The Stillwater Girls
Two sisters raised in fear are about to find out why in a chilling novel of psychological suspense from the author of The Thinnest Air.Ignorant of civilization and cautioned against its evils, nineteen-year-old Wren and her two sisters, Sage and Evie, were raised in off-the-grid isolation in a primitive cabin in upstate New York. When the youngest grows gravely ill, their mother leaves with the child to get help from a nearby town. And they never return.As months pass, hope vanishes. Supplies are low. Livestock are dying. A brutal winter is bearing down. Then comes the stranger. He claims to be looking for the girls’ mother, and he’s not leaving without them.To escape, Wren and her sister must break the rule they’ve grown up with: never go beyond the forest.Past the thicket of dread, they come upon a house on the other side of the pines. This is where Wren and Sage must confront something more chilling than the unknowable. They’ll discover what’s been hidden from them, what they’re running from, and the secrets that have left them in the dark their entire lives.

The Stillwater Girls Details

TitleThe Stillwater Girls
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseApr 9th, 2019
PublisherThomas & Mercer
Rating
GenreFiction, Thriller, Mystery, Mystery Thriller, Suspense

The Stillwater Girls Review

  • Debra
    January 1, 1970
    Raised in isolation, taught to fear the outside world, two teen sisters, Wren and Sage are left alone in their family cabin in upstate New York after their mother leaves seeking medical attention for their younger sister, Evie. Months pass while hope ebbs away, food diminishes, livestock dies, and fall is turning into winter. Then someone knocks on their door.Nicolette wants to be a foster mother. She and her husband cannot have children. Her husband doesn't seem to be entirely on-board, but she Raised in isolation, taught to fear the outside world, two teen sisters, Wren and Sage are left alone in their family cabin in upstate New York after their mother leaves seeking medical attention for their younger sister, Evie. Months pass while hope ebbs away, food diminishes, livestock dies, and fall is turning into winter. Then someone knocks on their door.Nicolette wants to be a foster mother. She and her husband cannot have children. Her husband doesn't seem to be entirely on-board, but she notes he has not been himself lately. She believes he is hiding something from her and is being distant.I was fully invested in the story and enjoying the book until well, it had me scratching my head thinking "You have got to be kidding me!?!" and not in a good way. I can honestly say that I did not see that coming! At all! Not once! Parts of the reveal worked for me and parts did not. I will say that this book was a 4-star book for me until the end. Still, I did enjoy it. I enjoyed the teens and their self-resiliency. I enjoyed Nicolette and her desire to help. I enjoyed Kent's writing. I thought she did a fabulous job depicting the life of the two teens and their reactions to the world around them. I liked how I didn't quite know what was going on and how the two story-lines would intercept, but the big reveal took it down a star. Again, parts of it worked for me and parts didn't. Thank you to Thomas and Mercer and NetGalley who provided me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All the thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.
    more
  • Felicia
    January 1, 1970
    I'm sitting here trying to decide how to start this review and all I can think of is "why"? Everything was going fine. I was actually loving this book, the mystery had me rapt, I had to know what was going on. It was killing me! You know those kind of stories, right? Completely and utterly absorbed in this book. And then I turned to page 203.......the final reveal was so far beyond absurd my eyes rolled completely into the back of my head leaving me unable to read the final pages.In fact, my eye I'm sitting here trying to decide how to start this review and all I can think of is "why"? Everything was going fine. I was actually loving this book, the mystery had me rapt, I had to know what was going on. It was killing me! You know those kind of stories, right? Completely and utterly absorbed in this book. And then I turned to page 203.......the final reveal was so far beyond absurd my eyes rolled completely into the back of my head leaving me unable to read the final pages.In fact, my eyes are still staring at my bloody brain and I'm writing this review on keyboard memory alone. I may never be able to see again. Thanks a lot Minka Kent. I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Kaceey
    January 1, 1970
    3.5*Two seemingly different, and I mean extremely different stories running side by side. You’ll ask yourself, how on earth can these stories be related? How are they possibly going to merge? There’s just no way.... but hold on!Nicolette, married to a world class photographer feels her world is crashing down around her. She’s losing the thinnest of threads that are barely holding her marriage together. Unable to have children, she’s desperate to foster a child. Her husband Brant...well, not exac 3.5*Two seemingly different, and I mean extremely different stories running side by side. You’ll ask yourself, how on earth can these stories be related? How are they possibly going to merge? There’s just no way.... but hold on!Nicolette, married to a world class photographer feels her world is crashing down around her. She’s losing the thinnest of threads that are barely holding her marriage together. Unable to have children, she’s desperate to foster a child. Her husband Brant...well, not exactly on board with that choice. He’s perfectly content with his freedom of globetrotting around the world for his photography.Wren and her younger sister Sage are living in a secluded cabin and quickly running out of food, desperate to keep warm. Their mother left more than 2 months ago with the girls’ youngest sister who fell ill. She left strict instructions with her 2 daughters to never, ever open the door to anyone until she returns. Is she coming back? The sisters are losing hope. Then comes the inevitable late-night knock on their door!I absolutely love when separate stories align simultaneously! It’s like a trying to put the pieces of a jigsaw puzzle together. And though I found some sections to be a bit predictable, it took nothing away from my overall enjoyment.Minka Kent continues to deliver suspenseful and gripping thrillers that will keep me reaching for more of her books in the future!A buddy read with Susanne!🌸Thank you to NetGalley, Thomas & Mercer and Minka Kent for an ARC to read and review.
    more
  • Lisa
    January 1, 1970
    My thanks to Thomas & Mercer, and Netgalley.I had.decided.not to request this book for review from Netgalley because it seemed a bit overhyped. I really wish I'd stick with my gut instinct! This story was so disjointed and all over the place. The twist? Damn it, woman! I should know better by now. If someone says to watch out for that twist then I should be able to find said reviewer and give them a swift knock upside their noggin! If there's a twist in these type of books, then it's usually My thanks to Thomas & Mercer, and Netgalley.I had.decided.not to request this book for review from Netgalley because it seemed a bit overhyped. I really wish I'd stick with my gut instinct! This story was so disjointed and all over the place. The twist? Damn it, woman! I should know better by now. If someone says to watch out for that twist then I should be able to find said reviewer and give them a swift knock upside their noggin! If there's a twist in these type of books, then it's usually one I've seen coming from a mile away. This isn't a book is recommend for people who enjoy authors that leave you guessing, or if you really enjoy digging into clues. I can't say it was a bad story though. For me it was meh.
