Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1)
A fresh and addictive fantasy-romance set in modern-day Seoul.Eighteen-year-old Gu Miyoung has a secret--she's a gumiho, a nine-tailed fox who must devour the energy of men in order to survive. Because so few believe in the old tales anymore, and with so many evil men no one will miss, the modern city of Seoul is the perfect place to hide and hunt.But after feeding one full moon, Miyoung crosses paths with Jihoon, a human boy, being attacked by a goblin deep in the forest. Against her better judgment, she violates the rules of survival to rescue the boy, losing her fox bead--her gumiho soul--in the process.Jihoon knows Miyoung is more than just a beautiful girl--he saw her nine tails the night she saved his life. His grandmother used to tell him stories of the gumiho, of their power and the danger they pose to humans. He's drawn to her anyway. With murderous forces lurking in the background, Miyoung and Jihoon develop a tenuous friendship that blossoms into something more. But when a young shaman tries to reunite Miyoung with her bead, the consequences are disastrous . . . forcing Miyoung to choose between her immortal life and Jihoon's.

Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1) Details

TitleWicked Fox (Gumiho, #1)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 25th, 2019
PublisherG.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
ISBN-139781984812346
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult, Mythology

Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1) Review

  • Miranda Reads
    January 1, 1970
    A girl who kills to survive. A boy captured by goblins, saved by a killer.A choice - an immortal existence for a single human life. Don't know about you, but I have high hopes for this one. I love that it's centered on Korean mythology set in the modern world - this is going to be amazing!
    more
  • Elena
    January 1, 1970
    [1/24/19]I CAN'T BELIEVE MY PREDICTIONS OF THE COVER WERE TRUE !!!! IT TRULY LOOKS LIKE THIS CAME OUT OF A KOREAN WEBTOONKAT CHO PLEASE THROW ME AN EARLY COPY OF THIS I CAN'T TELL YOU HOW MUCH I'M ANTICIPATING THIS ESPECIALLY BECAUSE I AM A KDRAMA LOVER AND THIS IS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR US KDRAMA LOVERS [12/21/18]WiCkeD fOx[12/11/18]dear kat cho, when will the cover for this be revealed? i'm predicting something to look like it came out of a kdrama or a korean webtoon or korean comics or someth [1/24/19]I CAN'T BELIEVE MY PREDICTIONS OF THE COVER WERE TRUE !!!! IT TRULY LOOKS LIKE THIS CAME OUT OF A KOREAN WEBTOONKAT CHO PLEASE THROW ME AN EARLY COPY OF THIS I CAN'T TELL YOU HOW MUCH I'M ANTICIPATING THIS ESPECIALLY BECAUSE I AM A KDRAMA LOVER AND THIS IS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR US KDRAMA LOVERS [12/21/18]WiCkeD fOx[12/11/18]dear kat cho, when will the cover for this be revealed? i'm predicting something to look like it came out of a kdrama or a korean webtoon or korean comics or something that fits the description of the book, like the whole korean mythology set in modern day seoul aspect. i'm just . . . trying to stay as patient as i can.sincerely, maggie, a kdrama addict and lover[02/24/18]so this is based on korean mythology and modern day seoul and about a girl who survives by killing but falls in love with a boy she rescued??i'm sorry but i am in just with that---------[11/10/18anyways i finally watched my girlfriend is a gumiho after sara mentioned it in the comments and all i can think about now is shin min-a
    more
  • Chelsea Humphrey
    January 1, 1970
    We are being blessed this year with so many exquisite, unique, Asian inspired fantasies.
