Recursion
From the New York Times bestselling author of Dark Matter and the Wayward Pines trilogy comes a relentless thriller about time, identity, and memory—his most ambitious, mind-boggling, irresistible work to date.“An action-packed, brilliantly unique ride that had me up late and shirking responsibilities until I had devoured the last page . . . a fantastic read.”—Andy Weir, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The MartianMemory makes reality. That’s what New York City cop Barry Sutton is learning as he investigates the devastating phenomenon the media has dubbed False Memory Syndrome—a mysterious affliction that drives its victims mad with memories of a life they never lived.Neuroscientist Helena Smith already understands the power of memory. It’s why she’s dedicated her life to creating a technology that will let us preserve our most precious moments of our pasts. If she succeeds, anyone will be able to re-experience a first kiss, the birth of a child, the final moment with a dying parent. As Barry searches for the truth, he comes face-to-face with an opponent more terrifying than any disease—a force that attacks not just our minds but the very fabric of the past. And as its effects begin to unmake the world as we know it, only he and Helena, working together, will stand a chance at defeating it.But how can they make a stand when reality itself is shifting and crumbling all around them?

Recursion Details

TitleRecursion
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 11th, 2019
PublisherCrown Publishing Group (NY)
ISBN-139781524759780
Rating
GenreScience Fiction, Fiction, Thriller

Recursion Review

  • Emily (Books with Emily Fox)
    January 1, 1970
    UPDATE: IT'S OUT!! Go read it so we can all gush about it!!As always, Crouch knows how to keep you on your toes and does a great job at mixing thriller and sci-fi genre.A mysterious disease starts affecting people’s memory, giving them memories of a life they never lived. NYPD detective Barry Sutton is trying to investigated how the False Memory Syndrome is spreading and ultimately will come to face Helena Smith a neuroscientist who invented a device that’s changing the world.Recursion will mak UPDATE: IT'S OUT!! Go read it so we can all gush about it!!As always, Crouch knows how to keep you on your toes and does a great job at mixing thriller and sci-fi genre.A mysterious disease starts affecting people’s memory, giving them memories of a life they never lived. NYPD detective Barry Sutton is trying to investigated how the False Memory Syndrome is spreading and ultimately will come to face Helena Smith a neuroscientist who invented a device that’s changing the world.Recursion will make you question time, memory and life.While the characters and dialogues didn’t grab me from the start, I grew to care about them and their story more and more. By the end, I couldn’t put the book down. The story also became a lot darker than I expected (which I loved!) and the concepts mentioned were fascinating.If you’ve enjoyed Dark Matter by him, I recommend you pick up this one.Can’t wait to see the Netflix adaptation!I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Chelsea Humphrey
    January 1, 1970
    Pleased to announce that Recursion is the #scaredsuspensebookclub pick for June 2019! Come join us in reading and discussing this one on Instagram; discussion will be posted on the 21st of the month. Can't wait to spill the tea with you all!Book of the Month selection June 2019**********************"Everything will look better in the morning. There will be hope again when the light returns. The despair is only an illusion, a trick the darkness plays."I'm convinced that Blake Crouch is THE scienc Pleased to announce that Recursion is the #scaredsuspensebookclub pick for June 2019! Come join us in reading and discussing this one on Instagram; discussion will be posted on the 21st of the month. Can't wait to spill the tea with you all!Book of the Month selection June 2019**********************"Everything will look better in the morning. There will be hope again when the light returns. The despair is only an illusion, a trick the darkness plays."I'm convinced that Blake Crouch is THE science fiction/fantasy author of our time. You know, the one that readers pre-order their books without reading the description, the one that 50 years from now people are still talking about, dissecting his plot points and their dual meanings? Yeah, that's Crouch. If you don't agree, then that's ok, I'll respect your opinion. But also, FIGHT ME. While I've enjoyed all of the author's novels to date, Dark Matter is the one that sealed the deal in making me a life long fan. (But also Desert Places) Recursion is another worthy entry in Crouch's SFF productions, and one that felt reminiscent of Dark Matter, which made me a very happy Chelsea. Yes, the plot is unique in it's own way, but it still gave off those complex vibes that are a cross between "exciting, high concept thriller" and "deep, emotional family drama"."How would I know if one had changed? What would it feel like?"The premise of this novel is simple: What would happen if the memories contained inside your mind had never occurred? I'm not entirely sure how the author devised the plot for this book, but I imagine it stemmed from a simple question, not altogether different from the one presented above. Once you've read the book, it's easy to see how an entire novel could spring from such an innocent thought. It's clear that Crouch has a way with writing sagas that pull the heartstrings, because all of his ideas that evolve into stories are a delicate balance of intellectually stimulating action and moving, emotional love mingled with loss. The kicker is that the author knows how to write a science fiction that seems so dangerously close to reality, you find yourself turning the last page, shaking your head and chuckling because that could NEVER happen, but secretly wondering if it possibly could. If you enjoyed Dark Matter and its extraordinary premise, you'll likely fall head over heels for Recursion as well. A few of the same concepts are used in both novels, but each of these books are truly a labor of love in their own, unique way. Once again, I have found myself floored at how a person's mind could concoct such a brilliant scheme, and I'm looking forward to finding out where Crouch chooses to take us next. *Many thanks to the publisher for providing my review copy.
    more
  • Chaima ✨ شيماء
    January 1, 1970
    me: *finishes reading any book by Blake Crouch*me: what the fuck…..me: [at dinner] what the fuck…me: [trying to sleep] what the fuck….me: [in the bathroom] what the fuck….me: [breathing] w hat THe F uCK
  • j e w e l s
    January 1, 1970
    FIVE MIND-BENDING STARSBook readers tend to throw around words like “addictive” and “unputdownable”. But, I'm dead serious about those words. And guys, I’m here to tell you, I read RECURSION straight through dinner last night until I finished at three am this morning. What an intelligent and freakin’ addictive thriller!The first half sets up the rest of the book and it is crucial to read carefully and try to understand the very simple quantum physics necessary to travel around in time. LOL.😂I fi FIVE MIND-BENDING STARSBook readers tend to throw around words like “addictive” and “unputdownable”. But, I'm dead serious about those words. And guys, I’m here to tell you, I read RECURSION straight through dinner last night until I finished at three am this morning. What an intelligent and freakin’ addictive thriller!The first half sets up the rest of the book and it is crucial to read carefully and try to understand the very simple quantum physics necessary to travel around in time. LOL.😂I finally thought I had the timelines straight in my mind (without the use of a giant white board)--I wanted to keep it straight, so I read. And read. And cried. And marveled. And cried again. And closed the Kindle. And kept thinking and marveling and sighing. Who doesn’t want a do-over in life? Personally, I don’t trust anyone that says they live with no regrets. Even if you consider yourself a perfect specimen, I guarantee you have deeply hurt someone’s feelings or perhaps grieved the loss of a loved one. If those aren’t regrets, then you may be a sociopath.What if you could go back through your memories and “fix” them? Change events in order to protect children, countries, civilizations. This is the question RECURSION poses to the reader. As wonderful an idea as this is, there are, of course, consequences to changing history. Blake Crouch turns his incredible imagination loose in his latest thriller and your mind will be racing trying to keep up him.RECURSION is set in 2007 and 2018, this isn’t futuristic. Helene, our genius scientist, works to discover a cure for Alzheimer’s and you will find yourself constantly wondering if this memory recapture business is actually a real thing now. (IT IS. READ THE ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS IN THE BACK!). I love sci-fi that reads like it could be factual. I love sci-fi with colorful, endearing characters. I love sci-fi with the entire world’s future at stake and these two characters must save us. I love sci-fi when those two characters carry on an epic love story to end all love stories. ❤️I love RECURSION. I think I love it more than Dark Matter. And I never thought I would say that!Hey, all you influential readers: this is still available on NetGalley! Grab it before it is too late! NETFLIX already bought the movie rights and it is gonna be HUGE!!. Many thanks to the publisher and the author for allowing me to read and review the advanced copy of RECURSION. All opinions are mine.
