The Fast 800
Six years ago, Dr Michael Mosley started a health revolution with the 5:2 Fast Diet, telling the world about the incredible power of intermittent fasting. In this book he brings together all the latest science - including  a new approach: Time Restricted Eating - to create an easy-to-follow programme.Recent studies have shown that 800 calories is the magic number when it comes to successful dieting - it’s an amount high enough to be manageable but low enough to speed weight loss and trigger a range of desirable metabolic changes.The secret of this new programme is that it is highly flexible - depending on your goals, you can choose how intensively you want to do it.Along with delicious, low-carb, Mediterranean-style recipes and menu plans by Dr Clare Bailey, The Fast 800 offers an effective way to help you lose weight, improve mood and reduce blood pressure, inflammation and blood sugars. Take your future health into your own hands.

The Fast 800 Details

TitleThe Fast 800
Author
ReleaseDec 27th, 2018
PublisherShort Books
Rating
GenreNonfiction, Health, Self Help

The Fast 800 Review

  • Deborah
    January 1, 1970
    The 5:2 or in my case the 4:3 diet has worked really well over the last couple of years. It’s the only diet I’ve found that allows me to lose weight but still have a social life.While the 500 days are hard the results make it worth it. It’s a shame I don’t do it all the time. Life gets in the way usually in the form of holidays and then I’m gone. It’s then a case of getting back on track which gets pushed back. You know how it is.I was intrigued when I noticed this book. Mainly because 800 The 5:2 or in my case the 4:3 diet has worked really well over the last couple of years. It’s the only diet I’ve found that allows me to lose weight but still have a social life.While the 500 days are hard the results make it worth it. It’s a shame I don’t do it all the time. Life gets in the way usually in the form of holidays and then I’m gone. It’s then a case of getting back on track which gets pushed back. You know how it is.I was intrigued when I noticed this book. Mainly because 800 calories sounds a whole lot better than 500.This book is well written, clear and simple to read. Examples and data are given to back everything up.This book really is the best of all worlds.It explains the advantages of following an 800 calorie diet. How you can fit it into a 5:2 if that works better for you. It also covers the TRE (time restricted eating).This was the right book at the right time for me. I’m now following an 800 calorie 2:5 or 3:4 diet (depending on what’s happening certain weeks). I’m also using the 14:10 or 16:8 (all calories are consumed with a 10 or 8 hour period) TRE.This book was fabulous. There’s a recipe section at the back.I’m vegetarian and while it’s not that I don’t eat eggs I’m not a huge fan of them. So with the exception of the mango smoothie the breakfast recipes didn’t work for me (I don’t like porridge either).But due to the TRE I’ll be skipping breakfast anyway so it’s not a big issue.Hummus and Tapenade along with Halloumi with Purple Slaw are light meals I’ll try.The other recipes that look interesting for me are:Quick ’n’ Easy Pea and Spinach SoupRoot Vegetables and Turmeric SoupMint Avocado and Chickpea SaladPasta and Pesto Salad JarVegan Rogan JoshIt’s the 24th June 2019 and I’m starting my first 800 day. I’ll update my review with my progress before the book is released.Fingers crossed.#### UPDATE ####13th July 2019It’s only been three weeks I know but I’m loving this diet. It’s working incredibly well for me. Initially I struggled with the 800 calories. In fact the first weekend I had to up it to 1000. I was drained and felt dreadful and was barely functioning.Now I’ve found my grove. I have two or three days off a week depending on social events. I never cheat, I’m not even tempted to cheat I feel so much better. I’m eating well, really well because have to make the calories count.The main thing I’ve noticed is I’m sleeping better than ever before. I’ve never been a great sleeper but now I’m out for the count on every 800 day. I voluntarily read a review copy kindly provided by NetGalley.
