Defending Morgan (Mountain Mercenaries, #3)
Protection leads to passion in New York Times bestselling author Susan Stoker’s dangerously hot Mountain Mercenaries adventure.Dispatched to the Dominican Republic to rescue a kidnapped child, former Navy SEAL Archer “Arrow” Kane makes a startling discovery: another hostage—Morgan Byrd, a very beautiful and very well-known missing person who disappeared off the streets of Atlanta a year ago. She’s brave, resilient, and unbroken. All Arrow wants to know is why she ended up in a shack in Santo Domingo. All he feels is the desire to protect.Morgan is done being the victim and is determined to find out who hates her so much that they want her gone—but not dead. Until then, she has Arrow, an alpha stranger who’s offering a warm and safe place to hide. But as the passion between them flares, so does the fear that whoever took Morgan will do anything to get her back. For Arrow, protecting this woman with a mysterious enemy is the most dangerous mission of his life. And it’s worth every beat of his heart.

Defending Morgan (Mountain Mercenaries, #3) Details

TitleDefending Morgan (Mountain Mercenaries, #3)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMar 5th, 2019
PublisherMontlake Romance
Rating
GenreRomance, Suspense

Defending Morgan (Mountain Mercenaries, #3) Review

  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    ARC received for reviewArrow was amazing and perfect for newly rescued Morgan. This book was so realistic after the trauma and hardships that she went through. The kidnapper....OH MY....never saw that one coming. The rest of the team are just as amazing as always. Loved the teaser about Black's book, but I was hoping it was going to be Ball after...no spoilers here.
    more
  • Pamela Lilley
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 StarsSusan Stoker is a new author to me, and one I will definitely be reading again. Book 3 in this Mountain Mercenaries series can definitely be read as a standalone. Action packed from the first chapter, we see former Navy SEAL Archer ‘Arrow’ Kane up against kidnappers and lowlifes as he tries to protect Morgan Byrd whilst finding the best way to get her back to the United States from the Dominican Republic. If they manage to escape her captors they will have to try and work out who could 4.5 StarsSusan Stoker is a new author to me, and one I will definitely be reading again. Book 3 in this Mountain Mercenaries series can definitely be read as a standalone. Action packed from the first chapter, we see former Navy SEAL Archer ‘Arrow’ Kane up against kidnappers and lowlifes as he tries to protect Morgan Byrd whilst finding the best way to get her back to the United States from the Dominican Republic. If they manage to escape her captors they will have to try and work out who could be responsible for taking Morgan in the first place. Great writing, told in dual POV, a story full of suspense, a modern day whodunnit that keeps you guessing throughout. I loved all the characters, those Mountain Mercenaries really are a great example of sexy, alpha and compassionate. Morgan is practical and sweet with a hard exterior that Arrow slowly starts to break through, he is so patient. Morgan’s parents really are selfish and I was impressed with how the group didn’t let them take over Morgan’s life. With parents like hers it really is a miracle that she’s turned out to be so level headed. Highly enjoyable action romance that deals with some emotional issues. I look forward to reading more from Susan Stoker. I received an advanced copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley. This is my honest review.