    more
  • Holly B
    January 1, 1970
    A dark, sci-fi thriller that had my mind bending in many directions! From the author of  Dark Matter , which has been on my reading list for some time, but still haven't read it yet. Would you like a do-over of your life?   Hmm, that seems like a loaded question and it is! This was quite an edge of your seat, genre crossover that had me needing answers and quick.A brilliant neuroscientist Helena Smith, has developed technology that will redefine how we think about time and memory.  Playing with A dark, sci-fi thriller that had my mind bending in many directions! From the author of  Dark Matter , which has been on my reading list for some time, but still haven't read it yet. Would you like a do-over of your life?   Hmm, that seems like a loaded question and it is! This was quite an edge of your seat, genre crossover that had me needing answers and quick.A brilliant neuroscientist Helena Smith, has developed technology that will redefine how we think about time and memory.  Playing with time and timelines  is where she is headed and some seedy people just might want a piece of this technology.  "Pandora's box has been flung open." I really enjoyed this fast read, although it took some "work" on my part. A lot happens and moves quite quickly- think Evelyn Hardcastle meets time machine. Lets talk equations, science, timelines, and memory loopy de loops. If you have the patience, this is an entertaining, far-out puzzle to enjoy.Interested? Step right in, buckle up, place the helmet on and lets mess with time!Thanks to NG/Crown for my review copy.
    more
  • Debra
    January 1, 1970
    "He who controls the past controls the future. He who controls the present controls the past." - George Orwell, 1984This was a book I had to sit and think about before writing my review, mainly because I had to let it sink it. What would it be like to live your life over again? What would it be like to go back and change past events? How would this action affect your future? How would it affect the future of others? This book is deep and is thought provoking.Blake Crouch has written a very ambit "He who controls the past controls the future. He who controls the present controls the past." - George Orwell, 1984This was a book I had to sit and think about before writing my review, mainly because I had to let it sink it. What would it be like to live your life over again? What would it be like to go back and change past events? How would this action affect your future? How would it affect the future of others? This book is deep and is thought provoking.Blake Crouch has written a very ambitious and carefully crafted book about memory, preserving memory, shifting reality, and using our memories and dangers associated with altering these things. He does this with skill and finesse. I would have loved to have been a fly on the wall while he was writing this. Neuroscientist Helena Smith has dedicated her life to inventing a device which will preserve our memories. Her intentions are pure. She wants to help her Mother who has Alzheimer’s, she wants to help those experience their happy times once again. But what happens when people begin experiencing False Memory Syndrome - a syndrome that causes irrational behavior in those who experience memories of lives they never lived.NYC police officer Barry Sutton begins to investigate the syndrome, he learns that there is more going on than meets the eye (or memory). As he digs deeper, he becomes more involved until he is knee deep in neuroscience, time, memories and a lifetime of trying to get things right.I highly recommend making note of the date/YEAR on each chapter as this book is told in both timelines. Things jump around a bit and can be confusing if you are not on your toes keeping track of your time lines. This is a book I really needed to sit and ponder after reading. I found that the more I thought about this book, the more I enjoyed it.Blake Crouch has a brilliant creative mind and he puts it to good use in this book. The beginning of this book was work for me until I found my rhythm with this book. Fans of his previous book Dark Matter will enjoy this one as well. I did enjoy Dark Matter more mainly because I found it was easier to follow but his one is good, but it took a little more (okay, a lot more) work on my part.I also loved that not only is this science fiction it is also a love story and Crouch writes some beautiful passages such as “...I want to breathe the same air as you every minute of every day of my life, no matter how many timelines I live." and "My soul knows your soul in any time line."Science Fiction fans, Crouch will not let you down with this book. Read those chapters headers and keep them in mind while reading each chapter as time does jump around. Thank you to Crown Publishing and NetGalley who provided me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All the thoughts and opinions are my own.
    more
  • Paromjit
    January 1, 1970
    Blake Crouch's latest science fiction thriller is a complex mind messing of a thought provoking read. It is intense, time shifting and asks profound questions of identity, memory, and what it is that makes us human. Just be prepared to find yourself buffeted all over the place. I understand that the novel is going to be filmed, and I am not surprised by this, this is a twisted story that just fizzes with energy and vitality. NYPD police officer Barry Sutton tries but fails to prevent a woman lea Blake Crouch's latest science fiction thriller is a complex mind messing of a thought provoking read. It is intense, time shifting and asks profound questions of identity, memory, and what it is that makes us human. Just be prepared to find yourself buffeted all over the place. I understand that the novel is going to be filmed, and I am not surprised by this, this is a twisted story that just fizzes with energy and vitality. NYPD police officer Barry Sutton tries but fails to prevent a woman leaping off a skyscraper. Despairing and distraught, she spoke of false memory syndrome (FMS) with their vibrant and visceral memories and how her son has been erased, but he had never existed. Is FMS a contagion? A deeply troubled Barry, with his own past traumas, sets out on a journey to investigate.Helena Smith is a brilliant neuroscientist carry out cutting edge technology research on memories. A well intentioned woman, her mother is suffering from Alzheimer's disease, which drives Helena's ambition and work on a memory chair, where she can record memories and re-implant them. Her project receives a huge boost when a rich philanthropist injects it with the necessary financial resources, but does he have a darker hidden agenda? Barry and Helena drive the narrative until their paths connect. What are the repercussions of having our memories manipulated and replaced? Is it a worthy desire to replace our painful memories? How does this impact our sense of who we are?Crouch writes a hard hitting, insane, ground shaking thriller, well constructed, full of tension and suspense, that rockets around all over the place with it's ideas and concepts. It certainly holds the reader's attention with ease, although I admit to enjoying Dark Matter more, there are times when this feels slightly more clunky on occasions. Strap yourself in for one hell of a thrill ride, movingly touching on some crucial issues, with its overt agenda of making you think. Many thanks to Pan Macmillan for an ARC.
