What the Wind Knows
In an unforgettable love story, a woman’s impossible journey through the ages could change everything…Anne Gallagher grew up enchanted by her grandfather’s stories of Ireland. Heartbroken at his death, she travels to his childhood home to spread his ashes. There, overcome with memories of the man she adored and consumed by a history she never knew, she is pulled into another time.The Ireland of 1921, teetering on the edge of war, is a dangerous place in which to awaken. But there Anne finds herself, hurt, disoriented, and under the care of Dr. Thomas Smith, guardian to a young boy who is oddly familiar. Mistaken for the boy’s long-missing mother, Anne adopts her identity, convinced the woman’s disappearance is connected to her own.As tensions rise, Thomas joins the struggle for Ireland’s independence and Anne is drawn into the conflict beside him. Caught between history and her heart, she must decide whether she’s willing to let go of the life she knew for a love she never thought she’d find. But in the end, is the choice actually hers to make?

What the Wind Knows Details

TitleWhat the Wind Knows
Author
ReleaseMar 1st, 2019
PublisherLake Union Publishing
Rating
GenreHistorical, Historical Fiction, Romance, Science Fiction, Time Travel, Fiction, Historical Romance

What the Wind Knows Review

  • Christy
    January 1, 1970
    5+ stars! This book was something special. Quite frankly, it’s the first book in a while that blew me away. The storytelling is magical and it’s such a heart-wrenching, yet beautiful tale. I am such a fan of time traveling in books, especially when it’s done well, and this was done so well. It’s a historical romance and I can tell Amy did her research. This book was well thought out, smart, enthralling, and fascinating. I loved it so much! "Yes. I told you. You told me. And you will tell me ag 5+ stars! This book was something special. Quite frankly, it’s the first book in a while that blew me away. The storytelling is magical and it’s such a heart-wrenching, yet beautiful tale. I am such a fan of time traveling in books, especially when it’s done well, and this was done so well. It’s a historical romance and I can tell Amy did her research. This book was well thought out, smart, enthralling, and fascinating. I loved it so much! "Yes. I told you. You told me. And you will tell me again. Only the wind knows which truly comes first.” 
This story starts with Anne Gallagher at her dying grandfather’s side. Her heart is broken. Eoin isn’t just Anne’s grandfather. He’s her confidant, her best friend, and he raised her. After Eoin passes, he wishes for Anne to take him back to the one place they’ve never traveled. Back to his hometown in Ireland. Anne is grieving, but also excited to be here. She feels closer to Eoin than ever. As she goes to spread his ashes as she promised, something strange happens… 

Anne finds herself not in the current twenty-first century, but in the 1920’s. She finds herself back at the same place Eoin grew up, only Thomas Smith, the doctor that helped raise Eoin is there, and Anne is mistaken from her great grandmother, who she is a dead-ringer for. Anne can’t explain herself, her great-grandmother had been ‘missing’ for some time and it’s a very complicated situation. As more time passes, Anne becomes used to living in this other time period. The more time she spends with Thomas, the more she never wants to leave. Sigh. Thomas. This man was gentle, kind, generous, and the best kind of hero. I didn’t know how a happy ending between these two could come to fruition but I hoped with all my heart they got the happiness they both deserved. “Thomas?” I moaned into his mouth. “Yes?” he murmured, his body thrumming beneath my hands. “I want to stay,” I panted. “Anne,” he demanded, swallowing my sighs and caressing my cares away. “Yes?” “Please don’t go.” I don’t want to talk much more about the past, present, or logistics. It’s better to read that for yourself and see. I will say that the way the author wrote it made sense in the best way it could. Everything is connected, everything that happened happened for a reason and at the right time. It may not seem that way, but it did. It was completely seamless. This book was a stunning romance, but it was also historical in a way that kept my interest and I honestly felt like I really learned a lot about this time in Irish history from this book. I loved that. I actually looked up some of the characters that were based on real people and read up on them, I was that interested. I am not the biggest history buff, but the way Amy wrote this book had me so curious. What the Wind Knows is truly a gem of a book. I have no doubts at all that it will be on my top favorite list of 2019. It shows that love is timeless. It will give you all the feels and truly make your heart want to explode with happiness. This story is beautiful, magical and it’s not just something you read, it’s something you experience. A definite must read!
    more
  • KAS
    January 1, 1970
    Simply put .... Magnificent!!My first Amy Harmon read, and I absolutely get it now. I absolutely get why this author’s writings are so beloved. She pens a gorgeous, unforgettable romance.  If all men loved their wives the way I love Anne, we would all be a useless lot. While I went into this blind, and highly recommend you do as well, I will tell you this is a historical romance and a time travel read. The setting is Ireland beginning in the year 1916. I share this information because I stay awa Simply put .... Magnificent!!My first Amy Harmon read, and I absolutely get it now. I absolutely get why this author’s writings are so beloved. She pens a gorgeous, unforgettable romance.  If all men loved their wives the way I love Anne, we would all be a useless lot. While I went into this blind, and highly recommend you do as well, I will tell you this is a historical romance and a time travel read. The setting is Ireland beginning in the year 1916. I share this information because I stay away from the time travel genre. BUT ... what an exception this was to my usual experience. It was completely mesmerizing.I also ‘listened’ to this book. It was the first time I heard a dual narration. And, WOW!! I didn’t want it to end.On a personal note, I live in a town settled by many Irish immigrants, and found it fascinating that it was was named after an area of Dublin mentioned numerous times this book ... Mount Joy!
    more
  • Amy Harmon
    January 1, 1970
    When you fall in love in the past, is there such a thing as tomorrow? What the Wind Knows, a historical romance set in Ireland’s 1920’s, will be released in hardcover on February 1, 2019, and in paperback, ebook and audiobook on March 1, 2019.Pre-order available on:KINDLE | HARDCOVER | PAPERBACK | AUDIO and in MP3 Anne – 1921She is the same, but not the same at all "You must read the book, Annie. Promise me you’ll read the book. He loves you so much, and he’s been waiting so long." I pau When you fall in love in the past, is there such a thing as tomorrow? What the Wind Knows, a historical romance set in Ireland’s 1920’s, will be released in hardcover on February 1, 2019, and in paperback, ebook and audiobook on March 1, 2019.Pre-order available on:KINDLE | HARDCOVER | PAPERBACK | AUDIO and in MP3 Anne – 1921She is the same, but not the same at all "You must read the book, Annie. Promise me you’ll read the book. He loves you so much, and he’s been waiting so long." I paused over a picture of a grand house with trees clustered around the edges and a glimmer of lake in the distance. “What is this place?” I asked, breathless. “That is Garvagh Glebe.” ”Someday your great-great-grandchildren will come to Ireland. They will walk up the hill where you are laid to rest, and they will sit by the stone that bears your name. They will know that this was your home, and because it is your home, it is theirs as well.That is what Ireland does.It calls her children home." Thomas Smith was the kind of man who would slip into and out of a room without drawing much attention. He wasn’t loud or obtrusive even as he moved and acted with an innate confidence. He was simply Thomas Smith, as ordinary as his name, and yet . . . not ordinary at all. Read the story behind the story.Pre-order available on:KINDLE | HARDCOVER | PAPERBACK | AUDIO and in MP3Copyright © Amy Harmon WEBSITE | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | AMAZON | BOOKBUB | NEWSLETTER
    more
  • Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤
    January 1, 1970
    5 STARS Such a beautiful story, What The Wind Knows will always have a special place in my heart!Her book took me on an imaginary journey I didn't want to end!It's a fantastic,unique, captivating and intense story.Do you know why I love Amy Harmon's books? Because they are pure perfection!Always, with original stories.This story is full of emotions, my heart was beating hard and I was anxious to see what will happen.I loved the characters so much, and especially the bond they have.There are some 5 STARS Such a beautiful story, What The Wind Knows will always have a special place in my heart!Her book took me on an imaginary journey I didn't want to end!It's a fantastic,unique, captivating and intense story.Do you know why I love Amy Harmon's books? Because they are pure perfection!Always, with original stories.This story is full of emotions, my heart was beating hard and I was anxious to see what will happen.I loved the characters so much, and especially the bond they have.There are some really intense and emotional moments between them! This a must read, an unforgettable story that will stay with you forever!Prepare your heart for an emotional and touching story.    
