Rayne & Delilah's Midnite Matinee
A contemporary novel about two best friends who must make tough decisions about their futures--and the TV show they host--in their senior year of high school.Every Friday night, best friends Delia and Josie become Rayne Ravenscroft and Delilah Darkwood, hosts of the campy creature feature show Midnite Matinee on the local cable station TV Six.But with the end of senior year quickly approaching, the girls face tough decisions about their futures. Josie has been dreading graduation, as she tries to decide whether to leave for a big university and chase her dream career in mainstream TV. And Lawson, one of the show's guest performers, a talented MMA fighter with weaknesses for pancakes, fantasy novels, and Josie, is making her tough decision even harder.Scary movies are the last connection Delia has to her dad, who abandoned the family years ago. If Midnite Matinee becomes a hit, maybe he'll see it and want to be a part of her life again. And maybe Josie will stay with the show instead of leaving her behind, too.As the tug-of-war between growing up and growing apart tests the bonds of their friendship, Josie and Delia start to realize that an uncertain future can be both monstrous...and momentous.

Rayne & Delilah's Midnite Matinee Details

TitleRayne & Delilah's Midnite Matinee
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseFeb 26th, 2019
PublisherCrown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-139781524720209
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary, Realistic Fiction

Rayne & Delilah's Midnite Matinee Review

  • Chelsea (chelseadolling reads)
    January 1, 1970
    I'm sorry, but what in the name of manic-pixie-dream plot did I just read????????? Things started off well enough but took SUCH a nose-dive in the second half, I can't even deal. I have no idea how to even write this review because this was one of my most anticipated reads of the year (I gave Jeff’s previous two books 5 stars) but it was honestly just a big ol' 👎🏼💩 I AM SO BUMMED
    more
  • Larry H
    January 1, 1970
    "Sometimes small and unspectacular things can be a universe."Josie and Delia are best friends. They're practically inseparable, prone to conversations like, "Have you noticed that if you switch the first letters of every country singer's first and last name, you end up with an amazing Star Wars name?"Every Friday night, Josie and Delia become Rayne Ravenscroft and Delilah Darkwood, the hosts of a campy, tongue-in-cheek horror show on public access television called Midnite Matinee . They show b "Sometimes small and unspectacular things can be a universe."Josie and Delia are best friends. They're practically inseparable, prone to conversations like, "Have you noticed that if you switch the first letters of every country singer's first and last name, you end up with an amazing Star Wars name?"Every Friday night, Josie and Delia become Rayne Ravenscroft and Delilah Darkwood, the hosts of a campy, tongue-in-cheek horror show on public access television called Midnite Matinee . They show bad horror movies, make lots of corny jokes, and quite often have to keep themselves from bursting into laughter while filming, but they try to keep improving and create something they can be (reasonably) proud of.Their program is filmed in Jackson, Tennessee, but airs on a few markets throughout the south, enough that there are viewers who write them letters to comment on errors, offer criticism and suggestions, and share pervy thoughts that men shouldn't have about two high school seniors. Josie has dreamed of being on television for as long as she can remember, while Delia get involved mostly as a tribute to her father, who shared his love of campy horror movies with her, and then left when she was younger.As their senior year draws to a close, so much hangs in the balance. While they both plan to go to the same college so they can continue filming the show on weekends, Josie's parents want her to pursue a television career legitimately. Josie doesn't want to let Delia down, but she doesn't know if the show is even what she still wants. And when a guest on the show catches Josie's attention in an unexpected way, it adds even more pressure to the decisions she has to make.Everything hinges on a meeting Delia has set up with a producer who made a star out of a horror hostess back in the day. They plan to meet him at ShiverCon, a horror convention. They both dream that this meeting will take their show to the next level, which is what Delia wants more than anything, and it would solve all of Josie's problems. And maybe, while they're in Florida for the convention, Delia might track down her father..."You don't always know at the time when you're experiencing one of those random memories you'll carry all your life. When nothing momentous happened other than driving a little too fast in the direction of Florida, at dusk, with your best friend at your side and, at your back, a guy who's really good at kissing you. Still, you remember it until the day you die." Rayne and Delilah's Midnite Matinee is a warm, funny, poignant story of friendship, love, following your dreams, and worrying you'll always be the one left behind. At times the book gets a little too goofy, but it has such heart, and Jeff Zentner has created such terrific characters that charm you and make you care about them.Zentner's first two books, The Serpent King and Goodbye Days , tore me apart emotionally (see my reviews here and here), but he takes a lighter path with this book, although there still are emotional moments. He is truly a talented writer, relying on so much more than teenage characters who speak as if they've been honing their sarcasm and caustic wit since birth. He really has a knack for capturing the right amount of teenage angst and emotion.I believe Zentner is one of the best YA writers out there these days. If you prefer an utter emotional upheaval, read either of his first two books, but if you just want a fun, slightly zany, and poignant look at friendship, definitely pick up Rayne & Delilah's Midnite Matinee .NetGalley, Random House Children's, and Crown Books for Young Readers provided me an advance copy of the book in exchange for an unbiased review. Thanks for making this available! This book will be published February 26, 2019.See all of my reviews at itseithersadnessoreuphoria.blogspot.com.Check out my list of the best books I read in 2018 at https://itseithersadnessoreuphoria.blogspot.com/2019/01/the-best-books-i-read-in-2018.html. You can follow me on Instagram at https://www.instagram.com/yrralh/.