  • Azrah
    January 1, 1970
    27 Oct, 2018A CONTEMPORARY FANTASY BASED ON KOREAN MYTHOLOGY? KAT CHO, WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN GIRL?? I AM HERE FOR THIS
  • Kat Cho
    January 1, 1970
    UPDATE 4/10/2019:For anyone outside of the US and Canada, there is going to be an international export edition! AND (drumroll...) it will be under its original title of GUMIHO! (Well, technically GUMIHO: WICKED FOX). I'm so grateful that international readers will get a chance to meet Jihoon and Miyoung!https://www.instagram.com/p/BwFtm5nAhUI/--------------------------------UPDATE 1/22/2019:Cover is here! (follow the link for an exclusive excerpt): https://ew.com/books/2019/01/22/wicke...Please UPDATE 4/10/2019:For anyone outside of the US and Canada, there is going to be an international export edition! AND (drumroll...) it will be under its original title of GUMIHO! (Well, technically GUMIHO: WICKED FOX). I'm so grateful that international readers will get a chance to meet Jihoon and Miyoung!https://www.instagram.com/p/BwFtm5nAhUI/--------------------------------UPDATE 1/22/2019:Cover is here! (follow the link for an exclusive excerpt): https://ew.com/books/2019/01/22/wicke...Please show some love to my cover designer: http://mirandameeks.com/--------------------------------UPDATE 12/20/18:As some of you eagle-eyes have already noticed, the title was changed! I finally announced it on Twitter (along with pre-order links). Thank you for all the love you've shown GUMIHO now retitled WICKED FOX!Also, yes there is an official date now of 6/25/2019 AND there will be a cover reveal very soon! Promise! K-drama hugs to everyone!--------------------------------Can't wait for everyone to meet Miyoung & Jihoon! <3 <3 <3Fun facts:- It is told from dual POV- Miyoung was a name my halmoni suggested my sister name my niece (which may or may not be because my niece is a gumiho O.o)- It had 500% more food scenes, but I had to cut a bunch. Don't worry there are still a decent amount of food scenes.To stay up-to-date on news you can find me at http://katchowrites.com/ or sign up for my newsletter here: eepurl.com/dqylFD
    more
  • Anissa
    January 1, 1970
    So much yes! This was full of so many amazing surprises and twists. I won’t say anymore as I don’t want to give anything away but my heart cannot take the cuteness that is Miyoung and Jihoon. Love!!
  • Melanie
    January 1, 1970
    This is all I want in my literary life. *Master Chief voice* Wake me when it's 2019.
  • ELLIAS (elliasreads)
    January 1, 1970
    HOLY FUCK THIS SOUNDS LIKE EVERYTHING I'VE EVER WATNED AND NEEDED!!!NEED..NEED.. NEED ... NEED!!!!! Twitter | Bookstagram | Youtube |
  • Elise (TheBookishActress)
    January 1, 1970
    okay listen. i am Aware that "immortal girl falls in love with boy" is maybe not the most original thing of all time. however, this promises moral ambiguity and modern-day Seoul!
  • Joshee Kun (조수아)
    January 1, 1970
    As a lover of K-pop, K dramas, and YA, this is probably my most anticipated release of 2019. The wait is agonizing.
  • Eryn
    January 1, 1970
    This sounds like a Korean drama x fantasy novel.Count me in.
  • Scrill
    January 1, 1970
    K drama angst. Sign me up!
  • Kaja (red panda) *:・゚✧
    January 1, 1970
    OK, SO. On amazon the book already has the release date, even though for whatever reason the goodreads page hasn't been updated?? Or maybe I'm looking at wrong edition. ANYWAY. Release date is 25th of June 2019, it's already preorderable. I have preordered it and if you are able to preorder, you should too. <3------------Ok, hear me out. THIS sounds like everything I've EVER NEEDED AND FALL 2019 IS SO FREAKING FAR AWAY.
    more
  • Julie
    January 1, 1970
    I loved this book. Don't miss this, especially if you are a fan of K-Drama, sweeping love stories, antiheroines, and cinnamon roll boys! (Who isn't?)My official review:“WICKED FOX is a delight from beginning to end. Set against the bustling cityscape of Seoul, this elegant contemporary fantasy explores what it means to be a monster and what we must give up in the pursuit of love, forgiveness, and our truest selves. A triumph!”– Julie C. Dao, author of FOREST OF A THOUSAND LANTERNS
    more
  • Traci Chee
    January 1, 1970
    I fell in love with the world of WICKED FOX: a vibrant, fantastical version of Seoul populated by spirits, monsters, and characters who are as concerned with exams, bullies, and family relations as they are with the supernatural dangers that surround them. Cho’s Miyoung and Jihoon will steal your heart and give it back to you a thousand times fuller. This is a page-turning debut you cannot miss.
    more
  • Stephanie L (catteabooks)
    January 1, 1970
    Shoutout to MY culture in YA.