    more
  • The Cats’ Mother
    January 1, 1970
    I first became aware of Intermittent Fasting or the 5:2 diet a few years ago when a few friends were enthusiastically describing the benefits of it. I tried it without doing any reading, and barely managed the first day because I was just too hungry. Inspired to try again by someone who is roughly my height & size and had lost 5kg fairly quickly, I gave it a go, and quickly worked out for myself the major new modification in Mosley’s plan - that 500 is too few calories for most people but I first became aware of Intermittent Fasting or the 5:2 diet a few years ago when a few friends were enthusiastically describing the benefits of it. I tried it without doing any reading, and barely managed the first day because I was just too hungry. Inspired to try again by someone who is roughly my height & size and had lost 5kg fairly quickly, I gave it a go, and quickly worked out for myself the major new modification in Mosley’s plan - that 500 is too few calories for most people but 800 is much more manageable. Over a year I lost 12kg, taking me from a BMI of just over 25 to the weight I was in my early 20s, a happy UK size 12, which I had not enjoyed since the Atkins diet 15 years earlier.Unfortunately, like all diets, when you stop them, weight returns, and a combination of events, including two frozen shoulders, led me to regain more than half my lost kg over a year, and lose the motivation to tolerate hunger. I am still doing a modified 5:2 but cheating much more often than I should. When I saw a copy of The Fast 800 Diet for request on NetGalley, this seemed a good opportunity to try again by doing it properly. I’m interested in the science behind it and reassured that Mosley is a qualified medical doctor, albeit non-practising since he has spent most of his career in journalism/broadcasting.The Fast 800 is written in a clear engaging style with a mix of personal anecdotes and opinions, reviews of relevant research and suggestions on how to combat common pitfalls. The principal ideas from the 2012 original - The Fast Diet - have not changed, and he begins by explaining the theories around how fasting affects the body’s metabolism, in particular with regard to insulin and it’s effects on appetite and fat storage. Mosley’s own story includes the diagnosis of type 2 diabetes which kicked off his interest in the first place, and how his almost evangelical enthusiasm for the benefits of his discoveries was triggered by the remission of his diabetes. His gleeful confessions about his own chocolate addiction help make him more relatable than your typical preachy celebrity nutritionist. A second book, The 8-week Blood Sugar Diet, was aimed specifically at patients with diabetes.In the intervening years, large population studies have been done which support his theories, and this is what led him to update the plan and publish the new book. The key change, as mentioned, is that the magic number is now 800 calories, which is both safer and more manageable for most people. The new principle is Time Restricted Eating, (TRE), which means limiting food in take to only part of the day - he proposes 16 hours initially - so not eating after 8pm and before 8am, then reducing that interval to 12 or even 10 hours, which is not as difficult as it sounds. He’s a big fan of the Mediterranean diet, which makes sense as there is good evidence that consuming mostly plants, protein (including meat, oily fish and pulses) and lashings of olive oil is the key to heart health and longevity.The first chapter explains the reasons behind the modern obesity and secondary diabetes epidemics, and stresses that obesity is not the patient’s fault because the combination of genes and environment make it almost inevitable. Mosley has a way of revealing facts that seem completely obvious but that had never occurred to me before - for example that we think we’re addicted to sugar, but that no one tucks into a bowl of pure sugar; it’s actually the combination of carbohydrate and fat in a 2 to 1 ratio that makes our favourite foods so compelling.Subsequent chapters focus on the medical benefits of fasting and TRE, and then of rapid initial weight loss - which counters the long-established theory that slow and steady is the way to go - because of the psychological boost that rapid and noticeable change brings. He then explains the Med Diet in detail, and goes on to extol the virtues of exercise in complementing his plan, and advice on the role of stress in poor eating and how to combat it. The remaining chapters deal with the practical aspects of how to begin, who should be excluded, and common Q&As and pitfalls, while the second half is all sample recipes and suggested meal plans. This part is where the average wannabe dieter’s interest may wane: no matter how delicious salmon, kale and leafy greens are, the list of foods to be avoided - realistically forever if you want to keep the weight off - is daunting. I can live without cakes and biscuits but avoiding rice and bread is miserably hard.I read this as an ebook and so had the usual surprise when you get to 80% and discover the rest is all just references, so the book is shorter and therefore more readable than expected.My main criticisms is that considering that the author is British, all units are imperial - presumably for the American market - I can’t think in lbs and have no idea what a quart is.He also promotes meal-replacement shakes and refers to his website for brand suggestions - but in fact the site only promotes their own brand which seem quite expensive. I would rather be able to easily buy small quantities from a supermarket or service station when needed, to be able to try out flavours than order a months worth of shakes which might be revolting. One of the major difficulties of a diet like this is finding suitable foods on the go - since consuming large amounts of fruit is not recommended, nuts are really only a snack and most snack bars are full of sugar.Overall I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a new way to lose weight - I do intend to start over once I get home from my current travels, as I have lots of lovely new clothes bought to celebrate my previous new shape that are now uncomfortably tight, and this has given me plenty of new ideas on how to do it properly - and the reassurance that when you get it right, those ravenous hunger pangs will settle quite quickly. My thanks to NetGalley for the arc in exchange for an honest review. The Fast 800 Diet is published on 24th December - timely for all those New Year resolutions?
