All Your Twisted Secrets
This thrilling debut, reminiscent of new fan favorites like One of Us Is Lying and the beloved classics by Agatha Christie, will leave readers guessing until the explosive ending.Welcome to dinner, and again, congratulations on being selected. Now you must do the selecting.What do the queen bee, star athlete, valedictorian, stoner, loner, and music geek all have in common? They were all invited to a scholarship dinner, only to discover it’s a trap. Someone has locked them into a room with a bomb, a syringe filled with poison, and a note saying they have an hour to pick someone to kill … or else everyone dies.Amber Prescott is determined to get her classmates and herself out of the room alive, but that might be easier said than done. No one knows how they’re all connected or who would want them dead. As they retrace the events over the past year that might have triggered their captor’s ultimatum, it becomes clear that everyone is hiding something. And with the clock ticking down, confusion turns into fear, and fear morphs into panic as they race to answer the biggest question: Who will they choose to die?

All Your Twisted Secrets Details

TitleAll Your Twisted Secrets
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMar 17th, 2020
PublisherHarperTeen
Rating
GenreMystery, Young Adult, Thriller, Contemporary, Mystery Thriller

All Your Twisted Secrets Review

  • Hailey (Hailey in Bookland)
    January 1, 1970
    3.5/3.75* have to mull it over a bit still.
  • Nilufer Ozmekik
    January 1, 1970
    This book has perfect set-up and intriguing plot idea: Breakfast Club meet Saw and Escape Room with Agatha Christie novels whodunit vibes and small similarities with One of Us is Lying A musical genius, popular athlete, drug dealer, queen bee, outcast, entrepreneur geek gets a dinner invitation. That are selected six people to get 20K scholarship with bright future lies ahead of them. Or not? Because the entire diner organization is a trap. Theyre locked in their sweet dining room with ticking This book has perfect set-up and intriguing plot idea: Breakfast Club meet Saw and “Escape Room” with Agatha Christie novels’ whodunit vibes and small similarities with “ One of Us is Lying” A musical genius, popular athlete, drug dealer, queen bee, outcast, entrepreneur geek gets a dinner invitation. That are selected six people to get 20K scholarship with bright future lies ahead of them. Or not? Because the entire diner organization is a trap. They’re locked in their sweet dining room with ticking bomb it about to explode in one hour and a poisonous There is note instruct them: they will decide who is going to die in one hour to save themselves. Let the game begins and find the jigsaw/master who pulls the strings of these six puppets (Minor spoiler: five puppets because one of them is the master!) Let’s find the one who knocks and who is the danger! I loved the promising, exciting start and fast entrance but as I resumed my reading I lost my interest definitely because:-The story started to repeat itself and lost its action packed excitement.-The characters are so dull, boring and they’re categorized with one word. Amber is musical genius and… I cannot find too many adjective to describe her (Neither the author did) Sasha is bitch and queen bee and… ? See, I didn’t find anything to like or dislike about them because they haven’t been developed yet. They seems like they stuck in their mom’s wombs and they need at least six more months for their birth. (Creation ache should be something like that! So sorry but those characters are too raw, too shapeless, unlayered.-The puppet master, perpetrator is so predictable and ending was also hmm okay but not earth or soul shattering kind of conclusion.So I’m giving 2.5 stars only for amazing cover illustration and promising start but this is one of my Switzerland, I don’t like or hate it, let’s meet in the middle kind of mediocre reading! I was expecting so much more but I truly disappointed.bloginstagramfacebooktwitter
    more
  • arini ☆彡
    January 1, 1970
    The thing about being trapped in a room with five other people, a bomb, and a syringe of lethal poison is that at some point, shits going down. Theres something to be said about recycled ideas that just never get old. All Your Twisted Secrets is blurbed to be a redolent of One of Us Is Lying and classic mystery thrillers by the likes of Agatha Christie. Its a great marketing strategy bcs Ias were other readers, I believewas caught like a fish on a hook for that one little bait. However, “The thing about being trapped in a room with five other people, a bomb, and a syringe of lethal poison is that at some point, shit’s going down.” There’s something to be said about recycled ideas that just never get old. All Your Twisted Secrets is blurbed to be a redolent of One of Us Is Lying and classic mystery thrillers by the likes of Agatha Christie. It’s a great marketing strategy bcs I—as were other readers, I believe—was caught like a fish on a hook for that one little bait. However, despite the author’s best efforts to give the book its own spin, it just fell short for me.That’s not to say it isn’t good. It’s still a pleasant read. It just doesn’t have what I’m hoping to find in a genre such as this. That being said, this book is read more like your average high school contemporaries with requisites of friendship drama, miscommunication, fluffy romance, and some type of imminent future college or career goals plotline. Add a sprinkle of mystery on top and you’re good to go.I’m okay with this kind of scenario. You know I liked the book One of Us Is Next. But it all come back to the fact that I wanted darkness and thrills and creeps which this book delivered very little of. Rather than giving me all the chills and tingly scary feelings, this book committed itself to being a teaching life moment by incorporating themes, such as bullying, suicide, death, violence, PTSD, and drug abuse. Again, I’m not mad about it. But where’s the fun in that? All Your Twisted Secrets is told from the viewpoint of one of the six characters, Amber Prescott, in a short bursts of present day and extended flashback that lead up to the fateful night inside the locked room. I get that this was supposed to help build suspense, but much to my annoyance, this only served as to diminish my sense of urgency in figuring out the culprit. There’s a lot of repetition that I was tempted to just skip the flashback chapters. (I didn’t.)Basically, some tea got spilled in the locked room. Then we are thrown some time into the past that showcases how said dirty little secret came to be. This setup is not entirely useless bcs we find out how the characters are connected to each other and this, in fact, also helped me find my own suspect. I should tell you that the BIG REVEAL was not at all shocking bcs I CALLED IT. However, there’s one other plot twist that did make me feel like the rug was pulled under my feet.The wrap up chapters explain in great detail the motive behind the bogus dinner and locked room shindig as well as how the perpetrator organizes the whole arrangement in carrying out the plan. It was quite an unnecessary recount of the events, but I suppose it’s good to have all the facts. I also liked the ending. What with this book being an after school special “life lessons”. I appreciate the underlying message that we should always take full responsibilities of our actions.All in all, despite the commonality of the storyline and themes, All Your Twisted Secrets is a noteworthy debut. Admittedly, it’s a watered down version of what I would’ve liked to consume as the overall tone is rather light. Nevertheless, I won’t be quitting this type of books anytime soon bcs I enjoy reading them and still have yet to find my favorite. If you’re drawn to this book bcs of all the Breakfast Club meets Saw reference, then go for it. Expect cat fights and bitch slaps, but don’t hope for gore and mayhem.Read Alikes:↠ One of Us Is Lying↠ One of Us Is Next
    more
  • megs_bookrack
    January 1, 1970
    Top Selling Points:● A Breakfast Club cast of characters.● A bogus dinner invitation.● A locked room mystery.So on brand for me. Now who can I email to get a copy of this???Update: My friend told me he would give me his ARC copy so obviously on pins and needles until that transfer of property happens!
