I Owe You One
From #1 New York Times bestselling author Sophie Kinsella, an irresistible story of love and empowerment about a young woman with a complicated family, a handsome man who might be “the one,” and an IOU that changes everythingFixie Farr has always lived by her father’s motto: “Family first.” But since her dad passed away, leaving his charming housewares store in the hands of his wife and children, Fixie spends all her time picking up the slack from her siblings instead of striking out on her own. The way Fixie sees it, if she doesn’t take care of her father’s legacy, who will? It’s simply not in her nature to say no to people.So when a handsome stranger in a coffee shop asks her to watch his laptop for a moment, Fixie not only agrees—she ends up saving it from certain disaster. Turns out the computer’s owner is an investment manager. To thank Fixie for her quick thinking, Sebastian scribbles an IOU on a coffee sleeve and attaches his business card. But Fixie laughs it off—she’d never actually claim an IOU from a stranger. Would she?Then Fixie’s childhood crush, Ryan, comes back into her life and his lack of a profession pushes all of Fixie’s buttons. She wants nothing for herself—but she’d love Seb to give Ryan a job. And Seb agrees, until the tables are turned once more and a new series of IOUs between Seb and Fixie—from small favors to life-changing moments—ensues. Soon Fixie, Ms. Fixit for everyone else, is torn between her family and the life she really wants. Does she have the courage to take a stand? Will she finally grab the life, and love, she really wants?

I Owe You One Details

TitleI Owe You One
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseFeb 5th, 2019
PublisherDial Press
Rating
GenreWomens Fiction, Chick Lit, Romance, Fiction, Contemporary, Adult

I Owe You One Review

  • Meredith
    January 1, 1970
    *Sigh*This review is difficult to write. I adore Sophie Kinsella’s books for many reasons. Unfortunately, I found I Owe You One to be a letdown. I had an issue with the characters, the plot, and the romance. I started off reading with an eye roll with the introduction of Fixie and her cliched nickname. Right away, I knew something was off. I would have appreciated something a little bit more clever and nuanced than a character who is defined by a stupid nickname. Fixie’s character annoyed me i *Sigh*This review is difficult to write. I adore Sophie Kinsella’s books for many reasons. Unfortunately, I found I Owe You One to be a letdown. I had an issue with the characters, the plot, and the romance. I started off reading with an eye roll with the introduction of Fixie and her cliched nickname. Right away, I knew something was off. I would have appreciated something a little bit more clever and nuanced than a character who is defined by a stupid nickname. Fixie’s character annoyed me in the beginning, but she did grow on me. She does go through the typical Kinsella transformation and develop somewhat. The side characters are uneven and encompass one cliche after another. Then there is the plot. It’s just one giant mess. The romance: Fixie’s relationship with Seb was bizarre, to say the least. One minute he’s dating someone else, then he is dating Fixie, then they break up and he is back to the old girlfriend, and then he is back with Fixie--just like that. There was very little tension and depth to their relationship, leaving much to be desired. There are some bright moments that shine through and reminded me of classic Kinsella. However, these moments were not enough to save I Owe You One. I received an ARC of this book from NetGalley and Random House Publishing Group in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Kaceey - Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    3.75*If there is one word to sum this book up with, it would be...“cute”! Fixie matches her name perfectly. She has an intense drive to always fix something if she feels it’s out of place. An itch that unless scratched will dive her crazy. Sometimes this obsession will get her in way over her head.Sitting in a coffee shop she saves a strangers lap-top from a sudden rush of water seeping from a collapsed ceiling. Which introduces Fixie to the lap-tops’ owner, Sebastian. He’s so grateful he immedi 3.75*If there is one word to sum this book up with, it would be...“cute”! Fixie matches her name perfectly. She has an intense drive to always fix something if she feels it’s out of place. An itch that unless scratched will dive her crazy. Sometimes this obsession will get her in way over her head.Sitting in a coffee shop she saves a strangers lap-top from a sudden rush of water seeping from a collapsed ceiling. Which introduces Fixie to the lap-tops’ owner, Sebastian. He’s so grateful he immediately writes an IOU on her coffee sleeve. Fixie never really considered cashing in the IOU, but when an old crush, Ryan comes waltzing into town desperate for a job...Fixie wants to help. It’s what she does. It’s who she is. She immediately seeks out Sebastian to cash in her IOU for Ryan.Do you believe in fate?It was sweet, it was cute and oh so endearing! While it was somewhat predictable, that was ok! I mean most rom-coms are! That’s why we love them! As the story-line unfolded I grew to love Fixie and all her quirks! This was my first ever read of Sophie Kinsella and I am a new fan! I will definitely be watching for her next release!A fun buddy read with Susanne! Thank you to NetGalley, Random House Publishing House and Sophie Kinsella for an ARC to read and review.
