Girls Like Us
From the celebrated and bestselling author of The Banker's Wife, worlds collide when an FBI agent investigates a string of grisly murders on Long Island that raises the impossible question: What happens when the primary suspect is your father?FBI Agent Nell Flynn hasn't been home in ten years. Nell and her father, Homicide Detective Martin Flynn, have never had much of a relationship. And Suffolk County will always be awash in memories of her mother, Marisol, who was brutally murdered when Nell was just seven.When Martin Flynn dies in a motorcycle accident, Nell returns to the house she grew up in so that she can spread her father's ashes and close his estate. At the behest of her father's partner, Detective Lee Davis, Nell becomes involved in an investigation into the murders of two young women in Suffolk County. The further Nell digs, the more likely it seems to her that her father should be the prime suspect--and that his friends on the police force are covering his tracks. Plagued by doubts about her mother's murder--and her own role in exonerating her father in that case--Nell can't help but ask questions about who killed Ria Ruiz and Adriana Marques and why. But she may not like the answers she finds--not just about those she loves, but about herself.

Girls Like Us Details

TitleGirls Like Us
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 2nd, 2019
PublisherG.P. Putnam's Sons
ISBN-139780525535805
Rating
GenreMystery, Thriller, Mystery Thriller, Fiction

Girls Like Us Review

  • Nilufer Ozmekik
    January 1, 1970
    Four I’m hooked from the first page, gripping, fast-paced, making me skip lunch and five tea times ( I already lost 3 pounds, so it works better than Keto Diet) and turning pages nonstop to learn how it ends stars!!! The plot: FBI agent Nell Flynn returns back to her childhood for his estranged police officer father’s sudden death from motorcycle accident. She finds herself involve into the investigation of grisly murders of young girls and search of a serial killer.The story progression: As soo Four I’m hooked from the first page, gripping, fast-paced, making me skip lunch and five tea times ( I already lost 3 pounds, so it works better than Keto Diet) and turning pages nonstop to learn how it ends stars!!! The plot: FBI agent Nell Flynn returns back to her childhood for his estranged police officer father’s sudden death from motorcycle accident. She finds herself involve into the investigation of grisly murders of young girls and search of a serial killer.The story progression: As soon as she starts digging more about murders, she finds out her father might have involved. She found his offshore bank account, an apartment lease for a young Latina girl, one of the victim’s cell phone and photos of victims at her father’s place. Considering his father’s anger management issues and alcoholism, barely raising her alone because of her mother’s violent murder, increase the suspicions over him!The characters: Nell acts like rough, introvert, loner, a typical tomboy. But she’s smart. She can catch the subtleties efficiently. She acts nonchalant, but she’s emotional, hurt, shaken and she needs to make peace with her past to move on!This book keeps your attention alert, pumping adrenaline, endorphin into your veins, makes you feel like you finished a marathon, sweaty, breathless, smelling. But you finally realized all the pieces of puzzle have found the right places so you may get a proper and peaceful sleep. One part about one of my favorite character broke my part. Maybe I shouldn’t connect them so easily. It always makes me feel like I get the news that one of my best TV series is canceled! (As the most mature reaction, I start to cry and scream “WHHYYYY”! So what happens in fiction world should stay in fiction world, right?)As a summary: I like it a lot. Better than most crime thrillers with satisfying ending and smartly story development. If you keen on this genre, it’s a great “finished at one sit” book for you.
    more
  • BernLuvsBooks (Mom to 2 Posh Lil Divas)
    January 1, 1970
    4.5/5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐💫 A string of grisly murders on Long Island, a serial killer and a BAU profiler with doubts that her father might be the killer - I was ALL IN for this book. I mean, it sounds like it could be an episode of my fave show Criminal Minds. How could I not read it? This book totally lived up to my expectations! If you enjoy mystery thrillers pick this one up - it will not disappoint. The book was twisty, tension filled and mysterious, the writing was excellent and the main character was a s 4.5/5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️💫 A string of grisly murders on Long Island, a serial killer and a BAU profiler with doubts that her father might be the killer - I was ALL IN for this book. I mean, it sounds like it could be an episode of my fave show Criminal Minds. How could I not read it? This book totally lived up to my expectations! If you enjoy mystery thrillers pick this one up - it will not disappoint. The book was twisty, tension filled and mysterious, the writing was excellent and the main character was a strong, courageous bad a-- female! Nell Flynn hasn't seen her father in 10 years when she is forced to return home following his death. Nell's shaky relationship with her father is about to get even rockier as she is pulled in to a local investigation of a young undocumented latina sex worker that is suspected to be the work of a serial killer. Nell quickly realizes that her old hometown might be harboring deadly secrets and there are few, if any, people she can trust - including her own father.Girls Like Us kept me on the edge of my seat, furiously turning the pages. I loved that there were so many strong females in positions of power who weren't afraid to do what had to be done in the face of men who were trying to keep them subservient. I also appreciated that these women were duty bound and determined to uncover what happened to these young women and saw them as "girls like us" despite the hometown boy consensus that these undocumented, latina sex workers were "less than" and not worthy of a full blown, intensive investigation. Nell and her FBI crew were definitely the kind of people you want to see in law enforcement and I'm hoping we might see more of them in the future. Hint, hint Cristina Alger! 😉Huge thank you to Cristina Alger, Putnam Books and Edelweiss for an arc of this book in exchange for my honest review. Obviously, I loved it! 🥰
    more
  • Berit☀️✨
    January 1, 1970
    Cristina Alger has a new fan!🙋🏻♀ This was a compulsive dark and gritty ride. Nell has returned home to spread her fathersashes, after being gone for 10 years. Nell is a FBI agent who works in the Behavioral Analysis Unit, amd is currently on injury leave after being shot. Nell thought she was just going to stay home long enough to settle her dad’s estate, but she soon finds herself in the middle of a serial murder investigation. An investigation that will expose corruption and reveal secrets tha Cristina Alger has a new fan!🙋🏻‍♀️ This was a compulsive dark and gritty ride. Nell has returned home to spread her fathersashes, after being gone for 10 years. Nell is a FBI agent who works in the Behavioral Analysis Unit, amd is currently on injury leave after being shot. Nell thought she was just going to stay home long enough to settle her dad’s estate, but she soon finds herself in the middle of a serial murder investigation. An investigation that will expose corruption and reveal secrets that could possibly destroy those close to Nell, including her father’s Legacy. The story drug me down a dark and twisty road with Nell who would stop at nothing to find the truth. Nell was one strong relentless Bad b*tch. I love her obsession with justice and the truth. I appreciated how hard she fought for these girls even though others thought they were “worthless“. The title of this book is so appropriate. This was a book filled with strong, smart, and spirited women. GIRLS LIKE US!💪🏻An absolute must read for all crime thriller fans! An intricate intriguing story full of well-developed characters and a multi layered Mystery. The perfect summer read! !*** Big thanks to GP Putnam for my gifted copy ***
