Four Dead Queens
Seventeen-year-old Keralie Corrington may seem harmless, but she's, in fact, one of Quadara's most skilled thieves and a liar. Varin, on the other hand, is an honest, upstanding citizen of Quadara's most enlightened region, Eonia. He runs afoul of Keralie when she steals a package from him, putting his life in danger. When Varin attempts to retrieve the package, he and Keralie both find themselves entangled in a conspiracy that leaves all four of Quadara's queens dead.With no other choices and on the run from Keralie's former employer, the two decide to join forces, endeavoring to discover who has killed the queens and save their own lives in the process. When their reluctant partnership blooms into a tenuous romance, they must overcome their own dark secrets in hopes of a future together that seemed impossible just days before. But first they have to stay alive and untangle the secrets behind the nation's four dead queens.An enthralling fast-paced murder mystery where competing agendas collide with deadly consequences, Four Dead Queens heralds the arrival of an exciting new YA talent.

Four Dead Queens Details

TitleFour Dead Queens
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseFeb 26th, 2019
PublisherG.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
ISBN-139780525513926
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult, Young Adult Fantasy

Four Dead Queens Review

  • Emily May
    January 1, 1970
    Four Dead Queens was being given away when I attended the Penguin talk at Comic-Con back in July 2018. Before this, I knew nothing about it, but I was immediately drawn in by the promise of a murder mystery in a fantasy setting. I'm a sucker for murder mysteries in general, and adding this to a fantasy world seemed like a recipe for excellence.It didn't really work for me, though. Part of the problem might be that this book - a standalone, it seems - tries to do too many things and stretches its Four Dead Queens was being given away when I attended the Penguin talk at Comic-Con back in July 2018. Before this, I knew nothing about it, but I was immediately drawn in by the promise of a murder mystery in a fantasy setting. I'm a sucker for murder mysteries in general, and adding this to a fantasy world seemed like a recipe for excellence.It didn't really work for me, though. Part of the problem might be that this book - a standalone, it seems - tries to do too many things and stretches itself way too thin in the process. It contains six different perspectives in total; all third person except for Keralee's perspective. It also contains weak fantasy-esque politics, an investigation into a murder, vague sci-fi concepts like genetic alterations and comm chips, and a romance that is thrown in for no reason I can see.The fantasy part and its worldbuilding felt lacking. Many of the explanations given for the land and political system of Quadara didn't quite make sense to me. When a history is painted in, there's a vague mention of the one king and a war before the founding four queens built walls to split the land into quarters, each one ruling over their own section. I had a hard time picturing how this took place and why this was an adequate solution. Likewise, the rules of the "Queenly Law" seem ill-conceived. I don't understand why the queens are not allowed to visit the land they rule over.At the time of the novel, the four ruling queens are Iris of Archia, Corra of Eonia, Stessa of Ludia and Marguerite of Toria. As the title reveals, the queens start being murdered one by one, so an investigator is called in to find the killer. Alongside this runs the story of street thief Keralee, who ingests some comm chips and sees visions of the queens' deaths. Accompanied by the beautiful but stoic Varin - ooh, what could happen? - she travels to the palace to reveal what she has seen.Now, I know some people can read mysteries and just let events unfold without attempting to work it out in their head. I often wish I was this type of reader, but I can’t. Just say the word “mystery” and I’m instantly suspicious of everything. And this is not a good book to be suspicious of everything. The author drops a very heavy-handed piece of information about a third of the way through that made me instantly figure out who must be behind the murders. And yet, despite this, there is still a touch of deus ex machina about it, given that (view spoiler)[we don’t even meet the culprit until close to the end of the book. (hide spoiler)]Again, I have no idea why the romance was in here. There's no build-up or chemistry. You can spot the love interest in chapter one by the way Keralie starts describing his beautiful skin, which is apparently “delicate, but hardy”... whatever that means. This is then followed by Keralee saying or thinking dirty jokes at the most inappropriate of times. Like her comment about Varin wanting to undress her while she is literally drowning.I felt very frustrated with Keralee. I get that she’s supposed to be a bit of an antiheroine, but she just came across as petty and childishly mean. We sympathise with antiheroines because they are complicated and, deep down, we can see the messed up reasons behind their actions. That wasn’t the case with Keralee. When we first meet her, she slaps away an old man’s cane so he falls over. That's not flawed and interesting; that's Peeves the poltergeist.It was all a little too obvious, and a little too messy. Regular mystery readers will figure it out early, and everyone else probably won't be far behind. I liked that two of the queens were secretly lovers, but it's a shame that these two queer characters were both killed off (their romance all happens off-page because one of them is already dead when we find out). And this is a big spoiler but I’m surprised this is being called a “feminist” fantasy as (view spoiler)[pretty much everything is orchestrated by a man. He not only has three women murdered, including two queer women, but he is also the mastermind behind the female villain’s plans. She only does it because she’s hot for him and allows him to manipulate her. (hide spoiler)]Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Youtube
    more
  • Melanie
    January 1, 1970
    I'm the fifth dead queen because this cover and synop has SLAIN ME! GOODBYE! Blog | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Youtube | Twitch
  • شيماء ✨
    January 1, 1970
    friend: hi how are you? me: well you'll be excited to know that there's a feminist fantasy slash murder mystery book coming out this month so things are really looking up!
  • Emily (Books with Emily Fox)
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you Netgalley for the sneak peak - the first five chapters of this book.I wasn't sure how I would feel about this book but I couldn't put it down. The world building and characters were interesting and the intrigue is now killing me... I need to know how the rest goes!Will pick up the book when it comes out at the end of the month!
    more
  • Anissa (FairyLoot)
    January 1, 1970
    Wow. Read this in pretty much one sitting - I just had to know what would happen next. Quadara is such a rich world and the mystery kept me on the edge of my seat (along with the wonderful characters)!
  • Kerri
    January 1, 1970
    official comments to come!
  • Astrid Scholte
    January 1, 1970
    The Penguin Teen Pre-order giveaway is live! Check out the amazing Welcome to Quadara pins you can choose from when you pre-order!Pre-order link US Residents, 13+. Ends 2/25/19. See terms at http://bit.ly/FourDeadQueensPreOrderWant to be the first to hear about release dates, snippets, swag and ARCS? Then sign up for my newsletter here! A divided nation. Four Queens. A ruthless pickpocket. A noble messenger. And the murders that unite them.Seventeen-year-old Keralie Corrington may seem harmless, The Penguin Teen Pre-order giveaway is live! Check out the amazing Welcome to Quadara pins you can choose from when you pre-order!Pre-order link US Residents, 13+. Ends 2/25/19. See terms at http://bit.ly/FourDeadQueensPreOrderWant to be the first to hear about release dates, snippets, swag and ARCS? Then sign up for my newsletter here! A divided nation. Four Queens. A ruthless pickpocket. A noble messenger. And the murders that unite them.Seventeen-year-old Keralie Corrington may seem harmless, but she’s, in fact, one of Quadara’s most skilled thieves and a liar. Varin, on the other hand, is an honest, upstanding citizen of Quadara’s most enlightened region, Eonia. He runs afoul of Keralie when she steals a package from him, putting his life in danger. When Varin attempts to retrieve the package, he and Keralie both find themselves entangled in a conspiracy that leaves all four of Quadara’s queens dead.With no other choices and on the run from Keralie’s former employer, the two decide to join forces, endeavoring to discover who has killed the queens and save their own lives in the process. When their reluctant partnership blooms into a tenuous romance, they must overcome their own dark secrets in hopes of a future together that seemed impossible just days before. But first they have to stay alive and untangle the secrets behind the nation’s four dead queens.An enthralling fast-paced murder mystery where competing agendas collide with deadly consequences, Four Dead Queens heralds the arrival of an exciting new YA talent.
    more
  • julianna ➹
    January 1, 1970
    I've got to say— for the first 25% of this book, I was really just not feeling it. Everything felt dull to me, it read like one of those classic fantasies, and something just didn't *click* for me the way that I wanted it to. I found Keralie frustrating, the plot unordinary, and the worldbuilding mostly mediocre. I was finding problems with the writing and it was just hard for me to get into. But damn, y'all, the last 50% of the book deserves ten stars on its own. I mean, the plot took such a tu I've got to say— for the first 25% of this book, I was really just not feeling it. Everything felt dull to me, it read like one of those classic fantasies, and something just didn't *click* for me the way that I wanted it to. I found Keralie frustrating, the plot unordinary, and the worldbuilding mostly mediocre. I was finding problems with the writing and it was just hard for me to get into. But damn, y'all, the last 50% of the book deserves ten stars on its own. I mean, the plot took such a turn and it finally really, truly felt like the murder mystery I was told it was going to be. Maybe I'm just still living on the adrenaline of the ending. But like, that ending was really good. The queens were the power. No one else.Power was a game, and over the years, Iris had perfected it. Four Dead Queens follows Keralie, a thief (dipper) who's part of a larger black market network. Keralie steals things from people and gives them to Mackiel, her childhood friend and superior, and Mackiel sells them. In turn, Keralie gets some of the profit. However, Keralie sees Mackiel as more than a superior, but Mackiel... doesn't. He's been manipulating her for his own gain.When Keralie's assigned to steal a comm disk from a messenger, the operation becomes messed up and Keralie ends up watching the comm disks, seeing all of the deaths of the four queens. However, Varin, as a messenger, needs to retrieve those comm disks— otherwise, his death date will be moved up.This all takes place in Quadara, a nation with four different sections: Eonia, Toria, Ludia, and Archia. Each plays a different role in the nation. Eonia manages medicine and produces technology, Toria manages imports and exports throughout the nation as well as overall discovery, Ludia is the center of arts and fashion, and Archia is the source of crops and fertile land.All of these quadrants are very separate, and there's hardly any transferring of citizens from one quadrant to another. In the exposition of the story, I was honestly just not that impressed; it just seemed like so many other stories that I had read, and the premise of the four quadrants reminded me deeply of Divergent. I wasn't that entertained or as invested in the story as I wished that I was? But guys... when we hit around 30-40%, it really started kicking in, the plot started moving, everyone was dying and I was here for it. But what I really want to talk about out of all of this is that in the end?? everything started clicking together. What previously seemed like a classic fantasy turned out to be so, so much more and the reveal of the killer?? I was shocked.I did think that the prose could have been a little bit better, and Keralie kind of frustrated me in the beginning, and Keralie's whole flirting with Varin was too sudden when she was threatening him two minutes ago, but /that ending/.I probably would have rated this five stars, but there were also some very questionable parts in this novel that I was kind of... iffy about.For example, on page 131 (of the physical arc) it says things like "Love was the most important emotion of all" & non-romantic love exists, but in this context, it really seems like it was talking specifically about romantic love??? I'm not an aromantic person, so I really can't speak for how someone aromantic might interpret this, but it just seemed kind of concerning to me.Also, two of the queens were sapphic, who died (along with the other queens) and there was another f/f relationship, but they were very minor side characters and mentioned possibly two times in the entirety of the book. So. That's just a little... :///Trigger and content warnings for death, murder, poisoning, throat cutting, severe burning, drowning, death by fire, abusive relationship, and imprisonment.All quotes were taken from a galley & are subject to change.
