Prisoner of Night (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #16.5)
From #1 New York Times bestselling author J.R. Ward comes an unforgettable story of passion and vengeance set in the Black Dagger Brotherhood world.When Ahmare’s brother is abducted, there is nothing she won’t do to get him back safely. She is unprepared, however, for the lengths she will have to go to save his life. Paired with a dangerous but enticing prisoner, she embarks on an odyssey into another world.Duran, betrayed by his father, imprisoned in a dungeon for decades, has survived only because of his thirst for vengeance. He has been biding his time to escape and is shocked to find an unlikely and temporary freedom in the form of a determined young female.Battling against deadly forces and facing unforeseen peril, the pair are in a race to save Ahmare’s brother. As time runs out, and the unthinkable looms, even true love may not be enough to carry them through.

Prisoner of Night (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #16.5) Details

TitlePrisoner of Night (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #16.5)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 7th, 2019
PublisherGallery Books
ISBN-139781501195174
Rating
GenreRomance, Paranormal, Vampires, Fantasy, Paranormal Romance

Prisoner of Night (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #16.5) Review

  • Sophia Triad
    January 1, 1970
    “You tortured the male I loved for two decades” What I love mostly in the BDB series is that the heroes and heroines are less than ideal. And they never had an easy life. They have all suffered somehow and they all have survived and surprisingly they joke about it frequently.Let's think about it.●The King himself, Wrath, is blind. He has lost his parents growing up. He blames himself because he did not help them.●Phury is not whole. He has lost his leg to save his brother. He was made fun of th “You tortured the male I loved for two decades” What I love mostly in the BDB series is that the heroes and heroines are less than ideal. And they never had an easy life. They have all suffered somehow and they all have survived and surprisingly they joke about it frequently.Let's think about it.●The King himself, Wrath, is blind. He has lost his parents growing up. He blames himself because he did not help them.●Phury is not whole. He has lost his leg to save his brother. He was made fun of this. Of the fact that he put others before himself. He was also a drug addict and with many psychological problems.●Zsadist was a sex slave for almost all his life. His skin is marked with slave tattoos that he will never get rid off. ●Visious has been treated horribly by his own father. He was neglected by his mother. For many years he needed pain to function.●Saxton has suffered the fact that he is gay. He was beaten and neglected by his father. He was betrayed and rejected by his lover.●John Matthew is mute. He was raped. He grew up without parents as a poor boy. And he has a split personality. He will probably never remember who is truly.●Tohr has lost his wife and child. He was forced to love someone else. He has lost his best friend. He suffered a huge trauma and he was not allowed by circumstances to kill himself.●Qhuinn has mismatched eyes and apparently this is a disadvantage because he was thrown out of his home and he was never treated like a real son.●His brother, Luchas, was tortured by lessers for many years. He was placed into a 50 gallon drum filled with black Lesser blood. Now he has lost his leg, the use of a hand and his will to live.etc. etc. etc. There are still secrets in America. So when I started “Prisoner of the Night" I did not know who Duran is, but I was expecting to read about his really tortured, sad past with lots of torturing , neglecting, suffering and obviously his losing his will to live. And really this used to be Duran's life spiced with his thirst for revenge and his imprisonment for more than 20 years. Until he met Ahmare. “Show yourself.” She took another step back. “I’m not afraid of you.” Ward has created two new very strong characters and each one has his/her own sad story to share with us. Ahmare's brother is about to suffer a fate worse than Duran's. Ahmare has already become a killer for him and now she has to use Duran to find something precious and return it to her brother’s torturer.Duran will have no objection as long as he can have his revenge for his mother’s murderer. But 21 years as a prisoner have made him the shell of the man he used to be. What I loved about him is that despite his rough manners, he is still so innocent and pure deep inside.Based on the life of these two characters, an amazing sideline story (to the main BDB story) is unfolded:-A religious cult under the nose of the King and Scribe Virgin that managed to be secretive for so many years.-Two new super villains who have already committed the worst crimes again the vampire race and they still remain unpunished.- A new order of silent soldiers that I have a feeling that they will play a role in future books.Although there are more than 20 books so far in the BDB universe, this story felt fresh and like a new start. I truly enjoyed it. (view spoiler)[BEFORE PUBLICATION NEW surprise BDB e-book due in January!Few more days..."Come here, my love...Let me hold you., ch. 38"I don't want it to be like I never existed.", ch. 31"Don't forget me, okay? Just in case the Fade is a lie.", ch.22"I don't want to lose this male.", ch.20"Funny, how a male could tell you, you're beautiful without a word", ch.16 (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤
    January 1, 1970
    ❤❤❤     ❤️❤️❤️    
  • Stacie
    January 1, 1970
    3 1/2 Stars!