    more
  • Meghan Lloyd
    January 1, 1970
    Susan Stoker has once again created a character that I swoon over and wish existed in my life! This story has so much depth to it, that you will probably not want to move on to another book for a while. It's that emotional. She touched on a lot of sensitive subjects, one being sexual assault, and the way it was handled was so well done. Probably the best of any book I have read with that material within it. There aren't any scenes where it happens, but it's discussed and the two main characters Susan Stoker has once again created a character that I swoon over and wish existed in my life! This story has so much depth to it, that you will probably not want to move on to another book for a while. It's that emotional. She touched on a lot of sensitive subjects, one being sexual assault, and the way it was handled was so well done. Probably the best of any book I have read with that material within it. There aren't any scenes where it happens, but it's discussed and the two main characters have to work through the aftermath. It felt very realistic, and you can tell Susan did her research.Archer "Arrow" Kane thought his mission was like any other - get in, rescue the kidnapped girl, and get her back to her family. He never expected that to find another victim alongside his target, protecting her with a fierceness that hid her own abuse and trauma at the hands of their captors. Morgan Byrd had been missing for a year, with no leads and no one even knowing she was still alive. When she is rescued by Arrow and his team, she sees him as her miracle. As they become closer and Morgan sees him as someone she can trust, she and Arrow work together to not only heal her physical and emotional wounds but also keep her safe from her kidnappers...and the one who sent them for her in the first place.Arrow and Morgan were really a strong couple from the very beginning. Morgan was no damsel in distress, and she made sure Arrow knew it. She relied on him when she needed to, but she also protected him when the situation called for it. They became a team, and Arrow never looked at Morgan as a liability, only a worthy partner. It's always interesting to see how authors handle romance when the hero or heroine has been sexually abused. And as I said above, Susan Stoker handled it with amazing accuracy and sensitivity. I loved how slow the relationship developed, in order to give Morgan time to heal, and Arrow was alongside her every step of the way. He never reacted selfishly to the situation and showed how truly generous and kind his soul was. Even as the story progressed and they both wanted to be intimate, Morgan set the pace, and I felt that was written really well. Yes, it's definitely a slow burn romance, but the emotions you get out of both of them are so much deeper than you would expect. It's very heartwarming to read.The book ended with a teaser about our next Mountain Mercenary, Black, getting his own romance, and I can't wait to read it! I liked him as soon as I read about him, and I'm sure his story is going to be amazing.**I received a free copy via NetGalley and this is my honest review.**
    more
  • Margie
    January 1, 1970
    Arrow Kane and two of his Mountain Mercenaries brothers are in the Dominican Republic to rescue a kidnapped five-year-old little girl. When he breaks into the dilapidated house where little Nina is being held he is shocked to find a woman with a crude knife bravely standing in front of Nina ready to protect her. Who is this woman and why is she here? Turns out she is famous missing person Morgan Byrd who disappeared in Atlanta a year ago. How fortunate for her that the Mountain Mercenaries are h Arrow Kane and two of his Mountain Mercenaries brothers are in the Dominican Republic to rescue a kidnapped five-year-old little girl. When he breaks into the dilapidated house where little Nina is being held he is shocked to find a woman with a crude knife bravely standing in front of Nina ready to protect her. Who is this woman and why is she here? Turns out she is famous missing person Morgan Byrd who disappeared in Atlanta a year ago. How fortunate for her that the Mountain Mercenaries are here and came to her rescue. When Arrow and Morgan must separate from the others they face much danger as the men holding Morgan are desperate to recapture her. Running and hiding together forms a special bond between Morgan and Arrow. Keeping Morgan safe is now Arrow's main goal. He has never felt so attracted to a woman before and wants to explore what the future might hold for them.Defending Morgan by Susan Stoker is the third book in her Mountain Mercenaries series. Getting to know each of these dedicated men is a real treat. Getting to know the women they fall in love with is also quite a treat. Susan Stoker has a special knack for depicting dedicated, honorable and brave heroes in her stories. Her ability to write super tough, super resilient and loving heroines is legendary. I know when I start to read a Susan Stoker romantic suspense story that I will be reading a realistic depiction of men and women who find the strength to survive harrowing events and come through strong people on the other end of the devastation. I totally enjoyed making the recovering journey with Morgan and seeing her through to her HEA. I loved that Arrow called Morgan "Beautiful" from the very beginning. Arrow deserved this beautiful soul and his HEA with her. Anyone looking for an engaging journey of guys and gals overcoming hardship and devastation and ending up with true love and happiness will most certainly enjoy reading this book.
    more
  • Sandy Kelly
    January 1, 1970
    This is book 3 in the Mountain Mercenaries series and I would absolutely read the first 2 before reading this one. Or at least the last one because the epilogue of that book leads into this one. This one is about Archer “Arrow” Kane and Morgan Byrd. Morgan, as we saw at the end of the last book, had been kidnapped and missing for over a year when Arrow and his team came across her. And he is bound and determined to get her home and safe no matter what. While doing that, he not only discovers tha This is book 3 in the Mountain Mercenaries series and I would absolutely read the first 2 before reading this one. Or at least the last one because the epilogue of that book leads into this one. This one is about Archer “Arrow” Kane and Morgan Byrd. Morgan, as we saw at the end of the last book, had been kidnapped and missing for over a year when Arrow and his team came across her. And he is bound and determined to get her home and safe no matter what. While doing that, he not only discovers that she is one of the strongest women he has ever met but that there might be more to her kidnapping that any of them originally thought.I absolutely loved this book! Morgan is definitely beyond strong! She has been through things that no woman should ever have to go through and when the situation becomes worse, she still manages to step up and try to protect a little girl. Throw in the circumstances of her kidnapping and the things that happen once she is home? And this woman has more fortitude in her little finger than most people have in their whole families!! Arrow definitely lives up to the creed for the team that he is a part of. And even knowing that he wants to protect someone beyond anything, he still manages to be the kind of man I like who can step back and let someone make the decisions that are best for them. Regardless of what his own personal feelings may be. I loved them both! Their characters and story suck you in from the start and it definitely made it so I couldn't put this book down until I finished it! I can't wait to see where the rest of the team's stories take us!
