The Whisper Man
In this dark, suspenseful thriller, Alex North weaves a multi-generational tale of suspense, as a father and son are caught in the crosshairs of an investigation to catch a serial killer preying on a small town.After the sudden death of his wife, Tom Kennedy believes a fresh start will help him and his young son Jake heal. A new beginning, a new house, a new town. Featherbank.But the town has a dark past. Twenty years ago, a serial killer abducted and murdered five residents. Until Frank Carter was finally caught, he was nicknamed "The Whisper Man," for he would lure his victims out by whispering at their windows at night.Just as Tom and Jake settle into their new home, a young boy vanishes. His disappearance bears an unnerving resemblance to Frank Carter's crimes, reigniting old rumors that he preyed with an accomplice. Now, detectives Amanda Beck and Pete Willis must find the boy before it is too late, even if that means Pete has to revisit his great foe in prison: The Whisper Man.And then Jake begins acting strangely. He hears a whispering at his window...

The Whisper Man Details

TitleThe Whisper Man
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 20th, 2019
PublisherCeladon Books
ISBN-139781250317995
Rating
GenreThriller, Mystery, Fiction, Crime, Mystery Thriller

The Whisper Man Review

  • Paromjit
    January 1, 1970
    This is Alex North's crime debut and what a impressive debut it is. It drips with atmosphere, a disturbing story of The Whisper Man, who over 20 years ago kidnapped and murdered 5 local boys in the small town of Featherbank. Frank Carter is the Whisper Man, incarcerated in prison, reveling in his notoriety and reputation, playing mind games with 56 year old DI Pete Willis, the man who caught him. Despite the emotional cost, Pete has persevered through the years, visiting Carter in prison, in the This is Alex North's crime debut and what a impressive debut it is. It drips with atmosphere, a disturbing story of The Whisper Man, who over 20 years ago kidnapped and murdered 5 local boys in the small town of Featherbank. Frank Carter is the Whisper Man, incarcerated in prison, reveling in his notoriety and reputation, playing mind games with 56 year old DI Pete Willis, the man who caught him. Despite the emotional cost, Pete has persevered through the years, visiting Carter in prison, in the hope of a clue to where the body of victim, young Tony Smith, can be recovered so his grieving parents can at least achieve a small measure of peace. The monster that is Carter and his horrific acts, the creepy whispering outside his victim's bedrooms, have been immortalised in child lore and local nursery rhymes. Everyone thought that time of horror is over, but in the present, the troubled 6 year old youngster, Neil Spencer has gone missing. DI Amanda Beck is heading the desperate hunt to locate him, but there are eerie hints of the original Whisper Man. Did Frank Carter have a unknown accomplice or is this a copycat crime?A grief burdened author, Tom Kennedy, is fumbling through the wreckage of his life after the devastating sudden death of his beloved wife, Rebecca. It was Rebecca that was the closest to their sensitive 7 year old son, Jake. Tom has struggled to connect with his vulnerable and creative son, a boy with imaginary friends, with an outsider status, unable to fit in with his peers at school, leaving him open to being bullied. Tom, with Jake's agreement, relocates them to Featherbank, with every hope that new beginnings are what they both need to come to terms with the loss of Rebecca and forge a new path. However, it is not that easy, for Tom finds that 'grief is a stew with a thousand ingredients, and not all of them are palatable'. His fractious relationship with Jake, whom he loves absolutely, is a tightrope with Tom hanging on in there by comforting his son that whilst they might fight and argue, his love for Jake is true. In a disturbing narrative, Tom is to find that moving house is to immerse him and Jake in the most twisted of a horror of a nightmare, one that places Jake in the gravest of dangers, where the legend of The Whisper Man grows ever stronger.Alex North's writing is compulsive, hooking the reader immediately, with its themes of fathers and their challenging relationships with their sons, grief and loss, amidst a background of a child killer running rampant in the town. North's characterisation is stellar, as can be seen with Tom, trying so hard with Jake, making errors of judgement, slowly becoming aware of just how much Jake is like him, eventually beginning to make some inroads by getting some things right with his son. Then there is the odious Norman Collins, a collector of macabre serial killer murderabilia, obsessed with The Whisper Man, whilst there are traits that Tom finds that he shares with DI Pete Willis. A simply fantastic read, with some surprising twists, that will appeal to so many crime fiction fans. Many thanks to Penguin Michael Joseph for an ARC.
