Storm and Fury (The Harbinger, #1)
Eighteen-year-old Trinity Marrow may be going blind, but she can see and communicate with ghosts and spirits. Her unique gift is part of a secret so dangerous that she’s been in hiding for years in an isolated compound fiercely guarded by Wardens—gargoyle shape-shifters who protect humankind from demons. If the demons discover the truth about Trinity, they’ll devour her, flesh and bone, to enhance their own powers.When Wardens from another clan arrive with disturbing reports that something out there is killing both demons and Wardens, Trinity’s safe world implodes. Not the least because one of the outsiders is the most annoying and fascinating person she’s ever met. Zayne has secrets of his own that will upend her world yet again—but working together becomes imperative once demons breach the compound and Trinity’s secret comes to light. To save her family and maybe the world, she’ll have to put her trust in Zayne. But all bets are off as a supernatural war is unleashed…

Storm and Fury (The Harbinger, #1) Details

TitleStorm and Fury (The Harbinger, #1)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 11th, 2019
PublisherInkyard Press
ISBN-139781335218797
Rating
GenreFantasy, Romance, Young Adult, Paranormal

Storm and Fury (The Harbinger, #1) Review

  • Melissa ♥ Dog/Wolf Lover ♥ Martin
    January 1, 1970
    OMG!! I love this book soooo much!! I already have the hardback preordered! Trinity is something very special and she’s living with the gargoyles so they can keep her safe and hidden. Misha is bonded to her as her guardian/protector. Some bad things start happening and another clan comes for a visit to ask for help. There is something out there killing the Wardens/Gargoyles and demons. Zayne is with the group that comes to visit and try to figure things out. Zayne, swoon! Anyhoo! As we know alwa OMG!! I love this book soooo much!! I already have the hardback preordered! Trinity is something very special and she’s living with the gargoyles so they can keep her safe and hidden. Misha is bonded to her as her guardian/protector. Some bad things start happening and another clan comes for a visit to ask for help. There is something out there killing the Wardens/Gargoyles and demons. Zayne is with the group that comes to visit and try to figure things out. Zayne, swoon! Anyhoo! As we know always happens, the person you’re hiding gets found out and is in trouble. But no one knows what kind of hell Trinity is going to bring down on everyone when they capture Misha. I’m not going into spoilers, I just want to say this book was freaking awesome with some bad ass characters. And even though Trinity is the ultimate, she has a disability so kudos for that being incorporated into the book. Trinity also has a funny sidekick type friend named Peanut that if you don’t love, there is something wrong with you!! I can’t freaking wait for the next book!! **Thank you to Netgalley and the Publisher for giving me a digital copy to review with my own opinion.**Happy Reading! Mel 🖤🐶🐺🐾MY BLOG
    more
  • Miranda Reads
    January 1, 1970
    Everything about this book draws me in - definitely one of my most anticipated reads of 2019!
  • Hilly
    January 1, 1970
    Update #2THANK YOU SO MUCH TO WHOEVER DECIDED TO MAKE THAT THE COVER OF THIS BOOK. THANK YOU FROM THE BOTTOM OF MY HEART, I STILL CAN’T BELIEVE WE ARE GETTING AN AMAZING COVER WITHOUT FACES OR NUDES ON IT! 😍Update #1I AM SO EXCITED ABOUT THIS. I CAN’T.THE SNIPPETS ARE AMAZING AND I ALREADY LOVE THE NEW MAIN CHARACTER. ALSO FINALLY ZAYNE CAN GET HIS HAPPY ENDING AND I AM SO READY FOR THAT!Fingers crossed for the cover. Please please please don’t be corny.
    more
  • Candace Robinson
    January 1, 1970
    I loved being back in this world. Yes, this is a spinoff series but I highly recommend reading the other trilogy! You know what the best thing in the world is? Gargoyles!Okay, so I'm going to start out and say I did not like this one as much as the first trilogy! While I didn't love it, I definitely liked it, though! This book is pretty big, like 535 pages! I think if the first half had been cut about 100 - 150 pages it would have helped because things really get going in the second half!Another I loved being back in this world. Yes, this is a spinoff series but I highly recommend reading the other trilogy! You know what the best thing in the world is? Gargoyles!Okay, so I'm going to start out and say I did not like this one as much as the first trilogy! While I didn't love it, I definitely liked it, though! This book is pretty big, like 535 pages! I think if the first half had been cut about 100 - 150 pages it would have helped because things really get going in the second half!Another issue is I liked Trinity, but I loved Layla more from the other trilogy, and again, it was hard for me to not compare the two. The cool thing about Trinity is she has a disability with her eyesight but she doesn't let it get the best of her! Those aspects were so amazing! Also, we do get cameos from characters from the other books and that was incredibly exciting!Let me talk about Zayne for a minute because he's such an adorable gentleman. And yes, there was some swoony scenes and yes, I'd give those all my stars. *Throws stars at that right now*There are some great action scenes as well and addicting writing! Armentrout always knows how to sprinkle in the perfect amount of humor. I love how it ended because it's open for the next book but not the deadly bomb of a cliffhanger. So I'm so very interested to see what happens next!