    more
  • Lindsay - Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars! Loved the characters! Loved the atmosphere! Loved the storyline!Twelve years after moving away, FBI agent Nell Flynn, returns to her small seaside hometown to handle closing her father’s estate. Nell’s mother was murdered when Nell was a child and since then, she and her father, a police detective, had a rocky relationship. When Nell was old enough to be on her own, she left her hometown and never looked back. Now that she is back in her childhood town following her father’s death, ol 4.5 stars! Loved the characters! Loved the atmosphere! Loved the storyline!Twelve years after moving away, FBI agent Nell Flynn, returns to her small seaside hometown to handle closing her father’s estate. Nell’s mother was murdered when Nell was a child and since then, she and her father, a police detective, had a rocky relationship. When Nell was old enough to be on her own, she left her hometown and never looked back. Now that she is back in her childhood town following her father’s death, old memories return and she is drawn to looking into some unanswered questions about her past. Shortly after her arrival, a dead body is found and Nell finds herself helping the local police investigate. Could the body be connected to one of her father’s old cases?These characters were fantastic! I ADORED Nell! She was such a strong yet vulnerable character who I was rooting for from start to finish. Each character carried an air of mystery which kept me curious to see how things would play out. The atmosphere was thick and engrossing throughout this thrilling and edgy storyline which had me flipping the pages as quickly as possible. I really enjoyed the writing – the pace and flow of the story was excellent. I look forward to reading more from this author!Thank you to Edelweiss for providing me with an ARC to read and review!Girls Like Us is available now!
    more
  • marilyn
    January 1, 1970
    Nell Flynn is an FBI agent who hasn't been home in ten years. Now she is back because her police detective dad had died in a motorcycle accident and she needs to scatter his ashes and deal with his home, will, and then leave Suffolk County behind forever. Her hometown really doesn't have good memories for her since her mom was murdered in their home when she was seven, and her distant, prone to anger dad, didn't make growing up a pleasant experience. Nell is happiest living out of a suitcase, on Nell Flynn is an FBI agent who hasn't been home in ten years. Now she is back because her police detective dad had died in a motorcycle accident and she needs to scatter his ashes and deal with his home, will, and then leave Suffolk County behind forever. Her hometown really doesn't have good memories for her since her mom was murdered in their home when she was seven, and her distant, prone to anger dad, didn't make growing up a pleasant experience. Nell is happiest living out of a suitcase, on the road all the time, investigating cases on her own, working all the time. People are not her thing, work is what she loves and does and working is when she feels the most comfortable. The young partner of Nell's dad, Lee Davis, asks her to collaborate on a grisly murder investigation of two young sex workers and there are signs that their murders could be the work of a serial killer. It's clear to Nell that law enforcement in Suffolk County is corrupt and several people on the police force could be involved in crimes that include murder. In fact, the more Nell learns, the more she wonders if her dad could have killed her mother all those years ago and might have killed the young sex workers. Nell realizes there are few people she can trust and that even her life may be in danger. This is a very grim, gritty, story and I enjoyed a lot but there is very little happiness to be found in Nell's life and the book. I wouldn't mind reading more about Nell's work and future if there is ever a sequel. She is one no nonsense woman who has no time for fluff in her life. Thank you G.P. Putnam's Sons/Penguin Publishing Group and Edelweiss for this ARC.
    more
  • Sandy
    January 1, 1970
    It should have been so simple. FBI agent Nell Flynn hasn’t seen her father in 10 years when she gets news he died in a motorcycle accident. All she has to do is return to Long Island, scatter his ashes & put the house up for sale. Poor Nell…she has no idea her visit will make her rethink everything she thought she knew about about her family & friends.Nell is on medical leave due to events around her last case. Being back in her childhood home lifts the lid on a lot of memories & tha It should have been so simple. FBI agent Nell Flynn hasn’t seen her father in 10 years when she gets news he died in a motorcycle accident. All she has to do is return to Long Island, scatter his ashes & put the house up for sale. Poor Nell…she has no idea her visit will make her rethink everything she thought she knew about about her family & friends.Nell is on medical leave due to events around her last case. Being back in her childhood home lifts the lid on a lot of memories & that’s amplified when her father’s colleagues begin to drop by. Martin Flynn was a cop & these men were his brothers in blue. Nell’s mother died young & she’s known most of them since she was a kid. Among them is Lee Davis, an old school friend & her dad’s last partner. And he has a favour to ask. The body of a young woman has just been found. The MO is not only disturbing but eerily reminiscent of a case her father was working on when he died. Lee is well aware Nell works with the Behavioural Analysis Unit & wants her to visit the crime scene to see if she has any insight to share. That should have been the end of it. But Nell’s innate curiosity & need for answers kicks in & soon she’s spending more time investigating than dealing with her father’s estate. Picking away at the dead woman’s life leads her to information that turns her world upside down. As she hunts for a suspect, witness statements & other evidence keep pointing to the same person….her father.There are many threads in this book & it’s better you go in without any more hints from me. An intricate plot & well developed characters combine for a thought provoking read with plenty of surprises. I read this author’s previous work (The Banker’s Wife ) & found this slower with darker tones I enjoyed. The story is just as much about Nell’s past as it is about the present. There are long passages interspersed throughout that reveal various vignettes from her childhood. They help us understand her relationship with her parents & why Nell left when she was 18. But I did find this frustrating at times as it slowed the pace & any building tension was snuffed each time the current story line was interrupted. They inform the present to some extent but fewer of them would pack the same punch & even out the book’s flow. It would also provide more space for the ending. The pace picks up at warp speed with many elements wrapped up at once but instead of “being there” while it all went down, we’re only told about them after the fact.But what these passages did very well is illuminate how our memories are influenced by time & circumstances. Things you remember from childhood can take on a different spin when revisited as an adult. Experience gives us the tools to see more angles & like Nell, you might be left wondering what was real. I really liked Nell. She’s smart, confident & fearless. She may have had a rocky past with her father but he’s still her Dad. She’s a daughter who doesn’t want to acknowledge where the clues lead but she’s also an FBI agent who can’t ignore evidence. It’s one thing to not really like your father, quite another to accept the possibility he’s a killer. Either way, Nell decides she has to know & her desire for the truth ends up changing the lives of everyone involved. If this is the start of a series, I’d gladly tag along on her next adventure.