    more
  • Felicia
    January 1, 1970
    If Black Mirror served as a surrogate for Groundhog's Day and Back to the Future, Recursion would be that test tube baby.This one starts out with a bang, or more like a plunk, as the story opens with a woman jumping from a building to her death, but not before she utters the words "My son has been erased." to Detective Barry Sutton. What follows is two storylines, one where Barry searches for the meaning behind the woman's final words and one where researcher Helena Smith is developing a means t If Black Mirror served as a surrogate for Groundhog's Day and Back to the Future, Recursion would be that test tube baby.This one starts out with a bang, or more like a plunk, as the story opens with a woman jumping from a building to her death, but not before she utters the words "My son has been erased." to Detective Barry Sutton. What follows is two storylines, one where Barry searches for the meaning behind the woman's final words and one where researcher Helena Smith is developing a means to preserve the memories of Alzheimer's patients, such as her own mother. "...what do you cling to, moment to moment, if memories can simply change. What, then, is real? And if the answer is nothing, where does that leave us?"Sci-Fi has never been my thing, not even sorta kinda, until I came across Crouch's Dark Matter. He has a way of mixing the sci-fi and thriller genres in a way that makes it accessible to science impaired people like myself. I found the first half of this book unputdownable...and then my unmethodical brain reared its head leaving me with a permanent perplexed expression.All of the back and forth and forth and back and back and back and forth and back and forth and forth of the timeline was difficult to follow and often tedious at times. While I understand that it was part of the plot, I still think it could have been handled in a more reader-friendly manner. Overall I enjoyed this book, not as much as Dark Matter, but certainly enough to continue my mediocre attempt to branch out into this new frontier, with Crouch in the lead. I received an ARC from Crown Publishing in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • (Bern) Mom to 2 Posh Lil Divas
    January 1, 1970
    Blake Crouch has done it again!!! Recursion was fascinating, confusing and brilliant!Dark Matter is one of my favorite sci-fi books of all time so I was almost scared to delve into Recursion - nervous it wouldn't live up to my expectations for Crouch. This book was ambitious. Thankfully, I had nothing to fear. Mr. Crouch's brilliant mind hasn't failed us yet. Recursion deals with memory - preserving memory, and using it to shift our reality. What a roller coaster ride this was. Can you imagine g Blake Crouch has done it again!!! Recursion was fascinating, confusing and brilliant!Dark Matter is one of my favorite sci-fi books of all time so I was almost scared to delve into Recursion - nervous it wouldn't live up to my expectations for Crouch. This book was ambitious. Thankfully, I had nothing to fear. Mr. Crouch's brilliant mind hasn't failed us yet. Recursion deals with memory - preserving memory, and using it to shift our reality. What a roller coaster ride this was. Can you imagine going back into a specific memory with all the knowledge you have now? What would you change or do differently if given the opportunity for a "do over"? Barry Sutton is a NYPD Detective who answers a "jumper" call. As he attempts to talk her down from the ledge he learns she is suffering from False Memory Syndrome - vivid memories of an alternate life. These memories feel real and those suffering from FMS have difficulty reconciling the dual memories/lives. Meanwhile, neuroscientist Helena Smith has devoted her life to memory research. She wants to map memories to preserve them. Her greatest hope is to help people with Alzheimers, Dementia and brain injuries. Ultimately she uncovers more than just a way to map memories. Her research leads to the discovery that causes FMS. Helena and her researchers travel back into past memories. This leads to changes which cause dual timeline memories for everyone involved. Barry and Helena's stories intersect as they find themselves face to face with the darker implications of the research. Each change comes with a cost. As more and more people suffer from FMS, mass hysteria builds. Are our minds strong enough to handle dual realities? Can multiple timeline memories coexist in the same person? Can the world handle this type of technology? Recursion certainly made me think and question everything I know about reality. I couldn't help but wonder about those moments of deja vu we all experience. What if there was more to them? Ultimately our memories make up who we are. They are definitely powerful and I love how Crouch explored this topic. It was thought provoking, emotional and made for fascinating reading.A huge thank you to Blake Crouch, Crown Publishing and Netgalley for the opportunity to read & review an arc of this book.
    more
  • Vani
    January 1, 1970
    Blake Crouch is simultaneously my hero and my nemesis because his books make me love the world and the English language while also making me want to rip my heart out and stomp on it soooo being approved for this arc made my entire life 100000% better.WOW. Like. Wow. Dark Matter by Blake Crouch is one of my favorite books of all time, and I hoped I'd love this one even a fraction of that amount. Miraculously, I love it even more. I read Recursion in one sitting. This is one of those books for whi Blake Crouch is simultaneously my hero and my nemesis because his books make me love the world and the English language while also making me want to rip my heart out and stomp on it soooo being approved for this arc made my entire life 100000% better.WOW. Like. Wow. Dark Matter by Blake Crouch is one of my favorite books of all time, and I hoped I'd love this one even a fraction of that amount. Miraculously, I love it even more. I read Recursion in one sitting. This is one of those books for which I wish I could travel back in time to the Vani who didn't know it existed and experience it all over again. The premise is that people everywhere are being infected with False Memory Syndrome, a disease in which the impaired person has two distinct memories of the way their life has gone, and many cannot cope. The narration and timeline both alternate quite a bit, going forward and backward in the narrative as well as switching from Barry, an NY cop, to Helena, a research scientist (both in third person). This isn't typically my favorite. When times/narrators alternate, I tend to like one better than the other, and it's easy for me to put the book down when the part I don't love as much comes up. In this, I love them both more than words could adequately describe. The protagonists are beautiful people who are easy to love and the antagonists are crazy antagonistic, which is my favorite. I hate when I don't hate a villain quite enough. And I really hate these ones.Pacing is one of my most oft-used criticisms, and this is spot on. I flew through. I was immersed immediately and legit could not read it quickly enough. Even by halfway, I had already cried several times. By the end I had sobbed.For sci-fi, the science is fairly light. It doesn't beat you over the head if that's not really your thing. It kind of takes a backseat to the story, which I appreciate here. And goddamn, Blake Crouch can write a fucking love story.*Thanks so much to NetGalley and the publisher for advance access to this book in exchange for an honest review.*
    more
  • Larry H
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 stars.This was some crazy s--t."What's more precious than our memories? They define us and form our identities."Blake Crouch's new book, Recursion , is a riddle, wrapped in a mystery, inside an enigma.Crouch's Dark Matter , which was one of the top five books I read in 2017, blew me away, even though I wasn't 100 percent sure I understood everything I read. But this book? This is a fascinating, albeit confusing, meditation on memory and how crucial what we remember is to our identity. It's 3.5 stars.This was some crazy s--t."What's more precious than our memories? They define us and form our identities."Blake Crouch's new book, Recursion , is a riddle, wrapped in a mystery, inside an enigma.Crouch's Dark Matter , which was one of the top five books I read in 2017, blew me away, even though I wasn't 100 percent sure I understood everything I read. But this book? This is a fascinating, albeit confusing, meditation on memory and how crucial what we remember is to our identity. It's a roller coaster ride which cements Crouch's reputation as a master of meshing unbelievable science and emotion.Barry Sutton is a detective in New York City who is summoned when a woman is threatening to jump from a skyscraper. She tells him that she is suffering from False Memory Syndrome, which somehow leaves you with vivid memories of a life and experiences you never had. Often these memories feel more real than the life you are living, and it is immensely disorienting—and possibly contagious. The woman tells Barry that she is devastated by the fact that her son has been "erased," even though people tell her she never had a son. And then she leaps to her death.Meanwhile, Helena Smith is a neuroscientist who has been working on research to help map our most precious memories and how to preserve them. If she succeeds, people with dementia and brain injuries might one day be able to remember moments and people that have slipped from their grasp. The pace and scope of her research is significantly accelerated by the involvement and support of an eccentric, wealthy benefactor. But what's behind his interest?As Barry tries to investigate what's behind False Memory Syndrome—or if it exists at all—he finds himself in the middle of a disturbing mystery. Has someone figured out the ability to manipulate our memories and make us believe things that never existed? If our true memories are wiped out and replaced, does that change who we are? And at what cost?Barry and Helena's stories alternate as they represent both sides of the coin—the beneficent research looking to make a difference in how we retain our memories, and the shadowy side, using memories for destructive purposes. Recursion started a little slowly for me, but picked up speed as the book moved along, until it careened toward a conclusion.The ideas behind the book were fascinating and thought-provoking, but the book itself didn't quite work for me as well as I had hoped given how much I loved Dark Matter . Each story on its own was compelling but the constant shifting back and forth, and having to keep track of when things happened, often made me lose focus. But once again, Crouch proves his talent as a storyteller and a brilliant mind.If you're a fan of science fiction thrillers that make you wonder if what you're reading might actually be possible, pick up Recursion . And don't miss out on Dark Matter or Crouch's Wayward Pines trilogy, because this guy knows how to write.NetGalley and Crown Publishing provided me an advance copy of the book in exchange for an unbiased review. Thanks for making this available!This book will be published June 11, 2019. See all of my reviews at itseithersadnessoreuphoria.blogspot.com.Check out my list of the best books I read in 2018 at https://itseithersadnessoreuphoria.blogspot.com/2019/01/the-best-books-i-read-in-2018.html. You can follow me on Instagram at https://www.instagram.com/yrralh/.
