Heiress Gone Wild (Dear Lady Truelove, #4)
Dear Lady Truelove,My ward is driving me crazy. I have to marry her off and get her out of my life. There's just one problem… When Jonathan Deverill promised a dying friend he'd be guardian to the man's daughter, he envisioned a girl in pigtails and pinafores, a child he could leave behind in some finishing school. Problem is, his ward is actually a fully-grown, defiant beauty whose longing for romance threatens to make his guardianship a living hell.New York heiress Marjorie McGann wants a London season and a titled husband who can help her spend the Yankee millions she's inherited, and she thinks her new British guardian is the perfect person to help her find him. But Jonathan has no intention of letting his friend's fortune be squandered. Under his watchful, protective eye, Marjorie finds romance hard to come by...until one fateful night when her own guardian's devastating kisses makes her wonder if the greatest romance of all might be right in front of her.

Heiress Gone Wild (Dear Lady Truelove, #4) Details

TitleHeiress Gone Wild (Dear Lady Truelove, #4)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseSep 24th, 2019
PublisherAvon
ISBN-139780062853721
Rating
GenreRomance, Historical Romance, Historical, Historical Fiction

Heiress Gone Wild (Dear Lady Truelove, #4) Review

  • Barbara Rogers
    January 1, 1970
    Series: Dear Lady Truelove #4Publication Date: 9/24/19Number of Pages: 384Jonathan Deverill and Marjorie McGann are two different souls who want very different things in life – or do they? I thoroughly enjoyed these characters and could so easily identify with both of them. It was so much fun to get to know them and to watch them discover that what each of them wanted wasn’t really so very different after all. It is an excellently written story filled with humor and romance. I have not read the Series: Dear Lady Truelove #4Publication Date: 9/24/19Number of Pages: 384Jonathan Deverill and Marjorie McGann are two different souls who want very different things in life – or do they? I thoroughly enjoyed these characters and could so easily identify with both of them. It was so much fun to get to know them and to watch them discover that what each of them wanted wasn’t really so very different after all. It is an excellently written story filled with humor and romance. I have not read the other books in the series and didn’t feel I’d missed anything at all in relation to this story – so – bottom line is – it can easily be read as a standalone.Jonathan’s dreams for his life all came crashing down around him when he was eighteen years old. Jonathan’s grandfather had told him all of his life that the Deverill Publishing company was his birthright – ink flowed in his veins. But then, his grandfather died and hadn’t made a will – so everything went to Jonathan’s father. That wouldn’t have been a bad thing if his father had a little bit of business sense and wasn’t so stubborn and uncompromising. When Jonathan tried to advise his father, he threw a tantrum, disinherited Jonathan and kicked him out of the house. To make matters worse, his betrothed told him that she wouldn’t marry him since he now had no prospects. Jonathan left for America and wandered around doing different things there until he and his friend discovered the biggest silver strike in Idaho. They pulled millions of dollars worth of silver out of that mine.Jonathan is now rich beyond belief, but his friend, Billy McGann, has just died a horrible death from consumption. Jonathan stayed with him through that last awful year and at the end, Billy told him that he had a daughter and that he’d made Jonathan her guardian. Jonathan is shocked that his friend has kept such a secret from him, but he agrees. He would agree to anything Billy asked because the man was closer than a brother. How hard could it be to arrange for care of a little girl?Jonathan made an appointment to meet the little girl at her exclusive boarding school. What was his reaction when he met her? “Goddamn and holy hell” is what he said. That was no little girl in pigtails and a pinafore – no, she was a drop-dead gorgeous almost twenty-one-year-old who was fully expecting to finally get to leave the school where she’d spent almost her entire life. She did NOT take the news that she’d need to stay there for another eight months lightly. She made her desires very, very clear – she wanted to go to London, she wanted a season, she wanted to marry a man with a title, and mostly, she wanted a home – a real home.Marjorie has been left, all alone, at Forsyte Academy, an exclusive boarding school for young ladies in White Plains, New York, when she was just seven years old – right after her mother’s death. Her father promised he’d return for her, but he never did. He always promised she could join him, but it never happened. Oh, she harbored her dreams for a very long time before realizing that he just didn’t want her. She had no family other than him, so she was utterly alone in the world. What she wanted most in life were safety and security. She wanted a real family, a real home and a life outside of a cloistered boarding school - and she really, really, really wanted someone who wouldn't leave her. So, when her new guardian arrived at her school and told her she’d have to stay, she didn’t believe he’d ever be back for her – just like her father – he was going to abandon her as well. She’d be darned if she was going to have that, so she made her own plans – and executed them perfectly.Jonathan was attracted to Marjorie the moment he met her – and that just wasn’t appropriate. He had to get to England and make arrangements with his sisters to take her in and introduce her to society. Then he’d return to fetch her. But – once his ship was out to sea, there she was, in his suite aboard the ship – on the way to London. Oh! My!I love that Jonathan tried to fight his attraction and give her what she wanted – and she’d told him in no uncertain terms that he was just like her father and she didn’t want any part of a man like him. I also loved that he saw through to the real Marjorie – the one who was brave and adventurous and who would become bored with the ‘safe’ life she was seeking. This was a fun visit with two wonderful characters and a host of lovely supporting characters. Marjorie kept Jonathan off-kilter during the entire book and kept upsetting all of his well-laid plans. I was beginning to wonder if she was going to let it slip through her fingers though – but finally, she embraced that brave, resilient, adventurous woman and ran with it. Lovely ending!I voluntarily read and reviewed an Advanced Reader Copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
