Favourite Daughter
One of them lied. One of them died.Jane’s life has become a haze of antidepressants since the tragic death of her daughter, Mary. The accident, which happened over a year ago now, destroyed their perfect family life forever.The trouble is, the more Jane thinks about that night, the more she realises that something doesn’t seem right. Does her youngest daughter know more than she’s letting on? What secrets is her husband still hiding from her? And why does no one trust her to be on her own?Even if it’s the last thing she does, she’ll find out the truth…

Favourite Daughter Details

TitleFavourite Daughter
Author
ReleaseFeb 7th, 2019
PublisherHQ
Rating
GenreMystery, Fiction, Thriller, Mystery Thriller, Psychological Thriller

Favourite Daughter Review

  • Deanna
    January 1, 1970
    My reviews can also be seen at: https://deesradreadsandreviews.wordpr...4.5 Stars!! I have been looking forward to reading more from Kaira Rouda since reading and enjoying her previous novel, “Best Day Ever”. "The perfect home. The perfect family. The perfect lie".Meet Jane Harris.Jane spent the last year grieving the death of her daughter, Mary. She stayed in bed lost in her “haze of grief”.But Jane is now ready to step back into her life and family. Jane’s therapist suggested that the family s My reviews can also be seen at: https://deesradreadsandreviews.wordpr...4.5 Stars!! I have been looking forward to reading more from Kaira Rouda since reading and enjoying her previous novel, “Best Day Ever”. "The perfect home. The perfect family. The perfect lie".Meet Jane Harris.Jane spent the last year grieving the death of her daughter, Mary. She stayed in bed lost in her “haze of grief”.But Jane is now ready to step back into her life and family. Jane’s therapist suggested that the family should eat together to reconnect. So Jane is putting together a special dinner. “I’m the perfect vision of a happy homemaker” She waits for her husband, David to come home. He’ll be surprised. Jane says David has some surprises of his own. Jane accidentally found out about a big one. David's surprise snapped her out of her haze.Nothing had been right after Mary left them. David was never home, always busy with work. It felt like he was avoiding her. “Your husband should love you and worship the ground you walk on. He doesn’t just now, I know, but he will again. I’m back. He’ll see.” Jane’s other daughter, Betsy is about to graduate. Jane tries to ignore the voice in her head (it sounds a lot like her mother) that tells her Betsy is going to leave her. But Betsy needs Jane. She would never leave her.Jane is happy that everyone seems to be getting in line. Now that she’s back and better than ever. She’s even been secretly working out. On her few recent outings she’s noticed admiring glances from men. Not that that’s anything new. She’s always turned heads.There is an upcoming memorial for her daughter, Mary. Jane’s psychologist, Dr. Rosenthal tries to prepare her for it. Jane often says what she thinks the psychologist wants to hear. She talks about the things her mother taught her. Jane's mother loved bringing people down, Jane included. But Jane is winning…just look at her lavish life.Jane used to have a group of friends but they’ve drifted away. She knows it’s because they were jealous. Jane used to win at everything; tennis, Bunko, etc. And it wasn’t her fault their husbands found Jane attractive.After the memorial, Jane suddenly starts receiving anonymous notes. The notes say that there’s more to Mary’s death than they know. Could this be true?As graduation nears, we learn more about the Harris family. It seems like everyone is keeping secrets and/or has something to hide.With a riveting storyline, some jaw-dropping moments, and a wicked ending, this was another hit for me.The story is told from Jane’s point of view. Jane Harris is a character that many will love to hate (some will just hate). She is definitely one of a kind. The author's sense of humor really comes across. This psychological suspense novel had me laughing out loud a few times.Clever, entertaining, and delightfully insane, "The Favorite Daughter" was the perfect escape.I'd like to thank Graydon House for providing me with a copy of this novel. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Susanne Strong
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 Stars* (rounded down)Oh What Wicked Fun! There are characters .. and then there’s Jane. She’s the kind of woman who makes you cover your mouth with your hand and say “Oh no you didn’t!” Then you gasp in complete and utter deliciousness simply because, Oh yes she did! She’s that kind of Character! Oh how I love her.. I mean I don’t really love her. I don’t even like her - except yeah, I kinda do (in a she’s so despicable she’s likeable kind of way of course!) - and I just admitted it in publ 4.5 Stars* (rounded down)Oh What Wicked Fun! There are characters .. and then there’s Jane. She’s the kind of woman who makes you cover your mouth with your hand and say “Oh no you didn’t!” Then you gasp in complete and utter deliciousness simply because, Oh yes she did! She’s that kind of Character! Oh how I love her.. I mean I don’t really love her. I don’t even like her - except yeah, I kinda do (in a she’s so despicable she’s likeable kind of way of course!) - and I just admitted it in public. Shame on me! So what’s with Jane?! I wish I could tell you! She’s so over the top it’s outrageous, preposterous even! I mean out-freaking-rageous. Like absolutely-fabulous outrageous .. in an absurd and heinous way. Bawaawah!! I’ve never really “met” anyone like her - except well, yeah, I have.. (There I go again, covering my mouth with my hand!). Forgive me, won’t you? But I just can’t spoil the surprise! If this isn’t on your list, do me a favor and go grab it! You’ll be highly entertained and immediately intrigued! Once you start reading, you’ll seriously have the best day ever! Jane is waiting. This was a buddy read with Kaceey. We needed a great read and we found it with “Favorite Daughter” by Kaira Rouda. A huge thank you to Edelweiss, Harper Collins - Graydon House and Kaira Rouda for an arc of this novel in exchange for an honest review. Published on Edelweiss and Goodreads on 3.26.19.Will be published on Amazon and Twitter on 5.21.19.
    more
  • Kaceey
    January 1, 1970
    An unreliable narrator, teetering on the edge. A family she’s unable to keep under control.Kaira Rouda introduces a character you’re going to love to hate! So many times I found myself shocked, confounded, or laughing at Jane’s over-the-top audacity. It’s the one year anniversary of her daughter Marys’ death. The pain hasn’t diminished, but it’s time for Jane to look to the future and begin reclaiming her life. Starting with her husband David and younger daughter Betsy. Only both have apparently An unreliable narrator, teetering on the edge. A family she’s unable to keep under control.Kaira Rouda introduces a character you’re going to love to hate! So many times I found myself shocked, confounded, or laughing at Jane’s over-the-top audacity. It’s the one year anniversary of her daughter Marys’ death. The pain hasn’t diminished, but it’s time for Jane to look to the future and begin reclaiming her life. Starting with her husband David and younger daughter Betsy. Only both have apparently moved on...seemingly without Jane. Well, that just won’t do! Jane is going to do whatever it takes to keep their focus on her....no matter the consequences.Kaira Rouda's addition of the bizarre, tragic ways someone can die in America left me in stitches! Everything from bee stings to falling on upright knives in the dishwasher, to chickens seeking revenge through food poisoning!😂Without question, this has climbed to the top of my favorite reads so far of 2019! I loved Ms. Rouda's previous novel Best Day Ever. This book takes that narcissistic behavior one huge step further! You’ll be shocked by horrendous behavior, you’ll laugh, then be horrified once again! What fun! An absolute roller-coaster must read!A fantastic and fun buddy read with Susanne!🌸Thank you to NetGalley, Edelweiss, Harlequin Graydon House Books and Kaira Rouda for an ARC to read and review.
