A Lush and Seething Hell
The award-winning and critically-acclaimed master of horror returns with a pair of chilling tales—both never-before-published in print—that examine the violence and depravity of the human condition.Bringing together his acclaimed novella The Sea Dreams It Is the Sky and an all-new short novel My Heart Struck Sorrow, John Hornor Jacobs turns his fertile imagination to the evil that breeds within the human soul.A brilliant mix of the psychological and supernatural, blending the acute insight of Roberto Bolaño and the eerie imagination of H. P. Lovecraft, The Sea Dreams It Is the Sky examines life in a South American dictatorship. Centered on the journal of a poet-in-exile and his failed attempts at translating a maddening text, it is told by a young woman trying to come to grips with a country that nearly devoured itself.In My Heart Struck Sorrow, a librarian discovers a recording from the Deep South—which may be the musical stylings of the Devil himself.Breathtaking and haunting, A Lush and Seething Hell is a terrifying and exhilarating journey into the darkness, an odyssey into the deepest reaches of ourselves that compels us to confront secrets best left hidden.

A Lush and Seething Hell Details

TitleA Lush and Seething Hell
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseOct 8th, 2019
PublisherHarper Voyager
ISBN-139780062880826
Rating
GenreHorror, Fiction, Fantasy, Adult

A Lush and Seething Hell Review

  • Sadie Hartmann Mother Horror
    January 1, 1970
    Review originally published at Cemetery Dance Sept. 23rd, 2019The cover of A Lush and Seething Hell depicts two figures standing in some brambles; a darkness looms behind them, above them, all around them. It’s a menacing tower of darkness bearing down, but also rising up. Upon closer inspection, the figures aren’t so much standing as they are cowering.I know because I stared at the cover and the title for awhile before I ventured past it to get at the meaty insides. And Review originally published at Cemetery Dance Sept. 23rd, 2019The cover of A Lush and Seething Hell depicts two figures standing in some brambles; a darkness looms behind them, above them, all around them. It’s a menacing tower of darkness bearing down, but also rising up. Upon closer inspection, the figures aren’t so much standing as they are cowering.I know because I stared at the cover and the title for awhile before I ventured past it to get at the meaty insides. And it’s that posture of cowering I remembered after I finished this book. There are two stories that make up A Lush and Seething Hell. The first is titled “The Sea Dreams it is the Sky,” and it’s about a poet named Rafael Avendano, also mysteriously known as The Eye, who strikes up a casual friendship with a woman named Isabel. They realize they have a lot in common and their relationship deepens. For the reader, Jacobs writes with so much attention to detail, it’s impossible to remember that what is unfolding are fictional events. I kept wanting to reach for my phone and Google “Rafael Avendano” so that I could read more about his life and poetry.As a side note here, graphic scenes of torture are difficult for me and at some point in the story, Avendano finds himself in the hands of his enemies. What happens to him is so graphic and told in such an unflinching manner, I might have shied away from it, but Jacobs lured me in with describing Avendano’s mental escape into oblivion. There was this beauty to what was happening inside this poet—that even the cruelty he was experiencing physically couldn’t strip him of what was happening in his mind. I hope that makes sense. It does when I read it back to myself.Eventually, Isabel and Rafael’s narratives experience a shocking confluence that leaves the reader suspended in mind-reeling bliss. I read one scene over and over again because it was just so powerful. It captured my imagination and lead me into a long spell of thoughtfulness. I couldn’t fully get my brain around it until I gave myself more time with it.I came away from this story with a nasty, bookish hangover…the only cure? Jacob’s second story (and my favorite of the two) “My Heart Struck Sorrow.” This is the story of a librarian weighed down by grief and guilt. He goes on this assignment with a coworker to an estate left in their company’s possession by a philanthropist who has passed away. They find a long forgotten room filled with recordings and journals. As a lover of horror fiction, I get excited about stories with found footage/files—one of my favorite subgenres. The narrative splits into two at this point, with our present-day protagonist becoming immersed in the discovery of these forgotten memoirs and the tale that he’s reading about: Two men in the 1930s are commissioned by the Library of Congress to travel around America collecting the songs of the people for posterity. Folk songs. One song in particular catches their attention.I’m not going to sugarcoat the facts here—this story terrified me. This song that keeps coming up and the strange events that happen after it is sung and listened to—it’s unnerving. Again, I was captivated by Jacobs’ storytelling style and his impressive use of specific details, which really must come from his extensive research. I kept experiencing this inability to remember that what I was reading was fiction. This illusion adds to the bone chilling nature of the story. I loved this novella. It’s one of my favorites now. I will be recommending this one a lot and keeping an eye on anything John Hornor Jacobs releases in the future.
    more
  • Char
    January 1, 1970
    After reading THE SEA DREAMS IT IS THE SKY, I became an instant fan of John Hornor Jacobs. A LUSH AND SEETHING HELL reassured me that my respect and high esteem for the man was earned and well placed.This book is comprised of two stories, the first a novella, (the aforementioned THE SEA DREAMS IT IS THE SKY), and the second, a short novel titled MY HEART STRUCK SORROW. This review is going to focus almost solely on the second tale. When I saw on Twitter that this book was coming out, After reading THE SEA DREAMS IT IS THE SKY, I became an instant fan of John Hornor Jacobs. A LUSH AND SEETHING HELL reassured me that my respect and high esteem for the man was earned and well placed.This book is comprised of two stories, the first a novella, (the aforementioned THE SEA DREAMS IT IS THE SKY), and the second, a short novel titled MY HEART STRUCK SORROW. This review is going to focus almost solely on the second tale. When I saw on Twitter that this book was coming out, I clicked the pre-order button right away. (There wasn't a description there yet, and I didn't know that THE SEA DREAMS IT IS THE SKY was going to be included. When I did discover that, I didn't care because...support.) You can find my review of THE SEA DREAMS IT IS THE SKY here: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...I went into MY HEART STRUCK SORROW almost totally blind. I was excited to find out that music was a central theme to this tale. I'm a lover of Blues music and I'm fascinated by many of the old artists who were the basis for a lot of the popular music of today. You cannot imagine how stoked I was to find a deep connection with music from the old south in this book. Cromwell and Harriet are called in to the Parker estate to itemize and catalog Parker's extensive collection of old acetate recordings and journals. I loved this way of framing the story as we are then taken to Parker's point of view for much of the book. He was traveling the south interviewing and recording musicians as an ethnomusicologist, (like the real-life Alan Lomax), dedicated to capturing and preserving music. He traveled with a SoundScriber, the heavy, awkward machine with which he recorded said musicians. These artists and the areas in which they lived were brought to vivid life in my mind's eye. I easily pictured them. I smelled them. I felt the humidity and heat of the south. I felt the humanity in their songs, and how they changed from one town to another, especially the songs about Stagger Lee. (Or Stacker Lee, or whatever title was used.) "In Mississippi, in the delta of Arkansas and northern Louisiana, they speak in harsh tones, clipped syllables, as if their entire morphology of communication were angry and inflamed." One of the men he interviews, Honeyboy, is actually in prison. Parker is able to obtain permission to interview and record him. During those scenes I came across this passage: "Even the guards laughed at this, and for a while the barracks were full of the laughter of incarcerated men. They sounded like any group of men gathered together. Each full of his own particular sorrow, his mirth, his guilt, the comet's tail of his existence pulling wreckage after him." This got me to thinking about my comet's tail and what kind of wreckage I carry around within it. Jacobs deftly weaves the threads of the past and the present, most especially those of Parker and Cromwell. Turns out they had a few things in common. I didn't see what they were at first, but as this tale unraveled, I did. Grief, loss and most of all, guilt, come to each life-how we handle those things, or not handle them as the case may be, made for an engaging and stunning denouement. I find myself lacking the words and/or skills to properly communicate to you how this book made me feel and why I think you should read it. The tales within are distinctly different from each other, one more a tale of torture, politics and cosmic horror, the other- for me, being at heart a story of loss, guilt, and grief, well framed and partially hidden in a tale about blues and folk music. I'm not going to pretend that I "got" everything there is to get with this story, I already know I will read it again. I'm not going to pretend that I know a lot about ethnomusicology, but I can say I want to learn more about it and about Alan Lomax in general. Leaving behind my inadequacies in getting across how this tale made me feel, I'll wrap with saying that both stories here are extremely well written, unique, thought provoking and powerful. I'll leave you with this quote: "We are sound waves crashing against the shore with no SoundScriber to take down our likeness, our facsimile. Words like these are just echoes of that original sound. We are but small vibrations on the face of the universe." With that, my fellow small vibration on the face of the universe, I give A LUSH AND SEETHING HELL my HIGHEST recommendation!Available October 6th, but you can pre-order here: https://amzn.to/2kXiu92*Thanks to Harper Voyager and NetGalley for the e-ARC in exchange for my honest feedback. I'm buying the book anyway, but I got to read it sooner this way!***Please forgive me for the quotes, but I felt they were necessary to help convey me feelings.**
    more
  • Paul
    January 1, 1970
    My gushing blurb!The audacity of John Hornor Jacobs to write two brilliant, hallucinatory, terrifying short novels that mash up South American poetry and politics, pre-WWII American folk songs, all-too-human depravity and longing, and cosmic horror. And then, he presents them in one book, A LUSH AND SEETHING HELL; one of the best books of the year. Damn him.
