Every Missing Piece
Maddy Gaines sees danger everywhere she looks: at the bus stop, around the roller rink, in the woods, and (especially) by the ocean. When Maddy meets a mysterious boy setting booby traps in the North Carolina woods, she suspects the worst.Maddy is certain she's found Billy Holcomb-the boy who went missing in the fall. Except, maybe it's not him. It's been six months since he disappeared. And who will believe her anyway? Definitely not her mom or her stepdad . . . or the chief of police.As Maddy tries to uncover the truth about Billy Holcomb, ghosts from her own past surface, her best friend starts to slip away, and Maddy's world tilts once again. Can she put the pieces of her life back together, even if some of them are lost forever?

Every Missing Piece Details

TitleEvery Missing Piece
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 19th, 2020
PublisherDisney-Hyperion
Rating
GenreChildrens, Middle Grade, Realistic Fiction, Family

Every Missing Piece Review

  • Dianne
    January 1, 1970
    Kids are resilient, right? Maddy proves that adults sometimes dismiss their traumas or the causes of over-the-top behavior and actions. Melanie Conklins EVERY MISSING PIECE is a heartwarming tale that speaks to loss, grief, family bonds and abuse while weaving a fascinating mystery for young adult readers. Maddy may have been chasing the wind by calling the police for perceived crimes, but when she sees a boy she cannot help but believe is a long missing child, she digs down deep and wont let Kids are resilient, right? Maddy proves that adults sometimes dismiss their traumas or the causes of over-the-top behavior and actions. Melanie Conklin’s EVERY MISSING PIECE is a heartwarming tale that speaks to loss, grief, family bonds and abuse while weaving a fascinating mystery for young adult readers. Maddy may have been chasing the wind by calling the police for perceived crimes, but when she sees a boy she cannot help but believe is a long missing child, she digs down deep and won’t let having cried wolf once too often stop her from uncovering what her gut is telling her.A wonderfully told tale that addresses so many issues with a delicate, yet enlightening way as one girl gets through the maze of her own past traumas to help another.This is an amazingly well-told tale, as entertaining as it is touching.I was invited to receive a complimentary ARC edition from the Disney Book Group! This is my honest and voluntary review.Publication Date: May 19, 2020Publisher: Disney Publishing GroupGenre: YAFor Reviews, Giveaways, Fabulous Book News, follow: http://tometender.blogspot.com
    more
  • Erin Kelly
    January 1, 1970
    I loved hanging out with Maddy. Readers will, too.
  • Kate
    January 1, 1970
    I soooo want to read this book! It is by the same author as 'Counting Thyme' which is probably one of the best books I have ever read.
  • Emily
    January 1, 1970
    Part mystery, part family drama, this book has a little bit of everything: the discomfort of evolving friendships, grappling with loss and family change, a community coming together to support someone in need, and an anxious, caring middle grade narrator trying to figure it all out.
    more
  • Ms. Yingling
    January 1, 1970
    E ARC provided by Edelweiss PlusMaddy is anxious about safety, especially since the death of her father several years previously. She has a routine of checking things every morning and evening, and is always on the alert. She has contacted the police department so many times that she has been told she is like the "boy who cried wolf" and told she needs to stop. Her mother has remarried, and Stan is a nice enough guy, but Maddy just doesn't connect with him. She has a good friend, Cress, and also E ARC provided by Edelweiss PlusMaddy is anxious about safety, especially since the death of her father several years previously. She has a routine of checking things every morning and evening, and is always on the alert. She has contacted the police department so many times that she has been told she is like the "boy who cried wolf" and told she needs to stop. Her mother has remarried, and Stan is a nice enough guy, but Maddy just doesn't connect with him. She has a good friend, Cress, and also a nemesis, Diesel Jessup, who used to be her friend but now threatens her any time she comes near his family's property. After seeing on the news that a boy named Billy is missing from a nearby community, Maddy's anxiety ramps up, and when there is a new boy at her school, Eric, she becomes obsessed with the fact that he is Billy. She takes his family a pie, and things don't seem right. Billy and a woman live in a trailer belonging to Diesel's dad, and there are a lot of red flags. Maddy tells Cress about this, and Cress agrees. The girls do their investigations without telling adults, because of Maddy's previous difficulties with the police. Eventually, there is some information that comes to light about Eric's situation, and Maddy's family steps in to help. Can Maddy come to terms with her new life when confronted with someone else's difficulties?Strengths: This is on trend for middle grade literature featuring children who are overcoming trauma and grief in their family situations. Maddy has supportive teachers, parents, and friends, and her concern for others is touching. Eric's story moves quickly from being a suspect idea only in Maddy's head to being frighteningly real. Her issues with Diesel reflect the all too common middle school friend drama. I especially liked Stan's attempts to bond with Maddy. Weaknesses: Therapy is mentioned, but Maddy is not portrayed as attending, which is too bad. She clearly needs to work through several issues. What I really think: Great for fans of lyrical, "heartprint" novels like King's The Year We Fell From Space, Humphrey's Quack, Telgemeier's Guts, and LeGrand's Some Kind of Happiness.
