Me Talk Pretty One Day
David Sedaris' move to Paris from New York inspired these hilarious pieces, including the title essay, about his attempts to learn French from a sadistic teacher who declares that every day spent with you is like having a caesarean section. His family is another inspiration. You Can't Kill the Rooster is a portrait of his brother, who talks incessant hip-hop slang to his bewildered father. And no one hones a finer fury in response to such modern annoyances as restaurant meals presented in ludicrous towers of food and cashiers with six-inch fingernails.

Me Talk Pretty One Day Details

TitleMe Talk Pretty One Day
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMar 28th, 2017
PublisherLittle, Brown and Company
ISBN0349113912
ISBN-139780349113913
Number of pages272 pages
Rating
GenreHumor, Nonfiction, Autobiography, Memoir, Writing, Essays, Short Stories

Me Talk Pretty One Day Review

  • Brian
    October 2, 2007
    I just don't care for David Sedaris. There, I've said it. I've made peace with the fact. I have stared deep into the cockles of my heart, and forced myself to come to the only obvious-but-unpopular conclusion.I just don't care for David Sedaris.It was somewhat of an existential struggle for me to reach this conclusion because I'm exactly the kind of person who should like David Sedaris.I am a sarcastic Generation Xer with an overdeveloped sense of irony. I enjoy reading personal essays about poi I just don't care for David Sedaris. There, I've said it. I've made peace with the fact. I have stared deep into the cockles of my heart, and forced myself to come to the only obvious-but-unpopular conclusion.I just don't care for David Sedaris.It was somewhat of an existential struggle for me to reach this conclusion because I'm exactly the kind of person who should like David Sedaris.I am a sarcastic Generation Xer with an overdeveloped sense of irony. I enjoy reading personal essays about poignant and humiliating events in people's personal lives. Understated comedy is favorite genre. I look at myself in the mirror and practice being droll. Hell, I even like listening to This American Life on NPR. I am exactly the target demographic for the witty, petty misanthropy with which Mr. Sedaris plies his trade.But, I just don't care for David Sedaris.I find him to be thoroughly unlikable. He comes across as the type of person who might be fun to have a beer with, but, afterwards, he'd probably make fun of you behind your back. When I was reading this book, I thought that his stories and characters were a little too colorful and a little too perfect to be true. And, as he tells the stories of his childhood, he comes across as a 40 year-old gay man trapped in an eight year-old's body (wow, that sentence doesn't sound right!). After I finished the book, I found that Mr. Sedaris does, indeed, subscribe to a rather fluid definition of "truth"--some of the instances were exaggerated. And, by "exaggerated', I mean "completely made up". But these revelations have done little to stem the tide of bare-knuckled enthusiasm of his legion of fans. I am confronted by people who are adamant that, despite my protests to the contrary, I really do like David Sedaris. It seems that Mr. Sedaris' work has become a litmus test for a certain level of sophistication. If you tell people that you just don't care for David Sedaris, they look at you like you've got a mullet tucked into the collar of your shirt, a six pack of Old Milwaukee in the fridge, and a Tivo filled up with NASCAR races. Well, I for one refuse to be pigeon-holed. And, today, I am calling on all like-minded people to join me! And, together, we can...uh not like Sedaris. Say it with me! We're loud, we're proud......and we just don't care for David Sedaris!
    more
  • Tim
    August 1, 2007
    Witty, wry, bitter, delightful.My mom gave me the book. I was living in France at the time, so she thought David Sedaris and I would have a ton in common. She went to a Sedaris booksigning to get a personalized message to her gay son in France. After he was done reading, she jumped up to get him to write a note to me, "David! My son is gay! He's living in France right now, please sign this copy for him!" He had already started an orderly signing process, going down the rows. He looked at her dis Witty, wry, bitter, delightful.My mom gave me the book. I was living in France at the time, so she thought David Sedaris and I would have a ton in common. She went to a Sedaris booksigning to get a personalized message to her gay son in France. After he was done reading, she jumped up to get him to write a note to me, "David! My son is gay! He's living in France right now, please sign this copy for him!" He had already started an orderly signing process, going down the rows. He looked at her disgustedly and intoned, "I'll get to you." He then skipped her row and did all the others first, making everyone in her row hate her (imagine the wrath of a row of David Sedaris fans - ouch). When he finally got to her - last - he said, "name?" and she started her story about me: "Tim. He's 17 and he's gay and he's been living in France this year, so if you could put something about France -" He handed her book back, not having heard anything past my name, instead writing some witty thing with bad grammar that played off the book's title. When I returned from France, my mother gave me the book but had lost all respect for the author. "It's a good book but he was a complete asshole," she said.My mother's experience aside, I'm sure Sedaris is not actually a soulless, cruel person. If you want a light read by a smart, gay cynic, this is a great book.
    more
  • Kasia
    November 24, 2008
    That about sums it up.Because, what's the point to these anecdotes? Are you trying to tell me something Mr. Sedaris? I think not. You think you're funny? Meh, not that funny. Special? You're not that special either. You're a writer, just another writer. What's the big deal? As I said, I don't care much for your little stories. Seriously, my dear, I don't give a damn.
    more
  • David
    August 16, 2010
    I've been thinking a lot about this, and I have come to the conclusion that David Sedaris is one of the worst human beings in history, i.e., since human beings were first invented by an incompetent, Jerry Lewis-like god or by the inscrutable permutations of natural phenomena. This isn't a moral judgment. It's more like when someone tells you that you have spinach stuck in your teeth. It's both the mere reportage of a fact and a public service. Because, after all, you wouldn't want to walk around I've been thinking a lot about this, and I have come to the conclusion that David Sedaris is one of the worst human beings in history, i.e., since human beings were first invented by an incompetent, Jerry Lewis-like god or by the inscrutable permutations of natural phenomena. This isn't a moral judgment. It's more like when someone tells you that you have spinach stuck in your teeth. It's both the mere reportage of a fact and a public service. Because, after all, you wouldn't want to walk around all day with spinach in your teeth, and you wouldn't want to spend your life mistakenly thinking that David Sedaris wasn't evil and unfunny. Maybe I hate David Sedaris so much (abstractly; not with the visceral hatred I have for Mariah Carey) because I imagine all of these young straight couples in J. Crew worsted wool sweaters throwing back their heads like Mrs. Howell, laughing at his weak but fashionable humor. Maybe they're in their Toyota Highlanders driving out to Restoration Hardware to look at the brushed steel knobs and the faux-Victorian gewgaws. Have you been to Oak Brook? They probably live there and have heated floor tiles and towel warmers in their bathroom. The women all look like cut-rate Carolyn Bessette-Kennedys (before the plane crash), and the men look like the guy getting married in The Hangover. David Sedaris is an entry-level gay for these people, right? They're all liberal, sure, but out in Oak Brook their gay contacts are limited to the service industry. The housewares clerk at Lord & Taylor, the hairdresser, or that one swishy waiter at Maggiano's who's stingy with the bread basket. You know, the usual A-Team of tanned men with shaved forearms and hyperreal hairdos. What I am saying is that David Sedaris is a nice accessory. Sure, your grandparents might find some of his humor off-color or distasteful, but in the age of Sarah Silverman he's almost quaint. Anal sex (and its intimations) take on a Bombeckian glow in his hands. And that kerrunk, kerrunk sound you hear is Jean Genet rolling over in his grave (and masturbating on a pile of his own feces).There are currently twenty-one people on my friends list who have rated this book. Only two have assigned it fewer than three stars. Defend yourselves, bourgeois scum. I mean that affectionately. You probably thought Bob Saget was funny on America's Funniest Home Videos too, didn't you?
