Dear Wife
From the bestselling author of The Marriage Lie and Three Days Missing comes a riveting new novel of suspense about a woman who, in a fight for survival, must decide just how far she'll go to escape the person she once lovedBeth Murphy is on the run...For nearly a year, Beth has been planning for this day. A day some people might call any other Wednesday, but Beth prefers to see it as her new beginning--one with a new look, new name and new city. Beth has given her plan significant thought, because one small slip and her violent husband will find her.Sabine Hardison is missing...A couple hundred miles away, Jeffrey returns home from a work trip to find his wife, Sabine, is missing. Wherever she is, she's taken almost nothing with her. Her abandoned car is the only evidence the police have, and all signs point to foul play.As the police search for leads, the case becomes more and more convoluted. Sabine's carefully laid plans for her future indicate trouble at home, and a husband who would be better off with her gone. The detective on the case will stop at nothing to find out what happened and bring this missing woman home. Where is Sabine? And who is Beth? The only thing that's certain is that someone is lying and the truth won't stay buried for long.

Dear Wife Details

TitleDear Wife
Author
ReleaseJun 25th, 2019
PublisherPark Row
ISBN-139781488045356
Rating
GenreThriller, Mystery, Mystery Thriller, Fiction, Suspense, Adult, Psychological Thriller, Sociology, Abuse

Dear Wife Review

  • Meredith
    January 1, 1970
    Unputdownable!! Dear Wife is a suspenseful and twisty read about a woman on the run and another who has gone missing. Are they one and the same or is there more going on than meets the eye? “Beth” is on the run from her abusive husband. She has a plan and must not veer off course or else she will become her husband's prey.Sabine, a prominent realtor in Pine Bluff, Arkansas, has gone missing. Her deadbeat husband, Jeffery, is the number one suspect in her disappearance. Jeffery, well, he has so Unputdownable!! Dear Wife is a suspenseful and twisty read about a woman on the run and another who has gone missing. Are they one and the same or is there more going on than meets the eye? “Beth” is on the run from her abusive husband. She has a plan and must not veer off course or else she will become her husband's prey.Sabine, a prominent realtor in Pine Bluff, Arkansas, has gone missing. Her deadbeat husband, Jeffery, is the number one suspect in her disappearance. Jeffery, well, he has some issues. Marcus, the cop investigating Sabine’s disappearance, is on a mission. He has a lead and won’t let it go.Told through three POV’s, Dear Wife enthralled me from the start. There are some huge twists and turns, and even though I figured one out early on, I was surprised by some others. This is a gripping thriller that hooked me from the first page to the very end. The chapters are short and the story is entertaining. There are secrets to be uncovered, lies to unravel, and drama to play out. It all culminates in a satisfying ending! I recommend to those who are looking for an entertaining psychological thriller! I received an ARC of this book from NetGalley and Harlequin in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Susanne Strong
    January 1, 1970
    4.25 Stars* (rounded down) Just call this Creepy and Cray-Cray and Call it a Day! Marriage: It’s not that bad (Really!).. at least not according to Jeffrey. Ask his wife Sabine and you might get a different answer. The problem of course, is that you can’t ask Sabine. She’s missing and well, you know how it works, once Jeffrey discovers it and reports his wife missing, his sister-in-law Ingrid and the police suspect Jeffrey of murder. After all, he and Sabine had a few tense moments and well, it’ 4.25 Stars* (rounded down) Just call this Creepy and Cray-Cray and Call it a Day! Marriage: It’s not that bad (Really!).. at least not according to Jeffrey. Ask his wife Sabine and you might get a different answer. The problem of course, is that you can’t ask Sabine. She’s missing and well, you know how it works, once Jeffrey discovers it and reports his wife missing, his sister-in-law Ingrid and the police suspect Jeffrey of murder. After all, he and Sabine had a few tense moments and well, it’s always the husband, right? If only it were that easy to solve! Baah!! This is the kind of read you tear through in less than a day. I love those! Admittedly, I had a few guesses early on and some were very close to being right on (I might even have danced a little jig over that (or my version of one, lol)!“Dear Wife” by Kimberly Belle is a wild one my friends. Tension filled, taut and suspenseful - this is a crazy good or well, creepy good thriller that is not to be missed!This was another great read with Kaceey! Thank you for sharing this with me Kace!Thank you to NetGalley, Harlequin - Park Row and Kimberly Belle for an arc of this novel in exchange for an honest review. Published on Goodread and NetGalley on 4.14.19.Will be published on Amazon and Twitter on 6.25.19.