  • Tucker
    January 1, 1970
    After months and months of waiting.... WE FINALLY HAVE A COVER
  • Anja H.
    January 1, 1970
    THIS BOOK IS SET IN SEOUL, SOUTH-KOREA? I NEED THIS ASAP!!Seoul has literally been my dream destination for YEARS and I'm finally going there for 3 weeks in May, so this is meant to be!
  • Katy Pool
    January 1, 1970
    I am so so so excited to see this book out in the world. I was fortunate enough to read an early draft and I absolutely fell in love with everything--the prose, the characters, the way Korean mythology was incorporated in the modern setting. This is a completely unique, wonderful book everyone should read
    more
  • Alexa
    January 1, 1970
    Had so much fun reading this one! I so rarely indulge in urban fantasy/paranormal stories, but I had to take the plunge when I heard about this one that’s inspired by Korean culture. It’s fun, fast-paced and could totally be a Korean drama or an anime (and that’s the lens through which I read it, which somehow heightened my personal enjoyment). So curious to find out where the next book will take this series!
    more
  • ♡ Dakota ♡ (Sarcasm is my middle name)
    January 1, 1970
    Stunning Cover.
  • Hilly
    January 1, 1970
    THIS COVER YOU GUYS.https://ew.com/books/2019/01/22/wicke...
  • Acqua
    January 1, 1970
    That's a cute cover!
  • Nicole N. (A Myriad of Books)
    January 1, 1970
    01/22/19: Someone upload the cover for this book already because it's GORGEOUS!******I never though I'd see my culture represented so often in literature than I've seen these few years alone. So glad I'll see more in the future! Thanks, Kat, and special shout out to Jenny Han, Axie Oh, and Maurene Goo. 사랑~
    more
  • Vicky Who Reads
    January 1, 1970
    this is now titled WICKED FOX (cough librarians) and it comes out in JUNE which I am so excited for!!!!yes yes yes yes I am so here for this I can't wait ahhhhh
  • Ashlee » Library In The Country
    January 1, 1970
    She eats bad men™ to survive and one day saves a boy she may develop feelings for!?✔ MINE She eats bad men™ to survive and one day saves a boy she may develop feelings for!?✔️ MINE
  • Heidi Heilig
    January 1, 1970
    CAN'T WAIT.
  • Astray in Bookland
    January 1, 1970
    I am SO here for this!
  • Elvina Zafril
    January 1, 1970
    What an interesting story! This is my first time reading about Gumiho which is Korean mythology and it's really interesting. This book sets in Seoul, South-Korea. This book is about a girl who is a Gumiho. Gumiho is a fox demon. She needs to feed often to stay alive. She needs to feed on the souls of human. But she only feed the souls of men. One night, she lost her own soul in the form of a bead while she was fighting with a troll and saving human boy. She needs to get it back. unfortunately be What an interesting story! This is my first time reading about Gumiho which is Korean mythology and it's really interesting. This book sets in Seoul, South-Korea. This book is about a girl who is a Gumiho. Gumiho is a fox demon. She needs to feed often to stay alive. She needs to feed on the souls of human. But she only feed the souls of men. One night, she lost her own soul in the form of a bead while she was fighting with a troll and saving human boy. She needs to get it back. unfortunately because of the strict mother she has, she got to find another way to put the bead back in. Some of the characters in this book are likeable. Some of them are not. Though, I enjoyed the mythology. I loved the connection between the male and female character and it's so adorable. Though I did struggle to pronounce the name of the characters. The best character for me so far other than these two is Gu Yena. I loved how strict she is. She is a very old Gumiho and it's very obvious that she love her daughter more than anything.The world building is good it brought me to the world like I was in that era. The plot was well-written. I enjoyed reading this book because it's rich in detail with its food, traditions, and monsters. This was an amazing read for me. Looking forward to read the next book. If you are a fan of K-drama, pick up this book.Disclaimer: I would like to thank Times Reads Malaysia for sending me a copy of Wicked Fox in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Tess Burton
    January 1, 1970
    Korean mythology, you say?An immortal girl who rescues the man?Traditional + modern + feminism? YES PLZ
Write a review