    more
  • Chris
    January 1, 1970
    “Girls Like Us is something special: A beautiful, deeply textured novel and a poignant, surprising mystery. I loved it, every chapter and every word. I’m going to be thinking about it as a reader, a father, and a storyteller for a long, long time.”
    more
  • Norma * Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    An easy-breezy, entertaining and quick read!GIRLS LIKE US by CHRISTINA ALGER was an interesting premise with a fabulous and strong female character that mildly held my interest throughout. I was immediately intrigued and thoroughly enjoyed the mystery but felt like I was never fully engaged though. I was a little disappointed with the way a few things played out in the end which lowered my rating to 3 stars.I enjoyed it just didn't love it as much as I would have liked. It was a much loved book An easy-breezy, entertaining and quick read!GIRLS LIKE US by CHRISTINA ALGER was an interesting premise with a fabulous and strong female character that mildly held my interest throughout. I was immediately intrigued and thoroughly enjoyed the mystery but felt like I was never fully engaged though. I was a little disappointed with the way a few things played out in the end which lowered my rating to 3 stars.I enjoyed it just didn't love it as much as I would have liked. It was a much loved book by quite a few other Traveling Friends though so please don't let my rating/review deter you from picking this one up.3.5 Stars rounded down!Thank you so much to Edelweiss, G.P. Putnam’s Sons and Cristina Alger for the opportunity to read an advance digital copy of this book.
    more
  • Lisa
    January 1, 1970
    A dramatic and tension-filled crime thriller with a delightfully strong and courageous female protagonist.SUMMARYFBI Agent Nell Flynn hasn’t been home for ten years. It’s a place she had no desire to see again. Her mother had been brutally murdered there when she was only seven. She and her father never had a particularly close relationship. And now her father, a thirty-year homicide police officer, is killed in a motorcycle accident. She returns to Suffolk County on Long Island, New York to sca A dramatic and tension-filled crime thriller with a delightfully strong and courageous female protagonist.SUMMARYFBI Agent Nell Flynn hasn’t been home for ten years. It’s a place she had no desire to see again. Her mother had been brutally murdered there when she was only seven. She and her father never had a particularly close relationship. And now her father, a thirty-year homicide police officer, is killed in a motorcycle accident. She returns to Suffolk County on Long Island, New York to scatter his ashes and sell his house. While she is there, her father‘s partner, Lee Davis asks Nell for help on the investigation of the murders of two young Hispanic women. It’s the case her father was working on when he died As Nell investigates, she discovers that her father had all the traits they were looking for in the murder suspect. He was tall, left-handed and drove a red truck. His truck had might even had been seen sitting outside one of the victims house just before she disappeared. Could his friends on the police force be covering his tracks. Did her father perhaps kill himself over his guilt or was something else going on here?REVIEWGIRLS LIKE US is a irresistible crime thriller with a strong, vulnerable and relatable protagonist. Nell’s courage and persistence drives the plot of this dramatic story. I was hooked when Nell climbs on board Glenn Dorsey’s fishing boat with a cooler of Guinness and an urn. The plot is tightly woven and packed full of tension and mystery. Suffolk County on Long Island seems like the perfect setting for this gray novel. My favorite part of the novel was Nell’s character, particularly her objectivity and need for answers. I loved how the story is told from her perspective. While I didn’t like the frequency of Nell’s flash backs to her childhood, I did appreciate how they greatly informed the backstory of her relationship with her father. In a sense this is a story about how our past, our childhood, make us who we are today. If you like crime mysteries you have to put this one on your reading list. Author Cristina Alger is a lifelong New Yorker. She graduated from Harvard University and NYU Law School. She worked as a financial analyst and a corporate attorney before becoming a writer. Her third novel The Banker’s Wife (2018) was a USA Today bestseller and was one of my favorite books of 2018. Thanks to Netgalley for an advance reading copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Publisher G. P. Putnams’s SonsPublished July 2, 2019Review www.bluestockingreviews.com
    more
  • Julie (JuJu)
    January 1, 1970
    I’d really like to give this book 3.5 ⭐’s. It was mysterious and twisty enough to keep me intrigued to the end, and the writing was excellent, so I’m rounding up to 4 ⭐’s.My previous read was focused around memories. This book didn’t focus on memories quite as much, but they certainly played their part. Are they always reliable? Can we tell ourselves something enough times, it becomes real to us? The author threw out so many threads that lead in so many different directions, I wasn’t sure where I’d really like to give this book 3.5 ⭐️’s. It was mysterious and twisty enough to keep me intrigued to the end, and the writing was excellent, so I’m rounding up to 4 ⭐️’s.My previous read was focused around memories. This book didn’t focus on memories quite as much, but they certainly played their part. Are they always reliable? Can we tell ourselves something enough times, it becomes real to us? The author threw out so many threads that lead in so many different directions, I wasn’t sure where to focus my attention. I was kept guessing to the end!While Nell and her father went on a camping trip when she was seven, her mother stayed home. She was brutally murdered, so Nell was raised by her father. Marty was a cop with the local PD, in the homicide division, but they were never very close. She grew up around his PD coworker’s and they were like her family. Dorsey, was even Nell’s godfather. Nell herself became an FBI agent in the BAU, after leaving home.She returns to her home in Long Island after her father is killed in a tragic motorcycle accident, to attend his funeral and take care of his estate. Just a quick trip and she’s out of there. Then a murder victim is found and she’s asked to consult on the case by Lee. Her father’s previous partner and another local that Nell grew up with. Her father had a case the previous summer that he never closed. Similar profile. She begins to suspect the local PD of corruption. Even her deceased father isn’t above her suspicion. It turns out that her father had secrets that could link him to the murder. But was he capable of murder? Even though they weren’t close, it’s hard to imagine the man that raised her being responsible for murder. And if the local PD is corrupt, she can’t share her suspicions with them.Excerpts: “So many puzzle pieces, none of which seem to fit. The white board looks like a spider’s web, connecting Suffolk County’s richest residents to its poorest.”Between the investigation and being in her childhood home, memories of her own mother’s murder begin to bubble to the surface. She was so young. She was never sure about what happened that night. Her dad had a fierce temper, but could he have killed his own wife...and her mother? I love trying new authors and Cristina Alger is one I’ll read again! Thank you to Edelweiss, G.P. Putnam’s Sons and Cristina Alger, for this ARC, in exchange for my honest review!My Rating: 4 ⭐️’sPublished: July 2nd 2019 by G.P. Putnam's SonsPages: 288Recommend: Yes
    more
