Things You Save in a Fire
From the New York Times bestselling author of How to Walk Away comes a stunning new novel about family, hope, and learning to love against all odds. Cassie Hanwell was born for emergencies. As one of the only female firefighters in her Texas firehouse, she's seen her fair share of them, and she's excellent at dealing with other people's tragedies. But when her estranged and ailing mother asks her to uproot her life and move to Boston, it's an emergency of a kind Cassie never anticipated.The tough, old-school Boston firehouse is as different from Cassie's old job as it could possibly be. Hazing, a lack of funding, and poor facilities mean that the firemen aren't exactly thrilled to have a "lady" on the crew, even one as competent and smart as Cassie. Except for the handsome rookie, who doesn't seem to mind having Cassie around. But she can't think about that. Because she doesn't fall in love. And because of the advice her old captain gave her: don't date firefighters. Cassie can feel her resolve slipping...but will she jeopardize her place in a career where she's worked so hard to be taken seriously?Katherine Center's Things You Save in a Fire is a heartfelt, affecting novel about life, love, and the true meaning of courage.

Things You Save in a Fire Details

TitleThings You Save in a Fire
Author
ReleaseAug 13th, 2019
PublisherSt. Martin's Press
ISBN-139781250047328
Rating
GenreFiction, Romance, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit

Things You Save in a Fire Review

  • Katherine Center
    January 1, 1970
    Just gonna jump right in and give my own book five beautiful stars. That's reasonable, right? ;)
  • Deanna
    January 1, 1970
    My reviews can also be seen at: https://deesradreadsandreviews.wordpr... “Saving lives was easy. Saving herself was another story”. What a fantastic read!Cassie Hanwell is a firefighter with the Austin Fire Department. She is a very busy and independent woman. Her co-workers think she's lonely, but she tells them she’s happy with the way things are.Cassie is about to receive the Austin Fire Department’s Valor Award. She is the FIRST female to ever win this prestigious award. Cassie is anxiousl My reviews can also be seen at: https://deesradreadsandreviews.wordpr... “Saving lives was easy. Saving herself was another story”. What a fantastic read!Cassie Hanwell is a firefighter with the Austin Fire Department. She is a very busy and independent woman. Her co-workers think she's lonely, but she tells them she’s happy with the way things are.Cassie is about to receive the Austin Fire Department’s Valor Award. She is the FIRST female to ever win this prestigious award. Cassie is anxiously waiting for them to call her to the stage to receive her award from the Mayor. However, an announcement is made saying that someone else will be giving Cassie the award. When Cassie sees who it is she's shocked. But the shock wears off quickly...What happens next is COMPLETELY unexpected.On top of everything else, Cassie's mother has been trying to get in touch with her. Cassie and her mother are far from close so she’s stunned when her mother says “I need you to come to Massachusetts to live with me". She has some health issues and needs Cassie’s help. She asks Cassie to think it over. Cassie says she doesn’t need any time to think...the answer is no.Unfortunately, before she knows it she’s moving to Boston.Cassie will be working at the Lillian Fire Department, where she’s needed but not wanted. The LFD has NEVER had a woman firefighter. Cassie is determined to prove she can do the job just as well as they can. She is advised to do anything she can to keep from reminding them that she’s a woman (no makeup, no long hair, no jewelry…etc) but she also shouldn’t back down, get offended, or show fear. Will Cassie be able to deal with the “good old boys” and their archaic ideas? “So, to succeed in my new job, I basically need to be an asexual, androgynous, human robot that’s dead to all physical and emotional sensation.” Easy peasy… right?Soon some surprising feelings have Cassie rethinking many parts of her life. Is it possible that she may even end up breaking the biggest rule of all ?Cassie survived her past by never talking about it with ANYONE. She closed off many parts of herself so then she wouldn't get hurt. But could she be missing out on something wonderful?Every now and then a story comes along that gets me right in the heart. “Things You Save in a Fire” is that kind of story.I've said it before but I really do love the way Katherine Center writes about the messy parts of life with such honesty. The storyline was well-written and there were many great relatable characters. From the laugh out loud moments to the heartbreaking moments, this story had me gripped until I finished the very last page.“Things You Save in a Fire” is a heart-warming, gut-wrenching, and hilarious story about healing, family, forgiveness, courage, and love. I'd like to thank St. Martin’s Press for providing me with an advanced copy of this novel. All views are my own.
    more
  • Susanne Strong
    January 1, 1970
    5 Sappy Stars! An Unputdownable, Funny, Fabulous and Sweet novel, that will end up on my Best of List for 2018! How do I love Thee? Let me tell you the ways! “Things You Save in a Fire” turned me into a complete mush. Yes, it’s true and I admit it. I know, I know, it’s unbelievable right? Roll your eyes at me, go ahead - it seems utterly preposterous given what you all know of me, but it happened. I’ve been transformed into a schmoopy girl for real. And you have Katherine Center to thank. Cass 5 Sappy Stars! An Unputdownable, Funny, Fabulous and Sweet novel, that will end up on my Best of List for 2018! How do I love Thee? Let me tell you the ways! “Things You Save in a Fire” turned me into a complete mush. Yes, it’s true and I admit it. I know, I know, it’s unbelievable right? Roll your eyes at me, go ahead - it seems utterly preposterous given what you all know of me, but it happened. I’ve been transformed into a schmoopy girl for real. And you have Katherine Center to thank. Cassie Hanwell is a Firefighter. She isn’t exactly great with people but she’s awesome at her job. Austin has been her home for years now and she loves it there. When her mom, who is in bad health, calls her requesting that she go back home to Massachusetts, Cassie feels that she has no choice. She plans to give it a year. Fight fires, and do what it takes to care for the mom who abandoned her when she was Sixteen, that’s it. What she didn’t plan for is meeting the Rookie. You know what they say about plans don’t you?What made “Things You Save in a Fire” so great you ask? Well, it’s completely and totally HILARIOUS. I started reading this in public and broke into hysterical laughter within the first few pages. People at Starbucks stopped conversations to stare at me. It happened again just a few minutes later and I actually had to put my head down because I was laughing so hard my body was shaking (it was then that I knew, that reading this novel in public might not be the best idea). In addition, every moment of this novel felt like real life. I was completely and totally immersed because I identified with so much of what Cassie was going through. For as many times as I laughed hysterically, there were just as many where I ached for Cassie. Her pain tore through me and my chest caught. My stomach felt as though it was filled with needles and then, well, the crying commenced. And then of course, there’s the Rookie. Sigh. Yeah, that guy was the real deal. Schmoop City! Cassie however, doesn’t do relationships. In fact, she thinks their dumb! The fact is, Cassie certainly doesn’t let people in and she never lets people hug her yet for some reason she can’t get the Rookie out of her mind. Funny how that works. In the end, “Things You Save in a Fire” swept me off of my feet. It has great, believable characters, heartfelt, realistic writing and fantastic storytelling. This book is simply unputdownable. It is endearing, funny, fabulous and sweet. This was a buddy read with Kaceey! We absolutely LOVED this book. To say we loved it doesn’t even begin to describe our feelings. Laughter, tears, and lots of smiles ensued while reading this. So glad I got to read this one with you Kace!A huge thank you to Jordan at St. Martin’s Press for recommending and passing along this book! It will definitely appear on my Goodreads Best of list for 2018. Thank you also to Katherine Center for this fabulous read. I can’t wait to read How to Walk Away, which we have coming up soon.Published on Goodreads 12.13.18.Except to be Published on Instagram.Will be published on Twitter and Amazon on release date.