    more
  • j e w e l s
    January 1, 1970
    FIVE STARS yep, I just gave this one another star! I read it awhile back and I'm still thinking about it-- it's so much better than the last book I read, so....I’m feeling quite charitable with the stars😊DEAR WIFE is a juicy, female driven thriller. There are actually a few wives that go missing in this novel and you, the reader, are tasked with the fun work of untangling the knots of which wives go with which husbands or lovers. It is an extremely clever literary ruse that Kimberly Belle has co FIVE STARS yep, I just gave this one another star! I read it awhile back and I'm still thinking about it-- it's so much better than the last book I read, so....I’m feeling quite charitable with the stars😊DEAR WIFE is a juicy, female driven thriller. There are actually a few wives that go missing in this novel and you, the reader, are tasked with the fun work of untangling the knots of which wives go with which husbands or lovers. It is an extremely clever literary ruse that Kimberly Belle has cooked up! I thoroughly enjoyed the uniquely crafted story structure.At first, I found the character roster somewhat confusing and I’m not sure this book could translate well to audio. However, if you’re as nosy as I am, your curiosity about these fictional lives will overtake you and intense speed reading will commence! The pages fly by and the ending is oh sooooooo satisfying. One fabulous book to read by the pool this summer!Warning: A component of domestic violence exists in the novel and I’m not crazy about that. However, the violence is depicted in limited doses and is an integral part to propelling the suspense and tension of the story. Many thanks to Netgalley and Kimberley Belle for allowing me to read and review the early galley. All opinions are strictly mine.
    more
  • Kendall
    January 1, 1970
    "Dear wife, I found you"Oh my goodness!! Boy, did I have fun with this one! What a ride!!Dear Wife is an exceptionally dark thriller that will leave you highly entertained turning those pages. This was my first read by Kimberly Belle and am glad I finally read something by her! Kimberly Belle delivers part domestic fiction and part thriller with this juicy set of characters. Beth Murphy is on the run and has been planning this for over a year. Who is she running from and why? Sabine Hardison is "Dear wife, I found you"Oh my goodness!! Boy, did I have fun with this one! What a ride!!Dear Wife is an exceptionally dark thriller that will leave you highly entertained turning those pages. This was my first read by Kimberly Belle and am glad I finally read something by her! Kimberly Belle delivers part domestic fiction and part thriller with this juicy set of characters. Beth Murphy is on the run and has been planning this for over a year. Who is she running from and why? Sabine Hardison is a relator that has gone missing. Her husband Jeffrey is suspected of having something to do with her disappearance. Does he? The police start to uncover more and more clues... that start to point even more clues at a troubling life at home for Sabine. ALL of these characters have a dark secret but it may not be what you're thinking. Of course, you may be thinking you have it all figured out but Kimberly Belle I'll give you that you set your readers up with high tensions and twists that leave you on edge!I had this theory in my mind since the beginning and was completely wrong haha but I did figure out one of the main twists towards the end but I still really enjoyed this one!Highly recommend it!4 strong stars!Thank you to Netgalley and Harlequin/Trade Publishing for the arc in exchange for an honest review.Publication date: 6/25/19Published to Goodreads: 2/25/19
    more
  • Dorie - Traveling Sister :)
    January 1, 1970
    I was looking for a thriller to get me through yet another miserable, cold and rainy weekend. This one did the job, I didn’t do anything else but read this yesterday. This is that compulsive read that so many thrillers say they are but few deliver. From the blurb you know that Beth is on the run from her abusive husband, that Sabine is missing and that the police, in particular Marcus, are increasingly distraught at not having any substantial clues to solve the case. There are a multitude of wel I was looking for a thriller to get me through yet another miserable, cold and rainy weekend. This one did the job, I didn’t do anything else but read this yesterday. This is that compulsive read that so many thrillers say they are but few deliver. From the blurb you know that Beth is on the run from her abusive husband, that Sabine is missing and that the police, in particular Marcus, are increasingly distraught at not having any substantial clues to solve the case. There are a multitude of well developed characters in this book and it is told from several points of view, which I always feel keep a book moving along quickly and keeps my interest peaked. Sabine’s sister Ingrid is quite a character, convinced that Sabine wouldn’t leave town without telling her, they share EVERYTHING! She has a lover, Trevor, who is beside himself with grief, they were planning on divorcing their spouses and proclaiming their intention to marry. Beth we know little about, who is she anyway and how does she fit in this story???? Sabine's husband supposedly has an alibi, but it’s always the husband isn’t it??? Jeffrey will stop at nothing to find his wife, how dare she leave him!!!!While on the run Beth meets and finally befriends several people at a boarding house where she is living and then a job at a large, TV and community based faith community. The Reverend is one heck of a character that certainly seems too good to be true, is he hiding something??? There is a former prostitute, a thief and a forger whom most at this boarding house have used from time to time. These are characters that are described well enough that I found myself caring about them. I find this quite unusual in a thriller and that kept me enjoying this book.With a thriller there isn’t much you can tell without spoiling the plot so I will just say that it is extremely clever, twisted, touches on extreme physical domestic abuse but somehow in the end is still satisfying and hopeful. This is one thriller that I can endorse but be prepared to put away anything else you had planned to do.I received an ARC of this novel from the publisher through Edelweiss.This book is set for publication on June 25, 2019.
