The Boy Who Steals Houses
Can two broken boys find their perfect home?Sam is only fifteen but he and his autistic older brother, Avery, have been abandoned by every relative he's ever known. Now Sam's trying to build a new life for them. He survives by breaking into empty houses when their owners are away, until one day he's caught out when a family returns home. To his amazement this large, chaotic family takes him under their wing - each teenager assuming Sam is a friend of another sibling. Sam finds himself inextricably caught up in their life, and falling for the beautiful Moxie. But Sam has a secret, and his past is about to catch up with him.

The Boy Who Steals Houses Details

TitleThe Boy Who Steals Houses
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseApr 4th, 2019
PublisherOrchard Books
ISBN-139781408349922
Rating
GenreContemporary, Young Adult

The Boy Who Steals Houses Review

  • C.G. Drews
    January 1, 1970
    hello yes I wrote this small book and it absolutely has stolen (pun! ha!) my heart. I can't wait for you to meet Sam and Avery and the De Lainey family! This is an #ownvoices story for autism and anxiety. And feel free to reach out to me via social media or DMs.Buy - Book Depository | Amazon US | Amazon UK | Waterstones | Booktopiacontent warnings (not necessarily spoilers, but you can choose whether to view them) (view spoiler)[ child abuse, physical violence, knife wound, ablest terms, anxiety hello yes I wrote this small book and it absolutely has stolen (pun! ha!) my heart. I can't wait for you to meet Sam and Avery and the De Lainey family! This is an #ownvoices story for autism and anxiety. And feel free to reach out to me via social media or DMs.Buy - Book Depository | Amazon US | Amazon UK | Waterstones | Booktopiacontent warnings (not necessarily spoilers, but you can choose whether to view them) (view spoiler)[ child abuse, physical violence, knife wound, ablest terms, anxiety attacks (hide spoiler)]if you like...✨ super dark contemporaries✨ big loud messy families✨ hufflepuff autistic boys everywhere✨ romance based on giving each other delicious food✨ basically 300 pages of bad decisions made by soft™ people✨ are half these scenes set in the kitchen??? maybe✨ thieves and stolen keys✨ feminist love interest who takes no nonsense and will smite you✨ anxiety and snark...then you're going to love this ok. You will.
    more
  • Hamad
    January 1, 1970
    This review and other non-spoilery reviews can be found @The Book Prescription“He’s officially taken house burglary to the next level. Forget stealing a bed, a key, a home for the night. He’s stealing families and their Sunday lunches.” 🌟 I consider miss Drews a role model for me and I am sure that extends to many other writers/ readers and bloggers. I mean she is one of us and she is a living proof that our dreams are possible when we work hard.🌟 There are some “authors” who got a contract bec This review and other non-spoilery reviews can be found @The Book Prescription“He’s officially taken house burglary to the next level. Forget stealing a bed, a key, a home for the night. He’s stealing families and their Sunday lunches.” 🌟 I consider miss Drews a role model for me and I am sure that extends to many other writers/ readers and bloggers. I mean she is one of us and she is a living proof that our dreams are possible when we work hard.🌟 There are some “authors” who got a contract because they were just famous people and it shows in their less than average books! Miss Drews, despite being a famous blogger deserves her place in the publishing world. I loved her debut “A Thousand Perfect Notes” and now she blesses us with a gender-bent Goldilocks retelling.🌟 This book is easy to go through in 1 or 2 sittings. This is probably because it is directed toward younger readers but it was still enjoyable for me. The first thought I had after finishing both of her books is that this is the kind of books I want my children to read in the future. This books delves into darker topics as abuse and abandonment. There are more themes throughout the book but if I was going to choose one major theme then I would say it is definitely about families!🌟 Sam and Avery, our main characters were both fleshed out. Avery has autism and I think the representation was very good, I also just finished another book with an autistic rep by an own-voice author and it was similar to this one so I think miss Drews did her research. I am always happy to read accurate medical representations for my future!Sam reminds me of my uncle, or at least the stories my mother tells me about him when he was younger. I don’t know if it was deliberate but Sam came to me as someone who has a intermittent explosive disorder which is so befitting given his background.“No, please. It’s – you’re allowed to hurt. It’s not a contest.” 🌟 I have seen some reviews saying that this is a sad book but I think it is more than that and it is about finding hope in the strangest of places. The book may be dark but it has a realistic satisfying ending. Definitely reading the author’s future works :D.