    more
  • Sarah Glenn Marsh
    January 1, 1970
    Official comments: "A cinematic thrill ride brimming with murder, mayhem, and twists that will shock you, Four Dead Queens is sure to be your next book obsession. Absolutely riveting."Unofficial Comments: I JUST REALLY LOVED IT, OKAY? Please read it. For me. Do it!
    more
  • Brittany
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 🌟 Stars!! “Sometimes failure is the beginning of success” Keralie Corrington is a pickpocket who lives by the words "Get in quick, get out quicker." She works under the guidance of her mentor Mackiel, who runs a black market selling their bounty to buyers desperate for what they can’t get in their own quarter. For in the nation of Quadara, each quarter is strictly divided from the other. Four queens rule together, one from each region:Toria: the intellectual quarter that values education 3.5 🌟 Stars!! “Sometimes failure is the beginning of success” Keralie Corrington is a pickpocket who lives by the words "Get in quick, get out quicker." She works under the guidance of her mentor Mackiel, who runs a black market selling their bounty to buyers desperate for what they can’t get in their own quarter. For in the nation of Quadara, each quarter is strictly divided from the other. Four queens rule together, one from each region:Toria: the intellectual quarter that values education and ambitionLudia: the pleasure quarter that values celebration, passion, and entertainmentArchia: the agricultural quarter that values simplicity and natureEonia: the futurist quarter that values technology, stoicism and harmonious communityWhen Keralie steals a comm disk coming from Varin Bollt, then everything goes wrong. When she watches the comms - Keralie sees the murders of all four queens. Hoping that discovering the intended recipient will reveal the culprit – Keralie ends up teaming up with Varin, to complete his original job and see where it takes them. I enjoyed this read. At first it was a lot of information and I felt a little overwhelmed- but after about the 20 percent mark, things started to pick up and it was action packed until the end. There was a little world building in the beginning but not really a whole lot. The plot was not at all what I was expecting. Four Dead Queens is very unique - and is not like anything I have ever read when dealing with Kingdoms. There is a lot of use of tech and it had a bit of a Sci-Fi feel, which was what made it seem different. The characters were well rounded, but I just could not really connect to any of them. There is a M/F and F/F romance as well and sadly I could not get a grasp on either one. Something was missing... I thought the story line was good and the twists and turns were fun to read. I do recommend it for its uniqueness-and do believe its worth reading, just nothing really over the top and it was just an ok read for me.
    more
  • Cesar
    January 1, 1970
    2.5 stars.Four Dead Queens is a decent fantasy debut. With a premise of four queens being killed and two people caught in the midst of a conspiracy, it sounds very promising. But in the end, I wasn't impressed. It started out good but the more I read, the more flaws I started to discover. And with those flaws, my enjoyment went down. I will say that Four Dead Queen isn't a bad novel. It has potential, but that potential is, unfortunately, squandered down by issues.Four Dead Queens is a sci-fi/fa 2.5 stars.Four Dead Queens is a decent fantasy debut. With a premise of four queens being killed and two people caught in the midst of a conspiracy, it sounds very promising. But in the end, I wasn't impressed. It started out good but the more I read, the more flaws I started to discover. And with those flaws, my enjoyment went down. I will say that Four Dead Queen isn't a bad novel. It has potential, but that potential is, unfortunately, squandered down by issues.Four Dead Queens is a sci-fi/fantasy standalone where there are four quadrants and a queen rules each quadrant. Keralie is a thief living in one of the quadrants when she is tasked to steal information. When she steals said information, she discovers that the four queens have been assassinated and Keralie and Varin, the person she stole the information from, are caught in the middle of a conspiracy. They have to discover why the queens were killed and if they can save the quadrants from falling into chaos.My experience with Four Dead Queens started off good. I was intrigued by how the world worked and how each inhabitant lived their lives. But when I got to the middle, the flaws started to show up and the ending didn't help as much. In fact, I think the ending had made me give the book 2.5 stars.The world, while interesting, felt bland and didn't make sense when you look deep into it. There's one quadrant that is basically fantasy land where there is no electricity and everything is handmade and grown. The other quadrants do have electricity and are more advanced, but that queen of that quadrant doesn't want any help from the other quadrants because it'll taint her land which is the stupidest thing I have ever heard. As for the other quadrants, there wasn't much explanation about them and considering the story takes place in only two quadrants, the world felt bland.There is a romance and it was completely unnecessary. The story takes place in the matter of a few days and I fail to comprehend how someone can develop feelings for someone else in the span of a few days. And the love interest, Varin, is just as bland as the world. He belongs in the quadrant that values technology and emotions are put on the back burner and surprise, he's boring.There's also the issue of the time skips in the story. As mentioned before, the story takes place in the span of a few days. But the transitions from day to day or from hour to hour was rushed I had to go back and re-read some passages.Keralie, as a character, was fine. I didn't love her. But I didn't hate her. She's fine. She's decent. Moving on.I wouldn't say that I disliked Four Dead Queens. The 2 stars are mainly from the enjoyment I felt when reading the first part. Verdict Four Dead Queens isn't a bad book. It's a book that could've been good had there been more world development, a romance that was more believable, and the time skips were more understandable. Thanks for reading my review!-Cesar
    more
  • Danielle (Life of a Literary Nerd)
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 stars Rule thirteen: Only a queen may sit upon the throne. When she takes the throne, she accepts the responsibility to rule the quadrant until her dying day. The good news, I started reading again. The bad news, I didn't enjoy this as much as I wanted too. But I will forever be grateful to this book for pulling me out of such a horrible slump. Four Dead Queens follows renowned thief Keralie Corrington as she’s thrust into a dark conspiracy that leaves all four of Quadra’s queens dead. Ke 3.5 stars Rule thirteen: Only a queen may sit upon the throne. When she takes the throne, she accepts the responsibility to rule the quadrant until her dying day. The good news, I started reading again. The bad news, I didn't enjoy this as much as I wanted too. But I will forever be grateful to this book for pulling me out of such a horrible slump. Four Dead Queens follows renowned thief Keralie Corrington as she’s thrust into a dark conspiracy that leaves all four of Quadra’s queens dead. Keralie teams up with the stoic and logical Varin to try and clear their names before their lives are forfeit in this fast-paced and tangled story. Things I Liked So this book had some genuinely great surprises that kept me engaged and wanting more. One completely took my by surprise and I literally gasped out loud. It was such a clever idea and moved the story forward creatively. Another turned your expectations on their head. Overall the twists and surprises made sense, moved the story forward creatively, and kept me engaged. So I loved Quadra’s politics and worldbuilding. I like that each region is responsible for different facets of life (technology/medicine, arts, crops) and seeing how these places shaped their ruling queen was really cool. I think that the multiple POVs were used really effectively to not only introduce all the important characters but to move the story along at a quick pace. It was truly impossible to bored while reading this because the story did not let up at all. Things I Didn’t Like The romance was just so unnecessary. There really isn’t much else for me to say besides that I felt absolutely no chemistry between the romantic pairing and I didn’t get anything from them.Even with all the great surprises and the engaging fast pace, I felt an overall lack of tension and suspense in the story. Resolutions happened quickly and consequences didn’t seem to have a lasting impact. This could be because this is a standalone story and a lot had to happen so there wasn’t time to draw things out and really create a build. But I do think this would have made a fantastic duology, and really given more depth to the world and characters. I do think it was hard to tell how time was framed in the story. Because the story is so fast paced it seemed like everything was happening instantaneously. But sometimes days had went by within the story. It was just a bit jarring a few times.Four Dead Queens was truly an excellent fantasy debut with wonderful worldbuilding and plot progression. Keralie is a spunky main character who is so easy to follow. I really liked getting to know the four Queens and seeing their distinct personalities. While the overall story let me down, there are some really great elements that makes this a great read.I received a copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    January 1, 1970
    OMG, the full synopsis has me so pumped for this! Ugh, why is 2019 so far away!?
