What the Wind Knows
In an unforgettable love story, a woman’s impossible journey through the ages could change everything…Anne Gallagher grew up enchanted by her grandfather’s stories of Ireland. Heartbroken at his death, she travels to his childhood home to spread his ashes. There, overcome with memories of the man she adored and consumed by a history she never knew, she is pulled into another time.The Ireland of 1921, teetering on the edge of war, is a dangerous place in which to awaken. But there Anne finds herself, hurt, disoriented, and under the care of Dr. Thomas Smith, guardian to a young boy who is oddly familiar. Mistaken for the boy’s long-missing mother, Anne adopts her identity, convinced the woman’s disappearance is connected to her own.As tensions rise, Thomas joins the struggle for Ireland’s independence and Anne is drawn into the conflict beside him. Caught between history and her heart, she must decide whether she’s willing to let go of the life she knew for a love she never thought she’d find. But in the end, is the choice actually hers to make?

What the Wind Knows Details

TitleWhat the Wind Knows
Author
ReleaseMar 1st, 2019
PublisherLake Union Publishing
Rating
GenreHistorical, Historical Fiction, Science Fiction, Time Travel, Romance, Historical Romance

What the Wind Knows Review

  • Christy
    January 1, 1970
    5+ stars! This book was something special. Quite frankly, it’s the first book in a while that blew me away. The storytelling is magical and it’s such a heart-wrenching, yet beautiful tale. I am such a fan of time traveling in books, especially when it’s done well, and this was done so well. It’s a historical romance and I can tell Amy did her research. This book was well thought out, smart, enthralling, and fascinating. I loved it so much! "Yes. I told you. You told me. And you will tell me ag 5+ stars! This book was something special. Quite frankly, it’s the first book in a while that blew me away. The storytelling is magical and it’s such a heart-wrenching, yet beautiful tale. I am such a fan of time traveling in books, especially when it’s done well, and this was done so well. It’s a historical romance and I can tell Amy did her research. This book was well thought out, smart, enthralling, and fascinating. I loved it so much! "Yes. I told you. You told me. And you will tell me again. Only the wind knows which truly comes first.” 
This story starts with Anne Gallagher at her dying grandfather’s side. Her heart is broken. Eoin isn’t just Anne’s grandfather. He’s her confidant, her best friend, and he raised her. After Eoin passes, he wishes for Anne to take him back to the one place they’ve never traveled. Back to his hometown in Ireland. Anne is grieving, but also excited to be here. She feels closer to Eoin than ever. As she goes to spread his ashes as she promised, something strange happens… 

Anne finds herself not in the current twenty-first century, but in the 1920’s. She finds herself back at the same place Eoin grew up, only Thomas Smith, the doctor that helped raise Eoin is there, and Anne is mistaken from her great grandmother, who she is a dead-ringer for. Anne can’t explain herself, her great-grandmother had been ‘missing’ for some time and it’s a very complicated situation. As more time passes, Anne becomes used to living in this other time period. The more time she spends with Thomas, the more she never wants to leave. Sigh. Thomas. This man was gentle, kind, generous, and the best kind of hero. I didn’t know how a happy ending between these two could come to fruition but I hoped with all my heart they got the happiness they both deserved. “Thomas?” I moaned into his mouth. “Yes?” he murmured, his body thrumming beneath my hands. “I want to stay,” I panted. “Anne,” he demanded, swallowing my sighs and caressing my cares away. “Yes?” “Please don’t go.” I don’t want to talk much more about the past, present, or logistics. It’s better to read that for yourself and see. I will say that the way the author wrote it made sense in the best way it could. Everything is connected, everything that happened happened for a reason and at the right time. It may not seem that way, but it did. It was completely seamless. This book was a stunning romance, but it was also historical in a way that kept my interest and I honestly felt like I really learned a lot about this time in Irish history from this book. I loved that. I actually looked up some of the characters that were based on real people and read up on them, I was that interested. I am not the biggest history buff, but the way Amy wrote this book had me so curious. What the Wind Knows is truly a gem of a book. I have no doubts at all that it will be on my top favorite list of 2019. It shows that love is timeless. It will give you all the feels and truly make your heart want to explode with happiness. This story is beautiful, magical and it’s not just something you read, it’s something you experience. A definite must read!
    more
  • Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤
    January 1, 1970
    <3 5 STARS <3Such a beautiful story, What The Wind Knows will always have a special place in my heart!Her book took me on an imaginary journey I didn't want to end!It's a fantastic,unique, captivating and intense story.Do you know why I love Amy Harmon's books? Because they are pure perfection!Always, with original stories.This story is full of emotions, my heart was beating hard and I was anxious to see what will happen.I loved the characters so much, and especially the bond they have.The <3 5 STARS <3Such a beautiful story, What The Wind Knows will always have a special place in my heart!Her book took me on an imaginary journey I didn't want to end!It's a fantastic,unique, captivating and intense story.Do you know why I love Amy Harmon's books? Because they are pure perfection!Always, with original stories.This story is full of emotions, my heart was beating hard and I was anxious to see what will happen.I loved the characters so much, and especially the bond they have.There are some really intense and emotional moments between them! This a must read, an unforgettable story that will stay with you forever!Prepare your heart for an emotional and touching story.    
