The Last House Guest
Littleport, Maine is like two separate towns: a vacation paradise for wealthy holidaymakers and a simple harbour community for the residents who serve them. Friendships between locals and visitors are unheard of - but that's just what happened with Avery Greer and Sadie Loman.Each summer for a decade the girls are inseparable - until Sadie is found dead. When the police rule the death a suicide, Avery can't help but feel there are those in the community, including a local detective and Sadie's brother Parker, who blame her. Someone knows more than they're saying, and Avery is intent on clearing her name before the facts get twisted against her.

The Last House Guest Details

TitleThe Last House Guest
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 18th, 2019
PublisherCorvus
ISBN-139781786492913
Rating
GenreMystery, Thriller, Fiction, Mystery Thriller

The Last House Guest Review

  • Melissa
    January 1, 1970
    I’ve known enough of loss to accept that grief may lose its sharpness with time, but memory only tightens. Moments replay. A few years back, Megan Miranda’s story told in reverse, All the Missing Girls, found me so impressed I scrambled to secure a treasured copy of my very own. Meaning, I went out of my way to track down a personalized signed copy from one of her book tour stops. That hardcover now owns a rare piece of real-estate among my collection of greats. I only mention this tidbit becau I’ve known enough of loss to accept that grief may lose its sharpness with time, but memory only tightens. Moments replay. A few years back, Megan Miranda’s story told in reverse, All the Missing Girls, found me so impressed I scrambled to secure a treasured copy of my very own. Meaning, I went out of my way to track down a personalized signed copy from one of her book tour stops. That hardcover now owns a rare piece of real-estate among my collection of greats. I only mention this tidbit because it lends credibility to my expectations and subsequent disappointment with her recent work. With two of Miranda’s releases since ATMG, The Perfect Stranger and now The Last House Guest, I’ve gone in hoping she would somehow emulate my initial experience with her storytelling. That the literary journey I was preparing to embark on would prove to be something other than typical. Maybe even memorable. Now, after two bouts of mediocre reading, it's clear that's probably never going to happen. My reasoning behind that thought: (1) it's a very real possibility that I built ATMG up to be something more than it actually was, (2) my pickiness is at an all-time high as of late, and (3) chances are my newly acquired skepticism won't allow me to give her work another shot.In all fairness, The Last House Guest starts off with immense promise. Miranda builds anticipation with her writing wizardry, piecing together thoughts and passages in an interesting way. Attention-grabbing some might even say. Although, I have to admit, the more pages I turned, the more my interest dwindled. The blah happenings, uninspired cast, and messy timeline worked against the author's style, muting the overall impact of her sentence structures.And that right there—the blah—is my biggest gripe with this novel. The author relies heavily on her scattered timeline to put a “fresh” spin on what’s become a tired narrative running rampant through the genre. Unfortunately, it’s not only the mystery itself that’s less than impressive, but also the cast Miranda employs to tell it. Talk about an undeserving bunch. There’s no depth or redeeming qualities to cling to. Not one single person—over the course of 341 pages—convinced me to care.Turns out, for this reader, the best part of the entire book was the setting. The Last House Guest welcomes readers to a picturesque town along the coast of Maine—a harbor community that thrives from Memorial to Labor Day. And for those locals and visitors lucky enough to garner an invite, the Plus-One party promises the perfect boozy salute to the summer season. Miranda deploys the old “time has passed since the death of [insert person here], let's take a fresh look and see if we can figure out what really happened, eh?” scenario. This particular case involving the poor townie and reformed bad girl, Avery, trying her hand at detective work. Piecing together memories of that fateful night her seasonal rich girl “bestie” failed to make it to the Plus-One party. Choosing to forgo the celebration, Sadie says goodbye to the world along a rocky shore. As the one year anniversary beckons, nagging thoughts force Avery to think twice about the suicide label attached to Sadie's demise. The run-of-the-mill plot helped along by a series of coincidences, resurfacing memories, and an oddball interaction or two. And the ending, not completely obvious or horrible, per se. I'd go with unremarkable instead.*Thanks to Simon & Schuster for providing an advanced copy.
    more
  • Meredith
    January 1, 1970
    Dull and DrearyThe Last House Guest is a slow-burn mystery about a girl from the wrong side of the tracks whose world is shattered when her best friend is found dead of an apparent suicide. Littleport, Maine is a town built on a class divide between the townies and wealthy vacationers. After a rich girl kills herself, her best friend begins to question the events that led up to the suicide. Alternating timelines from the past and present lead to secrets being unearthed.I had such high hopes for Dull and DrearyThe Last House Guest is a slow-burn mystery about a girl from the wrong side of the tracks whose world is shattered when her best friend is found dead of an apparent suicide. Littleport, Maine is a town built on a class divide between the townies and wealthy vacationers. After a rich girl kills herself, her best friend begins to question the events that led up to the suicide. Alternating timelines from the past and present lead to secrets being unearthed.I had such high hopes for this book--I knew going in it wasn’t going to be All the Missing Girlsand I tried to lower my expectations but I apparently didn’t lower them enough. My issues started right off the bat when just couldn’t connect with Avery, who is the narrator of The Last House Guest. I actually pushed this book to the side and started reading another. When I came back to it the second time around, I actually liked it more than when I initially started reading it. I slowly started to connect with the narrative but I was never able to fully immerse myself in the world of Littleport. The Last House Guest is lacking in tension, suspense, drama, finesse, and depth. I needed more--I was expecting more. However, this is not a total failure. The foundation is there, but overall it felt incomplete. There are times when the mystery is intriguing and some of the revelations about Avery’s past made me want to know more about Avery in the present. At the same time, I was never able to get fully pulled into the story. I didn't care enough to about the characters, but I did care enough to finish the book and see how things would play out. It got better towards the end, but then it all crashed and burned once again in the final pages. I received an ARC of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Chelsea Humphrey
    January 1, 1970
    Please take my review with a grain of salt, as I have many friends who have loved this in the range of 4-5 stars, but The Last House Guest fell short of the mark for me. Awhile back, I fell head over heels for Miranda's All the Missing Girls; the reverse narration and plot resolution have stuck with me for YEARS now, which is a rarity due to the many books juggling for attention in my dwindling memory space. It could be that I've simply consumed so many psychological thrillers that read in a sim Please take my review with a grain of salt, as I have many friends who have loved this in the range of 4-5 stars, but The Last House Guest fell short of the mark for me. Awhile back, I fell head over heels for Miranda's All the Missing Girls; the reverse narration and plot resolution have stuck with me for YEARS now, which is a rarity due to the many books juggling for attention in my dwindling memory space. It could be that I've simply consumed so many psychological thrillers that read in a similar manner with a similar follow through, or it could be that my connection to ATMG was a one and done deal, but I've juggled my expectations and struggled with each adult novel the author has released since my first love affair with her writing. I don't want to ramble, or repost the synopsis here for you, so I'll keep this brief in saying that there's not really anything wrong with this book, it just wasn't attention grabbing. In a vast sea of psych thrillers, domestic suspense, and female driven mysteries, I'm already finding myself grasping to remember the plot, as I'm either confusing it with other stories I've recently read or just didn't find it compelling enough to remember in its detailed entirety. I still don't regret reading it, as the ending was a step up from many of the novels I've read lately in this genre, and the brevity in length made it a fast novel to devour, so I think I'll sign off by recommending The Last House Guest to those looking for a breezy summer suspenseful tale, as they will enjoy this one more than I did. *Many thanks to the publisher for providing my review copy.