    more
  • Kaceey
    January 1, 1970
    4.5*Wowza! That was one finely-crafted, twisty tale!Beth Murphy needs to disappear! Leaving an abusive relationship behind. One thing she knows for certain…if he finds her, he will kill her. How far does she need to go before she’s safe? How deeply under cover can she hide? And will it ever be enough?A flurry of moving parts taking place. Her husband proclaiming his innocence. Her sister pointing fingers. The detective in charge turning over every rock! This is the second book by Kimberly Belle 4.5*Wowza! That was one finely-crafted, twisty tale!Beth Murphy needs to disappear! Leaving an abusive relationship behind. One thing she knows for certain…if he finds her, he will kill her. How far does she need to go before she’s safe? How deeply under cover can she hide? And will it ever be enough?A flurry of moving parts taking place. Her husband proclaiming his innocence. Her sister pointing fingers. The detective in charge turning over every rock! This is the second book by Kimberly Belle I’ve read, With “Three Days Missing” being my first. But as much as I enjoyed that read, this book ramps up the thriller scale to a whole new level! Fabulous job, Ms. Belle! You managed to capture all the emotions in every character perfectly! I felt the fear, anger and frustration in all of them.The tale flowed effortlessly from multiple POVs and I quickly finished in just a few sittings. I was looking for the perfect distraction from my every day, and this fit the bill perfectly!This book will definitely be a top thriller for 2019! Highly recommend! Don’t miss out!I still have this author’s previous book The Marriage Lie on my shelf, I need to bump that one up quickly! A fabulous buddy read with Susanne that we both loved!❤️Thank you to NetGalley, Harlequin- Trade Publishing and Kimberley Belle for an ARC to read and review.
    more
  • Felicia
    January 1, 1970
    "If my husband doesn't report me missing, am I really gone?"I don't know!!Are you really gone?Who is your husband??Who are YOU???Take a shot of Gone Girl with a generous splash of Sleeping With the Enemy and it still won't taste as good as Dear Wife. From the fabulous coverto the captivating plotto the carefully crafted twistto the fast and to-the-point writing style of Kimberly Belle,this book is a compulsive read from beginning to end.4.5 ⭐**I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for "If my husband doesn't report me missing, am I really gone?"I don't know!!Are you really gone?Who is your husband??Who are YOU???Take a shot of Gone Girl with a generous splash of Sleeping With the Enemy and it still won't taste as good as Dear Wife. From the fabulous coverto the captivating plotto the carefully crafted twistto the fast and to-the-point writing style of Kimberly Belle,this book is a compulsive read from beginning to end.4.5 ⭐**I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review**
    more
  • Judy Collins
    January 1, 1970
    DEAR WIFE is cleverly constructed, twisty, fast-paced, emotionally explosive, heart-pounding suspense, characters to die for—the writing superb, and razor sharp. Be prepared to be "blindsided." The talented author exceeds all expectations and then some. Loved this book. My initial IG and Twitter post after reading: "WOW!! 🎬 Blown Away "Hotlanta"#thriller The BEST of 2019. @KimberlySBelle knocks #DEARWIFE "out of the park" 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 Her BEST yet!"A woman escapes an abusive husband. She plans every DEAR WIFE is cleverly constructed, twisty, fast-paced, emotionally explosive, heart-pounding suspense, characters to die for—the writing superb, and razor sharp. Be prepared to be "blindsided." The talented author exceeds all expectations and then some. Loved this book. My initial IG and Twitter post after reading: "WOW!! 🎬 Blown Away "Hotlanta"#thriller The BEST of 2019. @KimberlySBelle knocks #DEARWIFE "out of the park" 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 Her BEST yet!"A woman escapes an abusive husband. She plans every move, with limited resources.She must one step ahead of him. He is smart and calculating.Will she leave enough clues to trap him and beat him at his own game?After all, the monster taught her everything she knows. This multi-level masterpiece is much more than a modern day marriage, domestic abuse, psychological thriller, and a woman on the run. DEAR WIFE is brilliantly crafted with colorful characters woven in and out of this woman's life. There is a deep meaningful human spiritual and emotional connection, as those cross paths for a reason. No matter the race, class, or color - people experience problems. There is the dark evil side of human nature, and there is a good side. Belle explores both, in the least expected places. To name a few: from an illegal Mexican gal, a drag queen, housekeeper, a spiritual Reverend, a church, a boarding house, former prostitute, identity document forgery specialist—plus we have a cop, realtor, hacker, a software salesman, husband, lover, sister, and a mom. All these characters are connected. Some nice. Some not. Some guardian angels in disguise. We never know other's past and what goes on behind closed doors- as for why this genre is so popular. As in many cases, and I speak from experience, women (victims) in this situation must put others out of their reach to protect them and themselves. The abuser keeps them from others. The victim does not trust others and has very few close friends or family. This novel is a perfect example of how we must trust others in some cases (no matter their past), to survive. A story so realistic, it could be ripped from today's headlines, versus a fictional account. What makes this thriller a "stand-out" is not only the clever writing, the riveting heart-pounding suspense, vivid descriptions, the intensity, the highly creative plot, but the "excellent" character development. Think a thriller crosses "This is Us." The author has done her research (even the cop procedural, hacking, guns, medical, churches, religion, psychological, etc.) Not many writers can master this. Author, Michael Robotham (huge fan) has this unique quality, and now we have another, Kimberly Belle. I have been a fan since her first book and read each of them. (Being an Atlanta gal, I love books set in the town). However, I will say, DEAR WIFE hands-down, "is on another entire level." It speaks volumes. I am dying for everyone to read this book. 📕 I cannot say enough. I almost want another follow-up book with these characters. These characters will haunt you and linger well after the book ends. I am still thinking of them. Movie-quality guys! 🎬 To sum up, thriller author, Kaira Rouda has the "narcissistic personality," mastered; and Kimberly Belle has the "domestic deceptive/marriage," mastered. They have locked in these respective titles, and readers have come to expect the "best" and are never disappointed. This story resonates with me in many ways. I hope you enjoy as much as I did. I cannot wait to hear your thoughts.Congrats, Kimberly, A HIT! 🥂 Top of your game. 🏆Stay tuned for my upcoming Q&A Elevator Ride with Kimberly, coming June 25! JDCMustReadBooks A special thank you to Park Row and NetGalley for an early reading copy.
