How to Hack a Heartbreak
Swipe right for love. Swipe left for disaster.By day, Mel Strickland is an underemployed helpdesk tech at a startup incubator, Hatch, where she helps entitled brogrammers--"Hatchlings"--who can't even fix their own laptops, but are apparently the next wave of startup geniuses. And by night, she goes on bad dates with misbehaving dudes she's matched with on the ubiquitous dating app, Fluttr.But after one dick pic too many, Mel has had it. Using her brilliant coding skills, she designs an app of her own, one that allows users to log harrassers and abusers in online dating space. It's called JerkAlert, and it goes viral overnight.Mel is suddenly in way over her head. Worse still, her almost-boyfriend, the dreamy Alex Hernandez--the only non-douchey guy at Hatch--has no idea she's the brains behind the app. Soon, Mel is faced with a terrible choice: one that could destroy her career, love life, and friendships, or change her life forever.

How to Hack a Heartbreak Details

TitleHow to Hack a Heartbreak
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 30th, 2019
PublisherGraydon House
ISBN-139781525834257
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit, Adult, Fiction

How to Hack a Heartbreak Review

  • Susanne Strong
    January 1, 1970
    4 Stars!Raise Your Hand if You’ve Ever Had a Bad Online Date!! (Yep, Hand Raised right here!). Melanie Strickland has too and boy is her story Fraking Awesome! Sick and tired of working in a male driven industry with guys who treat her like doo doo and then going on online date after online date, either getting stood up or getting sent wholly inappropriate pics, Melanie (“Mel”) Strickland fights back. She creates an app called “Jerk Alert” which rates the guys she found online and has had some i 4 Stars!Raise Your Hand if You’ve Ever Had a Bad Online Date!! (Yep, Hand Raised right here!). Melanie Strickland has too and boy is her story Fraking Awesome! Sick and tired of working in a male driven industry with guys who treat her like doo doo and then going on online date after online date, either getting stood up or getting sent wholly inappropriate pics, Melanie (“Mel”) Strickland fights back. She creates an app called “Jerk Alert” which rates the guys she found online and has had some interaction with, warning other girls about them. It, of course goes viral.Jerk Alert gives Mel and other women everywhere, a voice. In this day and age, we all know how important that is! If you’ve ever had an experience with online dating, you know how humiliating it can be. Thus, the idea Jerk Alert sort of makes you stand up and take notice. Now, where’s the romance here you ask? Well, there just might be some! You have to read this novel to find out for yourself. “How to Hack a Heartbreak” by Kristin Rockaway is a book to be devoured and it’s one that will make you break into a smile. I grabbed this book on NetGalley after seeing my friend Kendall’s review (which is awesome): "https://www.goodreads.com/review/show..." and I am so glad that I did. Thanks Kendall!This was a buddy read with Kaceey! Lately we have been reading a lot of women’s fiction are so happy that we discovered a new (to us) genre. Thank you to NetGalley, Harlequin - Graydon House Books and Kristin Rockaway for a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Published on NetGalley and Goodreads on 4.24.19. Will be published on Amazon on 7.30.19.
    more
  • Kaceey
    January 1, 1970
    Once again I find myself smiling wide through another fun rom-com!This genre is quickly becoming one of my favorites! They rarely disappoint, I’m always entertained, and they leave me feeling satiated at the end. What more could you ask from a book?!Like many of today’s women, Mel Strickland is fed up with the quagmire of online dating. Her dates are no shows...she is ghosted, or worse. She continually receives unsolicited pics of certain anatomical regions. Gee, thanks gentlemen – how romantic. Once again I find myself smiling wide through another fun rom-com!This genre is quickly becoming one of my favorites! They rarely disappoint, I’m always entertained, and they leave me feeling satiated at the end. What more could you ask from a book?!Like many of today’s women, Mel Strickland is fed up with the quagmire of online dating. Her dates are no shows...she is ghosted, or worse. She continually receives unsolicited pics of certain anatomical regions. Gee, thanks gentlemen – how romantic.🙄Enough is enough. Time to develop her own online app to weed out those creeps that are not truly looking for love! She’s about to go head to head against the big boys at the start up company Hatch. A thoroughly adorable and heartwarming book about searching for love in a digital world. It reminds us that maybe love isn’t just a swipe away, but perhaps standing right in front of you. Or, maybe even in the next cubicle over. A story with some sage insight. Perhaps it’s time to open our eyes and reconnect with the world! We may be missing “the one” as our noses are face-down in our phones and our fingers are busy swiping left....or even right! Another endearing rom-com buddy read with Susanne!🌸Thank you to NetGalley Harlequin Graydon House and Kristin Rockaway for an ARC to read and review.