    more
  • Krystal
    January 1, 1970
    This is a heart-rending novel about family, broken pieces and redemption. 15 year old Sam just wants to take care of his older brother, Avery. Avery is autistic and needs routine, but that's hard to give when the only time Sam feels safe is when he's under a stolen roof.If you've yet to read the author's debut, A Thousand Perfect Notes, well done you for protecting your heart for so long. If you survived that one, your scarred heart might just be tough enough to get through this one without bre This is a heart-rending novel about family, broken pieces and redemption. 15 year old Sam just wants to take care of his older brother, Avery. Avery is autistic and needs routine, but that's hard to give when the only time Sam feels safe is when he's under a stolen roof.If you've yet to read the author's debut, A Thousand Perfect Notes, well done you for protecting your heart for so long. If you survived that one, your scarred heart might just be tough enough to get through this one without breaking. Good luck though. I recommend extra bubble wrap for protection.This is my third beautiful disaster in a row (following Sadie and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine) and honestly my poor lil heart needs a time out. It would be a quivering mess of uselessness if it wasn't for the De Laineys and their chaotic love. I desperately needed the light they brought to Sam's story.Unlike the previous two books, this is a disaster I thoroughly enjoyed reading. Because the themes of love and devotion and family are so close to my heart and Sam is a dude I can really relate to. I mean, not so much the homelessness and the breaking into houses and looking after an autistic brother and stuff ... more just, like, the dedication. Family first. But he's a 15 year old kid dealing with things he should never have to deal with and I just felt so much for him. He deserved a little sunshine and to be loved and the happy accident of stumbling across the De Laineys was a refreshing blast of joy in a gloomy grey story and the balance was perfect. This is also a really important book for Autism representation because it continues to remind the reader that Avery is not broken. Autism is not a passing illness, it's not a defect ... this book reps HARD and it was just written so respectfully while still facing the reality of how viciously autism can be viewed by ignorant members of society. Avery is a character you will find it hard not to fall in love with. As with the author's previous novel, there's violence in here that will break your heart but there's a message within it: "You can do monstrous things and not be a monster." This is a novel about choices; about good, bad, and all the shades of grey that lie in between. This is a novel not afraid to face ugliness so that you can also appreciate the beauty when it's there. It's about mistakes, and choices, and the lengths we go to for family.Loved it from start to finish, and highly recommend to anyone brave enough to offer their heart up for a thorough drenching in emotions.
    more
  • Lara (Bookish_turtle)
    January 1, 1970
    SO MANY EMOTIONSSSSSSSSwow what the actual heck, this was so beautiful but I cried literal buckets worth of tears, no joke.I can barely order my thoughts right now, but here goes my attempt at a review:🗝 Sammy and Avery are such precious disasters, I would literally die for them. These poor lil traumatised cinnamon rolls, I LOVE 😭😭😭😭😭😭😭❤🗝 The Delainey family is EVERYTHING they are so beautiful and precious. They also have their scars, but all SUCH BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE 😭😍💖🗝 The big family dynamic was SO MANY EMOTIONSSSSSSSSwow what the actual heck, this was so beautiful but I cried literal buckets worth of tears, no joke.I can barely order my thoughts right now, but here goes my attempt at a review:🗝️ Sammy and Avery are such precious disasters, I would literally die for them. These poor lil traumatised cinnamon rolls, I LOVE 😭😭😭😭😭😭😭❤️🗝️ The Delainey family is EVERYTHING they are so beautiful and precious. They also have their scars, but all SUCH BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE 😭😍💖🗝️ The big family dynamic was done SO WELL it was gorgeous and loud and messy and REAL, but I didn't feel overcrowded by characters at all🗝️ SO MUCH FOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOD 😍🗝️ Boiiii I thought A Thousand Perfect Notes was pain but noooooooooooooooo that book is a field of buttercups and rainbows compared to this 😭🗝️ But emotional trauma is worth it 10/10 worth it, please drop everything and read this right now!!Many thanks to Netgalley and the publishers for providing me with a review copy! All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Charlotte May
    January 1, 1970
    I loved A Thousand Perfect Notes so I can't wait to see what Cait's next book brings :) Library copy available for pick up
  • Mary S. R.
    January 1, 1970
    “Sam is only fifteen but he and his autistic older brother, Avery, have been abandoned by every relative he's ever known.Now Sam's trying to build a new life for them. He survives by breaking into empty houses when their owners are away, until one day he's caught out when a family returns home. To his amazement this large, chaotic family takes him under their wing—each teenager assuming Sam is a friend of another sibling. Sam finds himself inextricably caught up in their life, and falling for th “Sam is only fifteen but he and his autistic older brother, Avery, have been abandoned by every relative he's ever known.Now Sam's trying to build a new life for them. He survives by breaking into empty houses when their owners are away, until one day he's caught out when a family returns home. To his amazement this large, chaotic family takes him under their wing—each teenager assuming Sam is a friend of another sibling. Sam finds himself inextricably caught up in their life, and falling for the beautiful Moxie.But Sam has a secret, and his past is about to catch up with him.”This sounds SO PRECIOUS 😭😍 also, can we talk about that COVER???! I am sold 100%I hope it turns out as amazing as it promises to be :)) Expected publication: April 4th 2019
    more
  • Iris
    January 1, 1970
    ***April 14, 2019*** I'M SORRY WHAT? HOW COULD IT JUST END LIKE THAT?? I HAVE FEELINGS. SO MANY FEELINGS. WHAT DID I DO TOO DESERVE THIS PAIN??? AJGHGFHGGHF THIS BOOK WAS SOOOO GOOD! AND PAINFUL. WAY TOO PAINFUL.RTC. ***January 25, 2019*** This cover is SO PRETTY. I AM IN LOVE. PREEEEEETTTTTYYYY. I NEED. Also this book is coming so soon ahhhhhhh!***June 15, 2018***I made the mistake of reading the sneak peak in the end of ATPN... WHY?!?!?! IT SOUNDS SO GOOD!!!! Honestly, ATPN was amazing, and t ***April 14, 2019*** I'M SORRY WHAT? HOW COULD IT JUST END LIKE THAT?? I HAVE FEELINGS. SO MANY FEELINGS. WHAT DID I DO TOO DESERVE THIS PAIN??? AJGHGFHGGHF THIS BOOK WAS SOOOO GOOD! AND PAINFUL. WAY TOO PAINFUL.RTC. ***January 25, 2019*** This cover is SO PRETTY. I AM IN LOVE. PREEEEEETTTTTYYYY. I NEED. Also this book is coming so soon ahhhhhhh!***June 15, 2018***I made the mistake of reading the sneak peak in the end of ATPN... WHY?!?!?! IT SOUNDS SO GOOD!!!! Honestly, ATPN was amazing, and this sounds way more like the sort of thing I would normally pick up, and ABHGDJDGJAGKFGKFJGKJGJKFGHFMHGHGKFFD CAN I HAVE THIS RIGHT NOW PLEASE?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!***March 18, 2018***Seriously, I need this so badly! I think I screamed when it was announced, and it just sounds so good!!! I am SO excited! Why must April 2019 be so far away?!?!?! Whyyyyyyyyy?!?!?!?!?!?!?!