    more
  • Jeff Zentner
    January 1, 1970
    Here’s where RAYNE & DELILAH’S MIDNITE MATINEE came from. Inspiration rears its head at the most unexpected places, at the most unlikely times. One Saturday night, in February 2016, while I had my antennae up for an idea for my third novel, I came home and turned on the TV. I started aimlessly channel surfing. I must emphasize: this is exceedingly rare for me to do, given the length of my Netflix queue.When I landed on the Nashville public access station, I saw something surprising--a grainy Here’s where RAYNE & DELILAH’S MIDNITE MATINEE came from. Inspiration rears its head at the most unexpected places, at the most unlikely times. One Saturday night, in February 2016, while I had my antennae up for an idea for my third novel, I came home and turned on the TV. I started aimlessly channel surfing. I must emphasize: this is exceedingly rare for me to do, given the length of my Netflix queue.When I landed on the Nashville public access station, I saw something surprising--a grainy horror movie from the late sixties or seventies. I kept watching. The movie soon cut, as if to a commercial, to two goth-looking young women, on the set of a low-budget public access show. It was Marlena Midnite and Robyn Graves, the hosts of Midnite Mausoleum, a public access creature feature syndicated nationwide. The sweet goofiness of the show hooked me. It gave me a warm, safe feeling, like hanging out with friends and watching a cheesy movie. It would be part of many Saturday nights to come.But that night, two characters materialized in my mind. Two young women, with differing aspirations, who host a creature feature show on their local public access station in Jackson, Tennessee. I knew this would give me a long-awaited opportunity to write about the magic that happens when young women create things together. For years I’ve volunteered at Tennessee Teens Rock Camp and Southern Girls Rock Camp, and witnessed this firsthand, as bands composed entirely of young women would take the stage with songs they’d written. It would also give me a chance to write about a sort of person near and dear to my heart--those who try their hardest and come up short.So I began writing. My first two books, The Serpent King and Goodbye Days, have moments of humor, but are primarily weighted toward darker, heavier subjects. I soon realized that in writing about two girls who have a DIY show where they do skits with Frankenstein puppets, stage dog weddings, and have arbitrary dance parties, this book wanted to be the inverse of my previous two books--weighted toward comedy, with moments of darkness and heaviness. I hope it’s a welcome departure in this sense. But really, this isn’t a book about TV shows or horror movies. It’s a book about the deepest sort of friendship, and so it’s not actually a departure at all.I hope you have as much fun spending time with Josie Howard (AKA Rayne Ravenscroft) and Delia Wilkes (AKA Delilah Darkwood) as I did writing them. Making something with someone you love weaves a golden thread through the fabric of your togetherness. I tried to weave that golden thread into the friendship between Josie and Delia, with their Midnite Matinee. What they make is small and unspectacular, but sometimes small and unspectacular things can be a universe. So, grab a bag of truckbread (this will make sense if you’ve read it) and an ice-cold Cobra Venomm (this will also make sense if you’ve read it) and enjoy!
    more
  • Julie Zantopoulos
    January 1, 1970
    ARC provided by Jeff for a traveling book buddy read that will be returned to him with my annotations and thoughts. All opinions are my own. (also, if you're wondering if that's the coolest idea ever for an author to do, the answer is yes!) "Sometimes small and unspectacular things can be a universe."Josie and Delia are best friends, they're open and honest and they are as different as Dill and Lydia (yes, Serpent King reference). I kind of hate their unbalanced friendship dynamic but I get th ARC provided by Jeff for a traveling book buddy read that will be returned to him with my annotations and thoughts. All opinions are my own. (also, if you're wondering if that's the coolest idea ever for an author to do, the answer is yes!) "Sometimes small and unspectacular things can be a universe."Josie and Delia are best friends, they're open and honest and they are as different as Dill and Lydia (yes, Serpent King reference). I kind of hate their unbalanced friendship dynamic but I get that it happens sometimes. Josie comes from a household with two parents who are involved (maybe more than she wants) and she's financially stable. Delia has a father who abandoned her that she's struggling to impress so he'll love her (or just regret leaving her) and a mother who is phenomenal when she's taking her medication but kinda crap otherwise. In other words, they're different, they shouldn't work together...and sometimes, they don't. At the heart of this story is not a television show but the realization that following your dreams is hard as hell and takes sacrifice you may not be ready to make. It's about recognizing the worth of people right in front of you instead of the ones who left. It's healing hurts, accepting new pain, and risking your heart. "There are times when there's solace in smallness. ...As long as there's someone by your side to remind you that you're not nothing."Josie wants to be on television, Delia wants her father back in her life, and Lawson wants to be a perfect angel who steals the entire book (in my opinion). It's a travesty that this book isn't about Lawson. He's too precious, too amazing, to be real. Read it and you'll see why. Anyway, these two friends come from very different backgrounds but find a friendship that is pretty spectacular. Lawson is phenomenal, Arliss is moody perfection, and I think the only character I didn't connect with or particularly like is Josie (who had a split POV in this story and I think I was supposed to like more than I did). Josie had her moments but honestly, given how "easy" things were for her she was pretty unbearable for a majority (okay, all) of the book despite having these shining moments of decency. She just was really horrid at times, especially to Lawson early one, who I think we have established, I loved. "Real life is better, in all of it's complications, in all of its everyday quiet ache."It's difficult at times to see Delia so afraid of being left behind and Josie struggling to not hold herself back in order to remain around for her. Delia would never ask it of her, not truly, but it's still hard to watch Delia struggle with feeling like she's being outgrown by everyone in her life. Delia is pretty much the only character in this book I semi-relate to. Josie is deeply unlikeable, pretty much the whole way through this novel. I also just relate to Delia and her mother's struggles with depression (both are on meds and aware of their mental health struggles though Delia handles it better than her mother at times). Another central focus of this story is Delia dealing with the aftermath of her father's abandonment. Her memories of him are bright and shiny perfection but the reality is a lot different. A seven-year-old was left by her father and as a recent high school graduate, she still hasn't come to terms with how he could have done such a thing. My heart hurt for her but her character arc really was the best part of this story-that and her relationship with her mother which was raw and messy and lovely. I love Jeff's work, you guys know this, but this book fell flat for me. The characters were a bit too over the top, Josie never redeemed herself in the novel, and Delia was more relatable but also a bit too much. It was over the top at times (the Russian mafia makes an appearance). Jeff's work is usually an automatic 5 star for me and this one is...well, not. It's a 2.5 that I'm upping to 3 for goodreads. I'm hoping his next work comes back around to what I know and love about his writing. Trigger warnings for depression, suicidal thoughts, abandonment. All quotes are taken from an arc copy and subject to change.
