This Lie Will Kill You
Tell the truth. Or face the consequences.Clue meets Riverdale in this page-turning thriller that exposes the lies five teens tell about a deadly night one year ago. One year ago, there was a party. At the party, someone died. Five teens each played a part and up until now, no one has told the truth.But tonight, the five survivors arrive at an isolated mansion in the hills, expecting to compete in a contest with a $50,000 grand prize. Of course…some things are too good to be true. They were each so desperate for the prize, they didn’t question the odd, rather exclusive invitation until it was too late.Now, they realize they’ve been lured together by a person bent on revenge, a person who will stop at nothing to uncover what actually happened on that deadly night, one year ago.Five arrived, but not all can leave. Will the truth set them free? Or will their lies destroy them all?

This Lie Will Kill You Details

TitleThis Lie Will Kill You
Author
ReleaseDec 11th, 2018
PublisherMargaret K. McElderry Books
ISBN-139781534443242
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Mystery, Thriller

This Lie Will Kill You Review

  • Anja
    January 1, 1970
    *2 WTF STARS*In the blurb they said this would be like Clue meets Riverdale... Sounds great right? Color me intrigued! Well, unfortunately it ended up being a big fat no for me.I really don’t know what to say about this. I can’t even properly put my finger on what exactly I disliked about this! The storyline was basically all over the place, I couldn’t care less about any of the characters, everything felt so unbelievably unrealistic, it was totally obvious who the bad guy was, the writing at th *2 WTF STARS*In the blurb they said this would be like Clue meets Riverdale... Sounds great right? Color me intrigued! Well, unfortunately it ended up being a big fat no for me.I really don’t know what to say about this. I can’t even properly put my finger on what exactly I disliked about this! The storyline was basically all over the place, I couldn’t care less about any of the characters, everything felt so unbelievably unrealistic, it was totally obvious who the bad guy was, the writing at the start was beautiful and lyrical but went downhill pretty fast...I loved the concept and the idea behind the story but the execution was just awful. Some parts were pretty creepy but I feel like a lot more could’ve been done with the whole story. The constant switching between characters was a complete miss for me because I guessed who the culprit was very early on and that just ruined all the fun.Received a free copy of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Eve Recinella (Between The Bookends)
    January 1, 1970
    This book was F-U-N. It was like CLUE meets I KNOW WHAT YOU DID LAST SUMMER. I enjoyed it immensely. That said, I DID figure out the plot twist very early on (lol).
  • Mandy White
    January 1, 1970
    This Lie Will Kill You by Chelsea Pitcher sounded like the perfect book for me... Pretty Little Liars meets Riverdale.... 2 of my favourite shows. Unfortunately it just did not live up to this at all for me. It was creepy but totally unrealistic and I really did struggle with it. I was enjoying it in the beginning but it went downhill for me once the kids got to the scary house. I loved the idea of this story but it fell flat for me.Thank you to NetGalley and Simon and Schuster UK Children's for This Lie Will Kill You by Chelsea Pitcher sounded like the perfect book for me... Pretty Little Liars meets Riverdale.... 2 of my favourite shows. Unfortunately it just did not live up to this at all for me. It was creepy but totally unrealistic and I really did struggle with it. I was enjoying it in the beginning but it went downhill for me once the kids got to the scary house. I loved the idea of this story but it fell flat for me.Thank you to NetGalley and Simon and Schuster UK Children's for the advanced copy of this book to read. All opinions are my own and are in no way biased
    more
  • Kirsty 📚📖❤️
    January 1, 1970
    This is a great young adult horror and reminded me a bit of the old Scream/ I know what you did...films etc. Teenagers really should learn to trust their instincts when given a ticket to a mysterious house and the only other people invited are linked to the murder of a boy. Seriously! However if they did behave sensibly we wouldn't have a book :)Twelve months ago Shane was killed and now the 5 people linked to him are invited to the aforesaid mysterious house on the pretense of winning a $50k un This is a great young adult horror and reminded me a bit of the old Scream/ I know what you did...films etc. Teenagers really should learn to trust their instincts when given a ticket to a mysterious house and the only other people invited are linked to the murder of a boy. Seriously! However if they did behave sensibly we wouldn't have a book :)Twelve months ago Shane was killed and now the 5 people linked to him are invited to the aforesaid mysterious house on the pretense of winning a $50k university scholarship. Except they're actually there to relive the night of the murder and their roles within it to find out exactly what happened and who was the one ultimately responsible. All whilst dodging the murderous attempts of the boys traumatised twin sister. I love a bonkers plot line and this was one. It alludes a few times to film YA horrors and I could totally see this up there with them. It was really easy to imagine this cinematically. It's quite tense as you can imagine, taking place in one evening the pace is fast going and doesn't let up from the minute they all arrive at the mansion. Each character is easily identifiable and as each reveals their innermost secrets you learn to either like them or hate them more. I liked the fact that you pretty much know who did it from the halfway point even though the it's not confirmed until nearer the end. There's a sub-story around abuse both from a parent child point of view and that of romantic relationships. It's also a story of friendship and love. Oh and a bonus point for Gavin who demanded a bathroom break when fleeing a demented killer because no one does that in films and I completely would! Overall I loved this and as the last book I'm reviewing in 2018 it's great to end it with a 5 star book. 