    more
  • Patty Belongs To Kellan~Jesse~Lautner~Miller~Jack~Racer~Rafe~Liam~Prince Nicholas~Hayes~Simon~Gianluca & Archer
    January 1, 1970
    *****FIVE STARS*****{ARC Generously Provided by Author} ”Don’t go near the water, love. Stay away from strand or sea. You cannot walk on water, love; The lough will take you far from me.” I was a little nervous about reading this book. I’m not a fan of ”Historical Romances”, and history puts me to sleep, literally! The majority of the plot of ”WHAT THE WIND KNOWS” is deeply entrenched in history, and I am not going to lie, I struggled to get through most of the book, BUT, Amy Harmon is a truly g *****FIVE STARS*****{ARC Generously Provided by Author} ”Don’t go near the water, love. Stay away from strand or sea. You cannot walk on water, love; The lough will take you far from me.” I was a little nervous about reading this book. I’m not a fan of ”Historical Romances”, and history puts me to sleep, literally! The majority of the plot of ”WHAT THE WIND KNOWS” is deeply entrenched in history, and I am not going to lie, I struggled to get through most of the book, BUT, Amy Harmon is a truly gifted author, and I decided to see this through to the end. I am so glad that I did, because within the pages of this book is a beautiful love story that is fantastical and transcends space & time!Anne Gallagher is a famous author from New York in the year 2001. When her beloved grandfather dies, she journeys to his homeland of Ireland to spread his ashes on the Lough in the town he was born. This was his last request before he passed away. Anne was so overcome by her grief because all she had was her grandfather. He raised her since she was six when her parents died. Anne rents a little boat and rows out to the middle of the Lough to release Eoin’s ashes and somehow a white fog appears. She’s disoriented, frightened, and somehow ends up getting shot and nearly drowns, until she is pulled out to safety. When she comes to, she sees the face of a man who looks familiar but can’t place where she has seen him before. She’s in and out of consciousness due to the bullet wound but once she finally comes to, she learns somehow she has miraculously ended up in her grandfather’s childhood home, and the year is 1921. The man who saved her is Thomas Smith, a close friend to her great grandfather and great grandmother, and surrogate father to her grandfather, Eoin.The story is told through Anne’s POV, and through Thomas’s POV in his journal entries. The history of the Irish Civil War is accounted extensively throughout Thomas’s POV, and oh how I found it hard to stay awake. As the romance slowly starts to blossom between Thomas and Anne, the history was still a huge focal point but their love story was what grabbed a hold of my heart. How would these two be able to live their lives full of love and happy memories when they were from different time periods? Would the present take Anne away from the only true love she’s ever experienced? How will their story end?So much angst, and sorrow. I loved the bond between Anne and the child version of Eoin, her grandfather. The beautiful stories she wrote for him about his journeys to different places and times via his little red boat on the Lough were magical. I really ended up loving this story.Here are my overall ratings:Hero: 5Heroine: 5Plot: 5Angst: 5Steam: 3Chemistry Between Hero & Heroine: 5WHAT THE WIND KNOWS releases on March 1st. I’m sure Amy Harmon fans are going to fall in love with Thomas and Anne’s story!Amazon: https://amzn.to/2TgKPD9
    more
  • Nilufer Ozmekik
    January 1, 1970
    This is so poetic, lyrical, heart warming, exciting journey starts with the mythical story of Niamh and Oisin, continues with time changing moments of Irish Revolution and we’re catching glimpses from Michael Collins’ life story and his fight for freedom and finally witnessing an unconditional, timeless , amazing love story of Anne and Thomas. This journey’s the most important element is water which departs and unites our heroes. There are so many amazing Yeats’ poems you may find in this book b This is so poetic, lyrical, heart warming, exciting journey starts with the mythical story of Niamh and Oisin, continues with time changing moments of Irish Revolution and we’re catching glimpses from Michael Collins’ life story and his fight for freedom and finally witnessing an unconditional, timeless , amazing love story of Anne and Thomas. This journey’s the most important element is water which departs and unites our heroes. There are so many amazing Yeats’ poems you may find in this book but my favorite part is written on Thomas’ diary: “... I watch mesmerized, as her skin becomes smooth once more, my touch forgotten. I’ve left a smudge in the crook of her arm. There is ink on my fingers. I like the way it looks, my thumbprint on her skin. If I were a better artist, I would paint her in thumbprints, leaving my mark in my all favorite places, a testament of my devotion.”T. S will always be my favorite literary hero. And this will always be one of my favorite Amy Harmon’s book.
    more
  • Emma Scott
    January 1, 1970
    Wow. I'm sort of slack-jawed right now. I was drawn to the cover first--it has to be one of the most beautiful I've ever seen--and then a snippet drew me in deeper. Something about it resonated, and while fiction hasn't been so good for me lately, I had a feeling about this one and I was right. I know that doesn't tell you anything helpful about the book, except maybe to know that it is not a novel that lets go of you easily. Historical, fantastical, romantic, and brilliant. I can't imagine the Wow. I'm sort of slack-jawed right now. I was drawn to the cover first--it has to be one of the most beautiful I've ever seen--and then a snippet drew me in deeper. Something about it resonated, and while fiction hasn't been so good for me lately, I had a feeling about this one and I was right. I know that doesn't tell you anything helpful about the book, except maybe to know that it is not a novel that lets go of you easily. Historical, fantastical, romantic, and brilliant. I can't imagine the research that went into this novel, except that I felt the Ireland of 1921 alive on the pages. This book is nothing less than a towering achievement.
    more
  • Holly
    January 1, 1970
    DNF @ 34%This is reading like a history book. A really boring history book. But somehow the author also manages to make references to things/people during this time period as if the reader already knew all about it, which I absolutely did not and thus had to Wikipedia things. Then the parts that do not focus on the Irish War of Independence instead focused on exciting things such as - going shopping for clothing and toiletries. I just can't force myself to read this anymore. So disappointing con DNF @ 34%This is reading like a history book. A really boring history book. But somehow the author also manages to make references to things/people during this time period as if the reader already knew all about it, which I absolutely did not and thus had to Wikipedia things. Then the parts that do not focus on the Irish War of Independence instead focused on exciting things such as - going shopping for clothing and toiletries. I just can't force myself to read this anymore. So disappointing considering how much I really enjoyed From Sand and Ash and The Bird and the Sword.
    more
  • Erin
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to NetGalley and Lake Union publishing for an e-Arc in exchange for an honest review. Such a beautiful story! I mean, who can resist a time travel novel? I really cannot and Amy Harmon weaves a beautiful tale of a 21st century woman who finds herself traveling back to 1920's Ireland. Just like main protagonist Anne, I was swept away into the political intrigues of a country that wished to get rid of its British oppressor. Not to mention that I certainly fell in love with Thomas and lit Thanks to NetGalley and Lake Union publishing for an e-Arc in exchange for an honest review. Such a beautiful story! I mean, who can resist a time travel novel? I really cannot and Amy Harmon weaves a beautiful tale of a 21st century woman who finds herself traveling back to 1920's Ireland. Just like main protagonist Anne, I was swept away into the political intrigues of a country that wished to get rid of its British oppressor. Not to mention that I certainly fell in love with Thomas and little Eamon. Published on Goodreads on 4/02/19 Publication date: 01/03/19
    more
  • Dem
    January 1, 1970
    2.5 Stars Romantic Ireland's dead and gone, its with O'Leary in the grave.W.B Yeats Well I can confirm that Romantic Ireland is at its best in this novel A time travelling, Historical Fiction, Romance novel set in 1921 during Ireland's war of Independence. I picked this one up just because I was interested in the Historial element of this book and it has been getting amazing reviews.A story with a lot going on and I am not sure it really worked for me. I found the Irish history element of the 2.5 Stars Romantic Ireland's dead and gone, its with O'Leary in the grave.W.B Yeats Well I can confirm that Romantic Ireland is at its best in this novel A time travelling, Historical Fiction, Romance novel set in 1921 during Ireland's war of Independence. I picked this one up just because I was interested in the Historial element of this book and it has been getting amazing reviews.A story with a lot going on and I am not sure it really worked for me. I found the Irish history element of the book well researched and interesting however I felt it didn't capture the emotions or feelings of the protagonist who time travels back from 2001 to 1921. A lot of name dropping of famous Irish People of this time period felt forced and over the top in the story. Anne's Irish accent when she travelled back in time (no matter how brilliant she thought it was) would not have fooled anyone back in 1921 ask Tom Cruise ( Movie- Far and Away) or Julie Roberts (Michael Collin's Movie) how difficult it really is to get an Irish accent correct. I did like the characters and the story and while I am not a fan of time travel / romance novels I think the historical element of this book makes it an interesting and informative read however I needed more of the protagonist's reactions to a time and place that should have been so overwhelming for her coming from 2001. I listened to this one on audio and it was very average. I think this is a book that would read better on kindle or paperback format as the narration is over dramatic and the accents annoying.