    more
  • Malanie
    January 1, 1970
    “““I never feel like I need to hide any part of who I am.””” This book had so much potential. I promise it did. It started off so great!!!!! But it sort of,,,,,folded in on itself. About 50% in. If the first half of this book only existed, then it would be a 5/5 star book. HOWEVER. The plot just didn’t do it for me. Which is sad. life just wants to,,,,punch me in the gut here lately and it’s fine. So. Ouch but you know what, whatever. I’M VERY OKAY. ✨What is this book about?✨ Best friends, “““I never feel like I need to hide any part of who I am.””” This book had so much potential. I promise it did. It started off so great!!!!! But it sort of,,,,,folded in on itself. About 50% in. If the first half of this book only existed, then it would be a 5/5 star book. HOWEVER. The plot just didn’t do it for me. Which is sad. life just wants to,,,,punch me in the gut here lately and it’s fine. So. Ouch but you know what, whatever. I’M VERY OKAY. ✨What is this book about?✨ Best friends, Josie and Delia, have their own campy horror feature show called Midnite Matinee, where they play as commentary vampires named Rayne and Delilah. And they hate when people call them out for calling the monster Frankenstein so they’d fucking hate my soul which...I’m still dealing with that emotionally. And Arliss is the adult figure who helps them produce the show. Please go into this knowing that Arliss is the star of the show. His ideal Friday evening is spent eating dinner on his porch, thinking about all the ways he’s ever let down the people who love him. ARLISS, JESUS CHRIST, YOU SHOWED UP AT MY HOUSE AND CALLED ME OUT. The other star of the show is Buford, Josie’s dog. He is woeful and he daily struggles to find the will to Deal With People. He’s the literary incarnation of all my childhood pets (((because for some reason animals tend to become miserable in my presence))). Josie also has a boyfriend, who she meets in the beginning of the book, and I was so pissed off that we had to introduce a romantic interest. I wanted ***one book*** that focused entirely on friendship. We’re talking, not a single love interest mentioned even once. BUT LOL NOPE. Lawson was really cute, and he cries on Josie’s shoulder & is a professional MMA fighter. But honestly I didn’t show up for romance and I didn’t get into it. They have adorable, funny banter! Someone out there is going to ship them some Lawson and Josie. But not Malanie “pls direct me to the plot about best friends, i’m so goddamn tired of romance” Beverly.There’s also a subplot about Delia dealing with her father leaving her. When she was smol, her dad bailed and now she’s on a mission to track him down and demand answers. It helps build suspense in the plot and allows there to *BE* a plot. I called it a subplot but really it’s the main story we follow. However, it’s so anticlimactic I nearly burst into tears. Once again it took up space where I wanted more friendship development. Or scenes featuring Buford being Buford. Buford was a badass good boy. ✨Rep!!!✨ ➡️Delia and her parents struggle with clinical depression, and this rep was handled SO WELL. I also have depression and based on my experience, the author gave such a realistic portrayal of what it’s like. ➡️Delia is very positive about antidepressants & helps normalize that option ✨Overall✨ This was a decent book with amazingly hilarious dialogue!!!!!!! The plot is boring and when things do happen they feel contrived. But if you love banter and a cheesy horror film convention aesthetic, this mightttttt be for you.TW: parent abandoning child, depression (which causes parent-child neglect), mild violence|✨BLOG✨| ✨TWITTER✨|✨BOOKSTAGRAM✨|
    more
  • Cory Marie
    January 1, 1970
    I am the type of reader who hardly ever asks for ARCs- partly because I am stupid and scared of rejection, and partly because I am weird and I often enjoy going to the bookstore on the day a book is released. There is just something about a Tuesday morning, am I right?! However, when I had the amazing opportunity to read Jeff Zentner's newest book early... I DID NOT HESITATE. I had to have it. He is one of the best contemporary authors out there. He wrote my absolute favorite book, The Serpent K I am the type of reader who hardly ever asks for ARCs- partly because I am stupid and scared of rejection, and partly because I am weird and I often enjoy going to the bookstore on the day a book is released. There is just something about a Tuesday morning, am I right?! However, when I had the amazing opportunity to read Jeff Zentner's newest book early... I DID NOT HESITATE. I had to have it. He is one of the best contemporary authors out there. He wrote my absolute favorite book, The Serpent King, and I made a deal with myself that I would literally read anything and everything that he ever writes. His stories always speak to me, touch my heart in unexpected ways, and of course, make me bawl my damn eyes out. Rayne and Delilah's Midnite Matinee was no exception.I'll start off by saying that Rayne and Delilah was by far the most upbeat book that Jeff Zentner has written so far. I knew he was a witty dude, but holy hell, this book had me wondering if he practices stand up comedy in his spare time. The humor and wit is unparalleled. Every single line is true comedy gold, and I laughed out loud more times than I can even begin to count. I wish that Josie and Delia were real people because I know that myself and my best friend, Becca, would love to hang out with them all day long. They would be the perfect people to join us in making sarcastic jokes about all of the fools that we have to deal with on a daily basis, while also hardcore hating on all things relating to country music. Besides being the queens of hilarity, Josie and Delia are also two of the most relatable characters that I've ever read. I saw so much of myself in both of them, and I totally wish that I would have had their gumption when I was in high school. A lot of YA books deal with friendship, but I think that Rayne and Delilah brought the friendship theme to a whole new level. It was extremely refreshing to read about two female best friends who were totally in sync and focused on things outside of romance. Speaking of romance, Rayne and Delilah has some of that too!! And it was another thing that I adored about the book. The romantic aspect was subtle enough to not overshadow the main story, but prevalent enough to keep my romance-loving heart happy. Who freakin knew that a male could write such a relatable, honest, and swoon-worthy love story told from the perspective of a female?! Seriously, kudos to Jeff for having the guts to not only attempt this, but to succeed with flying colors!! It takes a true talent for an author to be able to delve into the mind of a persona that they themselves have never been, but trust me when I say that I was so pleasantly surprised about how well Jeff Zentner executed this "girl power"-esque story.I've talked about how funny and cute this book is, but I have yet to describe how it is also so very heartwarming and emotional. There were times where I had to read certain paragraphs twice because I was so moved and inspired. I have always appreciated that both of Jeff's previous books harp on the fact that you do not have to do extraordinary things to be an extraordinary person. I love the message that people can be happy living a "simple" life. I think it's an important thing to convey to young people like myself, who sometimes struggle soooo hard to be "the best", and subsequently think of themselves as failures when they don't experience the fame and fortune they think they desire. My emotions were also on high alert whenever I read the subtle, yet so important, passages about mental health. As someone who struggles with depression, accurate mental health representation is something that I always look for in books. And I mean, come on, it wouldn't be a Jeff Zentner book if it wasn't at least a little sad.I could realistically write about 6 more paragraphs describing everything that I loved about Rayne and Delilah's Midnite Matinee, but I'll end this by saying that you need this book in your life, and you should definitely go buy it when it comes out on February 26, 2019. You also need The Serpent King and Goodbye Days if you have not yet read those. All three of them are life-changing and life-affirming novels that will always hold a special place in my heart. 5 STARS!!!!!!!!!** I was provided an ARC of this book as part of an ARC tour. My thoughts and opinions are all my own, and I was not influenced by the author or publisher.
    more
  • Melanie
    January 1, 1970
    I love Julie Zantopoulos...Blog | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Youtube | Twitch
  • Warda
    January 1, 1970
    “A hilarious novel about friendship, following your dreams – and bad horror movies.”Thank you, Andersen Press for this book!I read The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner last year and became one of my favourite books of last year. I can’t wait to see what his new novel will be like.
    more
  • Hamad
    January 1, 1970
    Jeff is one of those authors that you read once and love forever!
