Wolf Rain (Psy-Changeling Trinity, #3; Psy-Changeling, #18)
New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh takes us on a new adventure in this next novel of the Psy-Changeling Trinity series…The end of Silence was supposed to create a better world for future generations. But trust is broken, and the alliance between Psy, Changeling, and human is thin. The problems that led to Silence are back in full force. Because Silence fixed nothing, just hid the problems.This time, the Psy have to find a real answer to their problems–if one exists. Or their race will soon go extinct in a cascade of violence. The answer begins with an empath who is attuned to monsters–and who is going to charm a wolf into loving her despite his own demons.

Wolf Rain (Psy-Changeling Trinity, #3; Psy-Changeling, #18) Details

TitleWolf Rain (Psy-Changeling Trinity, #3; Psy-Changeling, #18)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 4th, 2019
PublisherBerkley
ISBN-139781984803597
Rating
GenreRomance, Paranormal Romance, Fantasy, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Shapeshifters

Wolf Rain (Psy-Changeling Trinity, #3; Psy-Changeling, #18) Review

  • Val ⚓️ Shameless, Skanky & Bitchy ⚓️
    January 1, 1970
    4 StarsI was SO excited to go back to the Psy-Changeling world with this newest installment...And even more excited that we would be seeing it through the eyes of SnowDancer.SnowDancer is my favorite setting within this world, bar none (which I have discussed in previous series reviews ad nauseam), so to get to go back and relish that environment for yet another fantastic Singh book was incomparable. I really loved Memory and Alexei together. Memory was fierce and feisty and I loved their intera 4 StarsI was SO excited to go back to the Psy-Changeling world with this newest installment...And even more excited that we would be seeing it through the eyes of SnowDancer.SnowDancer is my favorite setting within this world, bar none (which I have discussed in previous series reviews ad nauseam), so to get to go back and relish that environment for yet another fantastic Singh book was incomparable. I really loved Memory and Alexei together. Memory was fierce and feisty and I loved their interactions and romance. Also, in addition to Memory and Alexei's story arc, there was a new dimension added to the overlying Trinity story arc. Nalini Singh never fails to surprise and dazzle with her creative and intelligent plots and world-building. Just when I think she has nowhere else to go plot-wise, she finds another whole pathway rife with new plot-fodder, characters, and relationships. It really is incredible. However, I think my favorite part of this world as a whole (besides Hawke, of course *wink*) is the underlying message of unity, the quest for peace, and the multicultural, multi-racial, multi-specie nature of the world and its characters. Cannot wait for the next book in the series.
    more
  • Corina☞BookTwinsReviews
    January 1, 1970
    As always it was wonderful visiting my favorite pack. I have a weakness for wolf shifters, and when I found out about the title and the blurb I was ecstatic.I really was intrigued by the blurb.Memory, even though she was kidnapped for many year, didn’t lose her feistiness or sass. She was a female character I adored for her strong will, endurance and strength to know what she wanted even if it seemed to make no sense. She was one of those characters whose personality spoke to me immediately. And As always it was wonderful visiting my favorite pack. I have a weakness for wolf shifters, and when I found out about the title and the blurb I was ecstatic.I really was intrigued by the blurb.Memory, even though she was kidnapped for many year, didn’t lose her feistiness or sass. She was a female character I adored for her strong will, endurance and strength to know what she wanted even if it seemed to make no sense. She was one of those characters whose personality spoke to me immediately. And she meshed beautifully with her growly wolf.Alexei was a typical wolf, approachable, protective, and always knew how to handle Memory. He was tuned into her to a fantastic degree and made them incredibly compatible as a couple.I really enjoyed Memory and Alexei together. Smart and funny dialogues had me laughing out loud. And their chemistry was palpable. Even though Memory was inexperienced she had no trouble distinguishing her feelings and because of that she was steps ahead of Alexei. Him catching up was endearing and a source of continuous amusement.As always the author had many new dangers lurking around corners. Forces that threatened the overall survival of Psy and PsyNet. The overall story arc is still moving along, it might have taken a little breather in Wolf Rain, but there is definitley movement. And of course I’m wondering what’s coming next. At this point I wouldn’t mind for favorite couples to get another book. Krycheck for example is just too interesting for him not have a second book. Because his power is truly one of a kind.Throughout Wolf Rain the author revisits old and popular characters, and gives the reader small glimpses into their present lives. These glimpses are somewhat satisfying but might make this book not the ideal book to start this series with. There are just too many characters that are being mentioned. So start with book one and enjoy the ride.✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ ARC generously provided in exchange for an honest review.Here are more Fantasy/Sci-Fi/PNR reads Fantasy/Sci-Fi/PNRFor more book recommendations, follow me on Instagram✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵
    more
  • Azrah
    January 1, 1970
    This is releasing in a few days!!! I AM READY!Update: 29 Nov, 2018So this book is going to be about Snowdancer Leutenent Alexei and Memory. I am gutted over the fact that this won't be about the BlackEndge Russian wolf pack. (If anyone remembers who Memory is please let me know. Ha! I didn't even mean for that to be funny ; )) ___30 Oct, 2018Was hoping for more from the bears but won't mind if this one is about the Russian wolf pack. I DON'T EVEN CARE, IT'S MORE NALINI SINGH! I AM TRASH FOR THIS This is releasing in a few days!!! I AM READY!Update: 29 Nov, 2018So this book is going to be about Snowdancer Leutenent Alexei and Memory. I am gutted over the fact that this won't be about the BlackEndge Russian wolf pack. (If anyone remembers who Memory is please let me know. Ha! I didn't even mean for that to be funny ; )) ___30 Oct, 2018Was hoping for more from the bears but won't mind if this one is about the Russian wolf pack. I DON'T EVEN CARE, IT'S MORE NALINI SINGH! I AM TRASH FOR THIS SERIES
    more
  • Geri Reads
    January 1, 1970