    more
  • Yodamom
    January 1, 1970
    Demons, Angels, Ghosts, Witches and Gargoyles oh my. I loved it ! Was it really over 500 pages ? It felt short, I was left wanting more. Sure I missed sleep and maybe a couple social functions so I could stay home and read. Don't judge it was so good. Action packed, heartwarming, heartbreaking, sexy, and interesting. The world created was unique, an slowly unraveled, no info dumping :D. It's basically about Wardens (Gargoyles), and others who protect our world from demons. When the demons get te Demons, Angels, Ghosts, Witches and Gargoyles oh my. I loved it ! Was it really over 500 pages ? It felt short, I was left wanting more. Sure I missed sleep and maybe a couple social functions so I could stay home and read. Don't judge it was so good. Action packed, heartwarming, heartbreaking, sexy, and interesting. The world created was unique, an slowly unraveled, no info dumping :D. It's basically about Wardens (Gargoyles), and others who protect our world from demons. When the demons get testy and force action by stealing a warden and killing many humans. Two characters step up and search for answers..Let's talk about Zayne the hot, sexy, kind, gentlemanly, protective, honest, loyal, gargoyle, yes I said gargoyle. This is the perfect man, and he can double as a house ornament. Seriously, this character was swoon worthy plus.Trinity a child of mixed race who is raised in a gargoyle compound and has some special skills. Her skills make her a target for some very bad things and must remain hidden. She is smart, physically strong, but suffers from a degenerative disease. This only makes her be more. She wasn't all sparkles and sunshine which I loved, she had real qualities. Trinity suffered from some bouts of immaturity, which is expected for an 18 year old.There are several wonderful supportive characters you'll meet but wait till you get to know Peanut, Peanut rocks ! I never read the series this spun off from. Sad right ? While reading it I never felt like I didn't know what was going on or like I was missing something. I own them and will be reading them very soon. I want more of this world. Where is book 2, Ms Armentrout, hurry. Thank you to the publishers for an early review copy so I can offer my honest review
    more
  • ☽ TheBibliotheque
    January 1, 1970
    “Do you want to see the stars?” Zayne asked, and I nodded emphatically, knowing what he meant, and when he took my hand, I folded my fingers over his like I had the day I’d left the community. I felt him begin to shift, his skin hardening under mine. “Then hold on tight, Trin. I’m going to get us as close as we can go.” Storm and Fury, or judging by how this book destroyed me, Storm and all the FEELS.Listen, I was anticipating this book like one awaits the rain after a hot and dry Summer. And I “Do you want to see the stars?” Zayne asked, and I nodded emphatically, knowing what he meant, and when he took my hand, I folded my fingers over his like I had the day I’d left the community. I felt him begin to shift, his skin hardening under mine. “Then hold on tight, Trin. I’m going to get us as close as we can go.” Storm and Fury, or judging by how this book destroyed me, Storm and all the FEELS.Listen, I was anticipating this book like one awaits the rain after a hot and dry Summer. And I am not talking about being excited since Armentrout dropped the news. I am talking about the fact that, a part of me, hidden in the depths of my heart, has been waiting for Zayne’s story since I put down Every Last Breath (book 3 in The Dark Elements series). I’m not going to lie, I am that person that falls for the good guy. And in The Dark Elements series, Zayne is exactly that. And my heart felt for him throughout the whole series. So I was elated when I learnt that Zayne - honorable and knightly Zayne - was getting his spin off.Little did I know, I’d get to know a new side of Zayne. And damn, little did I freaking know, I’d absolutely adore that.Like every Armentrout, Storm and Fury is filled with action, emotion, the best banter and thrilling twists and turns that kept me on the edge of my sit. This book has all the heart, the most vicious kick and the best sass. I tell you, Armentrout doesn’t seem to know how not to write a unputdownable book.Going back to the universe of Wardens and Demons was like welcoming the first day of Spring, and no, I am not being extra dramatic. It did feel like that, OKAY?Storm and Fury is Trinity and Zayne’s story. I must admit, it did start slightly slower than what I am used to for an Armentrout, but oh gosh, as soon as action kicked in, I was up to speed and ready to forget about my responsibilities so I could just keep reading. I was 100% invested in the story and particularly: in the two main characters.It’s clear since the beginning that there is a special connection between Trinity and Zayne. Something they don’t quite understand themselves and that promises to be a huge revelation at some point in their journey together. The dynamic between these two was one of my favourite things of Storm and Fury. As I said, the Zayne we get to know in The Dark Elements is still there, but there’s definitely more to him. Beneath all that stoney and righteous exterior, there’s sass, humour and snark. And the one responsible for bringing that out is Trinity. The banter was unbelievably entertaining! They had this “I don’t like you but I really really like you” thing going on that I absolutely lived for. However, despite their seemingly instant connection, both Zayne and Trinity open to each other very slowly, they don’t instantly have each other’s blind trust. Zayne comes with a huge and heavy suitcase of baggage (holy baby gargoyles did my heart hurt when that came into play) and Trinity’s character has more than one secret and hardship to beat. As a matter of fact, Trinity’s character eye disability was one of the things that made me truly admire her character. The way she overcomes and accepts her limitations are admirable and shows a strength beyond her paranormal abilities. The fact that Armentrout herself shares this with her character makes it all the most special.Phew. I don’t even know what else I can say besides the fact that I absolutely loved this book! I swooned, HARD, and it was everything I expected. I honestly don’t know how I’m going to be able to wait until book #2 is published… SPECIALLY AFTER HOW THINGS ARE LEFT BETWEEN ZAYNE AND TRINITY.And specially knowing that book #2 will be filled with one of my FAVOURITE TROPES.AND I AM HERE FOR IT.**I received a proof copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. The quote in this review may change after publication.