  • Jasmine from How Useful It Is
    January 1, 1970
    I started reading Girls Like Us on 6/18/2019 and finished it on 6/21/2019 at 2:45am. This book is a great read! I enjoyed the conversations and connecting the dots from one murder scene to another. It has a slow start but picks up when a dead body was found. I like that the main character is independent and smart. She sounds like a tomboy who fixes her own roof and able to navigate around a rough house. The mystery and suspense were well placed and I couldn’t guess who the killer was. I enjoyed I started reading Girls Like Us on 6/18/2019 and finished it on 6/21/2019 at 2:45am. This book is a great read! I enjoyed the conversations and connecting the dots from one murder scene to another. It has a slow start but picks up when a dead body was found. I like that the main character is independent and smart. She sounds like a tomboy who fixes her own roof and able to navigate around a rough house. The mystery and suspense were well placed and I couldn’t guess who the killer was. I enjoyed the mystery with Nell’s dad.This book is told in the first person point of view following Nell Flynn, 28 FBI Agent as she and her father’s co-workers ride the fishing boat out to the open water to spread Nell’s dad’s ashes. She grew up with her dad, homicide detective after her mom was murdered but moved away for 10 years after high school. That is to say she hasn’t been close with her dad and doesn’t know what he’s been up to. Now she’s back home with an injured shoulder, a gunshot wound inflicted on the job about a month ago, to deal with the aftermath of her father’s untimely death. While at home, her high school classmate Lee, also her dad’s partner in homicide came to ask her for help on a new murder case, a body just discovered that morning. As she investigate, she couldn’t help but noticed the connection of the new murder case to the one her dad worked on last year.Girls Like Us is well written and an interesting read involving undocumented Latina. This book should’ve been longer because towards the end, I feel like it was all a summary instead of actual actions. I want to read the steps and strategies leading up to finding out who the killer is and the raid from the FBI. I think that would’ve been an adrenaline rush read. I would have enjoyed more if there’s a view of the bad guy, killer or the SCPD going about doing their misdeeds. Revealing everything after the fact makes the main character sounds smart but it takes away the excitement of the actual occurrences. I would also have enjoyed the process of police doing the undercover, walking among the enemies while pretending to be the bad guys. Overall, it was an interesting plot and I do recommend everyone to read this book.Pro: diversity, rich vs poor neighborhoods, local police vs FBI, unsolved murders, serial killerCon: lack of detailed actionsI rate it 4 stars!***Disclaimer: Many thanks to G.P. Putnam’s Sons for the opportunity to read and review. Please be assured that my opinions are honest.xoxo,Jasmine at www.howusefulitis.wordpress.com for more details
    more
  • Larry H
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars.What a pleasure it is to read a thriller that doesn't have an unreliable narrator, one which keeps you guessing about every single plot point because you don't know what is true and what is a figment of their imagination!FBI agent Nell Flynn returns to her childhood home in Long Island's Suffolk County for the first time in 10 years when her father, Martin, a homicide detective, is killed in a motorcycle accident.Nell and her father were never close, particularly after her mother was b 4.5 stars.What a pleasure it is to read a thriller that doesn't have an unreliable narrator, one which keeps you guessing about every single plot point because you don't know what is true and what is a figment of their imagination!FBI agent Nell Flynn returns to her childhood home in Long Island's Suffolk County for the first time in 10 years when her father, Martin, a homicide detective, is killed in a motorcycle accident.Nell and her father were never close, particularly after her mother was brutally murdered when Nell was seven. Even though she followed in Martin's footsteps and became a cop, their relationship was always a bit strained and never really went beyond the exchange of polite information and conversation."Dad had an unshakable, almost evangelical sense of right and wrong. But there were contradictions. He loathed drugs but felt comfortable pickling his liver in scotch....The criminals he most despised were abusers of women and children, but I once saw him strike my mother so hard across the face that a red outline of his hand was imprinted on her skin. Dad had his own code. I learned early not to second-guess it. At least, not out loud."Returning home to Suffolk County awakens a lot of memories for Nell, and she's anxious simply to scatter Martin's ashes, get his house ready to sell, and never return again. But her father's partner, whom she knew from high school, asks for her help investigating the murder of a young woman whose body was found mutilated in a park. It seems this murder is connected to another murder uncovered about a month earlier, which means there very well could be a serial killer on the loose in Suffolk County.It turns out that Martin was investigating the first murder when he died. While the police seem to have a suspect who looks good for both murders, or at least was involved somehow, they couldn't seem to make the charges stick the first time, but they hope to nail him this time. Nell, however, sees that there are definitive doubts about this man's guilt, yet the police don't seem interested in pursuing any other avenues in terms of a suspect.The more Nell starts to dig into the lives of the two young women, the more she realizes that there is definitely a second suspect—her father. There are too many coincidences and too many connections. But could her father have been capable of murder? And if he murdered these two women, was he guilty of murdering her mother all those years ago? That question fills Nell with rage and sadness, especially because her seven-year-old self was her father's alibi.As Nell conducts her own secret investigation, she discovers the murders were part of a much larger operation, involving allegations of police brutality, blackmail, corruption, and prostitution, involving people far beyond Suffolk County. It's easy for the police to write off the two young women as victims because they were undocumented and occasionally worked as escorts, but Nell is determined that their deaths not be in vain—but she doesn't realize what a hornet's nest she's stirred up. Girls Like Us drew me in from the very first pages and didn't let go until the last. I read the book in one sitting, and stayed up late last night (or this morning, technically) to finish it. There certainly were a few twists I didn't see coming, one which confused me in the way it was initially presented and one which disappointed me a bit, but Cristina Alger didn't let up with the book's pacing until the very end.Nell is a fantastic character and I wouldn't mind seeing her featured in another book. I've been a big fan of Alger's writing since her first book, and I love the way each book she has written is somewhat different. I had been waiting to read Girls Like Us for a while, and I'm so glad it was as good as I hoped it would be. See all of my reviews at itseithersadnessoreuphoria.blogspot.com.Check out my list of the best books I read in 2018 at https://itseithersadnessoreuphoria.blogspot.com/2019/01/the-best-books-i-read-in-2018.html. You can follow me on Instagram at https://www.instagram.com/the.bookishworld.of.yrralh/.