    more
  • Katie Hanna
    January 1, 1970
    IT HAS A COVER IT HAS A COVER IT HAS A COVER IT HAS A COVER IT HAS A COVER IT HAS A COVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Rain
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to the author and the publisher for providing me an advanced copy in exchange for an honest review. TW: domestic abuse, violenceCAIT HAS DONE IT AGAIN. How can she write the most beautifully heartbreaking books??? My heart is is too soft for this. A Thousand Perfect Notes was one of my favorite reads of last year and now I've just added The Boy Who Steals Houses to my 2019 Favorites list. I hardly read books outside the fantasy genre but I can't help reading Cait's YA Contemporary boo Thank you to the author and the publisher for providing me an advanced copy in exchange for an honest review. TW: domestic abuse, violenceCAIT HAS DONE IT AGAIN. How can she write the most beautifully heartbreaking books??? My heart is is too soft for this. A Thousand Perfect Notes was one of my favorite reads of last year and now I've just added The Boy Who Steals Houses to my 2019 Favorites list. I hardly read books outside the fantasy genre but I can't help reading Cait's YA Contemporary books because I know they're bound to be phenomenal. She didn't disappoint, folks. MORE THOUGHTS ON THE BOY WHO STEALS HOUSES: • The Boy Who Steals Houses has a really unique premise. It's actually a Goldilocks retelling where two homeless boys try to get through life by breaking into houses. You can safely assume that I was perpetually in pain while reading because Sam and Avery deserve better lives than thieving and stealing their way to survival. ‘We’re stealing a house, because you know what we need?’Avery shakes his head. ‘We are the kings of nowhere,’ Sammy says. ‘We only need us.’ He’s a very good liar. • It also shows dymanics between two siblings which I especially admired. Their relationship isn't perfect (there isn't any perfect sibling relationship of course. Y'all should see me and my sister fighting over who washes the dishes) but they always end up running back to each other every single time. Avery is autistic and Sam is the only one who fully understands him. He will fight tooth and nail to protect Avery even if it kills him. Sam spends his life hitting the world and smoothing over the rusty corners so Avery won’t fall and hurt himself. • ‎Sam appears so raw and I just...love him so much okay?? Making bad decisions is Sammy Lou's brand. While reading some parts in the book, I was torn between screaming at him and hugging him fifteen times. He's an extremely flawed character but one¹ can't help but have these protective feelings for him. His anxiety also feels too real. I can especially relate to the sweaty palms (my palms have been cursed by ten river gods and I honestly don't know why I offended them) and the feeling of not being able to fit into a world full of people. The anxiety rep in this book is so well-written, that's for sure. ¹I am the one. I will protect Sammy Lou with my life.• ‎C. G Drews' writing style makes mundane life magical and I AM IN LOVE. I mentioned in my A Thousand Perfect Notes review that she has this soulful way of writing that I loved seeing again in TBWSH. The descriptions and the metaphors make a full-course meal that fed my bookdragon soul. He can’t believe he’s still clawing for the impossible wish of having his own home. But he needs a dream as big as the moon or else he’s just an invisible boy with empty hands. • ‎It captures the chaos and the charm of a big familyTHE DE LAINEYS CAN ADOPT ME RIGHT HERE RIGHT NOW. Okay, scratch that. My mom wouldn't be pleased if she hears about this. Sam's life gets even more complicated when he gets tangled up (quite literally) with the De Laineys. They are people who don't believe that "organization" is a real word and know all too well that peace is a far-fetched dream in a house full of screaming babies, stabby sisters, and dynamic older brothers. The chaos of a big family is told vividly in this book and I enjoyed every word of the De Laineys' spontaneous banter. Y'ALL NEED TO MEET EVERY SINGLE ONE OF THEM. No words can express my love for all these fireballs. Footsteps pad upstairs and the De Lainey father’s voice trails down, softly warning.‘Jack. If I have to pull up your language one more time tonight, you’re losing your phone.’‘Child abuse,’ Jack mutters. ‘How is his hearing so good?’ Jeremy pats his shoulder. ‘Only for you and your swearing, buddy. If we’re asking to use the car, he can’t hear a thing.’ • ‎MOXIE AND SAM GAVE ME ALL THE FEELSHere's the thing: Moxie is a force to be reckoned with and she's a legend who deserves hundreds of epic poems to her name. C.G. Drews writes all the iconic female characters and I want to give her a hundred boxes of cakes for that. He walks next to Moxie, because the others’ wildness is equal parts fascinating and terrifying. Plus Moxie moves with a grim, no-nonsense look on her face, like getting to the beach is a mission and she’ll achieve it no matter what. It’s comforting to be near someone who knows how to get what they want. Moxie and Sam have this pure chemistry that made me scream silently with all the feels. They went from enemies to lovers through the help of caramel and if that's not the proof of the power of food, I don't know what is. I LOVE THEM BOTH SO MUCH. • ‎It's a heartbreaking story full of love and hopeIt's not a book written by Cait if it doesn't make you cry at least ten buckets of tears. TBWSH has its fluff and funny dialogues but it also has its gut-wrenching moments that will make you sob long after you've finished reading it. You need to read the book to know what I mean but this one's for sure: Sammy Lou will steal your hearts just as he steals houses so guard it fiercely. You have been warned. All the quotes used in this review are from the e-ARC provided by the publisher and may be subject to change upon publication
    more
  • R.F. Gammon
    January 1, 1970
    Yeah, this is going to be AMAZING.
