing with for years.I don’t recall any romance book depicting in such depth what it’s like to live daily with invisible disabilities. Round of applause for the author for making Chloe’s 4 stars for Chloe Brown!I enjoyed myself a lot reading my first Talia Hibbert book!So many tropes I loved combined into one book.Next door neighborHate To LoveHeroine making a life altering listChloe was such an adorable character, sarcasm and eccentricity her coping mechanisms for a chronic illness she’s been dealing with for years.I don’t recall any romance book depicting in such depth what it’s like to live daily with invisible disabilities. Round of applause for the author for making Chloe’s journey not only relatable, but engaging despite the obvious portrayal of Chloe daily struggles with her illness.You’d think it sounds like something heavy to read except it’s really not. The author managed to both deliver a fun and sexy romance with emotionally charged moments all the while dealing with serious themes like chronic illness and relationship abuse.Chloe Brown is me. From to her chronic illness, her coping mechanisms, her ludicrous one sided conversations unfolding in her head, down to the fancy chocolate she’s addicted to, the preposterous amount of notebooks she owns, her fondness for pretty pajamas, her nerdiness—fellow PS4 player here, the amazon prime boxes surrounding her living room... So uncanny.But I also think she’s little bit like many romance readers too. Introverted, shy, reserved. Her prickly and snobbish appearance is a facade she uses as armor. Wit and sarcasm she wields as metaphorical weapons. For Chloe, it’s all proactive self-defense you see. Part of Chloe’s coping mechanisms has been to remove herself from situations —socially and emotionally — that could bring hurt.She feels she missed out on many things and is now ready to make some new experiences, like getting entangled with the sexy tattoed next door ginger, Redford Morgan, which ironically she can’t seem to like one bit.Hate to love you trope anyone?How about a Next door neighboor trope?Heroine making a life achievement list? (Yes, it’s a trope too)These two together were unbelievably cute. Redford riling up Chloe on purpose made for some great banter and so entertaining to watch. Paired with the British-isms of the author’s writing, their inners thoughts (dual POV) and bickering were LIFE. "Despite himself, he let his gaze drift to her legs. He could see her calves again today, and her ankles, circled by the leather straps of her shiny shoes. He drank in every detail like some sexually deprived Victorian bloke." I really appreciated Chloe and Redford communicating, sharing and learning about each other. Sure, Redford had to pry some of Chloe’s feelings out of her but overall I enjoyed the communication between them. Redford is set on helping Chloe through the neatly printed list she created to "get a life", but along the way we can also see Chloe helping Redford processing unresolved issues.Redford Morgan was… charming. So charming. I can’t find a better way to describe him. He’s got this real nice guy vibe going on but he can be very forward when it comes to things he likes. And he’s liking Chloe Brown alright. The man is obsessed with the prickly, arrogant next door woman. Chloe and Redford officially can’t stand each other but the reality is... they share an unhealthy amount of attraction. And secret mutual fascination. I loved watching them fall for each other. I adored watching them try not to.There is this scene about halfway in the book, I’m calling it The Non-Kiss Scene.The tension during this scene was so thick, I’ve found myself chanting « Kiss him! Kiss him! Kiss him! » It’s not often in my romance book that I’ve read about life altering "kiss scenes", surely you know the kind of scene I’m talking about? The ones you’re rooting for the characters to bloody do it already, the scenes you almost find yourself leaning toward the hero to receive the kiss (true story) ? Well, this "NON-KISS" scene got me ready to snap! SO good!"Get A Life Chloe Brown" was equally adorable and HOT. So hot!With all these new illustrated covers flooding the romance genre I feel a content warning or rather a warrant of "hotness" is needed. Personally I love illustrated covers but they are kind of misleading. I’d expect something super cute, YA, woman fiction, and not a romance with graphic sex. Not that I mind the later… On the contrary. I’m just saying, this