Sapphire Flames (Hidden Legacy, #4)
From #1 New York Times bestselling author Ilona Andrews comes an enthralling new trilogy set in the Hidden Legacy world, where magic means power, and family bloodlines are the new currency of society…In a world where magic is the key to power and wealth, Catalina Baylor is a Prime, the highest rank of magic user, and the Head of her House. Catalina has always been afraid to use her unique powers, but when her friend’s mother and sister are murdered, Catalina risks her reputation and safety to unravel the mystery.But behind the scenes powerful forces are at work, and one of them is Alessandro Sagredo, the Italian Prime who was once Catalina’s teenage crush. Dangerous and unpredictable, Alessandro’s true motives are unclear, but he’s drawn to Catalina like a moth to a flame.To help her friend, Catalina must test the limits of her extraordinary powers, but doing so may cost her both her House–and her heart.

Sapphire Flames (Hidden Legacy, #4) Details

TitleSapphire Flames (Hidden Legacy, #4)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 27th, 2019
PublisherAvon
ISBN-139780062878335
Rating
GenreFantasy, Urban Fantasy, Romance, Paranormal, Magic, Paranormal Romance

Sapphire Flames (Hidden Legacy, #4) Review

  • ✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans)
    January 1, 1970
    Soooooo, because of my most abhorrent rating for this book, I find my little nefarious self writing this thing from the deepest depths of IA Hell. My life has been naught but excruciating pain courtesy at the vicious hands of the Super Extra Yummy barbarously ruthless Butcher of Merida for the past few weeks, and I would love nothing more than to be relentlessly chastised by him forever and ever and ever and stuff escape from this abyss of agony post haste. It does look excellent not look good f Soooooo, because of my most abhorrent rating for this book, I find my little nefarious self writing this thing from the deepest depths of IA Hell. My life has been naught but excruciating pain courtesy at the vicious hands of the Super Extra Yummy barbarously ruthless Butcher of Merida for the past few weeks, and I would love nothing more than to be relentlessly chastised by him forever and ever and ever and stuff escape from this abyss of agony post haste. It does look excellent not look good for me, yay and stuff unfortunately, so I thought I might as well keep digging my own grave by exposing my shamefully reprehensible thoughts about this story. Here goes and stuff.So. YES Sapphire Flames is entertaining and fast-paced and full of IA Scrumptiousness, BUT:① It feels like Nevada and Rogan Lite.There, I said it. As much as it pains me to admit it, there are way too many situations/scenes/pieces of dialogues/whatever in Sapphire Flames that read like carbon copies of situations/scenes/pieces of dialogues/whatever from the first three books in the series. I might not have minded this, had the leads been as charismatic as Nevada and Rogan my beloved husband, but they aren’t, so I did. Catalina comes across as a pale imitation of her sister, and Alessandro’s overbearing arrogance is exasperating. Drinking up Dealing with the Scourge of Mexico’s deliciously smug, 30-something ass is one thing, but having to put with a shallow, barely-out-of-his-teens lad’s self-complacency is something else entirely. Which might perhaps maybe explain why I felt the urge to slap some humility into the dude whenever he made an appearance and stuff.Yeah, that works, too.② The leads are revoltingly young.Because yes, I am one of those despicable human crustacean beings who can’t stand don’t like silly new adults very mucho. Granted, Catalina and Alessandro are not that bad compared to other disgustingly juvenile MCs I’ve come across (view spoiler)[well maybe One Dimensional Alessandro (ODA™) is, but don’t tell anyone I said so and stuff (hide spoiler)], but they’re still too annoyingly youthful for my taste and stuff. Also, the whole coming of age business was never my thing (comes with being a despicable crustacean and stuff). Yes, Catalina might maybe perhaps become a seasoned, self-confident badass twenty ten years from now, but right now she’s just a way-too-sweet-and-tender for me, insecure kid who’s learning the ropes, and that’s not something I’m interested in reading about, to be disgustingly honest. (Please feel free to sue me and stuff.)③ The romance.[Please insert pre-emptive shudders here]Yes, there was romance in Nevada and Rogan’s books, but it was packed with tension, hilarious dialogues, and enough chemistry to blow my Mariana Trench abode (and the murderous troops it is home to) to tiny little nefarious pieces. In Sapphire Flames, the romance-heavy storyline felt just too YA for me. Not to mention it felt off. I just don’t understand what the attraction is. It seems to be nothing more than a teenage crush, complete with Love at First Sight of Doom and Oblivion (LaFSoDaO ™). Yes, I know that most of you People of Despicable Book Taste (PoDBT ™) 💕 lurve 💕 that kind of repulsive stuff (view spoiler)[ (hide spoiler)], but I don’t, so I don’t.④ No Grandma Frida/Augustine hook-up. This is totally unacceptable. Absolutely outrageous. Completely barbaric. Properly scandalous. And a total rip off, if you ask me. I demand an explanation post haste and stuff.Okay, now time to add a BUT to my initial BUT (which kinda negates the BUT, if you think about it and stuff). So. No, I am not a fan of this story (as you might maybe perhaps have grasped from the previous paragraphs), BUT:① It was written by IA, which makes it instantly very much slightly better than 99% of the crap stuff out there. (That’s immutable law of the universe #1, just so you know.) Also: this is one of the bestest, mostest coolest and originalest magic systems that ever was and ever will be and stuff. So QED and stuff.② It features one of the mostest gloriousest cast of secondary characters in the history of mostest gloriousest cast of secondary characters: Grandma Frida, Leon, Bug, Augustine, Arabella, Runa, Matilda, Zeus, Cornelius and his Super Extra Yummy Menagerie (ZEYM™), Bern…They all deserve their own spin-off, if you ask me. Especially Zeus.③ Random yet Delicious IA stuff (RyDIAS™): leaping desiccated corpses who try to rip one’s hair out (yay!), carnifexes, flying scorpion tricks, people being dismembered (woo hoo and stuff), lovely beasts and yummy creatures, vomit muffins, Celia (aka the cutest, friendliest chick ever), and last but not least, chainsaws and shotguns and gladii, oh my! ➽ Nefarious Last Words (NLW™): the most ungrateful, unworthy, undeserving IA fanshrimpgirl I am, and atone for my most repugnant reading taste I shall. For all of eternity and beyond and stuff. Maybe.(view spoiler)[ (hide spoiler)]P.S. I want to be Prime Venenata when I grow up. You’re welcome.ARC provided by the Most Awesome Authorlords™ and Avon via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.· Book 1: Burn for Me ★★★★★· Book 2: White Hot ★★★★★· Book 3: Wildfire ★★★★★· Book 3.5: Diamond Fire ★★★★· Book 5: Untitled Catalina Novel - to be released 2020?· Book 6: Untitled Catalina Novel - to be released 2021?[Pre-review nonsense]Pretty sure I’m going straight to IA Hell for giving this book such an abysmally low rating. But hey, at least I'll have central heating for all of eternity, so I guess I can't complain.➽ Full Yeah Yeah Yeah I Know I Read It Very Wrong Indeed But There You Have It and Stuff (YYYIKIRIVWIBTYHIAS™) review to come. [May 1, 2019]Chapter 2 is here!!!![April 18, 2019]The complete entire whole first chapter is can be read here in its entire entirety and stuff!!!![March 20, 2019]It's deleted scene time!![February 13, 2019]A cover, new snippet , new webpage, oh my!! [January 31, 2019]My my what big shifty lying eyes these are tiny snippet this is![January 9, 2019]Pithivier, anyone? Happy New Year Snippet and stuff![December 19, 2018]And a very snipetty morning to you!!! “When I got my hands on him, I would pry his mind open like a tin can. And then I would make him do a little dance, record it, and play it for him on a loop after I drained my magic off. Irresistible. I’ll show you irresistible. Just you wait.” [December 3, 2018]Time for a new Snippety Snippet!!!!! [November 19, 2018]It's Holy Shrimping Snippet (HSS™) time!!!!!!!!!!!! And my future girlfriend (when she grows up a little and gets to be as ancient as I am) Runa the Delicious Magus Venenata is in it!!!! I am not excited at all!!!!!![November 7, 2018]We have a title!!!!!!!!!!!![October 23, 2018]A deleted scene from the book can be read here. I am absolutely not excited about it whatsoever. Of course not. I ain't no slightly immature 13-year-old fangirl on crack, thank you very much. Oh no, not me.P.S. (view spoiler)[ (hide spoiler)][April 24, 2018] Coming to a bookstore near you it is. You'll just have to wait a WHOLE BLOODY STINKING YEAR for it, that is all. But hey, we had to wait THREE WHOLE BLOODY STINKING YEARS between Burn for Me and White Hot, so we can totally do this. No biggie and stuff.Also:
    more
  • Tadiana ✩Night Owl☽
