Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #1)
In the shadows of the night in Caldwell, New York, there's a deadly turf war going on between vampires and their slayers. There exists a secret band of brothers like no other-six vampire warriors, defenders of their race. Yet none of them relishes killing more than Wrath, the leader of The Black Dagger Brotherhood.The only purebred vampire left on earth, Wrath has a score to settle with the slayers who murdered his parents centuries ago. But, when one of his most trusted fighters is killed-leaving his half-breed daughter unaware of his existence or her fate-Wrath must usher her into the world of the undead-a world of sensuality beyond her wildest dreams.

Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #1) Details

TitleDark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #1)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseSep 6th, 2005
PublisherPenguin Group (USA)
ISBN-139780451216953
Rating
GenreRomance, Fantasy, Paranormal, Vampires, Paranormal Romance

Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #1) Review

  • Loederkoningin
    January 1, 1970
    You have got to be kidding me.What author names her main characters, the members of the incredibly dark and dangerous black dagger brotherhood of vampire warriors....*inhales* ...Wrath, Tohrment, Vishous, Rhage, Phury and Zsadist? And as if that isn't hilarious enough, Ward just doesn't get enough of superlatives to describe how extremely dangerous her vampires - a bunch of interchangeable Conans the Barbarian - actually are. Allow me to quote:"Rhage was a towering male, big, powerful, stronger You have got to be kidding me.What author names her main characters, the members of the incredibly dark and dangerous black dagger brotherhood of vampire warriors....*inhales* ...Wrath, Tohrment, Vishous, Rhage, Phury and Zsadist? And as if that isn't hilarious enough, Ward just doesn't get enough of superlatives to describe how extremely dangerous her vampires - a bunch of interchangeable Conans the Barbarian - actually are. Allow me to quote:"Rhage was a towering male, big, powerful, stronger than all the other warriors. He was also a sex legend in the vampire world. Hollywood beautiful with the drive to rival a barnful of stallions. Females, vampire and human alike, would trample their own young to get at him. But when Rhage's beast came out everyone looked for shelter and took up praying." You know, I was har-har-harring in both amusement and disbelief when I read that..well..nonsense. BUT when you consider that Rhage is just one of the 6 brothers and there are actually 5 more Chippendales in line, waiting to be introduced in painful flowery language as well, let's just say I wasn't laughing anymore. Realization hit me; I actually paid 11 euro's for this trash, which was exactly what I paid for Let the Right One in as well. And there you have it; there is no justice in this world.The problem with Dark Lover is that you might presume this is an entirely different book. You may get lured in by this exciting sounding black dagger brotherhood of vampire warriors, erotically charged dark fantasy stuff and the fact that Dark Lover is a big fat Goodreads hype. However, what you see is not what you get; which is a silly written fluffy romance novel with large quantities of your typical fluffy romance novel sex (think; celibate, big, bad and totally handsome vampire king falls head over heels in love with this super-gorgeous 25 year old chick and makes her orgasm a dozen of times for the FIRST TIME in her life. Again, YOU HAVE GOT TO BE KIDDING ME!). I can imagine that Dark Lover can be fabulous escape-the-daily-grind material. So why don't you test yourself by reading the next part. If Wrath totally turns you on, I suggest you get your paws on this book asap! ^^"Wrath was 6 feet, 9 inches of pure terror dressed in leather. His hair was long and black, falling straight from a widow's peak. Wraparound sunglasses hid eyes that no one had ever seen revealed. Shoulders were twice the size of most males. With a face that was both aristocratic and brutal, he looked like the king he was by birthright and the soldier he'd become by destiny. And that wave of menace rolling ahead of him was one hell of a calling card. As his cool hatred hit..."Sooo..peaches anyone?
    more
  • Navessa
    January 1, 1970
    How to Write a Paranormal Romance Step One : Create a SueThis is a female lead that can either be a Mary Sue, a Jerk Sue or a Sympathetic Sue. Just an FYI, most writers go with a Mary, as the ideal of women remaining virgins until they find “The One” is allegedly still vastly appealing to the masses. I suggest creating a heroine that’s never even been attracted to a man before. It makes it seem more like it's fate when she meets the male lead and less like you’re trying to shove antiquated bel How to Write a Paranormal Romance Step One : Create a SueThis is a female lead that can either be a Mary Sue, a Jerk Sue or a Sympathetic Sue. Just an FYI, most writers go with a Mary, as the ideal of women remaining virgins until they find “The One” is allegedly still vastly appealing to the masses. I suggest creating a heroine that’s never even been attracted to a man before. It makes it seem more like it's fate when she meets the male lead and less like you’re trying to shove antiquated beliefs down your reader’s throats. Step Two : Create a Ragebeast Your male lead should be over six feet tall, have dark hair, tattoos and so much testosterone-inflated muscle that he has to walk through doors sideways. The less he talks, the better. In every scene that you’re tempted to give him dialogue, instead make him brood over something. You’re going for caveman here, modern women don’t want a partner that can communicate feelings or sympathize with emotions. We just want someone who can bench press twice our body weight. If you really want to make us swoon, make him a prince too, or an uber-alpha, or a frigging king. That will fulfill the Princess Fantasy that half of us are infected with thanks to those assholes over at Disney. Step Three : Make these two the exception to each other’s rules. Emotionally cripple the male. He shouldn’t believe in love. Not until he sees your Mary Sue. When he finally lays eyes on her however, you can take that caveman frown and turn it upside down. I suggest blaring Foreigner’s I Wanna Know What Love Is on repeat while writing this scene as it will really help you capture the emotion your readers should be feeling at this point. And remember that lack of attraction to the opposite sex you’ve afflicted Mary with? Well, when she lays eyes on your beast of a male lead her va-jay-jay should turn into the river Nile. Step Four : The shmushing together of squishy bitsSex. Add it. Lots of it. On a bed, in the bathroom of a club, a stairwell, an alleyway, you get the drift. Just know that the more you mix it up, the better. Repetition is the bane of the sex scene’s existence. Also, we’d really appreciate it if you could avoid using these phrases: 1. Slippery juices • This brings up safety concerns2. Clenching womb • She’s having sex, not a baby3. Pulsating sausage • I like breakfast cooked, thanks4. Squelch • I shouldn’t have to explain this one Step Five : Don’t forget the mystery!As tempting as it may seem, you can’t just fill up three hundred pages with nothing but relationship angst because if you do I WILL people may hate you. You’ll want to add in an actual plot line to avoid that. Don’t worry, it’s not as hard as it sounds. Make up a creepy crawly bad guy, have him kill some innocent people and maybe torture a kid or rape someone and your readers will immediately hate him and get behind your MCs and their fight for ‘good’. You don’t even have to get that heavy with it. In fact, you can probably squeeze it in between your gymnastic-inspired sex scenes. Step Six : Climax, the literary kindHave the bad guy kidnap the heroine. Feel free to let him slap her around a little and hint at the terrible things he’s going to do to her but don’t get too carried away here as you may offend those with delicate sensitivities. Just before the villain can carry out these dastardly plans, have the hero save your Mary Sue. What? Well yes that’s a little damsel-in-distress-ish but trust me on this, everyone else is doing it too and no one’s complaining about it yet. You want readers or not, lady? Step Seven : HEAs; they’re not just for fairy tales and contemporary romancesEnd your book on a high note. Your readers don’t want cliffhangers or dead male leads. They want to see a white dress or a bad guy with coins on his eyes because your ragebeast eviscerated him before rescuing the heroine and taking her back to his ‘lair’ to bang the hell out of her regardless of her emotional, mental or physical bruises. One plus of going light on the plotline (like I suggested) is that it makes it easy to wrap things up in a nice little bow. You’re welcome.Okay so this all sounds rather critical, and it is. I'm sure you're wondering "So why the four stars?". Well, in my opinion, this author takes all the themes I've mentioned and does them well which makes for one entertaining and sexy read.Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest
    more
  • Mel
    January 1, 1970
    *channeling Johnny Cash * "Six foot six he stood on the ground, he weighted 235 pounds But I saw that giant of a man brought down to his knees by loooove." A few dear Goodreads-friends pressured me into reading this and I must say: I'm pleasantly surprised (3,5 stars). An interesting and unpredictable plot? Not really. Cliché? Very. Romance and sex? At times the romance was almost sappy and the sex was good but I actually had expected it to be hotter (it's quality people, not quantity!). But des *channeling Johnny Cash * "Six foot six he stood on the ground, he weighted 235 pounds But I saw that giant of a man brought down to his knees by loooove." A few dear Goodreads-friends pressured me into reading this and I must say: I'm pleasantly surprised (3,5 stars). An interesting and unpredictable plot? Not really. Cliché? Very. Romance and sex? At times the romance was almost sappy and the sex was good but I actually had expected it to be hotter (it's quality people, not quantity!). But despite all of the above: I understand the attraction of the books! I liked this book. I might even be on the verge of loving this book. And I really liked Wrath. And I liked the rest of the boys. And I'm fascinated by Zsadist. And I want to read his book (#3). Fast. So I'm buying book #2 (about Rhage) while I'm at it. And I heard book #4 is about Butch. And I want to read that too. Did I get addicted? Maybe. But I think I might know why. It's because the Brothers are a girl’s fantasy come true. Cause doesn't every girl grow up fantasizing about a guy who is tough and cool but has a soft spot for you? Everybody's scared of him, except for you. Because he loves you. A lot. And no one else. Snapping somebody's neck while he's buying you flowers. *sigh* Meet the Black Dagger Brotherhood.
    more
  • Jessica Edwards
    January 1, 1970
    Before I continue with my review, I just want to say this. I fricking love this series!I cannot express how much I love this series, this book was probably one of the reasons why I admire J.R.Ward so much. The series focuses on a society the "Black Dagger Brotherhood" of vampire warriors who live together and defend their race against de-souled humans called lessers.This series just had me wanting more and more. Literally, after finishing one book I couldn't wait to get my hands on the next, and Before I continue with my review, I just want to say this. I fricking love this series!I cannot express how much I love this series, this book was probably one of the reasons why I admire J.R.Ward so much. The series focuses on a society the "Black Dagger Brotherhood" of vampire warriors who live together and defend their race against de-souled humans called lessers.This series just had me wanting more and more. Literally, after finishing one book I couldn't wait to get my hands on the next, and I've never had that feeling before. Usually after reading a book, I take a break from the series, read something else then come back to it, but this series just had me hooked. I will admit this though, I'm not a huge fan of reading third person books, I'd rather read from the first person, but after reading Dark Lover, I got used to it after the first couple of chapters, and by Lover Awakened (which is my favorite) it didn't bother me at all. The series as a whole is genius, like how did J.R.Ward do it? I had moments where I had to put the book down and gasp because of how the story was turning out. Saying that, in this series we have an M/M romance, and it was the first M/M book I've ever read, and can I just say that reading an M/M book is hot..like really hot. I'm embarrassed to say this because it takes a lot for me to swoon and get a reaction, but boy did I need to have a break from Lover at Last (which is book #11).I'd recommend this series to anybody, it has everything; Romance, action, vampires, and easy to like characters especially Zsadist. You know what, I might read this series again.