    more
  • Lou
    January 1, 1970
    There are few things that upset me more than a sound, if slightly unoriginal, premise being wasted through poor execution, and I'm afraid that's exactly what happened with This Lie Will Kill You. Don't get me wrong, the author has some glorious flashes of brilliance but they were quickly displaced in my memory by innumerable issues. The author does create a creepy atmosphere and at points, the writing is engaging, at others it's barely coherent. The suspense and thrills which usually come with t There are few things that upset me more than a sound, if slightly unoriginal, premise being wasted through poor execution, and I'm afraid that's exactly what happened with This Lie Will Kill You. Don't get me wrong, the author has some glorious flashes of brilliance but they were quickly displaced in my memory by innumerable issues. The author does create a creepy atmosphere and at points, the writing is engaging, at others it's barely coherent. The suspense and thrills which usually come with the identification, search and capture of the antagonist are sorely lacking as the bad guy is clear and very obvious from the first chapter onwards. I was hoping for some shock or surprise, but sadly it didn't happen.As time went on it descended into complete chaos and ended up being rambling and tough to get through. I never warmed to any of the characters as they felt one-dimensional and rather shallow and needed their personalities developing more in order to get the readers attention. This may be enjoyable to Teens and Young Adults and those looking for a light, quick read that is more a bit of fun than serious reading, but, unfortunately, it fell flat for me and was deeply disappointing. I am curious as to what the author will do next and wouldn't be averse to checking it out. Hoping it'll be more readable and exciting than this was.Many thanks to Simon & Schuster UK Children's for an ARC.
    more
  • Liz Barnsley
    January 1, 1970
    *2.5 stars.Yes. But No.Loved the idea of this one but sadly, for this reader, it just wasn't there.That's not to say it's all bad. The premise is sound for anyone who loves things like I Know What You Did Last Summer (in fact you could probably use that title for this story too) and the kind of stuck with a killer who will survive vibe.The writing goes between pretty good and not so hot, but the plotting is all over the place. The bad guy was so obvious they may have well have spent the entire b *2.5 stars.Yes. But No.Loved the idea of this one but sadly, for this reader, it just wasn't there.That's not to say it's all bad. The premise is sound for anyone who loves things like I Know What You Did Last Summer (in fact you could probably use that title for this story too) and the kind of stuck with a killer who will survive vibe.The writing goes between pretty good and not so hot, but the plotting is all over the place. The bad guy was so obvious they may have well have spent the entire book smirking and twirling a moustache, the events that lead to the final confrontation, well frankly I'm not really clear on to be honest but that's possibly because I stopped paying proper attention.It has it's very excellent creepy moments to give the author due, porcelain dolls and suchlike but those flashes of brilliance got lost amongst the idiotic and very uninteresting characters. It's not horrible. But in comparison with other tales of this nature it falls very flat.Also if you are going to rip off Edward Cullen you should probably try and improve on the original but Shane was, if it's even possible, even paler. A shame. There is potential here in some of the descriptive sense and the setting was I think more fascinating than the characters. The house they were all trapped in was grear. I'll see what the author does next. Not dismissing the possibilities just yet.
    more
  • MissBecka
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you NetGalley and Simon & Schuster Canada for this ARC.This is exactly what I needed! A fantastic YA mystery with hints of the board game Clue sprinkled throughout the night.I blew through this, it was so addictive. The story is nothing new, but the writing had me turning page after page!Something I will recommend to anyone looking for an easy, quick read with some surprises thrown in.
    more
  • Erin
    January 1, 1970
    Seems as though I’m going against the trend here, but I really enjoyed this book!I don’t watch either of the shows that it has been likened to, so I don’t have a comparison, but it definitely has elements of Kara Thomas’ The Cheerleaders, Karen M. McManus’ One of Us is Lying and a dash of Gossip (the movie). Set in a creepy mansion (I pictured Victorian Gothic) this book takes place over one evening, with flashbacks to a year ago detailing the events of a fateful party. The characters are brough Seems as though I’m going against the trend here, but I really enjoyed this book!I don’t watch either of the shows that it has been likened to, so I don’t have a comparison, but it definitely has elements of Kara Thomas’ The Cheerleaders, Karen M. McManus’ One of Us is Lying and a dash of Gossip (the movie). Set in a creepy mansion (I pictured Victorian Gothic) this book takes place over one evening, with flashbacks to a year ago detailing the events of a fateful party. The characters are brought in under the premise of winning a college scholarship and each one has need for that money for their future, but our host wants answers and everyone has a secret that could unravel their entire world. The writing had me hooked, it was creepy and suspenseful and though it’s not as horror-tastic as a Stephen King novel, I will never be looking at porcelain dolls the same way again (no it’s not a Chucky thing, and I will not give any other comments on this because I don’t want to spoil it). There were moments that I struggled to tear my eyes away from the kindle screen afraid that I’d lose the thrill and have to build it up again. Given the bulk of the story focuses on just the one night in the present, I think the characters were fleshed out really well. Definitely enough to get an idea of who they are, their values, and their growth. They were mature and had solid back stories. I’m one of those readers who likes to guess the whodunnit ending, usually satisfied when I get it and love it when I don’t. But there is a middle range, where correctly guessing the who, but the surrounding events of the reveal are still a surprise; and it’s always fun. This book was the latter. Many thanks to Chelsea Pitcher, Simon and Schuster UK Children’s, and NetGalley for an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Carlene Inspired
    January 1, 1970
    Find this review and others at Carlene Inspired.3.5 StarsA modern day Clue murder mystery, in This Lie Will Kill You author Chelsea Pitcher takes five teens on a dangerous journey that forces them to examine the truth. Was it Ruby far away from the party but a vital character nonetheless? Was it Gavin with his camera and a red pen? Maybe it was the duo, Parker and his money and his muscle Brett? Or perhaps it was Juniper in the pool? It might have been all of them or none of them, but someone is Find this review and others at Carlene Inspired.3.5 StarsA modern day Clue murder mystery, in This Lie Will Kill You author Chelsea Pitcher takes five teens on a dangerous journey that forces them to examine the truth. Was it Ruby far away from the party but a vital character nonetheless? Was it Gavin with his camera and a red pen? Maybe it was the duo, Parker and his money and his muscle Brett? Or perhaps it was Juniper in the pool? It might have been all of them or none of them, but someone is prepared to find out. Shane Ferrick was the new guy, an outcast, but now he's not here at all. Who killed him?While the story is not realistic, I mean who really can pull together a murder mansion house at such a young age, it is intriguing. Like the television shows it mirrors, This Lie Will Kill You is a teen drama you can't help but read even if it's a bit cliche. You know what's coming at every turn, the shock factor isn't quite there, but you want to know what happens next anyway. I think it works as a teen novel and while it lacks some of the smarter suspense of adult mysteries, I still enjoyed it and can see younger readers getting caught up in it. Characters Gavin, Juniper, and Brett were like classic teen movie actors for me. Their awkwardness relatable, their stories predictable, and their part in the book vital for making it likable. Ruby and Parker are difficult characters, each so self centered. Parker is obviously the bad guy, and I don't mean the bad boy everyone likes, but truly just a bad guy, he's pinpointed as the evil mastermind early on, which allowed for some surprising twists. The mysterious dinner they are invited to does follow a fun murder dinner style plot and the five play into it perfectly.The novel starts with a beautiful, literary description of the night that set the events in motion, but from there it becomes quite simple. There are holes in the characters' stories and while the timeline moves forward at the right pacing it doesn't have nearly the suspense and surprise one would expect. My biggest complaint, one I think will be noticed by every reader, was the repetition in this novel. The effect some of the words could've had, like porcelain, felt cheap by the end. Character driven with an interesting, if not formula, plot, This Lie Will Kill You was a quick, fun escape read for me. I allowed myself to be pulled into the murder mystery evening and enjoyed the various ideas Chelsea Pitcher borrowed from similar movies, television shows, and games. There's a lot going on in this book, from various character connections to the unveiling of the true events of that fateful night, but it lends itself to the story. While predictable, it is still engaging and I think readers who enjoy teen readers and thriller reads will find this one a winner.ARC provided.