    more
  • Brenda - Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 StarsTwo sisters alone, kept off-the-grid, hidden secrets, a women on the search to find the secrets her husband is keepingThe Sitllwater girls captured my heart and I was hooked right from the start and wanted to know about them. I was rooting for them, confused by their circumstance and wondering how they came to where there are. The suspense increases as the story goes on and I was questioning how the two storylines are connected here. Things clipped along at a fast-paced and I raced thro 3.5 StarsTwo sisters alone, kept off-the-grid, hidden secrets, a women on the search to find the secrets her husband is keepingThe Sitllwater girls captured my heart and I was hooked right from the start and wanted to know about them. I was rooting for them, confused by their circumstance and wondering how they came to where there are. The suspense increases as the story goes on and I was questioning how the two storylines are connected here. Things clipped along at a fast-paced and I raced through this one quite quickly. I was flipping those pages in excitement as fast as I could till that big reveal came. Well everything came to a crashing halt once that reveal and some twists came in that didn’t really feel like much of a twist. Now my detective skills are not the sharpest but I feel that even the best detectives would not see that ending coming or find it predictable. And having a dark and twisted thriller mind is not going to help you out either. Lol However that ending will give you something to talk about and I am glad I had a couple of my Traveling Sisters to chat about the ending with. Thank you to NetGalley and publisher for my copy to read and review
    more
  • Susanne Strong
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 stars (rounded down)An Enjoyable Mystery with an Unrealistic Ending.Wren, 19 and Sage, 18, are sisters, living somewhere off the grid in the woods of New York. Their Mama and their younger sister, Evie, 9, left them months ago - as Evie was sick and needed medical attention. Fending for themselves, foraging for food, Wren doesn’t know how much longer they’ll survive, when a man breaks into their cabin - though he doesn’t hurt them, both sisters are scared. When it becomes clear he knows thei 3.5 stars (rounded down)An Enjoyable Mystery with an Unrealistic Ending.Wren, 19 and Sage, 18, are sisters, living somewhere off the grid in the woods of New York. Their Mama and their younger sister, Evie, 9, left them months ago - as Evie was sick and needed medical attention. Fending for themselves, foraging for food, Wren doesn’t know how much longer they’ll survive, when a man breaks into their cabin - though he doesn’t hurt them, both sisters are scared. When it becomes clear he knows their Mama, Wren becomes suspicious. She just knows that she and her sister Sage need to escape - or else. Once they get out, they find safety at Nicolette’s house a few miles away. Nicolette, who has never had children and who has always longed for them. Nicolette who suspects her husband Brant of keeping secrets from her and who finds peace and comfort in Wren and Sage’s appearance. Nicolette who has only ever wanted to feel needed.This is a novel filled with mystery and intrigue and I was hooked immediately by Minka Kent’s storytelling! It wasn’t until I got to the final reveal that I did a “huh,” well that was a bit strange. As in, never have I ever! That said, up until that point, I was was loving every second. And I didn’t really read the synopsis of this one I just saw “Minka Kent” and “read now” and I was like “yeppers, I’m in.” That said, it was still pretty good, the twist was just a little “out there.” That aside, I loved the characters of Wren and Nicolette - they were compelling and convinced me that I’d made the right decision - this book screams “read me” and if another one of Ms. Kent’s books came up as a “read now,” I’d grab it in a heartbeat. Hope you will too!This was a buddy read with Kaceey, which we flew through in less than a few hours! Thank you to NetGalley, Thomas and Mercer and Minka Kent for the arc in exchange for an honest review. Published on Goodreads and NetGalley on 3.10.19.Will be published on Amazon on 4.9.19.
    more
  • Kendall
    January 1, 1970
    I have been an absolute huge fan of Minka Kent since I turned that last page of The Memory Watcher. I remember thinking.... have I been living under a rock this entire time not knowing anything about this author named Minka?! I absolutely loved Minka's first two books The Memory Watcher and The Perfect Roommate. The third book I was disappointed and was hoping that I would fall back in love with her books upon reading The Stillwater Girls. Unfortunately, as much as it pains me to say that I was I have been an absolute huge fan of Minka Kent since I turned that last page of The Memory Watcher. I remember thinking.... have I been living under a rock this entire time not knowing anything about this author named Minka?! I absolutely loved Minka's first two books The Memory Watcher and The Perfect Roommate. The third book I was disappointed and was hoping that I would fall back in love with her books upon reading The Stillwater Girls. Unfortunately, as much as it pains me to say that I was also left disappointed in reading this one.Let me start out by discussing what I loved about this book. Minka has such a way with grabbing her readers in on the first page. Her writing is addicting, engaging, and mysterious. I was intrigued by this story from the first chapter up until the end. There was no slow pacing, lagging, or being bored whatsoever in this one my friends. I finished this book in a little over a day... like I usually do with all of Minka's books. But, my issues with this is that I feel it failed to deliver upon the ending. I felt it was a tad predictable in where the story was going due to not having many characters in this one. I also had issues believing some of what was revealed with the girls/main characters. I will not go into detail of the plot.. because it's too hard to discuss without having spoilers.I absolutely miss the jaw dropping twists that Minka had in her first two novels. I feel that she has failed to have those twists and turns in her last two books. Is her writing absolutely addicting to the max? Hell yes! Overall, this was entertaining and am glad that I was able to read another book from Minka! I will continue to be a huge fan of hers and will always grab her books! I'm hoping that she has a book soon that delivers those twists, addictions, and mysteries that I long for! ;).3.5 stars for this one.Thank you to Netgalley and Thomas & Mercer for the arc in exchange for my honest review.Publication date: 4/9/19Published to Goodreads: 2/1/19
    more
  • marilyn
    January 1, 1970