    more
  • Meredith
    January 1, 1970
    3.75 starsSuper sweet love story that made this cynic both cringe and smile! Things You Save in a Fire is about a woman who must learn to forgive in order to love. Cassie, a 26-year-old firefighter in Austin Texas, has faced a lot of adversity in her life. On her 16th birthday, her mother left her father and Cassie for another man, which led to further tragedy. Furthermore, being a woman in a male-dominated profession, she has had to fight her way to acceptance. So when her estranged mother as 3.75 starsSuper sweet love story that made this cynic both cringe and smile! Things You Save in a Fire is about a woman who must learn to forgive in order to love. Cassie, a 26-year-old firefighter in Austin Texas, has faced a lot of adversity in her life. On her 16th birthday, her mother left her father and Cassie for another man, which led to further tragedy. Furthermore, being a woman in a male-dominated profession, she has had to fight her way to acceptance. So when her estranged mother asks Cassie to come care for her outside of Boston while she adjusts to going blind, it should be an easy transition for Cassie. But when she arrives in Lillian at her new firehouse, she faces challenges she never thought she would experience--including learning to forgive and accept love.Things You Save in a Fire was exactly what I needed! It’s light and happy but also has some depth. There’s a lot to love: I especially loved Cassie’s character. It was refreshing to have a strong, independent female protagonist not fall for losers. I admired how she didn’t back down from challenges and loved seeing her best the guys at the firehouse. I also loved her relationship with her mother. Cassie’s relationship with the rookie was sweet, I just wish it hadn’t been so rushed towards the end. Onto my cynical side: There were times, especially when Cassie made grand declarations of love when I was groaning aloud and had to cover my eyes (which makes it hard to read!). The proposal scene was especially hard to take. I know, I know. I am just that person! Everything just came together too quickly and too neatly. At the same time, these were some very sweet and endearing moments that felt authentic. As for some of the others, my brain just has trouble processing them as reality. Overall this is an easy and enjoyable read, even for those who are cynics at heart! I received an ARC of this book from NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Debra
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 StarsCassie Hanwell is one strong cookie! She must be - she is the only female firefighter at her station. To prove herself, she must be better, faster, and harder working than her male counterparts. She works in a male dominated field...how male dominated? I did some research and found that "There are 1.16 million firefighters in the United States, but only 7 percent are women according to the National Fire Protection Association." That's a big gap and Cassie feels it in this book! Cassie i 4.5 StarsCassie Hanwell is one strong cookie! She must be - she is the only female firefighter at her station. To prove herself, she must be better, faster, and harder working than her male counterparts. She works in a male dominated field...how male dominated? I did some research and found that "There are 1.16 million firefighters in the United States, but only 7 percent are women according to the National Fire Protection Association." That's a big gap and Cassie feels it in this book! Cassie is a complete professional when dealing with emergencies, high stress situations and tragedies on the job. In her personal life - not so much. You see, Cassie doesn't have a personal life. She doesn't date, she doesn't hang out, she doesn't really have friends, she's not looking for a boyfriend, she fills her life with work and responsibility.She is torn when she receives a call from her estranged and ailing Mother. A mother who left when Cassie was a teenager, a Mother she has spent years being angry with. A Mother she blamed. But when an incident occurs at an awards ceremony, Cassie decides to transfer to a new firehouse outside of Boston so that she can work while helping her Mother.Once again, she is one of the newest members at a fire-station that isn’t too happy to have a female there. She is subjected to hazing and must prove herself and her abilities as a firefighter. She knew it would be hard staring over, she was mentally prepared for that. What she wasn't prepared for was the feelings she began to experience when she met the Rookie, Owen Callahan. Her old chief gave her strict instructions: Never date a firefighter It doesn't help that the two newbies get paired up for everything. She can't escape him or her feelings.She also can't escape her feelings about being around her Mother. Forgiveness is a theme in this book. Forging others. Forging yourself. That being vulnerable does not make you weak and that giving someone a second chance can turn everything around.I loved how this book was about relationships in various forms - friendships, relationships with co-workers, relationships between a parent and their child, romantic relationships, etc. I also loved the theme of forgiveness and the path the characters choose to go on in terms of forgiveness. I also loved how Cassie was a strong female character who changed and grew over the course of this book. She had flaws, she had pain, she had sadness and anger, she also had courage, heart, and determination. She felt real/believable. What she was feeling and how she re-acted to situations made sense. I enjoy romances and this was so much more than that. It contained great likable (and some not so likable) characters, a great theme, and the growth of the characters. This was a captivating and engaging book. It is beautifully written and grabbed my attention right away. I rooted for several of the characters and loved every single page. Plus, it did not feel rushed at all and it had an epilogue! YES! Plus, there is a little nod to the accident from How to Walk Away which I thought was a nice touch.Thank you to St. Martin's Press and NetGalley who provided me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All the thoughts and opinions are my own.
    more
  • Kaceey
    January 1, 1970
    It’s all about forgiveness. Even when you tell yourself you can’t… life might just surprise you!Occasionally, a book can reach deeply, touching you profoundly. The best part is you never see it coming!This book had me smiling, crying then smiling once again through my tears. Cassie is a tough-as-nails firefighter. She’s got to be. She’s working in a typically male dominated field, and they never let her forget it.But hands down, Cassie is the best at what she does. So driven in fact, her private It’s all about forgiveness. Even when you tell yourself you can’t… life might just surprise you!Occasionally, a book can reach deeply, touching you profoundly. The best part is you never see it coming!This book had me smiling, crying then smiling once again through my tears. Cassie is a tough-as-nails firefighter. She’s got to be. She’s working in a typically male dominated field, and they never let her forget it.But hands down, Cassie is the best at what she does. So driven in fact, her private life takes a major backseat. Actually, it’s nonexistent. She does not date! She does not do romance!Cassie left her life behind in Austin to look after her mother in Massachusetts. That means she must once again prove her mettle to both her new station, and herself. Maybe it’s time for new beginnings… professionally and personally.Cassie must learn some most valuable lessons if she hopes to move forward. More specifically, how to incorporate a sense of forgiveness into her no-nonsense life. To rise above and forgive others along the way…and perhaps in return, the chance to forgive and heal herself. Maybe I just learned a little bit about forgiveness too.Katherine Center has written a true-to-life, heartwarming story that will touch every reader fortunate enough to pick this gem up. From the most hardened of hearts to the hopelessly mushy reader. There are so many wonderful soul-searching moments within this read that there will be more than a few that stand out and speak to you. This was my first read from this author and can’t wait to back-track and get my hands on her previous book. It was written from the heart... to the heart.If there is one book I would recommend above all others this year...it would be this one! Do not miss out! It is a must read!This was an incredible buddy-read with Susanne that has us still talking about it!Thank you to Jordan Hanley at St Martin’s Press for an ARC to read and review.
