What Is Given from the Heart
This final, magnificent picture book from three-time Coretta Scott King Award winner and Newbery Honor author Patricia McKissack is a poignant and uplifting celebration of the joy of giving. "Misery loves company," Mama says to James Otis. It's been a rough couple of months for them, but Mama says as long as they have their health and strength, they're blessed. One Sunday before Valentine's Day, Reverend Dennis makes an announcement during the service-- the Temples have lost everything in a fire, and the church is collecting anything that might be useful to them. James thinks hard about what he can add to the Temple's "love box," but what does he have worth giving? With her extraordinary gift for storytelling, McKissack--with stunning illustrations by Harrison--delivers a touching, powerful tale of compassion and reminds us all that what is given from the heart, reaches the heart.

What Is Given from the Heart Details

TitleWhat Is Given from the Heart
Author
ReleaseJan 8th, 2019
PublisherSchwartz & Wade Books
ISBN-139780375936159
Rating
GenreChildrens, Picture Books, Family, Social Issues, Poverty, Cultural, African American

What Is Given from the Heart Review

  • Abigail
    January 1, 1970
    James Otis and his mother are experiencing a difficult time in this lovely, heartwarming picture-book from author Patricia C. McKissack and illustrator April Harrison. James Otis' father has recently died, they have lost their farm, and have been forced to move into one of the "shotgun houses" in the Bottoms. Nevertheless, when they hear about the troubles of the Temple family, who have lost everything they own in a fire, they make their best effort to contribute to their church's "love box" for James Otis and his mother are experiencing a difficult time in this lovely, heartwarming picture-book from author Patricia C. McKissack and illustrator April Harrison. James Otis' father has recently died, they have lost their farm, and have been forced to move into one of the "shotgun houses" in the Bottoms. Nevertheless, when they hear about the troubles of the Temple family, who have lost everything they own in a fire, they make their best effort to contribute to their church's "love box" for the needy family. What though, wonders James Otis, can he give that will make any difference? Then, thinking about his pastor's words about giving from the heart, he comes up with an idea for a gift for Sarah, the daughter of the family...I somehow missed this news, but McKissack passed away last year (2017), and this tale, What Is Given from the Heart, is her last story. What a finale! Poignant and powerful, the narrative here examines a number of troubling issues, from the loss of a loved one to the realities of poverty. It also explores important themes like generosity, love, and creativity. I appreciated the fact that James Otis ends up making his gift for Sarah (as his mother does, for Mrs. Temple), and that that gift turns out to be (view spoiler)[a book he has written and illustrated himself (hide spoiler)]. The accompanying illustrations by April Harrison, a fine artist who makes her picture-book debut here, are just lovely, capturing the emotional register of each scene. Highly recommended, to anyone looking for children's stories about the death of a loved one, the experience of poverty, and the practice of love, generosity, and creativity.
    more
  • Rachel
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to the publisher and Edelweiss for an advance look. Such a stunningly beautiful book, the sentiment, and story is powerful and the illustrations are rich and unique.
  • Becky
    January 1, 1970
    First sentence: It was a rough few months for Mama and me. We were already poor, but we got poorer last April, when Daddy went to sleep on the front porch and never woke up. Mama cried and cried, 'cause Daddy didn't have a suit to be buried in.Premise/plot: The Temple family has lost everything in a fire. The church community is coming together and asking everyone to give something, to give from the heart. James Otis is stumped, especially at first. What can he give of value? He doesn't have any First sentence: It was a rough few months for Mama and me. We were already poor, but we got poorer last April, when Daddy went to sleep on the front porch and never woke up. Mama cried and cried, 'cause Daddy didn't have a suit to be buried in.Premise/plot: The Temple family has lost everything in a fire. The church community is coming together and asking everyone to give something, to give from the heart. James Otis is stumped, especially at first. What can he give of value? He doesn't have anything of value. But he's determined. He must find something to give. His Mama is sacrificing her best tablecloth to make an apron. Maybe James Otis can find something to sacrifice too? One thing he knows...the best gifts come from the heart.My thoughts: I loved this one. It was SO good. I loved, loved, loved James Otis and his Mama. I did. I thought the solution was wonderful and sweet. I loved Sarah Temple's reaction to his gift. This book was just satisfying through and through.Text: 5 out of 5Illustrations: 5 out of 5Total: 10 out of 10
    more
  • Laura Harrison
    January 1, 1970
    The illustrations are wonderful.