    more
  • Dita
    January 1, 1970
    I thought I had this book all figured out. I was half right! I smugly decided to hang in there even though I was sure I knew it all and while I was right there was still a delicious surprise or two!!I REALLY enjoyed this book and I highly recommend it!!Thank you to NetGalley for giving me this ARC in exchange for an honest review!
    more
  • Selena
    January 1, 1970
    I received a free e-copy of Dear Wife by Kimberly Belle from NetGalley for my honest review.Wow, what a twisted and suspenseful read. Beth is a battered wife who has been planning her escape from her husband and marriage of ten years. She knows she needs to get out before he kills her. Her husband, however, is clever and merciless. A clever game of cat and mouse but who will win? An intense read you won't be able to put down.
    more
  • Jayme
    January 1, 1970
    Jeffrey Hardison returns home from a business trip to find a messy house and no sign of his wife. But, she is a very successful real estate agent, who often has late night showings with prospective clients, so although he isn’t pleased that she isn’t home, he isn’t concerned. At first. Her twin sister, Ingrid IS immediately concerned. She and Sabine speak several times a day, and they share everything about their lives with one another. She knows that Jeffrey isn’t the loving husband he portrays Jeffrey Hardison returns home from a business trip to find a messy house and no sign of his wife. But, she is a very successful real estate agent, who often has late night showings with prospective clients, so although he isn’t pleased that she isn’t home, he isn’t concerned. At first. Her twin sister, Ingrid IS immediately concerned. She and Sabine speak several times a day, and they share everything about their lives with one another. She knows that Jeffrey isn’t the loving husband he portrays himself to be. And, that since Sabine is the main breadwinner, Jeffrey stands to lose a lot if Sabine leaves him.“I wasn’t always this vindictive, but you weren’t always this mean. “ Beth Murphy is on the run. For nearly a year, she has been planning for this day. A day some people might call any other Wednesday, but Beth prefers to see it as her new beginning—one with a new look, a new name, and a new city. Beth has given her plan significant thought, because one small slip and her violent husband will find her. Only one person knows that she has left. “YOU. YOU ARE COMING FOR ME. AND I WILL BE READY. “Sure, there have been other suspense novels about battered women on the run, but I PROMISE you, the premise may not be new..but the execution is. Kimberley Belle lays out some clues for you...if you follow along carefully you may think you have it all figured out. I had an A-ha moment at about 65% . I was partially right. Which is ok with me-because what that says to me is-no plot holes! And, there was just enough time left to resolve, but not rush the ending. BUT, what was best. I wasn’t entirely right either. The author managed to still SURPRISE me, because there was more than one way that this story could be resolved...and ANY one of them would’ve been PLAUSIBLE, which is a MUST for ME, in my suspense novels. I can’t wait to see what Kimberley Belle has in store for us next! I would like to thank Netgalley, Harlequin-Park Row and Kimberley Belle for The digital ARC, I received in exchange for a candid review! This title will be released on June, 25, 2019!
    more
  • Jen
    January 1, 1970
    3.75 Stars Why doesn’t she just leave? gets asked in living rooms and courtrooms across the country, when a better question would be, Why doesn’t he let her go? It took me a while, but I’ve finally figured out the answer. You’d sooner kill me than let me go. Her name and identification may be brand new, but Beth Murphy has been planning her escape for years. Burner cellphones? Check. Ditching her car for a non-descript and untraceable hunk of junk? Check. Traveling halfway across the country the 3.75 Stars Why doesn’t she just leave? gets asked in living rooms and courtrooms across the country, when a better question would be, Why doesn’t he let her go? It took me a while, but I’ve finally figured out the answer. You’d sooner kill me than let me go. Her name and identification may be brand new, but Beth Murphy has been planning her escape for years. Burner cellphones? Check. Ditching her car for a non-descript and untraceable hunk of junk? Check. Traveling halfway across the country then backtracking to throw him off her trail? Check. If life’s taught her anything, it’s to never underestimate the man that promised to love and cherish her forever. So, just who is Beth Murphy?Meanwhile in Beth’s hometown, Sabine Hardison has gone missing. From the outside, Sabine seems to have it all. A successful and lucrative career, a handsome husband and a beautiful home. Things aren’t always what they appear to be, though, and as the detective assigned to her case delves deeper, we learn Sabine’s been hiding a few secrets of her own. ”It’s almost like you’re trying to make me think that the woman I know and love is someone else entirely.” The question remains. What happened to Sabine Hardison?It took me a bit to settle on a rating for Dear Wife for several reasons. As far as the good stuff goes, the story captured my attention from the very beginning. Told from the points of view of Beth, Sabine’s husband and the detective investigating Sabine’s case, we get enough information to start drawing our own conclusions as to who Beth may be and what she has to do with the missing person case. I had my guesses but nothing’s blatantly