  • Kim
    January 1, 1970
    This is a novella based in the Black Dagger Brotherhood world, but can honestly be read as a stand alone story. It is based on this new couple and story line that is contained in this book. It is a good way to wade a toe into the BDB world or try J.R. Ward's writing style. I actually found it easier to read since it was solely focused on this couple and their adventures and did not flip between multiple story lines as the longer ones do. Duran has been held in a dungeon for twenty one years with This is a novella based in the Black Dagger Brotherhood world, but can honestly be read as a stand alone story. It is based on this new couple and story line that is contained in this book. It is a good way to wade a toe into the BDB world or try J.R. Ward's writing style. I actually found it easier to read since it was solely focused on this couple and their adventures and did not flip between multiple story lines as the longer ones do. Duran has been held in a dungeon for twenty one years with his only motivation to survive being vengeance...against his father who betrayed him as well as the man who has held and tortured him. He was not expecting his escape to come in the form of a female. Ahmare has her own loved one she is trying to save and is now finding herself in a battle of wills with Duran's captor. She is strong and determined, but is also ruled by her heart at times.Now they are two strangers on a common mission with different motives. They both need single focus, but find themselves distracted. They never expected to need each other both as partners on their quest, but also due to a longing physical attraction. It's insta-lovey but that is not unusual in this series as it is part of the mating. But they are undertaking a dangerous errand that neither are guaranteed to survive. I got sucked into this story. I really felt for these characters especially Duran. They both had tragedies in their past, and had suffered loss. But he also lost so much of his own life and himself. He was literally broken down and disconnected until she saved him. I enjoyed seeing his personality emerge. But there had only been one thing keeping him alive through it all and he did not care if it was a suicide mission. He will have to decide what is more important in the long run, vengeance or potential love?This was fast paced, and full of suspense, action, and passion. I liked the side characters especially Nexi. The antagonists literally made my skin crawl and I wanted vengeance seen too. It kept me enthralled til the last page. I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.Follow Me: Reviews by Tammy & Kim (Rachel and Jay) | Facebook | Twitter
    more
  • Ryan
    January 1, 1970
    3.5/5 - #bdbforlifetrue it’s my handle on insta, and I want it to be forever true but damn, give me something to hold to, please! I honestly don’t know how to rate this book. I’m not impressed. And I thought it being twice as long as her other novellas it would have depth to it. This reads like one of Ward’s many subplots in the main BDB series. For me to care about these characters, any of them they to be way more fleshed out. And I feel like Ward used cheap tricks on her fans. Dragging out who 3.5/5 - #bdbforlifetrue it’s my handle on insta, and I want it to be forever true but damn, give me something to hold to, please! I honestly don’t know how to rate this book. I’m not impressed. And I thought it being twice as long as her other novellas it would have depth to it. This reads like one of Ward’s many subplots in the main BDB series. For me to care about these characters, any of them they to be way more fleshed out. And I feel like Ward used cheap tricks on her fans. Dragging out who Duran’s dad’s name is or who Chalen’s beloved was — cheesy cheap trick with that whole subplot.Yeah it has a beginning and an ending and yes not one but two HEA’s but the middle felt like an emaciated mess. For all the time we spent with Ahmare and Duran I really didn’t connect with them as a couple. I felt for Duran until he became “unbroken” basically the hot water scene at the end, then there wasn’t a lot of special about him.Honestly as a huge Ward fan and probably even bigger Black Dagger Brotherhood ANYTHING fan I’m disappointed. More disappointed than boring Lover Enshrined and more disappointed than some of the mating choices. I’m even more disappointed in this novella than the epic clusterfuck, fandom divider, The Chosen. If I could give 5 stars for Ward’s unique voice as an author I would. The story and characters, 2. There was more story with Story of Son which is a little over 100 pages than this novella which is around 240?There’s two very vague sex scenes. Nothing like Ward would write in the past or hell the last BDB book, the Thief. V and Jane got down in that book — graphic and hot. This is like watching a sex scene with Vaseline smeared over the lens. I’m concerned that this new publisher is watering down everything great about Ward’s work EXCEPT the language. I’m not impressed. Why are there swords instead of daggers on the covers? Why are the covers weird? WHY HAS THE WARDENS SMUT BEEN WATERED DOWN?!P.S. the stupid #watchoutforthewaterfallshot is also a cheap trick, it’s Duran in the dungeon when he bonded to Ahmare immediately. Duh, Ward the fact that you went on about dark spices for a good while, any BDB fan would get it. #salty
    more
  • Chris C - A Midlife Wife
    January 1, 1970
    A love story in the midst of violence and payback. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~I never read any of the other books in the series so I am not sure if I was missing something or not. However, to me, this was a standalone. I had no issues following the story.This book smacks you in the face soon as you start it. It is raw and gruesome in parts, written with such imagery that you almost want to read it in bits and pieces due to the violence. But it also compels you to never put it down!It’s a story about vamp A love story in the midst of violence and payback. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~I never read any of the other books in the series so I am not sure if I was missing something or not. However, to me, this was a standalone. I had no issues following the story.This book smacks you in the face soon as you start it. It is raw and gruesome in parts, written with such imagery that you almost want to read it in bits and pieces due to the violence. But it also compels you to never put it down!It’s a story about vampires, but not a traditional image that we normally would expect. This is a story about the battle of good and evil. A story of right over wrong. A story of love, compassion, and understanding.It’s a thriller and a romance with incredibly strong, fierce, and insightful characters that make you cringe on one hand and cheer for a well deserved happily ever after on the other hand.I don’t typically read a lot of paranormal or urban fantasy books so I was intrigued to say the least. There are few authors that can write a love story in the midst of violence and payback well and J.R. Ward is one of the best!Prisoner of Night by J.R.Ward is an all consuming read that may change the way you feel about paranormal romance. Just be prepared for the raw, gripping description.* copy received for review considerationFull Review - https://amidlifewife.com/black-dagger...
    more
  • Annie (Under the Covers Book Blog)
    January 1, 1970
    Read my review at Fresh Fiction
  • ❤️ Dorsey aka Wrath Lover Reviews ❤️
    January 1, 1970
    Review to come!