  • Zack Barnes
    January 1, 1970
    Originally posted at A to Z Book ReviewsWhat is Given from the Heart is a tale of compassion. James Otis and his mom have struggled ever since James’ father died a few months back. It was a struggle before his death, and now they’ve struggled even more. But when someone in their family’s church has a house fire, their Pastor asks the congregation to bring anything that they can to help the family. “What is given from the heart reaches the heart,” he tells the church.What can James give to the li Originally posted at A to Z Book ReviewsWhat is Given from the Heart is a tale of compassion. James Otis and his mom have struggled ever since James’ father died a few months back. It was a struggle before his death, and now they’ve struggled even more. But when someone in their family’s church has a house fire, their Pastor asks the congregation to bring anything that they can to help the family. “What is given from the heart reaches the heart,” he tells the church.What can James give to the little girl who lost everything? James barely has anything of his own. Is what he owns good enough for this girl? But James’ Mom shows him that even when you think you have nothing, there is always something you can do for another person. What is Given from the Heart is a beautiful and charming tale that shows readers the power of compassion, giving, and joy. This book serves as an excellent lesson on compassion for fellow people in the world. Reading this book will reach your heart.The picture book was written by the late Patricia C. McKissack and illustrated by April Harrison. McKissack died in 2017, and this is her last published work. McKissack has roots in Tennessee. She was born in Smyrna and is a graduate of Tennessee State University in Nashville. She has written over 100 books in her life. April Harrison’s art is a strikingly beautiful rendering of the story. Harrison is a fine artist and her work has been featured across the united state. This is her first picture book. The book releases on January 8th.
    more
  • Richie Partington
    January 1, 1970
    Richie’s Picks: WHAT IS GIVEN FROM THE HEART by Patricia C. McKissack and April Harrison, ill., Schwartz & Wade, January 2019, 40p., ISBN: 978-0-375-83615-2“I don’t know how you keep on givingFor your kindness I’m in debt to you”-- Natalie Merchant, “Kind and Generous” (1998)“It was a rough few months for Mama and me. We were already poor, but we got poorer last April, when Daddy went to sleep on the front porch and never woke up. Mama cried and cried, ‘cause Daddy didn’t have a suit to be b Richie’s Picks: WHAT IS GIVEN FROM THE HEART by Patricia C. McKissack and April Harrison, ill., Schwartz & Wade, January 2019, 40p., ISBN: 978-0-375-83615-2“I don’t know how you keep on givingFor your kindness I’m in debt to you”-- Natalie Merchant, “Kind and Generous” (1998)“It was a rough few months for Mama and me. We were already poor, but we got poorer last April, when Daddy went to sleep on the front porch and never woke up. Mama cried and cried, ‘cause Daddy didn’t have a suit to be buried in.Come June, we lost the farm and moved to a run-down shotgun house in the Bottoms.On Friday the thirteenth, it rained frogs; everything flooded, and Smitty, my dog, disappeared.‘Misery loves company,’ Mama said, shaking her head as she swept water out the back door. I hugged her up close, the way I always did when she was sad or I was scared.‘Long as we have our health and strength, we are blessed, James Otis,’ Mama said, tryin’ to sound brave. But things didn’t get any better.”James Otis is being raised well by a kind and generous mom. One Sunday, the preacher asks the congregation for donations for a mom and daughter in their black community who have lost everything in a fire. He reminds them that, “What is given from the heart reaches the heart.”Despite their own dire circumstances, James’s mom immediately takes her prized possession, a tablecloth, and stitches it into an apron for the mom in need. Meanwhile, heeding his mom’s words and example, James contemplates his own meager possessions, none of which are in good shape. But the young boy digs deep into his heart and comes up with the brilliant idea of using his worn-down crayons to craft a handmade picturebook for seven year-old Sarah about a character named after her. Delighted by James’s gift, in an illustration that is also used for the back cover, the little girl holds her new and special book up against her heart.WHAT IS GIVEN FROM THE HEART is illustrated by April Harrison in a distinctive and unique palette that is anchored by hues of baby blue, tan, and brownish-tangerine. The illustrator employs mixed media and found objects. For instance, she uses fiberglass drywall mesh to give Sarah tights their texture and a burlap-like material for James’s Sunday vest.This is the final book by Patricia McKissack, who died in 2017. I have fond memories of meeting Ms. McKissack and her late husband Fredrick at conventions. Her award-winning GOIN’ SOMEPLACE SPECIAL, which was inspired by Ms. McKissack’s own childhood trips to the Nashville Library, remains a favorite of mine. WHAT IS GIVEN FROM THE HEART is a memorable story to remember her by.Richie Partington, MLISRichie's Picks http://richiespicks.pbworks.comhttps://www.facebook.com/richiespicks/[email protected]
    more
  • Tasha
    January 1, 1970
