Hunting for a Highlander (Highland Brides, #8)
Four Buchanan brothers have found their brides…only three more to go in this scintillating romance from New York Times bestselling author Lynsay Sands…Lady Dwyn Innes feels utterly out of place among the eligible women who've descended on Buchanan Keep, vying for the attention of the last unmarried brothers. She isn't long-legged and slender like her sisters, or flirtatious and wily like other lasses. Since her betrothed died, Dwyn has resigned herself to becoming an old maid. Yet a chance encounter with a stranger in the orchard awakens her to a new world of sensation and possibility...After weeks away, Geordie Buchanan returns to find his home swarming with potential brides, thanks to his loving but interfering family. But one lass in particular draws his attention from the moment he spies her climbing a tree. Lady Dwyn is not nearly as plain as she thinks. Her lush figure and eager kisses delight him, as does her honesty. But the real test lies ahead: eliminating a hidden enemy, so that he and Dwyn can seal their Highland passion with a vow.

Hunting for a Highlander (Highland Brides, #8) Details

TitleHunting for a Highlander (Highland Brides, #8)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 28th, 2020
PublisherAvon
ISBN-139780062855381
Rating
GenreRomance, Historical Romance, Historical

Hunting for a Highlander (Highland Brides, #8) Review

  • Barbara Rogers
    January 1, 1970
    Series: Highland Brides #8Publication Date: 1/28/20Number of Pages: 384 ** 4.25 Stars **I had such fun reading this book! It was witty and steamy and the characters were a delight. Yes, some serious things happened, but the humor made it all tolerable. Picture a castle full of randy males with Dolly Parton in their midst. This book is much, much steamier than the other books in the series – some of it was gratuitous, but that was okay with me. This is classic Lynsay Sands and I thoroughly Series: Highland Brides #8Publication Date: 1/28/20Number of Pages: 384 ** 4.25 Stars **I had such fun reading this book! It was witty and steamy and the characters were a delight. Yes, some serious things happened, but the humor made it all tolerable. Picture a castle full of randy males with Dolly Parton in their midst. This book is much, much steamier than the other books in the series – some of it was gratuitous, but that was okay with me. This is classic Lynsay Sands and I thoroughly enjoyed the read.The Buchanan family consists of eight – yes, eight – children – seven brothers and one sister. The sister, Saidh, and four of the brothers, Dougall, Niels, Aulay, and, Conran have already found their HEAs. Now, Saidh and her sisters-in-law have decided that it is time for the remaining three brothers, Geordie, Rory, and, Alick, to find wives as well. In furtherance of that goal, the ladies have invited a number of eligible young ladies to Buchanan Castle. However, they aren’t just any young ladies – there are certain criteria they – and their fathers – must meet before receiving an invitation. Luckily for the ladies' plan, Geordie, Rory, and Alick have been away for several months and are due home any day. Won’t they be surprised?Geordie returned home late in the night to find the castle filled to overflowing. He couldn’t even walk across the floor to get to his room without stumbling over bodies. Rather than run an obstacle course, he decides he’ll just sleep in the orchard. That was a good plan until he was awakened early the next morning – after only a few hours of sleep – by the strange sound of someone making noises to sound like a horse. Then, he sees a woman reach down and grab the back of her skirt, pull it through her legs and tuck it into her waistband. Next, she grabs onto a branch and disappears up into the tree – she doesn’t fall out, but she doesn’t come back down either. Geordie assumes he’ll just have to rescue her and proceeds to climb the tree after her. Only, she doesn’t need rescuing – she’s perfectly happy there and intends to stay. They chat and enjoy each other’s company for a while, but goodness, she is distracting. She has a very generous bosom and it is scarcely contained within her gown. Lady Dwyn Innes is one of the ladies invited to Buchanan Castle to vie for the hand of one of the remaining unmarried brothers. Dwyn has basically raised her two sisters and managed their holdings all by herself since she was about six years old. Yes, she has a father who is officially the Laird, but he is distracted and vague – much more interested in cataloging the plants on his estate than he is in raising his daughters and managing his clan. Since her father has no sons, as the oldest daughter she is his heir and will inherit Innes upon his death. Since the death of her betrothed, Dwyn has attracted the unwanted and unwelcome attentions of the neighboring Laird. For her, the invitation to Buchanan Castle is very welcome.Lady Dwyn has led a sheltered life at Innes. She’s never met anyone she didn’t like – or who didn’t like her – and she never really gave her looks any thought. However, her sisters, in an effort to help her, have adjusted all of her clothing so that her ample bosom is definitely on display. She knows she’s not as beautiful as her sisters, but that hasn’t ever bothered her before. Now, she feels more like a brown wren – not attractive and with no chance at attracting one of the Buchanan’s. When she meets a handsome man in a tree in the orchard, she enjoys his company and doesn’t realize – until he’s already gone – that she never learned his name.I know there are readers who will think this book has too much steam and that the word boob (or a derivative of it) is used too many times, but I thought that it was the lightness that made the very serious things that happened more bearable. Geordie was a randy fellow – but – Lady Dwyn was just as randy, so they were perfect for each other.I hope you’ll enjoy this well-written, witty, randy, and romantic read. I surely did.I voluntarily read and reviewed an Advanced Reader Copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
    more
  • Kayla Brunson
    January 1, 1970
    I liked Hunting for a Highlander for the most part. It was sexy and I’m a sucker for a romance where the woman most people would overlook gets the guy. While it wasn't perfect, it had some good moments. I liked Dwyn and Geordie together. While they had chemistry we got scenes of them getting to know each other and really form feelings for each other. I have to admit that once they started getting physical it felt like it A LOT. I know the author said that this book would be sexier than the I liked Hunting for a Highlander for the most part. It was sexy and I’m a sucker for a romance where the woman most people would overlook gets the guy. While it wasn't perfect, it had some good moments. I liked Dwyn and Geordie together. While they had chemistry we got scenes of them getting to know each other and really form feelings for each other. I have to admit that once they started getting physical it felt like it A LOT. I know the author said that this book would be sexier than the others but goodness! Also, I am sick of hearing about her breasts! Did women not have bigger breasts back then? Enough for it to be all the women AND men talked about? As most of the books in the series, someone is trying to sabotage our couple. While I am all for suspense in my books, I did feel like this one dragged on for a bit. It’s like that part in a horror movie when you realize the villain just won’t die. Terrible comparison, but you know what I mean. I felt like the author kept throwing in situations just to keep the drama going, but I was ready for it to be over. Overall, I liked it. I did have some issues with it but, we know that I love highlanders and this family is a favorite so I will read the next one and I hope that it’s Rory’s story. TW: talk of and attempted rapeI received an ARC via Edelweiss for an honest review.Blog | Instagram | Twitter
    more
  • romancejunkie
    January 1, 1970
    Lady Dwyn Innes goes to the Buchanan Keep with her sisters and father when there is an opportunity for girls to marry one of the three remaining Buchanan brothers, but she don't think she has enough chances to captivate one of them, she sees herself as being plain and not slender enough and not beautiful like the other lasses. She is prepared to become a old maid when one day she encounters Geordie Buchanan in the orchard and both become instantly smitten with each other. Later he asks for her Lady Dwyn Innes goes to the Buchanan Keep with her sisters and father when there is an opportunity for girls to marry one of the three remaining Buchanan brothers, but she don't think she has enough chances to captivate one of them, she sees herself as being plain and not slender enough and not beautiful like the other lasses. She is prepared to become a old maid when one day she encounters Geordie Buchanan in the orchard and both become instantly smitten with each other. Later he asks for her hand in marriage and she accepts and they are both so happy and crazy in love with each other for a time, until a perilous enemy ressurges wanting revenge against Dwyn and they have to end his threats so they can live happily and in peace again. I loved the book, Geordie and Dwynn were perfect together. The suspense around the story also kept me intrigued to know who was behind it. I received an free arc copy of this book from the publisher in exchange of an honest review, all opinions here are my own.