  • Kendra Ardnek
    January 1, 1970
    This book can be summed up in four words:Breaking a tragic cycle. It's about a boy who had to fight life from childhood - abandoned by his mother, his father dumped him and his autistic older brother on an aunt who wasn't prepared or willing to deal with a special-needs child. They grew up and Sam grew violent trying to fend off the bullies, who also failed to understand Avery. And now he's trapped. His violence has landed him on the streets and he still has to look out for his older brother. An This book can be summed up in four words:Breaking a tragic cycle. It's about a boy who had to fight life from childhood - abandoned by his mother, his father dumped him and his autistic older brother on an aunt who wasn't prepared or willing to deal with a special-needs child. They grew up and Sam grew violent trying to fend off the bullies, who also failed to understand Avery. And now he's trapped. His violence has landed him on the streets and he still has to look out for his older brother. And he's still only fifteen. But the beauty of this book is that it shows that, no matter how deep you get, cycles CAN be broken. Good people do exist, and help can be found. And Cait's writing style is just art, okay? Pardon me, a moment. Someone's chopping invisible onions. I need to go tell them to stop.
    more
  • Emily Mead
    January 1, 1970
    FINALLY GETTING AROUND TO REVIEWING THIS. I'VE BEEN THINKING ABOUT IT SINCE I FINISHED READING IT A WEEK AGO.I first read this book as an early draft, and BOY has it come in leaps and bounds. In every page you can feel Sam's yearning for a family and a home, and his fierce love for his older brother Avery. I love the chaotic De Laineys and Moxie and all the glitter. It will probably make you cry.
    more
  • Aimee ♥ | Aimee, Always
    January 1, 1970
    cait pretty much wrecked us with a thousand perfect notes, we're all gonna wanna read this
  • Fuzaila
    January 1, 1970
    Be prepared for broken boys, the best angsty siblings, rainbow skirts and waffles and lots of fistfighting laced with heartbreak is all I'm saying.
  • Bee
    January 1, 1970
    Novel Ink ~ Quite The Novel IdeaMINI-REVIEWThe first time I read this book, it was just the third draft and I was merely a beta reader. But even then I loved it to pieces. Sam, Avery, Moxie, Jeremy, Jack, Mr De Lainey,... every single character had my heart. And I'm absolutely thrilled I can tell you that I still love it to pieces. Cait has written yet another beautiful story with amazing characters that just feel real and all I want right now is go to the De Laineys on a Sunday and have the De Novel Ink ~ Quite The Novel IdeaMINI-REVIEWThe first time I read this book, it was just the third draft and I was merely a beta reader. But even then I loved it to pieces. Sam, Avery, Moxie, Jeremy, Jack, Mr De Lainey,... every single character had my heart. And I'm absolutely thrilled I can tell you that I still love it to pieces. Cait has written yet another beautiful story with amazing characters that just feel real and all I want right now is go to the De Laineys on a Sunday and have the De Lainey waffle special. I can talk about this for hours, obviously, but I actually don't want to spoil much for you guys. Instead I'm going to encourage you to read this book and fall in love with it just like I did, for a second time in a row.THE BOY WHO STEALS HOUSES is a beautiful story about a messy boy falling headfirst into a warm welcoming family and finding a home. The writing is gorgeous and yes, I cried, but in the end I felt like I was wrapped up in a nice warm blanket and I just need more times with this amazing family.FAVORITE QUOTESHe doesn't break into houses because he enjoys stealing. He stalks vacant windows and tricks locks and sleeps in stolen beds because he just wants to be home.~~~"We are the kings of nowhere," Sammy says. "We only need us."~~~"You can do monstrous things and not be a monster."~~~Boys like him don't get the girl. They go to jail.
    more
  • Janani(ஜனனி)
    January 1, 1970
    hubs and i had a discussion and came to a mutual agreement: sammy lou will be our son.OH. MY. FUCKING. GOD. HOLY. CUPCAKE. This was so fucking good. I can't tell you all how much i love this book. This. Goddamn. Book. It ruined me. It healed me. It teared me apart. It pieced me together. If i had saved my tears, i would've saved an entire kingdom from drought. The book has become so precious to me. I want to hug Sam and tell him that he has home.