    more
  • Katie B
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsI've read most of Sophie Kinsella's novels (even some that she wrote under the name Madeleine Wickham) and this one ranks right near the top. It really seemed to showcase all the things I have previously loved in her books but yet also didn't feel something I have read countless times before. The main character clicked with me and I enjoyed her interactions with her family and love interest.Fixie Farr has always tried to follow her late father's wishes with putting family first. But why 4.5 starsI've read most of Sophie Kinsella's novels (even some that she wrote under the name Madeleine Wickham) and this one ranks right near the top. It really seemed to showcase all the things I have previously loved in her books but yet also didn't feel something I have read countless times before. The main character clicked with me and I enjoyed her interactions with her family and love interest.Fixie Farr has always tried to follow her late father's wishes with putting family first. But why should she always be the one pulling up the slack at the family's housewares store when her brother and sister get to do whatever the hell they want? The problem with Fixie is she just can't say the word "no" and everyone likes to take advantage of that fact. While in a coffee shop, Fixie manages to save the day and a handsome stranger thanks her by giving her an IOU on a coffee sleeve. She brushes it off as a joke, but the more she gets thinking the more she actually considers taking the man up on his offer. He might be able to provide a solution to her problems and get people to stop coming to her because she is "Ms. Fixit". It was pretty easy to relate to Fixie because most of us have felt like our kindness was being taking advantage of at one point or another. So right off the bat she was an easy person to root for and someone you wanted to be happy. Sometimes with the author's books I feel like the stories and characters can be a little over the top but this one seemed toned down in that respect. It had a little bit of quirkiness but in a fun way and in no way did it hurt the story. While Fixie growing as a person is certainly a key part of the story, the romance is really what kept me reading. I thought Fixie and her love interest had good chemistry and I liked seeing the ups and downs of their relationship.Overall, another fun read by Sophie Kinsella! If you have loved her other books, I highly recommend checking this one out.Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for providing me with a free advance digital copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Theresa Alan
    January 1, 1970
    I’ve read enough books by Sophie Kinsella to know that the main character, whose nickname is Fixie because she’s always trying to fix other people and situations, will eventually have character growth. In Fixie's case, she lets her family and a man she’s been crushed out over since she was ten years old walk all over her. Even though I had faith she’d grow a backbone at some point, it was still hard to read all the ways she’s refuses to see things clearly or speak up for herself. One of the thin I’ve read enough books by Sophie Kinsella to know that the main character, whose nickname is Fixie because she’s always trying to fix other people and situations, will eventually have character growth. In Fixie's case, she lets her family and a man she’s been crushed out over since she was ten years old walk all over her. Even though I had faith she’d grow a backbone at some point, it was still hard to read all the ways she’s refuses to see things clearly or speak up for herself. One of the things Fixie does is rescue a fellow coffee shop patron’s laptop when the ceiling caves in from water damage. Sebastian writes on a coffee sleeve “I owe you one.” The ways the two pay each other back is a big part of this novel, as is the way her relationship with her older brother and sister and the family business play out.As with other Kinsella novels, this is an easy, fun read. Thanks to NetGalley and Dial Press for the opportunity to review this novel, which RELEASES FEBRUARY 19, 2109. For more reviews, please visit http://www.theresaalan.net/blog
    more
  • Chelsea Humphrey
    January 1, 1970
    All of the snow we've been hit with recently has given me the opportunity to read like a mad woman, so I've been flying through my NetGalley backlist in hopes of keeping up with my arc schedule. I'm not sure if reading The Lost Man by Jane Harper has put me in a slump, but I've been finding it difficult to get into a new book and enjoy it from beginning to end. Perhaps it's my growing sense of noticing the little things I was previously able to overlook, or maybe it's just the fact that I'm need All of the snow we've been hit with recently has given me the opportunity to read like a mad woman, so I've been flying through my NetGalley backlist in hopes of keeping up with my arc schedule. I'm not sure if reading The Lost Man by Jane Harper has put me in a slump, but I've been finding it difficult to get into a new book and enjoy it from beginning to end. Perhaps it's my growing sense of noticing the little things I was previously able to overlook, or maybe it's just the fact that I'm needing to space out my ARCs with some older reads, but I thought for sure this one would be a hit as it's been ages since I've picked up anything romantic or humorous. I struggled to connect with Fixie and found it difficult to root for a woman who lets everyone walk all over her. This one wasn't for me, but I'm still a huge fan of Kinsella's and will give her next book a try. *Many thanks to the publisher for providing my copy for review.
    more
  • Berit☀️✨
    January 1, 1970
    A fun escapist read full of whimsy and charm! This book was quintessential Sophie Kinsella! Full of fun flawed realistic characters, wity dialogue, and loads of humor... I can always count on a Kinsella book to take me away for a few fun hours, make me feel good and induce me into laughter until tears are coming down my face, and this book was no exception... sophie’s books never take themselves too seriously and are full of many laugh out loud moments... warning: don’t pick this up unless you h A fun escapist read full of whimsy and charm! This book was quintessential Sophie Kinsella! Full of fun flawed realistic characters, wity dialogue, and loads of humor... I can always count on a Kinsella book to take me away for a few fun hours, make me feel good and induce me into laughter until tears are coming down my face, and this book was no exception... sophie’s books never take themselves too seriously and are full of many laugh out loud moments... warning: don’t pick this up unless you have your sense of humor intact, don’t read while drinking, especially a carbonated drink, and don’t read around other people, unless you’re OK with them looking at you strangely because you’re laughing at what appears to be nothing....Fixie was a kind caring sweet girl who really needed to find her backbone... I really liked her and I think she would make an amazing friend, but the girl sure did frustrate me! Fixie is a people pleaser she wants to make sure everyone around her is happy... her friends, her family, her coworkers, and of course the men in her life.... One day Fixie was at a local coffee shop when a man asks her to watch his laptop when he steps out to take a phone call... the ceiling starts to cave in, Fixie throws herself on top of the laptop and saves the day... The man who’s named Sebastian and of course is handsome issues her an IOU to repay her for saving his laptop and livelihood... Fixie is pretty sure she will never use it, that is until her lifetime crush Ryan enters the picture like a wounded puppy... what ensues is Fixie being walked all over by Ryan and her siblings, add in the stress of trying to keep the family business afloat while her mom is out of town... thank goodness Fixie has some good friends in her life who eventually help her see the light and get a back bone... as in all SK books there was some major much-needed character growth in the story, and that extended to most of the secondary characters as well....The romance in the story was sweet but slightly confusing... Sebastian who I really liked was a little all over the place when it came to relationships, it was something that confounded me and I had trouble wrapping my head around... I felt there was real chemistry and respect between Fixie and Seb, so I cannot understand why a certain bimbo (whose name I cannot remember) was around for as long as she was, really kind of threw a wrench into it for me... having said that though I thought this book wrapped up perfectly and that final chapter was book perfection!A perfect romcom with wonderful characters and plenty of humor! Absolutely recommend! 🎵🎵🎵 Song Running Through My Head A-E-A-E-I-O-U-U I sometimes cryA-E-A-E-I-O-U-U I sometimes cryYou tell me that you love me every dayWhen we're alone I really feel in loveBut when you're out with friends I see a changeYou treat me bad, I feel like second bestI want your love (I want your love)Give me your love, girl (give me your love)That's how I feel, I want it to be realI want your love (I want your love)Give me your love, girl (give me your love)I need your touch and I, I owe you so muchA-E-A-E-I-O-U-U I sometimes cry(Oh) A-E (I really care) A-E-I (I really care) O-U-U(I really care, care, care) I sometimes lieDo you realize some things you sayI know you do, it makes me so confusedI'm sure this ain't the way that love should beLet's get… https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=h1MDlJM...*** many thanks to Random House for my copy of this book ***
