Whisper Network
Four women learn their boss (a man who’s always been surrounded by rumors about how he treats women) is next in line to be CEO—what will happen when they decide enough is enough?Sloane, Ardie, Grace, and Rosalita are four women who have worked at Truviv, Inc., for years. The sudden death of Truviv's CEO means their boss, Ames, will likely take over the entire company. Ames is a complicated man, a man they’ve all known for a long time, a man who’s always been surrounded by...whispers. Whispers that have always been ignored by those in charge. But the world has changed, and the women are watching Ames’s latest promotion differently. This time, they’ve decided enough is enough. Sloane and her colleagues set in motion a catastrophic shift within every floor and department of the Truviv offices. All four women’s lives—as women, colleagues, mothers, wives, friends, even adversaries—will change dramatically as a result."If only you had listened to us,” they tell us on page one, “none of this would have happened."

Whisper Network Details

TitleWhisper Network
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 2nd, 2019
PublisherFlatiron Books
ISBN-139781250319470
Rating
GenreFiction, Mystery, Thriller, Contemporary

Whisper Network Review

  • Paromjit
    January 1, 1970
    Chandler Baker has written an unflinching must read novel for our times, for every generation of women and girls of a family and perhaps, even more pertinent, for every man and boy to read. In this story, we are immersed into our #MeToo contemporary world, set in Dallas, and the Truviv corporation, and its power structures, politics and culture. Four women, Ardie, Sloane and Grace, in house lawyers in the department of North American Legal Affairs, and cleaner Rosalita, a single mom with young s Chandler Baker has written an unflinching must read novel for our times, for every generation of women and girls of a family and perhaps, even more pertinent, for every man and boy to read. In this story, we are immersed into our #MeToo contemporary world, set in Dallas, and the Truviv corporation, and its power structures, politics and culture. Four women, Ardie, Sloane and Grace, in house lawyers in the department of North American Legal Affairs, and cleaner Rosalita, a single mom with young son, Saloman, have worked for the company for years. Their world is rocked when the current CEO, Desmond Bankole dies suddenly, leaving a vacuum at the top, there are whispers that their boss, the General Counsel, Ames Garrett, is the man most likely to succeed as CEO. Perturbed by this possibility and the entry of a new woman into the department, Katherine Bell and her experiences, the women embark on a series of actions that is to have their lives begin to catastrophically unravel after a death.Interwoven into the narrative are snippets of depositions, cross-examinations, and police interviews. Circulating below the radar in Dallas are rumours of a online network list compiled by women for women of men to beware of. Having put up with the arrogant Ames, a manipulative and underhand man, the women have finally reached the point where enough is enough. They are a close knit group of women, flawed, but supportive of each other, although their relationships with each other do experience the occasional bad patch. Sloane's young socially awkward daughter, Abigail, is being bullied at school and on social media, and Abigail's treatment by senior staff at her school outlines just how differently girls are treated in comparison to boys. When it comes to protecting her daughter, Sloane is a fierce and formidable force of nature. The police entertain and probe the possibility that a death is murder, and the women find themselves facing a nightmare of a public and corporate PR backlash, one which threatens to destroy and impoverish them in a twisted tale that includes secrets, sexism, discrimination, harrassment, and sexual abuse. Baker provides a plethora of rich descriptions and commentary of what women face in corporate environments, a chorus of voices based on real life facts, the whole shebang of real life horrors. Then there are the details of what happens to a woman's body and mental health after giving birth through the character of Grace. There will be recognition of much of what is laid out in the narrative, it is disturbing just how much of it will resonate, mitigated only slightly by the support found in other courageous women. Baker does not shy away from the reality of how some women can make an unbearable situation experienced by other women so much worse. Perhaps the scariest and most unsettling aspect is laid out in just how early negative experiences can be embedded in women with the portrayal of young Abigail's treatment by her school. This is a smart, thought provoking, and uneasy read, celebrating women's supportive friends and networks, the problems they face negotiating the minefield that is corporate culture and the men that would exploit and take advantage of them. A brilliant and relevant read, part thriller, that additionally outlines the impossible pressures society, corporations and women put on themselves to be perfect, without a doubt this is a book that I recommend highly. Many thanks to Little, Brown for an ARC.
    more
  • Meredith
    January 1, 1970
    “Listen.”Whisper Network is a timely and powerful read about four women working in corporate America who band together to stop the whispers and speak up about sexual harassment and assault in the workplace. This is part mystery part women’s fiction, and part social commentary told through the voices of four women. They are done covering for their predator of a boss. They hear the whispers that surround him--they have been subjects of the gossip. Some are his victims, while others have been com “Listen.”Whisper Network is a timely and powerful read about four women working in corporate America who band together to stop the whispers and speak up about sexual harassment and assault in the workplace. This is part mystery part women’s fiction, and part social commentary told through the voices of four women. They are done covering for their predator of a boss. They hear the whispers that surround him--they have been subjects of the gossip. Some are his victims, while others have been compliant in covering up his crimes. Their jobs, reputations, and marriages are at stake so they pretend nothing ever happened. They just try and function day to day without focusing on what was done to them or still being done to them. They are vulnerable, real, and raw. They aren’t always the best people, but when it comes time to stand up for one another, they take charge.They decide to stop whispering and speak up. While they were prepared to have to defend themselves in the process of speaking up, what they weren’t prepared to face was being accused of murder. I have to say I didn’t love these characters; they are not the most likable, but they grew on me. By the end, I felt like I knew them and I was surprised by how emotional I was reading the final pages. Whisper Network offers an honest look at how women are treated in the workplace. Not only by how they are treated by men, but also how women treat one another. This is an important and provocative read about the power of speaking up for those who don’t have a voice. “Our legacy would be our words. Shouted out loud. For all to hear. We were done petitioning to be believed. We were finished requesting the benefit of the doubt. We weren’t asking for permission. The floor was ours.” I won a copy of this book in a GR giveaway!