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars. Full review to come!ETA: Two great snippets of deleted scenes from this book, from the Andrews’ blog:http://www.ilona-andrews.com/a-misund... (Arabella POV story)http://www.ilona-andrews.com/wcb-day-2/ (Sgt. Munoz scene)I got sucked into this ARC the minute it hit my Kindle, and finished it off in one day. It was worth every minute! This is the fourth novel in Ilona Andrews' Hidden Legacy fantasy/romance series, in which magical families control most of our society. (You do have to st 4.5 stars. Full review to come!ETA: Two great snippets of deleted scenes from this book, from the Andrews’ blog:http://www.ilona-andrews.com/a-misund... (Arabella POV story)http://www.ilona-andrews.com/wcb-day-2/ (Sgt. Munoz scene)I got sucked into this ARC the minute it hit my Kindle, and finished it off in one day. It was worth every minute! This is the fourth novel in Ilona Andrews' Hidden Legacy fantasy/romance series, in which magical families control most of our society. (You do have to start at the beginning of this series; each book builds on what came before.) Having wrapped up the romance of Nevada Baylor, Sapphire Flames and the novella right before it, Diamond Fire, now shift the main character focus to Nevada's younger sister Catalina, a "siren" with powerful persuasive magic.We've jumped forward 3 years from the last Hidden Legacy book and novella; Catalina is now 21 and the head of House Baylor. A murder investigation drops in her lap (it involves the family of Runa Etterson, the wonderful poison mage from Diamond Fire) and Catalina wants to take it on ... even though a couple of major players CLEARLY warn her not to get involved. Of course that only makes Catalina more determined.It's fun to see Catalina step up her game ... not just a notch or two, but some major leaps forward for our shy young woman. And, holy cow, Alessandro's character is NOT what I expected given what we've previously seen from him. Hidden depths, y'all.That ending though!!Initial post: Just approved on NetGalley!!! I'm afraid all those other books in my TBR pile will have to take a back seat for a day or two. Ilona Andrews is about as addictive as it gets for me. :)
    more
  • Robin (Bridge Four)
    January 1, 1970
    ❤ ❤ ❤ I LOVED THIS!!! ❤ ❤ ❤Nevada and Rogan have their new beginning and this book is all Catalina.I think you need to know that going in. Sure, you get cameo situations from the Dragon and his new wife but they are so far removed from the main focus of this book you shouldn’t read it for that or you will be disappointed. What you do get:• 21-year-old Catalina who has grown into her siren powers since we first met her. • The rest of the Baylor family including crazy grandma Frida, semi-scary Ara ❤ ❤ ❤ I LOVED THIS!!! ❤ ❤ ❤Nevada and Rogan have their new beginning and this book is all Catalina.I think you need to know that going in. Sure, you get cameo situations from the Dragon and his new wife but they are so far removed from the main focus of this book you shouldn’t read it for that or you will be disappointed. What you do get:• 21-year-old Catalina who has grown into her siren powers since we first met her. • The rest of the Baylor family including crazy grandma Frida, semi-scary Arabella and super funny Leon along with sniper mom and Bern• BUG! He is hilarious and a bored Bug is a nosey bug.• Alessandro, he is not who you think he is.• Linus Duncan and all his power, um WOW.• Augustine *swoony sigh*• Crazy crew of deadly assassins• And much, much moreWith all of that there should be something for you and hopefully you won’t miss the Dragon and his new wife that much.The end of the three-year grace period is coming to an end and House Baylor has had some time to make some contacts and get a little established, but it is a trying time as their immunity is about to expire. On top of that there is a case that falls into Catalina’s lap that everyone tells her not to take, so of course that is the case she is going to take. This is a wild ride full of surprises. Catalina has been under the tutelage of none other than Mrs. Rogan and she has learned a lot. She might still be the shy girl at heart but she is coming out of her shell and this new case is going to push her to her limits.The biggest surprise for me is Alessandro. I expected the charming pretty boy and not much more, but the boy has secrets, talents and a vendetta. Add all that in with some very cool powers and I loved what happened when he and Catalina teamed up to take down the bad guys in this.Linus Duncan, man of mystery has a soft spot for the Baylors. If you’ve read the rest of the series you’ve probably guessed why. I was really surprised to see him play a role in this book and even more surprised by what that role was. Alessandro isn’t afraid to go up against some powerful men in his not courtship of Catalina, even when they act like a grandfather to her.This is classic Ilona Andrews with humor and danger and that slow burn romance happening. I devoured this book and can’t wait to listen to the audio when it comes out. While I was sad not to see more of Rogan and Nevada I think Catalina and crew carried this book well and I loved the set up for some future books in the series with Catalina at the helm.Initial ARC ReviewI'm not going to say what I had to do to get a copy of this early. It might have involved the sacrifice of a Barbie involving four toenail clippings, herbs, a secret, a promise and copious amounts of bourbon...don't ask. But, I got it and the Author Lords who shall be named IA have done it again and written something absolutely wonderful that I will read again and again and again.
    more
  • Heather K (dentist in my spare time)
    January 1, 1970
    Absolutely, positively, you will not be able to put this one down. Clear your calendars for release day, folks, because Ilona Andrews nails another book in the Hidden Legacy series, and it is just as addictive as the rest! I'm a superfan of Ilona Andrews, and I've loved each and every book in this series. I was beside myself when I found out that I got an ARC of Sapphire Flames, especially since I was in love with Diamond Fire. Just totally gagged. I tried to wait until closer to release day to Absolutely, positively, you will not be able to put this one down. Clear your calendars for release day, folks, because Ilona Andrews nails another book in the Hidden Legacy series, and it is just as addictive as the rest! I'm a superfan of Ilona Andrews, and I've loved each and every book in this series. I was beside myself when I found out that I got an ARC of Sapphire Flames, especially since I was in love with Diamond Fire. Just totally gagged. I tried to wait until closer to release day to read Sapphire Flames, but after a few meh books in a row, I knew I had to crack this one open. And I didn't go to bed until the very last word, just before 3 am.The plot? Exhilarating. The danger? Cranked up to an 11! The romance? Just getting STARTED.I loved getting to know Catalina, who is a bad-ass in her own right, and seeing more of the extraordinary Baylor family. I loved getting to know Alessandro, who is SO much more than meets the eye. I loved the pacing, the energy, and the non-stop action. It is a must-read for those who have loved the other books in the series.The book isn't technically a romance, but those of you who are familiar with Ilona Andrews know how they operate. I know there will be more Hidden Legacy books coming with how this one left off, and I'm WAITING ON THE EDGE OF MY SEAT FOR MORE. Ilona Andrews can't write fast enough to suit me. *Copy provided in exchange for an honest review*goodreads|instagram|twitter|blog
    more
  • Corina
    January 1, 1970
    The wait is OVER - it's LIVE4.5 starsAs expected, the author wrote one fantastic first book about Catalina and Alessandro.The feelings, the action, the humor - Sapphire Flames had it all.And although Catalina's magic is more defense than offense, the action wasn't missing in the slightest. Catalina grew so much over the last three years, that's how much time went by since Nevada's wedding, and wow there were some pretty interesting changes happening during those years. Catalina really impressed The wait is OVER - it's LIVE4.5 starsAs expected, the author wrote one fantastic first book about Catalina and Alessandro.The feelings, the action, the humor - Sapphire Flames had it all.And although Catalina's magic is more defense than offense, the action wasn't missing in the slightest. Catalina grew so much over the last three years, that's how much time went by since Nevada's wedding, and wow there were some pretty interesting changes happening during those years. Catalina really impressed me. I had an inkling that she would turn into a fascinating character, but I had no idea how kick-ass that girl would become. Strong, business savvy, with a spine of steel and not hesitant to make hard choices when needed - Catalina has become a woman not to be messed with. And consequently my kind of heroine.Alessandro on the other hand was as swoony as I remembered him. Not all was as it seemed. He had some interesting facts hidden behind his too gorgeous for his own good facade - and there is so much more I want to find out about him. He knew how to steamroll Catalina when needed. Supported her without question. Stood by her side without care for his own safety - all in all he was the perfect guy for her. And easily as awesome as Connor “Mad” Rogan, just a tad more realistic - lol. One word - yummilicious!!!I loved that the world was so familiar to me. The supporting characters were beloved. And their banter and personalities so dear to me. The intricate plots were as fascinating as ever. And a recurring character had me questioning everything I thought I knew.I can't wait to see how it all will end. I have so many questions.Overall, I didn't want Sapphire Flame to end. I wanted to read book 2 & 3 immediately. That's how awesome and addicting this story was. And I can guarantee that the next two books will be even more awesome. Because that's just how it goes with an Ilona Andrews series. They pull you in and never let you go.✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ If you haven't read this series yet, but you love a little magic, fantasy and PNR with your romance - you need to pick up the first trilogy. It's about the older sister - kick ass Nevada and her love interest Connor “Mad” Rogan. ✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ ARC generously provided in exchange for an honest review.Here are more Fantasy/Sci-Fi/PNR reads Fantasy/Sci-Fi/PNRFor more book recommendations, follow me on Instagram✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵
    more
  • Melindam
    January 1, 1970
