Someone Is Lying
The chilling new psychological thriller from Jenny Blackhurst, the #1 eBook-bestselling author of HOW I LOST YOU. Full of unexpected twists, this is perfect for fans of FRIEND REQUEST, CLOSE TO HOME, and THE GUILTY WIFE.One year after Erica Spencer trips and falls down a flight of stairs at a lavish Halloween party, the residents of the exclusive gated community where she lived have comes to terms with her death and moved on with their lives.Until one day, a post on the school's website announces there will be a podcast to expose what really happened on the night of the accident. Six suspects are named, with the podcaster promising to reveal the murderer by the end of the series.Everyone in this community has secrets to keep, and one of them is already a killer...

Someone Is Lying Details

TitleSomeone Is Lying
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 31st, 2019
PublisherHeadline
Rating
GenreThriller

Someone Is Lying Review

  • Amanda
    January 1, 1970
    A year ago at a neighbours Halloween party Erica is found dead at the bottom of the tree house, police investigated but it was deemed an accidental death or was it?A year later there is a Facebook message saying someone has Ericas diary and can prove what happened on that fateful night and will reveal all in weekly pod casts.Her 6 closest friends named the Severn Oaks 6 are worried that the podcasts which are to be broadcast will have details about each of them that they are trying to keep A year ago at a neighbours Halloween party Erica is found dead at the bottom of the tree house, police investigated but it was deemed an accidental death or was it?A year later there is a Facebook message saying someone has Erica’s diary and can prove what happened on that fateful night and will reveal all in weekly pod casts.Her 6 closest friends named the “Severn Oaks 6” are worried that the podcasts which are to be broadcast will have details about each of them that they are trying to keep secret. They thought living in Severn Oaks one of the more exclusive gated communities in Cheshire was safe but little did they realise the danger was closer to home.The close friends become suspicious of each other. Within this close knit community there are secrets galore and where money and position is everything. Loved this great murder mystery and thought the use of podcasts was a great way of keeping the suspense building as we slowly revealed what happened on the night of the party. I was waiting with bated breath for the next podcast.A great read, which kept me engrossed. Even though there is only a handful of suspects you still kept me guessing untill the end. Makes you look at you’re neighbours in a different light!!!Thank you to Netgalley for my copy in exchange for a review.
    more
  • Richard
    January 1, 1970
    The problem with most teasers they are either too short or bear no reflection on the rest of the book.Reading a clever prologue and the first five chapters here it seems this taster is about the right length. It also sets the book up and reveals only as much as the blurb that goes with the promotion of this novel.Someone is Lying is one of a number of recent books where deceit and variants the verb to lie have been used in the title. Jenny Blackhurst may still be an unfamiliar name to some yet The problem with most teasers they are either too short or bear no reflection on the rest of the book.Reading a clever prologue and the first five chapters here it seems this taster is about the right length. It also sets the book up and reveals only as much as the blurb that goes with the promotion of this novel.Someone is Lying is one of a number of recent books where deceit and variants the verb to lie have been used in the title. Jenny Blackhurst may still be an unfamiliar name to some yet over the years she has produced a number of standalones in this genre, that are always at the cusp of where edgy and psychological thrillers have progressed. She is the talented bow wave, an author who has pushed crime mysteries into new directions and examined the interplay between characters and the blurring of truth and reality in fiction.So what does this sample of Jenny's book reveal?Well, we are introduced into world that Erica has recently departed. Her "friends" continuing despite the "accident" that took her prematurely, remembering her and "honouring" her memory.We do not have to like these women but they are recognisable from types we have seen and met. That Blackhurst has an ear for dialogue and the nose to spin such a credible cast of characters is one aspect that makes her novels stand out. Here is no different.We may as well have been standing at the school gate. Passing before our eyes drift past, look at me Mums, gossip a lot Mums, jealous out of shape Mums, toned, narcissism driven Mums, guilty Mum neglecting their kids to work, frustrated Mums their careers on hold and voices speaking but thoughts unspoken.We see nothing. We know no-one. We make assumptions and think we know their partners, less frequently seen around school, but returning late, meddling with the car or minding the barbeque.Within these five chapters we have an insight into these local people; they come out of the pages like three dimensional figures, their attitude and thoughts to be laid bear. I cannot wait to meet them and the partners for the most part implied as complicit, but for now more in the shadows.What do they know about Erica's death?Someone knows more than most. Now they have posted on Social Media that they are prepared to out members of the community, reveal their secrets and involvement in what happened to Erica.This isn't blackmail it is whistleblowing but to what ends?Has each person something to hide? Has each by neglect, omission or conscious act contributed to Erica's demise? Were they co-ordinated acts, a conspiracy, or is one's guilt so clear they will be revealed as a murderer?Jenny has captured another current issue. Trolling across the internet and the ability to hide behind the anonymity of profiles and the reluctance to share information with investigating authorities that makes social media posts so damaging and destructive.So I am hooked just a few pages in - the mystery is set and its unravelling seems a delightful experience of reading gold.You've done it again Jenny.Long may your ideas and words weave such amazing stories.