    Just when I thought this world couldn't get any more expansive, Nalini Singh comes and proves me wrong.I'm so happy that we're back with the SnowDancer pack this time around. I've missed their presence in the series for a while now and I'm so happy to see a lot of familiar faces not just from SnowDancer but from Darkriver crew as well.Despite the familiar characters and setting, this book explores some new territory in the Psy-Changeling world. It's both fascinating and terrifying at the same ti Just when I thought this world couldn't get any more expansive, Nalini Singh comes and proves me wrong.I'm so happy that we're back with the SnowDancer pack this time around. I've missed their presence in the series for a while now and I'm so happy to see a lot of familiar faces not just from SnowDancer but from Darkriver crew as well.Despite the familiar characters and setting, this book explores some new territory in the Psy-Changeling world. It's both fascinating and terrifying at the same time.Nalini Singh not only expanded the Psy-Changeling world, she also deepened it. We get more insight into the PsyNet and its ongoing deterioration and the efforts the ruling coalition are doing to temper and solve it. It's exciting but also scary because Nalini introduced some unknowns into the mix which made me want to read the next book ASAP!But I'm getting ahead of myself. Wolf Rain is first and foremost, Alexei and Memory's story.Alexei is one of the SnowDancer lieutenants with a tragic history while Memory is a new character with some very interesting capabilities. Changeling-Psy pairings have always been my favorite and this pair is no exception. I loved how their relationship developed. Both Alexei and Memory are broken in their own way, Memory especially. She needed so TLC and Alexei was the perfect person who gave it to her. I'm seriously considering my Nalini Singh hero ranking now that I've met Alexei. He's definitely among my favorites now.If you're a long time fan of the series, you won't want to miss Wolf Rain. It not only gives us the familiar characters we knew and loved, it introduces us to new and exciting ones, too. I know I sound like a broken record but I cannot wait to read the next book. I hope it's about who I think it'll be about. 😂ARC provided by Berkley
    more
  • Angela
    January 1, 1970
    I’ve missed the wolves of SnowDancer. They, and DarkRiver, will always have the most special place in my changeling-loving heart, simply because they were the first. I’ll never get over their unique personalities, their love and care, or the vastness of their packs. They are large packs, but still family. You can feel it in all their interactions, and it’s like coming home for me.Fair warning. Spoilers abound for any and all of the previous books in the series. Just trust me and go start at the I’ve missed the wolves of SnowDancer. They, and DarkRiver, will always have the most special place in my changeling-loving heart, simply because they were the first. I’ll never get over their unique personalities, their love and care, or the vastness of their packs. They are large packs, but still family. You can feel it in all their interactions, and it’s like coming home for me.Fair warning. Spoilers abound for any and all of the previous books in the series. Just trust me and go start at the beginning with Slave to Sensation. Even if you don’t love every book as you go along (and there are eighteen now), the world building alone is worth continuing this series. One of my favorites things about this series is the inclusiveness, and it's something I've only briefly touched on before.The characters are wildly diverse and unique, to the point where it feels celebrated. The characters come from so many different cultures and have varied customs, making the world feel every bit as interesting as it is. The subtle and strong underlying theme of differences being not only accepted but being necessary for survival in the world is refreshing. If I could ask for one thing, it would be more LGBT inclusion. I recall a couple of side characters shown as gay earlier in the series. Silver Silence added a couple more that we actually got some page time with. I'd just love to see more.That wish aside...when I re-read every year, the romances get me right in the heart. This ever-expanding cast of characters and how well they love each other continues to capture my heart and mind.I have my favorites in the series, I think everyone does, and when they show up again for more screen time in the newest book it always makes me grin. Wolf Rain gave me plenty of reason for smiles. Being back in California, with SnowDancer ensures that we’re going to meet with plenty of previous heroes and heroines. I loved seeing Lucas, Sasha, Hawke, Mercy, Kaleb, and so many others. It was a nice moment when we got to see their lives happily continuing on, even when some of them aren't mentioned by name.As usual, at least for me, the main couple took center stage. I immediately fell in love with Memory. She’s a fascinating and strong heroine that I couldn’t get enough of. I loved that even though we were in her heart and head a good portion of the time, we began to understand her at the same rate Alexei did. She doubted her own self enough, in the beginning, that she was a bit of an unreliable narrator. I think it’s easy to know – because this is Nalini Singh, after all – that she was a “good” person. There is good reason for her to think that her Psy talent is more a curse, and that just made this so much more interesting.Alexei, we’ve met before, but I loved seeing deeper into his soul and heart. He’s got this huge heart that only wants to protect everyone, even from himself. I loved his playful side, and his courting. Seeing the wolves court their mates is one of my favorite things.It was easy to see why they fell in love with each other. Their interactions with each other are incredibly sigh-worthy.I really appreciated that despite the fact that they both had legitimate concerns about how they may harm someone they love, they worked through it together. It didn’t stop them from talking about it. Nor did it keep them apart. There was no manufactured drama here. Even when fighting their own feelings, they both understood what they had with each other and fought for that.This book combined all of my favorite elements – the “original” changelings, Psy and Changeling falling in love, favorite characters come back for more screen-time, and some very real pressing and imperative obstacles and concerns.As always, I can’t wait for the next Nalini Singh book. I think I’ll go re-read all 18 books (and the many short stories and bonus stories) in this series in the meantime.More on The AlliteratesInitial thoughts: Love heading back to SnowDancer. Love Alexei. Especially love Memory.Definitely (even more) in the mood for a series re-read now.