    more
  • Bev
    January 1, 1970
    I saw the BBC documentary a while back and was fascinated by the theory and successes of the 5:2 diet so had to have a read of the updated Fast800 Diet.The in depth explanations and the science behind intermittent fasting along with the health benefits definitely gave me food for thought (pardon the pun, ha!). If I'm honest, I feel I got more out of the first half of the book, though for those starting out with dieting the recipes and exercise advice would prove useful.Arc provided by Netgalley I saw the BBC documentary a while back and was fascinated by the theory and successes of the 5:2 diet so had to have a read of the updated Fast800 Diet.The in depth explanations and the science behind intermittent fasting along with the health benefits definitely gave me food for thought (pardon the pun, ha!). If I'm honest, I feel I got more out of the first half of the book, though for those starting out with dieting the recipes and exercise advice would prove useful.Arc provided by Netgalley for review
    more
  • Cheryl
    January 1, 1970
    This book is in every bookstore window here in Melbourne. I saw Mosley interviewed on a local TV show and thought he had some really good ideas. This books seems to be some re-hashing of things I've read elsewhere. Nevertheless, I'm trying the regimen and will report back.
    more
  • Belinda
    January 1, 1970
    I love a good Michael Moseley book. Well researched, simple to understand and backed up by science there are so many gems in this book.
  • Daniela
    January 1, 1970
    I liked the fact it was all updated but when you re read 5:2 from 2012 you see just how much the advice has changed which is a bit disconcerting- how do we ever know we are following the best advice? So 2012 was all ‘just fast for 2 days and eat whatever you want for the other 5’ (which never worked for me) and ‘low calorie does not work for people and science has proved people put it all back on in the long term ‘and now it’s all ‘very low calorie is the way to go as the quick results inspire I liked the fact it was all updated but when you re read 5:2 from 2012 you see just how much the advice has changed which is a bit disconcerting- how do we ever know we are following the best advice? So 2012 was all ‘just fast for 2 days and eat whatever you want for the other 5’ (which never worked for me) and ‘low calorie does not work for people and science has proved people put it all back on in the long term ‘and now it’s all ‘very low calorie is the way to go as the quick results inspire you’ and people do keep the weight off.All very odd.However, there is some consistent advice in here which is always going to be good (keep a break between food, extend time between dinner and breakfast, eat for your gut). Recipes are also great.It just feels like it was written in a hurry. And you are regularly advised to go on the new website but you see that it costs £99 to sign up which just seems excessive.
    more
  • Marina
    January 1, 1970
    Clearly and convincingly sets out the scientific research which (assuming it’s true) can help you maximise your health – Time Restricted Eating, Intermittent Fasting and HIIT. I don’t think it works so well as a ‘diet book’ – the recipes and menus are too limited – but that’s not why I read it anyway.Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for this ARC.
    more
  • Ericka Clouther
    January 1, 1970
    In 2015, I did 5:2 and lost about 15 pounds. I stopped doing the diet and gained back the weight in two years. I lost the weight at the same slow rate as I have on any other diet (WW, Atkins, arbitrary calorie limitation). Back then, time-restricted eating wasn't a big thing but I quickly realized that if I was going to limit to 500 calories I had to put off eating as long as possible. Since I've gained the weight back and read tons of diet and nutrition books, I've come to the conclusion that In 2015, I did 5:2 and lost about 15 pounds. I stopped doing the diet and gained back the weight in two years. I lost the weight at the same slow rate as I have on any other diet (WW, Atkins, arbitrary calorie limitation). Back then, time-restricted eating wasn't a big thing but I quickly realized that if I was going to limit to 500 calories I had to put off eating as long as possible. Since I've gained the weight back and read tons of diet and nutrition books, I've come to the conclusion that all diets work, the only really hard part is maintenance. I actually think this is a diet I could stay on forever this time because it only requires Mediterranean-style eating once you reach goal weight and if you don't stop weighing yourself, you can correct small weight gains very quickly.I like this diet because 1) based on all my reading, it is the most scientifically up-to-date, 2) it's free to implement it, 3) I find it very empowering to be able to skip breakfast and do very low-calorie days but also to be able to easily take days off, 4) I think I might be able to maintain this new form. I advise you to take every single thing he says very seriously though. I even have a friend-support group this time.
