Circle of the Moon (Soulwood, #4)
Set in the same world as Faith Hunter's New York Times bestselling Jane Yellowrock novels, the fourth Soulwood novel stars Nell Ingram, who channels her power from the earth.Nell can draw magic from the land around her, and lately she's been using it to help the Psy-Law Enforcement Division, which solves paranormal crimes. Joining the team at PsyLED has allowed her to learn more about her powers and the world she always shunned--and to find true friends.   Head agent Rick LaFleur shifts into a panther when the moon calls him, but this time, something has gone wrong. Rick calls Nell from a riverbank--he's naked, with no memory of how he came to be there, and there's a dead black cat, sacrificed in a witch circle and killed by black magic, lying next to him.   Then more animals turn up dead, and team rushes to investigate. A blood-witch is out to kill. But when it seems as if their leader is involved in the crime, the bonds that hold the team together could shatter at any moment.

Circle of the Moon (Soulwood, #4) Details

TitleCircle of the Moon (Soulwood, #4)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseFeb 26th, 2019
PublisherAce
Rating
GenreFantasy, Urban Fantasy, Paranormal, Magic, Vampires, Romance, Shapeshifters

Circle of the Moon (Soulwood, #4) Review

  • Robin (Bridge Four)
    January 1, 1970
    Circle of the Moon ties in more with the Jane Yellowrock world that the prior books of this series have. I’ve read all the Jane books so I was up to speed but I think I’ve forgotten some of the details from the Dark Queen because there would be conversations and I’d scratch my head wondering why no one can even get a hold of Jane or anyone else in the Yellowrock clan. It was a little distracting but I think that if you haven’t read the other series you will be fine and get most of what is going Circle of the Moon ties in more with the Jane Yellowrock world that the prior books of this series have. I’ve read all the Jane books so I was up to speed but I think I’ve forgotten some of the details from the Dark Queen because there would be conversations and I’d scratch my head wondering why no one can even get a hold of Jane or anyone else in the Yellowrock clan. It was a little distracting but I think that if you haven’t read the other series you will be fine and get most of what is going on in this book.Rick is more the focus of this book as there is a witch out there laying curses and they seem to be targeting Rick specifically. Now I fall into the Rick you are a dirty bastard stay away from Jane camp and so it was strange to feel some sympathy for him. He is put through the ringer in this and we finally learn what is really up with those Tattoos on his chest. I did feel bad for Rick in this, he isn’t my favorite guy but what was done to him and the consequences in this book did lead to a lot of sympathy.Nell is great as always. She is getting more and more involved with Unit 18 and becoming even more important to the team. It was also good to see that she needs a little time to adjust back into her life after being a tree for six months. Occam too has some healing to do after Nell saved him in the last book and I was so glad to see that he wasn’t magically all better. Occam has a lot of scars and while yes they get better every time he shifts they are still grotesque at the moment but that doesn’t diminish Nell’s attraction to him one bit. I was so happy that there was a little movement on the relationship front between the two of them and Occam absolutely made me swoon for him in this book. “I love you, Nell, sugar. I love you with no demands. Nothing held back. I love you to the exclusion of all others. I love you now, when you are the most beautiful woman I’ve ever seen. I loved you when you were a tree. I will love you when you grow gray haired and your leaves are brittle and brown. I want to make love to you. When you happen to be ready. When you know you love me that exact same way.” The curse unit 18 is trying to fight off is a big one and I was nervous for our crew, especially Rick. Besides fighting off foreign vamps and a dark witch Nell is also trying to figure out how to have custody of her half-sister Mudd who is also treeish at times.There were some really cool developments with the vampire tree of the prior books and Nell showed some great strength in the final fight of this book. I sometimes wonder if Nell is part Fae and if the more blood she feeds into Soulwood the closer the faery realm comes to that part of the world. Just a thought. Other than possibly being a little too tied into the happenings in the Jane Yellowrock series Curse of the Moon really delivered and it is my favorite Faith Hunter series. I, like Mudd am looking forward to seeing if Nell and Occum have babies with they will be kittens, or plant-babies, or seeds with cat faces and fur. Come one I know that is what you all are thinking about too.