  • Mogsy (MMOGC)
    January 1, 1970
    4 of 5 stars at The BiblioSanctum https://bibliosanctum.com/2019/02/23/...Wow, Four Dead Queens was pretty great, and if you’ve followed my reviews for a while, you probably know that’s not praise I bestow on YA too lightly, especially when it comes to debuts. Then again, it’s not often that I encounter a YA debut that completely takes me by surprise, which immediately made this one special—and I loved that it didn’t turn out the way I expected.First of all, this story is really more of murder m 4 of 5 stars at The BiblioSanctum https://bibliosanctum.com/2019/02/23/...Wow, Four Dead Queens was pretty great, and if you’ve followed my reviews for a while, you probably know that’s not praise I bestow on YA too lightly, especially when it comes to debuts. Then again, it’s not often that I encounter a YA debut that completely takes me by surprise, which immediately made this one special—and I loved that it didn’t turn out the way I expected.First of all, this story is really more of murder mystery—but with a twist. And there’s not much more I can say about that without spoiling the plot, but suffice it to say, it made things very interesting indeed. The book’s title refers to the four queens that rule the nation of Quadara, so named because it is divided into four quadrants, each boasting its own unique culture and specialties. Each queen is closely linked to the respective quadrant that she rules, governing the citizens within it with the help of a personal advisor. Queens are sequestered in their palace, never allowed to leave, and the only through death or abdication could they pass on their rule to an heir, who must be a daughter of their blood.But what happens when a queen dies without an heir? This is the problem Quadara currently faces, with four queens on the throne who have yet to produce female issue—that anyone knows of, at least. And now they are being systematically targeted by a mysterious assassin, who seems bent on destroying the very foundation of the realm and its traditions.Meanwhile in the Concord, a central area where the four sections of Quadara come together, a plucky thief named Keralie has unwitting stumbled upon a find of a lifetime. However, no great treasure ever comes without its dangers, which our hapless protagonist soon learns when the comm disks she’d managed to intercept are revealed to contain records of how all four queens are brutally murdered. Together with Varin, the messenger she originally stole her bounty from, Keralie must trace the origin and path of comm disks to discover the identity of those conspiring against Quadara and stop their plot before it’s too late.Perhaps my favorite thing about Four Dead Queens was the story, which isn’t always the strongest aspect of a YA novel. There’s a tendency in this genre to retread common plot tropes, and for me, those books usually end up in the forgettable pile after a few months. Astrid Scholt’s debut, however, was different. While political machinations and threat of death at court are certainly not new ideas, the author chose a very bold and unique way to frame these themes in her novel, and only time will tell if her ambitious move pays off, but it sure worked wonders for yours truly. I loved how the main plot was told through Keralie’s eyes, but that the queens also got a chance to tell their side of the story. And even though more POVs often lead to pacing problems and confusion, I didn’t think that was the case here. In fact, I felt their queens’ part in it only added to the overall depth of the narrative, providing details in a way that wouldn’t have been quite as interesting or effective had they been revealed any way else.The world-building was also fascinating, even if it wasn’t perfect. While I liked the idea of the four quadrants of Quadara being separate and different culturally and ideologically—e.g. Toria values intellect and education, Ludia values pleasure and entertainment, Archia values the natural world and is inclined towards a simpler lifestyle, and Eonia values logic, science, and technology—none of it really makes sense on a deeper level, and the systems in which they operate are superficial to the point of being absurd. Thankfully, the bulk of this story takes place within the palace and doesn’t venture much beyond, or I probably would have taken greater issue with this facile, all-or-nothing approach to world-building. One must simply accept this is the way of Quadara, and that somehow everything miraculously runs smoothly despite little to no explanation into how inter-quadrant relationships work or what the queens actually do to govern their country.There were a few other minor issues, mostly related to how time was presented in this story because of the way it was written, but they weren’t enough to detract from my overall enjoyment. The overarching plot was really the main drive behind the novel, which kept me engaged and turning the pages. All in all, I thought the plot of Four Dead Queens was a refreshing change from a lot of the typical YA I’ve been reading as of late, and I found the characters and the mystery entertaining. It’s also a standalone that ties up quite nicely, but even though there will be no sequel to anticipate, that doesn’t mean I won’t be looking forward to Astrid Scholt’s future projects with interest. She’s got my attention now, and I’ll be keeping my eye out for what she writes next.
    more
  • Katie
    January 1, 1970
    When I first picked up this book, the title and summary caught my eye. I don't usually read murder mysteries, but the plot sounded interesting. Unfortunately, the book didn't live up to my expectations.I had a lot of issues with this book though I don't want to go into too much detail because it hasn't been published yet. My biggest gripe was the plot. I'm a plot over characters person, so even if I don't like the characters (I didn't), I can still enjoy a book if the plot is interesting. The pl When I first picked up this book, the title and summary caught my eye. I don't usually read murder mysteries, but the plot sounded interesting. Unfortunately, the book didn't live up to my expectations.I had a lot of issues with this book though I don't want to go into too much detail because it hasn't been published yet. My biggest gripe was the plot. I'm a plot over characters person, so even if I don't like the characters (I didn't), I can still enjoy a book if the plot is interesting. The plot of this book is a basic murder mystery, and the fun part of murder mysteries is playing whodunnit and trying to guess who the murderer is. The middle section of the book, where the queens are being killed one by one (this is not a spoiler, the title says they die), was an enjoyable section. I was having fun trying to figure out motives for each character to be killing the queens. However, the actual murderer isn't even introduced until the last quarter of the book, which entirely ruins (IMO) the point of a murder mystery.Secondly, I really didn't care much for the characters. Varin was bland, but all Eonia's are portrayed as bland since they're literally supposed to be emotionless so I guess he's just being a successful Eonian. Keralie, however, was insufferable. She read like an angsty female YA character that insists she's dark without ever acting as such (see: Adelina Amouteru, Kate Harker). Their romance seemed forced at best, with the two of them managing to fall for each other in the span of less than a week. There wasn't much of a build up other than Keralie's occasional badly-timed innuendo. This was made even worse by their incredibly inappropriate time/place for their first make-out session.Finally, and this is what pains me the most, was the worldbuilding. At times, locations felt oddly empty. Quadara is run by four queens, each with an advisor, and the queens aren't allowed to leave the palace. There are some guards and some maids but it seems like that's it? There's no reference to any of the other bureaucratic positions usually required to keep a country running. Supposedly, there are other countries that Quadara trades with, but they seem to be of so little importance that they're not even considered as potential queen-murdering suspects.Other times, the worldbuilding felt almost non-sensical. Each quadrant of Quadara has their specialties, but what isn't mentioned is that trade and travel between quadrants is so highly regulated that citizens of one quadrant would attend black market auctions to get a taste of life in a different quadrant. When one quadrant has holographic projections and genetically modified citizens while another is in a literal pre-Industrial Revolution era ('no electricity!' says one queen early on), you really have to wonder why? What could possibly be the justification for preventing the one quadrant that can make food from using machinery to increase and optimize food production. Or create genetically modified crops that could have the potential of growing in other quadrants. If genetically modified humans are a norm, surely crops can't be much more difficult.Overall, I give this book a 2/5. I can see where other people would enjoy this book, but it simply was not for me.
    more
  • Jackie ϟ Bookseller
    January 1, 1970
    ARC provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. 4/5 stars"In the end, one must make the best deals for oneself."Keralie is a skilled thief living in one of the four quadrants of the kingdom of Quadara. Varin is an honest, upstanding messenger from the region of Eonia. When Keralie and Varin are unexpectedly united by the murders of the four queens of Quadara, they must race against time to solve the crime.I did not know what to expect when I started this ARC, but I ended up tota ARC provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. 4/5 stars"In the end, one must make the best deals for oneself."Keralie is a skilled thief living in one of the four quadrants of the kingdom of Quadara. Varin is an honest, upstanding messenger from the region of Eonia. When Keralie and Varin are unexpectedly united by the murders of the four queens of Quadara, they must race against time to solve the crime.I did not know what to expect when I started this ARC, but I ended up totally loving this creative thriller. The four regions of Quadara are ruled by their respective queens so that the "character" of each region is preserved while also preventing the wars over the territories that previously plagued the kingdom. The concept seemed strange at first, but it grew on me as a got used to it and, in fact, the world-building in this book became one of my favorite parts. I mean, a futuristic/fantasy world ruled by women? What's not to like?!I also really liked the lead, first-person character, Keralie. She was a wonderful, relatable, clever, and funny unreliable narrator. As the mystery begins to unfold, her role in it changes again and again, along with pretty much every other character. I was also happy to be unable to guess the killer in this book. I had several suspicions, but they were mostly wrong which lead to an exciting ending once the entire plot was revealed.Oh, and don't even get me started on my sweet, innocent son, Varin. You're all guaranteed to fall for him, too. I have no doubt.Oh! And don't let me forget to mention just how well-written this was. The plot and prose both flowed so well, I flew through this book in just a couple of days without an issue. It was an easy, but still thought-provoking, read.This is a fast-paced murder mystery set in a richly-built, futuristic/fantasy world. It might not seem like it could work, but it does! You won't be able to put this unique thriller down."Having had something, even in the past, is better than having nothing at all."
    more
  • Ben Ace
    January 1, 1970
    Review to come 😭😭😭😭😭Wordpress | Bloglovin' | Twitter | Ko-fi
  • Alexa
    January 1, 1970
    Sometimes, I just want a fun, quick fantasy read and that’s what Four Dead Queens delivers in spades! The world was fun, the characters interesting (if a touch underdeveloped) and the story was compelling too.
