The Invisible Heiress
From two-time Book of the Year finalist Kathleen O’Donnell comes a gripping psychological thriller filled with unexpected twists. A psychiatric patient with a dark secret Preston Blair, a blogger with a dark sense of humor, is committed to a private psychiatric hospital, accused of a shocking crime. Her father Todd’s influence as a D.A. has kept her from prison, but her sanity remains on a knife-edge. A therapist with an agenda Preston’s therapist, Isabel, is too preoccupied working her latest con on a rich, married, sadomasochistic secret lover, to care about Preston’s problems, even when Preston tells her that her socialite mother, Harrison Blair, had committed an unthinkable crime herself years before—one that might help explain Preston’s own misdeeds. A shocking secret that begs to be told When Preston’s absent husband, Brendan, suddenly turns up and tries to prove her innocence, tragedy strikes. Preston’s convinced her parents were involved, but it turns out to be much more complicated. As Preston delves deeper into the mystery, her head clears and a devastating event that she had long erased from her muddled mind comes rushing back. A killer that cannot be stopped Stumbling onto video evidence, which exposes a killer’s greed and lust for power, Preston finds her own life is in danger from a surprising and once trusted source. She discovers that the truth hurts. It just might be the death of her. Fans of Gillian Flynn and Jessica Knoll will love Kathleen O’Donnell.

The Invisible Heiress Details

TitleThe Invisible Heiress
Author
ReleaseFeb 15th, 2019
PublisherItalics Publishing
Rating
GenreMystery, Thriller, Psychological Thriller

The Invisible Heiress Review

  • Píaras Cíonnaoíth
    January 1, 1970
    Author Kathleen O'Donnell weaves a gripping psychological thriller with intriguing twists and turns that will easily captivate the reader’s attention from the beginning. The author paints a dramatic and riveting tale of intrigue and suspense in a very vivid and convincing way. In addition, the characters are drawn with great credibility and conviction. It’s a fast-paced novel that will keep you engaged from the first page to the last.The book description gives a sneak preview: ‘Preston Blair, a Author Kathleen O'Donnell weaves a gripping psychological thriller with intriguing twists and turns that will easily captivate the reader’s attention from the beginning. The author paints a dramatic and riveting tale of intrigue and suspense in a very vivid and convincing way. In addition, the characters are drawn with great credibility and conviction. It’s a fast-paced novel that will keep you engaged from the first page to the last.The book description gives a sneak preview: ‘Preston Blair, a blogger with a dark sense of humor, is committed to a private psychiatric hospital, accused of a shocking crime. Her father Todd’s influence as a D.A. has kept her from prison, but her sanity remains on a knife-edge. Preston’s therapist, Isabel, is too preoccupied working her latest con on a rich, married, sadomasochistic secret lover, to care about Preston’s problems, even when Preston tells her that her socialite mother, Harrison Blair, had committed an unthinkable crime herself years before—one that might help explain Preston’s own misdeeds. When Preston’s absent husband, Brendan, suddenly turns up and tries to prove her innocence, tragedy strikes. Preston’s convinced her parents were involved, but it turns out to be much more complicated. As Preston delves deeper into the mystery, her head clears and a devastating event that she had long erased from her muddled mind comes rushing back. Stumbling onto video evidence, which exposes a killer’s greed and lust for power, Preston finds her own life is in danger from a surprising and once trusted source. She discovers that the truth hurts. It just might be the death of her…’Now, if that’s not enough to get your curiosity juices flowing, I don’t know what will. But if you want to find out what happens, you’ll just have to turn the pages for yourself! However, I will say it was well worth the read. It’s my first time reading this author and I must say I was very impressed.I enjoyed the story, character development, and dialogue. There were plenty of plot twists that I didn’t see coming and that added to the book’s mystique. When I stopped reading to work, I found myself wondering what happened in the book, and replaying parts of the novel in my head to see if I could figure more out. It has been a while since I enjoyed a book this much. It’s a first-class psychological thriller with perfect pacing. Not much is as it appears here, which is just the way fans of mystery, thriller and suspense will want it!The Invisible Heiress had every element a good story should have. An intriguing plot, attention to detail, but best of all fleshed out, well-written and well-rounded character development. There’s an abundance of well-illustrated scenes that make you feel like you are right there in the story, and that’s something I really look for in a good book.It’s one of those stories that come along once in a while that makes you want to read it non-stop until you get to the end. I’m giving nothing further away here. And this, I hope, will only add to the mystery and enjoyment for the reader!I’ll be looking forward to reading more from Kathleen O'Donnell in the future. I would absolutely recommend this book to all fans of the mystery, thriller and suspense genre. Five stars from me.
    more
  • Patty
    January 1, 1970
    I received this book to read and review. Straight up, didn't think I was going to like it. I kept reading and before I knew it I couldn't stop reading. Preston comes from a very dysfunctional family. Almost everyone around her are keeping secrets. She has to sort thru a mess to finally find the truth. The truth isn't always easy to handle. There are a lot of twists along the way.
    more
  • Beth Teliho
    January 1, 1970
    Finished this book just moments ago and wow, I LOVED it. Talk about a page turner, and tight, smart writing that never lets you rest. Super twisty, clever plot with a few shockers I never saw coming. GREAT characters, even when I didn’t like them, I loved them as a reader. This book will stick in my head for a while, like all book hangovers should!
    more
Write a review