    Nineteen year old Wren and her sisters Sage and Evie, have been raised by their mother in a cabin in the woods, never meeting another person, and being warned by their mother of the evils and devastation of the former civilization outside of their little world surrounding their cabin. They've been warned never to venture away from their plot of land and that saying at the cabin is the only way to stay safe. But then one day their mother must leave to take Evie for medical care, when she becomes Nineteen year old Wren and her sisters Sage and Evie, have been raised by their mother in a cabin in the woods, never meeting another person, and being warned by their mother of the evils and devastation of the former civilization outside of their little world surrounding their cabin. They've been warned never to venture away from their plot of land and that saying at the cabin is the only way to stay safe. But then one day their mother must leave to take Evie for medical care, when she becomes gravely ill. Months later winter is coming and food is running out and Wren and Sage know they must soon leave the shelter of the only home they know, to try to save themselves from starvation. Their hand is forced when the first man they've ever seen shows up at their cabin. At the same time, we meet wealthy Nicolette and her globe trotting photographer husband Brant. Nicolette yearns for a baby while Brant seems happy to continue their childless life. Not only that, Brant has become preoccupied and distant from Nicolette and she begins to think that their marriage is on the brink of collapse. At first it's hard to see how the worlds of isolated Wren and Sage and worldly Nicolette and Brant connect to each other but those two worlds do eventually meet. I was very invested in the story of Wren and Sage and how they were going to handle surviving when their entire life had been in the hands of their domineering mother. Nicolette and Brant were interesting and I wanted to know if Nicolette's fears had any merit since she seemed to display a paranoia that might not be founded in reality. I couldn't put the book down but once we get to several reveals concerning Nicolette, I had a hard time dealing with the rest of the story. What we learn just seems so far fetched to me that the story lost it's steam. There were just too many things that had to happen for the story to work out the way it did, to be believable to me. The story does get 3 stars from me for the intriguing first part and because I really enjoyed the characters of Wren and Sage. Thank you to Thomas & Mercer and NetGalley for this ARC.
    more
  • Katie B
    January 1, 1970
    I went into this with fairly low expectations because I haven't read anything by the author before and given the synopsis I thought there was potential for the story to easily veer into hot mess territory. However, I was pleasantly surprised that this turned out to be a pretty entertaining read. This is not some literary masterpiece (not trying to be snarky, the vast majority of books do not fall into the masterpiece category) but in terms of holding my interest, I was left feeling very satisfie I went into this with fairly low expectations because I haven't read anything by the author before and given the synopsis I thought there was potential for the story to easily veer into hot mess territory. However, I was pleasantly surprised that this turned out to be a pretty entertaining read. This is not some literary masterpiece (not trying to be snarky, the vast majority of books do not fall into the masterpiece category) but in terms of holding my interest, I was left feeling very satisfied and look forward to checking out other books by the author.Sisters Wren and Sage have been living in a cabin with their younger sister, Evie, and their mother. The girls are completely isolated from society and are told to never leave the forest. When Evie becomes deathly ill, the mom leaves with her to get medical attention in a nearby town. The problem is they never come back and Wren and Sage are left wondering what they should do in order to survive.I liked how the story switched back and forth between two characters and I think that's partly why the story had such a good pace and turned out to be a fairly quick read. I'll admit I did kinda side-eye the big surprise or twist in the book but honestly I was having such a fun time reading the story up until that point that I decided to just go with it and not analyze it to death. When I picked up this book, all I wanted was something that would hold my interest and keep my mind off real-life stuff for awhile, and thankfully it successfully accomplished those goals. Thank you Netgalley and the publisher for giving me a free advance digital copy in exchange for an honest review!
    more
  • JuJu (Julie)
    January 1, 1970
    Short Summary:An emotional roller coaster ride!My thoughts:This was a not-so-typical suspense. Filled with characters that were so vividly described, I found myself emotionally attached as I was pulled into their heart-wrenching journey. It was a mix of suspense and just the right amount of heartbreak.This is my first book by Minka Kent, but I have another waiting in my TBR. Her writing style is so captivating. I loved every minute of this book. Recommend: Yes! Highly recommend to anyone lookin Short Summary:An emotional roller coaster ride!My thoughts:This was a not-so-typical suspense. Filled with characters that were so vividly described, I found myself emotionally attached as I was pulled into their heart-wrenching journey. It was a mix of suspense and just the right amount of heartbreak.This is my first book by Minka Kent, but I have another waiting in my TBR. Her writing style is so captivating. I loved every minute of this book. Recommend: Yes! Highly recommend to anyone looking for a quick, emotional and suspenseful read!My Rating: 4 ⭐️’sPublished: April 9th 2019 by Thomas & MercerPages: 256Some of my favorite Excerpts/Words: ”And I recognize the look she’s giving him—it’s the very same look I gave him when I was a young butterfly thrilled to be caught in his net.”Thank you to NetGalley / Thomas & Mercer / Minka Kent for this digital ARC, in exchange for my honest review!#NetGalley #TheStillwaterGirlsBook BlurbIgnorant of civilization and cautioned against its evils, nineteen-year-old Wren and her two sisters, Sage and Evie, were raised in off-the-grid isolation in a primitive cabin in upstate New York. When the youngest grows gravely ill, their mother leaves with the child to get help from a nearby town. And they never return.As months pass, hope vanishes. Supplies are low. Livestock are dying. A brutal winter is bearing down. Then comes the stranger. He claims to be looking for the girls’ mother, and he’s not leaving without them.To escape, Wren and her sister must break the rule they’ve grown up with: never go beyond the forest.Past the thicket of dread, they come upon a house on the other side of the pines. This is where Wren and Sage must confront something more chilling than the unknowable. They’ll discover what’s been hidden from them, what they’re running from, and the secrets that have left them in the dark their entire lives.