    more
  • Amy Harmon
    January 1, 1970
    When you fall in love in the past, is there such a thing as tomorrow? What the Wind Knows, a historical romance set in Ireland’s 1920’s, will be released in hardcover on February 1, 2019, and in paperback, ebook and audiobook on March 1, 2019.Pre-order available on:KINDLE | HARDCOVER | PAPERBACK | AUDIO and in MP3 Anne – 1921She is the same, but not the same at all "You must read the book, Annie. Promise me you’ll read the book. He loves you so much, and he’s been waiting so long." I pau When you fall in love in the past, is there such a thing as tomorrow? What the Wind Knows, a historical romance set in Ireland’s 1920’s, will be released in hardcover on February 1, 2019, and in paperback, ebook and audiobook on March 1, 2019.Pre-order available on:KINDLE | HARDCOVER | PAPERBACK | AUDIO and in MP3 Anne – 1921She is the same, but not the same at all "You must read the book, Annie. Promise me you’ll read the book. He loves you so much, and he’s been waiting so long." I paused over a picture of a grand house with trees clustered around the edges and a glimmer of lake in the distance. “What is this place?” I asked, breathless. “That is Garvagh Glebe.” ”Someday your great-great-grandchildren will come to Ireland. They will walk up the hill where you are laid to rest, and they will sit by the stone that bears your name. They will know that this was your home, and because it is your home, it is theirs as well.That is what Ireland does.It calls her children home." Thomas Smith was the kind of man who would slip into and out of a room without drawing much attention. He wasn’t loud or obtrusive even as he moved and acted with an innate confidence. He was simply Thomas Smith, as ordinary as his name, and yet . . . not ordinary at all. Read the story behind the story.Pre-order available on:KINDLE | HARDCOVER | PAPERBACK | AUDIO and in MP3Copyright © Amy Harmon WEBSITE | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | AMAZON | BOOKBUB | NEWSLETTER
    more
  • Patty Belongs To Kellan~Jesse~Lautner~Miller~Jack~Racer~Rafe~Liam~Prince Nicholas~Hayes~Simon~Gianluca & Archer
    January 1, 1970
    *****FIVE STARS*****{ARC Generously Provided by Author} ”Don’t go near the water, love. Stay away from strand or sea. You cannot walk on water, love; The lough will take you far from me.” I was a little nervous about reading this book. I’m not a fan of ”Historical Romances”, and history puts me to sleep, literally! The majority of the plot of ”WHAT THE WIND KNOWS” is deeply entrenched in history, and I am not going to lie, I struggled to get through most of the book, BUT, Amy Harmon is a truly g *****FIVE STARS*****{ARC Generously Provided by Author} ”Don’t go near the water, love. Stay away from strand or sea. You cannot walk on water, love; The lough will take you far from me.” I was a little nervous about reading this book. I’m not a fan of ”Historical Romances”, and history puts me to sleep, literally! The majority of the plot of ”WHAT THE WIND KNOWS” is deeply entrenched in history, and I am not going to lie, I struggled to get through most of the book, BUT, Amy Harmon is a truly gifted author, and I decided to see this through to the end. I am so glad that I did, because within the pages of this book is a beautiful love story that is fantastical and transcends space & time!Anne Gallagher is a famous author from New York in the year 2001. When her beloved grandfather dies, she journeys to his homeland of Ireland to spread his ashes on the Lough in the town he was born. This was his last request before he passed away. Anne was so overcome by her grief because all she had was her grandfather. He raised her since she was six when her parents died. Anne rents a little boat and rows out to the middle of the Lough to release Eoin’s ashes and somehow a white fog appears. She’s disoriented, frightened, and somehow ends up getting shot and nearly drowns, until she is pulled out to safety. When she comes to, she sees the face of a man who looks familiar but can’t place where she has seen him before. She’s in and out of consciousness due to the bullet wound but once she finally comes to, she learns somehow she has miraculously ended up in her grandfather’s childhood home, and the year is 1921. The man who saved her is Thomas Smith, a close friend to her great grandfather and great grandmother, and surrogate father to her grandfather, Eoin.The story is told through Anne’s POV, and through Thomas’s POV in his journal entries. The history of the Irish Civil War is accounted extensively throughout Thomas’s POV, and oh how I found it hard to stay awake. As the romance slowly starts to blossom between Thomas and Anne, the history was still a huge focal point but their love story was what grabbed a hold of my heart. How would these two be able to live their lives full of love and happy memories when they were from different time periods? Would the present take Anne away from the only true love she’s ever experienced? How will their story end?So much angst, and sorrow. I loved the bond between Anne and the child version of Eoin, her grandfather. The beautiful stories she wrote for him about his journeys to different places and times via his little red boat on the Lough were magical. I really ended up loving this story.Here are my overall ratings:Hero: 5Heroine: 5Plot: 5Angst: 5Steam: 3Chemistry Between Hero & Heroine: 5WHAT THE WIND KNOWS releases on March 1st. I’m sure Amy Harmon fans are going to fall in love with Thomas and Anne’s story!Amazon: https://amzn.to/2TgKPD9
    more
  • Jennifer Kyle
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 -5 Stars Amy Harmon delivers a very well researched/magical story doused in Irish history and a loop of souls that forever connect. You must read her ‘Author’s Note’ as she cleverly shows a correlation between her own family’s history mixed together with famous patriots of Ireland. If you are a history buff, or a fan of fantastical love stories, or simply an Amy Harmon fan, then I think you will be as pleased as I was with Anne Gallagher’s story! "I told you. You told me. Only the wind kno 4.5 -5 Stars Amy Harmon delivers a very well researched/magical story doused in Irish history and a loop of souls that forever connect. You must read her ‘Author’s Note’ as she cleverly shows a correlation between her own family’s history mixed together with famous patriots of Ireland. If you are a history buff, or a fan of fantastical love stories, or simply an Amy Harmon fan, then I think you will be as pleased as I was with Anne Gallagher’s story! "I told you. You told me. Only the wind knows which truly comes first." *ARC provided in exchange for an honest review*
    more
  • Melissa ♥ Dog/Wolf Lover ♥ Martin
    January 1, 1970
    Omg! I saw Amy Harmon had a Kindle First book available and I hit that button so fast!! Yay!! Mel 🖤🐶🐺🐾
  • Sophie
    January 1, 1970
    5 “Outlander” stars “Don’t forget to read the book. He loved you. He loved you so much. He’s been waiting, Annie.”  Here I am once again in a tight spot trying to write that review. As for each Amy Harmon’s books, the task is daunting. There is so much to tell yet I don’t own a tenth of her talent.Maybe let’s begin with the more important: I read it in one sitting and it is a long book (120.000 words). I left my body’s imprint on the couch by the end of the day.But that’s how enraptured I 5 “Outlander” stars “Don’t forget to read the book. He loved you. He loved you so much. He’s been waiting, Annie.”  Here I am once again in a tight spot trying to write that review. As for each Amy Harmon’s books, the task is daunting. There is so much to tell yet I don’t own a tenth of her talent.Maybe let’s begin with the more important: I read it in one sitting and it is a long book (120.000 words). I left my body’s imprint on the couch by the end of the day.But that’s how enraptured I was. Amy is not on the top of my top 3 authors for years now without a reason: her words are magic! She really weaves a tale intertwining past and present Ireland, mixing historical facts with ordinary people’s lives, rational with a dash of fantasy. And it works so well that I was not in my living room on my couch anymore. I could tweak her quote and apply it to reading instead of writing: “It was like that for me sometimes. I would become so immersed in reading that the scenes and characters I created came alive in my head, fleshed out and independently animated, visiting me as I slept.” I was at Garvagh Glebe. I found myself catapulted by some magical twist of fate (we are in Ireland, land of faeries) in 1921. Looking so much like another woman it was uncanny. I was supposed to live her life, trembling someone would discover that I was an impostor as I didn’t know how to lace a corset or how to call some pieces of garments.No one would believe that I was coming from the future when I did not know how I landed more than 80 years ago.Does it feel like Outlander here? Well yes that’s what I experienced too 😊.Anne is our female MC and is a renowned author. I loved how Amy must have drawn from her own writing experience to build her character.Ann has been orphaned since she was an infant and has been raised in Brooklyn by her grand-father Eoin. She’s traveled the world with him but they never went to Ireland, his country. It was never time yet.Now that he is gone, she promised to spread his ashes in Ireland on his beloved lough. Soon enough a white mist is surrounding her on the lake and she’ll be shot and left to drown only to be saved by Thomas Smith, local doctor and linked to her ancestors. Thomas has been part of the rebellion trying to free Ireland from England’s clutches.That part of history has always fascinated Anne as she planned on writing a book on these historical period. She’s been researching for months and now she is thrown in the middle of all these famous events, meeting people who made Ireland’s history. Reading about Ireland tumultuous past was enlightening. I may live in Europe and have some notions taught in school about Ireland’s fight to get free from England’s dominion I never had such detailed information. I lived the same experience while reading From Sand and Ash about the part played by the church in Italy in protecting countless Jews during WWII. “Every day it’s another terrible story, another unforgiveable event. The whole country is under immense strain, yet there is an odd hopefulness mixed with the fear. It’s as if all of Ireland is coming awake and our eyes are fixed on the same horizon.” Amy uses a similar “technique” as Ken Follett when he is writing his historical books: giving us solid historical facts, insisting on key events in the grand scheme of history while making it fascinating and human as we are following individuals living these events. This is not a non-fiction retelling of major events. This is a very human tale of people living in that century and experiencing first hand all the fights and inner struggles of Irish people.I think every history teacher should teach history using the same trick! I bet many more students would become history geeks if they could read books like Amy’s or Ken Follet! “Don’t let the history distract you from the people who lived it.”  