    more
  • Sheila
    January 1, 1970
    4 stars average--I really liked it. This is a book of two horror novellas. Both are really well written.The Sea Dreams It Is the Sky: 3 stars. This is a story of cosmic horror, and also the tale of a South American dictatorship and all the horror that entails. It uses one of my favorite plot elements: a mysterious manuscript that must be translated, and that might reveal some universal secrets. If you're squeamish, be warned that there's lots of torture here. I liked the story, but t 4 stars average--I really liked it. This is a book of two horror novellas. Both are really well written.The Sea Dreams It Is the Sky: 3 stars. This is a story of cosmic horror, and also the tale of a South American dictatorship and all the horror that entails. It uses one of my favorite plot elements: a mysterious manuscript that must be translated, and that might reveal some universal secrets. If you're squeamish, be warned that there's lots of torture here. I liked the story, but thought the ending was a bit abrupt.My Heart Struck Sorrow: 5 stars; I really loved this American folk-horror tale about the folk song Stagger Lee. The research done for this story--about the American south after WWI, the Mississippi flood, racial tensions, folk music, etc.--was impressive. At its heart, the story is about guilt and punishment. The resolution was perfect, and the characterization (Honeyboy!) was excellent.I received this review copy from the publisher on NetGalley. Thanks for the opportunity to read and review; I appreciate it!
    more
  • Emily
    January 1, 1970
    3.5⭐A Lush and Seething Hell is comprised of two books - a novella called The Sea Dreams It Is the Sky, and a short novel called My Heart Struck Sorrow. I read an ARC of The Sea Dreams It Is the Sky last year, so I'm copying my review into this one, and then will talk about My Heart Struck Sorrow below that. The Sea Dreams It Is the Sky: I wasn't entirely sure what to expect from The Sea Dreams It Is the Sky, and I'm so glad that I picked it up. This story immediately drew me in, and 3.5⭐A Lush and Seething Hell is comprised of two books - a novella called The Sea Dreams It Is the Sky, and a short novel called My Heart Struck Sorrow. I read an ARC of The Sea Dreams It Is the Sky last year, so I'm copying my review into this one, and then will talk about My Heart Struck Sorrow below that. The Sea Dreams It Is the Sky: I wasn't entirely sure what to expect from The Sea Dreams It Is the Sky, and I'm so glad that I picked it up. This story immediately drew me in, and I was hooked the entire way through. I'm impressed with the author's ability to do a great character study in such a short amount of time, along with having the horror of being exiled from a war-torn country surrounding it. I really enjoyed reading about the characters in this book, and I would continue reading about them if there ever happened to be more stories. This book is heartbreaking, and it's very easy to get wrapped up in what the characters are feeling. The Sea Dreams It Is the Sky is a solid story across the board. I wish some more of my questions had been answered, but I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. I gave The Sea Dreams It Is the Sky 4⭐. My Heart Struck Sorrow:I was really looking forward to My Heart Struck Sorrow since it has a fascinating synopsis, but I had a tough time connecting with this story. Cursed item & music horror stories will always grab my attention.My Heart Struck Sorrow is very detailed (to the point that it felt overwritten for me). The spooky moments were few and far between, and most of the story was just mundane information about the jobs of the people who worked for the Library of Congress and were researching the music. It felt very repetitive after a while, and it was more like historical fiction with horror tones than the cosmic horror I thought it was going to be. The folk horror elements were intriguing, but I had a difficult time maintaining interest in the story. I felt that the ending was sort of lackluster - I figured the story was ramping up to something big, but the slow burn just fizzled out. I didn't feel a connection to it as a reader, and there was a lack of emotion due to more telling than showing. This isn't a bad story; I just wasn't the right reader & was hoping for more. I gave My Heart Struck Sorrow 3⭐, so it's a 3.5⭐ for A Lush and Seething Hell as a whole.
    more
  • T. Frohock
    January 1, 1970
    Horror is many different things to different people. What scares one person isn’t the same as what frightens another. For me, the best horror is a deep examination of our negative emotions; those thoughts and fears that disquiet in the depth of the night: moments left undone, words unsaid, the strange, the weird, the obscene brought to light. Done well, it is a cerebral exploration of the darkness that lies within everyone.If that is your vibe, too, then here are two stories done exc Horror is many different things to different people. What scares one person isn’t the same as what frightens another. For me, the best horror is a deep examination of our negative emotions; those thoughts and fears that disquiet in the depth of the night: moments left undone, words unsaid, the strange, the weird, the obscene brought to light. Done well, it is a cerebral exploration of the darkness that lies within everyone.If that is your vibe, too, then here are two stories done exceptionally well and collected in a single volume entitled A Lush and Seething Hell by John Hornor Jacobs:THE SEA DREAMS IT IS THE SKYI read this story as Word document last year. It immediately reminded me of the Jorge Luis Borges story, “The Gospel According to Mark,” which I read many years ago. Stylistically, both works begin in the most mundane of ways and make a slow, steady progression, first into the surreal and then into horror. Jacobs takes the unsettling imagery of a country at war with itself and gives us, what I like to call, Borges meets Lovecraft.Refugees from the fictional Latin American country of Magera chance upon one another in their self-imposed exile in Málaga, Spain. One is the poet, Rafael Avendaño, and the other is a teacher, Isabel, who is our narrator. Avendaño is thought by most to be dead, murdered by the fascists who now rule Magera, but instead, he escaped with his life, but not with his art. Since his exile in Spain, he no longer writes poetry.Isabel, on the other hand, doesn’t approach her friendship with Avendaño with any sense of reverence. She finds his poetry to be misogynistic and puerile, nor does she teach his works in her classes. He invites her to a movie. She goes. Their strange friendship begins. When Avendaño leaves Spain to return to Magera, he gives Isabel the key to his apartment and asks her to look after his place. There, she finds a book authored by Avendaño entitled Below, Between, Beneath, and Beyond. Here, she finds the story of Avendaño’s days before, during, and after the fascist takeover of Magera, where Avendaño is required to translate a book, Opusculus Noctis, which he titles A Little Night Work.As she reads Avendaño’s autobiography and discovers his notes on A Little Night Work, Isabel decides to return to Magera to find Avendaño. Here, their stories converge, and the Lovecraftian aspects of the story emerge in full bloom.Lovecraftian stories can be hit or miss for me, primarily because the endings can swerve into the obscure with the ending so ambiguous or arcane that the reader is left foundering for a solid landing. Jacobs avoids that pitfall here. He keeps the narrative tight, and as the story seeps into the surreal, leading the reader to a logical ending that seems neither too real, nor too opaque.It’s a hard balance to write, but Jacobs handles it like a virtuoso, drawing the reader into his world and unveiling the strange, the weird, the obscene, to bring the true horror of evil into the light. This is the kind of dark fiction I love to read, and I offer it to you, highly recommended.MY HEART STRUCK SORROW<\b>My Heart Struck Sorrow is my favorite of the two. While Lovecraftian stories have their allure, southern stories with the devil are some of my personal favorites. Primarily because the devil and his kin are often stand-ins for those aforementioned emotions. Stories that entwine music and madness are also some of my favorites, so with My Heart Struck Sorrow, I got the best of both worlds.This is one of those stories that the less you know going in will enhance how the story works for you, so I’ll only give a very basic overview of the plot.Cromwell is a music librarian in the Folklife Center at the Library of Congress. His wife and son have recently died, leaving Cromwell in a state of grief even as he returns to work. There, he finds that the grandniece of Harlan Parker has died and bequeathed their rather massive collection to the Library of Congress.A war hero, Harlan Parker once worked for the Library of Congress, travelling across the south to collect and index folk music on a commission of ethnomusicology, but something strange happened during Parker’s travels, causing him to abandon the commission and simply disappear into his sister’s Springfield home, where he remained until the end of his days.Cromwell and his co-worker, Hattie, go to the Parker estate to catalog and preserve the estate’s records. In doing so, they find a secret room, because all horror stories should have at least one secret room, and in this small chamber Cromwell and Hattie find acetates of folk music that Parker recorded during his travels, along with Parker’s diary from the late thirties.Soon Cromwell is immersed in Parker’s writings and infatuation with a song known interchangeably as “Stagolee,” “Stackalee,” or “Stagger Lee.” As Cromwell listens to the recordings Parker created and follows the events within the journal, he is led into Parker’s increasingly bizarre adventures in the rural south, which at times, seems to mirror Hell itself.Yet, in the end, Jacobs loops the story back to Cromwell, and the two seemingly divergent trajectories are brought together in a startling conclusion that is both poignant and horrific in its intensity. My Heart Struck Sorrow moves like a song with the refrain of “Stagger Lee” as the backbeat, a thumping baseline of desire for power, for revenge, and finally, as the music winds down, for remorse unanswered by forgiveness.While I enjoy and admire many writers, it’s rare I stand in awe of another contemporary author’s work, but this is one of those times. If you love horror and genuinely excellent storytelling, you should enter A Lush and Seething Hell. You won’t regret the trip.Tell the Devil I said hello.