    more
  • Susanne Strong
    January 1, 1970
    3.25 Stars* (rounded down).Twisty and Turny! Sadie Loman and Avery Greer had been best friends for years when Sadie’s body was found the night after a party. Police suspected that she took her own life, though Avery never believed it. Now, a year later, Avery has decided to search for clues to prove that someone murdered her best friend. Told in two timelines, the night of the party, and the summer after, the suspects are those who attended the party. Everyone who went had something to hide and 3.25 Stars* (rounded down).Twisty and Turny! Sadie Loman and Avery Greer had been best friends for years when Sadie’s body was found the night after a party. Police suspected that she took her own life, though Avery never believed it. Now, a year later, Avery has decided to search for clues to prove that someone murdered her best friend. Told in two timelines, the night of the party, and the summer after, the suspects are those who attended the party. Everyone who went had something to hide and you know what they say about secrets!“The Last House Guest” is full of mystery, a web of lies and twists and turns galore. Unfortunately for me, this is a novel in which there was simply way too much going on and sometimes, less is more. That being said, this was a quick easy read which kept my interest from the get go. Having read all of Megan Miranda’s novels to date, “All the Missing Girls” is still my favorite. I am however a huge fan and can’t wait to see what Ms. Miranda comes up with next! This was another fabulous buddy read with Ms. Kaceey!Thank you to Edelweiss and NetGalley, Simon and Schuster and Megan Miranda for an arc of this novel in exchange for an honest review. Published on Edelweiss, NetGalley and Goodreads on 4.24.19. Will be published on Amazon on 6.18.19
    more
  • Norma * Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    Tumultuous, puzzling, & a twisty page-turner!Oh my goodness where do I even start with this book......So let's just say I have to go back and read the whole book over again well because that ending is making me want to do it. LOLThis book reads extremely fast but while I was reading it though I was never fully immersed in this tale. There was nothing that was grabbing me here until well the end and then it's like I wish that I would have spent the time with this book before reaching the end. Tumultuous, puzzling, & a twisty page-turner!Oh my goodness where do I even start with this book......So let's just say I have to go back and read the whole book over again well because that ending is making me want to do it. LOLThis book reads extremely fast but while I was reading it though I was never fully immersed in this tale. There was nothing that was grabbing me here until well the end and then it's like I wish that I would have spent the time with this book before reaching the end. The book is just as puzzling as the author's writing style and that is all I'm going to say.So I was definitely 3 stars all the way until I reached the ending which has made me bump it up to 4 stars. Take the time with this one.....Norma’s Stats:Cover: Stunning, striking, suspenseful, mesmerizing, impressive, impactful and fitting representation to storyline. #coverlove This book wins my vote for best cover design ever!!!Title: Intriguing, relevant, suspenseful and a fitting representation to storyline. Writing/Prose: Engaging, vivid, awkward, puzzling, readable, tense, and well-written. Okay, I know I’m all over the place with the author’s writing style but for the most part I found the writing style quite puzzling and thought it was packed full of riddles. Then the ending…..Plot: Fast-paced, suspenseful, twisty, puzzling, entertaining, enjoyable, and somewhat underwhelming until closer to the end. Ending: Oh my goodness what an absolutely fabulous resolution that totally flabbergasted me. I don’t know if I was just so uninterested in the whole storyline in the beginning that I just wasn’t retaining any of it but let me tell you that ending definitely brought the whole book home for me. So good!Overall: Although I mostly had a problem with the execution throughout most of this book the ending definitely made up for it. This was a Traveling Friends Read and everyone else loved it and really didn’t have the same reading experience with this book as I did. So I would definitely recommend to give this one a try and how can you not with a cover like this one? Thank you so much to Simon & Schuster Canada and Megan Miranda for gifting me a copy of this beautiful book! Did I already mention that I am rocking that cover? LOLReview can also be found on our Two Sisters Lost in a Coulee Reading book blog:https://twosisterslostinacoulee.com/
    more
  • Debra
    January 1, 1970
    This is another book that had a very interesting premise and started off great. A young woman, Sadie has been found dead. It's ruled a suicide but there are those in town who blame Sadie's longtime friend, Avery. For me, this sounded great. But it didn't deliver on the "wow" factor I was looking for. As Avery tries to find out the truth, we learn there is more to each character than meets the eye. Secrets are the name of the game here. Many characters have them but has the most revealing one?Thi This is another book that had a very interesting premise and started off great. A young woman, Sadie has been found dead. It's ruled a suicide but there are those in town who blame Sadie's longtime friend, Avery. For me, this sounded great. But it didn't deliver on the "wow" factor I was looking for. As Avery tries to find out the truth, we learn there is more to each character than meets the eye. Secrets are the name of the game here. Many characters have them but has the most revealing one?This could have been a much juicier tale in my opinion. It was good but not great. Maybe it was me having high hopes for this one but at times, I found my attention dragging. Plus, I wish the chapters headers would have been clearer. Overall, a good book surrounding the mystery of what happened to Sadie - was it really a suicide, was it murder, was it an accident? There were quite a few reveals at the end which helped my enjoyment, but will I remember this book in months to come? Probably not. But this could be a case of it was me and not the book. I still look forward to reading books by this author in the future. Again, this was enjoyable but I just wanted a little bit more from this one. More excitement, more likability of the characters, more oomph in the middle to keep my attention.Thank you to Simon & Schuster and NetGalley for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All the thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.