  • Tanja ~ T's Book ~ KT Book Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    This was the perfect little snack read while waiting for the main course, Savior, to come in April! I am a massive fan of these characters, Ahmare and Duran, and I really hope we get to visit them again in the BDB world. The absolutely creepy intro sets the tone and feel of this novella for its entirety.You do not have to have read the previous novels to enjoy Prisoner of Night. It's a great way to get to know Ward’s writing style and a bit of the genre. A perfect way to kick off the new year, b This was the perfect little snack read while waiting for the main course, Savior, to come in April! I am a massive fan of these characters, Ahmare and Duran, and I really hope we get to visit them again in the BDB world. The absolutely creepy intro sets the tone and feel of this novella for its entirety.You do not have to have read the previous novels to enjoy Prisoner of Night. It's a great way to get to know Ward’s writing style and a bit of the genre. A perfect way to kick off the new year, book friends!5 Stars~Tanja 😊*ARC Provided by publisher Follow us on KT Book ReviewsTwitterFacebookPinteresttumblrYouTubeBook BabblersInstagram
    more
  • Jéssica
    January 1, 1970
    O meu problema com Prisoner of Night é um problema recorrente dos últimos livros da Irmandade da Adaga Negra: a desconexão com o universo anteriormente criado pela autora, mesmo que sejam mantidos os principais elementos. Numa série que está indo para seu 16º livro, com tantos personagens que é dificil até lembrar de todos os nomes, em um enredo enviesado que cada vez faz menos sentido, a autora opta por escrever sobre dois novos personagens, com praticamente zero relevância para o contexto prin O meu problema com Prisoner of Night é um problema recorrente dos últimos livros da Irmandade da Adaga Negra: a desconexão com o universo anteriormente criado pela autora, mesmo que sejam mantidos os principais elementos. Numa série que está indo para seu 16º livro, com tantos personagens que é dificil até lembrar de todos os nomes, em um enredo enviesado que cada vez faz menos sentido, a autora opta por escrever sobre dois novos personagens, com praticamente zero relevância para o contexto principal, esperando que a gente consiga se conectar com esses novos personagens, sem frustração pelo tanto de coisa que ainda falta ser endereçada.E já que a Ward, é a Ward, ela consegue entregar um livro envolvente o suficiente, mas que a todo momento eu ficava esperando pela aquela conexão, sabe, aquele ponto chave que tornaria um livro aleatório parte de um universo maior, o que não ocorre para minha decepção.Apesar disso, eu realmente gostei dos personagens principais, a Ward sabe escrever como poucas o típico herói sofredor que consegue cativar e dessa vez ela realmente conseguiu escrever uma heroína forte, sem excessos. ponto.O instalove até que deu para engolir, apesar de alguns clichês e uma certa cena que eu senti como se a autora estivesse se auto-plagiando, se é que isso é sequer possível kkkk.Quem não tem um apego tão grande a Irmandade como eu, provavelmente vai gostar muito mais desse livro, mas eu não consigo dar uma nota maior, mesmo que eu sinta uma certa culpa pois o livro em si não é ruim, mas no contexto da série onde essa história está inserida, por todas as minhas expectativas, eu fiquei desapontada.Agora é só esperar até Abril para o livro de Murhder.
    more
  • Lacey (Booklovers For Life)
    January 1, 1970
    Not sure I'd call this a part of the BDB series. More like the BDB universe like the Legacy books.
  • Laura Elizabeth
    January 1, 1970
    This wasn’t bad. But for 6$ you really don’t get your moneys worth as it can be read in under two hours. It has no tie ins with BDB at all. No idea why it’s labeled book 16.5 in that series 🤷♀ Duran and Ahmare are an ok couple. The shadow Nexi is more interesting. This wasn’t bad. But for 6$ you really don’t get your moneys worth as it can be read in under two hours. It has no tie ins with BDB at all. No idea why it’s labeled book 16.5 in that series 🤷‍♀️ Duran and Ahmare are an ok couple. The shadow Nexi is more interesting.
    more
  • WTF Are You Reading?
    January 1, 1970
    J.R. Ward presents fans of her acclaimed Black Dagger Brotherhood series with quite the irresistible treat. In the form of ebook exclusive Prisoner Of Night. Releasing January 7, 2019.Though touted as a novella. As most .5 editions of series are.Book 16.5, to be exact. Readers will be quite pleasantly surprised to find that this novella is in fact, a 300+ page novel. Complete with a very mouth watering prologue.As for the meat of the story. What readers are presented with is pretty standard hunk J.R. Ward presents fans of her acclaimed Black Dagger Brotherhood series with quite the irresistible treat. In the form of ebook exclusive Prisoner Of Night. Releasing January 7, 2019.Though touted as a novella. As most .5 editions of series are.Book 16.5, to be exact. Readers will be quite pleasantly surprised to find that this novella is in fact, a 300+ page novel. Complete with a very mouth watering prologue.As for the meat of the story. What readers are presented with is pretty standard hunky vampire + tragic past + revenge + female that he can't live without + a little PTSD thrown in for good measure =Been there. Done that. Seen the movie.With most of the really must-read parts of this book taking place in the prologue. When the actual story begins, some 20 years in the future. A great many things have changed. Just not our hunky leading man, Duran. Who has somehow managed to flourish amid the constant pain of unrelenting torture. Being housed in subhuman conditions, and seething with anger and resentment for the people and years that his captivity has cost him.Hmmmm...Enter Ahmare.Sister of yet another inmate of the same dungeon prison currently inhabited by our leading man.Sentenced to kill a man as part of a bargain for her brother's release.A bargain that will bring her face to face with...Wait for it!Duran.And so, the book, the action, the carnage, a weird sort of story, and an even weirder romance begins.In all fairness to both this book and its author. It must be said that a great many of the historical details surrounding pivotal characters in this story are either missing altogether. Or scant at best.A flaw that not even the heart-stopping action or break-neck plot speed seems to be able to compensate for.A flaw that, as the story progresses actually serves to make the characters seem progressively less dimensional.Not to mention that the plot of this book, though very well written.For the most part.Is one that has made its way around the vampiric romance block a time or 200.Circa 2010+In short.While this reviewer is willing to bet that there are a great many BDB fans who will absolutely love book 16.5 of this seemingly endless series.As a first and only foray into said series however. It is blatantly clear that this book is one that can not stand alone.Actual Rating: 3.5 Stars
    more
  • Terri ♥ (aka Mrs. Christian Grey)
    January 1, 1970
    Though by JRW standards this is a novella, this book is longer than a lot of contemporary romance novels.So what did I think.AWESOMEThis woman can do no wrong. I loved Duran (though every time I heard his name I thought of Duran Duran).Duran was the kind of male I love— broken. Which is why V is my favorite. Funny enough Z never really did it for me. Anywho, I loved him and Amiri together.Great read, wanted more. Never to end would be good. I can’t wait for next installment.