    more
  • FanFiAddict
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to Harper Voyager and the John Hornor Jacobs for an advanced reading copy of A Lush and Seething Hell in exchange for an honest review. Receiving this eARC did not influence my thoughts or opinions on the novel or author.Note: Though the book is comprised of a novella and a short novel, I will really only be reviewing the short novel this go-round, though the extent to which I savored his writing will be plastered all over it.I was lucky enough to have received an Thanks to Harper Voyager and the John Hornor Jacobs for an advanced reading copy of A Lush and Seething Hell in exchange for an honest review. Receiving this eARC did not influence my thoughts or opinions on the novel or author.Note: Though the book is comprised of a novella and a short novel, I will really only be reviewing the short novel this go-round, though the extent to which I savored his writing will be plastered all over it.I was lucky enough to have received an advanced reading copy of The Sea Dreams It Is the Sky last year and it was my favorite novella of 2018 (you can find my full review here). It was my first attempt at a work by Jacobs and ended up cementing him as one of my go-to authors for not only reading enjoyment, but writing inspiration. So when I saw that Harper Voyager was publishing a new book by Jacobs, I instantly submitted my request on Edelweiss and NetGalley. I honestly didn’t even give it a 2nd glance to see that it included TSDIITS as I was just THAT excited for it and the gorgeously creepy cover by Jeffrey Alan Love drew me in. To be honest, re-reading TSDIITS was just as enjoyable as the first go-round, and I picked up on some things I missed.But getting to My Heart Struck Sorrow was my ultimate goal.In short, this short novel scared the sh*t out of me. It has stayed with me for days and I keep picturing myself gripping my Kindle harder and harder as I fell deeper and deeper into Jacob’s writing and the story that unfolded. While I can’t say the beginning hooked me, it was enough of a taste to keep me wanting more. TSDIITS was sort of the same way: a slow burn; a fuse that burns down without ignition, only to explode as you begin to look away. And as the flames rise higher, you become entranced; unable to look away and hallucinating things that aren’t really there. Or are they..Jacobs ability to dissect the human psyche through oft-times intense psychological terror and put that onto paper is immensely brilliant. The supernatural effect that the recordings have on our protagonist feel so real that they leap off of the page. What really kept me intrigued were the recordings themselves. While they started off fairly innocent, a quick turn of events sent us off course and onto the highway to hell. The Lovecraftian elements shined through in the darkest depths of the novel and lead to several scenes of pure terror; ones in which I had to click the lamp back on and steady my breathing.All in all, I cannot recommend A Lush and Seething Hell enough. While these stories aren’t for everyone, those who love brilliant writing and slow burn horror will find themselves overjoyed which what Jacobs has given the world. I loved it and I think you will, to.A Lush and Seething Hell hits stores on October 8th.
    more
  • Will Klein
    January 1, 1970
    Initially reviewed here at thequilltolive.comI am not a religious man. Despite my Catholic upbringing and coming of age in the American midwest, the world of the spiritual has never called out to me. I’ve never felt the rapture of religion or the whisper of the divine. As such, I find myself sorely lacking in vocabulary to describe my experience with A Lush and Seething Hell by John Hornor Jacobs. Comprised of the novellas The Sea Dreams it is the Sky and My Heart Struck Sorrow, this “anthology-lite” as Initially reviewed here at thequilltolive.comI am not a religious man. Despite my Catholic upbringing and coming of age in the American midwest, the world of the spiritual has never called out to me. I’ve never felt the rapture of religion or the whisper of the divine. As such, I find myself sorely lacking in vocabulary to describe my experience with A Lush and Seething Hell by John Hornor Jacobs. Comprised of the novellas The Sea Dreams it is the Sky and My Heart Struck Sorrow, this “anthology-lite” as I’ve come to think of it is beyond normal description for me. Had I truly submerged myself in the dogma of Catholicism, with its near-magic and incensed ritualism, I might be able to better put into words how these stories affected me. As it is, however, I can only imagine that this is what people who have had spiritual revelations felt like in the aftermath: my nerves are raw and frayed, and I feel as if I have been exposed to something separate from me and all the experience I’ve had up to this point.I know that sounds rather overwrought and excessive, but so much of this book has infused me and singed the edges of all that I am that there’s no other way to describe it. The book’s cover art slowly wore away from my fingers as I read it, and over the week it took me to read and re-read and really digest the depth and weight of the stories it contained, I would find little black spots on my hands and forearms from the ink wearing away. It was almost as if I was physically consuming the book as I read it. I’ve received and reviewed a decent number of ARCs at this point, and while they’re never quite as well put together physically as a release copy of a book, I’ve never experienced anything quite like this. I felt personally connected to the stories of Isabel and Cromwell, and felt that I was being marked just as they were by something incomprehensible and vast and somehow more than the paltry world I had experienced to that point. Jacobs uses the phrase “collapsed-time” in both stories to describe the fluidity and lack of form of time when experienced through a period of great pain or emotion, and that is exactly what I felt during my time with the stories. Time as I had known it ceased to act for me in the way it always had, and I felt myself separate from it in a fundamental and indescribable way.I’m normally more lighthearted in my reviews and take less care in my attempts at mellifluous descriptions and language, but I don’t know that I could review something that I felt so profoundly without all of this extra…everything. I’ve waited to start writing this review for weeks now to see whether the feeling would change or stick with me, and if anything my experience with these stories has grown more profound in retrospect. I don’t know if I’ll ever find a novel or anthology or anything else that will impact me quite the same way. I never have before.The book begins with The Sea Dreams it is the Sky, a tale about Isabel, an exiled teacher from the made-up South American country of Magera. While the country described in the story is imaginary, the trials and tribulations it undergoes at the hands of a totalitarian regime supported from behind the scenes by the United States are all too based in history. She meets her country’s most famous (or infamous) exiled poet Avendano, who is believed by most to be dead after being captured and tortured by the government. When he tells her that he must return to the country under strange circumstances, he gives her his apartment and access to his unfinished translation of an ancient and obscene text. In the process of continuing the translation she is drawn back to her country to search for Avendano and to try to reconcile what is currently happening to her with what has happened and continues to happen to her country. The story becomes more dreamlike and terrifying as it continues and Isabel is drawn further into the horror that has subsumed her home, horror of cosmic and sadly mundane nature. While there are great and unknowable forces at work in Magera, they are contrasted against the totalitarian regime of Vidal, and I found this comparison to be remarkably profound. Cosmic horror relies heavily on the fear of the unknown, that the forces at work against the protagonist are so vast and alien that the horror happening in the story is actually impersonal, because why would an ancient being with the power of gods actually care about a single individual? In stark relief against this is the specific pettiness of the horror Vidal’s government inflicts on its own people. Teachers, students, Marxists, and regular citizens who know the wrong people are intentionally targeted and disappeared in ways horrific enough that the description of Avendano reacting to the tortures that aren’t themselves described was enough for me to be truly unsettled. It is a trip down a rabbit hole into a twisted surreal wonderland that I wanted to leave but couldn’t get enough of.My Heart Struck Sorrow, the second story of this anthology-lite, is a more classic cosmic horror tale of a researcher discovering a work of art that tells a story humans aren’t meant to understand. I want it to be clear that my description of this as “more classic” is not meant to imply that this is in any way less scary or meaningful for that fact. With as much horror as I read, it’s rare for me to be physically affected by a story, but in three pages my scalp was tingling and the hair on the back of my neck was raised. This story masterfully mixes both supernatural horror and terror of a mundane nature and is stronger for not relying on one or the other. Following a music researcher, Cromwell, as he explores recordings left to the historical agency he works for as part of an old woman’s estate, My Heart Struck Sorrow is a mysterious and haunting story about the magic the world used to, and may still, contain and a man’s desperation to tap into that regardless of the personal cost. I will say no more about the story, but, “He’s a bad man, Stackalee.”I need to wrap this “review that isn’t really a review so much as me pouring my heart out about something that filled it too much” up. I’m sure you can tell from everything up to this point that I absolutely loved this book. I have never been impacted by stories the way I was with this, and the very act of reading cast a sort of glamour over me and my life for both the week I was actively reading it and each day since. Maybe it was the mindset I had going into the reading of this book. It could have been a strange cosmic alignment that changed me and made me more receptive to it. I’m not sure, but I had as close to a religious experience as I’ve ever felt while reading this, and to anyone looking for another great cosmic horror writer, look no further than John Hornor Jacobs.Rating: A Lush and Seething Hell – 10/10 (I would give it more if I could)-Will
    more
  • Christine Sandquist (eriophora)
    January 1, 1970