    After his father died, James Otis and his mother got even more poor than before. They lost their farm and had to move into a small house in the Bottoms. Things kept getting worse as his dog disappeared and everything flooded. Christmas was sparse but they made their way through until spring. That’s when their church gave out love boxes to those in need. This year, one family had lost everything in a fire. James Otis was encouraged to give something to the little girl in the family, but what coul After his father died, James Otis and his mother got even more poor than before. They lost their farm and had to move into a small house in the Bottoms. Things kept getting worse as his dog disappeared and everything flooded. Christmas was sparse but they made their way through until spring. That’s when their church gave out love boxes to those in need. This year, one family had lost everything in a fire. James Otis was encouraged to give something to the little girl in the family, but what could he give? He had a few possessions, but he didn’t think she would like any of them. Finally, he had an idea, something that would speak to her heart. At church on the Sunday before Valentine’s Day, James Otis gave her the book he had made for her, and she was delighted with it. When he returned home with his mother, they discovered that they too had been given a love box to help them through.McKissack died over a year ago; it is a distinct treat to have another one of her picture books published. Here she focuses on resilience in the face of hardship and adversity as well as the power of giving to others. For the young character of James Otis, thinking of another lifts his spirits and when he creates something for her, you can feel his pride on the page. The text of the book is uplifting and powerful, calling for everyone to step forward and help one another from the heart.Harrison’s illustrations are done in mixed media with acrylics and collage. They have a deep texture to them in places and in others the patterns are layered and beautifully subtle, almost like complex batik. The light in the images glows with a honeyed color, creating a warmth in the face of poverty and a hope that encases the entire book.A beautiful final book for McKissack that calls for heartfelt help for those in need. Appropriate for ages 4-7.
    more
  • Luciana
    January 1, 1970
    A beautiful story about a mom and a boy named James Otis. They are poor but lose everything when the dad dies. The mom has a very deep relationship with the church, God, and with scripture. She tries to find the best in all situations even though, sometimes, it seems to go from bad to worse. At church, there is a mom and a little girl Sarah who have lost everything in a fire and the community is encouraged to bring whatever would be useful for them; "something given from the heart reaches the he A beautiful story about a mom and a boy named James Otis. They are poor but lose everything when the dad dies. The mom has a very deep relationship with the church, God, and with scripture. She tries to find the best in all situations even though, sometimes, it seems to go from bad to worse. At church, there is a mom and a little girl Sarah who have lost everything in a fire and the community is encouraged to bring whatever would be useful for them; "something given from the heart reaches the heart". The church will be delivering boxes to those in need at the end of the week.All week long, James Otis thinks and thinks what he can give them as they have very little themselves. Mom remakes their best tablecloth into an apron for the mom; she tells James Otis that even though the tablecloth brought her joy, she hopes the apron will bring the mom joy. James Otis is at a loss. He goes through all his things thinking what it is that would make her happy. He remembers a book that cost 10 cents is what had made him most happy. So, with that in mind, he sets off to making a book for her. She is thrilled! When they get home, the church has also delivered a box to them. They, too, have been touched by this blessing!Not only is the story well done, but the illustrations are peaceful and meaningful.
    more
  • Barbara
    January 1, 1970
    Times are hard for James Otis and his mother, and after his father dies, things get even tougher. Still, despite the lack of material things, they have each other and they have plenty of love to spread around. When their church decides to collect goods and gifts for the Temple family that has lost everything in a fire. James Otis struggles with finding the right gift for Sarah, who is two years younger than him. But he remembers the minister's words about gifts from the heart reaching the heart Times are hard for James Otis and his mother, and after his father dies, things get even tougher. Still, despite the lack of material things, they have each other and they have plenty of love to spread around. When their church decides to collect goods and gifts for the Temple family that has lost everything in a fire. James Otis struggles with finding the right gift for Sarah, who is two years younger than him. But he remembers the minister's words about gifts from the heart reaching the heart and decides to write and illustrate Sarah's very own book. This is a touching, beautifully illustrated book with an important message. Clearly, James Otis and his mother are struggling too, but they still were able to think of others, and their gifts came back to them in a different form. The mixed media illustrations rely on acrylics, collage, art pens, and found objects for their unique appearance. The facial expressions, clothing, and setting show off this rural area and its residents to great advantage. I won't soon forget the story, James Otis and his mother or the simple act of kindness of reaching out to someone in need.