    more
  • Blacky *Romance Addict*
    January 1, 1970
    "Wrath was six feet, six inches of pure terror dressed in leather. His hair was long and black, falling straight from a widow's peak. Wraparound sunglasses hid eyes that no one had ever seen revealed. Shoulders were twice the size of most males'. With a face that was both aristocratic and brutal, he looked like the king he was by birthright and the solider he'd become by destiny." *sigh*Fantastic start to the Black Dagger Brotherhood series! We get the world building, the awesome characters, "Wrath was six feet, six inches of pure terror dressed in leather. His hair was long and black, falling straight from a widow's peak. Wraparound sunglasses hid eyes that no one had ever seen revealed. Shoulders were twice the size of most males'. With a face that was both aristocratic and brutal, he looked like the king he was by birthright and the solider he'd become by destiny." *sigh*Fantastic start to the Black Dagger Brotherhood series! We get the world building, the awesome characters, the terrible bad guys, and an amazing main couple!Just! Perfect!The storyThe Black Dagger Brotherhood is the only force between vampires and the evil lessers. They are here to protect the vampire race, and lead them.Wrath is the only pure vampire left, he is their King, although he doesn't want to assume the role.After one of his closest friends gets killed by the evil enemy, Wrath decides to honor his friend's request, and protect his daughter, Beth.Beth doesn't know who her parents are, or that she is part vampire, but after a scary huge guy enters her apartment, her life completely changes. She is drawn to him sexually (how could she not be), and doesn't know what to believe when one of her cop friends accuses him of being a murderer. Wrath wants Beth, even though he doesn't want to, but he needs to protect her, and when her change hits, she will need his blood to up her chances of survival.Will he be able to stay away from her? Will he be able to watch her mated with someone else without ripping his throat out? We'll see :DDD "He had her on the bed and under him in a flash of movement, and he pushed up her skirt and tore off her panties with vicious impatience. He didn't treat her blouse or bra any better. There would be time to savor later. Now was all about raw sex." The world building - Excellent! There is a huge dictionary with everything explained in detail, so it REALLY helps, even though all of it is explained in the book as well, but my suggestion is to read it BEFORE you get to the book, you will understand everything a lot better :)How the vampire thing works - Well this will be explained in the book gradually, but the most important thing you need to know is that they DON'T DRINK FROM HUMANS. They can eat food just like normal people, but need blood to survive and stay strong, and that blood has to be from a vampire.They're BIG and BADASS, hmmm maybe HUGE and KICKASS would do better ahahhahahah, anyway, they don't do sunlight, and well, all the other tidbits you can find out for yourself :))))))The writing - This is VERY easy to read :) Well, at least for me :) I love the way they talk, and swear, and act. We get both MC POVs, even some from the supporting characters. Love that :DDDThe characters - We are introduced to a LOT of them in this first book. It's hard to keep up in the beginning, but with them having such unusual names, you'll have no problem remembering who's who :) The BDB guys are uber-interesting, and we meet some characters from the vampire nobility, as well as some humans that will appear later :))The bad guys, Mr. XYOPMGblablablablabla are pretty irritating :DDD but OK they're the bad guys, I guess it shouldn't be a shock ahahahha :D The sex - It's pretty hot, with lots of sex scenes, even though i admit it gets hotter in the next books :D Still, Wrath has that something, mmm mmm mmm <3 "God, everything about him radiated sex, from the strength in his body to the way he moved to the smell of his skin. He was like no man she'd ever come across before. And her body knew it just as clearly as her mind did." Nearing her 25th birthday, Beth has no idea that she's about to go through the change and become a vampire. The first encounter with Wrath was full of terror, but when she saw him again *fans self*They both know there is an attraction between them, only Beth doesn't try to fight it like Wrath does. She realises how extraordinary he is, and falls in love with the fierce vampire King :))))As a human, Beth is pretty weak physically, and has no sex urges, until she sees Wrath :D Oh man and what a way to discover them ahahahhahahahThose two can't get enough of each other, even though it isn't rational, but when it comes to mates and their connection... Yep :D So, even though she is weak physically, as a characters she is fantastic, strong, willing to fight for Wrath and standing by him when he needed it. Just loved her :)And when she comforted Rhage, that was one of my favorite scenes in the book :) I forgot how great a relationship Wrath and Beth had, because they are the first couple, but truly, I love them and their story <3 "Your language is beautiful," she said."There are no words worthy of you." He is the leader of the Black Dagger Brotherhood and the vampire king. His blood is the strongest, and that's why he was needed to help Beth through her transition.The attraction was a surprise, but one Wrath couldn't avoid. He wants Beth like no other before, and even though he fights it all the way, he knows he wants to mark her and make her his leelan.He is King, but doesn't feel worthy of the title. He has a sad history, and the way his parents died... But soon he will have to make a choice, because the Brotherhood will not survive without strong leadership, and the lessers are growing more and more powerful by the day.I just have to say, Wrath is HUGE and badass and pretty cold at the beginning, but we get to see him "melt" and show more and more of his emotions, and that ending with Beth, OMG! I totally forgot about it and it was so so great to see <3 He just loves her so much and I just love him for it even more!!!!!He was a jerk a few times ahahhah but the poor guy's people skills are like ZERO ahahhahhah :DDSome of my fav scenes were with Wrath and Fritz :DD so funny, and of course with Beth, the transition, the ending *sigh*So perfect for each other <3Here are some of my favorite quotes from the other characters: "You're pathetic.'"Tohr hissed. "And you've been dead for hundreds of years. You're just too mean to find a grave and lie down." "Christ, I know I'm ugly," he snapped. "But don't fear me. I'm not a total savage." "I'm happy to take you on, asshole," Butch said. "I'll probably end up losing, but I fight dirty, so I'll make you hurt while you kill me." "Worship me, gentlemen." V lit a hand-rolled. Flipped the gold lighter shut. "And I might let you play with the buttons." "Yeah." Rhage sighed. "All I want is one good female. But I guess I'll settle for quantity until I find her. Life just sucks, doesn't it?" Best series ever. True?
    more
  • Kat Kennedy
    January 1, 1970
    I originally wrote this review in a more innocent time. A time, if you can imagine, when I was a lot less cynical and a lot more likely to give books a break.So I did the obligatory drool over the Black Dagger Brotherhood men whilst expressing frustration at the multiple POV's (SO MANY!). I complained about the content and nature of Wrath and Beth's relationship but let it slide because, hey it was just some light-hearted fun.A couple of years ago I was at my mother's house when a large, terrify I originally wrote this review in a more innocent time. A time, if you can imagine, when I was a lot less cynical and a lot more likely to give books a break.So I did the obligatory drool over the Black Dagger Brotherhood men whilst expressing frustration at the multiple POV's (SO MANY!). I complained about the content and nature of Wrath and Beth's relationship but let it slide because, hey it was just some light-hearted fun.A couple of years ago I was at my mother's house when a large, terrifying spider began its battle charge toward me with murderous intent gleaming in its eyes (witness accounts may vary...)In case you are unaware, I have a deep and unabidding terror of anything with more than six legs.The spider racing toward me looked something like this:Nobody else at the scene of the event picks up details like I do...Because she loves me (presumably) and to put a stop to my earsplitting girlie shrieks of "Kill it! Kill IIIIIIIIITTT!" (less presumably) my mother whacked it triumphantly with a shoe.It is at this point that hundreds of small, though equally malevolent spider spawn emerged from the crushed remains of their mother, all equally intent on destroying me one little piece at a time.[image error]Each one was chanting this in their tiny babyspider voices as they rushed toward me with evil in their heart and malice in their eyes...I count this as the most traumatic moment of my life. I find it extremely ironic that it was a vacuum cleaner, the bane of my life, that rescued me that night while I jumped on the couch in a fit of apoplectic terror.And it is with equal terror that I look upon the undead spawn that has filled the market since Dark Lover first emerged into the reading sphere.
    more
  • Ren
    January 1, 1970
    UPDATE : Thanks for all friends and people who have like this review and commenting. Glad I can make you smile and laugh ^_^. Black Dagger Brotherhood is masterpiece, and it will always be =) My feeling right now :Allright, this is the first book that start my love for BDB series, and when I know this book will be translated a year ago (at February 2010), I'm excited!! Waiting 2-3 months later, no news... Waiting 2-3 next months later, still no news... And then at July, the publisher said that UPDATE : Thanks for all friends and people who have like this review and commenting. Glad I can make you smile and laugh ^_^. Black Dagger Brotherhood is masterpiece, and it will always be =) My feeling right now :Allright, this is the first book that start my love for BDB series, and when I know this book will be translated a year ago (at February 2010), I'm excited!! Waiting 2-3 months later, no news... Waiting 2-3 next months later, still no news... And then at July, the publisher said that their try so hard to translated this books! Yeaaah, I'm waitiiiiiing... Waiting, and waiting, they said this book wll be published at November, and then they decide to decline until DecemberI'm still waiting... And then they said again, they decline it until March this year!! Alright, still I'm waiting, and then when the cover for translated version is coming up :I'm speechless and said :IS IT A JOKEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE????????????? What the f*ck with that cover !!! ...Yeah, right =_="I think if J.R.Ward know about this cover, she will go ballistic!!For the publisher (in this case, GPU) : Thanks to make our dream ruined! You already destroyed this GREAT series with your awfully cover choice. It doesn't matter if you said that the story is great, the story is good. Yes, I know about that! But what with people that don't know about BDB?They always buy a book based it cover!Did you know what they're thinking when see this book at bookstore? They will think this is a book with "WTF Cover"!! and leave them!Ahh, dunno if I want to buy this translated version or not! Note : There are people said that the model at the cover look alike Keanu Reeves!! No way, at last Keanu is sooo much better!! (Cut that crappy hair!)I'll buy this book to know about the translated version, because my friends said this book lack of romance.. Huh? Really? Then, it make me more curious. Will show you all my "NEW COVER" after I bought this! ...Which I'm not do it. The cover like a hot poker in my eyes *cries*
    more
  • Elle
    January 1, 1970
    It's your fault.All you Goodreaders.I was sucked in by the high ratings for this series. And the fact that I couldn't go anywhere on GR without this little red paperback popping up and waving at me. 'Read me. Love me. I'm totally worth it' blah blaaahh.No. Where were the characters??? Seriously. Where were they? WHY were they?I could not for the life of me identify who was who and why they were there. And WHY did they fall in love? Are you, J.R.Ward, trying to sell me this idea of love-at-first- It's your fault.All you Goodreaders.I was sucked in by the high ratings for this series. And the fact that I couldn't go anywhere on GR without this little red paperback popping up and waving at me. 'Read me. Love me. I'm totally worth it' blah blaaahh.No. Where were the characters??? Seriously. Where were they? WHY were they?I could not for the life of me identify who was who and why they were there. And WHY did they fall in love? Are you, J.R.Ward, trying to sell me this idea of love-at-first-sight-but-first-I'm-going-to-shag-him-senseless-to-be-sure, again???? Don't misunderstand me Goodreaders. I'm not adverse to filth on paper. Sex is brilliant. It's fun. I wish I had more of it.But surely there has to be more than just sex and filth to a good romance?I need suspense. I need the romance to develop. Goddammit I need a heads-up before the clothes come off.I will not continue with this series. I will, however, keep this little red book on the bottom shelf should the need for quick filth arise in future.But I doubt it.
