The Family Upstairs
You thought they were just staying for the weekend. They looked harmless enough – with only two suitcases and a cat in a wicker box. But soon things turn very, very dark. It happens slowly, yet so extraordinarily quickly. Now you and your sister must find a way to survive…

The Family Upstairs Details

TitleThe Family Upstairs
Author
ReleaseAug 8th, 2019
PublisherCentury
ISBN-139781780899213
Rating
GenreThriller, Mystery, Fiction, Mystery Thriller

The Family Upstairs Review

  • Dita
    January 1, 1970
    432 engrossing pages of pure psychopathic heaven and I read every one of them in the last 10 hours. I have been walking around our house all day resenting anyone who needed me for anything...this book is THAT good. We're ordering pizza tonight. Sorry, not sorry.Don't worry if, as you start this, you feel a little confused by the introduction of different characters and different time periods, it only feels like you don't know what's going on and it only lasts a little while because pretty soon? 432 engrossing pages of pure psychopathic heaven and I read every one of them in the last 10 hours. I have been walking around our house all day resenting anyone who needed me for anything...this book is THAT good. We're ordering pizza tonight. Sorry, not sorry.Don't worry if, as you start this, you feel a little confused by the introduction of different characters and different time periods, it only feels like you don't know what's going on and it only lasts a little while because pretty soon? Bang, like jello, it all gels together and the tension ramps and ramps and ramps. I could...not....put....it....down.I'll let everyone else describe it; just read it!Thank you to Lisa Jewel, Atria Books, and NetGalley for giving me this digital ARC (I received a widget!!) in exchange for an honest review!
    more
  • Maureen
    January 1, 1970
    Imagine inheriting an eight bedroom property in London’s SW3 - in the heart of Chelsea - it’s an area of multi million pound homes - well let’s face it, you’d be over the moon to say the least. This wonderful inheritance is Libby Jones 25th birthday present, but the house (or mansion to be precise) is pretty dilapidated, and it has a very sinister past too.Told from the points of view of Libby, Lucy, and Henry, in both the past and present, this compelling family drama begins with the previous o Imagine inheriting an eight bedroom property in London’s SW3 - in the heart of Chelsea - it’s an area of multi million pound homes - well let’s face it, you’d be over the moon to say the least. This wonderful inheritance is Libby Jones 25th birthday present, but the house (or mansion to be precise) is pretty dilapidated, and it has a very sinister past too.Told from the points of view of Libby, Lucy, and Henry, in both the past and present, this compelling family drama begins with the previous owners of the house. The Lamb’s are a wealthy couple with two children, Henry and Lucy. After allowing a charismatic stranger named David and his family to move into their home, their lives will be turned completely upside down, because David isn’t nearly as charming as he appears to be. He’s definitely a Svengali figure and will soon have the family under his spell, all except for Henry - he isn’t falling for David’s charms, not one little bit!A disturbing, chilling and complex narrative results in many mysteries, as the three narrators stories begin to thread together, bringing us ever closer to the main mystery - that of what happened to the previous inhabitants of this Chelsea mansion.* Thank you to Netgalley and Random House UK Cornerstone for my ARC for which I have given an honest unbiased review in exchange *
    more
  • Paromjit
    January 1, 1970
    Lisa Jewell ventures into horror infested psychological thriller territory in this disturbing and unsettling novel. 25 years ago in Chelsea, London, the police enter 16 Cheyne Walk, the mansion of the wealthy Lambs, the home of the famous Martina, wife, model and mother, with her young children, Henry and Lucy. What they discover is the dead, decomposing bodies of the Lamb parents, and that of another mystery man, with a note that suggests a cult suicide, but strangely they find a 10 month old b Lisa Jewell ventures into horror infested psychological thriller territory in this disturbing and unsettling novel. 25 years ago in Chelsea, London, the police enter 16 Cheyne Walk, the mansion of the wealthy Lambs, the home of the famous Martina, wife, model and mother, with her young children, Henry and Lucy. What they discover is the dead, decomposing bodies of the Lamb parents, and that of another mystery man, with a note that suggests a cult suicide, but strangely they find a 10 month old baby alive and well cared for, Serenity Lamb, who is later to be adopted. There were rumours of other children residing at the place but no trace of them has ever been uncovered. In the present, it is Libby Jones 25th birthday, her ordinary life of working in sales of designer kitchens, living under tight financial straits in her small flat, is to be rocked when out of the blue she learns she is the sole inheritor of a large Chelsea mansion, she has become an extremely rich young woman.When she visits the house with the solicitor, she finds it in a dilapidated condition with a creepy atmosphere as she learns of what happened there 25 years ago. She becomes more afraid when she hears the sounds of someone upstairs and leaves the place abruptly, determined to discover all she can about what happened there. Libby is aided by her work colleague, Dido, and journalist, Miller Roe whose life was destroyed by his obsession with the story. In the South of France in Nice, an impoverished single mother is living hand to mouth with her two children from different fathers, Marco and Stella. She busks as a fiddle player, worn out by the life she lives, which includes periods of homelessness but she is now keen to take her family to London. In the past, a young Henry with his strong sense of entitlement is to find his future and that of his family shockingly derailed when his mother invites a pop star, Birdie Dunlop-Evers, and David Thomsen, with his family, wife, Sally, and their children, Clemency and Phin to live in their home temporarily, only for them to end up staying permanently. Thomsen, the usurper, is authoritarian, cruel, and manipulative as he tightens his hold on the household as the lives of those who reside there descend into horror and a nightmarish hell.Jewell writes a gripping and compulsive novel in which a menacing insanity takes hold of the lives of the children in Cheyne Walk, culminating in their broken and traumatised, emotionally damaged psyches. Libby is to find her life changed forever as she learns of the secret family histories of her newly inherited mansion. This is the most twisted and darkest of books, as revelation after revelation unfolds, which makes for an uncomfortable but never less than a compelling reading experience. Many thanks to Random House Cornerstone for an ARC.