    more
  • Carol - Reading Writing and Riesling
    January 1, 1970
    Motivating!My View:Dr Michael Mosley delivers another powerful and informative, motivating read, that introduces us to recent science based theories on managing your health that he has personally explored. I like his personable approach, his willingness to put his body on the line in the name of medical research is commendable.As always, the writing here is accessible, the data/evidence presented in clear and concise ways that make choosing good health a realistic outcome. TRE (Time Restricted Motivating!My View:Dr Michael Mosley delivers another powerful and informative, motivating read, that introduces us to recent science based theories on managing your health that he has personally explored. I like his personable approach, his willingness to put his body on the line in the name of medical research is commendable.As always, the writing here is accessible, the data/evidence presented in clear and concise ways that make choosing good health a realistic outcome. TRE (Time Restricted Eating) IF (Intermittent Fasting) are something that we are going to hear a lot more about in mainstream medicine and Dr Mosley succinctly explains how using these methods, in a responsible way, we can trigger a range of metabolic changes that will improve our health.Fascinating reading.
    more
  • Kelly Long
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for providing this book in exchange for an honest review. This is an excellent book on the different types of intermittent fasting and a couple of different diets. Dr Mosley does an great job explaining various studies that back up his teachings. He also explains how these options can reverse diseases and overall improve health, not just for weight loss.
    more
  • Sarah Owen
    January 1, 1970
    This is a life transforming book, it’ll cure you!Easy to follow and backed up by the best research, I found it highly motivating and a really interesting read.
  • Eleanor
    January 1, 1970
    Excellent and informative. Dr Michael Mosley is a motivated professional health practitioner. In this book he draws on scientific research to support dietary suggestions for those with diabetes mellitus. Therefore, the underlying trope is to improve health for those who have tried many other means of solving this and other health problems. His own experience with Type 2 diabetes (and pre-diabetes) set him on the path to discover ways to improve the prognosis. On the way, he uncovers some Excellent and informative. Dr Michael Mosley is a motivated professional health practitioner. In this book he draws on scientific research to support dietary suggestions for those with diabetes mellitus. Therefore, the underlying trope is to improve health for those who have tried many other means of solving this and other health problems. His own experience with Type 2 diabetes (and pre-diabetes) set him on the path to discover ways to improve the prognosis. On the way, he uncovers some interesting (and innovative) science regarding dementia, PCOS, hypertension, and other diseases so prevalent in the industrial world and modern society. Mosley's writing is informal but every claim he makes is backed up by real science. The recipe section is comprehensive with some illustrations to show the reader what "800 calories" looks like on the plate.
    more
  • Donna
    January 1, 1970
    Dr. Mosley combines the latest science and thinking on diet and weight loss into a comprehensive lifestyle program that provides both immediate and long-term results. This book includes the how and the why for 2 to 12 weeks of an 800-calorie, low-carb, Mediterranean style diet, which is then followed by Dr. Mosley's own 5:2 diet for as long as it takes. He has also discovered that results may be realized even more quickly by concurrently using a Time-Restricted Eating technique during both diet Dr. Mosley combines the latest science and thinking on diet and weight loss into a comprehensive lifestyle program that provides both immediate and long-term results. This book includes the how and the why for 2 to 12 weeks of an 800-calorie, low-carb, Mediterranean style diet, which is then followed by Dr. Mosley's own 5:2 diet for as long as it takes. He has also discovered that results may be realized even more quickly by concurrently using a Time-Restricted Eating technique during both diet phases. It's a lot of information in one small package, but the author makes it all seem sensible, doable, and urgent.
    more
  • Jane
    January 1, 1970
    A highly informative book on improving one's health: how to lose weight, reverse diseases, boost brain health, and more. The author presents a three-phase program designed to help you achieve these results. The book also includes meal plans and recipes for the reader to try. A must have for anyone looking to improve their overall health. Thank you to Michael Mosley, NetGalley, and Atria Books for an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Marsha
    January 1, 1970
    A refreshingly practical and hype-free book about diet and disease prevention.I like that Mosley shows the rationale and the scientific research behind different kinds of restricted eating patterns that can achieve the same results. Clearly written and informative. The second half, with exercise advice, recipes, meditation info etc seemed more like filler.