    more
  • Alex is The Romance Fox
    January 1, 1970
    J R Ward’s BlackDaggerBrotherhood Series is beyond…............. I decided to read the entire series...yes again!!!!I AM BDBSESSED...I have always loved the first book in the series......my first intro into this amazing world, and Wrath & Beth's story has remained one of my favorites..It's liking going back home, visiting "people" that have become my friends. Beth is such a fabulous character - perfect queen material...“Whoa. Fangs. She had fangs.She leaned in, prodded them a little. Eating J R Ward’s BlackDaggerBrotherhood Series is beyond…............. I decided to read the entire series...yes again!!!!I AM BDBSESSED...I have always loved the first book in the series......my first intro into this amazing world, and Wrath & Beth's story has remained one of my favorites..It's liking going back home, visiting "people" that have become my friends. Beth is such a fabulous character - perfect queen material...“Whoa. Fangs. She had fangs.She leaned in, prodded them a little. Eating with those puppies was going to take some getting used to, she thought.On impulse, she brought up her hands, turned her fingers into claws. Hissed.Cool.”And Wrath...he sure knows what he wants!!!Some of the quotes I loved in this book:“With a deliberate shrug, he stepped free of the hold on his shoulder. “Tell me something, boys,” he drawled. “Do you wear that leather to turn each other on? I mean, is it a dick thing with you all?” Butch got slammed so hard against the door that his back teeth rattled.“Tell me something,boys. Do you wear that leather to turn each other on? I mean, is it a dick thing with you all?” And Rhage......I am so invested in the series that I am unable to keep away from anything BDB......and so onwards to Rhage and his shellan next!First reviewed in 2012Third or fourth time I have read this book...and love it more and more....I am so totally addicted to the Black Dagger Brotherhood Series...no, so beyond totally obsessed!!!! And yes, I will read it again and again and again!!!!!!I have become so obsessed with this series....crazy really....I don't remember even being so into a series like this....after reading the entire 8 books twice, I felt a "compulsion"....yeah, right...Wrath making me pick his book up again...!!!!! I loved it even more than the previous times...Wrath and Beth are just an amazing couple.....I hope that the new book coming out in 2012 will have more about them....so gotta go....and start on Book 2.....Going through a vampire, paranormal romance period, I had been reading books in this genre but had never read any of JR Ward’s books until I picked up the first 5 novels in the Black Dagger Brotherhood series which were being sold at a discounted price.I began reading DARK LOVER, the 1st book in the series and could not put it down. I wanted to finish it and go onto the next one. I was totally hooked.Set in modern day Caldwell, New York a war is going on between vampires and Wrath, the last purebred vampire is king and leader of the Black Dagger Brotherhood, a group of vampire warriors fighting the evil Lessing Society, which is bent on eradicating vampires.He has been asked by his closest friend, Darius who is murdered by the lesser, to look after Beth, his half human daughter. Beth has never had a serious relationship and longs for some excitement in her life. She becomes totally enthralled with Wrath. He seduces her on their first meeting and enters a sensual world that she never could imagine existed. The sex scenes are so erotic and sensual and sizzling HOT….We meet the vampire warriors….OMG….deliciously HOT, DANGEROUS, SEXY and SO DESIRABLE…..with names like Vishous, Rhage, Zsadist, Phury, Tohrment, who love rap music, clubs with names like Screamers!!!.. black leather, fast cars, fast women- absolute superstuds that can be deadly in combat but have a tender and sensitive side as well. I loved the way the characters were named…. You are taken on an exhilarating ride filled with fast action, sensual romance and a vampire world you have never seen before.I love JR Ward’s style of writing and you lose yourself in a world of exciting fantasy.You lose yourself in this dark and exciting world and you want to discover everything in it.To help understand some of the terms and dialogue in the story, a glossary helps you the descriptions.I recommend the books are read in the series reading order.
    more
  • KatLynne
    January 1, 1970
    Picture of Wrath...Warning/GIF - Partial Nudity(view spoiler)[ (hide spoiler)]Wrath - 6'6" - 270 lb Warrior Vampire - Raw male power - Intense - Aggressive - Tattooed - Deliciously erotic - Protective - Hard, ripped, well muscled body I am always intrigued with the pictures my GR friends add to their reviews. Wanting to get an image of Wrath in those leather pants, I visited photo bucket and this is what I found. While there are no leather pants, I thought he was perfect:) This is my first "ad Picture of Wrath...Warning/GIF - Partial Nudity(view spoiler)[ (hide spoiler)]Wrath - 6'6" - 270 lb Warrior Vampire - Raw male power - Intense - Aggressive - Tattooed - Deliciously erotic - Protective - Hard, ripped, well muscled body I am always intrigued with the pictures my GR friends add to their reviews. Wanting to get an image of Wrath in those leather pants, I visited photo bucket and this is what I found. While there are no leather pants, I thought he was perfect:) This is my first "adult" vampire read. I've stayed away from this genre thinking how on earth could I like a hero who drinks blood?! The thought has never been appealing and actually was kind of a turn off. But with the push from my GR friends I caved and took the plunge. All I can say is ...WOW, I have really been missing out! I loved this book! Wrath and Beth’s romantic story is intense and kept me on the edge of my seat along with those hot, sexy love scenes. He was such a loner, guarding his feelings and deeper emotions. But when he fell, he fell hard! I particularly enjoyed his first feelings of jealousy….(view spoiler)[ ”Welcome to the wonderful world of jealousy, he thought. For the price of admission, you get a splitting headache, a nearly irresistible urge to commit murder, and an inferiority complex….Yippee.” (hide spoiler)]I learned a whole slew of new words along with their unique meanings and now volunteer to be Wrath’s shellan anytime! My ultimate goal is to become his leelan! This man is one of the sexiest I've read! I love alpha warrior heroes and this book is filled with sexy, male testosterone. Some were a little scary; some were a lot scary! But they all were fascinating! I also met the enemy, the lessers, and hope their entire race will be obliterated ! Thank you Dhes, Jaynie, Dee & Dorsey for encouraging me to read this! It was an intense; erotic, emotional read with just enough laugh out loud moments to make this near perfect. I am intrigued by this band of brothers and can't wait for more!
    more
  • Jessica's Totally Over The Top Book Obsession
    January 1, 1970
    5 Wrath's Leelan StarsFirst read 2014Reread March 23, 2017 SpoilersOMG I Love this book, this series and this Author! The Black Dagger Brotherhood is one of my top ten favorites series of- all- times. There is just something about this series that made me fall in love from book one. No matter how many times I read these stories they never get old. Dark Lover does an amazing job of laying out this new and exciting paranormal world. The Black Dagger Brotherhood world is a kick ass world filled wi 5 Wrath's Leelan StarsFirst read 2014Reread March 23, 2017 SpoilersOMG I Love this book, this series and this Author! The Black Dagger Brotherhood is one of my top ten favorites series of- all- times. There is just something about this series that made me fall in love from book one. No matter how many times I read these stories they never get old. Dark Lover does an amazing job of laying out this new and exciting paranormal world. The Black Dagger Brotherhood world is a kick ass world filled with kick ass dark heroes that steal your heart and melt your panties. Each brother is sexy, unique, intriguing, and totally amazing in their own way. Dark Lover is Wrath's book. "You don't know this yet," he said grimly. "But you are mine."-Wrath Wrath is the legendary Blind King. With his failing eye sight, dark past, and his insecurities about being able to lead his people Wrath has refused to ascend the throne. He instead serves his people by being a warrior, and killing lessers, until Beth. Wrath was surly, closed off, and at times an asshole. But Wrath was a multifaceted character. He was also loyal, sweet, caring, and sexy as hell. Beth Randall Thought she was a normal boring everyday human, til a sexy tall dark "man" shows up, rocks her world and tells her she is half vampire. Beth was sweet, understanding, supportive, but she was also sassy, independent, and didn't let people walk on her. Beth had a lot thrown at her but she handled it well. Beth was a great mate for Wrath.“I'm going to talk to her." "And how's that going to go? You're just going to walk up to her and say, 'Hey, I know you've never seen me before, but I'm your dad. Oh, and guess what? You've won the evolutionary lottery: You're a vampire. Let's go to Disneyland!” -Darius and Torh "Beth, I want to stay with you, but you have to understand, you'll be a target. And I don't know how to keep you safe enough. I don't know how the hell to - " "We'll figure it out," she said. "We can do it together."-Wrath and BethBeth and Wrath were very cute together. The bigger and badder they are the harder they fall and Wrath fell hard and fast for Beth. I loved the way Wrath was with Beth and I love how protective Beth was of Wrath. They had great chemistry between them and a sweet love. I really loved the uniqueness of this world. The way vampires had to feed from other vampires not humans, the way they bond and mate, the fact that you have to be born vampire, and the bad guys(Lessers). The Lessers were gross and creepy in their differences. I mean come on pale, blonde, impotence, soulless humans that smell like baby powder lol that is original. I also loved that all the brothers were foul mouthed, hard asses that have the sexy bad boy vibes flowing. Especially Z there is just something about Z that makes me want to melt. I liked Butch a lot too. Dark Lover is a great start to an amazing series and it does an epic job of pulling you in and making you fall in love with the brothers. I'll be a J.R. Ward fan for life!"I wish I could see your face clearly," he said, frowning as if trying to focus his eyes. "Just once, I wish..." She put her hands on his cheeks, feeling the rough stubble of his beard growth. "I'll tell you what you'd see," she murmured. "I love you. That's what you'd see."-Wrath and Beth
    more
  • Annie (Under the Covers Book Blog)
    January 1, 1970
    God, so that's how the Black Dagger Brotherhood series starts out, huh? I am so bummed that I didn't start with this one. It only makes sense to read the series in order but at the time, I only had the sixth and seventh book on hand. Nevertheless, Dark Lover is as solid as ever.Wrath, my man. This dude is so fucking hot, it's insane. He's so arrogant and aggressive. He's possesive and passionate. He's the best King in my mind. And Beth, where do I even start with her? She is so strong, even from God, so that's how the Black Dagger Brotherhood series starts out, huh? I am so bummed that I didn't start with this one. It only makes sense to read the series in order but at the time, I only had the sixth and seventh book on hand. Nevertheless, Dark Lover is as solid as ever.Wrath, my man. This dude is so fucking hot, it's insane. He's so arrogant and aggressive. He's possesive and passionate. He's the best King in my mind. And Beth, where do I even start with her? She is so strong, even from the very beginning. I love how she is able to keep her man in place.But most of all, I think the highlight of this book is Butch. Brian O'Neal is just so funny when he's around Marissa. I cannot wait to read his book, Lover Revealed. Also, the chemisty with the rest of the brothers is awesome too. Their dialogue and endless banter just livens up the darkness and is refreshing and fun.Bottom line? Damn, I love this series. It's to die for.Favourite Quote: She tilted her head, considering him. There was something she couldn't decipher in his tone. An achy pitch. He dug his hand into his thick, dark hair. "And I'm going to shut up now. before I make you feel even more uncomfortable."His eyes stayed on her face.They were really nice eyes, she thought. So warm. And they held a lonely yearning as he looked at her. As if he couldn't have something he wanted.She knew all about that.The human laughed, a burst of sound that came from deep inside his chest. "And how 'bout I try not to stare? That'd be good." He crammed his hands in the pockets of his pants and focused on the door. "Look at me. Not staring. Not staring at all. Hey, this is a nice rug. Have you noticed it before?"