    more
  • Nen & Jen
    January 1, 1970
    Read this on our blog Nen and Jen 1/2 STARSLet me just start this by saying I should have known how steamy this book was from its cover! I usually ignore this as books with some steamy times generally have half-naked men on the cover and they’re only moderately steamy. This book was definitely an exception to the rule. Not always in a bad way but occasionally it was like WOW. That’s some stamina right there, haha! So besides from that…Book Blurb:Four Buchanan brothers have found their brides… Read this on our blog Nen and Jen☆ ☆ 1/2 STARSLet me just start this by saying I should have known how steamy this book was from its cover! I usually ignore this as books with some steamy times generally have half-naked men on the cover and they’re only moderately steamy. This book was definitely an exception to the rule. Not always in a bad way but occasionally it was like WOW. That’s some stamina right there, haha! So besides from that…Book Blurb:Four Buchanan brothers have found their brides…only three more to go in this scintillating romance from New York Times bestselling author Lynsay Sands…Lady Dwyn Innes feels utterly out of place among the eligible women who’ve descended on Buchanan Keep, vying for the attention of the last unmarried brothers. She isn’t long-legged and slender like her sisters, or flirtatious and wily like other lasses. Since her betrothed died, Dwyn has resigned herself to becoming an old maid. Yet a chance encounter with a stranger in the orchard awakens her to a new world of sensation and possibility…After weeks away, Geordie Buchanan returns to find his home swarming with potential brides, thanks to his loving but interfering family. But one lass in particular draws his attention from the moment he spies her climbing a tree. Lady Dwyn is not nearly as plain as she thinks. Her lush figure and eager kisses delight him, as does her honesty. But the real test lies ahead: eliminating a hidden enemy, so that he and Dwyn can seal their Highland passion with a vow.Characters:Dwyn – I actually quite liked Dwyn. She was smart, brave and genuine. I really liked the way she didn’t let the competition to win a suitor make her turn vain. I felt like she held her role as broodmare and bargaining chip for her father’s land quite well… all things considering. She was just making the best of a shitty situation and happened to get lucky that Geordie was a decent guy, if only a bit virile…Geordie – Honestly the man was a beast. In a good way? Depending on how much stamina you have. I felt like he played one role in this though – overprotective and amorous. He did show some progressive thought when he insisted on ‘asking’ for Dwyn’s hand in marriage rather than just taking her father’s permission as a done deal. This was mostly accurate to the events of time period though so I couldn’t hate him completely for this. Plots like this will still never sit quite right with me though!Side Characters – The other Buchanan brothers were HILARIOUS. I loved them and honestly the family dynamic kept me interested when I got bored of all the smexy times and ended up skim reading a few pages. Yes… they’re explicitly descriptive. If this is your cup of tea then you’d probably like this book. For me it was all just a bit too much.This book had great pacing and was a relatively easy read. There were only a few instances were the ‘ye’ and ‘ere’ phonetic-type writing got me caught up. I generally enjoy the Highland Historical Romance genre so most of these are familiar to me. It added a charming element to the story but not everyone is a fan of that, so it’s something to bear in mind I suppose. Similarly, this story also had multiple POV from Dwyn and Geordie’s perspectives. It wasn’t always outlined or made clear but considering this was an un-proofed draft that might change with publishing.My only other concern with this book were the endless amounts of dramatic, semi-violent events that plagued Dwyn and Geordie’s HEA. They were quickly resolved though and with the inclusion of ANOTHER passionate moment, the HEA got back on track. It felt like this cycle repeated itself three or so times during the book. This was a bit like whiplash as I read it all in one sitting but would be better suited for those who read books in multiple sessions. Then perhaps each sitting would have an interesting mini adventurous story arc to get through.
    more
  • Lover of Romance
    January 1, 1970
    This review was originally posted on Addicted To RomanceI received this book for free from Avon in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Hunting For A Highlander is the most recent installment in her "Highland Brides" series which is number eight in the series ---highly impressive in how she has built this family and this whole series. I have had a blast with many of these books and I was delighted to read Geordie's book. Just some This review was originally posted on Addicted To RomanceI received this book for free from Avon in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Hunting For A Highlander is the most recent installment in her "Highland Brides" series which is number eight in the series ---highly impressive in how she has built this family and this whole series. I have had a blast with many of these books and I was delighted to read Geordie's book. Just some background information, this series the  " Highland Brides" is a series that focuses on the Buchannan family, a set of brothers and their own journey in finding love, some mystery, danger, intrigue and plenty more. Now I would like to point out you really shouldn't take these stories so seriously. I know some readers have struggled with some of the books, the key is to ENJOY these books because the way this author writes is to entertain and have fun and that is what I really get out of these stories.Our story starts off with our hero Geordie, who spots our lovely heroine (Dwyn Innes) who is hiding from her exasperating yet loving sisters and climbs a tree. Thinking she won't be able to get down he climbs up after her and some fun bantering goes back and forth, some kissing and instant attraction between the two. Dwyn. After some interactions with each other, Geordie is sure that he wants Dwyn for his wife but when it becomes apparent that someone is trying to harm her, he will do whatever it takes to keep her safe and his. But there is an enemy of theirs who seeks Dwyn family's land and will do whatever it takes to get them. Geordie and Dwyn will have to rely on their own intellect and capabilities to overcome the danger and find the future together...What a fabulous story we have here, I simply loved so many things. Now I wouldn't say its my favorite of the series because the first few books still hold the trophies on that, however, I had such a fun time with this book and these endearing characters. One of the strongest traits in Lynsay Sand's writing is how she writes such compelling characters that you just find so drawn to and I found myself falling in love with Geordie and Dwyn and honestly didn't want to see their story end. They capture the heart so easily and even though I wished there could have been more plot built up (not as strong as some of the previous books) it was still a solid read and quite an entertaining ride.Overall I found Hunting For A Highlander to be a sweet yet lively romance set in the highlands that captivates the reader with wit, crazy family machinations, a villain here and there and a romance which captures the heart!!