    more
  • Heather
    January 1, 1970
    This isn’t rocket science and there’s lots in here that I already know. However sometimes it’s good to take stock, read and get the diet back on track. I’m not up for the 800 calories for 2 weeks plus but 5:2 is certainly doable. Lots of science to back up the claims which is useful. And most importantly some lovely recipes to try out. Meal planning and good food to try. Got to be worth a go!
    more
  • Heather Bennett
    January 1, 1970
    The Fast800 Diet has some interesting information and recipes. Well written and easy to read. This book makes some good points.
  • Kushal Kushlendra
    January 1, 1970
    Get the book, set your goals and Go.
  • Annie
    January 1, 1970
    Sounds like something to try, atleast for 2 weeks. I also like the idea of intermittent fasting.
  • Matthew Metcalf
    January 1, 1970
    Time to give this a try
  • Ranga B
    January 1, 1970
    I have always been fan of Michael from his BBC documentaries. I have read all his books and was following 5:2 diet. Now with Fast 800. Myself and my family will start this diet - not so different to what we already doing. But introducing TRE will be additional take. Thanks Michael for this book and what a great way to start the year !!
    more
  • Naomi
    January 1, 1970
    I read the majority of this book in one sitting. I have heard of the 5:2 diet before although I've never followed it. My thoughts on this plan in this book are generally good although I think the author sells it as 'easy' and 'sustainable' but it doesn't really sound like that degree of calorie deficit for up to 8 weeks including life and exercise can really be too easy. Alot of the have advice in this book is not new however I like the flexible approach he has to people tailoring the diet to I read the majority of this book in one sitting. I have heard of the 5:2 diet before although I've never followed it. My thoughts on this plan in this book are generally good although I think the author sells it as 'easy' and 'sustainable' but it doesn't really sound like that degree of calorie deficit for up to 8 weeks including life and exercise can really be too easy. Alot of the have advice in this book is not new however I like the flexible approach he has to people tailoring the diet to suit them. The health claims are encouraging and definitely give some food for thought.I wasn't wowed by the recipes if I'm honest but the nutritional advice is easy to adapt into everyday life... And 800 calories enough of an increase from 500 calories to encourage me to take on the challenge! Watch this space!
    more
  • Fiona Humphries
    January 1, 1970
    An easy read in a conversational style. I like the comprehensive scientific information and the grounded, real approach. The recipes make this doable. It is exciting to see some of the advances science is having in the field of nutrition which support wellbeing when someone has challenges such as high blood pressure, diabetes and the like. Keeping this in mind, I have come away from this book feeling uplifted.
    more
  • Richard
    January 1, 1970
    Practical health advice that works!I've followed Dr Mosley's work since watching the BBC Horizon documentary on fasting. I started intermittent fasting to become comfortable with being uncomfortable and avoiding eating poor food when travelling for business.This latest book refines his advice based on the latest Scientific research. It is focused on the ideas of intermittent fasting (reducing your calorie consumption to 800 or less each day - which is surprisingly easy) and the Mediterranean Practical health advice that works!I've followed Dr Mosley's work since watching the BBC Horizon documentary on fasting. I started intermittent fasting to become comfortable with being uncomfortable and avoiding eating poor food when travelling for business.This latest book refines his advice based on the latest Scientific research. It is focused on the ideas of intermittent fasting (reducing your calorie consumption to 800 or less each day - which is surprisingly easy) and the Mediterranean diet (lots of Olive Oil, fruit and vegetables).The book is full of plain English explanations of the latest research, and has practical instructions on how to use this diet yourself. There are also a lot of recipes for meals which fit into the diet.Having used intermittent fasting over the past two years, I'd recommend this book to anyone who wants to lose weight or increase their energy levels.