    more
  • Felicia
    January 1, 1970
    Jane puts the insane in the membrane.We meet Insane Jane two years after the tragic death of her daughter. Of course Insane Jane unreliably narrates this story. She is, afterall, the only one that knows the truth behind why her family is imploding. And obviously Insane Jane holds no responsibility at all as she will tell you.You see she's only ever wanted what's best for herself....errrr...I mean, her family, right up until they all turn against her. *insert ominous music*_______________________ Jane puts the insane in the membrane.We meet Insane Jane two years after the tragic death of her daughter. Of course Insane Jane unreliably narrates this story. She is, afterall, the only one that knows the truth behind why her family is imploding. And obviously Insane Jane holds no responsibility at all as she will tell you.You see she's only ever wanted what's best for herself....errrr...I mean, her family, right up until they all turn against her. *insert ominous music*___________________________________This is a fun compulsive read. Insane Jane narrates the entire story as if she's speaking directly to the reader and this choice by the author is what makes this book so entertaining.There are a fair share of twists in this story but most astute thriller fans will figure most of them out before Insane Jane feels compelled to grace you with her secrets. So there really aren't any omgfuckmewhatjusthappened moments but it doesn't take much away from the enjoyment of this book.andInsane Jane gets a little wordy and repetitive in the middle, I think she likes to hear herself talk. For those two reasons I had to downgrade this book to a 4 Star ⭐⭐⭐⭐ I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Berit☀️✨
    January 1, 1970
    ʟᴏᴠᴇ. ᴍᴇ. sᴏᴍᴇ. ᴄʀᴀᴢʏ. Woo Hoo I love me some crazy and this book had that in spades! Jane was one of the most over the top delusional characters I’ve read in a long time, and I loved her! Now would I want to be friends with her? Probably not, but she sure was fun to read about! A year ago Jane lost her oldest daughter Mary in a tragic accident. Jane is finally coming out of her fog of grief to find that her husband David and younger daughter Betsy have been living their lives without her. Every ʟᴏᴠᴇ. ᴍᴇ. sᴏᴍᴇ. ᴄʀᴀᴢʏ. Woo Hoo I love me some crazy and this book had that in spades! Jane was one of the most over the top delusional characters I’ve read in a long time, and I loved her! Now would I want to be friends with her? Probably not, but she sure was fun to read about! A year ago Jane lost her oldest daughter Mary in a tragic accident. Jane is finally coming out of her fog of grief to find that her husband David and younger daughter Betsy have been living their lives without her. Everything Jane does is for her family *cough* SO why is it that they are getting distant? Hiding things from her? Her beloved Mary would have never done this to her, she was a good girl. She was the PERFECT DAUGHTER. The entire book is told from Jane’s point of view. It was like she was talking directly to you throughout the book. I was fortunate enough to have an audio copy of this to review and Kathleen McInerney did a stellar job! She really brought the character of Jane to life, I felt as though Jane was venting in my ear for nine hours. This book was really pretty much a major bitch fest. Like how could the world be so cruel to Jane, when she was such a fabulous person? And oh how I loved how she justified her crazy actions. There really weren’t any major twists or revelations this book was just so much fun and super entertaining! If you love crazy as much as I do you need this book in your life! Kaira Rouda is the queen of writing delusional characters. First “The Best Day Ever” and now “the perfect daughter,” can’t wait to see what she has in store for us next! And I loved the little shout out to her previous book in this book!*** Big thanks to Harlequin and Harper Audio for my copy of this book ***
    more
  • j e w e l s
    January 1, 1970
    FIVE UNPUTDOWNABLE STARSI’m smiling as I write this because Kaira Rouda has done it again! THE FAVORITE DAUGHTER is a tangy piece of hard candy🍭🍭🍭Just pop it in your mouth and revel in the guilty pleasure.Rouda is the master of creating villainous characters we love to laugh at and utterly despise at the same time (now is a great time to read Best Day Ever if you missed it!!). Rouda's unusual talent for concocting charming, yet hate-worthy characters makes reading her novels so so easy and so ve FIVE UNPUTDOWNABLE STARSI’m smiling as I write this because Kaira Rouda has done it again! THE FAVORITE DAUGHTER is a tangy piece of hard candy🍭🍭🍭Just pop it in your mouth and revel in the guilty pleasure.Rouda is the master of creating villainous characters we love to laugh at and utterly despise at the same time (now is a great time to read Best Day Ever if you missed it!!). Rouda's unusual talent for concocting charming, yet hate-worthy characters makes reading her novels so so easy and so very addictive. This one practically melts on your tongue!I started to spell out the plot a bit for you and realized I was giving spoilers –I can’t do that! So x-nay the summary and I will just say this: you are in for a zippy roller coaster ride inside a narcissistic brain. Crazy doesn’t even begin to describe it! Disturbing? Yes. Suspenseful? Yes. Hysterical? Yes. Delicious and deeply satisfying, THE FAVORITE DAUGHTER is guaranteed to tickle your funny bone in a most uncomfortable way!Thanks very much to Netgalley for allowing me to read and review so many fantastic books before they are published! All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Larry H
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 stars.Just when I thought I had seen the craziest, most out-there, insane protagonist, along comes Jane Harris in Kaira Rouda's upcoming book, The Favorite Daughter .Lord. Have. Mercy.Jane thought she had it all: a handsome husband, two daughters, a beautiful home in an exclusive oceanfront community in California's Ocean County. But the last year has been terrible. She's been consumed with grief since the unexpected death of her oldest daughter, Mary, in a freak accident. All of the antide 3.5 stars.Just when I thought I had seen the craziest, most out-there, insane protagonist, along comes Jane Harris in Kaira Rouda's upcoming book, The Favorite Daughter .Lord. Have. Mercy.Jane thought she had it all: a handsome husband, two daughters, a beautiful home in an exclusive oceanfront community in California's Ocean County. But the last year has been terrible. She's been consumed with grief since the unexpected death of her oldest daughter, Mary, in a freak accident. All of the antidepressants she has been taking have left her in a haze, and she's barely been functional, let alone capable of being a good wife or mother.But that's all about to change. As they get ready to celebrate the one-year anniversary of Mary's death, Jane is ready to take control of her life again. She hasn't been entirely unaware of what's been going on behind her back. She knew that her husband and both of her daughters were trying to keep things hidden from her, but she knows a lot more than they think—and it's high time she let everyone know they can't fool her.Jane is surprised, however, how much has changed in the year that she was immersed in her grief. Her husband can barely stand to be in the same room, let alone the same house, with her, and her younger daughter is uncomfortable around her, and keeps talking about how ready she is to leave after she graduates high school in just a few days. But as Jane discovers that her husband and daughter have even more secrets, this time Jane will not stand idly by.When someone starts leaving notes for Jane saying that there was more to Mary's death than a simple accident, and that someone close to her should be looked at more closely, Jane insists the investigation be reopened, no matter the amount of chaos it might cause her family. Could someone have killed Mary in an effort to control a particular situation? How far would they go to keep that a secret? The Favorite Daughter takes you on a wild ride. I honestly had no idea what to expect from this book because Jane was such a bizarre character. Part of me kept expecting that this would resemble Sandie Jones' The First Mistake in that you'd see the story from Jane's side and then see a wholly different version through someone else's eyes, but apart from occasional barbs from her husband or daughter, that didn't happen. Regardless, she is so unhinged that I found it difficult to determine what she actually was seeing and what was imagined.This book definitely kept me guessing as it hurtled toward its conclusion. I read the entire book in just a few hours because I needed to see how Rouda would tie everything up.I really like the way Rouda writes, and in her "Dear Reader" letter that appeared in my advance copy, she explained what brought her to create Jane's character (if it's in your book, I'd recommend not reading this until after you've read the book), and that's fascinating. But these characters all seemed so unlikable, and it almost felt like I was seeing them through Jane's drug-induced haze, so I never understood them thoroughly enough.If you're looking for a book with one crazy character, pick up The Favorite Daughter . It's quite a read!NetGalley and HARLEQUIN — Graydon House Books provided me an advance copy of this book in exchange for an unbiased review. Thanks for making it available!This book will be published May 21, 2019. See all of my reviews at itseithersadnessoreuphoria.blogspot.com.Check out my list of the best books I read in 2018 at https://itseithersadnessoreuphoria.blogspot.com/2019/01/the-best-books-i-read-in-2018.html. You can follow me on Instagram at https://www.instagram.com/the.bookishworld.of.yrralh/.