    more
  • Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader
    January 1, 1970
    Sophie Kinsella is like book comfort food for me.In my early twenties, I read every book as it came out, and I can remember where and when I read them. They are fun and funny and always have lovable characters you come to know as friends. In recent years, Kinsella has added an emotional edge to her stories crossing over more into domestic fiction than rom com, and I’ve enjoyed that adventure, too. So where did I Owe You One measure up? Fixie is the main character, and her motto is “family first. Sophie Kinsella is like book comfort food for me.In my early twenties, I read every book as it came out, and I can remember where and when I read them. They are fun and funny and always have lovable characters you come to know as friends. In recent years, Kinsella has added an emotional edge to her stories crossing over more into domestic fiction than rom com, and I’ve enjoyed that adventure, too. So where did I Owe You One measure up? Fixie is the main character, and her motto is “family first.” Her father owned a housewares store, but he has passed away and left the store to Fixie’s mom and her siblings. And Fixie is the one left holding the bag all the time, being the most responsible and making sure the business stays afloat. Fixie is asked to watch a stranger’s laptop in a coffee shop, and she saves it from being destroyed… The owner of the computer is an investment manager, Sebastian, and he’s in her debt for saving his laptop, so he gives Fixie an IOU. Ryan, Fixie’s childhood boyfriend, comes back into her life, but he’s jobless, so she puts that IOU to work, hoping that Seb will hire Ryan. But things unfold and snowball, and Fixie is at a crossroads. Will she take on life on her own terms, finally?I found Fixie a trademark Kinsella main character. Zany, cute, warm, endearing, and I loved her, flaws and all! The romance was fun, and I loved laughing while I read. Overall, I would say I Owe You One landed more in rom com land than domestic fiction, and I am totally ok with that. I felt like I had my classic Kinsella back! Thanks to the publisher for the complimentary copy. All opinions are my own. My reviews can also be found on my blog: www.jennifertarheelreader.com
    more
  • Kendall
    January 1, 1970
    I have been wary of trying this author because I've heard mixed reviews on all of her books. I decided to take a chance on this new novel and it didn't turn out the way I hoped.Where do I start with this novel? This really was a bit of a mess. Should I begin with Fixie's character? Wow... talk about annoying, having men walk all over her, and making ridiculous decisions because she's so blinded with wanting a man that badly? Fixie is a character that tries to "fix" everyone but yet she is such a I have been wary of trying this author because I've heard mixed reviews on all of her books. I decided to take a chance on this new novel and it didn't turn out the way I hoped.Where do I start with this novel? This really was a bit of a mess. Should I begin with Fixie's character? Wow... talk about annoying, having men walk all over her, and making ridiculous decisions because she's so blinded with wanting a man that badly? Fixie is a character that tries to "fix" everyone but yet she is such a giant hot mess that the entire novel she let's people walk ALL over her. Fixie is presented with a situation of trying to save the family business.. .but can she do it instead of focusing on fixing everyone else? All of the characters in this novel were SO beyond basic. Can I talk about how much of a douche bag Ryan was? Seb? Ok... seriously I felt like the conversations were robotic between Fixie and Seb. The author tried to add a romantic aspect between Seb and Fixie... What was that? YIKES. The downfall of this book was characters. So surface level and there was zero feeling to any of the characters. I was beyond disappointed in this book. This book definitely wasn't for me.2 stars for me on this one.Huge thank you to Random House Publishing and Netgalley for the arc in exchange for my honest review.Publication date: 2/5/19Published to GR: 12/2/18
    more
  • Carrie
    January 1, 1970
    I am a newer fan to Sophie Kinsella's work but having loved all of the books I've had the chance to read so far I was really looking forward to I Owe You One. Unfortunately though this contemporary romance just really didn't live up to what I've come to know and expect from this author.At the center of this story is Fixie Farr, and I was willing to try not to roll my eyes every time I read her name and give this book a fair shot. Fixie has gotten her nickname due to the fact that she likes to fi I am a newer fan to Sophie Kinsella's work but having loved all of the books I've had the chance to read so far I was really looking forward to I Owe You One. Unfortunately though this contemporary romance just really didn't live up to what I've come to know and expect from this author.At the center of this story is Fixie Farr, and I was willing to try not to roll my eyes every time I read her name and give this book a fair shot. Fixie has gotten her nickname due to the fact that she likes to fix everyone and everything around her but usually has her own issues she hasn't fixed, such as a long time crush on a not so nice guy.So with Fixie trying to fix those all around her and ignoring her own dilemmas she ends up meeting Sebastian. Fixie happens to be in the right place at the right time to come to Sebastian's rescue saving his laptop from some runaway coffee which leads to him giving an IOU and the couple beginning a relationship.Now in typical Kinsella fashion our main character starts off a hot mess and does eventually make some improvements but it just wasn't grabbing me the way it normally would. Most of the side characters aren't that likable either which didn't help matters but the romance was really incredibly lacking. We have a guy with a girlfriend suddenly in a relationship with the main character that is so so serious then they split and he goes back to the other woman. At this point Fixie gains the insight to not mess with someone in a relationship only to do just that yet again... sigh. In the end this one just didn't end up a favorite of mine but I will still continue to look forward to reading more of Kinsella's work in the future.I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.For more reviews please visit https://carriesbookreviews.com/
    more
  • Susanne Strong
    January 1, 1970
    3.25 Stars* (rounded down)It’s Fixie or Forget it!Fixie Farr is a gal who needs everything to be perfect. Whenever something is out of place she freaks. Truthfully, Fixie’s anxiety gave me a tiny bit of agita, I wanted to tell her to breathe, relax and let her know that everything would be alright.The thing about Fixie is that she never ever puts herself first. Since childhood, the motto “Family First” has been ingrained into her, thus that is how she lives her life - even though no one else in 3.25 Stars* (rounded down)It’s Fixie or Forget it!Fixie Farr is a gal who needs everything to be perfect. Whenever something is out of place she freaks. Truthfully, Fixie’s anxiety gave me a tiny bit of agita, I wanted to tell her to breathe, relax and let her know that everything would be alright.The thing about Fixie is that she never ever puts herself first. Since childhood, the motto “Family First” has been ingrained into her, thus that is how she lives her life - even though no one else in her family appears to live by that motto. She is a gal who has never had any confidence and she lets people walk all over her, including her brother Jake and Ryan, a guy she’s crushed on for most of her life. Unfortunately for Fixie, time does not heal all wounds. While at a coffee shop one day, a man named Sebastian asks Fixie for a favor.. he asks her to watch his laptop for a minute. Then the ceiling comes crashing down, literally. Fixie, of course, does what she does best, she saves the day. Then Sebastian gives her a coffee sleeve with an IOU on it. Fixie never imagines taking him up on it. This is a novel that grew on me as time went on. Admittedly Fixie’s character annoyed me at first, her inability to relax and let things lie.. Once Fixie’s character calmed down, I too, settled down and grew to like her. This however didn’t take place overnight, and I wish Fixie had found her footing earlier. Though this novel was predictable, I found it to be endearing and I ended up liking Fixie, for her sheer determination and will. “I Owe You One” by Sophie Kinsella is the second book I’ve read by this author (the first being “Confessions of a Shopaholic” seventeen odd years ago). Revisiting a past author is always fun and this was no exception. This was a buddy read with Kaceey! So glad we took yet another trip down memory lane Kaceey!Thank you to NetGalley, Random House Publishing Group - Random House and Sophie Kinsella for an arc of this novel in exchange for an honest review.Published on Goodreads and NetGalley on 2.2.19.