    more
  • Stacee
    January 1, 1970
    I had read the previous book in this series and really enjoyed it. Coupled with the synopsis, I was excited to read this one. I liked Marjorie and Jonathan well enough. She’s smart and wants something more. He has no idea what he’s doing and it’s delightful. Together there’s some button pushing and spirited arguing and I loved every second of it. There are loads of secondary characters and I had no idea who any of them were. Plot wise, it was a bit boring. My main complaint is that I didn’t see I had read the previous book in this series and really enjoyed it. Coupled with the synopsis, I was excited to read this one. I liked Marjorie and Jonathan well enough. She’s smart and wants something more. He has no idea what he’s doing and it’s delightful. Together there’s some button pushing and spirited arguing and I loved every second of it. There are loads of secondary characters and I had no idea who any of them were. Plot wise, it was a bit boring. My main complaint is that I didn’t see the leap from like to lust to love. There were a handful of conversations and two kisses and poof! They’re in love...too much telling, not enough showing. Overall, it was easy to root for these characters, but the story was lacking a spark I was hoping for. **Huge thanks to Avon Books for providing the arc free of charge**
    more
  • Elodie
    January 1, 1970
    Heiress Gone WildDear Lady Truelove seriesLaura Lee Guhrkehttps://www.facebook.com/LauraLeeGuhr...Release date 9/24/2019Publisher AvonBlurb :My ward is driving me crazy. I have to marry her off and get her out of my life. There’s just one problem…When Jonathan Deverill promised a dying friend he’d be guardian to the man’s daughter, he envisioned a girl in pigtails and pinafores, a child he could leave behind in some finishing school. Problem is, his ward is actually a fully-grown, defiant beauty Heiress Gone WildDear Lady Truelove seriesLaura Lee Guhrkehttps://www.facebook.com/LauraLeeGuhr...Release date 9/24/2019Publisher AvonBlurb :My ward is driving me crazy. I have to marry her off and get her out of my life. There’s just one problem…When Jonathan Deverill promised a dying friend he’d be guardian to the man’s daughter, he envisioned a girl in pigtails and pinafores, a child he could leave behind in some finishing school. Problem is, his ward is actually a fully-grown, defiant beauty whose longing for romance threatens to make his guardianship a living hell.New York heiress Marjorie McGann wants a London season and a titled husband who can help her spend the Yankee millions she’s inherited, and she thinks her new British guardian is the perfect person to help her find him. But Jonathan has no intention of letting his friend’s fortune be squandered. Under his watchful, protective eye, Marjorie finds romance hard to come by . . . until one fateful night when her own guardian’s devastating kisses makes her wonder if the greatest romance of all might be right in front of her.My review :Can they let go of the past and find a common ground for a futur together...Mrs Laura Lee Guhrke is one of my favorite author, she crafts moving tale with strong but flawed characters and this one does not disappoint, in this slow-burn page-turning romance, she conveyed the struggles Marjorie and Jonathan faced when their chemistry arises and question their own plans.Despite their instant-attraction, it was a slow-going tale, the author never rushing down, letting them interact and discover who is really the other.Marjorie is a wounded young woman, she had dreams to reunite with her long departed father, until she learns of his passing, and her attribution of a guardian. So, it is not a man she just encountered whom will decide too for her future. She wants what her friends with whom she grew up have, a season in London, a beautiful home and maybe love with a titled gentleman.Sure, she appears quite innocent to think she will be able to avoid easily to become prey of those lurking after her fortune. She might be naïve and readily fall for some awesome men whispering charming words, she does know she must stay vigilant, and learn to navigate in murky waters as she often without even knowing it break many rules.Everything is new to her, having lived her whole life within the confines of a gilded cage. She is at first entranced by the light of the London’s life. Still she can’t shake out of her mind the kiss she exchanged with her too attractive guardian. Said guardian who seems only to think to delegate her care to his sisters, and run away for a far away land. Then she realises, what she has longed for years, can be quite boring and overwhelming, it does not fulfill the hopes she had for this life, and it might change her in a aseptic version of herself if she continues in the same path.With all his dreams smashed to piece, Jonathan Deverill had to rebuild himself in a new man, and the road to his new self was not linear. Then he reached his goal and made his fortune, one grander than his own father’s. But his wealth and success left him unfilled. Something is still missing, thus his need to hop from one place to another.Then Marjorie McGann happens, and by her simple presence, she makes him question himself. What are his new goals and the more he looks inside himself, the more he is unsure he is on the right path. Did he lied to himself all these years?Jonathan was not very lovable at first, domineering and overbearing. Giving no time to Marjorie to adjust to the decisions he made for her. Leaving like her father, to wait for his return. Then as his view of her changes, his attitude too. But as he doesn’t know how to deal with this new emotions she steers from him, he tries to distance himself from her. But once he realizes the depth of his feelings, he is the one never renouncing. Making the necessary changes to prove he is worthy of her, even when she doubts his commitment.This was a beautiful tale of finding where is their home, with trust freely given and faith in the other as foundation for a successful relationship.5 starsOn a note, I would have loved a cover with the heroine wearing her dashing black dress.I was granted by the publisher Avon, through Edelweiss an advance copy.I had previously preordered my own.Here is my true and unbiased opinion.https://www.facebook.com/429830134272...