  • Liv Herondale
    January 1, 1970
    I was given the opportunity by Penguin Teen to read an uncorrected galley of Astrid Scholte’s novel, 4 Dead Queens! This book was spectacular and written with so many twists and turns! Putting the book down was nearly impossible because of the constant surprises that kept me tied down to my chair. I seriously was sitting outside reading for a good two hours straight so I could finish and uncover who killed the queens!•••••••In the beginning, we were already thrown into action and not only was I I was given the opportunity by Penguin Teen to read an uncorrected galley of Astrid Scholte’s novel, 4 Dead Queens! This book was spectacular and written with so many twists and turns! Putting the book down was nearly impossible because of the constant surprises that kept me tied down to my chair. I seriously was sitting outside reading for a good two hours straight so I could finish and uncover who killed the queens!•••••••In the beginning, we were already thrown into action and not only was I surprised to find myself more and more engrossed in this new fantasy/dystopian world, but I also fell in love with the characters—who only seemed to develop more as the book went on. There was an element of shock chapter after chapter! It was an insane read that is easily one of my favorite books. Near the middle of the book, there was still action which remained until the ending. It was overall such an amazing read and left me desiring more and more from the main characters. There was not only a cool dystopian and futuristic world, but there was also a huge mystery that we had to figure out.•••••••Once this book comes out, I know there will be an insane amount of people raving about how Scholte could very easily be one of the greatest YA authors. Thank you again to Penguin Teen for giving me an arc of this book and I will post more about 4 Dead Queens once it reaches shelves in 2019!
    more
  • Cynthia
    January 1, 1970
    I had the chance to read an early version of this book and see it develop through PitchWars, so I *would* say I'm biased had it not immediately jumped out of the almost 100 entries my co-mentor and I received . After reading pages and pages of openings, I just kept on coming back to this. It honestly was the most fresh and smart fantasy in the inbox, and I HAD to figure out the murder mystery.If you're looking for an inventive world with an INCREDIBLE twist that is set up through every chapter, I had the chance to read an early version of this book and see it develop through PitchWars, so I *would* say I'm biased had it not immediately jumped out of the almost 100 entries my co-mentor and I received . After reading pages and pages of openings, I just kept on coming back to this. It honestly was the most fresh and smart fantasy in the inbox, and I HAD to figure out the murder mystery.If you're looking for an inventive world with an INCREDIBLE twist that is set up through every chapter, then look no further. You will devour this just as quickly as I did because the pacing is breakneck and the characters are easy to love (as wicked as some may be!), and the use of multi-POV in this particular story adds a layer that I have not yet seen in other books. This book (and Astrid) is definitely one to watch.
    more
  • Rissa
    January 1, 1970
    Four dead queensKera stole something that had she not opened it would have kept her life the same but she opened the comm and saw what it had to offer and it changed her life. Varin was supposed to deliver the comm, it was his job but he lost it and now they are both screwed and on the run trying to figure out how to get the information out of Keralies head and into the right hands. While Keras boss is doing everything in his power to get Kera back and profit off of her inconvenience in ruining Four dead queensKera stole something that had she not opened it would have kept her life the same but she opened the comm and saw what it had to offer and it changed her life. Varin was supposed to deliver the comm, it was his job but he lost it and now they are both screwed and on the run trying to figure out how to get the information out of Keralies head and into the right hands. While Keras boss is doing everything in his power to get Kera back and profit off of her inconvenience in ruining his plans for that comm and the memories it held. Oh yeah and a queen was murdered, throat slit but are the rest of the sister queens safe? You must assume not with a title like four dead queens. Each queen ks being targeted but by whom and how are they getting into the palace undetected. I loved the characters and the world and I want more from this author right away please! The reason one star was deducted was because the ending got a bit confusing and everything got jumbled up slightly but once we discovered who the real assassin is it picked up and overall it was really good
    more
  • Lauren [DontGoBrekkerMyHeart]
    January 1, 1970
    This novel had some good plot twists. Maybe it was because I didn't expect them, but one thing after another kept me sputtering. Out of the four main plot twists (or in my opinion "plot twists") I only guessed one. It was an experience I don't have often.I will say the main character Keralie was not my favorite at all. She had some good moments, but then often enough, she would say things/ act in a certain way that made me crinkle my nose. She was obnoxious to other people, to me, and in all hon This novel had some good plot twists. Maybe it was because I didn't expect them, but one thing after another kept me sputtering. Out of the four main plot twists (or in my opinion "plot twists") I only guessed one. It was an experience I don't have often.I will say the main character Keralie was not my favorite at all. She had some good moments, but then often enough, she would say things/ act in a certain way that made me crinkle my nose. She was obnoxious to other people, to me, and in all honestly, she's childish. I already enjoy a lot of adult novels, so it really just set my teeth on edge to see her act that way. Keralie does contrasts those moments with scenes of intelligence, but I had to mention the less than great ones because they bugged me *shrugs* a lot.My absolute FAVORITE part of this novel were the POVs from the four queens. They were little treasures sprinkled throughout the novel, and it was incredible to see their views/ opinions in comparison to Keralie and just the other queens. They each have such divisive opinions about their regions, values, etc., and it was a great addition to the novel. Plus, it allowed me to get away from Keralie so that was a giant perk in itself.The relationship between Keralie and her love interest also seemed to go from 1 to 100 real quick, so it was awkward through some parts, which is never a good sign to a novel. I am extremely picky about romantic relationships in books, so you should factor that into my opinion. I just wasn’t rooting for them at all, and this story could’ve done fine without it.Lastly, I enjoyed the timeline of this novel because it was a surprise in and of itself. I'm curious to see if there is a sequel, but I would hope not since the story ends in a nice way. It was all around a good story, and I'll give it props for those jaw dropping scenes.Thank you Penguin Teen for sending me an ARC. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
    more
  • Samantha
    January 1, 1970
    Kind of a throwback to when a lot of young adult authors had the unfortunate habit of vastly underestimating the intelligence of their readers. Or themselves weren’t required to write all that well. In this case, maybe both. I’m sure I’ve read a worse YA book than this. I just can’t think of one at the moment.The concept for this was good, loads of potential. But the execution? Among the worst I’ve seen in a long, long time. The plot is disorganized, cheaply misleading, and goes from intriguing Kind of a throwback to when a lot of young adult authors had the unfortunate habit of vastly underestimating the intelligence of their readers. Or themselves weren’t required to write all that well. In this case, maybe both. I’m sure I’ve read a worse YA book than this. I just can’t think of one at the moment.The concept for this was good, loads of potential. But the execution? Among the worst I’ve seen in a long, long time. The plot is disorganized, cheaply misleading, and goes from intriguing to nonsensical and insipid in a hurry. The “big reveal” was (again) among the worst I’ve encountered, and the saccharine, cutesy ending was eye-roll inducing.
    more
  • Janani(ஜனனி)
    January 1, 1970
    all of us have never been exposed to a queendom where four queens rule four different parts, their daughter/immediate female relation in line to be a successor and it shows
  • mith
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 stars still even though I cannot really remember w h y. Of course that’s because I apparently read this in August and it’s been two plus months and I’ve been working too much to remember much of anything. ANYWAY. the good:Four Dead Queens was engaging! One of the reasons I think I read this in a day is because of how fun the narrative was. Keralie has a quirky voice and I enjoyed it. She was flirty and sarcastic and definitely my kind of character. Going off that, I also liked the little ins 3.5 stars still even though I cannot really remember w h y. Of course that’s because I apparently read this in August and it’s been two plus months and I’ve been working too much to remember much of anything. ANYWAY. the good:Four Dead Queens was engaging! One of the reasons I think I read this in a day is because of how fun the narrative was. Keralie has a quirky voice and I enjoyed it. She was flirty and sarcastic and definitely my kind of character. Going off that, I also liked the little insights into the court, from the eyes of the queens. That was one of the surprises that I didn’t expect, but the voices were great and I liked the different personalities. I loved seeing beyond their masks. The world was sort of intricate. I couldn’t exactly imagine myself where they were but I appreciated the grand effort of the world Keralie was in. I would’ve liked to explore it a little more.The plot is strong and full of twists. I don’t say this lightly. Often times, many readers already know what’s going to happen. I thought that would be the case. It was not. I was certainly surprised by several of the things revealed, especially those near the end. I applaud the author for taking the story this way because it is so different to the ‘twists’ we typically see. The romance was sweet! I liked the buildup and, what’s more, the love interest. Caron was the opposite of Keralie and it was nice to see the two of them at odds. It’s definitely one of my favourite kinds of relationships: the flirt and the logical. Yknow the one. Things that made me yikes emoji:The writing, at times, seemed very... poor. There were some parts of the book that really made it seem like a debut. Not that that’s bad, it’s not! But, like. Sometimes it was just yikes. Some of the characters felt... underdeveloped. Varin, Keralie, and the other guy whose name I can’t remember at this point. Like the world, the characters had more to offer and I would have liked to see that. Re: the POVs. As much as it added to the book, I wasn’t a fan. I’ve never liked multiple POV books because they annoy me and this wasn’t an exception. I just wanted to read from Keralie’s point of view and it was lowkey annoying to find the next chapter was a queen’s. Plus one of the things that was revealed... well. Considering their fates of, yknow, being MURDERED, it kinda (read: really) made me uncomfy. That is pretty much all I can remember. Kudos for another standalone fantasy! I love standalones. I can see a lot of people flocking to this: it’s a quick, fun read, and explores more than the typical fantasy take.