    more
  • Linda
    January 1, 1970
    One of Patricia McKissack's last stories, with debut artist April Harrison's mixed-media illustrations and her own heartfelt dedication, first to her grandchildren and then to Patricia herself. Don't forget to read those words, too. The story shares that James Otis and his mother have come onto hard times. His father has died, they've had to move to 'the bottoms', a rainstorm flooded around them on Friday, the 13th, seems like, as the text tells, "Misery loves company." But, they have a loving c One of Patricia McKissack's last stories, with debut artist April Harrison's mixed-media illustrations and her own heartfelt dedication, first to her grandchildren and then to Patricia herself. Don't forget to read those words, too. The story shares that James Otis and his mother have come onto hard times. His father has died, they've had to move to 'the bottoms', a rainstorm flooded around them on Friday, the 13th, seems like, as the text tells, "Misery loves company." But, they have a loving community in their church that this time calls for help for one family, a mother and child, who lost everything in a fire. Mama takes out the best tablecloth and begins to make it into an apron for the woman, tells James Otis he needs to find something for the girl. There is a calm sweetness in the story, like all of Patricia McKissack's books, that everything will be all right, that even if it seems there is nothing left to give, "What Is Given from the Heart" turn out to be a best thing. The illustrations of collage and muted watercolors are lovely.
    more
  • Margie
    January 1, 1970
    There truly is power in the written word. There is our initial reaction upon first reading it or hearing it read. It can be revisited again and again, giving us time to reflect on possible meanings, forming and revising thoughts and opinions. No matter when written its purpose can extend far into the future, a future yet to be imagined.On April 7, 2017 a master in the use of language passed away from our earthly realm. There is no possible way to number the countless individuals who benefited fr There truly is power in the written word. There is our initial reaction upon first reading it or hearing it read. It can be revisited again and again, giving us time to reflect on possible meanings, forming and revising thoughts and opinions. No matter when written its purpose can extend far into the future, a future yet to be imagined.On April 7, 2017 a master in the use of language passed away from our earthly realm. There is no possible way to number the countless individuals who benefited from her written words. What Is Given from the Heart (Schwartz & Wade, January 8, 2019) written by Patricia C. McKissack with illustrations by April Harrison is the last book by a beloved author and the debut picture book of a renowned artist. The value of what these words and illustrations convey will not fade.My full recommendation: https://librariansquest.blogspot.com/...
    more
  • Nick
    January 1, 1970
    This book, which came out after the death of author Patricia McKissack, portrays life in a poor area in an unspecified year. The only clues as to date are that Superman already exists and is popular.A boy and his mother fall farther into poverty when the boy's father dies suddenly, but he learns an important lesson in giving and receiving, as they learn of a family even worse off than they are.Artist April Harrison was lured from her usual fine art home to illustrate this book, and her work was This book, which came out after the death of author Patricia McKissack, portrays life in a poor area in an unspecified year. The only clues as to date are that Superman already exists and is popular.A boy and his mother fall farther into poverty when the boy's father dies suddenly, but he learns an important lesson in giving and receiving, as they learn of a family even worse off than they are.Artist April Harrison was lured from her usual fine art home to illustrate this book, and her work was very good. The textures she put into the objects in the story were fascinating.This is a good story about people without much in the way of wealth or possessions, but who still want to take care of each other to the best of their abilities.