    PURE, UNADULTERATED, UTTER, ABSOLUTE, UNMITIGATED, UNALLOYED, TOTAL AWESOMENESS BOOKIFIED! So, first of all a BIG THANK YOU to Ilona & Gordon for writing another breath-taking installment to the Hidden Legacy Series + to Edelweiss/Avon for letting me read it before publication. And let's not forget my GR Friend Tadiana ✩Night Owl☽ for recommending me the series despite the covers!I CAN'T EVEN....Sapphire Flames was the ULTIMATE READING EXPERIENCE for a book-lover like me.I wanted to read it PURE, UNADULTERATED, UTTER, ABSOLUTE, UNMITIGATED, UNALLOYED, TOTAL AWESOMENESS BOOKIFIED! So, first of all a BIG THANK YOU to Ilona & Gordon for writing another breath-taking installment to the Hidden Legacy Series + to Edelweiss/Avon for letting me read it before publication. And let's not forget my GR Friend Tadiana ✩Night Owl☽ for recommending me the series despite the covers!I CAN'T EVEN....Sapphire Flames was the ULTIMATE READING EXPERIENCE for a book-lover like me.I wanted to read it in one go, but kept on putting it aside, because I dreaded the moment it would all end.Well, eventually it ended, but with WHAT A BANG! A MILLION EXPLODING PERFECT STARS!I loved it from the first page to the last.In my review of Book 3, Wildfire, I adopted the Baylors as my literary family and I also mentioned how much further potential there is in the Hidden Legacy Universe. Ilona and Gordon kept expanding that universe in Books 1-3, adding more layers, depth and intrigue, BUT with Sapphire Flames they upped their game even further. Influential families (called Houses) with powerful magic rule this alternate world and also control territories in Houston, where our story takes place. There are several kinds of magical abilities (telepaths, telekinetics, empaths, pyro/aquakinetics, truthseekers, etc) and several levels: minor, average, notable, significant & prime. Primes are usually the leaders of their families/houses and also "breed" to have offsprings with even more magic as it means social and economical power: the more you have the more influential you are. Newly established or "emerging" houses have a 3-year-long grace period when they are protected from the intrigue/attacks of already existing ones. But once the period is over, the gloves are off and the beasts gather for blood. This period is just coming to an end for the Baylors with 21-year-old Catalina (younger sister to Nevada) at the head.We see the world of the magical Elite through her eyes: it's seductive, it's glamorous, it's glittering and it's cruel and dangerous as hell. Catalina's (not-so-secret) crush, Alessandro Sagredo, is the perfect embodiment of this world and they get involved in untangling a conspiracy that is beyond their wildest fears. So, Ilona & Gordon just went and did it again. They pulled me under to this world and I don't want to re-emerge, ever.There were moments when I went cold (all the atrocities some people are committing) and then hot (OMG, Alessandro & his characterisation is perfect. I love what a dark horse and how morally ambiguous he is!), when I laughed out loud (the always adorable Baylor Family and their antics) and when I was sitting on the edge of my chair with excitement and anticipation. The Baylor Family dynamics is heart-warming and perfectly imperfect and the sexual chemistry between Catalina and Alessandro is delicious & sizzling. I loved their every scene.And until the next book comes out ... well.. I'll just start re-reading the whole series again.ARC provided by the Publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Aisling Zena
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsProper review to come as soon as I can.Just want to say I loved the magic and the powers and Catalina. Alessandro is no Mad Rogan but I liked him too. And man do I want Linus to marry Grandma Frida!!!! 23/8/19Deleted scene!https://ilona-andrews.com/deleted-sce...7/7/19Deleted scene turned into short story!http://www.ilona-andrews.com/a-misund...14/2/19Snippet and Cover!http://www.ilona-andrews.com/sapphire...19/12/18Short snippet!http://www.ilona-andrews.com/just-you...12/12/18Short sni 4.5 starsProper review to come as soon as I can.Just want to say I loved the magic and the powers and Catalina. Alessandro is no Mad Rogan but I liked him too. And man do I want Linus to marry Grandma Frida!!!! 23/8/19Deleted scene!https://ilona-andrews.com/deleted-sce...7/7/19Deleted scene turned into short story!http://www.ilona-andrews.com/a-misund...14/2/19Snippet and Cover!http://www.ilona-andrews.com/sapphire...19/12/18Short snippet!http://www.ilona-andrews.com/just-you...12/12/18Short snippets!http://www.ilona-andrews.com/snippet-...http://www.ilona-andrews.com/when-eng...20/11/18Short snippet!!http://www.ilona-andrews.com/little-s...21/10/18Deleted Scene from Hidden Legacy 4!!!!!http://www.ilona-andrews.com/deleted-...8/7/18Catalina and Alessandro!!!!!!!!
    more
  • ☆★Tinja★✮ A Court of Pizza and Laziness
    January 1, 1970
    What the HELL!!!!?!!!!!!WHAT THE [email protected]$%&*€£💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖*flips the fuck out*YAAASSSSSSSSYASSS GIVE THEM ALL THEIR OWN BOOKS OH PLEASEEE!!!ILONA ANDREWS I WORSHIP THEEEE 💖💖
  • Geri Reads
    January 1, 1970
    YES, yes, it's everything I expected from the Andrews! Fast-paced, anxiety inducing action, fantastic dialogue, searing chemistry between the two leads, humor, and so much more!Full review to come closer to the release date!ARC provided by Avon books via Edelweiss
    more
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    If you go into this book looking for more Nevada and Rogan you're going to be disappointed because this is very much the start of Catalina's trilogy and the focus is on her and the rest of the Baylor family. And that's not me trying to be negative or put anyone off reading because I absolutely loved Sapphire Flames and think fans will too, I really love how much Catalina has changed and grown in the three years that have passed since events in Diamond Fire. She's a force to be reckoned with and If you go into this book looking for more Nevada and Rogan you're going to be disappointed because this is very much the start of Catalina's trilogy and the focus is on her and the rest of the Baylor family. And that's not me trying to be negative or put anyone off reading because I absolutely loved Sapphire Flames and think fans will too, I really love how much Catalina has changed and grown in the three years that have passed since events in Diamond Fire. She's a force to be reckoned with and so is Alessandro, they're definitely going to be a power couple and I'm sure I'll come to love them both as much as I do Nevada and Rogan.Anyone who knows me should know I'm obsessed with Nevada and particularly Rogan, I'm totally addicted to their books (I've read them all well over 10 times each now!) and yes, I would have been happy to read many, many more books from Nevada's point of view. Having said that I'm still glad that they've been given their HEA and I'm happy that we'll get to see glimpses of it in Catalina's story. I think Ilona Andrews deliberately kept them pretty absent from this book to allow readers to get used to the change in narrators and I think that was the right thing to do. There is a reason for their absence and we do still get small hints of what is going on with them now but this is Catalina's time to shine and she does it brilliantly.I've already mentioned that it's been almost three years since Nevada's wedding and the formation of House Baylor. Catalina is now head of the house and they're just about to run out of the 3 year grace period where no other houses were allowed to attack them. Their enemies are circling and Catalina has been doing her best to form allies and build their reputation as a house that shouldn't be messed with. It's not easy though and in a lot of ways they're still a little known entity that other more established houses don't really take too seriously. Catalina has spent years training with her magic thanks to help from Rogan's mother and she's grown a lot in confidence in that time too. She's still quite shy and would rather avoid confrontation but at the same time she is very protective of her family and will do whatever it takes to keep them safe, even if it pushes her completely out of her comfort zone.I don't want to give away too much of the plot of this story but there is plenty of action, hints of more than one future romance and all the humour you'd expect from this series. The Baylor family is as crazy as ever but they're also just as close knit. Nevada was so much older than her sisters and cousins that she had a very different relationship with them than Catalina does so I really enjoyed seeing how Catalina works alongside Arabella, Bern and Leon. All four of them are more grown up now and they're all coming into their own both magically and in a sense of finding their purpose. We may not see much of Nevada and Rogan but other familiar faces are still in full play from Cornelius and Matilda through to Augustine, Bug and Linus Duncan.Alessandro obviously has a lot of secrets but I'm enjoying the banter between him and Catalina. I love how dorky she can be sometimes and that he finds it so endearing and I really enjoyed learning more about his magic. He has some impressive skills and I think we're only beginning to touch the surface of what both he and Catalina are capable of. Theirs is the kind of slow burn romance that Ilona and Gordon excel at and I can't wait to watch it grow into something explosive. It won't be easy to knock Nevada and Rogan off of my top couple spot but I have a feeling that Catalina and Alessandro may be able to do it!The only thing even slightly disappointing about this book is that I can't have the rest of the trilogy immediately but even that isn't something I can really complain about as I'll have so much fun rereading the previous books while I wait for the next ones to release. My Hidden Legacy obsession hasn't dialled back even slightly with the change of narrators, in fact if anything it's grown even stronger.April 2019:I HAVE AN ARC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I think I'm about to spontaneously combust from the excitement! _________________In case you missed it there is all kinds of extra info about the new Hidden Legacy series in this Entertainment Weekly interview with Ilona and Gordon. I am so bloody excited about this spin off!
