Under the Northern Lights
From the number one New York Times bestselling author of the Thoughtless series comes a sweet, thoughtful romance set high in the Alaskan wilderness. Mallory Reynolds is a driven woman fueled by her passion for photographing wild animals in remote locations. Every year she makes a trek deep into Alaska, but this time the unthinkable happens: she crash-lands after her plane stalls out in a storm. Injured, vulnerable, and threatened by the very creatures she loves, Mallory fears the worst—until she’s rescued by Michael Bradley, a mysterious mountain man living in self-imposed exile.Mallory is grateful for Michael’s help but desperate to return home to let her family know she’s alive. Unfortunately, neither of them can leave Michael’s secluded cabin until spring. Mallory’s stuck with a stranger for months.As Mallory recovers, a deep bond begins to form between the pair. Mallory is convinced that fate brought them together, but Michael is buried in his past, unable to move forward. Undaunted, Mallory tends to Michael’s heart as tenderly as he cared for her wounds—but will her love be enough to heal him?

Under the Northern Lights Details

TitleUnder the Northern Lights
Author
ReleaseApr 30th, 2019
PublisherMontlake Romance
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary Romance, Contemporary

Under the Northern Lights Review

  • marilyn
    January 1, 1970
    The idea of a photographer crashing her plane in remote Alaska and being found by a mysterious mountain man was what made me interested in this book. Surviving the crash, badly hurt, in freezing weather and then being found by this man, to be taken back to his cabin, Mallory was in for a long winter, without anyone but that man knowing where she was and that she had survived a plane crash. I was interested in knowing about this mountain man, Michael, why he was living out there alone, and what M The idea of a photographer crashing her plane in remote Alaska and being found by a mysterious mountain man was what made me interested in this book. Surviving the crash, badly hurt, in freezing weather and then being found by this man, to be taken back to his cabin, Mallory was in for a long winter, without anyone but that man knowing where she was and that she had survived a plane crash. I was interested in knowing about this mountain man, Michael, why he was living out there alone, and what Mallory could learn about living for months in a remote Alaska. I really was not very fond of Mallory overall though because she was pushing, kept pushing, and would not take no for an answer. This had to do with her deciding she wanted a relationship with Michael pretty quickly and since he didn't want a sexual relationship with her, Mallory eventually got Michael to agree to making out and bathing in front of each other. I just don't get it, these two people are adults, filling a cabin with sexual tension and it just didn't ring true to me. Mallory should have accepted no for an answer but would not back down on that issue and several other issues concerning Michael. All of this is going on with Mallory also spouting her Christian beliefs and expecting Michael to change because "God". I think I was the wrong audience for the book and the sexual tension and decisions might appeal to readers who like this type of romance so I'm giving the book 3 stars. Mallory made some dumb mistakes like forgetting her weapon and not shutting a door and things like that while she was mentally obsessing over thoughts of Michael's body and that kept this book no higher than 3 stars...the romance just seems a bit juvenile to me. Thank you to Montlake Romance and NetGalley for this ARC.
    more
  • ✰ Bianca ✰ BJ's Book Blog ✰
    January 1, 1970
    OMG - I just saw some reviews talking about hating all the religious shit in this book? WHY KELLAN'S MOM??? WHY???? THERE'S ALMOST NOTHING I HATE MORE THAN RELIGION!!!!! I'm already seeing myself giving this book only 1 star - whyyyyy????I was hoping for something amazing like The Simple Wild - but I'm afraid I'm not getting that .... well - let's hope (or PRAY) I'll survive this trip to Alaska! Mallory is on her way to the Alaskan wild. She does that every year. She goes up there to take pictur OMG - I just saw some reviews talking about hating all the religious shit in this book? WHY KELLAN'S MOM??? WHY???? THERE'S ALMOST NOTHING I HATE MORE THAN RELIGION!!!!! I'm already seeing myself giving this book only 1 star - whyyyyy????I was hoping for something amazing like The Simple Wild - but I'm afraid I'm not getting that .... well - let's hope (or PRAY) I'll survive this trip to Alaska! Mallory is on her way to the Alaskan wild. She does that every year. She goes up there to take pictures of wild animals. That's her job and her passion.But this year the weather is not on her side - an unforseen storm makes her crash the plane.She has to fight injuries, bears, wolves, and the horrible cold weather for a very dangerous while. But then she's saved by Michael. He heard the plane go down and made his way through the snow to see what's what.He's been living out here for five years.But why?Mallory is fascinated by the man. She doesn't want to ask him, but since they have to stay in his cabin until spring, she might get him to talk about his life .... and she might fall for him - but he's never going to leave this place - or can she convince him to start living again?WHAT WiLL HAPPEN TO MALLORY & MICHAEL?WILL THERE BE A HEA?══════════════════I'm such a huge #KellanKyle fan - he's still my number one book boyfriend of all time - so anything that follows in his footsteps will have a hard time with me ... But I will definitely try ... almost anything.I'm the biggest hater of anything to do with religion! And since I unfortunately read some reviews of this book on goodreads, I was pretty sure I was going to hate this story.And yeah, the praying and touching-her-cross-necklace starts pretty early into the story and it pretty much never stops - it only gets worse once she tries to find out how Michael lost his faith .... I didn't like it. Not one bit.BUT - I also really wanted to keep on reading because I wanted to know why Michael checked out of his old life and what happened to him and how they would fall for each other and how the story would end.It was hard - there was a lot of praying and faith talk. It would've been too much for me with almost any author, but it's a book by Kellan's mom and it was somewhat exciting here and there, so I didn't want to stop reading. But I constantly felt like some missionary wanted to recruit me for their cult. Ewww.But when we look past the whole faith sh*t. The story wasn't really all that amazing either. Nothing I haven't read in dozens of wilderness/snowed-in romance books before. Yes, it definitely had its exciting and suspensy and dangerous and romantic and heartbreaking and adorable and fun moments. But I was expecting so much more. So much more emotion and love and surprise. There's almost nothing here. No real sexiness, just some church-camp kind of tame kissing. The whole quiet and serene atmosphere has this 'holy' kind of feel to it. Ugh.The end was better - once Mallory finally leaves, it got a bit better. I even cried some tears.☺If I had to say anything about how this book would be sold/marketed, I would either sell it exclusively as a Christian Romance (ewww). Or have a very atheist editor go through it again and remove most of that praying and god stuff and add a bit more excitement and love and chemistry, maybe even a few chapters from Michael's POV (view spoiler)[ and mayyyybe make it so his wife was maybe killed while on a date with her secret boyfriend? That way we could hate her and he could too, because the way it is, falling for Mallory feels too much like cheating for Michael and the reader - even though it's been many years. (hide spoiler)]OK. I don't want to make future readers run away screaming. Please read this book. It's a pretty ok snow adventure romance thingy. There were definitely good moments. But for me, today, there was just not enough to fall in love with this book and the people in it. Sorry.UNDER THE NORTHERN LIGHTS was a sweet & exciting Alaska snow romance! Run to your nearest amazon for your own Michael!... another thing that bothered me - and it's just me being weird again, I know that ...Some authors use expressions that they learned back home, from grandma etc. and it's totally ok to use them in your books, BUT if you do, I think only one character should use them, not all of them. Especially when they're strangers from different parts of the country and haven't grown up together!In this case (like in all of her books) it was EVEN STILL & SO LONG AS. Ugh, I hate these two expressions! ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡
    more
  • MELISSA *Mel Reader*
    January 1, 1970