    more
  • The Book Review Café
    January 1, 1970
    When I first started reading Someone Is Lying, I must admit I had some reservations, the first few chapters are taking up introducing the reader to an array of characters, so it took me a while to work out who was who. My other reservation concerned the use of podcasts, Im a huge fan of a certain crime series that uses podcasts to good effect, so I wasnt convinced Jenny Blackhurst could offer anything new to this style of sharing a story. At this point I should apologise to the author because When I first started reading Someone Is Lying, I must admit I had some reservations, the first few chapters are taking up introducing the reader to an array of characters, so it took me a while to work out who was who. My other reservation concerned the use of podcasts, I’m a huge fan of a certain crime series that uses podcasts to good effect, so I wasn’t convinced Jenny Blackhurst could offer anything new to this style of sharing a story. At this point I should apologise to the author because Jenny Blackhurst came up trumps and delivered a belter of a psychological thriller. It’s been a year since Erica Spencer died in a tragic accident at a party, or was it something far more sinister? Now six of her closest friends known as “The Severn Oaks Six” are spotlighted in six podcasts which aim to reveal the truth behind Erica’s death. The six suspects live in the gated community of Severn Oaks, it’s the type of place where only the privileged live, where money and status are as vital as oxygen.From the off you sense there’s friction between the so-called friends, there the sort of characters who have to shine the brightest, their public persona is one of high gloss and fake smiles, but behind the masks are a bunch of people who have much to hide. I can’t say I particularly liked any of the characters, there a difficult bunch to like, there all pretty much wrapped up in their own perfect little bubble, self absorbed and very untrustworthy. These type of characters can normally spoil a read for me, but in this case I found it heightened my enjoyment, because I found I could look at each character objectively. As the podcasts reveal more “The Severn Oaks Six” friendships fracture as each becomes a suspect, paranoia grows, hostility and resentment bubble away beneath their shallow friendships. Someone Is Lying is a crime thriller packed with conundrums, who is the mysterious podcaster? What secrets are the six friends hiding? who would want Erika the “pillar of the community” dead? Jenny Blackhurst draws the reader into a classic whodunnit, but by adding the podcasts it gives a current vibe to the book. The further you get into the book, so does the sense of tension and suspense thus pushing the reader onto its dramatic conclusion. Someone Is Lying is a tangled web of Lies, revenge and deception when you add to to the mix unreliable characters, it has all the ingredients that make a Psychological thriller a thrilling read. Highly recommendedAll my reviews can be found at http://thebookreviewcafe.com
    more
  • Eva
    January 1, 1970
    Jenny Blackhursts books are always such a treat and I was so excited when Someone Is Lying landed on my doorstep that I threw my entire schedule out of the window so I could start reading this one immediately. Its a good thing I had no plans for my afternoon because from the very first page I was absolutely hooked and there was no way I was going to put this one down for something pesky like getting dinner on the table.One year ago, Erica Spencer was found dead at the bottom of a treehouse Jenny Blackhurst’s books are always such a treat and I was so excited when Someone Is Lying landed on my doorstep that I threw my entire schedule out of the window so I could start reading this one immediately. It’s a good thing I had no plans for my afternoon because from the very first page I was absolutely hooked and there was no way I was going to put this one down for something pesky like getting dinner on the table.One year ago, Erica Spencer was found dead at the bottom of a treehouse during a Halloween party. The residents of the community where she lived have tried to put the whole thing behind them and have moved on with their lives. Until a podcast is announced, one that will dig deep into the lives of the community residents and reveal what really happened to Erica and who was responsible. There’s a killer hiding in the middle of this gated community but who is it and why did they feel Erica had to die?For the most part, I felt Someone Is Lying had a bit of a Desperate Housewives meets Gossip Girl vibe to it, but way more tense and compelling, and I actually quite enjoyed that. This group of characters that seem to get along like a house on fire but when one of them isn’t around, the catty remarks pop up. And then there is someone who’s ready to blow the lid off the whole thing because this seemingly perfect community hides many lies and secrets and for one that is supposedly as close as it proclaims, there’s quite a lot the residents don’t know about each other. I also enjoy this type of setting, a closed neighbourhood, in this case a gated community. You’d think having a short list of suspects would make it easy to predict the outcome but it isn’t and I was quickly proven wrong.With many different personalities and intriguing characters, I found it impossible to figure out what had truly happened to Erica or why someone was so desperate to have the truth be revealed. Knowing all these characters have something to hide made it rather hard for me to find any of them particularly likeable but that didn’t bother me one bit. It wasn’t necessary to like them and they represent many types I’m sure a lot of us are familiar with. From the pushy mum to the narcissistic mum, the gossips and the pretenders and the always seemingly absent fathers. Those who’ve had the “pleasure” of standing around at the school gates surely recognise the types.With plenty of surprises, twists and turns, Someone Is Lying is extremely entertaining from the first page to the last. There isn’t only the mystery surrounding Erica’s death to solve. There is also the impact these podcasts have, not just on the adults but also on their children. You can always count on Jenny Blackhurst to deliver a well-paced and thrilling psychological thriller and Someone Is Lying is most definitely that. A delicious and additive page-turner, just like I’ve come to expect from this author.