    more
  • Meredith
    January 1, 1970
    If you're lonely, sad, and blue, the Whisper Man will come for you." 4.25 stars 20 years ago, a serial killer known as “The Whisper Man” abducted and killed several young children in a small English town called Featherbank. In the present moment, a little boy has been abducted and it seems that “The Whisper Man” is back at play-- EXCEPT he is in jail. Is there a copycat on the loose or is something more sinister going on in Featherbank? In order to make a fresh start, Tom Kennedy and his son If you're lonely, sad, and blue, the Whisper Man will come for you." 4.25 stars 20 years ago, a serial killer known as “The Whisper Man” abducted and killed several young children in a small English town called Featherbank. In the present moment, a little boy has been abducted and it seems that “The Whisper Man” is back at play-- EXCEPT he is in jail. Is there a copycat on the loose or is something more sinister going on in Featherbank? In order to make a fresh start, Tom Kennedy and his son Jake move to Featherbank into a house that is described as being monsterlike and ugly. Once they move in, weird things begin to happen. Jake hears voices and his imaginary friend tells him details about The Whisper Man that he shouldn’t be able to know. Tom is struggling to keep things together for his son, but at the same time worries that something isn’t quite right with his little boy.At the same time, DI Pete Willis, the chief investigator on the original Whisper Man case, is being dragged into the new case. Still haunted by the original killer, his connection to the case goes much deeper than anyone knows. The POV shifts from Tom, Jake, Pete, and Amanda Beck--the DI on the new case. All of their chapters are interesting and equally unreliable. Each had me constantly questioning the identity of the killer. I found Jake’s character to be the most interesting; he is one is a peculiar child and it was quite fascinating to be inside his head. The Whisper Man is riveting from the start. The menacing tone drew me in and had me scared sh*tless (but I am a wimp) and found that I couldn’t read this late at night. There is a high level of tension--I never knew what to expect or what was going to come around the corner. There are also some good twists that I didn’t see coming.This is a highly entertaining, well-crafted psychological thriller with many layers that all tie together, down to the chilling final sentence. I highly recommend and look forward to seeing more from Alex North in the future. I received an ARC of The Whisper Man from Macmillan in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Miranda Reads
    January 1, 1970
    Only a few chapters in and whewww, I am shook. This is gonna be a good one!
  • Tammy
    January 1, 1970
    This is a menacing novel which is what a great thriller should be and I'm not going to tell you anything about it. Shhhh, did you hear that? I thought I heard a whisper.
  • Liz Barnsley
    January 1, 1970
    If you leave a door half-open. Soon you’ll hear the whispers spoken…The Whispers begin in June 2019 and you might want to make a note of that because this novel is very very good indeed.The Whisper Man has it all, extremely beautiful writing, exquisite plotting, a wonderful sense of place and a sinister undertone that may well keep you up at night.You’ve probably seen a lot of hype surrounding this one, it was one of the hottest and most sought after proofs at Theakstons Old Peculiar Crime writi If you leave a door half-open. Soon you’ll hear the whispers spoken…The Whispers begin in June 2019 and you might want to make a note of that because this novel is very very good indeed.The Whisper Man has it all, extremely beautiful writing, exquisite plotting, a wonderful sense of place and a sinister undertone that may well keep you up at night.You’ve probably seen a lot of hype surrounding this one, it was one of the hottest and most sought after proofs at Theakstons Old Peculiar Crime writing festival this year and for good reason. Turns out the hype is pretty much right on the money.Darkly delicious. That ending will haunt my dreams.
    more
  • Pauline
    January 1, 1970
    Review to follow as requested by the publisher.
  • megs_bookrack
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you so much, Macmillan/Celadon Books, for the ARC!!!This story sounds incredibly gripping and is getting phenomenal early reviews.I can't wait to get to it!
  • Tracy Fenton
    January 1, 1970
    Ever since Hayley Joel Osment muttered those spine-tingling words "I see dead people" to Bruce Willis back in 1999 any book or film featuring little children talking to "imaginary" friends gives me the heebie jeebies and THE WHISPER MAN is no exception.There is so much to say about this book, but I don't want to give anything away so all I can tell you is there is a sick psychopath out there abducting little boys in the present, a sick serial killer serving life in prison for abducting and killi Ever since Hayley Joel Osment muttered those spine-tingling words "I see dead people" to Bruce Willis back in 1999 any book or film featuring little children talking to "imaginary" friends gives me the heebie jeebies and THE WHISPER MAN is no exception.There is so much to say about this book, but I don't want to give anything away so all I can tell you is there is a sick psychopath out there abducting little boys in the present, a sick serial killer serving life in prison for abducting and killing little boys 20 years, an emotional damaged DI who's determined to catch the killer and then there is little Jake and his dad Tom Kennedy.Oh my word; Tom Kennedy is the most wonderful character - a grieving widow who's wife died suddenly and unexpectedly and now finds himself trying to raise his sweet, overly sensitive 6 year old son Jake by himself and is struggling.  My heart broke into a thousand pieces every time Tom told us his story and his feelings.  His honesty and raw emotions were so real that it was sometimes difficult to remember this is a work of fiction.Then there is little Jake - grieving over the loss of his beloved mummy, frightened and confused by things happening around him but such a sensitive sweetheart I wanted to give him a cuddle and tell him everything was going to be ok.THE WHISPER MAN is so chilling, creepy and unsettling that I had to stop reading several times to catch my breath and remind myself it's only a story.  This is a superb book and I highly recommend it - but remember to make sure your doors and windows are closed.