    4 Stars!(ARC provided by Montlake Romance)-“Love is the most precious commodity we have, and... even if it’s temporary... it should be cherished.” Mallory Reynolds is a woman with a lust for life. She lives in a small town in Idaho and works as a photographer. She liked to photograph animals in their natural environment and often traveled to remote landscapes untouched by man. Her job was unpredictable at times and even though she knew it could be dangerous and risky being out in the middle of n 4 Stars!(ARC provided by Montlake Romance)-“Love is the most precious commodity we have, and... even if it’s temporary... it should be cherished.” Mallory Reynolds is a woman with a lust for life. She lives in a small town in Idaho and works as a photographer. She liked to photograph animals in their natural environment and often traveled to remote landscapes untouched by man. Her job was unpredictable at times and even though she knew it could be dangerous and risky being out in the middle of nowhere alone, she craved the unknown and loved the challenge. Every year she looks forward to her annual trip to the Alaskan wilderness. This year on her way to her location she encounters a storm and her plane stalls and goes down. She barely survives the crash and is hurt and scared. She's trying to stay optimistic when her savior arrives in the form of a beautiful mountain man named Michael who lives in a cabin near by. He's a sad, mysterious reclusive man who shows her kindness in her time of need.Michael Bradley has been content living alone for the last five years. He'd isolated himself and was disconnected from society living in seclusion. He lived a simple life that he thought he was okay with. Then Mallory enters his world and everything slowly begins to change as they create a friendship and strong bonds form. She makes him happy, but he has to keep her at arms length. He can't let himself get too attached when his heart isn't available and their situation is temporary. Mallory goes from wondering how she's going to survive to adjusting to living in the wilderness. Michael rescued her and she felt safe with him. As their connection grows being with him feels natural. He was such a good man, it was so easy to care about him. As they begin showing affection in small ways, she wants to open her heart to him. She never imagined how much he would mean to her, or how much she'd want him and long for his tender touch. As the temperatures outside dropped, things between them started heating up. Could she spend months with him and resist falling in love? She began to feel like he was made for her and their meeting was fate. She feared after the snow thawed she'd probably never see him again. She'd be leaving to go home, and he would stay. How could this be over when they were only just beginning. She wasn't ready to go their separate ways and say goodbye. She knew if he'd only give them a chance they could have an amazing life together. -He was everything I’d ever wanted in a man.-“The way you care for me... makes it hard to resist you.”-All it took was the tiniest touch to set off the spark.-I wanted him more and more.-I felt something crack inside me. Walls I hadn’t even known I’d been erecting were crumbling to pieces, shattering into oblivion, and all I was left with was... feeling, emotion... love. I cared for this man more than I wanted to admit, and broken and bruised as he was, I desperately wanted him to care about me too.-I would never be able to forget this man. Under the Northern Lights by S.C. Stephens is a slow burn survival, second chance romance with a lot of heart. It's about healing and taking a chance on love. It's an emotional winter love story full of sexual tension, and near death experiences involving wolves, bears, and the elements of Alaska. This couple had a pattern of pushing forward and then pulling away, but when they finally came together it was worth the wait. I really loved these characters, and enjoyed getting something completely new and different from S.C. Stephens. ***NOW AVAILABLE***https://amzn.to/2J59xnu
    more
  • Kristy K
    January 1, 1970
    Even though this book is very readable (I flew threw the pages), I felt the emotions and connection to the characters were missing. While Michael’s story was tragic you never really get to connect to it because it’s told so fleetingly. Mallory irritated me some and parts of her story felt so pointless (like the part with her ex-husband- why was this even in here? He was so clingy and almost creepy in his inability to hear “no.”). I also was conflicted by the part religion, specifically Mallory’s Even though this book is very readable (I flew threw the pages), I felt the emotions and connection to the characters were missing. While Michael’s story was tragic you never really get to connect to it because it’s told so fleetingly. Mallory irritated me some and parts of her story felt so pointless (like the part with her ex-husband- why was this even in here? He was so clingy and almost creepy in his inability to hear “no.”). I also was conflicted by the part religion, specifically Mallory’s Christianity, played in this. It seems like purely a plot device to make us see how broken Michael was. She preaches about God and says prayers, etc but then she engages in a lot of things that are against what the Bible says. So I’m genuinely confused what the point was because it was too secular to be a Christian romance so it felt out of place. I enjoyed S.C. Stephens' Thoughtless series and had high hopes for this one, but unfortunately it fell short for me. If you are looking for a good contemporary romance set in Alaska, I recommend The Simple Wild. I received an advanced copy through Netgalley in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Wendy
    January 1, 1970
    Mallory is a wildlife photographer facing one of my own biggest fears...Every year she travels through Alaska to take pictures of the animals. This year though, the plane she is flying herself (how kickass is that !!) goes down. Damn I hate flying !!!Thankfully she lives, and is saved by a mountain man :PMichael has been running from his past and living a secluded life in Alaska for the last 5 years.  Mallory (literally) crashing into his life forces him to change his ways. She is depending on h Mallory is a wildlife photographer facing one of my own biggest fears...Every year she travels through Alaska to take pictures of the animals. This year though, the plane she is flying herself (how kickass is that !!) goes down. Damn I hate flying !!!Thankfully she lives, and is saved by a mountain man :PMichael has been running from his past and living a secluded life in Alaska for the last 5 years.  Mallory (literally) crashing into his life forces him to change his ways. She is depending on him to keep her safe...This was definitely an adventurous read and there were times I was sitting at the edge of my seat. The romance part was a bit too slow burn for me though... It wasn't anything like the "Thoughtless" series. That's not to say that it wasn't good...just very different.I also wasn't a huge Mallory fan. She came off as a bit pushy and I really don't like that trade in my heroines... It reeks of desperation. Also the religion parts...not a huge fan.Michael was a great guy, though he had his own hang-ups to deal with. All in all, I enjoyed this story but it didn't blow me away like I hoped it would. An ARC was provided to in exchange for an honest review  
    more
  • Mindy Lou's Book Review
    January 1, 1970
    This had some seriously scary moments. Mallory is a wildlife photographer and she spends a couple weeks every year in the Alaskan wild lands trying to capture pictures of as many animals she can. Just the idea that she pilots a plane all by herself is scary enough. I can't imagine then spending weeks in a tent and risking her life with all the wildlife that surrounds her for pictures. It's pretty fascinating. Then the unthinkable happens. Her plane crashes.5 years ago Michael left New York to li This had some seriously scary moments. Mallory is a wildlife photographer and she spends a couple weeks every year in the Alaskan wild lands trying to capture pictures of as many animals she can. Just the idea that she pilots a plane all by herself is scary enough. I can't imagine then spending weeks in a tent and risking her life with all the wildlife that surrounds her for pictures. It's pretty fascinating. Then the unthinkable happens. Her plane crashes.5 years ago Michael left New York to live off the land in Alaska. He's running from something from his past, lost his faith and wants nothing to do with civilization. When Mallory's plane crashes near his cabin, he is forced to spend time with her until she is able to return back home. He must protect her form the elements and wildlife.There's no way you won't be completely drawn into Mallory and Michael's story. There were so many moments that I was hanging onto the edge of my seat. It was exciting and adventurous. I have to admit, I would love to live in the wild like this, just once. I probably wouldn't last a month but it's something I've always thought I would want to do. Second best thing is reading about it. The only thing I didn't exactly love about the book was the reason for why Michael chose this life. It's a trope that isn't a favorite of mine only because that usually means their some pushing away between the main characters. And there is. This is a slow burn and appropriate for this couple. The good thing is there was plenty of other exciting things going on besides their relationship.