    more
  • Lindsay - Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    HAPPY PUBLICATION DAY TO THE FAVORITE DAUGHTER!4.5 stars! Wowie - Jane is one character I will NEVER forget!Jane and David lost their daughter, Mary, in a tragic accident one year ago. Since then, Jane has been lost within a whirlwind of antidepressants, hiding herself at home, barely interacting with her family. David plans a memorial service for Mary one year after her passing which marks the day that Jane decides she will move forward from her grieving. She plans to stop medicating, focus on HAPPY PUBLICATION DAY TO THE FAVORITE DAUGHTER!4.5 stars! Wowie - Jane is one character I will NEVER forget!Jane and David lost their daughter, Mary, in a tragic accident one year ago. Since then, Jane has been lost within a whirlwind of antidepressants, hiding herself at home, barely interacting with her family. David plans a memorial service for Mary one year after her passing which marks the day that Jane decides she will move forward from her grieving. She plans to stop medicating, focus on her youngest daughter, Betsy, and renew the spark that has been lost in her marriage. She is ready to reemerge within her wealthy community and recapture the image of the perfect family she once had.This novel is narrated by Jane which was brilliantly executed! Being inside her head was one shocking and unforgettable journey that I will be thinking of long after I finished this book. I loved her snarky, confident and obsessive personality (not sure what that says about me – hah!). Her inner thoughts and dialogue had me stunned yet addicted to this tragic family story.There were a few details to this plot that I had figured out early on, yet it didn’t detract from my enjoyment. For me, the true entertainment was getting inside Jane’s head and exploring her personality rather than finding out exactly what happened in the storyline. The author, Kaira Rouda, did an outstanding job with Jane’s character. I look forward to checking out her previous book, Best Day Ever, which I have heard many wonderful things about. This was a Traveling Sister read that we all enjoyed!Thank you to Edelweiss and the publisher for providing me with an ARC to read and review!The Favorite Daughter is AVAILABLE TODAY! I highly recommend getting your hands on a copy!
    more
  • Holly B
    January 1, 1970
    Kaira Rouda writes the best unreliable narrators and like Paul from her debut novel  The Best Day Ever , Jane joins the ranks. The narrator, Jane believes she is a super mom, wife and best friend with comparisons to Martha Stewart. Some of her inner thoughts gave me pause. She has two daughters, but she does have a favorite.  Jane is quite a wild character that sometimes made me laugh or feel sympathetic towards her and at times made me  give her the evil eye. She puts her plan in motion and p Kaira Rouda writes the best unreliable narrators and like Paul from her debut novel  The Best Day Ever , Jane joins the ranks. The narrator, Jane believes she is a super mom, wife and best friend with comparisons to Martha Stewart. Some of her inner thoughts gave me pause. She has two daughters, but she does have a favorite.  Jane is quite a wild character that sometimes made me laugh or feel sympathetic towards her and at times made me  give her the evil eye. She puts her plan in motion and plays the femme fatale, damsel in distress and at one point exclaims "this is going to be the best day ever."I will say that I saw all the twists ahead of time and felt the book was a bit long and wanted it to wrap up already. Too me- a predictable read, but Jane's over the top poppycock was entertaining with many omg she didn't  moments.Entertaining with a side of insanity.Thanks to the Harlequin for my review copy! Pick up your copy May 21, 2019
    more
  • marilyn
    January 1, 1970
    * 5/14/19 I've added a spoiler message at the bottom of the review.The Favorite Daughter by Kaira Rouda was fun to read and Jane is the character who makes the book zing. Perfect Jane, she'll tell you herself how perfect she is, while detailing the inferiority of everybody else, even her daughters. If Jane doesn't like something, she'll "fix" it one way or another to no one's liking but her own. Jane loves to talk and she will often talk right to the reader and those moments tickled me. Jane thi * 5/14/19 I've added a spoiler message at the bottom of the review.The Favorite Daughter by Kaira Rouda was fun to read and Jane is the character who makes the book zing. Perfect Jane, she'll tell you herself how perfect she is, while detailing the inferiority of everybody else, even her daughters. If Jane doesn't like something, she'll "fix" it one way or another to no one's liking but her own. Jane loves to talk and she will often talk right to the reader and those moments tickled me. Jane thinks we are all just like her, of course, we'd do the very same things she does, if we were in her shoes. Jane will even lie to us and later admit she lied, but of course we'll understand (in her mind). I liked the other characters in the book too because they seemed real to me. Some of the characters are up to no good, some are just trying to survive long enough to get out from under Jane's meddling ways and heavy hand. Some try their best to ignore Jane although she doesn't take such treatment lightly. This book is all about Jane but Jane makes sure others feel the brunt of her existence. I enjoyed this book so much, Jane is horrible, she's done horrible things, she is doing horrible things, and we know she is going to keep doing horrible things. What a dangerous crazy woman and I felt bad laughing at some of the ridiculous things she says, all the while believing she is the worlds greatest gift to humankind. * contains animal abuse (view spoiler)[for those who would like to know this before they read the book, a dog is abused and dies (hide spoiler)]Thank you to Graydon House/Harper Collins and Edelweiss for this ARC.