    more
  • Danielle (Life of a Literary Nerd)
    January 1, 1970
    "...They climbed into the car together, three little criminals ducking their heads. Three little lairs, beautiful and terrifying in their capacity for love, their capacity for vengence." I am conflicted. I got the creepy vibes I wanted from the story and the setting, but I didn’t love the characters or some of the interactions in the story. This Lie Will Kill Youis the perfect light spooky read. The location and the premise really shine with a murder mystery-style scholarship party happening "...They climbed into the car together, three little criminals ducking their heads. Three little lairs, beautiful and terrifying in their capacity for love, their capacity for vengence." I am conflicted. I got the creepy vibes I wanted from the story and the setting, but I didn’t love the characters or some of the interactions in the story. This Lie Will Kill Youis the perfect light spooky read. The location and the premise really shine with a murder mystery-style scholarship party happening at an old abandoned mansion. It was eerie and added to the plot and helped to create tension. Add in the who-dun-it from the death of a fellow classmate a year prior and the story has a lot of intrigue. But the characters brought it down for me. I loved the idea of former friends all isolated and trying to survive, but they were pretty one-dimensional with clear roles to play so the story was more predictable. Also Ruby’s first interactions with her love interests were shown via flashback and they were some of the most ridiculous things I have ever seen with my own eyes. I also found the ending of the story to be rushed and unsatisfying. There didn’t really seem to have the payoff for any of the problems. I wanted to like this more than I did, but I still have a fun time reading. I torn through the book in less than a day and it was just so easy to read. I received a copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • ♥ Kayleigh Kehoe ⚜ (Awkword Reviews)✍
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 ⭐This was good. This is the kind of book I would love to see Netflix adapt into a series. It's enigmatic, thrilling, enjoyable and detailed. It's a familiar theme, very I Know What You Did Last Summer meets Pretty Little Liars, but the author owns it, runs with it, and throws it into the air as dark confetti as the reader watches this mystery unfold with their eyes. "There'd been a party to plan, with a very exclusive guest list. A killer to catch." Five friends are invited to a murder mys 3.5 ⭐This was good. This is the kind of book I would love to see Netflix adapt into a series. It's enigmatic, thrilling, enjoyable and detailed. It's a familiar theme, very I Know What You Did Last Summer meets Pretty Little Liars, but the author owns it, runs with it, and throws it into the air as dark confetti as the reader watches this mystery unfold with their eyes. "There'd been a party to plan, with a very exclusive guest list. A killer to catch." Five friends are invited to a murder mystery evening, where the prize is a $50,000 scholarship to any university, since that dark thing happened last year, they are desperate to get a leg up in the world. But someone else is desperate for answers.Looking at past reviews, I can see that I'm a rarity for enjoying this book, each reader to their own, but I thought the prose was engaging and mysterious, sucking me in to the dark void where five teenagers need to face the consequences of their past. "All three of them had slipped into an alternate reality, where the world was beautiful and terrifying, and you had to see both sides in order to survive." I thought that the characters were written beautifully and had that three dimensional element of feeling real to me. I loved Ruby. I thought she was so enthralling as a character, she was by far my favourite. "Ruby needed to be loved. Maybe it was wrong, maybe she was supposed to love herself, the rest of the world be damned, but she couldn't stop waiting to be welcomed into the universe." Like I said, it's a very familiar theme, but if it's done well, then it's done well, and I will always try to give credit where it's due. Chelsea Pitcher deserves that credit.Thank you to Net Galley for providing an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.--------------------------------------- wordpress ♡ tumblr ♡ bookstagram ♡ twitter ♡---------------------------------------
    more
  • Kristi Housman Confessions of a YA Reader
    January 1, 1970
    RTC for blog tour. Thank you to the publisher for sending me a physical copy for review.