    more
  • Jemima
    January 1, 1970
    Title: Under The Northern Lights Author: S.C. Stephens Publication Date: April 30, 2019 Here's the thing, I would honestly read just about anything this author writes.I might not love them all but I will read them. why? Because Kellan Kyle? That man will forever be one of my favourite book boyfriend. *Be still my beating heartAnd it is because of him that I always have high hopes when it comes to a S.C. Stephens's book. And it is also because of that man that I will be a tad partial towards the Title: Under The Northern Lights Author: S.C. Stephens Publication Date: April 30, 2019 Here's the thing, I would honestly read just about anything this author writes.I might not love them all but I will read them. why? Because Kellan Kyle? That man will forever be one of my favourite book boyfriend. *Be still my beating heartAnd it is because of him that I always have high hopes when it comes to a S.C. Stephens's book. And it is also because of that man that I will be a tad partial towards the author.Having said that, Under The Northern Lights is not something I will be reaching for again.Here's another thing, I love a slow-burn romance..I mean who doesn't right? All that angst? But this one was so disappointing!I think by the end I was like "that was what I was waiting for?! Tsk Tsk!".Under The Northern Lights was interesting. I like the whole 'adventurous' wilderness aspect of the storyline. I really enjoyed the thrill of the whole 'scary and dangerousness of being out in the wild unknown'.So there you have it: Under The Northern Lights was not my favourite book by S.C. Stephens.There was just something about it that didn't satisfy me.NO, it was not the 'religiousness' of it. To each their own.I just feel like Mallory and Michael's story was not worth the wait. I was kind of hoping for the unbelievable sizzling chemistry...which wasn't there.So yes, I'm kind of bummed out about it because I was really hoping to fall absolutely in love with these two.
    more
  • Bookphenomena (Micky)
    January 1, 1970
    UNDER THE NORTHERN LIGHTS was an intense story that didn’t just centre on two characters, there was virtually no-one but them. This made for a surprisingly deep story with all the feels.Mallory was a independent type of woman, flying off into the wilderness once a year to take photographs which she’d made a career out of. Mallory got into serious trouble and Michael was the quiet saviour. Michael was a complex character but a really good guy, which is my hero-kryptonite. The interplay between th UNDER THE NORTHERN LIGHTS was an intense story that didn’t just centre on two characters, there was virtually no-one but them. This made for a surprisingly deep story with all the feels.Mallory was a independent type of woman, flying off into the wilderness once a year to take photographs which she’d made a career out of. Mallory got into serious trouble and Michael was the quiet saviour. Michael was a complex character but a really good guy, which is my hero-kryptonite. The interplay between these two characters was important and was well written in my opinion as they went through the business of survival. I found their whole story quietly compelling.There was enough going on in the story to make me not want to put this down which seems curious considering their isolation. The slowly building friendship and chemistry made me feel their emotions and I wanted everything for these two.This was a beautiful standalone romance that captured my heart and mind. I could read more like this any day.I voluntarily read an early copy of this book.
    more
  • Leslie
    January 1, 1970
    4.5****
  • Jo - *✽*•.★Reading Is My Bliss★.•*✽*
    January 1, 1970
    Mallory has two loves in her life, photography and flying her plane. She particularly loves photographing landscapes and wildlife. Her favourite place to do this is in North Alaska. Each year she makes a trip up there in Fall and stays for a few weeks enjoying the serenity of this special place in the world.For Michael this unique place is his home. I guess you could call it his sanctuary. It is a place he seconded himself to five years ago after he desperately needed to be alone, to close himse Mallory has two loves in her life, photography and flying her plane. She particularly loves photographing landscapes and wildlife. Her favourite place to do this is in North Alaska. Each year she makes a trip up there in Fall and stays for a few weeks enjoying the serenity of this special place in the world.For Michael this unique place is his home. I guess you could call it his sanctuary. It is a place he seconded himself to five years ago after he desperately needed to be alone, to close himself off from everyone and everything. He has become self sufficient and enjoys the peace it offers him.On what should have been a routine flight for Mallory turns into her worst nightmare when she crashes in the middle of nowhere. She is always prepared for any possible scenario but she never imagined this could happen. Her survival instincts kick in and although is is a struggle, she knows enough to keep herself safe and warm for now.When she finds herself in danger she feels completely conflicted about protecting herself and having to harm the animals that she loves so dearly. Just when she feels her life flash before her eyes, a saviour comes and rescues her. Mallory meets Michael Bradley. Michael heard the plane go down and never dreamed anyone could have survived the crash, he was shocked to come across Mallory and manages to get her safely back to his cabin to begin her recovery. She is surprised to find out that he lives here year round and has done for a while. It is a very simple and almost primitive way to live. She is desperate to know more about him and what led him to live this way. He may be forthcoming when it comes to helping her but he is very much a closed book when it comes to his personal life. Unfortunately for Mallory, she is going to have to stay with Michael until Winter has passed by, then he can fly her to the closest town. Mallory soon adapts to this new way of life. Michael is very self sufficient and resourceful so she is in safe company. For Michael, sharing his space with someone takes some getting used to but he finds he enjoys being around Mallory. He has never really felt lonely in his cabin but now he can’t imagine not having her there. The more time they spend together, the more he begins to open up to Mallory. She finds out what led Michael to live this way and the heart breaking way his life changed so suddenly. She may not agree with the way he decided to deal with the tragedy that affected him but she understands why he feels the need to be alone. ‘Michael was quickly becoming much more than just my saviour and my salvation, and I was sure the same could be said of me to him.’ Underneath all of this grief is an incredibly talented and beautiful man. He has denied himself happiness for so long and she wishes that he could open himself up to love again. Mallory is falling for this mountain man and she may have been keen to leave when she first arrived but now the thought of leaving him alone again feels unbearable. ‘My breath hitched as I stared at him, and the content feeling of rightness expanded inside me to a nearly painful level. He was so… everything. God… why can’t I keep him?’ I absolutely loved every moment of this story. This broken man literally has a woman fall out of the sky into his life and he’s feeling emotions he hasn’t felt in years. Nothing was rushed in this story, everything happened slowly and naturally. Loved this!