    more
  • Kaceey
    January 1, 1970
    Well, it looks as though I may be in the minority on this one!Libby is shocked after being notified she’s just inherited a massive house. One that comes with a mysterious and tragic history. Libby was found abandoned as a baby in this home. Having been adopted, Libby has since blossomed into a 25 year old, well-adjusted, content young lady. Anxious to keep her life moving along on the timetable she’s set for herself. Well, Miss Libby...this new inheritance thing may just change up your original Well, it looks as though I may be in the minority on this one!Libby is shocked after being notified she’s just inherited a massive house. One that comes with a mysterious and tragic history. Libby was found abandoned as a baby in this home. Having been adopted, Libby has since blossomed into a 25 year old, well-adjusted, content young lady. Anxious to keep her life moving along on the timetable she’s set for herself. Well, Miss Libby...this new inheritance thing may just change up your original life plan. Maybe there’s a great deal more to discover here than just an old house.Told from several POV and timelines. From the start I had difficulty keeping it all straight, never coming together as much as I hoped.I’ve been reading all of Lisa Jewels books and always look forward to their release every year, but I have to say this might be my least favorite.But…I’m still a committed Lisa Jewell fan and anxiously await her next release!A buddy read with Susanne!🌸Thank you to Ariele Friedman at Atria Books via NetGalley and Lisa Jewel for an ARC to read in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Susanne Strong
    January 1, 1970
    3 Stars.Creepy and Disturbing. Par for the Course with Lisa Jewell, Right?! The Past: Houseguests. They are never pleasant. Unless they are temporary. For a family living in a mansion in Chelsea, a ringing of the doorbell signals a whole host of changes that influences their entire lives, forever. Call it dark, eerie and downright strange.The Present: On Libby Jones’ twenty-fifth birthday, she inherits a house. Not just any house, a mansion in Chelsea. Though dilapidated and vacant, it is a tota 3 Stars.Creepy and Disturbing. Par for the Course with Lisa Jewell, Right?! The Past: Houseguests. They are never pleasant. Unless they are temporary. For a family living in a mansion in Chelsea, a ringing of the doorbell signals a whole host of changes that influences their entire lives, forever. Call it dark, eerie and downright strange.The Present: On Libby Jones’ twenty-fifth birthday, she inherits a house. Not just any house, a mansion in Chelsea. Though dilapidated and vacant, it is a total windfall for someone like Libby who has always lived paycheck to paycheck. When she visits her new “home” she discovers something frightening and begins digging into its history. What she finds is unlike anything she ever imagined.Lisa Jewell’s “The Family Upstairs” is a novel told in different timelines, containing lots of characters to keep track of. Once you get going, the storyline flows and you become enmeshed in the mystery of the mansion and the ominous feeling of the story. While this wasn’t my favorite of Ms. Jewell’s novels simply because I felt like it was lacking something, it was a super quick read, which I tore through in a just a few hours. Another buddy read with Kaceey!Thank you to NetGalley, Ariele Friedman at Atria and Lisa Jewell for an arc of this novel in exchange for an honest review. Published on NetGalley and Goodreads on 6.10.19.Will be published on Amazon on 10.29.19.
    more
  • Chelsea Humphrey
    January 1, 1970
    Admit it, we are all living our best life when Lisa Jewell publishes a new book. If you want to see the gorgeous US cover reveal + author interview HERE!