    more
  • Holly B
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 STARS An corporate office full of whispers, tension, and secrets. #MeTOO # BuzzyBook If you are tired of predictable thrillers that seem too formulaic, give this time bomb of secrets, lies, and regrets a go! It still has the feel of a thriller, but so much more.I was drawn into the whole atmosphere of Truviv, Inc. The tension that developed after the CEO's sudden death, what that would mean for the women who had worked there for years, and the anxiety that surrounded his replacement. This pr 4.5 STARS An corporate office full of whispers, tension, and secrets. #MeTOO # BuzzyBook If you are tired of predictable thrillers that seem too formulaic, give this time bomb of secrets, lies, and regrets a go! It still has the feel of a thriller, but so much more.I was drawn into the whole atmosphere of Truviv, Inc. The tension that developed after the CEO's sudden death, what that would mean for the women who had worked there for years, and the anxiety that surrounded his replacement. This prompts an increase in the  whispers and banding together of the women.   I felt like I really got to know the women and was happy they supported each other. So much to think about!When the women decide enough is enough, things get wildly out of control and the consequences to everyone's actions come into question. Who will survive? Who is telling the truth? Who has something to hide? I enjoyed the structure of the eye-accounts, past/present chapters, deposition transcripts,  employee statements and interviews. It really kept the story moving and interesting.A timely, important topic and a shocker of an ending! Highly Recommend!Thanks to Flat Iron Books for my advanced copy! OUT ON JULY 2, 2019 
    more
  • Nilufer Ozmekik
    January 1, 1970
    Four powerful, provocative, remarkable, outstanding, effective, encouraging, the women’s story who knows to say no and who are ready to fight back stars!!!This is amazing mashup of Big Little Lies’ office version and 80’s movie( Tomlin, Parton, Fonda) Nine to Five’s dramatic version takes place at now! Add some media power and sexual abuse cases! We have a great book in our hands! Imagine a business world dominated by powerful men who see women as expendable objects, needed to be terminated if t Four powerful, provocative, remarkable, outstanding, effective, encouraging, the women’s story who knows to say no and who are ready to fight back stars!!!This is amazing mashup of Big Little Lies’ office version and 80’s movie( Tomlin, Parton, Fonda) Nine to Five’s dramatic version takes place at now! Add some media power and sexual abuse cases! We have a great book in our hands! Imagine a business world dominated by powerful men who see women as expendable objects, needed to be terminated if they create any small obstacles on their way to climb the highest stairs to the top of the world. We don’t need to imagine! Because this is not a fiction. We’re living in this world described meticulously and impeccably on this book! There is no exaggeration. Every word is so true! Corporate business life resembles a chaotic jungle and still Darwin’s theory of “Survival of the fittest” stands! So the women have to wear boxing gloves and sharpen their knives or nails, pick up their best weapon to fight back and survive to be a leader or take a permanent place at this jungle. (Which means we need to learn how to be a wild animal!)Everything started with the whispers at the restrooms on this book. Then whispers get louder and turned into the speeches and finally action spoke louder than the words. We finally heard the SCREAM!However the story is told by four different women who have their own flaws, secrets, families and different ethical approaches to achieve their business goals, they’re carrying their ambitions in their sleeves, I really like Rosalita more ( instead of these four women). She was objective, more insightful one , while she is working as cleaning lady and dusting the windows of Truviv, she also opens different doors and let us see the different perspective of the story. Her own story was more heart-wrenching and emotional, genuine for me.As a matter of fact this book was not about solving the murder mystery and understanding which one of them is guilty? It was about learning to listen to those women at first and then learning to believe in them! It was about to know your rights, to be brave enough to stand for your own self.The final pages are so emotional, bending your heart, breaking it in million pieces, making you cry so hard! The revelations of secrets parts are a little confusing for me! I asked myself to many times which secret belongs to who? I made some re-readings, problem solved! But still my mind got hurt! It was like solving an equation with hundred variables.Message is clear! SPEAK UP FOR YOURSELF! DON’T WHISPER! JUST SHOUT OUT LOUD!It’s one of the greatest feminism manifest I’ve read lately! So I mostly enjoy it!
    more
  • BernLuvsBooks (Mom to 2 Posh Lil Divas)
    January 1, 1970
    "By whispering, whose secrets were we keeping anyway - ours or theirs? Whose interests did our silence ultimately protect?... we grew tired of whispering because what were we hiding, after all? We had stories, all of us. Would speaking up cost us? Maybe. But maybe it would cost them, too." So while this book definitely speaks to an important and timely issue for women, I simply did not love how it was executed here. It's billed as a thriller that is part murder mystery and part manifesto - it i "By whispering, whose secrets were we keeping anyway - ours or theirs? Whose interests did our silence ultimately protect?... we grew tired of whispering because what were we hiding, after all? We had stories, all of us. Would speaking up cost us? Maybe. But maybe it would cost them, too." So while this book definitely speaks to an important and timely issue for women, I simply did not love how it was executed here. It's billed as a thriller that is part murder mystery and part manifesto - it is not. If you go into this expecting a thriller, you will be disappointed by the execution - in my opinion, it doesn't live up to the genre. I'd definitely classify this more as women's fiction with a whodunnit death thrown in. Unfortunately, I had a hard time with this book. The characters never fully resonated with me and I kept putting the book down in favor of others I was reading. The Whisper Network definitely has a slow-burn build up and I'm generally not a fan of those. I did enjoy the end and despite having some thoughts on it, I didn't have the whodunnit figured out exactly which I appreciated. Still, the book was overall just an okay read for me. While I appreciate Chandler Baker's intentions (definitely read the author's note) and her desire to be a voice for women and support the brave women who have stopped whispering this is not a book I'd wholeheartedly recommend to friends or try to thrust in a fellow reader's hands.