    more
  • KAT ♕ Kitty Kats Crazy About Books ♕
    January 1, 1970
    MY REVIEW: can also be found on my blog: ➽ KITTY KATS CRAZY ABOUT BOOKS ’WHAT THE WIND KNOWS’ is a full length historical romance novel by Amy Harmon. If you are a fan of Outlander by Diana Gabaldon then without a doubt you'll love this book.Where to even start with this review!! This was one of my most highly anticipated reads for this year, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it, as soon as I could start reading it I was transported to another world, I couldn’t put it down, I didn’t want MY REVIEW: can also be found on my blog: ➽ KITTY KATS CRAZY ABOUT BOOKS ’WHAT THE WIND KNOWS’ is a full length historical romance novel by Amy Harmon. If you are a fan of Outlander by Diana Gabaldon then without a doubt you'll love this book.Where to even start with this review!! This was one of my most highly anticipated reads for this year, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it, as soon as I could start reading it I was transported to another world, I couldn’t put it down, I didn’t want to put it down. Seconds, minutes, hours, life outside my windows and doors ceased to exist. This author is such a great story teller. Like no other she has you sitting in the palm of her hand, she captivates you as soon as you open that first page, she weaves her magical talent on you as she gently tells you the story her characters beg her to tell. This book was utter perfection, utter magic. Hard to put down, easy to love. What the wind knows kicks starts off with thirty year old Anne Gallagher as she sits vigil beside Eoin her Grandfather who stepped in and raised her from an early age. As he lays dying in his bed in 2001. As he's getting ready to leave this world he begs for Anne to take him back to his homeland Ireland.Which she does promptly. It's not long after his passing that she realises how much her Grandfather kept from her about his childhood, so many gaps that he never spoke of. Being an established author she'd always had the inclination of writing a novel set in Ireland surrounding the 'Rising of 1916.'After arriving in Ireland with her Grandfather's ashes in hand she hires a little red dingy and sets off to scatter his ashes in Lough Gill, suddenly a mist appears out of nowhere, a man with two other companions holds up a pistil and fires at her hitting her on her side. She gets rescued by a man who seemed to know her name, he was Dr. Thomas Smith, and is placed under his care whilst she heals. Awakening nothing is what it seems, she doesn't recognise her surroundings or the people. Thomas Smith is the sole guardian to a wee boy who seems oddly familiar to her, it's this wee boy who mistakenly assumes it's his long lost mother returning to him some six years later. They had never found Eoin's mother. They'd never found her body. They had assumed she was dead, alongside her husband, lost in an insurrection that had ended very badly. And now I was here, raising questions that were long since buried. This was bad. This was very bad. But as a precaution for her own safety she adopts the woman's identity and falls into the era of 1921 seamlessly. I didn't know what had happened to Anne Gallagher of 1921.      
    more
  • Melissa ♥ Dog/Wolf Lover ♥ Martin
    January 1, 1970
    Omg! I saw Amy Harmon had a Kindle First book available and I hit that button so fast!! Yay!! Mel 🖤🐶🐺🐾
  • Jennifer Kyle
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 -5 Stars Amy Harmon delivers a very well researched/magical story doused in Irish history and a loop of souls that forever connect. You must read her ‘Author’s Note’ as she cleverly shows a correlation between her own family’s history mixed together with famous patriots of Ireland. If you are a history buff, or a fan of fantastical love stories, or simply an Amy Harmon fan, then I think you will be as pleased as I was with Anne Gallagher’s story! "I told you. You told me. Only the wind kno 4.5 -5 Stars Amy Harmon delivers a very well researched/magical story doused in Irish history and a loop of souls that forever connect. You must read her ‘Author’s Note’ as she cleverly shows a correlation between her own family’s history mixed together with famous patriots of Ireland. If you are a history buff, or a fan of fantastical love stories, or simply an Amy Harmon fan, then I think you will be as pleased as I was with Anne Gallagher’s story! "I told you. You told me. Only the wind knows which truly comes first." *ARC provided in exchange for an honest review*
    more
  • Corina☞BookTwinsReviews
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 starsWhat the Wind Knows, a beautifully crafted historical romance, was full of details of Ireland during the 1920s. The novel was well researched from clothing to the political unrest that had Ireland in its grip, and it all added to the authenticity of the novel.If you love Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series you'll love this book.Without a doubt it had everything a time traveling historical romance should have. Full of historical and emotional turmoil and thanks to the fantastic research by 3.5 starsWhat the Wind Knows, a beautifully crafted historical romance, was full of details of Ireland during the 1920s. The novel was well researched from clothing to the political unrest that had Ireland in its grip, and it all added to the authenticity of the novel.If you love Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series you'll love this book.Without a doubt it had everything a time traveling historical romance should have. Full of historical and emotional turmoil and thanks to the fantastic research by the author, it felt as close to authentic as possible.The book was mostly written from Anne's POV. Entries from Thomas's diary throughout the book gave a glimpse into his POV. But I would have loved even more insight into his feelings, doubts and overall thought process.  Especially in regards to the sudden appearance of Anne. The novel never satisfyingly explained Anne's meek behavior towards being stranded in a different time period. It also frustrated me that Anne's 21st century knowledge rarely added to the overall story. Even though she privately studied that period of time, her political knowledge made no real difference, Ireland's course was set and history didn't rewrite itself just because of Anne.Because the historical aspect of Ireland played such a BIG part in this story, Anne and Thomas's love story almost became a side note. Although I would have loved more romance the ending was satisfying (HEA), but I would have preferred more of the story to be between Anne and Thomas.And even though this novel didn't work for me as much as I hoped it would, it will be an amazing book for anyone that loves history, loves to learn about Ireland and its history, and for all who enjoy a well crafted and beautifully written historical time traveling romance.✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ If you want to chat with me about books, find me on Instagram For more of my reviews:My Blog: Book Twins ReviewsFacebook Blog PageTwitterSubscribe to Blog
    more
  • Astrid - The Bookish Sweet Tooth
    January 1, 1970
    TITLE: What the Wind KnowsAUTHOR: Amy HarmonGENRE: Historical Romance, FantasyTROPES: Time travelRATING: ALL OF THE STARSCLIFFHANGER: noREAD MY REVIEW ON THE BLOG ”Don’t go near the water, love.Stay away from strand or sea.You cannot walk on water, love;The lough will take you far from me.” Wow. If I could leave a one-word review that would be it. Buuuut, since I'm a reviewer I suppose that won't cut it, will it? I know that people have been raving about this book. Hell, my girl Christie s TITLE: What the Wind KnowsAUTHOR: Amy HarmonGENRE: Historical Romance, FantasyTROPES: Time travelRATING: ALL OF THE STARSCLIFFHANGER: noREAD MY REVIEW ON THE BLOG ”Don’t go near the water, love.Stay away from strand or sea.You cannot walk on water, love;The lough will take you far from me.” Wow. If I could leave a one-word review that would be it. Buuuut, since I'm a reviewer I suppose that won't cut it, will it? I know that people have been raving about this book. Hell, my girl Christie said that it is one of her top favorites, so I wanted to know if the accolades were true.Timetravel in books is awesome. It gives an author the freedom to infuse the story with magic and fictional characters while adhering to history books. In this regard, Amy Harmon did an unbelievable job. The amount of research must have been insane. The author paints a picture of an Ireland ridden by revolution and violence but also the kind of patriotism that is written into people's DNA. I loved learning all the things I didn't know and reveled in the parts I did know.The characters are so well fleshed out that I felt like they were old friends. I loved Anne's kindness, her unconditional love and forgiving heart. Thomas's tenderness with both Eoin and Anne, his love for his country, his readiness to help anytime, to think beyond the impossible and his belief in Anne and finally his pure love were just beautiful. I adored little Eoin and how his parents cared for him. Their love for one another was ageless, woven in the fabric of time. “I fell so fast, so hard, and so completely. Not because love is blind, but because . . . it’s not. Love isn’t blind, it’s blinding. Glaring. I looked at you, and from the very first day, I knew you. Your faith and your friendship, your goodness and your devotion. I saw it all, and I fell so hard." You'll get to spend time with well-known historic figures, get to know and love them, in a country that Amy Harmon describes vividly, the contemporary Ireland and the historic - you can see it before you, the soft hills, the green grass, the old buildings, the mist rising from the lake. It was superbly done.WHAT THE WIND KNOWS is an unforgettable, timeless lovestory brimming with magic, tenderness and passion. Passion for people, for Ireland, for loved ones, passion between lovers. It is a history class that will make you want to know more and wish a little bit that time travel was real. All the 5-star-reviews are real. So I'll just add mine. His lips were so soft and shy, they slipped away without letting me greet them. I followed, frantic to call them back, and he hesitated, forehead pressed to mine, hands on my shoulders, letting my bated breath extend an invitation before he accepted it and returned. His hands slid around to my back as his mouth lowered and stayed, letting me feel the warmth and the press of his kiss, so real, so present, so impossible.