    more
  • Matthew
    February 7, 2017
    Another collection of Sedaris tales as we have come to know and love. His cynical banter and humorous anecdotes shine again. While some might say the same old formula gets old, with Sedaris it is expected and greatly appreciated. (I even heard he changed the formula in a recent book and it was not well received)I listened to the audio and love hearing the words from the mouth of the author. His delivery and timing are perfect - which I suppose is to be expected as they are his words, but not eve Another collection of Sedaris tales as we have come to know and love. His cynical banter and humorous anecdotes shine again. While some might say the same old formula gets old, with Sedaris it is expected and greatly appreciated. (I even heard he changed the formula in a recent book and it was not well received)I listened to the audio and love hearing the words from the mouth of the author. His delivery and timing are perfect - which I suppose is to be expected as they are his words, but not every author can read their words as well as they write. It is great how he can make every mundane activity an entertaining anecdote.If you like a little humorous getaway, check out this and other Sedaris books.
    more
  • Carrie
    April 29, 2008
    If I were in someone else's bathroom and there were no other reading materials except for something by David Sedaris, I would pick it up and flip through it. I probably would even find myself slightly amused. But my basic opinion about David Sedaris - which is that he is boring, not very funny, mean and bitchy, and too lazy to write a novel - would remain unchanged. Remember when people who had fucked up or interesting lives drew on their personal experiences to create artful, often symbolic sto If I were in someone else's bathroom and there were no other reading materials except for something by David Sedaris, I would pick it up and flip through it. I probably would even find myself slightly amused. But my basic opinion about David Sedaris - which is that he is boring, not very funny, mean and bitchy, and too lazy to write a novel - would remain unchanged. Remember when people who had fucked up or interesting lives drew on their personal experiences to create artful, often symbolic stories that speak to some kind of greater human existence? Remember when people basically only wrote their autobiography after they had accomplished many other notable things in their life? At the very least, one would use the events of their life to address some important social issue.Among others, we have David Sedaris to thank for ushering in the age of this crappy, voyeristic autobiography sub-genre that is basically the print version of reality tv. So somebody has a weird, dysfunctional family. So do most of us. It's really not that interesting. The title of the book is pretty lame. Did you really talk like that, David? No, I don't think you did. I think you were just a middle-class gay kid who lisped, got sent to speech therapy for it, and then wanted to pretend that you were more marginalized than you actually were.Also, his sister is way funnier than he is.
    more
  • Gemma
    February 13, 2008
    This book has been my tube companion for the past fortnight. It is the perfect accompaniment to the London commute for two reasons:1) The essays are perfectly formed, so you can be assured that you'll be able to finish 3 little chunks over 40 minutes or so. Once the train trundled into Westminster station I would know to quicken my pace so as to finish another section before alighting at Blackfriars and elbowing some bankers.2) My tube line is the epitome of the British stiff upper lip. People's This book has been my tube companion for the past fortnight. It is the perfect accompaniment to the London commute for two reasons:1) The essays are perfectly formed, so you can be assured that you'll be able to finish 3 little chunks over 40 minutes or so. Once the train trundled into Westminster station I would know to quicken my pace so as to finish another section before alighting at Blackfriars and elbowing some bankers.2) My tube line is the epitome of the British stiff upper lip. People's faces remain practically emotionless from Putney to Barking to Richmond and up to High Street Kensington. Of course, scrum tackles take place at each station as people push on during rush hour. But NO emotions pass across the face of a commuter. Apart from perhaps a slight grimace when the new arrival feels it necessary to share all the details of their skiing holiday with the entire carriage. Anyway - to the point! With Sedaris in my hand I have been snorting, honking and smiling as never before seen on the District Line. The 50 something lady who settled into her seat at Wimbledon with the Daily Telegraph looks up nervously. The banker ignoring the opinion section of the FT for the far more fascinating Stocks and shares pages shifts nervously. And then I snort once more. Being in such a cheery mood, once a seat becomes available I offer it to the young lady in slightly uncomfortable looking high heels reading the bible (aka the Metro) thus leaving the assembled masses concerned that I may be clinically insane and yet on their train.
    more
  • Bob
    July 3, 2008
    Yes. I realize this book is supposed to be hilarious. Yes. I realize I'm not a hip gen-x'er if I don't happen to think it is. Yet...I feel like Sedaris accurately summed up his entire approach to writing on page 44: "True art was based upon despair, and the important thing was to make yourself and those around you as miserable as possible." He meant this as satire, I'm sure...but what I found truly halarious was that he didn't even realize that he just described the book I was currently reading. Yes. I realize this book is supposed to be hilarious. Yes. I realize I'm not a hip gen-x'er if I don't happen to think it is. Yet...I feel like Sedaris accurately summed up his entire approach to writing on page 44: "True art was based upon despair, and the important thing was to make yourself and those around you as miserable as possible." He meant this as satire, I'm sure...but what I found truly halarious was that he didn't even realize that he just described the book I was currently reading.Upon describing his life, Sedaris wants you to think it's funny. In reality, it's just despair...and he wants you to go down the tubes with him. I decided that reading this book was like sitting in a small space with someone who drones on and on about how horrible their life is. Normally in that situation you can get up and leave or tell them to shut up. In this case, all I could do was stop reading. So, out of respect for the friend that recommended it, I read exactly half (stopping midsentence)...then I told the author to shut up and dumped him in the library drop box.The only funny part of this book was the brief chapter on poop. But even southpark can make that funny. Sedaris is supposed to be funny...I guess I'm un-hip and not a real Gen-x'er...because I find him miserable. He's pushed me back to reading and loving the classics one more time.