    more
  • leslie hamod
    January 1, 1970
    Extraordinary read! Transcends imagination! This combines thriller, general fiction and womens issues. A book I couldn't help but read straight through.A novel which hits every nerve. A book of betrayal. A book that made me weep tears of experience.Women work jobs which seemed out of reach in my young up and coming years. But as high administration, I signed away my rights to legal action for a two week check and a nondisclosure agreement.Ignorance, lies and stories which circulate destroy reput Extraordinary read! Transcends imagination! This combines thriller, general fiction and womens issues. A book I couldn't help but read straight through.A novel which hits every nerve. A book of betrayal. A book that made me weep tears of experience.Women work jobs which seemed out of reach in my young up and coming years. But as high administration, I signed away my rights to legal action for a two week check and a nondisclosure agreement.Ignorance, lies and stories which circulate destroy reputations. Ruin future prospects. These issues affect both men and women. Because, although the majority of cases are true, some are not. And the scars are permanent.Laws to protect an employee following the termination of a job, especially by the employee, are not observed. Whispers destroy careers.Lies begin with whispers. And whispers stay in your ears forever. Rumbling around as regret, what might have happened,if only....This book will have you wondering, about who is guilty, who is lying and who caused a death.Read and learn.Impeccably written. Incredibly real characters and plot gifted by the gods!Highly recommended! A MUST READ!
    more
  • Dem
    January 1, 1970
    The Whisper Network by chandler Baker was entertaining but boy did I struggle with this one for the first 200 pages I had seen where many readers have compared this one to Big Little Lies and I have to agree they are quite silimiar and this is probably why I picked this one up in the first place but I didnt find it as witty or as compelling as Big Little Lies.The book does have “ The me too campaign” at the heart of its story” as Four women Sloane, Ardie, Grace and Rosalita have worked in the sa The Whisper Network by chandler Baker was entertaining but boy did I struggle with this one for the first 200 pages I had seen where many readers have compared this one to Big Little Lies and I have to agree they are quite silimiar and this is probably why I picked this one up in the first place but I didnt find it as witty or as compelling as Big Little Lies.The book does have “ The me too campaign” at the heart of its story” as Four women Sloane, Ardie, Grace and Rosalita have worked in the same legal office of a large firm for a number of years, but when the CEO dies suddenly, his replacement to be “Ames” has a murky past and all the women have a different relationship with Ames and have reasons to put a stop to this man’s Advances. The book is realistic in its identification what some women encounter and have had to put up with in the workplace and I can see this one being a big book club hit this season as plenty to discuss here. The book works on many levels, with a suspenseful and entertaining plot. but my problem with the novel was that the characters were indistinguishable from each other for the first half of the story, Sloane, Ardie and Grace just seemed to blend together and I had a hard time keeping track of who was who, I really didn't like or connect with any of them either. I very nearly put this one into the DNF pile as it just didn't hold my attention but a friend encouraged me to stick with it as it would pick up in the second half and she was right it did turn out to be quite readable and I liked the ending. Not one for my Favourites list but a book that was worth reading even if I did struggle through it.
    more
  • Jasmine from How Useful It Is
    January 1, 1970
    I started reading Whisper Network on 6/24/2019 and finished it on 6/30/2019. This book was well written though I started to read expecting thrills in a thriller but I’m left with going through the motions of waiting for when the thrills will begin, all the way up to page 209 out of page 392. The second half is a bit better but I wouldn’t say it was thrilling. This story focuses on the #metoo movement where women come together against men for sexual harassment. They whisper to each other what the I started reading Whisper Network on 6/24/2019 and finished it on 6/30/2019. This book was well written though I started to read expecting thrills in a thriller but I’m left with going through the motions of waiting for when the thrills will begin, all the way up to page 209 out of page 392. The second half is a bit better but I wouldn’t say it was thrilling. This story focuses on the #metoo movement where women come together against men for sexual harassment. They whisper to each other what they went through. Of the four views, I like Ardie best. She’s funny. She said she “gave them a look that would shrivel testicles into raisins” and that really make me smile. She’s real and not pretentious. I don’t like Sloane. She’s a bit of a bully, to her friends at work and husband at home. She just makes decisions and expect everyone to go along with it.This book is told in the third person point of view following Grace, Director of Compliance as she pumps milk for her newborn and receives the news about their company’s CEO’s untimely death. The second view is Sloane, Senior Vice President as she’s running late to an office meeting from her parenting duties at her daughter’s school. The third view is Rosalita, cleaning lady to where Grace, Ardie, and Sloane works. The fourth view is Ardie, lawyer in tax, who now joins the dating apps at 42 even though all she wants is being married to her ex-husband and sharing life with their adopted son. They all chat about people they work with, especially their boss Ames, General Counsel who could be the next CEO. Between chapters, there are employee statements, courtroom battles, news clippings, interviews, chat messages, etc dating in the past and future. This book started out in the present and then going back to 2 months ago with activities leading up to.Whisper Network is for the most part, a women’s fiction. It leads on with working mothers in the corporate world against their male counterparts. Women having to deal with children at home and remember to answer questions at work without blaming mother duties. Grace feels resentful when anyone would ask her if she will come back to work after giving birth to her daughter because no one would ask her husband that question. Each chapter begins with discussions about women problems as compared to men. One of the women problems is the complain of injecting chemicals into their face like Botox, as if everyone can afford it. So no, I don’t consider that as my problem. The ending was good. I could guess some but not all. If you enjoy a slow-burning story-building then this book is for you!Pro: working mothers, corporate lawyers, diversity, work friendshipCon: slow paced, thrill factor is low throughoutI rate it 3.5 stars!***Disclaimer: Many thanks to Flatiron Books for the opportunity to read and review. Please be assured that my opinions are honest.xoxo,Jasmine at www.howusefulitis.wordpress.com for more details
    more
  • Bkwmlee