    more
  • Sandra
    January 1, 1970
    Another excellent book by Susan Stoker! Defending Morgan is book 3 in the Mountain Mercenaries series and I am enjoying this one the best so far. Even though this is part of a series, it can be read as a standalone.I am not sure if I am going to be able to express how much in awe I am of Morgan! She was kidnapped a year ago and to imagine the torture she endured is really indescribable. I am glad to say those moments were not detailed but with the snippets we were given, we can understand. Despi Another excellent book by Susan Stoker! Defending Morgan is book 3 in the Mountain Mercenaries series and I am enjoying this one the best so far. Even though this is part of a series, it can be read as a standalone.I am not sure if I am going to be able to express how much in awe I am of Morgan! She was kidnapped a year ago and to imagine the torture she endured is really indescribable. I am glad to say those moments were not detailed but with the snippets we were given, we can understand. Despite her ordeal, she is a fighter and protector. The way she protected Nina was awe-inspiring! And after she was rescued, how she held it together showed such strength, emotionally and physically. And Arrow was just plain awesome. I just loved how he was with Morgan, he was immediately drawn to her and her resilience. And as the days go by his feelings for her kept growing. He just understood her and knew exactly how to approach her. Then we get to the part where we find out truth of why and by whom she was kidnapped. Talk about a doozy of a tale!! I was on pins and needles throughout the story. Even though I had an inkling of who it was, I was still shocked!I loved everything about this book and can not wait for the next story.Thank you Netgalley and Montlake Publishing for the complimentary copy of Defending Morgan. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Avid Reader
    January 1, 1970
    Defending Morgan (Mountain Mercenaries #3) by Susan Stoker4 starsM/F Thriller, RomanceTriggers: Kidnapping, Hints at torture and rape, Attempted murderI was given this book for an honest review by Wicked Reads.Morgan has been missing for a year. She believes she'll die in the hands of people who love to be cruel towards her. Why has she been kept alive? That's the question. One thing for sure, she knows she'll die trying to protect the little girl. Arrow is hoping for an easy in and out extracti Defending Morgan (Mountain Mercenaries #3) by Susan Stoker4 starsM/F Thriller, RomanceTriggers: Kidnapping, Hints at torture and rape, Attempted murderI was given this book for an honest review by Wicked Reads.Morgan has been missing for a year. She believes she'll die in the hands of people who love to be cruel towards her. Why has she been kept alive? That's the question. One thing for sure, she knows she'll die trying to protect the little girl. Arrow is hoping for an easy in and out extraction for the small child they were tasked with finding. What he is not expecting is to come across Morgan. She impresses him right away with her resilient nature and willingness to defend the small child who is also being held captive. The connection that Morgan and Arrow make happens right away. There's really no reason why it happens. While both of them are running, trying to figure out the mystery behind Morgan's abduction, there is a lot of family drama that Morgan returns to.This book keeps you on your toes. There is a push pull relationship between Morgan and Arrow. I liked their relationship and how patient they both were with each other. The hint at what is coming next has me very excited. I can't wait for the next book.
    more
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    An ARC was provided via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.Another romantic suspense from Susan Stoker that is well executed. Arrow Kane, a former Navy SEAL, and his team go to the Dominican Republic to rescue a missing child. Their rescue mission is made all the more complicated with they find another missing person with the child. Morgan Byrd has been missing from Atlanta for more than a year. Morgan’s captors have not been kind. The book doesn’t go into a great amount of detail but it An ARC was provided via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.Another romantic suspense from Susan Stoker that is well executed. Arrow Kane, a former Navy SEAL, and his team go to the Dominican Republic to rescue a missing child. Their rescue mission is made all the more complicated with they find another missing person with the child. Morgan Byrd has been missing from Atlanta for more than a year. Morgan’s captors have not been kind. The book doesn’t go into a great amount of detail but it is clear that Morgan has been sexually assaulted by many men. If that kind of thing bothers you, you might have a hard time with this book. Morgan becomes attached to Arrow very quickly and he returns her feelings. That was the one part of the book that bothered me a little. I can understand them being attached to each other given the intensity of the rescue but it was a little too much too soon for me. I would have preferred a slow burn while Morgan is healing. The remainder of the book is Morgan and Arrow returning to the states and trying to figure out who was targeting Morgan in the first place.