    more
  • Bea Williams
    January 1, 1970
    *I recieved a free copy of this book in return for an honest review. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own* Sam is a thief. But a rather strange sort of one. What he does, you see, is steal houses. Going from place to place, breaking in and spending nights – for one reason and one alone. You see, all Sam wants... is to find home.But every few nights, the real owners of his stolen home will return – and he is forced to leave again, never settling, constantly searching for his own bubbl *I recieved a free copy of this book in return for an honest review. All opinions expressed here are entirely my own* Sam is a thief. But a rather strange sort of one. What he does, you see, is steal houses. Going from place to place, breaking in and spending nights – for one reason and one alone. You see, all Sam wants... is to find home.But every few nights, the real owners of his stolen home will return – and he is forced to leave again, never settling, constantly searching for his own bubble of safety and life. And all the while, his father is in prison, his brother is falling deeper and deeper into the wrong crowd, and Sam... Sam is wanted by the police. So he never stops moving, never stops running. Never... stops.Until one day, he breaks into a house that isn't really empty. And wakes in the midst of a family. I read this entire book in one go, unable to stop – to leave Sam alone in his story, even for a moment. And by the time I finished, I had EIGHTY-FOUR places in it marked (I read it on Kindle). My legs went weak, my heart was tearing apart – and I loved every moment of it!“Forget stealing a bed, a key, a home for the night. He's stealing families and their Sunday lunches.”This book was so full of sweetness – of characters pulling together to help one another, forgiving each other, and all acting like one lovely big found family. One moment that really pulled at my heartstrings was when the older brother of one character tells Sam (the main character) that if he ever needs something to eat, he should come to them – without question. They're also constantly trying to feed Sam up, and are just so lovely to him! And the dad of this family – the DeLaineys – is doing the best he can in a difficult, tight on money situation – and still has the time to care about Sam and his situation. Also, I really admired how this dad managed his family – holding things together by the skin of his teeth, but in the most loving, kind way possible. Overall, all the family in this book was so, so sweet!“A frazzled girl who's melting into the bliss of sweets.”When I read C.G. Drews' debut, 'A Thousand Perfect Notes', I fell in love with her writing. 'The Boy Who Steals Houses' has served to solidify that even further! Every moment of this book felt precious. I loved it all, and want to read it again like...now. I spent a wonderful evening deep in its beauty.
    more
  • Finn Longman
    January 1, 1970
    YESSSSSSSSI started this just before midnight and was done shortly after 1am and immediately went online to yell at Cait because you can't just ?? end it there ?? where is the rest?????Anyway review to come, or you could read me rambling about it on Twitter, idk
    more
  • Maraia
    January 1, 1970
    This book has a special place in my heart, and each time I read it, my love only grows. As with any book Drews writes, it’s not light or fluffy. It will rip out your heart and stomp on it – but it will be worth it. In The Boy Who Steals Houses, you can expect precious characters in desperate need of a hug, great family dynamics, and lots of food. It also has #ownvoices representation for autism and anxiety. I love the characters to pieces, and I just want them to be safe and happy and to realize This book has a special place in my heart, and each time I read it, my love only grows. As with any book Drews writes, it’s not light or fluffy. It will rip out your heart and stomp on it – but it will be worth it. In The Boy Who Steals Houses, you can expect precious characters in desperate need of a hug, great family dynamics, and lots of food. It also has #ownvoices representation for autism and anxiety. I love the characters to pieces, and I just want them to be safe and happy and to realize how loved they are. The Boy Who Steals Houses has scenes that put a silly grin on my face, and there are others that leave me feeling gutted. It’s the perfect mix of emotions. Basically, there’s no reason not to read this amazing book.
    more
  • R.M. Archer
    January 1, 1970
    THERE'S A COVER! :D :D :D
  • Kael
    January 1, 1970
    Cait has done it again! After being blown away by her debut, A Thousand Perfect Notes, I knew that her sophomore son would be nothing short of incredible.Our story follows Sammy Lou (the smolest 15-year-old boy to ever live) on his mission to find a home for himself and his autistic older brother, Avery. The Lou brothers, having been abused and cast aside by those who're meant to take care of them, resort to theft and "stealing houses" in the hopes of one day having a home all their own. This pr Cait has done it again! After being blown away by her debut, A Thousand Perfect Notes, I knew that her sophomore son would be nothing short of incredible.Our story follows Sammy Lou (the smolest 15-year-old boy to ever live) on his mission to find a home for himself and his autistic older brother, Avery. The Lou brothers, having been abused and cast aside by those who're meant to take care of them, resort to theft and "stealing houses" in the hopes of one day having a home all their own. This proves difficult for Sammy, however, being that his default setting for anyone hurting his brother is violence. On the run, with not only keys, but a secret in his pocket, he stubbles upon a yellow house, who's inhabitants end up changing his life forever.Cait is the master of creating the most precious, lovable characters that you just want to protect at all costs, and then punching you in the gut whilst cackling maniacally saying, "Oh, you thought I was going to be nice to them?? WRONG!" But, despite the emotional trauma, I love this book with my whole entire heart. And dare I say, even more than A Thousand Perfect Notes. I just connected with this story on a whole other level, but it had nothing to do with Sam and Avery. Don't get me wrong, I love them and their fierce love for each other, but what really did it for me is the De Laineys.I have eleven younger siblings. Zero older siblings. I live with seven of them (the De Lainey children total 7), and I just related so. much. The chaos, the arguing, the sticky babies, just the sheer overwhelming responsibility..... I live it everyday. And I especially related to Moxie and her position. Now, by the grace of God I still have my mother, but she and my dad are often very busy working to make sure we have a house to sleep in and food to eat. So I very much feel like a second mom, and my siblings (especially the babies) often look to me for meals, and clean laundry, and kissing their knees when thy fall. So I completely understood Moxie's tiredness and the frustration of just wanting to live her own life. And I'm not proud of it, but I could also relate to her selfish attitude of sometimes thinking she's the only one going through it and being a bitch to everyone else. I really adore this family so much. Mr. De Lainey is freaking father of the year. He is so kind and patient and loving and he had me snotting and crying at the end of this book! Jeremy and Jack are so wild - they had me cracking up every time they spoke. I can't relate to having older brothers, but I can definitely relate to having extremely annoying, unhelpful little brothers who I just want to stuff in a crate and ship somewhere very far away from me. Moxie had me cracking up with her "rankings of usefulness" chart because it was just so accurate. But just like the De Lanieys, I wouldn't trade it for anything.I can't forget to mention that this book is own voices for the anxiety and autisim rep. You can really tell that Cait left her whole heart and soul on the pages and I will continue to champion her work. I eagerly await whatever she's got next.