    more
  • FeReSHte
    February 12, 2015
    طنز جالبی که بی مزه نباشه ژانریه که تو محصولات فرهنگی داخلی کمتر بهش برخورد کردم و کمبودش رو همیشه حس میکنم و به ناچار برای تجربه ش سراغ سریالها و فیلم ها و کتابهای عمدتا امریکایی رفتم..ژانری که بخش زیادیش با مسائل فرهنگی همون جا آمیخته شدهشاید برای من قسمت زیادی از لذت کتاب،ناشی از خوندن متن اصلی بود ولی باز هم میخوام اینجا از آقای خاکسار بابت ترجمه ی کارهای سداریس تشکر کنم.فکر میکنم به قسمت عظیمی از اهدافشون که اشنا کردن مخاطب ایرانی با نویسندگان کمتر شناخته شده ولی خوب بود،رسیدندمتن اصلی شامل طنز جالبی که بی مزه نباشه ژانریه که تو محصولات فرهنگی داخلی کمتر بهش برخورد کردم و کمبودش رو همیشه حس میکنم و به ناچار برای تجربه ش سراغ سریالها و فیلم ها و کتابهای عمدتا امریکایی رفتم..ژانری که بخش زیادیش با مسائل فرهنگی همون جا آمیخته شدهشاید برای من قسمت زیادی از لذت کتاب،ناشی از خوندن متن اصلی بود ولی باز هم میخوام اینجا از آقای خاکسار بابت ترجمه ی کارهای سداریس تشکر کنم.فکر میکنم به قسمت عظیمی از اهدافشون که اشنا کردن مخاطب ایرانی با نویسندگان کمتر شناخته شده ولی خوب بود،رسیدندمتن اصلی شامل 28 داستان بود ولی اینطور که شنیدم نسخه ی فارسی 26 تا داستان دارهکتاب حاضر به دو بخش تقسیم شدهبخش اول خاطرات شخصی و خانوادگی نویسنده بود که احساس میکنم علاوه بر طنز با چاشنی خیال هم مخلوط شدند.ایده و فکر پشت داستان ها رو دوست داشتم و حتی صرفنظر از تفاوت های فرهنگی با بعضی هاشون خیلی احساس نزدیکی کردم:این که چه طور والدین برای اینده ی بچه هاشون نقشه میکشند،چه طور با گذر زمان روش تربیتی اعمالیشون روی بچه هاتا به بچه اخر برسه ملایم و لطیف و منعطف میشه،توصیف روند سریع ولی غیرقابل پیش بینی پیشرفت استفاده از کامپیوتر و اینترنت تو همه کارهای روزمرهداستان تجربه ی تدریس تو کارگاه داستان نویسی،انتقاد از رستورانهای شیک و باکلاس، نگهداری از حیوانات اهلی و قضیه معتاد و هنرمند شدنش هم فوق العاده خنده دار بودبخش دوم هم اختصاص داره به سفر نویسنده به فرانسه برای اقامت همراه دوست پسرش و سختی هایی که در مسیر یادگیری زبان سخت و پیچیده ای مثل فرانسوی متحمل میشهتو این فصل به شدت با مرارت های یادگیری این زبان با سداریس همدردی میکردم...توصیف دو توریست امریکایی تو مترو که دیوید رو با یه جیب بر فرانسوی اشتباه گرفته بودند هم به عنوان مثالی از حماقت امریکایی شاهکار در اومده بودکتاب برخلاف اسمش که داستان زندگی غمناک پسربچه ای لال رو به ذهن میاره نیست و ساعاتی سراسرلبخند،خنده و گاها قهقهه رو براتون به دنبال دارهسداریس،نویسنده ی عزیزی که بی زحمت شما رو می خندونه:-)
    more
  • Gypsy
    April 16, 2015
    ریویو رو دو بار نوشتم و پاک شد و منم خب لجباز بازم می نویسم. با پی سی دیگه ای دارم می تایپم و خعلی تحت فشارم. :دی خیلی خلاصه می گم. من آدمی ام که دنبال خندیدنم و این کتاب بهم ندادش راستشو بخواین. نه این که اصلاْ نخندم یا بگم لوس و خنک و مسخره بود. ولی اون قدرام خنده دار نبود. نهایت خندیدنم یه پوزخند دو ثانیه ای بود. البته این وسط چیزی هس که طنز رو حساس می کنه و اونم ظرافت های ادبی و زبانی و همچنین فرهنگی و ارزشی و عرفی هس. این جاس که مترجم به چالش کشیده میشه و همت و زحمت می طلبه و خلاقیتش سنجیده ریویو رو دو بار نوشتم و پاک شد و منم خب لجباز بازم می نویسم. با پی سی دیگه ای دارم می تایپم و خعلی تحت فشارم. :دی خیلی خلاصه می گم. من آدمی ام که دنبال خندیدنم و این کتاب بهم ندادش راستشو بخواین. نه این که اصلاْ نخندم یا بگم لوس و خنک و مسخره بود. ولی اون قدرام خنده دار نبود. نهایت خندیدنم یه پوزخند دو ثانیه ای بود. البته این وسط چیزی هس که طنز رو حساس می کنه و اونم ظرافت های ادبی و زبانی و همچنین فرهنگی و ارزشی و عرفی هس. این جاس که مترجم به چالش کشیده میشه و همت و زحمت می طلبه و خلاقیتش سنجیده میشه. با این حال مترجم و نویسنده تقریباْ بی تقصیرن و بر می گرده به همون جریان ظرافت ها و اینا. اما دلیل سه دادنم هدف طنز بود. ینی نقد. نقد اجتماعی و اخلاقی و فرهنگی نویسنده که خاطراتشو به شدت صادقانه و خالصانه بیان می کرد و باعث شد من دیدم به خودم و زندگیم عوض شه. ینی کم تر به خودم سخت بگیرم و این قد غرغرو نباشم و بدخلقی نکنم. فک کنم همین برای یه نویسنده کافی باشه. مگه چه انتظاری از مخاطبش داره جز تاثیر گذاری و به فکر فرو بردنش؟
    more
  • Glenn Sumi
    March 9, 2014
    Incredibly, this is the first Sedaris book I've read, and it more than lives up to the hype.Calling him a humourist doesn't do him justice. Sure, he's read-aloud-to-your-friends funny, but he's also a shrewd social satirist and very, very smart, able to evoke the pain of childhood speech therapy classes, the humiliation of learning French as an adult, or the mortification of finding a huge turd in a friend's toilet (this latter story, by the way, is only in the abridged audio version of the book Incredibly, this is the first Sedaris book I've read, and it more than lives up to the hype.Calling him a humourist doesn't do him justice. Sure, he's read-aloud-to-your-friends funny, but he's also a shrewd social satirist and very, very smart, able to evoke the pain of childhood speech therapy classes, the humiliation of learning French as an adult, or the mortification of finding a huge turd in a friend's toilet (this latter story, by the way, is only in the abridged audio version of the book - I both listened to and read the complete book).A couple of essays seem like filler, but the best – about learning jazz guitar from a midget, or being a drug-addled performance artist, or witnessing a down-home rube’s experience of Manhattan – are vivid, fresh and so casual-sounding you know they took a lot of effort.Sedaris is so brilliant he even makes that overcooked routine – ordering food in a trendy, intimidating New York restaurant – into something genuinely funny.And there's an emotional core to many of these essays too – particularly in ones involving his father, Lou, to whom the book is dedicated.I recommend listening to the author himself read from the audiobook – his unmistakable, somewhat babyish voice adds layers to the text – and then picking up the book later, as I did, to savour the craft.I can’t wait to read more of his books.** UPDATE APRIL 2015: I did read another Sedaris book, the early volume Barrel Fever, but wasn't as impressed **
    more
  • Nina
    September 27, 2007
    So I know this is totally cheating, but I never actually read this book, I listened to it on CD. And I am against the whole book-on-tape idea to begin with, but I needed something easy to listen to on my commute home a few months ago when I was still living all the way in NJ with my parents, and a lot of people whose sense of humor I appreciate told me David Sedaris was hysterical. Actually, I didn't even listen to the whole book, it was so bad I think I only made it past 4 stories. So here is m So I know this is totally cheating, but I never actually read this book, I listened to it on CD. And I am against the whole book-on-tape idea to begin with, but I needed something easy to listen to on my commute home a few months ago when I was still living all the way in NJ with my parents, and a lot of people whose sense of humor I appreciate told me David Sedaris was hysterical. Actually, I didn't even listen to the whole book, it was so bad I think I only made it past 4 stories. So here is my impression: Listening to this guy's stories is like listening to that guy at a party who is pretty funny and captivating and for those reasons, you think, he is also the center of attention, and everyone is listening to him and laughing hysterically. You think he is pretty entertaining. Then you wake up the next morning and realize that actually he really wasn't that funny, his stories were totally made up or at least exaggerated now that you think about the details of them, and he wasn't quite as clever as you thought he was last night. The only reason that you thought he was funny in the first place is because you had a couple beers and were a little tipsy, and that one guy who was drunk and rolling around on the floor laughing was only encouraging everyone else's laughter and perpetuating your delusion. And he was the center of attention because he is one of those over-charismatic people who thinks he is super funny and has super funny stories to tell everyone. And then you regret giving him the time of day. Now imagine this guy sitting down on the train next to you the next morning when you are on the way to work, and he starts telling you all his super funny stories in your ear. That's what listening to this CD felt like for me.