    more
  • Toni
    January 1, 1970
    FBI agent Nell Flynn has never had a close relationship with her father Martin. When she was seven, her mother was brutally murdered in their home, while Nell was out camping with her father. The police quickly found a culprit, although there were some doubts voiced by an astute reporter. Now Nell is back to Suffolk county to scatter her father’s ashes. Her father, who had a recurring problem with alcohol, had a motorbike accident, which could and was easily attributed to his tiredness, slippery FBI agent Nell Flynn has never had a close relationship with her father Martin. When she was seven, her mother was brutally murdered in their home, while Nell was out camping with her father. The police quickly found a culprit, although there were some doubts voiced by an astute reporter. Now Nell is back to Suffolk county to scatter her father’s ashes. Her father, who had a recurring problem with alcohol, had a motorbike accident, which could and was easily attributed to his tiredness, slippery road conditions and old tires on the bike. Nell is still recovering, physically and mentally, from a shoot out during her previous case, when, unexpectedly, her father’s partner and Nell’s former schoolmate Lee Davis asks her to come to a murder scene and give a consult as a behavioural profiler. The victim is quickly identified as Adriana Marquez, a young Latina girl who lived with her sister’s family and provided escorting services from time to time. The case bears an uncanny resemblance to another cold case her father was working on. Soon Nell begins to suspect that her father might have known a lot more and could have even been involved in these crimes either as a perpetrator, or an accomplice.The book is extremely fast-paced and gripping. It kept me up until the small hours- I just needed to know how it was going to end. I loved the protagonist with her tenacious spirit and sense of justice. After all, Ria and Adriana were girls like us, girls who deserved a better life and chance for happiness. At the very least, as victims of these horrendous crimes, they deserve their case being properly investigated, the murderer punished and their death being mourned for what it was- a tragic waste of young life and hope.Highly recommended for anybody who loves action-packed thrillers with a strong female lead.Thank you to Edelweiss and G.P.Putnam’s sons for the ARC provided in exchange for an honest opinion.My reviews can also be found on:https://readingtonic.home.blog/
    more
  • Cindy Burnett
    January 1, 1970
    In a genre completely overrun with domestic thrillers and unreliable narrators, Girls Like Us is a breath of fresh air and a very welcome addition. A true mystery in the best sense of the word, Girls Like Us stars FBI agent Nell Flynn who has come to Suffolk County, on Long Island, New York, to handle her homicide detective father’s affairs following his untimely death. Soon after she arrives, the local police force asks her to consult on a case involving the deaths of two young women. The more In a genre completely overrun with domestic thrillers and unreliable narrators, Girls Like Us is a breath of fresh air and a very welcome addition. A true mystery in the best sense of the word, Girls Like Us stars FBI agent Nell Flynn who has come to Suffolk County, on Long Island, New York, to handle her homicide detective father’s affairs following his untimely death. Soon after she arrives, the local police force asks her to consult on a case involving the deaths of two young women. The more she investigates, the more Nell becomes convinced that her father was involved in their deaths and that someone is covering up his tracks. Beset by questions and uncertainty, Nell struggles to solve the murders amid doubts about the way the case is being handled by the local police.The story is told from Nell’s first person perspective which works perfectly. Alger’s prose is crisp and succinct, and the pacing of the story is flawless. Her carefully-crafted characters almost leap off the page, and the tense, taut storyline will keep readers on the edge of their seats.I was a huge fan of The Banker’s Wife and am thrilled that Alger has created another stellar and clever mystery and hope that Girls Like Us is the start of many more books involving Nell Flynn. I highly recommend Girls Like Us – it is a true page turner.
    more
  • Linda Strong
    January 1, 1970
    FBI Agent Nell Flynn has come home after an absence of 10 years. Her father has died in a motorcycle accident and she's there to spread his ashes and take care of his estate. He was a Homicide Detective and when his partner, Lee Davis, comes to pay his respects, he also wants something else from her.Nell's father was working a case of a murdered young woman when he died. There's been another woman brutally murdered and Lee wants her to consult on the case.Even though she is on medical leave, she FBI Agent Nell Flynn has come home after an absence of 10 years. Her father has died in a motorcycle accident and she's there to spread his ashes and take care of his estate. He was a Homicide Detective and when his partner, Lee Davis, comes to pay his respects, he also wants something else from her.Nell's father was working a case of a murdered young woman when he died. There's been another woman brutally murdered and Lee wants her to consult on the case.Even though she is on medical leave, she accepts without telling her supervisor. After all .. better to ask forgiveness than ask permission in her case.Nell's investigation leads her to believe her father may have been involved with local law enforcement covering up for him. Who does she turn to? Who can she trust? And how can she find the truth about her father?A slow start leads to a real page turner of a mystery. Well written with stand out characters, I found this one hard to put down.There are twists and turns and a very surprising ending.Many thanks to the author / GP Putnam & Sons / Netgalley / Edelweiss for the advance digital copy of this crime fiction. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.
    more
  • Lisa-Books Smiles
    January 1, 1970
    Review to come.