    more
  • Anete
    January 1, 1970
    Ātrs lasāmgabals ar asinīm, ieročiem, badass vampīru dāmām un viņu neatvairāmajām otrajām pusēm, ļaundariem, sprādzieniem, šāvieniem un, protams, mīlestību. Tagad tik sagaidīt sērijas patieso nākošo grāmatu.
  • Amy J Romance Author & Reader Events
    January 1, 1970
    Anddddd we have a cover and a blurb... ummmmmm who is Ahmare & Duran? Can anyone refresh my memory?From #1 New York Times bestselling author J.R. Ward comes an unforgettable story of passion and vengeance in the Black Dagger Brotherhood world.When Ahmare’s brother is abducted, there is nothing she won’t do to get him back safely. She is unprepared, however, for the lengths she will have to go to save his life. Paired with a dangerous but enticing prisoner, she embarks on an odyssey into anot Anddddd we have a cover and a blurb... ummmmmm who is Ahmare & Duran? Can anyone refresh my memory?From #1 New York Times bestselling author J.R. Ward comes an unforgettable story of passion and vengeance in the Black Dagger Brotherhood world.When Ahmare’s brother is abducted, there is nothing she won’t do to get him back safely. She is unprepared, however, for the lengths she will have to go to save his life. Paired with a dangerous but enticing prisoner, she embarks on an odyssey into another world.Duran, betrayed by his father, imprisoned in a dungeon for decades, has survived only because of his thirst for vengeance. He has been biding his time to escape and is shocked to find an unlikely and temporary freedom in the form of a determined young female.Battling against deadly forces and facing unforeseen peril, the pair are in a race to save Ahmare’s brother. As time runs out, and the unthinkable looms, even true love may not be enough to carry them through. (less)
    more
  • Gretel
    January 1, 1970
    It's okay although I'm really tired of dudes and their torture paradise. Honestly, the beginning almost made me hurl. I get the series is about war and there are bad people who do horrible things, yadda yadda. But this is the upteenth time we have some terrible dude torture and rape people in this series alone and I'm so fucking tired of it.I like Duran and Ahmare though this is the first time I would've loved for the heroine to get together with another lady, in this case Nexi. Not that Ahmare It's okay although I'm really tired of dudes and their torture paradise. Honestly, the beginning almost made me hurl. I get the series is about war and there are bad people who do horrible things, yadda yadda. But this is the upteenth time we have some terrible dude torture and rape people in this series alone and I'm so fucking tired of it.I like Duran and Ahmare though this is the first time I would've loved for the heroine to get together with another lady, in this case Nexi. Not that Ahmare and Duran didn't have chemistry or that I didn't like the couple just...Nexi and Ahmare worked out better.I'm happy for how things turn out for Nexi but...this is the same as with Butch and V: Butch and V are the couple and they got their heterosexual HEA because that's how things work in boring and homophobic Romancelandia.And here I actually thought Nexi and Ahmare worked better. Or have it be a poly relationship.The low-key misogyny was grating as ever. I'm also not particularly fond of how Ward continously confuses being dominated in bed as being the same as patriarchy. Like, Ahmare talks about how she's totally indipendent and wouldn't let a guy control her but that every woman wants to be dominanted in a primordial way due to *insert some pseudo-sciency stuff about genes and prehistoric dynamics that aren't actually true*.Yes, a woman can be a feminist and like being dominated sexually. But trying to explain this as being a primordial instinct and what not is just bullshit. With the right partner, who respects you and your boundaries, they know that you as a woman are a person. I find it rather telling how Ward tries to justify dominance kink or women just liking being taken roughly by using genetics as an explenation.This very genetic explenation is, however, wrong and exploited by patriarchical structrues, right-wingers, conservatives and abusers. Liking rough sex doesn't need an explenation by claiming a genetic need for women to be dominated and men to dominate because 1. this ain't true for many people and 2. it just reinforces conservative talk by using exactly their arguments.Women can enjoy being domianted without bullshit science. And a big part of the turn on is knowing that you're safe while engaging in kinky stuff. Knowing that the danger is fake and can be stopped when needed. It's not a deep echo of neanderthalic lust.And I think Ward is using this to "get at" fans who criticise these explenations by saying how the totally still are feminists, while not understanding the criticism in the first place.The problem is not and never was that the heroines like dominance, it's about the ridiculous explenation verbatim taken from conservative propaganda about "natural order of sexes".Just fucking have the heroine enjoy rough and kinky sex without this motherfucking bullshit.God it pisses me off.