What I admire most about Amy is that she does not go for flawless, utterly gorgeous with steel abs heroes. No. She chooses men and women looking like your friend or neighbor. But what makes them shine above all else are their inner qualities, their moral compass, their generosity, their dedication, their doubts and their sufferings.Thomas Smith is not bad looking but Amy’s depicting him with sharp knees. He is lean but has no bulging muscles. He is not the one captivating his audience and wanting to shine under the spotlight. Yet he is more than a worthy hero. Answering every call as a local doctor day or night, patrolling to protect his people and his rebel friends yet making time to draw for his ward when any man would go to sleep. “Thomas Smith was the kind of man who could quietly slip into and out of a room without drawing much attention. He was handsome if one stopped to contemplate each feature(…) Yet he had a slight stoop to his shoulders and an air of melancholia that had folks respecting his space and his solitude, even as they sought him out. (…) He wasn’t tall. He wasn’t short. He wasn’t a big man. He wasn’t a small man. He wasn’t loud or obtrusive even as he moved and acted with an innate confidence. He was simply Thomas Smith, as ordinary as his name, and yet . . . not ordinary at all. I could have written stories about him. He would be the character that grew on the reader, making them love him simply because he was good. Decent. Dependable.” He is calm, kind and generous, offering shelter to poor families dying from hunger in rural Ireland. His many small acts of kindness won my heart all over. Thomas also has a fervor for what he believes in. And he believes in a free Ireland. But the price to pay is high and we follow Thomas doubts and inner reflection. Is really all fair in war? “It is one thing to fight for freedom; it is another to condemn the innocent to die in your war.”  This patient, generous and solid man will steal Anne’s heart.Anne is also someone you will like easily. She is kind but strong. Smart and compassionate. Brave even if she is afraid.Their relationship reminded me of Eva and Bianco’s “From Sand and Ash”. I loved how Amy built their relationship, slowly, steadily. Something we could believe in. Something meant to last for all eternity. If I loved the historical context, the characters, the plot and the pace who was just right I can’t overlook Amy’s writing.I wrote in my first review that Amy has a grace when writing a story. It flows effortlessly, beautifully and I dare say poetically. I always end up with so many quotes that choosing to feature some in my review is a nearly impossible task! Last parting words because this review is long (yes, I know) I really loved how Amy made us see that there rarely are true villains. Because even the villains in this story were firm believers that they were doing what was best for Irish people. And yes everything is a question of perspective. We have so often history lessons in black or white, where the line is drawn. Yet the truth is often to be found in the shades of grey. “I’d been wrong about one thing. These were not average men and women. Time had not given them a gloss they had not earned. Even those I wanted to loathe, based on my own research and conclusions, conducted themselves with fervor and honest conviction. These weren’t posing politicians. They were patriots whose blood and sacrifice deserved history’s pardon and Ireland’s compassion.”  I am stopping here as I could go on and on about that book. But …just read it!  Have you read Amy's books before? Are you a fan like I am? Thanks for reading! Sophie Find me on:Wordpress: Beware Of The ReaderFacebook: Beware Of The Reader Facebook group : Beware Book Boyfriends Alert Instagram: @bewareofthereader Twitter: @BewareOffReader
    more
  • Emma Scott
    January 1, 1970
    Wow. I'm sort of slack-jawed right now. I was drawn to the cover first--it has to be one of the most beautiful I've ever seen--and then a snippet drew me in deeper. Something about it resonated, and while fiction hasn't been so good for me lately, I had a feeling about this one and I was right. I know that doesn't tell you anything helpful about the book, except maybe to know that it is not a novel that lets go of you easily. Historical, fantastical, romantic, and brilliant. I can't imagine the Wow. I'm sort of slack-jawed right now. I was drawn to the cover first--it has to be one of the most beautiful I've ever seen--and then a snippet drew me in deeper. Something about it resonated, and while fiction hasn't been so good for me lately, I had a feeling about this one and I was right. I know that doesn't tell you anything helpful about the book, except maybe to know that it is not a novel that lets go of you easily. Historical, fantastical, romantic, and brilliant. I can't imagine the research that went into this novel, except that I felt the Ireland of 1921 alive on the pages. This book is nothing less than a towering achievement.
    more
  • Ashley
    January 1, 1970
    Reviewed on: Ashes Books & Bobs.What a delight, to begin the year with one of my most anticipated reads of 2019, by one of my favorite authors of all. Every Amy Harmon book leaves me in awe - completely astonished by the gifts she was endowed with, the feelings she's able to put into language my brain does not possess. Amy Harmon holds more talent in her little finger than most of us could wish to acquire in a lifetime. That's why anything I say about her or her books will be an injustice to Reviewed on: Ashes Books & Bobs.What a delight, to begin the year with one of my most anticipated reads of 2019, by one of my favorite authors of all. Every Amy Harmon book leaves me in awe - completely astonished by the gifts she was endowed with, the feelings she's able to put into language my brain does not possess. Amy Harmon holds more talent in her little finger than most of us could wish to acquire in a lifetime. That's why anything I say about her or her books will be an injustice to the greatness she is able to craft in her stories.What the Wind Knows started off slow for me. It took some time for me to grasp the numerous characters and the history taking place. Granted, I'm not familiar with Irish history, making everything in these pages new to me. I also wasn't in the correct frame of mind for reading when I started this novel - life hit my family hard in the new year and it's taken time to adjust. Finally, I was determined to let the characters sweep me away to 1920s Ireland and leave my present world completely behind. I was not disappointed in the least and I cannot say how grateful I am that I was able to escape my own reality for a few hours. The attention to detail in this book made this story come alive in a way I've rarely experienced while reading. I could feel the discomfort of the clothing, the confusion of being in a new place and time, and see the world as if I was reading in 3D."But the wind and water know all the earth's secrets. They've seen and heard all that has ever been said or done. And if you listen, they will tell you all the stories and sing every song."Time-travel is a subject that has always fascinated me from a young age. My imagination is often absorbed by history. I will find myself standing in a place and wonder about the feet that have stood where mine are planted. What the Wind Knows takes this idea and expands upon in it, layer upon beautiful layer. Time is not linear in this story, but annular, leaving readers with a picture of just how connected all of our stories are, if only were are open to listening."I loved churches the way I loved cemeteries and books. All three were markers of humanity, of time, of life."I highlighted line after line within these pages, again completely awe-struck as I read feelings and thoughts I have experienced, but have never been able to put into words as eloquently as Amy Harmon. The connections to ghosts of the past are sure to leave each reader full of wonder. Once you come up for air, you may not be sure which time period you're living in, only to realize it truly doesn't matter. What the Wind Knows grants a shift in perspective, allowing readers to realize what is important has always been important. Love is love, no matter which year we live in. Only our relationships, our legacies of love, and the stories of our passions will be the things that matter in the end. I don't know where to begin in describing my admiration for the characters. Being along for the ride through Anne's perspective was everything I needed, while still getting to experience life through Thomas's eyes in his journal entries. As Anne fell for Thomas, I did too. He was timeless - simple, yet strong, and completely human. His care for Anne shows the type of love every woman should aspire to find. The dedication and loyalty the characters showed to one another was inspiring and beautifully written. Despite my love for the main three characters, the standout in my mind was Maeve. If she was in the story at the moment I was reading, you can be sure there were tears flowing the majority of the time. She gave the story a nostalgic feel I reveled in.Thank you, Amy Harmon, for the chance to read an ARC and for kicking my reading year off with a bang. My words are inadequate, but I hope they will encourage readers to pick this book up and stick with the story throughout. The ending made my heart swell and my eyes swim with tears - just try to read this one without shedding a tear or two. This beauty will hit your Kindles on March 1, or if you are impatient, pick up a hardcover on February 1st. You will not be disappointed.