    more
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    I really enjoyed this book. The only downside with it took a while for me to realise who was who as there was a lot of different characters and it confused me for a bit about who they were. Other than that it was such a good read. I was really intrigued to find out who the liar was. The idea of having a podcast to tell the truth was really good and made the story even more interesting. It just goes to show that everyone has secrets they dont want anyone to know. The reveal was really good and it I really enjoyed this book. The only downside with it took a while for me to realise who was who as there was a lot of different characters and it confused me for a bit about who they were. Other than that it was such a good read. I was really intrigued to find out who the liar was. The idea of having a podcast to tell the truth was really good and made the story even more interesting. It just goes to show that everyone has secrets they don’t want anyone to know. The reveal was really good and it had plenty of twists and turns to keep you guessing. Everyone was a suspect so it was good to finally find out what actually happened. This was a great read and I definitely recommend it.
    more
  • Liz Barnsley
    January 1, 1970
    I love a good twisty psychological thriller and this one was brilliant- also involving a podcast which is the thing at the moment and Jenny Blackhurst manages to keep it fresh by focusing very much on character with the podcast episodes anchoring each new revelation.The setting of an exclusive gated community really plays into the story well, each of the residents seemingly above us all yet all hiding the usual faults and flaws of humanity. Someone called this a twisted Desperate Housewives and I love a good twisty psychological thriller and this one was brilliant- also involving a podcast which is the thing at the moment and Jenny Blackhurst manages to keep it fresh by focusing very much on character with the podcast episodes anchoring each new revelation.The setting of an exclusive gated community really plays into the story well, each of the residents seemingly above us all yet all hiding the usual faults and flaws of humanity. Someone called this a twisted Desperate Housewives and honestly I can’t come up with a better hook than that, it’s a spot on description.It may be better titled Everyone is Lying as each of the residents are hiding something, if not from each other then from themselves. This eclectic and highly engaging group keep us guessing, meanwhile in the background the podcaster lurks, waiting to tell their darkest secrets.It is a proper page turner with insightfully layered characters and a dramatic flair and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Definitely my favourite of this authors books so far.Recommended.
    more
  • Pauline
    January 1, 1970
    After the death of Erica from an accident, a post is put on social media saying that she was murdered. Six people are named as possibly being responsible.These individuals are rich affluent parents of school children who all live in the same community. What we have here is bored woman who try to keep up with their neighbours and keep hidden what goes on behind closed doors.Thank you to NetGalley and Headline for my e-copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • peggy
    January 1, 1970
    I am a huge fan of this author. If this is a taste of things to come I can't wait to read it.Looks like another page turner which will have me hooked and reading late into the night. Hope I don't have to wait too long !!!!!Hooked from the first page a murder mystery and so much more. I JUST HAD TO KNOW THE TRUTH!!!!! So many secrets and so many lies and a podcast that will bring them all out. The book was well written and draws you in. The characters are well fleshed out and not one of them was I am a huge fan of this author. If this is a taste of things to come I can't wait to read it.Looks like another page turner which will have me hooked and reading late into the night. Hope I don't have to wait too long !!!!!Hooked from the first page a murder mystery and so much more. I JUST HAD TO KNOW THE TRUTH!!!!! So many secrets and so many lies and a podcast that will bring them all out. The book was well written and draws you in. The characters are well fleshed out and not one of them was likeable. A real whodunnit which kept me guessing and constantly changing my mind. A bloody good read and another hit for this author, an easy five stars and so Highly Recommended. I would like to thank the author, publisher and Netgalley for the ARC.
    more
  • Caroline Mitchell
    January 1, 1970
    Brilliant book, review to follow!
  • J.M. Hewitt
    January 1, 1970
    Someone Lied. Im always looking forward to a new Jenny Blackhurst and this one certainly didnt disappoint. A who-dunnit with a cracking cast of characters who, from the outside of their gated community, seem enviously close-knit. Inside the walls its a different story, everyone has their secrets and somebody is a liar. I had to put the book aside at points to dwell on the superb writing skill of the author. I had no clue who was the culprit and I thoroughly enjoyed every single page.Jenny Someone Lied. I’m always looking forward to a new Jenny Blackhurst and this one certainly didn’t disappoint. A who-dunnit with a cracking cast of characters who, from the outside of their gated community, seem enviously close-knit. Inside the walls it’s a different story, everyone has their secrets and somebody is a liar. I had to put the book aside at points to dwell on the superb writing skill of the author. I had no clue who was the culprit and I thoroughly enjoyed every single page.Jenny Blackhurst has her finger right on the pulse of what’s relevant and now!
    more
  • Rachel Bridgeman
    January 1, 1970
    After reading,and loving,' The Night She Died' picking this one up was a no brainer!Here, Jenny builds a compelling tale of suspense and privilege amongst people who do not realise just how lucky they are.The residents of the exclusive Severn Oaks estate are amongst the elite, they are wealthy, have huge houses, send their children to a thriving public school and are captains in their fields of business.On the year anniversary of the accidental death of one of their members, at the school picnic After reading,and loving,' The Night She Died' picking this one up was a no brainer!Here, Jenny builds a compelling tale of suspense and privilege amongst people who do not realise just how lucky they are.The residents of the exclusive Severn Oaks estate are amongst the elite, they are wealthy, have huge houses, send their children to a thriving public school and are captains in their fields of business.On the year anniversary of the accidental death of one of their members, at the school picnic that she had started, a Facebook post on the school webpage informs the public that a podcast is about to be broadcast. A podcast which will identify 6 possible suspects for Erica's murder.At first it is seen as a joke,and a sick one at that. But after the first broadcast, no one is laughing, the police are re-opening the case and what looked like an accident, may have had a real, cruel intent behind it.Jenny creates a nail biting tension as along with the characters, we, the readers are on the edge of our seats 'listening' to the podcasts, trying to work out not only the clues but also, whodunnit and why.I would compare this novel to Peyton Place for it''s description of a tightly knit community unravelling, a sense of intimacy created by the closeness of these families becomes claustrophobic and intense.And as with Peyton Place, everyone has secrets and whilst the gates they have had put up to protect them from the outside world gave a sense of opulence, who is really safe behind them, and aren't these people actually trapped?Privilege is torn down as secrets are laid bare by someone who has somehow found out where all the bodies are buried...is it an interloper or one of their own who is to blame?And if Erica was such a paragon of virtue, and local hero after saving the life of a boy from drowning, why did she have to die?Another white knuckle, all night read where you promise yourself 'just one more chapter....' but it turns into three or more, Jenny Blackhurst has given us lovers of crime and psychological thrillers another absolute treat of a book!