    more
  • Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader
    January 1, 1970
    My first read from Megan Miranda was a success! I had so much fun with The Last House Guest! ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ .75 Littleport, Maine, like many places in the United States, is the land of the haves and the have-nots. The wealthy vacation there, and the locals serve them when they do. Typically the two groups don’t cross paths in a social manner, but Avery and Sadie become friends anyway. For over ten years, the two are the best of friends during summer; however, when Sadie is found dead, everything changes. My first read from Megan Miranda was a success! I had so much fun with The Last House Guest! ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ .75 Littleport, Maine, like many places in the United States, is the land of the haves and the have-nots. The wealthy vacation there, and the locals serve them when they do. Typically the two groups don’t cross paths in a social manner, but Avery and Sadie become friends anyway. For over ten years, the two are the best of friends during summer; however, when Sadie is found dead, everything changes. Sadie’s death is ruled a suicide, but Avery is shouldering some blame based on community gossip. Someone out there knows something, and Avery intends to find out who they are and what they know. The Last House Guest is told in two timelines: the night of the incident and the summer afterwards. The party go-ers are all suspects, and there are secrets and lies galore that unfold bit by bit.The Last House Guest is written in a easy, flowing writing style with a quick pace and a large cast of characters. I really felt for Sadie and her family grappling with their loss, potentially to suicide. The premise here is interesting, and it reminded me of a case in the news the last couple years. Overall, the twists kept me on the edge of my seat, I loved the charming and atmospheric setting, and I blew right through this thriller, which ended up being an emotional one for me due to the content. I received a complimentary copy. All opinions are my own. My reviews can also be found on my blog: www.jennifertarheelreader.com
    more
  • Liz
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 stars, rounded upThe Last House Guest deals with the haves and the have nots, the folks who spend a summer and the year round residents, the vacationers and the workers. Usually the two sides stay separate. Avery is a resident, but she becomes a summer friend with Sadie Logan, the daughter of one of the richest summer families in Littleport. At the end of summer, Sadie is found dead. Ruled a suicide, but later events have Avery doubting that conclusion. The story is told from Avery’s viewpoi 3.5 stars, rounded upThe Last House Guest deals with the haves and the have nots, the folks who spend a summer and the year round residents, the vacationers and the workers. Usually the two sides stay separate. Avery is a resident, but she becomes a summer friend with Sadie Logan, the daughter of one of the richest summer families in Littleport. At the end of summer, Sadie is found dead. Ruled a suicide, but later events have Avery doubting that conclusion. The story is told from Avery’s viewpoint, from the summer of Sadie’s death and the summer after. Reading an advance copy, I couldn’t understand why there would be chapter dividers just labeled Summer without specifying which summer. It wasn’t until I looked at the table of contents that I saw the ToC did label them. Small glitch but it affected my reading pleasure. I’m wondering now if I would have rated the book higher if I hadn’t had this annoyance as it often took me a page or so to make sure I knew which time period was being evoked. And I can’t say that any of the characters interested me. Avery almost seems a caricature - no family, reliant on the Lomans, some mix of family friend and employee. I feel like I’ve seen this done one too many times. Sadie is the rich girl rebel; her brother Parker, a ladies’ man and bad boy. As is always the case with these kind of mysteries, secrets are revealed and things aren’t as they first appeared. The book maintains a good pace. I didn’t see the twists coming and appreciated how it all played out. So kudos to Miranda for a strong ending. My thanks to netgalley and Simon & Schuster for an advance copy of this book.
    more
  • Linda
    January 1, 1970
    Sometimes you will never know the answer quite yet in life. But it's there. It's hidden behind labels of regret and remorse.Avery Greer deals with the stackable problems in her everyday life. She's the caretaker of a sprawling series of summer cottages in the resort town of Littleport, Maine. It's Avery who must check and double check the rentals. Satisfaction isn't always guaranteed.Avery is familiar with the rocky cliffs and staggered beaches. She was raised by her grandmother just around the Sometimes you will never know the answer quite yet in life. But it's there. It's hidden behind labels of regret and remorse.Avery Greer deals with the stackable problems in her everyday life. She's the caretaker of a sprawling series of summer cottages in the resort town of Littleport, Maine. It's Avery who must check and double check the rentals. Satisfaction isn't always guaranteed.Avery is familiar with the rocky cliffs and staggered beaches. She was raised by her grandmother just around the bend after both her parents died. The wealthy owners of the summer rentals, Grant and Bianca Loman, bought out her grandmother's house after she passed. They recognized Avery's talent and hired her for the rentals. But this agreement took a turn from the professional to the personal. Avery Greer and Sadie Loman became fast friends.....best friends actually. The girls were complete opposites. Avery was more withdrawn and unsure of herself while Sadie never passed up a party or a challenge. After all, Sadie had the feathered wings of living the high life in "the big house" up the hill. Yet, both girls were capable of keeping secrets from one another. Big secrets.Megan Miranda will flip this story back and forth from Summer 2017 and Summer 2018. In 2017 Avery is setting up the last hurrah of a party for their beachy friends just before Labor Day in one of the cottages. It's been an annual celebration and never missed. She keeps texting Sadie who never answers with good reason. Sadie's body is found later by the police at the bottom of the cliff. Her strappy sandals were set to the side above. From all indications, it looks to be a suicide.But as the one year anniversary of Sadie's death approaches, Avery isn't buying it. Sadie would never take her own life. Armed with too few clues, Avery is searching for answers. But her search may turn up more than she bargained for on those sandy beaches.Megan Miranda is a sure bet for a high interest read. I loved The Missing Girls and The Perfect Stranger. She does it again in this one, but it's a steady simmer of events. Avery will peel back a series of unexpected actions that indicate that there's more to this death than originally thought. A clever read with some puzzling moments.I received a copy of The Last House Guest through Simon & Schuster. My thanks to them and to Megan Miranda for the opportunity.
    more
  • Kaceey
    January 1, 1970
    This is the second book I’ve read from Megan Miranda and as with her prior book The Perfect Stranger, this one just didn’t meet my expectations.Sadie and Avery are the best of friends. As with most besties, they know each other inside and out, front to back. So when Sadie’s body is discovered from an apparent suicide Avery is certain Sadie would never take her own life, and is determined to find who murdered her friend!Told from Avery’s POV in the present and past timelines.While I was engaged b This is the second book I’ve read from Megan Miranda and as with her prior book The Perfect Stranger, this one just didn’t meet my expectations.Sadie and Avery are the best of friends. As with most besties, they know each other inside and out, front to back. So when Sadie’s body is discovered from an apparent suicide Avery is certain Sadie would never take her own life, and is determined to find who murdered her friend!Told from Avery’s POV in the present and past timelines.While I was engaged by the story-line, the execution never grabbed me. I couldn’t develop a connection with the players and was left wanting more...something. With a good number of great reviews out there for this book, I do hope it works out better for you.I do still have Megan Miranda’s All the Missing Girls sitting on my shelf and look forward to reading that one soon! Hoping that one will have the Wow factor I've been looking for in her books.A buddy read with Susanne!🌸Thank you to NetGalley, Edelweiss, Simon & Schuster and Megan Miranda for an ARC to read and review.