    more
  • Kendall
    January 1, 1970
    Kristin Rockaway is a new favorite author of mine!!! <3. What a breathe of fresh air! I had SO much fun with this book!! Kristin delivers a sassy, funny, uplifting, and addicting romance novel. I was hooked after the first five pages and devoured this book in less than two days.Let's meet Melanie. Melanie works for Hatch in a male driven industry and she is FED up. Mind you... she is also even more fed up with the dating scene of getting harassed with nude photos from men, being "ghosted", an Kristin Rockaway is a new favorite author of mine!!! <3. What a breathe of fresh air! I had SO much fun with this book!! Kristin delivers a sassy, funny, uplifting, and addicting romance novel. I was hooked after the first five pages and devoured this book in less than two days.Let's meet Melanie. Melanie works for Hatch in a male driven industry and she is FED up. Mind you... she is also even more fed up with the dating scene of getting harassed with nude photos from men, being "ghosted", and being stood up. Mel goes out with her girlfriends one night and she decides to make an app called JerkAlert. This was all supposed to be a joke... where women rate men on this site and can tell other women to watch out for each of these "jerks". But, slowly word gets out and the app starts to spread.I could not put this book down! I loved Melanie and her girlfriends! Talk about strong, supportive, and loving women to keep you going!! Loved this!!! This is one not to miss my friends... get this on your summer TBR! ;)4.5 heartbreak stars Thank you so much to Harlequin/Graydon and Netgalley for the arc in exchange for an honest review.Publication date: 7/30/19Published to Goodreads: 2/12/19
    more
  • Jamie
    January 1, 1970
    I know it's only January, but without a doubt, How to Hack a Heartbreak WILL be making my top books of 2019 list! I absolutely loved this story from start to finish. Mel Strickland is fed up with being a tech professional in a male driven industry, but even more than that, she's sick of the current dating environment - being sent inappropriate pictures before even exchanging a word, being "ghosted, being stood up with no apology - so when Mel goes out drinking with girlfriends, she stumbles home I know it's only January, but without a doubt, How to Hack a Heartbreak WILL be making my top books of 2019 list! I absolutely loved this story from start to finish. Mel Strickland is fed up with being a tech professional in a male driven industry, but even more than that, she's sick of the current dating environment - being sent inappropriate pictures before even exchanging a word, being "ghosted, being stood up with no apology - so when Mel goes out drinking with girlfriends, she stumbles home and decides to create a little website called JerkAlert as a goof, where women can rate the jerk's they've gone out with to warn other women of what's out there. There was so much about Mel I found myself relating to (and ugh, in the whole online dating/swipe culture situation), I quite possibly thought Rockaway was observing me and my friends while writing this (hello SoulCycle references!!!)... I was finding every moment possible to read this today, including finishing up on my lunch break, it was just that good! I think anyone who is a fan of Christina Lauren's work would love this one or maybe just someone else who has swiped on one too many wastes of time!Thank you to Graydon House for an advanced copy. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Showie Ford
    January 1, 1970
    I REALLY wanted to love this book. I really did. I am a woman in IT. I like to code. I love the idea of this book. This book missed the mark for me. The whole book comes across as too preachy. I am 100% a feminist and a girl trying to make a start in the tech industry, but this book beats you over the head. All men are bad. The IT industry is full of pervs and men who excuse that behavior. It’s simply not true. There are pervs out there. There are men willing to look the other way out there, abs I REALLY wanted to love this book. I really did. I am a woman in IT. I like to code. I love the idea of this book. This book missed the mark for me. The whole book comes across as too preachy. I am 100% a feminist and a girl trying to make a start in the tech industry, but this book beats you over the head. All men are bad. The IT industry is full of pervs and men who excuse that behavior. It’s simply not true. There are pervs out there. There are men willing to look the other way out there, absolutely.First of all, Mel should’ve quit that job. She’s a girl who codes, the industry is booming. She could get a new job in no time. She’s working a bottom tier helpdesk gig when she should be working in application development or even web design. Her job is beneath her, she gets verbally abused every. dang. day. She does nothing to make it stop. It is in no way her fault, but she could take steps to make it stop. Her immediate supervisor is willing to look the other way, but why doesn’t she go to HR? Why doesn’t she go to the owner of the company? Why doesn’t she go above her boss’ head? I would! Nobody deserves to be talked to that way.Alex is a mostly absent character. We don’t see anything from his point of view, and he features only peripherally. I can’t honestly say anything about his character, because I don’t know anything about his character. He apologizes a lot, and he is sweet, but distracted, when they are together. That’s it. That’s all I’ve got.Honestly, the only thing I liked about this story was the site Mel designed. JerkAlert was an awesome idea. Everyone that has ever used a dating app would love that idea. For sure.
    more
  • Stacee
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 stars I hadn’t heard about this book until it was pitched to me and I was intrigued at the synopsis. I liked Melanie. She’s smart and loyal and has a great set of friends. I loved seeing a woman coding and the strong female relationships were fantastic. Mel’s friends were supportive and all amazing. I would easily read a story about any of them. I won’t say much about Alex {because spoilers}, but I will say his actions are tempered by Mel’s POV.Plot wise, it was okay. The tech stuff wasn’t t 3.5 stars I hadn’t heard about this book until it was pitched to me and I was intrigued at the synopsis. I liked Melanie. She’s smart and loyal and has a great set of friends. I loved seeing a woman coding and the strong female relationships were fantastic. Mel’s friends were supportive and all amazing. I would easily read a story about any of them. I won’t say much about Alex {because spoilers}, but I will say his actions are tempered by Mel’s POV.Plot wise, it was okay. The tech stuff wasn’t too tech-y and the guys were just as gross as expected. I was cringing and sympathizing with these fictional women on nearly every page. My main complaint is that I got a bit tired of Mel’s negativity and wishy-washy behavior. Yes, conflict and all that, but even though it felt realistic, it was repetitive. Overall, it was a quick read with characters that had me invested. I look forward to future books from Kristin. **Huge thanks to Graydon House for providing the arc free of charge**