    more
  • Under the Covers Book Blog
    January 1, 1970
    I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.One of my favorite authors, J.R. Ward, released a novella set in the world of the Black Dagger Brotherhood series. As this is one of my favorite series by her, I was very intrigued to see what this little treat would be like. I’ve always believed in Ward’s writing, but wondered how her writing would fare with short stories. As you know, her books I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.One of my favorite authors, J.R. Ward, released a novella set in the world of the Black Dagger Brotherhood series. As this is one of my favorite series by her, I was very intrigued to see what this little treat would be like. I’ve always believed in Ward’s writing, but wondered how her writing would fare with short stories. As you know, her books tend to be on the long side, but I’m happy to note that this story definitely fulfill my BDB fan needs nicely.This book is about Ahmare and Duran, two vampires who had had their fair share of bad luck. Ahmare’s brother has been taken from her and she must to many impossible things in order to get him back. The most challenging is to track down someone with the help of Duran.Duran has been held captive for twenty-one years and his first chance at escape involves working with Ahmare. The two are very different in the beginning but you can definitely feel the way their love grows with for one another. I like that Ward didn’t make it about instalove, which is what you would normally see in a shorter story. But she takes her time, creating conflict and tension while also building that romance in a believable way.I really enjoyed this story and I think if you’re a fan of Ward and the BDB series, you’ll want to read it to get your fix. Reading this book makes me excited for the next installment as Ward continues to keep readers on their toes. *ARC provided by publisherReviewed by Ann❤ ♡ Don't want to miss any of our posts? Subscribe to our blog by email! ♡ ❤
    more
  • Debbie
    January 1, 1970
    Prisoner of NightJR WardWard takes a break from her beloved Black Dagger Brotherhood and Legacy series with a BDB side story giving fans a rare look into the lives of four civilians a brother and sister who lost their parents in the raids and two victims of a Vampire only Jonestownesque cult who find each other amidst the rubble of their tortured and shattered lives.The author pulls on heartstrings while letting her stars get plenty sweaty and bloody full of rage bent on revenge that’s more than Prisoner of NightJR WardWard takes a break from her beloved Black Dagger Brotherhood and Legacy series with a BDB side story giving fans a rare look into the lives of four civilians a brother and sister who lost their parents in the raids and two victims of a Vampire only Jonestownesque cult who find each other amidst the rubble of their tortured and shattered lives.The author pulls on heartstrings while letting her stars get plenty sweaty and bloody full of rage bent on revenge that’s more than deserved and introduces readers to some super scary under the bed nightmarish monsters The dialogue is iconic BDB Ward all in your face take no prisoner, kick-butt and tough as nails. The storyline is non-stop action packed and moves at warp speed is intense and stars two of the most memorable Vampires ever assembled and two costars that are not easily forgotten. If you’re a fan of the BDB series this is a no brainer and while a new reader would be totally lost fans would be able to read this out of order.Summary:Ahmare blooded daughter of Ahmat lost her parents during the raids and she’s bound and determined not to lose her younger brother Ahlan from a warlord’s dungeon even if I’ts his own fault he’s there. But when she delivers what she thought was the bargain to gain her brothers freedom she’s told she needs to retrieve the warlord, Chalen’s beloved, then and only then will her brother be freed. And to help her retrieve this treasure she’s been given a weapon, only this weapon isn’t a gun, a knife or a sword. No this weapon is a male and if she’s correct another one of Chalen’s prisoners.When Duran is unexpectedly released from Chalen’s dungeon where he’s spent the last two decades of his life by the beautiful female, his only thought is how to get away to enact the revenge on the male who imprisoned him, the male who was the ultimate cause of his mahmen’s death, the male who ruled and ruined his young life, his sire. But the more time he spends in this fascinating females presence the more important she becomes to him, the more he wants to protect her and keep her safe. Maybe even forever.