    This review and others can be read on my blog, Black Forest Basilisks.This is not a comfortable book. It is brutal. It is often gory. It is violent, torturous, and painful. It is not palatable. And yet, A Lush and Seething Hell is perhaps one of the most polished and seamless books I have read. As Chuck Wendig put it in the foreword, “his magic tricks remain pure fucking magic. These murder ballads are ones we have not heard before.” I cannot find it in myself to disagree with him. When I review This review and others can be read on my blog, Black Forest Basilisks.This is not a comfortable book. It is brutal. It is often gory. It is violent, torturous, and painful. It is not palatable. And yet, A Lush and Seething Hell is perhaps one of the most polished and seamless books I have read. As Chuck Wendig put it in the foreword, “his magic tricks remain pure fucking magic. These murder ballads are ones we have not heard before.” I cannot find it in myself to disagree with him. When I review a book, I tend to pick it apart to see what makes it tick. Then, I reduce it down into a format that will give a reader a good idea as to the tone and content of the book while also allowing some of my own biases and voice to come through. I fail to pick this book apart. I fail to see the specific gears that make it tick, though I can certainly see the hands turning and hear the bells chiming.A Lush and Seething Hell is a duology of two novellas, The Sea Dreams it is the Sky and My Heart Struck Sorrow, the latter being closer to a novel in length. However, neither of these two books feel like novellas. It is shocking to think back and realize how short they actually were. It is an illusion, a conceit, but never a façade. They are so well-crafted that they have the feel of length due to their depth. They are two very different stories, yet they complement one another perfectly. The expectations set up in the first novella are subverted and twisted in unexpected ways, almost a sucker punch to the reader. -The Sea Dreams it is the Sky-‘A thousand voices caromed in my head. From such a remove, I can see now it was just the tugging of the flesh, trying to find something to grasp onto to protect itself, the quivers of an organism in distress sorting through experience and conditioning.My life up until then was just a fabric of verse and poems. Now my life was no longer mine.’While reading The Sea Dreams it is the Sky, I found myself searching online repeatedly for the country of “Magera,” located somewhere in South America. This country is fictional, and I suspected as much while reading and due to the futility of my online searches… and yet, I doubted myself. This felt real. This felt like a country that ought to exist. And, perhaps, in a way it did exist – only to slip down a voracious, toothy gullet that had been coaxed open with a surfeit of human suffering and cruelty. The book opens on two refugees from Magera who chance to meet in Málaga, Spain. Isabel, a teacher at the university nearby, develops a strange friendship with the one-eyed and once-famous poet, Rafael Avendaño, now also known as The Eye. Isabel initially finds Avendaño to be quite off-putting: he is misogynistic, often rude, and overall incredibly rough around the edges. Even so, she finds herself drawn to him as a curiosity in her otherwise predictable world. When Avendaño departs from Málaga to return to Magera, he leaves his home and all its contents in Isabel’s care… along with the request that she ensure to always feed the cat, for her own protection. ‘I could not say I liked The Eye. I think I disliked him the way one dislikes a cousin or uncle. But he was interesting. And so familiar. We agreed on a meeting time. He stood, drained his coffee to its dregs. “I will be up all night now,” he said. He placed far too much money on the table. When I indicated it was ten times his share, he said, “Go, buy yourself a book. I’ve enough to spare. Allow me to spend my money on young women in ways that won’t get me chased out of town.”‘Avendaño’s home is younger than his years, a den of sin and gluttony. The beds are large, hung with colorful fabrics, decadent. It is the home of a young man in his prime, intent upon woo-ing women, and living large in all respects. Isabel takes full advantage at first, bringing her own lover, Claudia, over to the home where they enjoy themselves thoroughly. When she begins to dig deeper into just what Avendaño was doing here in Málaga, however, she uncovers a manuscript he had been working on titled Below, Between, Beneath, Beyond. This manuscript details his work on a translation of a book called Opusculus Noctis, which he titles A Little Night Work, during the fascist takeover of Magera. Thoughts of this book creep through Isabel’s mind, both waking and dreaming, and ultimately, she follows Avendaño back to Magera to discover the truth. ‘[Claudia] stubbed out her cigarette and rose. She looked in the fridge. “Did you get tomato juice?” Something about the question irked me. There had been no thanks from her, for anything. The breakfast. The date. The lovemaking – not that I demand assurances. But she was ungracious. “I think you should go,” I said. “I’ve got work to do here.”She turned to look at me, incredulous. I ignored her, picking up the manuscript of Below, Between, Beneath, Beyond. “Okay,” she said. She disappeared into the Eye’s bedroom. When she emerged, she had her purse and was putting on her earrings. “See you at school,” she said, and left unceremoniously. I sighed. I felt as if a great weight had lifted. Surely, Sartre had it right. Hell is other people. I found myself holding Avendaño’s secret manuscript. I opened it and began to read.’After Isabel leaves for Magera, the surreal, Lovecraftian elements begin to seep into the narrative. They take root, forming fruiting bodies within the text. The spores release and the reader breathes them in, becoming a host in turn to the ideas within the pages. The normal becomes the uncanny. The uncanny becomes the surreal. The surreal becomes horror. The horror becomes intolerable. The intolerable must be plucked from the host. So it goes. Isabel is pushed further than she realized she could go – she is transfigured by her own hand. She encounters death. She is an animal. She is death. Death permeates, and that which is beyond death clutches at her. And as Isabel pulls through to the conclusion – hers and Avendaño’s – the reader is not left dissatisfied. Lovecraftian horror too often becomes overly ambiguous and surreal. Jacobs walks the tightrope between the cosmic and the mundane, bringing the reader to a close that feels just strange and uncanny enough to satisfy without being overly opaque and impossible to parse. The prose is both purple and clipped simultaneously, creating a tone that transports you into the lush, seething hells of Magera’s dictatorship. The Sea Dreams it is the Sky hovers in the liminal spaces, lurking at the edges of your vision. -My Heart Struck Sorrow-‘Come think on death and judgment,Your words have all been said,A soldier home from warring,His hands and heart stained red.No water flows will clean youNo ocean wash awayThe stain that now corrodes youUntil your dying day.’My Heart Struck Sorrow takes a sharp turn from the subject matter of The Sea Dreams it is the Sky. Where the former was set in Spain and Latin America, My Heart Struck Sorrow is a tale woven from the fabric of North America, the United States. This is a story of Southern Devils, of the hell that exists in the hearts of men and women. A story of racism, sexism, discriminations large and small, present and past; a story of the sheer disregard we hold for our fellows. The book follows Cromwell, a middle-aged white man working for the Library of Congress examining folk songs. He is not a good man. While it is revealed early on that he has recently lost his wife and son, snatching a morsel of sympathy from any reader with a heart, it’s also revealed that he’s been involved in a years-long affair with another woman at work. He has justified this to himself, argued for it, even as he recognizes it for the moral failing that it is.He and his partner, Hattie, are assigned to document the contents of a house that has been left to the Library – former residence of a famous cataloguer of folks tunes, Harlan Parker. In the house, they discover a locked and boarded up room behind a dresser, which contains a myriad of old records and a journal that takes Cromwell back in time through music and old hatreds. Cromwell is enraptured by the story that unfolds in Parker’s journal, quickly developing an obsession with uncovering the truth. Hattie accuses him of taking advantage of historical black music for his own gain, pointing out that his motives have nothing to do with the community that created this music and mythos, but only with the wants and desires of the old white men in charge of his department.‘She tilts her head. “It’s a matter of perspective, Crumb. I see this shit for what it really is and you’ve got your blinders on. Ever think that, back in Parker’s day, the mission of the Library was coming from a race-based viewpoint? That these fine, upstanding, woke-as-fuck dudes from 1938 were collecting for the archive, but the archive itself was geared toward a white audience? Academic circles were almost wholly white. And all these fellas would go back from collecting and make the speaking circuit to audiences full of white faces wanting to hear ‘primitive’ music and stories of the proletariat.” Cromwell shrugs. “Whatever else it is, or represented at the time, it’s data, to be interpreted how it’s interpreted. You’re here now.”’As his digging into the journal becomes deeper, the imagery contained within becomes ever more disturbing. He seeks to find the roots of the song “Stagger Lee,” a song about a “bad, bad man” with devilish themes and nightmarish connotations. This song, also titled “Stackolee,” “Stagolee,” and other permutations, becomes a fugue throughout the novella, reappearing time and time again. The refrain, “I am an ocean, a black and churning sea,” follows Cromwell, haunts him. As he comes closer and closer to the conclusion of the journal, his own flaws come to the forefront: he is a sad, pitiful man. The denouement of the novel pulls each piece together to cast his heart in sharp relief as both his story and the story of Harlan Parker converge.—While this is not a book I would recommend to everyone given its often gruesome and painful content, it is a novella duology that is undeniably a masterpiece. I stood enthralled by his storytelling. It has been polished to a bloody-black gleam, cutting when you are least ready for it.If you enjoyed this review, please consider reading others like it on my blog, Black Forest Basilisks.