  • Louise Wilson
    January 1, 1970
    FBI Agent Nell Flynn has not seen her father for ten years when she gets the news that he has passed away in a motorbike accident. Her mother had been brutally murdered when Nell was just seven years old. She returns to Suffock County, Long Island to scatter his ashes and sell his house. While she is there, she is asked by her fathers partner, Lee Davis for help investigating the murders of two Latina women. The case is similar to another cold case her father had been working on. It's not long b FBI Agent Nell Flynn has not seen her father for ten years when she gets the news that he has passed away in a motorbike accident. Her mother had been brutally murdered when Nell was just seven years old. She returns to Suffock County, Long Island to scatter his ashes and sell his house. While she is there, she is asked by her fathers partner, Lee Davis for help investigating the murders of two Latina women. The case is similar to another cold case her father had been working on. It's not long before Nell suspects that her father knew a lot more and could even have been involved more than he should have.The pace is fast and the storyline gripping. The story is told from Nell's point of view. The book is well written with well rounded characters who were true to life, complies with some dark secrets. The tension builds throughput. I liked the authors style in writing. It's full of twists and surprises. My first book by the author but it won't be my last.I would like to thank NetGalley, Hodder& Stoughton and the author Christina Alger for my ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Betsy
    January 1, 1970
    Read the book instead of the blurb.If you haven't read the blurb yet, then don't. I think it gives away far too much, and this mystery/thriller would have been more enjoyable if I didn't know quite so much going into it.Other than that, this was a great quick read. Girls Like Us is different because the main character, Nell Flynn, is a totally badass female FBI agent, and the men get relegated to the bit parts.I hope Cristina Alger is starting a new series!Thanks to Edelweiss and G.P. Putnam's S Read the book instead of the blurb.If you haven't read the blurb yet, then don't. I think it gives away far too much, and this mystery/thriller would have been more enjoyable if I didn't know quite so much going into it.Other than that, this was a great quick read. Girls Like Us is different because the main character, Nell Flynn, is a totally badass female FBI agent, and the men get relegated to the bit parts.I hope Cristina Alger is starting a new series!Thanks to Edelweiss and G.P. Putnam's Sons for my DRC of this novel.
    more
  • Darinda
    January 1, 1970
    FBI Agent Nell Flynn returns to her hometown after her father’s death. The two of them had a strained relationship, ever since her mother’s murder years earlier. Her father was a homicide detective, and Nell gets involved with a case he was working at the time of his death.An intriguing mystery featuring a trustworthy female protagonist. Nell is smart, courageous, and independent. She also has a vulnerable side under her tough exterior. When she returns to her hometown, she starts to doubt thing FBI Agent Nell Flynn returns to her hometown after her father’s death. The two of them had a strained relationship, ever since her mother’s murder years earlier. Her father was a homicide detective, and Nell gets involved with a case he was working at the time of his death.An intriguing mystery featuring a trustworthy female protagonist. Nell is smart, courageous, and independent. She also has a vulnerable side under her tough exterior. When she returns to her hometown, she starts to doubt things about her father. To understand her father and what was happening in his life, she gets involved with a local case of two murdered girls. The case is much more complex than she anticipated.Interesting characters in a fast-paced mystery. Great for fans of crime fiction with a strong female lead. Also, I enjoyed that this was a standalone novel. It seems so many police procedurals fall into series. Addictive, intense, and suspenseful.I received a free digital copy of this book from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Stephanie (Stephanie's Novel Fiction)
    January 1, 1970
    rounded up 4.5 StarsGirls Like Us is an addictive mystery in a thriller/suspense genre that so often churns out the same old same old unreliable narrator and predictable twists. The novel is told through the 1st person POV of FBI agent Nell Flynn, definitely as trustworthy and reliable a narrator as you can get, as she returns home to Long Island after the death of her dad, a local homicide detective. While there, she is pulled in to the investigation of a girl found brutally murdered and her bo rounded up 4.5 StarsGirls Like Us is an addictive mystery in a thriller/suspense genre that so often churns out the same old same old unreliable narrator and predictable twists. The novel is told through the 1st person POV of FBI agent Nell Flynn, definitely as trustworthy and reliable a narrator as you can get, as she returns home to Long Island after the death of her dad, a local homicide detective. While there, she is pulled in to the investigation of a girl found brutally murdered and her body buried. The case is almost exactly like one Nell's dad was working one the summer before and as she begins digging into both cases, she is convinced her dad had something to do with the deaths of these young girls. But what? Not only that, but memories of her mom's brutal murder begin to surface and she can't help but wonder what really happened and who killed her. The more Nell uncovers about the cases, she discovers mishandling of the investigations and police corruption at almost every turn.Alger's writing is fresh, taut, and captivating and her characters are truly complex, some with deep, dark secrets. The tension in the book reaches a palpable level as the story unfolds. Nell is a character I hope to read more of and really hope this is the start of a series-I'll be one of the 1st in line for more if it is!
    more
  • Kristy
    January 1, 1970
    Nell Flynn has reluctantly returned home to Long Island after the death of her father, Martin Flynn, a homicide detective. Nell hasn't seen her father in years, but must settle his estate after his motorcycle skidded off Montauk Highway in the early morning. She assumes her dad was drunk, per usual, when the incident occurred. Nell's mom was murdered when she was a child, and there's nothing about being home that makes her happy. But when Lee, a young homicide detective and her dad's latest part Nell Flynn has reluctantly returned home to Long Island after the death of her father, Martin Flynn, a homicide detective. Nell hasn't seen her father in years, but must settle his estate after his motorcycle skidded off Montauk Highway in the early morning. She assumes her dad was drunk, per usual, when the incident occurred. Nell's mom was murdered when she was a child, and there's nothing about being home that makes her happy. But when Lee, a young homicide detective and her dad's latest partner, asks her to informally help with a case, Nell's curiosity is piqued. She is, after all, on paid medical leave from the Behavioral Analysis Unit at the FBI. Lee and team have found the body of a girl, murdered, near the dunes. It's similar to a case her father worked a year ago. Nell gets caught up in the investigation and the more she digs, the more she can't help but wonder if her father was involved in the killings. "Dad had his own code. I learned early not to second guess it. At least, not out loud." This was a great thriller--it features an interesting plot, a strong, complicated female heroine, and it's so easy to get caught up in it from the start. I had a great time unraveling the puzzle of the two murders, figuring things out alongside Nell. She's a really engaging character--smart, funny yet not without her own problems. "The bureau thinks my head should be on straight, too. It isn't yet. Maybe it never was to begin with." I really enjoyed the way this story is told--via Nell, but since she's not formally FBI or police, we get the pieces of the puzzle and story along with her. It's a twisted web that she uncovers: a dark, gritty story that feels timely and real. It's a fast read that kept me flipping the pages, desperately wanting to know what was happening next. It's clear that Alger knows her stuff--police/FBI procedures, investigative techniques, and more. There are no tricks or unreliable narrators: just a strong, well-told story. And there's certainly series potential with Nell. I would love to see her again! 4+ stars. I received a copy of this novel from the publisher and Edelweiss in return for a honest review (thank you!). Blog ~ Twitter ~ Facebook ~ Instagram ~ PaperBackSwap ~ Smashbomb
    more
  • Stephanie Nicholas
    January 1, 1970
    Intriguing, fast paced, and exhilarating!Nell Flynn is an FBI agent in DC. After being away from Suffolk County in the Hamptons, she is called home after ten years to bury her father, Martin, who is killed in a motorcycle accident. While she's home, she becomes involved in two murder investigations, and the story moves on from there. This book had a lot of flat characters, too many to keep straight without a little more explanation. It was well told though, with plenty of twists and turns. I wou Intriguing, fast paced, and exhilarating!Nell Flynn is an FBI agent in DC. After being away from Suffolk County in the Hamptons, she is called home after ten years to bury her father, Martin, who is killed in a motorcycle accident. While she's home, she becomes involved in two murder investigations, and the story moves on from there. This book had a lot of flat characters, too many to keep straight without a little more explanation. It was well told though, with plenty of twists and turns. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a fun thrilling read. 3 stars!