    more
  • Aaron
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to the publisher and to my bookish friends at Book Portage (ARC sharing group) for allowing me to read this May 2020 release. This book is so many things. Maddy is trying to put together the pieces of a new life with her Mom and stepdad Stan while keeping alive the pieces missing from her old life since the death of her father. Then, she discovers a mystery that her brain just can't let go of, even if events in her past tell her she should. As all of these pieces come together, she also Thanks to the publisher and to my bookish friends at Book Portage (ARC sharing group) for allowing me to read this May 2020 release. This book is so many things. Maddy is trying to put together the pieces of a new life with her Mom and stepdad Stan while keeping alive the pieces missing from her old life since the death of her father. Then, she discovers a mystery that her brain just can't let go of, even if events in her past tell her she should. As all of these pieces come together, she also tries to reconcile how the changing relationships of early adolescence will fit together as she feuds with an old friend, and then her best friend. In the long awaited second novel from Melanie Conklin we find the very likable Maddy tilting pieces of her life, having them tilt on her, and needing others to tilt them to show her the way. It's a story with a warm heart, filled with genuine characters. A great addition to an MG library.
    more
  • Kathie
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to the author and publisher for send an ARC of this book to #bookportage for review.5 big stars for this absolutely beautiful novel by Melanie Conklin. I've been anxious awaiting a new book from her since loving her MG debut, Counting Thyme, and this book was well worth the wait.Maddy is struggling with the death of her dad a few years ago, and how scary the world feels you're not prepared for a worst case scenario. She vigilantly pays attention to the world around her, and often Thank you to the author and publisher for send an ARC of this book to #bookportage for review.5 big stars for this absolutely beautiful novel by Melanie Conklin. I've been anxious awaiting a new book from her since loving her MG debut, Counting Thyme, and this book was well worth the wait.Maddy is struggling with the death of her dad a few years ago, and how scary the world feels you're not prepared for a worst case scenario. She vigilantly pays attention to the world around her, and often worries about potential problems, much to the dismay of her mom and the local police (whom she contacts when she's notices something she think could be problematic. When a new boy arrives in town with a mysterious past, she's convinced he's the boy who went missing six months ago. How can she prove to everyone she's right? At the same time, her relationship with her best friend is changing, and her new stepdad, Stan, is trying to connect with her but she's not sure she's ready to open her heart up to him.I really love the sensitive way that Maddy's anxiety is explored, and the support that she receives from her mom and stepdad. One of my favorite aspects of this story is the character development, and how the relationships between Maddy and Stan, and Maddy and her mom, change over the course of the book. There is so much heart in these characters, and though all are hurting in their own ways, it's wonderful to watch as they grow and find ways to connect to each other. As the story develops and we learn more about Eric, the boy with the mysterious past, the story addresses some tough topics and provides wonderful discussion material. There is a lot of suspense that I was not expecting, and the story was incredibly well-crafted.I highly recommend you add this book to your TBR piles, and I will definitely be adding it to my library's collection in May.