    more
  • Betul
    January 1, 1970
    **ARC provided by author in exchange for an honest review**"There are some paths that inevitably lead to heartache, some acts that steal men's souls, leaving them wandering forever after without them, trying to find what they lost."It is official, Amy Harmon is now one of my all time favorite authors. I am completely in awe and amazed with her magical writing and storytelling abilities. I love all her books and her contemporary and fantasy romance novels are amazing, but I find myself more drawn **ARC provided by author in exchange for an honest review**"There are some paths that inevitably lead to heartache, some acts that steal men's souls, leaving them wandering forever after without them, trying to find what they lost."It is official, Amy Harmon is now one of my all time favorite authors. I am completely in awe and amazed with her magical writing and storytelling abilities. I love all her books and her contemporary and fantasy romance novels are amazing, but I find myself more drawn to her historical novels. It's probably because I am obsessed with history. What the Wind Knows focuses on the beautiful and heartbreaking history of Ireland. Amy has made me fall in love with this country and its people. This book was perfection from start until finish, it was so unique and original. I felt every sentence deep in my heart, and I couldn't get enough."I fell so fast, so hard, and so completely. Not because love is blind, but because...it's not. Love isn't blind, it's blinding."You'll probably have noticed that the main character time travels into the past, and I am kind of indifferent to that trope, but it was done very well by the author. The story had a great pacing and flow, and the author had really done her research. The character were amazing, and really brought the story to life. It was suspenseful, emotional, heartbreaking, romantic, hopeful and inspiring. I was on the edge of my seat and in tears half of the time. The story is so much more than just a Romance novel. Anne was such an incredible character and my heart wept for her and all the other characters. I know that my review is pretty vague in regards to the plot, but you don't need to know more than what you read in the synopsis. I recommend this book to everyone!"It is as if we always were and always will be, as though our love and our lives sprang from the same source and will return to that source in the end, intertwined and indistinguishable. We are ancient. Prehistoric and predestined."
    more
  • Christie«SHBBblogger»
    January 1, 1970
    Title: What the Wind KnowsSeries: StandaloneAuthor: Amy HarmonRelease date: February 1, 2019Cliffhanger: NoGenre: historical fiction, time travel, historical romanceAnne Gallagher has longed to visit Ireland with her grandfather, Eoin for her entire life, but for some inexplicable reason he always refused to take the trip with her. After the loss of her parents, he stepped in and raised her from an early age. The relationship that they shared was a close one, but upon his death she learned that Title: What the Wind KnowsSeries: StandaloneAuthor: Amy HarmonRelease date: February 1, 2019Cliffhanger: NoGenre: historical fiction, time travel, historical romanceAnne Gallagher has longed to visit Ireland with her grandfather, Eoin for her entire life, but for some inexplicable reason he always refused to take the trip with her. After the loss of her parents, he stepped in and raised her from an early age. The relationship that they shared was a close one, but upon his death she learned that there were chunks of his life that he never fully revealed to her. Wishing to give his ashes a final resting place, she decides to go to County Leitrim where he was born and raised. There she will find echoes of history that have been long forgotten. There, she will meet Dr. Thomas Smith and start re-writing her past. Where nothing seemed certain, and her path was mysteriously preordained.“Tragedy makes for great stories, but I’d much rather your story—the one you live, not the ones you write—be filled with joy. Don’t revel in tragedy, Annie. Rejoice in love. And once you find it, don’t let it go. In the end, it is the one thing you won’t regret.”This book was in one word, perfection. The exquisite romance inside these pages pulsed with its own heartbeat. Thomas and Anne had a destined soulmates connection between them that's undeniable almost from the start. The feelings they have for each other pierced right through me down to my core. Every breath, sigh, tear, and tender touch was shared and experienced in a way that I know I will want to revisit many times to come. Amy Harmon has penned a love letter about her ancestors' homeland and the infinite bond of family through the ages. The outer layer is a powerful exploration into the conflict and unrest of early 20th century Ireland. The aftermath of the Easter Rising of 1916, the impact of Michael Collins' guerrilla warfare, and the civil unrest over the Anglo Irish treaty of 1921 are a few of the things explored in What the Wind Knows. Using a mix of fictional characters and real historical figures, the reader is given a gripping glimpse of what it would have been like living in such severe times. The history has been painstakingly researched and voiced in such detail, you're swept into the story effortlessly- returning back to reality is the hard part. What you try to take away from a man, he will want all the more. What you tell him he can’t have, he’ll set his heart on. The only rebellion we have is our identity.The core of the story is Anne Gallagher. A woman who is unexpectedly given a chance to understand where she came from, and where she was meant to be. Anne has found professional success and acclaim as an author, but her career has dominated her life for far too long. She's never been the type to put human connections or romantic entanglements above the job she loves. But suddenly this strong and steady man in front of her is showing her the importance of family. Her eyes are opened to the impact of love, and how fragile the essential things in life really are. Then we have beautiful, soulful Thomas. He was one of the most amazing characters I've ever had the pleasure of reading about. His deep and abiding love for Anne is so poignant in his journal entries, so utterly passionate. The love and care he gave his friends, his family, and his country was boundless. When he was hurting, it just about breaks your heart into a million little pieces right along with his. And you wish there was a way to shelter him and cushion his fall as he selflessly does for so many others.Love isn’t blind, it’s blinding. Glaring. I looked at you, and from the very first day, I knew you.What the Wind Knows was a captivating, fast-paced book that ended entirely too soon for this greedy reader. If I could have, I would have picked it up immediately after finishing and turned back to page one. Even now, more than a week after finishing, I get a little teary eyed just thinking about this extraordinary, fantastical love story. I really think historical fiction is a genre that this author shines in, and I hope she writes a lot more of them in the future! Don't wait. Don't hesitate. You need to one-click this book and read it for yourself on release day. It's an experience that will stay with you a long time to come. FOLLOW SMOKIN HOT BOOK BLOG ON:
    more
  • Corina☞BookTwinsReviews