    more
  • Shelby
    January 1, 1970
    26-year old, Melanie (Mel), has been working the same IT job for the last 4-years. Although she is a software developer, she hasn’t climbed up the career ladder since graduating college. Working in a male-dominated environment, Mel feels she’s never taken seriously.Mel’s career isn’t the only part of her life that’s lacking. After dozens of lackluster dates, dick-pics and New York jerks, Mel’s fed up with online dating. If only there were a way for women to be warned of who to avoid on dating ap 26-year old, Melanie (Mel), has been working the same IT job for the last 4-years. Although she is a software developer, she hasn’t climbed up the career ladder since graduating college. Working in a male-dominated environment, Mel feels she’s never taken seriously.Mel’s career isn’t the only part of her life that’s lacking. After dozens of lackluster dates, dick-pics and New York jerks, Mel’s fed up with online dating. If only there were a way for women to be warned of who to avoid on dating apps before wasting their time on them. And that’s when Mel has the brilliant idea to make an app to solve her problem. JerkAlert is a site where women can post reviews of men that should be avoided altogether. Mel doesn’t think her app will be used by anyone, but overnight, it’s become a sensation. Women everywhere are raving over this genius app.Meanwhile, Mel is testing the waters with her coworker, Alex. After strictly online dating for who knows how long, Mel isn’t familiar with navigating a relationship with a friend, let alone a coworker. Alex is funny, sweet, extremely sexy and manages to say all the right things at the right time. But when Mel sees a negative review for Alex on her website, JerkAlert, she starts to question everything she thought she knew about Alex and everything she thought they had together. JerkAlert could be Mel’s ticket to breaking free from her lackluster career as an IT specialist. Instead of fading into the background, maybe now she’ll be taken seriously. But the same app that could help her career could also be holding her back from finding what she’s be searching for all along—true love.How to Hack a Heartbreak by Kristin Rockaway is a rom-com that’ll appeal to the generation of online dating and anyone who’s had a disastrous blind date. I loved this story and felt it was extremely relevant to today’s dating scene. I myself met my husband on a dating app and had a bunch of bad dates prior. So I could 100% relate to the various characters who had terrible experiences with dating apps. I enjoyed the romance between Mel and Alex—I only wish that we had gotten more. Mel is a strong female lead and I enjoyed watching her “stick it to the man.” Highly recommend this fun romance—4.25/5 stars.Thank you to NetGalley, Graydon House and Kristin Rockaway for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Obsidian
    January 1, 1970
    Please note that I received this via NetGalley. This did not affect my rating or review.Well this was downright delightful. I really got a kick out of Rockway's book and the characters she introduced in this one. Besides the main character of Mel, she has some really awesome best friends (Whitney, Lia, and Dani) and a great roommate (Vanessa). I loved the book taking a look at women who are very good at coding (like Mel) and how hard it was to break into the tech world due to the douchebros that Please note that I received this via NetGalley. This did not affect my rating or review.Well this was downright delightful. I really got a kick out of Rockway's book and the characters she introduced in this one. Besides the main character of Mel, she has some really awesome best friends (Whitney, Lia, and Dani) and a great roommate (Vanessa). I loved the book taking a look at women who are very good at coding (like Mel) and how hard it was to break into the tech world due to the douchebros that seem to inhabit it. The writing was very crisp and the flow was great. I loved the romance and the ending!"How to Hack a Heartbreak" has 20 something year old Mel ready to hang up dating. She has used all of the dating apps, and the latest craze, Fluttr, is still not providing her with a guy that actually wants to date her. After being stood up and receiving one more "[redacted] pic" she has enough. After being egged on by her friends, she sets up a site called JerkAlert which women can anonymously post to about guys they have met or messaged on Fluttr. After JerkAlert goes viral, Mel also finds herself trying to start a relationship with her coworker Alex and wonders if she can trust him, or is he a jerk in sheep's clothing. God, I felt Mel. I still am on some dating apps, but don't even check in anymore. Once you have someone send you a picture of them in full black leather (with a mask on) with a message asking can they call you a slave, I pretty much decided that books and my cat were sufficient. I regret nothing.Mel keeps getting her hopes up, but she either meets guys that are just looking for a one night stand, ghosted her after a while, and or she gets the before mentioned "[redacted] pics." She wishes she was more like her friend Whitney who is not looking for anything serious and relishes her one night stands. But after her friend Lia has seemingly met the one on Fluttr, Mel is wondering as all women do, what's wrong with her. Mel is also a pretty great coder. She is stuck working at the help desk at a company called Hatch and sits around and watches a lot of men trying to get their start-ups off the ground. She's verbally abused and if she tries to stand up for herself, her jerk of a boss acts like she's being a bit too "female".Besides Mel, I loved her friends. Whitney was fearless and also scared me a bit. She's protective of her friends and tells it like she sees it. Lia is a romantic at heart and no spoilers, but I was shrieking while reading about her and Mr. Right. Dani was good, but we really don't get in depth with her that much in this book. Not a criticism, but definitely she didn't feel as present in the book as Whitney and Lia did. I will also say that the girls remind me of my friends and I at that age. Getting together at night, wondering why all the guys we went out with were such a PITA and holding out hope for a nice guy. The other characters we get, Vanessa (Mel's roommate) and Alex (her love interest) were written very well too. I get why Mel was apprehensive about Alex.The writing was very good. I loved Mel's voice throughout. When her site goes viral you get her emotions about it (yeah she's great at coding and yikes what if someone finds out) and her realizing that parts of JerkAlert aren't that great. The flow was really good from beginning to end. I honestly couldn't put this book down once I started.The setting of New York was pretty great. I loved how realistic it felt with Mel being stuck at her job at the help desk and she had to room with someone to afford to live in New York. I am always baffled at the romance reads I get into when some 20 year old is living in some sun lit two bedroom apartment somewhere. And there's no mention of the tininess of their apartment, commuting on the subway, and the insane rent. Really loved the ending and the message it was pushing!