    more
  • Monika Sadowski
    January 1, 1970
    This was my first book by Jennifer L. Armentrout and definitely not the last one. What a great story, with a lot of secrets, Demons, Angels, Ghosts, Witches, Gargoyles and romance. Trinity is very likable character and I want to read more about her. Storm and Fury is the first book in the spinoff series of The Dark Elements. Overall, reading was easy and pleasurable. Thank you to NetGalley and Harlequin Teen and Inkyard Press for a free copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Jasmine
    January 1, 1970
    *May contain mild spoilers for The Dark Elements trilogy* [Update: Feb. 8th, 2019] This book is absolutely fantastic not only because it's the first installment of the spin-off series for The Dark Elements, where Roth (the Crown Prince of Hell) ended up with Layla (half Warden, half Demon), leaving Zayne the Warden heartbroken, but also because Zayne FINALLY met someone badass and lovely. <3 HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE DARK ELEMENTS & THIS BOOK!!!Full review coming closer to publication date.~~~ *May contain mild spoilers for The Dark Elements trilogy* [Update: Feb. 8th, 2019] This book is absolutely fantastic not only because it's the first installment of the spin-off series for The Dark Elements, where Roth (the Crown Prince of Hell) ended up with Layla (half Warden, half Demon), leaving Zayne the Warden heartbroken, but also because Zayne FINALLY met someone badass and lovely. <3 HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE DARK ELEMENTS & THIS BOOK!!!Full review coming closer to publication date.~~~~~~~*~~~~~~~~*~~~~~~~*~~~~~~~~*~~~~~~~ [UPDATE: Feb. 3rd, 2019] Okay, so it's confirmed that The Harbinger series is originated from White Hot Kiss (The Dark Elements trilogy) so the Zayne here is exactly that poor one in the said trilogy. To be real honest, I'm happy Z finally gets to have his own stories! [Initial Excitement: Jan. 25th, 2019] OMG AM I SEEING THIS RIGHT!?!?!? The Queen of Fantasy World is having another book coming this June? Just right around my birthday?! 😍😱😍😱 Besides, is this Zayne the one from The Dark Elements series?? I’m really curious!!!!!!!!!!! BUT I HONESTLY AM MORE SCARED THAN EXCITED TO READ THIS FOR FEAR THAT IT WILL DISAPPOINT ME SINCE FANTASY IS NO LONGER MY THING...
    more
  • megs_bookrack
    January 1, 1970
    Gargoyle shape-shifters protecting humans from demons.Thank you so much, Harlequin TEEN! I cannot wait to dive into this a little early.
  • Cristina | CristiinaReads
    January 1, 1970
    I was not ready... I repeat... I was not ready, not prepared for this book to destroy my mind and my body because of Zayne... GIVE ME MORE JENNIFER! ARC kindly provided by the publicist, in exchange for an honest review...Follow Me On:Blog ♕ Instagram ♕ Facebook ♕ Twitter
    more
  • Angelica
    January 1, 1970
    come on Jennifer, I'm counting on this to be one of my favorites of 2019. don't let me down! my expectations are high, my fingers are crossed, the eARC is downloaded**I received an advance copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.**Follow Me Here Too: My Blog || Twitter || Bloglovin' || Instagram || Tumblr || Pinterest
    more
  • Azrah
    January 1, 1970
    24 Oct, 2018WE HAVE A COVER! AND ITS NOT THE CORNY KIND! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU COVER PEOPLE FOR FINALLY GIVING JLA A PROPER COVER!!CRY1 June, 2018MY BABE ZAYNE IS FINALLY GETTING HIS STORY I'M CRYINGhttps://www.facebook.com/JenniferLArm... JLA: "BENEATH THE SKIN is a YA paranormal/urban fantasy that comes out in Summer 2019. You're going to recognize these characters, because it continues the world of The Dark Elements. You're going to see a lot of Zayne and definitely Roth and Layla and 24 Oct, 2018WE HAVE A COVER! AND ITS NOT THE CORNY KIND! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU COVER PEOPLE FOR FINALLY GIVING JLA A PROPER COVER!!CRY1 June, 2018MY BABE ZAYNE IS FINALLY GETTING HIS STORY I'M CRYINGhttps://www.facebook.com/JenniferLArm... JLA: "BENEATH THE SKIN is a YA paranormal/urban fantasy that comes out in Summer 2019. You're going to recognize these characters, because it continues the world of The Dark Elements. You're going to see a lot of Zayne and definitely Roth and Layla and Bambi. I posted a teaser in a bit ago from the it. That was Zayne in the scene. TEE HEE"YASSSS YASSSS YASSSSSSSSSSSSS
    more
  • Nancy The book junkie
    January 1, 1970
    Rating: 4.5/5Review coming soon!