    more
  • Dar
    January 1, 1970
    I loved the strength of both Morgan and Arrow in this book! Morgan had endured so much, buried some of it, but knew what she wanted and needed after her rescue. It took some convincing, but Arrow finally made her see that he didn’t think any less of her, pitied her, or wanted more than she could give. He saw her strength, and that amazed him from the beginning. Despite, or maybe because, of Morgan had been through, these two connected on a cerebral level, an emotional level, even though the phys I loved the strength of both Morgan and Arrow in this book! Morgan had endured so much, buried some of it, but knew what she wanted and needed after her rescue. It took some convincing, but Arrow finally made her see that he didn’t think any less of her, pitied her, or wanted more than she could give. He saw her strength, and that amazed him from the beginning. Despite, or maybe because, of Morgan had been through, these two connected on a cerebral level, an emotional level, even though the physical attraction was always there. Dealt with the utmost sensitivity, the brutality that had been Morgan’s life for the past year, isn’t overwhelming to the reader. The emotional impact is clear, the physicality cannot be pushed aside, but her actions and reactions, her strength, is always the center. Arrow is the hero she needs, whether getting her out of the life she was stuck in, or keeping her safe at home, or defending her from her monsters, he is always there, always letting her lead, and offering his support
    more
  • Karen Roma
    January 1, 1970
    4 1/2 Star Review.....Defending Morgan is the third book in Susan Stoker’s Mountain Mercenaries, but can easily be read as a standalone story if you haven’t read the first two books. As with all Ms Stoker’s alpha male stories, there is a bucket load of action, danger and over the top protectiveness going on, and Archer is caring, compassionate, and loyal to a fault….and let’s not forget sexy as all get out! But on a serious note, the author touches on the sensitive subject of sexual abuse (the i 4 1/2 Star Review.....Defending Morgan is the third book in Susan Stoker’s Mountain Mercenaries, but can easily be read as a standalone story if you haven’t read the first two books. As with all Ms Stoker’s alpha male stories, there is a bucket load of action, danger and over the top protectiveness going on, and Archer is caring, compassionate, and loyal to a fault….and let’s not forget sexy as all get out! But on a serious note, the author touches on the sensitive subject of sexual abuse (the incident is not described in detail) and manages to portray her characters with finesse and dignity, while they navigate the fallout from this devastating event. This is also a highly emotional story, not only because of what happened to Morgan, but due to the presence of her overbearing and opinionated parents, and their total lack of support for their most precious gift; their daughter. Ms Stoker has again pulled at the reader’s heartstrings, leaving us emotionally drained, but loving every moment. I can’t wait to read what comes next.
    more
  • Linda Rea
    January 1, 1970
    When Arrow and the Mountain Mercenaries go to Dominican Republic to save a kidnapped child they find a surprise...a woman, one who is well known due to the fact she disappeared without a trace a year ago. The guys and Arrow tread lightly to convince The child and woman to go with them by saying their names Nina and Morgan, who have been starved and abused but they have to get them back to the states before the kidnappers realize they are gone. Arrow is not convinced that the danger to Morgan so When Arrow and the Mountain Mercenaries go to Dominican Republic to save a kidnapped child they find a surprise...a woman, one who is well known due to the fact she disappeared without a trace a year ago. The guys and Arrow tread lightly to convince The child and woman to go with them by saying their names Nina and Morgan, who have been starved and abused but they have to get them back to the states before the kidnappers realize they are gone. Arrow is not convinced that the danger to Morgan so he keeps her close and as Morgan fights her demons Arrow fights his attraction to her as his respect for her grows. Strange things are happening to Arrow and his friends but they aren’t sure they are tied to Morgan and Morgan thinks she is the cause but Arrow convinces her to let them help her but Arrow may have taken on more than he can chew. Morgan is such a strong woman even if she is breaking inside and Arrow has the patience of a saint and I just loved the dynamics of their relationship.Reviewed on behalf of Once upon an Alpha
    more
  • Tracey
    January 1, 1970
    Another winner by this author! She certainly knows how to write strong, alpha men with hearts of gold that will defend and protect those they love while also exhibiting soft, swoon-worthy, sexy sides as well. This is Arrow and Morgan's story and it doesn't disappoint -- lots of action, mystery, drama, steam -- everything I've come to love and expect from her. This is the 3rd book in the Mountain Mercenaries series but can absolutely be read as a standalone -- although I would suggest reading the Another winner by this author! She certainly knows how to write strong, alpha men with hearts of gold that will defend and protect those they love while also exhibiting soft, swoon-worthy, sexy sides as well. This is Arrow and Morgan's story and it doesn't disappoint -- lots of action, mystery, drama, steam -- everything I've come to love and expect from her. This is the 3rd book in the Mountain Mercenaries series but can absolutely be read as a standalone -- although I would suggest reading them all because you can't go wrong and each one is just as good as the other -- I honestly can't pick a favorite. Arrow is such a patient, caring, sensitive hero! As with all the books in this series, there are some deep emotional issues that are dealt with in a very compassionate, understanding way. And I loved Morgan--she's another strong, willful, brave young woman that I admired and respected from the first page I read! Can't wait to read Black's story next. I voluntarily read and reviewed an ARC for NetGalley.