    more
  • Larry H
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars, rounded up.Add Katherine Center to the list of authors I've discovered this year whose work has utterly wowed me. Between her newest book and How to Walk Away , which I read earlier this year (see my review), I've become a big fan while becoming emotionally unglued. Because that's how I roll, y'all!Cassie has always been tough as nails. As one of very few female firefighters at her Austin firehouse, she knows that she has to do everything better, be stronger, faster, and tougher, and 4.5 stars, rounded up.Add Katherine Center to the list of authors I've discovered this year whose work has utterly wowed me. Between her newest book and How to Walk Away , which I read earlier this year (see my review), I've become a big fan while becoming emotionally unglued. Because that's how I roll, y'all!Cassie has always been tough as nails. As one of very few female firefighters at her Austin firehouse, she knows that she has to do everything better, be stronger, faster, and tougher, and never show one ounce of emotion. It's something she's been comfortable with since her mother abandoned her and her father on Cassie's 16th birthday. Cassie has never really let anyone get too close to her, because vulnerability means weakness in her book.But on a night that should be one of her proudest achievements, Cassie's carefully constructed façade cracks, and the results are shocking, to say the least, to those who know her best. She creates quite a mess for herself—so much so that when her estranged mother calls and asks her to move to Boston for a year to help her through some serious health issues, Cassie ignores her gut instincts and agrees. But she makes it perfectly clear that she's not there to reminisce or be friends with her mother, she's only there to help."I reminded myself again that she was only Diana. Of course, our parents get an extra dose of importance in our minds. When we're little, they're everything—the gods and goddesses that rule our worlds. It takes a lot of growing up, and a lot of disappointment, to accept that they're just normal, bumbling, mistaken humans, like everybody else."Cassie takes a job in the small town of Lillian, a town which has never had a female firefighter and isn't interested in one. In fact, the captain thinks female firefighters may very well lead to the decline of Western civilization. So once again, she's bound and determined to do everything better than any of the men on the squad, and not allow them to treat her like a girl. She ignores the hazing, the teasing, and those who want to see her fail, and she outdoes them at every turn.The one thing she can't seem to ignore, however, is the rookie—Owen Callaghan, son of a retired firefighter, who joined the squad in Lillian the same day Cassie did. Sure he's good-looking, fit, and can cook like nobody's business, but Cassie knows she is a better firefighter and EMT than he is. But why does her stomach flip every time she seems him? It's not like she hasn't worked around gorgeous men before, but for some reason, she can't get him out of her mind, and it doesn't help that they get paired up for everything.Cassie came to Lillian to work, not to date, and besides, dating a fellow firefighter is career suicide. That's the one main thing her captain in Austin told her before Cassie left—never date firefighters. So no matter what, she's just going to ignore the rookie and treat him like one of the guys. Because in Cassie's eyes, love equals vulnerability, which equals failure.If you've spent your entire life guarding yourself from any sign of weakness, keeping everyone at arm's length, can you be truly happy? Which is harder, forgiving someone for hurting you or forgiving yourself? How do you decide whether it's worth risking everything you've built your life around to pursue something that might not work out, and might hurt you? Things You Save in a Fire is one of those books where you can probably guess most (if not all) of what will happen, but it doesn't matter one iota, because you're totally hooked. Once again, Center creates vulnerable, likable, relatable characters and makes you care about them, makes you root for them, makes you angry when roadblocks occur, and makes you fearful that something bad will befall these characters you've come to know.This is a book about how the walls we build to protect ourselves often keep more people out than we realize, and before we know it, we're safe but alone. This is a book about realizing that being a little vulnerable doesn't mean you're still not tough or brave, and it's also a book about when you know it's right to sacrifice what you want for those you care about. Like any story where matters of the heart, family issues, and relationships are dealt with, Things You Save in a Fire is moving at times, a little poignant, and you might find something is in your eye once or twice. But this is one of those books that wins you over from the very first page, and doesn't let up, so it's worth a few tears (at least).NetGalley and St. Martin's Press provided me an advance copy of the book in exchange for an unbiased review. Thanks for making this available! See all of my reviews at itseithersadnessoreuphoria.blogspot.com.
    more
  • Theresa Alan
    January 1, 1970
    Wow! I loved this book! (Women's fiction with romantic elements.)The protagonist, Cassie, is a firefighter in Austin, TX, at a progressive, modern station. She’s honored for her valor, but at the event, she gets herself into some trouble. When the mother she’s estranged from asks her to come to a small town outside of Boston to help her because she’s ill, Cassie wants no part of it. But between getting in trouble and her beloved father’s urging, she agrees to transfer to an old-school firehouse Wow! I loved this book! (Women's fiction with romantic elements.)The protagonist, Cassie, is a firefighter in Austin, TX, at a progressive, modern station. She’s honored for her valor, but at the event, she gets herself into some trouble. When the mother she’s estranged from asks her to come to a small town outside of Boston to help her because she’s ill, Cassie wants no part of it. But between getting in trouble and her beloved father’s urging, she agrees to transfer to an old-school firehouse and help her mom out.Cassie is the first “lady” firefighter at the house, and the chief and the others don’t hide the fact the fact that they don’t believe women should be in the profession. All except a rookie firefighter who starts the same day she does.She has to be the best at everything to prove to her male colleagues she knows what she’s doing. She won’t let her attraction to the rookie derail her.I liked the romantic elements because there is a very legitimate reason she can’t fall for Owen. Her career would be over. Firefighters aren’t supposed to date other firefighters. A man might get away with it, but not a female. (Although here in Colorado I know a few male/female married firefighters, so that might just be a thing in certain parts of the country.)Initially I found Cassie a little hard to like. I’ve never read a book with such an angry protagonist. But the last half of the book was definitely a multi-tissue, ruin-my-makeup-cryfest.Read this book!Thanks to NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press for the opportunity to review this novel, which RELEASES AUGUST 13, 2019. (Which is a long time to wait, I realize, but you’ll want to put it on your to-read list and check out her other books.)For more reviews, please visit http://www.theresaalan.net/blog
    more
  • Holly B
    January 1, 1970
    This was such a charming, humorous, and touching story. I didn't want it to end! I found this author's writing style to be perfectly balanced in introducing the characters and making me instantly care about them. I wanted to learn more about what made them "who they are" and react the way they did. This author has such a  "easy, breezy style"  that made this book so easy to fall in love with.Cassie is a female fire-firefighter working in an all male fire station, so you can probably imagine so This was such a charming, humorous, and touching story. I didn't want it to end! I found this author's writing style to be perfectly balanced in introducing the characters and making me instantly care about them. I wanted to learn more about what made them "who they are" and react the way they did. This author has such a  "easy, breezy style"  that made this book so easy to fall in love with.Cassie is a female fire-firefighter working in an all male fire station, so you can probably imagine some of the sticky situations that developed.  The romance offered just the right amounts of sweetness, stubbornness, and laugh-out loud humor. The mystery element was also such a plus for my own love of any type of a search for who-dunnit and it added some good suspense.This one absolutely  sparkled  with themes of hope, love, forgiveness, healing and a overpowering message to live life to its fullest.Can you tell that I absolutely fell for this one? Highly recommend!Thanks to the publisher for my review copy. Book will be out in August 2019. Blog review closer to publication date.