    more
  • Emily
    January 1, 1970
    This novel requires a longer than usual review-copy disclaimer.Back when I used to work in book publishing, the bane of my life was being asked to read the work of friends or worse, friends and relatives of friends. Some of them had an absurdly inflated sense of my influence; others just wanted me to read their work and provide detailed feedback on it, similar to how it is completely normal to ask a dentist to give you a teeth cleaning during a birthday party. I dreaded this not just because of This novel requires a longer than usual review-copy disclaimer.Back when I used to work in book publishing, the bane of my life was being asked to read the work of friends or worse, friends and relatives of friends. Some of them had an absurdly inflated sense of my influence; others just wanted me to read their work and provide detailed feedback on it, similar to how it is completely normal to ask a dentist to give you a teeth cleaning during a birthday party. I dreaded this not just because of the boundary-less-ness of the people asking but because the work was usually bad. It is terribly difficult to write fiction and most people fail in areas that are obvious but hard to fix, like writing dialogue, or engineering the flow between narration and dialogue, or pacing revelations in a story. Usually I'm a believer in hard work--but when it comes to fiction, I feel like you've either got it or you don't, and most people don't.My real-life friend Kristin Rockaway is the only person who ever told me she was writing something and asked me to read it, and I thought "I'd love to!" I could tell from the first ten pages of her first book, The Wild Woman's Guide to Traveling the World, that she's got it.This is her second book and it's even more effortless, which is what you want in a fast, funny read like this. She's got bad romance, female friendships, a dreadful boss, a dreamy love interest, butterflies of doubt and nervousness. I am now older than her protagonist but I still loved the way Mel and her friends support each other as they try to make it in the big city. To me, the strongest thing about the book is that it doesn't sugarcoat this young woman's life. The harassment Mel and her friends experience has a note of genuine menace. Mel's job isn't bad in some vague sense of having annoying coworkers (sometimes the case in novels about young women at work); her job has substance and she's good at it, but not being recognized. She has the chops to do more than what she's assigned at work, and has to discover that on her own time. The frothy and funny parts of the book score because the negative space around them is real.As for those funny parts, she has some great dialogue and funny set-ups. She likes to twist situations around in ways you don't expect (I liked the building super), so that even the minor storylines hold your interest.Review copy received direct from the source. My only regret is that I read it in 2018 and should have saved it for the beach in 2019.
    more
  • Liz Fenton
    January 1, 1970
    LOVED it. It’s laugh out loud funny for sure. But underneath its incredible charm is a timely message that will resonate. Will no doubt be the beach read of Summer 2019!
  • Nicole ❤
    January 1, 1970
    Much thanks to Edelweiss, Harper Collins and Graydon House for sending me an ARC. Very excited to read this. 💕
  • Juliana
    January 1, 1970
    I received a digital ARC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.After Mel is stood up by a date and then sent dick pics by another guy, she creates JerkAlert. It gives women the opportunity to warn other dating app users which guys are the bad ones so they can be avoided. It explodes into something bigger than she expected and she has to figure out what to do as it continues to grow.This book was a lot more fun than I expected! What I enjoyed about this was that it showed that women can I received a digital ARC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.After Mel is stood up by a date and then sent dick pics by another guy, she creates JerkAlert. It gives women the opportunity to warn other dating app users which guys are the bad ones so they can be avoided. It explodes into something bigger than she expected and she has to figure out what to do as it continues to grow.This book was a lot more fun than I expected! What I enjoyed about this was that it showed that women can be just as good in the computer science field as men. She writes the code and creates the website all on her own. She's strong in that sense and that's what made me like her. Sure, there are times when she second guesses and doubts her abilities but her group of friends pick her back up. There are enjoyable supporting characters in the story that aren't one dimensional and are all smart/kiss-ass women. This story is a whole is full of strong women who encourage and support each other and help lead each other on their path. I also really liked Mel's Pinterest obsessed roommate and wish I could have seen her projects and parties myself!I liked that the budding romance between Mel and Alex wasn't straightforward. The author balances Mel's skepticism of Alex well as the reader gets to know him. You're not quite sure if you're supposed to trust him or root for him and it was a good change of pace. How to Hack a Heartbreak is a fun romcom that has both humor and heart in it and it makes for an enjoyable read.
    more
  • Kathleen
    January 1, 1970
    Mel Strickland is one of my favorite protagonists. She's smart, she's funny, and she doesn't take sh*t from anyone ... even if that means becoming a meme. I couldn't cheer loud enough as Mel ferociously and creatively fought back against the bro-dominated tech world and all the jerks online by creating JerkAlert, or as she navigated the rocky path of viral fame like a boss. Kristin Rockaway has once again written a sharp (and sexy) romcom starring a kickass, independent woman — and I hope she'll Mel Strickland is one of my favorite protagonists. She's smart, she's funny, and she doesn't take sh*t from anyone ... even if that means becoming a meme. I couldn't cheer loud enough as Mel ferociously and creatively fought back against the bro-dominated tech world and all the jerks online by creating JerkAlert, or as she navigated the rocky path of viral fame like a boss. Kristin Rockaway has once again written a sharp (and sexy) romcom starring a kickass, independent woman — and I hope she'll write many more!
    more
  • Lisa (Remarkablylisa)
    January 1, 1970
    I had to DNF this one. Full review to come.
  • Steph
    January 1, 1970
    Deliciously funny romcom set in the fascinating world of tech startups! Witty writing, poignant commentary on sexism in the tech industry and the struggles of online/app dating, plus an incredibly relatable main character make How to Hack a Heartbreak a ridiculously enjoyable read!
    more
  • Moon Love
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars!This was great! I loved the mix of romance, womens' fiction and chick lit this book had! I couldn't put it down! I will admit to wanting more from the story and epilogue, especially when it came to Melanie's friends, but in this case it's good that I want more!The topics mentioned in this book also really touched me. Especially the one regarding how addicted we are to tech and how we use it to meet people. Not to mention how toxic tech culture can be. I feel like everything was address 4.5 stars!This was great! I loved the mix of romance, womens' fiction and chick lit this book had! I couldn't put it down! I will admit to wanting more from the story and epilogue, especially when it came to Melanie's friends, but in this case it's good that I want more!The topics mentioned in this book also really touched me. Especially the one regarding how addicted we are to tech and how we use it to meet people. Not to mention how toxic tech culture can be. I feel like everything was addressed appropriately and even if not everything was wrapped up prettily, it's fitting since this is an ongoing battle. I'm really impressed with How to Hack a Heartbreak and Kristin Rockaway. I haven't read anything else by her, but am really looking forward to reading more from her!