    more
  • ✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans)
    January 1, 1970
    Disclaimer: I am currently being held hostage by a PNR-loving troll. I therefore cannot be held responsible for the contents of this review. Do you seriously think I'd give a Freaking PNR Novel a 5-star rating of my own free will? *eyeroll*AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!IT HAPPENED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!I JUST GAVE FIVE FREAKING STARS TO A FREAKING PNR NOVEL!!!!!!!!!!AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!AHHHHH Disclaimer: I am currently being held hostage by a PNR-loving troll. I therefore cannot be held responsible for the contents of this review. Do you seriously think I'd give a Freaking PNR Novel a 5-star rating of my own free will? *eyeroll*AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!IT HAPPENED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!I JUST GAVE FIVE FREAKING STARS TO A FREAKING PNR NOVEL!!!!!!!!!!AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!Note to self: breathe Sarah, breathe.Okay. I can do this. My life will never be the same but I can do this. The fucking PNR gods are with me. I am invincible. I believe I can fly. I believe I can touch the sky (view spoiler)[sorry, that wasn't me speaking, that was the alcohol I've been consuming to accept this new PNR-loving persona of mine (hide spoiler)].It's official people!!!!!! Hell just froze over!!!!!! It's official people!!!!!! The end of the world is near!!!!!! ←okay Sarah, better tone it down with the exclamation points (view spoiler)[this is me talking to myself, in case you were wondering (hide spoiler)]. You lost enough friends as it is when you gave this book a 5-star rating, do you want to lose more? No? Right. That's what I thought. Good girl. Okay, I need to calm down. You have to admit, though, this is such breakthrough for me! No wonder I have such a hard time dealing with it! I'm the PNR HATER around here! I think of Pack Challenge, The Warlord Wants Forever, Pleasure Unbound, The Bloodline War (I could list them all but I don't have all day) and I want to murder their authors someone! OMG. Something just occurred to me. Does my loving liking this book mean I'm human after all? Oh, no. This is it. I'm doomed. Oh well. Worse things have happened. I guess. Then again, maybe not? Do YOU know? I don't. Well not right now anyway. Maybe tomorrow (view spoiler)[Oops, I think the alcohol is speaking again (hide spoiler)].Note to self: focus Sarah, focus. Okay, I can totally do this. I am brave and fearless. More or less. So. This is PNR. Which means the expression "suspend disbelief" takes a whole new dimension here. Think of it as "suspend disbelief" to the power of 100. No. Wait just one second here. We're not going anywhere here. You thought we were? Guess I fooled you then. HA. Anyway, I was going to tell you why I loved liked this but I think I'll just tell you why I shouldn't have loved liked it instead. It will be much faster. You're welcome.① Ridiculous character names. I mean, seriously? Wrath? Vishous? Rhage? Phury? Tohrment? Yummy Zsadist? Am I the only one thinking of the seven dwarves here? I am? Never mind. ② Suspend Disbelief to the Power of 100, example #1:What girl in her right mind would have unprotected sex with a super hot thug-looking, deliciously mysterious unknown bastard who breaks into her apartment in the middle of the night?! Please Sarah, do try and refrain from raising your hand here, some of your dear friends wouldn't understand.③ Suspend Disbelief to the Power of 100, example #2:Wrath: "Nice to meet you Beth, you are half-human half-vampire. Fangs growing in 5, 4, 3, 2, 1, NOW!" Beth: "oh okay. No biggie. Can we have sex first?" Me: "Hey Beth, what did you do today?" Beth: "Oh, you know, same old, same old: went to work, stopped to get Chinese food on the way home, had my first orgasms ever with a total stranger met a delightful gentleman, grew some fangs." Me: "damn Beth, don't you ever get bored?! No offense girl, but you really need to get a life." ④ INSTA-FUCKING-LOVE. Need I say more? Didn't think so. Oh wait. Maybe I do. Need to say more, I mean. Because there's insta-love and there's insta-get-married. Wow. These people don't fool around, do they? Well they do but –hey! Will you take your mind off the gutter for just 5 seconds?! Damn. I meant fooling around, not [quote unquote] fooling around. This is PNR. We're talking about PURE, BEAUTIFUL LOVE here. Not physical, you know, stuff – EW, EW, EW. You people are GROSS. ⑤ Lovey-dovey crap to the maxxxx. It surrounds me! It's everywhere! It's like a bacterial infection! I can't fight it! Someone please call 911! Too late, I think I just died. I'm seeing fluffy bunnies and pastel-colored rainbows everywhere. This is the END.⑥ Wrath is nothing but a sick love puppy in a lethal bastard's clothing. A decaf asshole, if you will. A big, cosy teddy bear in leather pants. With throwing stars. And daggers (obviously). And guns. And stuff. But still a little too diet for my taste. Now MY Z is something else altogether. Please don't get excited girls, I already did the Bam! Poof! Gone! on him and he's safely stashed away in my high security harem. So don't waste time getting all hormonal on me. His ass is MINE. I repeat. His ass is MINE. Yes, I'm talking to Z, not to you, silly girls *eyeroll* [PS: Ange seems to think Vishous is hers. Hahaha. She's so funny. Slightly delusional, but very funny.]⑦ HEA. HEA? HEA?????? NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!! Go away, go away! Please tell me HEA means Horribly Ever After!!!! Please!!! OMG OMG I need my pills now! Where are they?! Someone please give me my pills NOW!!!Phew, that was a close one! A huge thank you to whoever passed me the pills. I'll be eternally full of grate.And the moral of this review is:① + ② + ③ + ④ + ⑤ + ⑥ + ⑦ = BLOODY HELL. I LOVED IT ALL.This. Freaking. Book.► It's PNR.► It's not STOOPID.► It's not RAPEY.► It doesn't promote DEMEANING behaviour towards women.► It's a BLOODY MIRACLE.✉ Personal message to Shelly: • • • •۰° •ิ•۰° •ิ•۰° •ิ•۰° •ิ•۰° •ิ°۰۰° •ิ•۰° •ิ•۰° •ิ•۰° •ิ•۰° •ิ°۰• • • •۰▧ Pre-review nonsense:BLOODY. FUCKING. HELL. Take all the lovey-dovey crap away and I'm giving this 8 stars. And this is bloody PNR. And I don't even like bloody vampires. Damn.BDB WTF!!• • • •۰° •ิ•۰° •ิ•۰° •ิ•۰° •ิ•۰° •ิ°۰۰° •ิ•۰° •ิ•۰° •ิ•۰° •ิ•۰° •ิ°۰• • • •۰► BR with my MacHalo Freaks starting Oct. 22, 2015.Please let it be known that I am being forced to read this against my will.Blah blah blah thread
    more
  • Heather
    January 1, 1970
    I should have known by the summary that this book would suck ass, but alas, I was blinded by that s*xy sounding name, Wrath. Curse Ms. Ward for being intelligent enough to make that up. With a name like Wrath, I was expecting some sensual sinning to take place, but all I got was a blind, leather duster wearing vampire thug who introduces us to ridiculous supernatural turf wars, rap music, and the f bomb. Even worse, the supposed world of sensuality began as a cable guy fantasy gone wrong. This b I should have known by the summary that this book would suck ass, but alas, I was blinded by that s*xy sounding name, Wrath. Curse Ms. Ward for being intelligent enough to make that up. With a name like Wrath, I was expecting some sensual sinning to take place, but all I got was a blind, leather duster wearing vampire thug who introduces us to ridiculous supernatural turf wars, rap music, and the f bomb. Even worse, the supposed world of sensuality began as a cable guy fantasy gone wrong. This book was tragic. Tragically stupid. I realize that Wrath is a vampire, but I can’t suspend my belief enough to buy into anyone, supernatural or no, being able to smell what someone looks like. If you are able to smell someone so strongly that images form in your mind, that person is made of stink and you should run, quickly, in the opposite direction. Also, someone named Wrath has no business cuddling with anyone except the devil. Seriously, am I supposed to believe that someone named after one of the seven deadly sins is capable of falling in love with someone so insipid?And can someone explain the mythology to me? Actually please don’t, but seriously, if vampires don’t need to drink human blood to survive, why should they have to hide? And why would they drink human blood?Lastly, what’s up with the peaches?