    more
  • Arshia
    January 1, 1970
    It took me forever to finish this book. Couldn't seem to get excited about the story or the hero. Jonathan was manipulative and annoying from the beginning. Everything was about him and how his life should be. I love how the story had to be changed so he could follow his dreams! (Can you hear my sarcasm??) I found Marjorie's dream of home and hearth comforting especially given her background but over and over she had to be the one to take risks and follow a FUCKING IDIOT because it's a romance n It took me forever to finish this book. Couldn't seem to get excited about the story or the hero. Jonathan was manipulative and annoying from the beginning. Everything was about him and how his life should be. I love how the story had to be changed so he could follow his dreams! (Can you hear my sarcasm??) I found Marjorie's dream of home and hearth comforting especially given her background but over and over she had to be the one to take risks and follow a FUCKING IDIOT because it's a romance novel and it needs to a happy-ish ending. WHAT ABOUT HER DREAMS?!?!
    more
  • Niki
    January 1, 1970
    Wealthy silver baron Jonathan Deverill is immensely saddened by his business partner's death and makes a deathbed promise to become guardian to the man's daughter. He's expecting a little girl with several more years left of finishing school so he's shocked to discover his new ward is a beautiful young woman whose longing for romance and a change of scene promise to make his role far more difficult than he imagined.Heiress Marjorie McGann longs to leave New York, have a London season, and be swe Wealthy silver baron Jonathan Deverill is immensely saddened by his business partner's death and makes a deathbed promise to become guardian to the man's daughter. He's expecting a little girl with several more years left of finishing school so he's shocked to discover his new ward is a beautiful young woman whose longing for romance and a change of scene promise to make his role far more difficult than he imagined.Heiress Marjorie McGann longs to leave New York, have a London season, and be swept off her feet by a titled English gentleman. But Jonathan is extremely protective of Marjorie, constantly warning her of the duplicitous nature of fortune hunters and confidence men. He's so overly protective, in fact, that Marjorie finds no romance at all. Until a kiss between her and Jonathan himself changes everything and she wonders if the key to all her romantic dreams lies with Jonathan after all. But Jonathan is a wanderer and Marjorie longs for a settled life and family of her own. With his restless nature and her desire to live within the British high society he disdains, a future for them together seems near impossible.This book was different than most in that it's not all sunshine after the hero and heroine fall in love. These two have to learn to compromise and meet in the middle and that made it so real and relatable. They also have to face the hard questions of what they really want from life, which, as is the case for many of us, wasn't what either of them first thought. I thought that was great and I appreciated that they each were concerned about their own dreams and fulfillment along with being concerned about each other. Jonathan was a great hero without compromising himself. Marjorie tried my patience a bit but once she started thinking for herself about what she wanted rather than what she thought she should want, she became likable and relatable. This was my first read from this author and I really enjoyed it and I want to read the other books in the series now.I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
    more
  • Sissy's Romance Book Review
    January 1, 1970
    Heiress Gone Wild: Dear Lady Truelove by Laura Lee Guhrke is book 4 in the Dear Lady Truelove Series. This is the story of Jonathan Deverill and Marjorie McGann. I have read the previous books but feel you could make this a standalone book if you wish to do so. Jonathan was promised by his grandfather the family business but his grandfather didn't do the will before he died and his father received it and when Jonathan tried to help him it didn't go well at all...he was kicked out of the house an Heiress Gone Wild: Dear Lady Truelove by Laura Lee Guhrke is book 4 in the Dear Lady Truelove Series. This is the story of Jonathan Deverill and Marjorie McGann. I have read the previous books but feel you could make this a standalone book if you wish to do so. Jonathan was promised by his grandfather the family business but his grandfather didn't do the will before he died and his father received it and when Jonathan tried to help him it didn't go well at all...he was kicked out of the house and disowned. This lead him to leave for America where he ended up meeting Billy McGann besides becoming friends they ended up having the biggest silver strike in Idaho which made them very rich. But then Billy died but before doing so he asked Jonathan to take over guardianship for his little girl. Of course Jonathan couldn't refuse. Besides how much trouble can a little girl would be when at a boarding school for girls...well a lot when they are grown and that little girl wants a London Season with a Titled husband. Marjorie was left at a boarding school for young ladies in White Plains, New York after her mother died and her dad left her there with the promise to return. Sadly he never did and now she just wants to leave the school and start her life with a husband that is more secure than her flighty father. The attraction between the two are to much for either to ignore which of course causes issue for them both. Enjoyed their story.