  • Jenn
    January 1, 1970
    I received a digital ARC of this title from Edelweiss for an honest review.Five teens are invited to a locked-room, murder mystery night and the one who solves the mystery will will a $50,000 scholarship. But when they arrive and find out who their competition is for this scholarship, they realize that they have an actual death (murder?) in common. They quickly realize that the scholarship was a ruse and they're really there to figure out/confess to what happened a year about when another boy di I received a digital ARC of this title from Edelweiss for an honest review.Five teens are invited to a locked-room, murder mystery night and the one who solves the mystery will will a $50,000 scholarship. But when they arrive and find out who their competition is for this scholarship, they realize that they have an actual death (murder?) in common. They quickly realize that the scholarship was a ruse and they're really there to figure out/confess to what happened a year about when another boy died.This is a fast paced thriller, very much in the vein of I Know What You Did Last Summer. It's very much Clue meets Pretty Little Liars. This Lie Will Kill You was very readable, but in the end, it just didn't hold up. The characters were portrayed as being very smart, but were easily let into some pretty obvious lies in order to get them there. There were a lot of issues with the plotting as well. There were character traits about parents that should have stopped this horrible night long before it got as far as it did, but they were conveniently forgotten.
    more
  • Lo O'Neill
    January 1, 1970
    I really wanted to like this story, the plot was intriguing and I am on a bit of a mystery/intrigue kind of roll at the moment. Sadly, This Lie Will Kill You just didn’t do it for me and I do feel bad saying that because I can see the potential of the book. I was left with the feeling that the author/publisher should just have held this one back for a little longer and worked out the finer points and they could have had an enjoyable murder mystery book on their hands. Alas it was not meant to be I really wanted to like this story, the plot was intriguing and I am on a bit of a mystery/intrigue kind of roll at the moment. Sadly, This Lie Will Kill You just didn’t do it for me and I do feel bad saying that because I can see the potential of the book. I was left with the feeling that the author/publisher should just have held this one back for a little longer and worked out the finer points and they could have had an enjoyable murder mystery book on their hands. Alas it was not meant to be.However, ultimately, the characters weren’t well developed and I did not feel a connection to any of them and the mystery element was predictable. There were very little subtleties surrounding who we should like and who we shouldn’t which meant that there could be no big reveal on who the villain was.I can only really give this book 2 stars but don’t just take my word for it, I would advise you to read it and form your own opinions, I am interested to see what others think of this one because for some reason I feel incredibly guilty writing a bad review for this one!
    more
  • Alyssa
    January 1, 1970
    Received an advanced copy in exchange for an honest review.One year ago, at a party in December, a series of events happened that led to the death of a teenager. Five teens had played a part in that death, but no one really knew what happened. Fast forward one year, and each of these students receive an exclusive invitation to compete for a $50,000 scholarship. After the events of last year’s party, they could each use that money for college so they all attend.Once there, they realize they may h Received an advanced copy in exchange for an honest review.One year ago, at a party in December, a series of events happened that led to the death of a teenager. Five teens had played a part in that death, but no one really knew what happened. Fast forward one year, and each of these students receive an exclusive invitation to compete for a $50,000 scholarship. After the events of last year’s party, they could each use that money for college so they all attend.Once there, they realize they may have been a little hasty in accepting that invitation. Someone is hellbent on revenge and determined to find out the truth of what happened that night, and they will do whatever is necessary to know the entire story from start to finish.Each of the characters were so strongly developed. I adored each persons’ chapters and being able to get into their brain to see exactly how they were feeling about the events that transpired at last year’s party, as well as the events at the revenge party. Ruby’s chapters were by far my favourite though. She was such a complex and interesting character with an insane life. No joke, I have no idea how that girl is still standing.The writing was easily my favourite part of the book. Like I just mentioned, the characters were written beautifully. Not only that, the descriptions threw you into both the past and the present so clearly. I could picture everything as it was happening, and my god, if I never even have to think of a porcelain doll ever again, it’ll be too soon.I was constantly on the edge of my seat wanting to know what was going to happen. While it was pretty obvious from the prologue who organized the revenge party, I was engaged all the way through wanting to know every single detail of both the past and present.Overall, I would highly suggest picking up this book. While, yes, it is obvious who the party is organized by, I think the book is so thrilling and mysterious that it’s easy to look past that and have a wonderful reading experience.Review originally posted at A Lovely Book Affair.
    more
  • Jaime
    January 1, 1970
    Disclosure: This book was provided to me by Edelweiss free of charge in return for an honest and unbiased review. This book is scheduled to be released on December 11, 2018 by Margaret K. McElderry Books.I have a confession to make.  I am a complete sucker for shows like "Pretty Little Liars" and "Harper's Island".  You know, the genre of show where I can yell, "Bitch, try locking your door!" and for one hour feel slightly superior that I would survive the wrath of a maniacal killer on a (twinki Disclosure: This book was provided to me by Edelweiss free of charge in return for an honest and unbiased review. This book is scheduled to be released on December 11, 2018 by Margaret K. McElderry Books.I have a confession to make.  I am a complete sucker for shows like "Pretty Little Liars" and "Harper's Island".  You know, the genre of show where I can yell, "Bitch, try locking your door!" and for one hour feel slightly superior that I would survive the wrath of a maniacal killer on a (twinkie induced, maybe?) rampage.  Let's be real, though.  If I were in a similar situation, I would totally die.  I mean, I'm the comic relief.  I'd be the second person bumped off - hell, FIRST if all my Asian friends decided to stay home that evening.  Plus, I can't even really run and power-walking away from a killer just isn't going to get you very far even if it does prevent me from contracting a debilitating case of the tripsies.  That being said, I just can't say no to a cheesy, teenybopper revenge thriller.Yeah.  I need to learn to say no.  Wait, where are my manners?!  No, thank you."This Lie Will Kill You" is not good - in fact it's borderline terrible.  