    more
  • Erin
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 stars rounded up to 4. Thanks to Netgalley and Simon & Shuster Canada for a digital galley in exchange for an honest review. Believe it or not, I never did get around to reading All the Missing Girls or The Perfect Stranger but Megan Miranda has been on my must read list for quite awhile. In The Last House Guest MM presents readers with an unreliable female protagonist in Avery Greer who seven years ago lost her friend Sadie Loman in a tragedy. As a community tribute to Sadie is bein 3.5 stars rounded up to 4. Thanks to Netgalley and Simon & Shuster Canada for a digital galley in exchange for an honest review. Believe it or not, I never did get around to reading All the Missing Girls or The Perfect Stranger but Megan Miranda has been on my must read list for quite awhile. In The Last House Guest MM presents readers with an unreliable female protagonist in Avery Greer who seven years ago lost her friend Sadie Loman in a tragedy. As a community tribute to Sadie is being prepared and the anniversary of her death looms, Avery begins to see signs that someone wants the real story. Alternating between the night of the tragedy and the present, even Avery herself climbs higher and higher on the suspect list. Honestly, I should be exhausted from the sameness that this book has to so many other books already on the market and on my read shelf. So many people with lies and alterior motives in the fictional universe. We (the innocent readers) should at least be crying for a reprieve. Yet I couldn't help but jump on the bus and see this story from beginning to end. Sure I saw where some elements of the story were going, but I fell for this story hook, line, and sinker. Hence why I find myself rounding up to a 4.Goodreads review published 08/06/19Publication Date 18/06/19
    more
  • Tammie
    January 1, 1970
    The Last House Guest, a mystery thriller, was a solid 4 stars. The book centers around Avery, a young adult woman residing in Littleport Maine- a small community where the locals scrape out a living and the wealthy come to vacation. This book is about friendships and secrets. Avery befriends another young adult named Sadie Loman- a rich woman from a powerful family. Their friendship spans almost a decade until one night Sadie is found dead. Ruled a suicide, Avery is devastated and left wondering The Last House Guest, a mystery thriller, was a solid 4 stars. The book centers around Avery, a young adult woman residing in Littleport Maine- a small community where the locals scrape out a living and the wealthy come to vacation. This book is about friendships and secrets. Avery befriends another young adult named Sadie Loman- a rich woman from a powerful family. Their friendship spans almost a decade until one night Sadie is found dead. Ruled a suicide, Avery is devastated and left wondering what could have possibly happened to drive her friend to kill herself. Secrets never tend to stay that way however and Avery begins to unravel the mystery surrounding her friend’s death and the motivation behind it. The Last House Guest was an enjoyable book that I would highly recommend to fans to mystery/thriller books. Thank you NetGalley for providing me a copy for review.
    more
  • Carrie
    January 1, 1970
    The Last House Guest by Megan Miranda is a thriller that is told from the viewpoint of the main character in two different timelines. One time frame is that of the summer that the death in question in the book occurs and then another the following summer.Littleport, Maine is a town in which the rich often vacation in during the summers and the locals cater to them while they are there. Normally there aren’t any friendships between the residents and vacationers but Avery Greer and Sadie Loman wer The Last House Guest by Megan Miranda is a thriller that is told from the viewpoint of the main character in two different timelines. One time frame is that of the summer that the death in question in the book occurs and then another the following summer.Littleport, Maine is a town in which the rich often vacation in during the summers and the locals cater to them while they are there. Normally there aren’t any friendships between the residents and vacationers but Avery Greer and Sadie Loman were an exception… that is until Sadie is found dead, the death ruled a suicide, but was it really murder?I discovered Megan Miranda a couple of years ago with All the Missing Girls and loved it. Since then I’ve read a couple of others and also enjoyed those so color me shocked when picking this one up and finding myself feeling like it was dragging on and on. Maybe it was me or my mood as you have all the elements of a good thriller there but it just did not stand out to me. The characters are all suspicious with lies uncovered throughout but I didn’t connect to them so for me this one was just so-so and probably will become forgettable.I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.For more reviews please visit https://carriesbookreviews.com/
    more
  • Shannon
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to Simon Books #partner for gifting me a copy of The Last Guest House! I really enjoyed this one. This is the second book I’ve read by Megan Miranda and I am a fan!This was a solid mystery. I have been so burnt out on the mystery / thrillers I’ve been reading because they have all been the same! I did a buddy read with Jamie and we were both happy that none of the characters were crazy or crazy alcoholics. It was refreshing.Avery and Sadie have been best friends for years. They met in Lit Thanks to Simon Books #partner for gifting me a copy of The Last Guest House! I really enjoyed this one. This is the second book I’ve read by Megan Miranda and I am a fan!This was a solid mystery. I have been so burnt out on the mystery / thrillers I’ve been reading because they have all been the same! I did a buddy read with Jamie and we were both happy that none of the characters were crazy or crazy alcoholics. It was refreshing.Avery and Sadie have been best friends for years. They met in Littleport where Avery grew up and where Sadie vacationed during the summers. Avery’s parents were killed in a car accident years before so she became kind of close to Sadie’s family, The Lomans. She lived at their guest house that was on the Loman’s property and worked as a property manager for their company. At the end of the summer there was a party. Things got a bit wild but Sadie never showed up. Avery was assuming she would because they talked about outfits just hours before. Instead of Sadie coming to the party, two cops did, informing Sadie’s brother they found her body. It was declared suicide.Now, a year later, Avery has her doubts about the apparent suicide. Things don’t seem right and Avery starts questioning things. Small town, drama, lies etc yes yes! I definitely recommend. 5 ⭐️
    more
  • Lisa
    January 1, 1970