    more
  • Norah Gibbons
    January 1, 1970
    I received an ARC of this book to read through Edelweiss+ in exchange for a fair review. Heiress Gone Wild by Laura Lee Guhrke is the fourth book in her delightful Dear Lady Truelove Series. This book could be read as a stand-alone but it’s an excellent series so I do recommend reading them all. Jonathon Deverill has been entrusted by a close friend with the guardianship of his daughter, thinking she is a young girl he goes to visit it her at the school his friend left her at only to find she is I received an ARC of this book to read through Edelweiss+ in exchange for a fair review. Heiress Gone Wild by Laura Lee Guhrke is the fourth book in her delightful Dear Lady Truelove Series. This book could be read as a stand-alone but it’s an excellent series so I do recommend reading them all. Jonathon Deverill has been entrusted by a close friend with the guardianship of his daughter, thinking she is a young girl he goes to visit it her at the school his friend left her at only to find she is 20 years old no longer a school girl but now a teacher at the school. Marjorie McCann is surprised to find that she is an heiress, and hurt and angry that her father never sent for her as he promised vows that she is going to go out and find her life, that she is tired of being left behind and is not going to stand for it any more. She follows Jonathon on the ship he is taking to England.The chemistry between these two is hot and the story is a lovely slow burn of a romance between two people who’s lives have been upended and now need to figure out what it is they want to make of their lives. Medium Steam Publishing Date September 24, 2019 #Edelweissplus #HeiressGoneWild #LauraLeeGuhrke #AvonRomance #HarperCollinsCanada #AvonBooks #HistoricalRomance #Bookstagram
    more
  • Susan
    January 1, 1970
    Fun book about two people who seem to be opposites, but are more alike than they know. I thoroughly enjoyed watching these two people drive each other crazy on their path to happily-ever-after. Though I haven't read the earlier books in the series, this one works well as a stand-alone. There are hints of the earlier stories, enough to fill in the blanks without bogging down the story with recaps. It was also motivation to read the previous books as soon as possible.Marjorie is a young woman who Fun book about two people who seem to be opposites, but are more alike than they know. I thoroughly enjoyed watching these two people drive each other crazy on their path to happily-ever-after. Though I haven't read the earlier books in the series, this one works well as a stand-alone. There are hints of the earlier stories, enough to fill in the blanks without bogging down the story with recaps. It was also motivation to read the previous books as soon as possible.Marjorie is a young woman who is ready to take on a new life. She was dumped in boarding school at the age of seven by her father who promised to come back for her. Infrequent letters promised it would be "soon" but the years passed. She dreamed of having what her friends had - a London season, a titled husband, children, and a beautiful home of her own. She's saddened by the passing of her father, but more determined than ever to pursue the life she wants. A stuffy English guardian with plans to leave her at school until it's convenient for him to take her to London is not in her plans.At the age of eighteen, Jonathan was disinherited by his father, leaving him to make his way in the world alone. After ten years in America doing many things, he and his business partner struck it rich in Idaho. Though extremely rich, Jonathan has just seen his best friend and partner die a terrible death from consumption (tuberculosis). Before Billy died, he begged Jonathan to take care of his "little girl." Of course, he promised to do so, expecting to find a child that he can leave in school.Jonathan received quite a shock when Billy's "little girl" turned out to be a beautiful twenty-year-old woman. Not only is Marjorie not a child, she has no intention of being left behind and makes that perfectly clear. The sparks flew between Jonathan and Marjorie from the start, each intent on having their own way. Marjorie is an intelligent and determined young woman, and I was not surprised to see her take her destiny into her own hands. Jonathan's plans were completely upended when he found Marjorie onboard the ship to London. He and Marjorie butt heads as his protectiveness runs up against her determination to pursue the life she wants. That protectiveness goes a little overboard, though he did have reason to be concerned.I enjoyed the development of the relationship between Marjorie and Jonathan. The sparks of attraction were there from the beginning, with Jonathan realizing that he could be in deep trouble. Lusting after the daughter of his best friend was not appropriate, and his attempts to fight it became more and more difficult. Marjorie started out pretty naïve, unwilling to believe the trouble she could make for herself. I could feel her frustration at the restrictions she faced on the ship, but she was also smart enough that she learned from it. Things got even livelier once they were in London and joined forces with Jonathan's sisters. I loved the way that they upended his plans, forcing him to stay in London.Thrown into each other's company regularly, the attraction between Jonathan and Marjorie continues to build. Neither of them knows quite how to handle it. Jonathan has no interest in settling down. Even after all of his success, he still feels that he is searching for something which keeps him on the move. His growing feelings for Marjorie cause him to take a good look at himself and what he really wants for his future. I loved seeing him accept his feelings and look for the way to make his new dreams happen. I ached for him when Marjorie allowed her fears to push him away. Those fears made her look at her future with tunnel vision, refusing to face the truth about her true desires. Advice from an unexpected source opened her eyes. I loved Marjorie's big moment at the end and seeing her open her heart to the possibilities.The secondary characters helped things along quite nicely and were lots of fun themselves. Marjorie's new friend and ostensible "chaperone" was quite a character. I leaned a little bit toward Jonathan's belief that she was a fraud. There were a couple of scenes on the ship that reinforced that idea, and yet I felt that there was more to her. She was a good foil for the Countess of Stansbury, who was very different from the Baroness. Though the Countess was a royal pain for Marjorie, she did provide a good look at what Marjorie would face when she reached London. Jonathan's sisters and their husbands were great. Jonathan's trepidation overseeing them for the first time in ten years was understandable, especially his sister Clara. I liked that she made him sweat a little before forgiving him. I loved the two sisters and their immediate support of Marjorie, as well as their refusal to let Jonathan bail on them.