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 starsWritten as a response to the #metoo movement and the various sexual harassment scandals that have made headlines over the past few years, author Chandler Baker’s propulsive new book Whisper Network is an interesting look into corporate elite culture and a male-dominated work environment where “whispers” and rumors abound. The story’s powerful opening line sets the trajectory of the narrative into motion: “If only you’d listened to us, none of this would have happened.” The narration a 3.5 starsWritten as a response to the #metoo movement and the various sexual harassment scandals that have made headlines over the past few years, author Chandler Baker’s propulsive new book Whisper Network is an interesting look into corporate elite culture and a male-dominated work environment where “whispers” and rumors abound. The story’s powerful opening line sets the trajectory of the narrative into motion: “If only you’d listened to us, none of this would have happened.” The narration alternates between the perspectives of 4 women – Sloane, Ardie, Grace, and Roselita – all employees of a fictious sports brand corporation in Dallas called Truviv, Inc. who are affected to varying degrees by the sudden death of the company’s CEO Desmond Bankole. As the next in line to take over the CEO role, Ames Garrett is used to having things go his way in both his personal as well as professional life and is looking towards this highly anticipated promotion to cap a decades-long illustrious career. Things go according to the expected trajectory for Ames…that is, until the “whispers” that have surrounded him finally come to a head amidst accusations of sexual harassment by the women in his workplace who are tired of their complaints being ignored. As Ames’ world comes crashing down, so too does that of the 4 women who decided to speak up against him, as long-held secrets come to light that threaten to hinder their efforts. This was an interesting read, also a timely and relevant one given what has been happening in society the past few years. The author Chandler Baker did a good job depicting the struggles that many women encounter in the workplace, especially in the corporate environment where majority of the highest-ranking executive positions are still largely dominated by men. In addition to the core narrative surrounding the 4 women at the center of the story, there were also snippets of police interviews interspersed throughout that provided clues as to some of the events that happen as well as some background information on the characters, which I thought was cleverly done. Another aspect that made this story so relatable was the way Baker incorporated real life events into the narrative, things that I had read about in the news (such as “the spreadsheet” that had been circulated around a few months back) or had either experienced or witnessed personally in the corporate business world that I’ve worked in for many years. Sexual harassment can manifest itself in different ways in the workplace, especially in an office setting, where sometimes the lines can easily become blurred or situations such as being subject to a hostile work environment are less recognizable as an offense that can also constitute harassment – for me, it was refreshing to finally see an author bring these issues to the forefront in the form of a fictional story, which I feel is more powerful in terms of raising awareness than a non-fiction format. With all that said, the aspect of this book that didn’t work too well was classifying it under the “mystery/thriller” genre, as I felt the suspense element was truly lacking throughout the story. This was not a book that kept me on the edge of my seat wanting to find out what happens and to be honest, the plot was actually quite predictable (even the ending I already saw coming and had already worked out most of it by the time I reached that part of the story). Regardless though, this was still a worthy read in my opinion, one that has a strong message delivered in a way that hit all the key points but didn’t come across as overbearing. I’m glad I read this and would readily recommend it, especially for those who work in a corporate setting currently. Received ARC from Flatiron Books via NetGalley
    more
  • Michelle
    January 1, 1970
    2.75 stars. The idea was there, but ultimately, the execution was not.I tried really hard to like this book, especially since it should have been perfectly designed for me. I work in a male dominated corporate environment and my major in college saw me as 1 of 2 females in a class of 40-50 young men. (All but one of my professors were men as well.) So I was excited to read this and cheer on the characters as they fought against misogyny and chauvinistic attitudes (when they appeared) as they tri 2.75 stars. The idea was there, but ultimately, the execution was not.I tried really hard to like this book, especially since it should have been perfectly designed for me. I work in a male dominated corporate environment and my major in college saw me as 1 of 2 females in a class of 40-50 young men. (All but one of my professors were men as well.) So I was excited to read this and cheer on the characters as they fought against misogyny and chauvinistic attitudes (when they appeared) as they tried to climb the corporate ladder (or at least deem themselves as equals to their male colleagues). Alas, I was left deeply disappointed and am sitting here wondering what all the fuss is about. Don't get me wrong, there were some parts of this where I was mentally fist pumping along (that's me! I feel that way too! I experienced that!), but those sentiments were mostly felt in reading the general chapter openings (you'll see what I mean when you read it) and the author's note. Not during the story, which I felt lacked in execution (sorry!). The likeability of the characters didn't bother me. I thought it also served in making me think because there are so many conflicting thoughts in trying to be a woman today. I find myself explaining to myself and other women when this subject comes up, that it's so hard to try and re-program our own thoughts and opinions on things because the way things always were is just so ingrained it even makes it difficult to notice the subtly of wrongs because everything isn't always so blatant. I think this was a good first step, but I imagine there will be a slew of other books written about the #metoo movement that will be better. As mentioned in my comments below, I really enjoyed the author's note and it is such a shame because I know exactly how she feels and where she wanted to go with this. I just can't force myself to say that I liked this when I had trouble keeping track of the characters (they all blended together to me for some reason), had no idea where it was going until around 200+ pages in and felt it kind of winked and nodded a little too much to the format of Big Little Lies.
    more
  • Katharine
    January 1, 1970
    [DNF @ 75%] I picked this up after seeing it recommended a few times and wanting an engaging read for a vacation. While it did the job of keeping me interested, it was ultimately not for me. I decided to put it down when I came across the following quote:"We lived with guilt the way other people lived with chronic medical conditions, only arguably ours was the less treatable."As someone living with a chronic medical condition, I found this statement to be completely out of line, dismissive, and [DNF @ 75%] I picked this up after seeing it recommended a few times and wanting an engaging read for a vacation. While it did the job of keeping me interested, it was ultimately not for me. I decided to put it down when I came across the following quote:"We lived with guilt the way other people lived with chronic medical conditions, only arguably ours was the less treatable."As someone living with a chronic medical condition, I found this statement to be completely out of line, dismissive, and harmful. To suggest that guilt, of any kind, is more serious and harder to treat than a chronic health condition is INSANE. It's offensive and, more importantly, ableist. More than 45% of the population lives with a chronic disease, and women often find it difficult to be diagnosed or taken seriously when it comes to their health conditions. In a book that is supposed to talk about the culture of women in the workplace and the struggles women face in our society, I'm disappointed that this was the way chronic illness was handled, seemingly without thinking about its impact.This line made me stop and reflect on the first 75% and I realized how much it lacked in diversity. Most of the characters in this book are white, straight, cis, and financially privileged. The premise seemed like an interesting spin on a thriller that could have contributed to a larger conversation, but instead it felt lazy and exclusive.If you've read it, I'd love to know your thoughts! (And if someone wants to spoil the end for me, I won't object.)