    more
  • Selena
    January 1, 1970
    I received a free e-copy of The Stillwater Girls by Minka Kent from NetGalley for my honest review.This is the first book I have read by Minka Kent. I give it a 3.5 star rating only because I didn't care for the end. I was very excited to read this because I had so many people talking to me about how good it was. As soon as I opened The Stillwater Girls I was addicted, just like with all of Minka Kent’s books. I found myself wanting to know more with each page as I went and I read this in little I received a free e-copy of The Stillwater Girls by Minka Kent from NetGalley for my honest review.This is the first book I have read by Minka Kent. I give it a 3.5 star rating only because I didn't care for the end. I was very excited to read this because I had so many people talking to me about how good it was. As soon as I opened The Stillwater Girls I was addicted, just like with all of Minka Kent’s books. I found myself wanting to know more with each page as I went and I read this in little under a day which is usual for one of her books. I loved the author's writing. I liked the first 3/4 of the book a lot more than the last 1/4. The story is told between multiple story lines The first story line is of two sisters, Wren and Sage, who are raised in isolation in an off grid, primitive old house in upstate New York. The girls have been warned against civilization and live fear. They know nothing of electricity, power or even government. They also have a little sister who is very sick so their mom takes her into the city to be treated. She tells Wren to watch over her sister and to be good. Unfortunately, it has been two months and they haven't come back. Food is becoming scarce and things are getting eerily frightening. The second story is about Nicolette and her marriage to Brant. A marriage plagued with problems. Nicolette believes she can't have a child. She also believes that her husband is unfaithful and thinks he has had a child with another woman. The two plots end up intertwining right when Wren and Sage escape the cabin. They are then taken in by Nicolette and her husband.An eerie fast paced thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat.
    more
  • Tammie
    January 1, 1970
    The Stillwater Girls, a mystery thriller book, was a solid 3 stars. The story centers around sisters Wren and Sage. They live in a remote cabin with very little knowledge of the outside world. Problems arise when their mother and younger sister (Evie) leave for the hospital after Evie becomes seriously ill-they never return. When the girls situation becomes dire, they bravely set out to find help, landing on Nicolette’s doorstop. As their story gets out to the public, the girls (really young wom The Stillwater Girls, a mystery thriller book, was a solid 3 stars. The story centers around sisters Wren and Sage. They live in a remote cabin with very little knowledge of the outside world. Problems arise when their mother and younger sister (Evie) leave for the hospital after Evie becomes seriously ill-they never return. When the girls situation becomes dire, they bravely set out to find help, landing on Nicolette’s doorstop. As their story gets out to the public, the girls (really young women) are labeled “The Stillwater Girls”. The Stillwater Girls was a good book and very well-written. I admit that I was a little disappointed with the plot twist but it’s still worth a read. Recommended to fans of mystery thriller books. Thank you NetGalley for proving me a copy for review.
    more
  • Mackey
    January 1, 1970
    The Stillwater Girls, my first book by Minka Kent, is a solid 3 star: a good read, interesting, but quite flawed. Stillwater is a forest in upstate New York in which two girls, Sage and Wren, have lived with their mother and younger sister, Evie, for their entire lives. They, quite literally, have had no contact with civilization. There are no cell phones, radios, televisions, internet - nothing. They never have seen another human being outside of the women in their cabin. At least, not that the The Stillwater Girls, my first book by Minka Kent, is a solid 3 star: a good read, interesting, but quite flawed. Stillwater is a forest in upstate New York in which two girls, Sage and Wren, have lived with their mother and younger sister, Evie, for their entire lives. They, quite literally, have had no contact with civilization. There are no cell phones, radios, televisions, internet - nothing. They never have seen another human being outside of the women in their cabin. At least, not that they can remember. Their mother occasionally meets up with a "supply man" who sells their homemade soaps and brings them supplies but, for the most part, they are self sufficient and adequately living off of the land around them. Until the night that Evie falls ill and their mother leaves the cabin to take her to find medical help. Wren and Sage wait....and wait.... Wren carefully marking off the days on her homemade calendar, weeks, then a month and then two. Then a man arrives at their cabin and their lives change forever. Stillwater Girls completely had me hooked for the majority of the book. Kent is an amazing writer and the story of these girls, how they survived, their meager happiness and their fears, were palpable. I absolutely loved them. Until the final stage of the book. It was as though I was watching a ball of yarn unraveling. The storyline itself began to come apart string by string. While I appreciate plot twists and surprises, those in Stillwater Girls, felt so contrived and unbelievable that I wanted to back up and re-read it all again hoping for a different outcome. Surely all of the great writing at the beginning couldn't fall apart like this at the end, could it? But, sadly, it did. That's not to say that as whole the book wasn't good because it was. It could have been terrific, though, and it wasn't. I appreciate the advanced copy given to me by #Netgalley, #Thomas&Mercer and #MinkaKent. I have read such great things about Kent's books and definitely will read one of her other works.