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 starsWhat the Wind Knows, a beautifully crafted historical romance, was full of details of Ireland during the 1920s. The novel was well researched from clothing to the political unrest that had Ireland in its grip, and it all added to the authenticity of the novel.If you love Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series you'll love this book.Without a doubt it had everything a time traveling historical romance should have. Full of historical and emotional turmoil and thanks to the fantastic research by 3.5 starsWhat the Wind Knows, a beautifully crafted historical romance, was full of details of Ireland during the 1920s. The novel was well researched from clothing to the political unrest that had Ireland in its grip, and it all added to the authenticity of the novel.If you love Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series you'll love this book.Without a doubt it had everything a time traveling historical romance should have. Full of historical and emotional turmoil and thanks to the fantastic research by the author, it felt as close to authentic as possible.The book was mostly written from Anne's POV. Entries from Thomas's diary throughout the book gave a glimpse into his POV. But I would have loved even more insight into his feelings, doubts and overall thought process.  Especially in regards to the sudden appearance of Anne. The novel never satisfyingly explained Anne's meek behavior towards being stranded in a different time period. It also frustrated me that Anne's 21st century knowledge rarely added to the overall story. Even though she privately studied that period of time, her political knowledge made no real difference, Ireland's course was set and history didn't rewrite itself just because of Anne.Because the historical aspect of Ireland played such a BIG part in this story, Anne and Thomas's love story almost became a side note. Although I would have loved more romance the ending was satisfying (HEA), but I would have preferred more of the story to be between Anne and Thomas.And even though this novel didn't work for me as much as I hoped it would, it will be an amazing book for anyone that loves history, loves to learn about Ireland and its history, and for all who enjoy a well crafted and beautifully written historical time traveling romance.✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ ✦ ✷ ✫ ✷ ✦ ✧ ✵ ✧ ✵ If you want to chat with me about books, find me on Instagram For more of my reviews:My Blog: Book Twins ReviewsFacebook Blog PageTwitterSubscribe to Blog
    more
  • Heather❀Book and a Blanket❀
    January 1, 1970
    5+++ Stars!!!!!This book has ruined me for all other books! I'm still trying to wrap my head around what happened and my poor heart! How can it ache SO GOOD and SO BAD?! This was a beautiful story of love, loss, family and patriotism with one of the most unique storylines and had me feeling EVERYTHING! The concept of time travel has always fascinated me but it is certainly a difficult topic to get perfectly right, whether in movies or books. Many times there are inconsistencies and plot holes. N 5+++ Stars!!!!!This book has ruined me for all other books! I'm still trying to wrap my head around what happened and my poor heart! How can it ache SO GOOD and SO BAD?! This was a beautiful story of love, loss, family and patriotism with one of the most unique storylines and had me feeling EVERYTHING! The concept of time travel has always fascinated me but it is certainly a difficult topic to get perfectly right, whether in movies or books. Many times there are inconsistencies and plot holes. Not in this book. Amy Harmon got it right. I mean she NAILED it! I honestly had no idea how perfect it was until the very end. The author carries us on a spectacular time travel journey filled with love and loss. It was like a puzzle that you were trying to solve piece by piece and the anticipation of seeing the whole picture will have you thoroughly enthralled.This book is very rich in history and our heroine Anne gets pulled back to Ireland in 1921 at the cusp of the Irish Civil War. First of all let me just say I am not a history buff. Before reading this book I certainly had no interest in what Ireland went through to gain her Independence. However, you cannot help but be fascinated with Amy's story telling. She weaves the tale of these heroic men and women who fought for Ireland's liberation from Great Britain and I could feel their pride and I wept for what it cost them to achieve their independence. As Anne learns firsthand about the country of her ancestors and lives the events that she only read about in "her time", you can't help but be caught up in the fascination of it all. The details in this book are phenomenal and you cannot help but respect the level of research that must have gone into the writing of this novel. The love Ann and Thomas discover in each other takes them both by surprise. Ann finds herself in love with a man in the past and is at war with what decisions to make. Their love was gradual but intense and passionate. Thomas was such a great man. He was a kind and generous soul but also smart and brave. He risked his life for his family and his country. He loved Anne with such fervor and their path was so gut wrenching but so beautiful! Their love story was simply epic!There were so many amazing characters in this book that each played their role in what unfolded in this story. Everything about this book was beautifully complex. It makes you realize we are a part of something so much bigger than ourselves. Time became irrelevant. Love became important. I'll be thinking about this book for a long time to come. I know it's only January but I know this will be one of my favorite reads of 2019. Well done Amy Harmon!5+++ StarsHistorical RomancePOV: Heroine (Journal Entries by Hero)Heat Level: Very Mild, Fade to DarkFollow me for your next comfort read!
    more
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    Annie was raised in America by her Irish grandfather. He has been preparing her to embrace his home country her whole life. She has researched the details surrounding Ireland's complicated history, she's learned it's culture and ancestral language, and she can converse with a born and bred accent. Her grandfather has a particular vision for Annie's first step into Ireland and the timing never seems to be right. But when he dies, Annie must make the much anticipated trip alone as she honors his w Annie was raised in America by her Irish grandfather. He has been preparing her to embrace his home country her whole life. She has researched the details surrounding Ireland's complicated history, she's learned it's culture and ancestral language, and she can converse with a born and bred accent. Her grandfather has a particular vision for Annie's first step into Ireland and the timing never seems to be right. But when he dies, Annie must make the much anticipated trip alone as she honors his wishes to scatter his ashes in the middle of Lough Gill. One task. One lake with a haunted past. Little does Annie know just how consuming Ireland can be.What the Wind Knows is a multi-genre novel full of culture, history, family, and romance. Fiction meets nonfiction in a poetic and emotional story that is said by the author Amy Harmon to be very close to her heart. According to the author's note, Annie's character followed Harmon's own footsteps as she recently journeyed to Ireland to experience her ancestral birthplace. Many of the locations and people within this book are all part of Harmon's personal history. Someone once told me if I wanted to learn more about something, then teach it to someone else. That is what Harmon did. I finished this book completely stunned by the sheer amount of research that is carried within this tale of life, loss, loyalty and conflict. But beyond all, love. Love for country and love for each other. Absolutely timeless. Check it out.(view spoiler)[Note: Half star off for unappealing title (IMO) and a much too tidy ending. However, my positive reaction to this book overall caused me to ultimately ignore both. (hide spoiler)]Thank you to the following for permitting me access to an advance reader's copy (ARC) of What the Wind Knows. This generosity did not impact my honesty when rating/reviewing.Source: NetGalleyAuthor: Amy HarmonPublisher: Lake Union Publishing Genres: General Fiction (Adult), Women’s Fiction Pub Date: March 1, 2019