  • Tracy ♥️♥️ Book Cravers Blog ♥️♥️
    January 1, 1970
    Holy Moly, that was a wild ride! In true PNR Jennifer Armentrout style, this book builds to a shocking pinnacle while leaving you wanting more. I am not going to add any spoilers, so my review will be brief. I loved visiting this world again and getting to see a bit of Roth, Layla and of course Zayne. The book was a bit slow in the beginning for me. but once it got going, I was fully invested in Trinity and her story. I am continuously amazed at Jennifer Aremnetrout's ability to build a PNR worl Holy Moly, that was a wild ride! In true PNR Jennifer Armentrout style, this book builds to a shocking pinnacle while leaving you wanting more. I am not going to add any spoilers, so my review will be brief. I loved visiting this world again and getting to see a bit of Roth, Layla and of course Zayne. The book was a bit slow in the beginning for me. but once it got going, I was fully invested in Trinity and her story. I am continuously amazed at Jennifer Aremnetrout's ability to build a PNR world that is so believable! There is a cliffhanger as this is going to be a series, and I love how she ends the book. Like you are resting with the characters until the next battle.
    more
  • Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤
    January 1, 1970
    WOOHOO <3❤     WOOHOO <3❤️    
  • Patty (IheartYA)
    January 1, 1970
    "Yearning blossomed inside me. Like a flower seeking sun and water, it spread its roots deep." I'm sorry. I just threw up in my mouth a little. The writing style was quite plain for such a seasoned writer, and not only had I expected much better, but she chose to take risks with sentences such as above. The first half of this book struggled with no direction and felt like a chore. I could not tell what the point was or where it was going. There were pacing issues and the story didn't pick up unt "Yearning blossomed inside me. Like a flower seeking sun and water, it spread its roots deep." I'm sorry. I just threw up in my mouth a little. The writing style was quite plain for such a seasoned writer, and not only had I expected much better, but she chose to take risks with sentences such as above. The first half of this book struggled with no direction and felt like a chore. I could not tell what the point was or where it was going. There were pacing issues and the story didn't pick up until the second half. If the book started with the intensity the second half had, I would have liked it much more. If I had read this of my own accord and not received a copy through Netgalley, I may have abandoned it after the first few chapters. Although I did like the different characters abilities, the whole demon/angel premise has been done so many times, it's "old hat" with hings of The Mortal Instruments. The long winded banter between characters was extremely annoying. I was not expecting such a steamy almost-sex scene in YA nor did I see it coming all after after beginning to read the book. The ghost seeing skill could have been developed a lot more and had the ability to be so much fun. It was almost unnecessary to the story line.I'm not sure how I feel about the ending. I'm 50% feeling like it was a cop out. I hate when an author has an amazing idea for a book but then has no clue how to wrap it up. Not sure if that was done here, or if the ending was intended from the get-go. It left me unfulfilled, feeling like it was an unnatural turn for the story. Overall, it was entertaining but unmemorable. STAR RATINGS OUT OF 5Character development: 2.5Writing style, persuasion and pacing: 2World building, atmosphere: 3Originality: 2OVERALL: 2.5, rounding up to 3Thank you to Netgalley for sending me a copy.#Netgalley#StormandFury
    more
  • Dani - Perspective of a Writer
    January 1, 1970
    Check out more reviews @ Perspective of a Writer...The BuzzI read The Problem with Forever and loved it. I always wanted to get into Jennifer L. Armentrout's more popular series. Well I finally took the plunge with this spin-off series from The Dark Elements series. I didn't realize this was a paranormal romance series but it sure ended up being a wild ride...I actually don't get the title... Storm and Fury doesn't really make sense?! And I'm not sure I even get the teal feather wing on the cove Check out more reviews @ Perspective of a Writer...The BuzzI read The Problem with Forever and loved it. I always wanted to get into Jennifer L. Armentrout's more popular series. Well I finally took the plunge with this spin-off series from The Dark Elements series. I didn't realize this was a paranormal romance series but it sure ended up being a wild ride...I actually don't get the title... Storm and Fury doesn't really make sense?! And I'm not sure I even get the teal feather wing on the cover either. As far as I can tell Layla's wings may be the closest? And there was no storm and the fury was a little