    more
  • Michael Hicks
    January 1, 1970
    My review of A LUSH AND SEETHING HELL can be found at High Fever Books.A Lush and Seething Hell is the kind of novel that you hope will, and even expect to, take an author’s career to the next level. It’s the sort of work that, if you haven’t been reading John Hornor Jacob already, you’ll be kicking yourself for this oversight and scouring bookstores for his past releases. The good news is that you’re getting two sublimely literary tales of cosmic horror here, one a novella and the other a short My review of A LUSH AND SEETHING HELL can be found at High Fever Books.A Lush and Seething Hell is the kind of novel that you hope will, and even expect to, take an author’s career to the next level. It’s the sort of work that, if you haven’t been reading John Hornor Jacob already, you’ll be kicking yourself for this oversight and scouring bookstores for his past releases. The good news is that you’re getting two sublimely literary tales of cosmic horror here, one a novella and the other a short novel. The first, The Sea Dreams It Is Sky, is one I had read previously when it was released as an ebook-only edition in late 2018. It subsequently made my best of the year list, and below is a very slightly modified review of what I wrote about it then and published elsewhere. The second story, My Heart Struck Sorrow, is exclusive to this release and was a read I’d been anticipating ever since finishing The Sea Dreams It Is Sky last year.First up…The Sea Dreams It Is The SkyAlthough H.P. Lovecraft is the most familiar name in the genre of cosmic horror, a number of other authors writing in this vein have shown themselves to be far better wordsmiths and storytellers - Victor LaValle, Brian Hodge, Laird Barron, and Caitlin R. Kiernan immediately spring to mind. I feel comfortable adding John Hornor Jacobs to this list now, with his novella The Sea Dreams It Is The Sky proving to be one of the best titles I've read in 2018 (and 2018 was absolutely flush with incredible horror titles, I might add).Racism was absolutely endemic in Lovecraft's work, with the man's total fear of Otherness, which is to say blacks and immigrants, pervading his mythos. Jacobs, however, writes entirely from the perspective of The Other - his central characters, Isabella and Rafael Avendaño, are South American expats living abroad in Spain. Their home country, the fictional Magera, has fallen to a Pinochet-like military junta. If either were ever to return home, it would mean certain death. Isabella is a lesbian, and, perhaps worse for those in power, both educated and an educator. Avendaño is a poet and outspoken critic of the despot ruling Magera.Whereas Lovecraft's horror arose from racist anxieties, in Jacobs's novella, political anxiety is the topic du jour, and certainly one that's far more relatable for this reader. Although set in 1987, The Sea Dreams It Is The Sky is unfortunately timely. The far-right threats of political violence stemming from the fictional Vidal's rule that threaten Isabella and Avendaño echo current global trends and the rise of nationalism. Brazil recently returned to a military dictatorship with the election of Jair Bolsonaro, the 'Trump of the tropics,' and with him came military raids of that country's universities earlier this week, a turn of events that makes Isabella's fears of returning to Magera sadly relatable. The threats to Avendaño's life simply for being an outspoken critic of an authoritarian regime vividly echo life under Trump part and parcel every bit as much as they recall life under Augusto Pinochet, and one can't help but wonder if a bomb is going to make its way into Avendaño's mailbox at some point in the narrative. The Sea Dreams It Is The Sky functions as a fictional examination of historical incidents that occurred in the 1960s-1980s, while also encapsulating the worries of political extremism circa 2018.Much of the horror stems from the fear of the Mageran junta, with the comic elements playing only a minor role in the story's backdrop. The Sea Dreams It Is The Sky certainly has its share of horror, and a few squirm-inducing scenes to be sure, but it's of a quieter, slower, and highly literary nature. The characters come first in Jacobs's story, and we get small hints of their history and past lives in the homes they were forced to flee. It's not until nearly the half-way mark that we experience a fully unflinching view of the junta's atrocity as told through Avendaño's view, and the horrors that unfold therein are almost entirely human, with only brief glimpses of the supernatural. Primarily, we experience this story, and Avendaño, through Isabella's eyes. Her position as an educated woman informs Jacobs's style, as does Avendaño's pedigree as a poet, and the writing is whip smart with the prose taking on a deeply literary aspect. Avendaño speaks with a poet's grace, his words reflecting his perspective. When he speaks on even minor topics, such as the luchador horror films he routine frequents at the cinema, he speaks of grander philosophies: "Misery is a condition that we are all promised," he tells Isabella early on. "On the screen, painted in light, that misery is very small." Isabella lives the life of a professor, but is far from cloistered within the halls of academia - she has passions and love interests, and can be tough when required. Jacobs subverts one's expectations of the nerdy damsel in distress, and even Isabella reminds us in her narrative that "I am as sensitive to situation and intuition as any person. The idea that academics—especially female academics—are cloistered aesthetics that retreat from the real world to content themselves only with books is nonsense." The Sea Dreams It Is The Sky is a smart and deeply layered novella, and its depth routinely belies its page count. This is a lushly literary narrative, one that is first and foremost a character study of political exiles, and Jacobs's authorial skills are tack sharp. My Heart Struck SorrowReeling from the death of his wife and son, Cromwell returns to his job at the Library of Congress’s folklore division in time for news of another’s passing. Matilda Parker, the grandniece of a former employee of the folklore division, Harlan Parker, has bequeathed her estate to the department. In cataloguing Parker’s belongings and readying the estate for sale, Cromwell and his partner, Hattie, discover a hidden room holding a number of acetate recordings made by Harlan, as well as his journal, which slowly reveals a number of mysteries of Cromwell. Before his death, Harlan had become convinced that there was an ur-version to the song “Stagger Lee,” and that an arrangement of infernal lyrics had been forgotten, or deliberately hidden, and his obsession leads him into the darkest corners of the American South. Cromwell, for his part, finds himself growing obsessive over Harlan’s journal and the dead man’s stories of his search.As with The Sea Dreams It Is The Sky, My Heart Struck Sorrow is a masterfully written piece and the concept of a bedeviling and arcane version of an old American folk song is a top-notch premise. As with the preceding story in A Lush and Seething Hell, the horror elements are supremely quiet, but Jacobs still manages to pull the rug out from under his readers on a few occasions, and to startling effect. The real meat here, though, is the grief shared across time and space by Cromwell and Parker.These two men of the folklore division present a truly intriguing duality that Jacobs slowly unravels over the course of the story. Both are grieving and blaming themselves for the loss of their closest loved ones, while also carrying the guilt of their various transgressions. We learn early on that Cromwell had an affair with a coworker, which only ratchets his guilt and self-blame up a few more notches. Parker’s journal and decades old recordings are opportunities for Cromwell to lose himself in, but also to connect with a man he never knew but whose interests are shared by him — and possibly reconnect with those he has lost.Grief is a sort of madness in its own right, and if left untended can lead to a sort of insanity. The question then becomes just how far down the path of irrationality are these men willing to let their wounded hearts lead them, despite knowing better and despite the dangers of the unknown. The infernal verses of “Stagger Lee” and their own particular illustrations of a very different kind of descent into hell have been left unsung for a reason, and yet Parker persists in his search, jeopardizing his own safety, as well as that of his partner, even as they encounter the inexplicable. But in the throes of grief, how much of Parker’s writings can be taken reliably, or has he been lost to madness?Jacobs layers My Heart Struck Sorrow with levels of meaning, raising a number of questions along the way while providing little in the way of certainty, even as some answers seem wholly resolute. It’s a story that sticks with you and keeps you pondering its mysteries for days after.[Note: I received an advance copy of this title from the publisher.]
    more
  • Becky Spratford
    January 1, 1970
    Review will be appearing in the October 2019 issue of Library Journal: https://www.libraryjournal.com/?detai...