    more
  • Hollis
    January 1, 1970
    This is why I have a black sheep shelf, folks. This right here.I'm going to start off by saying if you love OUTLANDER, or any time-travel-y historical romance, you'll probably love this. Even if I, a fan of OUTLANDER, did not. WHAT THE WIND KNOWS is a slightly more modern slip through the sands of time, or rather less of a jump, and Harmon's take on the concept drops us into an Ireland on the brink of civil war as her countrymen fight for independence. But unlike the aforementioned novel that wi This is why I have a black sheep shelf, folks. This right here.I'm going to start off by saying if you love OUTLANDER, or any time-travel-y historical romance, you'll probably love this. Even if I, a fan of OUTLANDER, did not. WHAT THE WIND KNOWS is a slightly more modern slip through the sands of time, or rather less of a jump, and Harmon's take on the concept drops us into an Ireland on the brink of civil war as her countrymen fight for independence. But unlike the aforementioned novel that will no doubt be a comparison for every reader who picks this up, this story is both far more complex and simultaneously much simpler than the other epic.I think my main problem, though, was I was just bored. There is so much history and politics crammed into this standalone that I was skimming pretty early on. We flip between our heroine's POV, contemporary and then in the past, and that of our love interest who is writing journal entries of his observations and experiences. These chapters sometimes overlap and other times fill in gaps. It was a clever way to show Anne's impact and adjustment to her unexpected timeline, and the complications of her appearance, but it was never consistently a perspective that I enjoyed.While I can see from the author's note that this story was inspired by her own trip to Ireland and her own family history, it ultimately just reads too much like an homage. Anne is a writer in mostly-present day New York, with a strong connection to Ireland as a result of her grandfather, and just so happened to be writing a book set around the 1920s, so she goes to the past prepared with the goings on and all the relevant key players of the time. She even offers some hints and advice of what's to come. Kinda like Claire. Her birthday is October twentieth. Just like Claire (and me!). She ends up wearing two rings, for reasons, just like Claire. She acts as an extra set of hands and a pseudo nurse.. sorta like Claire. It was just a lot. That being said..It did diverge pretty strongly in the connections and family aspect of things. Of which I was very confused for a while and then ultimately just kinda (shrug emoji) whatevs about. And the romance.. well, there's definitely no comparison there. I felt like I was walking along, fine as can be, and then tripped and face-planted into it. It comes out of nowhere, with little foundation, though I did kind of love it through Thomas' writings. It was the only time I actually felt it. His utter astonishment of his feelings was just.. sweet and aweinspiring. Easily the highlight.I couldn't wait to finish this book. I just wanted it over with. It was a real struggle to stay engaged and while there were some lines and turns of phrase of pure loveliness, I just felt it was trying too hard to make me feel something that wasn't there. ** I received an ARC from NetGalley and the publisher (thank you!) in exchange for an honest review. **
    more
  • FMABookReviews
    January 1, 1970
    ❝Don't go near the water, love, the lough will take you far from me.❞ WHAT THE WIND KNOWS was the perfect mix of history, romance and fantasy. Every word was exquisitely placed, every character perfectly crafted. These characters and this story are truly special. ❝I fell so fast, so hard, and so completely. Not because love is blind, but because ... it's not. Love isn't blind, it's blinding. Glaring. I looked at you, and from the very first day, I knew you ...My love is so big and full and ❝Don't go near the water, love, the lough will take you far from me.❞ WHAT THE WIND KNOWS was the perfect mix of history, romance and fantasy. Every word was exquisitely placed, every character perfectly crafted. These characters and this story are truly special. ❝I fell so fast, so hard, and so completely. Not because love is blind, but because ... it's not. Love isn't blind, it's blinding. Glaring. I looked at you, and from the very first day, I knew you ...My love is so big and full and brimming that I can't breathe around it. It's terrifying to love so much, knowing how fragile our existence really is. You're going to have to hold on to me, or i'll burst ... or maybe I'll just float away. Up into the sky, out into the lough.❞ My heart ached as I read Anne and Thomas's story. I yearned for their happy ending. I cried for them and laughed with them. Anne and Thomas had a one of a kind, once in a lifetime love. Thomas was a man of honor, who lived by his morals and fought for what he believed. Because of his passion for life Anne wanted to do more than just live. She wanted to share in all of his experiences, and fight alongside him. It was her quiet strength that kept Thomas fighting for a better Ireland and for love.There was so much passion within its pages; not just passion between Anne and Thomas, but you could feel the passion of those fighting to make Ireland a better place.Feelings? I felt them all! I experienced every painful moment, every fear, and every awkward moment. I was bursting at the seams with happiness and broken down with sadness. I cried, swooned and cried some more. I. Felt. Everything. When I was nearing the end of the book, I didn't want to turn the page. I didn't want this beautiful story to end. I had rivers of tears falling from my eyes and a heart filled with happiness. WHAT THE WIND KNOWS was simply stunning!WHAT THE WIND KNOWS will no doubt be on my favorites list for 2019, but is also a top favorite from Amy Harmon! I was provided a review copy by the author. This did not influence my opinion of the book nor my review.
    more
  • Malene
    January 1, 1970
    I’ve never been to Ireland but after finishing What The Wind Knows it feels like I had. I’m a novice when it comes to historical romance but this book was calling out to me. I’m so glad I read WTWK. It has a perfect blend of history and fantasy thanks to the cleverly and brilliantly writing from Amy Harmon. Her prose is flawless. Absolutely effortless and intoxicating in her description of the beautiful country Ireland and her development of the storyline and its incredible characters.I was comp I’ve never been to Ireland but after finishing What The Wind Knows it feels like I had. I’m a novice when it comes to historical romance but this book was calling out to me. I’m so glad I read WTWK. It has a perfect blend of history and fantasy thanks to the cleverly and brilliantly writing from Amy Harmon. Her prose is flawless. Absolutely effortless and intoxicating in her description of the beautiful country Ireland and her development of the storyline and its incredible characters.I was completely immersed in this story. With Annie and her journey. Her story has so many layers and it was cleverly explored and depicted. I fell in love with her, Eoin and Thomas. The history of Ireland was fascinating and I felt like I was a part of Annie’s journey. It was intense emotions because of the the events that transpired in Ireland and then mixed with the beautiful love story of Annie, Eoin and Thomas. I was a mess numerous times. Tears down my cheeks. That’s a testament to Amy Harmon’s writing. She harness so much emotion with few little words. Magnificent.WTWK is truly magical. A must read. I hitched a ride back to 1916 and it was a fantastic ride. A marvelous adventure.5 Countess StarsARC provided by Netgalley
    more
  • Tracey Graves
    January 1, 1970
    Move over, Outlander. There's a new historical romance in town.