  • Denia Books & Baubles
    January 1, 1970
    What a great book, you guys. I loved it so much. Let me start by saying I have never laughed as hard reading a book as I did reading this one. This book was awesome you guys! I couldn't stop reading it once I started it. We have a little bit of everything going on in this book. There's your adorable romance, there's your invaluable friendship, there's your crazy story, there's your down moments, but above all, there's your love."Those who don't work hard for a long time will have a hard time for What a great book, you guys. I loved it so much. Let me start by saying I have never laughed as hard reading a book as I did reading this one. This book was awesome you guys! I couldn't stop reading it once I started it. We have a little bit of everything going on in this book. There's your adorable romance, there's your invaluable friendship, there's your crazy story, there's your down moments, but above all, there's your love."Those who don't work hard for a long time will have a hard time for a long time."Josie and Delia are best friends that host a show on channel six that airs every Sunday (I believe)  from 11 pm to 1 am. Their show is about critiquing old horror movies while playing a role in front of the camera. They have been doing this show together for over a year and a half now. Delia struggles with the lost of her father and the fact that she and her whole family have mental issues. Meanwhile, Josie struggles with deciding what to do with her life after high school, her decisions lie within staying in town helping Delia with the show or moving on and working on her career as being a TV show host.The characters were so full of life. Josie and Delia have the most amazing friendship ever, it's so unique that people think they are sisters all the time despite either one of them not looking like each other. They made me laugh so hard throughout this entire story. There's a scene in the book (not spoilers I promise) where there's a fight going on, like a professional looking fight, there's a ring, boxers, etc., and Delia shouts:"Make him feel like every day is Monday"I don't know why, but I laughed so hard during that scene I had to stop reading and wipe the laughing tears under my eyes. Josie and Delia make me feel so happy and despite the fact that they have their own problems, they still find their way back to each other.Delia's mom has mental health issues and that is something that Delia struggles with too, but something that I loved seeing in this story was the fact that Zetner didn't make her hate her mom. Delia loves her family, however broken it may be. And her mom turns out to be one of the coolest moms out there despite her issues with herself. I also have to say that Delia is my favorite character on this book. Not only does she have a name similar to mine, but she feels so real throughout this entire story. I have a story similar to hes and her character hit home for me. Moreover, people said that this was the one book from Jeff Zetner that wouldn't make you cry and they lied. I cried like a baby. There were moments in this book that I suffered through and it honestly was my fault for thinking that I wasn't going to cry."I get lonely sometimes, but so does everyone else. We're all looking for some sort of salvation in something."I read this whole book thinking that this book is 100% Zetner. I can see him liking mix martial arts, old horror movies, and fart jokes. Yep, all of that is in this book. If you want to die laughing, then please read this book. If you like Adam Silvera (but not in his everyone has to die way), Becky Albertalli, David Levithan, etc., then you'll for sure love this book. If you are 10 years old and older, you can also read this book. And as always, I want to thank you guys for taking the time to read my post. I truly appreciate it.
    more
  • Lauren Stoolfire
    January 1, 1970
    I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.Every Friday night, best friends Delia and Josie become Rayne Ravenscroft and Delilah Darkwood, hosts of the campy creature feature show Midnite Matinee on the local cable station TV Six. But with the end of senior year quickly approaching, the girls face tough decisions about their futures. Josie has been dreading graduation, as she tries to decide whether to leave for a big university and chase her dream career in mainstream TV. I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.Every Friday night, best friends Delia and Josie become Rayne Ravenscroft and Delilah Darkwood, hosts of the campy creature feature show Midnite Matinee on the local cable station TV Six. But with the end of senior year quickly approaching, the girls face tough decisions about their futures. Josie has been dreading graduation, as she tries to decide whether to leave for a big university and chase her dream career in mainstream TV. And Lawson, one of the show's guest performers, a talented MMA fighter with weaknesses for pancakes, fantasy novels, and Josie, is making her tough decision even harder. Scary movies are the last connection Delia has to her dad, who abandoned the family years ago. If Midnite Matinee becomes a hit, maybe he'll see it and want to be a part of her life again. And maybe Josie will stay with the show instead of leaving her behind, too. As the tug-of-war between growing up and growing apart tests the bonds of their friendship, Josie and Delia start to realize that an uncertain future can be both monstrous...and momentous.Rayne & Delilah's Midnite Matinee is my first ever Jeff Zentner novel, but I now know that I absolutely need to read more from him in the future. I think this novel has become a new read of 2019 as well as a new favorite YA Contemporary. As soon as I heard about this I knew I needed to try it ASAP as a big fan of Svengoolie, so needless to say I was quite excited when I realized I managed to get approved on NetGalley. Luckily, it totally lived up to all of my expectations. There's a little bit of everything, but I loved reading about the friendship, sense of humor, love, and following your dreams. The story packs quite an emotional punch as well since it also deals with making big decisions, dealing with change, and worrying whether or not you'll get left behind. It certainly is a celebration of new beginnings and respecting endings. The title characters, aka Josie and Delia, though are what really make the story because they are so well developed and well written that they could practically walk right off of the page. Finally, I'd just like to mention how much I appreciated all of the talk of campy and cult horror and sci-fi classics as well as real life horror hosts. Overall, Rayne & Delilah's Midnite Matinee by Jeff Zentner is an absolute must read YA Contemporary novel. If you're a fan of Scream All Night by Derek Milman, Becky Albertalli, Adam Silvera, David Levithan, Svengoolie, and classic horror hosts, I have a feeling you'll enjoy this new release. I can't wait to read more from Jeff Zentner in the future. I think I've found a new favorite author. Thanks again, NetGalley!