could mislead readers both way.Talia Hibbert sprinkled that sweet romance with some serious dose of EROTICALLY CHARGED scenes and the resulting tension was massive. I had to get my breathing in check several times, I could hear myself deep breathing through some scenes, LOL.Now, because I’m a really nitpicky reader, I have to share two occurences that gave me a pause during one of the sex scenes. I’m not seriously taking issue with them, it’s rather silly but still : "He found the strip of condoms he’d packed, ripped one open, managed to roll it on with gritted teeth." I posted the above phrase on social media, asking readers’ opinion because English not being my first language, I thought it was a "me" issue. Within context, yes, you know he’s gritting his teeth and rolling down the condom with his hands. But nevertheless the sentence gave me pause. It read at first like he was rolling on a condom using gritted teeth. So, yes, it got me out of the scene for a moment. "…she came again, shuddering beneath him, her hot pussy fluttering around him,…" Something about her pussy lips fluttering around him made me laugh out loud. I’m sorry, I know sex scenes are tough to write because you don’t want them to be too generic, but something about this guy setting her pussy lips affluter made laugh. A friend taught me about the English term "queefing" and it’s rather appropriate, lol.All this blabbering to say, "Get a life Chloe Brown" was a marvelous read I’m delighted to know a next book is already in the works about one of Chloe’s sisters! I haven’t mentioned yet in this review that the heroine is plus-sized and black because I’ll personally read any book no matter what without necessarily look up for #ownvoices books but I know many readers are looking for diverse characters and representation matters . So here you go, if you’re looking for a fun, cute and sexy romance, be sure to grab this one. More reviews and book talk at : You can find me here too ☞
    more
  • Tucker
    January 1, 1970
    Here's why I need this book yesterday:-The MC is a woman of color-The MC is chronically ill-The MC is a computer geek-Bucket lists-Drunken Nights-Hot guys-Sex scenes
  • K.J. Charles
    January 1, 1970
    A pure exuberant delight. I loved this book. It's just terrific. A romcom where the hero is really suffering the aftereffects of emotional abuse--not suffering in that Romance Hero "I will be emotionally cold and an alpha dick" way, but actually really hurt, emotionally vulnerable, can be triggered, and is nevertheless not in the slightest inclined to take it out on other people or to blame All Women for one abusive relationship. How rare. The heroine is fat (15 stone! Actually fat!) and A pure exuberant delight. I loved this book. It's just terrific. A romcom where the hero is really suffering the aftereffects of emotional abuse--not suffering in that Romance Hero "I will be emotionally cold and an alpha dick" way, but actually really hurt, emotionally vulnerable, can be triggered, and is nevertheless not in the slightest inclined to take it out on other people or to blame All Women for one abusive relationship. How rare. The heroine is fat (15 stone! Actually fat!) and disabled, with chronic pain, but none of that defines her as a person--she's happy with the one, and has set herself to cope with the other as best she can. This could in other hands have been a book about wounded people healing each other but it's not--it's a book about two joyful people finding joy together, and opening themselves up to more joy in their lives. Red can't make Chloe well, obviously, but he can help "fill in the gaps"--do the things she can't when necessary--and Chloe can do the same for him as he continues his healing. It's a wonderfully healthy emotionally supportive relationship that doesn't make false promises. And grown up. Red screws up because he's triggered by something--and realises that for himself, and apologises without being told to do so. Chloe understands and forgives, but nevertheless needs him to deal with his issues himself because she has a healthy sense of self preservation. It is 100% a book where people keep their eyes open while falling in love, which is so refreshing. It's also hilarious--Chloe in particular has a gloriously sardonic perception of the world--and it bounces along, and it will just make you feel better. Exactly what a romance should be. I loved it. I had an ARC from the author because I am a jammy cow.