    more
  • Bex (Beckie Bookworm)
    January 1, 1970
    This was a gripping and engrossing read that captured my attention almost instantly.I really liked the two separate narratives almost like separate stories, originally seeming poles apart but connected and eventually merging into one shared conclusion.I liked the back and forth style of narration adding tidbits and clues, drip-feeding the reader and creating a sense of mystery and intrigue.So you have Wren and Sage living off-grid isolated with there mother and younger sister.When their younger This was a gripping and engrossing read that captured my attention almost instantly.I really liked the two separate narratives almost like separate stories, originally seeming poles apart but connected and eventually merging into one shared conclusion.I liked the back and forth style of narration adding tidbits and clues, drip-feeding the reader and creating a sense of mystery and intrigue.So you have Wren and Sage living off-grid isolated with there mother and younger sister.When their younger sister falls seriously ill There mother takes her for help promising to return but she never comes back.With there, food stores dwindling and losing hope the girls need to make a decision on what comes next, that is until their hand is forced by events out of there control.Nicolette lives at the edge of the forest with her husband Brent a successful photographer.Unable to have there own family they are on the verge of maybe fostering.But when Nicolette starts questioning Brents loyalty to there marriage and whether he still feels the way he did when they married she embarks down a rabbit hole of doubt and the deeper she digs the more she uncovers in terms of unanswered questions.Two seemingly unrelated story trains that are heading on a collision course of impact.This was an easy and engaging read.A real page-turner of a story that I couldn't put down.It was slightly predictable in places but the twist itself was excellent and caught me completely unawares.I found this to be really well narrated with such a heartwarming finale and I am happy to recommend.I voluntary reviewed a copy of "The Stillwater Girls"All opinions expressed here are entirely my own.Reviewed By Beckie Bookwormhttps://www.facebook.com/beckiebookworm/www.beckiebookworm.com
    more
  • ♥ Sandi ❣
    January 1, 1970
    3.25 stars Thank you to NetGalley and Thomas & Mercer for allowing me to read and review this ARC. Publishes April 9, 2019.Minka Kent is a new author for me. I find her to be easy reading, expansive and imaginative. She writes with the expressiveness of an old soul. One who has seen way more than would be normal. I believe she captured the pure essence of her characters and set them on the best path for telling this story. The novel starts out in two distinctly different ways. You think you 3.25 stars Thank you to NetGalley and Thomas & Mercer for allowing me to read and review this ARC. Publishes April 9, 2019.Minka Kent is a new author for me. I find her to be easy reading, expansive and imaginative. She writes with the expressiveness of an old soul. One who has seen way more than would be normal. I believe she captured the pure essence of her characters and set them on the best path for telling this story. The novel starts out in two distinctly different ways. You think you are reading separate stories, stories happening decades apart. But that could not be further from the truth. One branch a primitive cabin lost in the woods, completely off the grid. The other an up-to-date failing marriage of a rich little spoiled girl. Midway in the book, the story starts to meld together and begins to make more sense. There is a spot or two that pushes your sensibilities. You find the authors reasoning a bit hard to believe. At that point I let it go and remembering that I was reading fiction, took it in stride. Overall, this book was entertaining and worth the time for an afternoons read.
    more
  • Elle's Book Blog
    January 1, 1970
    Release Date: April 9, 2019 Genre: Domestic Drama Actual Rating: 4 starsThe Stillwater Girls was an unexpected surprise for me. I went into this book thinking it would be a psychological thriller but found that it's actually not. Instead, this is a domestic drama about a woman who desperately wants children only to find two mysteriously appear on her doorstep. Unfortunately, with these girls comes shocking revelations and deep seated secrets to come to life that will surprise all readers. I Release Date: April 9, 2019 Genre: Domestic Drama Actual Rating: 4 starsThe Stillwater Girls was an unexpected surprise for me. I went into this book thinking it would be a psychological thriller but found that it's actually not. Instead, this is a domestic drama about a woman who desperately wants children only to find two mysteriously appear on her doorstep. Unfortunately, with these girls comes shocking revelations and deep seated secrets to come to life that will surprise all readers. I LOVED the twist in the story- I didn't see it coming at all- and I was absorbed in what was happening in everyone's life. I actually finished this book in one day because of how good it was. I am now really looking forward to more books by Minka Kent in the future.One of the only drawbacks that I found was that the beginning of the book was a little slow. I almost gave up on the book because it at first seemed like it wasn't going anywhere. Luckily I stuck with it because once I got past the first few chapters the story takes off! Had it not been slow for me in the beginning this would have easily been a 5 star read for me. Not every reader will find it slow, but I think I did because I was expecting one thing and got something else. In any event, it's a great one and I very much recommend it!
    more
  • Dennis
    January 1, 1970
    I've never read anything by Minka Kent, but everyone is always telling me, "Dennis, you need to pick up something by Minka Kent! She's always writing the most twisted mysteries and you'll love them!" The Stillwater Girls is my first read by the author, and for the most part, I enjoyed this story. I would've rated this book higher, but there's a major twist that changes the entire narrative, and it just didn't work for me. I found it to be a little too unbelievable for me, and my interest in th I've never read anything by Minka Kent, but everyone is always telling me, "Dennis, you need to pick up something by Minka Kent! She's always writing the most twisted mysteries and you'll love them!" The Stillwater Girls is my first read by the author, and for the most part, I enjoyed this story. I would've rated this book higher, but there's a major twist that changes the entire narrative, and it just didn't work for me. I found it to be a little too unbelievable for me, and my interest in the plot began to diminish. Overall, I'm definitely glad that I picked up The Stillwater Girls , and I think that the author's writing is definitely superb. I'll definitely need to check out some of Kent's previous works so I can get a better vibe on how she crafts a story.
    more
  • Myla
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 Stars"We're not going to die. Not here. Not like this."Wren and Sage were left to fend for themselves in a secluded cabin when their mom left them together with their youngest sister Evie. They haven't returned and the food supplies are getting low. Wren is worried when it's all really gone. Will she be brave enough to go to the outside world? "All I know is I have to try... because I'm losing him."Nicolette is desperate to have a child. And her husband is not keen to the idea of adoption. H 4.5 Stars"We're not going to die. Not here. Not like this."Wren and Sage were left to fend for themselves in a secluded cabin when their mom left them together with their youngest sister Evie. They haven't returned and the food supplies are getting low. Wren is worried when it's all really gone. Will she be brave enough to go to the outside world? "All I know is I have to try... because I'm losing him."Nicolette is desperate to have a child. And her husband is not keen to the idea of adoption. His reluctance led Nic to think of the thing she found in her husband's drawer. The Stillwater Girls is an engaging book that will give your mind a workout for guessing. A mind-fuck, I tell you. The story was told from two alternating POV of Wren and Nicolette, both women are smart, strong and compelling. The plot is suspenseful, riveting and vividly well-written. Minka Kent didn't disappoint in writing another thriller that got me hooked right from the start. I thoroughly enjoyed and I highly recommend this one if you're into this kind of story. Happy reading!***Advance reader copy provided by Netgalley & Thomas and Mercer for review. Thank you!