    more
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    As much as I've enjoyed meeting the bears and spending time underwater with Blacksea in the last couple of books (and I am really hoping we'll get to spend more time with ALL of them!) I was still really excited that Wolf Rain would take us back to where it all began with the SnowDancer pack. I can't help it, I've loved this series for such a long time that spending time with the wolves (and the cats of DarkRiver) just feels like coming home and it was so wonderful to catch up with all the famil As much as I've enjoyed meeting the bears and spending time underwater with Blacksea in the last couple of books (and I am really hoping we'll get to spend more time with ALL of them!) I was still really excited that Wolf Rain would take us back to where it all began with the SnowDancer pack. I can't help it, I've loved this series for such a long time that spending time with the wolves (and the cats of DarkRiver) just feels like coming home and it was so wonderful to catch up with all the familiar faces.We've met Alexi before, he's one of Hawke's lieutenants and is a powerful member of the pack. Strong but caring and very protective of the ones he loves, he holds himself at a distance from the others due to some dangerous family history. He has good reason to fear the future but meeting Memory gives him a reason to fight for what he wants. Memory is a brand new character, she's a Psy who has been held captive for decades and although that would have sent many people completely insane she's a survivor who made it through. She isn't like a lot of the Psy we've met before, she never managed to achieve Silence so she's much warmer than I expected. I'm not going to say much about her abilities but she's always believed they are a curse and that she's evil but working alongside the empaths and the Arrows she starts to realise that she is capable of more than she ever imagined.These two have a lot going against them, the least of which is that her captor is hunting her determined to get her back under his control, but they both know what they want and they're willing to fight for it. One of the things I love most about Nalini Singh's stories is that she never manufactures unnecessary dramas, instead she focuses on creating well rounded characters with believable motivations. It is always so easy to love her characters and even the side characters who have never been in the spotlight feel like old friends.It goes without saying that her world building is phenomenal too, the Psy-Changeling world is so full of depth that it's hard to believe it isn't a real place. I love the way the balance has been changing between the changelings, humans and psy since the fall of silence and that the different groups are starting to realise how much they all need each other. Things was always much easier amongst the changelings and humans but the psy are now learning so much more about themselves and the others.As well as being a fabulous romance Wolf Rain really moves the overarching plot forward too and I can't wait to see where the story takes us next. Nalini Singh's books just never disappoint!_______________________I HAVE AN ARC!!!!!!! Thank you to Penguin's First to Read program! I am so bloody excited
    more
  • Smiley
    January 1, 1970
    8th June 2019: 4.5 Stars Full review to come :) 27th November 2018: Yay, it’s been confirmed. This next book will feature Snow Dancer’s very own Lieutenant, Alexei. Have a look at Nalini’s newsletter to see an excerpt from her working draft featuring Alexai... and from the sounds of it, the main female Psy will be named Memory. I can’t wait until June 😝🙌🏽 And I cannot wait to hopefully catch up with the characters we all know and love. I feel like the Psy-Changeling-Trinity “season 2” so far, 8th June 2019: 4.5 Stars Full review to come :) 27th November 2018: Yay, it’s been confirmed. This next book will feature Snow Dancer’s very own Lieutenant, Alexei. Have a look at Nalini’s newsletter to see an excerpt from her working draft featuring Alexai... and from the sounds of it, the main female Psy will be named Memory. I can’t wait until June 😝🙌🏽 And I cannot wait to hopefully catch up with the characters we all know and love. I feel like the Psy-Changeling-Trinity “season 2” so far, hasn’t been as impactful. So I really hope this book changes all of that. I remember how the third book featuring Judd and Brenna just somehow changed everything for me in this series. And I’m hoping that somehow Wolf Rain will bring that spark back. Well, here’s to hoping 😊 19th October 2018: I cannot wait to read this!! :)Nalini is one of my favourite pnr/ urban fantasy authors, and this series is one of my all time favourites! So, I KNOW this book will be amazing!
    more
  • Camila, the opinionated Catruler
    January 1, 1970
    Alexei’s claws sliced out.THERE'S GOING TO BE A NEW SNOWDANCER BOOK?