    more
  • Susan
    January 1, 1970
    Having recently finished “How to Hack a Heartbreak” by Kristin Rockaway, I am happy to have had the chance for the preview; thank you NetGalley and Graydon House! A fast paced read and a look into the downfalls of the online dating world where choices to date someone are primarily made using photo apps. I really enjoyed this story and was able to “keep up and follow along” with the techie talk and twenty-something lifestyle moments, even though I am definitely of the generation where face to fac Having recently finished “How to Hack a Heartbreak” by Kristin Rockaway, I am happy to have had the chance for the preview; thank you NetGalley and Graydon House! A fast paced read and a look into the downfalls of the online dating world where choices to date someone are primarily made using photo apps. I really enjoyed this story and was able to “keep up and follow along” with the techie talk and twenty-something lifestyle moments, even though I am definitely of the generation where face to face “inPerson” connections were our only option.
    more
  • Elaine
    January 1, 1970
    This was my first book by Ms. Rockaway and I really liked it.I enjoyed the writing style of this author, and I liked the main characters. None of them particularly "stand out", but they are very likeable. Story itself is light, funny, enjoyable & at times even a little sad. It made me laugh out loud, it frustrated me, it annoyed the hell out of me at times and in the end, it left me with a smile on my face. But you should read this book only if you want to read simple, uncomplicated, plain c This was my first book by Ms. Rockaway and I really liked it.I enjoyed the writing style of this author, and I liked the main characters. None of them particularly "stand out", but they are very likeable. Story itself is light, funny, enjoyable & at times even a little sad. It made me laugh out loud, it frustrated me, it annoyed the hell out of me at times and in the end, it left me with a smile on my face. But you should read this book only if you want to read simple, uncomplicated, plain chick-lit. If you're looking for angsty or intense characters, complex plot, deep & emotional experience, then this book isn't for you. But it is highly recommended if you want a light (but not feather-light) but also kind of serious book with a dose of humor and fluffy-ness on top. So, overall How to Hack a Heartbreak was a nice read. It had humor, romance and good plotline. And it was just the right combination of them. ***I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
    more
  • Mary Ann Marlowe
    January 1, 1970
    This was a fun exploration of social media, gender disparities, 21st century ethics, and what it means to trust in a relationship. As a developer, I can say that while I don't encounter the kind of rampant sexism displayed in this book, everything about the tech environment was spot on--from the all-hands meetings to the Slack messaging. Although I don't encounter that level of sexism in my work environment (not that I encounter no sexism....), every one of the micro (and even macro) aggressions This was a fun exploration of social media, gender disparities, 21st century ethics, and what it means to trust in a relationship. As a developer, I can say that while I don't encounter the kind of rampant sexism displayed in this book, everything about the tech environment was spot on--from the all-hands meetings to the Slack messaging. Although I don't encounter that level of sexism in my work environment (not that I encounter no sexism....), every one of the micro (and even macro) aggressions rang true, and all women will relate to having some of these encounters at some point or other. In this book, they're distilled down to make a broader point. And yes, I've even experienced the subway situation--and worse. So I enjoyed seeing how Mel dealt with these situations and how they caused her to grow and make decisions to empower herself and others. All of these things made Mel's reactions to the men who showed any interest in her plausible, and I was curious to see how things would turn out with the one man who seemed to defy expectations. I really loved watching her 2 apps come to life. It was fun to live vicariously as she barreled toward tech success.
    more
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    I've written this review for Really Into ThisCheck out all of our reviews at https://reallyintothis.comHappy Reading, friends!Special thanks to Kristin Rockaway, Graydon House, Jessica Watterson & NetGalley for providing my copy in exchange for an honest & fair review.Book Review: How to Hack a Heartbreak by Kristin RockawayThese days, I'm all about the romance. How to Hack a Heartbreak is smart, sexy, original & the perfect summer read! So OriginalHow to Hack a Heartbreak is so smar I've written this review for Really Into ThisCheck out all of our reviews at https://reallyintothis.comHappy Reading, friends!Special thanks to Kristin Rockaway, Graydon House, Jessica Watterson & NetGalley for providing my copy in exchange for an honest & fair review.Book Review: How to Hack a Heartbreak by Kristin RockawayThese days, I'm all about the romance. How to Hack a Heartbreak is smart, sexy, original & the perfect summer read! So OriginalHow to Hack a Heartbreak is so smart. I'm an old married hag & even I know the online dating world is so rough. Mel is over it. One night, she starts a site to make all the dick pic sending douchebags accountable. Jerk Alert is a hit. As fast as Jerk Alert takes off, so does Mel's dating life. Overnight, she's balancing a new business model, her full-time job, a guy that seems too good to be true & a pack of true girlfriends. Kristin RockawayHow to Hack a Heartbreak is my first book by Kristin Rockaway, but I want to read all her books now. Her writing is so fluid, realistic & fun. I breezed through this book. Yes, this is a romantic read, but it's also a book about a woman finding her way in NYC. Mel is so memorable, likable & I loved getting to know her. I can only hope Kristin Rockaway continues some of the storylines with Mel's friends. Honestly, I love when I read about young women with fruitful, stable & loving female friends. It warms my heart. THE VERDICTI am Really Into This book! Even if you're not a romance fan, you'll love this story. How to Hack a Heartbreak is a perfect read for a hot summer day. It's light enough to have you smiling, but has enough heart that you'll remember it for a long time to come. I already pre-ordered it because I will be recommending it for a long time. Also, I'll undoubtedly re-read it! 
    more
  • Chelsea
    January 1, 1970
    The world needs more romcoms like this one! It's not every book that deftly balances humor, warmth, and smarts, but in Kristin Rockaway's latest, readers are treated to an emotionally engaging story that's as intelligent as it is fun. Mel Strickland is the kind of protagonist I love. She's got goals, interests, talent, and a loyal group of girlfriends. Her character is fully developed and relatable in her quest for respect in both her career and her dating life. A talented coder who's unvalued i The world needs more romcoms like this one! It's not every book that deftly balances humor, warmth, and smarts, but in Kristin Rockaway's latest, readers are treated to an emotionally engaging story that's as intelligent as it is fun. Mel Strickland is the kind of protagonist I love. She's got goals, interests, talent, and a loyal group of girlfriends. Her character is fully developed and relatable in her quest for respect in both her career and her dating life. A talented coder who's unvalued in her ho-hum help desk job, Mel is sick of the misogynistic bro culture that permeates the tech world. She's also fed up with the casual sexual harassment she routinely encounters on the country's most popular dating app, Fluttr. From there, her story takes flight. The writing is fast-paced and funny; and at the same time, it illuminates real struggles faced by all women, especially those working in tech. I loved this book and can't wait to see what Rockaway writes next.