    more
  • Erica
    July 3, 2007
    "You could turn up your nose at the president or Coke or even God, but there were names for boys who didn't like sports.""Lisa had been born with a lazy leg that had refused to grow at the same rate as it's twin. I liked the idea that a part of one's body might be thought of as lazy--not thoughtless or hostile, just unwilling to extend itself for the betterment of the team.""She was what we called Tanorexic.""My father is the type who once recited a bawdy limerick: "A woman I know who's quite bl "You could turn up your nose at the president or Coke or even God, but there were names for boys who didn't like sports.""Lisa had been born with a lazy leg that had refused to grow at the same rate as it's twin. I liked the idea that a part of one's body might be thought of as lazy--not thoughtless or hostile, just unwilling to extend itself for the betterment of the team.""She was what we called Tanorexic.""My father is the type who once recited a bawdy limerick: "A woman I know who's quite blunt/Had a beartrap installed in her... oh, you know. It's a base, vernacular word for the vagina." He can absolutely kill a joke.""If she's old enough to bleed, she's old enough to breed.""I can't promise I'll never kill anyone again. It's unrealistic to live your life within such strict parameters.""My first goal was to make him my boyfriend, to trick or blackmail him into making some sort of commitment. I know it sounds calculating, but if you're not cute, you might as well be clever.""Every day we're told that we live in the greatest country on earth. And it's always stated as an undeniable fact: Leos are born between July 23 and August 22, fitted queen-size sheets measure sixty by eighty inches, and America is the greatest country on earth. Having grown up with this in our ears, it's startling to realize that other countries have nationalistic slogans of their own, none of which are "We're number two!"""Wearing a walkman is like being deaf with none of the disadvantages.""In New York I'd go to the movies three or four times a week. Here I've upped it to six or seven, mainly because I'm too lazy to do anything else. Fortunately, going to the movies seems to suddenly qualify as an intellectual accomplishment, on par with reading a book or devoting time to serious thought. It's not that the movies have gotten any more strenuous, it's just that a lot of people are as lazy as I am, and together we've agreed to lower the bar."
    more
  • Jason Koivu
    November 22, 2008
    As the title suggests, much of Me Talk Pretty One Day revolves around speech and speaking: > Back in school lil' David (I guess he's still kind of little, isn't he) was forced into correcting his sibilant speech by a highly determined therapist. We're led to wonder if she wasn't stamping out boys' lisps through out the North Carolina school with an ulterior motive.> A move from NY to Paris prompts David to take French lessons in France with hilarious results. But that's about all there is As the title suggests, much of Me Talk Pretty One Day revolves around speech and speaking: > Back in school lil' David (I guess he's still kind of little, isn't he) was forced into correcting his sibilant speech by a highly determined therapist. We're led to wonder if she wasn't stamping out boys' lisps through out the North Carolina school with an ulterior motive.> A move from NY to Paris prompts David to take French lessons in France with hilarious results. But that's about all there is to the main topic in this 5 disc set*. The rest is a mixed bag of topics:> A stint as an avant garde performance artist.> Drug use.> His hilariously red-necked brother.> The lives and deaths of family pets.> Annoying American tourists.> Teaching a writing course and having no idea how.> Learning guitar from a sexist midget.> Stories about his entertaining father.That mixed bag of topics brings with it a mix in tone. Some pieces are just flat out funny, while others have a deeper meaning and seem almost too serious to laugh at...and yet I do.Is there a mix in quality as well? My little jury of one is out on that still. I've listened to this one many times, maybe more than any of his others, and while I enjoy the heck out of it, there are long stretches where I wasn't laughing. Usually the ha-ha down-time is filled with me pondering expansively upon his chosen subject matter, so I'm never bored or disconnected from the Sedaris experience. But those looking for wall-to-wall laughs be warned.* You really have to listen to Sedaris read is own material to get the full funny out of it. He is a humorist after all, and much like a comedian, you wouldn't get as many laughs from reading a script of their stand-up routine as you would from watching them live.
    more
  • کتابخانه ي ما
    July 23, 2013
    ... هر روز به ما میگویند که داریم در بهترین کشور دنیا زندگی میکنیم؛ همیشه هم به عنوان یک حقیقت غیرقابل انکار بیان میشود ... امریکا بهترین کشور دنیاست. با این باور بزرگ میشوی و وقتی یک روز میفهمی که کشورهای دیگر هم برای خودشان شعار ناسیونالیستی دارند و هیچ کدامشان هم این نیست که «ما دومی هستیم!» وحشت برت میدارد. ... هر روز به ما می‌گویند که داریم در بهترین کشور دنیا زندگی می‌کنیم؛ همیشه هم به عنوان یک حقیقت غیرقابل انکار بیان می‌شود ... امریکا بهترین کشور دنیاست. با این باور بزرگ می‌شوی و وقتی یک روز می‌فهمی که کشورهای دیگر هم برای خودشان شعار ناسیونالیستی دارند و هیچ کدام‌شان هم این نیست که «ما دومی هستیم!» وحشت برت می‌دارد.