    more
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    Spoiler contains my spin on the book synopsis: (view spoiler)[Annie was raised in America by her Irish grandfather. He has been preparing her to embrace his home country her whole life. She has researched the details surrounding Ireland's complicated history, she's learned it's culture and ancestral language, and she can converse with a born and bred accent. Her grandfather has a particular vision for Annie's first step into Ireland and the timing never seems to be right. But when he dies, Annie Spoiler contains my spin on the book synopsis: (view spoiler)[Annie was raised in America by her Irish grandfather. He has been preparing her to embrace his home country her whole life. She has researched the details surrounding Ireland's complicated history, she's learned it's culture and ancestral language, and she can converse with a born and bred accent. Her grandfather has a particular vision for Annie's first step into Ireland and the timing never seems to be right. But when he dies, Annie must make the much anticipated trip alone as she honors his wishes to scatter his ashes in the middle of Lough Gill. One task. One lake with a haunted past. Little does Annie know just how consuming Ireland can be. (hide spoiler)]What the Wind Knows is a multi-genre novel full of culture, history, family, and romance. Fiction meets nonfiction in a poetic and emotional story that is said by the author Amy Harmon to be very close to her heart. According to the author's note, Annie's character followed Harmon's own footsteps as she recently journeyed to Ireland to experience her ancestral birthplace. Many of the locations and people within this book are all part of Harmon's personal history. Someone once told me if I wanted to learn more about something, then teach it to someone else. That is what Harmon did. I finished this book completely stunned by the sheer amount of research that is carried within this tale of life, loss, loyalty and conflict. But beyond all, love. Love for country and love for each other. Absolutely timeless. Check it out.(view spoiler)[Note: Half star off for unappealing title (IMO) and a much too tidy ending. However, my positive reaction to this book overall caused me to ultimately ignore both. (hide spoiler)]My favorite quote:“Someone very wise told me that we keep the people we love in our hearts. We never lose them as long as we can remember how it felt to be loved by them.”Thank you to the following for permitting me access to an advance reader's copy (ARC) of What the Wind Knows. This generosity did not impact my honesty when rating/reviewing.Source: NetGalleyAuthor: Amy HarmonPublisher: Lake Union Publishing Genres: General Fiction (Adult), Women’s Fiction Pub Date: March 1, 2019(Note: Quote checked it against a final, published edition)
    more
  • Sophie
    January 1, 1970
    5 “Outlander” stars “Don’t forget to read the book. He loved you. He loved you so much. He’s been waiting, Annie.”  Here I am once again in a tight spot trying to write that review. As for each Amy Harmon’s books, the task is daunting. There is so much to tell yet I don’t own a tenth of her talent.Maybe let’s begin with the more important: I read it in one sitting and it is a long book (120.000 words). I left my body’s imprint on the couch by the end of the day.But that’s how enraptured I 5 “Outlander” stars “Don’t forget to read the book. He loved you. He loved you so much. He’s been waiting, Annie.”  Here I am once again in a tight spot trying to write that review. As for each Amy Harmon’s books, the task is daunting. There is so much to tell yet I don’t own a tenth of her talent.Maybe let’s begin with the more important: I read it in one sitting and it is a long book (120.000 words). I left my body’s imprint on the couch by the end of the day.But that’s how enraptured I was. Amy is not on the top of my top 3 authors for years now without a reason: her words are magic! She really weaves a tale intertwining past and present Ireland, mixing historical facts with ordinary people’s lives, rational with a dash of fantasy. And it works so well that I was not in my living room on my couch anymore. I could tweak her quote and apply it to reading instead of writing: “It was like that for me sometimes. I would become so immersed in reading that the scenes and characters I created came alive in my head, fleshed out and independently animated, visiting me as I slept.” I was at Garvagh Glebe. I found myself catapulted by some magical twist of fate (we are in Ireland, land of faeries) in 1921. Looking so much like another woman it was uncanny. I was supposed to live her life, trembling someone would discover that I was an impostor as I didn’t know how to lace a corset or how to call some pieces of garments.No one would believe that I was coming from the future when I did not know how I landed more than 80 years ago.Does it feel like Outlander here? Well yes that’s what I experienced too 😊.Anne is our female MC and is a renowned author. I loved how Amy must have drawn from her own writing experience to build her character.Ann has been orphaned since she was an infant and has been raised in Brooklyn by her grand-father Eoin. She’s traveled the world with him but they never went to Ireland, his country. It was never time yet.Now that he is gone, she promised to spread his ashes in Ireland on his beloved lough. Soon enough a white mist is surrounding her on the lake and she’ll be shot and left to drown only to be saved by Thomas Smith, local doctor and linked to her ancestors. Thomas has been part of the rebellion trying to free Ireland from England’s clutches.That part of history has always fascinated Anne as she planned on writing a book on these historical period. She’s been researching for months and now she is thrown in the middle of all these famous events, meeting people who made Ireland’s history. Reading about Ireland tumultuous past was enlightening. I may live in Europe and have some notions taught in school about Ireland’s fight to get free from England’s dominion I never had such detailed information. I lived the same experience while reading From Sand and Ash about the part played by the church in Italy in protecting countless Jews during WWII. “Every day it’s another terrible story, another unforgiveable event. The whole country is under immense strain, yet there is an odd hopefulness mixed with the fear. It’s as if all of Ireland is coming awake and our eyes are fixed on the same horizon.” Amy uses a similar “technique” as Ken Follett when he is writing his historical books: giving us solid historical facts, insisting on key events in the grand scheme of history while making it fascinating and human as we are following individuals living these events. This is not a non-fiction retelling of major events. This is a very human tale of people living in that century and experiencing first hand all the fights and inner struggles of Irish people.I think every history teacher should teach history using the same trick! I bet many more students would become history geeks if they could read books like Amy’s or Ken Follet! “Don’t let the history distract you from the people who lived it.”  What I admire most about Amy is that she does not go for flawless, utterly gorgeous with steel abs heroes. No. She chooses men and women looking like your friend or neighbor. But what makes them shine above all else are their inner qualities, their moral compass, their generosity, their dedication, their doubts and their sufferings.Thomas Smith is not bad looking but Amy’s depicting him with sharp knees. He is lean but has no bulging muscles. He is not the one captivating his audience and wanting to shine under the spotlight. Yet he is more than a worthy hero. Answering every call as a local doctor day or night, patrolling to protect his people and his rebel friends yet making time to draw for his ward when any man would go to sleep. “Thomas Smith was the kind of man who could quietly slip into and out of a room without drawing much attention. He was handsome if one stopped to contemplate each feature(…) Yet he had a slight stoop to his shoulders and an air of melancholia that had folks respecting his space and his solitude, even as they sought him out. (…) He wasn’t tall. He wasn’t short. He wasn’t a big man. He wasn’t a small man. He wasn’t loud or obtrusive even as he moved and acted with an innate confidence. He was simply Thomas Smith, as ordinary as his name, and yet . . . not ordinary at all. I could have written stories about him. He would be the character that grew on the reader, making them love him simply because he was good. Decent. Dependable.” He is calm, kind and generous, offering shelter to poor families dying from hunger in rural Ireland. His many small acts of kindness won my heart all over. Thomas also has a fervor for what he believes in. And he believes in a free Ireland. But the price to pay is high and we follow Thomas doubts and inner reflection. Is really all fair in war? “It is one thing to fight for freedom; it is another to condemn the innocent to die in your war.”  This patient, generous and solid man will steal Anne’s heart.Anne is also someone you will like easily. She is kind but strong. Smart and compassionate. Brave even if she is afraid.Their relationship reminded me of Eva and Bianco’s “From Sand and Ash”. I loved how Amy built their relationship, slowly, steadily. Something we could believe in. Something meant to last for all eternity. If I loved the historical context, the characters, the plot and the pace who was just right I can’t overlook Amy’s writing.I wrote in my first review that Amy has a grace when writing a story. It flows effortlessly, beautifully and I dare say poetically. I always end up with so many quotes that choosing to feature some in my review is a nearly impossible task! Last parting words because this review is long (yes, I know) I really loved how Amy made us see that there rarely are true villains. Because even the villains in this story were firm believers that they were doing what was best for Irish people. And yes everything is a question of perspective. We have so often history lessons in black or white, where the line is drawn. Yet the truth is often to be found in the shades of grey. “I’d been wrong about one thing. These were not average men and women. Time had not given them a gloss they had not earned. Even those I wanted to loathe, based on my own research and conclusions, conducted themselves with fervor and honest conviction. These weren’t posing politicians. They were patriots whose blood and sacrifice deserved history’s pardon and Ireland’s compassion.”  I am stopping here as I could go on and on about that book. But …just read it!  Have you read Amy's books before? Are you a fan like I am? Thanks for reading! Sophie Find me on:Wordpress: Beware Of The ReaderFacebook: Beware Of The Reader Facebook group : Beware Book Boyfriends Alert Instagram: @bewareofthereader Twitter: @BewareOffReader
    more
  • ♆Hayley (TheVillainousReader)
    January 1, 1970
    DNF 64%My girl, Francesca, and I are cursed. I swear. When we decide to buddy read, more often than not, it’s a slow and painful process, resulting in a book that is rated, at most, two stars. This is a rare exception, because I DNFed this bitch. I don’t think I’ve ever been more disappointed in a book in my entire life. I absolutely adored From Sand and Ash and expected another epic romance, with a fast-paced and intriguing plot in What the Wind Knows, but instead I got garbage. Confusing garba DNF 64%My girl, Francesca, and I are cursed. I swear. When we decide to buddy read, more often than not, it’s a slow and painful process, resulting in a book that is rated, at most, two stars. This is a rare exception, because I DNFed this bitch. I don’t think I’ve ever been more disappointed in a book in my entire life. I absolutely adored From Sand and Ash and expected another epic romance, with a fast-paced and intriguing plot in What the Wind Knows, but instead I got garbage. Confusing garbage at that. As someone who knows little to nothing about Ireland, I was so was excited to be immersed into the history and culture. Did I already say I was excited? That was my first mistake, being excited for this book at all. My second was purchasing the physical copy. UGHHHHH. Regrets. So, yeah, I didn’t learn anything about Ireland in school. My knowledge is as vast as knowing that Northern Ireland and Ireland are not the same (right?), that the IRA is considered a terrorist group (right?), and that Ireland was once part of England but Northern Ireland still is (right?). CLEARLY, I know absolutely nothing. What was insanely frustrating to me about this, is that it’s written assuming that the reader already knows the history of Ireland and it’s civil war. I do not and therefore I didn’t know what the hell was going on. I didn’t get the date references, the name drops, the places, who was on what side. Nothing connected for me. My lovely friend, Fran, actually had to pull out her old high school textbook to give herself a refresh and me a little history lesson. Um, wasn’t Harmon supposed to be explaining all this as I read? Yes, yes, she was. Without an informational foundation I couldn’t fully connect to the story, and what information was given was presented in a way that was so dry and boring. On top of having no idea what was going on, the romance came OUT OF NO-WHERE. Like, holy shit. On one page they were inwardly admitting an attraction to one another (fine, that’s great) and the next they were confessing their love. Um, what the hell?! They went from 0 to 100 in a a matter OF PAGES. Where’s the denial of feelings?! Where’s the passionate make-out sessions?! WHERE. IS. THE. YEARNING?! Oh, written off page. The only positive about this was Thomas. I really liked his character. He was charming and caring and got ripped off. Put in a shitty story with a shitty romance. Rude. I’m not even going to touch on the whole time travel thing because I honestly don’t even know what was going on there. BUT let’s talk about the old Irish folktales and the tradition of storytelling, shall we? WHAT THE HELL IS THE POINT OF HAVING ALL THESE OLD IRISH FOLKTALES IF THEY AREN’T ACTUALLY GOING TO BE TOLD ON PAGE?! It would be like “Anne began to whisper the story of *insert title here*” and then “And Anne’s voice faded with the end of the story.”. Um, what?! What was the story?! I WANT TO KNOWWWWW. From Sand and Ash was clearly a fluke. I did not like The Bird and the Sword and I did not like this. I should have known. Well, off to sell this to my local used bookstore. Tootles.