    more
  • Sarah Perchikoff
    January 1, 1970
    I have thoughts! When I read the synopsis for How to Hack a Heartbreak, I was all in. I loved a good romance and one where the main character fixes computers...um, give me all of that! And then you tell me she uses her skills to get revenge by starting her own app called JerkAlert?? I am 1000% in! But, unfortunately, this was not my favorite book. Maybe I gave it too much hype in my head (maybe I'm starving for a feminist romance) but while I did enjoy certain parts of it, there were certain plo I have thoughts! When I read the synopsis for How to Hack a Heartbreak, I was all in. I loved a good romance and one where the main character fixes computers...um, give me all of that! And then you tell me she uses her skills to get revenge by starting her own app called JerkAlert?? I am 1000% in! But, unfortunately, this was not my favorite book. Maybe I gave it too much hype in my head (maybe I'm starving for a feminist romance) but while I did enjoy certain parts of it, there were certain plot points that almost made me stop reading. Let's get to the review!Synopsis (from Goodreads):By day, Mel Strickland is an underemployed helpdesk tech at a startup incubator, Hatch, where she helps entitled brogrammers--"Hatchlings"--who can't even fix their own laptops, but are apparently the next wave of startup geniuses. And by night, she goes on bad dates with misbehaving dudes she's matched with on the ubiquitous dating app, Fluttr.But after one dick pic too many, Mel has had it. Using her brilliant coding skills, she designs an app of her own, one that allows users to log harrassers and abusers in online dating space. It's called JerkAlert, and it goes viral overnight.Mel is suddenly in way over her head. Worse still, her almost-boyfriend, the dreamy Alex Hernandez--the only non-douchey guy at Hatch--has no idea she's the brains behind the app. Soon, Mel is faced with a terrible choice: one that could destroy her career, love life, and friendships, or change her life forever.Mel is smart, hilarious, and fun, but works at possibly the most irritating job known to man (or woman). She is constantly undermined, talked down to, and deals with sexist bullshit almost 24/7. She is also dealing with online dating and dudes sending her dick pics, standing her up, and just being pieces of trash. Luckily, Mel knows her worth and knows she is a badass coder and just needs to catch a break to make an impact on the world. But when she gets stood up one too many times and gets one too many dick picks (one is more than enough!!), she decides to take action and create JerkAlert, allowing women to take back control.I loved this concept and if I had any computer skills besides trying to figure out how to re-position a picture on WordPress, I would be doing the same thing. JerkAlert blows up with women posting all kinds of things about dudes they've spoken to or gone out with from Fluttr (ficitional dating app in the story). Mel can barely keep the website running smoothly with how many people are using it.During this time, she also meets Alex who happens to be the nicest guy at her office. They both clearly like each other, so they start dating. It's nothing too serious but she really comes to care for him.One night, she looks up his name on JerkAlert and is surprised to find two posts about him that pretty much say he ghosted a woman after they had sex. It's definitely a let down for Mel. But with no evidence of whether the post is true, she keeps dating him, even having him meet her friends at a party. That being said, she never tells him she is the person responsible for JerkAlert.The climax of the story comes when JerkAlert becomes so big that Mel starts getting calls from major companies who want to buy it, including Fluttr. But things don't go as planned and Mel ends up having to make decisions that could affect her job, her integrity, and her future.While this is happening, she finds a text and picture of a naked woman on Alex's phone and confronts him about it. It turns out he had been lying to her about certain things. Will they end up together in the end? It's a romance novel, what do you think?Ok, let's start with the good. Mel and her friend's might be one of the best friendships I ever read. They are supportive, all have their own thing going on so you never confuse one for the other, and they are just amazing. Whitney is hilarious and fully supports everything Mel does with JerkAlert. I love them all! I also really like certain parts of Mel's story. Like I said, if I had the skills, I would make JerkAlert too. I also liked that despite what her boss says, she always tried to defend herself against the assholes in the office. She knows she is smarter than them and never tries to hide it.Ok, the stuff I wasn't thrilled with. I HATE when the conflict in a romance is miscommunication. Sometimes it works, but here it just didn't. They were both lying to each other about certain things and ugh.I also didn't love Alex. He thought ghosting was an ok behavior and he couldn't understand why Mel made JerkAlert. Is he totally clueless to what women go through?? It felt a bit unbelievable that he couldn't fathom why the app might be necessary or needed.And maybe it's the world we're living in now with #metoo that makes me think this. It's kind of impossible to have not seen something in the news about what women have been going through.Beyond that, I just didn't feel the chemistry between Alex and Mel. It didn't click for me and my personal red flags kept going up at his behavior.There is also a point where Mel has to makes a decision about JerkAlert (whether to sell the database to Fluttr or not). The decision she ends up making feels like it goes against everything she is as a character. It gets "fixed" in a roundabout way but it made me question everything I liked about her to begin with. This decision is what made me almost stop reading the book.Overall, I did enjoy most of How to Hack a Heartbreak. With the books I normally read, I am in dire need of a light, carefree story and that's what this is. Mel's friendships are written so well and I really enjoyed reading about a female coder. I am giving How to Hack a Heartbreak 3 out of 5 stars. If you're looking for a light, fun romance, give this one a shot. You might like it better than I did.How to Hack a Heartbreak by Kristin Rockaway comes out July 30, 2019. Thank you to Netgalley and Graydon House Books for the free ARC in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Janet