    more
  • Irena
    January 1, 1970
    Actual rating: 3,5After spending some time only reading adult fiction and non fiction, I found myself craving some ya literature. I already read some fantasy this year, but what I really wanted in my life was good ya contemporary, since it was my favorite genre for the longest time.This novel reminded me why I love this genre so much, and even though it wasn’t a 5 stars book for me, or a brilliant masterpiece, it still made me feel that familiar feeling you have when you return to something you Actual rating: 3,5After spending some time only reading adult fiction and non fiction, I found myself craving some ya literature. I already read some fantasy this year, but what I really wanted in my life was good ya contemporary, since it was my favorite genre for the longest time.This novel reminded me why I love this genre so much, and even though it wasn’t a 5 stars book for me, or a brilliant masterpiece, it still made me feel that familiar feeling you have when you return to something you love after a long time, and only from that point only, hours spent with Rayne & Delilah’s Midnite Matinee were worth it.The story follows two best friends: Delia and Josie who work together on a TV show in which they talk about horror movies and they also show old cult horrors.Josie wants to spend her life working on tv, so the show is her step to start her career, while Delia does the show in hope that one day her father will recognize her and make connection.Delia doesn’t want for Josie to move on after the graduation, because she doesn’t want to be left alone.On the other hand, Josie knows she has to move to another city to go to college, and she feels bad about leaving Delia behind.I liked how the story shows the reality of life. It pictures perfect how hard it is to succeed, and how many people try to reach their dreams, but they don’t.Sometimes people do their best, but there is a reason why they say that success is hard work + luck + good connections.The story is written in two POVs, Delia’s and Josie’s, both written in first person.I liked each point of view, but if I have to state one that I liked better it would be Josie’s.Maybe it’s because of Lawson, who is her love interest, and is also an interesting character who contributed to the story with his amazing personality.It is kind of sad for me to say that I liked the girls the best when they were separated.I know, it sounds awful, especially because this novel is about friendship, but I have to be honest. Together, they sounded kind of rude, especially when they talked to strangers.Also, one down side of this novel were dialogues. They mostly sounded too forced. They were too much, and unrealistic.But then again, maybe teenagers do talk that way these days, I wouldn’t know for sure. All I know is that I didn’t click with the way characters talked in this story.Rayne & Delilah’s Midnite Matinee talks about friendship, family and life.It also covers serious topics like mental illness and poverty.It is still pretty early and there are not many reviews for this book, but from what I see most people enjoyed this novel more then I did, so keep that in mind when reading my thoughts.I would recommend this book to young adult contemporary lovers.
    more
  • Christy
    January 1, 1970
    Alright, Jeff Zentner. You promised me this book would come without tears but that is a lie! Rayne and Delilah are the alternative late-night access channel personalities of Josie and Delia, two best friends who are high school seniors on the cusp of their whole lives changing. Rayne and Delilah’s Midnite Matinee is their story and it will grab your heart in a way you can’t even expect.Whew.Any YA fan alive in the last two years has probably heard of Jeff Zentner or maybe seen one of his selfies Alright, Jeff Zentner. You promised me this book would come without tears but that is a lie! Rayne and Delilah are the alternative late-night access channel personalities of Josie and Delia, two best friends who are high school seniors on the cusp of their whole lives changing. Rayne and Delilah’s Midnite Matinee is their story and it will grab your heart in a way you can’t even expect.Whew.Any YA fan alive in the last two years has probably heard of Jeff Zentner or maybe seen one of his selfies. If you’ve met Kelly or I, you’ve likely had The Serpent King thrust into your hands without remorse. Jeff creates characters you can’t forget and stories so tangible that you’ll wonder if you’re living in the Matrix and that’s the real world over there. Rayne and Delilah is no different. While you’re probably wondering how this man takes access channel TV and a road trip and leaves you with tears and joy, I can promise you their journey is completely worth it.Without spoiling the story, Jeff tackles:1. The ever-changing landscape of a friendship as youth grow more into themselves and hold onto the pieces of their youth so important to them.2. Parental abandonment and the complexity of the feelings that go with it.3. Young love that comes slowly and yet hits you all at once.4. The uncertainty of that small part of our lives between senior year and whatever comes next. 5. Meeting your idols, celebrity and otherwise.Oh, and there will be tears. But not the tears of his previous two books yet all the same.
    more
  • Taylor
    January 1, 1970
    Guess who just won herself a copy via giveaway?? Book news is the BEST news! Can't wait to read this!!
  • Tucker (TuckerTheReader)
    January 1, 1970
    The YA gods have blessed me!!Many thanks to Crown Books for Young Readers for sending me an ARC in exchange for an honest review| Goodreads | Blog | Twitch | Pinterest |
  • Ryan
    January 1, 1970
    Reviewing books isn’t one of my skills and I can by no means do this book justice. That being said, I absolutely adore it.If you've read either or both of Jeff's books you kinda have a good idea of what to expect: beautiful sentences, characters with a ton of heart and empathy who you'd love to have in your social group, an exploration of loss in some capacity, a reverence for the people and the state of Tennessee, and, of course, tears. This time, though, the tears are from laughing and joy rat Reviewing books isn’t one of my skills and I can by no means do this book justice. That being said, I absolutely adore it.If you've read either or both of Jeff's books you kinda have a good idea of what to expect: beautiful sentences, characters with a ton of heart and empathy who you'd love to have in your social group, an exploration of loss in some capacity, a reverence for the people and the state of Tennessee, and, of course, tears. This time, though, the tears are from laughing and joy rather than heart-wrenching sadness. And like his two previous novels, it’ll uplift you to a place where you’ll be better off than you were before you read it.There's also a really sweet romance, a truly nail-biting fight scene (or two), and a pretty rad dog, one of the more astute observations when it comes to Star Wars naming conventions, and so much more. Rayne and Delilah’s Midnight Matinee will be released on February 26, 2019, and, in my opinion, one you should definitely pre-order.Seriously, though, those fights. When I say nail-biting I mean nail-biting. Do you know how much I usually hate reading about fights? Thank you to Random House for providing me with an ARC.