    more
  • Erin O'Roark
    January 1, 1970
    I have so many mixed feelings right now. I am so excited this series is continuing because I love these characters and the world is far too brilliant to end in a trilogy. But I honestly have no desire to read about Catalina. I want more Nevada and Rogan as they are the main reasons I loved this series. I just don't think I care about three books on Catalina.Edit after read:Alright, I won't say I was completely disappointed. Considering I love everything Ilona, I inevitably enjoyed it. However, I I have so many mixed feelings right now. I am so excited this series is continuing because I love these characters and the world is far too brilliant to end in a trilogy. But I honestly have no desire to read about Catalina. I want more Nevada and Rogan as they are the main reasons I loved this series. I just don't think I care about three books on Catalina.Edit after read:Alright, I won't say I was completely disappointed. Considering I love everything Ilona, I inevitably enjoyed it. However, I will say it's just...off. The flame I felt between Nevada and Rogan (or even Kate and Curran) is just TOTALLY lacking. Catalina herself is kind of a snooze and I'm not really excited to read three books on her. I hope she's only this way because that's her character now and maybe she will come out of her shell...but right now I just feel like she is SO one dimensional and monotone. I will regardless always read any of their books but...after the first three masterpieces, I'm just not sure I'm that excited for these. I'd honestly rather read about Arabella.
    more
  • Emma
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars...Like many others, the thought of switching perspectives from Nevada to Catalina held little appeal. It's never easy giving up characters you've been through hard times with, but they're off living the high life somewhere, being all lovely dovey, and we need more drama, battles, and sexual tension. So, enter Catalina Baylor. It's three years later and she's learned some stuff. This is not the girl we've seen before, not even the one in the novella. Here is someone fighting to protect 4.5 stars...Like many others, the thought of switching perspectives from Nevada to Catalina held little appeal. It's never easy giving up characters you've been through hard times with, but they're off living the high life somewhere, being all lovely dovey, and we need more drama, battles, and sexual tension. So, enter Catalina Baylor. It's three years later and she's learned some stuff. This is not the girl we've seen before, not even the one in the novella. Here is someone fighting to protect her House from seriously powerful enemies while taking on enough jobs to pay the bills--and stay alive herself. Not only is the result pretty damn good, I personally think these books have the potential to be better than the first trilogy... But maybe that's just my love for Alessandro speaking. Safe to say that he's not what we thought, that's for sure. And their interactions are HOT. Phew.I read the whole book straight through in a few hours and now have to wait impatiently for what comes next. You know what the Andrews team is like with their damn endings...!! Give it a try. The surprise will only make it better.ARC via Edelweiss.
    more
  • Carole (Carole's Random Life in Books)
    January 1, 1970
    This review can also be found at Carole's Random Life in Books.There is something special about a new Ilona Andrews book. When I get one in my hands, I feel like a kid a Christmas. That kid has no idea what is under the tree but they know that it is going to be good. And it was good. So very good. This series is one that I treasure so my expectations were really high when I sat down to read this newest installment and every single one of those expectations were met. This story is a gift and I am This review can also be found at Carole's Random Life in Books.There is something special about a new Ilona Andrews book. When I get one in my hands, I feel like a kid a Christmas. That kid has no idea what is under the tree but they know that it is going to be good. And it was good. So very good. This series is one that I treasure so my expectations were really high when I sat down to read this newest installment and every single one of those expectations were met. This story is a gift and I am very glad that the writing pair of Ilona Andrews were able to share it with their fans.This is the fourth full-length book in the Hidden Legacy series which follows the Baylor family. The first three books were told from Nevada's point of view. Catalina took center stage in the novella, Diamond Fire, and kept the lead in this book. I loved Nevada but I am finding that I really like Catalina as well. Catalina is definitely her own person and often approaches things differently than Nevada might. I really enjoyed seeing this wonderful family from a different perspective.I loved the characters in this book. I already loved the members of the Baylor family from the earlier books in the series but I always enjoy getting to know them just a little better. I really liked getting to know Catalina in detail. It was fun to see her use her powers and I have a feeling that we are going to get to see them develop quite a bit in future books. Alessandro was a bit of a mystery. I liked the fact that it was really hard to tell whose side he is on but he always seemed to show up exactly when he was needed. The chemistry between Catalina and Alessandro was pretty much off the charts so I am looking forward to seeing how things progress between the pair in future books.This story was exciting and the mystery was very well done. There is no shortage of action in this story as I have come to expect from the series. The mystery was fairly complex and Catalina was forced to juggle many things while she worked to get to the bottom of things. I really liked that there were a few larger plot points that were left open and I look forward to seeing where things go in future books. I would highly recommend this book to others. This book was everything that I had hoped that it would be and even just a little bit more. I can't wait to read this one again and again!I received a digital review copy of this book from Avon Books via NetGalley / Edelweiss.Initial ThoughtsAmazing! This was the kind of book that you lose sleep over. The kind of book that you really hate to put down. The kind of book that as soon as you finish you want to start reading all over again. I guess you could say that I liked it :) A lot of things have happened in Baylor family and I really enjoyed seeing Catalina take the lead. She is different than her sister, Nevada, but just as easy to like. There was a lot of action in this one and a few developments that I didn't expect. I can't wait for more!
    more
  • Rachel Reads Ravenously
    January 1, 1970
    4 stars! There’s something so comforting about opening up a new Ilona Andrews novel. It’s like seeing an old friend and falling back into things as if no time has passed by. I will fully admit I was skeptical about Catalina’s book, especially when I didn’t love the prequel novella with her in it. But the Andrews’s duo totally pulled it off and now I am DYING for the next book. This book is everything we loved about all the previous books in the series. Fans will not be disappointed.If you haven 4 stars! There’s something so comforting about opening up a new Ilona Andrews novel. It’s like seeing an old friend and falling back into things as if no time has passed by. I will fully admit I was skeptical about Catalina’s book, especially when I didn’t love the prequel novella with her in it. But the Andrews’s duo totally pulled it off and now I am DYING for the next book. This book is everything we loved about all the previous books in the series. Fans will not be disappointed.If you haven’t read this series, honestly I recommend reading the first 3 books or you may get lost. I don’t consider this a standalone novel I won my ARC in an Instagram giveaway from Kelly and the Book Boar Thank you Kelly!! Follow me on ♥ Facebook ♥ Blog ♥ Instagram ♥ Twitter ♥
    more
  • Sh3lly
    January 1, 1970
    1. Burn for Me: ★★★★★2. White Hot: ★★★★★3. Wildfire: ★★★★★3.5 Diamond Fire: ★★★★The Hidden Legacy series begins a new trilogy with Catalina and Alessandro. A few years have passed. Nevada and Rogan are in Spain and NOT a part of this story. Head Baylor is at the end of its "safe" period, where other Houses aren't allowed to mess with them. Most houses don't make it past the first year. Catalina is a very young Head of house at twenty-one. She has a lot to learn, but she has great resources to he 1. Burn for Me: ★★★★★2. White Hot: ★★★★★3. Wildfire: ★★★★★3.5 Diamond Fire: ★★★★The Hidden Legacy series begins a new trilogy with Catalina and Alessandro. A few years have passed. Nevada and Rogan are in Spain and NOT a part of this story. Head Baylor is at the end of its "safe" period, where other Houses aren't allowed to mess with them. Most houses don't make it past the first year. Catalina is a very young Head of house at twenty-one. She has a lot to learn, but she has great resources to help.There is the typical investigation with Ilona Andrews books. This one involves mages more and weird arcane stuff. I'm so intrigued by the magic that has to do with the other realm, full of monster bugs and stuff. Catalina and Alessandro are obviously smitten with each other, but this is a slow (medium?) burn romance. I like them together. I'm very excited about the next book. When this ended, it wasn't on a cliffhanger, but I was left wanting MORE. I thought it was a lot of fun to read, with great action scenes, humor, and originality.Thank you Netgalley - and Edelweiss - AND publisher - for providing a digital copy to read and review.