    more
  • Rachel (acupofimagination)
    January 1, 1970
    FIVE STARS IS NOT ENOUGH!!!!Debut author ✔Penguin Teen publishing ✔YA Fantasy ✔I was lucky enough to borrow my friend's advanced copy of 4 Dead Queens and now I am literally indebted to her forever because this book is freaking fantastic, no doubt about it. I did not read the synopsis prior to diving in. I did not read the blurbs or the hype either. Going in blind is the ony way to adequately enjoy this book because you get to see the story develop in an organic way. I finished chapter one and t FIVE STARS IS NOT ENOUGH!!!!Debut author ✔Penguin Teen publishing ✔YA Fantasy ✔I was lucky enough to borrow my friend's advanced copy of 4 Dead Queens and now I am literally indebted to her forever because this book is freaking fantastic, no doubt about it. I did not read the synopsis prior to diving in. I did not read the blurbs or the hype either. Going in blind is the ony way to adequately enjoy this book because you get to see the story develop in an organic way. I finished chapter one and thought to myself, "oh, so that's what this book is going to be about." Suffice to say that I was wrong. This book will make you laugh. It will make you cry. It will break your heart. But above all else, it will blow your mind.4 Dead Queens is a murder mystery meets YA Fantasy meets mindblowing twists your wildest dreams could not create even if you tried. I am utterly blown away at what Astrid Scholte was able to accomplish with this novel. There is swoon worthy moments, thievery, and murder. There is so much more than I can even mention and the ending will leave you sobbing tears of joy. If you read one book in 2019, make it 4 Dead Queens.
    more
  • Blue
    January 1, 1970
    Sit down and brace yourself because what we have here is a YA fantasy bloody gem!!! I crave YA fantasy’s that aren’t like every other YA fantasy. You know the ones I’m talking about, the ones that are hyped up, all over your Instagram feed and the author is practically breathing down your throat for phrase. Four Dead Queens was a marvel from start to finish and I WANT MORE. Actually, I really do, the end of the book has be shook and I am sitting in the corner wrapped in a blanket needing the nex Sit down and brace yourself because what we have here is a YA fantasy bloody gem!!! I crave YA fantasy’s that aren’t like every other YA fantasy. You know the ones I’m talking about, the ones that are hyped up, all over your Instagram feed and the author is practically breathing down your throat for phrase. Four Dead Queens was a marvel from start to finish and I WANT MORE. Actually, I really do, the end of the book has be shook and I am sitting in the corner wrapped in a blanket needing the next instalment. Talk about withdrawals.Where to start on bragging about how phenomenal this book is… Well for starters the characters were all different ages. Stupid I know but think of a YA book where the main characters (not parents) were a variety of ages. I’ll give you a few minutes…. Got nothing.. Thought so. A massive majority of YA books always feature angst filled teenagers making the wrong life choices, Four Dead Queens as a variety of characters (not parents) that were a variety of ages and I loved it. Let’s face it people, not everyone needs to be between the ages of 18 -22 in YA. Because we all know there is no age limit on YA and a mixture of the younger generation read it as well as the old, so having ages vary from 18- 40 in Four Dead Queens, was like having a mouthful of hot coffee after spending the day tied to a tree in a snow storm freezing your ass off. Refreshing and gives you a real warm fuzzy feeling all the way to your toes.Also Four Dead Queens made my toast and buttered it for me with all the sexual innuendoes. Holy balls, these were great, brilliant, sassy and I love it. I live for this kind of humour and boy did it deliver. Snort out loud in public funny. It was nort-tacular.Besides the sass, you are dragged on an unforgettable adventure, where every corridor is filled with death and every step could be a trap, and every slither of an escape will have you on the edge of your seat.While you are questing on this adventure, you find out that there are four queens, that rule over a separate quadrant and rule that area as how they see fit and they see to the rules and acceptable grace of that society. You quickly learn about the queens and their personalities and then well, you guessed it, one of them dies. Actually, they get murdered. Meanwhile while the queens are getting murdered you get introduced to Keralie, a thief and a damn good one at that carries a secret and is hunted down for it.Oh and before I forget, to all my girls that like me love a brooding bad guy, don’t worry there is one. And damnnn does Mackiel let your mind wonder. Imagine a Kaz Brekker…. There you go.. Now dod you want to buy the book? Who doesn’t love characters with hidden motives???Don’t stress though, this story alternates between the queens and their different opinions and personalities which were fabulously written by the way, and Keralie, the thief. You will be kept on your toes and the suspense will kill you. It will. The suspense in this book is like ghost face, tormenting, maniacal and you will love it.Also, I really hope Scholte is a literate teacher of some sort, because if she is this incredible with her writing, I would love to hear her talk. After she writes the sequel of course.This complex and wonderfully woven book was just too brilliant, and I already know that this is in top ten reads for 2019 and it is only Feb. Honestly, for the love off all things pure and cynical please get this book onto your TBR ASAP!!
    more
  • Stacy Fetters
    January 1, 1970
    "Loving someone means risking your heart being broken. But those moments you are together triumphs over any darkness."This was one hell of a debut. It lived up to the hype and I’m not sure that I want this to be over. Four Dead Queens is the fantasy, murder mystery that we all needed in our lives. With the fantastical new realm and the mystery of the Four Dead Queens, you feel as if your heart is jumping out of your chest but you can’t look away. The mystery of the suspicious deaths of the Queen "Loving someone means risking your heart being broken. But those moments you are together triumphs over any darkness."This was one hell of a debut. It lived up to the hype and I’m not sure that I want this to be over. Four Dead Queens is the fantasy, murder mystery that we all needed in our lives. With the fantastical new realm and the mystery of the Four Dead Queens, you feel as if your heart is jumping out of your chest but you can’t look away. The mystery of the suspicious deaths of the Queens will have you tearing through this book piecing together all the clues. A part of it I could figure out but the most devious one of all had me shook. I didn’t see that coming and I was filled with delicious delight. We all know that I want to be shocked and this one absolutely did that. I honestly don’t believe that I ever cursed that much after reading an end to a book. It was a great conclusion to a fantastic book. We need to hype this book up even more and get everyone to add this to their tbr’s. This hype will definitely be worth the wait.
    more
  • MischaS_
    January 1, 1970
    ****I received an advance review copy (sneak peek in this case) for free in exchange for an honest review, and I am leaving this honest review voluntarily.I completely missed that this is only a sneak peek! I reached a WTF moment and wanted to know what next and there is nothing! I really, really need the rest of this book. I wanted to read this book since when I found about this book in September. However, I already voiced my concerns that this book with its title and maybe even cover may confu ****I received an advance review copy (sneak peek in this case) for free in exchange for an honest review, and I am leaving this honest review voluntarily.I completely missed that this is only a sneak peek! I reached a WTF moment and wanted to know what next and there is nothing! I really, really need the rest of this book. I wanted to read this book since when I found about this book in September. However, I already voiced my concerns that this book with its title and maybe even cover may confuse some people into believing that it's an instalment in the Three Dark Crowns series by Kendare Blake. It was my first reaction when I saw it before noticing a different author name. And I think it would be a shame if people missed this because of the confusion. So, what can I say after reading this 66 pages long sneak peek? I'm excited about this book. We get the action right away! Something is happening from page one; we are already in action and, so far it does not feel like an information dump. I'll admit that I have a hard time remembering which Queen is a Queen over which quadrant and what they do there. But we are only five chapters in, so, nothing terrible. I like how the Queens are different, but thankfully it does not seem like they will try to kill each other. And I'm really excited about Queen Stessa; she seems like a headstrong young lady. I'm looking forward to seeing where Keralie's story is going. However, I can already say that I will be obsessed with Mackiel. He already seems like my kind of character. Though I have to wonder about the whole "thief" part of the story, it seems to be getting a tad bit overused. The only thing that's getting a bit on my nerves is the whole "Four quadrants of the Quadara." A bit more originality hear it would go a long way, at least for me. Anyway, all I want to say that I feel more confident about this book than I did before reading this sneak peek. And now, can I get the whole book, pretty please? 😇
    more
  • MischaS_
    January 1, 1970
    Very curious about this one! Cannot wait for it. However, at first glance, I thought it was a book by Kendare Blake from the Three Dark Crowns series. Because of the cover and the title. Hopefully, that will be the only resemblance. But I will surely read this one.
    more
  • Mary S. R.