    A suspenseful beach read that transports us to a quaint coastal town in Maine. SUMMARYLittleport, Maine, has always been like two separate towns: an ideal vacation spot for the wealthy, whose summer homes line the coastline; and a simple harbor community for the year-round residents whose livelihoods rely on service to the visitors.Typically, friendships never develop between a local and a summer girl—but that’s just what happens with visitor Sadie Loman and Littleport local resident Avery Greer A suspenseful beach read that transports us to a quaint coastal town in Maine. SUMMARYLittleport, Maine, has always been like two separate towns: an ideal vacation spot for the wealthy, whose summer homes line the coastline; and a simple harbor community for the year-round residents whose livelihoods rely on service to the visitors.Typically, friendships never develop between a local and a summer girl—but that’s just what happens with visitor Sadie Loman and Littleport local resident Avery Greer. Each summer for almost a decade, the girls are inseparable—until Sadie is found dead. While the police rule the death a suicide, Avery can’t help but feel there are those in the community, including a local detective and Sadie’s brother, Parker, who blame her. Someone knows more than they’re saying, and Avery is intent on clearing her name, before the facts get twisted against her.REVIEWTHE LAST HOUSE GUEST is a great twisty read that transports us to the quaint coastal town of Littleport Maine. When Sadie fails to show up for the end of the summer annual party, Avery gets worried. She had just seen her hours before. It doesn’t make sense. The story is a immensely satisfying and will be a delightful beach read for the summer. I very much liked Avery’s strong character as well as the delineation between the locals and the summer guests. The writing is smart with a careful ascent to the conclusion. Author Megan Miranda weaves a wrenching tale of family drama that will have you guessing about what happened to Sadie. My favorite part was the ending but of course I can’t give that away! You’ll just have to enjoy it at the beach...or the pool...or the lake or wherever you want to relax. It’s a fun read. Author Megan Miranda Is the New York Times best-selling author of All the Missing Girls. She grew up in New Jersey, graduated from MIT, and lives in North Carolina with her husband and two children The Perfect Stranger is her second novel of psychological suspense and The Last House Guest is the latest.Thanks to Netgalley, Megan Miranda and Corvus for an advance reading copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Publisher CorvusPublished June 18, 2019Review www.bluestockingreviews.com
    more
  • Susan's Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    My thanks to the author, publisher and NetGalley for a free ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.Avery Greer became an angry, destructive teen after her parents were killed in a car crash. She pushed away in a frenzied rage from all her childhood friends and even her boyfriend Connor when her Grandmother died a few years later, leaving her with no family.Then one day, Avery meets Sadie Loman, whose family owns all the rental properties in coastal Littleport, Maine. Avery becomes par My thanks to the author, publisher and NetGalley for a free ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.Avery Greer became an angry, destructive teen after her parents were killed in a car crash. She pushed away in a frenzied rage from all her childhood friends and even her boyfriend Connor when her Grandmother died a few years later, leaving her with no family.Then one day, Avery meets Sadie Loman, whose family owns all the rental properties in coastal Littleport, Maine. Avery becomes part of the "in" crowd, and Avery once again finds that sense of "family" that she had lost. Sadie's family is at first alarmed by Sadie's adoption of Avery as a friend. Fearing that Sadie's association with Avery will corrupt or drag Sadie down to Avery's "Townie" level, Sadie's family decides to elevate Avery - paying for her schooling, giving her a managerial job and allowing her to live in the guest house behind the Loman mansion. Sadie has always despised her brother Parker, who can do no wrong in her parents' eyes. But Sadie is a law unto herself and seems to be plotting and planning something. Unaware of Sadie's plots, Avery notices that a large sum of money has been siphoned out of the company's accounts by Sadie, and Avery feels compelled to report the missing funds to Sadie's father, not wanting suspicion to fall on herself. Sadie and Avery's friendship suffers, and once again Avery is on the outside, looking in at someone else's happy family. But are the Lomans all they seem?One fateful night, Sadie's body is found on the rocks below the bluff behind the Loman's mansion. Everyone becomes a suspect, including Avery. When a note surfaces, along with a diary, Sadie's death is ruled a suicide, but Avery is not convinced that her passionate, daring friend could have taken her life when she'd shown no signs of depression in the past. Then some mysterious happenings in the resort rouse the police's suspicions, and Avery is their prime suspect.I am a huge fan of Megan Miranda. I am not sure why the author is scaling down the romance element in her adult mysteries: the ending left me with a very unsatisfying, open-ended feeling regarding Avery's relationship with Connor. I liked the dynamic between Connor and Avery. I didn't expect happily ever after, but I feel the author could have mentioned poor Connor as still being an important part of Avery's life in her summing up. Die-hard mystery lovers (who don't care for messy relationship resolutions) will enjoy the twist at the end of this story: I certainly didn't see it coming until just before the big reveal! There is a constant atmosphere of dread and suspicion that will keep all mystery lovers glued to the pages of this well-written book.
    more
  • Liz Barnsley
    January 1, 1970
    I’m a huge Megan Miranda fan since I read All The Missing Girls, when it comes to character driven psychological thrillers they are all top notch.Same with The Last House Guest, a beautifully done drama with mystery undertones, a small community setting and a possibly unreliable narrator. Avery doesn’t believe her best friend killed herself, but just how close were they in reality?With this author it’s all about the characters and Avery is an engaging and occasionally strange one to follow along I’m a huge Megan Miranda fan since I read All The Missing Girls, when it comes to character driven psychological thrillers they are all top notch.Same with The Last House Guest, a beautifully done drama with mystery undertones, a small community setting and a possibly unreliable narrator. Avery doesn’t believe her best friend killed herself, but just how close were they in reality?With this author it’s all about the characters and Avery is an engaging and occasionally strange one to follow along with. The mystery element is beautifully intriguing, the relationships are complex and layered and the setting comes to life.I’m never sure what the outcome will be when reading a Megan Miranda novel which gives an added edge to proceedings and overall I loved The Last House Guest for its underlying layers and sense of unpredictable foreshadowing.Recommended.