  • Beth
    January 1, 1970
    Can anyone ever have enough of Nalini Singh’s Psy-Changeling world. Well now that she is three books into the Psy-Changeling Trinity world, we don’t have to worry about it.In this installment, the Snowdancer Lieutenant Alexei is coming up on the 1 year anniversary of his brother’s death. He has been functioning as a shell of himself since the loss. Deciding to take a run into the deep wilderness by himself sounds like the perfect way to avoid more contact with his packmates. While running Alexei Can anyone ever have enough of Nalini Singh’s Psy-Changeling world. Well now that she is three books into the Psy-Changeling Trinity world, we don’t have to worry about it.In this installment, the Snowdancer Lieutenant Alexei is coming up on the 1 year anniversary of his brother’s death. He has been functioning as a shell of himself since the loss. Deciding to take a run into the deep wilderness by himself sounds like the perfect way to avoid more contact with his packmates. While running Alexei is almost brought down by overwhelming grief. He quickly discovers that it is not his own and searchers for the source. Alexei finds a hidden Psy bunker. Breaking into the bunker he finds a Psy-E being held prisoner in the bunker and rescues her.Memory has been held prisoner by an insane psychopath teleporter / telekinetic since she was 7 years old. Now a grow woman she is faced with a new world outside the bunker. After all she has been through, she is still courageous and strong and quite possibly a top contender in my favorite character list from this series. Immediate attraction is felt by both Memory and Alexei, but Alexei tries to hold himself back from the precocious Psy. But that is challenge Memory is up for even recovering from her years of confinement, she isn’t going to miss another day of living.There should be no surprise that I LOVED THIS BOOK. If you haven’t read Nalini Singh, YOU. ARE. MISSING. OUT! Magical romances, fantastic fantasy, amazing paranormal aspects, what more can a reader ask for.I received this ARC copy of Wolf Rain from Berkley Publishing Group. This is my honest and voluntary review. Wolf Rain is set for publication June 4, 2019.My Rating: 5 starsWritten by: Nalini SinghSeries: Psy-Changeling Trinity (Book 3)Hardcover: 400 pagesPublisher: Berkley Publication Date: June 4, 2019ISBN-10: 198480359XISBN-13: 978-1984803597Genre: scifi | romanceAmazon: https://www.amazon.com/Wolf-Psy-Chang...Barnes & Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/wolf...Itunes: https://books.apple.com/mt/book/wolf-...
    more
  • Aisling Zena
    January 1, 1970
    13/2/19So there is an Advance Excerpt from WOLF RAIN in Nalini's newsletter. She has kindly asked for us not to copy-paste it everywhere. And I'm not taking any chances and getting banned, so this is a link to the newsletter https://madmimi.com/s/28cf8d but if you are a fan really do subscribe as she regularly posts excerpts from all her new books. On a side note I wasn't sure about reading this one but following the excerpt I'm definitely trying it out.
    more
  • Sammy Loves Books
    January 1, 1970
    So freaking excited for more of my Favorite Series!!!
  • Jessica B.
    January 1, 1970
    Ommmggg I missed SnowDancer so so much. Don't get me wrong, I loved the different changelings we've gotten to know but there is just something about the cats and leopards, it felt like coming home.To sum up: I will be forever addicted to this series. And Nalini is fucking genius.
    more
  • arissa
    January 1, 1970
    Nov 27, 2018ALEXEI?!?! AS IN THE SNOWDANCER LIEUTENANT ALEXEI?!!! I'M GONNA DIE! FUCKING FINALLY!! I CAN'T WAIT! WE BACK IN THE SNOWDANCER TERRITORY, BITCHES! I JUST LOVE EVERYONE FROM THIS PACK!p.s. info from the newsletter in case you wondering what the hell i'm talking about.___________Oct 20RainStone pack?!?
    more
  • Lila
    January 1, 1970
    Nalini shared an excerpt and..."His currently habitually grumpy wolf nudged at Alexei to walk over there and investigate further."THIS. EXACTLY THIS.IT'S BASICALLY WHAT I WANTED.******************************************Oh, a grumpy wolf!Can't wait to read some tips from Wild Woman magazine about that. :P
    more
  • Mara
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 Stars -- This is what I'm talking about! A return to form, this is easily the best Psy-Changeling book we've had in the Trinity arc so far. Don't get me wrong-- I never have a bad time in these books. The last few, however, have felt a little bit like the chess board was getting reset & I felt that the micro-plots of the indiviudal books (meaning the specific romances/plots of the last 3 books) suffered for it a bit. Not this one. This delivers on an awesome microplot with Alexei and Mem 4.5 Stars -- This is what I'm talking about! A return to form, this is easily the best Psy-Changeling book we've had in the Trinity arc so far. Don't get me wrong-- I never have a bad time in these books. The last few, however, have felt a little bit like the chess board was getting reset & I felt that the micro-plots of the indiviudal books (meaning the specific romances/plots of the last 3 books) suffered for it a bit. Not this one. This delivers on an awesome microplot with Alexei and Memory (who has had Memory imprisoned & why? will Alexei's heritage overwhelm him? what kind of subdesignation is Memory?) as well as starting to really pay off on the bigger macro plots that have been in motion (how long can the PsyNet hold up without human biofeedback? who are the anarchists & what do they want?). All around, one of my fav installments in this series & a reminder that Nalini Singh is a goddess queen who delivers the goods
    more
  • Holly
    January 1, 1970
    Probably my favorite Psy-Changeling book since Heart of Obsidian.Full review at Book Binge (no spoilers).