    more
  • aarya
    January 1, 1970
    May 18, 2019: I hate myself for reading this so fast. The wait for the next book will be just as bad as post-Burn for Me. If you love HL, you’re going to love this. Review to come closer to release date.I've discussed/written about Hidden Legacy twice:1) I made a Buzzfeed quiz, "What Magic User Are You From Ilona Andrews’s Hidden Legacy Series?": http://www.ilona-andrews.com/hidden-l... 2) I wrote about Rogan and Nevada's meet-disaster/meet-kidnapping here: https://smartbitchestrashybooks.com/2. May 18, 2019: I hate myself for reading this so fast. The wait for the next book will be just as bad as post-Burn for Me. If you love HL, you’re going to love this. Review to come closer to release date.I've discussed/written about Hidden Legacy twice:1) I made a Buzzfeed quiz, "What Magic User Are You From Ilona Andrews’s Hidden Legacy Series?": http://www.ilona-andrews.com/hidden-l... 2) I wrote about Rogan and Nevada's meet-disaster/meet-kidnapping here: https://smartbitchestrashybooks.com/2...May 31, 2019:This review will be spoiler-free and it's not really a review, more musings about why Sapphire Flames worked for me. In case you don't know, I'm a huge, huge fan of the series. I've reread them at least ten times. So I'm not exactly unbiased in my love for this book, but I honestly do love it. I strongly recommend that you don't start here and go back to Burn for Me. While Catalina is a new protagonist and the book does explain the worldbuilding in great detail for a newcomer, I think it's not possible to understand the nuances of the Baylors' current situation or appreciate how much Catalina has grown up from the earlier trilogy. In no particular order, this is why I love Sapphire Flames:1) The sense of community that the books provide. The HL books are structured in a way where the author teases speculation and leaves clues for shocking revelations. For example, before reading Sapphire Flames, my friends and I spent endless months debating the following questions:If we could live in the HL world, what house would we be in and what would our magical power be? Is [Redacted A] Caesar? [Redacted A] seemed suspiciously friendly in the last book. No, I think it's [Redacted B] because of this quote here...Will Nevada stay Head of House after she's married to Rogan? Or will she pass the reins to Catalina?Is [redacted] the illegitimate son of [redacted]?Is [redacted] the grandfather of the Baylor girls?You get the idea. I've read the books so many times and have come up with so many conspiracy theories and speculations (some plausible, some less so). The joy of being a Hidden Legacy reader is fangirling over the books (ferret heists! Tank-driving grandmas! Pacifist intellectual bears!) and speculating about future books. I haven't felt this kind of community with other books, and I think it's because the author is clever enough to leave crumbs of tantalizing clues for future revelations. After reading Sapphire Flames, I'm so freaking excited for everyone else to read it. Because some of our long-awaited questions have been answered... and more questions arise. I'm bursting to squeal and share my new theories with everyone. And honestly, it's why the annual wait for the next book feels so torturous. We're talking about the book constantly and the more I think about the book, the slower time gets. Gah. This book isn't even out yet, and I feel like I'm dying for the sequel (summer 2020, God help me). 2) I'm really impressed with how different the three Baylor girls are. Before reading this book, I was nervous that Catalina would be just like Nevada (whom I love, but I don't want to read about the same type of heroine over and over again). My worries were for nothing. Catalina's voice is completely different than Nevada's voice. Catalina is introverted, pragmatic, and keeps her emotions tightly hidden because she's so vulnerable and scared to trust her heart with anyone. But she's so damn strong inside and willing to do anything for her family. She wants to be loved so badly (and she pines so badly for her teenage crush Alessandro), but she keeps all of those forbidden feelings locked inside because she's so scared of her own power. As a siren, everyone falls in love with her if she isn't careful to shield her magic. But as different as the Baylor sisters are (and I haven't even gotten into Arabella, my favorite!), they have that core Baylor goodness inside them. They will always help people who come to them for aid, no matter how dire the circumstances. Nevada was never able to resist a client-in-need, and neither can Catalina. It's my favorite thing about the family. I don't want to go into spoilers, but I was willing to die for Catalina by the end. My murderous, sweet, introverted, brave, and vulnerable Catalina. She easily goes into my list of favorite heroines ever (it's a very long list, I refuse to whittle it down as I love them all). And by the epilogue, I wanted to give her a big, big hug and a large tub of ice cream. She deserves all the happiness in the world and I love her so much. 3) Alessandro. I think I might like Alessandro more than Rogan. He's definitely a very mysterious character and there's lots more that we don't know yet, but his brand of "hot Italian aristocrat playboy with mysterious secrets" appeals to my id. I wanted to both hug and smack him. He inspires a lot of emotion inside of me, and you'll understand why when the book comes out. I am so determined not to spoil anything, gahhhh. This book needs to come out already so I can scream/wail with someone. LOL. Okay, this wasn't the most helpful of reviews but I do think that all fans of the original trilogy will love this. I tried hard not to spoil anything because it's really hard to talk about this book without spoiling the plot (and I do think that most of it should be discovered while reading). What I can tell you is this: when you reach the end, you're going to scream and cry because it ends in the worst/most torturous way possible. And then you're going to try to wish a time machine into existence because going forward in time is the only way to get the next book. I really have no idea how I'm going to survive the wait for another year.
    more
  • Marianne
    January 1, 1970
    You know who I'm more excited about than Nevada's shy, little sis? A certain Italian gentleman we met at the trials. Alessandro Sagredo caught my eye right away. I mean, who doesn't love a hot, cocky and incredibly wealthy foreign guy born to resist magic... but who just can't forget a certain siren? 😘If his good looks isn't enough, how about his humble, Venetian Ca' Sagredo abode? I know some readers thought Alessandro was too much of a Rogan 2.0. I'm not going to deny that there were similarit You know who I'm more excited about than Nevada's shy, little sis? A certain Italian gentleman we met at the trials. Alessandro Sagredo caught my eye right away. I mean, who doesn't love a hot, cocky and incredibly wealthy foreign guy born to resist magic... but who just can't forget a certain siren? 😘If his good looks isn't enough, how about his humble, Venetian Ca' Sagredo abode? I know some readers thought Alessandro was too much of a Rogan 2.0. I'm not going to deny that there were similarities, but I for one am really interested in Allessandro's back story that was just hinted at in the first installment. Doesn't sound like Allessandro's family life has been as picture perfect as his Herald account suggests. (view spoiler)[ which suits me just fine, as it sounds like Allessandro will have to join House Baylor and not the other way around due to Evil (but intriguing) grandma Victoria. (hide spoiler)]Certain events regarding Linus Duncan also had me intrigued. (view spoiler)[ If my suspicions about Linus' alter ego and agenda is correct, that makes the assassination attempt especially intriguing, am I right? (hide spoiler)] Then there are the new details we learn about him in Sapphire Flames that will directly impact our shy, little sis... I knew I would not be disappointed and I was proven correct. Just more of Allessandro, please.