    more
  • Stephanie (Stephanie's Novel Fiction)
    January 1, 1970
    Megan Miranda's backward told thriller, All the Missing Girls, made me an instant fan since it completely blew my mind and remains an all-time favorite thriller, so I was thrilled to get an e-ARC of The Last House Guest, one of my most anticipated summer reads. The Last House Guest is an extremely readable summer suspense, one to put in your pool or beach bag for a quick, entertaining read.Littleport, Maine is a town where the rich come every year to spend their summer vacations. Avery Greer is Megan Miranda's backward told thriller, All the Missing Girls, made me an instant fan since it completely blew my mind and remains an all-time favorite thriller, so I was thrilled to get an e-ARC of The Last House Guest, one of my most anticipated summer reads. The Last House Guest is an extremely readable summer suspense, one to put in your pool or beach bag for a quick, entertaining read.Littleport, Maine is a town where the rich come every year to spend their summer vacations. Avery Greer is one of the locals, yet she becomes best friends with Sadie Loman, daughter of THE Lomans, the family who owns most of the town. Soon Avery moves into the guest house on the Loman's property and is given a job as the property manager for all their rentals homes in town.The two girls become like sisters, telling each other everything so when Sadie dies by apparent suicide, Avery doesn't believe it—after all, Sadie had everything to live for. A year after Sadie's death, Avery is more convinced Sadie's death was anything but a suicide, especially when new evidence is uncovered that shows Avery might just be right but puts her at the top of the suspect list. Was it an accident or was it murder? Or was it really suicide? How will Avery prove she's innocent without getting caught up in secrets and lies surrounding Sadie's death?Miranda tells this story through Avery's eyes with shifting narratives from the summers of 2017 and 2018. The tension builds from the summer of Sadie's death leading up to Avery's investigation. The mystery in The Last House Guest is solid, the writing is fast-paced and well done, and the ending is totally unexpected and original. This is definitely a light suspense read that's perfect, like I said, for a day at the beach or pool!**Thank you, NetGalley and Simon & Schuster for the ARC. All opinions are my own.** 
    more
  • Selena
    January 1, 1970
    I received a free e-copy of The Last House Guest by Megan Miranda from NetGalley for my honest review.As summer comes to an end, the last of the vacationers are left behind in Littleport. A local, Avery Greer, soon finds her life spiraling out of control when her best friend, Sadie, is found dead. They have ruled her death a suicide. Avery, is not convinced her friend committed suicide so she is in search of the truth in a town full of secrets. This book was a bit of a slow burn for me and I str I received a free e-copy of The Last House Guest by Megan Miranda from NetGalley for my honest review.As summer comes to an end, the last of the vacationers are left behind in Littleport. A local, Avery Greer, soon finds her life spiraling out of control when her best friend, Sadie, is found dead. They have ruled her death a suicide. Avery, is not convinced her friend committed suicide so she is in search of the truth in a town full of secrets. This book was a bit of a slow burn for me and I struggled connecting with the characters.
    more
  • Dennis
    January 1, 1970
    The Last House Guest is my first venture into the world of Megan Miranda's writing, and I'm shocked it's taken me this long. In the same vein of Ruth Ware, Miranda delivers a fast-paced light mystery that is sure to be a top choice for summer reading. It's a quick, lightly sprinkled mystery, and just superficial enough to deliver entertainment, while hanging at the beach, or while serving your second (or third) glass of wine. The story takes place in Littleport, Maine—a scenic beauty of a town The Last House Guest is my first venture into the world of Megan Miranda's writing, and I'm shocked it's taken me this long. In the same vein of Ruth Ware, Miranda delivers a fast-paced light mystery that is sure to be a top choice for summer reading. It's a quick, lightly sprinkled mystery, and just superficial enough to deliver entertainment, while hanging at the beach, or while serving your second (or third) glass of wine. The story takes place in Littleport, Maine—a scenic beauty of a town that is both vacation town for the rich, and a fishing/boating town for the middle class. Avery Greer comes from one of those middle class families, but she associates herself with the upper tier of the town's society by developing a friendship and sisterhood with Sadie Loman. Sadie's family is part of the notorious Loman family, and they basically own everything. The family is very wealthy, and the town treats them as local royalty. Each summer, Sadie and her family vacation in Littleport, and Avery's relationship with both Sadie and her family develops seamlessly. However, in the summer of 2017, after a night of partying, Sadie turns up dead. It appears as if she committed suicide, but Avery cannot believe her strong-willed, confident, best friend would ever do such a thing. As the community begins to rally against Avery's beliefs that Sadie was murdered, it appears that someone does not want the truth behind Sadie's death to leak. Avery will avenge her best friend's death, even if it means that she has to fight off those who are out to get her as well. The Last House Guest is a fun read, but at times was a little exhausting with it's melodramatics. It starts a little slow, but once the action gets going, it gets going! As the mystery started to unravel, the dialogue between Avery and the supporting characters was where the melodramatics played in. At moments, I caught myself rolling my eyes and outwardly saying, "wow this book is so corny". However, the mystery behind The Last House Guest is amazing. The way the author wrapped up the story behind Sadie's death was original, and honestly I did not expect it coming in the slightest. As mentioned before, The Last House Guest is a perfect beach read, so go into it knowing that it's on the lighter side when it comes to storytelling, and you'll be just fine.
    more
  • Judy
    January 1, 1970
    My first exposure to Megan Miranda was All the Missing Girls and I really enjoyed it so I read The Perfect Stranger by Miranda as well. Both felt fresh and interesting and the writing flowed well with plots that kept my attention. Although The Last House Guest didn't feel as original, still the writing was well done and the story flowed well. It's a good story - just not my favorite work by Miranda.I enjoyed the beach community setting but I didn't get attached to any of the characters too much. My first exposure to Megan Miranda was All the Missing Girls and I really enjoyed it so I read The Perfect Stranger by Miranda as well. Both felt fresh and interesting and the writing flowed well with plots that kept my attention. Although The Last House Guest didn't feel as original, still the writing was well done and the story flowed well. It's a good story - just not my favorite work by Miranda.I enjoyed the beach community setting but I didn't get attached to any of the characters too much. There are secrets here to be revealed slowly as the mystery of Sadie's death unravels. Overall it's an enjoyable read - something you could easily read by the pool.Thanks to Simon & Schuster through Edelweiss for an advance copy.