    more
  • Stacee
    January 1, 1970
    I’ve read several of the books in this series and I will always continue because this family is so much fun. I really liked Dwyn and Geordie. She’s stronger than she thinks and always speaks her mind. He’s loyal and protective. Together there’s loads of chemistry and non-stop commentary from his brothers. Plot wise, it was okay. The scenes went in a circle of sexy times to attempted murder to beatings and threats of rape. Literally, that was the entire story. Oh, and constant mentions of Dwyn’s I’ve read several of the books in this series and I will always continue because this family is so much fun. I really liked Dwyn and Geordie. She’s stronger than she thinks and always speaks her mind. He’s loyal and protective. Together there’s loads of chemistry and non-stop commentary from his brothers. Plot wise, it was okay. The scenes went in a circle of sexy times to attempted murder to beatings and threats of rape. Literally, that was the entire story. Oh, and constant mentions of Dwyn’s breasts and nipples that constantly pop free from her neckline. There were small steps of them getting to know each other with words, but it felt few and far between. When she would try to explain the danger, he would kiss her...eventually I just started rolling my eyes. Overall, it was the characters that kept me reading as I really did want them to have their HEA. I think there’s two brothers left and I can’t wait to see what’s in store for them. **Huge thanks to Avon for providing the arc free of charge**
    more
  • Elodie
    January 1, 1970
    Hunting for a HighlanderHighland Brides series #8Lynsay Sandshttps://www.facebook.com/Lynsay-Sands...Release date 01/28/2020Publisher AvonBlurb :Four Buchanan brothers have found their brides…only three more to go in this scintillating romance from New York Times bestselling author Lynsay Sands…Lady Dwyn Innes feels utterly out of place among the eligible women who’ve descended on Buchanan Keep, vying for the attention of the last unmarried brothers. She isn’t long-legged and slender like her Hunting for a HighlanderHighland Brides series #8Lynsay Sandshttps://www.facebook.com/Lynsay-Sands...Release date 01/28/2020Publisher AvonBlurb :Four Buchanan brothers have found their brides…only three more to go in this scintillating romance from New York Times bestselling author Lynsay Sands…Lady Dwyn Innes feels utterly out of place among the eligible women who’ve descended on Buchanan Keep, vying for the attention of the last unmarried brothers. She isn’t long-legged and slender like her sisters, or flirtatious and wily like other lasses. Since her betrothed died, Dwyn has resigned herself to becoming an old maid. Yet a chance encounter with a stranger in the orchard awakens her to a new world of sensation and possibility...After weeks away, Geordie Buchanan returns to find his home swarming with potential brides, thanks to his loving but interfering family. But one lass in particular draws his attention from the moment he spies her climbing a tree. Lady Dwyn is not nearly as plain as she thinks. Her lush figure and eager kisses delight him, as does her honesty. But the real test lies ahead: eliminating a hidden enemy, so that he and Dwyn can seal their Highland passion with a vow.My review :When plain said Dwyn meets a man who awaken her passion, will she be enough for him ...When I read the blurb, I immediately preordered this book, I am a sucker for wallflower finding their voice. But it is some much more than this classical trope.It is only later I realized this book is the eighth in a series, but never I felt lost, the many characters are introduced with right amount of details to get to know them and appreciate their strength.So much I need now to read Aulay and Conran stories.Be warned you are in for one steamy and scorching hot ride, as the main couple can hardly keep their hands from the other.Dwyn is so much more than most people sees in her, she might not meet some beauty standard, yet her kindness and resourcefulness enhance her natural and inner loveliness.She is sure a quiet young woman, but she is not demure nor weak. She just needs the right incentive or person to enlighten what already lies on the surface but is not always seen among other prettier declared women.I loved she is no woman to drop and weep when hardships fall on her steps, she does not run in circle, arms up, she considers her options and acts.She is also genuine and straightforward, she knows who she is and what are seen as her shortcomings, she speaks her mind.Still when she meets Geordie, she knows he is well out of her reach as she is more ordinary than a renowned beauty.Geordie, in fact now I realize I learned few about him albeit he is a honorable and fierce man, he was raised along his siblings in what seems a close knitted tribe, so despite the loss of his parents, he never lacked of care and love. The Buchanan siblings are a cohesive bunch. Yet, when in intimate contact with Dwyn, she stirs feelings he never felt, he can’t shake her out his system, and when misfortune befalls on her, he is unable to rely on other for her safety, he must be the one on the front line to protect her.And he will face a lot of trouble as many twits and turns await them as danger is lurking in the shadows.4.5 stars for this fast-paced, full of actions, steamy and entertaining read of a man and his clan banding together to protect the woman he came to value more than life.I was granted an advance copy through Edelweiss by the publisher Avon, prior to it, I preordered my own.Here is my true and unbiased opinion.https://www.facebook.com/429830134272...