    more
  • Janet
    January 1, 1970
    I received a DIGITAL Advance Reader Copy of this book from #NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. From the publisher, as I do not regurgitate the contents or story of books in reviews, I let them do it.In this psychological thriller, Alex North weaves a multi-generational tale of suspense, as a father and son are caught in the crosshairs of an investigation to catch a serial killer preying on a small town.After the sudden death of his wife, Tom Kennedy believes a fresh start will help him I received a DIGITAL Advance Reader Copy of this book from #NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. From the publisher, as I do not regurgitate the contents or story of books in reviews, I let them do it.In this psychological thriller, Alex North weaves a multi-generational tale of suspense, as a father and son are caught in the crosshairs of an investigation to catch a serial killer preying on a small town.After the sudden death of his wife, Tom Kennedy believes a fresh start will help him and his young son Jake heal. A new beginning, a new house, a new town. Featherbank.But the town has a dark past. Twenty years ago, a serial killer abducted and murdered five residents. Until Frank Carter was finally caught, he was nicknamed "The Whisper Man," for he would lure his victims out by whispering at their windows at night.Just as Tom and Jake settle into their new home, a young boy vanishes. His disappearance bears an unnerving resemblance to Frank Carter's crimes, reigniting old rumours that he prey-ed with an accomplice. Now, detectives Amanda Beck and Pete Willis must find the boy before it is too late, even if that means Pete has to revisit his great foe in prison: The Whisper Man.And then Jake begins acting strangely. He hears a whispering at his window...This is one seriously spooky book --- don't read it during a wind storm, for sure as I certainly kept hearing things!!! It is wonderfully crafted and suspenseful and the characters were well fleshed out and interesting. If you like thrillers and spooky books, read this one: just don't expect to go to sleep afterwards without ear plugs so you don't hear whispering...As always, I try to find a reason to not rate with stars as I love emojis (outside of Instagram and Twitter) so let's give it 🔪 🔪 🔪 🔪 🔪 !
    more
  • Christina McDonald
    January 1, 1970
    If you leave a door half open, soon you'll hear the whispers spoken.I cannot even begin to express how jaw-droppingly good this book was. A beautifully told, tense, haunting story of a father and son who get caught in the crosshairs of a serial killer investigation. At times spine-tinglingly tense and at others absolutely heart-breaking, this is far and away my favorite crime thriller I’ve read in years.It’s being compared to The Sixth Sense in some circles, and while the story isn’t really the If you leave a door half open, soon you'll hear the whispers spoken.I cannot even begin to express how jaw-droppingly good this book was. A beautifully told, tense, haunting story of a father and son who get caught in the crosshairs of a serial killer investigation. At times spine-tinglingly tense and at others absolutely heart-breaking, this is far and away my favorite crime thriller I’ve read in years.It’s being compared to The Sixth Sense in some circles, and while the story isn’t really the same, there is an element of menace and supernatural about it that definitely makes it fall into that category.Recently widowed, Tom Kennedy takes his young son, Jake, and moves to the sleepy village of Featherbank, looking for a fresh start. But a young boy has gone missing here with stark similarities to a disappearance and murder of young boys 20 years ago. Each heard a man whispering to him days before he went missing. And now Jake is hearing whispers, too.With gorgeously written characters who really came to life, The Whisper Man is creepy and unsettling, yet so beautifully written and emotional that all I could do after I’d finished was sit there completely shocked. This is one of those rare books that perfectly blends character, setting and plot so effortlessly it felt like time slipped away from me as I read.I know rights have been sold to make this book into a movie, and I will be the first one in line to watch it. Massive bravo to Alex North for a stunning debut novel.