  • James
    January 1, 1970
    The Family Upstairs by Lisa Jewell was one of my favorites so far this year. I've read several of her other books, and for me, this one is the best yet. I devoured the book in two chunks, one larger read in the afternoon and the other shortly before bed. I couldn't fall asleep for at least an hour as my mind continued to process everything that had happened in the complicated and messy (in a good way) tale.There are 3 main voices in the novel: Lucy, a runaway/homeless mother of two; Henry, the s The Family Upstairs by Lisa Jewell was one of my favorites so far this year. I've read several of her other books, and for me, this one is the best yet. I devoured the book in two chunks, one larger read in the afternoon and the other shortly before bed. I couldn't fall asleep for at least an hour as my mind continued to process everything that had happened in the complicated and messy (in a good way) tale.There are 3 main voices in the novel: Lucy, a runaway/homeless mother of two; Henry, the son of a former rich couple who fell for a scam; and Libby, a 25-year-old girl who inherits a house from the biological parents who committed suicide nearly a year after she was born. As the stories unravel, we begin to understand some of the connections between the three protagonists; however, in true Jewell fashion, what you know is not quite what you know. The lines are blurry, the connections are misleading, and the identities often change. If you just look at the shell of this book, Libby is a sweet and wonderful girl in search of the truth, Henry is quirky and possibly a little crazy, and Lucy is either truly down on her luck or causes her own pain time and time again.That's only the beginning. Lucy acts the way she does because of what happened to her as a child. We don't know all the details, but it's easy to judge her in the beginning. While I still think she should've been partially punished for some of her actions, all-in-all, she definitely suffered more than any human should. Libby is 100% faultless... and she's the kind of girl I'd like to be friends with (before or after the money, in case you were wondering!). Henry... well... that's complicated. Sometimes, he seems very attractive. Others, I think he might try to kill people because his brain is just a little different than the rest of ours. Was he a victim of his circumstances? Was he properly punished? Do we truly know the whole story, or only the parts he wanted to share with us?This was the kind of book that leaves you puzzled in a good way. There is a lot left to a reader to decide. Jewell has written a defined ending, and we know what happens to everyone, but... there's some doubt as to which version of the truth we want to believe. The relationships between Phineas, Lucy, Henry, Finn's sister, the various moms and dads living in their lives, and the people they meet along the way are dark and deceptive. It's a perfectly complex family drama that really hit the sweet spot for me.Of course, there were a few areas I wasn't 100% thrilled with, e.g. where did Julian go? why did Henry Sr. have so many strokes? how did no one discover the murders going on? I can suspend that bit of disbelief, but overall, it was inconsequential to the whole of the story for me. The writing style and tone are superb, thus I can only trim away a partial star. 4.5 from me... and I'll definitely be reading more of the author's novels in the future.
    more
  • Carolyn
    January 1, 1970
    Eleven year old Henry Lamb and his younger sister live in a beautiful Chelsea mansion with their wealthy and glamorous parents. His life is full of treats and outings and top private schools. But one day his mother invites a young woman to stay for a few days and slowly things start to change until Henry's world is one he no longer recognises. It will all end badly as the police discover when they break into the house to find three dead adults and a baby alone in her cot. Older children were rum Eleven year old Henry Lamb and his younger sister live in a beautiful Chelsea mansion with their wealthy and glamorous parents. His life is full of treats and outings and top private schools. But one day his mother invites a young woman to stay for a few days and slowly things start to change until Henry's world is one he no longer recognises. It will all end badly as the police discover when they break into the house to find three dead adults and a baby alone in her cot. Older children were rumoured to have been in the house, but there is no sign of them and they were never found.This is more domestic noir than a thriller but makes for suspenseful and compelling reading. The novel is told from two main points of view. One of these is a young woman called Libby, adopted as a baby, who discovers she has inherited a mansion in Chelsea on her twenty fifth birthday. Henry's voice is used to relate what happened all those years ago in the past to turn his life into a nightmare.This is a dark and engrossing tale of madness and delusion where the tension ramps up to breaking point. The pacing of the novel is good and there are surprises in store as the mystery of what happened in that house and to the children in the aftermath gradually unfurls. 4.5★With thanks to Netgalley and Random House for an advanced copy of the book to read
    more
  • Nicki
    January 1, 1970
    The Family Upstairs is a mesmerising,enthralling domestic drama/thriller about brother and sister Henry and Lucy Lamb and how swiftly their young lived descended into a living nightmare after two strangers moved into the opulent home in Chelsea that Henry and Lucy shared with their socialite mother and father. A nightmare that culminated with the death of three people and the discovery of a abandoned ten month old baby in the almost empty shell of a once loving family home.It's also the story of The Family Upstairs is a mesmerising,enthralling domestic drama/thriller about brother and sister Henry and Lucy Lamb and how swiftly their young lived descended into a living nightmare after two strangers moved into the opulent home in Chelsea that Henry and Lucy shared with their socialite mother and father. A nightmare that culminated with the death of three people and the discovery of a abandoned ten month old baby in the almost empty shell of a once loving family home.It's also the story of Libby Jones and journalist Miller Roe's investigation into the people who lived at 16 Cheyne Walk after Libby is shocked when she receives a letter informing her that she has inherited the house. The story that they uncover is shocking,twisted and heart breaking and will change Libby's life forever.The chapters flip back and forth in time and are voiced by Libby,Lucy and Henry in the present day and Henry in the past. The chapters covering Henry and Lucy's younger years were very dark at times and pulled at my heart strings more than once as the story unfolded. It was frighteningly scary how quickly their parents were coerced and manipulated by their sinister,twisted house guests. The characters were well rounded,vivid and diverse,many of them were flawed,some were likeable but quite a number of them were not so likeable for various reasons.I love Lisa Jewell's books and The Family Upstairs is no exception. It is exceedingly well written,her words flow with ease,drawing the reader into her enthralling story and holding you captive throughout. Once I started this book,I honestly couldn't put it down,I was hooked in from the first page,totally captivated by the twists and turns as the story unfolded before my captivated eyes. It also raises the moral question,are a person's actions excusable depending on the circumstances?. Very,very highly recommended by little old me.Many thanks to Penguin Random House UK/Cornerstone for a arc of this book via Netgalley in exchange for a honest review