    more
  • Clair Sharpe
    January 1, 1970
    The book begins several months after the events that led to Erica Spencer falling from a tree house and breaking her neck at a lavish Halloween party in an exclusive gated community. Her friends where she lived seem to have come to terms with her death and have moved on with their lives.Until one day, while they are gathered at a community event, a post on the schools website announces there will be a podcast to expose what really happened on the night of the accident. Six suspects are named, The book begins several months after the events that led to Erica Spencer falling from a tree house and breaking her neck at a lavish Halloween party in an exclusive gated community. Her friends where she lived seem to have come to terms with her death and have moved on with their lives.Until one day, while they are gathered at a community event, a post on the school’s website announces there will be a podcast to expose what really happened on the night of the accident. Six suspects are named, with the podcaster promising to reveal the murderer by the end of the series.Everyone in this community has secrets to keep, and one of them is already a killer…What great fun this was, so many twists and turns until I had no idea who I should suspect any more! It reminded me a little of Liane Moriarty – a huge cast of characters, all with something to hide. We have:The victim, Erica herself, married to Jack with two children, a local hero and all round giving and community minded mum;Best friend Mary Beth, a quietly spoken and diplomatic estate agent who tries to keep things going after Erica’s death;Mary Beth’s husband PeterYoung single mum to twins, and successful business woman Felicity;Glamorous Karla and best selling author Marcus, self made millionaires and celebrity couple;Miranda, chair of the PTA yet struggling to belong with the other residents of Severn Oaks.The author and voice of the podcast reveals he (or maybe she) has access to Erica’s diary and seems to know an awful lot about the residents of Severn Oaks. As the podcast, gradually, week by week starts to reveal the friend’s secrets, soon the police have to consider whether Erica’s fall was a tragic accident as first believed or if someone deliberately killed her.I have to admit, with quite a few characters to keep track of, I did have to do myself a little crib sheet at the beginning to keep track of everybody. We hear from all the main suspects throughout the book, none of whom are particularly likeable – there is a lot of backstabbing and bitchiness but that added to the fun! I was consistently surprised as each secret was revealed – a gripping and suspenseful thriller, using the medium of social media. I really hope this gets made into a TV series!
    more
  • Jacqueline Allan
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for an arc copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review.I enjoyed this book. Its not my usual genre but its fast paced storyline kept me interested and intrigued right up until the end. Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for an arc copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review.I enjoyed this book. It’s not my usual genre but it’s fast paced storyline kept me interested and intrigued right up until the end.
    more
  • Vivienne
    January 1, 1970
    My thanks to Headline for a digital edition via NetGalley of Someone is Lying by Jenny Blackhurst in exchange for an honest review. It was published in ebook/audiobook in May 2019 with its paperback edition being published on 14 November. At a lavish Halloween party the previous year Erica Spencer died after falling from a tree house. The inquest ruled her death an accident and the residents of the exclusive Seven Oaks gated community have begun to move on with their lives. Then a post appears My thanks to Headline for a digital edition via NetGalley of ‘Someone is Lying’ by Jenny Blackhurst in exchange for an honest review. It was published in ebook/audiobook in May 2019 with its paperback edition being published on 14 November. At a lavish Halloween party the previous year Erica Spencer died after falling from a tree house. The inquest ruled her death an accident and the residents of the exclusive Seven Oaks gated community have begun to move on with their lives. Then a post appears on the local school’s FB page announcing a podcast that “brings to light new and never heard evidence that will cast doubt on everything you think you know about this ‘tragic accident’ and expose a murderer.” The anonymous podcaster names six suspects and promises to reveal the murderer by the end of the series.It turns out that everyone in the community has secrets.Although this was a quite readable domestic noir, it failed to really engage me. l found it hard to care about any of its rich, entitled characters and they tended to melt into each other. In addition, the number of secrets and lies were so numerous that it began to feel like one of those over-the-top daytime soap operas. I know these are popular but are just not my thing.