    more
  • Candace Robinson
    January 1, 1970
    First, I'm big into thriller, mystery, and horror movies, but it's very hard for me to connect to those types of books. I'm glad I found one that broke through that barrier! What I really liked about this one was that it was like the Breakfast Club meets Saw but not bloody or with crazy contraptions!Even though the story is told from Amber's perspective, I felt that each character was well developed. I felt bad for some, wanted to slap some, and wanted to hug some of them. I don't always read First, I'm big into thriller, mystery, and horror movies, but it's very hard for me to connect to those types of books. I'm glad I found one that broke through that barrier! What I really liked about this one was that it was like the Breakfast Club meets Saw but not bloody or with crazy contraptions!Even though the story is told from Amber's perspective, I felt that each character was well developed. I felt bad for some, wanted to slap some, and wanted to hug some of them. I don't always read books fast, but I flew through this one! I especially loved the timeline of the story going back and forth between past and present to get the full story. I can't say too much because I don't want to give the story away, but I will say it was fun yet also with life lessons that make you think about things, especially bullying and mental health. Loved it!
    more
  • Michelle
    January 1, 1970
    Until the end I was going to rate this 4 stars. Read on to find out what happened!Everyone here knows that I live on the struggle bus with YA. I still like to give it a try from time to time because there are stories that genuinely interest me. This was one of them. The cover reminded me of Sadie, and I thought the concept of 6 different teens being stuck in a room where they had to decide which one dies in an hour sounded intriguing. (I guess this is a pretty popular trope?? I didn't know that Until the end I was going to rate this 4 stars. Read on to find out what happened!Everyone here knows that I live on the struggle bus with YA. I still like to give it a try from time to time because there are stories that genuinely interest me. This was one of them. The cover reminded me of Sadie, and I thought the concept of 6 different teens being stuck in a room where they had to decide which one dies in an hour sounded intriguing. (I guess this is a pretty popular trope?? I didn't know that so I'm unable to compare to others.)So for me, I thought this was a great YA (for the most part). I thought the characters were well written (although they fit the obvious stereotypes), but they didn't annoy the heck out of me. There were complex issues that they dealt with in the book (gun violence in schools, bullying, opioid/drug use, stress/perfection a lot of kids are dealing with to prepare for college, etc.) and I thought these aspects were written well and true to the teen experience today. My attention was kept for the most part, but I do agree with other reviews I've seen where it did get kind of repetitive after a while. I was confused by the ending because I didn't see it coming at all (which is okay and also points out how I'm never good at guessing the end), but it didn't feel genuine to me. I mean, at all. Am I that gullible? (view spoiler)[I just felt like it was WAY outside Amber's character to do ESPECIALLY because of how her sister died from committing suicide as a victim of bullying. So she is going to create this master plan (which also, when did she have the time for this?) to trick six kids in an abandoned restaurant and pretend that they all need to figure out who is going to die by injecting poison with a syringe or a bomb will go off??? Ehhhh, I'm way too skeptical about this. (hide spoiler)]I honestly think this was more of a "shock factor" plot device than anything and I wasn't on board. Even if I was, the ending then just came to a screeching halt. I was left with a lot of questions. So I read this entire book and you're not even going to tell me how this really ends?? I was very annoyed. It reminded me of The Scent Keeper where I was frantically scrolling my kindle to see if I missed a hidden chapter or something. Just very bizaare.HOWEVER - with that said (to make everyone even more confused if you're even still reading this), I would read another book by Ms. Urban again. There was enough good for me here to try again. Hence, the 3 star rating.Thanks for sticking with me on this one. I encourage you to read it and let me know if you agree regarding the end!Thanks to Edelweiss, Harper Teen and Diana Urban for the opportunity to provide an honest review.Review Date: 03/24/2020Publication Date: 03/17/2020
    more
  • Diana Urban
    January 1, 1970
    *UPDATE 01/02/20*Preorder links are available here, and you can submit your receipt on that page to get a special gift: a key necklace, a signed bookplate, a signed bookmark, the first 3 chapters (emailed to you immediately!), and access to an exclusive author Q&A on 3/17._____I cant tell you how much it means to me that youre taking the time to consider, read, and review my book. Your hard work makes it easier for readers to make informed decisions about the books they purchase, and the *UPDATE 01/02/20*Preorder links are available here, and you can submit your receipt on that page to get a special gift: a key necklace, a signed bookplate, a signed bookmark, the first 3 chapters (emailed to you immediately!), and access to an exclusive author Q&A on 3/17._____I can’t tell you how much it means to me that you’re taking the time to consider, read, and review my book. Your hard work makes it easier for readers to make informed decisions about the books they purchase, and the worlds they escape into. So thank you! I respect and value the opinions you share, whether positive or critical. And reviews are for readers, not for authors. As such, I will not seek out, comment on, or otherwise engage with reviews here on Goodreads or on book blogs. However, if you’d like me to signal boost your review, I’d be thrilled to do so! To alert me to your review, simply tag me on Instagram or Twitter @DianaUrban. I hope that you enjoy getting to know Amber as much as I enjoyed writing her. And I hope this story keeps you up until 3 a.m. 😈*CONTENT ADVISORY*This book contains themes and/or mentions of bullying, suicide, death, violence, post-traumatic stress disorder, and drug abuse.*ORIGINAL POST*OMG people are going to read my book! 😱 Thanks so much to everyone who's checking out All Your Twisted Secrets and adding it to their "Want to Read" shelf. I can't wait to share this story with you all.