    more
  • Calla Welter
    January 1, 1970
    The main character James has grown up without a lot in his life, but when a girl from his church loses everything he knows he has to help. This story is about James helping Sarah know that he cares and showing her that what is given from the heart reaches the heart. This book was extremely cute, and I really liked it. I liked how this book has good illustrations along with the good Moral story. I think this book would be beneficial in the classroom as talking about caring and loving others! This The main character James has grown up without a lot in his life, but when a girl from his church loses everything he knows he has to help. This story is about James helping Sarah know that he cares and showing her that what is given from the heart reaches the heart. This book was extremely cute, and I really liked it. I liked how this book has good illustrations along with the good Moral story. I think this book would be beneficial in the classroom as talking about caring and loving others! This would be a good lesson after reading the book to ask for a reflection, saying “ What could you do that would make them feel better? Could you visit them? Draw them a pretty p i c t u re? Ta k e th e m a b ou q u e t o f f l ow er s fr om you r ya rd? Or may b e h el p y our mo t h er b a ke some cook i e s for them?” . I really really liked this book and all of the positive vibes through out the story!
    more
  • Darcie Caswell
    January 1, 1970
    James Otis and his mother are going through a bad time. His father has died, they lose their farm, and have to move into a shotgun shack. They struggle and have so little. When James Otis's church takes up a collection for a family who has lost everything in a fire, James Otis doesn't know what he could possibly contribute, he has so little. James Otis creates something from his heart, he creates a book for Sarah, the young girl in the family. Sarah is deeply touched by James Otis's gift, and Ja James Otis and his mother are going through a bad time. His father has died, they lose their farm, and have to move into a shotgun shack. They struggle and have so little. When James Otis's church takes up a collection for a family who has lost everything in a fire, James Otis doesn't know what he could possibly contribute, he has so little. James Otis creates something from his heart, he creates a book for Sarah, the young girl in the family. Sarah is deeply touched by James Otis's gift, and James experiences the feeling of having his heart filled when creating joy inside another person.Grades: 1-3
    more
  • Emily
    January 1, 1970
    A beautiful book published after Patricia McKissack's passing. A boy and his mother are struggling - the boy's father died, they lost their farm, and flooding has taken even more from them. But when they hear about a family at their church whose house burned down, they want to contribute. The boy thinks and thinks about what he can give when he has so little, but, as his mother reminds him, "What is given from the heart reaches the heart." Lovely, gentle story that doesn't shy away from hard tru A beautiful book published after Patricia McKissack's passing. A boy and his mother are struggling - the boy's father died, they lost their farm, and flooding has taken even more from them. But when they hear about a family at their church whose house burned down, they want to contribute. The boy thinks and thinks about what he can give when he has so little, but, as his mother reminds him, "What is given from the heart reaches the heart." Lovely, gentle story that doesn't shy away from hard truths, but does not give in to despair. The illustrations are soft collage and mixed media that truly capture the love in this family.
    more
  • Debra
    January 1, 1970
    There are no words that can share this magic unless I read this book aloud. I will certainly do that despite the tears that are sure to fall as McKissack's words have the power of magic and the ability to transport us to the cozy home filled with the loving characters of this story. It is my hope, pure and simple, that this book is shared by every teacher and heard by every student as it will transport you and transform you as you find ways to give "from the heart". The illustrations by April Ha There are no words that can share this magic unless I read this book aloud. I will certainly do that despite the tears that are sure to fall as McKissack's words have the power of magic and the ability to transport us to the cozy home filled with the loving characters of this story. It is my hope, pure and simple, that this book is shared by every teacher and heard by every student as it will transport you and transform you as you find ways to give "from the heart". The illustrations by April Harrison are simply lovely and feel so much a part of the story that I could not imagine it without the warmth she brings to the story through her art.
    more
  • Renee
    January 1, 1970
    I love this book. The pictures are so quaint and like folk art . The theme of giving to others and how community should help one another out is touching.James Otis doesn’t have much but when the congregation is called upon to give to a family that has lost everything in a fire James tries to think what can he give her. The preacher said, “what is given from the heart reaches the heart”Finally James Otis comes up with a gift which he gives to the little girl and she responds with joy.Read this wh I love this book. The pictures are so quaint and like folk art . The theme of giving to others and how community should help one another out is touching.James Otis doesn’t have much but when the congregation is called upon to give to a family that has lost everything in a fire James tries to think what can he give her. The preacher said, “what is given from the heart reaches the heart”Finally James Otis comes up with a gift which he gives to the little girl and she responds with joy.Read this when you want to feel better about humanity. Although it’s a child’s picture book it’s for all ages.RIP Patricia McKissack
    more
  • Beverly
    January 1, 1970
    Read for Mock Caldecott Awards. This is a sweet, lovely book about a mother and son who have lost their husband/father but continue to strive towards the best life they can maintain in their community. When it comes time for their church to deliver "love boxes" to the families that needed help, they do what they can to contribute their part to helping others. Their selflessness is lovingly rewarded. The illustrations in this book and soft and gentle, just like the story. The characters' clothing Read for Mock Caldecott Awards. This is a sweet, lovely book about a mother and son who have lost their husband/father but continue to strive towards the best life they can maintain in their community. When it comes time for their church to deliver "love boxes" to the families that needed help, they do what they can to contribute their part to helping others. Their selflessness is lovingly rewarded. The illustrations in this book and soft and gentle, just like the story. The characters' clothing almost have a batik look to them which is beautiful.