    more
  • Ann Lorz
    January 1, 1970
    Reviewed for Romancing the Readers Blog: https://romancingthereaders.blogspot....Those of you who follow me know that I just love Sands' historicals. She's one of the only writers I still read in historicals. She writes about wonderful characters that you really want to get to know. They are the type of people you'd like to know yourself. She also adds enough humor and mystery into her books to keep you coming back again. Up this time we are now closing in of the last of the Buchanan brothers. Reviewed for Romancing the Readers Blog: https://romancingthereaders.blogspot....Those of you who follow me know that I just love Sands' historicals. She's one of the only writers I still read in historicals. She writes about wonderful characters that you really want to get to know. They are the type of people you'd like to know yourself. She also adds enough humor and mystery into her books to keep you coming back again. Up this time we are now closing in of the last of the Buchanan brothers. After this only two more to go. I hope that we get introduced to a great family/group of friends soon for her next series. Hint to the publisher, I want a ton more of Sands. It's really hard to say which of the Buchanan brothers I liked the best. Before their books, you get to know them but only on one level. It's not till their books that you really get to know them and what they are about. I really loved how Geordie fell in love. He really liked her before falling for her. It felt very natural. These two work and one of the reasons is that they cared about each other right away without thinking the other in any way but that they are a person. I loved how the sister and sisters-in-law are trying to find forever loves for the single brothers if they want it or not. How Geordie is introduced to the ladies was good too. You got to see just how people are. No hiding behind public niceties. I truly enjoyed Dwyn. She is funny and loyal to her family. She doesn't have enough confidence in herself about herself but I think Geordie helped with that. I also enjoyed her younger sisters. They loved her and only wanted what was best for her. At times they seemed to bully her, then you saw how they reacted to anyone who treated Dwyn badly. They bully like only family that loves you can. As a whole, this is a wonderful story. You'll love the characters and how the story is written. I loved that past characters showed up. With so many characters now in the series it hard to get them all in but she got enough that it felt like the whole family was together. I am looking forward to the next two books in the series. As much as I loved this book I'd say you might want to read the series in order. Partly because I think it rocks but also because it's better getting to know the characters in their own books. With winter here this series is the perfect lay around and read series. I would also think about picking up the series that's right before this one. Kinda ties in. Plus, it's good too! Follow me on:https://www.facebook.com/RomancingThe...https://twitter.com/RomancingreaderARC received for an honest review
    more
  • Dianne
    January 1, 1970
    Breasts. Large breasts, globular breasts, peach-colored nipples, breasts bouncing and breasts that are spilling out all over the place. Yes, this book is heavy on the ample bosom of Dwyn our female protagonist. Think Dolly Parton in a kilt!This book also follows the plot devices that all of Ms. Sands books use in this series. That makes this a very comfortable read if a little boring. The mystery was a good one because I couldn't figure out who was doing it. I did not go with the most obvious, Breasts. Large breasts, globular breasts, peach-colored nipples, breasts bouncing and breasts that are spilling out all over the place. Yes, this book is heavy on the ample bosom of Dwyn our female protagonist. Think Dolly Parton in a kilt!This book also follows the plot devices that all of Ms. Sands books use in this series. That makes this a very comfortable read if a little boring. The mystery was a good one because I couldn't figure out who was doing it. I did not go with the most obvious, but I didn't figure out who was causing all Dwyn's difficulties and someone else's death and her eventual kidnapping.One thing I did get from this book that I don't usually think about while reading, is the state of the moat, what exactly goes in there and how things must have smelled in this age. I have since sterilized my toilet and kissed my plumber--I would have kissed my plumbing too, but let's not get too crazy here!!! An excellent read for total escapism.*ARC supplied by the publisher.
    more
  • Tracy Emro
    January 1, 1970
    Dwyn Innes was invited to Buchanan Castle to meet the remaining unwed Buchanan brothers and possibly make a match. She meets Geordie Buchanan by accident when she climbs a tree to escape the taunts of the other “Brides”. Dwyn is no beauty, but she knows she is not ugly and her bosom certainly entices men, however, she knows she can’t compare to the other lovely ladies at the castle, so she is surprised when the handsome man joins her in the tree and even more surprised when he steals a kiss. Dwyn Innes was invited to Buchanan Castle to meet the remaining unwed Buchanan brothers and possibly make a match. She meets Geordie Buchanan by accident when she climbs a tree to escape the taunts of the other “Brides”. Dwyn is no beauty, but she knows she is not ugly and her bosom certainly entices men, however, she knows she can’t compare to the other lovely ladies at the castle, so she is surprised when the handsome man joins her in the tree and even more surprised when he steals a kiss. Geordie was not aware of Jetta’s plan to find brides for himself, Alick & Rory and he tells his eldest brother Aulay that he is not ready to marry. But the more time he spends with Dwyn, the more he likes her and begins to think that marriage to the buxom beauty might be exactly what he needs.As they spend more time together and grow closer, a series of “accidents” befall Dwyn, first her feet are cut, which results in Geordie carrying her around, he decides that he must marry her, but while he is meeting with her father she is poisoned, thankfully the poison was not meant to kill her, but she is violently ill, but that doesn’t keep Geordie from her side and makes him more determined than ever to wed her. They handfast and share an amazing night together, they both know they have deeper feelings and it seems like HEA is a given, but when a trip to Geordie’s favorite spot turns deadly, “until death do us part” seems a lot closer than it did just a day ago!!This was a well written, fast paced, fun story with a lot of steamy love scenes, laugh out loud moments, quite a bit of tongue in cheek humor and a lot of focus on the heroine’s ample bosom  - it was just an amusing, easy read that didn’t devolve into outright silliness, but at the same time was not weighted down by too much drama. I loved Geordie and Dwyn as a couple, they are so well suited for each other, Dwyn is no wilting flower, she is smart, brave and adventurous – exactly the type of woman Geordie never knew he always wanted! I felt that their relationship progressed at a believable pace and they are complemented by a wonderful cast of secondary characters. Additionally, the story features a very well-executed “who dunnit” as well as a pretty nasty villain whose punishment certainly fits the crime. On the downside, there is a lot of modern verbiage as well as a ton of title/address errors, but it for the sake of the story, I was willing to ignore these things and just enjoy the story for what it was: a fun, steamy, entertaining read. This is the eighth (yes, the 8th) book in the series, but it can definitely be read as a stand-alone title and I am very happy to recommend this title.*I am voluntarily leaving a review for an eARC that was provided to me by Edelweiss and the publisher.*
    more
  • Melissa McHugh
    January 1, 1970