obvious until it is. The little twist at the end was a surprise I definitely didn’t see coming.Even though there were parts of the story I felt dragged a little, by the time I finished reading I realized it all helped the story come full circle. What may seem insignificant while reading one character’s POV may take on more significance when seen through another character’s eyes and I loved that. It goes without saying that Suspense books need a certain level of “WTF” moments to keep the story moving and by the end of the book, my patience was rewarded and the surprises kept coming. I’ve said all I’m going to about the story itself. This book should be entered into blindly with no spoilers ahead of time. This is my first book by Kimberly Belle and I’m happy to say I have new writer to add to my list of go to authors. The story is well written, well thought out and wonderfully executed. It’s been a while since I’ve dipped my toe in the suspense genre and I couldn’t be happier Dear Wife was the book that helped bring me back around.ARC provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest, voluntary review
    more
  • Jamie
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 thrilling stars!Kimberly Belle, you have yet to let me down! And with Dear Wife, you have outdone yourself. With equal parts thriller and domestic fiction, we learn of the missing Sabine, the "it's always the husband" Jeffrey, detective Marcus and then there's the woman on the run, Beth. All of these characters have something to hide, but it may not be what you think. In a fast paced, tensions high setting, we follow Beth as she runs from an abusive husband and the others as they hunt for mi 4.5 thrilling stars!Kimberly Belle, you have yet to let me down! And with Dear Wife, you have outdone yourself. With equal parts thriller and domestic fiction, we learn of the missing Sabine, the "it's always the husband" Jeffrey, detective Marcus and then there's the woman on the run, Beth. All of these characters have something to hide, but it may not be what you think. In a fast paced, tensions high setting, we follow Beth as she runs from an abusive husband and the others as they hunt for missing Sabine. While you may think this story has an obvious path, you should disavow that notion right now - as your jaw will drop as twists are revealed. I can hardly wait another near to see what comes next from Belle!**Trigger warning - domestic violence**I received an advance copy. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Heather Gudenkauf
    January 1, 1970
    A woman on the run, a grieving husband, a bereft sister, a brokenhearted lover, a determined detective - or are they? Nothing is as it seems in Kimberly Belle’s, knockout thriller, DEAR WIFE. I tore through the pages of this clever, multi-layered stunner that not even the most astute suspense fan will be able to see what’s coming until the final, jaw-dropping twist. Clear your calendar and put DEAR WIFE at the top of your to-be-read list. Five breathtaking stars!
    more
  • Jayme
    January 1, 1970
    Jeffrey Hardison returns home from a business trip to find a messy house and no sign of his wife. But, she is a very successful real estate agent, who often has late night showings with prospective clients, so although he isn’t pleased that she isn’t home, he isn’t concerned. At first. Her twin sister, Ingrid IS immediately concerned. She and Sabine speak several times a day, and they share everything about their lives with one another. She knows that Jeffrey isn’t the loving husband he portrays Jeffrey Hardison returns home from a business trip to find a messy house and no sign of his wife. But, she is a very successful real estate agent, who often has late night showings with prospective clients, so although he isn’t pleased that she isn’t home, he isn’t concerned. At first. Her twin sister, Ingrid IS immediately concerned. She and Sabine speak several times a day, and they share everything about their lives with one another. She knows that Jeffrey isn’t the loving husband he portrays himself to be. And, that since Sabine is the main breadwinner, Jeffrey stands to lose a lot if Sabine leaves him.“I wasn’t always this vindictive, but you weren’t always this mean. “ Beth Murphy is on the run. For nearly a year, she has been planning for this day. A day some people might call any other Wednesday, but Beth prefers to see it as her new beginning—one with a new look, a new name, and a new city. Beth has given her plan significant thought, because one small slip and her violent husband will find her. Only one person knows that she has left. “YOU. YOU ARE COMING FOR ME. AND I WILL BE READY. “Sure, there have been other suspense novels about battered women on the run, but I PROMISE you, the premise may not be new..but the execution is. Kimberley Belle lays out some clues for you...if you follow along carefully you may think you have it all figured out. I had an A-ha moment at about 65% . I was partially right. Which is ok with me-because what that says to me is-no plot holes! And, there was just enough time left to resolve, but not rush the ending. BUT, what was best. I wasn’t entirely right either. The author managed to still SURPRISE me, because there was more than one way that this story could be resolved...and ANY one of them would’ve been PLAUSIBLE, which is a MUST for ME, in my suspense novels. I can’t wait to see what Kimberley Belle has in store for us next! I would like to thank Netgalley, Harlequin-Park Row and Kimberley Belle for The digital ARC, I received in exchange for a candid review! This title will be released on June, 25, 2019!