    more
  • Gaele
    January 1, 1970
    Laura Lee Guhrke comes to the blog today with the fourth book in her Dear Lady Truelove story, this one involves Jonathan Deveriill who fled England to prove himself to his father and sisters, and is just returning with the mantle of guardianship of his late partner’s daughter, a now young woman that he never expected in Marjorie McGann. An American, heiress in her own right, and determined to make her own life similar to those of her well-to-do schoolmates, Marjorie has followed Jonathan to Eng Laura Lee Guhrke comes to the blog today with the fourth book in her Dear Lady Truelove story, this one involves Jonathan Deveriill who fled England to prove himself to his father and sisters, and is just returning with the mantle of guardianship of his late partner’s daughter, a now young woman that he never expected in Marjorie McGann. An American, heiress in her own right, and determined to make her own life similar to those of her well-to-do schoolmates, Marjorie has followed Jonathan to England, much to his despair. Jonathan never expected a fully grown, beautiful woman when he went to meet his “ward’, in fact, he had only heard of her existence from his partner before he died of tuberculosis. Being the money savvy and more business-like of the two, while Jonathan has amassed his own wealth, that which Marjorie inherited will leave her in a position to be a fortune-hunters dream – so he was understandably dismayed to find her aboard the ship bound for England, as he planned to reunite with his sisters after many years in the hopes that they will chaperone Marjorie for the next few months as he plans to head off again on anther adventure disguised as urgent business. A bit of a slow burn, Marjorie is wholly naïve and unfamiliar with the world, and angry about her father’s desertion and Jonathan’s plans to leave her ‘stranded’ as a teacher in the school she long ago graduated from. Determined to live an exciting life where she chooses her next step, Jonathan is both an obstacle to avoid and one she can’t help be attracted to. But his own statements about not settling down, and seeing her handed off don’t sit well. What she is not seeing is Jonathan’s attraction to her, and his innate honor making him feel as if he’s caught in an unwinnable trap. Full of sparkling moments, conversations, situations where readers see the connection long before the characters do themselves, and the long-awaited but satisfying ending – the story fits all the others in this series and provides a lovely afternoon’s read. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via Edelweiss for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility. Review first appeared at I am, Indeed
    more
  • Lori D
    January 1, 1970
    Two people who have a lot in common but do not realize it at all. Jonathan Deverill who lost his dream of owing and running the Deverill Publishing Company when his father disinherited him, had to go out on his own and make his fortune. So he felt a little lost even though he had done well.Marjorie McGann had been left at the boarding school when she was eight and had never seen her father since. So she felt abandoned until Johnathan came to let her know he was now her guardian since her father Two people who have a lot in common but do not realize it at all. Jonathan Deverill who lost his dream of owing and running the Deverill Publishing Company when his father disinherited him, had to go out on his own and make his fortune. So he felt a little lost even though he had done well.Marjorie McGann had been left at the boarding school when she was eight and had never seen her father since. So she felt abandoned until Johnathan came to let her know he was now her guardian since her father had passed away. Her father and he had made their fortune in the silver mines in America so he owed the man's wish he be guardian to his daughter after he died.A story of denial of feelings that are definitely there, deep wounds from the past and the desires of the heart that cannot be denied.Another delightful story by Laura Lee Guhrke, who is one of my favorite authors. I always look forward to reading her books because they never disappoint and always leave me with a smile and a sigh as I turn the last page!