    more
  • Ari
    January 1, 1970
    Blog | Instagram | Twitter | Amazon | B&NThank you Edelweiss and HarperTeen for this ARC. All thoughts and opinions are mine. I wanted to prevent people from hurting anyone else the way they hurt Maggie.But the last hour was born out of anger,desperation, and revenge...and now I had to find forgiveness. Years after her death, Agatha Christie continues to inspire murder-mystery novels, and years from now we will still see the legacy of her writing in other authors' works. While it doesn't Blog | Instagram | Twitter | Amazon | B&NThank you Edelweiss and HarperTeen for this ARC. All thoughts and opinions are mine. I wanted to prevent people from hurting anyone else the way they hurt Maggie.But the last hour was born out of anger,desperation, and revenge...and now I had to find forgiveness. Years after her death, Agatha Christie continues to inspire murder-mystery novels, and years from now we will still see the legacy of her writing in other authors' works. While it doesn't stand out as a full retelling, All Your Twisted Secrets shows enough similarities to Christie's And Then There Were None to make it noteworthy. It was easily the hook that drew me to the story.The premise is easy to grasp: six teenagers, who attend the same school and are connected—if not by friendship then certainly by past circumstances—are invited to dinner with the ruse of a $20,000 scholarship win, and become locked in not long after they all arrive. Soon after, tensions arise, secrets come out, and the six teens begin to turn against each other while racing against the clock to either choose one among themselves to kill, or succumb as one to the threat that is posed against them by the person that locked them in.You can't help but race through this book, it's compulsively easy to read and entertaining. I appreciated the way that the chapters were set up, at once going into the past to show how characters related to one another depending on where they were in the present, while the clock counted down their hour locked together. But there's a usual sense of urgency that captures moments like these that I did not feel while I read this book. While it's a great novel with which to pass the time, I wasn't as invested in the characters' determination to get out as I should have been. Sure, yes, they are clearly aware that they need to escape, but there's a lot of repetition from them that something bad is going in, and it didn't really reach a high emergency level until halfway through the novel.One of the best chapters in the story is the revelation that Sasha was the girl who bullied Maggie, Amber's sister, and who was inadvertently the reason why Maggie hit such a dangerous level of depression before ultimately committing suicide. It's such a sensitive topic, and was such a big part of Amber's life after her sister's death that the reaction it received was very well created. I don't know that Sasha deserved to die, herself, as a result of being a bully to Maggie—and then to Priya. She's an absolutely abhorrent human being, driven by pure selfishness that cannot be excused no matter what she may have lost on account of her accident. But death is such a final and harsh end to someone that has done such horrible things, it's almost as if she missed out on her true punishment. The wrap-up of the story was alright, but nothing to be excited about. Amber's recounting of how she set everything up—while naming herself as the person who actually planned and executed the hour-long lockup of the other five teenagers—was overly long and full of details that were not always necessary. Even at the end, as she tells Diego and Priya that she's going to tell the police what she did, she goes on and on about why she's doing it and what the importance behind her actions are. This is part of the reason why some of the novel holds a casual tone rather than the necessary earnestness that it deserves: events are at times drawn out for longer than it is necessary.I'm still a huge fan of this theme in mystery novels, and while All Your Twisted Secrets doesn't necessarily offer anything new, it's still a pleasant read.
    more
  • jesse (ourdarkduets)
    January 1, 1970
    HA!I actually intended to rate this book three stars, but since Diana Urban is a debut author and I think this is one hell of a powerful debut, Im adding another star of appreciation *slow hand claps*Funny thing, I actually found out about this book right after I finished One of Us Is Next. It came up on my recommendations and the synopsis sounds intriguing enough so of course I have to add it to my ever-growing TBR list. I was brimming with detective theories for One of Us Is Next and the fact HA!I actually intended to rate this book three stars, but since Diana Urban is a debut author and I think this is one hell of a powerful debut, I’m adding another star of appreciation *slow hand claps*Funny thing, I actually found out about this book right after I finished One of Us Is Next. It came up on my recommendations and the synopsis sounds intriguing enough so of course I have to add it to my ever-growing TBR list. I was brimming with detective theories for One of Us Is Next and the fact that this book came to me at the exact right moment! It could’ve been destiny. Fairly enough I might add, the synopsis sounds a hell lot like Karen McManus’ debut novel One of Us Is Lying with the breakfast club style squad. But All Your Twisted Secrets has an escape room… and a bomb! I didn’t just fall for it because I don’t think ‘escape room’ would make such a good story (have you watched the movie called escape room or something? It’s horrible and ridiculous) but apparently it didn’t and I ended up liking this one!First of all, let’s start with the basics: enter our narrator, Amber Prescott, an ambitious music prodigy who dreams to be a scorer for Hollywood movie soundtracks, hence the reason she was so hell-bent on getting to USC during the entirety of the book. Amber might not nail her SATs, but her talents are dayum so it’s no surprise that she got invited, along with five others, to this scholarship thing-y, supposedly held by the mayor (I think it’s the mayor???). So there’s that, there’s food and stuff. But once six of them were in the reserved room, the door closed on them and they’re locked. Unsurprisingly, there are two things along with the food on the table, a bomb and a syringe, along with a note to kill one of them or the bomb will go off. The story is told in intersecting parts, one in the present, and another taking place in the past.