    more
  • rachel
    January 1, 1970
    ➸ Trigger warnings for (view spoiler)[ableism, ableist language, child abuse, physical & verbal abuse, panic attacks, anxiety, suicide ideation, self harm mentioned, alcohol consumption, recreational drug use mentioned, blood/physical injuries, serious injury to a loved one, physical assault, bullying, and homelessness (central theme) (hide spoiler)]. Blog • Goodreads • Twitter • Instagram
    more
  • Nicole Hewitt
    January 1, 1970
    This book is pure perfection, crafted with Cait’s special brand of lyrical writing, witty banter and heartwrenching circumstances.Sam’s reality is painful–he’s trying to care for an older brother since all of the adults in his life have failed him. All he wants in life is a home, a place to belong, but for him, that feels like a distant dream. Plus, he’s living with the repercussions of a cycle of abuse passed down from his father (not to mention the neglect and emotional abuse inflicted by his This book is pure perfection, crafted with Cait’s special brand of lyrical writing, witty banter and heartwrenching circumstances.Sam’s reality is painful–he’s trying to care for an older brother since all of the adults in his life have failed him. All he wants in life is a home, a place to belong, but for him, that feels like a distant dream. Plus, he’s living with the repercussions of a cycle of abuse passed down from his father (not to mention the neglect and emotional abuse inflicted by his aunt), and he fears that he might not be able ever truly break that cycle. Sam is a kid who has to make very adult choices, and he often fails to hold the threads of his life together.I fell in love with the DeLaineys right along with Sam. They’re everything he yearns for: a strong, vibrant family, full of love and warmth. They have their fair share of issues–but they work through their problems together. The world doesn’t always revolve in their favor, but they never give up and the family never breaks down. It’s everything Sam dreams of, so it’s easy to see why he can’t quite extricate himself from them, even when he thinks he should.Since this is an #OwnVoices story about autism, it’s no surprise that the book tackles this incredibly difficult topic well. What I love is that the book manages to present Avery, Sam’s autistic brother, with dignity while still acknowledging the struggles that his autism creates for him and those around him. Sam’s pain isn’t watered down–he has had an incredibly difficult time as a young teenager who often has to take care of his older brother. And he occasionally even resents Avery. At the same time, the love between these two is palpable, and Sam is fiercely protective of his brother. He believes at his core that there’s nothing wrong with Avery and he will remind anyone and everyone of that fact emphatically (sometimes a bit too emphatically–with his fists). The relationship is complicated–and isn’t that true to life for so many sibling relationships?I could probably go on and on, but you should just read this book for yourself and find out what all the fuss is about. Prepare for tears and laughter and everything in between–but mostly, prepare to fall in love with one small, broken boy who just wants to find a place to call home.