    more
  • michelle
    January 1, 1970
    The Whisper Man by Alex North is a fantastic creepy debut thriller. Tom and his 7-year-old Son Jake decide to move and make fresh start, after the sudden death of wife and mother Rebecca. They move to a town called Featherbanks and move into a house that the rest of the resident of Featherbacks think is a strange house. Where years before a serial killer lived who killed young boys but, it currently in prison paying for his crimes.But nothing runs smoothly. Jake ends up in trouble in the first d The Whisper Man by Alex North is a fantastic creepy debut thriller. Tom and his 7-year-old Son Jake decide to move and make fresh start, after the sudden death of wife and mother Rebecca. They move to a town called Featherbanks and move into a house that the rest of the resident of Featherbacks think is a strange house. Where years before a serial killer lived who killed young boys but, it currently in prison paying for his crimes.But nothing runs smoothly. Jake ends up in trouble in the first day of his new school. His father catches him talking to an imaginary friend. and remains of a boy is found in the garage. When the police arrive, Tom meets his father Pete, that he hasn’t seen in years. A new bond starts to grow between them. He was involved in the previous case 20 years ago and has made his life’s mission to find out where the Whisper man’s victims are buried. When Neil another little boy goes missing Pete and his colleague Amanda are adamant, they are going to find the killer.Wow, wow, wow. I loved this. Not only is this a heart stopping creepy thriller that will keep you hooked throughout. But an heartfelt story of a young boy and his father grieving over the death of his mother/wife and how they are trying to rebuild their lives and the bond that grow between them both. I highly recommend.Thank you NetGalley and Penguin Michael Joseph for and ARC of this book. Big fat 5 stars from me.
    more
  • Rob Twinem
    January 1, 1970
    First book by Alex North and what a brilliant psychological thriller it has proved to be. The body of a child Neil Spencer is discovered his death bearing an uncanny resemblance to the murder of five children some years ago...but that is impossible as the killer Frank Carter is imprisoned. DI Pete Willis is the policeman in charge but he is haunted by his past failures and his daily struggle with alcoholism...."So drink then. You're worthless . Just do it. The urge was stronger than ever, but he First book by Alex North and what a brilliant psychological thriller it has proved to be. The body of a child Neil Spencer is discovered his death bearing an uncanny resemblance to the murder of five children some years ago...but that is impossible as the killer Frank Carter is imprisoned. DI Pete Willis is the policeman in charge but he is haunted by his past failures and his daily struggle with alcoholism...."So drink then. You're worthless . Just do it. The urge was stronger than ever, but he could survive this. After all ,he had resisted the voice in the past"... There is not only a great story line but add to this a touch of the supernatural and characters that jump off the page then we have all the ingredients for a super exciting thriller. Many thanks to the good people of netgalley for a gratis copy in exchange for an honest review and that is what I have written. Highly recommended.
    more
  • Nancy McFarlane
    January 1, 1970
    John Saul, Stephen King, and scary, haunting and creepy all come to mind when describing this masterfully plotted thriller. A young boy goes missing in a small town under circumstances eerily similar to the disappearances and murders of young boys 20 years earlier. Each hears a man whispering to him days before he goes missing. But, the perpetrator of that crime is in prison and was not known to have an accomplice. Besides being a page turning thriller Whisper Man is also an eye opening story of John Saul, Stephen King, and scary, haunting and creepy all come to mind when describing this masterfully plotted thriller. A young boy goes missing in a small town under circumstances eerily similar to the disappearances and murders of young boys 20 years earlier. Each hears a man whispering to him days before he goes missing. But, the perpetrator of that crime is in prison and was not known to have an accomplice. Besides being a page turning thriller Whisper Man is also an eye opening story of fatherhood both the very worst kind and the very best. People will be doing more than whispering about this one – you won’t want to miss it.
    more
  • michelle
    January 1, 1970
    The Whisper Man by Alex North is a fantastic creepy debut thriller. Tom and his 7-year-old Son Jake decide to move and make fresh start, after the sudden death of wife and mother Rebecca. They move to a town called Featherbanks and move into a house that the rest of the resident of Featherbacks think is a strange house. Where years before a serial killer lived who killed young boys but, it currently in prison paying for his crimes.But nothing runs smoothly. Jake ends up in trouble in the first d The Whisper Man by Alex North is a fantastic creepy debut thriller. Tom and his 7-year-old Son Jake decide to move and make fresh start, after the sudden death of wife and mother Rebecca. They move to a town called Featherbanks and move into a house that the rest of the resident of Featherbacks think is a strange house. Where years before a serial killer lived who killed young boys but, it currently in prison paying for his crimes.But nothing runs smoothly. Jake ends up in trouble in the first day of his new school. His father catches him talking to an imaginary friend. and remains of a boy is found in the garage. When the police arrive, Tom meets his father Pete, that he hasn’t seen in years. A new bond starts to grow between them. He was involved in the previous case 20 years ago and has made his life’s mission to find out where the Whisper man’s victims are buried. When Neil another little boy goes missing Pete and his colleague Amanda are adamant, they are going to find the killer.Wow, wow, wow. I loved this. Not only is this a heart stopping creepy thriller that will keep you hooked throughout. But an heartfelt story of a young boy and his father grieving over the death of his mother/wife and how they are trying to rebuild their lives and the bond that grow between them both. I highly recommend.Thank you NetGalley and Penguin Michael Joseph for and ARC of this book.