    more
  • Christie«SHBBblogger»
    January 1, 1970
    Title: What the Wind KnowsSeries: StandaloneAuthor: Amy HarmonRelease date: February 1, 2019Cliffhanger: NoGenre: historical fiction, time travel, historical romanceAnne Gallagher has longed to visit Ireland with her grandfather, Eoin for her entire life, but for some inexplicable reason he always refused to take the trip with her. After the loss of her parents, he stepped in and raised her from an early age. The relationship that they shared was a close one, but upon his death she learned that Title: What the Wind KnowsSeries: StandaloneAuthor: Amy HarmonRelease date: February 1, 2019Cliffhanger: NoGenre: historical fiction, time travel, historical romanceAnne Gallagher has longed to visit Ireland with her grandfather, Eoin for her entire life, but for some inexplicable reason he always refused to take the trip with her. After the loss of her parents, he stepped in and raised her from an early age. The relationship that they shared was a close one, but upon his death she learned that there were chunks of his life that he never fully revealed to her. Wishing to give his ashes a final resting place, she decides to go to County Leitrim where he was born and raised. There she will find echoes of history that have been long forgotten. There, she will meet Dr. Thomas Smith and start re-writing her past. Where nothing seemed certain, and her path was mysteriously preordained.“Tragedy makes for great stories, but I’d much rather your story—the one you live, not the ones you write—be filled with joy. Don’t revel in tragedy, Annie. Rejoice in love. And once you find it, don’t let it go. In the end, it is the one thing you won’t regret.”This book was in one word, perfection. The exquisite romance inside these pages pulsed with its own heartbeat. Thomas and Anne had a destined soulmates connection between them that's undeniable almost from the start. The feelings they have for each other pierced right through me down to my core. Every breath, sigh, tear, and tender touch was shared and experienced in a way that I know I will want to revisit many times to come. Amy Harmon has penned a love letter about her ancestors' homeland and the infinite bond of family through the ages. The outer layer is a powerful exploration into the conflict and unrest of early 20th century Ireland. The aftermath of the Easter Rising of 1916, the impact of Michael Collins' guerrilla warfare, and the civil unrest over the Anglo Irish treaty of 1921 are a few of the things explored in What the Wind Knows. Using a mix of fictional characters and real historical figures, the reader is given a gripping glimpse of what it would have been like living in such severe times. The history has been painstakingly researched and voiced in such detail, you're swept into the story effortlessly- returning back to reality is the hard part. What you try to take away from a man, he will want all the more. What you tell him he can’t have, he’ll set his heart on. The only rebellion we have is our identity.The core of the story is Anne Gallagher. A woman who is unexpectedly given a chance to understand where she came from, and where she was meant to be. Anne has found professional success and acclaim as an author, but her career has dominated her life for far too long. She's never been the type to put human connections or romantic entanglements above the job she loves. But suddenly this strong and steady man in front of her is showing her the importance of family. Her eyes are opened to the impact of love, and how fragile the essential things in life really are. Then we have beautiful, soulful Thomas. He was one of the most amazing characters I've ever had the pleasure of reading about. His deep and abiding love for Anne is so poignant in his journal entries, so utterly passionate. The love and care he gave his friends, his family, and his country was boundless. When he was hurting, it just about breaks your heart into a million little pieces right along with his. And you wish there was a way to shelter him and cushion his fall as he selflessly does for so many others.Love isn’t blind, it’s blinding. Glaring. I looked at you, and from the very first day, I knew you.What the Wind Knows was a captivating, fast-paced book that ended entirely too soon for this greedy reader. If I could have, I would have picked it up immediately after finishing and turned back to page one. Even now, more than a week after finishing, I get a little teary eyed just thinking about this extraordinary, fantastical love story. I really think historical fiction is a genre that this author shines in, and I hope she writes a lot more of them in the future! Don't wait. Don't hesitate. You need to one-click this book and read it for yourself on release day. It's an experience that will stay with you a long time to come. FOLLOW SMOKIN HOT BOOK BLOG ON:
    more
  • Amy | Foxy Blogs
    January 1, 1970
    Absolutely remarkable. Extraordinary. Amazing. Phenomenal... to name a few words to describe this book. Anne Gallagher: ”We were alike in that way, my grandfather and I - both orphaned young - his loss cycling into mine, my loss becoming his. I was only six years old when I lose my parents. I was a little girl with a tied tongue and an overly active imagination, and Eoin stepped in, rescued me, and raised me.” Now as an adult woman Anne’s grandfather has passed and she goes to Ireland to se Absolutely remarkable. Extraordinary. Amazing. Phenomenal... to name a few words to describe this book. Anne Gallagher: ”We were alike in that way, my grandfather and I - both orphaned young - his loss cycling into mine, my loss becoming his. I was only six years old when I lose my parents. I was a little girl with a tied tongue and an overly active imagination, and Eoin stepped in, rescued me, and raised me.” Now as an adult woman Anne’s grandfather has passed and she goes to Ireland to see where Eoin grew up. This was Anne’s way for her to feel closer to her grandfather. While in Ireland Anne ends up traveling back in time to the year 1921. She looks like her namesake - Eoin’s mother / her great grandmother. During her time in 1921, a lot is happening in Ireland. The Irish Independence War was happening which made tensions high. During this time frame, Eoin was a young boy whose parents had died and he was being raised by his grandmother and the town doctor, Thomas Smith. ”But when you’re a time-traveling countess, the name isn’t all that important.” Everyone was trying to label her as ‘Declan’s Anne’ because she was mistaken as her great grandmother Anne. Anne didn't feel she was Declan's but rather:”I had always been Eoin’s Anne.” One person, Thomas, kept her heart intrigued. He became a great companion for her as she settled into this new life. Plus he already held Eoin's heart.While that is only the basic outline of what embodies this story there is so much more that is happening between the pages. I don’t want to ruin this emotionally beautiful read for others. Pick up this book to find out for yourself the way Ms. Harmon is able to seamlessly weave the story together. STANDALONE Follow Foxy Blogs at: Blog ♥ Twitter ♥ Instagram ♥ Facebook
    more
  • Betul
    January 1, 1970
    **ARC provided by author in exchange for an honest review**"There are some paths that inevitably lead to heartache, some acts that steal men's souls, leaving them wandering forever after without them, trying to find what they lost."It is official, Amy Harmon is now one of my all time favorite authors. I am completely in awe and amazed with her magical writing and storytelling abilities. I love all her books and her contemporary and fantasy romance novels are amazing, but I find myself more drawn **ARC provided by author in exchange for an honest review**"There are some paths that inevitably lead to heartache, some acts that steal men's souls, leaving them wandering forever after without them, trying to find what they lost."It is official, Amy Harmon is now one of my all time favorite authors. I am completely in awe and amazed with her magical writing and storytelling abilities. I love all her books and her contemporary and fantasy romance novels are amazing, but I find myself more drawn to her historical novels. It's probably because I am obsessed with history. What the Wind Knows focuses on the beautiful and heartbreaking history of Ireland. Amy has made me fall in love with this country and its people. This book was perfection from start until finish, it was so unique and original. I felt every sentence deep in my heart, and I couldn't get enough."I fell so fast, so hard, and so completely. Not because love is blind, but because...it's not. Love isn't blind, it's blinding."You'll probably have noticed that the main character time travels into the past, and I am kind of indifferent to that trope, but it was done very well by the author. The story had a great pacing and flow, and the author had really done her research. The character were amazing, and really brought the story to life. It was suspenseful, emotional, heartbreaking, romantic, hopeful and inspiring. I was on the edge of my seat and in tears half of the time. The story is so much more than just a Romance novel. Anne was such an incredible character and my heart wept for her and all the other characters. I know that my review is pretty vague in regards to the plot, but you don't need to know more than what you read in the synopsis. I recommend this book to everyone!"It is as if we always were and always will be, as though our love and our lives sprang from the same source and will return to that source in the end, intertwined and indistinguishable. We are ancient. Prehistoric and predestined."