    more
  • Nadia
    January 1, 1970
    I've been waiting for a fiction book that would focus on the mistreatment of women in a male dominated workplace for a long time. I found this book very timely in the current decade of sexual abuse scandals and the #metoo movement.The main female protagonists are successful lawyers who all experienced some form of sexual harassment by their male colleagues. What I liked about the book was the strong bond and friendship between the women who stuck together no matter what, risking their careers.Wh I've been waiting for a fiction book that would focus on the mistreatment of women in a male dominated workplace for a long time. I found this book very timely in the current decade of sexual abuse scandals and the #metoo movement.The main female protagonists are successful lawyers who all experienced some form of sexual harassment by their male colleagues. What I liked about the book was the strong bond and friendship between the women who stuck together no matter what, risking their careers.While I did have some problems with believability of some of the plot developments, I would still recommend this book especially to women working in corporate environment. 3.5 stars (rounded up)Many thanks to Little, Brown Book Group UK for my review copy in exchange for an honest review. 
    more
  • Cindy Burnett
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsChandler Baker’s new novel, Whisper Network, is part thriller and part ripped from the headlines commentary on today’s society. She tackles what it means to be a woman, particularly a working woman, in the #MeToo era while creating a whodunit with a clever and surprising resolution. Her characters are authentic, multi-faceted, and human, and readers will be cheering these women on as they attempt to takedown their harassing and manipulative boss. Baker’s prose is witty and dramatic, and 4.5 starsChandler Baker’s new novel, Whisper Network, is part thriller and part ripped from the headlines commentary on today’s society. She tackles what it means to be a woman, particularly a working woman, in the #MeToo era while creating a whodunit with a clever and surprising resolution. Her characters are authentic, multi-faceted, and human, and readers will be cheering these women on as they attempt to takedown their harassing and manipulative boss. Baker’s prose is witty and dramatic, and her story will encourage working women everywhere to speak up when placed in a toxic environment. Three cheers for Chandler Baker and her timely and smart tale.
    more
  • Lola
    January 1, 1970
    Of all the stories from female authors that have been published this month, this is the one Reese chooses for her book club? I mean it’s her book club, she can do whatever she wants, but I normally understand why a book is highlighted and right now I’m confused. While this is a timely story with somewhat meaningful commentary on womanhood, wifehood, motherhood and the power relations at play on the work field between men and women, the plot itself is nothing captivating because nothing new is ac Of all the stories from female authors that have been published this month, this is the one Reese chooses for her book club? I mean it’s her book club, she can do whatever she wants, but I normally understand why a book is highlighted and right now I’m confused. While this is a timely story with somewhat meaningful commentary on womanhood, wifehood, motherhood and the power relations at play on the work field between men and women, the plot itself is nothing captivating because nothing new is actually being said. And I could not stand the narration style. It reminded me too much of those TV series that have a narrator narrating everything that is happening, even though the viewer is able to understand that on their own. There were many series like that in Romania, where I spent time this summer, and they drove me absolutely crazy. For example, you see a woman on the screen approaching another person and you hear the narrator say, ‘‘Alicia doesn’t know how to approach Clive. She is deeply in love with him but is afraid to show her real feelings because she doesn’t want to be rejected.’’ Omg stop. The writing is good, though. The author does over-describe or over-explain but she does so in a way that is straight-forward and clear, not confusing or unnecessarily purple-y. The story is not what is promised. I was promised a thriller or at least an interesting mystery but it’s a very soft type of mystery that is only a mystery because most of us are human beings who cannot read the future and so cannot predict what will happen in twenty, fifty, two hundred pages. If you don’t care that little will shock or surprise you and you simply want to read a story about female bonds, ambition and revenge with different not-quite-memorable POVs and an unconventional narration style, I will not keep you from reading this book.Blog | Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Bloglovin’
    more
  • Cortney LaScola - The Bookworm, Myrtle Beach
    January 1, 1970
    I love reading books about women banding together and looking out for one another... whether men want to believe it or not, the way we are treated, expected to act and look, the struggles we go through in life and in our careers because of our gender color every aspect of our lives. It isn't about "innocent until proven guilty" it's about believing women. This novel is so timely and relevant and TRUE.Climbing off my soapbox now, I want to say I really enjoyed this book! I loved the characters wh I love reading books about women banding together and looking out for one another... whether men want to believe it or not, the way we are treated, expected to act and look, the struggles we go through in life and in our careers because of our gender color every aspect of our lives. It isn't about "innocent until proven guilty" it's about believing women. This novel is so timely and relevant and TRUE.Climbing off my soapbox now, I want to say I really enjoyed this book! I loved the characters while appropriately hating the characters I was supposed to hate. When I first read the blurb, it reminded me of a current day 9-5 (which I adore). It was, just a lot darker (and a dead body thrown in the mix).I did feel like the author alluded to a lot of "secrets" throughout the book that weren't explained until the end. There was just so many, I had a hard time keeping track of who was keeping whatever I didn't know from who else. It definitely got confusing, and I didn't really feel that "aha!" moment when the secrets were revealed because I couldn't keep track of them all.Anyway, great book, great writing, definitely recommend!