    more
  • Norma * Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    Chilling, absorbing, & oh so wickedly entertaining!THE FAVORITE DAUGHTER by KAIRA ROUDA was such a wickedly delightful, gripping and immersive tale that totally sucked me right into this hauntingly dark psychological suspense novel. Once I started reading this one it was hard not to get totally wrapped up in Jane’s fascinating, snarky, obsessive and audacious character. Making it quite the deliciously fun, compelling and an all consuming page-turner. KAIRA ROUDA delivers an intriguing, uniqu Chilling, absorbing, & oh so wickedly entertaining!THE FAVORITE DAUGHTER by KAIRA ROUDA was such a wickedly delightful, gripping and immersive tale that totally sucked me right into this hauntingly dark psychological suspense novel. Once I started reading this one it was hard not to get totally wrapped up in Jane’s fascinating, snarky, obsessive and audacious character. Making it quite the deliciously fun, compelling and an all consuming page-turner. KAIRA ROUDA delivers an intriguing, unique and enthralling story here that was so irresistibly written. I absolutely loved Jane’s voice and thought she was such a fantastic character. And the execution and portrayal of Jane’s character was so darn entertaining and absolutely ingenious, allowing us to fully be in the moment with Jane and this story. Extremely impressive! I absolutely loved the addition of these little bits of morbid trivia that were included in the storyline in regards to the unusual and freakish ways someone can die. There was one particular way that had me chuckling as a friend actually advised me not to do this because I could possibly really hurt myself. Do not under any circumstances put knives in the dishwasher facing upwards because you know you might trip and fall right into the dishwasher and die. Ever since she told me this story I have always and advise others to always put the cutlery in the dishwasher face down. Thanks Jane and my friend Stella for this piece of advice! Norma’s Stats:Cover: Intriguing, suspenseful, appealing, attractive and an extremely fitting representation to storyline.Title: Appealing, suspenseful, intriguing and a fitting representation to storyline.Writing/Prose: Well-written, vivid, engaging, fascinating, irresistible, amusing, captivating, and fluid. Thoroughly enjoyed the narrative!Plot: Intriguing, perfectly over-the-top, suspenseful, engrossing, fast-paced, enjoyable and extremely entertaining. I was totally sucked right into this storyline!Ending: The perfect ending that left me feeling totally elated and satisfied!Overall: 4.5 Stars! This book was absolutely fabulous and the perfect escape as it was so darn entertaining, fun and amusing to read! Oh and did I mention that it has one of the absolute best psychological characters ever. Kaira Rouda definitely has the knack for writing fabulous characters. Would highly recommend!This was a Traveling Sisters read that we all really enjoyed!Thank you so much to NetGalley, Harlequin / Graydon House and Kaira Rouda for the opportunity to read an advanced copy of this book in. In addition to receiving an ARC from NetGalley I also won myself a copy of this book through a Goodreads Giveaway.
    more
  • Theresa Alan
    January 1, 1970
    This is a challenging novel because the first-person narrator is wildly unlikeable even though she is in mourning for the death of her eldest daughter. She’ll tell the reader something and then go and lie to her therapist, her driver—anyone who will listen, which isn’t many since she’s managed to alienate everyone over the years. She judges people by what they do for a living—how much money they make. Also a highly unlikeable trait. She makes it clear that yes, things have gotten even worse in t This is a challenging novel because the first-person narrator is wildly unlikeable even though she is in mourning for the death of her eldest daughter. She’ll tell the reader something and then go and lie to her therapist, her driver—anyone who will listen, which isn’t many since she’s managed to alienate everyone over the years. She judges people by what they do for a living—how much money they make. Also a highly unlikeable trait. She makes it clear that yes, things have gotten even worse in the year since her daughter died and she was in a haze of pills for much of it, but her alienating behavior began a long time before that. Even through her self-absorbed eyes, you have sympathy for the surviving daughter and even the philandering husband. That is quite a trick to pull off. However, it’s easy to figure out the gist of things early on, and that’s what makes this particularly disappointing. Thanks to NetGalley for the opportunity to review this novel, which RELEASES May 21, 2019.For more reviews, please visit: http://www.theresaalan/net/blog
    more
  • Brenda - Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    The Compassionate perfect mother, a loving wife and all around perfect member of the community. It’s all in perception with Jane! The Favorite Daughter is such a fun and entertaining story that had me shocked by Jane’s behavior and laughing at her as well. The story is well layered and through Jane’s POV the pieces to the mystery all come together as we see things from Jane’s delusional perception. I thought it was so brilliantly written and clever just how it all comes together.Jane is such a f The Compassionate perfect mother, a loving wife and all around perfect member of the community. It’s all in perception with Jane! The Favorite Daughter is such a fun and entertaining story that had me shocked by Jane’s behavior and laughing at her as well. The story is well layered and through Jane’s POV the pieces to the mystery all come together as we see things from Jane’s delusional perception. I thought it was so brilliantly written and clever just how it all comes together.Jane is such a fascinating entertaining character who is much more than just an unreliable character. She has this over the top way to her that sucks you right into not only her mind but her conversations as she addresses us the readers. Jane drew us into her perception and right into the dialog. She had me wanting to join in with some of the conversations she was having with us the reader. Now I have been known to yell at characters before but talking to them is a first. lol . I thought it was a fun and entertaining way to get to know just how Jane’s mind works. I could go on and on with just how fascinating I thought Jane was, however, you need to experience Jane on your own. The Favorite Daughter makes for a great book to read in a group and Jane is just so fun to talk about. I highly recommend.I received an ARC through NetGalley from the publisher. On our bloghttps://twosisterslostinacoulee.com/2...
    more
  • Carol (Bookaria)
    January 1, 1970
    What a character! This story was entertaining and twisted from beginning to end.Meet Jane Harris, devoted wife and mother who about a year ago lost his older daughter to a tragic accident. For the past months, Jane has been grief-stricken and spending her days at home, leaving the house only to visit her therapist or to run essential errands.The one-year memorial is almost here, and Jane is waking up to a new reality, she wants to reclaim her place in the family but it won't be easy as it sounds What a character! This story was entertaining and twisted from beginning to end.Meet Jane Harris, devoted wife and mother who about a year ago lost his older daughter to a tragic accident. For the past months, Jane has been grief-stricken and spending her days at home, leaving the house only to visit her therapist or to run essential errands.The one-year memorial is almost here, and Jane is waking up to a new reality, she wants to reclaim her place in the family but it won't be easy as it sounds, things have changed.The story is character driven and narrated by Jane. I found her thoughts captivating, she was a truly interesting character, sometimes making me laugh and other times cringing at her actions.Overall, I enjoyed it and recommend it to readers of mysteries/suspense and contemporary fiction.Received ARC from the publisher via Netgalley
    more
  • Jayme
    January 1, 1970
    Mothers aren't supposed to have a favorite child...….Meet Jane Harris. A woman who MIGHT just make Paul Strom (from the author's novel, Best Day Ever) look SWEET...She is obsessed with being a perfect wife and a doting mother. She is also obsessed with a tab on an online newspaper, labeled "Accidents and Disasters" which she reads when she cannot sleep. She has memorized MANY statistics about how people die. Maybe because so many family members have died around her...Her MotherThe Beloved family Mothers aren't supposed to have a favorite child...….Meet Jane Harris. A woman who MIGHT just make Paul Strom (from the author's novel, Best Day Ever) look SWEET...She is obsessed with being a perfect wife and a doting mother. She is also obsessed with a tab on an online newspaper, labeled "Accidents and Disasters" which she reads when she cannot sleep. She has memorized MANY statistics about how people die. Maybe because so many family members have died around her...Her MotherThe Beloved family dog, CashHer Favorite Daughter, MaryDid you know how dangerous kitchens are for example? Jane will enlighten you..Excerpt: A woman died after she slipped in her kitchen and landed on knives sticking upright in the utensil holder of a dishwasher. Always point your knife blades down. I'm not making this stuff up.Jane wants justice for Mary. After all, her daughter Betsy is only second best.The End. 🤐That is all you are getting from me. I will say that although "Best Day Ever" is still my favorite, by this author, fans of Kaira Rouda will NOT be disappointed! It took me a bit longer to become engaged with this story, and the ending was not as surprising, but still a solid 4 stars from me! Thank You to Edelweiss, Graydon House and Kaira Rouda for the ARC I received in exchange for a candid review! * NOW AVAILABLE* !!!!