  • Lover of Romance
    January 1, 1970
    This review was originally posted on Addicted To RomanceI received this book for free from Berkley Publishing Group in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Wolf Rain is book three in the Trinity series that is connected to the Psy Changeling series. So if you have read and loved the Psy Changeling books than I can't recommend the Trinity books enough. I was very curious about this one though and was wondering how Singh would handl This review was originally posted on Addicted To RomanceI received this book for free from Berkley Publishing Group in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Wolf Rain is book three in the Trinity series that is connected to the Psy Changeling series. So if you have read and loved the Psy Changeling books than I can't recommend the Trinity books enough. I was very curious about this one though and was wondering how Singh would handle the set up of this book but give me a grumpy hero and feisty heroine any day of the week and I will fall in love and Wolf Rain definitely had me feeling some feels for sure. Nalini Singh is fantastic in her writing and every book I read from her I can't recommend enough. Even though book one still remains as my personal favorite of this new series, Wolf Rain was definitely a much more enjoyable read for me than book two. And another plus for a diverse character, love seeing these mixed relationships and the dynamics were so well penned.Wolf Rain begins with our hero, Snowdancer Lieutenant Alexei, who is going on his security rounds for the pack. Alexei has never been the same since his brother's death almost a year ago and he has never been the same. There is a place inside him cold and empty and he gets enough to survive with help from the pack. But as a changeling, he is slowly dying himself if something doesn't change. But Alexei knows what is in his future the same fate that his father and his brother suffered from....going rogue. He doesn't want to risk ever falling in love or finding his true mate because he fears what he will do to them when he himself turns rogue. What Alexei never planned on is to sense the call of a Psy in grief and pain and he finds himself drawn to the E, in a way he never imagined. What he finds is a woman trapped in a cell, mourning the death of her pet cat.  Memory has been held prisoners by a superior Psy since she was seven years old and her mother was murdered and she was left all alone and unable to fight the man that became obsessed with her and used her at free will. She never imagined a beautiful world when she finds freedom....there is part of her that fears a world she doesn't know but there is another part of her that aches for this unique freedom and the connection that she feels to a certain grumpy wolf changeling. Memory is learning to discover her self and the powers that she is capable of and the true depths of emotion that she feels with a certain changeling who stands by her side....her protector, lover and....mateWolf Rain was such pure delight in every way you can imagine. Nalini Singh keeps building up this world with such clarity and with each book we get a deeper detail and I love how this author builds the plot in Wolf Rain. I was really surprised by the element of "rogue changelings" we haven't really seen this plot device much and I really enjoyed seeing how it added a certain element of tension in this story. We see the way that Alexei has separated himself from his pack for the most part. He still has to have some touch though, and only goes to those he trusts when he really needs it. But he hasn't talked to Hawke except when its absolutely necessary. We see a certain element, the strong relationships with Hawke and his lieutenants and the pain that comes from separation. We see this so well drawn into the plot without overwhelming the romance or story line. I am glad that Singh handled this with just the right touch. It really adds depth to the character of our hero and why he acts the way he does and what he is trying to overcome and the fears that are holding him at bay.The romance between Alexei and Memory is not an easy one but in their own way, they need each other. They both have pain that they have to learn to adapt to and turn that pain into ability and power. Alexei is suffering for fear of the future, the connection he feels for Memory and the loss of his brother and friend. Memory is trying to find her own strength after being held captive for so many years and finding herself. The romance is slow building, which is what this pairing really needs. They learn about their own capabilities and strengths before the relationship between them escalates before they are ready on an emotional and mental level.Then we have our villain and boy this one is hard to catch and get rid of but boy he really was one of my favorite villains this author has EVER created. There was something so mentally unstable about this character, what he is willing to do but this is where our heroine really comes into her true powers and find herself. Because she ends up learning her own strengths when she has to face up to her past and the horrors that he put her through.Overall I found Wolf Rain to be a spectacular read and full of spice and vinegar. It's a story that will keep you on the edge from beginning to end. A story that is bound to give you bursts of laughter, feels of the heart and a love tale that is fiery and packed with intensity!! GET READY FOR A WILD RIDE!! 