    more
  • Astrid - The Bookish Sweet Tooth
    January 1, 1970
    TITLE: GET A LIFE CHLOE BROWNAUTHOR: Talia HibbertSERIES: The Brown Sisters #1RELEASE DATE: November 5, 2019GENRE: RomComTHEMES & TROPES: Enemies to LoversRATING: 4 StarsCLIFFHANGER: NoREAD MY REVIEW ON THE BLOGWhile it took me longer than usual to make it through this story I want to emphasize that this is on me and not the author. I've been in a bit of a slump and it's kinda hard to get out of it.When Chloe Brown is almost hit by a car she decides to take this as a sign to re-evaluate TITLE: GET A LIFE CHLOE BROWNAUTHOR: Talia HibbertSERIES: The Brown Sisters #1RELEASE DATE: November 5, 2019GENRE: RomComTHEMES & TROPES: Enemies to LoversRATING: 4 StarsCLIFFHANGER: NoREAD MY REVIEW ON THE BLOGWhile it took me longer than usual to make it through this story I want to emphasize that this is on me and not the author. I've been in a bit of a slump and it's kinda hard to get out of it.When Chloe Brown is almost hit by a car she decides to take this as a sign to re-evaluate her life and start over. Despite struggling with Fybromyalgia she moves out of the parental home and gets an apartment, where she meets the delicious superintendent of the apartment house, Redford Morgan. Admittedly it takes a while to warm up to her. She's a bit of a grouch because she's always in pain but at no time I got annoyed with her. It was clear that her condition really took a lot out of her. Chloe was a very intelligent heroine, outspoken, a little prickly but later in the story really sweet and lovable after polishing up her social skills again which she'd neglected after falling ill.While Red's thoughts about Chloe weren't friendly at the start he soon discovered what a softie Chloe was on the inside. I loved how he knew how to handle her prickly nature, how sensitive he was to her needs, how he wooed her once he found her golden core. "I can’t believe you thought I was a snob.” “Neither can I. You’re just a cute little hermit who hisses at sunlight.” But there was also a darkness about Red which we experience in the last couple of chapters and boy, let me tell you, they were pretty angsty. Red and Chloe's feelings were plain to see and while they were so incredibly different they shared a fundamental distrust in the other gender and that, predictably caused some disturbance in the force. I'm absolutely in love with the way the author solved this big conflict and how Red realized his mistake almost instantly. He loved Chloe. He loved Chloe like a blank canvas and a finished piece and all the exhilarating, painful, stop-and-start moments in between. Get a Life Chloe Brown is a low-angst, steamy sweet rom-com and I have to say, Talia Hibbert's writing style is a thing of beauty. Her humor is totally my jam and her dialogues are some of the best I've read. I think this story would have benefited from a little more angst but other than that I don't have any complaints at all. Chloe has two sisters and I'm looking forward to getting their stories! “You know, for such a funny-sounding word, fibromyalgia is—” “A motherfucker.” “Chloe! Did you just swear? You never swear.” He paused. “That was fun. Do it again.” “No,” she said primly
    more
  • Navessa
    January 1, 1970
    "...maybe poor health wasn’t something that should de-sex a person.” Yes to this book. Talia Hibbert wrote a smart, compassionate, sexy as hell romance with a chronically ill female lead and she fucking hit it out of the ball park.This is enemies-to-lovers rom-com gold. I had the best time reading this book. Here is proof that you can write a character who is in near-constant pain without letting her illness become who she is. Which I have seen so, so many times in various forms of media.Don’ "...maybe poor health wasn’t something that should de-sex a person.” Yes to this book. Talia Hibbert wrote a smart, compassionate, sexy as hell romance with a chronically ill female lead and she fucking hit it out of the ball park.This is enemies-to-lovers rom-com gold. I had the best time reading this book. Here is proof that you can write a character who is in near-constant pain without letting her illness become who she is. Which I have seen so, so many times in various forms of media.Don’t get me wrong, her fibromyalgia definitely impacts her life, in large and small ways, including her relationships with others, but instead of making it the central focus of this story, Hibbert makes it one of many facets.The male lead, for instance, is in the process of healing after an abusive relationship. I loved that he willingly sought help in his recovery. That he wasn’t afraid of his emotions like most other heroes in romance seem to be…still…somehow…in 2019.Chloe is also plus size, and I realized something while reading this. In so many other romances I’ve read with plus size or fat heroines, her size is almost…othered. Borderline fetishized. Like, the male lead can’t think any thoughts about her without fixating on her soft thighs, or her rounded stomach, or her full face, etc. In this, Red just thinks “Chloe’s thighs”, and for me, the lightbulb clicked on.I really liked Red as a male lead, for a variety of reasons. He was so respectful and empathetic to Chloe throughout, without babying her because she was sick. One of my favorite parts was when he realized they would have to delay being intimate because of her illness. Instead of being a prat or internally complaining about it, he instead ratcheted up the sexual tension between them, so that by the time they’d finally be able to do something about it, they’d both be ravenous.*fans self*I liked Chloe just as much. Dry humor is so, so hard to pull off in written form, but Hibbert, being British, was (unsurprisingly) able to convey both Chloe’s sly wit and subtle snark with aplomb.My one and only complaint about this book is that when the “big misunderstanding” does eventually come, it isn’t told through the perspective of the character causing the break, and so for me it was a little harder to swallow because of it. Especially when these two had previously avoided similar pitfalls with believable and refreshing openness and self-awareness.But I still recommend the hell out of this. It was such a fun, sexy, progressive romance, and I cannot wait for the rest of the books in the series.Blog | FB | Twitter | IG | Pinterest | Tumblr | YouTube