    more
  • Mackenzie - PhDiva Books
    January 1, 1970
    A twisty, fun trip deep into the mind of Jane—a delightfully delusional and seriously twisted housewife in Orange County. I seriously LOVED this book! An unreliable narrator, a twisty plot, and a completely terrible character who I sort of wanted to succeed anyway? Perfection! Jane is certainly not a likeable character, nor even a reliable one. But she sure is a blast to follow along with! A year ago Jane’s elder daughter Mary died in a tragic accident. Jane has been grieving ever since. When he A twisty, fun trip deep into the mind of Jane—a delightfully delusional and seriously twisted housewife in Orange County. I seriously LOVED this book! An unreliable narrator, a twisty plot, and a completely terrible character who I sort of wanted to succeed anyway? Perfection! Jane is certainly not a likeable character, nor even a reliable one. But she sure is a blast to follow along with! A year ago Jane’s elder daughter Mary died in a tragic accident. Jane has been grieving ever since. When her therapist encourages her to connect more with her family—sit down to meals together, begin the process of finding their new normal—we learn that things may not be as they seem in this family. There are some secrets yet to be revealed, but I’ll let you find those out for yourself!Jane’s husband David is wealthy and pays for their affluent Orange County life. But David has a few secrets of his own. His biggest problem isn’t the secrets, though, it is that Jane has discovered them. And that’s where we begin! Jane also has a second daughter, Betsy, set to graduate from high school. Betsy is not the favorite daughter. That was Mary. Mary was so much like Jane, the apple of her eye. Betsy is different, she dresses in black, she wants to be an artist, she has a tattoo, and she doesn’t put up with Jane’s efforts to mother her.But it turns out Betsy has secrets too… And pretty soon Jane knows those as well. As they say, one of them lied, one of them died. And Jane will get to the bottom of all of it. After all, Jane always gets her way.I actually ended up listening to the audiobook for this one and I can’t recommend it enough. The audio narrator, Kathleen McInerney, did an outstanding job with her narration of the story. Jane tends to have a lot of inner monologue (her “real” thoughts) and then her carefully crafted responses to others. This was so easy to follow in text, but is a structure that can be much more challenging in audio format. Kathleen nailed it, though! She had a tone for Jane’s monologue, and a different tone for dialogue. She really brought Jane to life!This is the sort of book that is begging to be a movie. How could it not be? Jane is a character that deserves her own film. And ironically, that would make Jane in the book very happy. She wanted to be an actress, after all. And perhaps this book will allow her to finally be one!I loved this one!Thank you to Harlequin for my copy. Opinions are my own.
    more
  • Kendall
    January 1, 1970
    This was my first novel by Kaira Rouda and have been hearing amazing things about the author.Well let me tell you... she definitely knows how to deal a hand of unreliable cuhrazyyy characters! Jane is one sh*t show of a female character that takes you on an unbelievable ride. Jane is definitely the star of this show and book! I do have to say I wasn't shocked or mouth flown open by the reveal twists throughout the book... my detective skills were spot on in this one. But, this is an entertaining This was my first novel by Kaira Rouda and have been hearing amazing things about the author.Well let me tell you... she definitely knows how to deal a hand of unreliable cuhrazyyy characters! Jane is one sh*t show of a female character that takes you on an unbelievable ride. Jane is definitely the star of this show and book! I do have to say I wasn't shocked or mouth flown open by the reveal twists throughout the book... my detective skills were spot on in this one. But, this is an entertaining book and can see why so many people love her style.For me, it was just a decent and ok read. It wasn't a star for me in my psychological thrillers that I would remember for long term. Was it entertaining? Yes! Was it something I'd re-read again? Probably not.Overall, I wasn't that impressed be honest. It was too long for me and around 200 pages... I skimmed to get to the end. I was just getting impatient to see how it ended.Overall, a 3.5 stars for me on this one.Thank you so much to Netgalley and Harlequin/Graydon for the arc in exchange for an honest review.Publication date: 5/21/19Published to Goodreads: 5/11/19
    more
  • Jamie
    January 1, 1970
    There is NO ONE and I mean NO ONE who writes the delusional, unreliable narcissist quite like Kaira Rouda! If you thought Best Day Ever's Paul Stromm was a fun character to hate-read, wait until you meet Jane Harris - who just may put Paul to shame! This plot was so inventive and creative, I really enjoyed being along for the ride! I know this will be a book everyone is talking about in 2019!I received an advanced copy. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Kimberly Belle
    January 1, 1970
    It’s not often that a psychological thriller makes you laugh out loud, but Kaira Rouda latest page-turner had me cackling until deep in the night. The Favorite Daughter stars Jane, a woman grieving the death of her oldest daughter, whose attempts to reclaim her place as perfect matriarch are as riveting as they are darkly hilarious. Fans of Rouda’s Best Day Ever will adore this one, and Jane’s whip-smart wit will win Rouda some new fans, as well. Smart, surprising, and 100% satisfying.