    Note: I received this book as an ARC in exchange for an honest review from the publisher. This book is scheduled for release by Avon on January 28, 2020.OverallI’ve read every historical romance Lynsay Sands has released, including all seven previous entries of the Highland Brides series. She’s an author who plays into specific tropes with an incredibly melodramatic style of writing. That’s not a criticism — as a soap opera lover, I love melodrama and there’s honestly not a lot of authors who Note: I received this book as an ARC in exchange for an honest review from the publisher. This book is scheduled for release by Avon on January 28, 2020.OverallI’ve read every historical romance Lynsay Sands has released, including all seven previous entries of the Highland Brides series. She’s an author who plays into specific tropes with an incredibly melodramatic style of writing. That’s not a criticism — as a soap opera lover, I love melodrama and there’s honestly not a lot of authors who can do it well. She’s one of them.When I first started reviewing the Highland Brides series, I hadn’t yet identified why exactly I go back to Lynsay Sands over and over again because I don’t read a lot of authors who write in this style. And it’s because her melodramas are incredibly entertaining, almost always satisfying, and comforting. She writes lusty heroes and heroines who have a lot of sexual chemistry are always in the middle of murder mysteries, and I always know exactly what I’m getting when I pick up a Lynsay Sands novel.The Buchanan brothers were introduced to us in The Highlander Takes a Bride when the sole sister of the rambunctious group, Saidh, gets married. There are seven brothers, and Hunting the Highlander is the fifth of their stories. Geordie is one of three unmarried Buchanan brothers who returns to the keep to find it filled with unmarried women looking for husbands to inherit their father’s land because they have no brother. This is a good opportunity for the Buchanans who have a lot of brothers but not a lot of titles.Geordie seeks solace and silence by sleeping in a tree in the orchard only to be woken up one of the potential brides fleeing tormenters. We meet Dwynn Innes, heiress to a holding by the sea in the Lowlands.  Dwynn is not a typical beauty, but she and Geordie hit it off immediately and there’s not a lot of conflict as to whether they’re going to end up together. They’re immediately attracted to one another, but someone seems to want to cause Dwynn harm.I really liked this book. I think that Geordie and Dwynn are probably my third favorite couple in the series (Ross and Annabel are always going to be number one). The attacks and attempted murder stuff is all fine and predictable. The most I can say in relation to that stuff is that it doesn’t drag the book down and it’s nicely paced. As always, both our leads get injured a lot which lets the other person confront their feelings. That’s a Sands trope I’m ready for.I think my only critique of this book is the focus on Dwynn’s breasts. Her sisters lower all of her necklines to an excruciating degree (there are lots of times when we’re told her nipples are basically showing) and I feel like that doesn’t match the fashions of the time period. It’s a weird central theme that repeats until literally the end of the book. Early on, Geordie even sees Dwynn and only recognizes her because he’s looked at her breasts more than her face. It’s a discordant note in an otherwise delightful book.SpoilersI mean, Dwynn has been kidnapped and beaten at the end of the book, and one of her rescuers literally takes the time to comment on her breasts. The focus on Dwynn’s breasts is TRULY distracting and something I’m just going to have to whistle past when I reread.I don’t have a lot of specifics to comment on because I liked this book. It’s not a deep read, to be honest. Nothing made me so mad I have rant for several paragraphs, but nothing also made me want to wax poetic about it.I will say this is a better love story than a lot of the others — it earns its place as my third favorite in the series. Dwynn and Geordie are honest with each other, they spend a lot of time talking to one another, and have a lot in common. It’s not just lust between them, which is more common. It’s genuine attraction that I can see deepening into long-lasting love as they go on in life. Geordie is genuinely delighted with who Dwynn is as a person, and it’s very sweet to read.I gave this 3.5 on my site, but rounded it up to 4 because the romance is better than 3 stars.
    more
  • Marilyn Rondeau
    January 1, 1970
    Of all the things I’ve learned since reviewing books and getting to know authors - most books by Lynsay Sands will have one chuckling throughout the read!In HUNTING FOR A HIGHLANDER, we have Lady Dwyn Innes who truly doesn’t want to be at Buchanan Keep, cajoled into vying for the attention of the last of the unmarried Buchanan brothers. Dwyn had been betrothed but her man had died before the marriage, so she had convinced herself that becoming a spinster would not be a bad life. After all, who Of all the things I’ve learned since reviewing books and getting to know authors - most books by Lynsay Sands will have one chuckling throughout the read!In HUNTING FOR A HIGHLANDER, we have Lady Dwyn Innes who truly doesn’t want to be at Buchanan Keep, cajoled into vying for the attention of the last of the unmarried Buchanan brothers. Dwyn had been betrothed but her man had died before the marriage, so she had convinced herself that becoming a spinster would not be a bad life. After all, who would want her – being plain, short, overly endowed in the chest area, and not slender or flirtatious like her sisters and the other lasses vying for attention. She would rather hide, which is exactly what she did when she climbed a tree in the orchard to get away from other lasses who had seemingly taken an intense dislike of her.Geordie Buchanan had arrived home only to find the keep swarming with potential brides, thanks to his loving family. Tired with no bed in sight he took himself off to the orchard to sleep under a tree. That morning he was awakened by the noise of someone calling out a name and snorting like a horse. It was then he noticed a lass with a lush figure climbing up a tree. Assuming she wouldn’t be able to get herself down, he climbed up after her! And the rest was simply Lynsay Sands at her best!With writing dialogues and descriptions Ms. Sands will have you visualizing and chuckling throughout this tome. Geordie couldn’t help but be entranced by Dwyn and her forthright manner as well as the gown she was wearing that her loving sisters had altered to show her best features! Dwyn thought herself plain but Geordie, once he saw her smile, heard her laugh, and listened to her down to earth speaking devoid of any flirtation, was totally charmed. Combine this with someone in the castle trying to kill or knock Dwyn out of the competition; plus a madman who wanted her for the land she would inherit, kept the pace of this book racing. All in all, you will find that this is one read you simply can’t put down until the very end! As usual, with most books by Lynsay Sands - HUNTING FOR A HIGHLANDER is a highly recommended read!
    more
  • MrsMascara
    January 1, 1970
    Geordie is one of the Buchanan sons, he’s just arrived back at the Buchanan keep, where his eldest brother Aulay is Laird and Clan Chief. He’s been helping the Macleod Clan and their new Laird, and he is surprised to find the keep heaving with people and he has bedded down in the orchard.He bumps into the Lady Dwyn, when she is escaping some of the other young women who have decided to pick on her because she is not a classic beauty, and because she is a curvy girl. She escapes into a tree, and Geordie is one of the Buchanan sons, he’s just arrived back at the Buchanan keep, where his eldest brother Aulay is Laird and Clan Chief. He’s been helping the Macleod Clan and their new Laird, and he is surprised to find the keep heaving with people and he has bedded down in the orchard.He bumps into the Lady Dwyn, when she is escaping some of the other young women who have decided to pick on her because she is not a classic beauty, and because she is a curvy girl. She escapes into a tree, and Geordie follows her up, and is immediately attracted to her significant assets! What Geordie doesn’t realise is that his sisters in law have been promoting matches between the remaining single Buchanan brothers, and the keep is overrun with prospective brides and their families. Everyone is keen to ally themselves with such a powerful clan.Dwyn’s father is keen to gain this alliance to protect the Innes clan from the Brodie clan who want to take them over. Dwyn has gone along with this, but she is convinced she is too plain and plump to be chosen.Gwyn’s young sisters are keep to help, and have altered all her gowns to show off her breasts, they exert an immediate fascination over Geordie, and very quickly he is falling for Dwyn, and defending her from the nasty taunts of some of the other prospective visitors. He also can’t keep his hands off her, and is increasingly enchanted by her plain speaking and kindness to others. However, when they are repeatedly attacked and injured by strangers, who is trying to hurt them, and why are they targeting Dwyn. Is it Brodie, trying to abduct and marry her to gain the Innes Clan lands, or is it someone else.Lyndsey sands has a very lighthearted humorous writing style, and the book is filled with Dwyn falling out of her dress like some something of medieval Barbara Windsor! There is also no sense that anyone minds this at all, and she and Geordie can’t keep their hands off each other. There is a lovely lighthearted cast of side characters for some comic relief to all the drama, and I thought this was a sweet and lovely read.I voluntarily reviewed an advance reader copy of this book and all opinions are my own.