    more
  • Suzanne (Under the Covers Book blog)
    January 1, 1970
    Review to come
  • Esther
    January 1, 1970
    ARC provided by NetGalley and Berkley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you for the privilege of reading and reviewing this ARC.I've read some of Nalini Singh books, so I have a fairly good grasp of the Psy-Changeling world. There are new aspects that are introduced and added layers to the Nalini world of Psy-Changeling in this book. More complex and intriguing challenges for the coalition as well. Some old characters and faces from past books are present and it's so nice to reconnect with ARC provided by NetGalley and Berkley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you for the privilege of reading and reviewing this ARC.I've read some of Nalini Singh books, so I have a fairly good grasp of the Psy-Changeling world. There are new aspects that are introduced and added layers to the Nalini world of Psy-Changeling in this book. More complex and intriguing challenges for the coalition as well. Some old characters and faces from past books are present and it's so nice to reconnect with them.We open with SnowDancer lieutenant, Alexei rescuing Memory from a horrible and tragic situation. It's a heart wrenching and emotional first few chapters. You're completely drawn into each characters emotions, thought process and heartache. Both Alexei and Memory have had some traumatic and heartbreaking past experiences. The two are hurting but Memory so much more in this story and the opening scene is so sad. Alexei is such a strong and sweet hero. He does all he can to help and care for Memory as she recovers and heals. In fact they are so good together in their care for one another, sparing, dialogue. The development of their relationship is multi layered and emotionally intense.You'll find yourself transported from page one into a world of psy-changeling. The chemistry, emotions and relationship development of these two characters is intense and so satisfying.
    more
  • Aly is so frigging bored
    January 1, 1970
    I feel like I'm repeating myself, but I'm never disappointed by one of Nalini's stories. It was totally worth the wait and now, I have to wait even more for the next book. It's all a vicious circle *grins*We've met Alexei books ago(I want to say in Hawke's book, but I don't remember for sure, yes i need to re-read them all, don't judge me!), but the Alexei we knew is now a bit broken. Memory is a new character who's been through a lot! Both of them are learning to relay on and to trust the other I feel like I'm repeating myself, but I'm never disappointed by one of Nalini's stories. It was totally worth the wait and now, I have to wait even more for the next book. It's all a vicious circle *grins*We've met Alexei books ago(I want to say in Hawke's book, but I don't remember for sure, yes i need to re-read them all, don't judge me!), but the Alexei we knew is now a bit broken. Memory is a new character who's been through a lot! Both of them are learning to relay on and to trust the other person. I loved the whole plot of the book and the way Nalini moved the action further. At the same time stuff is getting REAL! When they find new solutions it seems that more problems are developing. I can't wait to see how Nalini will resolve everything! In this book we caught up a bit with the SnowDancers, with Kaleb and Sahara(love yo both soooo much!), with Sasha and Lucas and with the Arrows. I don't even know who I want more of, and who I want a book for. I know that I just want more!
    more
  • Aarya Marsden
    January 1, 1970
    Link to live tweeting: https://twitter.com/aarya_marsden/sta...This is my favorite Psy Changeling book since KISS OF SNOW. Review to come once I stop flailing in delight.***I didn’t end up writing a full fledged review, but I did discuss WOLF RAIN on my post about how different readers respond to anticipated releases (I’m a Level 5, don’t judge me). https://smartbitchestrashybooks.com/2...
    more
  • namericanwordcat
    January 1, 1970
    Excellent. Just Excellent.Nalini Singh never disappoints. This is an amazing joyful action packed romance. The world building is off the hook which is stunning this deep into a series. I am so excited each time a new book comes out. I read it right away.I love this universe and I love these characters.In Wolf Rain, we get Alexie and Memory. We get a wolf dealing with genetics that may make it impossible to have a mate and Memory is finding her own strength and her talent. Watching them falling i Excellent. Just Excellent.Nalini Singh never disappoints. This is an amazing joyful action packed romance. The world building is off the hook which is stunning this deep into a series. I am so excited each time a new book comes out. I read it right away.I love this universe and I love these characters.In Wolf Rain, we get Alexie and Memory. We get a wolf dealing with genetics that may make it impossible to have a mate and Memory is finding her own strength and her talent. Watching them falling in like and love is a delight. Sexy too. So sexy. There is such heat and connection between them. The world expands here too with Memory Psy gifts. We get a wonderful plot that is perfect balance with the love story.I also want to call out an amazing moment in the book of friendship and womanhood and representation. Singh's books have been a shining light for decades for diversity in characters. Diversity of all kinds.Memory is of African decent. Many of Singh's characters have multi racial backgrounds. One of the ways Memory's captor controls her is by forcing her to straighten her hair. Memory resist his control over her body. When she get free, her hair is a snarl. She wants it natural. Another heroine helps her get those curls on point. This reminds me of the hours I spent growing up chatting with my friends while her mom put her braids in. The perfection of this moment to be so seen and to know the value of saying how we look is everything.So, thank you Nalini Singh for masterful journey with surprises and delights of every kind.