    more
  • Jamie (Books and Ladders)
    January 1, 1970
    See this review and more on Books and Ladders!Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book and chose to review it. This in no way impacts my opinion.Thank you to Christy of BookCrushin' for putting together the ARC Tour and letting me join in!Hello, I am broken by another Jeff Zentner novel. I felt too many things and now am sobbing in bed and do not want to feel things ever again. But, alas, Jeff does a very good job of breaking people in the way they need to be broken in order to truly unde See this review and more on Books and Ladders!Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book and chose to review it. This in no way impacts my opinion.Thank you to Christy of BookCrushin' for putting together the ARC Tour and letting me join in!Hello, I am broken by another Jeff Zentner novel. I felt too many things and now am sobbing in bed and do not want to feel things ever again. But, alas, Jeff does a very good job of breaking people in the way they need to be broken in order to truly understand how they need to heal. So read this book to break and heal.The characters, as always, were incredible. I loved the relationship between Josie and Delia, the way that anxieties and worries were portrayed, and the realness of it all. I liked that both girls had real issues, real problems, and real solutions. They were truly the best of friends (and I'm so lucky I have the Josie to my Delia in Dani)I also like that Jeff is starting to follow in the contemporary author footsteps of those before him and intertwining other characters from his other books as little Easter Eggs for those who have read his past work. I liked having "Insider Knowledge" about some of the little interactions and side characters that we meet that don't take away anything from the plot if you are unaware of them.Honestly, I am always so impressed with Zentner's work. He knows how to bring together a cohesive story that incorporate family relationships, coming of age, and friendships so well. I was also really impressed with how well he understood young women and the dynamics they have in their relationships (especially when one gets a boyfriend!). I highly recommend anything that Jeff writes and I can't wait to see what comes next!
    more
  • Catherine Tinker
    January 1, 1970
    "'Wayne's World' meets 'Ghost World,' the book stars two best friends who must make some tough decisions about the “creature feature” show they host on their local cable access TV station as they enter their senior year of high school."good grief that's so many things i could ever want all rolled into one book
    more
  • Lisa
    January 1, 1970
    Best friends take on the world...and specifically a public access horror show they co-host. This book is literally laugh-out-loud funny. There are so many poignant moments - growing up, making big decisions, leaving childhood behind. I love how Delia and Josie interact with each other and their truly amazing sense of humor.Zentner's best work yet.
    more
  • Celia McMahon
    January 1, 1970
    I have come to expect a few things out of a book by Jeff Zentner. One that I will probably cry at some point. Two that I probably won't sleep or eat until I finish. Three, that I will continue to follow this man's career to the end of my days. What is it about, you ask?This story follows Josie and Delia, hosts of a public access monster movie show. Both are uniquely different but fit together like PB and j. Delia comes from a broken home (her father abandoned her and her mother) whereas Josie co I have come to expect a few things out of a book by Jeff Zentner. One that I will probably cry at some point. Two that I probably won't sleep or eat until I finish. Three, that I will continue to follow this man's career to the end of my days. What is it about, you ask?This story follows Josie and Delia, hosts of a public access monster movie show. Both are uniquely different but fit together like PB and j. Delia comes from a broken home (her father abandoned her and her mother) whereas Josie comes from one a tad more put together. Delia's story takes a turn into heartbreak city because she yearns to find him. She even hires a private detective despite her mother's financial burdens. Josie struggles with leaving Delia and her sense of responsibility for her friend. Josie also wants to be on television and Delia wants to track down her dad and have closure. Their rival dilemmas may or may not split them apart. The core of this story centers around their show which, for the first time, was something incredibly new in a YA novel for me. I've read your podcast novels, your theater novels, your Youtube channel novels, but this one was a shiny territory and entertaining AF. More so to the scene-stealing Lawson, an MMA fighter and reader. What a combination. Drools in book nerd. The split POV's with both girls were fantastic. I think I loved Delia's more since Josie's focused a tab too much on her romance with Lawson for my tastes. Her character did not have emotions as Delia's did. At least for me. But this wasn't a problem because I loved Lawson too much. This book touches upon mental illness as well as the effects of being abandoned by a parent. I believe a lot of people can relate to this and may even find solidarity in Delia's story. But through all of that, there is humor. I am not the type to laugh at loud at books or even movies. I have a very particular sense of humor. This one had me chuckling and waking up my husband. Score on both accounts. That being said, this had more witty moments than Jeff's other books and reminded me so much of myself and my best friend in high school. "I get lonely sometimes, but so does everyone else. We're all looking for some sort of salvation in something."If you loved The Serpent King and Goodbye Days, you will love this one. You may even enjoy it more. You may also follow Jeff on every platform you can and pick apart every tweet looking for news of his next book. I will do that. Always. No shame. Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for a chance to review this title ahead of its release date.
    more
  • Cassandra {semi-hiatus}
    January 1, 1970
    I need to stop getting NetGalley notifications in class. My Spanish professor keeps making eye contact with me when I find out I got approved for an ARC.He thinks I was texting my boyfriend in class.If he only knew...
  • La La - Everyone's Crazy Aunt
    January 1, 1970
    I was at 90% with this book for two days and could not bring myself to pick it up and finish it. Today I decided to rip off the proverbial band-aid and end the torture. That being said, giving this book one star is killing me because I loved Zentner's first YA novel with all my heart, but this story is abysmal.Before I say anything else about this book... it demonizes those who have mental illness who think of themselves before helping someone else, a someone who won't take their medication, to I was at 90% with this book for two days and could not bring myself to pick it up and finish it. Today I decided to rip off the proverbial band-aid and end the torture. That being said, giving this book one star is killing me because I loved Zentner's first YA novel with all my heart, but this story is abysmal.Before I say anything else about this book... it demonizes those who have mental illness who think of themselves before helping someone else, a someone who won't take their medication, to save themselves. No adult is responsible for another adult's mental stability over their own. That is a ridiculous burden to put on someone. Also, this story, like the author's second book, has an element based on a faulty legal concept. As I have said a million times if you want to write Realistic Contemporary Fiction it has to be realistic, you can't twist or overlook fact to make the storyline, or plot easier (quicker) to write, or more dramatic. That's bad writing; plain and simple, but if you need more reasons for my one star rating keep reading.This YA book is a mind-numbing avalanche of Middle Grade mentality fart and anus references mixed with too many nauseatingly bad puns, continuous eye roll worthy "trying too hard" similes and metaphors, and NA content (like porn movies and cocaine use). The characters were overly silly. I think the author was trying to paint them as having intellectually creative cool senses of humor, but they came off as cartoonish uncool posers. They were also supposed to be "deep thinkers" because at age eighteen they thought about things like the four seasons of life and being glad tears don't smell like pee. They were supposed to be smart kids, but one character thought there were still smallpox and dysentery epidemics in the US in the 1960s, and was also trying to figure out with her mother if "Zombie" was Rob Zombie's real last name. Characterizations like this are why teens in other countries think many US teens are stupid.One of the characters was routinely violent towards her little sister and the parents (educated upper middle class) were nonplussed. These actions evoked no more than a furrowed brow given "stop that" as if the girl had done nothing more than call her sister a butthole. The eighteen year old character's internal dialogue was that of normalcy about it too. When I was thinking about this and other character thought processes I realized that there was change, but only infinitesimal growth for these characters (most times none at all), and most of that was crammed into the last two chapters of the book in sappy, overly dramatic ways in what was seemingly a last ditch effort to redeem the story. The book was also much too long for what it was.I will have many more thoughts about this book, including my feelings about it being written solely as a quick money maker, and what the new "literature as a product" mindset has done to Children's publishing, in a spoilery Rant Review on my blog. I will add the link when it is posted.I was approved for an eARC, via Netgalley, in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Sarah (The Clever Reader)
    January 1, 1970
    This book is a beautiful story about friendship, loss, and love! It will melt your heart, break your heart, and mend your heart back together. It's perfect!Rayne & Delilah addresses issues like abandonment & depression in the most poetic of ways. It's heavy without feeling heavy. The friendship between Josie and Delia is perfect, even during the times it is tested. If you have a chance to read this than take it because it is one of the best YA Contemporaries out there!