And it really is hard for me to write those words because I so wanted it to be good.  Maybe it should have been a glaring red flag to me when the synopsis reads that it's "Clue" meets "Riverdale".  Really?  I love both of those things!  Where do I sign up?Except this book is neither of those things.  Even if you stripped "Clue" of it's brilliant mystery and memorable characters, "This Lie Will Kill You" wouldn't even come close.Let's begin with the writing.  I realize that I read an uncorrected proof, however, it kind of reads like a "Dick and Jane" picture book with a serious comma problem.  We're talking very basic words and sentences.  You could always tell when the author got really excited about certain words or phrases, though, because they would be repeated extensively throughout the book (a la Stephanie Meyer and "chagrin").  Variations of the word "heart" are used 81 times - 82 if you include the dedication.  It is mostly descriptions about Ruby's heart - how her heart feels, what her heart is made of and, my personal favorite, hopes that her heart would "soften to red".  Whatever the fuck that means.  "Cheshire grin" is used 3 times which is definitely 3 times too many.  There are various other examples of word/phrasing over-usage but I've grown bored.Pitcher also does something which I wish authors would avoid and that is mentioning other contemporary works within their writing.  Hear me out.  If you mention "Harry Potter" and your book is kind of crap then guess what?  I'm just going to be thinking about how I'd rather be reading Harry Potter.  Please, just STOP.Given the type of novel that "This Lie Will Kill You" is, if the writing were its only issue it could pass with a 2.5/5 star review for me.  A solid "meh".  It's fine.  It served its purpose.  Unfortunately, the rest of the book is kind of a mess as well.Let's begin with the characters.  We have a group of teenagers with ridiculous names (Ruby Valentine, Gavin Moon, Juniper Torres, Brett Carmichael, Parker Addison, Shane Ferrick, Brianna Ferrick) and while their names are unique, they're basically The Breakfast Club.Ruby Valentine - the most beautiful girl in school, dates the rich guy, has an abusive fatherJuniper Torres - good girl who is academically inclined.Gavin Moon - the outsider.Brett Carmichael - jock, the muscle.Parker Addison - controlling rich guyShane Ferrick - mysterious newcomer, he's basically Edward from "Twilight".Anyway, they are invited to an eerie mansion for a Murder Mystery Party where the winner will receive a $50,000 scholarship.  So of course they all go because money.  Very basic plot, which isn't necessarily a complete dealbreaker.  For me, however, the creep factor just wasn't there and any incidents that were meant to be scary just sort of fell flat.  I was promised the intrigue of "Clue" and I got an episode of "Pretty Little Liars" - during the writer's strike.   Ultimately, "This Lie Will Kill You" is lacking any real suspense.  Most of the plot consists of flashbacks to an incident that happened the previous summer (sound familiar?).   It's not a real deep mystery either and you basically know where the book is headed from the beginning.  It's too bad the ride along the way just isn't enjoyable enough to be worth your time.
    more
  • PinkAmy loves \\u0026#x1f495; books\\u0026#x1f4d6;, cats\\u0026#x1f63b; and naps\\u0026#x1f6cf;
    January 1, 1970
    What started off as a great premise turned into a hot mess with flat characters and a plot that made no sense. Chelsea Pitcher’s word building is at times beautiful, almost poetic. I liked another book of hers, but can’t see any reason to recommend THIS LIE WILL KILL YOU.
    more
  • Susan
    January 1, 1970
    I’m going to have mostly negative things to say about this book but that doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy it on some level. The story was rather bizarre and completely unrealistic. It felt like the script for a slasher movie more than a novel. I think this is a book best enjoyed by turning off your disbelief, skepticism, and maybe your brain in general and just going with the flow. As soon as you start questioning all the plot holes and loose ends become visible. If you can just go with it, it’s a fu I’m going to have mostly negative things to say about this book but that doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy it on some level. The story was rather bizarre and completely unrealistic. It felt like the script for a slasher movie more than a novel. I think this is a book best enjoyed by turning off your disbelief, skepticism, and maybe your brain in general and just going with the flow. As soon as you start questioning all the plot holes and loose ends become visible. If you can just go with it, it’s a fun, fast paced thriller and a real page turner. I kept feeling like something was strange about the writing style. Something was a bit off and I couldn’t quite place my finger on what. It was very disjointed, full of sentence fragments, manic in tone and felt somehow jagged. It was definitely not beautifully written. I do think that this was done on purpose to fit the frantic pace and cartoon-like brutality of the story. It was uncomfortable and suspenseful and made it hard to stop reading. I have to say that I figured out the villain(s) early on as it was pretty obvious who was responsible for the death and who was controlling the party. There’s also a big reveal about another unsolved case and that also held zero surprise. I’m not sure what the deal was with making the characters dress in different colours but the “bad” characters could not have been clearer if they were wearing black hats. The ending was moderately disappointing. There was less resolution than I wanted and it felt more like to story just fell apart. I think this will appeal to younger readers who want to be entertained for a few hours and don’t want to have to think very much. It is the equivalent of a teen movie like “I Know What You Did Last Summer” without the originality. It was a reasonably entertaining way to spend a few hours but not a book that I would read again, or am even likely to think about again. Thank you to Simon & Schuster Canada and Margaret K. McElderry Books for providing an Electronic Advance Reader Copy via NetGalley for review
    more
  • Aoife
    January 1, 1970
    Another entry in the growing 'teen mystery' genre. This is reminiscent of Christopher Pike's Weekend; a group of teens all played a part in hurting another, and are now being made to confess after being lured to a party. It's a simple story, with several twists, some of which I saw coming and some I didn't. It's hard to strike a balance between 'boring flashbacks', 'too much information in the wrong order' and 'destroyed all the tension' but Chelsea has managed it. Some things still weren't quit Another entry in the growing 'teen mystery' genre. This is reminiscent of Christopher Pike's Weekend; a group of teens all played a part in hurting another, and are now being made to confess after being lured to a party. It's a simple story, with several twists, some of which I saw coming and some I didn't. It's hard to strike a balance between 'boring flashbacks', 'too much information in the wrong order' and 'destroyed all the tension' but Chelsea has managed it. Some things still weren't quite clear to me at the end, but nothing that affected the storyline badly.A good, tense read.Receiving an ARC did not affect my review in any way.