    more
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    I cried from page 1, but this beautiful story of giving is a must-read! James Otis and his mother don’t have much in the way of materials to help another family when there’s a fire, but both are able to create something from the heart to help the family. The illustrations by April Harrison are a beautiful dedication to McKissack’s final work, too! Give this book as a gift for Valentine’s Day, or read it to someone as a gift from your heart.
    more
  • Read Ribbet
    January 1, 1970
    McKissak's latest beautifully captures the importance of kindness and selflessness even when one has little to give. It is often repaid in full. A young boy James Otis tries to find a perfect gift for a young girl who has lost everything in a fire. And he does (and it is something he creates through writing!) April Harrison's unique illustrative style is the perfect match for this book about the joy of giving.
    more
  • Rcltigger
    January 1, 1970
    James Otis and his mother don't have much; his father died and they are struggling. But when a family loses their home to fire, the church that they attend decide to do a "love box" for the family, which are put together for their neediest families. But James Otis and his mother have so little--what could they possibly have to give to this family? A lovely story! The illustrations complemented the text perfectly. They were both simple and detailed at the same time.
    more
  • Andrea
    January 1, 1970
    I read this book with my 4 year old daughter and my 7 year old son. We all enjoyed it. It begins by letting us in on the many hardships that James Otis and his mother are facing. Then they are made aware of a family in the area that are in need. Though James Otis and his mother are poor, they decide to give. The story mainly focuses on James Otis and how he decides what to give, pondering thoughtfully on what the recipient would like. Very sweet.
    more
  • Lisa
    January 1, 1970
    Patricia C. McKissack's final picture book (she passed away in 2017) is a lesson about selfless giving and storytelling, highlighted by April Harrison's beautiful mixed media illustrations. For my full review, visit https://kissthebookjr.blogspot.com/20...
    more
  • Anthony
    January 1, 1970
    The story of a nine year old lad who must think of a love offering to give to a seven year girl whose family has lost all of their earthly possessions in a fire. But what can he give that she would like? As he remembers the words of his Reverend Dennis from one Sunday: "What is given from the heart reaches the heart." These words get him to thinking about the gift he would give.
    more
  • Bethany
    January 1, 1970
    A beautiful story of a family who has previously endured loss, helping another family who is currently enduring a loss. The lesson taught to young James Otis about giving from the heart is priceless. McKissack's storytelling is effortless yet powerful. I thoroughly enjoyed the mixed media illustrations and found myself searching them for identifiable items.
    more
  • Caroline
    January 1, 1970
    James Otis, a young boy who has already had a difficult year, ponders what to give a girl in his community when their pastor requests that parishioners donate gifts for a "Love Box" going to a local family in need.With moving text and wonderful illustrations, this book is sure to warm your heat.
    more
  • Beverly
    January 1, 1970
    While I did think that the story was lovely and sweet, I personally do not like the style of illustrations, with distorted looking people. On one double page spread, one person disappears into the inside binding. Other than that, the illustrations do a credible job of pairing well with the text.
    more
  • Frances Hotchkiss
    January 1, 1970
    This is one of the most heart warming stories ever! "What is given from the heart reaches the heart."If we could all reach down and give the very best we have to offer what a wonderful world this would be! Beautiful unique illustrations!
  • Paula
    January 1, 1970
    Gorgeous and filled with such a beautiful message, "What is given from the heart reaches the heart". Sometimes we think we have nothing to give others, but kindness costs so little and is invaluable. Love this book!
  • Amy
    January 1, 1970
    I loved everything about this beautiful story with a powerful message about love and service. The illustrations are breathtaking and the text is skillfully, beautifully written. I will be adding this picture book to my personal collection!
Write a review