    more
  • Talon
    January 1, 1970
    "I don't need comfort. I only need to survive."WOAH! I really, really, really enjoyed this book. I didn't expect to like it that much either. With multiple POV's and something constantly going on and happening, I had a really hard time putting The Stillwater Girls down. If any one is looking for a quick read, mystery/thriller type book, this one is definitely for you! I think what I liked about this was how outside of the box the plot-line was. It wasn't necessarily out there or something that i "I don't need comfort. I only need to survive."WOAH! I really, really, really enjoyed this book. I didn't expect to like it that much either. With multiple POV's and something constantly going on and happening, I had a really hard time putting The Stillwater Girls down. If any one is looking for a quick read, mystery/thriller type book, this one is definitely for you! I think what I liked about this was how outside of the box the plot-line was. It wasn't necessarily out there or something that is not likely to happen-- but it's still something that could still happen and something beautiful can come out of it. I think I liked that the most. Something awful happened to all of these characters, but the author still found some type of way to make things beautiful for them. That's an incredible talent in my opinion. There were a couple of things that happened though that was just a little too far-fetched for even me. Especially with Nic. But, for the most part The Stillwater Girls was a superb mystery/thriller for me. I liked the continuing action and the way the story line was structured. It wasn't like anything that I have read before and to me that is a huge deal with as often as most thrillers these days all sort of sound the same.I read this one in one sitting. The plot was quick paced, the writing smoothed along the pages very nicely, and I didn't find myself getting bored. Although a little of it was far-fetched, I still really had a great time reading this one! I hope that you do too. 
    more
  • Jo
    January 1, 1970
    This was a great, short read. I devoured it in one sitting. Lots of happy coincidences, but I was willing to overlook those because I cared for the characters. I dare you not to fall in love with Wren.
  • Bridgett
    January 1, 1970
    What to do? What to do? This is my fourth Minka Kent novel (all of which I've enjoyed), but I'm very unsure what to rate The Stillwater Girls. Why? While it's a fun read, I didn't find it to be particularly gripping. I mean, yes, I did read it in about 4 hours, spread over 2 days. But that was more because it's a fairly short book than because it was so engrossing I couldn't put it down.I think my biggest complaint is the plot itself...it just never quite came together for me. Told from dual pe What to do? What to do? This is my fourth Minka Kent novel (all of which I've enjoyed), but I'm very unsure what to rate The Stillwater Girls. Why? While it's a fun read, I didn't find it to be particularly gripping. I mean, yes, I did read it in about 4 hours, spread over 2 days. But that was more because it's a fairly short book than because it was so engrossing I couldn't put it down.I think my biggest complaint is the plot itself...it just never quite came together for me. Told from dual perspectives, those of Nicolette and Wren, parts of this novel felt incredibly implausible. I wish I could say more, but there is simply so little to the story line, almost any thoughts I could share would include spoilers. The conclusion was predictable--and a little dry. With so few characters, it's difficult for an author to create red herrings. And without red herrings, the "twist" becomes obvious fairly early on. Bottom line, if you've read Ms. Kent's other books, I'd still recommend reading this one...it's worthy of your time, but not as twisty or intriguing as The Perfect Roommate or The Thinnest Air. If you aren't fortunate enough to have read a Minka Kent novel thus far, consider yourself lucky that you now have the opportunity. She's a very talented author. My recommendation, however, would be to pick up a copy of one her earlier novels to enjoy the full scope of her creativity and crazy mad writing skills. Sidenote: Can we take a minute to talk about that book cover though? I love it! It's such a beautiful fit for the story under the covers.A huge thank you to NetGalley and Thomas & Mercer for the advanced reader's copy, in exchange for my honest review.Publication date: 4/9/19Published to Goodreads: 2/8/19
    more
  • Amy
    January 1, 1970
    3.5/5This blurb is weird, it’s accurate and all but it leaves out something pretty big and I really don’t understand why?! So many times I feel like blurbs actually spoil things and I’ve even cut parts of them out for my reviews, but this time I’m just scratching my head wondering why. What they left out that I think is important for you to know is that besides the story of the sisters there is another main character that you hear from in alternating chapters. Nothing is ruined by knowing this, 3.5/5This blurb is weird, it’s accurate and all but it leaves out something pretty big and I really don’t understand why?! So many times I feel like blurbs actually spoil things and I’ve even cut parts of them out for my reviews, but this time I’m just scratching my head wondering why. What they left out that I think is important for you to know is that besides the story of the sisters there is another main character that you hear from in alternating chapters. Nothing is ruined by knowing this, in fact it actually piqued my interest even more once I started so I figured telling you guys would only be beneficial.Wren narrates things from her and her sister Sage’s POV and there is also Nicolette, a totally unrelated woman and I had zero idea as to how things would ever tie together. Their lives couldn’t be more different, Nicolette lives an affluent lifestyle and the girls are living off grid and barely surviving so trying to figure out how their stories would merge was damn near impossible. Between my intrigue with the plot and the insanely fast paced writing I was totally invested in this one.As much as my overall feeling about this book is one of enjoyment I do have to point out that the big twist and subsequent merging of the two groups of characters was pretty out there and unrealistic. Did I even care? No, not really I was just having so much fun with the whole thing I had a moment where I sorta rolled my eyes and then I just moved right on. But I wanted to be honest, I know many of you are bothered by that kind of stuff, so if you have issues suspending disbelief just be aware. If you don’t, give this one a chance, it had an original premise and was a fast paced, addictive read!