    more
  • Bkwmlee
    January 1, 1970
    This book absolutely blew me away! From the very first page all the way to the very end, I was swept up in Amy Harmon’s beautifully crafted, enchanting story of American-born Anne Gallagher, who travels to Ireland for the first time in her life to fulfill her beloved grandfather Eoin’s dying wish to have his ashes spread in the lake at his childhood home. Once there, overcome by grief and memories of her grandfather, Anne finds herself pulled back into time to the 1920s -- a tumultuous time peri This book absolutely blew me away! From the very first page all the way to the very end, I was swept up in Amy Harmon’s beautifully crafted, enchanting story of American-born Anne Gallagher, who travels to Ireland for the first time in her life to fulfill her beloved grandfather Eoin’s dying wish to have his ashes spread in the lake at his childhood home. Once there, overcome by grief and memories of her grandfather, Anne finds herself pulled back into time to the 1920s -- a tumultuous time period in Ireland during its fight for independence, which she had researched and read about extensively as a writer back in 2001 but never dreamed that she would experience firsthand. She wakes up in the world of her grandfather’s childhood, where she is reunited with him as a little boy of 6 years old, and after being mistaken for his mother, she gradually uncovers a complex family history that she inadvertently becomes a part of when she falls in love with the boy’s guardian, Thomas Smith. Soon, her past and future start to intertwine as she encounters people she only knew of in history as well as relatives she never even knew she had. In the end, the struggle becomes a question of whether she should – or could – stay in a time period she doesn’t belong in but has become home for her.Let me say straight out that I’m neither a fan of time travel stories nor historical romances – I’ve read books in both genres and to be quite honest, very few have ever had an impact on me emotionally or captivated me enough to make me continue thinking about the story and characters long after I’ve finished reading. Well, there is a first for everything I guess, and this book is the first time travel + romance + historical fiction novel that has truly won me over. This book awed me in the fantastic way it was able to weave the elements of these 3 genres so seamlessly into a story that was both compelling and emotional, with characters that felt so real and a time and place in history that felt so authentic, it drew me in completely, to the point that I felt like I was actually right there with Anne, living in her world for the few days that I was engrossed in the story. This was a book that tugged at my heartstrings, made me cry and made me smile and basically made me feel the entire roller coaster of emotions that a great, momentous read has a way of doing. I don’t think it’s an exaggeration to say that I fell in love with nearly all of the characters in this story…not only that though, I also fell in love with the writing -- a feeling that is impossible for me to describe accurately and to which I can only say is something that needs to be experienced for yourself. Amy Harmon is an absolutely talented writer -- to be able to weave the elements of time travel, romance, and historical fiction into such a complex tale and do it so brilliantly is a momentous feat in and of itself and Harmon absolutely nailed it! I can’t wait to read some of her other novels that I’ve had on my TBR for ages already and yes, I am a most definitely looking forward to what she comes out with next! This book is highly recommended -- one that was a 5 star read for me from beginning to end and that I already feel like re-reading, which is not something that happens often with me (though I will refrain from re-reading because I have too many other books I need to get to). In case you are still debating whether to read this one or not, I will leave you with these words that pretty much sum up my feelings towards this book: beautiful, unforgettable, and absolutely well-done! Received ARC from Lake Union Publishing via NetGalley
    more
  • Ashley
    January 1, 1970
    Reviewed on: Ashes Books & Bobs.What a delight, to begin the year with one of my most anticipated reads of 2019, by one of my favorite authors of all. Every Amy Harmon book leaves me in awe - completely astonished by the gifts she was endowed with, the feelings she's able to put into language my brain does not possess. Amy Harmon holds more talent in her little finger than most of us could wish to acquire in a lifetime. That's why anything I say about her or her books will be an injustice to Reviewed on: Ashes Books & Bobs.What a delight, to begin the year with one of my most anticipated reads of 2019, by one of my favorite authors of all. Every Amy Harmon book leaves me in awe - completely astonished by the gifts she was endowed with, the feelings she's able to put into language my brain does not possess. Amy Harmon holds more talent in her little finger than most of us could wish to acquire in a lifetime. That's why anything I say about her or her books will be an injustice to the greatness she is able to craft in her stories.What the Wind Knows started off slow for me. It took some time for me to grasp the numerous characters and the history taking place. Granted, I'm not familiar with Irish history, making everything in these pages new to me. I also wasn't in the correct frame of mind for reading when I started this novel - life hit my family hard in the new year and it's taken time to adjust. Finally, I was determined to let the characters sweep me away to 1920s Ireland and leave my present world completely behind. I was not disappointed in the least and I cannot say how grateful I am that I was able to escape my own reality for a few hours. The attention to detail in this book made this story come alive in a way I've rarely experienced while reading. I could feel the discomfort of the clothing, the confusion of being in a new place and time, and see the world as if I was reading in 3D."But the wind and water know all the earth's secrets. They've seen and heard all that has ever been said or done. And if you listen, they will tell you all the stories and sing every song."Time-travel is a subject that has always fascinated me from a young age. My imagination is often absorbed by history. I will find myself standing in a place and wonder about the feet that have stood where mine are planted. What the Wind Knows takes this idea and expands upon in it, layer upon beautiful layer. Time is not linear in this story, but annular, leaving readers with a picture of just how connected all of our stories are, if only were are open to listening."I loved churches the way I loved cemeteries and books. All three were markers of humanity, of time, of life."I highlighted line after line within these pages, again completely awe-struck as I read feelings and thoughts I have experienced, but have never been able to put into words as eloquently as Amy Harmon. The connections to ghosts of the past are sure to leave each reader full of wonder. Once you come up for air, you may not be sure which time period you're living in, only to realize it truly doesn't matter. What the Wind Knows grants a shift in perspective, allowing readers to realize what is important has always been important. Love is love, no matter which year we live in. Only our relationships, our legacies of love, and the stories of our passions will be the things that matter in the end. I don't know where to begin in describing my admiration for the characters. Being along for the ride through Anne's perspective was everything I needed, while still getting to experience life through Thomas's eyes in his journal entries. As Anne fell for Thomas, I did too. He was timeless - simple, yet strong, and completely human. His care for Anne shows the type of love every woman should aspire to find. The dedication and loyalty the characters showed to one another was inspiring and beautifully written. Despite my love for the main three characters, the standout in my mind was Maeve. If she was in the story at the moment I was reading, you can be sure there were tears flowing the majority of the time. She gave the story a nostalgic feel I reveled in.Thank you, Amy Harmon, for the chance to read an ARC and for kicking my reading year off with a bang. My words are inadequate, but I hope they will encourage readers to pick this book up and stick with the story throughout. The ending made my heart swell and my eyes swim with tears - just try to read this one without shedding a tear or two. This beauty will hit your Kindles on March 1, or if you are impatient, pick up a hardcover on February 1st. You will not be disappointed.