    more
  • Shovelmonkey1
    June 26, 2010
    Before I picked up this book I knew nothing about David Sedaris. If someone said to me now, "so why should I give a damn about David Sedaris" I probably still wouldn't be able to offer an adequate defence. What does David Sedaris do? Ummmm, I think he writes books about being David Sedaris. But, to be fair and accurate he writes pretty funny books about being David Sedaris so if you think that comedy trumps vanity then come on in and join the David Sedaris club. On the whole I suspect that David Before I picked up this book I knew nothing about David Sedaris. If someone said to me now, "so why should I give a damn about David Sedaris" I probably still wouldn't be able to offer an adequate defence. What does David Sedaris do? Ummmm, I think he writes books about being David Sedaris. But, to be fair and accurate he writes pretty funny books about being David Sedaris so if you think that comedy trumps vanity then come on in and join the David Sedaris club. On the whole I suspect that David Sedaris spends a lot of time wandering around inside his own skull. Think of it like a quite roomy house with lots of nooks and crannies containing artefacts which can be poked at and moved around. However, years of imbibing Crystal Meth, paint thinner, white-out, Speed and alcohol have left behind a thick veneer which is sealing the main points of entry and exit into Mr Sedaris' skull and this means that the poor man is effectively trapped in there. Anyway since I am still unable to offer any further salient points on the life of David Sedaris, I'll leave him to explain a few things in his own words:David Sedaris on Oceanography: "We enjoyed swimming until the mystery of tides was explained in such a way that the ocean seemed to be nothing more than an enormous salt-water toilet, flushing itself on a sad and predictable basis".David Sedaris on conceptual art and crystal meth:"Either one of these things is dangerous but in combination they have the power to destroy entire civilisations".David Sedaris on performance art:"I just heated up a skillet of plastic soldiers, poured a milkshake over my head and called it a night."David Sedaris on relations with the french:"I horrify the French every time I open my mouth."David Sedaris on home remedies:"I thought I could cure diabetes by spreading suntan lotion on sticks of chewing gum".David Sedaris on his IQ:"By the time I reached my thirties, my brain had been strip mined by a combination of drugs, alcohol and the chemical solvents used at the refinishing company where I worked."David Sedaris on interior design:"I'm thinking of making a little jacket for my clock radio."If you agree with any of the above statements by David Sedaris or have ever contemplated creating clothing for time pieces then you will probably enjoy this book.
    more
  • Masoomeh Tavakoli
    August 8, 2013
    ترجمه یMe Talk Pretty One Dayمعمولاً طنزهای ترجمه شده آدم را نمی خندانند امّا این یکی استثنا بود!اوّلین بار همین قصّه ی «من را یک روزی دلبر حرف زدن»!!!اش را خواندم (که با عنوان «زیر آسمان پاریس» توسّط احسان لطفی ترجمه و در همشهری داستان آذر 1389 منتشر شده بود) و چه بسیار خنده شد! بعد گذاشتمش در کیفم و با خودم بردمش خانه ی سمیرا. کِی؟ شب امتحان تعلیم و تربیت اسلامی پیشرفته به استادی روان شاد دکتر محمّدرضا شرفیچهل سؤال داشتیم و می دانستیم که پنج سؤالِ امتحان به احتمال 99درصد، همه از همین چهل سؤال ترجمه یMe Talk Pretty One Dayمعمولاً طنزهای ترجمه شده آدم را نمی خندانند امّا این یکی استثنا بود!اوّلین بار همین قصّه ی «من را یک روزی دلبر حرف زدن»!!!اش را خواندم (که با عنوان «زیر آسمان پاریس» توسّط احسان لطفی ترجمه و در همشهری داستان آذر 1389 منتشر شده بود) و چه بسیار خنده شد! بعد گذاشتمش در کیفم و با خودم بردمش خانه ی سمیرا. کِی؟ شب امتحان تعلیم و تربیت اسلامی پیشرفته به استادی روان شاد دکتر محمّدرضا شرفیچهل سؤال داشتیم و می دانستیم که پنج سؤالِ امتحان به احتمال 99درصد، همه از همین چهل سؤال خواهند بود. مدام به سمیرا وعده می دادم که هر وقت چهل سؤال (یا دست کم بیست تایش را!) خواندیم، یک قصّه ی خوب برایش می خوانمپیش رفتیم و خواندم و چه بسیار خنده شد!سرشار از عبارات و جملاتی بود که می توانند تکیه کلامت شوند و معلوم نیست تا چه وقت از عمرت هم چنان می خندانندت(اگر تلاش کردن، بالاخره یک روز حرف خوشگل می زنی!)بعدتر قصّه ی «کارگاه نویسندگی» اش را -باز هم در همشهری داستان- خواندم و با سمیرا دوباره خوانی اش کردم و خنده های از ته دل و ...بعدترش دیدم پیمان خاکسار زحمت کشیده و کلّ این مجموعه داستان را ترجمه کردهصدایش را پیش سمیرا درنیاوردم چون می خواستم به عنوان کادوی تولّد برایش بخرمش.خودم نخوانده بودمش هنوز که 11 دی فرا رسید و چه بسیار موجب خوش-حالی شد داشتنش برای سمیرا و دیدن خوش-حالی سمیرا برای من...امّا در باب خود کتاب: شنیده ام (از خود سمیرا که گویا در وبلاگی خوانده) که ترجمه ی احسان لطفی دقیق نیستنمی دانم چه قدر این حرف صحیح استوقتی خودم متن اصلی اش را خواندم دیدم که شاید راست باشد این حرفیکی دو جایش مختصر تفاوتی داشت با متن اصلی که می شد آن را به حساب محدودیت های انتشار قصّه ی ترجمه در یک مجلّه ی کمابیش دولتی گذاشتامّا چنین به نظرم نیامد که ترجمه ی پیمان خاکسار خیلی دقیق تر است یا آن طور که برخی معتقدند شاهکاری است.اتّفاقاً من با ترجمه ی لطفی خیلی بیشتر خندیدمشاید چون اوّلین بار قصّه را با ترجمه ی او خواندمو شاید به خاطر لحنی که او در ترجمه اش اختیار کرده (با این نظر خودم بعد از خواندن متن اصلی موافق تر شدم!) لحن سداریس شبیه آدم هایی است که تلاش خاصّی برای خنداندن آدم ها نمی کنند و بدون این که بخواهند یا دست خودشان باشد، بامزه اند. از آن ها که یک جمله ی خیلی خنده دار را با قیافه ای خیلی جدّی می گویند و بعد وقتی تو داری روی زمین غلت می زنی، پشتشان را به تو می کنند و می روندو اگر این دریافت من از لحن او درست باشد، آن گاه «زیر آسمان پاریس» در بازآفرینی این لحن موفّق تر از «بالاخره یه روزی قشنگ حرف می زنم» بوده است. لحن خاکسار سرخوشی ای با خود دارد که با آن قیافه ی جدّی که از سداریس در ذهن دارم نمی خواند. به هر روی، خواندنش خیلی لذّت بخش بود. خیلی خوب پیش می رفت و خیلی جاهایش خنده ی من را در می آورددلم می خواهد بعداً در فرصتی فراخ تر، به سبک آرمینا و نرگس و رعنا به قصّه هایش جداگانه امتیاز بدهم و شاید از بعضی هایشان جملاتی را این جا برای خودم یاداشت کنمان شاء اللهپ.ن. 1 توصیح غیرضروری که احتمالاً در هر ریویوی دیگری از این کتاب یافت می شود:کتاب دو قسمت دارد:در بخش اوّل، سداریس خاطرات کودکی، نوجوانی و جوانی خود را که در آمریکا سپری کرده، مرور می کند و بخش دوم به شرح ماجراهایی که پس از اقامت در فرانسه بر سرش آمده اختصاص دارد.پ.ن. 2بهترین قصّه اش هنوز و هم چنان «بالاخره یه روزی قشنگ حرف می زنم» است. لایق 5 ستاره و حتّی بیش تر! و بعد از آن «دوباره دیروز می بینمت» که چیزی است در همان ردیف و تقریباً همان قدر خنده آور.