    more
  • Holly
    January 1, 1970
    A bit of a slow burn (like so many guardian-ward books), but so worth it. The hero was refreshingly honest with his feelings once he realized them, and the side characters were a total hoot! I hadn't read the first three books in the series, but I definitely will now. This one is perfect if you like: sea voyages, old west back stories, secret and beautiful wards, adventure, fake aristocrats, sneaky kisses filled with confusing feelings, a giant and supportive family, non-nobles joining the nobil A bit of a slow burn (like so many guardian-ward books), but so worth it. The hero was refreshingly honest with his feelings once he realized them, and the side characters were a total hoot! I hadn't read the first three books in the series, but I definitely will now. This one is perfect if you like: sea voyages, old west back stories, secret and beautiful wards, adventure, fake aristocrats, sneaky kisses filled with confusing feelings, a giant and supportive family, non-nobles joining the nobility, diamonds and gemstones, yearning for more, yachts, redheaded heroines, ladies with jobs, vulnerability, and/or frilly undergarments.
    more
  • MrsMascara
    January 1, 1970
    I am completely in love with the way Laura Lee Guhrke writes. Her heroines are not perfect, and neither are her heroes, but she makes you care about them and root for their HEA.Jonathan Deverill has left England, out of necessity- forced to fend for himself by his father, he has made a success of his life and become a self made man. His dear friend and fellow prospected is dying, and has made him guardian to his daughter, who is living in a school in New York. Jonathan thinks he will be able to I am completely in love with the way Laura Lee Guhrke writes. Her heroines are not perfect, and neither are her heroes, but she makes you care about them and root for their HEA.Jonathan Deverill has left England, out of necessity- forced to fend for himself by his father, he has made a success of his life and become a self made man. His dear friend and fellow prospected is dying, and has made him guardian to his daughter, who is living in a school in New York. Jonathan thinks he will be able to visit her, make sure she has enough money and then leave her in school while he travels to London on business. Marjorie Mann is actually fully grown, ready to break out of her stifling life in a boarding school and enjoy her inheritance. Tempted by the letters of her friends who have married English nobility, she wants to go to London and find an eligible man she can fall in love with. Jonathan is not happy to disrupt his plans and refuses her, and asks her to wait another year. Marjorie can not wait any longer. She feels abandoned by her father, who she has not seen in 13 years, and she is determined to seize her chance.She thinks she has managed to outwit him, and is definitely getting under his skin, but can she escape his protectiveness to find her romance, or can she trust her heart and happiness to another driven man, after being let down by her father so badly.What I loved about this book was how ms Guhrke developed the relationships between them. I liked that Jonathan was the first to realise he wanted to be with Marjorie, and how Marjorie had to learn that she needed to let down her guard and allow herself to be vulnerable. Highly recommended.I voluntarily reviewed an advance reader copy of this book and all opinions are my own.
    more
  • Les Romantiques
    January 1, 1970
    Posted on Les Romantiques - Le forum du siteReviewed by JazzmenReview Copy from the PublisherI voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.Here we are at the fourth volume in the “Dear lady Truelove” series. A tome I, once more, liked a lot. But the third one is still my favorite for now. This time, we follow the story of Jonathan Deverill, Irene’s and Clara’s brother (the heroines from the first two volumes), and Marjorie McGann. So, Jonatha Posted on Les Romantiques - Le forum du siteReviewed by JazzmenReview Copy from the PublisherI voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.Here we are at the fourth volume in the “Dear lady Truelove” series. A tome I, once more, liked a lot. But the third one is still my favorite for now. This time, we follow the story of Jonathan Deverill, Irene’s and Clara’s brother (the heroines from the first two volumes), and Marjorie McGann. So, Jonathan travels through America with his best friend (older than him) and both are getting rich thanks to silver mines and good investments. Unfortunately, the best friend becomes ill with tuberculosis and, just before dying, begs Jonathan to take care of his “little girl”, currently in a boarding school for young ladies in New York. Jonathan had never heard about his friend’s daughter until now, but he can’t refuse anything to him on his deathbed.After the passing, he goes to this boarding school in order to be sure that this “little girl” is well-cared for. But she isn’t little at all! He is faced with a twenty years old beauty who has only one idea: leave for England like her friends in order to get married to an aristocrat, to have a house, balls and children.His plans are suddenly upside down and Marjorie isn’t going to make his job easier.This time, the author talks less about women’s rights. Even though, she reminds us that Marjorie has no right over her fortune until she’s thirty or married (and then, her fortune will belong to her husband). But we are on a lighter theme than with the last volume: the heroes have their pasts and scars, their doubts and dreams but the tone stays humoristic and there is no “terrible” drama as we could see in the previous tome, for instance.The