    more
  • Gabby
    January 1, 1970
    Oh gosh I truly don’t understand the hype this book has already received. I absolutely love Lisa Jewell, I consider her one of my favorite authors; this was one of my most anticipated book releases of the year. I feel like this book was just so uninteresting and definitely my least favorite book from her yet. This might be a “it’s not the book it’s me” situation cause everyone else seems to be loving the hell out of this, but I felt so disappointed and bored by this book. In typical Lisa Jewel f Oh gosh I truly don’t understand the hype this book has already received. I absolutely love Lisa Jewell, I consider her one of my favorite authors; this was one of my most anticipated book releases of the year. I feel like this book was just so uninteresting and definitely my least favorite book from her yet. This might be a “it’s not the book it’s me” situation cause everyone else seems to be loving the hell out of this, but I felt so disappointed and bored by this book. In typical Lisa Jewel fashion we follow a few different POV’s in a few different time periods. In her other books I absolutely loved that but in this one I found it so hard to keep track of who was who and what was going on. I feel like there are way too many characters to remember in this book (or maybe this is only because I read this book over a period of several days as opposed to one or two sittings like I usually would for a thriller). It takes a long time for this book to get somewhat interesting and even then I still felt like it dragged. I also feel like this book hardly feels like a thriller - it’s more of a family drama about these siblings and a single mother and this family that moves into another families house with some “thrilling” moments thrown in. I’m actually pretty surprised by the really high reviews so far, maybe I’m just missing something. Every time I picked this book back up I was only able to get through about 30-50 pages because I would get so bored and distracted, which is a bad sign cause thrillers normally read really fast for me, and if I’m not flying through the book it’s because I don’t care about the plot or characters. /:I’m just so disappointed because I wanted to love this book because Lisa Jewell is my thriller queen, but this book just didn’t do it at all for me. Huge thanks to Atria Books for sending me an e-ARC!
    more
  • Pauline
    January 1, 1970
    Henry, his sister and his parents live a very privileged lifestyle in a large house in London. When he is twelve years old things start to change. His parents stop going out and stop spending money as readily as they always had. Then people come to stay. Little by little the house starts to feel like it no longer belongs to his family and Henry is not happy.This story has quite a few twists and turns and things are not always as they seem.Thank you to NetGalley and Random House UK, Cornerstone f Henry, his sister and his parents live a very privileged lifestyle in a large house in London. When he is twelve years old things start to change. His parents stop going out and stop spending money as readily as they always had. Then people come to stay. Little by little the house starts to feel like it no longer belongs to his family and Henry is not happy.This story has quite a few twists and turns and things are not always as they seem.Thank you to NetGalley and Random House UK, Cornerstone for my e-copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Aga Durka
    January 1, 1970
    OMG!! Lisa Jewell’s new Book!!! Please NetGalley grant me my wish 🙏🏻🙏🏻🙏🏻. I really don’t ask for much 😉. I can’t wait!!!
  • Dennis
    January 1, 1970
    In the last couple of years, Lisa Jewell has been getting a lot of notoriety in the publishing world. Her last couple of novels have been massive hits in both the UK and USA, and I know that The Family Upstairs will be her biggest hit yet. This book sets the bar for the phrase "unputdownable!" The synopsis explains the story well: Libby Jones has just turned 25 and has inherited a house. Not just any house, but a mansion on the block of one of London's most exclusive neighborhoods. Libby, is i In the last couple of years, Lisa Jewell has been getting a lot of notoriety in the publishing world. Her last couple of novels have been massive hits in both the UK and USA, and I know that The Family Upstairs will be her biggest hit yet. This book sets the bar for the phrase "unputdownable!" The synopsis explains the story well: Libby Jones has just turned 25 and has inherited a house. Not just any house, but a mansion on the block of one of London's most exclusive neighborhoods. Libby, is in fact, now a millionaire. She was orphaned as a newborn, but she never knew what the circumstances of her adoption. Now that her birth family has gifted her their family home, Libby begins to investigate. Without going any further, what Libby finds out shakes her to her core—murder, cults, rape, abuse, missing children. Libby has opened up a box that she may never be able to cover back up.I don't want to go any further in my synopsis takeaway for the story because the best part of this book is the mystery that unfolds. As I kept reading, I kept saying to myself, "what the F is happening here?!"—in the best possible way. Without it ever going to the end of ridiculousness, Lisa Jewell crafts a brilliantly told family-drama mystery novel. I could not read this book fast enough! I feel like The Family Upstairs will be in my annual top 10 books of the year. The character development between Libby and the other two point-of-view characters (I will not spoil it for you), will stay with me for a long time. If you are a fan of Ruth Ware, YOU NEED THIS BOOK! For real, this book joins the ranks of Ruth Ware and Riley Sager and hits a home-run! I hope this isn't the end of knowing this family—especially because of that ending! UGH, when you finish this book, hit me up because I have a lot of feelings about it!