half hearted. Still look at the cover... Yeah, its gorgeous! It's quite attractive and it calls for you to check out what its about. So not making sense aside, how can you NOT want this baby on your bookshelf?!The PremiseIn Storm and Fury we have a girl with limited vision trained to fight demons. She doesn't EVER use her grace but uses the methods of Wardens, shapeshifting gargoyles, to prepare for the day she'll be called upon to save the world by her otherworldly father. TBH some of this doesn't make sense. Instead of training with her grace ability active Trinity is forced to used rudimentary skills that should be hampered by her visual disability. And she is kickass! I appreciated the fight scenes she shared with Zayne and when she does inevitably use her grace. But with such a serious disability as retinitis pigmentosa she doesn't seem to struggle all that much. I wouldn't have minded this so much except much of the attacks she made were about precision targeting. Yet none of her other sense were talked about in the narrative. I have zero concerns about a blind person being kickass!!! BUT show us why the character isn't limited. What helps them rise above? I did find Trinity's concerns about her dimming vision and possible blindness quite effecting. Probably due to the fact Armentrout is #ownvoices retinitis pigmentosa. The experience of the disease reads well. But I guess our author isn't much for fighting demons in her spare time. If you look at Storm and Fury as a paranormal romance though this story kick's butt!I'm talking about Zayne, of course. You're intrigued by this warden right way. Due to the things he notices, feels and the hints about his past that are sprinkled in. I loved that this boy was a virgin, a little uncertain after his history and yet willing to do what a warden does. He makes the back and forth totally worth the experience.Because this isn't really filled with a ton of action. We spend time learning Trinity's situation, Zayne's entrance and setting up for the event that leads to changes in her life. Then we spend a lot of time with our couple as they try to locate the demon they're after. It allows for a lot of personal interaction and romantic asides but the fighting is limited. We are paid off with an epic battle and natural conclusions. It's fun girl power with romance and disability. If you enjoy demons and angels then double the reading fun.My ExperienceSince I've not read any of the books in The Dark Elements series I didn't have Layla and Roth to compare to Trinity and Zayne. I feel like that was a big deal because Roth is seriously fun. And I can see why Layla is a girl to fight over. At the same time I was filled in enough about the past that I didn't miss reading the original trilogy. And I enjoyed the differences between Trinity and Layla. Zayne was the sweet hot neighbor boy to Roth's motorcycle riding pithy bad boy as far as romantic leads are concerned but that's fine. Don't sweet neighbor characters deserve their own stories too?!TBH I don't feel like any of the plot reveals were twists. I saw each one of them coming from a mile away. I was here for the world filled with gargoyles, demons, angels, witches and ghosts. I quite enjoyed the question of what is good vs. evil. While I think this is perhaps more black and white than most people think its a worthy idea to explore. So many things in life appear one way but things aren't always how they seem.Trinity and Zayne give us a fun paranormal romance with enough conflict in their forbidden romance that I want them to succeed. They both had pretty tough childhoods and I was rooting for them to find something in the other that makes life sweeter for the battles ahead.Why may you be excited to read Storm and Fury?-GargoylesThe idea of the Wardens is fascinating. It's a rather hard world on women.-DemonsThey seem to have all the fun and we get a taste too! Especially from demons already familiar...-AngelsI enjoyed meeting Trinity's father...-GhostsPeanut is great comic relief and a neat friend.-+Romance!They get busy in the bedroom if you enjoy taking things to the next step.Storm and Fury sets us up for a mega-villain and a new couple who will need all of the allies they can gather to solve the mystery of the Harbinger. Trinity will struggle with her vision and Zayne with his duty but they'll have fun and love along the way. I'll be interested with where the next book takes them...⋆ ⋆ ⭐⭐⭐ Authenticity⋆ ⋆ ⭐⭐⭐ Writing Style⋆ ⋆ ⭐⭐⭐ Plot & Pacing⋆ ⋆ ⭐⭐⭐ World BuildingA- Cover & Title gradeThanks to NetGalley and the publisher for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review. It has not influenced my opinions.______________________You can find this review and many others on my book blog @ Perspective of a Writer. Read my special perspective under the typewriter on my reviews...Please like this review if you enjoyed it! *bow* *bow* It helps me out a ton!!