    January 1, 1970
    Yup ... I've FINALLY got it. And it's gonna be a very anticipated buddy read with my lovely Mischa :)Wish me luck everyone—I so wanna love this!Spotify link to book playlist: https://open.spotify.com/playlist/5lz...P.S. This is amazing 😂 I am the “playlist obsessed girl” and Mischa “the girl with crazy theories”—a perfect match for an interesting and unforgettable reading experience!Haha, love this, Mischa :)• • • • • • •Keralie Corrington is a talented pickpocket. She steals for the black marke Yup ... I've FINALLY got it. And it's gonna be a very anticipated buddy read with my lovely Mischa :)Wish me luck everyone—I so wanna love this!Spotify link to book playlist: https://open.spotify.com/playlist/5lz...P.S. This is amazing 😂 I am the “playlist obsessed girl” and Mischa “the girl with crazy theories”—a perfect match for an interesting and unforgettable reading experience!Haha, love this, Mischa :)• • • • • • •Keralie Corrington is a talented pickpocket. She steals for the black market in her quadrant.Why do I have this Red Queen nostalgia going on? It has nothing else in common with that story, of course, but there's a THEIF (!) stealing for the BLACK MARKET 😁Say no more, you've caught me. You devil!Her nation is divided into four regions, each strictly separated from the other. Four queens, one from each quadrant, rule as one.NOW we're talking! That, right there, is promising amazing political intrigue!When Keralie steals a particularly valuable item from a messenger, she discovers she's intercepted instructions to murder the queens.This book just turned into one of my most anticipated releases of 2019 ... What's happening??No one can be trusted in a world full of ruthless thieves, black markets, a golden palace, daring heists, royal intrigue, noble messengers, forbidden love, four queens—each with a secret, and, of course, murder.A murder mystery that just got added to my calendar, March 1st 2019! Join me in the wait *evil grin*
    more
  • Erin
    January 1, 1970
    For more of my reviews, visit my blog As the Book Ends or follow me on Instagram!I received an advanced reading copy of this book in exchange for an honest reviewMy Rating: 4.5 StarsAlright, let me tell you a little something about this book: I almost died to get a copy of it. I know what you’re thinking – I’m prone to dramatics and surely I didn’t almost die. I did though. I’ll paint a word picture for you: there I was, minding my own business at Book Con, when suddenly, a wild mob surrounded m For more of my reviews, visit my blog As the Book Ends or follow me on Instagram!I received an advanced reading copy of this book in exchange for an honest reviewMy Rating: 4.5 StarsAlright, let me tell you a little something about this book: I almost died to get a copy of it. I know what you’re thinking – I’m prone to dramatics and surely I didn’t almost die. I did though. I’ll paint a word picture for you: there I was, minding my own business at Book Con, when suddenly, a wild mob surrounded me where I was calmly standing near the Penguin booth. Before I know what’s happening, I’m being pushed, security is coming in to break up the mob, and I swear I saw my life flash before my eyes. You know what though? It. Was. Worth. It.In the last few years, there have been a ton of hyped debut authors. Though I liked some of them, I’ve felt that quite a few fell short of the hype. I am so so happy to share that 4 Dead Queens did not fall short, not even a tiny bit. This book is worth ALL of the hype. All of it. (I tried to fit the word hype into this paragraph one more time, but couldn’t find a way to work it in seamlessly…or did I?)4 Dead Queens was not at all what I was expecting. First of all, I was expecting for the queens to already be dead by the start of the book, or within the first chapter. However, they actually play a large role in the plot, acting as narrators throughout the book. I loved getting to see them and learning about their country through their eyes – it really helped with the world building.Speaking of, I was seriously impressed with how well Quadara was built in just one book. Typically fantasy novels are trilogies or duologies, giving the author the necessary time to world build. By utilizing the queens POV’s as well as Keralie’s, Scholte was able to paint a well rounded picture of the world without the book dragging at all. That being said, I would like to see more of both these characters and Quadara itself. It honestly was a bit reminiscent of The Hunger Games in that each quadrant of the land was responsible for producing a service or commodity. There were even parts of Quadara that reminded me of Ketterdam – a favorite city of mine. Overall, I want more.Keralie was a really unique narrator in my opinion. She was selfish and brash, outspoken and all of the things I would generally be annoyed by. However, she was also charming, and over the course of the book I adored the way her character matured and developed. Her budding romance with Varin was sweet and adorable, but added to the plot instead of taking it over.My Takeaway: Astrid Scholte, if you’re reading this, I just want to say that I hope you have your next novel written already. Because I need it right now, please and thank you. For a debut, this was honestly incredible and I can’t wait to see what Scholte gives us next. 4 Dead Queens comes out in February of 2019, so mark your calendars!
    more
  • MischaS_
    January 1, 1970
    I am very pleasantly surprised here! For a debut? It is pretty damn good!And also the fabulous buddy-read with Mary helped me to enjoy this book even more!- This was me while reading all the time! Since we were reading only 5 or 6 chapters per day (okay except for the last but one when we read 12 but WE NEEDED ANSWERS!)- Mary had to suffer through numerous of my conspiracy theories and since I had so much time to think about those theories. Some of them were crazily correct! I have to say; my th I am very pleasantly surprised here! For a debut? It is pretty damn good!And also the fabulous buddy-read with Mary helped me to enjoy this book even more!- This was me while reading all the time! Since we were reading only 5 or 6 chapters per day (okay except for the last but one when we read 12 but WE NEEDED ANSWERS!)- Mary had to suffer through numerous of my conspiracy theories and since I had so much time to think about those theories. Some of them were crazily correct! I have to say; my theory game was on point with this one!- When I first found out about this book, it really reminded me about Three Dark Crowns. With the title, with the cover (I know it's blue, now but my screen colour is always so much down that it seemed black). And I even thought that this was the last book in that series. And now I just hope that people won't mistake it for TDC because this is worth reading!- You get action from the first page! Somethings happening all the time and you're trying to connect all those dots, and then you find out that you completely overlooked something. (Or you did not think that it was important!)- I like Kera! She's snarky, rude and resourceful! She's fun, and I really liked her, it was a long time since I liked the main female character that much! - This book made me laugh at the most inappropriate moments! "To be safe, she emptied half the bottle." “So no to breaking into the palace, but yes to stealing more clothes?” - Varin is cute and everything... but I'm not here for the cute!“Go, you stupid Eonist!” - Talking about Eonists, I could not imagine living in Eonia! That Quadrant freaked me out! (view spoiler)[ The moment you're born they determine when you'll die. But not determine, they set the date! Like finding that you have an illness, but you will be fine for the next 20 years, so they give you the 20 years and then set your death date because you would be a burden on the society! Or if you fail at your job, they can move the death date closer! (hide spoiler)]- And Mackiel? That's what I'm here for! I loved his character! Loved to watch his plans! - The timeline of the story was a killer! - And obviously the one thing I did not question (but messed every my theory) came to bite me! - This book made me slightly paranoid! - And huge thanks to the author that she made this a stand-alone! Because most would try to make a trilogy out of this, but thankfully this was not the case. Instead, we got actioned packed one book which is totally worth it!But, you know me, I have to point out some things that I did not like. Four quadrants and the kingdom (or should I say queendom?) is called Quadara? A bit originality, please! (view spoiler)[ The end is a bit too happy for me! I know, three Queens are dead, but it's written in such a way that you know that the things will move towards the better. That the one Queen will unite the Quadara and will be Queen for everyone! She will try to remove the death date for Eonist and stuff like that! Kera's father is healed; she will reunite with them, they will love her again. And she'll live happily ever after with Varin... (hide spoiler)] --> This would be minus 0,5 ⭐.
    more
  • Amy Risner
    January 1, 1970
    ARC provided by Penguin Teen in exchange for an honest review.Buddy read with Heather @ Bookables!Blog | Instagram | Twitter
  • Elise (On The Bookshelves)
    January 1, 1970
    Had the privilege of receiving an ARC from Allen & Unwin to review for my website, The Nerd Daily. Review still to come, buuuuuuut this ended up taking me by surprise. I thought I had it all figured out, which is partly why I started to lose interest, and then about halfway there's two plot twists and you just don't know what to think anymore...
    more
  • Aqsa
    January 1, 1970
    Wanna read it because of Mary!
  •  Amelia
    January 1, 1970
    And this, ladies and gentleman, is what every fantasy should be like. I can't remember the last time I read such a quality standalone fantasy novel - EVERYTHING was on point. First of all, the concept of four murders - four dead queens is so interesting. Like how does one kill the 4 most guarded people in the country? Why? How did no one catch them? I had SO MANY QUESTIONS. And the queens themselves were AMAZING.Every queen was such a complex character - they had emotions, layers, feelings but t And this, ladies and gentleman, is what every fantasy should be like. I can't remember the last time I read such a quality standalone fantasy novel - EVERYTHING was on point. First of all, the concept of four murders - four dead queens is so interesting. Like how does one kill the 4 most guarded people in the country? Why? How did no one catch them? I had SO MANY QUESTIONS. And the queens themselves were AMAZING.Every queen was such a complex character - they had emotions, layers, feelings but they had to hide them and keep them in check because they had more important things to do -> rule and take care of their people and traditions. Seriously, their chapters were my faves.Keralie was also a badass. She didn't let anybody control her and make her feel less then she is. She always fought for what she thought she deserved and in the end she accepted her true self. She owned her mistakes. I liked her relationship with Varan - and no, there was no insta love. Actually, they were partners/accomplices first, then friends, and THEN and the very end, they were perhaps something more. The secondary characters were all SO. GOOD. I can't explain enough how much I loved reading about all these people. They weren't just plot tools - they didn't just exist to help the MCs or to make the plot move toward a certain point - they were real, they had wishes, motives, lives....And the plot itself. WOW. I sooo didn't expect that. The first half is a bit slower, but once you pass a certain point the plot twists just keep on coming. There were so many things, so many details that I didn't notice at first but then when they revealed it, everything clicked and made sense. This book is definitely going on my top lists for this year *u* 12/10 would recommend
    more
  • Nadhira Satria
    January 1, 1970
    eXCUSE ME BUT I NEED THIS IN MY LIFE
  • Olivia (The Candid Cover)
    January 1, 1970
    I was surprised to discover that this book isn’t the start of a series. It seems like there is going to be a lot of story to read with four different view points, and the complex world in this one. I have heard that it is reminiscent of the Divergent series, so if you are a fan of this style of novel, this may be one for you.