    more
  • ♥Rachel♥
    January 1, 1970
    The Hidden Legacy series has now come to focus on Catalina Baylor, one of Nevada’s younger sisters who is now head of House Baylor. Catalina has taken over as lead investigator for their firm as well. Runa, a poisoner we met in Diamond Fire comes to Catalina after tragedy befalls her house. Taking on Runa’s case, Catalina runs up against a dangerous foe bringing not only her, but her whole family into danger. To complicate matters, after three years of no contact, once again Alessandro Sagredo p The Hidden Legacy series has now come to focus on Catalina Baylor, one of Nevada’s younger sisters who is now head of House Baylor. Catalina has taken over as lead investigator for their firm as well. Runa, a poisoner we met in Diamond Fire comes to Catalina after tragedy befalls her house. Taking on Runa’s case, Catalina runs up against a dangerous foe bringing not only her, but her whole family into danger. To complicate matters, after three years of no contact, once again Alessandro Sagredo pops back into her life right smack in the middle of her case. Alessandro alternatively flirts with Catalina and then seriously warns her off the investigation. Oh, I look forward to seeing how it’ll all play out in the coming books!Ilona Andrews is such an amazing writing talent; I’m always anticipating their next story. There’s never a dull moment with lots of action, danger and humor expertly woven into their smart plots! The Hidden Legacy has been an amazing series and I’m sooo happy we’re getting more stories in this world, now focusing on Catalina. I’m so happy to see her as a power in her own right, gaining confidence, and whipping out attitude when needed. I was glued to the pages right from the start! Love the teasing humor from Grandma Frieda (her Herald must be very entertaining) and Arabella! There was bound to be some payback from Nevada, lol! The photo was priceless! The other Baylor’s continue to entertain as well, and I wonder at something between Burn and Runa? The current mystery/conflict is solved, but as this is a three-story arc, things are up in the air which made me very eager for the next book!While I think a reader would benefit from reading the books in order, I do think you could read Diamond Fire, the novella before this story, and then Sapphire Flames and still enjoy the story. However, skipping the previous stories would deprive you of the awesomeness of this series!A copy was kindly provided by Avon via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Hollis
    January 1, 1970
    Was this everything I wanted it to be? Can I get a hell yeah? Did I love this Catalina-centric installment more than the Nevada-centric ones? Really.. long.. pause.Maybe?It's been a while but I do have great memories of the trilogy that kicked this series off. And yet for some reason this one just shines a little more brightly. And not only because it’s obviously fresh in my mind.Other kids were encouraged to be cute, to perform for adults. If I smiled, the adults became mesmerized, and if I wan Was this everything I wanted it to be? Can I get a hell yeah? Did I love this Catalina-centric installment more than the Nevada-centric ones? Really.. long.. pause.Maybe?It's been a while but I do have great memories of the trilogy that kicked this series off. And yet for some reason this one just shines a little more brightly. And not only because it’s obviously fresh in my mind.Other kids were encouraged to be cute, to perform for adults. If I smiled, the adults became mesmerized, and if I wanted them to like me, they would love me with obsessive intensity.Catalina's struggles, and her struggles with her magic, just felt.. interesting. Fresh. Exciting. Her power is different and that gives her role something a little different. The love interest was a flipping delight, too. There are so many layers to Alessandro and I loved how they played off each other. "I found your vomit muffin. He's driving a crappy silver Italian import. He's about to merge on the 1-10. Where are you?""In the passenger seat of the crappy import."" This is a great car. "I enjoy the politics and the messiness of this warped world. All the side characters, too. Honestly there isn't much I didn't love. The only thing keeping this back from a full five stars is some of the intensity of Catalina's feelings. I get she's been invested for a while, and also somewhat resigned to a complicated future romance, if any, but it did come off strong. She was just very in it when it wasn't really a thing to be in yet? Hard to describe. But it only came off weird a few times. For the rest? I was quite pleased."But what would I do alone for hours with no one to admire me?""Take selfies, kill random people, take selfies of you killing random people?""Is that why you think I'm not a good person?""No, lots of people take selfies. You just do it more than most."I have so many questions about where things are building, who is hiding what, and the authors did tease some things that I'm sure are to be revealed down the road. Hell, I'm still waiting for the reveal from the epilogue of book three. Did we get that? I can't remember. Suffice it to say there's so much more for this series to give us, so many places it can go, and I'm delighted there's so so many characters that could take us to all these yet-uncharted areas. Want, need, more. But I always say that. These authors rarely, if ever, fail to deliver."I don't know if you know, but Leon is psycho. I heard him talking to himself when shooting people. He used funny voices, Catalina.""Your brother thinks he's a werewolf.""Good point."I'm so so excited for more of this world and it was such a delight to slide into an Andrews in this post-Kate Daniels world.4.5 stars** I received an ARC from the author (thank you!) in exchange for an honest review. **---This review can also be found at A Take From Two Cities.
    more
  • Sophie
    January 1, 1970
    A free copy of this book was given to me by netgalley in exchange for an honest review. If you’re worried about how Catalina’s series will be after getting so used to Nevada’s point of view, don’t be! The transition between the series was really well done. I would definitely recommend reading the novella in between, Diamond Fire, as characters from that book return and you might be confused otherwise. This was a wonderful follow-up with so many of the things that made us fall in love with the fi A free copy of this book was given to me by netgalley in exchange for an honest review. If you’re worried about how Catalina’s series will be after getting so used to Nevada’s point of view, don’t be! The transition between the series was really well done. I would definitely recommend reading the novella in between, Diamond Fire, as characters from that book return and you might be confused otherwise. This was a wonderful follow-up with so many of the things that made us fall in love with the first part of the series (while still being new and exciting in its own right), including the family dynamic and the humor, which has always felt so genuine. I love them all, and Grandma Frida had some small but hilarious moments. The love and affection they have with each other as well as the way they tease and exasperate each other is always so well written. The authors were smart here because Nevada was mentioned, it would be weird if she wasn’t since she’s an important part of the family and Catalina’s life, but was also away so that Catalia could shine on her own. In short, this book is about Catalina getting used to being the head of her House and taking on a difficult case right as the transition/protection period for her House is ending, which makes her family free-game for other Houses. Some people warn them that this is a bad idea since this time is dangerous enough as is, but Catalina can’t walk away. This adds to the tension in a really effective way. Alessandro, who Catalina had met briefly and was used during her trials, can negate magic and is brought in to the case. Alessandro was so much fun in this book. I can’t wait to see more of him and them in future books, and see how their relationship continues to develop. I’d been a bit nervous about their relationship since it could basically be love at first tweet, but I was convinced! As always, Ilona Andrews delivers by having a fun action-packed book that is funny, involves a creative magic system, and a nice romantic tension.4.5 stars rounded up!
    more
  • Marguerite (M)
    January 1, 1970
    Catalina Book Trilogy?YES YES YESOMG YESI am dying of happiness right now
  • Nafeeza
    January 1, 1970
    In typical IA fashion this book was unputdownable, but it did lack that banter and tension I so loved in the original trilogy. Plus I wanted more family interactions. Still highly recommended and can’t wait for book 5!
  • Nancy D Miz-Firefly aka Sparky
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 or possibly 4 starsIt's too soon to be sure, but after three or four reads I may really like this book. Which is really saying something, because going into this read, I did not like Catalina. And I can’t stand NA which this book is not advertised as, but absolutely is. So, I came into Sapphire Flames with a lot of baggage.I love the Baylor family. I wish we were neighbors. Not next-door neighbors, of course, because danger has a way of following them home and I'd need some distance when the 3.5 or possibly 4 starsIt's too soon to be sure, but after three or four reads I may really like this book. Which is really saying something, because going into this read, I did not like Catalina. And I can’t stand NA which this book is not advertised as, but absolutely is. So, I came into Sapphire Flames with a lot of baggage.I love the Baylor family. I wish we were neighbors. Not next-door neighbors, of course, because danger has a way of following them home and I'd need some distance when the bullets start flying. But when the inevitable fire broke out at Casa de Baylor, I’d be the first to show up with an extra-long garden hose. (Assuming I made it past security.)The first 3 Hidden Legacy books are possibly my all-time favorite para romance stories. I turn to them whenever I need a pick me up. For two reasons:1) The Andrews are amazing writers. 