    more
  • Rachel
    January 1, 1970
    This book basically repeats again and again that you should go to the website where you’re encouraged to spend 99 on 12 weeks membership to do the Fast 800.I’m not completely sold on MM gaining a relatively small amount of weight then losing it with an 800 calorie diet. I’d like to hear from someone with multiple stones to lose and who has had long-term issue with their weight. While the idea of losing weight fast appeals, the reality of doing the diet might be tricky. Only one way to see I This book basically repeats again and again that you should go to the website where you’re encouraged to spend £99 on 12 weeks membership to do the Fast 800.I’m not completely sold on MM gaining a relatively small amount of weight then losing it with an 800 calorie diet. I’d like to hear from someone with multiple stones to lose and who has had long-term issue with their weight. While the idea of losing weight fast appeals, the reality of doing the diet might be tricky. Only one way to see I guess..... Also, how does this measure up long-term? Do people keep off the weight, or is it near impossible after depriving yourself of so long not to eat everything in sight? I’m wondering whether this kind of regime might result in binge eating and see-sawing issues with food. I think I’m still of the slow and steady, sensible approach while not being hungry weight, loss brigadeNowhere does Mosley tackle actually how to live life and approach the food culture and social aspects of sharing food around us on such a restrictive diet (if you’re choosing to do it full time.) If you want a really solid book based on research by the author, who is a medical professional at Cambridge University, then I’d recommend you read Giles Yeo’s Gene Eating.14/05/19
    more
  • Ruth
    January 1, 1970
    Does this even count as a book to put on GoodReads? Have I started documenting things obsessively? How clever of Dr Mosley to persuade me to buy a book almost identical to the one I bought about 3 years ago. Been 5: 2ing most of the time ever since but stopped last year and my weight crept back up. Been 5:2ing again for the last couple of months and it's not made a blind bit of difference. So...I'm going for the 800 calorie crash diet for a fortnight (I know they don't like the phrase crash diet Does this even count as a book to put on GoodReads? Have I started documenting things obsessively? How clever of Dr Mosley to persuade me to buy a book almost identical to the one I bought about 3 years ago. Been 5: 2ing most of the time ever since but stopped last year and my weight crept back up. Been 5:2ing again for the last couple of months and it's not made a blind bit of difference. So...I'm going for the 800 calorie crash diet for a fortnight (I know they don't like the phrase crash diet - but that's what it is).
    more
  • Guilherme Zeitounlian
    January 1, 1970
    This is not a great book. (But it's still better than his first one.)It mainly teaches people how to lose weight by doing a very low-calorie diet (800 kcal per day).It suggests you start eating only 800 kcal every day, and then move to doing it twice per week.And it incorporates time-restricted feeding to the mix. I'm not even sure why I read it.
    more
  • eyes.2c
    January 1, 1970
    Dieting revisited!A combination of ideas put forward about food, exercise and losing weight by Mosley are ringing bells with me. Particulars he's mentioning are factors my doctor has been raising with me. Although my need is more to do with excess weight putting pressure on my arthritic knees.The book is pithy, easy to read, not too complicated in its explanations, fairly straightforward and most importantly, held my interest.The things that struck me most included:that Mosley gives "a number of Dieting revisited!A combination of ideas put forward about food, exercise and losing weight by Mosley are ringing bells with me. Particulars he's mentioning are factors my doctor has been raising with me. Although my need is more to do with excess weight putting pressure on my arthritic knees.The book is pithy, easy to read, not too complicated in its explanations, fairly straightforward and most importantly, held my interest.The things that struck me most included:that Mosley gives "a number of options so you can tailor the program to your needs, goals and motivation...based on 800-calorie fast days—it’s high enough to be manageable and sustainable but low enough to trigger a range of desirable metabolic changes." So changing metabolism gets a tick and there are Options available for the way you might approach the process. 800 calories is really not a hardship for me but alas there goes the glass of a particularly nice Sauvignon Blanc I've just purchased.Some of the Benefits which also resonate for my particular needs are:1. Better sleep2. Cutting risk of type 2 DiabetesMosley references the idea of Intermittent fasting such as the 5:2 program alongside Time Restricted Eating which apparently helps with acid reflux (another little quirk I've developed.)He does address the concerns about rapid weight loss equaling rapid weight gain and then it seems morphs into championing a Mediterranean type diet to counteract this.Sadly I do know about foods that convert to sugar. (But between the knowing and doing I find there's a ginormous gap!)He discusses Exercise. Once again there is a certain amount of symmetry with what Mosley puts forward and what my doctor's been saying. His hints for strength training are a