    more
  • Shelby
    January 1, 1970
    Sisters Wren and Sage have been living with their mother and younger sister, Evie, in a cabin in the woods. When Evie gets ill and needs medical attention, their mother and Evie leave Wren and Sage behind. It’s been over two months and their mother and little sister haven’t returned, leaving Wren and Sage to fend for themselves. Their mother told them never to go past the woods and never ever let a stranger into the house, under no circumstance. With the winter closing in and the food dwindling, Sisters Wren and Sage have been living with their mother and younger sister, Evie, in a cabin in the woods. When Evie gets ill and needs medical attention, their mother and Evie leave Wren and Sage behind. It’s been over two months and their mother and little sister haven’t returned, leaving Wren and Sage to fend for themselves. Their mother told them never to go past the woods and never ever let a stranger into the house, under no circumstance. With the winter closing in and the food dwindling, their future is looking bleaker by the day. And it gets even worse when an unknown man shows up at their door, saying he is taking them elsewhere and that he needs to find their mother. He isn’t to be trusted and Wren knows that she needs to take her sister far away if they want to remain alive—she’s sure this stranger wants to kill them. Nicolette has always wanted a child. But unfortunately it hasn’t been in the cards for her and her husband, Brant. They made peace with never having children—proclaiming their love was always enough—but Nicolette starts to question their marital happiness when she discovers incriminating evidence that her husband could be cheating on her or, worse, that he has another child out there. Nicolette isn’t sure what she wants to do about this newfound information, but before she can fully process everything, two young women—Wren and Sage—show up to her house one morning, needing immediate help. Nicolette knows that, in an odd way, this is her chance to help young women, almost be a mother. As police are trying to track down Wren and Sage’s mother, Wren is having doubts about the life she led in the cabin in the woods for so many years. And what’s even stranger is Nicolette’s husband, Brant, looks oddly familiar. But how could that be, considering they’ve never even met? She feels safe within Nicolette and Brant’s home, but will she ever truly escape the stranger from their cabin and will they ever be reunited with Evie? The answers to these questions could solve years of unsolved mysteries and tear apart the only life these girls have ever known. The Stillwater Girls is Minka Kent’s latest suspense/mystery publication. The synopsis of this story intrigued me and I wasn’t sure what to expect. I found the book to read quickly and I was thoroughly enjoying the dual perspectives between Wren and Nicolette, wondering how the two stories would intersect. Like other reviewers have mentioned, I found the twist came from left field. It seemed a little too unbelievable, a little too convenient. Also, after the twist was revealed, there was a lot of “telling” and not enough “showing.” Things were just explained via dialogue, rather than action, which lessened the impact for me. An enjoyable, quick read, yes, but it lost its “thrilling” aspect three quarters of the way through. 3.5/5 stars. Thank you to NetGalley, Thomas & Mercer and Minka Kent for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Deanna
    January 1, 1970
    This book is anything but 'still water'. A perfectly woven story with such well-developed characters that you will surely lose hours at your first sitting. Another must read for me from one of my favorite creative minds.
  • ʚϊɞ Shelley ʚϊɞ
    January 1, 1970
    Minka Kent has done it again. I really enjoyed this book, so much so I read it in one sitting. It was simultaneously tragic, mysterious, exciting, disturbing, and enthralling. There was definitely a level of complexity of many of the characters in the novel that I enjoyed. Every time I thought I knew what was going on, it felt like a new twist or wrinkle was added that made me re-think everything. The family dynamics throughout this novel is very dark and telling, and I felt an emotional connect Minka Kent has done it again. I really enjoyed this book, so much so I read it in one sitting. It was simultaneously tragic, mysterious, exciting, disturbing, and enthralling. There was definitely a level of complexity of many of the characters in the novel that I enjoyed. Every time I thought I knew what was going on, it felt like a new twist or wrinkle was added that made me re-think everything. The family dynamics throughout this novel is very dark and telling, and I felt an emotional connection towards the characters. The writing was exceptional and the story-line flowed well. The story was gripping and refreshing... the mystery of it all dragging you with it. I seriously enjoyed the book and Minka Kent never fails me. Overall it was a very intriguing novel, I would definitely recommend it.Thank you NetGalley, Thomas & Mercer and Minka Kent for the opportunity to read this book in exchange for an impartial review; all opinions are my own.#TheStillwaterGirls #NetGalleyAll my reviews can be found on my blog: https://shelleyann01.blogspot.com/
    more
  • Trisha
    January 1, 1970
    Fear does that to you, though. It makes you question what you want and what you think you want."This book was a surprised. I found it less "mystery" and more just drama- until the story got going. It's two POV's - One is Nicolette. A wife who wants to be a mother. However, an emergency medical situation and a hysterectomy at a young age has left her looking for options like adoption and fostering. But with each discussion she has with her husband about her hopes and fears, the more he pulls away Fear does that to you, though. It makes you question what you want and what you think you want."This book was a surprised. I found it less "mystery" and more just drama- until the story got going. It's two POV's - One is Nicolette. A wife who wants to be a mother. However, an emergency medical situation and a hysterectomy at a young age has left her looking for options like adoption and fostering. But with each discussion she has with her husband about her hopes and fears, the more he pulls away. She wonders if there is more there and she is ready to find out what it is.The other POV is Wren, a young girl living in an isolated cabin with her sister. Her mother left with her sick younger sister and has not been back. And as the days go by, Wren's food is dwindling and the weather is only getting colder. She's running out of options and ways to keep her and her sister a live as they wait for their mom to come back. It's hard, at first, to see how these two stories are related. It's an interesting tale that held my attention and kept me wanting to know what happened. But I didn't find the "mystery" or the "thriller" part compelling, more of my interest lay in the family drama aspects and how resilient Wren was. It was good and I'm glad I gave it a try. I want to thank Netgalley and Thomas & Mercer for a chance to read this for my honest review.