    more
  • Christina - Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    5, WAT WAT WAT WAT WAT. Amazeballs stars!!! Full review along with a recipe for huevos rancheros featured on my blog Recipe & a Read!So, I feel like I need to start this out with a little caveat. I would put Blake Crouch’s Dark Matter in my top 5 favorite books ever read. I absolutely adored it. Was I confused at times? Yes. Was I also completely and utterly thrilled the whole time I read it? Also, yes. I was both excited and incredibly nervous to read his upcoming novel Recursion because de 5, WAT WAT WAT WAT WAT. Amazeballs stars!!! Full review along with a recipe for huevos rancheros featured on my blog Recipe & a Read!So, I feel like I need to start this out with a little caveat. I would put Blake Crouch’s Dark Matter in my top 5 favorite books ever read. I absolutely adored it. Was I confused at times? Yes. Was I also completely and utterly thrilled the whole time I read it? Also, yes. I was both excited and incredibly nervous to read his upcoming novel Recursion because despite being a big advocate for not comparing things, I have a hard time not doing it. The ARC book gods #blessed me with an advanced copy of the novel and I put it off because I was nervous. However, once I dove in it gripped me with the same intensity I’ve come to be familiar with Crouch’s works. I’m going to do my damn best to not compare the novels too much but I hope you’ll forgive me if I fail a little.Barry Sutton is a New York police officer who is called to the roof of a building to talk a woman down from jumping off the ledge. As he speaks to her, he learns that she’s suffering from “False Memory Syndrome” a syndrome that leaves it’s sufferers with vivid memories of a life that never happened. It’s not just that they have a memory, it’s that they are visceral and real. These people can remember smells, touches, the look on someones face, they remember the most minute details that create a rich picture of a life they’ve never had. Some remember a life worse than the one they’re living now, but others, like the woman Barry is speaking to, no longer has her husband or her son and her entire life feels meaningless and empty.Everyone thinks FMS is just false memories of the big moments of our life, but what hurts so much more are the small ones. I don’t just remember my husband. I remember the smell of his breath in the morning when he rolled over and faced me in bed.Helena Smith is a neuroscientist with endless potential but a very limited budget for the dreams she holds in her minds eye. Helena’s mother is suffering from Alzheimer’s and she has a dream to create a memory chair – to store memories for people who can’t hold onto them and give them back as they start to fade. When a wealthy and anonymous benefactor offers her unlimited resources she jumps at the opportunity. As Helena works on the chair she quickly realizes that not all is as it seems with her new partner and as her memory chair takes shape, so does the real reason Helena has been brought in.As Barry investigates FMS (more like FML, amiright) and Helena works on her chair we’re given alternate POVs between the two. Barry finds himself in the middle of an incredibly convoluted mystery that even the most seasoned reader will have a hard time pinning down. It isn’t until Helena and Barry’s stories collapse upon one another that the real mind-fuckery beings to take place. Let me just tell you, one reader to another, this is a twisted mess of time travel, parallel universes, and the question of what it means to simply be alive and what makes us who we are.There are so few things in our existence we can count on to give us the sense of permanence, of the ground beneath our feet. People fail us. Our bodies fail us. We fail ourselves… But what do you cling to, moment to moment, if memories can simply change. What, then, is real? And if the answer is nothing, where does that leave us?Similar to Dark Matter I don’t want to give too much away because one of the greatest things Crouch brings to literature is the utter shock and surprise that comes with his stories. They are so truly unique and original that I consistently find myself questioning how someone’s brain even functions the way his does. Asking myself how someone can even begin to think this up. I think that if I tried to spoil this entire story right now, I may not even be able to because it’s such a complicated and intricate web that Crouch has woven here. What leaves me even more impressed though, is that despite how complicated the story is, I was able to follow along *for the most part* because Crouch is able to make ideas that would normally fly right on over my head, accessible and tangible.Recursion is truly a whirlwind and it has everything any reader could ask for. It’s exciting, thrilling, heart warming and gritty all at the same time. It asks questions I haven’t ever thought of and created scenarios that made my brain ache to contemplate. It challenged me as a reader and it challenged my ideas of what creates “reality” and “the present”. I should’ve read this with someone else because I wish I could have talked to someone who was reading it at the same time as me. However, I’m super excited to add this to my list of book recommendations for the future and to discuss it then!I don’t want to look back anymore. I’m ready to accept that my existence will sometimes contain pain. No more trying to escape, either through nostalgia or a memory chair. They’re both the same fucking thing. Life with a cheat code isn’t life. our existence isn’t something to be engineered or optimized for the avoidance of pain. That’s what it is to be human – the beauty and the pain, each meaningless without the other.In the end this is another total slam dunk for me and I can’t wait to see what Crouch comes up with next. This is a twisty novel that you’re never going to be able to pin down where it’s about to head next. It left me truly breathless at points because it felt like I was reading and the story was moving at break-neck speed. There were points I almost needed to take a break because so much is being thrown at you at once. If this review has confused you at all, I totally understand because this book is insane to try to explain. However, I still can’t suggest picking it up enough!
    more
  • Nilufer Ozmekik
    January 1, 1970
    Five OMG I’m suffering from brain cells bleeding and explosion of my last standing grey cells, what the hell I just read and who am I ? stars!I know the drill but let me rephrase one more time! This is not an easy, soft, sunshine and rainbows reading! In my opinion people who are brave enough to dive into this journey should put themselves an IQ test and discover their cognitive skills. ( luckily I read the quantum physics for dummies before the beginning but I feel like I can be great cast for Five OMG I’m suffering from brain cells bleeding and explosion of my last standing grey cells, what the hell I just read and who am I ? stars!I know the drill but let me rephrase one more time! This is not an easy, soft, sunshine and rainbows reading! In my opinion people who are brave enough to dive into this journey should put themselves an IQ test and discover their cognitive skills. ( luckily I read the quantum physics for dummies before the beginning but I feel like I can be great cast for future dumb and dumber movie if they will ever produce the third installment)So this book is amazing combination of time traveling, alternated lifetimes, Minority Reports meet Groundhog Day versus Black Mirror and Back to the Future kinda fascinating science fiction crashes into thriller and romance starting with an effective and memorable suicide attempt scene. A woman suffers from FMS ( false memory syndrome) who thinks her child was being erased, her husband denied her existence so there was nothing better than jump and end her life. But she had small hope in her heart, her husband could come to rescue her but when he didn’t show up, she didn’t want to fight anymore and.... Yes, this book starts with jaw dropping scene and you’re hooked! It’s addictive, unputdownable, nerve damaging, exhausting ride! You wanna know what’s going to happen and think about yourself if I had a chance to save my loved ones by turning back and making my wrongs turn into rights, what would happen! Saving her daughter from the traffic accident, curing your mother’s Alzheimer disease, prevention of school shooting , saving soldiers from the terrorist attacks are just the samples writer show as in alternative realities that have possible to be changed! The difference of Recursion from Dark Matter might be romance parts because I really enjoyed Barry and Helena’s love story. Not only they fought to bring universe into the right pattern but also they fought to get back together to be each other’s final word, everlasting love, end game! This was thrilling, mind bending, provoking book! Dark Matters is going to be Netflix series and I’m already sure that as a brain numbing project, this book finds its place at big screen on near future!Highly recommended, smart, different, unique and exquisite book but not for everyone!