    more
  • Mark
    January 1, 1970
    Hey, when I used to be a ‘nornal’ reader 😃 ie prob read a book every so many weeks, I had a few authors I was fiercely loyal to and didnt really stray too far from them, Sophie Kinsellsa was one ( I started to read her books as our neighbours daughter had been in the same class at school ) I really loved her books and even now when I see the hardback ‘Shopaholic’series on my shelves they bring a smile, like a memory of a good time from the past......so it was with interest, now my reading habits Hey, when I used to be a ‘nornal’ reader 😃 ie prob read a book every so many weeks, I had a few authors I was fiercely loyal to and didnt really stray too far from them, Sophie Kinsellsa was one ( I started to read her books as our neighbours daughter had been in the same class at school ) I really loved her books and even now when I see the hardback ‘Shopaholic’series on my shelves they bring a smile, like a memory of a good time from the past......so it was with interest, now my reading habits have ‘altered’ that I decided to read this.......Firstly I would say the authors writing style hasn’t changed, Its light, airy, focuses on the ‘nice’ and silly side and generally is all very ‘marshmellowy’, the plot centres round a family shop, the family that run it and the main star of the book ‘Fixie’, I know, I know but once I got past the name and didnt baulk every time I read ‘Fixie’ ( named as she fixes things ) I kinda liked her, I kinda liked all the characters, even ‘Jake’ the flashy n’eer do well who I pictured as Channing Tatum ( but thats my problem 😃) The story is basically how Fixie conquers her fears in and of allaspects of life and has adventures along the way, usually involving the shop and/or men!......one man in particular who she falls for, loses, falls for and then...well....gets him!Oh shes an ex Ice skating champ as well which makes for an interesting chapter when she visits the Christmas Ice rink at Somerset HouseIt all ends up nicely packaged and with a bit of a self satisfied smugness but its what millions want it to end like, in that respect it doesnt fail and delivers its target and then someIts a comforting book, you can almost write the books progress yourself as you know whats coming, but sometimes thats all readers want and needThere are some truly very very funny moments in the book and some ‘standard’ averagely funny moments.......It was almost like a trip down my memory lane of reading and for thousands, actually probably millions this book will be a joy, it does exactly as it says on the tin For that reason I am saying for many it will be a certain 10/10, for me it was a huggable and nice warm feeling of a 8/10 and 4 stars
    more
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    “Family is it, Fixie. Family is what drives us. Family is everything.” How many times have we heard this? Although I agree with the sentiment of “family first”, I also agree that we each need to be aware of how family relationships impact our health and functioning. This is the overall theme I took away from I Owe You One, and it's a good one. Family often represents that place we can come home to no matter where we are, but when family isn't a safe space to be in, it can get real ugly fast. “Family is it, Fixie. Family is what drives us. Family is everything.” How many times have we heard this? Although I agree with the sentiment of “family first”, I also agree that we each need to be aware of how family relationships impact our health and functioning. This is the overall theme I took away from I Owe You One, and it's a good one. Family often represents that place we can come home to no matter where we are, but when family isn't a safe space to be in, it can get real ugly fast. Spoiler contains my spin on the book synopsis: (view spoiler)[Fixie is this story's heroine, and as this nickname suggests, she accepts the placement of problems on her shoulders. Fixing things is just who she is. So when the family matriarch takes a time out, all the siblings are reunited to keep the family store running in her absence. Fixie's mother leaves her with simple instructions, “Just don't lose the shop, Fixie. Or let the family break up.” Did I say simple? Turns out these tasks couldn't be more complicated. Familiar family roles and behavior patterns quickly return like a carpet stain, leaving Fixie feeling responsible for the cleanup. But Seb, the romantic interest in this story, helps her learn the uncomfortable albeit valuable lesson of tough love. As Fixie and Seb exchange IOU's throughout this book in response to a variety of transferable favors, readers learn that the absence of family can be just as consuming as tangible dysfunction. (hide spoiler)]Lighthearted and humorous while integrating important life lessons related to avoidance and the true meaning of love. I so enjoyed this book. Check it out.Thank you to the following for permitting me access to an advance reader's copy (ARC) of I Owe You One. This generosity did not impact my honesty when rating/reviewing.Source: NetGalleyAuthor: Sophie KinsellaPublisher: Random House Publishing Group - Random House, The Dial PressGenres: Women's FictionPub Date: February 5, 2019Note: Quotes were checked against a finished, published copy.
    more
  • Umut Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    This was one of my most anticipated releases this year. I read all Kinsella books, and I love her as a contemporary writer. Her books just warm my heart and take me to another world.This one is a bit tricky. I really didn't like the beginning, but later on it felt like more Kinsella style. Witty, fun, and more creative even with chick lit romance. I thought the details at the beginning about the side characters and time spent for them was too much, as they were quite unlikeable too. I don't have This was one of my most anticipated releases this year. I read all Kinsella books, and I love her as a contemporary writer. Her books just warm my heart and take me to another world.This one is a bit tricky. I really didn't like the beginning, but later on it felt like more Kinsella style. Witty, fun, and more creative even with chick lit romance. I thought the details at the beginning about the side characters and time spent for them was too much, as they were quite unlikeable too. I don't have an issue with Fixie being flawed. That's who she was and she went through a self-realisation phase, which I enjoyed actually. I also enjoyed their meet cute with Seb, and how that evolved. It would be a 4 star read if the structure was more neat, a little more creative in story line and more time spent on the Fixie and Seb, which was the cute part according to me. If you haven't read Sophie Kinsella ever, I would recommend My Not So Perfect Life, I still long for a book from her that has the same vibe. Anyhow, I would read a new book from Kinsella any day, she's still my favourite contemporary writer :)Thanks so much to the publisher for sending me a proof copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Pauline
    January 1, 1970
    I have read and enjoyed all of Sophie Kinsella's books and I was delighted to receive a copy of her new book I Owe You One.The story is about Fixie who has been infatuated by Ryan since she was ten years old. She works in her family's shop and still lives with her mother.Fixie is a character that I could not connect with and unfortunately I didn't find the story as amusing as the previous books by this author.Thank you to NetGalley and Random House UK, Transworld Publishers for my e-copy in exch I have read and enjoyed all of Sophie Kinsella's books and I was delighted to receive a copy of her new book I Owe You One.The story is about Fixie who has been infatuated by Ryan since she was ten years old. She works in her family's shop and still lives with her mother.Fixie is a character that I could not connect with and unfortunately I didn't find the story as amusing as the previous books by this author.Thank you to NetGalley and Random House UK, Transworld Publishers for my e-copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Kathleen
    January 1, 1970