    more
  • Tara ☽
    January 1, 1970
    This cover just reached out and lovingly patted my hair and told me everything was going to be okay
  •  Amelia
    January 1, 1970
    Guys, I'm so sad to have to say this...but I'm slightly disappointed :/ Look, I'm a huge fan of C.G.Drews (Paper Fury). I've been following her blog since the beginning of time and I love her style, her jokes, her attitude and everything. And I absolutely LOVED her debut - A Thousand Perfect Notes. But this one...it was just missing something, you know? It had an insane amount of food and family vibes and sibling banter and all the cute stuff my cold heart needs from time to time, but that's abo Guys, I'm so sad to have to say this...but I'm slightly disappointed :/ Look, I'm a huge fan of C.G.Drews (Paper Fury). I've been following her blog since the beginning of time and I love her style, her jokes, her attitude and everything. And I absolutely LOVED her debut - A Thousand Perfect Notes. But this one...it was just missing something, you know? It had an insane amount of food and family vibes and sibling banter and all the cute stuff my cold heart needs from time to time, but that's about it. The plot is kind of messy and I don't understand Sam at all, but maybe that was the point? Idk. He and his brother have been surviving on their own for YEARS and yet, he makes a lot of stupid mistakes. He even says so himself "I shouldn't do it" and then he does it. Repeatedly. That's just it. His behavior is all over the place. I understand that he's tired of this type of lifestyle and just wants to take care of his brother - but it seems like his personality suddenly changed the moment we meet him. When he talks about his past - the years he spent thieving before we get to know him - he says he is very capable and knows how to get in and out without making any mistakes, can pick a lock in a matter of seconds etc. And yet, from the first page, he can't do any of those things. He constantly takes risks he knows he shouldn't (e.g. sleeping in their study room WHILE THEY'RE THERE) and he keeps saying mean stuff to his brother knowing he will take it badly. I'm not saying I expect perfection - but when an MC keeps making the same mistake over and over again, I get slightly annoyed. Moxie and her whole family are just #goals. I loved their interactions and I loved their little fights - we get to see the good and the bad parts. This was definitely the strongest part of the book + the rare Avery/Sam moments where they're not fighting. The ending was fine. It was definitely not HEA and I liked it, it would've been completely unrealistic if everything aligned perfectly. Although, it was still slightly weird how Moxie just let Sam back in their house and let him stay the whole summer - they barely knew each other and he did some creepy stuff (view spoiler)[(I mean, he slept in their house without them knowing, stayed the whole day eating/ playing with them and wore their clothes - that's creepy in my book) + he stole their money which somehow nobody noticed. Also, I didn't understand how they had the money for Sam's lawyer and to pay another employee (Avery) when their father said they barely had enough money for groceries + they are a huge family + Sam stole their emergency money = ?? (hide spoiler)]. I don't know, maybe my expectations were too high. This story just didn't work for me :(
    more
  • Lauren
    January 1, 1970
    TW: child abuseHonestly C.G. Drews has such a fantastic way with words! She pours her heart and soul into her work and on every page it clearly shows! I was making a note of all of the beautiful descriptions throughout and I can tell you now, there are A LOT! I will insert a few of my favourites soon...This book is a powerful read; it is brutal, raw and presents society with some very ugly and uncomfortable truths - namely how adults fail children, how these children are abused time and time aga TW: child abuseHonestly C.G. Drews has such a fantastic way with words! She pours her heart and soul into her work and on every page it clearly shows! I was making a note of all of the beautiful descriptions throughout and I can tell you now, there are A LOT! I will insert a few of my favourites soon...This book is a powerful read; it is brutal, raw and presents society with some very ugly and uncomfortable truths - namely how adults fail children, how these children are abused time and time again (not only by their elders but by their counterparts) and how they struggle to find themselves and learn from past mistakes. Sam and Avery Lou are two brilliantly-fleshed out characters (the latter being autistic) and the former doing everything in his power to prevent his brother from being hurt and used. It is about brotherly love, about having dreams no matter how far-fetched they are, about having hope and believing things can get better because they often will. I also loved the De Lainey family - I thought they all had their own individual personalities and Moxie and Jeremy really shone to me - they were fabulous! If you are sensitive in any way to child abuse or the abuse of an autistic character then only proceed with this book if you think you can handle it because some of the scenes are disgusting, deeply unpleasant and very upsetting! C.G. Drews has crafted another thoroughly engaging, hard-hitting and deeply affecting story about two brothers who just want to find a place they can call home...and perhaps get the girl too. 4.5 stars
    more
  • lucie
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 starsBeautifully sad but not as strong as A Thousand Perfect Notes.
  • Lizz
    January 1, 1970
    The Boy Who Steals Houses is about Sam and his older brother Avery, who is autistic. Sam and Avery were firstly abandoned by their mother, and were left with their abusive father. Once their father had had enough of them he took Sam and Avery to their Aunt’s place, but she didn’t want them either.“ Sam spends his life hitting the world and smoothing over the rusty corners so Avery won’t fall and hurt himself.”We switch between the past and the present, learning about Sam and Avery’s upbringing a The Boy Who Steals Houses is about Sam and his older brother Avery, who is autistic. Sam and Avery were firstly abandoned by their mother, and were left with their abusive father. Once their father had had enough of them he took Sam and Avery to their Aunt’s place, but she didn’t want them either.“ Sam spends his life hitting the world and smoothing over the rusty corners so Avery won’t fall and hurt himself.”We switch between the past and the present, learning about Sam and Avery’s upbringing as the story progresses. The emotions I felt through out this book were so real, that all I wanted to do was jump into the pages and save them both.I love Sam and Avery’s relationship so so so much. How Sam loves and protects his brother, and Sam understanding Avery for all that he is and not just his autism.“Can you do that?’ Avery whispers. ‘Steal houses?’‘Yeah,’ Sammy says. ‘Yeah, of course I can.’I SEE WHAT YOU DID THERE CAIT AND MY HEART IS NOT OKAY!I enjoyed the fact that the book wasn’t solely based on Sams relationship with Moxie, but about his relationship with his brother and the realness of the life that they have lived.There was no sugar coating any parts of the story, it just felt raw and real and I LOVE books that make you feel that way.And I just have to talk about my favourite characters a little (in no particular order because I just love them all tbh):I LOVE THE DE LAINEY’S! You get the sense of this is what Sam has been missing, and what he has been craving. The De Laineys are loud and chaotic and full of love, but not without their own heartbreak.Moxie is a bad ass and I love her. As the only girl in my family, I can relate to Moxie being surrounded by boys, but also being so strong willed and strong minded, and telling it how it is and just being herself.Sammy Lou, a boy who loves his brother, who is so protective when it comes to him, but a boy who just needs love too, and who just wants to feel like he belongs. Ugh love him.And I need to mention Avery. He is precious and needs to be protected at all costs! My heart broke for Avery so many times during this story, and Sam too.And the ending?! I’m praying to the book Gods for a sequel! (Please)Overall The Boy Who Steals houses was a beautiful story, one that made me cry, and one that made me want to rip the characters right out of the pages of the book and tuck them away so they would be safe.“He doesn’t break into houses because he enjoys stealing. He stalks vacant windows and tricks locks and sleeps in stolen beds because he just wants to be home.”Cait has a way with words I tell you. AMAZING. It’s like the book writing gods were sprinkling talent glitter on people and then they got to Cait and got distracted and just kept pouring. Her story telling amazes me and the way that she uses her story to make you feel so many emotions at once is just mind blowing.If I could give this book more than 5 starts, I definitely would. Sam and Avery will always have a home in my heart.Released April 9th 2019.A huge thank you to Netgalley and Hachette Childrens books Australia for allowing me to read a digital arc of TBWSH for an honest review.