    more
  • Steven
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to Netgalley and Berkley publishers for the advanced copy in exchange for an honest review.First and foremost: SPOILER WARNING! The Soulwood series is a spinoff of the Jane Yellowrock series and takes place in the same world. The books are publishing in alternating sequence, and as such, this book (Soulwood #4) takes place after the events of Dark Queen (Jane #12) and has MASSIVE spoilers for Dark Queen. So please be aware! My review, though, will be as spoiler free as possible.Faith, you Thanks to Netgalley and Berkley publishers for the advanced copy in exchange for an honest review.First and foremost: SPOILER WARNING! The Soulwood series is a spinoff of the Jane Yellowrock series and takes place in the same world. The books are publishing in alternating sequence, and as such, this book (Soulwood #4) takes place after the events of Dark Queen (Jane #12) and has MASSIVE spoilers for Dark Queen. So please be aware! My review, though, will be as spoiler free as possible.Faith, you are a master of the long game! You rival even Leo Pellissier! The story of this one involves history we've seen before AND new plot, all mixed together into an epic installment of Soulwood.We see growth (plant pun intended!) in Nell and her relationships - her relationship with herself, with the Church, with Mud, with Occam, with her team, with the new higher up, with the Knoxville vamps, with her land and the vampire tree...I love Faith's world, and seeing how all the paras' worlds interact with each other. This one really led to some clashing with the worlds of vampires, witches, weres, and PsyLed all racing head-on to a fiery finish. Nell's powers yet again intrigue me, and we see that maybe, just maybe, she's not the only woodsy-woman around. We get Nell finding her place on the team. We get a new character thrown into the mix with some interesting implications for the future.But I do have one favor to ask. Faith, can Rick get a break at some point? He's suffered sooooo long.Anyways, I can't think of much more to say that wouldn't spoil too much. Pick this one up. If you're not up to date, go read Jane and Nell first. :)THE COVER IS SO PRETTY
    more
  • Beth
    January 1, 1970
    Every once in a while, you come across a series that you just can’t get enough of…Circle of the Moon is part of one of those series.Nell is now a member of the Psy-LED. Even though she is a rooky, she is a superior detective. Now she must uncover who is calling Rick and causing all the deaths around them.Hunter knows how to write UF. She catapults the reader right into her UF world. Strong plot, engaging mystery and marvelous characters, I just can’t get enough. I loved it. I love how Nell has e Every once in a while, you come across a series that you just can’t get enough of…Circle of the Moon is part of one of those series.Nell is now a member of the Psy-LED. Even though she is a rooky, she is a superior detective. Now she must uncover who is calling Rick and causing all the deaths around them.Hunter knows how to write UF. She catapults the reader right into her UF world. Strong plot, engaging mystery and marvelous characters, I just can’t get enough. I loved it. I love how Nell has evolved. Hunter has perfectly melded an amazing urban fantasy with a superbly crafted mystery to entice, engage and mystify the reader, holding them captive for each and every word. I received this ARC copy of Circle of the Moon from Berkley Publishing Group - Ace. This is my honest and voluntary review. Circle of the Moon is set for publication Feb. 26, 2019.My Rating: 5 starsWritten by: Faith HunterSeries: A Soulwood Novel Sequence in Series: Book 4Mass Market Paperback: 400 pagesPublisher: Ace Publication Date: February 26, 2019ISBN-10: 0399587942ISBN-13: 978-0399587948Genre: Urban FantasyAmazon: https://www.amazon.com/Circle-Soulwoo...Barnes & Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/circ...Itunes: https://itunes.apple.com/sv/book/circ...
    more
  • Ian
    January 1, 1970
    I was going to rate this book 3 Stars. I was thinking, 'Yeah it's good but I've been there and done that a dozen times before'.But thinking about it, I'm not being fair. I'm a prodigious reader and I'm in pretty good company here. There are people on GR who make me look like an illiterate hillbilly. And I guess that's the problem. Circle of the Moon really is great. Yeah I've read a lot of books that were every bit as good but that doesn't take anything from this book. If you're in the mood for I was going to rate this book 3 Stars. I was thinking, 'Yeah it's good but I've been there and done that a dozen times before'.But thinking about it, I'm not being fair. I'm a prodigious reader and I'm in pretty good company here. There are people on GR who make me look like an illiterate hillbilly. And I guess that's the problem. Circle of the Moon really is great. Yeah I've read a lot of books that were every bit as good but that doesn't take anything from this book. If you're in the mood for vampires, werewolves and witches, Circle of the Moon is the book for you.