    more
  • Elaine's Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    A serial killer nicknamed the Whisper Man terrorises a village 20 years earlier and is now locked up for his crimes. How is it then that he appears to be back.... The Whisper Man is a well written psychological thriller with elements of supernatural. I can't give any of the story away without spoiling it, but suffice to say that this fast paced book will grab your attention from the outset and then it ratchets up the tension all the way to the ending. A great read 4.5/5.
    more
  • Lauren Kelsen
    January 1, 1970
    I just finished reading this fantastic psychological thriller and I am absolutely in love with it! I am a huge fan of reading about Serial Killers, watching the tv show Criminal Minds, and the book series Butterfly Garden by Dot Hutchinson. I have to say, The Whisper Man by Alex North is right up there with those things for me. The Whisper Man exceeded my expectations for a story about crime fiction with serial killers. I definitely give this book a 5/5 star rating!! A father and son are caught I just finished reading this fantastic psychological thriller and I am absolutely in love with it! I am a huge fan of reading about Serial Killers, watching the tv show Criminal Minds, and the book series Butterfly Garden by Dot Hutchinson. I have to say, The Whisper Man by Alex North is right up there with those things for me. The Whisper Man exceeded my expectations for a story about crime fiction with serial killers. I definitely give this book a 5/5 star rating!! A father and son are caught in the crosshairs of an investigation to catch a serial killer preying on a small town. Until Frank Carter was caught, he was nicknamed “The Whisper Man” because he would lure his victims out by whispering at their windows at night. Tom Kennedy and his son Jake have just settled into this new small town for a fresh start after the passing of Rebecca, wife and mother. A boy in the town has just vanished, and the circumstances are quite unsettling as they highly resemble Frank Carter’s crimes. Then, Jake starts hearing whispering at his window…..This book definitely had the creep factor turned on high! I would lay in bed reading it at night and I just couldn’t do it for long without having a light on. I swear I’m not a chicken!! The writing was phenomenal and everything flowed so well. I enjoyed that a few of the chapters were written in Jake’s perspective as you got more invested in the story. Starting out I would get a little confused between Tom and Pete’s narrations, but soon settled into being able to easily differentiate between the two. I felt that The Whisper Man was a very well thought out, well structured psychological thriller. To me, anytime children are involved, and the slightly supernatural elements are used, it’s hard not to have that feeling of fear that feeds to the reader. I also felt that the familial connection and resolution of past issues between Pete and Tom added something extra to the book. A happiness among all the dark and scary.I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good Psychological Thriller, or likes reading about serial killers (real or fake), as this book truly will not disappoint! Keep an eye out for The Whisper Man by Alex North as it releases in August 2019. Thank you Celadon Books and NetGalley for the opportunity to read this ARC, it was truly a pleasure! Thank you to Alex North for writing such an amazing book, it was truly a wild adventure.
    more
  • Gail
    January 1, 1970
    I absolutely and utterly loved this book and was engrossed in it from the first page. I have literally just turned the final page and can barely see for the tears. It is going to be hard for me to review this without giving the plot away, but I will do my best.This is seriously good and I will never forget it, especially the wonderful DI Pete Willis and DI Amanda Beck. Pete has made it his mission, for the last 20 years, to find the body of a little boy called Tony Smith. He knows who killed him I absolutely and utterly loved this book and was engrossed in it from the first page. I have literally just turned the final page and can barely see for the tears. It is going to be hard for me to review this without giving the plot away, but I will do my best.This is seriously good and I will never forget it, especially the wonderful DI Pete Willis and DI Amanda Beck. Pete has made it his mission, for the last 20 years, to find the body of a little boy called Tony Smith. He knows who killed him, The Whisper Man aka Frank Carter, and who is incarcerated in prison for the horrendous murders of children at that time. All the bodies were found except Tony’s and it has haunted Pete since. Then a six year old boy, Neil Spencer, goes missing and it has all the hallmarks of what had happened 20 years before. Pete and Amanda are determined to find Neil alive but their prime suspect is locked up. The story is also told from the point of view of Tom Kennedy and his fantastic young son, Jake (I so loved this little boy). Tom and Jake are both missing Rebecca (their wife and mother) who died suddenly the previous year and Tom is struggling to cope with bringing up Jake and his own grief. It’s so refreshing to have two detectives who work so brilliantly together and who trust each other’s judgement totally. Also there’s no arguing with hierarchy to get the job finished. This book is quite simply nothing more than it is, does what it says on the tin and works absolutely beautifully. The subject matter is at times hard to take and at one point, during the middle part, I realised I wasn’t breathing and tears were pouring down my face. This will stay with me for a long time and I can not recommend it enough. I received an ebook of The Whisper Man through NetGalley for an honest review. My thanks to Penguin UK - Michael Joseph and Alex North for the opportunity. Publication date: 13 June 2019#TheWhisperMan #NetGalley
    more
  • Sue Plant
    January 1, 1970
    would like to thank netgalley and the publisher for letting me read this amazing bookonce in a while you read a book that grabs you and frightens you and chills you and thats when you know you have found an amazing author to followthis is an amazing story that will chill you to the bones and frighten you with just a whisper.....its a story of two people trying to pick up their lives after losing a loved one...but its also a story about missing children who hear whispers at their open window, and would like to thank netgalley and the publisher for letting me read this amazing bookonce in a while you read a book that grabs you and frightens you and chills you and thats when you know you have found an amazing author to followthis is an amazing story that will chill you to the bones and frighten you with just a whisper.....its a story of two people trying to pick up their lives after losing a loved one...but its also a story about missing children who hear whispers at their open window, and go missing in the night...and are found with horrendous wounds to their bodies, their suffering evident to their bodies..only one boy is never founda powerful story that will grip you right to the end...this is another author i am going to be keeping an eye out for...