    more
  • Kiala Singleton
    January 1, 1970
    I received an ARC from netgalley for a fair and honest review.This is the first book in the Highland Brides series and once I finished it took me awhile to make this review because I immediately went back and read the other Buchanan brothers stories after instantly falling in love with them all!Geordie is the 5th Buchanan brother and he is immediately intrigued by and attracted Dwyn when he spots her hiding in a tree. Within the first meeting the two can barely keep their hands off of each I received an ARC from netgalley for a fair and honest review.This is the first book in the Highland Brides series and once I finished it took me awhile to make this review because I immediately went back and read the other Buchanan brothers stories after instantly falling in love with them all!Geordie is the 5th Buchanan brother and he is immediately intrigued by and attracted Dwyn when he spots her hiding in a tree. Within the first meeting the two can barely keep their hands off of each other. What follows is a sweet and funny story of two people falling in love with large amounts of loving, but interfering family members.I instantly liked Dwyn. She had such an open and accepting aura that made it easy to see why Geordie instantly fell for her.Wardrobe malfunctions and 'accidents' plague Dwyn that ultimately draws her and Geordie closer together. Figuring out who is trying to hurt Dwyn and why isn't as obvious at it first appears and I enjoyed reading how the story played out. The only issue that I had with the book was that when talking about his nieces and nephews, Geordie said that Saidh had two sets of twins, a set of girls and a set of boys. But reading previous books, it's been mentioned numerous times that she had triplet girls and then was expecting again in the book before this. Maybe that was just a mix-up on the author's part. (view spoiler)[I'm interested in seeing after she is done with the last two Buchanans if she will have a story for Dwyn's younger sister Una and MacGregor, who I believe was introduced in this story (hide spoiler)]Lynsay Sands does a remarkable job that many other author often fail at. She was able to include an extremely large amount of characters that a first time reader like myself was able to keep straight and understand who they are and not get confused. I was easily able to remember all of the brothers and their spouses and their friends from previous book in the series as well. I am enjoying the Buchanan family so much that waiting for the last two books is going to be torture and I will be sad not to see them go once Rory and Alick get their own stories.
    more
  • Sandy Kelly
    January 1, 1970
    This is book 8 in the Highland Brides series and while it can be read as a stand alone, I recommend reading the other books so that you can see all the different relationships between the other characters. In this one we get Geordie Buchanan's story. Geordie returns home to find his home swarming with eligible women looking for a husband. All thanks to his family, who thinks he and the rest of his eligible brothers need wives. Lady Dwyn Innes feels out of place with the other ladies that have This is book 8 in the Highland Brides series and while it can be read as a stand alone, I recommend reading the other books so that you can see all the different relationships between the other characters. In this one we get Geordie Buchanan's story. Geordie returns home to find his home swarming with eligible women looking for a husband. All thanks to his family, who thinks he and the rest of his eligible brothers need wives. Lady Dwyn Innes feels out of place with the other ladies that have come looking for a husband. She isn't slender or flirtatious like the others. And since her betrothed died, she has come to terms with being an old maid. But when she meets a man in the orchard, she thinks that maybe she has met someone different. And Geordie has been drawn to Dwyn from the minute he met her. Now he just has to keep her safe in order to keep her.As usual, I thoroughly enjoyed this book! Dwyn is this down to earth woman who isn't afraid to be the person she truly is. She knows who she believes she is, and she is honest to the point of being blunt sometimes, and I loved that about her. Geordie is also down to earth but he is also this big, alpha man who will do anything for someone he cares about. He will also do what he believes is the right thing to do. Sometimes to his own detriment. But you can't help but love that about him. And these two together are perfect for each other. As usual, you can expect laughter and fun on top of a great read just because of the author who wrote it! This author never fails to suck me in and keep me wanting to read more!
    more
  • Didi
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 StarsHere’s the thing: the men in this period rarely listened to the women - and it’s no different this time around! Should a certain Buchanan do, someone might be spared their life!!! This pointless fatality enraged me no end... The above ill habit aside, I Geordie and Dwyn’s courtship is a shenanigans to follow from start to finish. The over-the-topness is tolerable - a touch asinine - but, yeaaah... tolerable (I’m referring to the “good intention” to display Dwyn’s best feature by making 3.5 StarsHere’s the thing: the men in this period rarely listened to the women - and it’s no different this time around! Should a certain Buchanan do, someone might be spared their life!!! This pointless fatality enraged me no end... 😞The above ill habit aside, I Geordie and Dwyn’s courtship is a shenanigans to follow from start to finish. The over-the-topness is tolerable - a touch asinine - but, yeaaah... tolerable (I’m referring to the “good intention” to display Dwyn’s best feature by making her wear (more) revealing dress as to attract Geordie or his bachelor brothers’s attention). But I loved the heroine’s independent streak and strong characters and the hero’s astuteness on the circumstances when he stumbled upon them. That Geordie and Dwyn would eventually be together was - of course - expected. The path to go about it, riddled with spiteful and malicious snake and black hat, was what heightened the buzz. All in all I enjoyed HUNTING FOR A HIGHLANDER more than the previous book. Dwyn might be described as plain-featured though well-rounded, but she was sharp-witted and no milksop; and man I applauded Geordie for his chosen one. This was the kind of balanced relationship I respected. And then we’re left with the two last single Buchanan brothers, can’t wait for their stories to come soon. Copy of this book is kindly given by the author/publisher via Edelweiss+ in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Niki
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars rounded upLady Dwyn Innes knows she doesn't fit in among the array of beautiful women crowding the Buchanan keep in hopes of marrying one of the remaining single brothers. Since the death of her original betrothed, Dwyn has resigned herself to being a spinster and caring for her father. But a meeting with a stranger in the orchard where she's hiding from the taunting women gives her a taste of passion.Geordie Buchanan is dismayed to return after weeks away and find his home overrun 4.5 stars rounded upLady Dwyn Innes knows she doesn't fit in among the array of beautiful women crowding the Buchanan keep in hopes of marrying one of the remaining single brothers. Since the death of her original betrothed, Dwyn has resigned herself to being a spinster and caring for her father. But a meeting with a stranger in the orchard where she's hiding from the taunting women gives her a taste of passion.Geordie Buchanan is dismayed to return after weeks away and find his home overrun with women. He believes himself not ready for marriage but when he encounters a lady climbing a tree, he's delighted by her passion, honesty, and sweet personality. He decides he must marry her, but first they must defeat a mystery enemy who continues to threaten their future.This book was pretty hilarious and farcical in places. These two came together very quickly, but there was a lot working against them; just when things would calm down a bit for them, something else would happen to derail them. I thought this would wind up getting on my nerves, but really it just held my attention, brought them closer, and kept me rooting for them. This one is full of big, strong highlanders and heartfelt familial moments and I'm looking forward to further installments in this series.I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
    more
  • Jenn
    January 1, 1970
    I received a digital ARC from Edelweiss of this title for an honest review.The Buchanan females have decided that since they've all found love, it's time for the remaining three brothers to find some wedded bliss of their own. So, they invite eligible women to join them at their estate and try to capture those brothers' eye. Enter Lady Dwyn Innes. Dwyn feels like she doesn't belong with her plain looks and larger frame. And a few of the other eligible women do nothing to dispell that feeling as I received a digital ARC from Edelweiss of this title for an honest review.The Buchanan females have decided that since they've all found love, it's time for the remaining three brothers to find some wedded bliss of their own. So, they invite eligible women to join them at their estate and try to capture those brothers' eye. Enter Lady Dwyn Innes. Dwyn feels like she doesn't belong with her plain looks and larger frame. And a few of the other eligible women do nothing to dispell that feeling as they torture her endlessly. So when things heat up with Geordie Buchanan, Dwyn thinks it's just a dalliance and is happy with it but doesn't expect much more. But Geordie? He's smitten. Number right in Sands' Highland Brides series brings all the heat and intrigue of the previous seven in the same stunning Highland locale. Fans of Sands' previous books will not be disappointed.However, I personally am getting a bit tired of the formula. At least we didn't have the overly complicated description of how to search a castle in this one. But Sands' writing is still plagued by being overly descriptive of mundane things. But the formula remains the same. The Buchanans are incapable of wedding a woman free from peril. Still, this one was entertaining and I did enjoy it. Just not as much as I could have.