    more
  • Karishma
    January 1, 1970
    OMG OMG OMG OMGThere is a new book in one of my favourite series( way better than lux IMO) - I never expected another - this is like the craziest surprise ever.How do I wait so long!*Happy dances*
  • Meghan
    January 1, 1970
    ARC provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for honest review.People who love Cassandra Clare's novels will probably enjoy this book. I'm just looking for something different.DNF- 20% I'm sure this will be an unpopular opinion, but Storm and Fury just wasn't for me. I was super excited for this book. The summary made it sound so awesome. However, I got 20% in and the entire time I was getting The Mortal Instruments and The Dark Artifices vibe: warriors that exist in secret communitie ARC provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for honest review.People who love Cassandra Clare's novels will probably enjoy this book. I'm just looking for something different.DNF- 20% I'm sure this will be an unpopular opinion, but Storm and Fury just wasn't for me. I was super excited for this book. The summary made it sound so awesome. However, I got 20% in and the entire time I was getting The Mortal Instruments and The Dark Artifices vibe: warriors that exist in secret communities that fight lower level and higher level demons, warriors that are bonded in pairs and cannot fall in love otherwise there are serious consequences, angels that the warriors worship... I did not like The Mortal Instruments, but I thought The Dark Artifices was actually good. Despite being iffy or flat out not liking some of the books that take place in the Shadowhunter universe, I always appreciated the world that was created as it was very unique and very well thought-out. Storm and Fury just seemed like a similar but less intriguing world. To be fair, I did not get past 20%, so I don't know if the writing or storyline gets any better. I kept thinking, "Oh, this sounds familiar...maybe it's just a few similarities." Then, every 5% I got through just brought up another very familiar characteristic. There's nothing wrong with different novels being inspired by worlds that have been created and share super similar characteristics. It's just not a world I am that into.Furthermore, the dialogue and characters personalities were bland. They didn't make me feel anything or care what they were thinking or going to do next. The action scenes were pretty bland too. It was hard to visualize and left too much to the imagination.Ultimately, I think giving this book a try is worth it. Which is saying something, considering I DNFed it at 20%. The big picture of it has so much potential. I just feel that it didn't actually deliver anything in time to keep me from completely losing interest.
    more
  • MELISSA *Mel Reader*
    January 1, 1970
    (ARC provided by Harlequin TEEN)
  • Gigi H
    January 1, 1970
    DNFI'm definitely in the minority with my opinion on this one.I read A LOT of YA, and this one was just a little too juvenile and teeny bopper for me.The premise sounded great and I was excited to receive an ARC via Netgalley, but I was disappointed.The story starts off with a makeout session..which is totally fine. But this one had me rolling my eyes, particularly at the female lead (Trinity). Honestly, I felt like I was watching YTV for kids.Sorry..just not my cup of tea.Thank you Netgalley an DNFI'm definitely in the minority with my opinion on this one.I read A LOT of YA, and this one was just a little too juvenile and teeny bopper for me.The premise sounded great and I was excited to receive an ARC via Netgalley, but I was disappointed.The story starts off with a makeout session..which is totally fine. But this one had me rolling my eyes, particularly at the female lead (Trinity). Honestly, I felt like I was watching YTV for kids.Sorry..just not my cup of tea.Thank you Netgalley and Harlequin Teen for my ARC
    more
  • Amber (The Book Bratz)
    January 1, 1970
    I’m teetering between 3 and 4 stars on this one. 3.5 just doesn’t seem right? I have to give it some thought.Fans of JLA are going to love this one. I think compared to her other writing this one could have been something more and I’m a little disappointed... 😕RTC!!!
    more
  • Beth
    January 1, 1970
    LOVED IT! Full review to come shortly. I received this ARC copy of Storm and Fury from Harlequin TEEN (US & Canada) - Inkyard Press. This is my honest and voluntary review. Storm and Fury is set for publication June 11, 2019.
  • Danielle (Life of a Literary Nerd)
    January 1, 1970
    Loved seeing so many familiar faces again. And as always there's an abundance of fun and snarky dialogue - and plenty of flirting too. RTC closer to the release date!