*rubs hands*Just like I said, I ended up liking this book despite feeling discouraged. But this book is kind of one of my most anticipated releases, I’ve been dying to get my hands on another YA mystery-thriller that isn’t Karen McManus (not like that Karen, I love your books okay? It’s just a genre that’s easy to find) and I’m glad to see that this book met my expectations, for a debut author. I like the pacing and the book is such a page turner (I even finished it in a day!) I can’t put it down! Though I admit the ‘past’ chapters went a bit slow and I was kind of hoping that it would end so I could get to the ‘present’ chapters. I like it when thrillers also insert mundane teen stuff like stealing your boyfriend, the bitch queen bee or shit but like I said, some of them are unimportant and doesn’t contribute to the main story we’re working on here, and when you read thrillers, are you care about is the revelation. These parts were too repetitive and too long. The ‘present’ chapters were fast and nerve-racking enough that I want to know what happened next, it’s basically the only thing that kept me going. The plot, and the events leading up to the present is plotted in a good way and Diana Urban added some cool foreshadowing that would leave readers (especially the ones new into the genre) scratching their heads and saying “WHY DIDN’T I THINK OF THAT?!?!”. Well… I kind of guessed the culprit right, I actually guessed a lot of things right, but I think that’s because I read too much of these books already that nothing surprises me anymore. But all things aside, when the plot twist bomb dropped, I was actually intrigued and feeling victorious. Though the plot and pacing is good, the ‘past’ chapters are actually too repetitive for me and there were lots of unimportant stuff in there that I don’t really care about so I was mildly annoyed. All I wanted was to finish them and get back to the ‘present’ chapter which was more interesting.Since this is Diana Urban’s debut novel, I think she did a solid good work on this one but I think she could improve on some things, she has potential I can feel it. I mean she has to start somewhere right? The first problem I noticed was that few dialogues actually felt too forced and it doesn’t come naturally, especially in the beginning, for example: ”Fortunately I’ve been blessed with the talent of microwaving popcorn myself” I don’t know about you but who speaks like that? I mean there are lots of them but I didn’t keep track of it. That’s just the one I remembered because I stifled a laugh.As of the characters, I think Diana Urban needs to work more on them. I get these characters. Yes, I also felt sympathy and all that stuff. Also, weaving a story with six characters in the spotlight is no easy job. But some characters, even Priya! are like ‘paper characters’ to me and I find it hard to imagine them as… well, people.Also I kind of don’t like that Sasha is such a bitch. I mean I know she’s meant to be that way but I want some… conflicted feelings. Now writing about her as if she’s the biggest bitch in the world, and all of our characters agreeing to that statement too, makes her uninteresting. It seems like she’s only there to be the villain you know? And suddenly she’s another ‘paper character’. I also like Scott and I think his sarcastic remarks is like a candle in the dark and it keeps the situation light-weight even though everything was going to hell but his sarcasm came so often that he feels like he doesn’t have any personality because we couldn’t look past his sarcastic façade.SPOILERY SECTION:Actually if the book ended up differently I was going to say that I don’t like how Amber looked to be the only one who has a brain and the others were either panicky or has anxiety issues. If it ended any different, I was going to complain that the author doesn’t give the others the spotlight. So I kind of got suspicious of her. I actually wrote so in my reading progress and it basically spoiled the entire book (and I’m so proud of myself).When did I guess it might be her? I don’t know it’s just that my gut feeling said so and it would be such a good twist (it reminded me so much of Dangerous Girls, with all the unreliable narrator thing going on). Also along the way of reading the ‘past’ chapters, I can’t help but feel like Sasha was manipulating her all along (like do you really need booze just to convince someone? And how could the entire drama club not make it to a party? Surely at least somebody could make it. Unless of course, Sasha didn’t invite them at all). So in that case, if that’s true, then Amber must’ve been the person with a lot against Sasha. When I found out that ‘Natasha Jane’ is the name of the girl who bullied Maggie, well man that was the exact time I knew it was Amber all along. I actually had a friend whose name is Natasha and goes by Sasha. Who even name their kid just ‘Sasha’? It has to come from a longer name! I also find it hard to wrap around the fact that Amber didn’t fucking knew. You’re in the same class as this girl, you literally spent time with her. Okay, Sasha not knowing about Maggie is acceptable since Amber doesn’t talk about it but how can you not know the name of your so-called ‘best friend’ who actually have classes with you? That’s just plain ridiculous. Sherlock out
    more
  • Melanie (TBR and Beyond)
    January 1, 1970
    How can I put this nicely....ya basic. RTC How can I put this nicely....”ya basic”. RTC
  • JenacideByBibliophile
    January 1, 1970
    Actual Rating: 4.5Disclaimer: This book was sent to me by the publisher, HarperTeen, via Edelweiss+ for an honest review.The Queen Bee.The Jock.The Brains.The Stoner.The Loner.& The Orchestra Geek.Its The Breakfast Club meets Saw!And DAMN is it epic.What they all assumed was a scholarship dinner with the mayor at one of the local restaurants, quickly turns into a game of survival against the clock. Six seniors are locked in a banquet room with no way out, and forced to play a sadistic game. Actual Rating: 4.5Disclaimer: This book was sent to me by the publisher, HarperTeen, via Edelweiss+ for an honest review.The Queen Bee.The Jock.The Brains.The Stoner.The Loner.& The Orchestra Geek.It’s The Breakfast Club meets Saw!And DAMN is it epic.What they all assumed was a scholarship dinner with the mayor at one of the local restaurants, quickly turns into a game of survival against the clock. Six seniors are locked in a banquet room with no way out, and forced to play a sadistic game. Upon being locked in the room, the teams discover a bomb, a syringe filled with a lethal liquid, and a note instructing them to pick one person to kill within the hour, or they all die. Frightened and unsure if the game is real or not, the teens try to find a way out as the clock starts ticking down. But why would someone throw them all in a room together, wanting someone to die? Who is the common enemy? As the hour goes by and they become frantic, their morals and judgments are put to the test, as well as their pasts. The real question isn’t about who has to die, it’s about what you will do to survive. “It was do or die time.” HOL–Y. SHIT.I did NOT see that coming!I came into this expecting a fluffy who–done–it with a little teenage angst, maybe some bully/slut–shaming, a few screaming matches and possibly a flying fist or two. But what I got instead, was so much more than that. With a collection of teens that resembles the cast of The Breakfast Club (with