    more
  • Minx -The Genre Minx Book Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    Nell is back in Circle of the Moon and though her road to self-discovery has not been an easy one, it has been so worthwhile. In spite of the fact that she still has some struggles departing from the teachings from her upbringing, she has truly stepped out on her own in this story and I am loving her evolution. It is so endearing to see how she and the members of Unit Eighteen of PSY-LED have bonded over the course of this series. They will need that bond in order to survive what takes place in Nell is back in Circle of the Moon and though her road to self-discovery has not been an easy one, it has been so worthwhile. In spite of the fact that she still has some struggles departing from the teachings from her upbringing, she has truly stepped out on her own in this story and I am loving her evolution. It is so endearing to see how she and the members of Unit Eighteen of PSY-LED have bonded over the course of this series. They will need that bond in order to survive what takes place in this story because many things they have took for granted are going to be tested.Despite never being the biggest fan of Nell’s boss, Rick, this story has gone far in changing my feelings towards his character. There is a huge mystery element in this story and it surrounds Rick, although no one is truly sure if it is a coincidence or intended. There is much that is explained throughout this book that puts his character’s history into a different light and I really had my fingers crossed for him. As the plot thickened, so to speak, Rick’s past would bring about unintended consequences to those closest to him and would also bring his self-control to the breaking point.Nell has always been at a loss for understanding what she was capable of because she had no true definition for what kind of paranormal she was other than being considered a “one-off” by the higher ups. Through trial and error, she has learned much and up to this point she has kept many of her abilities secret because she was unsure what would happen if others were truly aware of her abilities. As events take place that bring an unforeseen danger to all those that Nell cares about, she embraces her abilities despite her fears of the truth coming out and what she manages to accomplish was extremely exciting, amazing, and mind-blowing in its reach.I believe that this book is a real turning point for Nell’s character on both a paranormal and personal level. There was a bit of a romance that takes place in this story that is so very swoon worthy, it was everything I was hoping for! The Soulwood series just keeps getting better and better! The character development throughout this series has been nothing short of phenomenal and every single book spins a tale that has me burning through the pages. I have truly become addicted to this series and the characters within it! Circle of the Moon is an urban fantasy that is a must-read addition to your TBR pile!This review is based on a complimentary book I received from NetGalley. It is an honest and voluntary review. The complimentary receipt of it in no way affected my review or rating.Find this review and more at The Genre Minx Book Reviews
    more
  • Laura *Little Read Riding Hood*
    January 1, 1970
    Dec 8, 2018: Man that was so good. So. Good. I will listen to the audio when it comes out. I love this world.Jan 10, 2019: I finished this book about a month ago, and I think I can be coherent enough now in a review that it wouldn't be all gifs. Maybe. The bond Nell has with her team has grown strong over the series, and that really shows in this book. I have loved watching her develop distinct relationships with each person, and especially love her with Occam and Rick. Occam because he is just Dec 8, 2018: Man that was so good. So. Good. I will listen to the audio when it comes out. I love this world.Jan 10, 2019: I finished this book about a month ago, and I think I can be coherent enough now in a review that it wouldn't be all gifs. Maybe. The bond Nell has with her team has grown strong over the series, and that really shows in this book. I have loved watching her develop distinct relationships with each person, and especially love her with Occam and Rick. Occam because he is just SO sweet on her and patient, considering her background. Rick because even though he is her boss, she doesn't have any trouble putting him in his place. She has finally realized she is a strong person and is not afraid to let everyone know it. Poor Rick has ... well, not had a streak of luck in a while. Without giving anything away, his luck doesn't seem to be turning yet. I am so glad he has the team and Nell to support him, because otherwise I don't think he would be able to handle life. We really get to see he hasn't been dealing with things well at all throughout this story, and the team really does try and rally around him, while still respecting his authority. I also love how Ms. Hunter develops Nell's relationship with her family. It is strained, but both sides really want to make it work, and you can tell everyone is trying. It is real and they struggle and make mistakes, but it is 100% believable because of that. I also love how fiercely protective she is of her little sister. Basically, I just love this book and this series. This was the first one I read rather than listened to, and I have already pre-ordered the audio version and will listen to that when it is released. I will probably re-listen to the entire series. And may even go back and listen to the Skinwalker books too, all in chronological order. They are just that good.