    more
  • Nikki Brooks
    January 1, 1970
    Arrow and the boys went to Santa Domingo to rescue a kidnapped 5yr old girl. They did not expect to find an abused female, who intended to protect the little one with her life! They recognised the female once she identified herself and now they have to adapt their plans to get off the island.Whilst Morgan never goes to in-depth with her hellish ordeal, the Mercenaries can read between the lines and Arrow especially is determined that nothing else will happen to his brave lady. Little Nina was a Arrow and the boys went to Santa Domingo to rescue a kidnapped 5yr old girl. They did not expect to find an abused female, who intended to protect the little one with her life! They recognised the female once she identified herself and now they have to adapt their plans to get off the island.Whilst Morgan never goes to in-depth with her hellish ordeal, the Mercenaries can read between the lines and Arrow especially is determined that nothing else will happen to his brave lady. Little Nina was a total trooper but she really sees Morgan as her friend and protector and they have a really tight bond which is explored more during the book. Arrow and Morgan are more of a slow burner in the romance, partly due to the abuse that Morgan suffered. But Arrow is in for the long haul, whether Morgan is willing to accept it yet or not! He doesn't care if it takes years but he is determined to have a relationship with her! As usual, there were a couple of Aha moments that turned into WTF moments! I had an inkling at who was involved but didn't realise the depth of the insanity!
    more
  • Stacy Jordet
    January 1, 1970
    Morgan has to be one of the strongest and most resilient individuals I have read about in awhile. This woman has been through hell but she is still fighting and will keep on fighting. While it doesn't hurt to have a big strong Navy Seal by your side, this woman is is going to do it her own way and I have nothing but complete admiration for her. To read about this woman who has been hurt and abused, willing to stand up and protect the little girl made me instantly respect her. I wasn't the only o Morgan has to be one of the strongest and most resilient individuals I have read about in awhile. This woman has been through hell but she is still fighting and will keep on fighting. While it doesn't hurt to have a big strong Navy Seal by your side, this woman is is going to do it her own way and I have nothing but complete admiration for her. To read about this woman who has been hurt and abused, willing to stand up and protect the little girl made me instantly respect her. I wasn't the only one. Arrow liked this side of her also.Arrow is all man. He is a hardened Seal, he has seen things and done things that would make most of us squirm, however when he is dealing with Morgan, he is gentle. He is trained on reading people and this skill comes in very handy while getting Morgan out of danger, dealing with a press conference, of dealing with his friends and their questions. Morgan is someone who is going to talk to therapists and work through everything with Arrow by her side because this woman isn't willing to quit and let the bad guys win.
    more
  • Marybeth
    January 1, 1970
    Another incredible story in this series! Such a well written and amazing plot with a twist I did not see coming! As always Susan gives us a totally swoony hero who is as strong as he is tender. Who has a protective streak a mile wide and an abundance of sweetness! Pair him with a kick ass super strong heroine like Morgan who has been through absolute hell yet she is still standing and you have an emotional journey well worth taking. Archer "Arrow" Kane is the perfect man for Morgan. When he and Another incredible story in this series! Such a well written and amazing plot with a twist I did not see coming! As always Susan gives us a totally swoony hero who is as strong as he is tender. Who has a protective streak a mile wide and an abundance of sweetness! Pair him with a kick ass super strong heroine like Morgan who has been through absolute hell yet she is still standing and you have an emotional journey well worth taking. Archer "Arrow" Kane is the perfect man for Morgan. When he and the other Mountain Mercenaries rescue her, he is positively bowled over by her strength and resilience and obvious will to live. As he gets to know her there is simply no way he is ever letting her go. Morgan has been through a year of brutal captivity in which a plethora of unspeakable things were done to her. She wants to work through it all and move on with her life but there is so much there to work through. Can these two people who are perfect for each other work through the past enough to have a future? Go ahead and read it and find out!