an orchestra geek) set in modern times, and a Clue-esque murder mystery styled game that has all the horrific appeal of Saw , it was bound to get a little wild. The high stakes of only having an hour, being stuck in a blistering hot room with people you know but also despise, and then having to choose who to kill or risk exploding?! “The thing about being trapped in a room with five other people, a bomb, and a syringe of lethal poison is that at some point, shit’s going down.” And down that shit went. The story is told by Amber Prescott – Orchestra Geek extraordinaire. From the beginning she comes off as a level-headed, conscientious and plain ol’ teenage girl. She has a passion for music that takes president in her life, as she hopes to one day score movies in Hollywood like Danny Elfman. She is dating The Jock – Robbie, who is a baseball star and again, proves to be a truly nice guy despite his popularity and dashing good looks. The Queen Bee – Sasha is of course gorgeous, intelligent, and has her toe in practically every aspect of their high school. She has big aspirations and is a go-getter, but also rumored to be a bit nasty towards her peers. Diego – The Brains, is exactly what you’d expect. Super smart and inquisitive, and he has a history with Amber that has now evolved into something complicated, to say the least. Scott is The Stoner who is rumored to sell drugs, do drugs and be an all-around pretty doped up guy. And lastly is Priya – The Loner. The former best friend of Amber, Priya is a super quiet girl who keeps to herself while practicing magic tricks and sleight of hand.The story flips between the present, where the teens are trapped in the room and the clock is ticking down, to different moments in the past year. Each “flashback chapter” gives a piece of insight into the relationships between these characters – the good and the bad. The reader learns how their lives are connected, the things that each of them has done to affect one another, and why they have all ended up in this room together. At first the teens start out assuming they are being pranked. But when the doors are bolted, their cell phones have no signal, and they can’t escape through the barred windows, they begin to worry that maybe it isn’t just a practical joke after all. “No matter how frantically you claw at rationality, how desperately you cling to common decency, you eventually give in to your basic instinct to survive.” This book is a web of lies, and I LOVED. EVERY. SECOND. OF. IT. I was hooked like Popeye on spinach, like Homer Simpson to doughnuts and beer. This story sunk its claws into my skull and refused to let me look away until the very last page. Not like I’d want to! I devoured this book and drank up every tiny detail the author left dripping on each page. The characters felt so incredibly authentic and developed, the plot had countless twists and turns that made me so unclear of who could have been behind it, and the amount of truly important topics this author included was executed perfectly!Bullying, peer–pressure, suicide, gun violence, drug abuse and societal and parental expectations are huge themes to the story. Each character’s backstory has been affected by one or more of these issues and it brings a raw realism to this YA tale. It made connecting with each character effortless because these are all issues, experiences and feelings that so many of us can relate to. And the best part is that each issue was weaved into the story in a very natural way. A lot of times when an author wants to include THIS many hot topics, it feels forced and rubs me the wrong way. But Diana Urban did an amazing job of blending each one into the story like a damn professional.I really wish I could unleash and give away every secret to this sneakily crafted work of fiction but I won’t ruin it for you guys. Even if it does pain me to keep my mouth shut about it! This book just blew my mind and I loved how sucked into it I got. It’s a twisted web of lies, deceit, manipulation, trauma, regret, anger and vengeance. It was phenomenal. So buy it and buckle in buttercup, cause it’s about to get CRA–ZY! “Now you all know who you really are.”
    more
  • Umairah | Sereadipity
    January 1, 1970
    All Your Twisted Secrets was a young adult escape room thriller that gradually revealed a web of secrets and lies. It was a quick and fast-paced read, driven forward by the tension between the characters, and I found it exciting although I predicted most of the plot twists.Plot: 3.5/5Characters: 4/5Writing: 4/5 Six teens were supposedly invited to a scholarship dinner but upon arrival they realised it was a trap- they were locked in the room and told to choose someone to die within an hour or All Your Twisted Secrets was a young adult escape room thriller that gradually revealed a web of secrets and lies. It was a quick and fast-paced read, driven forward by the tension between the characters, and I found it exciting although I predicted most of the plot twists.Plot: 3.5/5Characters: 4/5Writing: 4/5 Six teens were supposedly invited to a scholarship dinner but upon arrival they realised it was a trap- they were locked in the room and told to choose someone to die within an hour or they would all meet untimely ends. There was Amber, an incredibly talented music geek. Sasha, a smart and ambitious queen bee. Robbie, a popular athlete and Amber's boyfriend. Diego, the class genius and entrepreneur. Priya, a quiet and lonely magic trick enthusiast. And Scott, mysterious and known for drug dealing. Confusion and panic ensued but as they all tried to get out alive the past was dredged up and they realised there was more connecting them than they initially thought.The novel alternated between the locked room and flashbacks of the past to help us understand how the relationships and conflicts between the characters had changed and how they affected their actions in the room. I liked this structure as it created a fast, exciting pace and slowly revealed the characters' personalities. Furthermore, the book incorporated many themes like bullying, suicide, drug abuse, school pressures, mental health and peer pressure in a way that cleverly showed the effects these issues have on people's lives without seeming forced. It also explored moral ideas surrounding accepting responsibility for one's actions and what happens when someone doesn't.However, I wasn't overly impressed with the ending because I'd predicted who had put them in the room already and I found it a bit over the top. The characters were interesting, each with their own goals, problems and secrets. They could have had a bit more depth but I do appreciate that it's hard to balance that many characters. So in conclusion, All Your Twisted Secrets was a thriller that I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a fast-paced read that, as the title suggests, is full of twists and secrets. Thank you to HarperTeen for providing me with a review copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.