    more
  • Liz
    January 1, 1970
    I’m not a fan of sci-fi, but I loved Dark Matter and am fascinated by issues involving memory. So this one was a no brainer to read. In 2007, Neuroscientist Helena Smith is devoting her life to creating a technology to preserve our memories. Meanwhile, folks in 2018 are suffering from False Memory Syndrome, an affliction in which a person literally has memories of living an entirely different life. Barry Sutton is a detective that attempts to save a woman from suicide when she is suffering from I’m not a fan of sci-fi, but I loved Dark Matter and am fascinated by issues involving memory. So this one was a no brainer to read. In 2007, Neuroscientist Helena Smith is devoting her life to creating a technology to preserve our memories. Meanwhile, folks in 2018 are suffering from False Memory Syndrome, an affliction in which a person literally has memories of living an entirely different life. Barry Sutton is a detective that attempts to save a woman from suicide when she is suffering from FMS. This book just grabbed me from the get go. It really makes you think. “There are so few things in our existence we can count on to give us the sense of permanence, of the ground beneath our feet. People fail us. Our bodies fail us. We fail ourselves, he’s experienced all of that. But what do you cling to, moment to moment, if memories can simply change. What, then, is real. And if the answer is nothing, where does that leave us?” OMG, that had my mind in a whirl. Because, really, if you take away our memories, then just who the hell are we? This one totally messes with you. Initially, it is very fast paced and you have to work to keep on top of everything. This is a thriller with a capital T. Woosh, woosh, woosh. But it’s a thriller that asks some interesting questions about what makes us human, is progress always good, should we attempt to play God? It drags a little toward the end, a little too Groundhog Day for my taste. But I liked the finish and how it finally plays out. Overall, it’s one I can recommend. Thanks to netgalley and Crown Publishing for an advance copy of this book.
    more
  • Linda
    January 1, 1970
    Memories stay.......People don't.Detective Barry Sutton, Central Robbery Division of the NYPD, races to the 41st floor of the Poe Building known for its Art Deco motif and certainly not for what is about to happen. A lone woman is perched on the edge in more ways than one. She looks imploringly at Barry and tells him in a breaking voice that her son has been "erased". Before Barry can even blink, the woman falls to her death.What's real, Barry?A paralyzing question that will run like a gazelle s Memories stay.......People don't.Detective Barry Sutton, Central Robbery Division of the NYPD, races to the 41st floor of the Poe Building known for its Art Deco motif and certainly not for what is about to happen. A lone woman is perched on the edge in more ways than one. She looks imploringly at Barry and tells him in a breaking voice that her son has been "erased". Before Barry can even blink, the woman falls to her death.What's real, Barry?A paralyzing question that will run like a gazelle stampeding throughout these pages. Barry has gazed into the eyes of Death and sees into an abyss of life circumstances and moments caught in a loop of repetition so bizarre that no words can describe the experiences adequately. Much like the spring of a diving board catapulting a soul into the depths of a Black Hole.At the throttle is Dr. Helen Smith, a neuroscientist from San Jose, California, who has the purest of intentions. Her mother suffers from Alzheimer's disease and Helen feels desperate to bring her mother's memories back. Word reaches a wealthy philanthropist who flies Helen out to a former oil rig platform in the middle of the ocean equipped with all that she needs. Just sign on the dotted line, Sweetheart.Recursion deals with the state of being and unbeing. If given the opportunity, would you act upon an open door into the past in order to tweak the details slightly or profoundly in your past personal life? Blake Crouch tosses about the ethical questions involved in such an action. And if you believe in cause and effect and butterfly wings, you are aware of the consequences. Crouch brings tension full-on in Recursion. He knows his subject matter like hard hitting knuckles to the face. Time certainly does not stay in the bottle as you flip pages repeatedly back and forth from previous events. You can't have it any other way as the bolts of electricity play through. And yet, Crouch brings a tenderness to Barry at one point that will conjure your own memories of loss to the surface.If you are a fan of the talented Blake Crouch, then this is a must read. While Dark Matter still remains my favorite, Recursion will burn in my own memory......strange how that theme will stay with you after the last page.I received a copy of Recursion through NetGalley for an honest review. My thanks to Crown Publishers and to Blake Crouch for the opportunity.
    more
  • Ginger
    January 1, 1970
    ARC provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review via NetGalley.5 STARS!Full review up!Recursion was a science fiction thriller that kept building and building for an epic finale!I’m still thinking about the ending of Recursion today. It’s a hard driving look into what is the meaning of déjà vu, much less the possibilities of rewriting mistakes and tragedies in your life.Recursion starts off with a woman jumping to her death in front of NYPD detective, Barry Sutton. Barry doesn’t un ARC provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review via NetGalley.5 STARS!Full review up!Recursion was a science fiction thriller that kept building and building for an epic finale!I’m still thinking about the ending of Recursion today. It’s a hard driving look into what is the meaning of déjà vu, much less the possibilities of rewriting mistakes and tragedies in your life.Recursion starts off with a woman jumping to her death in front of NYPD detective, Barry Sutton. Barry doesn’t understand what caused her to do this, why she has false memory syndrome and wants to know what it is. Is this contagious? Will he get it now that he’s had contact this suicidal woman?So begins the journey of Barry tracking down what false memory syndrome is and how it will destroy a person. His journey introduces him to a fascinating and brilliant scientist named Helena Smith.Helena has been working on a technology that will change the world and let us relive intense memories. She’s hoping this cutting-edge technology will help Alzheimer patients and the loved ones who are dealing with this crippling disease.Recursion blew me away with reality theories along with what the mind is capable of doing. This book asked the questions about playing God, along with whether it’s a good idea.Isn’t the whole point of being human to experience the good and bad memories in your life? It's not necessarily a pretty experience and gets slightly messy.Did you love Dark Matter? Well, I think you’ll love Recursion too!It’s an unyielding thriller and excellent science fiction book that asks the tough questions on morality, time travel and excepting the good with the bad.Kudos to Blake Crouch for producing a complex plot in where I’m thinking about the book days later!!Recursion will likely be the best science fiction book that I’ve read this year!!