    more
  • Alexia
    January 1, 1970
    FOUR DEAD QUEENS IN FOUR WORDS: YOU SHOULD READ IT. You know that feeling when you buy a book and you already know that it will be great? Because I had this feeling with Four Dead Queens and I wasn‘t disappointed. Honestly, I can not belive that this is a DEBUT novel. Plot twists. When you read this book, you will think inbetween that you know exactly what‘s going to happen. You don‘t. This book didn‘t go as I thought it would and honestly, I‘m so happy with it. One of the most annoying things g FOUR DEAD QUEENS IN FOUR WORDS: YOU SHOULD READ IT. You know that feeling when you buy a book and you already know that it will be great? Because I had this feeling with Four Dead Queens and I wasn‘t disappointed. Honestly, I can not belive that this is a DEBUT novel. Plot twists. When you read this book, you will think inbetween that you know exactly what‘s going to happen. You don‘t. This book didn‘t go as I thought it would and honestly, I‘m so happy with it. One of the most annoying things going on in YA books are the super predictable storylines. But Scholte didn‘t make this mistake.It is not Three Dark Crowns. Because of the title I assumed that this book would be a lot like Three Dark Crowns but it wasn‘t. Actually I can‘t think of a book which is similar to Four Dead Queens.Fast. 400+ pages basically describe just 3 or 4 days. Now you will think that the story must be pretty dragged out. But it was not, actually it was pretty fast paced. You get Action from the first pages until the last.Debut? I just can‘t believe that this is a debut.Amazing. The characters were amazing. The plot was amazing. The world building was amazing. The end was amazing. I loved it 100 percent._____________By the way: Quadara. Really?
    more
  • Sharon
    January 1, 1970
    I got to read this in Pitch Wars and it's amazing. Love the fantasy/science fiction mash up. Looking forward to being able to purchase this!
  • Divine
    January 1, 1970
    Love that title! And while the blurb sounds very tropey for a YA Fantasy book I'm not denying that I'm excited to get my hands on this!!!!
  • Morrisa
    January 1, 1970
    This was one of the ARCs I got while I was at BookCon 2018 back in June and BOY am I glad I got it; it was totally worth the near death experience (ha ha). Thank you to Penguin Teen for having it available for us! Alright everyone, let me tell you about an amazing up-coming 2019 fantasy you’re not going to want to miss. Four Dead Queens is going to blow all of your minds. It’s not necessarily your typical fantasy; this one takes place in a futuristic kind of society where their part of the worl This was one of the ARCs I got while I was at BookCon 2018 back in June and BOY am I glad I got it; it was totally worth the near death experience (ha ha). Thank you to Penguin Teen for having it available for us! Alright everyone, let me tell you about an amazing up-coming 2019 fantasy you’re not going to want to miss. Four Dead Queens is going to blow all of your minds. It’s not necessarily your typical fantasy; this one takes place in a futuristic kind of society where their part of the world is broken into “quadrants” and each quadrant is ruled by queens. The quadrants in a way are similar to the factions of divergent, in that each society has a different way of life and different kinds of personalities associated with it.Enter Keralie, a thief who steals for her employer and makes money off of auctions. She’s tasked to steal comms that reveal the four queens deaths (however she doesn’t know this until she ends up watching them). The guy she stole from, Varin, tries to get these comms back and the two of them rush to the palace to try and assist in finding the assassin who killed the queens. However, things aren’t as quite as they seem once they get to the palace; that’s when plot twist after plot twist happens and I adored every second.I thought this book might take me some time to get into, but I was absorbed into this plot from the very first chapter. It’s a plot that keeps you intrigued as more and more POVs get added on, and also taken away. I read about half of this book on the plane ride the other day, and then plowed through the rest today because I was desperate for the ending. I actually went into this book thinking this was going to be a series and was surprised that everything ended up wrapping up nicely. If there were to be maybe other books in this world, companion novels…I would be down (cough cough @ Astrid).Despite this being a book that doesn’t let you escape, it has an AMAZING plot line. Seriously I was absolutely blown away. I think the last time I read such an excellent and well-crafted fantasy was Children of Blood and Bone or the Queen’s Rising. Four Dead Queens was just THAT good. It keeps you guessing every step of the way, and like I said, there are MULTIPLE plot twists that had me reeling. Some of the twists I had hunches would happen and others I was completely taken by surprise. Again, I loved it. Other really fun things about this book were all the different point of views. I typically do not like multiple POVs in books, and at first I was kind of annoyed by it but then as the story line began developing and we found out more information about the queens, I didn’t mind the changing views. I was here for that story and I desperately wanted more and more and more. The author leaves every chapter at a good place that keeps the reader turning the pages. This story is not boring at any point in the novel, it’s perfectly paced. A POV I wished we had was Varin’s. He was such a cinnamon roll; I wanted to know what was going on in his head. I also really liked how at the beginning of every chapter about the queens the author has the “rules” of being the four queens. My only negative comment about the book would be I wish there was a bit more info about the four quadrants. The author sprinkles it in perfectly, about certain attitudes, customs, etc of the four quadrants but I just wanted a little bit more about each for a more concise world building experience. And it was not because I found it lacking, but because I WANTED to know more. Please Astrid give us more stories in this world I NEED ITSo yeah go preorder this book THANK YOU
    more
  • Esmée
    January 1, 1970
    “Sometimes failure is the beginning of success.”★★★★★I am absolutely blown away by this book. I devoured this book in a few days as I just couldn't put it down. I stayed up late, had many reading sprints and just picked this up every moment I was able to as I kept being curious about what the next page would bring.What I enjoyed most about this book is the murder mystery part. I love watching police/detective series because I like figuring out who did it, how and why, and, without bragging, I t “Sometimes failure is the beginning of success.”★★★★★I am absolutely blown away by this book. I devoured this book in a few days as I just couldn't put it down. I stayed up late, had many reading sprints and just picked this up every moment I was able to as I kept being curious about what the next page would bring.What I enjoyed most about this book is the murder mystery part. I love watching police/detective series because I like figuring out who did it, how and why, and, without bragging, I thought I was getting pretty good at it. But I just couldn't crack the murders of the four queens. I just couldn't. The book kept putting me on the wrong leg, pushed me in the wrong directions and I kept saying ''Wait, what?''. There are twists and turns and everything is absolutely not as it seems starting on page one.Besides this book being a murder mystery, it is also a fantasy. Despite it being a stand-alone, the amount of worldbuilding is so lush and extended. The lore about how Quadara got four queens, stories about why the quadrants are the way they are, the in depth narration of how the nation looks like and how the people act on different places, I fell in love with this world. It is really a bummer this is a standalone, but I would very much like to see another book set in this world, as there seems so much left to be explored and told. As a real fantasy fanatic, I thoroughly enjoyed every page.There aren't many authors I have read so far that have this fluid and natural writing style, but Astrid Scholte is definitely on that list. The chapters weren't long, but they sure as hell were strong. The amount of deception throughout the whole bookI would really recommend this book. Anyone loving (murder) mystery or fantasy in general is surely going to enjoy this! Besides, if you want to support debuting authors, you are in for a treat with this book.This is easily one of the finer debuts I have read so far. The level of complexity of the story, the mystery surrounding the plot and the overall writing style wouldn't suggest this is someone's first book. If this book shows us Astrid's potential, it is really promising for her next work. I am very excited to read it and I am sure the wait for it is gonna be worth it!Read more reviews on my blog:https://ezziesbookshelf.wordpress.com
    more
  • bookellenic
    January 1, 1970
    "A divided nation. Four Queens, ruling together, yet apart. A ruthless pickpocket. A noble messanger. And the murders that unite them."A great debut that kept me turning the pages, until there were no more pages of the extract to turn. I found it both very promising and handling multiple perspectives well, almost seamlessly. The concept of a queendom is up and coming in fantasy literature lately and I've very keen to see how everything will pan out. My only concern with this book is that it may "A divided nation. Four Queens, ruling together, yet apart. A ruthless pickpocket. A noble messanger. And the murders that unite them."A great debut that kept me turning the pages, until there were no more pages of the extract to turn. I found it both very promising and handling multiple perspectives well, almost seamlessly. The concept of a queendom is up and coming in fantasy literature lately and I've very keen to see how everything will pan out. My only concern with this book is that it may turn out to be like many of the other young adult fantasy books out there. Nevertheless, I was definitely interested in buying the finished book and seeing for myself what it has to offer! I can tell it is going to be an entertaining read through and through.*Review based on an early sneak peek via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Christy
    January 1, 1970
    I thoroughly enjoyed this one! I loved how vivid the world of Quadara was and I loved the different POVs, it added a lot to the overall story!