  • Mandy
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 Stars!*I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.*STORM AND FURY is the highly anticipated first book in the brand new The Harbinger series. It's also the start of the spin off of The Dark Elements series. The story kicks off six months after the events of the original series. We are introduced to our protagonist, eighteen year old Trinity Marrow, a seemingly normal teenage human girl. However, she's anything but. Not only does Trinity live in an isolated compound fierc 4.5 Stars!*I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.*STORM AND FURY is the highly anticipated first book in the brand new The Harbinger series. It's also the start of the spin off of The Dark Elements series. The story kicks off six months after the events of the original series. We are introduced to our protagonist, eighteen year old Trinity Marrow, a seemingly normal teenage human girl. However, she's anything but. Not only does Trinity live in an isolated compound fiercely guarded by Wardens—gargoyle shape-shifters who protect humankind from demons - she also has the supernatural ability to see and communicate with ghosts and spirits. You would think that would be more than enough for a teenager to have to deal with, but Trinity also hides a dangerous secret. A secret that only a select few know. The majority of the world doesn't know how powerful she truly is - and they never must know or else it could bring dire consequences. Things get complicated though when a visiting Warden clan comes to the compound and Trinity meets Zayne. Neither of them anticipate the events that will occur because fate has brought them together. Like the saying goes: you can't escape your fate.Jennifer has done it again. She's hit it out of the park with this one. I didn't think anything could live up to The Dark Elements series for me, but this one book definitely delivered. It had it all I've come to love in Jennifer's writing. She gave us humor, action, romance, and an unforgettable story. I had so much fun getting back into this world and seeing some familiar faces. I also loved all the new characters we were introduced to - especially Peanut! I didn't even realize how much I missed being in this world until I started reading and couldn't put my e-reader down. It was that good!I've come to expect to love all the romantic relationships Jennifer writes. Zayne and Trinity were no exception. From their first meeting, I knew these two had something special. They were definitely a slow burn, with tension so thick you could cut it with a knife. And when that tension finally snapped - well, it was explosive to say the least. I can't say that I loved them more than Roth and Layla, but they have their own appeal. They were sweet, entertaining, and steamy. I gushed more than a time or two over some of the moments they shared. From the way things are left in this book, I think we are in for an angsty ride with this pair.Trinity Marrow has become one of my all time favorite JLA heroines. Jennifer was not kidding when she said Trinity is the most powerful character she's ever written. The girl was bad ass, no question about it. The best part, though, was that it wasn't just her power that made her so great. It was her inner strength. This girl has been through so much before we even got to meet her. She's had to overcome a lot. One of these things I could relate to so much. Trinity suffers from an eye disease that will eventually leave her blind in time. I, too, suffer from an eye sight condition. So a lot of what Trinity would describe she was going through, I felt so connected to. I know how much this part of Trinity's character was personal to Jennifer since she has the same condition. I'm so thankful that she wrote this in for Trinity because I definitely do think it will open people's eyes on how there is a grey area between the blind and the seeing. It's not always so obvious, not always something you see. Watching Trinity not let her condition define her was truly awe-inspiring and I cannot wait to see her journey continue in the coming books in this series!Make sure to check out STORM AND FURY when it releases June 11th!
    more
  • Mlpmom (Book Reviewer)
    January 1, 1970
    RTC!
  • Nadine
    January 1, 1970
    Storm and Fury is the first book in the spinoff series of The Dark Elements. This first book follows Trinity and Zayne. Trinity has a secret that could change the world and Zayne grapples with the events of the original trilogy.There’s always a fine line to walk when writing a spinoff series in terms of how much information to include in regards to the events of the original story. Armentrout walks this line flawlessly as the pertinent information is parceled out slowly and clearly to the reader Storm and Fury is the first book in the spinoff series of The Dark Elements. This first book follows Trinity and Zayne. Trinity has a secret that could change the world and Zayne grapples with the events of the original trilogy.There’s always a fine line to walk when writing a spinoff series in terms of how much information to include in regards to the events of the original story. Armentrout walks this line flawlessly as the pertinent information is parceled out slowly and clearly to the reader as the story progresses. I’ve read and loved the original trilogy, but it’s been awhile so my memories were quite foggy. While reading Storm and Fury, I never felt as if I was missing out on anything by not remembering the events of the original trilogy.Storm and Fury is told from Trinity’s perspectives, so readers get an in-depth look at Trinity’s genetic eye disorder that she shares with the author herself. The emotion that comes through the pages when Trinity discusses her failing eyesight is palpable.If you’re an avid of Armentrout’s work then this comparison should delight you, if not… #sorrynotsorry. The dynamic between Zanye and Trinity is reminiscent of Seth and Alex from the Covenant series. Though Zayne and Trinity aren’t as intensely sensual as Seth and Alex, their friendship, their immediate connection, and chemistry are undeniable. If I were in the prediction game, I would say Zanye and Trinity are about to get a lot more intense.What I’ve always loved about Armentrout’s fantasy novels is her perfect balance between fantasy and romance elements. Neither of the storylines takes a backseat to each other. The fantasy elements of the story are always well plotted out with rules while the romance is always alluring. Storm and Fury is no exception. The only criticism I’ll levy at the romance in this novel is that it is very much PG compared to some of her other fantasy novels. It is straddling the line between young adult and new adult, so that should come as no surprise. The only actual criticism that I have is that some of the story elements at the end of the novel are predictable. However, the direction of the story is one I was rooting for from the first few chapters when certain ideas are introduced. Sorry that I’m being vague, but spoilers. Just know, that I am 100% there for this story and am dying for the sequel.Overall, Storm and Fury is easily some of Armentrout best fantasy work.***I received and ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • ♡Julalicious Book Paradise♡