    more
  • Hope Hunter
    January 1, 1970
    Melanie Conklin delivers another solid contribution to the world of children's literature. "Every Missing Piece" is the story of Maddy Gaines and the slightly obsessive behaviors she has acquired since her father's accidental drowning. Maddy has become hyper-sensitive to safety and is constantly on the watch for things that may be unsafe in her neighborhood. Her reports to the Sheriff's department, though, have gone unsubstantiated and the Sheriff pays a visit to her home to warn her about Melanie Conklin delivers another solid contribution to the world of children's literature. "Every Missing Piece" is the story of Maddy Gaines and the slightly obsessive behaviors she has acquired since her father's accidental drowning. Maddy has become hyper-sensitive to safety and is constantly on the watch for things that may be unsafe in her neighborhood. Her reports to the Sheriff's department, though, have gone unsubstantiated and the Sheriff pays a visit to her home to warn her about becoming the "boy who cried wolf." Of course, as Maddy grapples with missing her father, and learning to accept her new stepfather, the prospect of adding to the family, and fearing that her best friend is moving to her "new self" (i.e., teenager) before she is ready, a new student catches Maddy's eye making her think he could be a missing kid. Remembering the sting of being scolded by the Sheriff, Maddy hesitates to alert the law enforcement department even though more and more events add up to make solidify Maddy's assumption. Throughout the story, Maddy learns that right and wrong sometimes get mixed up, that even though her best friend is ready to be a little older, it doesn't mean she is ready to lose Maddy's friendship, and that she can still love and miss her dad while learning to love Stan and allowing him to be father figure in her life. Once again, Conklin delivers another stellar contribution to children's literature. The characters are relatable and story line is solid. I loved how she introduced North Carolina and gave enough cultural details to show me a part of the US I have never visited which only added to the story as a whole. I also appreciate how Conklin shows that some parents make bad choices, but it doesn't make them bad. She shows that people can change and turn their lives around, and even through these bad choices, they have never stopped loving their children. There is a lot to this story that will touch a great number of kids. I look for "Every Missing Piece" to land a spot on many state reading award lists.
    more
  • Stephanie
    January 1, 1970
    In Every Missing Piece by Melanie Conklin, sixth grader, Maddy has developed a sort-of reputation with local law enforcement due to a number of false reports. It's not that she meant for them to be false reports, she just sees danger in situations before she stops to think about what else can be going on. She has promised not to make any more calls to the sheriff; a promise that's become really hard to keep now that she thinks she's found Billy Holcomb, a boy who has been missing for months. In Every Missing Piece by Melanie Conklin, sixth grader, Maddy has developed a sort-of reputation with local law enforcement due to a number of false reports. It's not that she meant for them to be false reports, she just sees danger in situations before she stops to think about what else can be going on. She has promised not to make any more calls to the sheriff; a promise that's become really hard to keep now that she thinks she's found Billy Holcomb, a boy who has been missing for months. While she searches for "evidence" before she makes another call, she is also dealing with the normal issues of being a middle schooler (bullies, friend drama, and boys) and the not-so-normal issues that it seems like only she has to deal with (crippling anxiety about safety, a lack of connection with her stepfather, and the sadness that shadows her entire life). I fell in love with Maddy from the very beginning of this story. She is earnest in her worries but you see right away that they are a result of a pretty big hurt. A hurt so big that it's coloring her perception of everyone and everything around her. I think kids are going to relate to Maddy's school and step-parent issues, while watching her show them how to navigate big loss and worries. Recommended for grades 4 and up
    more
  • bjneary
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to NetGalley, #BookJunkies, @MLConklin, and Little, Brown Books Young Readers for the advance reader copy of Every Missing Piece by Melanie Conklin, in exchange for an honest review. Another winner from Melanie Conklin; she has authentically and beautifully rendered a middle grade story/mystery about a young girl, Maddy, who still desperately misses her deceased father. In her grief and longing, Maddy has become hyper vigilant and worries about all the dangers the world can pose. Thank you to NetGalley, #BookJunkies, @MLConklin, and Little, Brown Books Young Readers for the advance reader copy of Every Missing Piece by Melanie Conklin, in exchange for an honest review. Another winner from Melanie Conklin; she has authentically and beautifully rendered a middle grade story/mystery about a young girl, Maddy, who still desperately misses her deceased father. In her grief and longing, Maddy has become hyper vigilant and worries about all the dangers the world can pose. Adding to Maddy’s daily strain is her mother’s new marriage to Stan, the hope Maddy and Stan will spend time together, a mysterious boy who crafts traps in the woods, and best friend difficulties. What is Maddy to do? Readers will root for Maddy as she navigates grief, fear, new family concerns, the trauma of abuse, and awkward reaching out to help friends and family. The mystery boy and Maddy’s fears had me turning the pages; readers will enjoy this middle grade adventure, mystery, and heartfelt characters. Conklin’s plot and character development is authentic, moving, and powerful. This is a must-read!