    more
  • James
    January 1, 1970
    A year after Erica Spencer falls to her death from a tree at a Halloween party in the exclusive Cheshire gated community of Severn Oaks, a podcast emerges from nowhere to speculate that rather than a tragic accident, someone amongst her friends and their husbands is guilty of murder. Cheshire has many affluent areas and is known as a place where many a celebrity and premiership footballer opts to live; Severn Oaks is that kind of place and the six are all relatively wealthy, a couple are also A year after Erica Spencer falls to her death from a tree at a Halloween party in the exclusive Cheshire gated community of Severn Oaks, a podcast emerges from nowhere to speculate that rather than a tragic accident, someone amongst her friends and their husbands is guilty of murder. Cheshire has many affluent areas and is known as a place where many a celebrity and premiership footballer opts to live; Severn Oaks is that kind of place and the six are all relatively wealthy, a couple are also famous. So it isn’t long before the press are besieging their neighbourhood, while all the other local families and the parents of other children at their kids’ schools gossip amongst themselves. In short, everyone is listening to the podcast and digesting each and every revelation that comes to pass. Add to that another parent, one who was best friends with Erica, has just gone missing, and it isn’t long before tensions are threatening to tear apart what was once a close-knit friendship group.Psychological thrillers and domestic noir aren’t normally my chosen genre, I prefer my crime more gritty and noir, but of late I’ve been enjoying a couple of books from this genre. I was attracted to Someone is Lying due to the podcast angle. I listen to quite a few true crime podcasts myself, and lately a number of authors have made use of the phenomenon to great effect, most notably the supernatural chiller writer, Matt Wesolowski. I was hoping for a crime fiction version of that. I would have preferred Jenny Blackhurst, the author of Someone is Lying, to have made greater use of this element of the plot, but instead she chose to focus more on the reaction of the six to the podcast rather than the podcast itself.As a reader of hardboiled crime noir, such as the work of James Elroy and Don Winslow, I’m used to reading books where none of the characters are particularly likeable. So that isn’t a problem for me. Which is good, because none of the characters in Someone is Lying are likeable, rather they’re all self-centred, self-obsessed, and narcissistic. Personally, I had a bit of difficulty engaging with this novel, but then I feel I’m not really the target audience. I don’t watch programmes like Real Housewives, and while as a husband and father I’ve spent my time at the school gates talking to other parents, as a man I don’t feel I really ever see the bitchiness and suburban infighting that can occur.That all said, I can appreciate how well this book is written and how it will appeal to its target audience. Women make up a greater proportion of the reading public than men and there’s a reason domestic noir has boomed so much, because female readers are more likely to relate to the subject matter. Certainly, I could see how well-to-do yummy mummies would lap this book up. Similarly, anyone who watches programmes like Real Housewives, Made in Chelsea, and The Only Way is Essex, will love this novel. Someone is Lying perfectly encapsulates the thin veneer of civility that lays over affluent suburbia, and the petty rivalries, hatreds, quiet desperation and dissatisfactions, that all too often lie underneath. While I didn’t enjoy this book as much as my usual reads, it’s well written and I reckon it will fly off the shelves.3 out of 5 stars
    more
  • Lavender
    January 1, 1970
    Someone is lying is a highly addictive but although confusing psychological thriller with a lot of Big Little Lies vibes.Severn Oaks is a gated community where only good situated people live. Those of them who have children form the inner circle. Last year Erica fell to her death from a tree house while attending a Halloween party. It was declared as an accident by the police. But now someone is announcing a podcast about Ericas death. And they say six people are involved and one of them killed “Someone is lying” is a highly addictive but although confusing psychological thriller with a lot of “Big Little Lies” vibes.Severn Oaks is a gated community where only good situated people live. Those of them who have children form the inner circle. Last year Erica fell to her death from a tree house while attending a Halloween party. It was declared as an accident by the police. But now someone is announcing a podcast about Erica’s death. And they say six people are involved and one of them killed Erica because she knew their secrets. This causes a lot of distress among the community. And on the same time someone goes missing. Erica’s best friend Mary-Anne is gone and nobody seems to know what happened to her. Then the first episode of the podcast is aired and names are dropped. All the families are shaken because every one of them has something to hide.Oh my, so many strange people with so many dirty secrets. This is a highly unrealistic but at the same time entertaining story. I had some problems find into the story because there where so many people and I mixed them up (especially the husbands, there were all the same to me). I had problems to keep track who was married to whom. The female characters are a bit more developed but they also sometimes act out of character. That is the main problem here. To tell all those very similar characters apart and how they are connected in a tangled web of lies. But it is fun to read. It reminded me a lot of “Big Little Lies” for several reasons. But the story is different, though. It was just something about those women and their friendship. The podcast thing was a bit underused. There are other books out there who deal with this medium far better. But it is still an entertaining and easy read.I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review
    more
  • Honestmamreader
    January 1, 1970
    The title of this book says it all "Someone Is Lying" and boy oh boy are there people lying here. Think Desperate Housewives, Real Housewives, Big Little Lies and Cluedo add a dash of humour and you have the basis of this book. I loved it. The story opens with Erica Spencer telling us about a Facebook post that has appeared on the school's page. The post is declaring they know the truth of what happened in a Halloween party in a gated community. Was an accident from a tree house really murder? The title of this book says it all "Someone Is Lying" and boy oh boy are there people lying here. Think Desperate Housewives, Real Housewives, Big Little Lies and Cluedo add a dash of humour and you have the basis of this book. I loved it. The story opens with Erica Spencer telling us about a Facebook post that has appeared on the school's page. The post is declaring they know the truth of what happened in a Halloween party in a gated community. Was an accident from a tree house really murder? Erica Spencer knows the truth. How? Well, because she's the one that got murdered. What I liked about this book was the good ole murder mystery premise of a handful of suspects and plenty of motives. With each podcast that was posted there was a new secret and lie to uncover, and another suspect being exposed to their misdemeanor. The humour that was dotted around the story was excellent, just enough to keep it a gritty mystery without going over into naked gun territory. The gated community residents of Severn Oaks seemed to think they were better than everyone else, but each one had their own secret. A fantastic read.