    more
  • Brenda Rezk
    January 1, 1970
    Circle of the Moon is the fourth book in the Soulwood series. Set in the Jane Yellowrock universe, the events in this book take place after Dark Queen, so there are big spoilers for that book in this one!Nell Ingram is still a probationary officer in Unit Eighteen of PSY-LED, the US law-enforcement agency covering crimes involving non-humans, aka supernaturals. Unit Eighteen is based in Knoxville, TN, where some unusual witch circles have been showing up. It isn't clear what the circles are inte Circle of the Moon is the fourth book in the Soulwood series. Set in the Jane Yellowrock universe, the events in this book take place after Dark Queen, so there are big spoilers for that book in this one!Nell Ingram is still a probationary officer in Unit Eighteen of PSY-LED, the US law-enforcement agency covering crimes involving non-humans, aka supernaturals. Unit Eighteen is based in Knoxville, TN, where some unusual witch circles have been showing up. It isn't clear what the circles are intended to do, but it can't be good with the blood magic involved. Other things start happening, as well. Are they coincidences? Separate cases?This novel is jam-packed with mystery, action, and danger. There is friendship, family, romance, and betrayal. And, of course, continual character-development is a hallmark of Faith Hunter's writing.Those who haven't read the Jane Yellowrock series will be just fine with the background information that Ms. Hunter provides; however, readers of that series will be thrilled with how Hunter has once again played the long game and pulled together threads that were laid down long ago. You'll get the most out of this book if you review Rick's time line from the Jane Yellowrock series, paying particular attention to an early short story that can be found in Blood in Her Veins, and elsewhere. Heck, there are so many subtle references to past events and characters that I'm itching to go back and read both series again! What a ride!
    more
  • Thomas
    January 1, 1970
    A solid 3 1/2 stars for the latest installment Faith Hunter's terrific spinoff from the Jane Yellowrock series. This one doesn't disappoint as Nell Ingram is forced to dig deep within herself and the power of Soulwood to defeat another horrible abomination. The other characters continue to move forward and have breakthroughs of their own. The story, like all such adventures in this universe, is filled with action and a lot of puzzle-solving along the way. There's plenty of PsyLED in this one and A solid 3 1/2 stars for the latest installment Faith Hunter's terrific spinoff from the Jane Yellowrock series. This one doesn't disappoint as Nell Ingram is forced to dig deep within herself and the power of Soulwood to defeat another horrible abomination. The other characters continue to move forward and have breakthroughs of their own. The story, like all such adventures in this universe, is filled with action and a lot of puzzle-solving along the way. There's plenty of PsyLED in this one and we really get to see the team in action to solve the case. Nell gets to show her stuff as a full-fledged agent.I've noticed a certain pattern in the stories. We get hints early on of the enemy's activity and, as the book progresses, we get a greater and greater sense of just how powerful and monstrously evil the enemy is, as well as the scale of the conspiracy. This all leads up to an explosive finale where our hero has to discover new levels of power within herself in order to win the day. It could get repetitive, but Faith Hunter does a terrific job of coming up with new and interesting villains and scenarios. I'm not complaining.It seems to me that not only is Nell growing in power, but her empire continues to spread as she claims more land. She's now unopposed within her territory and seems to have the vampire tree in hand and onside while she continues to gain ground with her family as well as successfully deal with challenges from her old church. Makes me wonder what kind of apocalypse is on the way that will require Nell to move forward from here.Stay tuned.
    more
  • Mitticus
    January 1, 1970
    starting to irk me that the authors insist that I should feel pity for some hateful characters.(cofilonacofandnowhuntercof)_RTC_
  • Douglas Meeks
    January 1, 1970
    This 4th book of the series was a bit harder to review than the others for me, it was more of a police procedural at heart than some of the others since several subplots revolved around a mystery that we get to observe being solved a bit at a time. Add that to the fact that Nell is like no other heroine in modern fiction it makes it hard to do any comparisons.There is the usual mix of things like the continuing romance with Occam that gets the flame turned up just a bit, the always tenacious rel This 4th book of the series was a bit harder to review than the others for me, it was more of a police procedural at heart than some of the others since several subplots revolved around a mystery that we get to observe being solved a bit at a time. Add that to the fact that Nell is like no other heroine in modern fiction it makes it hard to do any comparisons.There is the usual mix of things like the continuing romance with Occam that gets the flame turned up just a bit, the always tenacious relations with the "churchpeople" and the efforts to make a home that will allow her to officially move her sister Mud in with her. Let us not forget Rick who plays a major part in this book (and for those of us who are Jane Yellowrock fans, we get to revisit some things we might have forgotten about along with a few new details).It all starts with Rick finding himself in a place and no idea how he got there, as i mentioned the story goes along, giving you more information of what the mystery is all about and then feeding you bits of clues that eventually reveal the truth but then you have a massive evil you have to deal with and we don't really want Nell turning back into a stump again :)It was a wild ride, as with most of the books there are several subplots that go along with the main plot and make this book/series even more entertaining since after 4 books I cannot imagine it without all these little things that entertain you between major moves on the main plot. You know, the little things like kidnapping, vampire trees, the fact there seems to be some kind of plant people in the family tree, little things like that to go along with the mixture of "churchpeople" that either love her, ignore her or want to burn her at the stake :) Never a dull moment in Nell's world and it makes for exceptional reading.