2) The chemistry between Nevada and Rogan. Watching them come together was like dropping an iceberg into an active volcano and watching steam shoot out.Saying I resisted transitioning from Nevada’s lead to Catalina’s is like saying The Duke of Wellington resisted Napoleon (that’s The Battle of Waterloo for you millennials).Suitcase #1: Catalina is my least favorite Baylor, last in line behind Romeo the tank. If they’d had a dog, she’d have ranked behind it too. Way back in book one she cemented her position in my mind as a self-centered, selfish snowflake. Spoiler for anyone who has not yet read Burn for Me. (view spoiler)[ Their very existence was on the line and the one time Catalina was asked to help, her response was “I have homework”. ... I have HOMEWORK?... How big a self-absorbed jerk are you when you must be convinced to help stop your home and sole means of support going bye-bye? Then and there Catalina fell right off the list of characters who mattered to me. (hide spoiler)]Suitcase #2: Catalina is 21. You know what 21-year olds are? Young. And untried. And God love them, nowhere near as experienced as they think they are. I don’t read YA or NA for exactly this reason. I’m a cranky old broad. Young people make my teeth ache. They make rash emotional decisions and when things go pear shaped, they wonder what the hell went wrong? I get enough of that in my real life, I don’t want to read their stories until they’ve at least cracked the quarter century mark. Hit a few brick walls, got their heart broken at least once. Actually done a little living.Suitcase #3: I’m allergic to YA and NA for all the reasons mentioned above, and so many more.Suitcase #4: Head of House at 21. Yep, Legal to drink for about half a minute. And right before their 3-year House reprieve expires Nevada dumps the Head of House gig on her untried, unproven, young sister. “Love you. Bye!” (BITCH)So I came into Sapphire Flames wanting to be won over and terrified it wouldn’t happen. And was very pleasantly surprised. As I made plain I avoid this type of story because YA/NA does not give me the kind of read I want. But this is an Ilona Andrews. Even when they don't give me the story I want, they always deliver a damn good read. Once I got over myself, the writing was so satisfying I was stunned to find myself invested in the story.I guess the reason I put this down the way I did was for people (like me) who are hesitant to read Sapphire Flames because you aren’t sure Catalina can step into Nevada’s shoes. Take it from a reader who did not want the torch to pass to Catalina; she can. They may be a little lose just yet, but I have a feeling she'll grow into those shoes just fine. Catalina has enough of Nevada's sass to satisfy my need for snark, and enough of her own personality to become a fine lead character. I really need to quit taking my frustrations out on her. It's the story structure that offends me, not her.Alessandro is a great addition to the cast. Mysterious, a little dark, a lot charming (de rigueur for an Ilona Andrews hero). The perfect foil for the reserved inward looking Catalina. I look forward to seeing more of what he's made of, because I'm sure what we see in this book is just a sampling of what's to come. It's going to be fun watching their relationship develop.Most of our favorite characters are back. Bug makes a short appearance, and is as entertaining as always. Runa Etterson (the poison mage from Diamond Fire) has a supporting role, and adds an interesting element to Catalina's defensive arsenal. And Fans of Linus will be delighted to get to know him a little better.Don't go into this book looking for another Burn For Me, you won't find it. What you will find is a smartly written story with heart and excitement and the beginnings of another great adventure. I, ME, the cranky never-met-a-NA-book-I-liked reader liked itAnd I really want to get my hands on the next one.I was given an ARC from netgalley. These are my honest thoughts. #sapphireflames#netgalley
    more
  • Suzanne (Under the Covers Book blog)
    January 1, 1970
    Catalina Baylor is the Head of House Baylor and a powerful Prime with unique and dangerous powers she’s always had to carefully keep in check. But, when her friend’s mother and sister are murdered, she seems to be the only one willing to take on the case. Apart from Alessandro Sagredo. Alessandro is every girl’s, including Catalina’s, teenage crush, but his careless playboy image is just a façade hiding a lethal and powerful man with motives that Catalina can’t fathom. However, even Alessandro a Catalina Baylor is the Head of House Baylor and a powerful Prime with unique and dangerous powers she’s always had to carefully keep in check. But, when her friend’s mother and sister are murdered, she seems to be the only one willing to take on the case. Apart from Alessandro Sagredo. Alessandro is every girl’s, including Catalina’s, teenage crush, but his careless playboy image is just a façade hiding a lethal and powerful man with motives that Catalina can’t fathom. However, even Alessandro and Catalina’s combined power don’t seem to be enough; they have uncovered something far more dangerous with repercussions that could impact not just her friends and family, but the whole world.When thinking about Sapphire Flames it took a prestigious effort to hold back from just squealing I love it I love it IloveitIloveit over and over again. And that was before I had even picked up the book. Now that I have read it my fangirling is impossible to contain. So, if you are after an objective and clear eyed review not written by a super fan of Ilona Andrews…walk on by. I came into reading Sapphire Flames already fully prepared to adore it, and adore it I did.Sapphire Flames is book 4 in the Hidden Legacy series. However, if you haven’t read this series before then you could start from here. It’s the start of a brand new plot line with a familiar character as our heroine. But, although you could start here. Don’t. To really fully appreciate the world and the characters you should read from book 1 Burn for Me.Sapphire Flames is the start of the second ‘phase’ of this series. In books 1-3 where Neveda – Catalina’s older sister- was the heroine, we had the story of a scrappy, smart heroine who was on the outside of power, but through sheer competence and her gigantic lady balls proved herself and her family as a power. No matter how reluctant that ascent to power was. Now in ‘phase 2′ of the series House Baylor has been established and are part of the magical elite…now they just have to stay that way. For that, we have Catalina, the Head of House Baylor who has the same razor sharp intelligence and insight as Nevada but with a better grasp of the House politics and how to navigate those treacherous waters.I loved this switch in perspectives it opens a whole new world to us readers that Andrews built magnificently as we get more involved in House politics. But, that didn’t mean that there was no action in this book. The world of the magical elite is a dangerous and violent place and this book was a fast paced and exciting read. But for me, what always draws me back to an Ilona Andrews book, apart from the great world building and interesting plot lines, is the characters.I loved the Baylor family in the first 3 books of this series they added warmth and humour as well as being interesting in their own right. I love the decision to switch from Neveda – whose story arc and development is essentially done – to Catalina. There is so much scope for character development for Catalina as she grows into her role as the Head of House Baylor and overcomes the obstacles that her powers can raise. There is also the introduction of Alessandro, our new Mad Rogan hero character, whose carefully curated persona as a playboy masks someone with lethal skills and secrets. Secrets I can’t wait to discover alongside Catalina.This has been my favourite read so far in 2019 and I don’t see that changing anytime soon. Once again Team Andrews has reached inside my head and my heart and served up exactly what I was hoping for. Bring on the next book!
    more
  • Beth
    January 1, 1970
    Sapphire Flames was a riveting, action packed, adventure that has joined my favorite shelf and be an often re-read.If you’ve been following the Hidden Legacy series, you know the Baylor family has decided to become an official “House” and now Catalina has taken the reigns as head of the house. Catalina is called upon to answer a debt owned by her family. During this act, she discovers that the person she is helping is someone who had protected her family in the past and she isn’t about to let th Sapphire Flames was a riveting, action packed, adventure that has joined my favorite shelf and be an often re-read.If you’ve been following the Hidden Legacy series, you know the Baylor family has decided to become an official “House” and now Catalina has taken the reigns as head of the house. Catalina is called upon to answer a debt owned by her family. During this act, she discovers that the person she is helping is someone who had protected her family in the past and she isn’t about to let them fall fodder to House warfare. Backed by her family, Catalina does what she does best, she starts to obtain information. Information that will put her and her entire family in the crosshairs once again. Information that brings her teen crush crashing into the situation. The only problem is finding out whether Alessandro Sagredo is friend or foe. Catalina knows for certain he’s so hot he makes her knees weak and he is VERY, VERY dangerous.I absolutely love the Hidden Legacy series. I would be THRILLED if the writing team of Ilona Andrews gave us novels for every member of the Baylor family so switching the focus from Nevada to Catalina just gave me more of what I love… amazing and relatable characters, fantastic humor, pulse intensifying action and chemistry you can’t wait to see play out!I mentioned re-read, FYI, I finished Sapphire Flames and then started from the beginning and already re-read the entire series again from the start because I just can’t get enough of the Baylor Family.Lets face it, if the writing team of Ilona Andrews writes it, I'm going to be reading it!I received an ARC copy of Sapphire Flames from HarperCollins-Avon. This is my honest and voluntary review. Sapphire Flames is set for publication August 27, 2019.My Rating: 5 stars Written by: Ilona AndrewsSeries: Hidden Legacy (Book 4)Mass Market Paperback: 400 pagesPublisher: Avon (August 27, 2019)Language: EnglishISBN-10: 0062878344ISBN-13: 978-0062878342
    more
  • Douglas Meeks
    January 1, 1970
    Sometimes it just seems so redundant to keep giving these 5 Star rating to Ilona Andrews, this was just another riveting, "can't-put-it-down" novel, add it to the string of 5 star + novels they write. there was no way I could go to sleep after starting this so at 2 AM I finally finished and it was worth every minute of lost sleep .This one about Catalina and to a a slightly smaller extent Alessandro was unbelievably entertaining and the things that happen that you don't expect plus the bits of h Sometimes it just seems so redundant to keep giving these 5 Star rating to Ilona Andrews, this was just another riveting, "can't-put-it-down" novel, add it to the string of 5 star + novels they write. there was no way I could go to sleep after starting this so at 2 AM I finally finished and it was worth every minute of lost sleep .This one about Catalina and to a a slightly smaller extent Alessandro was unbelievably entertaining and the things that happen that you don't expect plus the bits of humor thrown in at unexpected times just make these books exceptional.We have finished mainly with Nevada and Rogan but the family has to go on and while the main plot is taken care of (no cliffhangers) the romance part is definitely in the "WTF now?" category. I wonder where this series (trilogy?) is going to go now but the only thing I know for sure is that I will be there to grab a copy as soon as I can get my hot little hands on it, they are still in a class to themselves.Just so you understand, there is humor, action, evil, romance (sorta) and a lot of soul searching and surprisingly not a lot of political BS subtle or otherwise which seems to be the bane of many good authors. So once again, 5 Stars because that is all I can give.