    more
  • Elizabeth of Silver's Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    Avery is left with her grandmother's house after she passes, a wealthy family buys it, and they hire Avery to manage this house and their entire neighborhood of exclusive, rented summer cottages.Avery is an excellent manager, becomes friends with the Lowman's daughter, Sadie, and is treated like family, and then is faced with Sadie's death that is being ruled as a suicide. Avery knows Sadie wouldn't kill herself and especially on the night of the annual Plus-One end-of-the-summer party.Avery stu Avery is left with her grandmother's house after she passes, a wealthy family buys it, and they hire Avery to manage this house and their entire neighborhood of exclusive, rented summer cottages.Avery is an excellent manager, becomes friends with the Lowman's daughter, Sadie, and is treated like family, and then is faced with Sadie's death that is being ruled as a suicide. Avery knows Sadie wouldn't kill herself and especially on the night of the annual Plus-One end-of-the-summer party.Avery stuck to her theory that Sadie didn't commit suicide, and she found a few things to prove the police investigation hadn't been thorough and that no one could be trusted. Her investigation made me nervous, though, because of the way she went about gathering evidence.We move from chapter to chapter telling the before and after of Avery and Sadie's friendship and of the goings on at the rental community. Was Sadie really Avery’s friend or did she think of Avery as the help and pretend to be her friend? Was anyone really Avery's friend?I was a bit confused at first about what was going, but once Avery found evidence and clues about what really happened and things were revealed, the interest kicked up.THE LAST HOUSE GUEST will be for you if you enjoy a beach setting, characters that have secrets, characters that are broken, and a mystery that keeps you guessing.The ending is definitely a surprise. 4/5This book was given to me as ARC by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Holly
    January 1, 1970
    Avery and Sadie have become friends, even though Sadie Loman's family practically own Littleport, and Avery is not in the same league. Friends they become though and Avery gets a job through Sadie' s dad. One summer Sadie commits suicide, that's the official ruling, but Avery feels there's more to it. I enjoyed this one a lot! I read it fast because I couldn't put it down. There's secrets, which always happens in a small town community. It was fast-paced, the characters were interesting, the plo Avery and Sadie have become friends, even though Sadie Loman's family practically own Littleport, and Avery is not in the same league. Friends they become though and Avery gets a job through Sadie' s dad. One summer Sadie commits suicide, that's the official ruling, but Avery feels there's more to it. I enjoyed this one a lot! I read it fast because I couldn't put it down. There's secrets, which always happens in a small town community. It was fast-paced, the characters were interesting, the plot was executed well, and the writing was superb. Another great one by Megan Miranda!*Thank you to the publisher and Netgalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Kristy
    January 1, 1970
    Typically the locals and the summer visitors don't mix much in the resort town of Littleport, Maine. But when summer resident Sadie Loman and local Avery Greer meet, they form a fast, intense friendship that lasts nearly a decade. It ends the night of the Plus-One party--the one night where locals and summer guests come together at the summer's end. It's also the night Sadie dies; her body is found on Breaker Breach, where she has drowned after falling off a cliff. The police believe Sadie has c Typically the locals and the summer visitors don't mix much in the resort town of Littleport, Maine. But when summer resident Sadie Loman and local Avery Greer meet, they form a fast, intense friendship that lasts nearly a decade. It ends the night of the Plus-One party--the one night where locals and summer guests come together at the summer's end. It's also the night Sadie dies; her body is found on Breaker Breach, where she has drowned after falling off a cliff. The police believe Sadie has committed suicide, but Avery isn't so sure. A year later, she begins digging more into Sadie's death. What she finds leaves her more convinced that ever that Sadie's death wasn't at her own hand--and the more she discovers, the more she wonders if she's in danger, too. So, I read this book in about 24 hours. It's a fast, quick read. A lot of the plot seems familiar--it was the second book of the last three, I'd read, for instance, where someone died suspiciously after falling off a cliff. The plot definitely has the tried-and-true feel of "friend obsessed with richer/prettier/etc. friend's death yet won't leave it to police even though it makes no sense to investigate on their own." You know where I'm coming from, right? You've been there before. In this case, Avery is, of course, the local, with no money, who has been taken in by Sadie's family. They've funded her coursework, given her a place to live, and a job--she oversees all of the Loman's rental properties in Littleport. They even bought her grandmother's house. So Sadie--and her family--mean a lot to Avery. "Sadie was my anchor, my coconspirator, the force that had grounded my life for so many years. If I imagined her jumping, then everything tilted precariously, just as it had that night." The book is told entirely from Avery's point of view, but it goes back and forth in time. We get the night of the party, when Sadie died, and then the present, a year later. A memorial is coming up for Sadie, dredging up memories for Avery and causing her to question what happened that night. It's an effective formula--Miranda is good at playing with time. The book has an ominous, creepy feel to it. Weird things start happening at the rental properties for instance, and you can't help but feel that something bad is going to happen. The setting is a good one--a beachy, resort town--and it's easy to visualize the scene. I did enjoy how much this one kept me guessing. Maybe I should have figured things out earlier, but I didn't. I was intrigued about what happened to Sadie, and I kept reading because of that. That being said, I didn't really care about any of the characters in the book. Most of the characters, including the Lomans, seem rich and spoiled, and somehow, I just couldn't find a ton of affection for Avery. I was reading more out of curiosity versus an investment in their storyline. Overall, this thriller is a quick read that kept me guessing. The characters aren't particularly likeable but the mystery is interesting and the setting somehow both ominous and picturesque. 3.5 stars. I received a copy of this book from Netgalley and Simon & Schuster in return for an unbiased review (thank you!); it is available as of 6/18/2019. Blog ~ Twitter ~ Facebook ~ Instagram ~ PaperBackSwap.com ~ Smashbomb
    more
  • Melissa
    January 1, 1970
    I love Megan Miranda. I love how she describes her characters, how you feel like you are a part of the story itself, how everything builds up and then unfolds and, even if you think you knew what was going on, well you never know the extent of it. This book is no exception. I devoured it!! Many thanks to Simon and Schuster Canada for the early e-copy of this book through NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Miranda Reads
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 stars My home is your home. My life is your life.There will be no locks or secrets here. Avery Greer belongs to the small town life of Littleport, Maine and Sadie Loman belongs to the wealthy summer crowd. The two communities never mix...until Avery and Sadie become best friends. Every summer the two of them are arm-in-arm...well... until the summer it happens. The flashlight swung back, and that was when I saw them, a glint caught in the beam of light. I felt the earth tilting. She leaves 3.5 stars My home is your home. My life is your life.There will be no locks or secrets here. Avery Greer belongs to the small town life of Littleport, Maine and Sadie Loman belongs to the wealthy summer crowd. The two communities never mix...until Avery and Sadie become best friends. Every summer the two of them are arm-in-arm...well... until the summer it happens. The flashlight swung back, and that was when I saw them, a glint caught in the beam of light. I felt the earth tilting. She leaves behind a cryptic note that the police use as evidence for suicide. There are things even you don't know.I can't do this anymore.Remember me. But nobody knows Sadie like Avery, and Avery is convinced something is afoot. A small town can still hide untold horrors. A close-knit family holds secrets. But I knew how fast a spiral could grab you, how far the surface could seem from below. No one is looking for anything anymore and Avery senses that the answers are there, lurking just below the surface.This one was interesting but it lacked a little pizzazz for my taste. The mystery was there but it unfurled so slowly and had such little clues that it was a bit difficult to keep invested in the novel.Once the clues started really coming in, the book definitely picked up and I became invested. And I did like how I did NOT know where the mystery was going, and that twists and turns kept things interesting towards the end.I did like the main character and her desire to find out what truly happened to Sadie...however Sadie was my favorite character...and she was dead the entire book. Which, I suppose worked in the book's favor because I became so invested in figuring out who killed of my fave person.Overall, this was a good book but it needed some sparkle.With thanks to the author and Berkley Publishing for providing a free copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Stephanie