    more
  • Elizabeth
    January 1, 1970
    Maddy is worried all of the time. Safety is of the utmost importance! However, she doesn't want her mother to know exactly how much she worries, especially after having gotten in trouble for calling the police too many times! It is hard to let go though and when she meets a boy who looks like a missing child, it takes all her willpower not to tell anyone- after all, they will think she is just being paranoid! To make things even more difficult, she is also dealing with her new stepdad, Stan. Maddy is worried all of the time. Safety is of the utmost importance! However, she doesn't want her mother to know exactly how much she worries, especially after having gotten in trouble for calling the police too many times! It is hard to let go though and when she meets a boy who looks like a missing child, it takes all her willpower not to tell anyone- after all, they will think she is just being paranoid! To make things even more difficult, she is also dealing with her new stepdad, Stan. Stan is a nice enough guy, but Maddy isn't really interested in bonding when she still misses her dad so much. I was excited to see another book by Melanie Conklin after having read Counting Thyme! Every Missing Piece has a little bit of everything- a mystery, a friendship tale, a family coming together, and even a turf war! I enjoyed this book immensely. Conklin managed to capture my heart a second time! I would definitely recommend this book to my middle grade students!
    more
  • Katie Reilley
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to the author and publisher for sharing an early copy with #bookexpedition. Since her dad passed away, Maddy sees danger all around her. She often worries about potential problems, so much so that she does weekly safety checks around her home. When she discovers a new boy living in woods, Maddy is convinced that hes a boy that went missing 6 months ago. And because her past experiences with the police chief have not gone well, Maddy is unsure what to do. Shes also trying to put the Thank you to the author and publisher for sharing an early copy with #bookexpedition. Since her dad passed away, Maddy sees danger all around her. She often worries about potential problems, so much so that she does weekly safety checks around her home. When she discovers a new boy living in woods, Maddy is convinced that he’s a boy that went missing 6 months ago. And because her past experiences with the police chief have not gone well, Maddy is unsure what to do. She’s also trying to put the pieces together of her new relationship with her stepfather, Stan, who’s trying so hard to get to know Maddy while holding together pieces of her friendship with her BFF Cress who’s slowing slipping away. With themes of loss, grief, family, and friendships, this is a must add to your middle grade library when it publishes in May 2020. Highly recommend!
    more
  • Genie
    January 1, 1970
    Maddy Gains just cant help herself, she seems to call the police too often. They even know each others names. But when a new student, Eric, comes to town she cant dismiss the resemblance to Billy Holcomb. A boy who went missing 6 months ago. She stays on this new mystery all while she navigates the loss of her father, her mothers recent marriage and her evolving friendship with Cress. This book discusses domestic violence and I would recommend it for mature middle grades and up. Thank you Maddy Gains just can’t help herself, she seems to call the police too often. They even know each other’s names. But when a new student, Eric, comes to town she can’t dismiss the resemblance to Billy Holcomb. A boy who went missing 6 months ago. She stays on this new mystery all while she navigates the loss of her father, her mother’s recent marriage and her evolving friendship with Cress. This book discusses domestic violence and I would recommend it for mature middle grades and up. Thank you NetGalley for the advanced copy to read and review. #librarycheckout
    more
  • Jane
    January 1, 1970
    This book made me think and I like that in a book. I liked the story for the most part. I did have a problem with her best friend defending the bully without hearing her side of the story. He was just as much at fault for the problems as she was; but her best friend didn't seem to notice. Other than that I thought that the book was excellent! I really enjoyed trying to solve the mystery of Billy and watching her solve all that she had to face. In the end her friend really came through for her This book made me think and I like that in a book. I liked the story for the most part. I did have a problem with her best friend defending the bully without hearing her side of the story. He was just as much at fault for the problems as she was; but her best friend didn't seem to notice. Other than that I thought that the book was excellent! I really enjoyed trying to solve the mystery of Billy and watching her solve all that she had to face. In the end her friend really came through for her which was a wonderful ending!
    more
  • Elizabeth Roberts
    January 1, 1970
    I was a lucky winner of an ARC to put in one of my Little Free Libraries. I'm way out of the intended age range for this novel, but I enjoyed it just the same. It's well written and the characters and situations are believable and relatable. Maddy goes through a lot, but also learns from it. My favorite lesson was that a friend's change of attitude may have nothing to do with you. That's a hard one, even for adults.