    more
  • Maria
    January 1, 1970
    This was an excellent story. The hero was a very strong alpha male who sizzled the pages. The heroine herself was just as strong in dealing throughout her nightmare. This story has a wonderful plot which engages the readers interest to continue to turn pages. For me that was a plus, along with the fact that previous heroes from the other books in the series were present along with their heroines. This truly keeps the reader interested in the series.The only negative I found was in two places. Th This was an excellent story. The hero was a very strong alpha male who sizzled the pages. The heroine herself was just as strong in dealing throughout her nightmare. This story has a wonderful plot which engages the readers interest to continue to turn pages. For me that was a plus, along with the fact that previous heroes from the other books in the series were present along with their heroines. This truly keeps the reader interested in the series.The only negative I found was in two places. The first being towards the end where we do not witness her father's reaction to the outcome. Which in my opinion should be in the book because it was such a big part of what occurred to Morgan. The second is in the epilogue. There are two full paragraphs that are repeated almost back to back. They are verbatim. This needs to be fixed before publication.I look forward to the other stories in this series because so far this author has a hit on her hand with the series.
    more
  • Cathy
    January 1, 1970
    DEFENDING MORGAN by Susan Stoker. To say I loved this book is a bit of an understatement. Morgan and Arrow are one of the best couples I've read about - they just clicked. Arrow rescues Morgan and helps her get back on her feet. Morgan struggles to return to her normal, all the while danger lurks. I liked Morgan, despite being traumatized, she is still strong yet recognizes when she might need some help. Arrow is strong and sexy and so patient and understanding when it comes to Morgan that my he DEFENDING MORGAN by Susan Stoker. To say I loved this book is a bit of an understatement. Morgan and Arrow are one of the best couples I've read about - they just clicked. Arrow rescues Morgan and helps her get back on her feet. Morgan struggles to return to her normal, all the while danger lurks. I liked Morgan, despite being traumatized, she is still strong yet recognizes when she might need some help. Arrow is strong and sexy and so patient and understanding when it comes to Morgan that my heart melted. As for the story. it is one of adventure, danger and mystery - my cup of tea. Ms. Stoker keeps the reader on their toes while trying to figure out who the bad guy is. If you haven't had a chance to read any books from this series, Mountain Mercenaries, I highly recommend, not just this one, but all in the series. (Note - can be read as a standalone) (received ARC for honest review)
    more
  • Whispers From
    January 1, 1970
    Archer is part of the Mountain Mercenaries and is sent to rescue a little girl kidnapped by her father. They didn’t expect to find a woman who’d been missing for a year. Morgan has been taken from a parking garage after going to a club with friends. They get them both back to the states and Morgan stays with Archer for awhile. He falls for her and is willing to do anything for her to feel safe. They haven’t found out who kidnapped her but they aren’t giving up until they do. Morgan has feelings Archer is part of the Mountain Mercenaries and is sent to rescue a little girl kidnapped by her father. They didn’t expect to find a woman who’d been missing for a year. Morgan has been taken from a parking garage after going to a club with friends. They get them both back to the states and Morgan stays with Archer for awhile. He falls for her and is willing to do anything for her to feel safe. They haven’t found out who kidnapped her but they aren’t giving up until they do. Morgan has feelings for Archer but is not sure if she’ll ever be able to have a physical relationship with him. Archer doesn’t care as long as she’s with him.Great story with a strong, beautiful woman and a handsome ex Marine. Very suspenseful with action and emotional angst. Total shocker that will have you on the edge of your seat.* Voluntarily read and reviewed this for NetGalley *
    more
  • Tarrah Marie