    more
  • Vee_Bookish // mauve and dangerous
    January 1, 1970
    I'm also a book blogger: Vee_BookishTo be disappointed with my most anticipated March 2020 release is, in itself, disappointing. I was so ready for this book, the blurb whispered promises of Breakfast Club and Agatha Christie, so I was expecting something pretty powerful, explosive and with a killer ending that left me flipping through the pages. In reality, I had to remind myself at one point when I was feeling like it should be close to the ending that I was in fact, only 40% into the book and I'm also a book blogger: Vee_BookishTo be disappointed with my most anticipated March 2020 release is, in itself, disappointing. I was so ready for this book, the blurb whispered promises of Breakfast Club and Agatha Christie, so I was expecting something pretty powerful, explosive and with a killer ending that left me flipping through the pages. In reality, I had to remind myself at one point when I was feeling like it should be close to the ending that I was in fact, only 40% into the book and I only finished it because my chronic insomnia had me awake until 4am last night.I didn't spend my time guessing whodunnit throughout the story, because I made my guess early on and every clue told me I was right. So the big reveal was just a pat on the back, a well-done-you-slogged-through-300-pages, sort of thing. I was initially wary of the present - past storyline, as I felt that being dragged back into the past, away from the present danger, would be a bad choice because you don't get that build up of tension. That proved correct.The biggest problem this book had was weak, uninteresting characters. If this was what I thought it would be, a murder house people dying, The Hunt movie, sort of deal, this wouldn't be an issue. Unfortunately the present chapters were very short compared to the past chapters, which was your typical, bland, high school drama. I honestly didn't really care for it.(view spoiler)[You could say that the killer ORCHESTRATED the whole thing. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Nenia ❤️️ I hate everything you love ❤️️ Campbell
    January 1, 1970
    OK, this is basically an escape the room mystery with teens--AND I NEED IT
  • Angela Staudt
    January 1, 1970
    I absolutely love thrillers and mysteries; I was ecstatic after I found out I had won a giveaway for this book! (Thank you Diana Urban for such an awesome giveaway)All Your Twisted Secrets follows six characters who get lured into a nice dinner event, that they think the Mayor invited them too, only to find out that they are trapped. They only have an hour left to figure out what is going on or they will all be killed, because a bomb is going to go off.I really enjoyed the writing style; this I absolutely love thrillers and mysteries; I was ecstatic after I found out I had won a giveaway for this book! (Thank you Diana Urban for such an awesome giveaway)All Your Twisted Secrets follows six characters who get lured into a nice dinner event, that they think the Mayor invited them too, only to find out that they are trapped. They only have an hour left to figure out what is going on or they will all be killed, because a bomb is going to go off.I really enjoyed the writing style; this went from present to the past and was told in Amber’s perspective. Slowly, but surely, we find out more and more of what is happening and the suspense really builds up. I thought it was unique to get to uncover how all the characters were connected and what had happened in the past year. I really connected with the characters and was heartbroken at times, but also wanted to scream because I was so angry.I was surprisingly shocked by the ending and didn’t see it coming. At all. I think what really made this much more than just a thriller, were the life lessons. I could relate to how they had been treated and how they were treating each other. You get to see what bullying does and how important it is to see mental health issues and to speak up if you see someone is acting differently. This was a tense and fast paced read that kept you guessing throughout the whole book.
    more
  • Fanna
    January 1, 1970
    April 2, 2020:➝ Sum it up in points!✔ time-bound, closed doors thriller✔ high school kids trapped for a selection✔ past & present timelines✔ changing friendship dynamics✔ perfect for fans of Agatha ChristieAll Your Twisted Secrets brings a poison-filled syringe and a ticking bomb to the table where six high school students have been invited for a scholarship dinner, only to find themselves trapped in a basement with no exit and a letter that asks them to choose between everyone dying or April 2, 2020:➝ Sum it up in points!✔ time-bound, closed doors thriller✔ high school kids trapped for a selection✔ past & present timelines✔ changing friendship dynamics✔ perfect for fans of Agatha ChristieAll Your Twisted Secrets brings a poison-filled syringe and a ticking bomb to the table where six high school students have been invited for a scholarship dinner, only to find themselves trapped in a basement with no exit and a letter that asks them to choose between everyone dying or killing one among themselves. The thrill is set up right from the first chapter and the progressively projected mystery through a dual timeline narration is perfect. Greatly oriented towards the changing dynamics between teenagers, the need to overachieve, end-of-school stress, old friendships growing apart, misunderstandings, and frequent judgements passed, this YA certainly impresses. Important themes like bullying, chronic stress, and suicide are well spoken about. The different personalities offered by this group brings a delicious variety to the commentary and while it isn't always easy to justify the happenings in a teenage thriller, this one does a good job at it. ➝ Trigger Warnings✔ claustrophobia, locked basement✔ panic & acute stress✔ hypoglycemic fainting ✔ glass shards, broken ankle✔ bullying & suicideMarch 31, 2020: YA thrillers are a tough nut to crack because the reasons and actions have to be so well justified, but this one certainly makes you believe everything that unfolds without questioning it as a mere move to falsely hook readers. Full review to come!January 30, 2020:- debut thriller- compared to Agatha Christie classics- multi-young adult-cast- R.L. Stine recommended it (!!!)Disclaimer: I received a digital copy of this via my participation in a blog tour but that doesn't influence my opinion. Thank you, FFBC Tours & HarperTeen!
    more
  • Melissa
    January 1, 1970
    It's been a couple of months since my last locked-room mystery, and I loved that this one was YA (my last were all adults books!). I was skeptical at first, because it seemed like a intricate plot, but it unfurled in the most shocking way. Even if I did see it coming, I couldn't believe it!What do a couple of popular kids, a stoner, and a couple of nerdy kids have in common? So much more than meets the eye!Many thanks to HarperCollins Canada for the complimentary copy of this book. Opinions It's been a couple of months since my last locked-room mystery, and I loved that this one was YA (my last were all adults books!). I was skeptical at first, because it seemed like a intricate plot, but it unfurled in the most shocking way. Even if I did see it coming, I couldn't believe it!What do a couple of popular kids, a stoner, and a couple of nerdy kids have in common? So much more than meets the eye!Many thanks to HarperCollins Canada for the complimentary copy of this book. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.TW for suicide, mental health issues and bullying
    more
  • Bethany Everett
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to Edelweiss for the digital ARC in exchange for an honest review!!! This is going to be the next One of Us is Lying, mark my words. The difference, however, is that I actually really really didnt like One of Us is Lying, but I loved All Your Twisted Secrets. To me, this felt like redemption. Everything I wanted from One of Us is Lying I got in this book. This book was compelling from the first page. I was invested, I was intrigued. The ending shocked me, and Im huge on endings with Thank you to Edelweiss for the digital ARC in exchange for an honest review!!! This is going to be the next One of Us is Lying, mark my words. The difference, however, is that I actually really really didn’t like One of Us is Lying, but I loved All Your Twisted Secrets. To me, this felt like redemption. Everything I wanted from One of Us is Lying I got in this book. This book was compelling from the first page. I was invested, I was intrigued. The ending shocked me, and I’m huge on endings with thrillers. I usually either guess them outright or find that the ending is just a cop out. But no, this was something I hadn’t even thought of. This book was so well thought out. All the plot points made sense, and they all tied together for the ending. I’m really impressed. I’ll definitely be pushing this book for 2020. It’s really worth it, guys.