    January 1, 1970
    Original review on Julalicious Book ParadiseRead from March 15 to March 17, 2019 and from April 1st to April 2nd, 2019.I'm going to start this review with my recommendation to read the Dark Elements series before you start Storm & Fury. You could still follow along the story without it, but I think you should totally get immerse into the series that introduced us to this world before plunging into this gem.So now let's get this review started even though I am lost for words at how to describ Original review on Julalicious Book ParadiseRead from March 15 to March 17, 2019 and from April 1st to April 2nd, 2019.I'm going to start this review with my recommendation to read the Dark Elements series before you start Storm & Fury. You could still follow along the story without it, but I think you should totally get immerse into the series that introduced us to this world before plunging into this gem.So now let's get this review started even though I am lost for words at how to describe how much I love this story without spoiling this for anyone, but I will try to tell you just why I loved this book.Okay let's start with our Heroine, Trinity Marrow. She has an kickass personally and she definitely can kick ass. She is more often than not talking without a filter which was just making this book more interesting because she wasn't really afraid to speak her mind. She is torn between her dreams of doing normal things and waiting to be call for her Duty. But she will take every opportunity she can to surpass herself no matter what. She might be going blind, but she's far from helpless and I really liked that her character wasn't feeling disable because of it; she used it to improve her other skills and she didn't let it stop her one bit.Now onto Zayne, if you have read the Dark Elements, you already know about Zayne, but let's just say that I'm so happy that he finally gets his book. I really wanted him to have more and I was praying for Jen to write more about his character and she just didn't give us a short story or standalone, she's giving us at least a trilogy and I couldn't be happier. Okay back to Zayne... You could tell that his past still affected his decisions, but he still had this urge to protect. The difference now is probably how right and wrong aren't as black and white as he used to believe. You can tell that he's still trying to deal with everything that happened and upon meeting Trinity, it seems that he's getting more than he bargain for.Honestly, these two together were just a perfect match. I think she's exactly what he needed to regain a bit of what he lost when everything changed for him and he steadies her when she's ready to do something recklessly.Add characters who keep things interesting, events that will keep you on your toe until they reach their climax and you have a winning story.Overall, this book simply has everything to hook you in from the first lines and you won't be able to put it down for a second. Once again, Jen has created characters that simply suck you into their world and you just don't want to let them go. I highly recommend this book to everyone. I think this is an amazing start to a new promising series.I was giving an advanced copy of this book in exchange of an honest review.
    more
  • Sage Elizabeth
    January 1, 1970
    HOW DID I NOT KNOW THAT THE DARK ELEMENTS (ONE OF MY FAVORITE SERIES OF 2018) WAS GETTING A SPIN OFF SERIES!?!?!
  • Donna
    January 1, 1970
    I was so excited to be back in the world of Gargoyles! This is book 1 in The Harbinger series, spinoff from The Dark Elements Series. I was a bit disappointed at first, sorry to say. The book started pretty slow. It’s a long book, over 500 pages. And the first half of the book took place in one spot, at the compound where Trinity lives. It picked up when she left with Zayne to Washington DC and stayed with him. Oh.....yeah....it reaaaalllyyy picked up then!!! Lol!!Ok...so Trinity (the book is to I was so excited to be back in the world of Gargoyles! This is book 1 in The Harbinger series, spinoff from The Dark Elements Series. I was a bit disappointed at first, sorry to say. The book started pretty slow. It’s a long book, over 500 pages. And the first half of the book took place in one spot, at the compound where Trinity lives. It picked up when she left with Zayne to Washington DC and stayed with him. Oh.....yeah....it reaaaalllyyy picked up then!!! Lol!!Ok...so Trinity (the book is told in only her voice) is an interesting character. It took me a little while to warm up to her, she’s not Layla, but I did. She’s pretty cool. She has a disability, Retinitis Pigmentosa, where the amount of vision she has will get less and less until she could someday go blind. There’s more to it than that, but it gets complicated. But the cool thing with Trinity is she doesn’t let it get the best of her. She’s learned to compensate, and can fight and jump rooftop to rooftop. She walks around and interacts with people and they have no idea what she is struggling with. That’s pretty superhero-ish if you ask me! Anyway Trinity and her mom were brought to the gargoyle compound and kept there to be protected. But Trinity’s mom had been killed when she was young, so they still kept and protected and trained Trinity. Trinity is special. She sees ghosts, she even helps them to pass on. But there’s something more...Zayne, Nicolai and Dez show up at the compound and Zayne and Trinity’s story begins. It got more interesting once Zayne showed up. Holy smokes, Zayne was awesomely wonderful in this book!! And the steamy parts of this book are nice & toe curling steamy!! We get to see Roth & Layla, and the rest of Zayne’s clan. It was fun seeing old friends from The Dark Elements series. Oh! We even got to see Bambi! Love Bambi ❤️The second half of the book got much more exciting, and as the book went on it got more and more exciting, with lots of twists and turns!! So don’t get discouraged if you find the beginning kind of slow. Hang in there, it is going to pick up!! I am really looking forward to book 2!!!
    more
Write a review