    more
  • Jill McGill
    January 1, 1970
    A must read... definitely keeps you guessing and turning the pages as fast as you can!The Whisper Network is a fascinating, fast-paced, and timely whodunit thriller that is set in the #METOO-Movement. Chandler Baker does an excellent job tackling women's issues of our time. Sisterhood at its best... I believe women from allover will love this book!A murder mystery that's gripping, twisty, and very addictive... Highly Recommend! “I received a free ARC of Whisper Network by Chandler Baker from Mac A must read... definitely keeps you guessing and turning the pages as fast as you can!The Whisper Network is a fascinating, fast-paced, and timely whodunit thriller that is set in the #METOO-Movement. Chandler Baker does an excellent job tackling women's issues of our time. Sisterhood at its best... I believe women from allover will love this book!A murder mystery that's gripping, twisty, and very addictive... Highly Recommend! “I received a free ARC of Whisper Network by Chandler Baker from Macmillan in exchange for an honest review.”
    more
  • Kelly (and the Book Boar)
    January 1, 1970
    Surely I can't be the only one who read this synopsis and started singing . . . . Tumble outta bed and I stumble to the kitchenPour myself a cup of ambitionYawn and stretch and try to come to lifeJump in the shower and the blood starts pumpin'Out on the street the traffic starts jumpin'With folks like me on the job from 9 to 5 Dear Reese and your Book Club: My expectations for this one are pretty high.
    more
  • Kendall
    January 1, 1970
    What a fun and addicting ride!!A corporate office full of scandals, lies, tensions, and secrets. Such a fun buddy read I had with Holly! I definitely recommend this one if you're tired of predictable thrillers. This is different and still has that fun addicting ride that you're aiming for! I respect Chandler Baker so much for writing about a such a difficult topic of sexual harassment. This story focuses on four women that struggle to make it through the corporate world with challenges of sexual What a fun and addicting ride!!A corporate office full of scandals, lies, tensions, and secrets. Such a fun buddy read I had with Holly! I definitely recommend this one if you're tired of predictable thrillers. This is different and still has that fun addicting ride that you're aiming for! I respect Chandler Baker so much for writing about a such a difficult topic of sexual harassment. This story focuses on four women that struggle to make it through the corporate world with challenges of sexual harassment. This is a very honest portrayal of how women are treated in the workforce between other men sexually harassing them and also through other women's eyes and the assault that women have on one another. The amount of power that this novel resonates with those that don't have a voice is amazing and loved it!!When the four women decide to come to light with the harassment and won't take the BS anymore.. things get real! Who will survive? Who is telling the truth... can they all be trusted? I really enjoyed this one!! And that ending!! :)4 stars! Thank you so much to Flatirion and Netgalley for the arc in exchange for an honest review.Publication date: 7/2/19Published to GR: 6/23/19
    more
  • Carol (Bookaria)
    January 1, 1970
    What happens when four women have had enough at their workplace? This is the story of Sloane, Ardie, Grace, Katherine, and Rosalita and the actions they take end up having dramatic consequences for all of them.The story alternates between the present and the past. There is a crime and the author reveals piece by piece the events leading to that point. Part of the story is told in the format of police interviews, which I enjoyed and thought was written cleverly.The novel is about friendship, work What happens when four women have had enough at their workplace? This is the story of Sloane, Ardie, Grace, Katherine, and Rosalita and the actions they take end up having dramatic consequences for all of them.The story alternates between the present and the past. There is a crime and the author reveals piece by piece the events leading to that point. Part of the story is told in the format of police interviews, which I enjoyed and thought was written cleverly.The novel is about friendship, workplace challenges, motherhood, honesty, and more . Overall, I liked it and found it discusses relevant workplace issues. ARC from the publisher via Netgalley
    more
  • Juli
    January 1, 1970
    Sloane, Ardie, Grace, and Rosalita....these four women have had enough. They are tired of cover-ups, lies, whispered rumors about ill treatment that nobody is brave enough to report, sick of corporate mistreatment of professional women....just sick of it all. The final straw? The CEO of the company they work for unexpectedly dies....and Ames Garrett -- a real wanker -- is next in line for the job. The work place is about to get a lot worse for every woman in the company. So they take matters int Sloane, Ardie, Grace, and Rosalita....these four women have had enough. They are tired of cover-ups, lies, whispered rumors about ill treatment that nobody is brave enough to report, sick of corporate mistreatment of professional women....just sick of it all. The final straw? The CEO of the company they work for unexpectedly dies....and Ames Garrett -- a real wanker -- is next in line for the job. The work place is about to get a lot worse for every woman in the company. So they take matters into their own hands....but their actions will have dire consequences. While the story line seemed a bit contrived and melodramatic in places, I couldn't stop reading. Whisper Network is like a very dark, demented version of the movie 9-5. I wonder how many women have endured situations like this book depicts? The story is suspenseful and definitely kept my attention throughout....but it also made me feel strangely uncomfortable. How many times in my career did I know a male supervisor or co-worker was acting inappropriately...but said nothing about it? Multiple times. How many times did I stay silent when I should have spoken up? As a supervisor, how many times did I hear gossip and not check up on it? And how many times was I a victim of this sort of misconduct but didn't tell anyone? Multiple times on all counts. What would have happened if I had spoken up? Most likely -- nothing. Or, I might have been reprimanded for speaking out of turn and causing problems....or opened myself up for retaliation. So, although I did find the plot to be a bit soap-opera melodramatic in places, it did make me think.Interesting read. While it isn't the usual sort of book I read....it was refreshing to get out of my comfort zone and try something different. This story is not entertaining....but emotional, hard-hitting and uncomfortable. Most women in the working world have dealt with similar situations and been forced through fear, peer pressure or career threats to remain silent. And men who don't behave badly are forced to remain silent or not defend their female co-workers for the same reasons. I think it's time to clean up the corporate workplace. Not sure I would want to see it done the way these ladies did it....but I do hope the day is coming where good people are victimized and wankers get away with it. Aren't we all getting sick of that scenario?**I voluntarily read an advanced reader copy of this book from Flatiron Books via NetGalley. All opinions expressed are entirely my own.**
    more
  • Joellen Hunt
    January 1, 1970
    Why did so many people like this novel? I did not care about these characters at all, around page 100 I had to skip to the end to see where the plot was going. It was like slogging through mud to get to the end. UGH!