    Of the several books written by Sophie Kinsella that I have read, this one is my favourite. I like Fixie and her mother who seem normal and sensible, but find Ryan, Jake and Nicole self centred. Fixie Farr has always lived by her father's motto: "Family first", but her brother and sister really test this motto when their mother goes to Spain for health reasons and leaves the three siblings to manage the family business. When Fixie saves a man's computer, he writes her an "I owe you one" on a cof Of the several books written by Sophie Kinsella that I have read, this one is my favourite. I like Fixie and her mother who seem normal and sensible, but find Ryan, Jake and Nicole self centred. Fixie Farr has always lived by her father's motto: "Family first", but her brother and sister really test this motto when their mother goes to Spain for health reasons and leaves the three siblings to manage the family business. When Fixie saves a man's computer, he writes her an "I owe you one" on a coffee sleeve. What happens next? I won't spoil it for you. Read the book to find out. I read this light and entertaining standalone novel of family, love and empowerment in one setting. Novels written by Sophie Kinsella always put me in a good mood and make me laugh. I highly recommend I OWE YOU ONE to everyone looking for a fun quirky read. Thank you to author Sophie Kinsella, NetGalley, Random House Publicity and The Dial Press for a digital ARC of I OWE YOU ONE and the opportunity to write this unbiased review.Posted February 3, 2019 on Goodreads, and NetGalleyPosted February 5, 2019 on iBooks and Savvy Reader
    more
  • Fafa's Book Corner
    January 1, 1970
    Mini review: DNFTrigger warning: Abuse of power and authority. Making someone feel small. Ceiling falling on top off someone’s head. I received this E-ARC via Random House Publishing Group and Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. I was really looking forward to reading this! I have enjoyed Kinsella’s books in the past. Unfortunately I didn’t like it. I really liked Fixie! I simply didn’t care for anyone else. Nor did I care for the story. As I read on I started to get bored and was pulled Mini review: DNFTrigger warning: Abuse of power and authority. Making someone feel small. Ceiling falling on top off someone’s head. I received this E-ARC via Random House Publishing Group and Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. I was really looking forward to reading this! I have enjoyed Kinsella’s books in the past. Unfortunately I didn’t like it. I really liked Fixie! I simply didn’t care for anyone else. Nor did I care for the story. As I read on I started to get bored and was pulled out of the story. This was a personal thing. I still recommend.
    more
  • Zoe
    January 1, 1970
    Warm, whimsical, and lighthearted!Full review to follow shortly.
  • Olivia (The Candid Cover)
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 StarsFull Review on The Candid CoverI Owe You One by Sophie Kinsella is everything I hope for in a contemporary novel. The characters are quirky and flawed, and the concept is super unique. The family theme in the book is also enjoyable to read about.If there is something that I have come to expect from Kinsella’s writing, it is her eccentric characters. I love all of the characters in I Owe You One, even the side characters are lots of fun. Fixie is a perfect narrator for the book and her f 4.5 StarsFull Review on The Candid CoverI Owe You One by Sophie Kinsella is everything I hope for in a contemporary novel. The characters are quirky and flawed, and the concept is super unique. The family theme in the book is also enjoyable to read about.If there is something that I have come to expect from Kinsella’s writing, it is her eccentric characters. I love all of the characters in I Owe You One, even the side characters are lots of fun. Fixie is a perfect narrator for the book and her flaws are very relatable. She goes through a lot of growth as the book progresses and it is hard not to root for her when things start to go her way.The concept of I Owe You One is so fantastic. It is such a romantic idea to have a stranger write an IOU on a coffee sleeve. This sets up the story for some interesting meetings and interactions. There are so many hilarious scenes that balance out some of the drama in the book.One of my favourite themes in contemporary fiction is the theme of family. Fixie’s family life is very relatable and she has her fair share of sibling rivalry. Her brother and sister are well-developed characters and have their own issues to deal with. The family shop is the one thing that they all seem to have a vested interest in, even if their ideas clash.If you are a fan of Kinsella’s other novels, you are sure to enjoy I Owe You One. There is a cast of engaging characters and the story is so much fun to read. I can’t wait to find out what she writes next!
    more
  • Jamie
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 adorable stars to Fixie Farr! Review to come!
  • Sara
    January 1, 1970
    I love Sophie Kinsella, there's something about her books that always keeps my interest. You know exactly what you're going to get with her books which means they never disappoint!This was a funny, lighthearted read that kept me interested with charming, relatable characters. I really enjoyed this.
    more
  • Stephanie
    January 1, 1970
    I received a copy of this title via NetGalley. It does not impact my review.I adored this book. It’s been awhile since I’ve read a Sophie Kinsella novel and I’ve forgotten just how addictive they can be. Once I started it I could hardly put it down.I really expected I Owe You One to be romance-heavy, but it wasn’t as central to the plot as I thought it would be. That wasn’t a bad thing, though. The story focuses a lot on Fixie’s relationship with her family and with her own issues of confidence I received a copy of this title via NetGalley. It does not impact my review.I adored this book. It’s been awhile since I’ve read a Sophie Kinsella novel and I’ve forgotten just how addictive they can be. Once I started it I could hardly put it down.I really expected I Owe You One to be romance-heavy, but it wasn’t as central to the plot as I thought it would be. That wasn’t a bad thing, though. The story focuses a lot on Fixie’s relationship with her family and with her own issues of confidence and self-worth. Fixie got her nickname by always needing to fix things – messes, people, etc. Her siblings, Jake and Nicole, take advantage of her, as does Ryan, the man she’s had a crush on for most her life. Throughout most of the book I just couldn’t get over how awful those three people were. I was really frustrated by how Fixie let herself get steamrolled over and how she couldn’t speak up for herself. As the story goes on, though, she learns to speak up and practice a little tough love.Even though the romance wasn’t as central as I expected, it did still play an important part in Fixie’s story. I just loved Seb. He was such a genuinely good person. I loved his sense of humor and how sweet he was. That’s not to say he’s perfect, of course. When he and Fixie first meet he’s dating someone else – who is of course awful and very ill-suited for him and that was frustrating. There’s a point where his and Fixie’s relationship hits a rocky spot and I wish they would have communicated a little more effectively, but I liked how it all turned out.Overall, I really enjoyed I Owe You One. I liked Fixie and Seb and the quirky cast of supporting characters. I even liked Jake and Nicole by the end of the story. I liked Fixie’s character growth and her relationship with Seb. I was a little disappointed that the IOUs didn’t really pay as large a role in the book as I expected, but I did like how it was utilized. This is probably my new favorite Kinsella novel and I definitely recommend it to fans of Contemporary and Women’s Fiction.Overall Rating (out of 5): 4 Stars
    more
  • Amy-GallivantingPages
    January 1, 1970
    ***4 Stars***Ahhh... I just love Sophie Kinsella and her writing. Having read a couple of the Shopaholic series and with a few of her other books on my TBR list, I was thrilled when NetGalley and Random House Publishing allowed me an ARC of "I Owe You One" her latest book with expected publication on Feb 5, 2019.In regular Sophie style, this does not disappoint. Fixie Farr, (very cliché nickname for, surprise, someone who likes to fix things) is a doormat. She's weak and annoying; at the beginni ***4 Stars***Ahhh... I just love Sophie Kinsella and her writing. Having read a couple of the Shopaholic series and with a few of her other books on my TBR list, I was thrilled when NetGalley and Random House Publishing allowed me an ARC of "I Owe You One" her latest book with expected publication on Feb 5, 2019.In regular Sophie style, this does not disappoint. Fixie Farr, (very cliché nickname for, surprise, someone who likes to fix things) is a doormat. She's weak and annoying; at the beginning of this story I couldn't stand her. She is helping the family business, Farr's housewares store and just letting everyone have their way with her. There's these two men she is involved with Ryan and Seb and the battle back and forth between the two. (Ryan is the worst by the way) Then her siblings, ugh, they had so many issues and were just such selfish people. I won't spoil any of the plot but honestly, the more I read, the more I became engulfed with this story and the less I could put the book down. By the end, I loved Fixie, was rooting for her and even had tears in my eyes at the end. I know the reviews have been mixed, but I found this to be a positive read that I really enjoyed.