  • D.K. Hundt
    January 1, 1970
    A LUSH AND SEETHING HELL is the first book that I have read by John Hornor Jacobs, and I can honestly say, I really like his writing style. I especially like how Jacobs divides each narrative using passages from journals. I have to admit when I started reading ’My Heart Struck Sorrow’, I was really on the fence about that one because of the slower pacing and content, however, as I got closer to the ending – when all is revealed – hands down, I knew I was going to give this story and this book fi A LUSH AND SEETHING HELL is the first book that I have read by John Hornor Jacobs, and I can honestly say, I really like his writing style. I especially like how Jacobs divides each narrative using passages from journals. I have to admit when I started reading ’My Heart Struck Sorrow’, I was really on the fence about that one because of the slower pacing and content, however, as I got closer to the ending – when all is revealed – hands down, I knew I was going to give this story and this book five stars!!’My Heart Struck Sorrow’ – 5/5*’The Sea Dreams It Is the Sky’ - 4/5*Thank you, NetGalley and HarperCollins Publishing for providing me with an advance copy of A LUSH AND SEETHING HELL in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Ryan Hixson
    January 1, 1970
    A Lush and Seething Hell by John Hornor Jacobs is two books in one, a novella The Sea Dreams It Is the Sky and a short novel My Heart Struck Sorrow. Both stories challenge idea of death and hell on earth. They both involve the past and choices made, fro the better or worse. Both stories have good wrap ups and ending that will leaving you thinking for a bit after the story has ended. My Heart Struck Sorrow was the new story The Sea Dreams It is the Sky has been published before. I enjoyed My Hear A Lush and Seething Hell by John Hornor Jacobs is two books in one, a novella The Sea Dreams It Is the Sky and a short novel My Heart Struck Sorrow. Both stories challenge idea of death and hell on earth. They both involve the past and choices made, fro the better or worse. Both stories have good wrap ups and ending that will leaving you thinking for a bit after the story has ended. My Heart Struck Sorrow was the new story The Sea Dreams It is the Sky has been published before. I enjoyed My Heart Struck Sorrow quite a bit more. Chuck Wendig author of Wanders does really cool intro to the book. Thanks to HarperCollins Publishing and Netgalley for letting me read an Advanced Readers copy of A lush and Seething Hell by John Hornor Jacobs in exchange for an honest review. It was first Published on October 8th 2019 with an expected mass market publication on October 29th 2019.The Plot for The Sea Dreams it is the Sky:Rafael Avendano, a former poet, has escaped Argentina and now lives in Spain. The Poet now wears an eye patch has now goes by the Eye, it is a mystery to how he lost it. He meets Isabel a Teacher of poetry in Spain, and originally from Argentina knows a little of his work but found it crude and juvenile. She and most of the world thought Avendano was dead, during the takeover of Argentina. She befriends him as he is called back to Argentina in hopes of a reunion. Isabel watches his apartment in it she finds a secret manuscript telling just how he lost his eye, she keeps getting mysterious notes with just a latitude and longitude on them, pointing to a place in Argentina.The Plot for My Heart Struck Sorrow: Cromwell needs a distraction from the recent deaths of his wife and son, he with his partner Harriet find that distraction as there job being part of the library is to go through a collection bequeathed to it. The Parker estate is one such donation, they are excited to too into the collection since Parker was a member of the Library of Congress in the music division collection folk songs and stories. Cromwell and Harriet discover a secret room that was locked away, of Parkers last assignment. Where Parker went searching for a particular song about a man and hell.What I Liked: Both stories blend fact and fiction pretty seamlessly. Both stories are about lyrics in a song or in a verse of poetry, and the writing in both are really great, the folk songs especially, I could almost here them. The endings in both stories really work well, and end a in a very full circle way that I always appreciate. I really loved the characters in My Heart Struck Sorrow, they felt very real and grounded I understood their obsessions. I really like the work with the untrustworthy narrator. The flow in My Heart Struck Sorrow is so good such an easy read.What I Disliked: The story flow of The Sea Dreams it is the Sky is so slow in the middle I loved the first couple chapters but then it slows down so much. My Heart Struck Sorrow is almost double The Sea Dreams it is Sky but it took me much longer to read Sea Dreams, because of the flow. I also had a little thing with The Sea Dreams it is Sky and it's use of pronouns, sometimes I was confused with it and had to read passages over as a pronoun is switched to a dream person. Recommendations: I will recommend this collection of two tales, my favorite by far being My Heart Struck Sorrow. My rating for stories is The Sea Dreams it is Sky 3 out of 5 stars and My Heart Struck Sorrow 5 out of 5 stars. I would highly recommend this to readers who like historical horror, or horror with a great deal of real life with a twist. I rated A Lush and Seething Hell by John Hornor Jacobs 4 out 5 stars.
    more
  • Kitty Marie
    January 1, 1970
    This title contains two novellas, one is perhaps shorter than the average novella and the other is longer than average. I'll start with the first, The Sea Dreams It Is The Sky. This one takes up about 30% of the book, or somewhat over 100 pages. This story gave a fantastic first impression and would get five stars on its own. The writing style is immediately noticeable for its artistic and insightful range. The story takes place in a South American country not unlike Chile and makes references t This title contains two novellas, one is perhaps shorter than the average novella and the other is longer than average. I'll start with the first, The Sea Dreams It Is The Sky. This one takes up about 30% of the book, or somewhat over 100 pages. This story gave a fantastic first impression and would get five stars on its own. The writing style is immediately noticeable for its artistic and insightful range. The story takes place in a South American country not unlike Chile and makes references to dictatorial regimes and political figures. Augusto Pinochet and Pablo Neruda for example. There are allusions made to victims of the atrocities during that time. Having some minor familiarity with the subject matter, this story was vastly effective and gut-wrenching.I recall watching this film called Missing directed by Costa-Gavras. It's about a young journalist that was "disappeared" during the Chilean coup d'état, likely tortured and killed as many were around that time of political upheaval. I had felt a sense of dread wondering what all he likely went through. This story really brought back memories of watching that film for the first time and provides a grisly example of what political prisoners endured.I highly recommend reading this novella in one sitting as a break between can really impact one's handling of the mood and nuance leading up to the finale. If this entire book was in line with that first story. this would be an easy 4-5 stars. But, and admittedly for mainly subjective reasons, I did not find the second story appealing. There is a quiet dignity and sophistry to the writing at large and I would like to emphasize that in terms of technical quality, both stories are consistent. But where The Sea Dreams It Is The Sky deals with heavy subject matter that lends a pulse to the proceedings, My Heart Struck Sorrow struggled to capture my interest.The lead character, Cromwell, has lost his wife and child. Though still in a state of mourning, he keeps busy with as a librarian of arts. He and a co-worker find a hidden door that leads to a bunch of journal entries and old recordings from the 1930s. They proceed to explore the collection as its very relevant to their area of expertise. I found Cromwell a less than sympathetic figure.Most of these chapters have to do with a character named Harlan Parker who traveled throughout the southern states of America during that time, archiving folk music. I was so uninterested in Harlan himself. Those sections with him permeate the vast majority of this novella. Another pet peeve- songs being transcribed in novels. While there is nothing wrong with the songs here and they seem thoughtfully poetic, they are numerous and were lost on me. There was also an overuse of italics, though this may or may not be in the final version of the book. I do intend to track down a hard copy of this book on its release date to see if that's the case and will update this review accordingly.So between the italics, the plentiful song lyrics, and Harlan and Cromwell being less than thrilling to read about, this novella wasn't quite a hit with me.The final thing I'd like to note is that this book's month of release, its cover, even its title- A Lush And Seething Hell- brings it to the forefront as a perfect Halloween read. It could be, depending on your tastes. The horror present here is very down-to-earth and psychological in nature and mainly only frightening in its violence. This isn't a spooky/scary or heart-pounding type of horror and this novel's best strength is in literary prose that could be off-putting for people looking for a more fast-paced scare. A Lush and Seething Hell is cerebral and intellectual, a meditation on humanity's ills and best catalogued as dark fiction.Why You Should Try It - Two novellas that are extraordinarily different in setting and scope but consistently written. Fabulous literary prose and sophisticated style. The setting and aims of the first story really got to me. Why You Might Not Like It - The stories might be a little too different. For mainly subjective reasons, I really didn't care for the second story. Since it takes up two-thirds of this book, that's a weighty amount to feel ambivalent toward.Disclosure : I received this title as an e-ARC from Netgalley for the purpose of review.
    more
  •  Martin
    January 1, 1970
    4 and 1/2 starsI really enjoyed this one. Not too very familiar with the cosmic horror sub-genre but what I got from it is a strange feeling of dread while reading both stories. I can't say I like one story more than the other (but if I had a gun pointed to my head I would say the first one only for the breath of fresh air feel I got right up from the start) but what I can say is that the reader will probably be as enthralled as I was. A LUSH AND SEETHING HELL reminds me of the Dell 4 and 1/2 starsI really enjoyed this one. Not too very familiar with the cosmic horror sub-genre but what I got from it is a strange feeling of dread while reading both stories. I can't say I like one story more than the other (but if I had a gun pointed to my head I would say the first one only for the breath of fresh air feel I got right up from the start) but what I can say is that the reader will probably be as enthralled as I was. A LUSH AND SEETHING HELL reminds me of the Dell /Abyss line which was known back in the day (the '90s) to publish literary horror, mostly from budding horror writers who have went on to become well-known in the industry. John Hornor Jacobs's impressive title would have fit right in with the best of them. While not exactly an easy book to get into A LUSH AND SEETHING HELL will nonetheless impress for its rich narrative and imposing chilling scenes. A must read.