  • ♆Hayley
    January 1, 1970
    Oh. My. Fucking. God. I’ve barely recovered from the masterpiece From Sand and Ash. I NEED THIS😻😭
  • Pamela Sparkman
    January 1, 1970
    This book is available on Amazon's First Reads through the month of February. I loved this book with my whole heart and I want everyone to fall in love with this book. If I could stand on a mountain and shout it to the world...I would. Consider this my mountain. "Anne is asleep now, curled on her side, and I can only watch her, my heart so swollen in my chest that I'll suffocate if I don't stay upright. The light of the lamp touches her freely, boldly even, brushing her hair and tracing the dip This book is available on Amazon's First Reads through the month of February. I loved this book with my whole heart and I want everyone to fall in love with this book. If I could stand on a mountain and shout it to the world...I would. Consider this my mountain. "Anne is asleep now, curled on her side, and I can only watch her, my heart so swollen in my chest that I'll suffocate if I don't stay upright. The light of the lamp touches her freely, boldly even, brushing her hair and tracing the dip of her waist and the swell of her hip, and I am irrationally jealous of the caress." Amy Harmon has such an exquisite way with words that I am often taken aback by them. They bowl me over, and I have to pick myself up, dust myself off, and read them again, preparing myself the second time around to stay upright. But even the second time around her words hit me square in the chest, a deep ache swelling around my heart. I feel her words in my bones. And I can't be sorry for reading them because the ache is worth it -- What the Wind Knows, was most especially worth it. It's been a while since I read a book that touched me this deeply. Anne, Eoin, and Thomas--their love for each other was eternal - it was transcendent - it defied time and space - here and now - there and then. It simply just was and is and always will be. This book wasn't simply a book. It was breath and life. It was heart and soul. It was beauty and pain. Above all else, it was love. Love between Ireland and her people - between a grandfather and his granddaughter - between a mother and son - and between a man named Thomas Smith and a woman named Anne Gallagher. And boy, what a love story all these stories were. Each one touching the other so profoundly that everyone was moved and altered in some way by the other. No one was left untouched. Everyone was shaped and reshaped, defined and redefined by this love. And I ached with it. But more than aching, I too was shaped and reshaped, defined and redefined by the beauty of this story - this love. There is so much I want to say about Thomas - his journal entries - his thoughts - the way he loved was so big, so authentic, so genuine, that I could feel his soul through the pages. Even now, a day after closing the book, I can feel him, right here, in my heart. And isn't that how it should be? And not just Thomas, but Eoin and Anne, too. Even Michael Collins - I feel them like I knew them. And I don't want to let go. I have been and always will be an Amy Harmon fan. She has a talent that is rare and I am always going to want to read her stories. But I believe What the Wind Knows has moved to my top favorite from her because this one will stay with me for a long, long time. There is more I want to say, but I simply do not have the words, so I'll just tell you to read the book and experience it for yourself. "Yes. I told you. You told me. And you will tell me again. Only the wind knows which truly comes first."ARC provided by Netgalley/publisher for an honest review.
    more
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    4.5/ 5 starsInitial thoughts: I am not a big fan of historical books. But I love Amy Harmon and this cover is stunning!This book takes place in 2001 and 1921. Ireland is everything in this book! The author blends real life events with an incredible romance. What an original and compelling book!This book starts out in 2001. The narrator is thirty year old Annie (1st person POV - she is a famous author).Historical is not my thing. So I was actually happy that the book begins in the 2000s. The stor 4.5/ 5 starsInitial thoughts: I am not a big fan of historical books. But I love Amy Harmon and this cover is stunning!This book takes place in 2001 and 1921. Ireland is everything in this book! The author blends real life events with an incredible romance. What an original and compelling book!This book starts out in 2001. The narrator is thirty year old Annie (1st person POV - she is a famous author).Historical is not my thing. So I was actually happy that the book begins in the 2000s. The story begins when Anne's grandfather is dying. He wants her to go to Ireland.The chapters have Anne's POV. But at the end of each chapter we also have Thomas' journal/POV mostly from 1916 and the 1920s. Thomas was her grandfather's dad's best friend.The focus of this book is Ireland and I absolutely loved that about this story.But this book is about so much more than that. There is a fantastical aspect to the story, that took me a while to get used to. But I ended up loving this aspect of the story so much.There is also a political part of the story. This book had a fair amount of political history (Irish Civil War). So that part wasn't my favorite. But this book is so unique. And heavy and meaningful. And it seems like the author must have done so much research.I was mesmerized by Anne's story. And the romance was amazing. But I was so curious how the book would end. By the end I was teary. I can honestly say that I did not see the end coming at all.This is a love story unlike any other. The book features historical events mixed with a story of romance. This is definitely a must read.Thanks to netgalley and Lake Union Publishing for allowing me to read this book.
    more
  • ♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥
    January 1, 1970
    BEAUTIFUL.ROMANTICBREATHTAKINGOUT OF THIS WORLDFANTASTICALEPICThe story is so clever, so thought provoking, and intelligently layered. I’m not supposed to like time travel but I LOVED THIS STORY SO MUCH. Amy Harmon is super talented and breathes life into a theme that authors have to perfect for me to believe in. I am in awe of her craft and found myself totally immersed in her fantastical world. FULL REVIEW THOUGHTS TO COME about this gentle tale set in an Irish town with a blend of history and BEAUTIFUL.ROMANTICBREATHTAKINGOUT OF THIS WORLDFANTASTICALEPICThe story is so clever, so thought provoking, and intelligently layered. I’m not supposed to like time travel but I LOVED THIS STORY SO MUCH. Amy Harmon is super talented and breathes life into a theme that authors have to perfect for me to believe in. I am in awe of her craft and found myself totally immersed in her fantastical world. FULL REVIEW THOUGHTS TO COME about this gentle tale set in an Irish town with a blend of history and fiction that mirrors the blend of realism and 'make-believe'.... I was completely invested in the protagonists, my mind was blown by the story and I found myself unpicking the hows and whys, the connections, and contemplating the depth of the narrative and thinking about how the story would play out. This story and the characters within the pages provoked feelings and emotion that blossomed within my thoughts and my heart and totally crept up on my senses. #5stars++What the Wind Knows is available in Amazon First Reads for the month of February FRIENDS, YOU NEED THIS BOOK📚 https://amzn.to/2MH7eH1Uk link: https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07DHMNY7...Advance copy provided *
    more
  • Erin
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to NetGalley and Lake Union publishing for an e-Arc in exchange for an honest review. Such a beautiful story! I mean, who can resist a time travel novel? I really cannot and Amy Harmon weaves a beautiful tale of a 21st century woman who finds herself traveling back to 1920's Ireland. Just like main protagonist Anne, I was swept away into the political intrigues of a country that wished to get rid of its British oppressor. Not to mention that I certainly fell in love with Thomas and lit Thanks to NetGalley and Lake Union publishing for an e-Arc in exchange for an honest review. Such a beautiful story! I mean, who can resist a time travel novel? I really cannot and Amy Harmon weaves a beautiful tale of a 21st century woman who finds herself traveling back to 1920's Ireland. Just like main protagonist Anne, I was swept away into the political intrigues of a country that wished to get rid of its British oppressor. Not to mention that I certainly fell in love with Thomas and little Eamon. Published on Goodreads on 4/02/19 Publication date: 01/03/19
    more
  • Milena
    January 1, 1970
    This book is perfection! First 5 star read of 2019!Every book I read by Amy Harmon I loved, and What The Wind Knows is no exception. Amy's writing is so beautiful and her characters are so compelling, you can't help but fall in love with her stories. What the Wind Knows is a book about Anne who travels to Ireland to spread her beloved grandfather's ashes and finds herself transported 80 years back in time, when Ireland was fighting for independence. There she finds a home and a family that she n This book is perfection! First 5 star read of 2019!Every book I read by Amy Harmon I loved, and What The Wind Knows is no exception. Amy's writing is so beautiful and her characters are so compelling, you can't help but fall in love with her stories. What the Wind Knows is a book about Anne who travels to Ireland to spread her beloved grandfather's ashes and finds herself transported 80 years back in time, when Ireland was fighting for independence. There she finds a home and a family that she never had in her own time. But can she stay in a time period that is not her own? What the Wind Knows is for everyone who loves historical fiction, time travel books in the vein of Outlander, and impossible love stories. It will sweep you of your feet, tug at your heartstrings, and make you cry sad and happy tears. I highly recommend it!*ARC provided by the publisher and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Mlpmom (Book Reviewer)
    January 1, 1970
    Loved this! Full review to come closer to release date.