    more
  • Elle's Book Blog
    January 1, 1970
    Release Date: February 5, 2019 Genre: Chick Lit Actual Rating: 5 starsI Owe You One is another winner from bestselling author (and personal favorite of mine), Sophie Kinsella! I absolutely adored this book. I saw a little of myself within Fixie, connected with her character on a deep level, and loved the changes that happened in her life in the end. I was truly rooting for Fixie the whole way through and loved watching her progress from being a girl everyone walked all over to a woman who ta Release Date: February 5, 2019 Genre: Chick Lit Actual Rating: 5 starsI Owe You One is another winner from bestselling author (and personal favorite of mine), Sophie Kinsella! I absolutely adored this book. I saw a little of myself within Fixie, connected with her character on a deep level, and loved the changes that happened in her life in the end. I was truly rooting for Fixie the whole way through and loved watching her progress from being a girl everyone walked all over to a woman who takes charge. If you are a fan of Sophie Kinsella and have been reading her books since the beginning (like I have) then you will notice that this is a classic Kinsella novel. The author has a certain sparkle within her novels and it certainly hasn't been dimmed! I very much recommend it. As with most of the authors novels, the heroine of the stories always start off as a little naive. This is no different with Fixie in I Owe You One. Some may find it exhausting that her characters have very little backbone, but I myself find it refreshing. Too many times in novels are heroines shown to be nearly perfect and that's just not realistic. Everyone has flaws. In Fixie's case, her flaw is allowing people to walk all over her because she thinks she needs to stand by her family at any cost. This makes her character very meek (and a little bit weak in the beginning). But as she begins to find herself you see a growth inside her that shines above everything else and this is what made me really love her. Ladies and gents, none of us are perfect. Some of us as more prone to put others first over ourselves (like Fixie), and others walk all over people to get to the top. Many of us are right in the middle- we speak up for ourselves but don't allow others to knock us down in the process. But this story can be perceived as realistic in a way that many people live just as Fixie does. So all in all, her character to me is a breath of fresh air. She's a little silly, very sweet, and just wants her family to have everything they can. I loved her!Some of the secondary characters in the novel had me scratching my head and wanting to pull my hair out- they certainly added the dramatic effect in the novel, but I was glad in the end to see everyone basically be put in their places. If they annoy you while reading just remember, it get's better!!!Anyway, enough with my rant. I obviously loved this book, I feel passionate about it and enjoyed reading every single second of it. I love the authors writing style which is original to her, the way she builds her characters around a certain issue, and the way everything comes together in the end. Obviously, I also recommend it! I hope all that do decide to grab a copy enjoy it as much as I did.
    more
  • Linda Zagon
    January 1, 1970
    Lindas Book Obsession Reviews “I Owe You One” by Sophie Kinsella, Random House, February 5, 2019Sophie Kinsella, Author of “I Owe You One” has written a delightful, witty, entertaining, enthralling, and heart-warming novel. The Genres for this novel are Fiction, Women’s Fiction, Romance, and Humor. The timeline of the story is set in the present and goes to the past when it pertains to the characters or events in the story. The author describes her entertaining cast of characters as quirky, comp Lindas Book Obsession Reviews “I Owe You One” by Sophie Kinsella, Random House, February 5, 2019Sophie Kinsella, Author of “I Owe You One” has written a delightful, witty, entertaining, enthralling, and heart-warming novel. The Genres for this novel are Fiction, Women’s Fiction, Romance, and Humor. The timeline of the story is set in the present and goes to the past when it pertains to the characters or events in the story. The author describes her entertaining cast of characters as quirky, complicated and complex.Fixie Farr, has a name well suited for her, as she tends to try to fix other family and friend’s problems and matters. Fixie lives by her late father’s rule “Family First” In Fixie’s case, her brother and sister are quite dysfunctional and too many things fall on Fixie’s shoulders. The family store and its problems seem to be handled by Fixie. As a matter of fact, her brother and sister have caused quite enough problems. Yet, Fixie has to learn to assert herself, and stand up for herself. Her childhood crush is back in town, and Fixie would do anything for him. Or would she.On a rainy day, when Fixie goes into a coffee shop, a young handsome stranger asks Fixie to watch his computer, while he steps outside to talk on his phone. Unfortunately the ceiling collapses and Fixie manages to take cover, and safe his computer. To show his appreciate the young man gives Sophie an “I Owe You One” on the coffee sleeve promising her that he owes her one favor.I love when Sophie Kinsella adds communication problems to many of her stories. In “I Owe You One”, this holds true as well. Her childhood crush needs a job, and Fixie had mentioned the I Owe You. I am sure you can guess what dilemma Fixie is in now.I appreciate that the author discusses the importance of family, friendship, self-worth, empowerment, tough-love, communication, honesty, and hope, faith and love. I would highly recommend this amusing and pleasurable book for those readers who enjoy a delightful read. I received an ARC from NetGalley for my honest review.