    more
  • Bradley
    January 1, 1970
    I have no problems in announcing that this book ought to be a multi-multi-billion-dollar bestseller. Maybe I'm biased, too, but damn, this guy can write a great novel that tickles all my SF bones and reminds me how much I love well-crafted thrillers. Does this remind you of his Dark Matter? It should. And if you loved the ideas behind The Butterfly Effect, Flatliners, and Groundhog Day, I'm certain you're going to fall head-over-heels for this novel.Am I giving too much away? No. Probably not. T I have no problems in announcing that this book ought to be a multi-multi-billion-dollar bestseller. Maybe I'm biased, too, but damn, this guy can write a great novel that tickles all my SF bones and reminds me how much I love well-crafted thrillers. Does this remind you of his Dark Matter? It should. And if you loved the ideas behind The Butterfly Effect, Flatliners, and Groundhog Day, I'm certain you're going to fall head-over-heels for this novel.Am I giving too much away? No. Probably not. The novel goes well beyond the initial premises of memory replacement and mystery and a bit of the oddball secret conspiracy bits and dives straight into the heart of some really messed-up emotional family stuff, the implications of which flatlined me.And if anyone is worried that novels like these usually stop long before the full ramifications are revealed, rest assured. Crouch goes DEEP into the aftermath, aftermath, aftermath, aftermath. What we get afterward is not just a great mystery/thriller or an extremely solid SF novel, but one that is full of deeply emotional resonance and quality that will last long after the tale has finished.I call this a home run. And I like it even more than Dark Matter. :) I'm reminded of the quality I read in another's book, The Gone World. High praise, I think. :)
    more
  • Tadiana ✩Night Owl☽
    January 1, 1970
    Well THAT kept me glued to my seat! 4+ stars, maybe 4.5. I couldn’t entirely suspend disbelief in the pseudoscience, and some of it was a little too convenient to the plot. But still! this was such a great ride! Full review to come, after I figure out how to talk about this book without spoiling it. This is one where you may just want to go into it cold and figure it out along with the characters.If you loved Dark Matter, you'll love Recursion too! It's another SF techno-thriller from Blake Crou Well THAT kept me glued to my seat! 4+ stars, maybe 4.5. I couldn’t entirely suspend disbelief in the pseudoscience, and some of it was a little too convenient to the plot. But still! this was such a great ride! Full review to come, after I figure out how to talk about this book without spoiling it. This is one where you may just want to go into it cold and figure it out along with the characters.If you loved Dark Matter, you'll love Recursion too! It's another SF techno-thriller from Blake Crouch, a quick read that kept me up WAY too late last night (I couldn't quite finish it, but I gave it my best shot). Apparently memory is way more powerful than anyone realized (view spoiler)[and time is more mutable (hide spoiler)]. There are some definite style and theme similarities to Dark Matter, but the plot is different enough that it doesn’t feel like a retread.Thanks to Crown Publishing and NetGalley for the review copy!
    more
  • Lisa
    January 1, 1970
    My thanks to Crown Publishing, Blake Crouch and Netgalley. Once again I received a gratis copy, all for the price of a measly review! What's funny is that I truly hate reviewing books, but for some author's, I'll go through it! Or as I call it hell and high water!First of all I have read Mr. Crouch since 2013. When I got my first kindle fire. I bought everything he had written, and loved most of it. Most! Man, all my favorite storytellers eventually scare the crap out of me. I love that and hate My thanks to Crown Publishing, Blake Crouch and Netgalley. Once again I received a gratis copy, all for the price of a measly review! What's funny is that I truly hate reviewing books, but for some author's, I'll go through it! Or as I call it hell and high water!First of all I have read Mr. Crouch since 2013. When I got my first kindle fire. I bought everything he had written, and loved most of it. Most! Man, all my favorite storytellers eventually scare the crap out of me. I love that and hate it! Crouch books tend to leave me with nightmares. Not that he's too terrifying, although I think so. But because his tales leave a lasting impression. I've read 2 crouch books that I hated. One was a short story, the other...blah, good behavior. Ug, hated it! It's a truth though, my favorite authors, sometimes stink! Crouch, has always been one of my go to authors. Forget Bad Behavior, because that was not my groove. Crouch, always gets a.pass because he tends to truly capture the imagination. He's one of about 20 or so authors who are so vividly descriptive, that I do see the mind movie. few author's are descriptive enough to give readers the mind movie. Blake is one of those who let me see. He unfolds a tale, and in my head it has color, and the smell and tastes are distinct and it's immersive. Really, all I need now is smellovision! So few authors can do that! I actually took some notes while reading this book. I NEVER take notes! But, I'll admit that looking through them it seemed "to me," to give too much away. Shit, damn and hell! I try not to ever do that. I'm sure you can find other reviews to give a tease. I don't tease! I mean, sometimes!😇 I thought at.first that this book may have been too much like Dark Matter. If you feel that too, then push through! This won't take long as it very quickly finds its own groove. then you're hooked! Also, if you are like me, and read and get the point of Quantum physics, mechs...I think you would love this. I have read much about quantum theories. Mathematics in is self is snoozeville, for me! Put it in words, and give me concepts, and I understand that. It makes sense to me. That doesn't mean I want anything discovered "too" much in this field. Just because of government and nut jobs! They are all the same really! My last thought in this book, is what started off as one of my first thoughts in reading this book. Nobody should mess with my memories. Yes, some are false, and have changed in the many times I've remembered then. So what? Our real memories, changed or not are what were left with in the end. I actually loved this book. I read it in 3 days. Sure I may have read another book or two at the time, but 3 freaking days!.That's a world record for this person! If you've not read Blake Crouch, then you should. This is more science fiction...which I usually hate! But, it was some damn fine reading. If you want Thriller/Horror? The Pines trilogy. No, not the lame show. Heck, just hit me up on Goodreads, and I'll find you 3 books that scares the gee willikers outta me, and 3 to 4 that are just "BLOODY" as you want! Don't be scared off from the science. It's in layman's terms, and very understandable! Highly recommended! Also, the best thing from Crouch I've ever read is Abandon. Pines trilogy is awesome, but everyone who has patience, want to be bamboozled and struck with sheer, fucking horror at the end needs to read Abandon.
    more
  • Kemper
    January 1, 1970
    I received a free advanced copy of this from NetGalley for review.I’ll bet Blake Crouch filled up at least five large whiteboards with diagrams trying to figure out the plot for this one.NYPD Detective Barry Sutton tries to stop a woman about to jump off a high rise building, and she tells him that she’s suffering from the rare False Memory Syndrome which has given her the memories of another entire lifetime including a son who doesn’t exist. Barry become intrigued by the woman’s story, in part I received a free advanced copy of this from NetGalley for review.I’ll bet Blake Crouch filled up at least five large whiteboards with diagrams trying to figure out the plot for this one.NYPD Detective Barry Sutton tries to stop a woman about to jump off a high rise building, and she tells him that she’s suffering from the rare False Memory Syndrome which has given her the memories of another entire lifetime including a son who doesn’t exist. Barry become intrigued by the woman’s story, in part because he is mourning his own daughter who died years earlier, and he begins to look into her life. In a parallel story set 11 years earlier, Dr. Helena Smith is struggling to get funding for plans to build a machine capable of recording a human memory, and her project seems dead in the water until a mysterious investor steps in.That’s all I want to say about the plot to anyone who hasn’t read the book, and I’d urge any reader to go in not knowing more than that because what follows mixes a clever sci-fi concept with an engaging thriller that turns the very idea of existence inside out. To dig into this deeper without giving the ending away….(view spoiler)[ I absolutely loved the time travel aspect of this with the idea that reality is shaped by consciousness so it should be possible to go back into our own memory and change things. The fallout from that, with the other memories eventually kicking in for those affected by it, is a terrifying way of expanding the scope that eventually scrambles the eggs of all of humanity. Helena’s chair is a Pandora’s Box that can’t be unopened even with time travel, and that creates a cruel trap. You can’t make this right without using time travel, but every trip back once things go to hell just means that eventually another timeline comes crashing down on everyone. (hide spoiler)]I was a little worried about the whole ‘sad Daddy’ aspect of Barry having a dead child at first because my complaint about Crouch’s other reality bending book Dark Matter was that it leaned on the trope of a man-doing-it-all-for-his-family, but I was pleasantly surprised with how the book eventually became a much bigger story without ever losing the emotional component of that backstory either.Overall, this was mind-bending and horrifying page turner with some very cool ideas that had me on the edge of my seat while reading.