    more
  • Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader
    January 1, 1970
    This one won’t be out until summer, so my review will come closer to pub date, but until then, every single star to this emotional, but uplifting story. Katherine Center has her own style...one I love...Easy to read, fun, engaging, lovable characters...It has it all. If you enjoy domestic fiction, don’t miss this one! 5 bold and fiery stars! 🔥 🔥 🔥 🔥 🔥
    more
  • Selena
    January 1, 1970
    Absolutely beautiful book of love, strength, courage and pain. I received a free e-copy of Things You Save In a Fire by Katherine Center from NetGalley for my honest review.Cassie Hanwell, is one of the toughest firefighters there is. She has saved many lives and has the highest medal the department has to give. Cassie decides to transfer across the country due to a request by her estranged and sick, mother. She transfers from a city that adores her and co-workers that love her to a city where w Absolutely beautiful book of love, strength, courage and pain. I received a free e-copy of Things You Save In a Fire by Katherine Center from NetGalley for my honest review.Cassie Hanwell, is one of the toughest firefighters there is. She has saved many lives and has the highest medal the department has to give. Cassie decides to transfer across the country due to a request by her estranged and sick, mother. She transfers from a city that adores her and co-workers that love her to a city where women don't fight fires and men are closed minded to the idea of a woman being in their line of work. This book had me laughing and crying but hooked me from the very start.
    more
  • Jenny
    January 1, 1970
    The dictionary defines forgiveness as the "action or process of forgiving or being forgiven." Wikipedia elaborates a little more and says "forgiveness is the intentional and voluntary process by which a victim undergoes a change in feelings and attitude regarding an offense, lets go of negative emotions such as vengefulness, forswears recompense from or punishment of the offender, however legally or morally justified it might be, and with an increased ability to wish the offender well." So no ma The dictionary defines forgiveness as the "action or process of forgiving or being forgiven." Wikipedia elaborates a little more and says "forgiveness is the intentional and voluntary process by which a victim undergoes a change in feelings and attitude regarding an offense, lets go of negative emotions such as vengefulness, forswears recompense from or punishment of the offender, however legally or morally justified it might be, and with an increased ability to wish the offender well." So no matter how narrow or wide the definition is, forgiveness is one of the hardest things to do. Even with all of the spiritual, psychological and physical benefits of forgiveness, people struggle to forgive others and an even harder time, forgiving themselves?Cassie Hanwell is as strong, tough and smart as they come. She is a firefighter and EMT in Austin, Texas. She has willingly risked her life on multiple occasions to save the lives of complete strangers. She is the ultimate team player and is one that can be counted on when lives are on the line. She is respected by her supervisor and peers. She sounds like she has it all but with all of her attributes, Cassie is also stubborn and does not have any close relationships or friendships in her life. Why would someone with so much going for her cut herself off from friends and family? What events from her past have made her go home to her apartment alone every evening?Cassie receives a call one day that will change her life in ways that she can't imagine. It will force her to face the past and realize that forgiveness of the past, others and ultimately herself will be her only hope for salvation and future happiness,Katherine Center's novel, Things You Save in a Fire, might be the heartfelt, poignant story of firefighter, Cassie Hanwell and her life path, but so much of what she goes through and her struggles are relatable and believable. Each and every one of us has at some point had a hard time letting go of the past, forgiving others and ultimately realizing what it really important in life to save.I received an advance copy of this book from Netgalley. #NetGalley #ThingsYouSaveinaFire
    more
  • Mackenzie - PhDiva Books
    January 1, 1970
    I can’t think of a better book on my TBR to kick off my first review of 2019 than Things You Save in a Fire by the incredibly talented and insightful Katherine Center. Katherine really has a way with writing a novel that healed my soul and gave me so much introspection, reflection, and opened me up to areas I can grow in. And it is one incredible story!!!I’ll be sharing my full review closer to publication this summer, but I want to share a few early thoughts to start spreading the word about th I can’t think of a better book on my TBR to kick off my first review of 2019 than Things You Save in a Fire by the incredibly talented and insightful Katherine Center. Katherine really has a way with writing a novel that healed my soul and gave me so much introspection, reflection, and opened me up to areas I can grow in. And it is one incredible story!!!I’ll be sharing my full review closer to publication this summer, but I want to share a few early thoughts to start spreading the word about this must-read for 2019!I really connected with theme of forgiveness in this book. Cassie is estranged from her mother, when an unfortunate work event and her mother’s loss of vision in one eye lead her to move from Texas to Northeast where she’s the first female firefighter in a small fire station outside of Boston. Cassie not only needs to learn to forgive her mother, she needs to learn to forgive herself. The lessons in this book really made me think a lot about my life and the story and others. I found it wonderfully insightful to see how devastating life events sometimes are exactly what we need to rise up and heal, to learn to forgive, and to find our way. This beautiful story is not to be missed, and I can’t wait to share my full review in a few months!