    more
  • Adriana (SaltyBadgerBooks)
    January 1, 1970
    There are so many things to say about this book. And the most important thing I have to say is thank you Jeff Zentner for writing this. I laughed, I cried, my heart was utterly shattered and simultaneously healed.I wish I had this books growing up. As a person who was raised by a single parent, this book helped me even at my age realize it was never my fault. There are huge and important messages for our youth in here. I felt so many emotions when reading this book. So many that it took me almos There are so many things to say about this book. And the most important thing I have to say is thank you Jeff Zentner for writing this. I laughed, I cried, my heart was utterly shattered and simultaneously healed.I wish I had this books growing up. As a person who was raised by a single parent, this book helped me even at my age realize it was never my fault. There are huge and important messages for our youth in here. I felt so many emotions when reading this book. So many that it took me almost 6 months to be able to write this review without crying.I'm not saying it's sad, I mean it is, but it's happy too. It's everything a book should be about friendship and family. But it's also so much more! I just love it so much and everyone needs to buy a copy! Also, make sure you buy some tissue too when you purchase your copy.So thanks Jeff Zentner for this amazing book that's almost out in the world.
    more
  • Meghan
    January 1, 1970
    I just finished this book and I'm at a loss for words, but I'll try. This is a story of true friendship, of joy and laughter, of loss and pain, of heartbreak and love, and in the end it's a story of growth and hope. Josie and Delia each hold half of my heart. I saw different parts of myself in them in deep ways. They're words felt like my own stolen from a place where I feared to speak them allowed. This book left me laughing with tear streaks down my face and warmth in my heart! I'm just going I just finished this book and I'm at a loss for words, but I'll try. This is a story of true friendship, of joy and laughter, of loss and pain, of heartbreak and love, and in the end it's a story of growth and hope. Josie and Delia each hold half of my heart. I saw different parts of myself in them in deep ways. They're words felt like my own stolen from a place where I feared to speak them allowed. This book left me laughing with tear streaks down my face and warmth in my heart! I'm just going to hug the book a little while longer... then eat some pancakes in honor of lovable, loyal Lawson..Only Jeff can make me laugh out loud why crying which only makes me cry harder (and yes 'my heart does feel like it just got elbowed in the boob'). It held up to Jeff's promise to make us laugh out loud. This book, combined with his others, has solidified him as one of my all time favorite authors. Parts of each of his books have been etched on my heart. His words make me better, stronger, braver. They give me hope in knowing I'm not alone in feeling the way I do. Read Rayne and Delilah when it comes out February 26th and let their Midnight Matinee move you to laughter and tears! Happy Reading!
    more
  • Becca
    January 1, 1970
    I’ve received an e-ARC of Rayne & Delilah’s Midnite Matinee through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Any quotes included in this review are from the e-ARC & may not be in the finished copy!I think it means there’s something great inside me, something extraordinary and mysterious and undiscovered.Just to get it out of the way — I have 0 negative things to say about Rayne & Deliah’s Midnite Matinee. I’m 82% sure that this book was actually written for me. I relate so deeply I’ve received an e-ARC of Rayne & Delilah’s Midnite Matinee through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Any quotes included in this review are from the e-ARC & may not be in the finished copy!I think it means there’s something great inside me, something extraordinary and mysterious and undiscovered.Just to get it out of the way — I have 0 negative things to say about Rayne & Deliah’s Midnite Matinee. I’m 82% sure that this book was actually written for me. I relate so deeply to Delia & because of that, this book had me in my damn emotions.Josie & Delia, or as they’re known on TV Six, Rayne & Delilah, are horror hosts. As their senior year comes to an end, the two are forced to face tough decisions about their futures.Josie & Delia – Josie & Delia’s friendship is absolutely extravagant. Their connection is so strong & through their dialogue, they’re able to build off each other with their absolutely ridiculous humor. It’s honestly extremely rare to click with someone in the way that Josie & Delia clicked, but it’s something that I relate to when it comes to my friendship with Jak. Even when the two run into conflict, it doesn’t last long, because their friendship overcomes all.Eccentric Cast – On top of the two title characters is an array of colorful & wild characters. Meet Colt & Hunter, the twins who strongly believes that animals change species when they grow older. Meet the incredibly grumpy Arliss, who has a secret soft spot for the girls. Meet Lawson, an MMA fighter who’s determined to win a match in front of Josie. & others show up to stir things up for the girls.Dialogue – Most of the dialogue was extremely cheesy & ridiculous, however due to the horror host subject manner, it fit perfectly. I caught myself cheesin’ over the dumbest lines. Guys, I’m here for a good time — not a long time.Aesthetic/Horror References – If you know anything about me, you know that I’m an extreme sucker for horror references. I eat that shit for breakfast. There are so many mentions of my favorites such as Svengoolie, Elvira, Tales From the Crypt, Texas Chainsaw Massacre & Jason X — this book is jam packed with the things that make me happy. OH, sidenote: there’s also a Charlotte Holmes reference!! Plus, AESTHETIC. The entire thing centers around a horror show & a horror convention!! This is what I’m here for.Delia – There is clinical depression rep in Rayne & Delilah’s Midnite Matinee that I feel is handled perfectly. Delia even promotes the usage of medication & is never looked down on for it. This representation is another aspect that helped me connect with Delia. In general, I don’t think I’ve ever connected with a character as much as I connected with Delia. From her love for horror to her depression, I really felt for her throughout this read.Emotional to Comical – This book has a strong range of emotions. One minute, I’m laughing over something stupid & the very next, I’m nearly in tears. Jeff Zentner gets a lot of bonus points for making me feel so many things in so few pages.I strongly recommend this book, especially if you’re a sucker for horror references & aesthetics.