    more
  • Jean
    January 1, 1970
    I actually really loved this book! If you are looking for something along the lines of Thoughtless, this isn't it. This book had much less angst and drama.Mallory is a professional photographer and prides herself on her annual trips flying herself to remote areas in hopes of catching that one magic photo that will launch her career. Unfortunately, her trip turns scary when her engine dies and she crashes into the barren forest. She is hurt, stranded, and things are not looking good. That is, unt I actually really loved this book! If you are looking for something along the lines of Thoughtless, this isn't it. This book had much less angst and drama.Mallory is a professional photographer and prides herself on her annual trips flying herself to remote areas in hopes of catching that one magic photo that will launch her career. Unfortunately, her trip turns scary when her engine dies and she crashes into the barren forest. She is hurt, stranded, and things are not looking good. That is, until Michael shows up to save her!I loved both characters, and was really pulling for Michael to "wake up" and embrace this amazing woman who was put in his path. He has a tragic past and has lost all hope in humanity. I, unfortunately, read a couple of the reviews for this book before writing my own. I am disappointed by all the "hate" and "anger" toward the religious aspect of this book. I mean really? I am not a religious person. I did not think this book was religious at all. So what if Mallory wore a cross which comforted her and helped her to pray and be hopeful. This is called faith in whatever form it comes. It is having that hope and looking to a higher power for strength that helps people cope with difficult situations. Fate people. How many books have you read where you were like "yeah, it was fate that they ended up together". I mean, come on guys!! Give it a break!I highly recommend the book. Not only did I love the ending, but I think it was the first book where I actually cried during their first intimate encounter. It was just so moving and emotional. Oh, and those who like a slow burn......this would do it for you!I received an ARC of this book through NetGalley for an honest review.
    more
  • Tianna✸loves books✸
    January 1, 1970
    This is so....dull.The h’s plane crashes in snow region. Yes, she is herself driving the plane.Yes, she was alone on the plane.And yes, now she is stranded with no hope for rescue.20% through the book and we have nothing but the h getting on the plane, thinking about her family, her ex husband, then her plane crashing, and then her survival.And after the boring part, we come to yet another boring part where the H, a mountain guy rescues her. He is a lonely sad man (view spoiler)[who still loves This is so....dull.The h’s plane crashes in snow region. Yes, she is herself driving the plane.Yes, she was alone on the plane.And yes, now she is stranded with no hope for rescue.20% through the book and we have nothing but the h getting on the plane, thinking about her family, her ex husband, then her plane crashing, and then her survival.And after the boring part, we come to yet another boring part where the H, a mountain guy rescues her. He is a lonely sad man (view spoiler)[who still loves his dead wife. The h falls in love but the H is apprehensive as he still love his wife. (hide spoiler)]Sorry I was so bored.The characters were boring. Nothing was intriguing.In the beginning when it started of with a dull note I thought maybe the H’s entry will be rocking but unfortunately it wasn’t.Maybe this just wasn’t for me.
    more
  • Bridgett
    January 1, 1970
    There is something so cozy about the whole, "stuck in a cabin with a gorgeous guy, in the middle of an Alaskan winter, with no place to go and nothing to do except have sex" concept that will forever draw me in. It makes me want to kick everybody out of my house, kids and dogs included, and hibernate with my husband for months on end...with nothing but carbs, soft blankets, Netflix, and his naked body. Unfortunately, Under the Northern Lights gave me none of those things except...wilderness. Th There is something so cozy about the whole, "stuck in a cabin with a gorgeous guy, in the middle of an Alaskan winter, with no place to go and nothing to do except have sex" concept that will forever draw me in. It makes me want to kick everybody out of my house, kids and dogs included, and hibernate with my husband for months on end...with nothing but carbs, soft blankets, Netflix, and his naked body. Unfortunately, Under the Northern Lights gave me none of those things except...wilderness. This was a poorly written, elementary attempt at ?Christian? romance. Had I known it was faith based, it never would have landed on my to-read list, as I have zero appreciation for preachy novels. From the moment Mallory's plane stalled, and she grabbed the cross pendant on her necklace, I had suspicions I was going to dislike this novel. I was, regrettably, correct. But, oddly enough, my distaste wasn't because of the faith-related content. The story never really got preachy. In fact, although there was praying and several God discussions, the religious aspect almost seemed more like a contrived, plot point than something the author was personally pushing. It felt...empty. Regardless, it should have been labeled appropriately. What I actually ended up disliking were the endless pages of Mallory's internal dialogue...it was like reading a manic's verbal diarrhea--a multitude of thoughts that had no connection, and which were about as interesting as a grocery list. This book would have majorly benefited from also including Michael's POV. Perhaps it would have added some depth and substance. I'm genuinely befuddled how such a well-established author could have written such a poorly put-together novel. There was zero chemistry between the two protagonists, Mallory was an obnoxious dimwit, there were sections of the story which seemed to lead nowhere and were then left unanswered (i.e. when Mallory lost the 5 gallon bucket in the river, made a big to-do about how much she dreaded telling Michael, and then never did so at all...what was the point?). Beyond that, it was very clunky...the same words and thoughts written over and over and over and over again. So much of this story was extraneous material which should have been cut during the editing process. I don't necessarily require graphic sex scenes in romance novels. A few are fine, but after awhile, they become tiresome. How many ways can one describe penetration? Having said that, I was dying for something to happen. The middle school-like kissing, then the sudden cessation of said kissing due to intense feelings of guilt, became a total drag. I was intensely bored. How many times can you read about heating bathwater, or checking animals traps? (Side note: I loathe trapping.) Nothing happens. Sure, there is the occasional bear or wolf...but they bring no tension or fear to the story. It reads more like a Lifetime movie. And don't even get me started on the medical scenarios. Apparently, in Alaska, you heal from a deep puncture wound, one which nearly went through your entire thigh, mind you...in about a week. And infection? What's infection? Michael is a DOCTOR, yet he wasn't worried about an incident which would cause a cesspool of bacteria to be introduced into the bloodstream. And what kind of doctor doesn't keep a stash of antibiotics on hand? Oh, and another question...what did Mallory use for her menstrual cycle? I sincerely doubt Michael had tampons hanging out at his cabin. Sorry, fellow readers. I genuinely have nothing against romance novels...this particular offering was just so unsuccessfully executed, particularly the lack of development...both in the plot and it's characters...it was laughable at times.Can't and won't recommend this one. **Thanks to NetGalley, Montlake Romance, and S.C. Stephens for provide an ARC in exchange for my honest review.Publication date: April 30, 2019Review published: April 26,2019
    more
  • Anne OK
    January 1, 1970
    FULL REVIEW POSTED 5/22/19SPOILER-FREE -- the book blurb will supply the hook, line and sinker!S.C. Stephens hooked me years ago with the release of Thoughtless and her ever-so-popular bad boy rock star, Kellan Kyle. And she’s continued to keep my attention with other wonderful romance stories. Now comes a much different read from this author. It begins with a basic story of survival and not just from a plane crash – but the everyday harshness of life in the rugged Alaskan wilderness.Books with FULL REVIEW POSTED 5/22/19SPOILER-FREE -- the book blurb will supply the hook, line and sinker!S.C. Stephens hooked me years ago with the release of Thoughtless and her ever-so-popular bad boy rock star, Kellan Kyle. And she’s continued to keep my attention with other wonderful romance stories. Now comes a much different read from this author. It begins with a basic story of survival and not just from a plane crash – but the everyday harshness of life in the rugged Alaskan wilderness.Books with Alaskan settings have been on my radar for sometime now. With The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah and The Simple Wild by K. A.Tucker and now S. C. Stephens’s Under the Northern Lights, I’ve found them each to be solid in their own right and enticing entertainment, too. With their individual uniqueness, each have brought me hours of top-of-the-chart reading pleasure in their moving tales of life and love in the amazingly beautiful but treacherous landscapes of our largest and most untamed state.After crash-landing onto the pages, Under the Northern Lights is filled with adventure, danger, and a sizzling chemistry between two complexing and stubborn characters. There were so many moments where I was drawn to the edge of my seat and I was never bored. The author does an exemplary job of detailing the rigors of life in the frigid cold snowbound days and survival in a region ruled by wolves, bears and other fierce predators.Told only from Mallory’s point of view, I do agree with those who suggested that the book would have greatly benefited with the inclusion of Michael’s POV. We get plenty of insight into Mallory and her inner feelings, but Michael’s characterization feels a bit slighted. I always prefer equal opportunity and, in my opinion, digging deeper into our hero’s personal history could have provided a powerful emotional depth to an otherwise somewhat flatline. Also, it would have given Michael the opportunity to answer some of my lingering questions regarding his past that were left dangling.After reading so many reviews with critical references to the inclusion of Mallory’s Christian beliefs, or what I regard as a person’s personal choice, I never felt that it came across as preachy or a push of religion onto anyone. It was simply part of who she was in character. She didn’t shove it down Michael’s throat or push it on readers. And there certainly wasn’t an overload to contend with either. It further served as an additional showcase of the differences between Michael and Mallory and their outlook on life and the effects it had on both.No, it isn’t my favorite romance novel by Stephens. Nobody can take Kellan Kyle’s place in that arena. But if you’re looking for something with a flair of its own -- a little lighter on the usual romance with pages detailed with minute to minute plays on sex – readers will find that this offers a moving tale of survival and a second chance for love.A very satisfying read for this reader. I hope to watch as this author reaches outside her norm again.