    more
  • ♆Hayley (TheVillainousReader)
    January 1, 1970
    Shiiitttt. I’m intrigued. I’m going to have to do another marathon read like when I was trying to get to my “holy grail” of this series. At least it’s only 4 books as opposed to 13😹
  • Karma♥Bites ^.~
    January 1, 1970
    Having bowed decades ago to Murphy's Law, I stopped checking every other day for audio.Result? Optimistic check today = Audible page/pre-order finally available.*dances for joy*(FYI, if you've the time/inclination & Audible's Romance package, all but the most recent(?) Psy-Changeling audiobooks are available. Great way to catch up on series whilst waiting for Wolf Rain—and for me, fantastic company whilst exercising at odd hours!)
    more
  • Kimberly
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars - Reviewed for Wit and Sin Return to the beloved world of the SnowDancer pack in Wolf Rain . I love all of Nalini Singh’s pairings, no matter what the combination of human, Psy, or Changeling is, but I admittedly have a soft spot for Psy-Changeling pairings. Combine that with returning to an area in the Psy-Changeling world that already has a strong grip on my heart and it’s no surprise I was eager to dive into this book. Ms. Singh did not disappoint. Alexei and Memory are engaging, 4.5 stars - Reviewed for Wit and Sin Return to the beloved world of the SnowDancer pack in Wolf Rain . I love all of Nalini Singh’s pairings, no matter what the combination of human, Psy, or Changeling is, but I admittedly have a soft spot for Psy-Changeling pairings. Combine that with returning to an area in the Psy-Changeling world that already has a strong grip on my heart and it’s no surprise I was eager to dive into this book. Ms. Singh did not disappoint. Alexei and Memory are engaging, interesting, endearing protagonists and their romance is lovely to watch unfold.Memory is a survivor, a fighter, and – quite simply – a wonderful heroine. She was kidnapped and imprisoned for fifteen years, suffered mental violations that would break most, and still managed to keep her core self alive and vibrant. We first meet her after a heartbreaking loss, one that touched me deeply, and I was immediately drawn to her. I loved her spirit and strength, how even though she was physically weakened and led to believe she’s a monster she doesn’t break. When she’s introduced to the empaths, Arrows, and Changelings, Memory blossoms, quickly coming into her own when she has friendship and support. I loved her journey and was eager to see her find love with the Alexei. The gorgeous wolf is loving, a protector to the core, and bears invisible wounds that bleed daily. He’s lost so much, but he never stops giving. Alexei melted my heart and I was glad to see him start to heal over the course of the story. He and Memory fit one another like lock and key and their slide into love is seamless. I loved watching them challenge each other and their romance was fun, sexy, and heartwarming all at once. Wolf Rain is the third book in the Psy-Changeling Trinity series, but fans of the original Psy-Changeling books will be delighted to see many of their favorite heroes and heroines play supporting roles in this story. Whether you’re new to the series or are a longtime fan, it’s impossible not to be drawn to the supporting cast. The SnowDancer and DarkRiver packs are filled with wonderful, vibrant characters that bring warmth and energy to the page. They add depth to the world while never pulling focus from Memory or Alexei and I loved seeing all the various friendships intertwine and come into play. I recommend at least being familiar with the Psy-Changeling world before starting Wolf Rain , as the troubled state of the PsyNet is an important plotline. The PsyNet is barely holding together with the help of the empaths, and a new power has arrived that could mean the disintegration of large parts of the Net, killing thousands of Psy at a time. I found this storyline as compelling as the romance and I love how Ms. Singh keeps developing her world in new and fascinating ways. The only downside to this is that after I finished the book I desperately wanted to keep going and discover what happens next in the Psy-Changeling Trinity world.FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
    more
  • Elizabeth H.
    January 1, 1970
    Nalini Singh writes a wildly exciting story full of hope… and sexy wolf shifters 😉 “Alexi Harte: SnowDancer wolf, 6.2, blond, gray-eyed, and panty-melting gorgeous.”I absolutely LOVED Alexi’s book! We finally get to see what makes him tick, and it’s exciting and heartbreaking. Alexi carries a heavy burden with a deadly family curse that affects mated pairs. That’s why Alexi keeps his distance and never lets himself get close with anyone. There’s just something about a damaged hero that makes me Nalini Singh writes a wildly exciting story full of hope… and sexy wolf shifters 😉 “Alexi Harte: SnowDancer wolf, 6.2, blond, gray-eyed, and panty-melting gorgeous.”I absolutely LOVED Alexi’s book! We finally get to see what makes him tick, and it’s exciting and heartbreaking. Alexi carries a heavy burden with a deadly family curse that affects mated pairs. That’s why Alexi keeps his distance and never lets himself get close with anyone. There’s just something about a damaged hero that makes me swoon! Alexi is so loyal to his pack and loved by all. His quick smile and happy disposition hide Alexi’s pain, and you can’t help but want to reach out and hug the heck out of him!Memory has gone through hell having been kidnapped at 8 years old by a sadistic and cold psy. After years of being held captive, she’s rescued by Alexi and protected by the SnowDancers. Despite her captivity and years of abuse, Memory has a powerful resilience and beautiful spirit. She’s loving, kind and so strong. Memory definitely can hold her own against a “big wolfy chicken!” The couple pair beautifully together.The storyline is brilliantly crafted, and the characters are vibrant and plentiful! I absolutely love coming back to the series. The world is so big, and you can sometimes feel lost, but the characters and plot ground the reader and offer an enjoyable and memorable experience. I highly recommend WOLF RAIN and any book, novella, snippet or grocery list written by Ms. Singh! ***I voluntarily read and reviewed a copy of the book provided by the publisher via Net Galley in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affects or influences my thoughts and feelings about the story***
    more
  • Izza Abbas
    January 1, 1970
    Omg its about rainstone😍😍😍 alpha
  • ❆Francesca (Mother of Cats) Selina❆
    January 1, 1970
    Still need to read Ocean Light (not looking forward to that...at all...I hate you Bowen) but man am I curious about this Memory and what her designation/powers might be....and I’m so happy to go back to SnowDancer! If only we could have a cat/cat relationship next! It’s the only one Miss Singh hasn’t used for a full novel (yes, I remember about Tamsyn & Nate and Bastien & Kirby)....