  • Christina (Ensconced in Lit)
    January 1, 1970
    This is the second 2019 "fantasy" that I've read and it has the same problem as the other one (Gilded Wolves). The setup is intriguing. We have a kingdom that is ruled by 4 queens and are split up into 4 kingdoms, each with their unique culture. We know from the title that they are all killed. We have another character who is a thief but somehow she is connected to the story. The other good thing about the book is that the half of the book focusing on the queens (it alternates perspectives quite This is the second 2019 "fantasy" that I've read and it has the same problem as the other one (Gilded Wolves). The setup is intriguing. We have a kingdom that is ruled by 4 queens and are split up into 4 kingdoms, each with their unique culture. We know from the title that they are all killed. We have another character who is a thief but somehow she is connected to the story. The other good thing about the book is that the half of the book focusing on the queens (it alternates perspectives quite a bit) is interesting and I enjoyed getting to know them. I also liked the idea of setting a murder mystery in another genre. But there were several issues that got in my way of enjoying this book. The biggest issue, as with Gilded Wolves, is it tries to be too much for one book. It tries to be an Agatha Christie mystery, a fantasy with 4 huge worlds, a dystopian and a science fiction all in one. I almost wonder if the publishers are asking for more more more from these authors, and something simple and meaningful gets lost in the "more," which actually is just that. There is no time for world building. In addition, there are a bazillion perspective changes that occur like whiplash, alternating from first person to third person, and I wish the whole thing had been in third person, partly because I did not like the first person protagonist at all, and it was difficult to be in her head for half a book. The ending was too convenient and seemed to come out of nowhere. Overall, I was disappointed in this book, but know that a lot of people will love the MORE, I'm just not one of them.
    more
  • Shayna
    January 1, 1970
    I traded one of the books I got at BookCon with another attendee in order to snag this book early!Four Dead Queens is a mashup of many of the genres I love. YA/Fantasy, crime/murder mystery, and even a sprinkling of dystopian. I'm not sure if there will be a sequel but I could definitely see it going more dystopian if we got to dive into the quadrants and their inner workings more than the first book.I felt that this book was very fast-paced and rather clever with how the chapters were ordered ( I traded one of the books I got at BookCon with another attendee in order to snag this book early!Four Dead Queens is a mashup of many of the genres I love. YA/Fantasy, crime/murder mystery, and even a sprinkling of dystopian. I'm not sure if there will be a sequel but I could definitely see it going more dystopian if we got to dive into the quadrants and their inner workings more than the first book.I felt that this book was very fast-paced and rather clever with how the chapters were ordered (it really threw quite a few curve balls at me!). I went into this book thinking the queens were going to be dead immediately -- but this story really builds around the queens, their relationships, and personal "secrets" they all keep. Much of the reading time is inside the palace and focused on the queens and their rotating perspectives, actually.The other perspective we get to see is from Keralie, a thief who has the misfortune of getting tangled up in this murder mystery. Keralie was a really interesting character -- reminded me of Lila Bard a bit from ADSOM series.I think my 4 star rating, rather than a 5, comes from the actual reveal. In that section of the book things start moving REALLY fast and I think I got a bit confused about some of the details (view spoiler)[specifically, about the comm chips and the details of how they could control someone. I think I needed a more thorough description about that... maybe my own stupidity (hide spoiler)]. I also found it difficult at times to remember the facts about each quadrant, which queen was tied to which quadrant, and how that affected the queens' decisions/personalities. Again, probably a reader problem rather than the writing... I'm starting to worry about my own memory!
    more
  • B.
    January 1, 1970
    I want to begin by saying I was literally almost murdered trying to get this ARC. At the 2018 BookCON, Penguin Teen was dropping twitter hints as to a big ARC drop. I was cut off in the line to get the book by some very aggressive readers, and ended up not getting one. I was really disappointed, to say the least. I'd been waiting for quite a while, and I was so close to getting this one.At the end of the day though, I heard a little bird whisper penguin teen would be doing another quick drop of I want to begin by saying I was literally almost murdered trying to get this ARC. At the 2018 BookCON, Penguin Teen was dropping twitter hints as to a big ARC drop. I was cut off in the line to get the book by some very aggressive readers, and ended up not getting one. I was really disappointed, to say the least. I'd been waiting for quite a while, and I was so close to getting this one.At the end of the day though, I heard a little bird whisper penguin teen would be doing another quick drop of any leftover ARCS from the weekend. I lined up eagerly in hopes this was true, and guess what a super amazing booth worker handed me when the time came?Your girl got herself an ARC of Four Dead Queens.(Special shoutout to the amazing penguin teen staff working so hard that weekend!)But enough backstory, here is my full, spoiler free review of this highly anticipated 2019 release.All the points for fantasy standalonesSeriously, why are these so rare?I loved the main characterI feel like she was very real. Some sassy teen heroines are just too much. It was still a little sad to see this trope appear, but overall it wasn't annoying. (If I hadn't read a million YA books already this wouldn't be a problem haha)She struggled a lot with guilt, humanity, and betrayal. In addition, she also had to learn powerful lessons about trust and friendship that I've never seen done in such a flawless way.Something else that you realize quickly about her was that she is a criminal because she enjoyed it. Not gonna lie- this is my favorite part about her. She's a thief because she loves the thrill. As a suppressed kleptomaniac this makes me very happy to read. She's so sneaky, fierce, and creative.She also admits her flaws and mistakes. Bless.I really love the worldA land divided into four quarters where each is dedicated to preserving its culture? I loved it. Each was flawed in some ways and well developed in others, which provided an awesome and diverse cast. It was well developed. World building is huge for me- but this was done very well. Not too detailed to get you lost, but with enough information to keep you satisfied.My favorite part of the whole thing was how the land came to be ruled by four queensFour ladies were forced to become wives to the king. To put it much less eloquently than how the story went in the book- they basically said "no sir, screw you", killed the king and took his throne.Even without crowns, those original ladies are queens to me. #girlpowerOverall, the plot was very engagingI loved the combination of a fantasy world with a touch of a historical setting, sci-fi, and mystery. It left a lot up to the imagination, and kept me reading.I wasn't sold on the explanations for a few thingsI won't elaborate so you won't be spoiled, but I'm just not buying the "scientific explanation" to a couple of the technologies mentioned in the book.In addition, when some of the characters explained things, it felt a little unnatural. I feel like it may have better shown, than told through dialogue.I wasn't feeling some of the plot twistsThere was a twist at the end that wasn't floating my boat... but I won't say what. All you other readers may like it... but I felt the book would have been better without it.The villain was AWESOMEThough I didn't like them themselves, I loved their motivation. Their motivations and personality were both well written, and I really enjoyed the narrative. (Yes, we get a few chapters of that ;) )Overall, I liked itIf you enjoy mystery and sci-fi/fantasy, this would be a great item to preorder. The characters are cool, the plot engaging, and the writing is enjoyable. It isn't the most unique banana in the bunch, but is still really enjoyable.Definitely check out this debut authors website here, and be sure to sign up for her newsletter! As she is also a professional painter, the author has been releasing exclusive images of the queens in this novel. They are GORGEOUS, and you don't want to miss these reveals and her other exclusive content.
    more
  • Jena
    January 1, 1970
    “The four thrones, and their respective queens, sat in a circle around the dial. While the quadrants remained divided, the queens ruled from the same court. Together, yet apart.”Keralie Corrington is a thief. And she’s definitely a liar. Varin, on the other hand, is honest. He is an upstanding citizen from the most enlightened quadrant. Normally, their paths would never cross. Normally, they would never talk to each other. Normally, packages don’t hold the fate of an entire realm inside.When Kar “The four thrones, and their respective queens, sat in a circle around the dial. While the quadrants remained divided, the queens ruled from the same court. Together, yet apart.”Keralie Corrington is a thief. And she’s definitely a liar. Varin, on the other hand, is honest. He is an upstanding citizen from the most enlightened quadrant. Normally, their paths would never cross. Normally, they would never talk to each other. Normally, packages don’t hold the fate of an entire realm inside.When Karelie steals this package from Varin, they suddenly find themselves in the middle of a nefarious plan that finds all four Queens dead. Forced to work together, the pair must try to unravel the deadly secrets surrounding the Queens murders while staying alive themselves.“Friends? Enemies? I shrugged. “Who can tell the difference?” Apparently not me.This book has EVERYTHING I love in a novel! Royalty! Treachery! Conspiracy! MURDER!!! But my absolute FAVORITE thing about this novel, is how Scholte forced me to step back and reevaluate my entire perspective at several points during the novel. Every time I thought I knew what was going on, or predicting what was about to happen, I was absolutely DEAD WRONG! Every! Single! Time! And that skill in writing (not to mention story-telling) makes my black heart swoon in all the best ways!Scholte has created a fantasy world that feels magical, yet actually doesn’t have any magic. The technology is fantastical but rooted in science. It’s just a science far more advanced than anything we know. The result ends up being a blend of fiction that pushes the bounds of neatly defined genres. It is fantasy flirting with science fiction, but it is also a thriller rooted in a solid murder-mystery. I think that this blending of genres will end up finding a wide appeal in a huge range of readers.“But I knew that wasn’t the real reason. I wanted Varin to break free of the cage he’d put himself in, because I couldn’t break free of mine.”This story is told through a variety of perspectives. Keralie is the main voice, but we also get a chance to hear events unfold through the eyes of each Queen. This unique twist allows for Scholte to both allow the reader to develop sympathy for each Queen and their respective quadrants, but also to give us a glimpse into world building in a seamless and unencumbered way. Very quickly I felt immersed in understanding how this world worked, not just as a whole, but within each quadrant. We also got to learn some secrets that honestly only kept me guessing as to their importance all the way up to the end.I’m going to keep this review short and fanatical. Four Dead Queens doesn’t come out until February, but you do not want to miss this! It’s hard to see a hyped book and think, yeah sure, it’s all hype. I have fallen for that train many times myself. But this book is not one of those! This book will ACTUALLY DELIVER!!! Put this on your wish list and add it to your TBR. Seriously. Do it now.I was lucky enough to manage to find myself in line for this gorgeous debut at BookCon, and it was worth every single security filled moment! Thank you Penguin Teen for giving these gems out!
    more
  • Hayley
    January 1, 1970
    THANK YOU ALLEN & UNWIN FOR THE ARC, YOU TRULY ARE THE MVPS.3.5 starsI have kind of mixed feelings about this one. On the one hand, it was really good, well written, great plot and good twists, but on the other hand, I didn’t really connect that well with the characters? 😔
    more
Write a review