  • Karen Kay
    January 1, 1970
    I received this from netgalley.com in exchange for a review. Anne Gallagher is heartbroken after her grandfather dies. She travels to Ireland to spread his ashes in the lake and is transported back to 1921 where he is 6 yrs old. Good story and great characters - both fictional and real life historical figures. I love historical fiction sagas that wrap me into the story and teach me a little bit of the history.4.25 ☆
    more
  • Talon
    January 1, 1970
    "I told you. You told me. Only the wind knows which truly comes first."Mystery. History. Time travel. Romance. Heart ache. Want.Those are all of the words that come to my mind when I sit back and think of this beautiful story. When it comes to Amy Harmon though, many more words come to mind. Sunshine. Artistic. Talented. Soul-filled. Understanding. But should I really expect anything less? No. At this point, I should not. I know that and I know that you know that...Touching base on Amy and her w "I told you. You told me. Only the wind knows which truly comes first."Mystery. History. Time travel. Romance. Heart ache. Want.Those are all of the words that come to my mind when I sit back and think of this beautiful story. When it comes to Amy Harmon though, many more words come to mind. Sunshine. Artistic. Talented. Soul-filled. Understanding. But should I really expect anything less? No. At this point, I should not. I know that and I know that you know that...Touching base on Amy and her writing inside of What the Wind Knows first, it's enchanting. Whether she is writing historical romance or contemporary romance, I can feel her feelings that she evokes in her writing and to me as a reader, that is the type of thing I look for in a book. When I feel like I can connect to not only a story and the characters but also the author, I call it a huge win. What the Wind Knows was different though. I felt something different. I felt longing for two people that I haven't felt in quite some time. I felt a sense of comfort that these two people found within each other that hasn't been seen by me in months. "Thomas Smith, as ordinary as his name, and yet...not ordinary at all. I could have written stories about him."I think it will be so hard for me to put into words what I loved most about this book though. The characters were filled with multiple dimensions, the writing was stunning and flowing off the pages, and the heart ache was something that most authors can't pull off. But to put it lightly, I loved the way Amy painted the vivid imagery for us. From the clothes to the setting to the locations- I was hooked. I think I loved that the most. The fact that she was considerate enough to take the time and make sure we, as readers, felt so connected with the story we had to pry ourselves out of it once we finished. I fully believe that Amy Harmon has a gift that most authors do not hold. That makes her so special in this book world. The way she carefully writes the characters she writes makes me always feel so confident that even if one of her story lines don't necessarily hook me, her incredible writing and relate-able characters will.
    more
  • Brandie
    January 1, 1970
    Absolute perfection. These characters will stay with me for a long time.
  • Michelle
    January 1, 1970
    4 stars!Thank you to Lake Union Publishing and Netgalley for the opportunity to read this book in an exchange for an honest review!I had seen a lot of trusted book sources excited to read this so when I saw the opportunity to request it on Netgalley I jumped at the chance. Who doesn't love a good romance/historical fiction with a time traveling element to it? Yes, there are a lot of ways this is similar to Outlander, but by the end I was able to push those comparisons aside and enjoy the story f 4 stars!Thank you to Lake Union Publishing and Netgalley for the opportunity to read this book in an exchange for an honest review!I had seen a lot of trusted book sources excited to read this so when I saw the opportunity to request it on Netgalley I jumped at the chance. Who doesn't love a good romance/historical fiction with a time traveling element to it? Yes, there are a lot of ways this is similar to Outlander, but by the end I was able to push those comparisons aside and enjoy the story for what it was - a fabulous adventure with characters you won't forget!Anne Gallagher is a young novelist who was raised by her beloved grandfather, Eoin Gallagher. Growing up she was enchanted by the stories of his life in Ireland and begged him to take her there. Eoin had always refused to take her, but when he passes away, Anne fulfills his last wishes by taking his ashes back to Ireland. It is in completing this task that she is transported back in time and she finds herself adopting a role she was born to play.Reading this book was a true journey for me because I had a wide variety of opinions as I read it. I started out sort of disengaged, then grew frustrated with myself because I couldn't stop comparing it to Outlander, then started to feel captivated as the main character, Annie, began her adventure in 1921 Ireland. As the book wound down with only about 50 pages left, I went from a strong 3.5 stars to a solid 4 stars. This was a really good book and the ending was superb. The author, Amy Harmon, was so in tune with the exact right moment to move the story along. Just as I was starting to feel settled, she would transport the plot and completely elevate my reading experience. She creatively told the story through Anne's perspective as well as through journal entries that helped educate the reader on the turbulent time period that Anne had found herself in. Overall, I would highly recommend this to anyone who wants to learn more about the history of Ireland, loves historical fiction and romance or wants to read a story they will never forget.
    more
  • Jenn
    January 1, 1970
    Not enough stars!! The wind and water know all the earth's secrets. They've seen and heard all that has ever been said or done. And if you listen, they will tell you all the stories and sing every song. From the moment I read the prologue I knew this story was going to hit me harder than any other book I've read lately. And I was so right. In fact, I'm pretty sure this story was written just for me. There are small details that connect me and I can't even explain what that feels like. I know it Not enough stars!! The wind and water know all the earth's secrets. They've seen and heard all that has ever been said or done. And if you listen, they will tell you all the stories and sing every song. From the moment I read the prologue I knew this story was going to hit me harder than any other book I've read lately. And I was so right. In fact, I'm pretty sure this story was written just for me. There are small details that connect me and I can't even explain what that feels like. I know it sounds silly, but it's true. Without giving away spoilers I will just say this, at 10% I started to cry and I didn't know why. I was noticing things that had me breathless and speechless. Even as I'm typing now, there are tears in my eyes. The talk of the past and how these people are no longer with us always makes my heart clinch. Anne discovers things that she never knew, but yet, she always knew. This story is rich in history and romance and I was swept away. What the Wind Knows had an Outlander feel to it, due to the time traveling, but it was so much more than that. This book was so rich in history, I felt like I was there. The people were real, as were their struggles. My heart broke when theirs did. The romance between Anne and Thomas made me swoon and cry. I'm not even kidding. When I say I was crying, I mean I was CRYING. I woke up one morning at 4:30 to finish it. And by the time I was done, my pillow was soaked and my eyes were red and puffy. I was breathless and overwhelmed by every word I was reading. I may never recover. "My love is so big and full and brimming that I can't breathe around it. It's terrifying to love so much, knowing how fragile our existence really is. You're going to have to hold on to me, or I'll burst...or maybe I'll just float away. Up into the sky, out into the louch."
    more
Write a review