  • Randi (randi_reads)
    January 1, 1970
    This was a struggle for me to get through. Slow, slow burn. I felt it was way too long of a story and took too long to get to what the heart of the story is. Parts of it just dragged on. The main characters were very undistinguishable in their voices. If I didn't see the name printed, I was kind of lost as to what character the chapter/section was about. They also weren't very likeable...Sloane, in particular.I get that the subject matter of this book is very relevant today, but it just wasn't e This was a struggle for me to get through. Slow, slow burn. I felt it was way too long of a story and took too long to get to what the heart of the story is. Parts of it just dragged on. The main characters were very undistinguishable in their voices. If I didn't see the name printed, I was kind of lost as to what character the chapter/section was about. They also weren't very likeable...Sloane, in particular.I get that the subject matter of this book is very relevant today, but it just wasn't executed in the right way. Thank you to Flatiron Books for my advanced readers copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Jenna Bookish
    January 1, 1970
    My thanks to Flatiron Books for sending me an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own and are not influenced by the publisher. When I saw Whisper Network described as essentially a mystery novel for the #metoo era, I was super intrigued but also a little wary. I think with books that seem very timely, there’s always the risk that they’ll come across opportunistic and insincere. Not so with Whisper Network, which turned out to be a pleasant surprise of a novel.A My thanks to Flatiron Books for sending me an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own and are not influenced by the publisher. When I saw Whisper Network described as essentially a mystery novel for the #metoo era, I was super intrigued but also a little wary. I think with books that seem very timely, there’s always the risk that they’ll come across opportunistic and insincere. Not so with Whisper Network, which turned out to be a pleasant surprise of a novel.An undercurrent of whispers in the corporate world comes to a head when the sudden death of Truviv’s CEO leaves one infamously badly behaved higher up in the company poised to take over. The story takes place mainly in one timeline as tension is mounting, with hints at the disaster to come shown in the form of police interviews after the fact. (Think Big Little Lies style snippets, giving you tiny bits of information at at a time.)Of the four main characters mentioned in the synopsis, Sloane and Roselita seemed to be the best developed. I think the sheer number of POV characters is part of what kept this from hitting a full five stars for me. I understand why the author made the choices she did, as she was trying to weave together a lot of secrets and personal histories, so this may be down to my own personal taste, as I generally like spending more time in a novel with one or two characters in order to really understand them. I would have liked a bit more focus on Sloane and Roselita, but your mileage may vary.As a woman in a professional setting, there was something kind of cathartic about this novel, particularly certain sections which were written somewhat aside from the main narrative, and read almost like a plea directly to the reader, such as the following passage:"So when we said that we would prefer not to have to asked to smile on top of working, we meant that: we would like to do our jobs, please. When we said that we would like not to hear a comment about the length of our skirt, we meant that: we would like to of our jobs, please. When we said that we would like not to have someone try to touch us in our office, we meant that: we would like to do our jobs. Please."Every woman with a job, particularly those of us with already relatively high-stress jobs, can feel this in her bones. The frustration of having so much to deal with at work… and then having someone else’s inappropriate behavior thrown on top of it like the cherry on top of the sundae is just too real.Baker has written several books prior to Whisper Network, but appears to have focused on the young adult genre. I think she’s starting to find her groove with her latest novel and I hope she comes out with more adult fiction in the future!You can read all of my reviews on my blog, Jenna Bookish!Facebook | Instagram | Tumblr
    more
  • Julianne Bailey
    January 1, 1970
    I was so excited to receive this ARC but unfortunately this book didn’t work for me. I find it’s timeliness to be wonderful, and it certainly encourages a lot of discussion and reflection. It addresses some uncomfortable truths. But it’s a little too heavy handed at times, and the pacing was way off. It dragged a lot in places, the characters were mostly extremely unrelatable and unlikeable. As a working mother and attorney, I should have felt kinship with these women but I didn’t at all. Except I was so excited to receive this ARC but unfortunately this book didn’t work for me. I find it’s timeliness to be wonderful, and it certainly encourages a lot of discussion and reflection. It addresses some uncomfortable truths. But it’s a little too heavy handed at times, and the pacing was way off. It dragged a lot in places, the characters were mostly extremely unrelatable and unlikeable. As a working mother and attorney, I should have felt kinship with these women but I didn’t at all. Except for maybe Ardie. Thank you to the publisher for my copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Whitney
    January 1, 1970
    Overall: A mystery told from multiple women’s (mainly lawyers) perspectives who all work for an athletic wear firm. A fun, light, mystery, perfect for the beach that will keep you on the edge of your seat. Though there are themes relating to the #metoo movement, I expected more from all the hype surrounding this one. Still, an overall fun beach read, just do not expect anything too deep from this one. 3/5 or 6/10Summary: This book is told from multiple women’s perspective (dynamo Sloane Glover; Overall: A mystery told from multiple women’s (mainly lawyers) perspectives who all work for an athletic wear firm. A fun, light, mystery, perfect for the beach that will keep you on the edge of your seat. Though there are themes relating to the #metoo movement, I expected more from all the hype surrounding this one. Still, an overall fun beach read, just do not expect anything too deep from this one. 3/5 or 6/10Summary: This book is told from multiple women’s perspective (dynamo Sloane Glover; easy going and recently divorced Ardie Valdez; overwhelmed new mom Grace Stanton; new hire Katherine Bell; and custodial worker Rosalita) who all work for an athletic wear company called Truviv that is based in Austin (I kept relating this company to something like Under Armour or Nike). The CEO dies suddenly and the next in line happens to be a sketchy man who has a dubious and dark history when pertaining to women. There is a BAD man list that women from the area have put together and it details information about men in the area and various sexual harassment and abusive details relating to the individual. Women are able to add to this list and share it among themselves, but it somehow gets out and all hell breaks loose.The Good: This book is written pretty well with moderate to good character development on all levels. Most of the main characters were likeable in their own way but I found myself rooting for Aride and Rosalita the most. Though there are predictable parts, I did find myself surprised (somewhat) and guessing pretty close up to the end. The author does a good job with lots of cliff hangers that leave you wanting more and feeling like you can’t put this down. This book succeeds as a fast-paced mystery that delves into themes relating to gender inequality and sexual harassment in the workplace.The Bad: The best summary for the negative is that… I just expected more. I felt let down by the end and just wanted more to the book as a whole. Predictable, huge generalizations (especially about women in the workplace), somewhat superficial, and just did not quite hit the mark for me on all levels.