    more
  • Anne - Books of My Heart
    January 1, 1970
    This review was originally posted on Books of My Heart Review copy was received from NetGalley. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.  Robin and I discussed our ideas and I am paraphrasing them. I couldn't have done this without her. I really needed to talk things out because there were some confusing aspects.   The Soulwood series  is urban fantasy so I would definitely read these in order to not be lost. We debated about whether one needs to read the Jane This review was originally posted on Books of My Heart Review copy was received from NetGalley. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.  Robin and I discussed our ideas and I am paraphrasing them. I couldn't have done this without her. I really needed to talk things out because there were some confusing aspects.   The Soulwood series  is urban fantasy so I would definitely read these in order to not be lost. We debated about whether one needs to read the Jane Yellowrock series  (we both have) but I think you could just read the novella Cat Tats,  or read it as part of the anthology of shorts Blood in Her Veins, and it would be fine. Robin had read all the books but not the novellas. I really think one should make an effort to read at least Cat Tats in advance.  Robin and I were both distracted by wondering about certain things on the Jane side, while reading.As much as we have hated Rick in the past, we almost felt sorry for him. He's having all kinds of problems and it isn't even the full moon.  Once the villains are known, Rick is actually kind to them, protective of them, even when we know they are lying.  With Rick showing a much softer side and not seeming like so much a dick, there is room for the new D I C (Dick in Charge) in Firewind.The investigation into what is happening with the circles is handled really well considering all the secrets. I mean - way too many secrets. Rick has secrets; Nell has secrets; Margot has secrets. The witches have fled, rather than help. Nell has trouble contacting Jane or the Youngers or anyone who might provide more information.Nell is also getting ready for Mud to live with her. It means some upgrades to the house. She also needs to find someone to care for her when Nell is at work. I was severely worried about Mud's safety several times because she was NOT safe at Nell's office or home or with the church family. Because of course, some churchmen are still into their way of the polygamous cult. I didn't feel Nell gave this enough attention.Nell also worried us because she continues to use her own talents without knowing the consequences and does too many things without backup.We both understand how she doesn’t want to share her secrets or in some cases cede control but if you are going to be on a law enforcement team, you must have backup.Nell is broken in a lot of ways due to her childhood growing up in the polygamist church. She is still so innocent in the ways of love and real world courtship, so it is incredibly cute and semi-frustrating, since we just want her and Occam to kiss.  Occam was adorable in his declaration of love for Nell. We loved it and thought it was absolutely perfect. She needed someone to take the reins but also to give her control, since she has never really had that.Circle of the Moon seems to be a turning point of sorts.   There are changes for Rick, Nell, Mud, Unit 18, and on Jane's side of things.   We're fascinated to see where things will go with cases and how connected they are to Jane.  Faith Hunter And Her Heavy Drinkers It’s no secret that I have a drinking problem. Tea addiction is not always a pretty thing.  Like coffee drinkers, I drag out of bed, stumble down the stairs, and go straight to the pot. Tea pot, not the currently illegal kind. I usually go through a pot of good chai with peri-peri peppers, stevia, and cream (the real stuff, not the powdered or chemical or palm oil stuff, thank you very much) before lunch.  In fact, tea is my breakfast. It’s also my desert after supper when I tend to dive into the herbal, non-caffeinated kind. Because I do like to sleep at night.My characters tend to be heavy drinkers too. It’s one of the few ways my characters are like me. There’s Jane Yellowrock with her strong, caffeinated tea—the good kind as well as the comfort kind, with Cool Whip or aerosol  whipped cream in a can. It sounds gross, but if you’re out of cream, it works. Nell Ingram of the Soulwood series, tends to take after night-time me with a good herbal.Nell has an appreciation for medicinal herbals, probably she grew up in a polygamous cult where the members (especially the women) saw little modern medical help, and used natural substances to treat their medical complaints.  Nell is also not human anymore, being part tree. Yeah, you read that right. Nell Ingram is part tree, so it makes sense she’d like herbal teas, right? Being part tree doesn’t get in the way of her job at PsyLED (the Psychometric Law Enforcement Division of Homeland Security) however, because Unit Eighteen is composed mostly of paranormals, like her coffee-drinking boss, Rick LaFleur, who has moon-called problems of his own.Rick is Nell’s boss, and Jane’s ex, and he’s pretty much addicted to caffeine in the form of Community Coffee Dark French Roast, and because of his addiction, he’s shared that lovely coffee with his team. They all like it, even Nell, when she’s pulling an all-nighter.  It’s the coffee I used to drink when I had a coffee addiction of my own, because the best coffee is Louisiana coffee. Seriously. It’s a gateway drug.So. Got tea?Faith 
    more
  • John Colley
    January 1, 1970
    OutstandingLove anything by Faith Hunter and this was no different. You do need to have read the previous books and the church lingo is a bit of a challenge. No spoilers but trees can be scary!