    more
  • Kat
    January 1, 1970
    Well oh well what a deliciously dark novel with a huge dose of acerbic humour this book sure turned out to be real winner. Lots of suspects with a whole heap of secrets this is a real twister of a ride and you need to keep your wits about you as we are slowly drip fed little snippets of information which just made this book a cut above many other mystery thrillers.Teasing the reader and following a gripping storyline that keeps you guessing throughout this is so well written by the fabulous Well oh well what a deliciously dark novel with a huge dose of acerbic humour this book sure turned out to be real winner. Lots of suspects with a whole heap of secrets this is a real twister of a ride and you need to keep your wits about you as we are slowly drip fed little snippets of information which just made this book a cut above many other mystery thrillers.Teasing the reader and following a gripping storyline that keeps you guessing throughout this is so well written by the fabulous Jenny Blackhurst who sure knows how to write a page turner with characters that are extremely well portrayed and I laughed many times at just how shallow some of them were and yet we all know people like them !!!So a well recommended read and a definite 4+ stars from me My thanks to NetGalley and Headline for giving me the chance to read the ARC in exchange for my honest opinion.
    more
  • Erika
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to Netgalley and Headline for providing this ARC in exchange for an honest review.Erica died when she fell out of a treehouse during a Halloween party a year ago. It was assumed to be an accident but now there is a podcast revealing what really happened and implicating several of Ericas friends and neighbors in their gated community.At the beginning of this book, many characters were introduced and I couldnt keep straight who was who. Luckily after a bit, I was up to speed and that wasnt Thanks to Netgalley and Headline for providing this ARC in exchange for an honest review.Erica died when she fell out of a treehouse during a Halloween party a year ago. It was assumed to be an accident but now there is a podcast revealing what really happened and implicating several of Erica’s friends and neighbors in their gated community.At the beginning of this book, many characters were introduced and I couldn’t keep straight who was who. Luckily after a bit, I was up to speed and that wasn’t an issue. This bunch had a lot of secrets that were revealed through the podcasts. Overall this was a good quick read and I look forward to this author’s next book.
    more
  • Annette
    January 1, 1970
    I loved the concept of this book, it had lots of suspense plenty of surprising revelations and someone is definitely lying
  • Julie Lacey
    January 1, 1970
    This is a really good murder mystery set in a gated community, with everyone suspecting each other. Erica fell to her death at a Halloween party, but was it an accident or was she pushed?A year later a podcast is leaked which says it will gradually expose what really happened on the night of the accident. Six suspects are named, with the podcaster promising to reveal the murderer by the end of the series.This was quite confusing at first as it jumped around from character to character, and didnt This is a really good murder mystery set in a gated community, with everyone suspecting each other. Erica fell to her death at a Halloween party, but was it an accident or was she pushed?A year later a podcast is leaked which says it will gradually expose what really happened on the night of the accident. Six suspects are named, with the podcaster promising to reveal the murderer by the end of the series.This was quite confusing at first as it jumped around from character to character, and didn’t really give you the chance to get to know them. As the book progressed I got used to this and was keen to know what really happened. The people suspected all have something to hide, but could they be capable of murder?This is a gripping mystery thriller and I’d like go thank Headline and NetGalley for the opportunity to read this book.
    more
  • What Do I Read Now
    January 1, 1970
    I thoroughly enjoyed Someone is Lying the new book from Jenny Blackhurst.When Erica, Jacks wife falls - or was she pushed to her death from a tree house, drunk and intoxicated, her neighbours, a group of rather intriguing characters, who've managed to be branded "The Severn Oaks Six' - not by choice, named and shamed in a on-line Podcast by Andy Moon - But who is Andy Moon and how does he know the secrets of 'The Six' they all have a story and some thing to hide, plus possible motives to have I thoroughly enjoyed Someone is Lying the new book from Jenny Blackhurst.When Erica, Jacks wife falls - or was she pushed to her death from a tree house, drunk and intoxicated, her neighbours, a group of rather intriguing characters, who've managed to be branded "The Severn Oaks Six' - not by choice, named and shamed in a on-line Podcast by Andy Moon - But who is Andy Moon and how does he know the secrets of 'The Six' they all have a story and some thing to hide, plus possible motives to have murdered Erica.The storyline has so twists and turns its like riding a bucking bronco, each and every character has a motive and yet a reason it wasnt them.I found it very reminiscent of a program from a few years ago, character wise - which isnt a bad thing, as I loved that show - Desperate Housewives, and as for Terri Hatcher and co in the show, suburbia isn't as dull as it may seem for the neighbours in Severn Oaks either.Jack Spencer, widower of Erica, left to look after their two children, Max and Emily.Karla and Marcus Kaplan - the cookery book queen and the self-help guru, husband and wife duo have a lot to lose, not just their celebrity status. Live with the troubled teen Brandon and his brother Zach.Single mother - Felicity Goldman - and her twin girls Mollie and Amelie.Peter and Mary-Beth King and their children.Miranda and Alex Davenport - caustic humor carries their pressured marriage along with Charity and Logan their children who both know what buttons to push to get their own way too.They all join together and listen in stunned silence each week to the podcasts and see what secrets Andy Moon will reveal about them for the world to know. Such revaltions can only cause further damage, but are they truths or unfounded lies, and how does this mysterious Andy Moon know all these stories about them?A brilliantly twisty, dark book, detailing the lives of 'The Severn Oaks Six' in such a way that you begin to like the characters, but are not sure if you should, because it has to be one of them that killed Erica. To find out you'll need to read Someone is Lying though, as I am not going to tell you who it is. Their secrets are safe with me.