    more
  • Dita
    January 1, 1970
    432 engrossing pages of pure psychopathic heaven and I read every one of them in the last 1o hours. I have been walking around our house all day resenting anyone in my family who needed me for anything...this book is THAT good. We're ordering pizza tonight. Sorry, not sorry.Don't worry if, as you start this, you feel a little confused by the introduction of different characters and different time periods, it only feels like you don't know what's going on and it only lasts a little while because 432 engrossing pages of pure psychopathic heaven and I read every one of them in the last 1o hours. I have been walking around our house all day resenting anyone in my family who needed me for anything...this book is THAT good. We're ordering pizza tonight. Sorry, not sorry.Don't worry if, as you start this, you feel a little confused by the introduction of different characters and different time periods, it only feels like you don't know what's going on and it only lasts a little while because pretty soon? Bang, like jello it all gels together and the tension ramps and ramps and ramps. I could...not....put....it....down.I'll let everyone else describe it; just read it!Thank you to Lisa Jewel, Atria Books, and NetGalley for giving me this digital ARC (I received a widget!!) in exchange for an honest review!
    more
  • Holly
    January 1, 1970
    Wow! This is Lisa Jewell's best book yet!! I started it and ended it in no time because I couldn't put it down. I began it before going to work, read it during work when I could, came home slept for two hours before I got up and wanted to start reading it again. Its that good! I will admit that its a bit confusing at first with the different pov's but after 30 pages or so things begin coming together. Three different pov's, a couple different timelines, a whole lot of mystery, twists, shock mome Wow! This is Lisa Jewell's best book yet!! I started it and ended it in no time because I couldn't put it down. I began it before going to work, read it during work when I could, came home slept for two hours before I got up and wanted to start reading it again. Its that good! I will admit that its a bit confusing at first with the different pov's but after 30 pages or so things begin coming together. Three different pov's, a couple different timelines, a whole lot of mystery, twists, shock moments, and a family dynamic that will keep you guessing. READ IT!! *Thank you to the publisher and Netgalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Holly B
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 STARS Lisa Jewell is one of my favorite authors!  I have read all of her thrillers and my expectations were so high for her newest (possibly too high).  I love how she writes, builds tension, and weaves a story.Her books are so easy to read and fall into. This one did seem a bit too long though and I was beginning to tire of the complex plot. It focuses on a highly dysfunctional family and there are a lot of characters to sort out.  It took some time before I was able to make all the connect 3.5 STARS Lisa Jewell is one of my favorite authors!  I have read all of her thrillers and my expectations were so high for her newest (possibly too high).  I love how she writes, builds tension, and weaves a story.Her books are so easy to read and fall into. This one did seem a bit too long though and I was beginning to tire of the complex plot. It focuses on a highly dysfunctional family and there are a lot of characters to sort out.  It took some time before I was able to make all the connections, but it played out nicely.The family runs a cult-like home (or rather mansion) and what happens there comes into play later on....The two timelines (past/present) will collide into a dark tale of  this is what really happened.... There are surprising twists, but this one was missing the page-turning magic that I loved in her previous novels. It is still a solid and entertaining read.This one is out August 8, 2018
    more
  • Gram
    January 1, 1970
    This is a highly disturbing tale, more of a horror story than a psychological thriller. The action moves between a house in Cheyne Walk in London's upmarket borough of Chelsea and the South of France and between the present day and terrible events that happened 25 years ago. Back then police were called to the house in Cheyne Walk where they discovered 3 bodies, 2 men and a woman, believed to be cult members who had committed suicide. Upstairs was a 10 month old baby in her cot, obviously well l This is a highly disturbing tale, more of a horror story than a psychological thriller. The action moves between a house in Cheyne Walk in London's upmarket borough of Chelsea and the South of France and between the present day and terrible events that happened 25 years ago. Back then police were called to the house in Cheyne Walk where they discovered 3 bodies, 2 men and a woman, believed to be cult members who had committed suicide. Upstairs was a 10 month old baby in her cot, obviously well looked after. And so the mystery of what happened in that house begins.A quarter of a century later, the baby then known as Serenity and now named Libby, is told that she has inherited the house in Cheyne Walk. Meanwhile, in France, Lucy, a single mother with two children and a dog in tow, reads a reminder on her phone: "The baby is now 25". So begins Lucy's journey back to Chelsea where she lived with her brother Henry and rich parents. All seemed well until the arrival of David Thomsen, his partner Sally and a female musician named Birdie. Along with David and Sally's children, Clemency and Phin, they only plan to stay 2 weeks but end up as permanent residents and become part of an extended highly dysfunctional family with David as the domineering father figure. Between the 1990's and 2018, we gradually learn how the 4 children were imprisoned and broken before their escape from Cheyne Walk with warped personalities and horrific memories they strive to forget.Reading this book made my skin crawl as the lives of the four children are slowly revealed with Libby's arrival back at the house where she was born. Before Libby's birth, the megalomaniac behaviour of David Thomsen had destroyed any sense of normalcy and turned at least one of the children to thoughts of murder. Despite the horrors which unfold, the plot is absolutely gripping and defies you not to read on. There are some glaring plot holes along the way, but if you're a fan of creepy nightmarish tales, this is the book for you.My thanks to NetGalley and Random House UK, Cornerstone for a copy of this novel in return for an unbiased review.