    more
  • Sophia
    January 1, 1970
    Introducing a new plot thread seemingly separate from the one still dangling after the last book, the author brings us back to beloved wolf and cat changeling country with this tender, emotional, and suspenseful latest entry in the Psy-Changeling Trinity series.Wolf Rain is the third of the second season Psy-Changeling Trinity series and the eighteenth in the overall series. This is a series that frequently ties into many earlier books by recurring characters and mentions of significant events i Introducing a new plot thread seemingly separate from the one still dangling after the last book, the author brings us back to beloved wolf and cat changeling country with this tender, emotional, and suspenseful latest entry in the Psy-Changeling Trinity series.Wolf Rain is the third of the second season Psy-Changeling Trinity series and the eighteenth in the overall series. This is a series that frequently ties into many earlier books by recurring characters and mentions of significant events in the past while still introducing new players and a plot is fresh. Wolf Rain felt like a big shift in the series because it leaves the previous path of a secret organization attempting to overthrow the Trinity Accord and its leaders and focuses on a new twist in the Psy lore- dark E-talents- but also had a secondary series plot of the ongoing deterioration of the Psy people's psychic net that keeps them alive and the clock ticking down until the Psy Net fails. I was not disappointed with this seemingly new direction because I can see how it had to be inserted for later future repercussions.So, Alexei, one of the wolf changelings encounters a mysterious woman locked away in a bunker and carrying a dark psy talent. She has been in the grasp of a psychopath Psy who uses her gift for his own dark purposes since he killed her mother and stole her while she was a child. Memory is disgusted by her talent, but starts to pull together the shattered pieces of her life with the help of Alexei, Sascha, and other new friends she is making while determining that she will get vengeance on the one who took her and tried to break her. And, she will convince that stubborn, heart-broken wolf that he is hers.Alexei has had to see his grandfather, father, and brother put down as rogue wolves and the women mated to them suffer and die of it. He grieves and hurts particularly the loss of his brother. He carries that gene and he will not perpetuate it even if he and his wolf side find feisty survivor, Memory, a bright and shining source of light in his life. There is an evil being out there who would do anything to get Memory back and a second out of control dark Psy who is hurting Arrows and Empaths like Memory. He may resist the mate bond, but he will protect her to his last breath.Alexei and Memory's story is not told in isolation and many regular characters as well as all the races are well represented. Caleb is given brief narration bits along with a mysterious afflicted Psy sprinkled throughout Alexie and Memory taking turns.I swear the author specializes in showing the dark in the world and then showing how strong people, determined to do right and not let evil win find a way in both their ability to be together and their ability to thwart a powerful danger. I like how the romance is there and developed well as are the pair as individuals, but that its part of a larger plot driving forward to an exciting series of suspenseful moments at the end of the book. There were friendship moments for both Alexei with his pack and Memory with other E-Psy and the Arrows, sensual times, fun and sad, but a couple big triumphs and a few twists. Just an all-around fantastic series entry. If you're new to the series, don't be intimidated by the number of books. It's so worth it for the paranormal romance fan.My thanks to Berkley for the opportunity to review the book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Melissa
    January 1, 1970
    I received an ARC of this from Netgalley for a review. I pretty much read this in one sitting as it sucked me straight back into the Psy-Changeling world that I love. Wolf Rain's main storyline is solid and moves the series forward well. But it is the secondary storyline that I am obsessed with. It was done as a mystery element and quite well. I am hoping it sets up those characters for their own books down the road.A terrific paranormal romance for readers and longtime fans will not be disappoi I received an ARC of this from Netgalley for a review. I pretty much read this in one sitting as it sucked me straight back into the Psy-Changeling world that I love. Wolf Rain's main storyline is solid and moves the series forward well. But it is the secondary storyline that I am obsessed with. It was done as a mystery element and quite well. I am hoping it sets up those characters for their own books down the road.A terrific paranormal romance for readers and longtime fans will not be disappointed.
    more
Write a review