    more
  • Mommacat
    January 1, 1970
    Review CopyIf you leave a door half open soon you’ll hear the whispers spoken.That's all it took to send my stomach dropping and chills running down my spine. Partially open doors are my biggest phobia. I can't sleep in a room with a partially open closet or bathroom door. That one line scared the crap out of me and I did stop stop reading THE WHISPER MAN until the last page was turned.This was an amazing debut thriller. The plotting is superb. The story both shocking and sad. I envy you who hav Review CopyIf you leave a door half open soon you’ll hear the whispers spoken.That's all it took to send my stomach dropping and chills running down my spine. Partially open doors are my biggest phobia. I can't sleep in a room with a partially open closet or bathroom door. That one line scared the crap out of me and I did stop stop reading THE WHISPER MAN until the last page was turned.This was an amazing debut thriller. The plotting is superb. The story both shocking and sad. I envy you who haven't read this yet, this book can be the next one you will read.
    more
  • Kat
    January 1, 1970
    “If you leave a door half open,soon you’ll hear the whispers spoken” well this sets the scene for a fabulously creepy read and there was I sitting reading in bed late at night and glancing at MY half open door thinking if I hear a goddam whisper then all the lights go on !! It’s a really excellent read and what I liked about it most was how it explored the feelings and emotions of the characters so much, yes it’s a mystery thriller but it is also so much more and so well written that you find yo “If you leave a door half open,soon you’ll hear the whispers spoken” well this sets the scene for a fabulously creepy read and there was I sitting reading in bed late at night and glancing at MY half open door thinking if I hear a goddam whisper then all the lights go on !! It’s a really excellent read and what I liked about it most was how it explored the feelings and emotions of the characters so much, yes it’s a mystery thriller but it is also so much more and so well written that you find yourself becoming totally involved in what is a very addictive story. The whisper man, now there is a name that sends shivers down your spine, is he back or .... well I won’t say more as it would spoil the book so don’t just think this is another run of the mill serial killer thriller, it isn’t it’s much better than that, compulsive and a thrill of a ride it’s a brilliant read and I look forward to reading more from the ultra talented Alex North. Don’t miss this one it’s going to a bit hit I’m sure.My thanks to NetGalley and Penguin UK - Michael Joseph for giving me the chance to read the ARC in exchange for my honest opinion.
    more
  • gem
    January 1, 1970
    An outstanding debut crime thriller which hooked me from the outset and kept me captivated until the very end!I loved the background story of The Whisper Man, the story of what happened in years gone by sets up the current time line incredibly well and gives it an even more disturbingly real feel.Tom and Jake are brilliantly realised characters, their grief is palpable and you can feel that it still resonates in their every thought. Moving in to their new house should be a joyous occasion, but i An outstanding debut crime thriller which hooked me from the outset and kept me captivated until the very end!I loved the background story of The Whisper Man, the story of what happened in years gone by sets up the current time line incredibly well and gives it an even more disturbingly real feel.Tom and Jake are brilliantly realised characters, their grief is palpable and you can feel that it still resonates in their every thought. Moving in to their new house should be a joyous occasion, but it’s tinged with a darkness, one which becomes tangible when disturbing things start to occur...It’s dark, twisty and full of shocking revelations.This is bound to be a huge word of mouth bestseller as crime fans recommend it to everyone they know!Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for the chance to read this book.
    more
  • Smart Bookaholics Inc Bookstore
    January 1, 1970
    Psychological Thriller, YES PLEASE! This book was amazing! Page Turner, edge of you're seat thriller! Would love to sell this book at my store! Thank you netgalley for the free arc in exchange for an honest review!