    more
  • Mark
    January 1, 1970
    A book I read in one sitting with breaks to go out in the sun ( kindle taken ) and Irn Bru top ups ( and maybe bikkies too!! )From page 1 it demanded to be read, drew me in and there was nothing I could do until I had finished it ( and what a last line!!!) , this powerfully dramatic story of family life had me completely under its spell from the first sentenceA tale of wealth living in the most luxurious house in Chelsea to sleeping under motorway brdges in France, jealousy, love, dysfunctional A book I read in one sitting with breaks to go out in the sun ( kindle taken ) and Irn Bru top ups ( and maybe bikkies too!! )From page 1 it demanded to be read, drew me in and there was nothing I could do until I had finished it ( and what a last line!!!) , this powerfully dramatic story of family life had me completely under its spell from the first sentenceA tale of wealth living in the most luxurious house in Chelsea to sleeping under motorway brdges in France, jealousy, love, dysfunctional families, cults, abandoned babies, riches gained and lost, families re-united psychopaths and narcissists and pretty much everything else was like going from 0-100 in seconds and staying there through every pageThe story is flawlessly told, wonderful characters, some to love, some to hate, the narration so on point and the descriptions eye waveringly real it all adds up to make this one of the best books read this yearA perfect combination of all that makes a good book great, you need to read it, its truly brilliant! 10/10 5 Stars
    more
  • Robin Loves Reading
    January 1, 1970
    In this intense psychological suspense by Lisa Jewell you have three principal characters, Libby, Lucy and Henry. They are each separated by chapters in varying points of view. As you read my introduction to these characters you might be a bit thrown off. Even though they are all principal players, readers will be forced to wait to see how their stories are all blended into one another.Let's start with Libby Jones. She is a resident of the UK and has been aware of a trust that was created in 197 In this intense psychological suspense by Lisa Jewell you have three principal characters, Libby, Lucy and Henry. They are each separated by chapters in varying points of view. As you read my introduction to these characters you might be a bit thrown off. Even though they are all principal players, readers will be forced to wait to see how their stories are all blended into one another.Let's start with Libby Jones. She is a resident of the UK and has been aware of a trust that was created in 1977. The strict rules included things would not be revealed to her until she turned twenty-five. Now she is finally able to discover some facts about her past. At that time, there was a property in Chelsea that she has just inherited. A couple was killed, and two teens were missing. It is at this point that Libby is told that they were her birth parents and that she has two siblings. Then we have Lucy. Lucy is the mother of two children, Marco, 12, and Stella, 5. Lucy gets an odd text that simply states: "The baby is 25." Lucy and her children are struggling. They are homeless and they go from place-to-place to eat and to try and find places to sleep. Although she struggled to get away from her ex-husband, she still longs to return to London.Lastly, readers are introduced to Henry Lamb. He talks of his parents and then of a woman named Birdie who visited his house while he was a child. Henry, as it turns out, is part of the trust that Libby is being told about. We briefly learn about his father Harry and other things that happened during Henry's childhood. The readers are taken on a journey of alternating viewpoints told in both the past and the present which allow for several revelations to be revealed. Quite naturally, everyone is connected and there is a deep exploration into the family drama that affects them all. I want to add to this review that the fact that it is a psychological thriller, and combined with the title, The Family Upstairs, it simply did not gel. When it came to the fact that Henry grew up in a cult-like environment, it became easier to see what actually happened back in 1977 when the deaths occurred and how that affects everyone now, 25 years later.I always enjoy books by Lisa Jewell, but I must admit to having a bit of a hard time waiting for this book to gain traction. I was especially enticed and fully committed when the house began to be explored. The pieces are jumbled at first but quickly begin to fall into place. I was definitely intrigued and couldn't put this book down until I read it from cover-to-cover. There is some sadness and emotion, especially regarding Lucy and her children, and also for some of the things that Henry experienced as a child. Many thanks to Atria Books and to NetGalley for this ARC to review in exchange for my honest opinion.