    more
  • BookGypsy
    January 1, 1970
    Raised off the grid in isolation in a cabin in upstate New York, sisters Wren, Sage and Evie have no clue of the outside world. When the youngest gets sick the mother leaves with the girl to get help but never returns. Months later and food running out a stranger shows up looking for their mother and refuses to leave forcing the sisters to escape into the woods and a world they have never known. Then you have Nicolette, a wealthy and privileged woman married to a famed photographer named Brant w Raised off the grid in isolation in a cabin in upstate New York, sisters Wren, Sage and Evie have no clue of the outside world. When the youngest gets sick the mother leaves with the girl to get help but never returns. Months later and food running out a stranger shows up looking for their mother and refuses to leave forcing the sisters to escape into the woods and a world they have never known. Then you have Nicolette, a wealthy and privileged woman married to a famed photographer named Brant who she she thinks is cheating. Brant has secrets. How they all tie in I was completely blown away. This was so gripping and intense I was biting my nails. I couldn't put it down. The twists are stunning and shocking. Wow!Dawnny-BookGypsyNovels N Latte BlogNovels & Latte Book ClubHudson Valley NY
    more
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    4.5/5 starsI really liked this book! This book is a psychological thriller/suspense/mystery. It is my fourth book by this author. I have read: The Memory Watcher, The Perfect Roommate and The Thinnest Air. The author also writes under the name Winter Renshaw.This book has two 1st person POVs: Wren (19 year old girl) and Nicolette (30 something year old woman).The story starts off with what seems like two completely separate stories. We have Wren and her sister Sage living alone in a remote cabin 4.5/5 starsI really liked this book! This book is a psychological thriller/suspense/mystery. It is my fourth book by this author. I have read: The Memory Watcher, The Perfect Roommate and The Thinnest Air. The author also writes under the name Winter Renshaw.This book has two 1st person POVs: Wren (19 year old girl) and Nicolette (30 something year old woman).The story starts off with what seems like two completely separate stories. We have Wren and her sister Sage living alone in a remote cabin. And we have Nicolette who desperately wants to have kids. She lives with her husband who is a famous photographer.Both of these stories were compelling. And I was dying to know how the stories would become connected.This story had some very interesting aspects. I was fascinated by Wren and her sister living in a remote cabin and being unaware of the rest of the world. I was captivated by Nic and her suspicions about her husband.There were some very interesting twists and reveals. And overall I thought that this was a wonderful mystery. I really enjoyed this book!Thanks to netgalley and Thomas & Mercer for allowing me to read this book.
    more
  • Heidi
    January 1, 1970
    I remember when I first picked up Minka Kent’s The Memory Watcher and thought – wow! This is an author I will have to look out for! As I had hoped, Kent drew me in immediately with her latest story. There is something totally irresistible about a crazy survivalist theme, and as soon as we meet the two girls Sage and Wren alone in their primitive cabin in the woods, anxiously waiting for their mother to return, I was hooked!The story initially rolls out in two very separate narratives. Here we ha I remember when I first picked up Minka Kent’s The Memory Watcher and thought – wow! This is an author I will have to look out for! As I had hoped, Kent drew me in immediately with her latest story. There is something totally irresistible about a crazy survivalist theme, and as soon as we meet the two girls Sage and Wren alone in their primitive cabin in the woods, anxiously waiting for their mother to return, I was hooked!The story initially rolls out in two very separate narratives. Here we have the two young girls in the woods, fearing for their lives, and on the other side there is Nicolette, a wealthy but unhappy housewife living in a large mansion at the edge of the forest who is suspecting her husband of cheating on her. How are these two storylines ever going to intersect? I had a few theories and suspicions, which was half of the fun of reading this interesting tale. Kent’s writing flows easily, her characters come to life on the page and the whole premise was thoroughly intriguing. I will tell you now that in a million years and with all the crazy conspiracy theories in the world, and after a few bottles of wine and perhaps smoking some green stuff, I would have never been able to guess the final reveal of this one! I do appreciate the pressure on authors to come up with a new, original premise and that “killer twist” that makes it into the “twister hall of fame”. Sometimes it works, and other times it pushes the boundaries a bit too far. This one fell into the latter category for me, but everyone knows that I am terrible at suspending disbelief. I think I would have preferred a more ordinary, boring plot, because the characters alone were enough for me to be intriguing and engaging. My jaw actually dropped when the story took a hairpin turn and went into the land of the implausible plotline. But let’s focus on the things I really enjoyed: Kent’s writing. It flowed easily and carried me along, with characters that were intriguing and rounded. I loved the survivalist theme and the clash of worlds as the girls are being confronted with the commodities of 21st century living after growing up in a primitive cabin in the woods without ever coming into contact with the outside world. I think that this theme could have been even more prominent and I would have devoured every page of it. Then there were the husband-wife dynamics between Nic and Brant. I disliked him and didn’t trust him - at all. There was something selfish and arrogant about this man who seemed to expect his wife to give up her life to support his career. There was great potential here also – all my emotions were fully engaged and on the side of the sisterhood!All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed about 2/3 of this book until the bomb of implausibility dropped into the story and shattered my happy reading world. If you are a reader who prefers an evidence-based, traditional type of plot that ties up in a neat bow, then you may need to brace yourself and let go of that expectation. Readers that can shrug it off with “ah well, it’s fiction after all” will probably get much more out of this story than the doubting, eye-rolling Thomas that I am. Thank you to Netgalley and Thomas & Mercer for the free electronic copy of this novel and for giving me the opportunity to provide an honest review. And to the Traveling Sisters Group for a great discussion! *blog* *facebook* *instagram*
    more
  • Laurie • The Baking Bookworm
    January 1, 1970
    I went into this book based on the recommendation of a fellow book blogger on Twitter. Word of mouth books are the best, aren't they? I hadn't read anything by Minka Kent in the past so knowing my fellow book blogger and I had similar tastes, and with a brief read of the blurb, I grabbed a copy. Going in, I expected a creepy suspense read and ended up with a hard-to-put down domestic thriller with a twist that I didn't see coming.The plot has two, equally balanced, story lines. The first, has a I went into this book based on the recommendation of a fellow book blogger on Twitter. Word of mouth books are the best, aren't they? I hadn't read anything by Minka Kent in the past so knowing my fellow book blogger and I had similar tastes, and with a brief read of the blurb, I grabbed a copy. Going in, I expected a creepy suspense read and ended up with a hard-to-put down domestic thriller with a twist that I didn't see coming.The plot has two, equally balanced, story lines. The first, has a creepy vibe as readers are introduced to two teenage girls, Wren and Sage, who have been abandoned by their mother in a remote cabin in the woods. The second story line has a very different feel and follows Nicolette, a young woman who is married to a successful photographer and longs for a child. As the book progresses, readers get the points of view of Nicolette and Wren and as these two stories merge together, pieces fall into place (although probably not where you thought they would) which result in an enjoyable, twisty read.I read it almost in one sitting so prepare to get nothing else don't once you turn the first page. You have been warned! This is an engrossing read that handles two narratives well and while some aspects were predictable, the twists that Kent throws in made this an engrossing page turner for this seasoned suspense reader.Disclaimer: My sincere thanks to Thomas and Mercer for providing me with a complimentary digital copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
    more
Write a review