    January 1, 1970
    I received a copy of this title via NetGalley. It does not impact my review.I’ve been reading a lot of Contemporary lately and have started getting a little bored with it. I wanted to change things up a bit and The Last House Guest was just the addictive mystery that I needed.Megan Miranda’s writing is really addicting. Though there were times I thought it was a little repetitive and that she was trying maybe just a little too hard to create a creepy atmosphere, there is just something really co I received a copy of this title via NetGalley. It does not impact my review.I’ve been reading a lot of Contemporary lately and have started getting a little bored with it. I wanted to change things up a bit and The Last House Guest was just the addictive mystery that I needed.Megan Miranda’s writing is really addicting. Though there were times I thought it was a little repetitive and that she was trying maybe just a little too hard to create a creepy atmosphere, there is just something really compelling about her writing. Even when I figured things out much sooner than they were revealed, I had to keep reading.The story is really character-driven, which I have come to expect from Miranda. This isn’t a fast-paced suspense, but there are plenty of small, impactful reveals along the way to keep you reading. One of the “big” reveals towards the end of the book was my very first guess early on in the story. I thought it was so obvious that I was kind of annoyed that it took so long to come out. However, there was another twist soon after that I had only recently begun to suspect, so I liked that it was still able to surprise me a bit, even though I guessed most things.When you’re reading a story so character-driven, the characters can really make or break the book. Fortunately, I found Avery likable enough. She had some issues, but she was compelling and I wanted to see good things happen for her. Where it lost me a bit was with Sadie’s character. Right from the start she comes across as the “poor, little rich girl” cliche. She acted out to get attention from her family. She was also calculating and it was pretty obvious to everyone but Avery that Sadie had an agenda when it came to her. It was really hard to care about whether Sadie was murdered or not. It was also kind of frustrating to see how much Avery cared about Sadie when the friendship did not mean the same to Sadie.Overall, I did enjoy The Last House Guest. Even though the mystery was not as surprising as I hoped and I had a hard time caring about Sadie, I liked Avery and I found the writing really addictive and compelling. I never wanted to put the book down and that is why I’m bumping my rating up to 4 stars. I think if you have liked Miranda’s previous books, you will enjoy this one, as well.Overall Rating (out of 5): 4 Stars
    more
  • Jen
    January 1, 1970
    Avery and Sadie are summer sisters in a wealthy summer town. Sadie is the privileged daughter of a wealthy family while Avery grew up in the community with little resources. Their friendship is unlikely but this duo forged a strong bond and are inseparable until Sadie’s untimely death. Sadie’s death is ruled a suicide but Avery feels something is amiss. As she begins to investigate, she may find herself in danger as well...The synopsis is intriguing and the plot sounds strong but unfortunately, Avery and Sadie are summer sisters in a wealthy summer town. Sadie is the privileged daughter of a wealthy family while Avery grew up in the community with little resources. Their friendship is unlikely but this duo forged a strong bond and are inseparable until Sadie’s untimely death. Sadie’s death is ruled a suicide but Avery feels something is amiss. As she begins to investigate, she may find herself in danger as well...⁣⁣The synopsis is intriguing and the plot sounds strong but unfortunately, that’s where it ends for me. The writing felt disjointed and I had a hard time connecting with the characters. I found myself skimming a lot so that I could get to get to the end and find out the truth. Unfortunately, even that was lacking for me. This could be a case of ‘wrong book at the wrong time’ for me, as many others loved it. Ultimately, it missed the mark for me and I give it ⭐️⭐️/5 stars. Thank you @simonandschuster for this advance reader in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Christina McDonald
    January 1, 1970
    A suspenseful summer thriller set in a picturesque coastal town in Maine that thrives between Memorial Day and Labor Day, The Last House Guest is about friendships and secrets, the haves and the have-nots, the locals and the out-of-towners.This riveting tale follows Avery, who's best friend died in an apparent suicide last summer. But now Avery is beginning to question the initial investigation, and as buried secrets are revealed, she becomes convinced it wasn't a suicide. It was murder. Peeling A suspenseful summer thriller set in a picturesque coastal town in Maine that thrives between Memorial Day and Labor Day, The Last House Guest is about friendships and secrets, the haves and the have-nots, the locals and the out-of-towners.This riveting tale follows Avery, who's best friend died in an apparent suicide last summer. But now Avery is beginning to question the initial investigation, and as buried secrets are revealed, she becomes convinced it wasn't a suicide. It was murder. Peeling back layers of secrets, lies and betrayals, Avery unravels truths that could destroy her whole world.Cleverly told with a plot that flips between summer 2017 and summer 2018, The Last House Guest is the perfect summer thriller with an ending you won't see coming.
    more
  • Darinda
    January 1, 1970
    Avery and Sadie formed a friendship, despite them being from different social circles. Sadie's family is wealthy and spends their summers vacationing in Maine. Avery is a townie. The young women have spent their summers together for years, and are best friends. When Sadie is found dead, Avery suspects her friend has been murdered, and she is determined to find the killer.Told with multiple timelines, alternating between the summer Sadie died and the following summer. Avery works for Sadie's fami Avery and Sadie formed a friendship, despite them being from different social circles. Sadie's family is wealthy and spends their summers vacationing in Maine. Avery is a townie. The young women have spent their summers together for years, and are best friends. When Sadie is found dead, Avery suspects her friend has been murdered, and she is determined to find the killer.Told with multiple timelines, alternating between the summer Sadie died and the following summer. Avery works for Sadie's family managing their rental properties. She and Sadie were close friends, but the other members of Sadie's family never fully accepted Avery into their world. Furthermore, the townies feel like Avery is no longer part of their world, since she spends so much time with the wealthy summer people. In the year following Sadie's death, Avery's life is in a bit of turmoil, and she's feeling lost and alone.As Avery recalls the night Sadie died, she considers the suspects and reasons for her friend's death. There are plenty of suspects, and Avery seems like a prime suspect herself. With secrets and twists, The Last House Guest is a mystery that kept my interest. An entertaining and easy read. Great for anyone looking for a quick summer thriller.I received a free eARC from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.
    more
Write a review