    more
  • Fabian
    February 15, 2011
    A reviewer was right when he said: "Sedaris can turn a rant into a thing of beauty." (Michael Upchurch- Seattle Times) But only correct about the noun/verb "rant." That he does in profusion; all these "essays" are rants about his life and times. But "Thing of beauty?"Absolutely not.For a popular writer, Mr. Sedaris maintains that he is more important than anything else, anybody else, any other subject. He only looks at himself in situations and tells us his witty reactions/musings. Funny, a litt A reviewer was right when he said: "Sedaris can turn a rant into a thing of beauty." (Michael Upchurch- Seattle Times) But only correct about the noun/verb "rant." That he does in profusion; all these "essays" are rants about his life and times. But "Thing of beauty?"Absolutely not.For a popular writer, Mr. Sedaris maintains that he is more important than anything else, anybody else, any other subject. He only looks at himself in situations and tells us his witty reactions/musings. Funny, a little, but it's actually like talking to someone adamant about taking nothing too seriously while displaying extreme sarcasm. I could not relate to a single thing this person wrote about!About his trips to France (just check this out): "There are plenty of places on Earth where Americans are greeted with enthusiasm. Unfortunately, these places tend to lack anything you'd really want to buy. And that, to me, is the only reason to leave home in the first place--to buy things."Aggh! This All-American mentality: GROSS.
    more
  • Shayantani Das
    June 24, 2011
    Very very funny and David reading these stories himself was just the icing of the cake. Lots of lol moments, especially precious memories. Read again on 22 January, 2012 ,Recently a goodread friend asked me whether he should read David Sedaris. I said yes, of course, but at the same time, I started rummaging around my place, turning my house upside down looking for my audiobook CD. Reading Margaret Atwood got me in a really gloomy mood recently, but David Sedaris has successfully cheered me up a Very very funny and David reading these stories himself was just the icing of the cake. Lots of lol moments, especially precious memories. Read again on 22 January, 2012 ,Recently a goodread friend asked me whether he should read David Sedaris. I said yes, of course, but at the same time, I started rummaging around my place, turning my house upside down looking for my audiobook CD. Reading Margaret Atwood got me in a really gloomy mood recently, but David Sedaris has successfully cheered me up again. The best essays in the book are about David’s struggle to learn French. His problem with the gender associated to French words for example: vagina is masculine and masculinity is feminine. Try as he might, he can’t find connection there. His thoughts: “I find it ridiculous to assign a gender to an inanimate object incapable of disrobing and making an occasional fool of itself. Why refer to lady crack pipe or good sir dishrag when these things could never live up to all that their sex implied?” Impeccable logic there, don’t you think?His French teacher is not very kind either. This time for instance: “I hate you' she said to me one afternoon. 'I really, really hate you.' Call me sensitive, but I couldn't help but take it personally.” David also has some interesting remarks about Americans he meets in Paris. Like that time when a couple thought he was a French pick pocket. Ahh, you would think that I won’t laugh at all those jokes again. But I did, I so did! I laughed and laughed as if some one was tickling me. David Sedaris! Gosh, he is funny…Please, please listen to the audio book. I know many people hate this book, but please just try it in his voice. The way he says it, his intonations. He is a smartass, is hilariously self-debasing. Highly recommended but only in the audio format.
    more
  • Fionnuala
    April 23, 2012
    I live in a town in France with a shortage of bookshops which carry books in English and sometimes, in spite of the huge choices available online, I get a desperate urge to linger in a real bookshop, combing the shelves for treasure. Invariably, when I visit the one here, I find that I already own most of the more readable books they stock so sometimes I just take a chance based on the cover and the blurb. I liked the title of this collection of short pieces by David Sedaris and it said 'Wildly I live in a town in France with a shortage of bookshops which carry books in English and sometimes, in spite of the huge choices available online, I get a desperate urge to linger in a real bookshop, combing the shelves for treasure. Invariably, when I visit the one here, I find that I already own most of the more readable books they stock so sometimes I just take a chance based on the cover and the blurb. I liked the title of this collection of short pieces by David Sedaris and it said 'Wildly entertaining' on the cover so I cheerfully handed over my money. I'm not sure that it is 'Wildly entertaining' but a good friend whose opinion I trust has pointed out that this is worth persisting with so I did. I found some of his comments on living in France, and learning French, very apt. He feels that he has a different personality in French and this is something I have been feeling for years. No matter how long you have lived in a foreign country or how relatively better you master the language, you nevertheless are a different communicator in that language. You never say exactly what you want to say, only what you can say. Sometimes there is a big difference.
    more
  • Mohammadjavad Abbasi
    February 22, 2016
    از اون دسته از آدمایی هستم که حتی با بی مزه ترین طنز های تو کتاب هم کلی میخندم :دی این کتاب هم منو خندوند ولی اونقدر که انتظار داشتم نبود.معمولا بعد از خوندن چند تا کتاب جدی حتما باید به کتاب طنز بخونم تا روحیه ام عوض بشه.کتاب بیشتر شبیه فیلم های کمدی آمریکایی هست از همونایی که بیشتر با با چند تا فحش رکیک،چهار تا تیکه انداختن به این و اون یا مثلا چت کردن با شیشه و گل و شرح توهماتی که بهش دست داده سعی میکنن آدما بخندونن.بعضی جا های کتاب هم خوب طبیعتا واسه مخاطب ایرانی نامفهمومه و فقط خود آمریکایی از اون دسته از آدمایی هستم که حتی با بی مزه ترین طنز های تو کتاب هم کلی میخندم :دی این کتاب هم منو خندوند ولی اونقدر که انتظار داشتم نبود.معمولا بعد از خوندن چند تا کتاب جدی حتما باید به کتاب طنز بخونم تا روحیه ام عوض بشه.کتاب بیشتر شبیه فیلم های کمدی آمریکایی هست از همونایی که بیشتر با با چند تا فحش رکیک،چهار تا تیکه انداختن به این و اون یا مثلا چت کردن با شیشه و گل و شرح توهماتی که بهش دست داده سعی میکنن آدما بخندونن.بعضی جا های کتاب هم خوب طبیعتا واسه مخاطب ایرانی نامفهمومه و فقط خود آمریکایی ها میتونن بهش بخندند مثلا من چه میدونم عید پاک چیه که با آوردن شکلات ها بوسیله خرگوش یا ناقوس بخندم/:اما بی انصافی اگه نگم بعضی جاهای کتاب هم خیلی خنده دار بود در مجموع خوندنش بهتر از نخوندنش هست.