    more
  • Pam Nelson
    January 1, 1970
    Ward always says she has a hard time writing females but I didn’t find that to be the case at all with Ahmare. She was pretty awesome, she is determined to get her brother back. Even if that means taking a dangerous prisoner (Duran) who has been locked up for over 20 years with her.They have to find and retrieve something for her brother to get released. I loved Duran, he is exactly who you would think of when you think of someone who has been held against their will for that long. But oddly pos Ward always says she has a hard time writing females but I didn’t find that to be the case at all with Ahmare. She was pretty awesome, she is determined to get her brother back. Even if that means taking a dangerous prisoner (Duran) who has been locked up for over 20 years with her.They have to find and retrieve something for her brother to get released. I loved Duran, he is exactly who you would think of when you think of someone who has been held against their will for that long. But oddly positive, he knows who Ahmare is even is she doesn’t know it herself and he doesn’t begrudge her what she has to do to get her family back. I loved the ups and downs, getting another Shadow only this time a female character was interesting and fun. I really am enjoying the novellas where we are still in the world of BDB but none of the characters we already know and love. I love the narrations; I am a fan of Jim for this series so I am thankful it was him who narrates for BDB. :)
    more
  •  Reading In Pajamas
    January 1, 1970
    ✦Review: PRISONER OF NIGHT (Black Dagger Brotherhood Novella) by J.R. Ward https://wp.me/p3d0RZ-aZ6Publication Date: January 7, 2019 Genre: Paranormal RomanceReviewed by: Reading in Pajamas/ DonnaRated 5 Stars Wow. I’m not sure where to start on this review. It was a story about two desperate souls brought together in unsavory circumstances, and how their separate goals- and futures - converged in a single quest. Ahmare was strong and driven, yet she never appeared hard-edged and brittle. I was ✦Review: PRISONER OF NIGHT (Black Dagger Brotherhood Novella) by J.R. Ward https://wp.me/p3d0RZ-aZ6Publication Date: January 7, 2019 Genre: Paranormal RomanceReviewed by: Reading in Pajamas/ DonnaRated 5 Stars Wow. I’m not sure where to start on this review. It was a story about two desperate souls brought together in unsavory circumstances, and how their separate goals- and futures - converged in a single quest. Ahmare was strong and driven, yet she never appeared hard-edged and brittle. I was able to become invested in them both early in the book. Duran was full of hate and vengeance, yet he bore a vulnerability that touched my heart deeply. (I’m still smiling that he got the HEA he deserves.) No, it doesn’t have the banter and camaraderie of the Brotherhood, but it sure has the heart. It’s a dark book of danger and pain woven beautifully with a touching romance. I hated to see it end.*Review copy provided by Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.~*~*~*~Kindle $5.99 https://amzn.to/2BNDAw9✦PRE-ORDER: THE SAVIOR (The Black Dagger Brotherhood Series) by J.R. Ward (Releasing 04/02/19) ➢ Kindle $13.99 https://amzn.to/2q3e6E8 | Amazon HBK https://amzn.to/2RaGn7B✦BLOOD TRUTH (Black Dagger Legacy Series, Book 4) by J.R. Ward (Boone’s Book) ➢ Releasing August 2019✿THE BLACK DAGGER BROTHERHOOD SERIES by J.R. WARD✿AMAZON SERIES LINKS: http://amzn.to/2qf62lo✦Dark Lover ➢ Kindle http://amzn.to/17wcZJV✦Lover Eternal ➢ Kindle http://amzn.to/179BzU8✦Lover Awakened ➢ Kindle http://amzn.to/18Eqmsy✦Lover Revealed ➢ Kindle http://amzn.to/13g9tWr✦Lover Unbound ➢ Kindle http://amzn.to/18tPt2h✦Lover Enshrined ➢ Kindle http://amzn.to/17woxN4✦ The Black Dagger Brotherhood: An Insider’s Guide ➢ Kindle http://amzn.to/17FIm70✦ Father Mine: Zsadist and Bella’s Story: A Black Dagger Brotherhood Novella (eBook – the printed version of this story is also found in “The Black Dagger Brotherhood: An Insider’s Guide” http://amzn.to/17wqaKE✦Lover Avenged ➢ Kindle http://amzn.to/1I5iTcw✦Lover Mine ➢ Kindle http://amzn.to/1dRq35K✦Lover Unleashed ➢ Kindle http://amzn.to/1dR9pDy✦Lover Reborn ➢ Kindle http://amzn.to/18EjoDX✦Lover At Last ➢ Kindle http://amzn.to/16GUthu✦The King ➢ Review: http://wp.me/p3d0RZ-1aQ | Kindle http://amzn.to/12CBV4A✦The Shadows ➢ Review 5 Stars: http://wp.me/p3d0RZ-2gm | Kindle http://amzn.to/1BAHVJT ✦The Beast ➢ Review 5 Stars http://wp.me/p3d0RZ-4JB | Kindle http://amzn.to/1KX7Jsj✦The Chosen ➢ Review 5 Stars http://wp.me/p3d0RZ-8u8 | Kindle http://amzn.to/2nkaHil ✦Dearest Ivie: A Novella Set in the Black Dagger World ➢ Review 5 Stars https://wp.me/p3d0RZ-aEo | Kindle http://amzn.to/2F2HvUu ✦The Thief ➢ Review 4.5 Stars https://wp.me/p3d0RZ-aHi | Kindle http://amzn.to/2w2pTH5✦Prisoner of Night (Novella) ➢ Kindle https://amzn.to/2U7vxBo ✦The Savior ➢ (Releasing 04/02/19) ➢ Kindle https://amzn.to/2q3e6E8 ~*~*~*~ ✿BLACK DAGGER LEGACY SERIES by J.R. WARD✿✦BLOOD KISS ➢ Review 5 Stars: http://wp.me/p3d0RZ-3px | Kindle: http://amzn.to/1BlQjuG✦BLOOD VOW ➢ Review 5 Stars: http://wp.me/p3d0RZ-7kK | Kindle: http://amzn.to/1RxpiwG✦BLOOD FURY ➢ Review 5 Stars https://wp.me/p3d0RZ-ayS | Kindle http://amzn.to/2oGiaMq ✦BLOOD TRUTH (Boone’s book) ➢ Releasing August 2019~*~*~*~
    more
  • AlwaysV
    January 1, 1970
    Beautiful & tortured Duran so broke my heart. Few authors could do tortured Heroes/heroines? the way JR Ward could. The only difference was how I felt after reading. Torture in books written by other authors only succeeded in driving me away, no more, one and done. I loved the way Ahmare saved him. Totally deserved five extra stars! If you loved the Shadow in the previous BDB books, there was kick ass Nexi, another Shadow for you to fall in love with. The bonus? This story didn't have just O Beautiful & tortured Duran so broke my heart. Few authors could do tortured Heroes/heroines? the way JR Ward could. The only difference was how I felt after reading. Torture in books written by other authors only succeeded in driving me away, no more, one and done. I loved the way Ahmare saved him. Totally deserved five extra stars! If you loved the Shadow in the previous BDB books, there was kick ass Nexi, another Shadow for you to fall in love with. The bonus? This story didn't have just One but Two HEA couples. Not one but two despicable villains. I was in the BDB Heaven reading this (should have been) nightmarish story!
    more
  • Debrac2014
    January 1, 1970
    Good story in the BDB world!