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to #NetGalley and #Montlakeromance for this ARCThis narrative may contain triggers for sensitive readers as it does revolve around the subject matter of sexual assault. This is the third book in the Mountain Mercenaries series and can be read as a stand-alone. Stoker, not only, provides adequate background information to familiarize the reader with recurring characters but dangles enough cursory information to entice perusal of previous works. While the premise of this novel was intere Thank you to #NetGalley and #Montlakeromance for this ARCThis narrative may contain triggers for sensitive readers as it does revolve around the subject matter of sexual assault. This is the third book in the Mountain Mercenaries series and can be read as a stand-alone. Stoker, not only, provides adequate background information to familiarize the reader with recurring characters but dangles enough cursory information to entice perusal of previous works. While the premise of this novel was interesting and held potential for a pivotal storyline, the culmination of a recognizable plot and underdeveloped characters gave the writing a novice feel. Rather than getting submerged into character experiences, the reader was brought to the cusp and simply let go. Avid readers of romantic suspense may feel slighted for that lack of deep emotional connection and a faster paced plot. Softer edged novel for this genre, okay read. 2 stars
    more
  • Pelusa Rivera
    January 1, 1970
    This is the third book with the Mountain Mercenaries who are loyal, loving awesome protectors. This is Arrow's story and his love interest Morgan. Arrow and the guys go to the Dominic Republic to retrieve a little girl who was abducted by her dad to keep away from her mother. While there they end up saving Morgan who was kidnapped a year ago and her story was heartbreaking. Arrow immediately felt drawn to her and her to him even though with everything that she has been thru it would have been no This is the third book with the Mountain Mercenaries who are loyal, loving awesome protectors. This is Arrow's story and his love interest Morgan. Arrow and the guys go to the Dominic Republic to retrieve a little girl who was abducted by her dad to keep away from her mother. While there they end up saving Morgan who was kidnapped a year ago and her story was heartbreaking. Arrow immediately felt drawn to her and her to him even though with everything that she has been thru it would have been normal for her not to trust men but she felt safe with him. She is finally free and scared because she does not know who she can trust and unfortunately for her it ends up being someone we would never have expected...Grab a copy and Enjoy!Rcvd an ARC at no cost to author..(netgalley) Voluntarily reviewed with my own thoughts and opinions.
    more
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    This series just keeps getting better and better, which is no small feat since I've enjoyed every story so far!! Even though this is Book 3 in the Mountain Mercenaries series, I think it would stand just fine on its own. While the past characters do continue to appear throughout, not knowing their backstories shouldn't cause issues with this book. Although they are really are good!!This story starts off with a bang with Arrow on a mission to locate a young girl taken by her father only to stumbl This series just keeps getting better and better, which is no small feat since I've enjoyed every story so far!! Even though this is Book 3 in the Mountain Mercenaries series, I think it would stand just fine on its own. While the past characters do continue to appear throughout, not knowing their backstories shouldn't cause issues with this book. Although they are really are good!!This story starts off with a bang with Arrow on a mission to locate a young girl taken by her father only to stumble upon Morgan who was kidnapped a year ago. He certainly can't leave her behind but rescuing her certainly does present some challenges. Rescuing Morgan is only the beginning. Arrow has to help her overcome everything she has been through and keep her safe while they track down the bad guys. Jam-packed right from the start, this story drew me in and I struggled to put it down. Sleep is overrated anyway...right?
    more
  • Kathy
    January 1, 1970
    Morgan Byrd disappeared over a year with no trace to her whereabouts. When Arrow Kane finds Morgan while rescuing a young girl, he takes Morgan with them, barely escaping the Dominican Republic and her captors. After hearing her story he and the others in the Mountain Mercenaries are determined to find out who kidnapped Morgan and why. Arrow can barely let Morgan out of his sights and with the two battling parents of hers, she is more than happy to be with Arrow. With things heating up with the Morgan Byrd disappeared over a year with no trace to her whereabouts. When Arrow Kane finds Morgan while rescuing a young girl, he takes Morgan with them, barely escaping the Dominican Republic and her captors. After hearing her story he and the others in the Mountain Mercenaries are determined to find out who kidnapped Morgan and why. Arrow can barely let Morgan out of his sights and with the two battling parents of hers, she is more than happy to be with Arrow. With things heating up with the two, will they come out alive or is her kidnapper closer than they thought.Love this series and while you can read it as a standalone, you will want to go back and catch up on the Mountain Mercenaries.