    more
  • Nadia
    January 1, 1970
    You can call me sentimental, but Things You Save in a Fire is getting 5 stars from me!There's nothing particulatly groundbreaking about this little charming book but you'll still fall in love with it without knowing how it happened!! I picked this up only last night and couldn't put it down until I was finished.Cassie Hanwell loves being a firefighter and she is also very good at it. A rising star at her home station in Austin, she has a great career in front of her. When Cassie's estranged moth You can call me sentimental, but Things You Save in a Fire is getting 5 stars from me!There's nothing particulatly groundbreaking about this little charming book but you'll still fall in love with it without knowing how it happened!! I picked this up only last night and couldn't put it down until I was finished.Cassie Hanwell loves being a firefighter and she is also very good at it. A rising star at her home station in Austin, she has a great career in front of her. When Cassie's estranged mother becomes ill, she asks Cassie to come to live with her in Boston and look after her. Cassie cannot forgive her mother for walking away on her when she was only 16 and is reluctant to help her. In the end Cassie is forced to relocate and joins an old-fashioned fire station in Boston where they know female firefighters only from TV. Cassie might have to work twice as hard as the men to prove herself...I've been always fascinated with firefighters and once upon a time, when I was little, I even wanted to be one! I loved the first half of the book as I enjoyed reading about the profession, the work regime and the heroic acts. When the book suddenly took on a bit of a romantic turn in the second half, I wasn't sure what to make of it at first, but luckily it all worked out. I bought the whole story and immensely enjoyed it!Thank you to the publisher and NetGalley for my review copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Berit☀️✨
    January 1, 1970
    HOT DAMN! This book is on FIRE!!!🔥Loved this engaging story from first word to last! The characters were wonderful, The romance was sweet, the friendships were strong, and I loved the firehouse setting! Cannot think of a better way to have kicked off my 2019 reads! 🔥 Full fiery review closer to pub day August 2019 👩🏻🚒❤👨🏻🚒❤ HOT DAMN! This book is on FIRE!!!🔥Loved this engaging story from first word to last! The characters were wonderful, The romance was sweet, the friendships were strong, and I loved the firehouse setting! Cannot think of a better way to have kicked off my 2019 reads! 🔥 Full fiery review closer to pub day August 2019 👩🏻‍🚒❤️👨🏻‍🚒❤️
    more
  • Christine
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 rounded to 5 starsAre you in need of a fabulous reading boost? Perhaps you are looking to recover from a heavy-duty tome or trying your darnedest to break out of a reading slump. Or maybe you just in the mood for a nice feel good novel. If any of these scenarios apply to you, then this is the book you want to grab.Things You Save in a Fire is about Cassie Hanwell, a young woman firefighter trying to break through some pretty steep emotional barriers she has tried to bury ever since a very tr 4.5 rounded to 5 starsAre you in need of a fabulous reading boost? Perhaps you are looking to recover from a heavy-duty tome or trying your darnedest to break out of a reading slump. Or maybe you just in the mood for a nice feel good novel. If any of these scenarios apply to you, then this is the book you want to grab.Things You Save in a Fire is about Cassie Hanwell, a young woman firefighter trying to break through some pretty steep emotional barriers she has tried to bury ever since a very traumatic 16th birthday ten years previous. Her issues are complex and seem almost impossible to overcome. On top of that, for circumstances basically out of her control, she is forced to leave her firefighter job in Austin, TX, the only thing she loves and can identify with, and move out East.This book pulled me in from the start when I developed an instant connection with Cassie. Though the prose is simple, the story is highly engaging, making it difficult to put the book down for any length of time.Cassie finds herself in an array of challenging situations, which slowly but surely add up and point her towards redemption, forgiveness, and a better way of living.This novel is a notch above many of the women's fiction stories that I have read. Cassie’s journey to find herself is enriched by an interesting cast of characters, a sweet romance, and several life lessons--the most important probably being that there is no totally happily ever after for anyone in life, making it imperative to appreciate and savor all the good things that do happen. The power of forgiveness is also a strong theme. Simple principles all, but told in beautifully emotive fashion.I now see the reasons for all the 5-star ratings my friends have been awarding this book. I highly recommend Things You Save in a Fire to all readers looking for a fast, but meaningful read.
    more
  • Kelly (and the Book Boar)
    January 1, 1970
    Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/After How To Walk Away there was zero chance I wasn’t going to do whatever was necessary in order to get my hands on Katherine Center’s next release. Lucky for me the powers that be at St. Martins haven’t figured out I’m awful yet and gave me an early copy.The story here is of Cassie. Her momma walked out on the family when she was just a kid, but she coped by never letting anyone get too close and becoming a real up-and-comer in the f Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/After How To Walk Away there was zero chance I wasn’t going to do whatever was necessary in order to get my hands on Katherine Center’s next release. Lucky for me the powers that be at St. Martins haven’t figured out I’m awful yet and gave me an early copy.The story here is of Cassie. Her momma walked out on the family when she was just a kid, but she coped by never letting anyone get too close and becoming a real up-and-comer in the fire department of a town known for . . . . No, the other one. Austin. While receiving an award for being such a kickass kind of gal, an . . . . unfortunate incident occurs . . . . Leaving Cassie the options of (1) publicly apologize for her behavior or (2) risk termination. Due to reasons (no spoilsies, but the book explains things and you’ll instantly know what’s up even without being told) she chooses the latter. A coinky-dink of long-gone momma coming back into Cassie’s life asking for some temporary help and an available job opportunity in the same neck of the woods has Cassie relocating to Boston . . . . To an old-school firehouse with both antiquated equipment as well as mindset . . . . Can Cassie’s ability and work ethic turn things around? Maybe . . . . iffffffffffff she can avoid “the Rookie” . . . . Ha! Just kidding. He’s actually described as a floppy-haired boy-next-door and since he’s from Boston he probably looks like Matt Damon, but y’all know how I feel about Matt Damon . . . . (view spoiler)[ (hide spoiler)](Not to mention who wouldn’t take the opportunity to post a Big Dick Richie image when given the chance?)Okay, so here’s a disclaimer I feel I need to make. I totally gave a book 1 Star like a week ago for having this same subplot and I’m 4 Starring this one. What can I say? I do what I do. I think these quotes in the author’s little bio blurb say it best. Katherine Center writes “bittersweet comic novels” that are “satisfying in the most soul-nourishing way.” She also does good cover with similar art work and bright colors that even my Old Lady Brain can’t help but say: “hey, I know this lady – you like her stuff.” It’s safe to say she’s officially a must read writer for me.ARC provided by St. Martin’s Press in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Kendall
    January 1, 1970
    An unputdownable, emotional, beautiful, and sweet novel that will leave your heart full for days!!! Things You Save in a Fire is a truly remarkable read that has left a special place in my heart and my book shelf <3 <3. Katherine Center hit this one out of the park my friends! She sure knows how to write an engaging novel that will leave you truly sad that it has ended. What I loved most about this book? The power of forgiveness. Have you ever gone through something in your life that has l An unputdownable, emotional, beautiful, and sweet novel that will leave your heart full for days!!! Things You Save in a Fire is a truly remarkable read that has left a special place in my heart and my book shelf <3 <3. Katherine Center hit this one out of the park my friends! She sure knows how to write an engaging novel that will leave you truly sad that it has ended. What I loved most about this book? The power of forgiveness. Have you ever gone through something in your life that has left you scared, pained, and intimidated to move forward? I think we all have. I have experienced this and looking back I realized how I wasn't able to move forward due to the pain and fear. This book explores the importance of the power of forgiving not only yourself but also people in your life that may have caused you hurt or pain. I loved Katherine Center's touch on forgiveness and love in this book and how truly impactful it can be in moving forward with your life.This book felt so real and raw. Every moment of Cassie's life I was completely and totally immersed. Moments I was laughing with her, smiling for her, and aching in pain for her. And can I just say.... the romance?! Not over the top with Rookie but ever so perfect with a hint of a kiss ;).Things You Save in a Fire is a truly remarkable read with characters that will sweep you off your feet, heartfelt writing, and in all a beautiful story that folds across these pages with ease. Highly recommend!!! 4.5 fire stars!!! Huge thank you to St. Martin's Press and Netgalley for the arc in exchange for my honest review.Publication date: 8/13/19Published to GR: 1/1/19
    more
  • Erin Clemence
    January 1, 1970
    Special thanks to Jordan and St. Martin’s Press for sending an ARC of this novel my way! Katherine Center has a way of writing fiction that settles deep in your soul, riles up your emotions, and brings on bittersweet conclusions, while making sappy and sweet also believable and honest. It is something that not a lot of authors can do, and boy does she do it well. Cassie Hanwell is one of the only female firefighters in Austin, Texas. Brave and tough, Cassie has proven herself over and over ag Special thanks to Jordan and St. Martin’s Press for sending an ARC of this novel my way! Katherine Center has a way of writing fiction that settles deep in your soul, riles up your emotions, and brings on bittersweet conclusions, while making sappy and sweet also believable and honest. It is something that not a lot of authors can do, and boy does she do it well. Cassie Hanwell is one of the only female firefighters in Austin, Texas. Brave and tough, Cassie has proven herself over and over again, and has even won accolades and awards for her valour. However, when her long-estranged mother calls her and begs for help, Cassie finds herself leaving all she loves behind and traveling to Massachusetts, to join the ranks of a very sexist and patriarchal fire department. While she tries to prove herself among a new crew, Cassie finds herself having unexpected feelings for the other new recruit, an action that is very frowned upon in her line of work, and when she starts getting harassed and threatened daily, she begins to wonder if the journey was worth it and how she will survive it. “Things You Save in a Fire” by Katherine Centre is not the sequel to “How to Walk Away” but (as mentioned to me by Jordan from St. Martin’s Press) the two stories do have a blink-and-you’ll-miss-it connection. Without spoilers, it’s hard to even give any hints, but I will say that the connection is delightful and had me emit an audible “yay!” when I came across it. Cassie is everything you’d expect from a tough woman in a man’s world. Faced with challenges that are unknown to her male colleagues, Cassie surpasses them every time. She is relatable and honest and I cheered for her from the onset. There are some powerful plot points in this novel and the story kept me engaged from page one. Although I found “Fire” to be a little more on the romantic side than “Walk” was, it still has all of the twists and turns and creativity that Center is recognized for (at least by me!) “Fire” is an appropriate name for this novel, as it will instantly engulf you, and keep you dramatically enthralled in its pages until the very end. A realistic and bittersweet ending, “Fire” will leave you satisfied and content, with all characters (and I mean ALL) receiving their just-desserts. “Things You Save in a Fire” is heart-wrenching, charming and creative all at once, and will resonate with any female reader, especially those in a male-dominated profession. Although Center’s novel has a socially progressive message, she manages to do this without being preachy, which I admire and respect, as it allowed me to enjoy her novel even more. Please keep them coming, Ms. Center, you have a new life-long fan.