    more
  • Arriesta
    January 1, 1970
    Book Review- Hunting For A Highlander – Lynsay SandsWell, well well… I have to say I have read several Lynsay Sands, historical romance genre novels and while they have been perfectly fine, I REALLY enjoy The Buchanan family! I am absolutely addicted and now searching for all the previous novels within The Highlander Bride series. I can’t believe I am only finding out about this series, 8 books in….Dwyn Innes is the female lead, an oldest sister, hanging out at The Buchanan castle, brought by Book Review- Hunting For A Highlander – Lynsay SandsWell, well well… I have to say I have read several Lynsay Sands, historical romance genre novels and while they have been perfectly fine, I REALLY enjoy The Buchanan family! I am absolutely addicted and now searching for all the previous novels within The Highlander Bride series. I can’t believe I am only finding out about this series, 8 books in….Dwyn Innes is the female lead, an oldest sister, hanging out at The Buchanan castle, brought by her father and sisters to look for a husband with the remaining Buchanan brothers. She is not the conventional beauty but after meeting Geordie Buchanan, its obvious they are perfect for each other. Only problem is that after several malicious accidents, its certain that someone has it out for Dwyn. This book was super cute, I loved all the secondary characters that are obviously from other novels but it wasn’t necessary to read the previous stories the understand the relationships. Awww Geordie, he is so sweet. And Rory, omg I want your story so badly now. Uma would also make a great character to write about in the future. I really enjoyed this story and look forward to the upcoming novels about the Buchanan family.
    more
  • Rebecca Lyman
    January 1, 1970
    I was provided a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest and fair review.I have read others in the series and always enjoy reading Lynsay Sands and was glad to have the opportunity to read her upcoming release. This was a pretty good book, I enjoyed it. I struggled a little because I never was able to read it during a time when I could really concentrate on it, I was reading it in spurts here and there so it was a little harder to get into the plot line. Overall though the plot line was I was provided a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest and fair review.I have read others in the series and always enjoy reading Lynsay Sands and was glad to have the opportunity to read her upcoming release. This was a pretty good book, I enjoyed it. I struggled a little because I never was able to read it during a time when I could really concentrate on it, I was reading it in spurts here and there so it was a little harder to get into the plot line. Overall though the plot line was good. There were some good plot twists, most were predictable but they were good just the same. And I loved how honest the conversation was amongst the main characters, especially Geordie and Dwyn. Their frank conversation was refreshing while also being pretty hilarious at times. Some of the characters seemed a little ridiculous, only because they seemed to be overly exaggerated - some to the point of being caricature-like. And there was a lot of mention of other characters who seemed to have had their own books. Most of those characters I didn't know since I didn't read their books but that didn't take any enjoyment out of the book for me. Overall I thought it was a really enjoyable, entertaining, and exciting read. I'd definitely recommend it!
    more
  • Wendy
    January 1, 1970
    What's not to love about the Buchanan brothers? They are a tight knit and I'm very happy to see Geordie getting his bride in this part. After his brothers got happily married or betrothed, his sisters in law decided to invite all eligible ladies for the remaining Buchanan brothers to find a wife. So when Geordie comes home, he is shocked to find their castle swarmed with ladies. One of them, the funny and courageous lady Dwyn doesn't feel at ease at the castle. She is not pretty like the other What's not to love about the Buchanan brothers? They are a tight knit and I'm very happy to see Geordie getting his bride in this part. After his brothers got happily married or betrothed, his sisters in law decided to invite all eligible ladies for the remaining Buchanan brothers to find a wife. So when Geordie comes home, he is shocked to find their castle swarmed with ladies. One of them, the funny and courageous lady Dwyn doesn't feel at ease at the castle. She is not pretty like the other ladies, or her stepsisters. So, when she sneaks outside to enjoy the quiet in a tree, she is surprised to encounter a friendly stranger, with whom she spends a wonderful afternoon. Geordie really doesn't want to get married. All those women vying for his attention are bloody irritating. Not like the nice girl he met at a tree outside in the garden. But when all kind of accidents start happening with Dwyn, Geordie realizes that maybe marrying me be not that bad, when it will be with her. But then he will have to keep her safe against an invisible enemy. Can he keep her safe and capture her heart? Five out of five stars from me and a special thank you to Edelweiss for providing the arc.