    more
  • Sheri
    January 1, 1970
    I loved the premise of this book - an anonymous podcaster revealing secrets about a group of neighbours in the wake of the death of one - but somehow, although the story is well written and cleverly plotted, the execution didnt quite live up to the expectation, perhaps because I struggled to engage with any of the characters. I dont necessarily need to like them (which I didnt) but for a long time I got them mixed up in my mind and never really managed to remember who was married to who or what I loved the premise of this book - an anonymous podcaster revealing secrets about a group of neighbours in the wake of the death of one - but somehow, although the story is well written and cleverly plotted, the execution didn’t quite live up to the expectation, perhaps because I struggled to engage with any of the characters. I don’t necessarily need to like them (which I didn’t) but for a long time I got them mixed up in my mind and never really managed to remember who was married to who or what they’d been up to. While the podcast idea sounded promising, ultimately it felt underused.The word “dark” appears in a lot of advance praise, but honestly, I didn’t have that feeling about it. A perceived similarity to the TV show Desperate Housewives has also been bandied about a lot, and I can definitely see that comparison - even some of the characters’ names feel reminiscent of the characters or cast (“Felicity Goldman” being a case in point...).Secrets and lies - and murder - in a well off community certainly has plenty of dramatic potential. Maybe it was just the mood I was in but Someone is Lying, while an enjoyable read, didn’t quite hit the mark for me.
    more
  • Henriette
    January 1, 1970
    This was yet another psycho thriller. Nearly a year ago a group of neighbors were gathered at a Halloween party within their gated community. At that party one of the group, Erica, ends up dead. Throughout the book we get the feeling that all neighbors present at that party are hiding something, especially when a podcast is made regarding the truth about Erica. They all end up suspecting and mistrusting each other and it is clear all of them have something to hide, but what are they really This was yet another psycho thriller. Nearly a year ago a group of neighbors were gathered at a Halloween party within their gated community. At that party one of the group, Erica, ends up dead. Throughout the book we get the feeling that all neighbors present at that party are hiding something, especially when a podcast is made regarding the truth about Erica. They all end up suspecting and mistrusting each other and it is clear all of them have something to hide, but what are they really hiding. Is one of them a murderer?It was a good enough story, but not great or so memorable that I will be telling everyone to go grab a copy of it.
    more
  • Bobby
    January 1, 1970
    This had a Big Little Lies theme about it. Lots of wealthy people in a gated community all of whom have secrets. These secrets are about to be revealed via a podcast. For me the premise of this book did not live up to the execution. I have enjoyed the authors previous books but this one did not gel as much. It seemed that the individual characters did not shine so I had trouble holding them, and their stories in my head. It was also hard to warm to any of the characters individually, although at This had a Big Little Lies theme about it. Lots of wealthy people in a gated community all of whom have secrets. These secrets are about to be revealed via a podcast. For me the premise of this book did not live up to the execution. I have enjoyed the authors previous books but this one did not gel as much. It seemed that the individual characters did not shine so I had trouble holding them, and their stories in my head. It was also hard to warm to any of the characters individually, although at the same time I didn't actively dislike any of the characters just a bit apathetic towards them. Overall, it was OK, worth a read but not particularly gripping.
    more
  • Claire Mawdesley
    January 1, 1970
    I do really rate Jenny Blackhurst as an author having loved her previous 4 books, however this wasn't a particular favourite of mine.The layout of the book just didn't work for me. It was similar to how the TV show 'Desperate Housewives' was, with a narrative from the dead character. I also found it a bit confusing at times.
    more
  • Chloe
    January 1, 1970
    I didn't enjoy this as much as I thought I would after reading the description etc. I was expecting a belter of a book and just found that it was so hard to get into and get my head around. So many people are discussed within each introductory chapter. I feel it would be better suited to a chapter per person to separate them a bit.
    more
  • June Jones
    January 1, 1970
    I found there were too many characters, and I got confused who was who, and did what, the plot was good.