    January 1, 1970
    I received a DIGITAL Advance Reader Copy of this book from #NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. From the publisher, as I do not regurgitate the contents or story of books in reviews, I let them do it.Swipe right for love. Swipe left for disaster.By day, Mel Strickland is an underemployed helpdesk tech at a startup incubator, Hatch, where she helps entitled brogrammers--"Hatchlings"--who can't even fix their own laptops but are apparently the next wave of startup geniuses. And by night, s I received a DIGITAL Advance Reader Copy of this book from #NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. From the publisher, as I do not regurgitate the contents or story of books in reviews, I let them do it.Swipe right for love. Swipe left for disaster.By day, Mel Strickland is an underemployed helpdesk tech at a startup incubator, Hatch, where she helps entitled brogrammers--"Hatchlings"--who can't even fix their own laptops but are apparently the next wave of startup geniuses. And by night, she goes on bad dates with misbehaving dudes she's matched with on the ubiquitous dating app, Fluttr.But after one dick pic too many, Mel has had it. Using her brilliant coding skills, she designs an app of her own, one that allows users to log harassers and abusers in online dating space. It's called JerkAlert, and it goes viral overnight.Mel is suddenly in way over her head. Worse still, her almost-boyfriend, the dreamy Alex Hernandez--the only non-douchey guy at Hatch--has no idea she's the brains behind the app. Soon, Mel is faced with a terrible choice: one that could destroy her career, love life, and friendships, or change her life forever.THE ASSISTANTS meets Doree Shafrir’s STARTUP in this snarky, fun, and incredibly timely novel about women in tech and dating in NYC; a breezy read—with a conscience—for the BuzzFeed generation.This is a quick but highly enjoyable read: anyone who has heard of these dating apps would enjoy it. (Take that from someone who met their husband on Goodreads...lol) It is decidedly breezy and downright hilarious and I totally enjoyed reading it, as would and should you. Laugh if you are single and looking, laugh if you found him and are glad to be out of the rat race. As always, I try to find a reason to not rate with stars as I love emojis (outside of Instagram and Twitter) so let's give it some fireworks for Chinese New Year as that is when I am writing this review: 🎆🎆🎆🎆
    more
  • Chan ( inbedwithabook )
    January 1, 1970
    *Thank you to Netgalley, Kristin Rockaway and Graydon House for providing this book in exchange for an honest review.*emoji rating scale: 😩🙁😐😀😍How to Hack a Heartbreak rating: 😍-----read my review: click here-----THIS. BOOK. IS. SO. DAMN. REFRESHING.I have never read anything by Kirstin Rockaway before, but I have wholeheartedly fallen in love. Guys, this book is must-read!Melanie — a freaking breath of fresh air — is a girl who’s lived the last few years on autopilot. By day she’s a help desk t *Thank you to Netgalley, Kristin Rockaway and Graydon House for providing this book in exchange for an honest review.*emoji rating scale: 😩🙁😐😀😍How to Hack a Heartbreak rating: 😍-----read my review: click here-----THIS. BOOK. IS. SO. DAMN. REFRESHING.I have never read anything by Kirstin Rockaway before, but I have wholeheartedly fallen in love. Guys, this book is must-read!Melanie — a freaking breath of fresh air — is a girl who’s lived the last few years on autopilot. By day she’s a help desk techie at a startup incubator — Hatch — where entitled coding assholes (also known as ‘Hatchlings’) shoot one verbal abuse after another at her.By night, she’s OVER the bad dates, the unwarranted dick pics, the “ghosters”, and every other loser match that she’s encountered on the dating app, Fluttr.After one too many dick pics — and some #girlpower chatting with her best friends — Mel turns into the batman of the dating world, creating an app of her own that allows female users to log every abuser / harasser they’ve come across on Fluttr. #JerkAlert is born.What Mel didn’t expect was to have a HELLA DREAMY, almost-kind of-maybe boyfriend — Alex Hernandez — who happens to be a “Hatchling” and also has NO IDEA she’s the brains behind the operation of JerkAlert.What was so ABSOLUTELY REFRESHING was the fact that this story centered around Mel, her friendships, her struggles, her decisions, and didn’t fully revolve around dreamboat Alex Hernandez. As much as I love a great romcom, I really appreciated following Mel’s journey and watching her become a better and stronger person because of the choices she made.Throw in some awesome secondary characters and sprinkle in a little bit of their love lives, and you’ve got yourself a really well-rounded read. I could not put this book down; I really enjoyed it so much! It’s quickly become a top read for 2019.