    more
  • Carrie
    January 1, 1970
    The Favorite Daughter by Kaira Rouda is one of those books that I seem to be a bit on the outside looking in when I check out other reviewers. I actually read this one a while ago before too many other opinions were up but it seems others do love it while I ended on a meh, it’s ok simply because I guessed the ending practically before it began.What we have in The Favorite Daughter is one of those completely unreliable narrator’s in Jane Harris. A perfect wife with the perfect home and the perfec The Favorite Daughter by Kaira Rouda is one of those books that I seem to be a bit on the outside looking in when I check out other reviewers. I actually read this one a while ago before too many other opinions were up but it seems others do love it while I ended on a meh, it’s ok simply because I guessed the ending practically before it began.What we have in The Favorite Daughter is one of those completely unreliable narrator’s in Jane Harris. A perfect wife with the perfect home and the perfect family…. that was until it all crumbled around her when her oldest daughter, Mary, died in a tragic accident a year ago. Now however Jane is coming out of her haze of anti-depressants and wants answers.Kaira Rouda has written a solid psychological thriller that is full of the characters one necessarily wouldn’t love but love to hate and suspect. The story was engaging while reading and I had hope I would be in for a huge surprise or at least some small twists along the way but as I said the ending didn’t shock me at all, probably one of those cases of just reading too many similar tales but I’m sure most will love this one.I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.For more reviews please visit https://carriesbookreviews.com/
    more
  • Nadia
    January 1, 1970
    Batsh*t crazy!Jane has it all figured out. She is the perfect wife, fabulous mother to her daughters and the hottest woman in town. That's what she wants everyone to believe. The problem is that Jane is a teeny-weeny delusional! Jane is extremely self-absorbed, she feels zero empathy for others and all of her actions are calculated. This was a crazy ride! Having an unreliable narrator who is narcissistic was frustrating and entertaining at the same time. I disliked Jane from the first page and c Batsh*t crazy!Jane has it all figured out. She is the perfect wife, fabulous mother to her daughters and the hottest woman in town. That's what she wants everyone to believe. The problem is that Jane is a teeny-weeny delusional! Jane is extremely self-absorbed, she feels zero empathy for others and all of her actions are calculated. This was a crazy ride! Having an unreliable narrator who is narcissistic was frustrating and entertaining at the same time. I disliked Jane from the first page and couldn't believe anyone could be as vain and selfish as Jane. The Favourite Daughter takes narcissism to extremes and lets the readers to experience the story through their point of view, which was refreshing. I think not liking the main character and having the ending figured out early on, had an impact on my overall rating of the book but I still enjoyed it!Many thanks to HQ for my review copy in exchange for an honest review. 
    more
  • Stephanie (Stephanie's Novel Fiction)
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 StarsThe Favorite Daughter is delightfully and deliciously wicked! Kaira Rouda certainly knows how to write diabolical, yet charming characters (remember Paul Strom from the Best Day Ever?) who you just cannot help but love and hate at the same time!Meet Jane, the over the top, wildly unreliable narrator in Rouda's newest book. A year ago she lost her oldest daughter Mary in a drowning accident after she fell off some cliffs. Since then Jane has been in a grief-stricken haze, relying on pill 4.5 StarsThe Favorite Daughter is delightfully and deliciously wicked! Kaira Rouda certainly knows how to write diabolical, yet charming characters (remember Paul Strom from the Best Day Ever?) who you just cannot help but love and hate at the same time!Meet Jane, the over the top, wildly unreliable narrator in Rouda's newest book. A year ago she lost her oldest daughter Mary in a drowning accident after she fell off some cliffs. Since then Jane has been in a grief-stricken haze, relying on pills to get by, and never leaving her house except to go to therapy and run errands with the help of a personal driver. Her younger daughter, Betsy is days from graduating high school, and Jane suddenly decides to make her return to society. Not only that, she decides it's time to reclaim her husband's wandering attention and bring her loving family together once again...Jane is a one of a kind character. You'll be laughing at her crazy antics while despising her at the same time. She's hard not to love but you know she's a train wreck about to go off the rails. Her ego is beyond belief as she personally regales us, the reader, telling us how beautiful and desirable she is, what a great wife and mother she is, and asks us if we agree with her. I'm not going to tell any more of the plot here because I'm not going to ruin it! Let's just say that Jane doesn't like secrets kept from her or things not going her way, after all, appearances are everything for a narcissist! Exactly how far will a narcissist like Jane go is the most fun about this book. Let's just say, Jane is one of those people for whom revenge is always sweet.I absolutely loved this! Rouda is a smart writer with a mastery of writing suspense. She's deftly plotted an addictive, page-turning novel filled with dark humor, so it was comical while being disturbing and thrilling at the same time. Definitely add it to your must-read list this summer!**Thank you, Edelweiss and Harper Collins/Graydon House for an ARC to read in exchange for a fair and honest review.**
    more
  • Nilufer Ozmekik
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 stars rounded up to 4 to protect myself from the curse of the damn wicked mother character I’ve read lately!WOW! Meet with Jane, suffering from trauma for losing her favorite daughter Mary! I know when you read this sentence, you sense something weird about this woman, because however all the parents have their favorite child, they don’t express their feelings freely, they insist they love all their children equally cause it’s not fair for their other children, right?Well, having a favorite 3.5 stars rounded up to 4 to protect myself from the curse of the damn wicked mother character I’ve read lately!WOW! Meet with Jane, suffering from trauma for losing her favorite daughter Mary! I know when you read this sentence, you sense something weird about this woman, because however all the parents have their favorite child, they don’t express their feelings freely, they insist they love all their children equally cause it’s not fair for their other children, right?Well, having a favorite child is not the weird thing about Jane. It’s only a small particle of iceberg!This woman is batshit crazy, delusional, narcissistic , control freak! Wonderful combination for a mother who puts tracking devices on her children’s cars, following their every move via an application of their phone, making them dependable, weak so she can govern their lives because she loves them so much ! No, no, no! She is not a monster like her mother. Everybody gets jealous of her achievements at sports, her psychical appearance because she is so perfect and has a great chance for shining in Hollywood!If Misery’s Annie and Shining’s Jack Torrence have sex, they may create a woman like Jane! You’re getting lost with her inner thoughts about her twisted perception and paranoid approach about people! Some parts are frighteningly entertaining which push us learn how to detest Jane and make lists about ten first things we hate about her. Even she is despicable character, I also dislike her husband and her pretentious family,tooMaybe the most irritating thing about the book is you cannot find any character to root for, sometimes you think which one is the worst! ( Also little daughter Betty is dislikable one) But with her devilish attributes, Jane is quiet a winner.Final of the book is predictable but it is still well written!There was not so much big mystery on this book. Sometimes reading inner thoughts of a villanelle was exhausting experience. But I have to admit, the writer was gifted enough to turn this story into a page turner and keep our curiosity alive! So this is one of the good ones but not the best one !
    more
  • JuJu (Julie)
    January 1, 1970
    My thoughts:Hard to put down, clever and suspenseful!I requested this book from my local library, after one of my GR’s friends told me about the “Material’s Request” through my local library. I’d seen the option—and knew what it was for—but for some reason it never really “clicked” in my head. OMG, this is such a wonderful benefit! Not only does my library get the book, but I am on the top of the list to borrow it. Since I’m only allowed a limited number per year, I’ll be saving them for “except My thoughts:Hard to put down, clever and suspenseful!I requested this book from my local library, after one of my GR’s friends told me about the “Material’s Request” through my local library. I’d seen the option—and knew what it was for—but for some reason it never really “clicked” in my head. OMG, this is such a wonderful benefit! Not only does my library get the book, but I am on the top of the list to borrow it. Since I’m only allowed a limited number per year, I’ll be saving them for “exceptional” books!This was definitely not a wasted request! Jane—the main character—pulled me in with her eloquent storytelling. In my opinion, her character is what makes this book so incredible. And she is a character. I felt so many emotions towards her—outrage, sympathy, shock, hatred, but she still managed to make me laugh throughout the book!Jane is a wife and mother of two daughters. She’s controlling because she knows what’s best for her family. Most suspense/thrillers have some type of revenge in the plot, but Ms. Rouda puts a new and deranged twist on revenge! She is an impressive author and I’ll be reading more of her books!Jane loves telling us about her “perfect life”. She has it all...or had it all...a gorgeous husband, two beautiful children and an amazing oceanfront house in a gated community in Southern California. Everything was perfect until a tragic accident took the life of her daughter, Mary.Jane spends the next year in a haze of anti-depressants, alcohol and grief. But she decides it’s time to pull herself together and move on. Her other daughter, Betsy, is getting ready to graduate from High School and she wants her perfect family back. Her family has moved on in the last year without her, but she just needs a little time and she’ll be back in control. My Rating: 4.5 ⭐️’s (rounding down) Published: May 21st 2019 by Graydon HousePages: 368Recommend: Yes! Excerpts: “None of this is easy, it never has been. I mean, it’s hardest for me trying to be so selfless, the perfect wife and the perfect mother. So, life, let’s get ready to rumble.”