    more
  • Michelle
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to St. Martin's Press and Netgalley for the opportunity to read this book and provide an honest review!4.5 Stars rounded up!!I was THRILLED when my request was approved for this book. At the time, I had not yet read, How to Walk Away, so I made it my mission to read that first. After having read it (loved it), I really looked forward to seeing if Ms. Center could repeat the success of the previous book. Being the Christmas season, it took me a little longer to get to this than I would Thank you to St. Martin's Press and Netgalley for the opportunity to read this book and provide an honest review!4.5 Stars rounded up!!I was THRILLED when my request was approved for this book. At the time, I had not yet read, How to Walk Away, so I made it my mission to read that first. After having read it (loved it), I really looked forward to seeing if Ms. Center could repeat the success of the previous book. Being the Christmas season, it took me a little longer to get to this than I would have wanted, but I am so glad I was forced to wait. I have NO IDEA how I'm going to make it until her next book. Katherine Center has cemented herself as a go-to author for sure and I definitely plan on adding this to my bookcase full of 5 star books!I think what I admire so much about Center's work is that she writes feel good stories (and I'm sure some could say they have predictable plot points), but you are still glued to it from cover to cover. Her female characters are vulnerable, but fiercely capable and while things unfold you absolutely root for them to succeed. I like how there are flaws (we all have them), but there is plenty of growth in her characters to become better human beings. I also appreciate how well researched each book is. I come away with learning a lot and know that she put thought into every last detail. I think Things You Save in a Fire, was slightly better. I really liked how even though you could kind of guess the defining moment in the main character's life when she was sixteen, you wanted so desperately for her to share her story and learn to get past it. I also really liked how the romance wasn't the center of the book and it wasn't at all cheesy. It's totally believable and something you root for. I cannot recommend this author enough. Her novels are perfect for any type of mood you may be in. Some people may have issues with the ending, but I think if you take it for what it is - you can't help but love it. Author's note - posting this on GR only, will post to other social media 2 weeks before release date.
    more
  • Erin
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to Netgalley and St Martin's Press for an egalley in exchange for an honest review Although this book will not be published until later this year, I just couldn't wait any longer and decided that Sunday afternoon was the perfect time. I really enjoyed the main protagonist, Cassie, as she navigated the politics of being the lone female firefighter in her district and learning to forgive her estranged ailing mother. Of course, there is also the added storyline of Cassie being able to ope Thanks to Netgalley and St Martin's Press for an egalley in exchange for an honest review Although this book will not be published until later this year, I just couldn't wait any longer and decided that Sunday afternoon was the perfect time. I really enjoyed the main protagonist, Cassie, as she navigated the politics of being the lone female firefighter in her district and learning to forgive her estranged ailing mother. Of course, there is also the added storyline of Cassie being able to open her heart to someone after being hurt so many years before. Maybe other readers will find it just too Hallmark Hall of Fame convenient as the story progresses, but this was the type of read that quenched my literary thirst. What keeps me from putting this to a 5 is that there is an element of the storyline( which I don't want to reveal) that I secretly wished could have been handled much better.All in all, if you enjoyed How to Walk Away, then you're certainly in for a real treat!Publication Date 13/08/19Goodreads Review posted 18/02/19
    more
  • Holly
    January 1, 1970
    I absolutely loved How to Walk Away so I was very excited to see that Katherine Center has a new book. Fans of Center will not be disappointed.Cassie is a firefighter and is faced with having to relocate from Texas to Massachusetts to help her mother with her medical problems. She quickly discovers that her new department is not nearly as progressive and female-friendly as Austin’s, which even had a female chief. Cassie finds that she has to prove herself again and again to be accepted as “one o I absolutely loved How to Walk Away so I was very excited to see that Katherine Center has a new book. Fans of Center will not be disappointed.Cassie is a firefighter and is faced with having to relocate from Texas to Massachusetts to help her mother with her medical problems. She quickly discovers that her new department is not nearly as progressive and female-friendly as Austin’s, which even had a female chief. Cassie finds that she has to prove herself again and again to be accepted as “one of the guys.”Cassie lives a very predictable and regimented life. She likes it like that. She needs to to be in control of her life at all times after two unpredictable and tragic events traumatized her on her 16th birthdayBecause of these traumatic experiences, Cassie has successfully insulated herself from getting close to others, but now she finds herself craving companionship and love. You see, Cassie has a big crush on the rookie firefighter at her new department but she knows that if anything were to happen between them, she would lose her job and career. But sometimes, as hard as one may try, you can’t stop love.Center has a talent for creating characters with such depth, that you truly feel like you know them. Cassie is believable, relatable, genuine, and admirable. At the same time, she faces major psychological struggles that you or I might have encountered as well — emotionally blocked and isolated, estranged mother, doesn’t believe in love, etc.Things You Save in a Fire is about Cassie’s journey to psychological maturity and confronting the issues holding her back from love and enjoying life. Her biggest obstacle and lesson she needs to learn is forgiveness of others and of herself. I was rooting for Cassie and experienced her transformation. We feel so many different emotions along with Cassie, such as joy, anger, trust, surprise, etc. I was particularly moved when she experiences empathy and compassion for her mother.For the first time, I understood. In all the times I’d remembered that story, I’d experienced every single part of it from my own perspective, standing in my own sixteen-year-old shoes. Now, for the first time, I saw it unfold from a new angle. Hers. And it changed the story.This book has all the elements — drama, love, suspense, heroism, a little humor, and secrets! It is well written with three-dimensional characters. We get to know the inner struggles of these characters and the motivations for their behavior. The first line of the novel grabbed me and it never let me go.The night I became the youngest person—and the only female ever—to win the Austin Fire Department’s Valor Award, I got propositioned by my partner.I really enjoy Katherine Center’s writing (see examples below) and am looking forward to reading her earlier books while I wait for her next one....two ladies pulled out dress after dress, holding them up in front of me, then tossing them in rejection piles on the bed. Too purple, they’d decide. Or: Too bright. Too dark. Too flashy. Too plain. Too stiff. Too floppy. Too many pleats. Too teenagery. Too old-lady. Too much cleavage. Not enough cleavage. And on and on.Down in Texas, everybody had been robust and tan. Here, they looked like ashtrays.Thank you to St. Martin’s Press and NetGalley for an advanced reader copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Ginger
    January 1, 1970