  • Il confine dei libri
    January 1, 1970
    4.5Buongiorno, lettrici!Oggi vi parlo in super anteprima della mia ultima lettura, ovvero “Prisoner of Night”, la seconda novella della serie “La Confraternita del Pugnale Nero” di J.R Ward, uscito in lingua il 7 gennaio.Per salvare suo fratello, Ahmare è pronta a tutto, anche se questo vorrà dire mettere la propria vita in pericolo. Per liberarlo dalle grinfie di un antico e crudele vampiro con cui si è indebitato, Ahmere dovrà andare alla ricerca di qualcosa che egli rivuole e per riuscirci do 4.5Buongiorno, lettrici!Oggi vi parlo in super anteprima della mia ultima lettura, ovvero “Prisoner of Night”, la seconda novella della serie “La Confraternita del Pugnale Nero” di J.R Ward, uscito in lingua il 7 gennaio.Per salvare suo fratello, Ahmare è pronta a tutto, anche se questo vorrà dire mettere la propria vita in pericolo. Per liberarlo dalle grinfie di un antico e crudele vampiro con cui si è indebitato, Ahmere dovrà andare alla ricerca di qualcosa che egli rivuole e per riuscirci dovrà portare con se Duran. È da anni che Duran aspetta un’opportunità per fuggire dalla sua prigionia, e quando la otterrà si vendicherà di ogni torto subito. Non si aspettava che l’opportunità si presentasse con le sembianze di una bellissima femmina. La vampira vuole solo salvare suo fratello e Duran non è disposto a tornare alla sua prigionia, ma la aiuterà lo stesso per poi andarsene. I due vampiri non avevano tenuto conto dell’attrazione reciproca che ogni momento li lega sempre di più, ma come potrebbe mai esserci qualcosa tra loro?Come sapete, io sono una grande fan della Confraternita e aspetto sempre con ansia ogni libro che compone questa strepitosa e sexy serie. E immaginate un po’ qualche mese fa quando ho scoperto che il 7 Gennaio sarebbe uscita una nuova novella?! Da come potete vedere non ho aspettato un giorno di più e l’ho già divorata!Ahmare e Duran sono due nuovi personaggi che impareremo a conoscere in “Prisoner of Night”, ma che sono sicura rivedremo molto presto.Ahmare è una vampira forte e coraggiosa, che non si tira indietro davanti alle difficoltà pur di aiutare chi ama. E per salvare suo fratello, l’unica persona rimasta a lei cara, sarà disposta a fare di tutto, anche uccidere e partire per una missione pericolosa al fianco di un vampiro che ha subito torture e prigionia per più di vent’anni, di cui non è sicura di fidarsi. Ma nonostante tutto, Ahmare non ha paura e rischia, partendo insieme a Duran. La parte più difficile sarà tenere il distacco, ma ogni minuto che passa è più difficile e in lei si insinua il desiderio di liberare quel misterioso e tormentato vampiro. Riuscirà a salvare suo fratello e Duran? O salvando uno condannerà l’altro?Per vent’anni Duran progetta la sua fuga e la vendetta contro colui che lo ha consegnato al suo aguzzino, una vendetta che va oltre il tradimento, ma per compierla dovrà prima aiutare una vampira e non ritornare mai più nella sua prigione. Duran è un personaggio che ha subito abusi e torture da tanto, troppo tempo; la sua non è stata un’esistenza facile e più andiamo avanti nella lettura, più verremo a conoscenza di essa e di tutto quello che ha sofferto. Pur avendo vissuto delle esperienze orribili, esse non lo hanno cambiato, non lo hanno trasformato come i suoi aguzzini. Anche se la libertà è vicina, è lo stesso disposto ad aiutare in qualche modo la vampira. I due si ritroveranno a superare diverse sfide e decidere se quello che provano per l’altro è più forte della vendetta.Una lettura veloce e appassionate, che ogni amante di questa saga apprezzerà! Certo, i nostri amati fratelli sono solo nominati, ma questa nuova coppia non vi deluderà. Azione e romance, i due dei temi che caratterizzano questa serie, li troverete anche in “Prisoner of Night”. Direi che vi ho detto abbastanza, ci vediamo ad Aprile con “The Savior”, che avrà come protagonista il fratello Murhder!A presto.