    more
  • Wendi Lee
    January 1, 1970
    *4.5 stars*I know this sounds weird, but I enjoy reading books about cults. There's just something so fascinating about what compels ordinary people to toss aside their lives and follow a cult leader blindly, often to dire extremes. There are three stories interwoven in The Family Upstairs. The first is 25 year-old Libby, who inherits a house from her birth parents. She was adopted as a baby, and knows nothing about her birth family, but she soon learns that terrible events led to her adoption. *4.5 stars*I know this sounds weird, but I enjoy reading books about cults. There's just something so fascinating about what compels ordinary people to toss aside their lives and follow a cult leader blindly, often to dire extremes. There are three stories interwoven in The Family Upstairs. The first is 25 year-old Libby, who inherits a house from her birth parents. She was adopted as a baby, and knows nothing about her birth family, but she soon learns that terrible events led to her adoption. The second is Lucy, a single mother of two desperately trying to get back to Britain from France. She and her family are destitute, living on the street, but somehow she needs to find the means to get passports and travel back to her home country. But why is Lucy so frantic to get back? The last narrative is Henry, two decades in the past, who documents what happens to his parents and sister when strangers begin moving into, and slowly taking over, their Chelsea mansion. It's Henry's story that delivers shocking scene after shocking scene, unraveling years of madness. This book was so crazy! I found myself staying up late at night, just because I needed to find out how it ended! And I often have a problem with Jewell's endings, but this one was very satisfying! Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for an ARC.
    more
  • C.L. Taylor
    January 1, 1970
    Whenever I pick up a Lisa Jewell novel I know I'm in for a compelling, immersive and unputdownable read and The Family Upstairs is one of her best. The premise - a family whose home life is turned upside down when a charming but desperate stranger (and his family) moves in - is so brilliantly done with David incidiously weaving his way into the Lamb's lives. They have no idea how manipulative he is until they're caught in his web. The story is told from three character's points of view - Lucy, H Whenever I pick up a Lisa Jewell novel I know I'm in for a compelling, immersive and unputdownable read and The Family Upstairs is one of her best. The premise - a family whose home life is turned upside down when a charming but desperate stranger (and his family) moves in - is so brilliantly done with David incidiously weaving his way into the Lamb's lives. They have no idea how manipulative he is until they're caught in his web. The story is told from three character's points of view - Lucy, Henry and Libby - and as the plot unfurls we discover the truth about what happened at number 16 Cheyne Walk and how it's impacted their lives. I enjoyed all three of the threads equally, cared about the characters and was desperate to find out what would become of them. The Family Upstairs is an intriguing, claustrophobic and compelling mystery about a family that comes to stay and refuses to leave. I hugely enjoyed it and couldn't put it down.
    more
  • Michelle
    January 1, 1970
    It’s Lisa’s 25th birthday. Nothing unusual about that you may say. But she has just inherited a mansion 16 Cheyne Walk in Chelsea. Lisa was adopted as a child. First, she thought it was a joke. But she agrees to see the mansion. Once beautiful, but now lies empty and abandoned and in disrepair.In the past Harry Lamb and his sister Lucy live in 16 Cheyne walks. In the life of luxury with lots of treats and attending private schools. When one day two strangers visit the house for a visit, but they It’s Lisa’s 25th birthday. Nothing unusual about that you may say. But she has just inherited a mansion 16 Cheyne Walk in Chelsea. Lisa was adopted as a child. First, she thought it was a joke. But she agrees to see the mansion. Once beautiful, but now lies empty and abandoned and in disrepair.In the past Harry Lamb and his sister Lucy live in 16 Cheyne walks. In the life of luxury with lots of treats and attending private schools. When one day two strangers visit the house for a visit, but they never leave. The strangers seem to take over the house and the people in it. The neighbours think that the house has turned into a place for a cult the beautiful furniture etc are sold off to charity. When one day, the police are called because they can hear a crying baby. The baby is well cared for but, when the go into the kitchen, they find 3 decomposing bodies.Thank you, Random House UK Cornerstone, and NetGalley for a copy of The Family Upstairs. I have read a few Lisa Jewels book. I did enjoy this but, this is not one of my favourites. This book has a good original plot, but the only character I liked was Libby. I liked her side of the story but, the story involving the rest of her family I didn’t care much about. It also didn’t grip me like her last book did. 3.5 stars from me.
    more
  • Kim Fox
    January 1, 1970
    I absolutely loved this book! I love a book that grabs you from the first sentence and doesn't let go. This book did that, and then some! The author kept me guessing, had a ton of twists and gave me an ending that was fantastic! You really can't ask for more than that in a book. The only thing I wish is that people would have stopped interrupting me, so I could have finished this book faster! Thank you to Atria Books, Lisa Jewell and Goodreads for giving me the opportunity to read this book!
    more
  • Ruthy lavin
    January 1, 1970
    A really good, fast paced read. Written well, and with a gripping start, an intriguing middle, and a great ending - it’s well worth reading if you like a pacy thriller! A definite recommendation, easily worthy of 4 stars.