    more
  • ʚϊɞ Shelley ʚϊɞ
    January 1, 1970
    ☆☆☆ 1/2 Whenever Mum smiles, lines appear all over her face. They stretch like sunrays from her eyes; they score her cheeks and mark out her forehead in deep creases. Grief brought extra lines to her face. I saw it happen. And maybe some people think the lines are ugly, but I see love and life in every one of them. This book is not great literature, it won't win the Pulitzer or the Nobel Prize for Literature, it is a piece of fluff. And I enjoyed every minute of it, it was fun. It was a nice ☆☆☆ 1/2 Whenever Mum smiles, lines appear all over her face. They stretch like sunrays from her eyes; they score her cheeks and mark out her forehead in deep creases. Grief brought extra lines to her face. I saw it happen. And maybe some people think the lines are ugly, but I see love and life in every one of them. This book is not great literature, it won't win the Pulitzer or the Nobel Prize for Literature, it is a piece of fluff. And I enjoyed every minute of it, it was fun. It was a nice change from all the mysteries and thrillers I have been reading lately. I loved Kinsella's Shopaholic series, I read them years ago. I don't know why I havent read anything by this author since. Maybe I became a book snob?I did enjoyed this book. It was funny and endearing, and well-written. Not a sophisticated book, but good fun nontheless. Some of the storylines came a little too easily for the characters but I overlooked this point because the rest was so good - and entertaining. You really emphathise with the main character, Fixie, and the plot keeps you turning the pages. This was an endearing read. The main character, Fixie, is down-to-earth and always means well. Sophie Kinsella has a warm and highly addictive way with words, I also love how the main character did have to suffer some - it made the story more realistic. Failing doesn’t mean you are a failure; it just means you’re a human being. At first I suspected this might be just another mushy, romantic type novel. I was grateful to find out that it is really much better than that. The author manages to squeeze quite a bit of stuff in there, ultimately, one woman's choice between two men. While the reader will likely be able to develop a good idea of what is really going on, Kinsella manages to keep the reader turning the pages to find out if they are correct in their assumptions. Overall, an enjoyable and engaging read. I look forward to reading more from Ms. Kinsella, in the future.Thank you NetGalley, Random House Publishing Group, The Dial Press and Sophie Kinsella for the opportunity to read this book in exchange for an impartial review; all opinions are my own.#IoweYouOne #NetGalleyYou can find all my reviews on Shelley's Book Nook: https://shelleyann01.blogspot.com
    more
  • Namera [The Literary Invertebrate]
    January 1, 1970
    ARC received in exchange for an honest review - thank you! This is really 3.5 stars rounded up. The thing with Sophie Kinsella is, sometimes I have to recalibrate my expectations a little bit. She writes romance, of course, but I frequently forget that the focus of her books isn’t supposed to be the romance. It’s more properly women’s fiction (or chick lit, I suppose)with explorations of things like family relationships and personal growth.There, the book excelled. It just fell a little flat ARC received in exchange for an honest review - thank you! This is really 3.5 stars rounded up. The thing with Sophie Kinsella is, sometimes I have to recalibrate my expectations a little bit. She writes romance, of course, but I frequently forget that the focus of her books isn’t supposed to be the romance. It’s more properly women’s fiction (or chick lit, I suppose)with explorations of things like family relationships and personal growth.There, the book excelled. It just fell a little flat on the romance.Fixie Farr is the youngest child in the Farr family, and the only one who seems truly invested in the shop her dead father established decades ago. Her brother Jake is far too money-obsessed to bother with a lowly family shop; her sister Nicole is an airhead who spends most of her time avoiding work of every description while quoting her yoga instructor.When her mother abruptly goes on holiday, it falls to Fixie to make sure things keep running smoothly. The sudden arrival of Ryan – her teenage crush – throws a spanner in the works. So does Sebastian Marlowe: a young businessman whose laptop Fixie rescues, they end up owing each other a series of favours and thinking up thinly-disguised excuses to hang out with each other. Fixie is kind of dumb . I hate to say it, but she is. She’s absolutely, utterly, completely head-over-heels in love with Ryan, and has been for years. He takes shameless advantage of this. I’ve never been a fan of the heroine-holds-a-torch-for-oblivious-guy trope, because it always seems to turn their brains to mush where the guy in concerned. This was what happened to Fixie whenever Ryan was anywhere in the vicinity.She also turned into mush around her siblings, but for (obviously) different reasons. Jake and Nicole are older, more overtly successful than her, and the inferiority complex was absolutely destroying her. I had a lot more sympathy for Fixie in this area. The family dynamics were wonderfully done here, capturing her feelings of inadequacy.I will say this too: she wasn’t totally spineless . When she really needed to, she got herself together, and this scene was highly satisfying. Jake, Nicole, and Ryan all finally got the smackdown they deserved!But the book gets severely let down by the romance.Seb was an okay hero. Not very interesting, and I doubt I’ll remember anything about him in a month’s time (if that). There was also a bad case of Other Woman. Seb bounced back and forth between Fixie and his ex-girlfriend like a yoyo, which is not precisely a trait I appreciate in my romantic heroes. Overall If the romance had been cut out, this book would’ve been a solid 4 stars instead of just a rounded 3.5. It was a good story of Fixie’s coming-of-age, and her transformation into a more assertive woman, but not much else.[Blog] - [Bookstagram]
    more
  • Kristy
    January 1, 1970
    Fixie Farr's family runs Farrs, a hardwares store. Technically, it's more like Fixie and her mom run the store, while Fixie's older brother, Jake, and sister, Nicole, flit in and out, doing their own thing. Fixie has always been intimidated by her siblings. Jake is pursuing his MBA and prefers the posh side of life; he's always after one business deal or another. Nicole, recently married, lives at home while her husband works abroad. Fixie lives by the motto of "Family First," ingrained in her b Fixie Farr's family runs Farrs, a hardwares store. Technically, it's more like Fixie and her mom run the store, while Fixie's older brother, Jake, and sister, Nicole, flit in and out, doing their own thing. Fixie has always been intimidated by her siblings. Jake is pursuing his MBA and prefers the posh side of life; he's always after one business deal or another. Nicole, recently married, lives at home while her husband works abroad. Fixie lives by the motto of "Family First," ingrained in her by her late father since forever. This means running the store and looking after family, even at the expense of her own dreams. She's lusted after the same boy since grade school, Ryan Chalker, and still lives at home, dutifully tending to her family's needs. One day a stranger in a coffee shop asks her to watch his laptop. When Fixie saves it from being destroyed, he gives her an IOU. Meanwhile, Ryan returns to London from Los Angeles. At the same time, Fixie's family dynamic faces a radical change. Will all of these moments force Fixie--who earned her nickname for her desire to always fix things--to face up to her fears, to become more forceful? Or will she let her family and the people in her life still walk all over her? And will she cash in on that IOU? "Some people hear the Lord Jesus guiding them; I hear my dad, before he died, saying in his East End accent: Family is it, Fixie. Family is what drives us. Family is everything. Family loyalty is basically our religion." This book had to grow on me. In the