    more
  • Misty
    January 1, 1970
    This is a nice novella, decently action packed (it's just 2 nights long or so), but it has no ties with the Brotherhood. They are mentioned exactly twice, toward the end of the novella.Duran and Ahmare are nice and there is even a female Shadow, I liked their character, the way they thought, developed, and reached some peace of mind.And yet, this novella has a couple of plot holes that made me shake my head.Like, Chalen is an old vampire, dying, frail. He has lots of guards that he treats really This is a nice novella, decently action packed (it's just 2 nights long or so), but it has no ties with the Brotherhood. They are mentioned exactly twice, toward the end of the novella.Duran and Ahmare are nice and there is even a female Shadow, I liked their character, the way they thought, developed, and reached some peace of mind.And yet, this novella has a couple of plot holes that made me shake my head.Like, Chalen is an old vampire, dying, frail. He has lots of guards that he treats really badly and they are still loyal to him. But then, in the end, they turn on him. Why just at that point? What was he going to do before that he couldn't do now? Not explained.There is this cult, Duran's father is the leader, he repeatedly raped and brutalized Duran's mother. And yet Duran refuses to tell Chalen where the compound is, at the beginning of the story, just because he wants to kill his father himself. And the outcome? He's imprisoned for twenty years, and his father lives free for those twenty years. And if Ahmare hadn't come, his father would still be free. Idiocy much? At least he was miserable :/
    more
  • Page
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 stars. Heads up. At the time/date of this review this book is the most recent in the series. There are no BDB appearances, and no noticeable/foreseeable future connection to the series. With that said, I'm sure there will be, I'm just saying there are no visible best laid plans. So, this book was good. At times it was great, but it was not BDB good... actually not BDB at all. And Duran was kind of an emo. Z had a waaaaay more shit filled life and he didn't sit around crying 24/7 in his book. 3.5 stars. Heads up. At the time/date of this review this book is the most recent in the series. There are no BDB appearances, and no noticeable/foreseeable future connection to the series. With that said, I'm sure there will be, I'm just saying there are no visible best laid plans. So, this book was good. At times it was great, but it was not BDB good... actually not BDB at all. And Duran was kind of an emo. Z had a waaaaay more shit filled life and he didn't sit around crying 24/7 in his book...just saying.
    more
  • Ashley
    January 1, 1970
    I really like that Ward is giving us little novellas from the world of BDB that don't involve any of the brothers. I really liked this book. It had all the feels: love, hate, revenge, pain, sorrow. Ward really knows how to pull out all the emotions in her books.Also, I really want Oreo's now. lol.
    more
  • Angelika
    January 1, 1970
    4,75 ★My review in Hungarian.❤ Ahmare, blooded daughter of Ahmat & Duran / Theo➤ Appalachian Mountains➤ July
  • Beth
    January 1, 1970
    Prisoner of Night is a quick novella length read that packs a punch.Ward submerses the reader into her story telling with dark and graphically descriptive circumstances that will make the light-hearted reader cringe. That being said, I wouldn't have wanted to miss this shorter additions to the Black Dagger Brotherhood world.Fast paced, bone chilling, goose-bump raising, and a perfect example of why J.R. Ward is the queen of storytelling.I received this ARC copy of Prisoner of Night from Gallery. Prisoner of Night is a quick novella length read that packs a punch.Ward submerses the reader into her story telling with dark and graphically descriptive circumstances that will make the light-hearted reader cringe. That being said, I wouldn't have wanted to miss this shorter additions to the Black Dagger Brotherhood world.Fast paced, bone chilling, goose-bump raising, and a perfect example of why J.R. Ward is the queen of storytelling.I received this ARC copy of Prisoner of Night from Gallery. This is my honest and voluntary review. Prisoner of Night is set for publication Jan. 7, 2019.
    more
  • Nay Denise
    January 1, 1970
    Received a copy for review.This was a pretty good paranormal romance. I enjoy reading from J.R. Ward as her writing always pulls me in and her characters always have some complex issue that pushes the romance in an interesting way. This was n different. There was a lot of sad and stressful moments -- I may have even cried a few times, but the romance and humor were well mixed in.Ahmare is on a mission to save her brother from Chalen the Conqueror. She had a mission to kill someone and she did, b Received a copy for review.This was a pretty good paranormal romance. I enjoy reading from J.R. Ward as her writing always pulls me in and her characters always have some complex issue that pushes the romance in an interesting way. This was n different. There was a lot of sad and stressful moments -- I may have even cried a few times, but the romance and humor were well mixed in.Ahmare is on a mission to save her brother from Chalen the Conqueror. She had a mission to kill someone and she did, but now Chalen demands a second thing from her and she agrees only seeking to save her brother. Ahmare was a headstrong woman and though she may have seemed like a killer she was anything but that. She was a protector. She knew how to save lives. I enjoyed her struggle with killing people seeing as she started off by killing someone. I loved seeing the inner workings of her mind.Duran was taken captive by Chalen 21 years ago and vows for vengeance against both Chalen and his father. He planned to escape, but his escape came by way of a female. Duran was an all out gentleman that was tortured physically, mentally and emotionally. For all the things he went through in his life, he still pushed forward in life. He was determined to die, but couldn't after he met Ahmare. Duran is a killer by nature with how he grew up, but he never wanted to just kill for fun. I respected him.The romance was absolutely cute! Definitely an instant attraction between Duran and Ahmare. Shockingly, it was Ahmare that initiated things between the two. That was awesome to read because Duran was a complete gentleman through the whole ordeal. They both tried to keep things platonic, but emotions and scents ran too deep between them. I adored their relationship.Chalen was an insane old vampire. I didn't care for him at the end of the book, especially after finding out who his "beloved" was. I just can't believe he went crazy for that. Duran's father was a crazy man through and through. I am glad about his demise!Nexie was so funny and quirky. I totally loved everything about her from start to finish. I loved even more how girly she got when she met her mate.I totally enjoyed this book and I hope there is book for Ahlan and Nexie because they were just too adorable together!
    more
Write a review