intrigue is less original, compared to the other books of the series, but it is still a good moment of reading. I laughed a lot, the style is smooth, the story is exciting (I couldn’t drop the book). We want to know how these two will end up together despite their divergences of opinion and their strong characters.Jonathan is at a crossroads in his life: he’s rich, professionally successful, knows what he must do (in a certain way) but he has no dream anymore, doesn’t know what excites him, nor where his home is. There he is, saddled with a pupil too difficult to control and, moreover, his sisters don’t agree with his plans. His life is overwhelmed, and he doesn’t know how to take control back. But he knows he doesn’t want to become a stay-at-home kind of guy.Marjorie, as for her, lives at last! One of her dreams is coming true: she’s in London to meet rich, beautiful and titled men. She wants one thing: to fall in love, to get married, to have children and to start a stable family with a man who supports her. Not a man like her father always away from home and who never took care of his family (except materially), and so, not a man like Jonathan who wasn’t friend with her father for nothing.Except that, of course, desire and feelings are coming.The two heroes are well set and their evolution is logical. Jonathan is a man who has lived and who knows what he doesn’t want in life but doesn’t know what he wants. Marjorie is a young lady who is quite naïve because she only knew the boarding school where she was raised, she dreams about bals and English aristocracy. So, she awakes a protective feeling (a little too much protective for a tutor) in Jonathan. The fact that she is extremely gorgeous doesn’t make his task easier and he has to try to protect her from himself. She doesn’t help him at all, of course.There are few secondary characters: Jonathan’s sisters and their husband and Torquil’s family (I was a bit disappointed that we didn’t see Jamie and Amanda with the twins). All these characters are not really important to the story, they enable, partly, the heroes to realize progressively their feelings and what they really want in life.The sexual tension between Marjorie and Jonathan arrives rapidly (particularly because they are on a ship, at first) and we can see Jonathan trying to fight his desires toward Marjorie, throughout the entire book (or almost). While Marjorie tries to understand why her tutor is watching her intensely one day and is avoiding her the rest of the week.To conclude, this was a new tome of “Dear lady Truelove” series that I really enjoyed (even though, “lady Truelove” isn’t present enough to my taste), but I still preferred the third tome (that I suddenly want to read again). I wonder of whom could talk a next volume. Maybe Torquil’s sisters.
    more
  • Connie Fischer
    January 1, 1970
    Jonathan Deverill is in the office of the headmistress of the Forsythe Academy in New York to inform Miss Marjorie McGann, 20, of her father’s death at a sanatorium in Colorado. Jonathan and her father had been long time friends and business partners.Jonathan was raised in London but came to America to seek his fortune. He is Marjorie’s legal guardian and after he meets with her, he plans to visit London briefly, and then travel to South Africa. The headmistress feels that Majorie should be with Jonathan Deverill is in the office of the headmistress of the Forsythe Academy in New York to inform Miss Marjorie McGann, 20, of her father’s death at a sanatorium in Colorado. Jonathan and her father had been long time friends and business partners.Jonathan was raised in London but came to America to seek his fortune. He is Marjorie’s legal guardian and after he meets with her, he plans to visit London briefly, and then travel to South Africa. The headmistress feels that Majorie should be with Jonathan’s sisters in London, one of whom is a duchess, and another a viscountess. When meeting Marjorie, Jonathan is surprised to find a beautiful young woman who is now a teacher at the school.Marjorie is insistent that he take her to London with him. Many of her school friends have gone there seeking titled husbands. She is now a very wealthy young woman and knows that her wealth will attract a highly titled husband. Jonathan wants Marjorie to remain at the Academy especially as she is still in mourning. She tells him that she has not seen her father in many years even after promising her that he would return someday and he didn’t, so mourning for him is unnecessary. When Jonathan returns from South Africa he will then take her to London for a season. Oh, but she has other plans. She wants to go to London with him now and live her life as she wants.When he leaves her at the academy, he feels he has impressed upon her that she must stay a little longer, however, when she shows up in his room onboard the ship to London, he is surprised. She informs him that she had saved her money and bought a ticket. She is proving herself to be a very stubborn young lady who knows her own mind.Onboard, he sees where some charlatans are trying to take advantage of her naivety so he keeps a sharp eye on her. Finally in London, Marjorie is welcomed by Jonathan’s family and introduced to the ways of the ton. As they spend more time together, there is definitely an attraction between them, but Majorie knows he has wanderlust and she refuses to marry a man that will leave her just like her father did. Is there any compromise for them?I liked the story itself but can’t say that the ending was what I was expecting or hoping it to be. I guess that if two people want to be together, one of them has to bend.Copy provided by Edelweiss in exchange for a fair and honest review.