    more
  • Book of the Month
    January 1, 1970
    Why I love itby Grace AtwoodAt first blush, Get a Life, Chloe Brown looks like a real breeze of a read. Or maybe a sweet schmaltzy romance. And while you will be able to devour it within an afternoon (and it IS a sweet romance), it’s so much more than that. It’s a complex story about two very real, very vulnerable, very likable characters. You’ll laugh and cry (and WHOAH there are some very steamy sex scenes… don’t give this to your teenager!)Chloe Brown is chronically ill—after getting Why I love itby Grace AtwoodAt first blush, Get a Life, Chloe Brown looks like a real breeze of a read. Or maybe a sweet schmaltzy romance. And while you will be able to devour it within an afternoon (and it IS a sweet romance), it’s so much more than that. It’s a complex story about two very real, very vulnerable, very likable characters. You’ll laugh and cry (and WHOAH there are some very steamy sex scenes… don’t give this to your teenager!)Chloe Brown is chronically ill—after getting pneumonia years ago she has fibromyalgia and is always tired and sick. Though she’s close with her family, her illness has made it difficult to have a social life. But Chloe has a plan and an utterly adorable to-do list: to help her to, quite literally, “get a life.” Things like “do something bad,” and “have meaningless but thoroughly enjoyable sex.”When Chloe moves out of her family mansion and into an apartment building, she immediately clashes with Redford “Red” Morgan, the building’s superintendent, and an artist with some pretty heavy emotional baggage. It's hate at first sight. Though Red thinks Chloe is privileged and snobby and Chloe finds Red to be equally grating, they ultimately develop a friendship when Chloe offers to build a website for Red to showcase his artwork. Soon, Red is helping her check some of the things off of her list...As with all great rom-coms, the tables eventually turn and Chloe and Red each find themselves falling hard. But will they be able to overcome Red’s emotional baggage and Chloe’s inability to trust? You’ll have to read the book to find out!Read more at: https://bookofthemonth.com/get-a-life...
    more
  • Ceecee
    January 1, 1970
    Chloe Brown suffers from fibromyalgia, has chronic pain and fatigue, surviving with the help of painkillers. For a while the illness causes her to leave life behind but with the aid of many lists (I do like a list!) including one entitled ‘Get a Life’ she decides to take the step of leaving the comfort of her wealthy parents home and move into an unprepossessing apartment block in South Nottingham. The superintendent of the building is an artist and a rather divine male specimen called Redford Chloe Brown suffers from fibromyalgia, has chronic pain and fatigue, surviving with the help of painkillers. For a while the illness causes her to leave life behind but with the aid of many lists (I do like a list!) including one entitled ‘Get a Life’ she decides to take the step of leaving the comfort of her wealthy parents home and move into an unprepossessing apartment block in South Nottingham. The superintendent of the building is an artist and a rather divine male specimen called Redford Morgan. Their relationship gets of to a poor start but develops but not without many bumps in the road in what proves to be a very enjoyable read! There are some lovely characters including Red and Chloe who is smart and sassy; some of the dialogue between them is very funny. Chloe’s sisters - Eve and Dani and her grandmother Gigi are fantastic too. I especially like Eve who comes out with some absolutely hilarious malapropisms. I also like Annie who although only a peripheral character she always makes a page dance! There are some lovely descriptions such as when Red takes Chloe on a motorbike ride so she can tick that of her get a life list! I think a stand out scene is when Chloe describes to Red the devastating effect fibromyalgia has upon her life as she watched friends and her fiancé disappear.The story is emotional, touching and moving at times and filled with joyous laughter at others, it’s lustful too, sometimes gentle and sad but conversely harsh, angry and very occasional dark. Sometimes Ref and Chloe are open and honest, at others closed off, hurt and angry. There’s a bit of mystery and magic in the mix too. They are sweet together, occasionally vulnerable and then they can be bold and strong. Throughout it all there’s humour which I love. The end is lovely! Chloe realises that her lists are redundant, that her life filled with pain means that she’s brave and a survivor and if she can learn to love herself again that she can let herself be loved. Overall, a really good romantic comedy which I enjoyed.