    more
  • Kyra Leseberg (Roots & Reads)
    January 1, 1970
    Best friends Delia and Josie are the hosts of their very own horror feature show, Midnite Matinee, on the local public access station.  Delia selects an obscure campy horror movie from her dad's old VHS collection and the friends (in character as Rayne Ravenscroft and Delilah Darkwood) build a show around the film (with the help of their grouchy but beloved camera man Arliss) which airs every Saturday night between 11PM and 1AM.The end of their senior year is approaching and there are hard decis Best friends Delia and Josie are the hosts of their very own horror feature show, Midnite Matinee, on the local public access station.  Delia selects an obscure campy horror movie from her dad's old VHS collection and the friends (in character as Rayne Ravenscroft and Delilah Darkwood) build a show around the film (with the help of their grouchy but beloved camera man Arliss) which airs every Saturday night between 11PM and 1AM.The end of their senior year is approaching and there are hard decisions to be made.  Josie has always had dreams of a career in television and is offered an internship with the Food Network.  She isn't all that enthusiastic about Food Network, but then again she isn't a huge horror film fan like Delia, though she plays her part well.  Unfortunately, taking the internship would mean leaving their small town in Tennessee - and Delia and their show - behind.  The last thing she's interested in is a relationship, except this guy Lawson shows up at the TV station on a random Friday night and takes her by surprise.Delia has never been a great student and plans on sticking close to home to help her mom out and dreams of making a career out of Midnite Matinee.  Her dad left when she was little; the horror movies they play on public access are her only real connection to him and she secretly hopes that one day he'll see the show and contact her.With the future opening up before them, the two friends have to overcome fear of the unknown and make choices that will test their loyalty to one another.I don't gush about books often.  I try not to because when I absolutely adore a book I cannot tell you about it, instead I just gesture wildly with my arms and say, "It is sooooo good!"But I have to gush.This is a genuine coming of age story with honest (and laugh-out-loud hilarious) dialogue and characters.  The relationship between Josie and Delia brought back vivid memories of my best friend and me in high school; the random conversations we had and the fierce loyalty we had to another, especially in the face of change.I adored that while there was a romance in the story, it didn't overshadow the friendship.The insecurities that Josie and Delia had are universal and therefore completely relatable.  I was invested in their lives and concerned about their future because everything from the way they talked to the way they reacted to situations rang so true.The most unexpected part was the humor. Jeff Zentner made the conversations between characters so effortlessly hilarious that I literally laughed out loud throughout the book, which I read in two sittings because I didn't want to put it down!If you enjoy YA (or are on the fence about the genre), contemporary/coming of age fiction, and appreciate genuine characters, I highly recommend picking up this book.Many thanks to Crown Books for Young Readers and NetGalley for providing me with an ARC in exchange for my honest review.  Rayne & Delilah's Midnite Matinee is scheduled for release on February 26, 2019.For more reviews, visit www.rootsandreads.wordpress.com
    more
  • Ashleigh
    January 1, 1970
    This was my first Jeff Zentner book, and I was definitely not prepared for the feels! I am now a fan and need to read more from him. There were tears in this one, but also a lot of laughs! Jeff takes us on a journey with Josie and Delia, the two main characters. They're two best friends who have their own show on a public access station in Tennessee. The real heart of the story though is the friendship between Josie and Delia. They're at that point in their lives where things are starting to cha This was my first Jeff Zentner book, and I was definitely not prepared for the feels! I am now a fan and need to read more from him. There were tears in this one, but also a lot of laughs! Jeff takes us on a journey with Josie and Delia, the two main characters. They're two best friends who have their own show on a public access station in Tennessee. The real heart of the story though is the friendship between Josie and Delia. They're at that point in their lives where things are starting to change. They are having those thoughts you start thinking when you're graduating soon from high school and you're wondering what happens next, dealing with the feelings that come from having an absent parent, wanting your dreams to become reality, being somewhat afraid of the future and excited at the same time, young love, and so much more. I think that's one of the reasons why I loved this book so much. It was a book about friendship, first and foremost. It was just raw and real and emotional.Thank you Jeff for writing this beautiful book! Please add this one to your TBR and go preorder or pick up a copy when it hits shelves on February 26, 2019.
    more
  • Jenna Monaco
    January 1, 1970
    This book. I’ve had a few days to process this beautiful book and I still am at a loss for words. I guess I should start by saying that what I find the most compelling about reading is when you find THE book.It’s hard to explain, but it’s like our hearts operates at a certain wave length and when a book reaches that frequency it’s rare and surprising. We connect so deeply to that book that we’re moved to tears and/or laughter and I think it’s because we feel known and understood.That’s this book This book. I’ve had a few days to process this beautiful book and I still am at a loss for words. I guess I should start by saying that what I find the most compelling about reading is when you find THE book.It’s hard to explain, but it’s like our hearts operates at a certain wave length and when a book reaches that frequency it’s rare and surprising. We connect so deeply to that book that we’re moved to tears and/or laughter and I think it’s because we feel known and understood.That’s this book—feeling known and understood. In friendship, in being a girl in this world, in growing up, in falling in love, in navigating through life, in family dynamics, in pursuing your dreams and taking risks and taking the shot.In fear of losing it all and being left behind and forgotten.It’s all here, in this book.Jeff is one of my favorite authors for that reason. He is so good at creating characters who are so real you feel like they are your best friend. And what they go through, you go through too. And you laugh. A lot. And by the end you cry. A lot. I scream about The Serpent King alllll the damn time. There’s a reason. Come February, this book is all I’ll be talking about!
    more
  • Meredith (booksbythewater)
    January 1, 1970
    At this point I don't even need to read the description. I'm trash for Jeff Zentner and he can have all my money. But, really, 2019 ??? I guess this is just another burden I have to bear. See ya in 2019, Zentner.UPDATE: OK SO I READ THE DESCRIPTION AND THIS BOOK IS EXACTLY WHAT I NEED IN MY LIFE. A BOOK CENTERED ON FRIENDSHIP??? YES! GROWING UP AND MOVING ON TO COLLEGE?? YOU BET! Wow this'll be a fun wait....
    more
Write a review