    more
  • Paul
    August 7, 2015
    For the uninitiated (a group I belonged to before I bought this book based on a recommendation) this book is a collection of... well, actually, I'm not entirely sure what I'd call them. According to the small print guff at the front of the book, these... pieces of creative writing, for want of a better term... were originally published in various magazines, newspapers and the like or broadcast on the radio, but they're not really essays or articles or stories or even anecdotes, really. It's a co For the uninitiated (a group I belonged to before I bought this book based on a recommendation) this book is a collection of... well, actually, I'm not entirely sure what I'd call them. According to the small print guff at the front of the book, these... pieces of creative writing, for want of a better term... were originally published in various magazines, newspapers and the like or broadcast on the radio, but they're not really essays or articles or stories or even anecdotes, really. It's a collection of almost entirely random ramblings about not very much, to be honest, and at several points throughout the book I found myself wondering whether I actually gave a shit about anything he was talking about.That's not to say some of these pieces aren't funny. Some of them had me laughing aloud, which is a good sign, I suppose. I even agreed with him on a couple of points; most notably about the seeming pointlessness of certain languages that will insist on everything having a gender. I have the deepest respect for my French and German chums but, for the love of Cthulhu, I will never understand their languages' insistence that items with absolutely no sexual organs must have a gender identity! It's not Mr. Kettle or Mrs. Kettle! It's just a sodding kettle! It hasn't got a penis OR a vagina! Don't be so bloody lazy and come up with a gender neutral pronoun already! (My apologies to anybody reading this whose surname is Kettle.)Anyway, this largely irrelevant rant aside, this book does succeed in being funny in places but it's more than a little incoherent and... yes, I'm overtired and grumpy enough to say it... pretty pointless, really. I do realise this opinion means I'm not 'hip' or whatever the folks who are so young the fact they're going to die one day hasn't really sunk in yet are calling it this year.If, like me, you're not entirely averse to some pointlessness in your life, it's good for a giggle.I'm going to put Mr. iPad down now and get into Mrs. Bed and try to get some Miss Sleep, because Madame Pain and Herr Insomnia can just about bloody well sod off at this stage...
    more
  • Parastoo Ashtian
    August 3, 2014
    هیچوقت مدافع سرسخت فرانسویها نبودهام ولی واقعا باید به ملتی که تحت هیچ شرایطی موقع فیلم تماشا کردن حرف نمیزنند احترام گذاشت. من اینجا کنار گروهی بچه مدرسهای که به دیدن یک فیلم مزخرف بزنبکش آمدهاند نشستهام و حتی یک نفر لب از لب باز نکرده. آخرین باری که در یک سینمای آمریکایی سکوت را تجربه کردم یادم نیست. فکر کنم تماشاگران ما تمام روز حرف نمی زنند و تمام حرفهایشان را میگذارند برای وقتی که فیلم شروع میشود. یک بار در یک سینمای معمولی نیویورک زدم روی شانهی مردی که جلوم نشسته بود و نقدش را قطع کردم و ا هیچ‌وقت مدافع سرسخت فرانسوی‌ها نبوده‌ام ولی واقعا باید به ملتی که تحت هیچ شرایطی موقع فیلم تماشا کردن حرف نمی‌زنند احترام گذاشت. من این‌جا کنار گروهی بچه مدرسه‌ای که به دیدن یک فیلم مزخرف بزن‌بکش آمده‌اند نشسته‌ام و حتی یک نفر لب از لب باز نکرده. آخرین باری که در یک سینمای آمریکایی سکوت را تجربه کردم یادم نیست. فکر کنم تماشاگران ما تمام روز حرف نمی زنند و تمام حرف‌هایشان را می‌گذارند برای وقتی که فیلم شروع می‌شود. یک بار در یک سینمای معمولی نیویورک زدم روی شانه‌ی مردی که جلوم نشسته بود و نقدش را قطع کردم و ازش پرسیدم که آیا می‌خواهد کل فیلم را حرف بزند؟ گفت: خب آره. چه طور مگه؟ بدوت این که در لحنش نشانی از شرمندگی یا عذرخواهی باشد. انگار که ازش پرسیده بودم قصد دارد خونش گردش داشته باشد یا هوا را به داخل ریه‌هایش بفرستد. ولم کن بابا چرا نباید حرف بزنم؟ از پشت سر جناب منتقد بلند شدم و کنار پیشگویی نشستم که با صدای بلند سرنوشت تک تک شخصیت‌های فیلم را می‌گفت، شخصیت‌هایی که روی پرده لب‌شان تکان می‌خورد. بعد هم یک زوج پیر آمدند که دائم فکر می‌کردند چیزی را از دست داده‌اند. هر بار غریبه‌ای که تا آن لحظه در فیلم دیده نشده بود در خانه‌ی کسی را می‌زد می‌پرسیدند: این کیه؟ می‌خواستم بهشان اطمینان بدهم که به موقع جواب سؤالاتشان را خواهند گرفت ولی چون اعتقاد دارم نباید سر فیلم حرف زد دوباره جا عوض کردم به این امید که وسط دو نفر بنشینم که یا خواب‌شان برده باشد یا مرده باشند.از متن کتاب
    more
  • Mehrzad M.
    April 7, 2015
    خیلی خندیدم ، زیادی خندیدم .هر جایی که این کتاب رو مطالعه می کردم ، توی اتوبوس یا مترو ، مطب پزشک یا خونه ، اونقدر خنده م می گرفت که باید جلوی خودم رو می گرفتم که گاف ندم ! نمی دونم چطور میشه این نوشته ها رو شخصیت های داستان رو دوست نداشت و همگام باهاشون نشد و نخندید .//
    more
  • Kelly (and the Book Boar)
    April 24, 2013
    I've actually expressed my deep, unconditional love for David Sedaris on this site before. With this re-read I realized my love might be a tad unhealthy. You see, last week I was reading this book while a character on a sitcom was reading "When You Are Engulfed In Flames". Rather than being happy that Sedaris was getting quite decent free press, I could only think of the masses of sheer IDIOTS who might venture out to Amazon, purchase something by my true love and then post scathing reviews (wit I've actually expressed my deep, unconditional love for David Sedaris on this site before. With this re-read I realized my love might be a tad unhealthy. You see, last week I was reading this book while a character on a sitcom was reading "When You Are Engulfed In Flames". Rather than being happy that Sedaris was getting quite decent free press, I could only think of the masses of sheer IDIOTS who might venture out to Amazon, purchase something by my true love and then post scathing reviews (with pitiful spelling and punctuation, no less), thus breaking his heart. With that in mind, I beg of you, dear Goodreads members, to read and post about my darling David as much as you wish, but please - don't tell your halfwit Cousin Carl about him. Smart writers are already a dying breed.