  • The Book Review Café
    January 1, 1970
    With a synopsis that grabbed my attention and a promise from the publishers ‘GET READY FOR THE BIGGEST THRILLER OF 2019’ there was no way on earth I was going to miss reading The Whisper Man by Alex North. There is nothing more terrifying than a child being murdered, and the author expertly plays on these fears, creating a dark, creepy, and haunting read. Be prepared for a few sleepless nights, it takes a lot to unnerve me, but this book actually scared me silly in parts! (In the best possible w With a synopsis that grabbed my attention and a promise from the publishers ‘GET READY FOR THE BIGGEST THRILLER OF 2019’ there was no way on earth I was going to miss reading The Whisper Man by Alex North. There is nothing more terrifying than a child being murdered, and the author expertly plays on these fears, creating a dark, creepy, and haunting read. Be prepared for a few sleepless nights, it takes a lot to unnerve me, but this book actually scared me silly in parts! (In the best possible way). Oh, and a word of warning make sure your bedroom doors are closed at night or beware ** If you leave a door half-open, soon you’ll hear the whispers spoken**After the death of his wife, Tom Kennedy and his young son Jake move to the sleepy village of Featherbank, looking for a fresh start, unaware that Featherbank has a very dark past. Fifteen years ago a twisted serial killer abducted and murdered five young boys. Until he was finally caught, the killer was known as ‘The Whisper Man’. Each boy heard a man whispering to him before he went missing, and now Jake is hearing the same whispers, too. Alex Lane’s emotive, creepy tale is one that’s guaranteed to keep you turning the pages of this highly addictive crime thriller, the plots brilliantly constructed and steeped in menace. Without a shadow of a doubt The Whisper Man makes for a spine tingling and unsettling read, but what took me by surprise was the intense emotions that this book evoked, it’s a book that’s full of raw emotion, especially the scenes between Tom and his son Jake, these are incredible powerful and desperately sad. I adored Tom and Jake, their characters are sublime and perfectly developed. I like the fact Tom isn’t the ‘perfect’ father, sometimes his actions or conversations with Jake seem awkward and Jake miss understands them causing father and son much heartache. As for Jake he’s adorable, my heart went out to this socially awkward child, whose grief at loosing his mum is palatable. This book may be a crime thriller with a monster at his heart, but it’s also the story of the unbreakable bonds between a father and his son. For me some reason I had a preconceived idea in my head that this book would be full of graphic scenes that would be stomach churning, but how refreshing it was to find the author doesn’t use this ploy to give the reader a spine chilling read. If anything Alex North’s only gives you just enough detail to allow your imagination to run riot, it really is a case of ‘less is more’. This is a book that literally drips with menace and a sense of foreboding. The Whisper Man is so different to anything I’ve read this year and one that evoked so many emotions, it’s definitely a contender for my book of the year. I absolutely loved every page of this compulsive, heart thumping crime thriller. Would I recommend it? it’s a definite million hell yes’s. Buy it, beg, steal (I’m sure Alex Lane would prefer you to choose one of the other options though!) or borrow a copy I’m confident you won’t be disappointed.All my reviews can be found at http://thebookreviewcafe.com
    more
  • Jill Brown
    January 1, 1970
    When Tom's wife dies suddenly he and his son Jake move to a new town in the hope that a fresh start will help with their loss. Unfortunately their town of choice comes with a very dark past involving a serial killer and a current situation where young boys are being abducted.I find it hard to review this book without giving too much away so will simply say that I enjoyed this genuinely thrilling book and highly recommend it. I found it unsettling and very creepy but so well written and enjoyable When Tom's wife dies suddenly he and his son Jake move to a new town in the hope that a fresh start will help with their loss. Unfortunately their town of choice comes with a very dark past involving a serial killer and a current situation where young boys are being abducted.I find it hard to review this book without giving too much away so will simply say that I enjoyed this genuinely thrilling book and highly recommend it. I found it unsettling and very creepy but so well written and enjoyable.A must-read for sure!Many thanks to Netgalley and publishers for an advance review copy.
    more
  • Jade
    January 1, 1970
    DO NOT READ THIS BOOK AT NIGHT!!! I absolutely love this book. I’m a huge fan of psychological thrillers and I was over the moon to get the chance to read The Whisper Man. And I’m so glad I have. I was gripped all the way through and it sent shivers down my spine. Alex North has given us a lot of information about the characters throughout the book and it allows the book to flow smoothly into the next chapter. I do not want to say anything about the storyline as I don’t want to give it away but DO NOT READ THIS BOOK AT NIGHT!!! I absolutely love this book. I’m a huge fan of psychological thrillers and I was over the moon to get the chance to read The Whisper Man. And I’m so glad I have. I was gripped all the way through and it sent shivers down my spine. Alex North has given us a lot of information about the characters throughout the book and it allows the book to flow smoothly into the next chapter. I do not want to say anything about the storyline as I don’t want to give it away but you definitely have to read this. It will be a big hit. A lot of books you can read and they are easily forgotten but this one will definitely not be. Thank you for the advance copy.