    more
  • Jessica
    January 1, 1970
    Well, she did it again!I really enjoyed book 3 in this wonderful series! (Can be read on its own, but then you miss out on what happened before this point.)Morgan was kidnapped, abused and kept for a over a year when Arrow and his teammates come across her while rescuing a young girl. Arrow recognized her and helped her escape her captures. Arrow and Morgan have an instant connection. Stronger then anything he has ever felt with any woman in general. He know she is it for him. But first, he must Well, she did it again!I really enjoyed book 3 in this wonderful series! (Can be read on its own, but then you miss out on what happened before this point.)Morgan was kidnapped, abused and kept for a over a year when Arrow and his teammates come across her while rescuing a young girl. Arrow recognized her and helped her escape her captures. Arrow and Morgan have an instant connection. Stronger then anything he has ever felt with any woman in general. He know she is it for him. But first, he must help her be set free. If all she wants is friendship, then he will take it. He wants her happy. No matter what, he will always protect her.Seriously - this one is worth a read! I loved it!
    more
  • Dione
    January 1, 1970
    Susan Stoker can write mercenary stories that are riveting. I have loved her writing style for a long time and have never found a reason to stop. This story is about the Mountain Mercenaries located in Colorado. It's the third in the series. I loved the relationship development between former Navy SEAL Arrow and Morgan (the survivor). I was a little taken aback at the quick physical relationship that began with them considering how she spent her last year of life. It did not detract from the sto Susan Stoker can write mercenary stories that are riveting. I have loved her writing style for a long time and have never found a reason to stop. This story is about the Mountain Mercenaries located in Colorado. It's the third in the series. I loved the relationship development between former Navy SEAL Arrow and Morgan (the survivor). I was a little taken aback at the quick physical relationship that began with them considering how she spent her last year of life. It did not detract from the story for me, but I did give it some thought.It you want another Susan Stoker winner, pick up a copy of this book!
    more
  • Sheryl
    January 1, 1970
    Susan Stoker never fails!! this book was amazing! Arrow and Morgan were a great couple. The way the lean on each other and the strength Morgan gets from arrow is heartwarming. This book is like some of the other ones in where there is kidnapping elements but what I love with any stoker book is that it has great development with its heroines and how strong they are. Morgan goes through some really crazy stuff, but she finds her way with the help of arrow and his crew. The big twist.. ITS A BIG TW Susan Stoker never fails!! this book was amazing! Arrow and Morgan were a great couple. The way the lean on each other and the strength Morgan gets from arrow is heartwarming. This book is like some of the other ones in where there is kidnapping elements but what I love with any stoker book is that it has great development with its heroines and how strong they are. Morgan goes through some really crazy stuff, but she finds her way with the help of arrow and his crew. The big twist.. ITS A BIG TWIST. I don't think i say it coming. I was always suspecting someone else. If I could I would give this book 10 stars!
    more
  • Robin
    January 1, 1970
    Morgan's story is darker than the previous two books in that she's been in a bad situation with no hope of escape when our heroes find her. This book is also more of a who done it than the first two (where they had a narrow group of suspects). Ms. Stoker handles these points with sensitivity in the former and a deft hand in the later making for a great book. If you like your romantic suspense a bit grittier this series is a must read on my list. Enjoy!
    more
  • Amy
    January 1, 1970
    I received this book from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review.Good story. Stayed up too late to read it. Very realistic knowledge of how Morgan would be feeling after her abduction. As usual, the story was very insta-lovey and my cynical self had a hard time believing any man would be as patient as Arrow, but I loved it and can't wait for the next one. And the villain was a COMPLETE surprise!
    more
  • Lea Meyer
    January 1, 1970
    My favorite of the series so far. I've been excited to read it since the end of the second book where we meet Morgan for the first time. There weren't many graphic details of Morgan's story revealed and I thought her recovery was realistic and to be expected. There was a really good mystery in this one, so it was a page turner. I had my suspicions but wasn't positive who was responsible until it was revealed. Can't wait to read the next one.
    more
  • Charlene
    January 1, 1970
    Wow. By far the most emotional book I have read in awhile. Morgan is so strong, much stronger than she realizes. To go though what she did, and come out on the other side, props to her. Arrow was all man. So understanding and protective. I enjoyed how you got to use your imagination to figure out all of what was done to Morgan, nothing was too graphically spelled out. The TWIST. Double wow. Really enjoying these Mountain Mercenaries. Bring on Black. #NetGalley #DefendingMorgan #bestbooksofar
    more
  • The Romance Book Disciple (Samantha)
    January 1, 1970
    Deals with some very heavy issues (trigger warning for sure) but I thought Stoker handled it in a realistic manner. I struggled with one of her earlier books that had a heroine go through something similar to Morgan. She jumped right into bed with her savior. While I think everyone handles trauma differently, the approach Stoker took with Morgan felt more believable to me.
    more
Write a review