    more
  • Chad Guarino
    January 1, 1970
    A Lush and Seething Hell collects two not-quite-novel length tales of cosmic horror by John Hornor Jacobs. While cosmic horror is a term that gets bandied about probably far too often by anyone with an even slight inclination towards the Lovecraftian, Jacobs' collection is exciting, original, and often terrifying.The Sea Dreams It Is the Sky - The first tale in the collection focuses on a dictatorship in a fictional South American country and the ways it influences and changes the li A Lush and Seething Hell collects two not-quite-novel length tales of cosmic horror by John Hornor Jacobs. While cosmic horror is a term that gets bandied about probably far too often by anyone with an even slight inclination towards the Lovecraftian, Jacobs' collection is exciting, original, and often terrifying.The Sea Dreams It Is the Sky - The first tale in the collection focuses on a dictatorship in a fictional South American country and the ways it influences and changes the lives of the main characters. An ex-pat poet meets a young woman who has also left her home country, and they form a strange friendship that takes center stage when the poet returns to his homeland. The majority of the text is the woman's perusal of the poet's old journal from his pre-exile days, in particular his capture, torture, and attempts to translate a singular text with dubious (perhaps Cosmic!) origins. This story is the most overtly Lovecraftian: I was half expecting the text to be revealed to have been written by Abdul Alhazred himself, and there's even a Yog-Sothoth name drop. Despite these tropes, it stands out due to its brutal portrayal of the dictatorship's treatment of what it perceives as dissidents. My Heart Struck Sorrow -The longer of the two stories, this is the tale of two members of the Library of Congress on a trek to catalog Deep South folk songs. Themes such as race, guilt, and the power of song in culture are used in tandem with a propulsive and chilling narrative, culminating in a denouement that I can honestly say I did not seeing coming. This one is destined to be towards the top of my horror list towards the end of the year, and serves as a great personal introduction to James Hornor Jacobs for me. Highly recommended. **I was given a copy of this book by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. My thanks to HarperCollins.**
    more
  • Dorie
    January 1, 1970
    A Lush and Seething Hell: Two Tales of Cosmic Horrorby John Honor Jacob'sdue 10-8-2019Harper Voyage 4.0 /5.0#netgalley #ALushAndSeethingHellThis pair is chilling tales have never been published. They explore the darker side of human nature. Exceptionally well written, this is top-notch haunting horror.'The Sea Dreams It Is The Sky'A once famous poet, Avedano, and his young student Isobel Certa, both exiles from the dictatorship of Magera, Sou A Lush and Seething Hell: Two Tales of Cosmic Horrorby John Honor Jacob'sdue 10-8-2019Harper Voyage 4.0 /5.0#netgalley #ALushAndSeethingHellThis pair is chilling tales have never been published. They explore the darker side of human nature. Exceptionally well written, this is top-notch haunting horror.'The Sea Dreams It Is The Sky'A once famous poet, Avedano, and his young student Isobel Certa, both exiles from the dictatorship of Magera, South America, are living in Spain. Isobel finds a journal kept by Avedano whose entries are so disturbing she begins to spiral into a world of corruption.'My Heart Struck Sorrow'A librarian discovers journals and acetate recordings of a man who recorded blues music in the Deep South, and begins to go mad as he uncovers the origins and roots of a popular blues song.Thanks to netgalley for sending this e-book ARC for review.
    more
  • Janice
    January 1, 1970
    I put off listening to this book because I was pretty sure I'd have issues with it.I was right. Maybe cosmic horror (and some earthly horror) just really isn't for me.The language the writer uses is fine. He writes very well, with lots of lush adjectives.I listened to "My Heart Struck Sorrow" first. A musical folklorist goes chasing after the origins of a song in the rural south. There may be some cursed verses of the song. He goes looking for them, and finds I put off listening to this book because I was pretty sure I'd have issues with it.I was right. Maybe cosmic horror (and some earthly horror) just really isn't for me.The language the writer uses is fine. He writes very well, with lots of lush adjectives.I listened to "My Heart Struck Sorrow" first. A musical folklorist goes chasing after the origins of a song in the rural south. There may be some cursed verses of the song. He goes looking for them, and finds some weird stuff. A generation or so later, another musical folklorist tries to follow his trail. He also finds some weird stuff. I strongly disliked the modern-day folklorist. But that was the worst part of this story for me.The other story is the one with the lovely title "The Sea Dreams it is the Sky." I honestly had some issues with this one, because of the abuse and torture depicted here. I couldn't even pay good attention to what was going on because of my revulsion. If you have a stronger stomach than I do, you will probably like this story more than I did. The writing, the words on the page, is fine. The subject matter is repellent to me. YMMV.2.5 rounded up to 3 stars because of the writing. I hated almost every minute I listened to the first story.
    more
  • Todd
    January 1, 1970
    Excellent pair of cosmic horror stories.
  • Michel Avenali
    January 1, 1970
    Excellent surprise. Incredible writing and two hefty scary novellas made this an absorbing and satisfying October read.
  • Jackie (Jacademia_)
    January 1, 1970
    Two brilliant novellas that meld Lovecraftian weird fiction with Latin American magical realism ("The Sea Dreams It Is the Sky") and Southern Gothic ("My Heart Struck Sorrow"), respectively, to make for some very refreshing and imaginative cosmic horror. Searing, smart, and scary as hell. Thank you to NetGalley for the opportunity to read an advanced copy of this title.
    more
  • PfromJ
    January 1, 1970
    4+ stars. Reads like classic, classy horror. These are great stories, masterfully told.
  • FTLOReading
    January 1, 1970
    • Title: A Lush and Seething Hell • Author: John Hornor Jacobs • Series: Stand-Alone • Pages: 384 • Genre: Horror/Thriller • Rating Out of 5 Stars: Story 1- 1 Story 2- 3This is a bind up of two novellas.1.) The Sea Dreams It Is The Sky 1 out of 5 stars I don’t particularly have anything constructive I can say about the first. I found it unappealing and uninteresting. I might be desensitized but I didn’t get the psychological thriller • Title: A Lush and Seething Hell • Author: John Hornor Jacobs • Series: Stand-Alone • Pages: 384 • Genre: Horror/Thriller • Rating Out of 5 Stars: Story 1- 1 Story 2- 3This is a bind up of two novellas.1.) The Sea Dreams It Is The Sky 1 out of 5 stars I don’t particularly have anything constructive I can say about the first. I found it unappealing and uninteresting. I might be desensitized but I didn’t get the psychological thriller aspect of it at all. The horror aspect was basically torture porn. 2.)My Heart Struck Sorrow 3 out of 5 stars If Alan Lomax’s journey across the south collecting folk and backwater music was crossed with the movie The Skeleton Key you’d end up with something like this second Novella. You follow two time lines. A pair in the present and then journal and historical research into the past. There was again some unnecessary gratuity and sexual instances that I felt were not needed. I didn’t think they added anything to the story. More so in the modern times as opposed to the flash backs. I found the writing in the past to be more interesting. I think I would have enjoyed this much more if I hadn’t had to read the other story first. . Overall, it was still just OK. It was still well written even if I didn’t find it to be as intense as some might. The stories really had nothing to do with each other. I think the first story takes away from the effect you could get from the second one. If this was a larger collection of novellas it might work. As it is I really think the second would stand stronger on its own.
    more
  • Sophie
    January 1, 1970
    the first short story was good - the second was some of the most incredible southern gothic lit i've ever read
  • Harry Jahnke
    January 1, 1970
    This was great. I liked the second story more than the first but they're both great. I like how the horror here isn't really the monster at the end of the book but the horror is derived from the effect on the humans it interacts with; leaving people mad and gibbering. Really superb work here.
    more
  • Andrea
    January 1, 1970
    "Lush and seething" accurately describes Jacobs's gorgeous prose in this pair of novellas that satisfy your yearning for Lovecraftian-style horror and weirdness without the racism and misogyny that ol' HP brought to his work. Fraught and feverish without being overwraught, the tales reach out and draw you in with tender fingers that turn out to be ghastly tentacles. Jacobs is also a keen observer of humans and manages to fully occupy his narrators. Isabela's introductory paragraphs ring painfull "Lush and seething" accurately describes Jacobs's gorgeous prose in this pair of novellas that satisfy your yearning for Lovecraftian-style horror and weirdness without the racism and misogyny that ol' HP brought to his work. Fraught and feverish without being overwraught, the tales reach out and draw you in with tender fingers that turn out to be ghastly tentacles. Jacobs is also a keen observer of humans and manages to fully occupy his narrators. Isabela's introductory paragraphs ring painfully, ruefully true to any woman who has ever tried to read a book in public.I loved both novellas and am now keeping an eye on John Hornor Jacobs for future releases.