    more
  • Erin Clemence
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for a free, electronic ARC of this novel received in exchange for an honest review. Beth Murphy is on the run, trying to put miles between her and her abusive husband, a feat that took over a year to plan. Now, she is desperate to start over with a new look and a new life. Miles away, Jeffrey Hardison comes home to an empty house and soon realizes that his wife, Sabine, is missing. With her car in the driveway and her phone on its charger, it appears as if Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for a free, electronic ARC of this novel received in exchange for an honest review. Beth Murphy is on the run, trying to put miles between her and her abusive husband, a feat that took over a year to plan. Now, she is desperate to start over with a new look and a new life. Miles away, Jeffrey Hardison comes home to an empty house and soon realizes that his wife, Sabine, is missing. With her car in the driveway and her phone on its charger, it appears as if Sabine has disappeared without a trace. Soon the police are examining all leads- most of which lead them to suspect Jeffrey. Determined to solve the case, the detective in charge is willing to stop at nothing to find the answers. Where is Sabine? Who is Beth? What is their connection? Kimberley Belle is the author of Three Days Missing and The Marriage Lie, and it is only recently that I was introduced to her work. This was most definitely a mistake on my part, as I had not known what I was missing. With similarities to “Gone Girl” (yes, I said it!), “Dear Wife” is an addictive, suspense-fueled mystery, full of intrigue and drama. There is one “ah-ha!” moment in this novel, when one of the major mysteries is revealed, and for the most part, the secrets in this novel are kept under lock and key, remaining mostly unpredictable until Belle reveals them like a sucker punch to the gut. The plotline in “Wife” was a page-turner, grabbing my attention at page one and never letting go. The story is told from the standpoint of Beth, Jeffrey and Marcus, and each section flows easily into the next, from one cliff hanger ending to another. A powerful novel fueled by intense mystery and intrigue, “Dear Wife” is an unpredictable, emotional delight. Kimberley Belle has yet to let me down, and “Wife” too, does not disappoint.
    more
  • Dennis
    January 1, 1970
    I keep teetering between 4 and 5 stars for Kimberly Belle's upcoming domestic thriller Dear Wife , so I'm rounding up because it's my first read by the author. Dear Wife is a story about determination—Beth Murphy is on the run. She is escaping her abusive husband, assumed a new identity, and has fled from her home. Beth knows that her husband will find her if she makes any wrong move, and is determined to achieve the safety that she deserves. At the same time, Sabine Hardison is missing. Sabi I keep teetering between 4 and 5 stars for Kimberly Belle's upcoming domestic thriller Dear Wife , so I'm rounding up because it's my first read by the author. Dear Wife is a story about determination—Beth Murphy is on the run. She is escaping her abusive husband, assumed a new identity, and has fled from her home. Beth knows that her husband will find her if she makes any wrong move, and is determined to achieve the safety that she deserves. At the same time, Sabine Hardison is missing. Sabine's husband Jeffrey, and her sister Ingrid report her missing—but Sabine's personal life had a lot of secrets that could prove to show possible motive in her disappearance. As Sabine's life starts to unravel right before her family's eyes, the police force—specifically the detective assigned to the case—are desperate to find out answers. Dear Wife is so, so good! I was really surprised at the level of emotions that I've displayed while reading Kimberly Belle's upcoming thriller—it was that shocking! Who is Beth? Who is Sabine? How are they related to each other, if at all? Geez, I don't normally just banter about a good book without heavy details, but the level of intrigue and mystery really sets the tone for the entire book and I don't want to spoil it for you. With no cheap party tricks that many thrillers have been throwing into their stories lately, Dear Wife delivers a strong mystery that will feed your appetite, without going off the rails with ridiculousness. It's a believable, gut-wrenching story about a woman seeking to prevail, and I am here for it. I was completely along for the ride, and never once was able to expect how the story was going to play out. Dear Wife is a must read for anyone who wants to enjoy a simple, yet very, very well polished, mystery novel.
    more
  • Marisa
    January 1, 1970
    I am writing this as i pick my jaw up off the floor......there is a twist.....one i did not see coming!!!DEAR WIFE is a story about an important topic domestic violence. Through the eyes of a runaway wife who was threatened, drugged, raped and beaten til she bled my heart broke with every page. Kimberly Belle discusses this topic and empowers the victim. Although tough to read at times, the detail allowed me to feel the urgency for the character.I have always been addicted to true crime...during I am writing this as i pick my jaw up off the floor......there is a twist.....one i did not see coming!!!DEAR WIFE is a story about an important topic domestic violence. Through the eyes of a runaway wife who was threatened, drugged, raped and beaten til she bled my heart broke with every page. Kimberly Belle discusses this topic and empowers the victim. Although tough to read at times, the detail allowed me to feel the urgency for the character.I have always been addicted to true crime...during trials my eyes glued to the tv, thinking what motive the killers had. It's the same feeling I got with this novel. I couldnt stop reading because i was obsessed with finding out the truth. Finding the answer. Who killed the missing woman? Is she really dead? If she is dead who is this voice? I have loved everything Kimberly Belle has written but this novel truly raises the bar. I loved it and cant wait to discuss it when it hits the best seller shelf (for sure) in June!!!!!!Best read of 2019 thus far. Counting down days until release.
    more
  • Laura Rash
    January 1, 1970
    Holy fuck! There, I said it! I read A LOT of books and I usually spot where the storyline is going by about 25% in. Like fully can guess the plot except for maybe a few minor blips. Not this one! Kimberly Belle got me good! I don’t want to say more bc I don’t do spoilers! Very intense and emotional with a Sleeping With the Enemy vibe that had me cringing as I quickly turned pages. This just may be her best book yet!