beginning, Fixie drove me a little crazy. I was less irritated with her devotion to her family (perhaps I could relate there), but I was annoyed at how clueless she was in her adoration to Ryan Chalker, who was just terrible. And truly, Fixie's siblings were pretty awful to her, too. There were very few side characters in this one who were easy to like. Even Sebastian, whose laptop Fixie rescues (and who, obviously, becomes her love interest), goes back to his girlfriend a little often for my taste. Which is sad, because otherwise the Fixie/Seb dynamic is quite enjoyable and really quite funny. Still, the poor girl was clearly under a lot of pressure with her family and the store, so I get some of her behavior there. As for Ryan, I'm not so sure what her excuse was!Still, this book wins you over with time. Fixie is an engaging character and really, rather endearing. She can't help but be who she is and she really can't help whom she is surrounded by (except Ryan--let's just all agree he's awful). When Seb enters the scene, things become more funny, and things pick up as Fixie starts to grow into her own skin. This growth is a Kinsella staple, and she does it well. There's moments of her trademark humor, as well. Overall, this one is predictable but sweet, and once I got past some of Fixie's issues, I enjoyed it. It's a light, quick read. 3+ stars. I received a copy of this novel from the publisher and Netgalley in return for an unbiased review (thank you!). Blog ~ Twitter ~ Facebook ~ Google+ ~ Instagram
    more
  • Sara
    January 1, 1970
    What a wonderful leading man ... Kinsella has created the perfect book hero. Sebastian is kind, considerate, but vulnerable, and of course tall and handsome.The protagonist, Fixie, I had more trouble liking. Just because push-over personalities are a pet peeve of mine.This book was a great improvement over Surprise Me, because the romance was swoon worthy, but still... what's lately with Kinsella, dead fathers, and obnoxious families? At lest the mother was likable in this one, but she stays on What a wonderful leading man ... Kinsella has created the perfect book hero. Sebastian is kind, considerate, but vulnerable, and of course tall and handsome.The protagonist, Fixie, I had more trouble liking. Just because push-over personalities are a pet peeve of mine.This book was a great improvement over Surprise Me, because the romance was swoon worthy, but still... what's lately with Kinsella, dead fathers, and obnoxious families? At lest the mother was likable in this one, but she stays on the page far too shortly. I wish the book had been more about Seb and Fixie.A special mention goes to Leila, one of the best supporting characters ever.The second half of the book was ten times better than the first half.
    more
  • Princess
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to Netgalley and Random House for allowing me to read this in exchange for my honest review. When I first got in to reading, Sophie Kinsella was one of the authors I picked up. I still remember the trip to the book store. It had been years since I read one of her books., but I was so excited. The first half of this book was just ok for me. Poor Fixie was such a pushover and totally let everyone run her over. By the halfway point I was so frustrated. Then finally she started to stand up Thank you to Netgalley and Random House for allowing me to read this in exchange for my honest review. When I first got in to reading, Sophie Kinsella was one of the authors I picked up. I still remember the trip to the book store. It had been years since I read one of her books., but I was so excited. The first half of this book was just ok for me. Poor Fixie was such a pushover and totally let everyone run her over. By the halfway point I was so frustrated. Then finally she started to stand up for herself and changed everything. The business, her family, her love life. I was cheering for her the whole time. The ending was perfect and reminded why I enjoyed Sophie.
    more
  • Lisa (Remarkablylisa)
    January 1, 1970
    MY RATING: 4.5/5 STARSI received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for a honest review.I have to admit that I am a HUGE fan of Sophie Kinsella but it doesn't mean that I am bias in any way. In fact, a few of her past books including "My So-Called Life" was a disaster in my opinion and I was starting to doubt Sophie and wondered maybe she lost her touch. Her next novel following the disaster, "Surprise Me", while was fun and light, it lost a bit of the jazz I loved in all her previous novels. MY RATING: 4.5/5 STARSI received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for a honest review.I have to admit that I am a HUGE fan of Sophie Kinsella but it doesn't mean that I am bias in any way. In fact, a few of her past books including "My So-Called Life" was a disaster in my opinion and I was starting to doubt Sophie and wondered maybe she lost her touch. Her next novel following the disaster, "Surprise Me", while was fun and light, it lost a bit of the jazz I loved in all her previous novels. However, despite some reviews on Goodreads, I strongly loved "I Owe You One" and would tell you to pick it up if you ever doubted the Queen of Romantic Comedy. I Owe You One focused on Fixie's struggle in her family. After a failed catering business that left her feeling like the only unsuccessful and basically, the loser, of the family, she returns to help run the family business. It may only be a general store but it's a fixture in the community and town she lives in. She truly believes in every word her father had said to her before he passed away suddenly from a heart attack and that is that family always come first. Fixie does everything in her power to keep the family together especially when her mother goes on vacation with her sister and to take care of the store. Her older brother and sister both have HUGE ideas that may not be what the family store needs and it is up to her to make sure everyone sticks together. Among the drama in the store, a flirtatious relationship starts when Fixie rescues a man's laptop after the ceiling in a coffee shop caves in. Fixie meets Sebastian, a successful investment company owner, and proceeds to follow the banter of owing each other favors. One of the favors include finding a position in Sebastian's company for Fixie's childhood and teenage crush, Ryan. While Fixie still has feelings for Ryan, she can't help but feel connected to Sebastian as well even though he has a girlfriend. When things go wrong in their respective love lives, Fixie and Sebastian find each other and raise each other up to become stronger individuals. I loved this story because it had all the elements of a Sophie Kinsella romantic comedy. Was it predictable? Yes. If you ever read a novel by the Queen, you would know that she tends to write the story of an underdog. A woman who was never the luckiest in terms of beauty, life, and career. She usually has some self-confidence issues and the environment surrounding her tends not to be the most supportive. She meets a successful and great guy that helps her grow stronger and soon, she takes control of life and ultimately, wins in the end. It might be an eye-roll for a few readers or even a few Sophie Kinsella readers because it can't get tiring from the repetitiveness but I am still in love with this story no matter what anyone says.This story made an impression on me. I couldn't stop reading, laughing, and seeing what kind of shenanigans Fixie's family put her through. I also couldn't help but fall head over heels in love with Fixie and Sebastian's gentle love. However, I had issues with their love as it felt a tad bit fast. They liked each other, sure but to start dating so soon after Sebastian breaks up with his ex is a little bit unbelievable. As for Fixie's ex, Ryan, I absolutely thought he was scum from the beginning but Sophie still made a fantastic effort into making Ryan seem like a hero in the beginning of the story.MY RECOMMENDATIONI loved this book. Really. And I know lots of readers will try to say it's been the same story day in and out but it's a classic one that I can't help but cheering for.
    more
Write a review