    more
  • ABookwormWithWine
    January 1, 1970
    ⭐⭐⭐⭐💫 / 5Girls Like Us is my first time reading a book by Cristina Alger and I enjoyed it so so much.What it's about: Nell Flynn is on leave from the BAU after shooting and killing a man, and suffering a gunshot wound. While on leave, her homicide detective father whom she hasn't seen in 10 years dies in a motorcycle accident and she is forced to go back to her home in Suffolk County to settle his estate. She hasn't been back since she left for college, and it brings back many nasty memories inc ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️💫 / 5Girls Like Us is my first time reading a book by Cristina Alger and I enjoyed it so so much.What it's about: Nell Flynn is on leave from the BAU after shooting and killing a man, and suffering a gunshot wound. While on leave, her homicide detective father whom she hasn't seen in 10 years dies in a motorcycle accident and she is forced to go back to her home in Suffolk County to settle his estate. She hasn't been back since she left for college, and it brings back many nasty memories including her mother's gruesome murder when Nell was only seven. But she ends up getting more than she bargained for when her dad's old partner asks her to consult on the murders of two young women. As she digs into the investigation, she starts getting a bad feeling about her dad and the other cops of Suffolk County. Who killed Ria Ruiz and Adriana Marques, and why did they do it? And was the person who got sent to prison for killing Nell's mom actually her killer?I saw a few reviewers that mentioned they thought Girls Like Us was fast paced but I feel inclined to disagree. For me, this book was more of a slow burn - at least in the first half - and there was a lot of detail in the beginning that was meant to bring the setting to life. Which Alger did by the way, because I felt like I was right there with Nell. Because of the detail, I ended up reading this book slower in the beginning, but by the end I felt like I was speeding through it because of how much was happening. Overall, I ended up reading this insanely fast and finished in just 3 hours and 21 minutes. This is literally the fastest I think I've ever read a book, and I was completely drawn in by the plot and by Nell. I loved Nell as a character and was so intrigued by the grittiness of Girls Like Us. The overall feel to the book for me was oppressive, like we were under a dark cloud due to all the bad things happening. For me, this was a good thing and the book really came to life for me as I read it. I also loved that Nell was a profiler because, Criminal Minds. Song/s the book brought to mind: Yesterday by David Guetta feat. Bebe RexhaFinal Thought: I haven't read any of Alger's other books yet so I can't do any comparisons, but I loved the style of writing she used for Girls Like Us. I didn't see any of the twists coming either, and it felt like I was watching a TV show as I read it. I can't wait to read more of her books ASAP! Thank you to Get Red PR and the publisher for providing me with an advance review copy of this book. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Dennis
    January 1, 1970
    This will be very quick, because I don't like to knock a book down too badly. After reading The Banker's Wife last year by Cristina Alger, I was so excited to pick up her upcoming mystery novel, Girls Like Us . Sadly, this book failed to deliver the same level of action-packed thrills that her predecessor provided. It takes place on Long Island, New York; but the author talks about "good" and "bad" neighborhoods in a very entitled, privileged way. I actually rolled my eyes when the author label This will be very quick, because I don't like to knock a book down too badly. After reading The Banker's Wife last year by Cristina Alger, I was so excited to pick up her upcoming mystery novel, Girls Like Us . Sadly, this book failed to deliver the same level of action-packed thrills that her predecessor provided. It takes place on Long Island, New York; but the author talks about "good" and "bad" neighborhoods in a very entitled, privileged way. I actually rolled my eyes when the author labeled Brightwaters, New York, a "dangerous" neighborhood. Take a look on Zillow and check out the million-dollar homes in that neighborhood and then get back to me. Lastly, Girls Like Us is just a watered down FBI procedural novel that has been read before—you aren't missing much with this story. If you're a diehard FBI procedural junkie, this book would definitely be a better fit for you than it was for me.
    more
  • NZLisaM
    January 1, 1970
    Exhilarating, Atmospheric, and Apprehensive with Danger at Every Turn!When homicide detective Martin Flynn is killed in a motorcycle accident, his daughter Nell (an FBI agent) reluctantly returns to Suffolk County. It's a place full of bad memories for Nell – her mother was murdered when she was a child, and since then her relationship with her father has been strained, and they've rarely spoken in the past ten years. While there, Nell is asked to assist with an investigation – a case her father Exhilarating, Atmospheric, and Apprehensive with Danger at Every Turn!When homicide detective Martin Flynn is killed in a motorcycle accident, his daughter Nell (an FBI agent) reluctantly returns to Suffolk County. It's a place full of bad memories for Nell – her mother was murdered when she was a child, and since then her relationship with her father has been strained, and they've rarely spoken in the past ten years. While there, Nell is asked to assist with an investigation – a case her father was working on involving the murder of two young women. As Nell delves into the evidence she begins to suspect her father. And not only that, it makes her wonder whether he had something to do with her mother's death as well?Gripping, tense, emotional and satisfying with an intense pace culminating in an adrenaline rush conclusion. Nell was a character who was easy to admire – she was intelligent, brave, generous, caring, had a highly developed sense of right and wrong, and would stop at nothing to get to the truth. Her recollection of memories effectively conveyed the close, protective bond she had with her mother, and the disintegration of the relationship with her father.The amount of detail the author included to describe the landscape meant I was able to accurately visualise Nell's surroundings. In the process I also leant a lot about the geography of Long Island – didn't realise the Hamptons was surrounded by some less than desirable areas. Girls Like Us was a fast read that had me frantically swiping the pages to see where it was leading. Christina Alger is a talented writer, and I look forward to reading The Banker's Wife.I'd like to thank Netgalley, Hodder & Stoughton – Mulholland Books, and Christina Alger for the e-ARC. Release Date: 11th July, 2019.