    more
  • Megan Leprich
    January 1, 1970
    The synopsis of this book was telling me yes, yes, yes. And then I read the book and all I'm saying is a big fat no. I am in a huge book funk right now and just about every book I've started reading is not intriguing me whatsoever so that may be clouding my judgement of this book but I really, REALLY didn't like it. Like, gave up with less than 100 pages left.This book is about a group of friends that a year after a tragedy are trying to put their lives back to normal and forget what happened. T The synopsis of this book was telling me yes, yes, yes. And then I read the book and all I'm saying is a big fat no. I am in a huge book funk right now and just about every book I've started reading is not intriguing me whatsoever so that may be clouding my judgement of this book but I really, REALLY didn't like it. Like, gave up with less than 100 pages left.This book is about a group of friends that a year after a tragedy are trying to put their lives back to normal and forget what happened. Then a mysterious invitation shows up in their mailboxes inviting them to a party with an incentive, a $50,000 scholarship to whoever wins. When the friends show up to the mystery party, they slowly realize everyone's part in the tragedy a year prior and someone is getting their revenge.I was so excited to read this book, I was thinking part Clue and part Pretty Little Liars. (I know the others compare it to Riverdale but I never jumped on that wagon). I hated the writing style and I caught myself numerous times rewriting certain parts of the book, that's never good if I do that. I couldn't get into the story and the way it bounced around between all the characters drove me insane.Also, some of the ways the author would have Ruby think and talk completely stumped me. The way her and Shane talked to each other honestly made me think of a modern day Romeo and Juliet and not in a good way.Another sad thing is I LOVE horror movies, that's pretty much the only genre of movies that I watch. Reading the synopsis of this book I got total I Know What You Did Last Summer vibes and I was super stoked for that. Which yes, the dolls were creepy but I'm one of those people that think porcelain dolls are freaky, have my whole life. But that was literally the only scary part of this whole book (in my opinion). I just expected a lot more from this.I have never read anything by Chelsea Pitcher before and I don't plan on reading anything by her after this book.
    more
  • Ruthsic
    January 1, 1970
    Warnings: domestic violence, abusive ex, gas-lighting, suicidal ideation, physical violence (assault), revenge pornA murder 'mystery' in the vein of slasher movies where a group of teens are lured into a mansion as part of a revenge plot, This Lie Will Kill You doesn't really keep us in suspense. It is pretty predictable in its set-up, as well as the identity of both the 'bad guys' - the one who caused the murder and the one who is taking revenge on behalf of the victim. It, however, has a well- Warnings: domestic violence, abusive ex, gas-lighting, suicidal ideation, physical violence (assault), revenge pornA murder 'mystery' in the vein of slasher movies where a group of teens are lured into a mansion as part of a revenge plot, This Lie Will Kill You doesn't really keep us in suspense. It is pretty predictable in its set-up, as well as the identity of both the 'bad guys' - the one who caused the murder and the one who is taking revenge on behalf of the victim. It, however, has a well-written character-driven story that takes us through the relationships between the five teens, the circumstances leading up to the murder and how they were maneuvered by the ex-boyfriend from hell into going just that one step too far. Told through each of the teens in third person perspective, we get to see the pieces of terrible things, and how they are being covered up. As a bad guy, Parker is extremely infuriating. To be honest, if Brianna wouldn't have even waited till he entered the mansion to strangle him with the rope he brought in, that too would have been fine. He is manipulative, stalkery, and obsessed with Ruby, his ex who he is abusive towards. Ruby, for her part, is still not over the death of Shane, the boy who died and who she loved; she is also a survivor of abuse (from her father) and is trying to escape from Parker's attempts to get her back. Juniper, Ruby's ex best friend, is a smart character who senses how shady it is, but comes to protect Ruby. Brett, meanwhile, comes with a guilty conscience already and a troubled heart. As they get going with the game, the story spills out, and yes, it is pretty much what you expect it to be. What I didn't expect it to be was so dramatic (now I see why it has been likened to Riverdale in its synopis - some of the characters are so extra). The writing is okay, but the characters do seem exaggerated at times; even the dialogue at times felt too cheesy and metaphorical for a bunch of teens to talk in. The ending is also stretched out to give more insight into the motives and backstory of a character.In short, this is a mystery plot that is more driven by the characters, than the twists and motive. Is it diverse? One of the characters is gay; another is Asian.Received an advance reader copy in exchange for a fair review from Simon and Schuster UK Children's, via Netgalley.
    more
  • Read InAGarden
    January 1, 1970
    Not a lot of quality and depth here. But This Lie Will Kill You will be enjoyed by teens who like formula horror movies.
  • Heather Harrison
    January 1, 1970
    I received this ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review...so here it is.This book is a mash up of “Pretty Little Liars” meets “I Know What You Did Last Summer” with a dash of “Clue” mixed in for good measure. I think that’s where my problem with this book stems from: there’s just too much going on. It’s unnecessarily boggled, but not in a clever murder mystery kind of way. The premise starts out solid. Five high schoolers receive an invitation for a murder mystery evening from th I received this ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review...so here it is.This book is a mash up of “Pretty Little Liars” meets “I Know What You Did Last Summer” with a dash of “Clue” mixed in for good measure. I think that’s where my problem with this book stems from: there’s just too much going on. It’s unnecessarily boggled, but not in a clever murder mystery kind of way. The premise starts out solid. Five high schoolers receive an invitation for a murder mystery evening from the Burning Embers Scholarship. Whichever student solves the mystery receives $50,000. The attendees all know each other and have complicated past histories. That part didn’t really bother me...what teenager doesn’t have complicated relationships after all?! Parker and Ruby used to date. Ruby and Juniper used to be best friends. Gavin is secretly in love with Juniper. Brett protects Parker. But the heart of the story is what part they all played in the death of a classmate a year earlier. Someone wants revenge for his death. Mayhem ensues. I think this would have been more solid for me if all of the characters were equally developed. Some of them, Shane, for example, is well developed. But I found myself not really caring what happened to any of the murder mystery participants. Juniper especially. The ending is one of the most overly dramatic, over the top ones I’ve read in a while. As I said, this one just wasn’t my cup of tea. However, I always appreciate the chance to read and review!