    more
  • Steven
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to the authors for hosting a contest on their blog. I won this advanced reader copy through that contest, but am still providing an honest review.I wasn't sure how I was going to like this book, what with Nevada and Rogan's three book story shifting focus in this one to younger sister Catalina and the Italian stallion Alessandro. The novella in between, which was the first to star Catalina as the main POV, was decent, but not as good as the first three books. But let's be honest here, it' Thanks to the authors for hosting a contest on their blog. I won this advanced reader copy through that contest, but am still providing an honest review.I wasn't sure how I was going to like this book, what with Nevada and Rogan's three book story shifting focus in this one to younger sister Catalina and the Italian stallion Alessandro. The novella in between, which was the first to star Catalina as the main POV, was decent, but not as good as the first three books. But let's be honest here, it's Ilona, and we all know that everything Ilona writes is gold or close to it.They didn't disappoint. At all. This one was a thrill ride through a new world, or at a least a world that's different than Nevada's. Catalina is now head of House Baylor, she's out of the closet as a Prime Siren, and she's a few years older - three years have passed since the novella.The House is running smoothly, and Nevada and Rogan have gone on a trip to Europe (for Rogan family business), so Catalina is really given the opportunity to shine in this novel, without the "oh, let's depend on Nevada" mentality, for her and for the readers who are still adjusting to the POV shift. And I'm glad of that. Turns out, Catalina is just as interesting as Nevada. She's deep, has insecurities and strengths, and is pretty effin' badass. And Alessandro isn't just a pretty playboy either. All in all, we got a good case, deeper character views, and a whole lot of fun with magic powers and danger.5 out of 5 stars. Duh!
    more
  • Rossana Sasso
    January 1, 1970
    "I received an ARC"- what a simple sentence, dear reader, nothing more normal than an ARC, and yet...there's life before the incredible Authorlord God Emperors of the Universe blessed me and then there's life AFTER.I thought I knew this world. I knew the Baylors, there were CERTAINTIES that I had, built upon reading Hidden Legacy in literal excess of 100 times. Foolish girl, everything is relative until Ilona shows you the whole picture- if you do not know Ilona’s worldbuilding is a fractal, the "I received an ARC"- what a simple sentence, dear reader, nothing more normal than an ARC, and yet...there's life before the incredible Authorlord God Emperors of the Universe blessed me and then there's life AFTER.I thought I knew this world. I knew the Baylors, there were CERTAINTIES that I had, built upon reading Hidden Legacy in literal excess of 100 times. Foolish girl, everything is relative until Ilona shows you the whole picture- if you do not know Ilona’s worldbuilding is a fractal, there is no hope for you. Catalina quite literally floored me, as a character and as a real person, because make no mistake about it, she is real and raw and true and powerful. She's humbling. Her self awareness is so sharp that she can literally stand face to face with Truth and take whatever is demanded of her. I would rather face off against Nevada than Catalina and that should tell you a lot. Although she is much more like her sister than she realises when all is said and done. (yes, there's some Nevada scenes in there, stop holding your breath).And Alessandro. We've had a Dragon so far and I know how to deal with the Dragon. Stay out of his cave, mention you're a civilian, make some chocolate mousse. The Dragon doesn't play games and he doesn't tell jokes (just ask Peaches). But Alessandro is the Wolf in the forest. There are no rules (or straight answers) with the Wolf. Invisibly stalking you from the trails, playing like a puppy, killing like a dance, charming your family, making you build a ceremonial pile of your panties and set them on fir...ahem. Where was I?The supporting cast are all obviously there, a bit more supporting this time and proportionally more lovable- honourable mentions because otherwise we'll be here all day, I would die for Grandma Frida and Arabella is my whole entire heart. The plot is built like an arcane circle, with traps inside other traps, and bits that you can still draw on and others that will move you in when you least expect it. I know I went on about the powerhouse characters, but honestly there's an insane amount of action and suspence scenes. It's all perfectly timed to hit you emotionally at a certain moment, give you a reprieve, come mess with your feelings again, make you cry and release tension when you're about to tap out, come shake you again...like if a neurosurgeon planned a roller-coaster ride based on exact cerebral activity readings (my metaphors are out of control and you are welcome). Much like Burn for Me, when the dust settles over the Baylors at the end it's only really the beginning of something much bigger and impossibly better. Those aren't 5 stars you are seeing, but 5 SUNS.
    more
  • Nadia
    January 1, 1970
    It's not that I feel like this is a bad book, I found it to be entertaining actually. I mean I read it in a day. It's just, compared to all the books by IA that I've read previously, this one is lacking. I can't quite explain what it is, it's sort of a feeling of awe, of completely being immersed in the story and the characters, everything they say or do is just right, not predictable, but right. And it's that feeling that doesn't go away, even after rereading the book a couple of times.With Sap It's not that I feel like this is a bad book, I found it to be entertaining actually. I mean I read it in a day. It's just, compared to all the books by IA that I've read previously, this one is lacking. I can't quite explain what it is, it's sort of a feeling of awe, of completely being immersed in the story and the characters, everything they say or do is just right, not predictable, but right. And it's that feeling that doesn't go away, even after rereading the book a couple of times.With Sapphire Flames that just didn't happen.In all their books I've read so far, the heroine and her love interest had this sort of power balance. If not physically or in regards to their powers, at least mentally and emotionally they were equals. If there's anything I don't like, it's when the hero is this absolute parogon of everything and always has the last word, and meanwhile the heroine is there so that her wits are scrambled because the hero said her name. A thing that happened in this novel. That doesn't mean that I don't like Catalina. The opposite actually, she's smart, resourcefull and she cares deeply about people, and she's relatable. The Catalina that becomes a bumbling mess too many times because of something that Alessandro said or did is something I could've gone without. Banter is what IA are known for. And again, I found Sapphire Flames to be lacking. Speaking of Alessandro, boy is that a walking, breathing red flag or what. I'm definitely not into that stalkerish, spies you from the tree next to your window, appears in your bedroom randomly at night and refuses to leave or happens to be just where you are when you're out and about on business, thing. Or how about that good ol' creppy "you are too important" the first time you ever meet face to face, so to say. Even Catalina mentions that it's weird because they had met only twice for about fifteen minutes, and then it's glossed over. I mean, Mad Rogan for all his crazy paranoid and kidnapping tendencies, at least respected Nevada and her boundaries. With Alessandro, I'd be like run girl, except he's this super ultra perfect spy dude, that has zero flaws and appears from thin air, knows how to evade every kind of surveillance and doesn't answer any questions because he's sooooo mysterious, so you could never really run away. Although his conjuring power is kinda badass. Now that I think of it, he reminds of those action heroes from the '80s, the manliest man possible, that only really exists in those movies. I was never into Rambo. As other people have mentioned, it's just too YA/NA for my liking, but maybe we can expect some kind of character growth in the sequels. God, I hope so. Because while it was tolerable in one book, I can't take this for two more.
    more
  • Amanda
    January 1, 1970
    Hidden Legacy is my favorite series, and I've read the original trilogy many times, so I had high expectations for this book. It takes place about 3 years after the events of Diamond Fire, the novella that came out last year. (Not a must read, but would definitely recommend reading that one first.)Catalina, who was a secondary character in the first three books, really comes into her own here. She is the Head of Baylor House and their three-year grace period wherein other houses cannot attack th Hidden Legacy is my favorite series, and I've read the original trilogy many times, so I had high expectations for this book. It takes place about 3 years after the events of Diamond Fire, the novella that came out last year. (Not a must read, but would definitely recommend reading that one first.)Catalina, who was a secondary character in the first three books, really comes into her own here. She is the Head of Baylor House and their three-year grace period wherein other houses cannot attack them is up. Out of the blue, Catalina is asked to use her magic to talk a teenage boy off a ledge. (His sister is a character in DF, another reason I'd suggest reading it first.) She takes on a murder case with BIA. This is the basic plot, and while I think someone could probably follow along and not be totally lost--especially since this is a new character arc within the series--I highly, HIGHLY recommend reading the preceding books in this series first. There is SO MUCH world-building, so many fun references, etc. that you're missing out on if you jump right into this book.I absolutely love Catalina. She's not afraid to be vulnerable, even though she puts up a brave front for her family. Catalina is not a clone of Nevada. She has to learn how to be confident, how to be decisive, even when things are hard. And when Alessandro comes back into the picture... godddd, I'm in love with them!!! I love the continuing world-building in this book. If you thought you knew everything about how magic worked based on the first three books... think again! There is so much new magic here, or new aspects of things we already thought we knew. I feel like the authors' imaginations are limitless. The book is fast-paced, exciting, sometimes scary, sometimes romantic, and enormously entertaining. I absolutely cannot wait for the rest of this trilogy!(Note: I received a copy of this book from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.)
    more
Write a review