    more
  • Clair
    January 1, 1970
    I remember a few years ago, being huddled around a table in the canteen, and talking about books with some of my friends. They were nigh on obsessed with this vampire hunting series, having bought all the books and swapping them between each other. I never got to borrow any copies (but then again I was kind of burnt out on vampires anyway), but the name did stick in my mind.Some months later, I asked one of these friends about the title of the books she loved, and she said they were part of a se I remember a few years ago, being huddled around a table in the canteen, and talking about books with some of my friends. They were nigh on obsessed with this vampire hunting series, having bought all the books and swapping them between each other. I never got to borrow any copies (but then again I was kind of burnt out on vampires anyway), but the name did stick in my mind.Some months later, I asked one of these friends about the title of the books she loved, and she said they were part of a series called the Black Dagger Brotherhood. The title sounds kind of cool, doesn't it? Eventually I downloaded the e-book, and started reading it.I was howling four percent in. Reading this book was like watching a really bad crime thriller that wallows in its own grittiness and has stereotypical characters, like the grumpy detective, the shallow heroine who can't help but get herself in trouble, the devoted vampire bride whose husband just won't reciprocate her affections, and various other oddball vampires who just so happen to be purebred or highly-trained and thus, are more awesome than civilian vampires.Oh, the characters… Sigh… Oy vey, in fact.The aforementioned shallow heroine is named Beth. She works for a newspaper, and is described as being stunningly gorgeous. No, seriously, I mean it. J.R. Ward goes at length to make sure you know this. Beth has long black hair and perfect facial shape and lips made for kissing a man (seriously, J.R. Ward wrote this!) and a perfect figure: a short waist, long legs, and ample breasts. She finishes work at the beginning of the novel, and is almost raped by this utter berk. However, she's saved and she gets back to the apartment, and seems to freaking forget about almost being raped. She jitters for a moment or two, then has a shower, eats a ready meal, and plays with her cat. Yeah. In the morning, this guy called Butch (who she lovingly nicknames Detective Hard-Ass) rather objectionably demands to know how she got some of her superficial injuries from being assaulted. Beth eventually tells him, which leads us on to my other point about bad characters in this book.Being the daughter of a retired police officer, I can tell you that in most developed nations, the police generally don't beat the living tar out of suspects before making an arrest, which is exactly what Butch does to the guy who nearly raped Beth, even though the only evidence he has is a description of his appearance. Do you know why that is? Partly human rights, partly not living in a part of the world where police brutality doesn't really exist, and partly compensation culture! Yes, call it political correctness if you will, but I highly doubt Butch's policing skills. Beth even says early on in the novel that Butch's interrogation methods leave people in hospital. In hospital. Well, kudos to you, J.R. Ward, for perpetuating the stereotype that most cops are violent idiots who were probably bullied at school and now take out all their rage on criminals, because a badge and ID card now legally allows them to. And while this Billy Riddle kid who almost raped Beth confesses his crime the moment this hilariously over-the-top depiction of a hard-nosed police officer threatens to whack him in the privates so hard that he'll be 'pissing sitting down for a week', what would have happened if it was a case of mistaken identity? Butch would have egg on his face in the form of having his badge and gun taken away, and he'd probably be forced to pay out massively in compensation. When Butch finds Billy in the morgue later that afternoon, he threatens him and really physically abuses him. Grabbing him by the lapels, slamming him against the wall, slapping him around the head, and breaking his nose. Now, I'm not saying that Billy doesn't deserve this kind of punishment for his horrible crime, I'm just shocked that anyone would think any police investigation revolves around mercilessly beating up a suspect and apparently putting some of them in hospital! You know that tense interrogation scene in The Dark Knight where Batman interviews The Joker and slams his head into the table and throws him around the room and shakes him and slams him against the wall? That's a cool scene, but it's complete and utter fantasy! Butch took that type of good cop bad cop routine and amplified it, and it's fucking ridiculous.Did I mention all that happened barely 10% into the book? Boy, we are in for a ride.Now, let's look away from our human characters for a moment, and onto the vampires.First things first. The vampires all have absolutely ridiculous names. I mean it. Wrath is one of our main characters, and besides being described as what appears in my mind as the horrifying cross between Vegeta from Dragon Ball Z and Neo from The Matrix, he's at least… okay as a character. He's boring, but hey, we've got ridiculous names to talk about!1. Tohrment2. Rhage3. Phury4. Zsadist5. VishousThese all sound like names a really crappy DJ or band or artist would give themselves. (Speaking of that, there's mention of a band called 'Tomato Eater'. *facepalm*) Also, let's look at Zsadist's background, shall we? So, he's a tortured soul who enjoys pain. He's got tattoos and piercings all over the place, and he's heavily scarred because of his addiction to pain. So surely his name should be Mhasokhist?Of course, Beth isn't just there to look pretty. No, she has connections to the vampires, in that her father (Darius) has just been killed off via a car bomb, and lo and behold, he's a vampire! Her body is transitioning now she's come of age, I guess, and so the Black Dagger Brotherhood puts her under their protection. She begins noticing something's off, and then… there was the mother of all awful vampire sex scenes. I mean it. I'm no prude, but the writing was just hysterically awful, not erotic in the least. J.R. Ward seems obsessed with the shape of her characters' faces, with undulation and curvaceousness. Now, in this sex scene, Beth is rocked by a wave of lust when Wrath, a creepy looking guy dressed all in black leather, stalks into her apartment. Normal people would tell him to get out, call the cops, you know, be a bit freaked out. Not Beth! No, she quite happily lets the weirdo chomp on his cigarillo (which is not a sexy image in the least – it makes me think of some corrupt old oil baron), then close the distance between them, and yes, it all ends up in the bedroom. And if you thought the sex scenes in the Sookie Stackhouse books were bad... then look away now. Beth's breasts descriptively strain against her top, Wrath's John Thomas throbs like it has its own heartbeat, Beth's body undulates in a sexy wave... urgh, dear gods. If there was ever a time I wanted brain bleach, it was now.I mean, for gods' sake, when Beth decides halfway through foreplay that she doesn't really want to have sex after almost being raped the night before, like Khal Drogo from A Game of Thrones, he grumpily says 'no' to her refusal and continues anyway because he lusts after her so much. And Beth just lets him! OH-MY-GOD. -_-Also, the terminology and the metaphors and similes used in this book are utterly bizarre! Barely 20% into the book, we have a prostitute 'shaking her ass like it was a can of paint'. Dead sexy. Then there's a description of Wrath's abdominal muscles looking like someone had inserted paint-rollers underneath his skin. Because home improvement is, need I remind you, dead sexy. Another bizarre choice was the security at a mechanic's workshop being 'tighter than a tick'. Uh... tighter than a tick? I understand that ticks do clamp down something awful on skin (resulting in Mr. Tweezers meeting Mr. Tick), but that is a godawful comparison. The terminology is also a really big problem in this book. The reader occasionally gets vampire-specific lingo, such as shellan and doggan. If you're curious as to what they mean, well, basically a shellan is the permanent partner of a vampire, and bonded to them for eternity. A doggan is a servant of a higher-ranking vampire. And since the vampires in this book all seem to be rich, princely bad boys, they happily ignore their wives and make sure Fritz the butler knows his place every once in a while. However, the most major problem that The Black Dagger Brotherhood has in this regard is that those terms are not defined in the slightest. I had to go 'well I guess since shellans are kind of like wives then...' only much later in the novel do we get any kind of explanation about this vampire-specific language.Admittedly, TBDB has an interesting take on the vampire mythos. Rather than the Black Dagger Brotherhood feeding from humans to sate their appetites, they actually feed off each other. Human blood is their equivalent of junk food, in fact. It fills you up, but not for long. Being exposed to sunlight results in second and third degree burns before turning into ashes, and the vampires even have their own religion, where the Scribe Virgin is the embodiment of good, and the Omega is the embodiment of evil who creates soulless 'Lessers'. Interesting, but there are still some incredibly flawed things about this book.I also remember sitting back whilst reading this book and realising just how much of a sausage fest it was. I mean it. There are more than 10 men featured as protagonists, antagonists, or deuteragonists, and barely 5 female characters. Now, this isn't too much of a problem. I don't demand that the books I read have an equal balance of the sexes, it's just that the female characters are awfully written here, like some of them were just an afterthought. Beth is attractive and has no common sense whatsoever. I don't care that she and Wrath are fated to be together, but you do not let some creep come into your apartment and have his way with you because you're rocked by feelings of lust. The other female characters are underdeveloped wives, or prostitutes who wind up murdered. There's a smidgen of back-story to one of them, whose name is Mary, but otherwise, they're just cheap trollops who are there to dress provocatively and get killed for it. I barely got to know Wellsie or Marissa, two of the 'wives' of our main vampire characters, because there's little to no background information about them. Wellsie is pregnant and deeply in love with her mate. That's it. Marissa is mated to Wrath but breaks up with him when he gets serious with Beth and then her brother Havers is all like: “Hey, you ruined everything” and so she's upset and finds solace in Detective Hard-Ass, which comes completely out of nowhere, if only to break some vampire taboo.The pacing in this novel is also a major problem. Things seem to happen much too fast. Stuff like character relations, discovering vital plot information, getting over the shock of something... they all happen much too fast. And then we get distracted away from the main plot to focus on inane shit like Beth and Wrath having sex, Marissa and Butch having sex, and over the course of twenty or so bloody pages near the end, we have Wrath and Beth getting married. You know. Let's forget about this serial killer and his lackey, Billy Riddle. Let's get married in an impromptu ceremony, even though we didn't know each other from Adam two weeks ago!The ending is also as clumsy as Bambi trying to walk across that frozen pond. Far too much happens in the course of those pages, and there are several fake-outs which really got on my nerves. One of the Brotherhood is supposed to have betrayed them all, then oh no he didn't actually. One of the villains is killed, but the other one escapes after shooting one of our heroes and setting his dogs (pit-bull terriers, since of course that ugly stereotype will never go away) on another. Then there's a long and convoluted scene in the hospital, and a rather desperate grab for a sequel in the form of a certain character being resurrected from the dead. Eurgh.So, awful pacing plus badly-written sex plus terribly-written female characters in the middle of a complete sausage fest of vampires and humans who are ridiculous archetypes served to make this book a really bad experience for me. I'm told that this is just the first book in a fairly good series, and the fans even agree that this book is hardly liquid gold, but I do not care enough to get the sequels, based on this. I may give TV shows a three episode litmus test before dropping them (in case they do turn out to be amazing), but I am much less forgiving with book series. Sorry. 1/5.(This review is also available on my blog: http://book-wyrm.blogspot.co.uk/2012/...)
    more
  • Lorena
    January 1, 1970
    I was disappointed by this book. From the description, it sounded more like dark fantasy, but in practice, it's more like a romance novel of the cheesiest variety, only replace the generic pirate/naughty lord/auto mechanic human hunk with a vampire hunk. The dialogue was overwrought, and the behavior of the man/men in question was extremely stereotypical when it wasn't extremely implausible (even given that we are theoretically talking about men of a different and non-existent-in-reality species I was disappointed by this book. From the description, it sounded more like dark fantasy, but in practice, it's more like a romance novel of the cheesiest variety, only replace the generic pirate/naughty lord/auto mechanic human hunk with a vampire hunk. The dialogue was overwrought, and the behavior of the man/men in question was extremely stereotypical when it wasn't extremely implausible (even given that we are theoretically talking about men of a different and non-existent-in-reality species). It read like the sort of fantasy dreamed up by a teen-aged girl who has never actually had a great deal of contact with actual boys, let alone actual MEN.