  • Lisa Miller
    January 1, 1970
    As other reviewers have said, there are spoilers for the 12th book in her Jane Yellowrock series, Dark Queen. It is strongly suggested you read this book AFTER having read that one. It might also be a good idea to read the short story, Cat Tats before this one, as many of the events in that story are also referenced in Circle of the Moon. (Personally, I had to read all of the novels and short stories/novellas/novelettes. I would have felt incomplete if I had not.)I met Nell Ingram for the first As other reviewers have said, there are spoilers for the 12th book in her Jane Yellowrock series, Dark Queen. It is strongly suggested you read this book AFTER having read that one. It might also be a good idea to read the short story, Cat Tats before this one, as many of the events in that story are also referenced in Circle of the Moon. (Personally, I had to read all of the novels and short stories/novellas/novelettes. I would have felt incomplete if I had not.)I met Nell Ingram for the first time in the short story, Off the Grid, and fell in love with her just as quickly as I did with Jane. After I finished the Jane Yellowrock series (at the suggestion of my husband), I decided to start reading the Soulwood series and follow Nell's adventures. When the opportunity to read an Advance Review Copy of the latest in that series presented itself, I jumped at it. I knew I would love it but I had no idea how much. Picking up soon after where we left off in Flame in the Dark, this novel fills in some blanks and sends Nell and the whole team from PsyLED Unit 18 on a new adventure, investigating mysterious witch circles which have appeared all over the place. (No spoilers here.)I was drawn into the story from page one. It has been such a pleasure to see the development of all of the characters and their relationships. Even Nell's relationship with her land and her abilities has evolved and it has been exciting to watch her grow into herself and those abilities. I will not add any spoilers, but I do want to encourage all readers to pick up Faith Hunter's books and allow her to draw you into her world. You will not be disappointed. Action, adventure, humor, romance, conflict, vampires, witches, were-creatures. Faith takes all those elements and brilliantly draws an exquisite picture and makes you fall completely in love with all of her characters and locations. Circle of the Moon is no exception. I am always eagerly awaiting to read the next thing to come from Ms. Hunter's imagination.
    more
  • Cory Williams
    January 1, 1970
    I was given a few days with an ARC in exchange for a fair and honest review. First, if you are reading the Jane Yellowrock novels, read Dark Queen before picking this book up. There are major spoilers for that story in this book. If you are not a Jane reader, it gives you the information needed to understand what is going on outside of Knoxville that impacts the community, as we have seen in the previous novels.Circle of the Moon is a fantastic addition to this series. It continues to show the c I was given a few days with an ARC in exchange for a fair and honest review. First, if you are reading the Jane Yellowrock novels, read Dark Queen before picking this book up. There are major spoilers for that story in this book. If you are not a Jane reader, it gives you the information needed to understand what is going on outside of Knoxville that impacts the community, as we have seen in the previous novels.Circle of the Moon is a fantastic addition to this series. It continues to show the character development that has defined Soulwood since the first book. It is nice to see characters and their relationships continuing to evolve, both on and off the page. This book resolves some mysteries readers have wondered about for several books, and includes the beginning of some new storylines to keep readers wanting more.​
    more
  • RachelW (BamaGal)
    January 1, 1970
    Okay, I like this series, and I like Nell. She’s a breath of fresh air in this UF world. I enjoy reading about her background, para talents, and life. That being said, it took me four weeks to get through this book; not because I didn’t enjoy it, overall I did. However, I wanted the storyline to be more linear as to Unit 18 and the witch circles case being investigated. The plot wandered a bit, and into far too many subplots. The biggest issue for me was the dependence on the ‘Jane Yellowrock’ s Okay, I like this series, and I like Nell. She’s a breath of fresh air in this UF world. I enjoy reading about her background, para talents, and life. That being said, it took me four weeks to get through this book; not because I didn’t enjoy it, overall I did. However, I wanted the storyline to be more linear as to Unit 18 and the witch circles case being investigated. The plot wandered a bit, and into far too many subplots. The biggest issue for me was the dependence on the ‘Jane Yellowrock’ series. I get that they are set in the same world and have characters and subplots that overlap; but this series really needs to develop its own identity.Like ‘Dark Queen’ (JY series), this was a little convoluted and wordy…and contains spoilers to ‘Dark Queen’. You definitely want to read that one before you tackle this book. 3.5 Stars; and that’s mostly because I ❤️ Nell.
    more
  • Carol Van horn
    January 1, 1970
    This was a re-read and I now love this series even more!!!!!!