plus. I liked his "12 ways to introduce more activity into your life" section. Using the exercise bike is one cross over, although my days of stomach crunches and squats have long gone. Tai Chi and water aerobics is more where I'm centered these days.The chapter on Stress was a bonus, especially with the inclusion of practicing Mindfulness and a couple of short related exercises.The Recipe section suggestions I feel would be easily incorporated into one's routine. Interestingly gluten free (such a buzziword--is mentioned only once, and then in a recipe.)As with all food control books the things on the NO list are what we all know about (no pun intended).So there goes the Hagen Daz and Lindt and that rather delicious Savy B.But wait maybe some of those can be incorporated on a Five day day! If I go for a 5:2 regime!Despite what seems to be many pluses, I will say I am reserving judgement about the validity of Mosley's ideas for me until I can explore them further. Which for my particular needs could well be a good thing.An Atria ARC via NetGalley
    more
  • Lisa
    January 1, 1970
    After nearly a week of deliberating on whether or not I should go "keto" again after experiencing a 20+ lb recent weight gain, I was given access to this advanced reading copy of the "The Fast800 Diet". It could not have come at a better time! I wasted no time and dove in finishing it off in under 90 minutes. I particularly liked the authors ability to explain several popular eating plans including the Mediterranean Diet, Intermittent Fasting and Keto based diets. After discussing the ins and After nearly a week of deliberating on whether or not I should go "keto" again after experiencing a 20+ lb recent weight gain, I was given access to this advanced reading copy of the "The Fast800 Diet". It could not have come at a better time! I wasted no time and dove in finishing it off in under 90 minutes. I particularly liked the authors ability to explain several popular eating plans including the Mediterranean Diet, Intermittent Fasting and Keto based diets. After discussing the ins and outs of each in simple to understand language, he does a great job at comparing the results obtained by showing recent studies with each. Several plan options are offered up such as 5:2, 2:5, 12/12 and 16/8. What do all these numbers mean? Hours and days on and off plans and the reasons to use one approach over another are offered. The back of the book is filled with some great sounding recipes, however, that was not my focus on reading this book. My focus was to pick an eating plan that I can stick with and the information provided in this book has made that easier for me to do knowing at 50+ years living and eating how my body reacts to different things. I skimmed over a small section on exercise and another on meditation because, well, that's just not my thing. I am confident after finishing this book that I can start with a fast track approach, intermingled with IF (14/10) and a 800 cal 5/2 approach but leaning towards more of a keto than Mediterranean based diet (I truly dislike fish!). Yes, this book provided me with all the information needed to come up with MY plan for MY body. I enjoyed this book and look forward to implementing what I have learned into an eating plan that hopefully puts me back on track. Many thanks to Atria and Netgalley for this ARC (all opinions expressed in this review are authentically mine).
    more
  • Kristi Elizabeth
    January 1, 1970
    Read all my reviews at https://brainfartsandbooks.wordpress.comAn interesting book filled with weight loss methods that are unconventional yet up and coming, Michael Mosley introduces us to the ways of Time Restricted Eating (otherwise known as intermittent fasting) and why the Mediterranean diet works. I found this book to be very informative, giving examples of case studies which are done over many years. The 800 calorie diet which is supposed to be done in the beginning is the only part of Read all my reviews at https://brainfartsandbooks.wordpress.comAn interesting book filled with weight loss methods that are unconventional yet up and coming, Michael Mosley introduces us to the ways of Time Restricted Eating (otherwise known as intermittent fasting) and why the Mediterranean diet works. I found this book to be very informative, giving examples of case studies which are done over many years. The 800 calorie diet which is supposed to be done in the beginning is the only part of Mosley's book that I still question. In it, it states that it was not difficult for the people in the studies to have meal replacements for up to twelve weeks for several of the meals to stay within the 800 calories. I found this very hard to believe as 800 calories is very little. For someone who exercises regularly, I can't imagine this being enough to sustain basic bodily functions. I do agree with the TRE though because it allows the body to break down fat during the fasting period. I have seen it work with many people including myself in terms of weight loss. Plus, it is not that difficult to do. It just takes a little meal planning. Half of the book was recipes and meal plans that were incorporated by Dr. Clare Bailey. I found several recipes that I wanted to try in this section. I especially enjoyed this part of the book. Overall, The Fast 800 Diet was a great read with many health and nutrition tips for all.Thank you to Netgalley, Michael Mosley, and Atria Books for my ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
Write a review