    more
  • warhawke
    January 1, 1970
    Genre: Historical RomanceType: StandalonePOV: First Person - FemaleRating: Annie Gallagher felt empty after she lost the only person she ever cared about. The loss brought her to Ireland where her ancestors originated. She never realized how her family connections were steep in history until she unwittingly lived it herself from an unexpected perspective. In Romance world full of alpha a-hole, Thomas Smith was a breath of fresh air with his proper gentlemanly ways. I loved how generous he was in Genre: Historical RomanceType: StandalonePOV: First Person - FemaleRating: Annie Gallagher felt empty after she lost the only person she ever cared about. The loss brought her to Ireland where her ancestors originated. She never realized how her family connections were steep in history until she unwittingly lived it herself from an unexpected perspective. In Romance world full of alpha a-hole, Thomas Smith was a breath of fresh air with his proper gentlemanly ways. I loved how generous he was in taking care of people he held dear. I was a victim of circumstance—improbable, impossible, inescapable—and I could only make the best of it. Anne was a lost soul until she found what she didn’t know she needed. For someone flung into the unknown, she adapted very well and I loved seeing her navigated her new daily life. I also liked how she was involved with the people/situation without being in their faces. “It’s a helluva lot easier to kill when you hate the people you’re shooting at,” I love history in general, but modern political history is never something that appeal to me. And there were a lot of it in this book. I had a hard time caring about it in the first 80% of the book especially with the way it being told felt too detached. It only felt less like a history lesson when it became more personal with the characters towards the end. With that said, absolutely loved the overall storyline with how the characters connected in present and past. I felt invested with the three main characters and even some of the supporting characters. Some things are better left to discover. Some paths are better left unknown.” What the Wind Knows is a wonderful tale of family, friendship and love. It would appeal to readers looking for an intriguing time travel historical romance.💠 ⏳ 💠 . . . (F)BR With Twinsie CC and Loyda . . . 💠 ⏳ 💠 For more reviews/reveals/giveaways visit:
    more
  • Hollis
    January 1, 1970
    This is why I have a black sheep shelf, folks. This right here.I'm going to start off by saying if you love OUTLANDER, or any time-travel-y historical romance, you'll probably love this. Even if I, a fan of OUTLANDER, did not. WHAT THE WIND KNOWS is a slightly more modern slip through the sands of time, or rather less of a jump, and Harmon's take on the concept drops us into an Ireland on the brink of civil war as her countrymen fight for independence. But unlike the aforementioned novel that wi This is why I have a black sheep shelf, folks. This right here.I'm going to start off by saying if you love OUTLANDER, or any time-travel-y historical romance, you'll probably love this. Even if I, a fan of OUTLANDER, did not. WHAT THE WIND KNOWS is a slightly more modern slip through the sands of time, or rather less of a jump, and Harmon's take on the concept drops us into an Ireland on the brink of civil war as her countrymen fight for independence. But unlike the aforementioned novel that will no doubt be a comparison for every reader who picks this up, this story is both far more complex and simultaneously much simpler than the other epic.I think my main problem, though, was I was just bored. There is so much history and politics crammed into this standalone that I was skimming pretty early on. We flip between our heroine's POV, contemporary and then in the past, and that of our love interest who is writing journal entries of his observations and experiences. These chapters sometimes overlap and other times fill in gaps. It was a clever way to show Anne's impact and adjustment to her unexpected timeline, and the complications of her appearance, but it was never consistently a perspective that I enjoyed.While I can see from the author's note that this story was inspired by her own trip to Ireland and her own family history, it ultimately just reads too much like an homage. Anne is a writer in mostly-present day New York, with a strong connection to Ireland as a result of her grandfather, and just so happened to be writing a book set around the 1920s, so she goes to the past prepared with the goings on and all the relevant key players of the time. She even offers some hints and advice of what's to come. Kinda like Claire. Her birthday is October twentieth. Just like Claire (and me!). She ends up wearing two rings, for reasons, just like Claire. She acts as an extra set of hands and a pseudo nurse.. sorta like Claire. It was just a lot. That being said..It did diverge pretty strongly in the connections and family aspect of things. Of which I was very confused for a while and then ultimately just kinda (shrug emoji) whatevs about. And the romance.. well, there's definitely no comparison there. I felt like I was walking along, fine as can be, and then tripped and face-planted into it. It comes out of nowhere, with little foundation, though I did kind of love it through Thomas' writings. It was the only time I actually felt it. His utter astonishment of his feelings was just.. sweet and aweinspiring. Easily the highlight.I couldn't wait to finish this book. I just wanted it over with. It was a real struggle to stay engaged and while there were some lines and turns of phrase of pure loveliness, I just felt it was trying too hard to make me feel something that wasn't there. ** I received an ARC from NetGalley and the publisher (thank you!) in exchange for an honest review. **
    more
  • NiCoLeTa E.
    January 1, 1970
    ***5 beautiful "Don't go near the water, love!!!" stars*** I pulled you from the waterAnd kept you in my bed.A lost, forsaken daughterOf a past that isn't dead.....Don't go near the water, love.Stay away from strand or sea.You cannot walk on water, love.The lough will take you far from me. This book was pure magic, but not in the way you think!!!It was as much real, as it was magnificent!!! It was old and new, at the same time...It was captivating until the very last page and it made you cravi ***5 beautiful "Don't go near the water, love!!!" stars*** I pulled you from the waterAnd kept you in my bed.A lost, forsaken daughterOf a past that isn't dead.....Don't go near the water, love.Stay away from strand or sea.You cannot walk on water, love.The lough will take you far from me. This book was pure magic, but not in the way you think!!!It was as much real, as it was magnificent!!! It was old and new, at the same time...It was captivating until the very last page and it made you craving more and more of this wonderful story!!!Mrs. Harmon knows really good how to write beautiful and heartwarming stories, and this story was... pure magic, as i told you above!!!In this book, she managed to marry reality with fiction, the old with the new and in a way, a crazy story had begun... "My name is Anne Gallagher. I was not born in Ireland, but Ireland has always been inside of me..." Anne Gallagher's life is about to change forever... The constant parental figure in her life, her beloved grandfather Eoin, is dying and Anne is devastated... Those two were always very close... Before he died, he spoke to her about her ancestors for the first time and he gave her a journal and some pictures... His only demand is for her to go in Ireland back to "him" and to throw his ashes in Lough Gill... "Don't forget to read the book. He loved you. He loved you so much. He's been waiting, Annie." After his death, Anne is making his wish come true and she goes to Ireland... In there, she is trying to learn more about the persons in the photos and when the right time is coming, she is fulfilling Eoin's final wish!!! But when she is dusting his ashes in the lake, something terrifying and at the same magical is happening... She is turning back in time and everything is changing in her reality... Now, she is back in 1921 and in the center of history itself!!! "I can't live like this.""Like what?""Like this... Pretending to be someone that I'm not. Being punished for things I can't explain and blamed for things I know nothing about." The people of 1921 are confusing her with someone else and steadily, she is starting to learn more about her family, about little Eoin and she is finding tenderness and love in the face of Thomas Smith!!! But the dangers that are lurking in the dark are too many.... The fear of the unknown is always there and at the beginning, the need to return back in her life is strong... But then everything are starting to change... She has been thrown in the middle of significant parts of Ireland's history and she is getting to know very important persons... Thomas Smith is becoming for her something vital like the air she breathes and after some time, she has so much things to lose...But nothing lasts forever, right??? What will happen in this crazy story that she is forced to be a part of??? "Each day I walked along the shore, considering. And each day I turned away, unwilling to try... I ached for my grandfather... I mourned for my life... But the choice was easy to make. Here, I loved. And, in the end, I wanted to love more than I wanted to return." Well, honestly, the story was too big and it had too many things inside... Things that i can not share with you... I think that i told too much already!!! The author managed to bound real facts with fictional facts in a beautiful and skillful manner and she pulled me under her spell...My mind all the time was wondering how it was possible for the heroine to go back in time, how the things will develop, if the history will change after the time traveling and how our heroes will manage to find redemption after all.... And because I'm a romantic soul, i wanted for Thomas and Anne a HEA, but it seemed impossible... Near to the end, my heart was aching and i was praying for a miracle... "Was I changing history, or had I always been part of it?" "Was Thomas in love with Anne?" I'd asked my grandfather."Yes and no," Eoin had answered."Oh wow. There's a story there," I'd crowed."Yes. There is," he'd whispered. "A wonderful story."And now I understood.Well, i loved many characters in here very much!!!! Amy, always, is making me love more people than is necessary... Not only the protagonists... but i will try to stick only to them...Anne was caught in between... She was longing for a different life and she was longing her loved ones, and she took them in a different form... It was fascinating in a way to read about that period of time... I was mesmerized... and I think, Anne was too!!!After all, who could meet his/ her ancestors from first hand??? Who could live history in its core??? And who could find love in the most unexpected place and time??? "I am not her, Thomas... Right now, I almost wish I were. But I am not that Anne.""No. You're right. You've changed. You don't burn my eyes like you once did. Now, I don't have to look away." Tomas and Anne were fitting perfectly together... They were soulmates!!! They belong to each other, even though they seemed cursed to have no future together...Tomas was a magnificent man... A patriot!!! He was so loyal, so kind, so generous... and he showed his virtue repeatedly in this book... It was impossible to not love this guy!!!Anne was a wonderful person herself... She was confused, but at the same time, she was adapting in this new life really good... “Thomas Smith was the kind of man who could quietly slip into and out of a room without drawing much attention. He was handsome if one stopped