    more
  • Melissa
    January 1, 1970
    This series is RIDICULOUS but I can't quite Lynsay. Doesn't matter how nuts. I'll read all her Scottish historicals forever, doesn't matter. I did like Dwyn a lot though - she has a really nice meditation on how even the nicest or well-intentioned comments or suggestions about "how to help her catch a guy" just made her feel small and not important but Geordie makes her feel special and wanted for who she is, not what everyone tried to make her to be. Which <3<3<3 woooo boy, thought, This series is RIDICULOUS but I can't quite Lynsay. Doesn't matter how nuts. I'll read all her Scottish historicals forever, doesn't matter. I did like Dwyn a lot though - she has a really nice meditation on how even the nicest or well-intentioned comments or suggestions about "how to help her catch a guy" just made her feel small and not important but Geordie makes her feel special and wanted for who she is, not what everyone tried to make her to be. Which <3<3<3 woooo boy, thought, content warnings for this installment in the series include descriptions of attempted rape, threatened gang rape (the bad guy in this one is something else), domestic violence, brief mention of suicide, and a real surprising instance of homophobia which just felt out of place (even if you wanted to argue the attitude is somewhat historically accurate those 3-4 lines just didn't fit in that scene at all and could have been cut)
    more
  • Charlotte Pawson
    January 1, 1970
    Lady Dwyn is a very modern women for her time. She is not going to marry because she has been seen in a compromising position with Geordie Buchanan. She has come to the Buchanan keep in the Highlands with her family believing herself not pretty enough to catch one of the brothers, her only claim to fame her hair down to her knees and her rather large breasts. Her Innes lands in the lowlands are under threat from the Laird Brodie who has tried to attack her before. The attraction between Geordie Lady Dwyn is a very modern women for her time. She is not going to marry because she has been seen in a compromising position with Geordie Buchanan. She has come to the Buchanan keep in the Highlands with her family believing herself not pretty enough to catch one of the brothers, her only claim to fame her hair down to her knees and her rather large breasts. Her Innes lands in the lowlands are under threat from the Laird Brodie who has tried to attack her before. The attraction between Geordie and Dwyn is too strong and the humour comes from all the men’s reactions to Dwyn’s rather large breasts on display. The latter half of the story brings in the good mystery of who at the keep wishes Dwyn harm. There is good connection between the characters and you believe the romance between our main couple. There is good pace to the book and it left you wanting more of the Buchanan life.I was given an ARC by Edelweiss and the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Eskimo Princess Jenkins
    January 1, 1970
    Couldn't put it down!!I got so wrapped up in reading this I would forget to do other things.So many interesting things going on, and the way this author writes just draws you into her stories. I love this series.All the brothers are great, and I have not yet picked a favorite. This time around, Geordie thought when he chose his intended that there would be no threats, but he was wrong.And like the characters in the story, I didn't figure out the villain until way later.Dwyn's sisters really Couldn't put it down!!I got so wrapped up in reading this I would forget to do other things.So many interesting things going on, and the way this author writes just draws you into her stories. I love this series.All the brothers are great, and I have not yet picked a favorite. This time around, Geordie thought when he chose his intended that there would be no threats, but he was wrong.And like the characters in the story, I didn't figure out the villain until way later.Dwyn's sisters really tired to help her, but what they did was embarrass her with how they altered all her gowns. Geordie and Dwyn mesh well together and are a perfect fit. *I received my copy fro edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Whitney
    January 1, 1970
    I have been provided with a review copy of Hunting for a Highlander through Edelweiss for an impartial review. This is the eighth book in the Highland Brides series and each book can be read as a standalone title. Ahhhhh this book was just so good. I just loved getting to reenter this wonderful world and its characters. This book features Geordie Buchanan and a new character Lady Dwyn Innes. I just had so much fun getting to see their journey and see what kind of trouble they get themselves I have been provided with a review copy of Hunting for a Highlander through Edelweiss for an impartial review. This is the eighth book in the Highland Brides series and each book can be read as a standalone title. Ahhhhh this book was just so good. I just loved getting to reenter this wonderful world and its characters. This book features Geordie Buchanan and a new character Lady Dwyn Innes. I just had so much fun getting to see their journey and see what kind of trouble they get themselves into. I just had a really great time reading this story and I just didn’t want it to end. I can’t wait to see what Buchanan brother is next.
    more
  • Sharon
    January 1, 1970
    Dwyn Innes does not belong amongst the beautiful and marriage obsessed noblewomen hunting for a husband at Buchanan Keep, yet here she is. Desperate to take herself out of the unofficial marriage competition, she slips away to the property's orchard- which is where she meet-cutes the reluctantly eligible Geordie Buchanan, and things just get sweeter- and sexier- from there.Another delightful and spicy romance from an always entertaining series, I'm looking forward to the romantic demise of the Dwyn Innes does not belong amongst the beautiful and marriage obsessed noblewomen hunting for a husband at Buchanan Keep, yet here she is. Desperate to take herself out of the unofficial marriage competition, she slips away to the property's orchard- which is where she meet-cutes the reluctantly eligible Geordie Buchanan, and things just get sweeter- and sexier- from there.Another delightful and spicy romance from an always entertaining series, I'm looking forward to the romantic demise of the last Buchanan bachelors.This ARC was obtained through Edelweiss, with thanks to Avon/Harper Collins.
    more
  • Jennifer Becker
    January 1, 1970
    omg i loved this book. i didn't want to put it down. i love these characters especially Dwyn. Her open honesty about everything (especially her chest) was an endearing quality. I love the husband hunting idea. Geordie has some crazy appetite for Dwyn that would make most men jealous and he's not afraid to admit he loves Dwyn's low cut dresses. I could almost feel bad for the bad guy but not really. i mean he's a bad guy. all in all i loved it.
    more
  • Michele
    January 1, 1970
    See the full review at HarlequinJunkieHunting for a Highlander was a chuckle-inducing, absolutely charming addition to Lynsay Sands’ Highland Brides series. Fan-favorite Geordie finally had his turn at finding a forever love. And what a journey it was for all involved!I simply adore Lynsay Sands’ highlander stories and always seem to get such a kick out of the imaginative situations she puts her characters into. And poor Geordie and Dwyn were truly put through the wringer here. I enjoyed the See the full review at HarlequinJunkieHunting for a Highlander was a chuckle-inducing, absolutely charming addition to Lynsay Sands’ Highland Brides series. Fan-favorite Geordie finally had his turn at finding a forever love. And what a journey it was for all involved!I simply adore Lynsay Sands’ highlander stories and always seem to get such a kick out of the imaginative situations she puts her characters into. And poor Geordie and Dwyn were truly put through the wringer here. I enjoyed the overall storyline quite a bit, with some exciting intrigue as the duo came under threat…well, mostly Dwyn, and the antics while all the ladies were vying for the bachelor Buchanans’ attention... Read More
    more
  • Bonnie
    January 1, 1970
    I really enjoyed this book. I must say that Dwyn is a little unusual with her climbing trees and all but she is a sweetheart and that's how she met one of the Buchanan brothers (Geordie). The story revolves around the courting and the jealous maid and an enemy who wishes their marriage to n ot take place. Serious "accidents" happen along with attempted murder. It really is a great book and I know you will enjoy it!
    more
  • Cecilia
    January 1, 1970
    DNF/ I read the first two pages and couldn't stand it. It starts off with the MMC opening his eyes with a start...or close to it...IMO its horrible writing. Maybe it got better, but I wasn't willing to read anymore.
Write a review