    more
  • Leanne
    January 1, 1970
    I was given a copy of The Whisper Man by Alex North by the publisher for an honest review. This a debut novel for Alex and what a cracking first novel. The story begins with Tom and his 7 year old son they are coping with the sudden death of Jake's mother. They decide to move to Featherbank to restart their lives. In Featherbank the detectives are looking for a young boy who has gone missing, which is similar to the disappearances of 5 other children 20 years before. This book is well written, w I was given a copy of The Whisper Man by Alex North by the publisher for an honest review. This a debut novel for Alex and what a cracking first novel. The story begins with Tom and his 7 year old son they are coping with the sudden death of Jake's mother. They decide to move to Featherbank to restart their lives. In Featherbank the detectives are looking for a young boy who has gone missing, which is similar to the disappearances of 5 other children 20 years before. This book is well written, with a spooky side. I would love to read more books by Alex North.
    more
  • Sophie Bristow Harris
    January 1, 1970
    “The Whisper Man” by Alex North is a fantastic psychological thriller which I enjoyed immensely. The writing was clear, descriptive and very creepy!The characters were well moulded and I liked seeing how fractured lives could be gradually reblended despite their issues.A fantastic first book for me to start 2019 off. Superb writer which I hope to read many more of.
    more
  • Mo
    January 1, 1970
    What a fantastic debut. A creepy psychological thriller , this book had me hooked from the start to the end . Great writing and a great storyline . I lol forward to reading more from this author . Easy 5 stars
  • Fredrick Danysh
    January 1, 1970
    First a disclaimer. As I do not give inflated ratings, I follow the standards projected by Goodreads.com. Overall, this is an interesting read. In a town where children have been abducted and later murdered over the last twenty years, a young boys turns up missing. The police begin a frantic search for him and a boogey man called the Whisper Man. My copy was a free review copy obtained through Goodreads.com.
    more
  • Emma Shaw
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to NetGalley, Penguin UK, Michael Joseph and Alex North for the chance to read this novel in exchange for an honest review.“If you leave a door half-open, soon you’ll hear the whispers spoken...If you’re lonely, sad and blue, the Whisper Man will come for you”A boy who hears whispers from people no one else can see echoes the spine-chilling moment in The Sixth Sense when Haley Joel Osment’s character utters the immortal words “I see dead people” in this eerie, menacing, unsettling and Thank you to NetGalley, Penguin UK, Michael Joseph and Alex North for the chance to read this novel in exchange for an honest review.“If you leave a door half-open, soon you’ll hear the whispers spoken...If you’re lonely, sad and blue, the Whisper Man will come for you”A boy who hears whispers from people no one else can see echoes the spine-chilling moment in The Sixth Sense when Haley Joel Osment’s character utters the immortal words “I see dead people” in this eerie, menacing, unsettling and sinister novel. This is a book you do not want to read at night!Six-year-old Neil Spencer disappears when walking home one summer evening. An extensive search yields no clues until Neil’s mother remembers him mentioning whispering outside his window one night. This revelation terrifies Featherbank detectives as the town is still haunted by Frank Carter, a local man who abducted and killed five young boys in 20 years ago. He is also known as the Whisper Man. His final victim’s body was never recovered and there were rumours of an accomplice. Could that be who abducted Neil?Tom Kennedy and his son, Jake, are looking for a fresh start after the death of Tom’s wife the year before. Tom feels he is failing as a father and that he and Jake are drifting further apart. He’s hoping moving will change that. But it seems their problems have followed them, and the gulf between them only widens and the worrying incidents only increase after they move into the strange new house in Featherbank. With Jake hearing whispers and talking about things he shouldn’t know there’s undertones of something malevolent lurking in the shadows of the Kennedy home.I was hooked from the foreboding prologue right until the very last page of this book. The two main characters were well written: Tom is the grieving widower who is struggling to connect with his son in his own grief and also trying to evade the pain of his own childhood. He wishes his son was more “normal” and worries about him being too sensitive. Jake is a lonely child who is scrambling to make sense of the grief,emptiness and fear he feels after his mother’s death. He feels his dad doesn’t like him and takes solace in imaginary friends and his special friends. For a lot of the book it isn’t clear how Tom and Jake are connected to the Whisper Man storyline and Neil’s disappearance, and I loved trying to find clues to figure out where the story would go next. I was usually wrong.The Whisper Man is an exquisite, multi-layered, chilling and emotional novel. There were many twists and turns, some so jarring and unexpected I could only sit there in shock. Spectacularly written, this is a tense and haunting thriller that you don’t want to miss.
    more
Write a review