    more
  • Kelsea
    January 1, 1970
    I keep trying to write a review that does this book justice, and I keep failing, because I find it so hard to review books I love. But I’m going to try again and just do my best!Because this book is worth reading. And I *need* you all to read it too so you can discuss and fangirl ad FEEL TRAUMATIZED with me!Let’s talk about:THE CHARACTERS!There are a LOT of characters in TBWSH. And they’re wonderfully distinct! Each character feels like a real person, with hopes and dreams and goals and a full-b I keep trying to write a review that does this book justice, and I keep failing, because I find it so hard to review books I love. But I’m going to try again and just do my best!Because this book is worth reading. And I *need* you all to read it too so you can discuss and fangirl ad FEEL TRAUMATIZED with me!Let’s talk about:THE CHARACTERS!There are a LOT of characters in TBWSH. And they’re wonderfully distinct! Each character feels like a real person, with hopes and dreams and goals and a full-blown personality. I’m usually awful at remembering character names, but I had no trouble in this book, because they’re all so different.Sam is somehow both majorly flawed and also very, very lovable. I just wanted him to be safe! And happy! His background really informs his actions and struggles and I loved that, even while my heart broke for him.Moxie is amazing! She’s reliable, taking on family responsibilities even while feeling understandably resentful at times of the burdens placed on her. She’s also SUCH a badass and so genuine, I just love her. Plus she designs the COOLEST outfits! (I need her to be real so I can buy them plz)Avery, Sam’s brother, is written so, so well. This is an own voices story and while I can’t speak to the accuracy from personal experience, I can say that the portrayal of Avery’s autism and how it affected both his and Sam’s lives felt very realistic to my knowledge of autism. The way Avery is treated by others — who don’t understand and/or don’t want to understand him — was reminiscent of Nobody Nowhere, Donna Williams’s autobiography detailing her experiences as an autistic girl (and later, woman).The rest of the characters each play more minor roles, and yet somehow they’re just as vivacious in each scene they’re a part of.THE THEMES!CG manages to pack in a lot of important themes without their inclusion feeling heavy handed. I won’t go into all of them because spoilers, but I think it’s pretty safe to talk about homelessness, since it’s in the title of the book. This is a theme I haven’t seen explored often in novels and especially not with such depth.I think this was so well done. I don’t know much about homelessness in Australia (where the author lives), so I can only speak to it as a US resident. There are a lot of homeless kids and adults here and it’s a problem that’s not often addressed, and even more rarely in a sympathetic, humanizing way.I absolutely love how we slowly uncover all of the pieces of Sam and Avery’s past, that we understand how and why they are in their current position. And most powerfully of all, we feel for them. We experience their hopes, their dreams, their terrors, their pain and sacrifices.It made me think about homelessness - REALLY think about it. And I’m still thinking about it, several weeks after finishing the book.That’s the kind of power TBWSH holds.Um, so this accidentally became my longest review ever? And I feel like I’ve only addressed about 20% of why I love this book, but there’s also power in discovering the story for yourself. So I’ll cut myself off soon.I would like to add that TBWSH is full of humor and heartwarming scenes and many kinds of love and family, just as much as it is a tale that goes dark and explores some of the worst parts of human nature. I highlighted a ton of passages in the story - ones that made me laugh, were interesting in how they were written, or just felt really powerful.So go forth now and preorder/order/read this book! I’ll just leave you with a warning-suggestion: have some serious snacks on hand because TBWSH will make you HUNGRY.Thank you to Hachette UK and Netgalley UK for providing me with an eARC of the book in exchange for an honest review! All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Els
    January 1, 1970
    A one-sitting read that ABSOLUTELY RIPPED MY HEART OUT (there was actual sobbing) & also made me wonder if our dear Cait only likes writing about broken boys & their environmentalist girlfriends. (AUGUST & MOXIE ARE MY ROYALTY, THOUGH. Do not disturb.)
    more
Write a review