    more
  • Amanda
    January 1, 1970
    You can also read my review here: https://devouringbooks2017.wordpress....This book caught my attention through a Shelf Awareness ad and I am so glad that I wound up getting a copy from Netgalley. Girls Like Us was exactly what I needed after reading a slow paced fantasy novel. It didn’t jump into the action right away, but after the first four chapters I was hooked. I found myself regretting starting it after 10 p.m. though, because it kept me up until about 4 a.m. until I fell asleep with my f You can also read my review here: https://devouringbooks2017.wordpress....This book caught my attention through a Shelf Awareness ad and I am so glad that I wound up getting a copy from Netgalley. Girls Like Us was exactly what I needed after reading a slow paced fantasy novel. It didn’t jump into the action right away, but after the first four chapters I was hooked. I found myself regretting starting it after 10 p.m. though, because it kept me up until about 4 a.m. until I fell asleep with my face on the Kindle. Girls Like Us is quite the page turner and I am really excited for this book to hit the world.The book had a plot that kept me turning the pages, but it also really had great character development. I think the way that Nell could relate to the victims really gave this book a powerful impact on me as a reader. Even though I am nothing like Nell of the victims I found myself relating to them, which is truly a testament to Cristina Alger’s writing. The slow start to the book was good for character development, but that wasn’t this book’s primary focus. Nell was a good character, but this book focused mostly on the mystery and the plot, which I think was appropriate.The story line was absolutely gripping. Nell tries to solve the case of two missing Latina working girls, the kind of girl that no one really winds up looking for. I found the narrative sad, but all too realistic. While the novel touched on topics like police misconduct and profiling, it also dove into the subject of human trafficking. These touchy topics are written about with truth and respect, but also in a way that is suspenseful and riveting. The mystery was a bit predictable, but the topics focused on and the way it was written made up for that.Girls Like Us is a mystery that kept me turning the pages until the early hours of the morning. The characters were developed much better than I would expect for a mystery and the writing was fresh and brought life to the story. I felt like some difficult topics were written about in a way that felt authentic, but also with tact. This was my first read by Cristina Alger, but I don’t think that it will be my last.
    more
  • Andrea
    January 1, 1970
    I was lucky to read an early copy of Girls Like Us. The plot in this book is simply brilliant. I cannot say enough good things. I was on edge of seat, worried about characters and had to finish in one-read. As much as I liked Alger's prior books, I have to say that Girls Like Us takes her writing to a new level. Rush to pre-order this one!
    more
  • Jen
    January 1, 1970
    This story has so many mysteries to it! It started off a little slow for me and then by 75% of the book you fly through to the end because you need to know who did it! There were a lot of mysteries you had to solve. Who killed Nell’s Mom? What happened to Nell’s Dad? Is the police force Nell’s Dad works for corrupt? Are the two murdered girls related? While I was always curious to find the answers to these questions I felt like there wasn’t always an answer. We are left never really knowing what This story has so many mysteries to it! It started off a little slow for me and then by 75% of the book you fly through to the end because you need to know who did it! There were a lot of mysteries you had to solve. Who killed Nell’s Mom? What happened to Nell’s Dad? Is the police force Nell’s Dad works for corrupt? Are the two murdered girls related? While I was always curious to find the answers to these questions I felt like there wasn’t always an answer. We are left never really knowing what happened to one question and there’s plenty of it mentioned throughout the story. I had ideas and suspects in my head but in the end I couldn’t guess everything.
    more
  • Amy
    January 1, 1970
    We’re about to head off to Legoland but I wanted to jump on really fast and tell you guys how much I enjoyed Alger’s latest. This was a fast paced and exciting read and I loved that it was told via one POV, it made for a really nice change. Nell was exactly the kind of strong and determined lead character that I live for and the setting was seriously detailed and truly brought to life. Throw in a current mystery as well as some questions about Nell’s mothers death from years ago and this had all We’re about to head off to Legoland but I wanted to jump on really fast and tell you guys how much I enjoyed Alger’s latest. This was a fast paced and exciting read and I loved that it was told via one POV, it made for a really nice change. Nell was exactly the kind of strong and determined lead character that I live for and the setting was seriously detailed and truly brought to life. Throw in a current mystery as well as some questions about Nell’s mothers death from years ago and this had all the ingredients for the perfect, binge worthy summer thriller! Recommended as a vacation read, I read this over mine and it was exactly what I was in the mood for.
    more
  • Jamie
    January 1, 1970
    Cristina Alger has now written four novels, all of which I have read and enjoyed. And like a fine wine, Alger gets better with age! Girls Like Us is a standout novel in the age of unreliable female narrators, for having a protagonist who is a trustworthy FBI agent. Nell Flynn is a sharp, strong character who I enjoyed journeying with. Girls Like Us has the added benefit of being set on Long Island, where I grew up and still live, adding an extra sense of recognition and reality to the story. Fly Cristina Alger has now written four novels, all of which I have read and enjoyed. And like a fine wine, Alger gets better with age! Girls Like Us is a standout novel in the age of unreliable female narrators, for having a protagonist who is a trustworthy FBI agent. Nell Flynn is a sharp, strong character who I enjoyed journeying with. Girls Like Us has the added benefit of being set on Long Island, where I grew up and still live, adding an extra sense of recognition and reality to the story. Flynn returns to Long Island after the passing of her father, a local detective on the Suffolk County Police Force. Curious about her father's death along with some local crimes, Flynn begins to uncover a whole lot of truth, not all of it pleasant - but what is pleasant, is Alger's storytelling!Thank you to Putnam Books for an advanced copy. All opinions are my own.
    more
Write a review