    more
  • Shawn
    January 1, 1970
    A heart-pounding thriller. When six teens are locked in a room with a bomb, they only have an hour to figure a way out alive. As tensions escalate, relationships are tested, accusations are thrown, and shocking secrets are revealed. Who will make it out alive? I devoured this book and was kept guessing until the very last page. An ending you will not see coming!
    more
  • Lisa
    January 1, 1970
    A locked room, a ticking time bomb, and six teenagers all hiding terrible secrets the perfect recipe for terrific suspense. In her smart and gripping debut Diana Urban crafts a classic Christie style mystery with a thoroughly modern twist. Cleverly plotted and full of surprises, ALL YOUR TWISTED SECRETS marks the arrival of an exciting new voice in YA suspense. A locked room, a ticking time bomb, and six teenagers all hiding terrible secrets — the perfect recipe for terrific suspense. In her smart and gripping debut Diana Urban crafts a classic Christie style mystery with a thoroughly modern twist. Cleverly plotted and full of surprises, ALL YOUR TWISTED SECRETS marks the arrival of an exciting new voice in YA suspense.
    more
  • Stacee
    January 1, 1970
    Well, I absolutely loved this idea and was excited to dive into the story. Sadly, Im wondering if 3 stars is too high. I liked Amber well enough. Shes super passionate about music...and that is all. Really, this entire cast is fairly flat and only cares about their stereotypical attribute. The dynamic between the characters did start out interesting, but quickly fell flat. Plot wise, it was intriguing. I enjoyed the past and present chapters and how it helped to tell the story. However, scenes Well, I absolutely loved this idea and was excited to dive into the story. Sadly, I’m wondering if 3 stars is too high. I liked Amber well enough. She’s super passionate about music...and that is all. Really, this entire cast is fairly flat and only cares about their stereotypical attribute. The dynamic between the characters did start out interesting, but quickly fell flat. Plot wise, it was intriguing. I enjoyed the past and present chapters and how it helped to tell the story. However, scenes did get repetitive and slowly leached away the tension of the story. The build up did come back and go in a direction I didn’t expect, but then it was the end and the ending chapter left a lot of be desired. Overall, it was an interesting idea, but something kept me from loving it. FYI: talks of bullying and suicide **Huge thanks to Harper Teen for providing the arc free of charge**
    more
  • Alexa
    January 1, 1970
    A twisty locked room mystery with an ending that packs a punch. The book kept me guessing as it flashed back and forth between the tense last hour in a room with a bomb and the last year of school. I enjoyed piecing together the puzzle of the six teens and how they connected, trying to figure out who would do this to them. I guessed one half of the main twist, and was otherwise pleasantly surprised. The last third was a dizzy race to the finish, and I was impressed that the book didn't take the A twisty locked room mystery with an ending that packs a punch. The book kept me guessing as it flashed back and forth between the tense last hour in a room with a bomb and the last year of school. I enjoyed piecing together the puzzle of the six teens and how they connected, trying to figure out who would do this to them. I guessed one half of the main twist, and was otherwise pleasantly surprised. The last third was a dizzy race to the finish, and I was impressed that the book didn't take the easy way out. Shit goes down. A good read if you like escape room tension and messy backstories between characters.
    more
  • Mike Chen
    January 1, 1970
    ALL YOUR TWISTED SECRETS lives up to its title, throwing a group of high school seniors in a no-win locked situation and slowly peeling back their secrets as the clock ticks. It twists (pun intended) and turns, playing out in equal parts present-day tension and flashback to fill in the how and why, weaving the two seamlessly together until they become intertwined as the countdown nears zero. I kept guessing until the very end, and once I finished and knew how it all played out, I wanted to read ALL YOUR TWISTED SECRETS lives up to its title, throwing a group of high school seniors in a no-win locked situation and slowly peeling back their secrets as the clock ticks. It twists (pun intended) and turns, playing out in equal parts present-day tension and flashback to fill in the how and why, weaving the two seamlessly together until they become intertwined as the countdown nears zero. I kept guessing until the very end, and once I finished and knew how it all played out, I wanted to read it again to experience it from a new perspective.
    more
  • Danielle (Love at First Page)
    January 1, 1970
    I had been looking forward to this book all year, but it just wasn't for me. The characters were unrealistic, two dimensional, and most of all unlikable, and unfortunately the plot wasn't "twisted" enough to make up for that. Everything leading up to the big reveal was surprisingly banal and brought little new to the genre. While I will say that the twist ended up being somewhat clever, it also wasn't very nuanced and I don't think it would hold up well against future re-reads. Oh, and there was I had been looking forward to this book all year, but it just wasn't for me. The characters were unrealistic, two dimensional, and most of all unlikable, and unfortunately the plot wasn't "twisted" enough to make up for that. Everything leading up to the big reveal was surprisingly banal and brought little new to the genre. While I will say that the twist ended up being somewhat clever, it also wasn't very nuanced and I don't think it would hold up well against future re-reads. Oh, and there was a love triangle. Overall very disappointing.
    more
  • Eleanor Grace
    January 1, 1970
    4⭐This was my next book on my YA Thriller kick and, honestly, it was one of my favourites so far. When I read the blurb it seemed kind of tropey - very similar to One of Us is Lying - but it was executed in a totally different, much more effective way. It didn't fall into the trap of predictability with the tropes it had, but more used them as a tool to surprise and make a statement.It's quite hard to review a book like this because I don't want to give the slightest clue away, because I always 4⭐️This was my next book on my YA Thriller kick and, honestly, it was one of my favourites so far. When I read the blurb it seemed kind of tropey - very similar to One of Us is Lying - but it was executed in a totally different, much more effective way. It didn't fall into the trap of predictability with the tropes it had, but more used them as a tool to surprise and make a statement.It's quite hard to review a book like this because I don't want to give the slightest clue away, because I always recommend going into thrillers blind. However, I'm going to talk about some of the themes throughout the book that I felt made the story successful rather than plot and characters.You'll notice from the blurb that this follows the Breakfast Club-esque format of bringing together a group of American High School stereotypes. We had the prom queen, the jock, the nerd, the stoner, the orchestra geek and the loner all thrown together and locked in a room - much like the breakfast club. The catch? Within an hour they must choose one of the party to die, or they all die. I felt like Urban used these stereotypes and this trope of choosing who's life should be forfeit to demonstrate that all life is valuable and that no one is more worthy than anyone else based on what group they fit into and how they are perceived - you never know what someone is going through or what their goals are so you cannot say that one life is more worth living than another. This is a lesson a lot of people could stand to learn and I think Urban brought this into the book in a very subtle, yet poignant way.I feel like throughout this book the main theme is about considering the consequences of ones actions. Whether that's something you do and how it affects others, or the way you treat other people. This book really explores the negative impacts people can have without even realising. It certainly makes you think! All 6 of our characters are linked in different ways and as we uncover those situations and actions that bind them together and intertwine their stories, we learn just how deeply the actions they have all taken in the lead up to this event have affected others.I really could pick apart every character individually and the plot points that lead to where we end up, but I really don't want to give anything about the way this story unfolds away. Just know it's a fun and gripping journey with some great twists, that's different from a lot of the YA thrillers following similar tropes. It explores themes relevant to every high school teen, and weaves quite the cautionary tale. I definitely recommend giving this one a read!Thanks very much to Harper360YA for sending me a copy in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affects my thoughts and opinions.