  • Tracy
    January 1, 1970
    I received this ARC for an honest review. This is not a stand alone book. I love how Nell grows through this series. She developed more self confidence, and you want to yell YES! Nell is learning how to manage having her younger sister Mudd and her job at the same time. Nell and Occam’s relationship is changing....how? You must read the book. In this book, Ming of Glass, the MOC of Knoxville, is being attacked. Nell and the spook group must find out why. Also, someone is targeting Rick LaFleur t I received this ARC for an honest review. This is not a stand alone book. I love how Nell grows through this series. She developed more self confidence, and you want to yell YES! Nell is learning how to manage having her younger sister Mudd and her job at the same time. Nell and Occam’s relationship is changing....how? You must read the book. In this book, Ming of Glass, the MOC of Knoxville, is being attacked. Nell and the spook group must find out why. Also, someone is targeting Rick LaFleur the leader of the spook group. Faith Hunter leads us through twist and turns and you will love every minute! I highly recommend!
    more
  • Anna Fox
    January 1, 1970
    This book takes place after Dark Queen. If you read both series, you will want to read DQ before you read this book. This book continues to develop Nell, her relationship with Occam, the team and gives more information on Rick. It took me a couple of books to get into this series, but I am enjoying the series immensely now. Faith's books are complex enough that I'm thinking I'll need to go back and reread them to remind myself of what has happened. Thank you to the publisher and NetGalley for th This book takes place after Dark Queen. If you read both series, you will want to read DQ before you read this book. This book continues to develop Nell, her relationship with Occam, the team and gives more information on Rick. It took me a couple of books to get into this series, but I am enjoying the series immensely now. Faith's books are complex enough that I'm thinking I'll need to go back and reread them to remind myself of what has happened. Thank you to the publisher and NetGalley for the eARC I received in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Linda Alcorn-burg
    January 1, 1970
    I loved the fact that I got the chance to read this ARC. The series is amazing and I can't wait to leave a review of this latest book in the series on the release date. You will not be disappointed with this novel.
  • Jeanny
    January 1, 1970
    Pre-ordered the audible version.A tedious book with the heavy handed goal of making readers sympathetic towards Rick. In my case it only succeeded in making me feel annoyed. 😠 I continue to dislike Rick & my mediocre feelings toward Nell have progressed to indifference. I finished the book but it was a near thing, I was significantly tempted to DNF it 4 chapters towards the end which is a shame. Also I’m uninterested in Rick & Margo’s relationship. It caused me to give the book some seri Pre-ordered the audible version.A tedious book with the heavy handed goal of making readers sympathetic towards Rick. In my case it only succeeded in making me feel annoyed. 😠 I continue to dislike Rick & my mediocre feelings toward Nell have progressed to indifference. I finished the book but it was a near thing, I was significantly tempted to DNF it 4 chapters towards the end which is a shame. Also I’m uninterested in Rick & Margo’s relationship. It caused me to give the book some serious eye rolls.2 stars I will continue the series & suspect my strong dislike of this book was bc the story centers around Rick & his past.
    more
  • Jonelle Bailey
    January 1, 1970
    Faith Hunter continues to open paths of depth and detail into these worlds. I love the continued connections between the Jane Yellowrock series and Soulwood. Circle of the moon answers a lot of questions about Rick ( which is awesome) and it shows how large Nell's powers could actually be. In addition you get the warm fuzzies reading out Nell and Occam budding romance. It's a wonderful book and a great series! Thank you Faith!!
    more
  • Trisha
    January 1, 1970
    Favorite book of the year so far! All the stars I can give ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Favorite book of the year so far! All the stars I can give ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
  • Terri ♥ (aka Mrs. Christian Grey)
    January 1, 1970
    This was a good installment. I like her way better than Jane and I’m happy things are progressing love wise except the wait until the end fade to black sucked. And let me just speak about my darling RickyBo. Can he not catch a break. I’m not happy about Margo. Can the man not chose for himself. Dang!!! I saw that a mile away and don’t like her at all. I’m sad the next book will be a Jane as I dislike her for all the reasons in that series book reviews. Ugh.Narration was good.
    more
  • Tina Christopher
    January 1, 1970
    Fast-paced, action-packed, and the perfect next instalment in this fabulous series. We learn so much about some of the characters’ back story and the relationship between Nell and Occam is moving forward.My one negative is that it felt you should have read what happened in the Jane Yellowrock series. She came up far more than in any of the previous books and it was a little confusing for someone whose only reading Soulwood.Overall a great read that may drive to a re-read of the whole series.