    more
  • Laura
    January 1, 1970
    BR with the one and only Ash. "We’re going to build us a civilization, my brother. Or rather, rebuild one.” Blurb: In the shadows of the night in Caldwell, New York, there's a deadly turf war going on between vampires and their slayers. There exists a secret band of brothers like no other-six vampire warriors, defenders of their race. Yet none of them relishes killing more than Wrath, the leader of The Black Dagger Brotherhood.The only purebred vampire left on earth, Wrath has a score to set BR with the one and only Ash. "We’re going to build us a civilization, my brother. Or rather, rebuild one.” Blurb: In the shadows of the night in Caldwell, New York, there's a deadly turf war going on between vampires and their slayers. There exists a secret band of brothers like no other-six vampire warriors, defenders of their race. Yet none of them relishes killing more than Wrath, the leader of The Black Dagger Brotherhood.The only purebred vampire left on earth, Wrath has a score to settle with the slayers who murdered his parents centuries ago. But, when one of his most trusted fighters is killed-leaving his half-breed daughter unaware of his existence or her fate-Wrath must usher her into the world of the undead-a world of sensuality beyond her wildest dreams.Note #1: I think it’ll be a little hard for me to separate the feelings and thoughts about this book by itself and not to think about what will happens as the story goes so I’m sorry if I spoil something for any of you or have mixed feelings about something that’s quite clear in this book. I’ll try my best.Well, it’s been a couple of years since I read this book. I think that the first time I read it was back in 2006 and then again in early 2012. It feels so good to be back on the BDB train. Since The Shadows came a few months ago, I’ve been having this craving for the Brothers and now here I am, back on board and ready to the next step.Let’s get this party started! (:Thank you, Internet, for letting me find these books.So, this is the first book in the Black Dagger Brotherhood series and it’s mostly about Wrath and Beth and how they fight to be together. And shit is hard, you know, but it’s harder for them because, well, he’s a legendary vampire, The King, and full-time warrior and she’s a half-vampire reporter who doesn’t know about her let’s-keep-the-sun-out-of-this side until certain events lead for Wrath to seek for her and she’s thrown into this dark world, full of danger, passion and death.I really like Wrath and Beth together. I think they work so great and their dynamic is just fantastic. When it comes to those two? It’s like everything fits.Wrath’s insecurities and fears are welcomed and almost extinguished by Beth’s love and fierceness. In reality, a love like theirs it’s impossible very hard to find and maybe that’s why I like them so much. I won’t say that Beth is perfect but she’s damn very close to it and that’s what makes her so good to be in charge, to help rebuild this family and the entire race. Wrath makes her adventurous and happy and she makes him feel loved and happy. OTP.Wrath is a very hard man to describe, to be honest. He’s a complex character, he sets the tone and tell you what to do. He’s a warrior, a protector, a king, a leader… He’s spent centuries fighting along with his Brother against the Lessening Society, the undead who are a huge threat for their race and the human world. They’re soulless and they only exist for one single purpose: killing vampires.Wrath is the heir to the throne, a title he didn’t want nor planned to accept. The only thing he wanted to do was to fight and go down fighting to protect his kind.Guys, the man is wild in the sheets material. "Wrath was six feet, six inches of pure terror dressed in leather. His hair was long and black, falling straight from a widow's peak. Wraparound sunglasses hid eyes that no one had ever seen revealed. Shoulders were twice the size of most males'. With a face that was both aristocratic and brutal, he looked like the king he was by birthright and the solider he'd become by destiny." I really liked those flashbacks where we were shown how Wrath was before his transition. I always thought he was raised back in the Old Country? And trust me, I could read a whole book about the Brothers’ lives before their transitions. The thing is: Wrath’s story is told exactly how it was supposed to be and I think his share of fears and “weaknesses” are just the right ones for him.He’s haunted by the shame he’s felt all these years for being incapable of protecting his parents when he was young and the fear of ascending to the throne and bring his people to ruin, well, they’re only enhanced by the fact that he’s blind. I this he comes a long way and the character development is really subtle. There are some big changes, yes, but as for the rest? You can only see how everyone opens up through the story. That’s how I like it. Little things that mean the world.Beth, on the other hand, is a more relatable character. She was hard to read, to be honest. Why? Well, she’s a really normal woman who feels the way we’d feel if we were in her place. And, come on, we’ve all felt like a fish out of water and that’s exactly who Beth Randall is. She works hard, she receives so little or nothing in return. She was in the system for most part of her life, living from one family to another, never finding a place she could really call her own.She has friends but no one really close to her, she feels like she should be doing something else but she doesn’t know what exactly, she doesn’t feel the urge to establish a relationship with anyone and she’s a loner but she’s an honest woman, she’s smart, dedicated, lovable and full of love and compassion to give. She’s so levelheaded and I really liked her. So, what was her deal, right? What was she looking for?She was looking for a home. For people she could take care of. For people to love and for that feeling of security, that feeling of finally belong.At the end of the day, that was the whole purpose of the book. To find a new place to start and rebuild.She was damn fierce. And then he saw Beth.She was wearing a long T-shirt that was covered with blood and dirt, her eyes gone mad as she knelt by Wrath’s body with one wrist to his lips. When she noticed them, she hissed and brought up her knife, prepared to fight. That’s why Butch is brought to the picture, that’s why Marissa is where she is and that’s why everything falls into place.As for the rest of the characters, I enjoyed reading about them. I loved their dynamic, their, well, brotherhood.Every single one of them were interesting.I know, yeah?We have Rhage, the beautiful one, the cursed one, and the one you just don’t know how to feel about. Do you like him? Do you hate him? Do you want to read more about him? Why the fuck does he have a living beast on his back? Next we have Zsadist, the soulless one with the voice of an angel. How did he get those scars? Why is he so hateful? Why is he so volatile? (view spoiler)[THIS IS MY HELLREN, ladies and gentlemen, this is the man I cried for the very first time in these books and I’m so very proud of him. (hide spoiler)]Then we have Butch, the cop. How is he going to live with them? Are they going to kill him in the end? Is he going to end up with Marissa? But wait, he’s going to eventually die, yeah?Vishous, the eerie one. What is his deal? Why does he have visions? What the fuck does he have in his hand?Phury, the celibate twin. He shot his own foot to save Zsadist, how and why? Why Zsadist was the only one taken as blood slave? What happened with him? Why is he celibate?Tohr, the one you can count on. How are you dealing with all of this? Are you really this stable man? How did all of you meet?I think this is a very strong start for a series and, maybe it’s because I’m a girl, but I’ve always enjoyed a man’s POV a bit more than a woman’s. Sue me but I liked fast paced books with raw characters, sexy times, funny times and lots of actions. I like me some bloody books and that’s what Ward gives me. How could I complain? I could not.I’ve always said Ward’s female characters are weaker than her male characters and it makes sense because the story is mostly about them and if you continue reading these books and get to the Insider’s Guide, you will see what I’m talking about.I’m not saying that she’s degrading women just that her male characters shine way more.What I’m intrigued about is the whole Virgin/Omega situation.I wouldn’t mind reading a book about them and how everything started and what are exactly the extension of their powers. Is this a sort of yin and yang thing? Is there a balance? Are they the children of God and the Devil?I appreciate how Ward gets into everyone’s minds and where people would find annoying the several POVs, I’d find them perfect. This is a very complex world the one she’s built and it helps us to get into it having different POVs. Yes, it can be distracting but if you’re into the story, you’re okay with it. The sex scenes are the right amount for the book and they’re not uncomfortable to read and, even when I’ll define Wrath and Beth as a rushed couple at some points, they have a lot of sex chemistry. Here you will have your tortured heroes, your typical and not so typical women, enemies and lots of actions. Ward’s writing style is, most of the time, fast and to-the-point but also can be really beautiful and poetic. It all depends on the POV, really.You’re going to hate some characters and then love them and hate them again and so on. You will read people whose situations are hard not to sympathize with and maybe you won’t be okay with that, maybe you will. The point is, you either love it or hate it but I’m welcoming you, if you wanna take the ride.Anyhow, hands down, this is a book I’d recommend to anyone who likes paranormal romance. Note #2: And now comes the part where I go back to be really fucking happy about how everything works out (kinda) as the books go. Bear with me and, if you haven’t read the rest of the books, please do not read this part. I’ll mark as spoiler the whole section because that’s exactly what it is.(view spoiler)[How can Ward think she can fool us by not saying with her words that John is Darius reincarnated? Like, seriously, the last part was pretty obvious to me and to everyone else. People go and say but she hasn’t said that exactly… Well, do you see any other person who could be Darius? Plus, the Virgin said she would take a token of faculty. Uhm, that’s his voice. It’s pretty clear, my friends.Guys, I still need a book about the Old Country. When will I get one?I’m so happy and scared that Ward’s writing/continuing the stories already set but I really need that book. And another Insider’s Guide *sigh* a girl can only hope, true? (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Christy
    January 1, 1970
    Book one of the Black Dagger Brotherhood series...The Black Dagger Brotherhood is a group of vampires here to protect the vampire race. Wrath is the leader of this group- their king, by blood. Wrath was 6 feet, 9 inches of pure terror dressed in leather. Wrath is their King, but refuses to lead. He is a loner. A warrior. He doesn’t get too close to anyone. He has his band of brothers, but thats about it. When Wrath’s brother Darius asks him to help his only daughter (who is half human) with her Book one of the Black Dagger Brotherhood series...The Black Dagger Brotherhood is a group of vampires here to protect the vampire race. Wrath is the leader of this group- their king, by blood. Wrath was 6 feet, 9 inches of pure terror dressed in leather. Wrath is their King, but refuses to lead. He is a loner. A warrior. He doesn’t get too close to anyone. He has his band of brothers, but thats about it. When Wrath’s brother Darius asks him to help his only daughter (who is half human) with her transition, Wrath refuses. But when something happens to Darius, Wrath feels its his duty to honor his only wish. So he seeks out Beth. Beth is sort of a loner in her own right. She has a job, a few friends, but no one particularly close to her. She grew up in foster care, her mother died during child birth and she always was told her father had passed before she was born. Lately, she has been feeling a little ‘off’, but hasn’t thought much of it. One night while walking home, Beth gets attacked. Her friends from the force, Jose and Butch try to look out for her. A few nights later, someone is outside of her apartment when she gets home. He says he is there to protect her. She assumes Butch sent him. It is Wrath. Beth feels something for Wrath she has never felt before... Pure unadulterated lust. So she goes for it. And Wrath does not turn her down.Even though Wrath just wants to do his job and help her through her transition, more develops between these two. I loved Wrath and Beth together. Wrath can’ technically see Beth, but he knows she is a beautiful woman. One of my favorite parts... (view spoiler)[ “I wish I could see your face clearly,” he said, frowning as if trying to focus his eyes. “Just once, I wish…”She put her hands on his cheeks, feeling the rough stubble of his beard growth.“I’ll tell you what you’d see,” she murmured. “I love you. That’s what you’d see.” (hide spoiler)]And Beth see’s the beauty in Wrath. This book isn’t only about Wrath and Beth. There is a lot going on. The ‘war’ between the Lessers and the BDB, plus, the author spends a lot of time introducing us to the members of the brotherhood. Overall: I wouldn’t say I loved this book, but I really enjoyed it! I have a feeling I am going to LOVE some of the others after reading this one. The writing was excellent, I loved all the guys in the BDB. One thing I was a tad disappointed about... there were quite a few sex scenes, they were hot and all- but from what I’d heard I was expecting some serious vampire smut and I was really looking forward to it! But maybe they get a little smuttier as the series continue? Either way, I am really looking forward to reading book 2 next week. After this quote from Rhage, I can already tell I’m going to love him! “Yeah.” Rhage sighed. “All I want is one good female. But I guess I’ll settle for quantity until I find her. Life just sucks, doesn’t it?” If you love paranormal romance like I do, I’m sure you will enjoy this series!
