Ink in the Blood (Ink in The Blood, #1)
A lush, dark YA fantasy debut that weaves together tattoo magic, faith, and eccentric theater in a world where lies are currency and ink is a weapon, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Kendare Blake.Celia Sand and her best friend, Anya Burtoni, are inklings for the esteemed religion of Profeta. Using magic, they tattoo followers with beautiful images that represent the Divine’s will and guide the actions of the recipients. It’s considered a noble calling, but ten years into their servitude Celia and Anya know the truth: Profeta is built on lies, the tattooed orders strip away freedom, and the revered temple is actually a brutal, torturous prison.Their opportunity to escape arrives with the Rabble Mob, a traveling theater troupe. Using their inkling abilities for performance instead of propaganda, Celia and Anya are content for the first time . . . until they realize who followed them. The Divine they never believed in is very real, very angry, and determined to use Celia, Anya, and the Rabble Mob’s now-infamous stage to spread her deceitful influence even further.To protect their new family from the wrath of a malicious deity and the zealots who work in her name, Celia and Anya must unmask the biggest lie of all—Profeta itself.

Ink in the Blood (Ink in The Blood, #1) Details

TitleInk in the Blood (Ink in The Blood, #1)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseFeb 11th, 2020
PublisherHMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-139781328557056
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult, Young Adult Fantasy

Ink in the Blood (Ink in The Blood, #1) Review

  • rachel
    January 1, 1970
    sorry, did you say queer fantasy with tattoo magic??
  • Rosiee
    January 1, 1970
    I read an early version of INK IN THE BLOOD and it was one of the most intense, atmospheric, magical reading experiences of my life! This book will not only make you FEEL THINGS, but make you feel like you are /there/. It's been over a year and tbh I'm still recovering...
    more
  • Rebecca Schaeffer
    January 1, 1970
    I was lucky enough to read an early version of this book and it was truly excellent. It's deliciously atmospheric and full of manipulative gods, clever girls, and dark carnivals. It's everything I ever wanted it to be, and I'm so excited for it to come out!
    more
  • Horse
    January 1, 1970
    HELLO I read an early draft of this book and it's COOL AS HECK. If you guys like whimsical worlds with a theater-aesthetic and evil goddesses, PICK THIS UP. It's so neat and unlike anything I've ever read.
  • Lyndall
    January 1, 1970
    I was lucky to read an early version of this, and it is amazing. Possibly one of the most original and unique stories I've ever read. Themes of faith and morality and rebellion all so cleverly woven together in such a complex, intricate world with a magical atmosphere. Theatre aesthetic! Brave girls who try to outwit a devious trickster goddess! The most heart-wrenching ride or die friendship! And an ending that will wreck you in the best possible way.
    more
  • Leah
    January 1, 1970
    Possible cult + vengeful god = WANT AND NEED IN MY LIFE.
  • Marochka
    January 1, 1970
    It's not my cup of tea
  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    January 1, 1970
    Huh...this sounds interesting, could go great or could go terrible lol
  • Jessika Fleck
    January 1, 1970
    I was incredibly fortunate for the opportunity to read an early edition of this book and OH. MY. AMAZING. Kim Smejkal has masterfully created complex, multi-layered characters, a hauntingly lovely setting, and a new and unique type of magic. Her writing is mesmerizing--the kind that completely pulls you out of reality and keeps you turning the page. INK IN THE BLOOD is light and dark, love and lust, life and death--all set within a Venician-esque backdrop where the shimmery veil of theater and i I was incredibly fortunate for the opportunity to read an early edition of this book and OH. MY. AMAZING. Kim Smejkal has masterfully created complex, multi-layered characters, a hauntingly lovely setting, and a new and unique type of magic. Her writing is mesmerizing--the kind that completely pulls you out of reality and keeps you turning the page. INK IN THE BLOOD is light and dark, love and lust, life and death--all set within a Venician-esque backdrop where the shimmery veil of theater and illusion battles the iron fist of religion and law and you never quite know who's playing the tricks on who. Basically, this book is pure magic. It *will not* disappoint. I can't wait until book 2!
    more
  • Idle Misdaventures
    January 1, 1970
    Excerpt from full review that can be found on: www.idlestuff.xyz on May 12, 2019 ❤Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed the book. I loved every character and was gutted with every loss. Every twist had my breath hitching, and the story was written incredibly well. The world of Propheta was extremely charming and reading it made me feel like I was a part of the Rabble Mob myself. I highly recommend it for lovers of Caraval, Wicked Saints, Shadow and Bone and Dark Fantasy books. Excerpt from full review that can be found on: www.idlestuff.xyz on May 12, 2019 ❤️Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed the book. I loved every character and was gutted with every loss. Every twist had my breath hitching, and the story was written incredibly well. The world of Propheta was extremely charming and reading it made me feel like I was a part of the Rabble Mob myself. I highly recommend it for lovers of Caraval, Wicked Saints, Shadow and Bone and Dark Fantasy books.
    more
  • lady victoriana
    January 1, 1970
    i will read pretty much anything about gods but also THIS COVER IS STUNNING
  • fEeT
    January 1, 1970
    Gods + pretty cover + TATTOO MAGIC = THE ULTIMATE BOOK
  • Kim Smejkal
    January 1, 1970
Write a review