    more
  • Cassandra
    January 1, 1970
    I received an eARC from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.The title here is Heiress Gone Wild, but the book is really more about Jonathan than the titular Heiress (who is not terribly wild). Perhaps it should be Stop Running Away from People, dear Hero? Much of the plot revolved around Jonathan's wanderlust and Marjorie's fear of abandonment. The hero spends a great deal of time running away and avoiding his love interest though with the result that their interactions are not very invol I received an eARC from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.The title here is Heiress Gone Wild, but the book is really more about Jonathan than the titular Heiress (who is not terribly wild). Perhaps it should be Stop Running Away from People, dear Hero? Much of the plot revolved around Jonathan's wanderlust and Marjorie's fear of abandonment. The hero spends a great deal of time running away and avoiding his love interest though with the result that their interactions are not very involved except on a physical level. That's a shame because I liked both characters and appreciated Marjorie's determination to live her own life her way.I enjoy the later time period of these books although we are not given a specific date, it feels like the turn of the century during the Edwardian period (and I think that throwaway line about more lifeboats on passenger liners was meant to be a CLUE). Women had a few more options although not yet the vote in England or in the USA except for a few states. There's an interesting theme here about American women (heiresses) fitting in with the British aristocracy that of course has been done before by Edith Wharton and Henry James but that doesn't mean it's not fertile territory for a romance. Marjorie's overnight realization was a little quick though. I thought she should have had her season and made Jonathan sweat a bit. She deserved one!A solid 3.5-4 because Guhrke always writes a good book and it's good to see the Deverills together again, but I would have liked more interaction between the two leads.
    more
  • Becky
    January 1, 1970
    Reviewed on my blog,Becky on Books, on 10/6/19.Absolutely delightful!I really enjoyed Jonathan and Marjorie's story--totally worth the long wait we had while he dithered around in America and his sisters ran the paper without him ;) Jonathan's early misconceptions about who his ward was made for some LOL moments, as did all the ways he and Marjorie butted heads in the beginning and beyond. Though I did think he realized that he was in love a bit too quickly and easily, I should have known that M Reviewed on my blog,Becky on Books, on 10/6/19.Absolutely delightful!I really enjoyed Jonathan and Marjorie's story--totally worth the long wait we had while he dithered around in America and his sisters ran the paper without him ;) Jonathan's early misconceptions about who his ward was made for some LOL moments, as did all the ways he and Marjorie butted heads in the beginning and beyond. Though I did think he realized that he was in love a bit too quickly and easily, I should have known that Marjorie was going to make him work for it and not been worried.Make him work for it she did--and it was glorious!Though this is the 4th book in the Dear Lady Truelove series, it really could be read as a standalone. Marjorie doesn't know the other series characters at all, and even Jonathan hasn't seen them in ten years, so readers can get caught up at the same time as the characters, if needed.(The Deverill siblings have finally all gotten their HEAs--yay! but does this mean the series is over? :( My only consolation is being able to look forward to what Laura Lee Guhrke will write next...)Rating: 4 1/2 stars / AI voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.
    more
  • Jessie May
    January 1, 1970
    Heiress Gone Wild tells the story of Jonathan, who comes to meet the young girl left in his care after her father dies, and discovers that she is actually a beautiful young woman named Majorie. Throughout the book the two wrestle with their feelings for one another as they travel across the ocean from America to Britain. This book lagged for me a little bit in the middle, but it had picked back up by the end. I liked Majorie’s character, she was spunky and bold, and her banter with Jonathan was Heiress Gone Wild tells the story of Jonathan, who comes to meet the young girl left in his care after her father dies, and discovers that she is actually a beautiful young woman named Majorie. Throughout the book the two wrestle with their feelings for one another as they travel across the ocean from America to Britain. This book lagged for me a little bit in the middle, but it had picked back up by the end. I liked Majorie’s character, she was spunky and bold, and her banter with Jonathan was fun to read. I recommend for fans of Julia Quinn looking to try another historical romance author.
    more
  • Heidi
    January 1, 1970
    I’ve enjoyed this series, while this one was not my favorite, I’m glad I read all the way through. I think I just really wanted to smack the main characters a few too many times. Sigh, I almost put the book down and then didn’t, I guess that’s a good thing in the end. I do know if I spot another title I will jump in. I enjoy the author’s way of writing and time period. I like the characters she’s created and how they tie together in society, yet out of social norms.
    more
  • CR
    January 1, 1970
    Although the cover to this one was pretty much on par with others in this section I have to say the women's face on this one was a little creepy. Heiress Gone Wild is one story that I thought of a take it or leave it story. This one really seemed over shadowed by the male's dream and it left the women's dream in the dust. It really lacked the depth I was looking for and the story pretty much was just kind of meh.
    more
  • Landra Graf
    January 1, 1970
    Review to come.
  • Laura
    January 1, 1970
    It was good but it lacked depth. 3.5 stars. I do like this series though.
  • Harlequin Historical
    January 1, 1970
    CategoriesVictorian Historical Fiction, Contemporary Women's Fiction, Historical FictionMiniseriesDear Lady Truelove (Book #4)
  • Heather
    January 1, 1970
    Not really into it the girl was to all over the place
  • Harlequin Books
    January 1, 1970
    CategoriesVictorian Historical Fiction, Contemporary Women's Fiction, Historical FictionMiniseriesDear Lady Truelove (Book #4)
  • Jessica Grogan
    January 1, 1970
    RTC!
  • Christen
    January 1, 1970
    ARC vis EdelweissI really liked the first two books in the series and I am realizing the previous book (#3) and this one (#4) were okay. The characters didn't grab me like other the other books.
Write a review