    more
  • Lisa
    January 1, 1970
    Holy smokes Dark Lover was bloody brilliant!!!!!! Why the hell did I wait so long to jump on the J. R. Ward bandwagon and start reading this series?????? Why?????This story is action packed, sensuous, and highly addictive. Yes, crack cocaine! I loved it! I was completely enthralled. What I loved about this book is that J.R. Ward doesn't waste anytime and the writing is tight, the romance is not too sappy, her wording and dialogue is so much fun to read, the world-building is epic and everything Holy smokes Dark Lover was bloody brilliant!!!!!! Why the hell did I wait so long to jump on the J. R. Ward bandwagon and start reading this series?????? Why?????This story is action packed, sensuous, and highly addictive. Yes, crack cocaine! I loved it! I was completely enthralled. What I loved about this book is that J.R. Ward doesn't waste anytime and the writing is tight, the romance is not too sappy, her wording and dialogue is so much fun to read, the world-building is epic and everything she puts in this book is important. This band of “brothers” is extremely easy to fall in love with – fantastic!I’m keeping this review short because there are simply A LOT of reviews out there regarding this series.I. Loved. It.Period.Enough. Said.
    more
  • Sarai
    January 1, 1970
    This one is not going so well. I am getting sick of the these great fighters that remind me of want to be thugs with their slang and cars and rap music. But to redeem them she tosses in leather? Seriously if I hear bro, what's up and WTF one more time I'm through. Not to mention a blind hero who can smell how the heroine looks????? Anywho I give it 25 more pages. Oh did anyone else skip the parts of Mr. X I just can't stand them... No screw it I'm done.
    more
  • P
    January 1, 1970
    “You don't know this yet. But you are Mine” First time I read this book, I fell in love with it irrevocably. J.R. Ward revealed the sexy and badass characters from the very first page. Wrath, my beloved king, was not looking for love but when he looks upon Beth, his world is changed. The chemistry between them is beyond exploding. It's a dynamite destroying and crushing my sanity into pieces. “Welcome to the wonderful world of jealousy, he thought. For the price of admission, you get a splittin “You don't know this yet. But you are Mine” First time I read this book, I fell in love with it irrevocably. J.R. Ward revealed the sexy and badass characters from the very first page. Wrath, my beloved king, was not looking for love but when he looks upon Beth, his world is changed. The chemistry between them is beyond exploding. It's a dynamite destroying and crushing my sanity into pieces. “Welcome to the wonderful world of jealousy, he thought. For the price of admission, you get a splitting headache, a nearly irresistable urge to commit murder, and an inferiority complex. Yippee.” The world in BDB is myterious and virile with supernatural creatures. Vampires don't suck blood from human, they drinks from their race. So the story goes around how Wrath tried to push Beth away in the beginning, but she's irresistable. After that, he just can't ignore his heart no more. The romance has the great potential. I loved the ending, it's very exciting to see how the next book will pick up after the most sexy character, Rage.This is my second read. And Dark Lover is still my favoite of this genre. I was so impressed. J.R. Ward narrated her story very well making me feel every character and emotion. 5 Stars.More at https://goo.gl/G0cwHa
    more
  • Sophia Triad
    January 1, 1970
    Wrath and Beth Whatever he had, she wanted."I thought we'd try this again," he said.His voice was low, a deep rumble in his solid chest. He had the sliver of an accent, but she couldn't place it."Who are you?" she breathed in a whisper."I'm here for you." So...this is by far my favourite PNR series and it will be my favourite PNR series for ever and ever no matter where the story goes, no matter who dies and who lives, no matter who appears and who disappears, no matter who is paired with whom Wrath and Beth Whatever he had, she wanted."I thought we'd try this again," he said.His voice was low, a deep rumble in his solid chest. He had the sliver of an accent, but she couldn't place it."Who are you?" she breathed in a whisper."I'm here for you." So...this is by far my favourite PNR series and it will be my favourite PNR series for ever and ever no matter where the story goes, no matter who dies and who lives, no matter who appears and who disappears, no matter who is paired with whomThis is my favourite PNR series, because it is the series that introduced this genre to me and I am a very loyal and sentimental girl and there is no way that I will ever forget my first love.And there is no way that I will not forgive and accept anything that makes my heroes suffer. They are tough boys, they can handle it.Anyway, I have decided to do another reread of the series and write a few of my thoughts for each book. And I suppose this will be one of the hardest things I have done in terms of reviewing. Because what I can write about something that I love so much?Honestly if it was possible, I would have liked to quote the whole book in my review...
    more
  •  ⚔ Sh3lly - Cranky Crone of Rabid Hedgehogs and Fire Breathing Kittens ⚔
    January 1, 1970
    Yep, I'm reading it again. Buddy (Re)Read with my MacHalo girls starting October 22, 2015.New thoughts... this still hits all the right notes for me. I think it holds up well for PNR written 10 years ago! There are a couple stereotypes, but you know, not many. The girl gets saved, but so does the guy. The two leads are well-matched and neither is eye-rolling. Wrath and Beth are my favorite couple. It's like comfort food for me. I'm very happy this was still so great for me on my 4th read. Even t Yep, I'm reading it again. Buddy (Re)Read with my MacHalo girls starting October 22, 2015.New thoughts... this still hits all the right notes for me. I think it holds up well for PNR written 10 years ago! There are a couple stereotypes, but you know, not many. The girl gets saved, but so does the guy. The two leads are well-matched and neither is eye-rolling. Wrath and Beth are my favorite couple. It's like comfort food for me. I'm very happy this was still so great for me on my 4th read. Even though I do admit to skimming certain sections. I think that is normal after you read a book so many times. :) Original review: Ok, Kelly mentioned vampire porn today in a post and then Heather flagged this as maybe and I saw it in my feed and THEN it made me realize I never wrote a review for this! It's one I just added when I first joined GRs. So... this book:First of all, if you don't like vampires, don't even bother. Second of all, if you don't like romance, don't even bother. Third of all, if you don't like vampire romance, then really, don't bother.But if you do love you some vamps and some PNR, this is absolutely one of the best. J.R. Ward knows her PNR. This series gets stale as it goes on...and on...and on. But in the beginning, this is some good shizz.Her vampires are grind-your-teeth sexy...masculine warriors who curse and drink and kick some ass. And know how to treat a lady. In bed. Yes, it's got some raunchy scenes, cussing, violence, etc. But it's damn good. So, lots of sexy times in this series. I love Wrath and Beth too and they are the first couple. Each book follows the same formula: one hot vampire gets a "mate." They have to fight the bad guy in-between. Yeah, there's actual plot and arcs that carry over and world- building (and well-written sex - wink wink). When I first read this, I was a newb to the PNR genre too, so it was like the best thing ever. Good times. :)Someone posted this pic of Beth and Wrath on Pinterest and even though Wrath is supposed to be physically larger, it's still pretty accurate -and HOT.
    more
  • Mo
    January 1, 1970
    He smiled. “Hey, they like you.”“And thank God for that,” she murmered, looking down at the daggers. Well, I finally got around to reading about the BDB. Am I suddenly a Vampire Fan? Not totally, but I am fairly intrigued by the story. “You don't know this yet. But you are Mine- Wrath” I think if dear Butch was not present, I may not have continued with the series but I love his story and his banter with V.I have to wait until Book 4 to get his story.Think I am going to like “Z” too …Next in li He smiled. “Hey, they like you.”“And thank God for that,” she murmered, looking down at the daggers. Well, I finally got around to reading about the BDB. Am I suddenly a Vampire Fan? Not totally, but I am fairly intrigued by the story. “You don't know this yet. But you are Mine- Wrath” I think if dear Butch was not present, I may not have continued with the series but I love his story and his banter with V.I have to wait until Book 4 to get his story.Think I am going to like “Z” too …Next in line is …
    more
  • Beatriz
    January 1, 1970
    Reto #23 PopSugar 2017: Un libro con el lomo rojo Hace tiempo que no leía este tipo de historias paranormales con machos súper poderosos y posesivos, que exudan testosterona por todos sus poros, del tipo de los carpatianos de Christine Feehan o de mis adorados cazadores oscuros de Sherrilyn Kenyon.¿Qué decir? La historia tiene algunos fallos y bastantes incongruencias en el actuar de sus personajes… pero definitivamente entretiene, engancha y en muchas partes te deja con una sonrisa bobalicona. Reto #23 PopSugar 2017: Un libro con el lomo rojo Hace tiempo que no leía este tipo de historias paranormales con machos súper poderosos y posesivos, que exudan testosterona por todos sus poros, del tipo de los carpatianos de Christine Feehan o de mis adorados cazadores oscuros de Sherrilyn Kenyon.¿Qué decir? La historia tiene algunos fallos y bastantes incongruencias en el actuar de sus personajes… pero definitivamente entretiene, engancha y en muchas partes te deja con una sonrisa bobalicona.Quizá por ser la primera entrega, el contexto sobrenatural en que se basa la historia no me convenció mucho… vamos a ver qué pasa más adelante, pero por ahora me quedo con el universo creado por Christine Feehan en su serie Oscura.Estaba indecisa en mi valoración pero finalmente me he quedado con las 4 estrellas ya que la parte final es de infarto. Beth me pareció lo máximo y si hay alguien que debe gobernar a este pueblo, definitivamente es ella. Todos los personajes secundarios me gustaron mucho y espero poder leer pronto las historias de Zsadist y del detective Butch O’Neal.