    more
  • ABookwormWithWine
    January 1, 1970
    ⭐⭐⭐⭐ / 5I have to say that I was a big fan of Best Day Ever by Kaira Rouda, so despite the mixed reviews for The Favorite Daughter, I was very excited to read it. And I am so glad I did!What it's about: Jane Harris has the perfect family, well, sort of. She lives in the exclusive gated community The Cove, on the oceanfront in Orange County. She has the perfect, handsome husband, a great body, and 2 beautiful daughters. But a year ago, she lost her oldest daughter Mary to a tragic accident and bu ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ / 5I have to say that I was a big fan of Best Day Ever by Kaira Rouda, so despite the mixed reviews for The Favorite Daughter, I was very excited to read it. And I am so glad I did!What it's about: Jane Harris has the perfect family, well, sort of. She lives in the exclusive gated community The Cove, on the oceanfront in Orange County. She has the perfect, handsome husband, a great body, and 2 beautiful daughters. But a year ago, she lost her oldest daughter Mary to a tragic accident and buried herself in her grief and pills. Now, 3 days before her youngest daughter's high school graduation, she has decided it is time for her to reclaim her life. But things aren't the same as before - her husband is rarely home claiming long hours at the office, and her daughter Betsy seems to be hiding things. Mary always was the perfect daughter, but does Betsy know more about Mary's death than she is letting on? Some bonds should never be broken, and Jane is determined to keep her family together, no matter what . . . The entirety of The Favorite Daughter is told from Jane's viewpoint, and what a viewpoint it is. She is quite obnoxious, and has many ideas of how her family should live their lives. She's obsessed with making everyone think their family is perfect, and a stickler about appearances. Some people will definitely have a hard time with her perspective, but I was rather fascinated with it. You can tell while reading that there are definite personality disorders going on, and although she did get on my nerves, I still managed to feel sorry for her because of how Betsy and her husband treat her. She felt like everyone was against her and all she was trying to do was have the perfect family.This book was such a quick read and I think it will be a binge read for a lot of people. I was able to read it in about 4 hours and 19 minutes as a slower reader, so I could see people reading this in one sitting. As the mysteries unravel along with Jane's life, you don't find out anything super surprising, but I still had fun reading it. It was a bit of a slow burn as well, and I would describe Jane as positively devious! Song/s the book brought to mind: A mix of Done and Chainsaw, both by The Band Perry.Final Thought: Like I stated earlier in my review, not everyone is going to enjoy reading from Jane's perspective, but if you are ok with an unlikable narrator then I definitely recommend checking out The Favorite Daughter. There isn't anything too shocking that happens here, but I thoroughly enjoyed the ride this book took me on and I really do love the way Rouda writes. She can evoke so many emotions that it's just bonkers, and she definitely knows how to create unreliable/unlikable characters. If you're ready to have some strong emotions about Jane, check this one out! I received an Advance Review Copy of this book. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Amy
    January 1, 1970
    Well, Rouda has once again shown that psychological thrillers can be both darkly funny and chilling at the same time without feeling cliched. Both this and Best Day Ever had a really fresh and current vibe that makes you feel like you’re reading something from an author who has found their perfect niche. I’m a huge fan of Rouda’s style and am so excited to (hopefully) see her continue writing in the same vein.The entire story is told from Jane’s perspective and what a character she is. Often she Well, Rouda has once again shown that psychological thrillers can be both darkly funny and chilling at the same time without feeling cliched. Both this and Best Day Ever had a really fresh and current vibe that makes you feel like you’re reading something from an author who has found their perfect niche. I’m a huge fan of Rouda’s style and am so excited to (hopefully) see her continue writing in the same vein.The entire story is told from Jane’s perspective and what a character she is. Often she is speaking directly to the reader giving this such a personal touch, I loved that aspect and she is also one of those narrators that constantly keeps you guessing, one minute I was sure she was delusional and a borderline psychopath and then the next I would almost feel sorry for her. Who is the real Jane?! You’ll have to read to find out, but finding out the truth was one hell of an addictive roller coaster ride.Once again, I was confident I knew what would eventually happen but the author wrong footed me in the end, there were quite a few startling revelations that delighted me. Jane is just as over the top and dramatic as Paul was in BDE and I love me some drama! Totally recommend this for fans of domestic suspense, it was just so wickedly fun.The Favorite Daughter in three words: Addictive, Dramatic and Sinister.
    more
  • Katie B
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsJane is absolutely bonkers and I don't care what it says about me, I freakin' loved her! I was either smiling or cackling like a crazy lady at her shenanigans for so much of this book. Highly entertaining read!Jane lives with her family in one of those very wealthy, gated communities in Orange County. It's been a year since she lost her oldest daughter, Mary, in a tragic accident and Jane coped by taking pills and staying inside her house. But she's now ready to put herself back in the 4.5 starsJane is absolutely bonkers and I don't care what it says about me, I freakin' loved her! I was either smiling or cackling like a crazy lady at her shenanigans for so much of this book. Highly entertaining read!Jane lives with her family in one of those very wealthy, gated communities in Orange County. It's been a year since she lost her oldest daughter, Mary, in a tragic accident and Jane coped by taking pills and staying inside her house. But she's now ready to put herself back in the game so to speak which is good because she has two important events coming up in the next few days, a memorial service for Mary and a high school graduation for her other daughter, Betsy. But both Jane's husband and Betsy seem to be hiding something and acting differently. And well, Jane is just going to have to figure out what's going on so she can keep her family together.Jane is one of my favorite fictional characters I have read about in recent years. Fair warning, if unlikable characters aren't your thing, than I can't imagine you will enjoy this book as much as I did. Probably within the first 50 pages or so you will be able to tell if Jane is going to work for you or not. She was so much fun to watch in action and I couldn't get enough of her antics. There's a mystery element to the story regarding the circumstances surrounding Mary's death. I can't say it is the most satisfying feeling once you find out the details but honestly it didn't really matter much to me anyway. The real star of the show is Jane in my opinion and getting insight into how her mind works was a wild and crazy ride!Highly recommend as a great vacation read.Thank you to the publisher for sending me a free copy of this book! I was under no obligation to post a review and all views expressed are my honest opinion.