to contemplate each feature... Yet he had a slight stoop to his shoulders and an air of melancholia that had folks respecting his space and his solitude, even as they sought him out... He wasn’t tall. He wasn’t short. He wasn’t a big man. He wasn’t a small man. He wasn’t loud or obtrusive even as he moved and acted with an innate confidence. He was simply Thomas Smith, as ordinary as his name, and yet . . . not ordinary at all. I could have written stories about him. He would be the character that grew on the reader, making them love him simply because he was good. Decent. Dependable.”"We were impossible. In a moment, in a breath, it could all be over. He was a dream I could easily wake up from, and I knew all too well that once awake, I wouldn't be able to call the dream back." As i told you before, there were many remarkable persons in here, but i will have to stick to Eoin...Eoin was an amazing child who had lost already too many things... But he had found others, more beautiful... He was a sneaky old man since he knew everything and he orchestrated them really good for Anne... I loved how thoughtful he was and i loved him for the love that he was feeling toward Anne and Doc...Also, in here, a basic role was belonging to Michael Collins!!! Yep, the known Irishman!!! We lived his story through Thomas's and Anne's eyes and it was so beautifully given... Hopefully, in his time, he had such wonderful friends by his side as in here, because the burden upon his shoulders was very heavy... “I’d been wrong about one thing. These were not average men and women. Time had not given them a gloss they had not earned. Even those I wanted to loathe, based on my own research and conclusions, conducted themselves with fervor and honest conviction. These weren’t posing politicians. They were patriots whose blood and sacrifice deserved history’s pardon and Ireland’s compassion.” Honestly, there are so many things that i want to share about this book that i could write about them for hours... My mind is still confused in a way, but my soul feels satisfied!!!I'm sure that i have forgotten many things to say, but i have to stop writing now. ..I just want to say that i'm still in awe and that in this book exist wonderful things and wonderful people with wonderful stories... I loved very much this travel to past through Anne's eyes and through Thomas's journal... They were both having a voice and it was an amazing thing to witness!!! I love Amy Harmon's book!!! She never disappoints!!! In contrary, she knows how to spellbound you!!! "Someone very wise told me that we keep the people we love in our hearts. We never lose them as long as we can remember how it felt to be loved by them." "I told you. You told me. And you will tell me again. Only the wind knows which truly comes first." ***ARC generously provided via NetGalley for the exchange of an honest review. Thank you!***
    more
  • Heather❀Book and a Blanket❀
    January 1, 1970
    5+++ Stars!!!!!This book has ruined me for all other books! I'm still trying to wrap my head around what happened and my poor heart! How can it ache SO GOOD and SO BAD?! This was a beautiful story of love, loss, family and patriotism with one of the most unique storylines and had me feeling EVERYTHING! The concept of time travel has always fascinated me but it is certainly a difficult topic to get perfectly right, whether in movies or books. Many times there are inconsistencies and plot holes. N 5+++ Stars!!!!!This book has ruined me for all other books! I'm still trying to wrap my head around what happened and my poor heart! How can it ache SO GOOD and SO BAD?! This was a beautiful story of love, loss, family and patriotism with one of the most unique storylines and had me feeling EVERYTHING! The concept of time travel has always fascinated me but it is certainly a difficult topic to get perfectly right, whether in movies or books. Many times there are inconsistencies and plot holes. Not in this book. Amy Harmon got it right. I mean she NAILED it! I honestly had no idea how perfect it was until the very end. The author carries us on a spectacular time travel journey filled with love and loss. It was like a puzzle that you were trying to solve piece by piece and the anticipation of seeing the whole picture will have you thoroughly enthralled.This book is very rich in history and our heroine Anne gets pulled back to Ireland in 1921 at the cusp of the Irish Civil War. First of all let me just say I am not a history buff. Before reading this book I certainly had no interest in what Ireland went through to gain her Independence. However, you cannot help but be fascinated with Amy's story telling. She weaves the tale of these heroic men and women who fought for Ireland's liberation from Great Britain and I could feel their pride and I wept for what it cost them to achieve their independence. As Anne learns firsthand about the country of her ancestors and lives the events that she only read about in "her time", you can't help but be caught up in the fascination of it all. The details in this book are phenomenal and you cannot help but respect the level of research that must have gone into the writing of this novel. The love Ann and Thomas discover in each other takes them both by surprise. Ann finds herself in love with a man in the past and is at war with what decisions to make. Their love was gradual but intense and passionate. Thomas was such a great man. He was a kind and generous soul but also smart and brave. He risked his life for his family and his country. He loved Anne with such fervor and their path was so gut wrenching but so beautiful! Their love story was simply epic!There were so many amazing characters in this book that each played their role in what unfolded in this story. Everything about this book was beautifully complex. It makes you realize we are a part of something so much bigger than ourselves. Time became irrelevant. Love became important. I'll be thinking about this book for a long time to come. I know it's only January but I know this will be one of my favorite reads of 2019. Well done Amy Harmon!5+++ StarsHistorical RomancePOV: Heroine (Journal Entries by Hero)Heat Level: Very Mild, Fade to DarkFollow me for your next comfort read!
    more
  • Penny Reid
    January 1, 1970
    This book releases officially TOMORROW!!!! If you haven't read it yet, feel free to read along with me.
  • Malene
    January 1, 1970
    I’ve never been to Ireland but after finishing What The Wind Knows it feels like I had. I’m a novice when it comes to historical romance but this book was calling out to me. I’m so glad I read WTWK. It has a perfect blend of history and fantasy thanks to the cleverly and brilliantly writing from Amy Harmon. Her prose is flawless. Absolutely effortless and intoxicating in her description of the beautiful country Ireland and her development of the storyline and its incredible characters.I was comp I’ve never been to Ireland but after finishing What The Wind Knows it feels like I had. I’m a novice when it comes to historical romance but this book was calling out to me. I’m so glad I read WTWK. It has a perfect blend of history and fantasy thanks to the cleverly and brilliantly writing from Amy Harmon. Her prose is flawless. Absolutely effortless and intoxicating in her description of the beautiful country Ireland and her development of the storyline and its incredible characters.I was completely immersed in this story. With Annie and her journey. Her story has so many layers and it was cleverly explored and depicted. I fell in love with her, Eoin and Thomas. The history of Ireland was fascinating and I felt like I was a part of Annie’s journey. It was intense emotions because of the the events that transpired in Ireland and then mixed with the beautiful love story of Annie, Eoin and Thomas. I was a mess numerous times. Tears down my cheeks. That’s a testament to Amy Harmon’s writing. She harness so much emotion with few little words. Magnificent.WTWK is truly magical. A must read. I hitched a ride back to 1916 and it was a fantastic ride. A marvelous adventure.5 Countess StarsARC provided by Netgalley
    more
  • Nikki
    January 1, 1970
    Five amazing stars!! “But the wind and water know all the earth’s secrets. They’ve seen and heard all that has ever been said or done.”This is an absolute fantastic piece of historical fiction. With unforgettable characters and beautiful writing, What the Wind Knows whisks the reader away to tumultuous 1920’s Ireland. Anne Gallagher, a writer, was raised by her Irish grandfather, Eoin. Anne and Eoin had an extremely tight, loving bond. When Eoin passes away, Anne is devastated. She travels to Ir Five amazing stars!! “But the wind and water know all the earth’s secrets. They’ve seen and heard all that has ever been said or done.”This is an absolute fantastic piece of historical fiction. With unforgettable characters and beautiful writing, What the Wind Knows whisks the reader away to tumultuous 1920’s Ireland. Anne Gallagher, a writer, was raised by her Irish grandfather, Eoin. Anne and Eoin had an extremely tight, loving bond. When Eoin passes away, Anne is devastated. She travels to Ireland taking Eoin’s ashes to spread in his homeland. Through the years, Anne had longed to take a trip to Ireland with Eoin, but he always refused. Upon her arrival, Anne tries to piece together pieces of her family history. And as a grieving Anne releases Eoin’s ashes, she suddenly finds herself leaving 2001… and landing in 1921. Anne must quickly adapt to a world that existed eighty years ago. She is mistaken for another woman that had been missing and presumed dead. Anne works hard to blend in and be the woman folks believe she is, relying heavily on the help of a man named Thomas Smith. And if that is not stressful enough, Ireland is fighting for independence. Anne is caught in a dangerous and tension-filled world, made more stressful by her knowledge of Ireland’s history and the outcome of Ireland and many of her people.Harmon’s novel is written in a lovely pattern, with the rotation of Anne’s narrative, diary entries from Thomas, and poems by Irish poet, W.B. Yeats. These three pieces weave through the story beautifully, each adding an important and meaningful part to the tale. In addition, the blend of history/romance/fantasy are spot on. The historical piece of this novel is written extremely well, and I immediately wanted to learn more about several of the prominent figures and places within the book. I have always been fascinated with Ireland, but, admittedly, know very little of her history. This novel has fueled my interest. The romance piece—oh, the romance piece. I like to convince myself that I’m not much of a romantic, but damned if I wasn’t pining and yearning and hurting right alongside these characters. Harmon has written characters so full of heart and passion—for one another, for their country, for their families… I found it impossible not to care for them and root for them and get swept away by the heartbreak and longing within the story. The fantastical piece—Yes, it is fantastical. But that is OK. It completely works in this novel. Anne’s adventure back in time is thrilling and frightening, all in one. It made this story even better, adding a level of intrigue and excitement that may have been lost had it been written in any other context. As Anne states, “I’d often wondered, absorbed in piles of research, if the magic of history would be lost if we could go back and live it.” It made me want to join her—to live in 1921.. at least for a little bit. :)I highly recommend this book. It is one that I would go back and read again. This was my first book by Amy Harmon, and I absolutely cannot wait to read more of her novels! **Many thanks to Goodreads Giveaways for a Kindle copy of this novel**
    more
Write a review