    more
  • Kaira Rouda
    January 1, 1970
    Reminiscent of an Agatha Christie, All Your Twisted Secrets will keep you guessing to the end. A page-turner with characters you will love and hate. Simply, a fabulous mystery!
  • Yna the Mood Reader
    January 1, 1970
    Reviewed for a blog tour. Please do visit ynathemoodreader.com All Your Twisted Secrets is a book that drew me in, first and foremost, because of that beautiful cover. It promises a mystery slash thriller feel and I am all for that! I cannot ever resist reading books under this genre especially in the YA age group.This book is like the type of story where a group of misfits (people who know each other but are not really friends) are placed in one place together. Then, they are stuck in a Reviewed for a blog tour. Please do visit ynathemoodreader.com All Your Twisted Secrets is a book that drew me in, first and foremost, because of that beautiful cover. It promises a mystery slash thriller feel and I am all for that! I cannot ever resist reading books under this genre – especially in the YA age group.This book is like the type of story where a group of misfits (people who know each other but are not really friends) are placed in one place together. Then, they are stuck in a somewhat escape room where they have to decide on killing one person in the room or a bomb will go off. With a blurb and cover like this, I have to say that I was immediately sold.With a writing style that can draw in, this book can be read in one sitting within a few hours. As it is told in alternating timelines, past and present, the reader is given a glimpse on the context of the character decisions as well as a glimpse on who they actually are. Overall, this pacing was good and I enjoyed this part.Mystery wise, I was able to guess what was going to happen towards the latter part of the story. But, I don’t blame the writer for it. Maybe I just have read and watch too many mysteries.Still a good read overall. Perfect for this past weekend.
    more
  • Shalini
    January 1, 1970
    OMG. THIS WAS SIMPLY BRILLIANT with Agatha Christie aura, Mean Girls vibe, suspense and secrets lurked at every corner of the book.Amber and her 5 friends were locked in a room. They had to choose one friend to kill with poison, else the bomb would blast killing them all. They had one hour to decide. Tick tock... Tick tock... Tick tock...My first book by author Diana Urban was simply fascinating. The prose was perfectly Young Adult with each of the 6 characters leaving their mark on me. Every OMG. THIS WAS SIMPLY BRILLIANT with Agatha Christie aura, Mean Girls vibe, suspense and secrets lurked at every corner of the book.Amber and her 5 friends were locked in a room. They had to choose one friend to kill with poison, else the bomb would blast killing them all. They had one hour to decide. Tick tock... Tick tock... Tick tock...My first book by author Diana Urban was simply fascinating. The prose was perfectly Young Adult with each of the 6 characters leaving their mark on me. Every chapter revealed a facet of their lives bringing me closer to the truth. I would feel a strange giddiness in the pit of of my stomach as the deadline approached.Alternate chapters of past and present laid down the perfect synchrony of the action and the secret revealed. The author knew how to reel me in with a single swing. The story was told to me from Amber's POV, I could still feel the rest of the characters. They were developed well over the pages. Sheer talent of the author to make them all real.The prose made me react... I could feel my pulse spiking every few minutes. I was completely lost in the lives of these teens with their goals, aspirations, desperation, loss, anxiety, and the desire to succeed at any cost. Social media and its negatives, along with bullying and mental health, were well woven into the storyline.I suspected the ending, you see, I was wearing my Detective hat, and I was very happy when it came true. Nothing marred my reading joy. The book was a perfect thriller where the secrets played hide and go seek with me. Don't you love books like that? I do... I do...
    more
  • ~Annabelle~ ♥♠
    January 1, 1970
    I should probably give this book 1 star rating for that awful ending but it wouldn't be fair because the story was captivating from beginning until the end.This book is about 6 highschool seniors whose lives are somehow connected.Amber has a dream of becoming big in Hollywood one day for music composition.Sasha is the stereotypical beautiful bitch in YA novels.Robbie is Amber's boyfriend. He has big dreams of becoming a star athlete someday.Priya is Amber's best friend. I think that was her main I should probably give this book 1 star rating for that awful ending but it wouldn't be fair because the story was captivating from beginning until the end.This book is about 6 highschool seniors whose lives are somehow connected.Amber has a dream of becoming big in Hollywood one day for music composition.Sasha is the stereotypical beautiful bitch in YA novels.Robbie is Amber's boyfriend. He has big dreams of becoming a star athlete someday.Priya is Amber's best friend. I think that was her main role in the book.Diego is a brilliant student. That was his main role.Finally Scott sells drugs. That's basically his role.They were all given the same scholarship (what a coincidence) and were invited by the Mayor to dinner. Well on reaching there they get trapped with a letter and a syringe containing poison. All they have to do is kill one person to save the rest. HaThis story started with so much positive vibes and i love a book that keeps me turning pages. Entertainment seemed to be the only thing it could offer unfortunately. It would be stupid of me to ignore some bad things about this book like how on earth can you win a fake scholarship, the worst part was that it was a popular yearly scholarship. The characters are just unlovable. I'm not even going to spoil that soul crushing ending.I'm just pissed.
    more
  • Abbie (boneseasonofglass)
    January 1, 1970
    TW: suicide, bullying
Write a review