    ARC provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review via NetGalley. This book was excellent and I’m not a fan of women’s literature! In fact, the more mushy it gets, the more I tend to stay away.Things You Save In a Fire is not this type of book. It's smart, courageous and causes you to think about your own emotions, especially old hurts and scars.The book starts off with Cassie Hanwell being a firefighter in Austin, Texas and she’s one of the best.But on a day of celebration of heroi ARC provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review via NetGalley. This book was excellent and I’m not a fan of women’s literature! In fact, the more mushy it gets, the more I tend to stay away.Things You Save In a Fire is not this type of book. It's smart, courageous and causes you to think about your own emotions, especially old hurts and scars.The book starts off with Cassie Hanwell being a firefighter in Austin, Texas and she’s one of the best.But on a day of celebration of heroic acts that she did for the city, she’s faced with a blast from the past. And this past is not a good one!Cassie’s estranged Mom calls her around this same time and asks if she will come live with her in Massachusetts, for a year. She’s blind in one eye, struggling with some medical issues and needs help.Having two things change her life course in matter of days, Cassie heads to Boston to live with her Mom. She's relocated to a firehouse that's an hour away from Boston.The Lillian Fire Department is completely different from the progressive fire house in Austin. They don’t have decent funding for equipment much less know how to work with a “lady” firefighter.I loved Cassie Hanwell! She's a strong, independent woman with tough skin. She's smart and competent. She doesn’t do emotion and especially not love.Enter Owen Callahan, aka The Rookie.I enjoyed the chemistry and the friendship with Cassie and Owen from the beginning. Owen is the type of guy you want to fall in love with. The type of guy you want to marry.He’s easy going, kindhearted along with being a good guy.This is the first book that I’ve read of Katherine Center and it won’t be the last!I loved her writing along with this plot. She nailed the characters and the emotions that it takes to be a firefighter, much less being a woman firefighter.I work in a male dominated profession myself and she wrote it well. Bravo Katherine Center for getting it right!Things You Save In a Fire is an emotional, brave and vulnerable book. It caused me to tear up on occasion because of frustration, love and just having the courage to run into that burning building alone!
    more
  • Jayme
    January 1, 1970
    I don’t normally read Chick Lit or Romance, so I had never read a book by Katherine Center, prior to this one. But, so many of my favorite GR friends and reviewers were raving about this one, and my curiosity made me push the “request button” on NG one evening, and voila! I received an early approval! So, I started this yesterday, and at first, I thought...oh no....I am going to be an outlier on this one? Yikes! I didn’t like our female firefighter, Cassie. I found her to be immature and petulan I don’t normally read Chick Lit or Romance, so I had never read a book by Katherine Center, prior to this one. But, so many of my favorite GR friends and reviewers were raving about this one, and my curiosity made me push the “request button” on NG one evening, and voila! I received an early approval! So, I started this yesterday, and at first, I thought...oh no....I am going to be an outlier on this one? Yikes! I didn’t like our female firefighter, Cassie. I found her to be immature and petulant. Someone I would never want to have coffee or a glass of wine with! Then, I met “The Rookie”. I liked “The Rookie”. Cassie was not good enough for “The Rookie”. The story of this extraordinary female firefighter, who reluctantly moves to the Boston area, to help her ill mother for the year, was mostly being told through “conversations”. Conversations that had the cadence of the characters on a Shonda Rhimes TV show (think Scandal or Grey’s Anatomy) and I wasn’t sure if I liked that...(though I don’t mind that on those TV shows, which are favorites of mine! 🤔) Then, all of a sudden I realized that Cassie’s bravado was a means of self preservation and that I was starting to like her. And, that I was almost done with this book that I had read almost entirely in one sitting!!!And, that I wanted her to have her happy ending, no matter how sappy or neatly tied up with a bow that might look! 💝Maybe, even with “The Rookie”. Isn’t that how a “FEEL GOOD, CHICK LIT, ROMANCE” book is supposed to make you feel? Guess, I won’t be an outlier, after all!! 💕I would like to thank Netgalley, St. Martin’s Press, and Katherine Center for the digital ARC, I received in exchange for a candid review! This will be your perfect beach read this summer...publication date Aug. 13, 2019!
    more
  • Sheyla ✎
    January 1, 1970
    "The best revenge is forgetting." Things You Save in a Fire by Katherine Center is what I call - from beginning to end - a beautifully crafted novel.I love every single thing about this book. It has an amazing heroine, a great storyline, and a fantastic ending. Yes, these are my opinions and I can stand behind them 100%.Why haven't I read any of Katherine Center's books before? How in the world is this possible? Don't worry about it, I'll correct this huge oversight very quickly.Let's get to t "The best revenge is forgetting." Things You Save in a Fire by Katherine Center is what I call - from beginning to end - a beautifully crafted novel.I love every single thing about this book. It has an amazing heroine, a great storyline, and a fantastic ending. Yes, these are my opinions and I can stand behind them 100%.Why haven't I read any of Katherine Center's books before? How in the world is this possible? Don't worry about it, I'll correct this huge oversight very quickly.Let's get to the story.Our heroine, Cassie Hanwell (who's freaking amazing!) is fantastic at her job. She's a firefighter and a paramedic. She has worked hard to be where she's at. She doesn't date and she doesn't fall in love. Love makes you weak and she can't let anyone hurt her again. Her mother abandoned Cassie and her father on her sixteen's birthday. She has never forgiven her mother and she doesn't think she ever will. For Cassie, there's nothing else but her job and her firefighter family.When Things You Save in a Fire begins, Cassie is about to receive the Valor Award for her bravery after saving children trapped in a bus. Her engine family (B-shift from Station Eleven) is with her, supporting her. Then, the absolute worst happens. The next day, her captain is telling her she has 2 choices. The first choice, she either apologizes or she gets fired. The second choice, if there are no charges filed against her, she can be transferred out. Cassie has no choice but to accept her second choice. She will have to leave Austin, the job she loves and her friends and move to Massachusetts with her mother whom she has barely spoken to in ten years and start a new job in a new town where only men are supposed to be firefighters. As a farewell, her captain gives her advise in the form of a list of rules to follow with her new squad. “My best advice to you? Find one person you can count on. Just one.” Cassie knows she's up to the challenge until her first day when she meets the new rookie. “Firefighter Hanwell, are you proposing that we snuggle?” Things You Save in a Fire is so much more than a romance. It's about forgiveness, self-respect, family relationships and believing in doing the right thing above all. The narrative was superb, the characters were fantastic. I fell in love with Cassie. She's my new girl crush. She didn't apologize for knowing she was good at something. She fought for her job and she recognized that loving the right someone can you give strength and not weakness. “The answer wasn’t to never love anyone.It was to love like crazy whenever you could.” Cliffhanger: No5/5 FangsA complimentary copy was provided by St. Martin's Press via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.MrsLeif's Two Fangs About It | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram
    more
  • Mary Jackson _TheMaryReader
    January 1, 1970
    What would you save in a fire? What is the best revenge? How do you forgive the unforgiveable? You must read this book to find out the answer to these questions. My first book by Center but NOT my last I plan to go tomorrow and buy How to Walk Away. Suck you in from the first chapter and never let you go until the very last page. I loved this book!