    more
  • Babydimps (Suzy)
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars! Oh my GAWD! This book. Please, please do yourself a favor and read it. Now. Jane is our narrator and much like Paul Strom (the main character in Rouda’s last book, Best Day Ever - which is also a MUST read), is over the top, controlling, delusional and hysterical. Paul was definitely a piece of work and successfully pissed me off, but I think I like Jane better - simply because her insanity is just so hilarious. She is obsessed with the statistics on how people die and shares her obse 4.5 stars! Oh my GAWD! This book. Please, please do yourself a favor and read it. Now. Jane is our narrator and much like Paul Strom (the main character in Rouda’s last book, Best Day Ever - which is also a MUST read), is over the top, controlling, delusional and hysterical. Paul was definitely a piece of work and successfully pissed me off, but I think I like Jane better - simply because her insanity is just so hilarious. She is obsessed with the statistics on how people die and shares her obsession with us throughout the book. Rouda Is a master at creating the most narcissistic characters that I’ve ever had the pleasure of reading. She’s quickly becoming one of my favorite authors, so I can’t wait to see what’s coming up next! Not much can be shared without giving things away. Revenge is best served cold, as Jane says, and I loved reading and watching this sh*t show of a revenge tale unfold before my very eyes! Thanks so much to NetGalley, Harlequin - Graydon House Books and Kaira Rouda for my advanced copy to read and review.
    more
  • Elizabeth of Silver's Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    Jane the wife, Jane the grieving mother, Jane the planner - Jane, Jane, Jane. It's all about her.After her adopted daughter, Mary, died, Jane was unable to cope with life, and life went on without her, but Jane is back now and needs to be in control again.Jane thinks she controls her therapist, and she thinks she controls everyone else especially her husband, her daughters, and Mary's biological mother. Jane's biological daughter, Betsy, is difficult to control and is a challenge for Jane. Jane Jane the wife, Jane the grieving mother, Jane the planner - Jane, Jane, Jane. It's all about her.After her adopted daughter, Mary, died, Jane was unable to cope with life, and life went on without her, but Jane is back now and needs to be in control again.Jane thinks she controls her therapist, and she thinks she controls everyone else especially her husband, her daughters, and Mary's biological mother. Jane's biological daughter, Betsy, is difficult to control and is a challenge for Jane. Jane likes challenges, though, but only if she is the one who comes out on top.She did find out some interesting information about Mary's biological mother that adds to her determination to get her plan into action.Jane finds out about more and more betrayal from family members and friends as time goes on and more people to add to her list of getting even. Her husband is the one with the most offenses.Jane also finds out some startling information about her daughter's death at the memorial service. Someone knows something and isn't telling - could that help with her plan or hinder it?This book was difficult to put down because I wanted to see what other information would pop up about Mary, Betsy, the husband, the accident, and what Jane's plans would be after that.THE FAVORITE DAUGHTER will keep you guessing if Mary's death was really an accident and who was responsible if it wasn't. THE FAVORITE DAUGHTER will also have you guessing who is really telling the truth and who is doing the lying.Fans of domestic turmoil, secrets, mystery, unsavory characters, cheating spouses, lies, narcissistic characters, and psychological suspense will enjoy THE FAVORITE DAUGHTER.This book will be a summer MUST read. It is a page-turning thriller/mystery/domestic gem. 5/5This book was given to me as an ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Judy Collins
    January 1, 1970
    Crazy GOOD! Deliciously DARK and WICKED. I LOVED THE FAVORITE DAUGHTER! My Top Books of 2019. If you loved Best Day Ever Top Books of 2017, character, Paul Strom—you will devour, THE FAVORITE DAUGHTER. Jane Harris is a character you will never forget. With dark humor and a deliciously evil protagonist, Kaira delivers a "powerhouse" psychological thriller. Wow, she can get inside their disturbed self-absorbed, sick minds.Set in an upscale, exclusive oceanfront gated Southern California commu Crazy GOOD! Deliciously DARK and WICKED. I LOVED THE FAVORITE DAUGHTER! My Top Books of 2019. If you loved Best Day Ever Top Books of 2017, character, Paul Strom—you will devour, THE FAVORITE DAUGHTER. Jane Harris is a character you will never forget. With dark humor and a deliciously evil protagonist, Kaira delivers a "powerhouse" psychological thriller. Wow, she can get inside their disturbed self-absorbed, sick minds.Set in an upscale, exclusive oceanfront gated Southern California community, (The Cove); readers meet Jane and David Harris. They are the parents of two daughters: Mary and Betsy. Only one year apart. Their oldest daughter, Mary, died in a tragic accident (we gradually learn the events leading up the accident). Jane has been devastated by the events and barely left the house, but she plans a comeback.David has planned a memorial service for Mary and Betsy the younger daughter is about to graduate high school. Mary is The Favorite Daughter (but why)? She was beautiful and smart, unlike Betsy. But, David and Betsy seem to have moved on past the grief. However, Jane, of course, thinks she is the best mom, wife, and they have the perfect family. They need and must present a united front. Nothing could be further from the truth.Jane is upset that her puppets are not behaving the way they should. She loves to bring out the Southern Belle act, after all, you catch more flies with honey than with vinegar. Her mom had warned her about things. Betsy does not live up to Jane's standards, nor does her husband. After all, they are lucky to be in her presence. She is the lead actor in the family. Of course, every mom is. Slowly we learn of Jane's insecurities. Her jealousy. The author keeps readers in suspense as to what happened to Mary. Told from the first-person narrative (Jane), we soon learn she is not as she appears. Talk about a cold-blooded narcissist. We hear every thought and action. She does not like Elizabeth nor David's assistant Kylie (you must read the book to find out about these characters). Tension mounts as we get a day by day play building up to the memorial service and the graduation. We start out feeling sorry for the grieving mom, but soon the tables are turned, and you will despise her behavior. She is delusional. But why is Jane receiving a note, saying the accidental death may not have been an accident? "The thing about the truth is you can see it when it's revealed. Even if it's been in front of you all along, even if you never, ever, wanted to see it."Jane is quite the actress. She thinks she is beautiful and captivating. She is always planning and scheming. She loves revenge, and it is best served, cold. She has a plan in motion. The cast of characters have been assembled and she is waiting for the fun to begin. But things do not go as she planned. Talking about unreliable narrators! From Paul Strom (Best Day Ever) and Jane Harris (The Favorite Daughter)- characters obsessed with perception as the rock star author, Kaira references. "Everything they show to the world is carefully calculated, to portray perfection, even in their marriages, even when their lives may be falling apart. . .. Failure is unacceptable. Betrayal will not be tolerated. They expect unflinching loyalty and subservience. "Yes, Kaira Rouda, you have developed "superpowers" when it comes to narcissistic chilling characters. Keep them coming!PS I really enjoyed Jane's statistics and the Epilogue!. Kaira, you rock! Your humor is "dynamite." I have never laughed so hard. The "queen" of narcissistic personality disorders. I adore her humor and ability to get into the minds of these self-centered, evil, manipulative, narcissistic and unreliable characters. No one does it better. If you are looking for a highly entertaining well written psychological suspense thriller, this is it!Look for my Q&A Elevator Ride with Kaira Rouda coming May 21! You are going to enjoy. A special thank you to Graydon House and NetGalley for an advanced reading copy. #JDCMustReadBooks @JudithDCollins
    more
Write a review