    more
  • Joy
    January 1, 1970
    This was the reclusive hero story that I've been wanting. Finally a hero that is reclusive not because he has a disability or is misunderstood by his community but a hero who has lived through a tragedy and gave up on humanity. Decided to leave civilization to live off the grid and survive off the land. This was actually a really refreshing read. Michael's past still haunts him but living alone only having to be accountable for himself is what he needed to survive. Going to a crash site to scave This was the reclusive hero story that I've been wanting. Finally a hero that is reclusive not because he has a disability or is misunderstood by his community but a hero who has lived through a tragedy and gave up on humanity. Decided to leave civilization to live off the grid and survive off the land. This was actually a really refreshing read. Michael's past still haunts him but living alone only having to be accountable for himself is what he needed to survive. Going to a crash site to scavenge for plane parts he never imagined there would be a survivor. And if Mallory is anything it's a survivor. What I loved about this story was the survival aspect. It wasn't just over once these two get together. No there are many occurrences while living in the wilderness that these two come to grips with their mortality even then that's still not enough to make Michael ever want to leave the seclusion for the hustle and bustle of civilization even if it means letting Mallory go. This is definitely slow burn and slightly angsty. The bond that grows between these two is really organic and not forced. I enjoyed this story and was thrilled with how it all came together.
    more
  • Jessica
    January 1, 1970
    I recieved this book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. I have read this author previous works and was excited to start this one. The first chapter is very slow. Then the next chapter hits you with a bang. This book is close to YA so it's not like her other works.Mallory is wildlife photographer who flies to Alaska on a yearly basis. She has plane trouble and is saved by Michael. My heart broke for them you can tell he cared for her. He just didn't know how to move on. Yes the m I recieved this book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. I have read this author previous works and was excited to start this one. The first chapter is very slow. Then the next chapter hits you with a bang. This book is close to YA so it's not like her other works.Mallory is wildlife photographer who flies to Alaska on a yearly basis. She has plane trouble and is saved by Michael. My heart broke for them you can tell he cared for her. He just didn't know how to move on. Yes the middle of this story dragged for longer than it should have. Mallory love for Michael was very relatable. I see alot of women like her who fall in love with a man they can't have. I loved how she had faith for the both of them. This book for some by might be a 3.5 star rating.
    more
  • Antonella
    January 1, 1970
    2,5 starsUnder the Northern Lights is standalone novel by S.C.Stephens, an author that I always read gladly. The fact that it takes place in Alaska is added plus because I recently read amazing read about wilderness and greatness that is wild life in Alaska, so I was very happy to get copy of this book. I watched National Geo documentary Life Below Zero so if you want added info of life in Alaska and Alaskan winter definitely watch that. Now onto the book, well overall I wasn't impressed. I love 2,5 starsUnder the Northern Lights is standalone novel by S.C.Stephens, an author that I always read gladly. The fact that it takes place in Alaska is added plus because I recently read amazing read about wilderness and greatness that is wild life in Alaska, so I was very happy to get copy of this book. I watched National Geo documentary Life Below Zero so if you want added info of life in Alaska and Alaskan winter definitely watch that. Now onto the book, well overall I wasn't impressed. I loved the premise just fine. But characters and story progress felt lacking. I just couldn't connect with the story. I felt hero as very damaged human detached from reality in every sense of the word. If you don't like dead ex in a book you definitely will NOT like this book. And heroine was extremely pushy and at the same time way to much contradictory to the things she does and says.I don't feel this to be be a romance read. It wasn't believable. This was great survival story. And at the end that is the part I liked the best.*Thanks to NetGalley for a copy of a book in exchange for an honest review
    more
  • January 1, 1970
    Check out all of my reviews at: https://www.avonnalovesgenres.comUNDER THE NORTHERN LIGHTS by S.C. Stephens is a sweet contemporary romance set in the Alaskan wilderness. This romance is a very slow burn with a reclusive hero who rescues a heroine trapped and injured in the wilderness by her small plane crash. (Depending on your personal preferences, I believe it should be disclosed that this story has dialogue about Christian faith and values.)Mallory Reynolds has a passion for photography. She Check out all of my reviews at: https://www.avonnalovesgenres.comUNDER THE NORTHERN LIGHTS by S.C. Stephens is a sweet contemporary romance set in the Alaskan wilderness. This romance is a very slow burn with a reclusive hero who rescues a heroine trapped and injured in the wilderness by her small plane crash. (Depending on your personal preferences, I believe it should be disclosed that this story has dialogue about Christian faith and values.)Mallory Reynolds has a passion for photography. She especially loves a remote location in the Alaskan wilderness. Every year she takes off from her small home town in Idaho to spend two weeks camping and photographing the wild Alaskan animals. Even with all of her careful planning and checks, her plane stalls out and then crashes on the way to her camp site in a storm.Surviving the crash with multiple injuries, Mallory must find a way to gather the supplies that are still useful to protect her from the elements. As she rests, the very animals she loves to photograph threaten her life. She is saved at the very last minute by a mysterious mountain man.Michael Bradley has lived a solitary life in the Alaskan wilderness for the last five years. When he investigates the plane crash site, he is surprised to find Mallory has survived. He helps Mallory to his secluded cabin, but he has no way to communicate with the outside world until spring. As Mallory heals, the two learn to help each other with the difficult task of surviving in the wilderness and continue to grow closer. Mallory opens her heart to Michael, but he is still unable or unwilling to move on. Can Mallory’s love and prayers be enough to help Michael heal by the time they are set to separate in the spring?I found the author’s writing continually made me feel the edge-of-the-knife balance between survival and one small mistake being the disaster that could kill you. The description of their everyday life was very interesting to this modern city girl. For a large portion of the story the romance is one-sided. Mallory works to find the reason for Michael’s preferred isolation and then hopes to find a way to heal him. This romance emphasizes the growing trust and feelings of love between the two with no sex until almost the last chapter. I loved the adventure and suspense in the wilderness. I was not expecting the several religious passages. I loved that these two found each other, but it took longer than I was hoping for. This is definitely one of those books that everyone will have to make up their own minds about.