    more
  • Karima chermiti
    January 1, 1970
    Adorable, steamy and life affirming; Get a Life, Chloe Brown is your next must-read romance. Full of heart and tender moments, I felt a delicious warmth spread over me every time I picked the book.The book starts with Chloe nearly getting hit by a drunk driver and that experience makes her realize that she wasn’t living her life to the fullest which motivate her to make a get a life list.But life rarely follows our plans and Chloe will get to understand that in the most wonderful brave way. Adorable, steamy and life affirming; Get a Life, Chloe Brown is your next must-read romance. Full of heart and tender moments, I felt a delicious warmth spread over me every time I picked the book.The book starts with Chloe nearly getting hit by a drunk driver and that experience makes her realize that she wasn’t living her life to the fullest which motivate her to make a get a life list.But life rarely follows our plans and Chloe will get to understand that in the most wonderful brave way.Chloe, the main character of this book is chronically ill and I appreciate the representation and the way it was done. First of all, this is a representation that I haven’t seen before in the romance books that I read; I never read about a chronically ill main character in a romance novel and I admire the fact that this author did it and the way she portrayed it and made it feel authentic, real and believable. I also appreciate the fact that it was written in a way that raises awareness around it without using it as a plot device in a romantic scheme; I really loved the honesty within it.I also appreciated and loved Red, the male love interest and how he was written. He has his own story and his own arc and I loved the journey he went through in this book and how he learns to deal with his demons and struggles without shutting people out or retreating in a shell. He was not just a love interest but a well written character who shines through the whole book as much as Chloe.I love how being with each other made Chloe and Red better persons without being co-dependent or used. The safety they feel with each other was mutual and the way they connect and help each other see the truth behind their hurt and reluctance made my heart sour.The romance was wonderful, equally steamy and warm, it was beautiful and heartfelt. The chemistry between Chloe and Red is undeniable and the feelings they share are so vivid and honest, you feel it making the words come alive. I like how healthy the relationship is and how they open up to each other and their williness to communicte when one of them fucks up. I loved how aware thye are about their faults and how ready to work through all the obstacles together. It's just a wonderful relationship build on mutual love, passion and admiration and that's something rarely done which make me appreciate it even moreI think if you’re a fan of The Kiss Quotient; The Flatshare and The Bookish Life of Nina Hill you’ll definitely fall in love with this book as well. They’re all life affirming romance books that celebrates life and love in purest and loveliest way.
    more
  • Antonella
    January 1, 1970
    I wish I loved this more. Maybe because of the narrator's voice whenever she did Chloe was so annoying.Overall it is a solid read! Cute & funny! 3,5 stars
  • Laura • lauralovestoread
    January 1, 1970
    All the stars! Such a cute read..I loved this refreshing, sassy, hilarious book so much. I also appreciated the fair amount of steam, and have fully fallen for Red. Chloe is so relatable and real. How nice to finally have a heroine that doesn’t fit the typical mold that saturates the romance genre. She suffers from chronic pain and shows a brave face through various moments in her life. I can’t wait to read the followup!*Thank you Avon publishing and Libro.fm for this gifted copy for review.
    more
Write a review