    more
  • Traci
    January 1, 1970
    Find this and other reviews at The Reader in IndigoCosmic horror is by far my favorite subgenre, so I was really excited about A Lush And Seething Hell, a duology containing a novella ("The Sea Dreams It Is The Sky") and a short novel ("My Heart Struck Sorrow"), both dealing with the horrors within and the horrors without and the horrors teeming beneath. Overall, I'd say this is an excellent addition to any cosmic horror afficionado's bookshelf, though I definitely preferred the second work to the Find this and other reviews at The Reader in IndigoCosmic horror is by far my favorite subgenre, so I was really excited about A Lush And Seething Hell, a duology containing a novella ("The Sea Dreams It Is The Sky") and a short novel ("My Heart Struck Sorrow"), both dealing with the horrors within and the horrors without and the horrors teeming beneath. Overall, I'd say this is an excellent addition to any cosmic horror afficionado's bookshelf, though I definitely preferred the second work to the first, as I'll discuss below: THE SEA DREAMS IT IS THE SKY: The first (and shorter) work in the duology has a lot to recommend it, but---unfortunately---also a lot to condemn. The central concept is refreshingly original: two refugees from Magera---a nonexistent Latin American country that ticks all the boxes Americans associate with that region, including suffering under a brutal American-backed dictatorship---encounter each other in a cafe in Spain. One is a famous poet, wanted by the regime and haunted by his experiences in his homeland . . . and by an otherworldly text whose translation contains, and brings, madness. The other, our narrator, is a young academic who gets caught up in the poet's, and her homeland's, many horrors.I loved the ideas behind this. A Latin American country that never existed . . . or did it, now? If an eldritch horror overtook a country Down There and pulled it from existence, how many Americans would even notice the hole? Here, cosmic horror provides the perfect analogy for American influence on, but ignorance of, Latin America that I can possibly think of.But . . . well, the main joy of cosmic horror lies in what isn't and can't be shown. That's why it's a genre that's always incredibly difficult to translate well to the screen. But that doesn't mean a writer can go for long, interminable stretches ignoring the whole 'cosmic horror' part of their cosmic horror tale. Far too often, "The Sea Dreams It Is The Sky" suffers from that worst malady: it's more concerned with its narrator's navel-gazing than with any eldritch horrors. "Turgid" is probably the word I'd use; not for all of it, of course, because the parts in past and present Magera, suffering from its otherworldly 'miasma', are quite fantastic. There just aren't enough of them. (I've never read Roberto Bolano, which the description tells me is an influence, so perhaps there are depths here that I missed. All I know is, I had to force myself to read through parts of this because my attention kept wandering.)Overall, this is the sort of story whose plot I kind of want some other author to steal and re-work, because the ideas behind it are superb, it's just . . . the execution is somewhat lacking. MY HEART STRUCK SORROW: Had this been a stand-alone, I'd have given it five stars without blinking. Heavier on plot and far, far creepier than its predecessor, "My Heart Struck Sorrow" stars a folklorist who, recently having lost his wife and son to tragedy, discovers the chilling records of a famous colleague's trek through the Depression-era South, in search of an eldritch song. Racism and madness, guilt and suffering, the past and present darknesses of America and their ties to our cultural products: each of these strings gets deftly plucked, but unlike in "The Sea Dreams It Is The Sky", the author here never wallows in his characters' sense of self. The story charges, bull-like, through to the teeming horrors just out of vision, virulently present but just out of reach, acknowledging horrors within and without and beneath but never prioritizing one above the rest. One of my favorite aspects was the weaving of traditional Christian ideas about hell and horror (oh, those rotten apple trees!) with 'traditional' cosmic horror ideas about true horror existing beyond and beneath our conceptions. (You can see the shadow of The King in Yellow overlaying the plot, but only a whisper, only a dream; this is its own horror, and all the deeper for it.) I really liked the author's incorporation of real American music, the way the author ties the real to the profane. I'd never heard of "Stagger Lee" (which is and definitely is not the song in question) before, but YouTube tells me it's old and popular. It takes a deft touch to draw on popular music like this (I'm looking at you, Battlestar Galactica and All Along The Watchtower!) but the author manages to avoid any triteness here while still wrapping otherworldly horror beneath the skin of our more ordinary horrors.Overall: if you enjoy cosmic horror, or any horror at all, I'd say definitely pick this duology up. There's a refreshing, intricate originality in both stories that's well worth your time. I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Daniel
    January 1, 1970
    Honestly, this was a disappointing book for me. The two novellas within are not badly written by any means, but I feel like they are too long for what they are. Imagine if, say, HP Lovecraft had taken a story like "Cool Air" and padded it out to 200 pages; that's kind of how I felt about this book. It's too long. The Sea Dreams It Is The Sky is by far the better of the two stories and the only one that truly brushes up against "cosmic horror" (bad piece of deceptive marketing there, by the way.. Honestly, this was a disappointing book for me. The two novellas within are not badly written by any means, but I feel like they are too long for what they are. Imagine if, say, HP Lovecraft had taken a story like "Cool Air" and padded it out to 200 pages; that's kind of how I felt about this book. It's too long. The Sea Dreams It Is The Sky is by far the better of the two stories and the only one that truly brushes up against "cosmic horror" (bad piece of deceptive marketing there, by the way....these are not even remotely "cosmic horror" stories, put that out of your mind right away) but even then I feel like the author took way too much time and resources to build up a mystery that then collapses into "A SPOOKY THING HAPPENED THE END" and it's over. It is rare that I ever re-read large portions of a book after finishing it, but I was so profound disappointed by how both these novellas wrap up, that I literally re-read the last third or so thinking I had missed something or just wasn't paying attention. Nope....the stories just really do sort of run out of steam and end like that. I like unexplained, vague mystery in horror stories. I often feel like too often authors give in to the temptation to write out a whole explaination of things which ruins some of the mystery. But, on the flip side of that, I feel like there is the reverse where a lack of any coherent closure can really hurt all the work the author does in building the road to get there. This has a massively positive audience response and lots of critical acclaim so I guess I am just not seeing it; this really didn't strike as me as remotely as scary or unsettling as most people do, mostly because I think , as I said, the stories take WAY too long to get where they are going.
    more
  • Harley
    January 1, 1970
    The Good:I absolutely loved Jacobs' writing style and characters. He has a way with words, and can easily create an atmosphere of madness. The main characters in both stories were well developed and believable strengths and weaknesses. I felt like I knew them and were rooting for them. Jacobs is somewhat of a chameleon when it comes to settings. Both stories felt completely different, and I really liked that. The first story felt a bit like If On a Winters Night feel to it, which I love. The se The Good:I absolutely loved Jacobs' writing style and characters. He has a way with words, and can easily create an atmosphere of madness. The main characters in both stories were well developed and believable strengths and weaknesses. I felt like I knew them and were rooting for them. Jacobs is somewhat of a chameleon when it comes to settings. Both stories felt completely different, and I really liked that. The first story felt a bit like If On a Winters Night feel to it, which I love. The second story is inspired by Alan Lomax's journal and recordings. I particularly enjoyed reading this one as I am a music nerd. It seems Jacobs really knows his stuff too.The Bad:Both endings. The ending of The Sea Dreams It Is the Sky came too quickly. The story grew in intensity, but about 3/4 of the way through, it rushed to the finish line. My Heart Struck Sorrow lilted along towards the end properly, but the end itself felt a bit undramatic.In both stories there were characters that had amazing development, and then there were others that I wanted to learn more about but were quickly whisked away.Finally, I felt like there was quite a bit of unnecessary cult-like sexual abuse in both stories. Some people are probably ok with this kind of content. I'm particularly sensitive to some of this content, however some of it is glossed over. I think some of it is necessary for plot development, but some of it just felt unecessary.Conclusion:I was pretty disappointed with both stories. They have amazing potential, but fell flat in their endings. I really loved the writing, and because of that I expected quite a bit from the stories. Unfortunately the endings in both stories didn't deliver their full potential.
    more
  • Alisi ☆ wants to read too many books ☆
    January 1, 1970
    My feels upon finishing:The first novella was okay. I'm not one for cosmic horror but it had tentacle-y guy and was a quick read. The second one was like slogging through Hell. It was boring and stupid. I hated all the characters. Harlem talked like a 2000s "woke" dude (like, this is set in 1938 and he's shook that another white guy, in the South, calls black people nigger -- like, he's so shook that he just says 'the n word' repeated My feels upon finishing:The first novella was okay. I'm not one for cosmic horror but it had tentacle-y guy and was a quick read. The second one was like slogging through Hell. It was boring and stupid. I hated all the characters. Harlem talked like a 2000s "woke" dude (like, this is set in 1938 and he's shook that another white guy, in the South, calls black people nigger -- like, he's so shook that he just says 'the n word' repeatedly. I'm not saying all white people were racist back then but they were at least used to the terms and such. A white guy in Jim Crowe South ain't gunna be like 'omg! that white dude called black people the ... n word!' He's also all like 'I didn't go to WW1 so the black man could be oppressed!' and BS like that everywhere.) Mostly, it was just boring and the ending SUCKED. REALLY BADLY. I'm so mad I finished this BS. This dude apparently decides to record lots of non religious songs of peeps in 1938 then randomly stopped. He's really obsessed with this one song in particular and so he goes to people and asks them to sing song, and this one in particular. Along the way, some things happened. They didn't really do anything for me. It was mostly boring with a really shitty ending.
    more
Write a review