    more
  • Christa
    January 1, 1970
    I'm always a sucker for a good adventure story, so this one was just my style. I admired the courageous main character, Mallory Reynolds, as she headed off alone to the Alaskan wilderness for a yearly trek to photograph wildlife. The unthinkable happened, and her plane's engine stalled during a storm. Unable to avoid a crash, Mallory is hurt, but amazed that she survived. Even with her injuries and having lost almost all of her supplies, she manages to tend to her wounds as well as possible and I'm always a sucker for a good adventure story, so this one was just my style. I admired the courageous main character, Mallory Reynolds, as she headed off alone to the Alaskan wilderness for a yearly trek to photograph wildlife. The unthinkable happened, and her plane's engine stalled during a storm. Unable to avoid a crash, Mallory is hurt, but amazed that she survived. Even with her injuries and having lost almost all of her supplies, she manages to tend to her wounds as well as possible and to survive a couple of nights alone. Just as it looks like her courageousness isn't going to be able to get her out of a situation, she is suddenly rescued by a man.After some trepidation, but no choice about being taken back to his cabin, Mallory begins to trust Michael Bradley. Soon, her feelings about him grow, but Michael is a damaged man who wants nothing more than to be alone in the wilderness. The adventure and danger in this story were what really drew me in. The main characters were likable, and I enjoyed Mallory's family members once they were drawn into the story. There was some angst in this one, but it felt like a requisite part of the romantic adventure story. This was my first book by S.C. Stephens, and I enjoyed it enough that I'll be searching out her backlist. Thanks to the publisher and Netgalley for the opportunity to read this exciting book in return for an honest review.
    more
  • AC Book Blog (Anne Christine)
    January 1, 1970
    The synopsis had me really intrigued. A photographer was in a plane crash on a deserted Alaska. She was rescued and nursed to health by a mysterious mountain man. They were stuck together for months before the weather could clear enough for her to go home. As she recovers they got to know each other and eventually fell in love (not without a huge bumpy road ahead). She is convinced that fate brought them together but Michael is not ready to take the next step. I did not feel the connection like The synopsis had me really intrigued. A photographer was in a plane crash on a deserted Alaska. She was rescued and nursed to health by a mysterious mountain man. They were stuck together for months before the weather could clear enough for her to go home. As she recovers they got to know each other and eventually fell in love (not without a huge bumpy road ahead). She is convinced that fate brought them together but Michael is not ready to take the next step. I did not feel the connection like I would have liked the moment they first met. Throughout the book, the romantic feelings are one sided, sometimes even a bit uncomfortable. Mallory is more than ready and Michael was resisting the whole way (lacking chemistry). I like the idea that the hero is a bit broken, buried in grief, living a secluded life. He is protective, mysterious, quiet, self-sufficient. I like the thrilling adventures and the wilderness. If you like the slow burns, angst, and the suspenseful adventures this is your cup of tea. The ending is sweet and emotional. 3.5 Stars
    more
  • Rachel
    January 1, 1970
    ⭐⭐Under the Northern Lights’ cover art is beautiful and such a refreshing change from the unimaginative naked torso cover art that the romance genre is oversaturated with. The cover art, as well as me being a huge fan of S. C. Stephens’ Thoughtless series, immediately drew me in. But it’s possible my expectations were set unrealistically high, because I’m sorry to say this one wasn’t for me. It was painfully slow at times, particularly the beginning of the book - Whilst I appreciate the amount o ⭐️⭐️Under the Northern Lights’ cover art is beautiful and such a refreshing change from the unimaginative naked torso cover art that the romance genre is oversaturated with. The cover art, as well as me being a huge fan of S. C. Stephens’ Thoughtless series, immediately drew me in. But it’s possible my expectations were set unrealistically high, because I’m sorry to say this one wasn’t for me. It was painfully slow at times, particularly the beginning of the book - Whilst I appreciate the amount of research that must’ve been put into what’s involved in flying a small plane alone across the Alaskan wilderness, I felt like the level of technical detail included sorely delayed the story getting underway.Having said that, the keen attention to detail did make for some vividly depicted scenes, which was at times harrowing, but that just adds credence to the author’s talent for descriptive writing. And although some reviewers seem to have been put off by Mallory’s faith, I felt like it made her more relatable. I can only guess what it would be like to find myself in the circumstances she had to survive and I’m fairly certain I’d be hoping for some sort of divine intervention myself.The pace of the book continued to be laboured throughout, but because I know this author can bring the angst - Hello, Mr Kellan Kyle - I stuck with it hoping it would become a sweet, slow-burn romance. Unfortunately it didn’t, the plot was very predictable and felt contrived.Also, given how heavy-going this story was, it could’ve really done with an epilogue. I feel as though a glimpse into Mallory and Michael’s HEA would’ve helped add some much needed levity.I’ve by no means been put off reading other books by this author and despite Under the Northern Lights not being for me, if you’re in the mood for a leisurely, predictable read, it will be perfect for you. However, if you’re looking for something with a similar style to the Thoughtless series, this one doesn’t fit that bill.***ARC generously provided by Montlake Romance, via NetGally, in exchange for an honest review***#UnderTheNorthernLights #NetGalleyhttps://raesxreviews.blogspot.com/201...