    more
  • Louise Wilson
    January 1, 1970
    This story is about a group,of women who work at a high profile company as lawyers. The CEO dies suddenly leaving the situation vaccant. The boss, Ames is next in line for the job but this does not go down well with the women who are in his employ as he does not treat women with respect. A group,of women decide to sue the company to prevent this from happening.This is an addictive read. It's told from multiple people's point of view. The story revolves a rounds the male/female work place with a This story is about a group,of women who work at a high profile company as lawyers. The CEO dies suddenly leaving the situation vaccant. The boss, Ames is next in line for the job but this does not go down well with the women who are in his employ as he does not treat women with respect. A group,of women decide to sue the company to prevent this from happening.This is an addictive read. It's told from multiple people's point of view. The story revolves a rounds the male/female work place with a strong hint of "me too" to it. It makes you ask yourself the question,when is enough, enough? The book is emotional as well as suspenseful. The characters were realistic. I was guessing all the way to the end. A great read.I would like to thank NetGalley, Little brown Book Group, UK and the author Chandler Baker for my ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Amy
    January 1, 1970
    2This is not a thriller, not even close.
  • Susanne Strong
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 Fabulous Stars.Alrighty then! Let’s get down to the nitty gritty: I went into this novel having very few preconceived notions and it worked for me - I freaking loved it! You know what they say.. Hell hath no fury..So, the “Whisper Network,” what can I tell you? It is in fact controversial, salacious and terrifying, especially if you work in a professional environment (which I do). Game freaking on ladies and gents. Four women work in a male dominated corporate environment and are sick and ti 4.5 Fabulous Stars.Alrighty then! Let’s get down to the nitty gritty: I went into this novel having very few preconceived notions and it worked for me - I freaking loved it! You know what they say.. Hell hath no fury..So, the “Whisper Network,” what can I tell you? It is in fact controversial, salacious and terrifying, especially if you work in a professional environment (which I do). Game freaking on ladies and gents. Four women work in a male dominated corporate environment and are sick and tired of being harassed and receiving disparate treatment. Day in, day out, their lives are made to be a living hell in one way or another and yet they put up with it. Gotta get that almighty paycheck (ha). Their boss, Ames, is uber successful and he takes what he can get, whenever he can get it, to everyone else’s detriment - until now. A character driven novel at its heart, “Whisper Network” is a fast paced, fresh, wild and extremely relevant story about life in today’s world. My advice, go in with no expectations. I did and it worked for me. A huge thank you to Flatiron Books and Chandler Baker for my arc in exchange for an honest review. Published on Goodreads, Amazon and Twitter on 7.31.19.
    more
  • Fareya
    January 1, 1970
    Whisper Network by Chandler Baker is a relevant and timely novel that addresses multiple social issues primarily focusing on corporate politics, struggles of being a working woman in a male dominated world and how rumors even those innocuous little ones can prove to be lethal.The story is set in the legal department at Truviv Inc., a Fortune 100 company based in Dallas, Texas and revolves around four women lawyers gregarious Sloane Glover, poised Ardie Valdez, rational Grace Stanton and a fresh Whisper Network by Chandler Baker is a relevant and timely novel that addresses multiple social issues primarily focusing on corporate politics, struggles of being a working woman in a male dominated world and how rumors even those innocuous little ones can prove to be lethal.The story is set in the legal department at Truviv Inc., a Fortune 100 company based in Dallas, Texas and revolves around four women lawyers gregarious Sloane Glover, poised Ardie Valdez, rational Grace Stanton and a fresh new-hire Katherine Bell. After the unfortunate sudden death of their company’s CEO, there are whispers circulating through the office that Ames Garrett, the General Counsel might get promoted to occupy the recently vacated top position. Everyone knows he’s arrogant and ruthless. But there’ve also been other whispers about Ames, particularly about how he emotionally manipulates women who work with/under him.But for Sloane Grover it’s not just a whisper, she knows this for a fact and in spite of being extremely adept at her job, she has suffered professionally due to an early affair with Ames. When the new girl Katherine confesses about Ames’ inappropriate behavior, Sloane can’t just sit by and watch him become the next CEO. She is determined to expose him for what he really is. As a first step she adds his name to an anonymous spreadsheet circulating within the city named BAD Men List, aka “Beware of Asshole Dallas Men,” that lists male names and their respective wrongdoings. What follows is a shocking chain of events that includes another death (possibly murder!), a lawsuit, and an almost media uproar.This is a well crafted and interesting whodunit. The author masterfully blends thriller elements with a plethora of social issues like discrimination at work, unrealistic expectations of perfection from women, challenges of new motherhood, entitlement, exploitation and a lot more. There’s also plenty on female friendship, how women support each other and how usually they emerge stronger and better after facing the callous corporate culture, but how sometimes they also get frustrated and depressed.But it has a few shortcomings as well that I’d like to pinpoint. First, the writing style felt a bit queer. I later realized that the narration is third person by women in general and not by a specific character, and this felt rather odd and confusing at times. It hence took me a while to get into the storytelling and the story as well because the first half of the book is painfully slow and boring! And yet, the second half and particularly how everything wrapped up towards the end won me over completely and I was satisfied with what I read.On the whole this story is a combination of suspense and women’s fiction that both entertains and educates. However, if you start with this and want to put it down, I’ll encourage you to keep pushing because the end will be totally worth dragging through the first half of the book.**A free paperback ARC was provided by Macmillan in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.**
    more
  • Mandy White
    January 1, 1970
    Well I see what all the hype is about. Really enjoyed this book on audio, relatable and scary.
Write a review