    more
  • Sandra
    January 1, 1970
    'Fucking Awesome' doesn't quite cover it. Captivating HotEpicAmazing Feels more like it. Meet my sexy Wrath... Wrath is the only true purebred vampire left on earth. He's the leader of the black dagger brotherhood - the 6 strongest vampire warriors who defend their race from slayers. When one of his most loyal warriors dies, he has to make the last quest his friend gave him - protect his half vampire daughter...His touch ignites a dawning hunger that threatens to consume them both.This is how i 'Fucking Awesome' doesn't quite cover it. Captivating HotEpicAmazing Feels more like it. Meet my sexy Wrath... Wrath is the only true purebred vampire left on earth. He's the leader of the black dagger brotherhood - the 6 strongest vampire warriors who defend their race from slayers. When one of his most loyal warriors dies, he has to make the last quest his friend gave him - protect his half vampire daughter...His touch ignites a dawning hunger that threatens to consume them both.This is how i felt after reading Dark Lover... I had a wide grin on my face, especially after the sneak preview of the next book - Lover Eternal (Rhage's story!). I cannot wait to get my hands on it! THE WRITING STYLEEveryone probably already knows this, but J.R Ward's style of writing is absolutely phenomenal!I love it!Because of it, i could easily get into the book from the first few chapters and that hasn't happened in god knows how long. The description of everything is brilliant and helps you visualize everything in your head.I could see my Wrath and Beth pretty easily! THE CHARACTERS They are all FABULOUS! The MC were very well described and developed. I loved Wrath! He's so sexy and sweet!But Beth sometimes got on my nerves - she was being mean to Wrath and i really felt like shutting her up and slapping her in the face. But she got better as the book progressed. THE BROTHERHOODMy main reason for my 5 star rating.Gosh, i think it was the best thing in this whole book. The love, support and loyalty these guys had for one another made me melt! It was so heartwarming and just 'awww'. Who would think that these tough warriors had it in them to care so much about each other? WHO'S MY FAVORITE BROTHER THEN?................Zsadist. My emotions go overboard when i read how they treat him! I WANT TO STAB THEM IN THE FREAKING EYE! Why is everyone so mean to him?! Why is everyone disgusted by the way he looks. He better get the best book, love story, and girl who isn't so afraid of him she's about to shit herself in the pants (I'm talking about ya Beth!), otherwise i'll go mad. THE ENDING was action packedRomanticA tiny bit shocking (view spoiler)[When the brothers scarred Wrath's back in Beth's name for the mating ceremony. (hide spoiler)]And a total HEA (hopefully). Overall, Dark Lover was an outstanding 1st book in the series that i loved, loved, loved. Had me hooked till the end. Can't wait for the 2nd book (which i'll be reading as soon as damn possible), and even before that i'll be dying to read about my beloved Zsadist (even though it'll break my heart to see him with someone else. But if he's happy, i'm gonna be happy too!) :)
    more
  • Jennifer Kyle
    January 1, 1970
    I have officially popped my Black Dagger Brotherhood Series cherry! And wow did I LIKE IT!!!!Why the hell did I wait so long? Why have you? Still kicking this series around on your to read lists. I was just like you the sheer number of books in this series had me holding off starting. What a MISTAKE! The first book was easy reading, fast paced, exciting and fun! You say you don’t do paranormal? Well these characters of the Black Dagger Brotherhood could be whatever J.R. Ward says they are and be I have officially popped my Black Dagger Brotherhood Series cherry! And wow did I LIKE IT!!!!Why the hell did I wait so long? Why have you? Still kicking this series around on your to read lists. I was just like you the sheer number of books in this series had me holding off starting. What a MISTAKE! The first book was easy reading, fast paced, exciting and fun! You say you don’t do paranormal? Well these characters of the Black Dagger Brotherhood could be whatever J.R. Ward says they are and believe me I’ll read it. This hot bunch of vampires were...CRAZY HOT. I have a new appreciation for big vampire warriors who wear leather. I fell for all the characters that were presented in this first book. I’m anxious to learn everyone’s story and carry on with this series.So heads up, this book was funny, sexy, romantic and suspenseful. I can’t stress enough...HOT GUYS ARE INSIDE THIS BOOK!On to the next one leelans!
    more
  • Amy (Foxy)
    January 1, 1970
    **4.5 BITE ME stars**The Black Dagger Brotherhood series is NOT your teen daughter's Twilight books. The PG version of vampires will NOT be found in the following pages. The Brotherhood is NOT teenager vampires but instead men who aren't afraid to protect what is rightfully theirs. They don't shy away from sex and marking a woman as their own. DARK LOVER is Wrath's story. W - warriorR - rulerA - alphaT - the KingH - honor Cheat sheet for the brotherhood : Wrath: last pure-blood vampire in existe **4.5 BITE ME stars**The Black Dagger Brotherhood series is NOT your teen daughter's Twilight books. The PG version of vampires will NOT be found in the following pages. The Brotherhood is NOT teenager vampires but instead men who aren't afraid to protect what is rightfully theirs. They don't shy away from sex and marking a woman as their own. DARK LOVER is Wrath's story. W - warriorR - rulerA - alphaT - the KingH - honor Cheat sheet for the brotherhood : Wrath: last pure-blood vampire in existence. Dark Lover(#1) The King (#12)Rhage: is the strongest and most beautiful of the Brothers. Nicknamed "Hollywood." Lover Eternal (#2)Zsadist: has a twin, Phury. Described as "ruined, not broken." Lover Awakened (#3)Butch/Dhestroyer: is the only human male ever to be allowed within the Brotherhood. Nickname "Cop." Lover Revealed (#4)Vishous: is the smartest Brother, and the one who is specially gifted/cursed. Lover Unbound (#5)Phury: Zsadist's twin brother and loyal to his brother. Lover Enshrined (#6)Rehvenge: Lover Avenged (#7)John Matthew/Tehrror: is (view spoiler)[ the reincarnation of Darius. (hide spoiler)]Lover Mine (#8)Dr. Manuel "Manny" Manello: is Chief of Surgery at St. Francis Hospital. Lover Unleashed (#9) Tohrment: Lover Reborn (#10)Qhuinn: has mismatched eyes. Lover at Last (#11)Blaylock/"Blay": Lover at Last (#11)SERIES: To find out when The Shadows will be released and if there will be more books in the series click here.Novellas: (#6.5)
    more
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    4 SWEET-VAMPIRE-PEACHES STARS!!!!!My Wrath:Wrath is the king who never ascended to the throne. His parents died when he was young, and he blames himself for not being able to save them, so he feels as if he is not fit to be king. He’s a huge vamp with a bad attitude, and I dig every single inch of him. I don’t care how mean he is…I LOVE an asshole!My Beth:Beth thinks her life is normal and boring…nope! Little does she know that she is half-vampire, a rare breed. Beth is a strong character who sh 4 SWEET-VAMPIRE-PEACHES STARS!!!!!My Wrath:Wrath is the king who never ascended to the throne. His parents died when he was young, and he blames himself for not being able to save them, so he feels as if he is not fit to be king. He’s a huge vamp with a bad attitude, and I dig every single inch of him. I don’t care how mean he is…I LOVE an asshole!My Beth:Beth thinks her life is normal and boring…nope! Little does she know that she is half-vampire, a rare breed. Beth is a strong character who shows some innocence in certain areas, but it’s not annoying. I really enjoy her as a heroine, especially because I’ve seen her grow throughout the 11 books.Wrath makes a promise to an old friend to protect Beth. Things escalate quickly and they GET.IT.ON! (It bothered me the first time around, but I loved it the second time around.) Wrath tries to leave Beth to protect her from himself, but he just can’t stay away. After reading this for the second time, I see how well Ward sets up her characters for future books. She starts so early. I didn’t pay enough attention the first time around. Ward is so detailed in her character development. She knows exactly who they are and what is going to happen 5 books from now! I loved this book even more the second time because I know the characters so well. I’ve been in Ward’s head for 11 books!!! And I still cannot get enough! I am so excited to get more of Wrath and Beth in the 12th book!
    more
  • Emily May
    January 1, 1970
    Well, as a self-confessed stalker and worshipper of Tatiana's reviews, I had serious reservations about this book. In fact, I had serious reservations about the whole series. Yeah, yeah, we all have different tastes but I can't help it, in my opinion Tatiana has got it completely right every time. However...I liked this one. It was never ever going to get 5 stars, simply because it was always inevitably going to be compared to the Fever series with it being in the paranormal romance genre, but I Well, as a self-confessed stalker and worshipper of Tatiana's reviews, I had serious reservations about this book. In fact, I had serious reservations about the whole series. Yeah, yeah, we all have different tastes but I can't help it, in my opinion Tatiana has got it completely right every time. However...I liked this one. It was never ever going to get 5 stars, simply because it was always inevitably going to be compared to the Fever series with it being in the paranormal romance genre, but I did enjoy the read. Wrath was no Jericho Barrons (aka immortal sex on legs) but I liked that he had a back story rather than being another typical two-dimensional vampire to add to the ever-growing pile. And I loved the Brothers, their inter-chemistry with each other and Butch was what can only be described as cute - for serious want of a better word.I just don't know why so many authors think that a romance must be all "Oh, my love, you are everything to me..." and "Their eyes met and suddenly there was no one else in the world but the two of them". Sorry to bring it up again, but I absolutely loved how there was none of that crap in the Fever books, it was deliciously sexy and they obviously loved each other in a way that Karen Marie Moning didn't have to point out in every single sentence... because it was so wonderfully obvious! One of my favourite parts is when Mac discovers who was really behind her sister's death and Barrons comes in all grumpy and cynical until she says his name. And that whole wonderful part where he just talks to her and understands... he never says "you are the only reason I want to live" but you know how deep he feels for her. Now that's literary romance for you.Okay, so before this review is completely taken over with my obsession love for the Fever series, back to the BDB. Beth is a so-so heroine, I'm hoping she improves. She's gutsy and not a pushover, which I like, but she's also a bit lame. The author needs to give her more of a personality (like someone whose name begins with 'M' in a series whose name begins with 'F'), so far I don't dislike her but I'm going to need to care if I'm hoping to continue with this series. Which I am. It's not a bad start at all and I'm looking forward to exploring the other brothers, especially Zsadist - what is that guy's story?? He intrigues me most of all. He isn't pretentious, he isn't a hero, finally something gritty to get my teeth into. Let's see where it goes from here.
    more
Write a review