    more
  • Farnoosh Farahbakht
    February 20, 2015
    وقتی کتاب رو شروع کردم انتظار کلی خنده و قهقه زدن داشتم اما توی بخش اول کتاب با اینکه داستان ها خیلی خوب بود ولی چند تا لبخند بیشتر نصیبم نشد. اما سداریس توی بخش دوم حسابی جبران کرد و داستان ها مخصوصا قسمت های مربوط به یادگیری زبان فرانسه فوق العاده بود.داستان ها مسائل روزمره ای بود که ممکنه برای همه ما اتفاق بیفته، قسمت دوست داشتنی قضیه نگاه طنزی بود که سداریس به این اتفاقات داره و مسئله ای که میتونه یه نفر رو کاملا از کوره به در ببره برای اون میشه یه موضوع برای داستانی پر از خنده و لبخند.در کل وقتی کتاب رو شروع کردم انتظار کلی خنده و قهقه زدن داشتم اما توی بخش اول کتاب با اینکه داستان ها خیلی خوب بود ولی چند تا لبخند بیشتر نصیبم نشد. اما سداریس توی بخش دوم حسابی جبران کرد و داستان ها مخصوصا قسمت های مربوط به یادگیری زبان فرانسه فوق العاده بود.داستان ها مسائل روزمره ای بود که ممکنه برای همه ما اتفاق بیفته، قسمت دوست داشتنی قضیه نگاه طنزی بود که سداریس به این اتفاقات داره و مسئله ای که میتونه یه نفر رو کاملا از کوره به در ببره برای اون میشه یه موضوع برای داستانی پر از خنده و لبخند.در کل فکر می کنم طنز این کتاب به دلیل موضوعاتی که سداریس بهشون می پردازه برای آمریکایی ها ملموس تر باشه
    more
  • میعاد
    June 29, 2015
    دركل كتاب دوست داشتنى اى بود ! ولى به خاطر اينكه داره خاطرات پراكنده رو تعريف ميكنه و قرار نيست يه داستان واحد رو بگه اونجورى نيست كه جذبت كنه و بخواى ببينى چى ميشه! فقط به عنوان يه كتاب طنز خوبه و چندتا از داستاناش خيلى خيلى بامزن البته تو ترجمه فارسى به خاطر اينكه يه سرى جمله ها كه تو ترجمه طنزشو از دست ميده؛ باعث شده كه چند درجه از طنز كتاب كاسته شه! و من مدام بايد متن اصلى رو هم ميخوندم يه فصل هم كه سانسور شده تو ترجمه!!! اگه توانايى داريد كه انگليسيشو بخونين خيلى بهتر خواهد بود
    more
  • Kim
    January 10, 2013
    David Sedaris has been on the edge of my consciousness for some time. I’m fairly sure that I’ve heard him interviewed on the radio. Or maybe he turned up in these parts to participate in a writers’ festival. In any event, I hadn’t read anyting written by him before and I read this book not because I sought it out, but because it was given to me as a gift. It was given to me because Sedaris writes about Paris and my friend thought that would interest me. She was right. I enjoyed the anecdotes abo David Sedaris has been on the edge of my consciousness for some time. I’m fairly sure that I’ve heard him interviewed on the radio. Or maybe he turned up in these parts to participate in a writers’ festival. In any event, I hadn’t read anyting written by him before and I read this book not because I sought it out, but because it was given to me as a gift. It was given to me because Sedaris writes about Paris and my friend thought that would interest me. She was right. I enjoyed the anecdotes about Sedaris’ life in Paris, particularly about his efforts to learn French. That said, I’m not sure that I’ll be going out of my way to read more of Sedaris' work. The first anecdote in the volume is partly what put me off. In it, Sedaris writes about the speech therapy he had as a child to overcome his lisp. He seems to be suggesting that all boys who lisp are gay, or possibly that all gay boys lisp. I have my doubts that the story is even true, but regardless of the point Sedaris wanted to make, it left me irritated rather than amused. The irritation persisted, notwithstanding genuinely funny moments in other parts of the book. Clearly, Sedaris can be funny. However, the funny stories in this volume made me smile rather than laugh out loud and a number of them are probably more fiction than fact. Overall, okay-to-good but not great. Maybe it was just the wrong book for me to read this week. 2-1/2 stars.
    more
  • Thomas
    March 31, 2010
    I came into this book expecting the voice of a pretentious, self-indulgent white male, and I finished this book smirking along with this funny, pretentious, and self-indulgent white male. I cannot judge David Sedaris as I do not know his true personality, but he portrays a quirky character in these essays. He reflects on concepts such as speech and family, and several of his pieces draw inspiration from his experience as an American living in France. While some of Sedaris's creative nonfiction - I came into this book expecting the voice of a pretentious, self-indulgent white male, and I finished this book smirking along with this funny, pretentious, and self-indulgent white male. I cannot judge David Sedaris as I do not know his true personality, but he portrays a quirky character in these essays. He reflects on concepts such as speech and family, and several of his pieces draw inspiration from his experience as an American living in France. While some of Sedaris's creative nonfiction - emphasis on the "fiction," according to several sources - veers into hollow and pompous territories, I still found myself chuckling as he detailed his struggle with his speech therapist and his thoughts on crossword puzzles.My favorite essays include "Go Carolina," "21 Down," and "Picka Pocketoni," entertaining anecdotes in which Sedaris takes himself down a peg or two. I would recommend this collection if you enjoy snark and can stomach some pretentiousness along with your rants and your humor.
    more
  • Lissa
    September 28, 2007
    I read Me Talk Pretty One Day on the recommendation of my roommate, the fabulous WER. She gave me her copy of the book, so with a strong recommendation and a free read, I couldn’t possibly refuse. Me Talk Pretty One Day is a rough autobiography of writer and humorist David Sedaris. I say a “rough” autobiography because it is not told in chronological order, nor is it a straightforward chronological account of the events of his life. Instead, he presents life as a series of vignettes, some of whi I read Me Talk Pretty One Day on the recommendation of my roommate, the fabulous WER. She gave me her copy of the book, so with a strong recommendation and a free read, I couldn’t possibly refuse. Me Talk Pretty One Day is a rough autobiography of writer and humorist David Sedaris. I say a “rough” autobiography because it is not told in chronological order, nor is it a straightforward chronological account of the events of his life. Instead, he presents life as a series of vignettes, some of which are from when he was a small child (such as his struggles with his speech therapist), from his college years (and his dabbling in drugs and performance art), with the last 1/3 chronicling his experiences as an American in France. Me Talk Pretty One Day is extremely funny in parts. As a New Yorker, I especially liked his observations working for a moving company in New York City. (As anyone who has lived in New York long enough can tell you, conversations inevitably always turn to real estate if you get m ore than two of us in a room together). For example:It was generally agreed that a coffin-size studio on Avenue D was preferable to living in one of the boroughs. Moving from one Brooklyn or Staten Island neighborhood to another was fine, but unless you had children to think about, even the homeless saw it as a step down to leave Manhattan. Customers quitting the island for Astoria or Cobble Hill would claim to welcome the change of pace, saying it would be nice to finally have a garden or live a little closer to the airport. They’d put a good face one it, but one could always detect an underlying sense of defeat. The apartments might bigger and cheaper in other places, but one could never count on their old circle of friend making the long trip to attend a birthday party. Even Washington Heights was considered a stretch. People referred to it as Upstate New York, though it was right there in Manhattan. However, I found that autobiographies (no matter how good they are) often become relentlessly self-indulgent in parts, and this book is no exception to the rule. For instance, in one vignette Sedaris describes a series of dreams that he often has. This particular section doesn’t fit as well with his other stories about living in France and seemed to drag on and on.All in all, not great literature, but a fun read nevertheless. I read it on the plane ride from New York to Amsterdam, and it was perfect for that kind of trip. Mindless and entertaining, to pass the time.
    more
Write a review