    more
  • Alexa
    January 1, 1970
    I've been conflicted about at what point I should review this, and what I should rate it. At this juncture, my star rating reflects an average between my rating JUST for the thriller aspect--5 stars--and my rating for the problematic representation--1 star. For this book, indeed, has incredibly problematic representation. After feeling wholly gaslit by all the 5 stars here and on NetGalley, I feel it's my duty of care to write this review so that other readers who noticed the same things I did f I've been conflicted about at what point I should review this, and what I should rate it. At this juncture, my star rating reflects an average between my rating JUST for the thriller aspect--5 stars--and my rating for the problematic representation--1 star. For this book, indeed, has incredibly problematic representation. After feeling wholly gaslit by all the 5 stars here and on NetGalley, I feel it's my duty of care to write this review so that other readers who noticed the same things I did feel supported. I will not go into detail here, as I already sent an extensive and long private note to the publisher advising they make some changes before publication. I am refraining from sharing full details until I know whether or not any care will be taken. So potential readers of the book in it's current ARC form should be warned that this book has some questionable descriptions of people of color, is fatphobic, and most egregiously contains such flagrant transphobia that I almost DNFed the book. I would NOT advise any trans or nonbinary person read this novel as they will find it severely triggering. I am not a person to give trigger warnings lightly, or to "drag" books, but I was so shocked reading this and feel readers should be warned. The depiction of a trans person in this book is harmful.Generally, the "diversity" felt like the author saw criticism of her last book, which was both severely white/cis/het/upper middle class AND racist (the only two Black people in the book were... poorly represented), and then doubled-down here, throwing a ton of POC and a trans-person in because "It's the poor part of Atlanta! So diverse! Much representation!" (Every other setting in the book is white/cis/straight) And the result is mixed as far as POC go. My quarrel is with the representation of an allegedly Asian American character, who is both described confusingly AND in a racist manner (I will refrain from details as I'm hoping the publisher fixes it before publication). Otherwise, the Latinx characters didn't have anything TOO horrendous jump out at me, but that doesn't mean I didn't miss something. No one cares about fatphobia, I know, but hey it's still there and I really didn't love reading about people like me being dehumanized on the page. So the biggest issue is the transphobia. Again, I will not go into details at this time--though I have many choice quotes at the ready--because I sincerely hope edits will be made before publication. If not, I'll post EVERYTHING as readers deserve to know what's in this book. But flat out: trans/non-binary readers should skip this one, as-is.I mean, honestly, if this is the result of trying to make the representation more diverse, I would prefer the author just stick to white, upper middle class, cis-straight people from now on (even if it doesn't reflect the South I lived in). The actual thriller was excellent! But these things ruined the read for me. And I really hope the adult/mystery/thriller publishing world starts to take greater care in the things they publish. Children's lit has been having this critical conversation and examination for several years--it's messy and we still mess up, but I don't think the transphobic depiction in this book would EVER make it to the ARC stage in kidlit at this point (or I hope not). I cannot believe not a single person on the publishing team noticed.
    more
  • Melissa In The City
    January 1, 1970
    O M GI just read my new favorite book. That was one hell of a story with twists and turns and characters so messed up they make your head spin. I finished this in less than 24 hours it was so addicting!I went into this not knowing anything about it and i think thats what made it awesome. Unexpected everything.If you have this on your ARC shelf, read it N O W. If you dont have it, request it, buy it, borrow it come June 25th.Cheers to Kimberly Belle for everything a psychological thriller should O M GI just read my new favorite book. That was one hell of a story with twists and turns and characters so messed up they make your head spin. I finished this in less than 24 hours it was so addicting!I went into this not knowing anything about it and i think thats what made it awesome. Unexpected everything.If you have this on your ARC shelf, read it N O W. If you dont have it, request it, buy it, borrow it come June 25th.Cheers to Kimberly Belle for everything a psychological thriller should be which is unpredictable, twisty, and full of paranoia, murder and relationships gone wrong.Posting on goodreads as well.Thank you #NetGalley, the author and the publisher for my free Arc in exchange for my honest review. Honest review: 10 stars and a standing ovation!!!
    more
  • Sherri Thacker
    January 1, 1970
    A very fast paced psychological thriller that I’m left so confused right now. I need it all to sink in!!! Kimberly Belle never disappoints!! Love her writing style! Thank you NetGalley and the publisher for the book for my honest review.