    more
  • Amy
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 StarsUnder the Northern Lights starts off with a bang and will keep you captivated from the very first page. Under the Northern Lights follows the story of Mallory and Michael. Mallory’s passion in life is her photography. She loves seeing nature and animals in their natural habitat. Every year she journeys deep into Alaska. Everything has always gone to plan until this last trip. The unexpected happens and causes her plane to crash. Mallory suddenly finds herself injured, alone and vulnerab 3.5 StarsUnder the Northern Lights starts off with a bang and will keep you captivated from the very first page. Under the Northern Lights follows the story of Mallory and Michael. Mallory’s passion in life is her photography. She loves seeing nature and animals in their natural habitat. Every year she journeys deep into Alaska. Everything has always gone to plan until this last trip. The unexpected happens and causes her plane to crash. Mallory suddenly finds herself injured, alone and vulnerable to the Alaskan wilderness. Just as Mallory’s worst fears come to light, Michael enters the picture. This mysterious mountain man saves her life and gives her shelter until it’s safe for Mallory to return home. Mallory and Michael are stuck together and have to make the most of their situation. Fate put these Mallory and Michael together and soon an unforgettable bond forms. When Spring comes, will Mallory be able to return to the life she once knew or will she throw it all away for the mysterious mountain man, Michael??? There’s only one way to find out….Under the Northern Lights is an extremely well written tale of survival and hope. From the moment I met Mallory, I was hooked. Her story gripped me instantly. I felt like I was experiencing her pain and despair right along with her. I was on pins and needles, wondering how her story was going to play out. It was exciting and intense and definitely had me burning through the pages. Michael was also a very intriguing character. I wanted to know why he lived in isolation? Why did he choose to stay in Alaska? How did he learn to survive all on his own? He was complicated and guarded and I for one couldn’t wait to see his walls crumble.I loved the slow burn and friendship between Mallory and Michael. I loved the feeling of hope despite the intense circumstances. I loved the sense of survival and seeing what you can accomplish when you really put your mind to it. My only complaint was that I felt like the ending of the story was a bit rushed. I would have liked to have seen more from Mallory’s return home and how she was adjusting to life back in civilization. I would have also enjoyed getting Michael’s point of view during the time that they were separated. Don’t get me wrong, I’m thrilled with the way things turned out, I just wanted a little more from the last few chapters of the book.Overall, Under the Northern Lights was an enjoyable read.* I was provided an ARC copy of this book via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review*
    more
  • Rosa Sharon (iScream Books Blog)
    January 1, 1970
    "We needed to be extremely cautious with each other, because despite everything out there that might hurt us—being mauled by a bear, frozen in a river, impaled by a felled tree, or lost for all eternity in the woods—losing our hearts to each other might be the deadliest of all." Yes, I'm one of the millions of readers who enjoyed the author's Thoughtless series. So, of course, I was excited to get my hands on another of her stories. Though I must say, this is very very different, in every way.W "We needed to be extremely cautious with each other, because despite everything out there that might hurt us—being mauled by a bear, frozen in a river, impaled by a felled tree, or lost for all eternity in the woods—losing our hearts to each other might be the deadliest of all." Yes, I'm one of the millions of readers who enjoyed the author's Thoughtless series. So, of course, I was excited to get my hands on another of her stories. Though I must say, this is very very different, in every way.What started my nailbiting was knowing in advance that Mallory's plane was going to crash. I had already read it in the synopsis, so it was just a matter of surviving the experience since I knew she would survive the crash. But I wasn't sure I would, that was scary as shit!And then, once she made it through that harrowing ordeal, I was back to gnawing on my nubs as she faced the elements. Alone. In the wilderness. Injured. With hungry animals. Even though I knew she was going to be rescued—that was in the synopsis too—I was still on the edge of my seat worried for her as she fought to stay conscious and safe from attack. Because... she wasn't safe! For those of you that follow my reviews, this is not what I usually read. It's more of a PG-rated slow burn rather than a turbo boosted steamy romance. What made it interesting for me was the close look at what it takes to live in a remote location without any of the modern conveniences. The dangers that I never considered and the work required to just eat or bathe. This experience takes 'outhouse' to a whole nother level. It really made me appreciate my toilet, bathtub, and refrigerator. I thought being at a location without WiFi was roughing it. Even though I'd been a big fan of Little House on the Prairie back in the day, I didn't have a clue what 'off the grid' meant until I experienced it through Mallory's eyes.Michael is beyond broken. He's living in the wild by choice. He's doing without when he doesn't have to. It's more about giving up people than material things. Are you as curious as I was to find out why? That really kept me intrigued for a long time before I finally learned the reason for his self-isolation. "He was too broken for me to fix. The two of us falling into a passionate relationship...it wouldn't just be a bad idea. It would be catastrophic. The author's writing is very smooth and her words made me feel like I was right there, feeling the cold of the snow and the fear of all the dangers that they faced. It was a thought-provoking tale that gave me a new respect for those that live in the wilderness.
    more
  • Julia ⏃ ✦ :The Romance Rebels: ⏃ ✦
    January 1, 1970
    *** 2 Disappointing Stars ***Under the Northern Lights by S.C. Stephens begins with a young woman named Mallory. She is a professional wildlife photographer and decides to take a trip to Alaska to get some nature shots. Soon her trip takes a turn for the worst. . . a disastrous storm comes out of nowhere and her plane crash lands. Tired, scared, and injured she fears the worst. . . Till she is saved by a handsome stranger, named Michael. He takes care of her, tends to her wounds. And when she i *** 2 Disappointing Stars ***Under the Northern Lights by S.C. Stephens begins with a young woman named Mallory. She is a professional wildlife photographer and decides to take a trip to Alaska to get some nature shots. Soon her trip takes a turn for the worst. . . a disastrous storm comes out of nowhere and her plane crash lands. Tired, scared, and injured she fears the worst. . . Till she is saved by a handsome stranger, named Michael. He takes care of her, tends to her wounds. And when she is better he will take her back home. What started as friendship turns into more. One they least expected. Michael can't feel. With a past he would rather forget he closes himself off from the world. That is until Mallory comes crashes into his life. Quite literally. . . . I am a fan of S.C. Stephens writing, and was excited to read Under the Northern Lights, but what bugged me about this book was the amount of religious aspect that was thrown at us readers from the very first page. It dragged the majority of the book, and was very heavy on the insta-love.
    more
  • Gina *loves sunshine*
    January 1, 1970
    It's hard to believe that this book is written by the same author that gave us Kellan Kyle, his band, and the best love triangle of all time!! Because this romance is a completely different vibe!! I feel like it could even be a different market of readers and genre of romance!?! If you are looking for something reminiscent of a traditional romance or something with the same storyline as K.A Tuckers' The simple wild - than pick this up!!!I'm giving this romance 3.5 stars. Overall it really was cl It's hard to believe that this book is written by the same author that gave us Kellan Kyle, his band, and the best love triangle of all time!! Because this romance is a completely different vibe!! I feel like it could even be a different market of readers and genre of romance!?! If you are looking for something reminiscent of a traditional romance or something with the same storyline as K.A Tuckers' The simple wild - than pick this up!!!I'm giving this romance 3.5 stars. Overall it really was close to a 4 star read because the writing was so good - the author really made the wilderness and the whole adventure/remoteness come alive!! I enjoyed the characters and the story as it unfolded carefully, tenderly, sweet and sorrowful! I knock off a 1/2 star because it really missed in the chemistry, angst, real soul connection that I love from the N/A genre that I suspected this to be. So like I said if you are expecting this to be written like her Thoughtless series - it's just different.Available through Kindle Unlimited and has the audio option - which was great by the way!!! although I think Audible has the worst robotic narration of all my audio options so I only choose it as a last option. I love hoopla and overdrive they are so clean and easy on the ear!