  • Mairead Hearne (swirlandthread.com)
    January 1, 1970
    In this podcast Ill be looking at the six people with the most to hide about the night Erica Spencer died. Someone Is Lying is the latest novel from Jenny Blackhurst. Just published in ebook format with Headline Review, it is described as a chilling new psychological thriller full of unexpected twistsMy first thought on reading this book was of Desperate Housewives, the American series.albeit set in Cheshire! Severn Oaks is a small gated community within the town of Severndale. Home to a bunch ‘In this podcast I’ll be looking at the six people with the most to hide about the night Erica Spencer died….’ Someone Is Lying is the latest novel from Jenny Blackhurst. Just published in ebook format with Headline Review, it is described as ‘a chilling new psychological thriller full of unexpected twists’My first thought on reading this book was of Desperate Housewives, the American series….albeit set in Cheshire! Severn Oaks is a small gated community within the town of Severndale. Home to a bunch of folk who like their privacy, and the seclusion that such an environment provides, Severn Oaks is an exclusive address. Erica Spencer, resident of Severn Oaks, was the person everyone went to to get stuff done. From the annual community picnic at Severndale Primary to the PTA meetings and local residents’s groups, she was the go to, the reliable one, the doer. Tragedy struck the community the previous year when Erica fell from a tree-house at a Halloween party in the home of local celebrity couple, Karla and Marcus Kaplan. Erica died at the scene and the police placed cause of death as accidental. The community of Severn Oaks was saddened to have lost one of their own but time is a great healer and life moved on. It’s now the following year, the neighbours have gathered themselves together for the annual community picnic, but with the very noticeable absence of it’s stalwart, Erica Spencer. As the picnic gets into full swing, there is a very unexpected and very shocking reveal posted on Facebook with the headline, ‘The Murder of Erica Spencer’, stating that a new podcast series is about to be released entitled The Truth About Erica.‘Six suspects, six podcasts and a murder. I’ll see you the same time next week when we discuss how Erica Spencer died and focus on the first of the Severn Oaks Six’The Severn Oaks Six, as they become known, are part of the main core of the Severn Oaks community and also the last possible witnesses to Erica’s tragic demise. As the story slowly reveals itself, so too do the secrets that lay hidden behind the confident veneers of these main characters. A mixed bag of cats, I can’t say I particularly warmed to any of them to be honest. Jenny Blackhurst portrays them brilliantly as a self-centred bunch of hypocrites, all very much wrapped up in their own successes and lies. Careers will be damaged, reputations destroyed, friend will turn against friend as the podcasts reveal the truth about Erica’s last few hours. What did happen in the Kaplan house that night? Was Erica pushed or did she fall?“Oh what a tangled web we weave When first we practice to deceive.” – Sir Walter ScottThe perfect quote to fit this unpredictable tale, a tale of suspense and untruths, a tale of twists and turns, of big reveals and petty hatreds. Someone Is Lying maintains the suspense and builds on the paranoia of the Severn Six as each podcast is released. When additional disturbing events begin to happen, there is confusion and doubt in Severn Oaks. Exposed secrets reveal the ugliness that lies beneath and the community is slowly disassembled with each broadcast.Someone Is Lying is a highly entertaining tale. It does need a little concentration at times, as there are many personalities involved. But all have an important part to play in reaching that rather surprising finale so stay alert folks….you have been warned.Someone Is Lying is quite an enthralling read, a very enjoyable read and one that I would really love to see played out on the big screen. It has an element of Poirot about it or Cluedo, leading us down many rabbit holes as we attempt to guess the real Truth About Erica….
    more
  • Kath
    January 1, 1970
    Well, this was the book that kept on giving. Chock full of secrets, lies and duplicitous behaviour! If I have to be honest (and I do) maybe a little too chock full. There was so much going on in this book that I almost won house at psychological thriller bingo! It basically had it all! One year after the death of Erica Spencer, the residents of the exclusive gated community in which she lived are all shocked when a post appears on the school's website claiming to know what really happened on Well, this was the book that kept on giving. Chock full of secrets, lies and duplicitous behaviour! If I have to be honest (and I do) maybe a little too chock full. There was so much going on in this book that I almost won house at psychological thriller bingo! It basically had it all! One year after the death of Erica Spencer, the residents of the exclusive gated community in which she lived are all shocked when a post appears on the school's website claiming to know what really happened on that Halloween night. And threatening to expose the guilty party in a series of podcasts, naming the six suspects hinted at along the way. There's an eclectic mix of cast in this book. Most of whom having something to hide. Some secrets are obvious from the off, others notsomuch and occasionally, not what was expected. They are all pretty horrid people when push comes to shove too. So much so that I was kind of hoping that it would be all of them and they would all get their comeuppance! Once the finger started pointing some of their true colours came out and there was quite a bit of delicious infighting to be had. The whole shenanigan was exacerbated by the early disappearance of Erica's best friend. Victim or something to hide?The cast was baffling to me, especially as I was introduced to a bunch at the same time, so I had to resort to writing me a list. Unlike some books which I have to do this for, I found myself still referring to this list quite far into the book. Whether that speaks more to my own failings or that of the author, the jury is still out on that, but it happened, so I'm mentioning it!What I did enjoy was the interaction between the characters, the fighting, the backstabbing, the secrets and lies and all the masks they hid behind. That side of things was handled very well indeed. Definitely not a bunch I would invite round my house for a party! I also found the podcasts to be a great way of progressing the story yet at the same time, dragging it out to the point of intrigue and teasing. Yes that does make sense, honest! Along with the rest of the cast, I was gagging for the next episode - thrilled at the anticipation of what it might reveal. The ending... well, although it was very well plotted - as demonstrated when the truth finally came out - it was delivered at a rate of knots and it all got a little muddled for me. Once I got my head around everything, it all worked out to my satisfaction but I did have to work at it a bit. All in all, a solid read that kept me on my toes throughout and left me satisfied (eventually) at the end. My thanks go to the Publisher and Netgalley for the chance to read this book.
    more
Write a review