    more
  • TJ
    January 1, 1970
    Another absolutely addictive, completely engaging delight from one of the best urban fantasy writers out there! ”Circle of the Moon”, like all the Soulwood books, is incredibly creative with twists and turns that are smart, yet present a plotline that I have never read before... and that is REALLY saying something considering the plethora of paranormal books out there!In this installment we continue to see Nell grow as a woman in a modern society, learn more about her self and expand her abiliti Another absolutely addictive, completely engaging delight from one of the best urban fantasy writers out there! ”Circle of the Moon”, like all the Soulwood books, is incredibly creative with twists and turns that are smart, yet present a plotline that I have never read before... and that is REALLY saying something considering the plethora of paranormal books out there!In this installment we continue to see Nell grow as a woman in a modern society, learn more about her self and expand her abilities. We even get some progress in her relationship with Occum! (Although I really would have liked more in that area.). It is a journey that is a joy to follow. The only reason for the 4 star rating instead of a 5 is that it is a bit slow. And, it is VERY tied into the events that are simultaneiously taking place in the book, “Dark Queen” of Ms. Hunter’s Jane Yellowrock series. Although I have read and LOVE that series, it has been a year since “Dark Queen” published so without a re-read, it can be frustrating trying to remember and place everything together. I imagine if someone has not read the Yellowrock series, it might be quite confusing. Still, it is storytelling at its best and for anyone who adores this odd family of characters, a thoroughly enjoyable offering!
    more
  • Suz
    January 1, 1970
    4+ starsThis was an excellent entry into the series, although I'm not sure how I feel about Hunter so very obviously trying to redeem Rick LaFleur. She's made his background so pitiful that you can't hardly help but feel sorry for him - but I still manage not to. She spent too much time making him out to be a womanizer when he was with Jane Yellowrock, and I don't forget that crap readily. But it's cute that she's trying so hard. I hope it's because she has something good cooked up and is just t 4+ starsThis was an excellent entry into the series, although I'm not sure how I feel about Hunter so very obviously trying to redeem Rick LaFleur. She's made his background so pitiful that you can't hardly help but feel sorry for him - but I still manage not to. She spent too much time making him out to be a womanizer when he was with Jane Yellowrock, and I don't forget that crap readily. But it's cute that she's trying so hard. I hope it's because she has something good cooked up and is just trying to get us to care about him first.I love this series, but I have to admit that I felt like I missed a story somewhere in between. I know I read the most recent Jane book, so perhaps there is a novella or short story somewhere in there that I missed? There were references to happenings that I have no prior knowledge of.
    more
  • Donald
    January 1, 1970
    Once again Faith Hunter delivers. Such a rollercoaster of a book. Thrilling. Touching. Funny. I must confess, I like the Soulwood books better than the Jane books. Nell's character development it's faster than Jane's. Even more complex. And very relatable. Can't wait for the next in the series.Love love love.
    more
  • Debrac2014
    January 1, 1970
    Very good! Now I know why Faith has been pushing the story about Rick's tats!
  • Stacy
    January 1, 1970
    CIRCLE OF THE MOON ended up being my favorite installment of the Soulwood series yet. Weeks later and I'm still thinking about the story and wanting to read more. Nell has evolved so much since we first met her in the Jane Yellowrock series. I admit that when I started reading the Soulwood series I didn't fully connect to her, but over the course of 4 books I have really gotten to love her character and the way she thinks and works. Not only has Nell evolved as a character, but her relationships CIRCLE OF THE MOON ended up being my favorite installment of the Soulwood series yet. Weeks later and I'm still thinking about the story and wanting to read more. Nell has evolved so much since we first met her in the Jane Yellowrock series. I admit that when I started reading the Soulwood series I didn't fully connect to her, but over the course of 4 books I have really gotten to love her character and the way she thinks and works. Not only has Nell evolved as a character, but her relationships with her team and Occam have grown as well. They all work well together and the romance between Occam and Nell is getting mighty interesting. I thought at first their slow progress would be frustrating, but it hasn't been and every step they take is a breath of fresh air.We get quite a bit closer to Rick with every Soulwood installment. CIRCLE OF THE MOON has drawn me closer to him. We learn about and meet the person behind a lot of his bad luck and troubles in book 4. CIRCLE OF THE MOON made me fall more in love with all the characters and the world they live in. I'm excited to see what will happen next with the storyline.* This book was provided free of charge from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Erin
    January 1, 1970
    Magnifique!
Write a review