    more
  • Maureen
    January 1, 1970
    I loved this book! Will publish a review closer to release date.Thanks to Net Galley and the publisher for an advance review copy
  • Mellie Antoinette
    January 1, 1970
    ***#earc thanks to #netgalley for a fair review***Y’all I read this book in one sitting. It was Ah-Mazing! Hanwell as a character is introverted, smart, strong and capable. She’s the girl you want to be friends with cause she’s a solid investment. I loved how this book felt like an extended Galentines day conversation over coffee - Cassie figuring it out as she goes. And let’s not even talk about Rookie. In the words of Wayne - Schving! I don’t know if he’s a McSteamy or a McDreamy but he’s cert ***#earc thanks to #netgalley for a fair review***Y’all I read this book in one sitting. It was Ah-Mazing! Hanwell as a character is introverted, smart, strong and capable. She’s the girl you want to be friends with cause she’s a solid investment. I loved how this book felt like an extended Galentines day conversation over coffee - Cassie figuring it out as she goes. And let’s not even talk about Rookie. In the words of Wayne - Schving! I don’t know if he’s a McSteamy or a McDreamy but he’s certainly a McYummy! As Cassie points out, we’re all waiting for that annoying trait that makes you go hmmmm, but he was a natural shoulder for her lean on. They suited each other. They fit within the plot lines Center built for them. And the secondary characters added a nice well rounded, comfort food feel!You’ve got 30 seconds at most. You can already feel the heat rising, see the soft burning glow in the distance. What would you save in a fire? I might save this book!
    more
  • Dee Montoya
    January 1, 1970
    One Million ~Brave~Stars*****Things You Save In A Fire is truly a transcendental read that will live in my heart and soul forever. Just like any other Katherine Center book, this story is not just about romance, but so much more. It's about bravery, forgiveness, and family. Cassie is a true hero, and she will go down as one of my favorite female characters EVER!!!!Cassie Hanwell is a Firefighter, and there's nothing she enjoys more in life than doing her job. Is not easy for a woman to succeed i One Million ~Brave~Stars*****Things You Save In A Fire is truly a transcendental read that will live in my heart and soul forever. Just like any other Katherine Center book, this story is not just about romance, but so much more. It's about bravery, forgiveness, and family. Cassie is a true hero, and she will go down as one of my favorite female characters EVER!!!!Cassie Hanwell is a Firefighter, and there's nothing she enjoys more in life than doing her job. Is not easy for a woman to succeed in her field, but Cassie has managed to not only succeed but to prove to be one of the best inside the Texas Fire Department. She had a really hard time during her teenage years, and those dark circumstances have made her the tough woman she is today. Cassie doesn't believe, nor has time for love, or any kind of feelings for that matter, all she does is work. One night when she's suppose to get a recognition for her impressive work , it somehow turns into a nightmare that will force her to switch to another Firehouse, at a different city. Ghosts from her painful past will continue to resurface, turning Cassie's world completely upside down. Is not going to be easy for her starting from scratch at a new Fire Station, but Hanwell is always up for a challenge. And when she walks into her new workplace she'll stop at nothing until she proves herself worthy to be there. Turns out she is not the only person starting that day at the Firehouse; Owen Callaghan will be the rookie starting alongside her. The minute these two meet each other sparks fly, but it's against code to be romantic, so they both plan to be nothing but professional. Another reason why Cassie has moved to this new city is to be with her estranged mother, who she hasn't seen in over ten years. Everything in Cassie's life is complicated and difficult but she's about to get one of the biggest lessons of her life, and lucky for us we will walk thorough this journey right beside her. Katherine Center's books are always so inspiring to me. They always make me feel so deeply, and I find myself thinking and talking about her stories non-stop for days, and days after I finished reading. Ever since I first opened one of her novels, she branded me with her beautiful, and meaningful writing style, and I've been doing nothing but picking one book after another, and believe me when I tell you that they are all AMAZING. So if you have not read this author before, don't wait any longer.
    more
  • Stephanie
    January 1, 1970
    Katherine Center has another winner on her hands with Things You Save in a Fire! I loved How to Walk Away, my first time reading the author and just had to read this one when I saw it...I'm thrilled that it didn't disappoint and was even better than the first! Center's main character Cassie is a strong-willed, tough female who is doing what is considered traditionally a man's job--she's a firefighter and one of the best! When her estranged mother's health begins to fail, she has to move from Tex Katherine Center has another winner on her hands with Things You Save in a Fire! I loved How to Walk Away, my first time reading the author and just had to read this one when I saw it...I'm thrilled that it didn't disappoint and was even better than the first! Center's main character Cassie is a strong-willed, tough female who is doing what is considered traditionally a man's job--she's a firefighter and one of the best! When her estranged mother's health begins to fail, she has to move from Texas to Boston to take care of her and when she does, she becomes part of a new fire station where she has to prove herself as its first female firefighter. While this is also a romance, and Center does romance wonderfully, this is strong Women's Fiction that really has depth and substance that is lacking in many Women's Fiction novels. I think Center is a wonderful storyteller and really knows how to write about life's lessons in a touching and poignant way. It's a story about forgiveness, learning how to let go of the past, deal with past emotional traumas, and learning how to love--and I mean loving yourself too. I found it touching, sweet, relatable in several ways (since I'm also estranged from my mother there was a life lesson in the book for me to learn too!), and completely unputdownable! I guarantee once you start this book you'll be like me and read it long into the night to finish it! You'll smile, laugh, cry, and just feel all kinds of feels as you read this heartwarming treasure of a book! I loved Things You Save in a Fire and highly recommend it! It really shows what a phenomenal author Katherine Center is, and I can't wait until her next book. Five plus stars for this poignant, touching, brilliant read! Definitely put it on your TBR asap--it comes out August 13, 2019!**Thank you NetGalley and St. Martin's Press for an ARC to read and review in exchange for my fair and honest review. **
    more
Write a review