    more
  • Jacqueline
    January 1, 1970
    This was so original, a little like Castaway the Alaskan edition. Mallory is a wildlife photographer and all around outdoors gal whose plane crashes in the middle of nowhere en route to her latest photo assignment. She’s rescued by a true mountain man, Michael, and for reasons I won’t go into, they are both stuck in his remote log cabin for months and months until he can repair his plane and return them to civilisation. I loved the originality of the plot and the survival details - there’s lots This was so original, a little like Castaway the Alaskan edition. Mallory is a wildlife photographer and all around outdoors gal whose plane crashes in the middle of nowhere en route to her latest photo assignment. She’s rescued by a true mountain man, Michael, and for reasons I won’t go into, they are both stuck in his remote log cabin for months and months until he can repair his plane and return them to civilisation. I loved the originality of the plot and the survival details - there’s lots of bother with bears and other wild animals - so it got pretty hair raising at times and I was gripped. It was a slow burner but he’s kind of closed off and so the chemistry was off for me; I was actually more interested in seeing her return safely to her family than seeing her with him, I just wasn’t feeling the feels between them I’m afraid. I wasn’t a huge fan of her spirituality either and particularly the way Mallory seemed determined to push her beliefs onto Michael. That was a big turn off for me and I wondered a few times if I’d accidentally stumbled onto my first Christian romance as it was a key theme in this story. Perhaps I had, idk, but I know I would’ve enjoyed this story better without it.It’s definitely one to escape into as it is well researched and an enjoyable and riveting read but sadly a bit of a miss for me on the romance side. It’s been years since I read the Thoughtless series but I never would have guessed this was from the same author it’s totally different.**Thanks to the publisher via netgalley for my arc.**
    more
  • Kim
    January 1, 1970
    This combines a suspenseful winter survival story and a slow burn romance. Mallory never expected her Alaska wildlife photography trip would end in disaster and that she would need rescuing. Though she is tenacious, stubborn, and smart, she was very lucky that help did find her.Michael Bradley is a man who has left society and isolated himself after a tragedy in his life. He likes living alone and handles the extreme conditions and basic lifestyle very well. He is broody, secretive, and full of This combines a suspenseful winter survival story and a slow burn romance. Mallory never expected her Alaska wildlife photography trip would end in disaster and that she would need rescuing. Though she is tenacious, stubborn, and smart, she was very lucky that help did find her.Michael Bradley is a man who has left society and isolated himself after a tragedy in his life. He likes living alone and handles the extreme conditions and basic lifestyle very well. He is broody, secretive, and full of unresolved emotions. It was luck that he found Mallory and was able to help her, but now she will be with him for awhile due to the weather and transportation issues.As time goes on they find a rhythm and fill the void of each other's loneliness. But there is also sexual tension growing between them. Michael is determined he has no heart to give and cannot get involved physically. Mallory can't seem to stop herself from pushing him though. It is a super slow burn friendship to limited intimacy romance. And the closer they get, the harder it is to think about her leaving.This shows the difference between how people cope. One in a hopeless situation can choose faith and the other can completely lose faith. I usually have an issue when books get too religious or faith based, but in this story it was a fundamental difference between the characters and part of the character and story development, so it did not bother me too much.I was really into the beginning and the survivalist parts, and liked the end, but somewhere in the middle it did start to drag for me. Their relationship gradually built and more was revealed. Michael's back story is the reason for most of his resistance and I could see why he coped the way he did. There was so much back and forth between them. She was pushing him and he was resisting or pulling back in regards to faith, a relationship, intimacy, and future plans. It got frustrating at times and some parts actually felt awkward as she made him uncomfortable. While other times they seemed in synch.Can Michael find enough hope to be willing to take a risk on something new? Will they be able to find a way to merge two totally different lives?It was sweet, suspenseful, angsty, and emotional. I liked the idea of destiny, fate, and saving each other. They definitely had challenges and found each other at the right time to possibly make a difference. But they also live in different worlds and have different outlooks on life making it seem like an impossible situation. I received this book for free from netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Follow Me: Reviews by Tammy & Kim (Rachel and Jay) | Facebook | Twitter
    more
  • Tracy *To the point Reviews*
    January 1, 1970
    I read books based a lot on the blurbs and try not to be too swayed by other's reviews and opinions. SO I picked this up because I love romances when two MC's are thrust together facing the unknown.And this story delivered all of the required elements to make so that it could have been a juicy and dangerous adventure with a lots of forbidden hotness, you know?But what we get is this straight line story with very few ups and downs. Just two people in a cabin surviving and heroine who is constantl I read books based a lot on the blurbs and try not to be too swayed by other's reviews and opinions. SO I picked this up because I love romances when two MC's are thrust together facing the unknown.And this story delivered all of the required elements to make so that it could have been a juicy and dangerous adventure with a lots of forbidden hotness, you know?But what we get is this straight line story with very few ups and downs. Just two people in a cabin surviving and heroine who is constantly pinning away for the hero, who is obviously a recluse by choice.(view spoiler)[ . Dude's wife was murdered and he's pissed at the world because no one came to her aid after she was shot. So the heroine, throughout the book, constantly tried to get closer to this dude, who is obviously still in love with his wife. He as much as told her! Listen up... If a guy tells me 'Look, I'm still IN LOVE with someone else.' I would cut the shit out right there and go about my life. (hide spoiler)]And even though he warns her off, she never, ever stops trying. And it bugged the living shit out of me. She tries to play saviour, she tries to get him to change his mind about his belief in god, she tries to worm her way into his heart, and very bit of it drove me mad. And since it was all the h POV, we get loads of her inner dialogue. LOADS. Lets face it, It's two characters, a cabin, and winter. So what else are you gonna get but her pinning and pleas, and attraction and attempts. SO the lack of danger, the lack of changing daily events, made the story stunted and all about the little slips the hero has ever so often to finally, him succumbing to her, in a reticent way. Ewww!So this was a no go for me. I was disappointed. I guess because I'm an older woman, I remember when I was younger and in my relationships, trying to change certain aspect of the guy I was with to suit my preferences. To coddle my insecurities. I am so glad I got over that phase. I know many younger friends that get caught up in that pattern. And I found that this book was the epitome of that. So, I was NOT a fan of this romance. Sorry.
    more
  • Jypsy
    January 1, 1970
    Under The Northern Lights is an average read. As a romance, the story could have used more substantial romance. There's too much description and erroneous details that slow the story down. It's too slow for my taste. The characters are likeable but not loveable. Just a little something is missing. Thanks to NetGalley for an arc in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Duchess Nicole
    January 1, 1970
    I hadn't read an S.C. Stephens book since Thoughtless, but I thought I'd give this one a go since I love wilderness stories, plane crash survival stories, etc. It still retains a New Adult feel, even though the protagonists are established adults. The plane crash scene was great...exciting and edge of your seat. There were definitely some dramatic survival moments that kind of brought you back to reality within the romance. I do wish there had been more subtleties within the romance aspect...our I hadn't read an S.C. Stephens book since Thoughtless, but I thought I'd give this one a go since I love wilderness stories, plane crash survival stories, etc. It still retains a New Adult feel, even though the protagonists are established adults. The plane crash scene was great...exciting and edge of your seat. There were definitely some dramatic survival moments that kind of brought you back to reality within the romance. I do wish there had been more subtleties within the romance aspect...our heroine felt a little pushy at times...but that's honestly my preference coming through. Overall, a nicely told, unique story with likeable characters and a convincing romance.
    more
Write a review