    more
  • Tammy
    January 1, 1970
    Crouch is always mind-bendingly entertaining and Recursion is not an exception. A preeminent scientist creates technology intended to help Alzheimer patients. The unintended consequence is an affliction known as False Memory Syndrome (FMS) which causes some people to commit suicide. The first part of this is a bit slow but the velocity picks up considerably thereafter. Be prepared to consider memory, reality, perception and morality. The ending is a bit weak but nonetheless it is a science ficti Crouch is always mind-bendingly entertaining and Recursion is not an exception. A preeminent scientist creates technology intended to help Alzheimer patients. The unintended consequence is an affliction known as False Memory Syndrome (FMS) which causes some people to commit suicide. The first part of this is a bit slow but the velocity picks up considerably thereafter. Be prepared to consider memory, reality, perception and morality. The ending is a bit weak but nonetheless it is a science fiction/thriller to savor.
    more
  • Carol
    January 1, 1970
    RECURSION DOES BOGGLE THE MIND....... A mysterious epidemic of suicides....odd painful memories....and madness! What's going on? NYPD Detective Barry Sutton is overcome with shock as he answers a call, hears an astounding story and is now curious....too curious.Helena Smith is a neuroscientist and a genius with a dream to help Alzheimer victims like her mother be able to recall memories, and when offered the opportunity to make her technological dream a reality with unlimited resources, she jump RECURSION DOES BOGGLE THE MIND....... A mysterious epidemic of suicides....odd painful memories....and madness! What's going on? NYPD Detective Barry Sutton is overcome with shock as he answers a call, hears an astounding story and is now curious....too curious.Helena Smith is a neuroscientist and a genius with a dream to help Alzheimer victims like her mother be able to recall memories, and when offered the opportunity to make her technological dream a reality with unlimited resources, she jumps at the chance. But all does not go according to plan. Promises are not kept and her creation enters a danger zone of evil doing. And for Helena....her deepest, darkest fear come true. I'm a big fan of Blake Crouch and time travel stories, but this wild crazy ride is like no time travel novel I've ever read. So much suspense in the changing timelines, continual grief, fear and pain....and a world that turns into a horror show....or does it? What's the worst that could happen? Read RECURSION and find out! ***Arc provided by Crown Publishing via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review***
    more
  • preoccupiedbybooks
    January 1, 1970
    A thrilling, brutal and action packed sci-fi, which made me feel ALL the emotions!If you liked Dark Matter then I think you should definitely read this mind bending tale of time and memory.This story blew my mind! How does Blake Crouch come up with this shit?! Like he must be some kind of genius! I still haven't got my mind fully wrapped around some of the events in this book!I wont spoil you, as this is best enjoyed when you don't know what's coming! All you need to know is that the story start A thrilling, brutal and action packed sci-fi, which made me feel ALL the emotions!If you liked Dark Matter then I think you should definitely read this mind bending tale of time and memory.This story blew my mind! How does Blake Crouch come up with this shit?! Like he must be some kind of genius! I still haven't got my mind fully wrapped around some of the events in this book!I wont spoil you, as this is best enjoyed when you don't know what's coming! All you need to know is that the story starts off with Detective Barry Sutton trying to stop a woman suffering from false memory syndrome from jumping off a building. She says to him "my son has been erased." Barry starts to investigate this, and finds that there are many other people also suffering from this.Parallel to this is Helena Smith, who is trying to develop a way to preserve the memories of people suffering from Alzheimer's syndrome, inspired by her own mother who has the disease. We go back and forth between the two characters, and also go between different timelines, but mainly 2007 and 2018.I really liked both characters, and really felt for them when they were going through some of the most testing times. At one point I was devastated for them and for everyone else!This book really made me think about memories, and how they define us. It made me think about morality, and how we all live our lives on such different sets of rules. It also had many touching moments, and the characters had such real issues.I'm going to be honest, there was a point where I couldn't see how this book was going to be resolved, or where it was going to go next! But that's why Mr Crouch is in charge here and not me!Overall, a brilliant book which made me think about how flawed our species is. Oh and check out the acknowledgments at the end....chilling!Disclaimer: My original review didn't save for some reason, so I tried my best to remember it! 😭 -------------------------------------OMG I got an ARC!!! I am screaming!Many thanks to Netgalley and Pan Macmillan for sending me the ebook in exchange for an honest review! 👍🙌🤩
    more
  • Dan Schwent
    January 1, 1970
    Your best bet is to go into this cold. I've marked this entire review as having spoilers. If you read the review now, it's your own damn fault.In a world where False Memory Syndrome is slowly becoming an outbreak, Detective Barry Sutton watches a woman kill herself, driven mad by her memories of another life. What horrible secrets will Barry uncover when he follows her back trail?Blake Crouch has been a favorite of mine for a few years, first because of the Wayward Pines series, then Dark Matter Your best bet is to go into this cold. I've marked this entire review as having spoilers. If you read the review now, it's your own damn fault.In a world where False Memory Syndrome is slowly becoming an outbreak, Detective Barry Sutton watches a woman kill herself, driven mad by her memories of another life. What horrible secrets will Barry uncover when he follows her back trail?Blake Crouch has been a favorite of mine for a few years, first because of the Wayward Pines series, then Dark Matter. When I saw Recursion was up on Netgalley, it was a no-brainer.One of my favorite late night topics when I was in college, still easily capable of staying up until the small hours on a daily basis, was whether or not time travel might be possible in an altered state of consciousness, going back to an earlier point in your own timeline. What would you do if you could go back in time and change a pivotal event in your life? We've all asked ourselves that question, sometimes multiple times a day. But how often do you ask yourself about the repercussions around you, the ripples spreading throughout the pond? That's the well Blake Crouch draws from in Recursion.In the early goings, Detective Sutton lifts up rocks and sees the bugs scattering, revealing a vast enterprise built on accessing memories and shifting people back in time. Can the man himself be tempted by what time travel has to offer?Duh, of course he is! While it seems great at first, the book quickly becomes race after race against time, trying to outrun and undo the consequences of unfettered time travel. I've given this an easy five but it's not quite a perfect sf thriller. My only gripe is that Helena and Barry fall in love too easily. Insta-love, as the kids used to call it. Also, it leans on an episode of The Outer Limits just a tad. Anyway, apart from that, this one is balls to the wall. Once the memory chair plans are leaked, things quickly become a shit storm of ultimate proportions. Barry and Helena spend timeline after timeline trying to set things right, only to be disappointed, only to learn, finally, that the best way to save the world is to leave it alone.Blake Crouch has made an art out of taking an interesting sci-fi hook and wrapping an engaging thriller around in. Recursion may be his best one yet. Five out of five stars.