  • Paulette
    January 1, 1970
    I am a huge fan of Lisa Jewell books and was looking forward to reading this one.I have read a few of her thrillers, she is masterful with those twisty plots and strong character driven plots so going into this one my expectations and were very high.This was a very long book, its very complex alternating in several different timelines in the past and present. Libby has turned 25 and had found out she has inherited a house in Chelsea, London it turns out it’s a mansion. Libby was found abandoned I am a huge fan of Lisa Jewell books and was looking forward to reading this one.I have read a few of her thrillers, she is masterful with those twisty plots and strong character driven plots so going into this one my expectations and were very high.This was a very long book, its very complex alternating in several different timelines in the past and present. Libby has turned 25 and had found out she has inherited a house in Chelsea, London it turns out it’s a mansion. Libby was found abandoned in the house as a baby, she was adopted to a loving family and has led her life. She has always wondered what happened to her… her family.The book is focused around this dysfunctional family in the house and there are a lot of family members. It is all intertwined and took some time to make connections of the who’s who. The family lives in a cult way of life, we find out what happened in the house. It is dark, gritty, horrifying and superbly written. The book in full of twists and turns, for me I felt it was too long for a thriller, it didn’t grab me as much as her other novels that are standout favorites in my collection. This is well worth picking up, and diving down the rabbit hole. Its a solid 4 stars for me.Thank you to Penguin Random House and Lisa Jewell for my ARC.
    more
  • Aliaq8
    January 1, 1970
    Really enjoyed this book.. from start to end not a boring page in sight.
  • Karen Whittard
    January 1, 1970
    The family upstairs is the new book by best selling author Lisa Jewell. Lisa has been one of my favourite authors for many, many years now. To see her completely change the books that she writes from lighthearted chicklit to thriller/crime/family dramas has been an honour. This book is her latest book and boy does it pack a punch. With twist and turns galore, an array of characters, from adorable to abominations, secret pacts, family drama, horrifically sad family pasts and striving for a future The family upstairs is the new book by best selling author Lisa Jewell. Lisa has been one of my favourite authors for many, many years now. To see her completely change the books that she writes from lighthearted chicklit to thriller/crime/family dramas has been an honour. This book is her latest book and boy does it pack a punch. With twist and turns galore, an array of characters, from adorable to abominations, secret pacts, family drama, horrifically sad family pasts and striving for a future that is beautiful and full of joy and happiness this book has it all. If you are a fan of Lisa’s or a fan of physiological thrillers or family dramas I promise you that you will not be disappointed with this book, and you will loose many, many hours lost in the pages of this book as you try and piece everything together. I really do not want to give anything away as it really is one that you have to read and discover for yourself. But I will just urge everyone to go out and buy this book or borrow it from a library as it’s one not to be missed. Happy reading.
    more
  • Nicole
    January 1, 1970
    This was definitely an interesting read but I really enjoyed it. In Chelsea, London, in a very big house a baby is found awake in a cot. In the kitchen there are three decomposing corpses, who have been dead for a number of years. But who has been looking after the baby and where did they go? You follow three different sets of characters, your job as a reader is to work out how they all relate together. Its differently a puzzle, solving the mystery in this book. You're not given the names at the This was definitely an interesting read but I really enjoyed it. In Chelsea, London, in a very big house a baby is found awake in a cot. In the kitchen there are three decomposing corpses, who have been dead for a number of years. But who has been looking after the baby and where did they go? You follow three different sets of characters, your job as a reader is to work out how they all relate together. Its differently a puzzle, solving the mystery in this book. You're not given the names at the start of chapters or any names in the synopsis and for that reason the start is very confusing. You're trying to figure out who is who. I can see a lot of people DNFing this book early on because it's too confusing, but I would honestly recommend you stick with it because it all makes sense in the end. As the book goes along, it makes more and more sense. Its definitely not a fast paced, tense thriller. It's very slow burn but incredibly dark. I was gripped all the way through because I wanted to work out how all the characters related to each other. I highly recommend this, if you're looking for a dark, slow burn domestic thriller.Trigger warnings: suicide, miscarriage, animal abuse, child absue and rape
    more
  • Aisling
    January 1, 1970
    Exactly what you want in a thriller...slightly creepy, tense, and a constantly shifting understanding. I found the beginning a little tough (there are a lot of people to keep track of and the reader has to figure out which chapters are from the past) but it quickly settles into a manageable load and then you cannot put this book down. There are some fabulous twists and reveals. A great 5 star read!
    more
  • Nancy
    January 1, 1970
    Such an enjoyable book. Lisa Jewel knows how to write. Not all of her books have been a hit for me but this one clearly was. A baby is discovered in her crib in a family home where both parents have been killed. She is healthy, happy, clean, and clearly alone. What happened to the her parents? What happened to the other children in the home? Above all, who is the third body, a man who seemed to be leading a cult in the home? Excellent thriller which had me completely guessing throughout the book Such an enjoyable book. Lisa Jewel knows how to write. Not all of her books have been a hit for me but this one clearly was. A baby is discovered in her crib in a family home where both parents have been killed. She is healthy, happy, clean, and clearly alone. What happened to the her parents? What happened to the other children in the home? Above all, who is the third body, a man who seemed to be leading a cult in the home? Excellent thriller which had me completely guessing throughout the book.
    more
Write a review