    more
  • Candyce Kirk
    January 1, 1970
    This Lie Will Kill You started out really strong for me. I loved the fact that the chapters were switched between the five characters. It's clear something has happened, but it's not clear what exactly happened! Only that someone died.The idea of a murder mystery dinner to earn a scholarship is definitely unique and I liked the sound of a murder mystery. It's clear that we can puzzle along with the characters. They all receive costumes and once at the party their characters. From the start it's This Lie Will Kill You started out really strong for me. I loved the fact that the chapters were switched between the five characters. It's clear something has happened, but it's not clear what exactly happened! Only that someone died.The idea of a murder mystery dinner to earn a scholarship is definitely unique and I liked the sound of a murder mystery. It's clear that we can puzzle along with the characters. They all receive costumes and once at the party their characters. From the start it's understood that these characters were friends or at least closer than they are now.The mansion is set in the woods and it sounds really creepy. The porcelain dolls, portraits with people missing, rooms with the character's dreams. Definitely the perfect setting for this type of game. I wouldn't want to be there alone at night!But that's when things got disappointing for me. The plot feels all over the place. As readers we switch between past and present and it's not always clear when this switch happens. I had times while reading where I didn't figure out that it was the past until near the end of the chapter. This also made it really hard for me to connect with a character.All of the characters have some type of history that has changed them in some way. While this is perfectly normal, I mean no one is perfect. It just felt a bit too much that all of the characters had some heartbreaking issues.Unfortunately I knew who was behind everything before the halfway mark. That's when the book kind of changes and as a reader you are just waiting for characters to confess their sins to see if they can escape. I really wish more had been done with this dinner party! That could've made this book more exciting!I really see the potential in this book and where the author wanted to take it. She is really creative with this dinner party and the house it takes place in! I love that creepy feeling the house gave me as it was described. This Lie Will Kill You was a fast and interesting read, it just lacked in some areas in my opinion!
    more
  • Stormi (BMReviewsohmy)
    January 1, 1970
    I went into This Lie Will Kill You with no real expectations because a lot of YA mysteries are kind of the same and this one was really not that different.It’s about 5 teens who are invited to a murder mystery party and really they must have been desperate to think a scholarship was attached to this party. They are desperate teens though holding on by a thread because of something they were all involved in a year ago.At the party we slowly start to see things unravel and why they are there and t I went into This Lie Will Kill You with no real expectations because a lot of YA mysteries are kind of the same and this one was really not that different.It’s about 5 teens who are invited to a murder mystery party and really they must have been desperate to think a scholarship was attached to this party. They are desperate teens though holding on by a thread because of something they were all involved in a year ago.At the party we slowly start to see things unravel and why they are there and their roles that were played in what happened in the previous year. A boy died tragically and they hall had a role in it. Can’t really say much else because it would give things away.I can see where the clue meets Riverdale happens as these kids are pretty messed up and each had a weapon they were supposed to bring. Each were dressed up in a costume. It really felt just like other YA mysteries that I read but I was curious to see how it ended. There was only a few things that surprised me. I pretty much had most of it figured out and thought the ending drug out a little bit to long.I didn’t care for any of the characters and I don’t think you are suppose to really like them, even if they had a small role to play in the events they were still involved and I just didn’t take to any of them. There was only one I felt kind of sorry for but then that person turns out to be pretty messed up.Overall, it was entertaining but not anything I haven’t read before so if you like YA mysteries give it a try as you might like it more than I did.
    more
  • Sara (A Gingerly Review)
    January 1, 1970
    When the phrase, "The struggle is real" was created, I have a feeling they had this book in mind (they just didn't realize it yet).I had zero clue what was going on. Characters were underdeveloped and the plot was weak. I hope to have my review up soon.
    more
  • Celia McMahon
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to Edelweiss and the publisher for the chance to review this title ahead of its release date.This book follows five teens as they're locked in a house to solve a murder mystery and win a 50k scholarship. As the prologue proposes, there is a REAL murder mystery to be resolved, and that is why they are all there. This book suggests a fast-paced, YA thriller much like One of Us is Lying.In all actuality, the mystery of the real-life murder was far too obvious, and the writing was subpar. Thank you to Edelweiss and the publisher for the chance to review this title ahead of its release date.This book follows five teens as they're locked in a house to solve a murder mystery and win a 50k scholarship. As the prologue proposes, there is a REAL murder mystery to be resolved, and that is why they are all there. This book suggests a fast-paced, YA thriller much like One of Us is Lying.In all actuality, the mystery of the real-life murder was far too obvious, and the writing was subpar. The characters were all very flat, to me, and the plot seemed a little jarred. Something about it was not as fleshed out as I had been hoping it would be as I kept reading. Alas, this entire book didn't do it for me. I have a very high standard with YA thrillers, so this may be my personal preference. The idea was what drew me to requesting this title, and I thought I was getting myself into some thrill-ride. It's not that it was BAD. It just didn't live up to what I thought it was. Nonetheless, it was a fun, fast read. It merely wasn't for me.