    more
  • Kristin (KC) - Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    *Arc kindly provided by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*
  • Emer
    January 1, 1970
    Oh my god this book was so much fun! It was a time-twisty, mind-bendy, fast-paced delight and I devoured it in a single sitting. It's a novel that on one hand is what I would term an extreme popcorn read in that it's just bonkers and immediately enjoyable on a surface level...but then it's also quite thought provoking and moralistic and raises these bigger questions about humanity such as what does doing something for the greater good even mean and asks whether or not it's our memories that trul Oh my god this book was so much fun! It was a time-twisty, mind-bendy, fast-paced delight and I devoured it in a single sitting. It's a novel that on one hand is what I would term an extreme popcorn read in that it's just bonkers and immediately enjoyable on a surface level...but then it's also quite thought provoking and moralistic and raises these bigger questions about humanity such as what does doing something for the greater good even mean and asks whether or not it's our memories that truly define us as unique individuals. The book follows two lead characters, neuroscientist Helena Smith and NYPD Detective Barry Sutton and how their lives become intertwined after Barry starts investigating False Memory Syndrome. It's a seriously trippy journey that they embark on together but totally gripping.This was my first Blake Crouch read and I'm entirely certain it won't be my last. Definitely recommended to people who like fast paced sci fi thrillers that could *almost* pass for reality! *An e-copy of this book was kindly provided to me by the publisher, Pan Macmillan, via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*
    more
  • Iryna *Book and Sword*
    January 1, 1970
    3.5/5 stars Ahhh, Blake Crouch and his time/mind bending games. He's very good at it! If you pick up Dark Matter, or Recursion (when it comes out) I suggest you clear your schedule, because his books demand to be finished in one siting. Two at the most. My feelings for this book can be broken down into two parts. First part of the book- when I couldn't turn the pages fast enough. When I wanted to highlight every sentence because it contained profound wisdom. And the second part of the book, when 3.5/5 stars Ahhh, Blake Crouch and his time/mind bending games. He's very good at it! If you pick up Dark Matter, or Recursion (when it comes out) I suggest you clear your schedule, because his books demand to be finished in one siting. Two at the most. ​My feelings for this book can be broken down into two parts. First part of the book- when I couldn't turn the pages fast enough. When I wanted to highlight every sentence because it contained profound wisdom. ​And the second part of the book, when I lost the character connections. When the plot blew up too big, tried to be too much. And what with that ending? Inception much? ​I say Inception (the movie) because this book has the same vibes. Bending time, traveling through time, trying to fix time, and trying to fix things that would fix time, while holding onto your human feelings that are the only things tethering you to this earth by that point. I enjoyed Recursion. It certainly wasn't as strong, or as engaging as Dark Matter was to me, but it was still page turning good. Dark Matter, besides having fantastic plot, had a lot of feelings. And that's where Recursion fell short for me. It definitely tried, and while it really worked at some instances, at others I just didn't feel it. I can pinpoint the exact point in the book when I lost all emotional connection to the characters. I gained it back by the end, but it wasn't nearly strong enough. In conclusion, the two halves of the book felt like completely different books to me. The objective was different at the beginning. The story was going one way, but then it went completely opposite way. It's clever, but it didn't exactly work for me. I still very much recommend it though. It's definitely a ride worth riding. Big thanks to NetGalley and Crown Publishing for an electronic arc of this book. All opinions are my own, honest and come from the heart. Recursion comes out on June 11,2019. My WEBSITEMy INSTAGRAMMy WORDPRESS BLOG
    more
  • Carol (Bookaria)
    January 1, 1970
    An entertaining and engaging exploration of memory, time, and enduring love.I picked up this book because I loved DARK MATTER by the same author. This story is as captivating as the previous book. It starts with Barry, a NY detective who is answering a distress call and heads to a building where a woman is about to commit suicide. She suffers from FMS or False Memory Syndrome, a disorder where victims have memories of a life they never lived.From then on, Detective Barry starts investigating thi An entertaining and engaging exploration of memory, time, and enduring love.I picked up this book because I loved DARK MATTER by the same author. This story is as captivating as the previous book. It starts with Barry, a NY detective who is answering a distress call and heads to a building where a woman is about to commit suicide. She suffers from FMS or False Memory Syndrome, a disorder where victims have memories of a life they never lived.From then on, Detective Barry starts investigating this case and what he finds out is a lot more complex than he thought possible.I was absorbed by the story and the subject matter, it was interesting and stimulating. Highly recommend it.Received ARC from the publisher via Netgalley
    more
  • Dennis
    January 1, 1970
    I've been told that I needed to read Blake Crouch's Dark Matter since I've started reviewing books on Goodreads—two and a half years ago. I've always been hesitant because I never pictured myself enjoying a supernatural/sci-fi thriller. I just always believed it to be a little far-fetched and out of touch with reality. When I was given the opportunity to read Blake Crouch's Recursion , I figured that it would be worth a try. I am so happy that I gave Recursion the chance that it deserves. Re I've been told that I needed to read Blake Crouch's Dark Matter since I've started reviewing books on Goodreads—two and a half years ago. I've always been hesitant because I never pictured myself enjoying a supernatural/sci-fi thriller. I just always believed it to be a little far-fetched and out of touch with reality. When I was given the opportunity to read Blake Crouch's Recursion , I figured that it would be worth a try. I am so happy that I gave Recursion the chance that it deserves. Recursion 's synopsis is a little ambiguous, but I would urge you to not know anything more than what the publisher is leading with because it will ruin your experience with this awesome story. I actually didn't read anything about the synopsis at all. I went in totally blind, hoping that this book will live up to my expectations. Going in without any knowledge of this book's plot was really a perfect move because as the story kept developing, so did my interest. I had no idea how the plot would continue, and I loved how each moment in the story played a substantial role in how it was going to turn out for the characters. I am a really big fan of Netflix's The OA, and I think that if you enjoy that tv show, you'll be head over heels obsessed with Recursion . Blake Crouch, you have a new fan. Now, when can I fit Dark Matter into my TBR list?! Thank you Crown Publishing Group for my gifted copy in exchange for an honest review. Recursion will be released on June 11, 2019 and is June's Selection for the Scared Suspense Book Club (@scaredsuspensebookclub on Instagram). Come follow us and let's get talking!
    more
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    5 starsBlake Crouch has become the master of mind-bendy mainstream science fiction. First he blew my mind with Dark Matter, then just when I thought my mind couldn’t be forked with any more, he bent it a thousand different ways with Recursion. I am still reeling from this one. It was everything. An exciting thriller? Check. Intense suspense? Check. Emotional family drama? Yup, check. Sci-Fi done in a way that makes even those of us non-science people understand? Check, check, check. Plus, a bonu 5 starsBlake Crouch has become the master of mind-bendy mainstream science fiction. First he blew my mind with Dark Matter, then just when I thought my mind couldn’t be forked with any more, he bent it a thousand different ways with Recursion. I am still reeling from this one. It was everything. An exciting thriller? Check. Intense suspense? Check. Emotional family drama? Yup, check. Sci-Fi done in a way that makes even those of us non-science people understand? Check, check, check. Plus, a bonus check for bordering on time travel, which is by far, my favorite sci-fi topic.Here’s what you need to know. Get this book right now. I am not going to bore you with a synopsis; the blurb tells you everything you need to know about the plot. But I will tell you that this book was on my mind all of the hours that I wasn’t reading it. I never wanted to put this book down and wish I could have read this straight through. It is addictive, thrilling and mind bending. And I loved every minute of it. Thank you to Crown Publishing for my copy of this book via NetGalley
    more
Write a review