  • Brandy
    January 1, 1970
    “If my husband doesn’t report me missing, am I really gone?”Snap. Crackle. Pop, kids! This book melts in your mouth and in your hands. Yes, it’s that good. Wow. Well, Ok. Dear Wife is a WTF, did that really just happen, SMFH nightmare! It’s a read that makes you look at your, “better half” with a slanted eye and perhaps, you’ll find yourself sleeping with one eye open, as well. Hands down, Dear Wife is a must read for 2019. It’s gives you chills and thrills. 5 plus stars for this domestic noir❤ “If my husband doesn’t report me missing, am I really gone?”Snap. Crackle. Pop, kids! This book melts in your mouth and in your hands. Yes, it’s that good. Wow. Well, Ok. Dear Wife is a WTF, did that really just happen, SMFH nightmare! It’s a read that makes you look at your, “better half” with a slanted eye and perhaps, you’ll find yourself sleeping with one eye open, as well. Hands down, Dear Wife is a must read for 2019. It’s gives you chills and thrills. 5 plus stars for this domestic noir❤️
    more
  • Prince Charming Doesn't Exist
    January 1, 1970
    Dear Wife please come home to my kindle, this chase wait is itself Angst.I CANNOT wait for this book, the synopsis is sinking me in like quick sandBeth Murphy is on the run...For nearly a year, Beth has been planning for this day. A day some people might call any other Wednesday, but Beth prefers to see it as her new beginning--one with a new look, new name and new city. Beth has given her plan significant thought, because one small slip and her violent husband will find her.Sabine Hardison i Dear Wife please come home to my kindle, this chase wait is itself Angst.I CANNOT wait for this book, the synopsis is sinking me in like quick sandBeth Murphy is on the run...For nearly a year, Beth has been planning for this day. A day some people might call any other Wednesday, but Beth prefers to see it as her new beginning--one with a new look, new name and new city. Beth has given her plan significant thought, because one small slip and her violent husband will find her.Sabine Hardison is missing...A couple hundred miles away, Jeffrey returns home from a work trip to find his wife, Sabine, is missing. Wherever she is, she's taken almost nothing with her. Her abandoned car is the only evidence the police have, and all signs point to foul play.As the police search for leads, the case becomes more and more convoluted. Sabine's carefully laid plans for her future indicate trouble at home, and a husband who would be better off with her gone. The detective on the case will stop at nothing to find out what happened and bring this missing woman home. Where is Sabine? And who is Beth? The only thing that's certain is that someone is lying and the truth won't stay buried for long.
    more
  • Robin
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars - Excellent domestic psychological drama with a twist I never saw coming. It does have a bit of disturbing domestic violence, so be aware if sensitive to that kind of content. Update: I had promised a more thorough review but I'm afraid I may give something away so just know that this does NOT go where you think it is and instead of straining your brain trying to figure it out, just go with the flow.This is perfect for readers of Catherine McKenzie, Peter Swanson, Shari LaPena, and B. 4.5 stars - Excellent domestic psychological drama with a twist I never saw coming. It does have a bit of disturbing domestic violence, so be aware if sensitive to that kind of content. Update: I had promised a more thorough review but I'm afraid I may give something away so just know that this does NOT go where you think it is and instead of straining your brain trying to figure it out, just go with the flow.This is perfect for readers of Catherine McKenzie, Peter Swanson, Shari LaPena, and B. A. Paris.Thanks to the publisher, Park Row/HarperCollins/Harlequin for the advance reading copy.
    more
  • Christina McDonald
    January 1, 1970
    An irresistible, cleverly plotted thriller that will keep you guessing right up until the final heart-stopping twist. Dear Wife is the captivating story of a wife on the run from her abusive husband, ensuing in a fast-paced, heart-pounding game of cat and mouse.Beth is smart, tough, intelligent, and terrified. And she's determined to put as much distance between her husband and her as possible. Hundreds of miles away the police have started investigating the mysterious disappearance of Sabine Ha An irresistible, cleverly plotted thriller that will keep you guessing right up until the final heart-stopping twist. Dear Wife is the captivating story of a wife on the run from her abusive husband, ensuing in a fast-paced, heart-pounding game of cat and mouse.Beth is smart, tough, intelligent, and terrified. And she's determined to put as much distance between her husband and her as possible. Hundreds of miles away the police have started investigating the mysterious disappearance of Sabine Harding. The detective on the case will stop at nothing to bring her home.An engrossing plot, razor sharp writing and compelling characters I felt I actually knew, Dear Wife exceeded all my expectations and then some! A little like Gone Girl, but even better, I highly recommend getting yourself a copy and settling in for one hell of a ride!
    more
  • Hannah Mary McKinnon
    January 1, 1970
    In Dear Wife, Kimberly Belle expertly takes you on an adrenaline-filled, twisty roller-coaster ride that’ll keep you guessing about who’s missing, who’s lying, and, ultimately, who might get away with murder. Compelling and addictive! I've read every single one of Kimberly's books, and I'll read all her future ones, too.
    more
  • Melissa Borsey
    January 1, 1970
    Beth is on the run from someone who is very abusive towards her. Sabine is a real estate agent who has gone missing and her husband, thanks to Marcus, the lead investigator on the case, is the prime suspect. This is a great game of cat and mouse that held my interest from beginning to end! I thank Netgalley for the opportunity to read and review this book.
    more
  • Jypsy
    January 1, 1970
    Before Dear Wife, I had never read anything by Kimberly Belle. She is obviously a talented author, and this is a good story. The narrators are a wife on the run, a husband looking for a wife and a cop looking for a missing woman. Are they connected? The story is sharp, tense and unpredictable. It's a satisfying psychological thriller that will keep you up all night. Thanks to NetGalley for an arc in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Christine
    January 1, 1970
    This was GREAT! Review to come closer to publishing.
Write a review