    more
  • Isabelle
    January 1, 1970
    (Won through a Goodreads giveaway! Thank you to SimonTEEN for sending me a free copy.)3.5 stars.What's more fun than an unreliable narrator in a murder mystery? FIVE unreliable narrators in a twisted game based on a murder they were involved in. The third-person limited POV rotates between the major players — "class act" Juniper Torres, "drama queen" Ruby Valentine, "golden boy" Parker Addison, "meat head" Brett Carmichael, and "lone wolf" Gavin Moon —  but it's pretty easy to keep up since each (Won through a Goodreads giveaway! Thank you to SimonTEEN for sending me a free copy.)3.5 stars.What's more fun than an unreliable narrator in a murder mystery? FIVE unreliable narrators in a twisted game based on a murder they were involved in. The third-person limited POV rotates between the major players — "class act" Juniper Torres, "drama queen" Ruby Valentine, "golden boy" Parker Addison, "meat head" Brett Carmichael, and "lone wolf" Gavin Moon —  but it's pretty easy to keep up since each chapter establishes quickly who we're following now. And if that weren't exciting enough, the narrative also jumps between past and present, so we get to learn the truth as the characters do, re-evaluating them as they re-evaluate each other in light of the new information. I can definitely see this as a great movie or even a limited series; the structure lends itself to suspense and dramatic reveals, and its emotional effect is heightened by carefully selected details and motifs scattered throughout the narrative till the very end.That said, I did find it hard to really connect with any of the characters. Even setting aside the fact that we don't spend long with any single one of them, they seemed to be defined by their motives, goals, and narrative role rather than distinctive personality or growth. Sure, I could tell you all about their tragic backstory and deepest desire, but so could a police report.Of course, no story is complete without pre-existing ambiguous entanglements that flare up to complicate everything. There's romantic drama and friend drama and general high-school drama, all of it relevant since this story is built on various forms of human interaction and connection. Still, while I appreciated the messy setup in theory — like the details of the game and murder, it's tempting to draw a diagram just because the connections are all over the place— I wasn't totally convinced by the love triangle between two very different boys (one, a perfect gentleman; the other, a possessive manipulator), the convenient but underdeveloped secondary (heterosexual) romance, the coy implications of homosexual attraction.I was a little on the fence between 3 and 3.5 stars until the falling action/last reveal tipped the balance. No spoilers here, but I will say that it was well incorporated into the narrative flow and I probably should've seen it coming, but then again I've always been willing to suspend disbelief and allow sleight-of-hand to mislead me.All in all, this novel combines a lot of well-known elements to create something that's entertaining, if not very compelling. I enjoyed reading it, as will others who like stories about twisted high-stakes teenage games.Review will also be posted to my blog.
    more
  • Jenn
    January 1, 1970
    From my blog and instagram account @livereadandprosperThank you to Simon Pulse for sending me a copy in exchange for my honest review.You are cordially invited to a murder mystery party. The first person who solves the murder wins a $50,000 scholarship. Interested?You will meet 5 teenagers, all of wihch are hiding deep secrets. Soon enough, they will learn that someone among them knows everything about them. It’s going to get real. this party is unlike any other you’ve ever been to. Are they wil From my blog and instagram account @livereadandprosperThank you to Simon Pulse for sending me a copy in exchange for my honest review.You are cordially invited to a murder mystery party. The first person who solves the murder wins a $50,000 scholarship. Interested?You will meet 5 teenagers, all of wihch are hiding deep secrets. Soon enough, they will learn that someone among them knows everything about them. It’s going to get real. this party is unlike any other you’ve ever been to. Are they willing to make it to the end? Are they even safe?The Breakfast Club meets Clue meets Pretty Little Liars meets Agatha Christie – those are all the vibes I got while reading this! The first seven chapters were a bit dull for me. I didn’t feel the excitement in wanting to read more until chapter 7 hit. I was intrigued about the lies these characters were holding, but not about the characters themselves. I had to keep reading to find out how someone knew every little detail about their lives, all the way down to deleted pictures that no one else had ever seen. Crazy! Their personalities left me wanting more…they were very stereotypical. If you liked Pretty Little Liars, I think you’ll really enjoy this one.3.5/5 Stars
    more
  • Alexandra Nae
    January 1, 1970
    (You can also find this review on my blog!)I first saw this book on Edelweiss so I requested for a digital reader's copy, and I was approved! Although the story was really interesting—filled with lies, porcelain dolls, and fire—I found myself wanting more.The writingOne thing that I loved about the author's writing in this story is the magnificent use of metaphors. This is probably my favorite thing out of the whole book. The author has a way of using metaphors and making the imagery much more i (You can also find this review on my blog!)I first saw this book on Edelweiss so I requested for a digital reader's copy, and I was approved! Although the story was really interesting—filled with lies, porcelain dolls, and fire—I found myself wanting more.The writingOne thing that I loved about the author's writing in this story is the magnificent use of metaphors. This is probably my favorite thing out of the whole book. The author has a way of using metaphors and making the imagery much more interesting and in a way, more significant to the current scene.The perspective of the story also jumped from character to character, and from past to present and vice versa. This was good for me as I was able to see the events unfold and see the truth among all the lies.There was a part in the writing though that seemed too sexual and graphic for me. Although, when I think about it, that part really gave me a clear perspective into that particular character's personality. The charactersThe characters were likable enough for me, but there were times that they were predictable. Ruby was fiery but I feel like she fell in love way to easily. Juniper was blinded by her feelings, Brett deserved better than to be manipulated and used because of his affections for a certain someone. Gavin only wants to fit in, and Parker is a true jerk who has the makings of an abusive, manipulative, and controlling boyfriend (Sorry guys, but I'm really not fond of Parker's character *cries*). Also, Shane seems like some sort Edward Cullen's reincarnation, I swear. The plotThe plot was good, although I kept looking for something that will really chill my bones, something that will really blow my mind. Unfortunately, I found it a bit lacking.There was mystery indeed—it made me wonder just what exactly happened one year ago, what these people are hiding, why was this party/contest happening and who made it possible, those kind of things. However, it didn't blow my mind or give me chills. Most of my theories and guesses about the plot were right. There was only one plot twist though that really shocked me. I won't go into details because I do not want to spoil you guys! Just know that this one was really crazy and I did not see it coming. (Kind of makes me think how I didn't see it!) That's something to watch out for!And there you go! 3.5 stars for this book! This book will be released a month from now, December 11, 2018! If you want something different from the usual YA Contemporary or YA Fantasy in your TBR, you can give this book a shot!
    more
Write a review