    more
  • Nat
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 for this book about loss, grief, bouncing back, family, protection, and loyalty. The author approaches the topics of death, abuse, trauma, and addiction with sensitivity, yet she doesnt sugarcoat a thing. Excellent middle grades read. Excited to add it to the classroom library! 4.5 for this book about loss, grief, bouncing back, family, protection, and loyalty. The author approaches the topics of death, abuse, trauma, and addiction with sensitivity, yet she doesn’t sugarcoat a thing. Excellent middle grades read. Excited to add it to the classroom library!
    more
  • Erin
    January 1, 1970
    I got wrapped up in Maddy's story and couldn't put this book down. She is an incredible, resilient kid that I can't wait to introduce to our students. Her story kept me on the edge of my seat, wondering what would happen next as she put together the pieces of the mystery.
    more
  • Brenda Kahn
    January 1, 1970
    This engaging portrait of grief, anxiety and change will be perfect for your readers who like a bit of drama and sadness in their books. Shifting friendship dynamics and middle grade dialogue are spot-on. Maddy's voice engages from the start.
  • Erin Varley
    January 1, 1970
    Loved this book.
  • Tera
    January 1, 1970
    its a great heart warming story by a wonderful authorwarms my heart
  • Samantha Cribbin
    January 1, 1970
    Eleven-year-old Maddy has been quite anxious since the accidental death of her father. To cope and to ease her anxieties shes super vigilant and always aware of potential things that could go wrong. She often calls the police to let them know what shes observed without evidence and because of this she is often accused of being a boy crying wolf. I really liked the progression of her relationship with her new stepfather throughout the story. There was great character development and the Eleven-year-old Maddy has been quite anxious since the accidental death of her father. To cope and to ease her anxieties she’s super vigilant and always aware of potential things that could go wrong. She often calls the police to let them know what she’s observed without evidence and because of this she is often accused of being a “boy crying wolf.” I really liked the progression of her relationship with her new stepfather throughout the story. There was great character development and the characters were relatable. The plot was well done with elements of drama and suspense. The tough topics of death and abuse were dealt with sensitivity and in a manner that was appropriate for the intended audience while providing plenty of opportunity for discussion as well.
    more
  • Lizanne Johnson
    January 1, 1970
    It has been three years since 11 year old Madison Gaines' dad died while saving her life. Her mom has remarried. Maddie has a deep need to feel safe, doing weekly safety checks with her mom. When she thinks the new boy at school looks a lot like a missing boy, she knows she she has to do something and to tread carefully. She has too much of a reputation with the local police who thinks she cries wolf. Maddie enlists the help of her best friend Cress, as well as the school librarian. Add to this: It has been three years since 11 year old Madison Gaines' dad died while saving her life. Her mom has remarried. Maddie has a deep need to feel safe, doing weekly safety checks with her mom. When she thinks the new boy at school looks a lot like a missing boy, she knows she she has to do something and to tread carefully. She has too much of a reputation with the local police who thinks she cries wolf. Maddie enlists the help of her best friend Cress, as well as the school librarian. Add to this: her mom wants her to spend more time with her stepdad; Cress seems to be growing up faster than Maddie, neighbor boy Diesel used to be her friend, but now seems more like an enemy. This multilayered story of friendship, family, and abuse is one I will gladly add to my middle school library and highly recommend. Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for the arc in exchange for an honest review. I couldn't put the book down.
    more
  • Julie
    January 1, 1970
    Loved getting to know Maddy! Such a wonderful character who really made me feel for her she has a deceased father, a stepfather shes trying to love, a best friend who is branching out, a neighbor who doesnt appear as kind as he could be, and a mystery shes determined to solve. Highly recommend! Loved getting to know Maddy! Such a wonderful character who really made me feel for her— she has a deceased father, a stepfather she’s trying to love, a best friend who is branching out, a neighbor who doesn’t appear as kind as he could be, and a mystery she’s determined to solve. Highly recommend!
    more
  • Mary
    January 1, 1970
    I absolutely loved this book. There was great character development and a great plot. There was the drama of a deceased father, a new stepdad, changing friends, and a missing kid. This book was funny, heartfelt, and hopeful. I would hand this to children looking for a character-driven story that has some drama and a light mystery. #ARC #Netgalley
    more
  • Leigh
    January 1, 1970
    I received this ARC from the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.Maddy has a reputation with the police as the girl who cried wolf. She sees danger everywhere since her father's death. Now,a new kid has moved to town and she thinks he bears a remarkable resemblance to Billy Holcomb who went missing a few months before.This book did a nice job dealing with Maddy's anxiety, and also with the idea that sometimes there isn't a clear line between right and wrong.
    more
Write a review