    more
  • Nadesly
    January 1, 1970
    How to Hack a Heartbreak by Kristin Rockaway has easily taken a spot in my favorite books of 2019! This was the first time I've ever read any of Rockaway's work and I can say with all certainty...I'm obsessed. This book was everything and everyone needs to add it to their TBRs, like now! Once I started How to Hack a Heartbreak, I couldn't put it down. I was automatically drawn into Melanie's world and finished the book in one sitting. I haven't felt this empowered from reading a story in a reall How to Hack a Heartbreak by Kristin Rockaway has easily taken a spot in my favorite books of 2019! This was the first time I've ever read any of Rockaway's work and I can say with all certainty...I'm obsessed. This book was everything and everyone needs to add it to their TBRs, like now! Once I started How to Hack a Heartbreak, I couldn't put it down. I was automatically drawn into Melanie's world and finished the book in one sitting. I haven't felt this empowered from reading a story in a really long time. HTHAHB is jam packed with badass females, doing badass things and some straight up amazing girl power. I'm pretty sure I went through every emotion humanly possible while reading. I was happy, I was sad, I was angry and I might've even yelled a few curse words while reading because those "tech-bros" were infuriating and if you're a woman who works in a male-dominated environment then you can relate! Rockaway described the troubles of online dating so perfectly she literally had me suffering from real-life flashbacks, rolling my eyes and yelling "SAME!" because hello, I'm a women in my 20s and online dating is a real struggle. Rockaway captured the essence of what it means to be a woman in the 21st century when it comes to love, friendships, work and just life in general. This novel had its romantic aspects but it was much more than that, it was about a woman who works and lives in a mans world and who has to fight harder than them to have a piece of the success pie and as the reader you get to go along for the ups, the downs, her successes and her failures. How to Hack a Heartbreak is definitely this years summer must read!Publication Date: 7/30/19Published to Goodreads: 3/27/19{Thank you to NetGalley and HARLEQUIN/Graydon House Books for sending me an eARC in exchange for an honest review!}
    more
  • Kim
    January 1, 1970
    Read this in one sitting after a slow start. At first I thought phew I'm never going to be able to fully engage with Mel and her friends but all of the characters grew on me quickly. Would love to read more books by this author about the other folks in this story. Let's get a book just for Mel's amazing roommate! Not to mention Dani and the rest of the characters. This isn't really rom-com, more just comedic fiction with a bit of relationship matter thrown in, and that works out just fine. I can Read this in one sitting after a slow start. At first I thought phew I'm never going to be able to fully engage with Mel and her friends but all of the characters grew on me quickly. Would love to read more books by this author about the other folks in this story. Let's get a book just for Mel's amazing roommate! Not to mention Dani and the rest of the characters. This isn't really rom-com, more just comedic fiction with a bit of relationship matter thrown in, and that works out just fine. I can just see the subway video going viral in real life ugh. Maybe some things here just hit a bit too close to home heh. If you are looking for a good quick read this is a great choice. Nice to have a lead character that stands up for herself and doesn't let everyone walk all over her. Sure the outcome here was a bit predictable but the author offers up quite a few surprises that work out well. My copy was provided by NetGalley for review.
    more
  • Suzanne
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to the publishers and NetGalley for an ARC of How to Hack a Heartbreak in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.I’ve heard a lot about Kristin Rockaway’s latest novel and I was excited to dive right in! How to... will keep you entertained, make you laugh, and make you proud to be a woman (if you are one reading this). The storyline is pretty relevant and takes you through the online dating world and the trails and tribulations which go along with it. Melanie, the main Thank you to the publishers and NetGalley for an ARC of How to Hack a Heartbreak in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.I’ve heard a lot about Kristin Rockaway’s latest novel and I was excited to dive right in! How to... will keep you entertained, make you laugh, and make you proud to be a woman (if you are one reading this). The storyline is pretty relevant and takes you through the online dating world and the trails and tribulations which go along with it. Melanie, the main character is a strong lead - a woman coder in the world of men who are pretty demeaning and down right awful (minus her crush, Alex). The ensemble cast will have you feeling like you are right there hanging out with your girlfriends!All in all, this is going to be a great summer hit! Perfect for beach reading! Enjoy!
    more
  • Nadine
    January 1, 1970
    This book!!!! I absolutely adored this book. I read it in like two sittings, which says a lot for me these days! Mel is a girl who works in the tech world, and it is definitely "the boys club" at her company. I mean...how many of us have been there??? I don't think I have ever worked somewhere that it wasn't "boys club." And she is also fed up with her co-workers and the online dating world, so she develops an app to expose the gross pervs and cheaters that are flooding the swipe right world. He This book!!!! I absolutely adored this book. I read it in like two sittings, which says a lot for me these days! Mel is a girl who works in the tech world, and it is definitely "the boys club" at her company. I mean...how many of us have been there??? I don't think I have ever worked somewhere that it wasn't "boys club." And she is also fed up with her co-workers and the online dating world, so she develops an app to expose the gross pervs and cheaters that are flooding the swipe right world. Her co-workers have no clue how talented she is, because she is stuck at the help desk. I loved Mel's character and the whole story line. I definitely laughed several times throughout this book, and found the characters totally relateable. ** I received a copy of How to Hack a Heartbreak from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.**
    more
  • Courtney
    January 1, 1970
    I loved this book! It really resonated with me being a woman ion my 20's trying to navigate the dating world. I laughed so many times throughout this book, and I fell in love with Mel. Mel works at the help desk for a tech start up company that feels more like a frat house. She gets fed up with dating on Fluttr and creates Jerk Alert, more as a joke for her friends. Next thing she knows, Jerk Alert is the hottest trend on social media. Now Mel has to figure out what she wants to do with her love I loved this book! It really resonated with me being a woman ion my 20's trying to navigate the dating world. I laughed so many times throughout this book, and I fell in love with Mel. Mel works at the help desk for a tech start up company that feels more like a frat house. She gets fed up with dating on Fluttr and creates Jerk Alert, more as a joke for her friends. Next thing she knows, Jerk Alert is the hottest trend on social media. Now Mel has to figure out what she wants to do with her love life and her new creation. It is the perfect chick lit book, and I highly recommend you check it out.
    more
  • Jypsy
    January 1, 1970
    How to Hack a Heartbreak is a fun story. Mel works in the male driven world of computer coding and all that. These horrible men basically sexually harass and get away with it. Mel is fed up with her job and men. Some guy sends inappropriate pictures and she gets stood up. After hanging out drinking one night, she creates the JerkAlert app that women can use to warn others about disgusting men. Then it's a big hit, there's a guy involved, etc. It's a good story and it's funny and relatable. This How to Hack a Heartbreak is a fun story. Mel works in the male driven world of computer coding and all that. These horrible men basically sexually harass and get away with it. Mel is fed up with her job and men. Some guy sends inappropriate pictures and she gets stood up. After hanging out drinking one night, she creates the JerkAlert app that women can use to warn others about disgusting men. Then it's a big hit, there's a guy involved, etc. It's a good story and it's funny and relatable. This app needs to be real. It would be huge. I liked Mel and her friends. I recommend if you like romcoms and such. Such a cute story! Thanks to NetGalley for an arc in exchange for an honest review.
    more
Write a review