Ruthless Gods (Something Dark and Holy, #2)
The stunning sequel to instant New York Times bestseller, Wicked Saints!Darkness never works alone...Nadya doesn’t trust her magic anymore. Serefin is fighting off a voice in his head that doesn’t belong to him. Malachiasz is at war with who--and what--he’s become. As their group is continually torn apart, the girl, the prince, and the monster find their fates irrevocably intertwined. They’re pieces on a board, being orchestrated by someone… or something. The voices that Serefin hears in the darkness, the ones that Nadya believes are her gods, the ones that Malachiasz is desperate to meet—those voices want a stake in the world, and they refuse to stay quiet any longer.In her dramatic follow-up to Wicked Saints, the first book in her Something Dark and Holy trilogy, Emily A. Duncan paints a Gothic, icy world where shadows whisper, and no one is who they seem, with a shocking ending that will leave you breathless.

Ruthless Gods (Something Dark and Holy, #2) Details

TitleRuthless Gods (Something Dark and Holy, #2)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseApr 7th, 2020
PublisherMacmillan
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult

Ruthless Gods (Something Dark and Holy, #2) Review

  • Emily A. Duncan
    January 1, 1970
    it's weird! it's cerebral! everyone is sad! it nearly killed me! it's a good 100 pages longer than WICKED SAINTS! if you like cosmic horror, forests that want to eat you, and very sad very pretty boys and very tired very done with everything girls then i have a book for you. that's all, see ya in 2020.edit: 6.19.19: ~we have a cover~ and i'm just going to come out ahead of arcs and put the necessary content warnings here because we're dealing with about the same level of blood/self harm as Wicke it's weird! it's cerebral! everyone is sad! it nearly killed me! it's a good 100 pages longer than WICKED SAINTS! if you like cosmic horror, forests that want to eat you, and very sad very pretty boys and very tired very done with everything girls then i have a book for you. that's all, see ya in 2020.edit: 6.19.19: ~we have a cover~ and i'm just going to come out ahead of arcs and put the necessary content warnings here because we're dealing with about the same level of blood/self harm as Wicked Saints, about the same level of alcoholism (Serefin is Having A Time), i guess the same level of gore? That one is rough because each person's understanding of what gore is in a book is different, I didn't think WS was particularly gory but some readers did! So! Keep that in mind I think RG is about the same level in regards to that, some minor drug use as a magic avenue (it's mushrooms, but still!), the big one in this book is body horror/eye horror. Mainly eye horror. There is so much eye horror in this book I don't know what happened. So if eye stuff gets to you (it gets to me idk how i wrote this) I'd be careful with this one!edit: 8.1.19: i have the Actual Page Numbers now and while there's weird eye stuff throughout the book but there's massive eye trauma on pages 513/514. So, those are the pages to avoid if it's something that squicks you out, and they absolutely can be skipped, you can figure out what happens in them in the next chapter.
    more
  • Nastassja
    January 1, 1970
    THE FEELING WHEN YOU GET APPROVED FOR THE ARC OF ONE OF YOUR MOST DESIRED RELEASES: How to be ruined by a book in three days:-Start a book you don't expect anything from.- Read a little bit and feel sure that NOTHING WILL TOUCH YOU IN THIS STORY.- Then sometime later realize you are actually enjoying it.- Go from mildly interested into full fangirl mode- I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHAT'S GOING ON BUT I LOVE IT- OMG, WHAT'S GOING ON?!!!!- CALL FOR HELP, PLEASE, I DON'T KNOW HOW TO COPE WITH IT.-WHAT TH THE FEELING WHEN YOU GET APPROVED FOR THE ARC OF ONE OF YOUR MOST DESIRED RELEASES: How to be ruined by a book in three days:-Start a book you don't expect anything from.- Read a little bit and feel sure that NOTHING WILL TOUCH YOU IN THIS STORY.- Then sometime later realize you are actually enjoying it.- Go from mildly interested into full fangirl mode- I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHAT'S GOING ON BUT I LOVE IT- OMG, WHAT'S GOING ON?!!!!- CALL FOR HELP, PLEASE, I DON'T KNOW HOW TO COPE WITH IT.-WHAT THE FUCK HAPPENED AND WHO DO I NEED TO KILL TO GET MY HANDS ON BOOK 2?!- I AM DEAD, AM I NOT?- OH LOOK, WHAT DO I SEE THERE? I BELIEVE IT'S CALLED A SEVERE CASE OF HANGOVER APPROACHING RAPIDLY.- WHAT HAVE I SIGNED MYSELF FOR?! *crawls into the darkest corner of the world to suffer*
    more
  • megs_bookrack
    January 1, 1970
    9/4/19: Putting this back on the shelf for a moment. I basically flipped out when I received this. I started reading it right away but it doesn't release until April 2020! I have so many other things I need to focus on right now. Plan to pick it back up in December or January! Note to self: Chill the f* out, Meg!ARE YOU FREAKING KIDDING ME!?!?Thank you so much to Wednesday Books.The fact that I can read this right now...I just cannot even express my appreciation....the most blood lusty cover eve 9/4/19: Putting this back on the shelf for a moment. I basically flipped out when I received this. I started reading it right away but it doesn't release until April 2020! I have so many other things I need to focus on right now. Plan to pick it back up in December or January! Note to self: Chill the f* out, Meg!ARE YOU FREAKING KIDDING ME!?!?Thank you so much to Wednesday Books.The fact that I can read this right now...I just cannot even express my appreciation....the most blood lusty cover ever to cover...Gotta say, I'm here for it!
    more
  • Alaina
    January 1, 1970
    OMG THIS IS ON NETGALLEY RIGHT FREAKING NOW. I WANT IT 😱😱😍😍GUYS OMG OMG OMGI GOT THIS FUCKING ARC. I'M SO EXCITED. WHAT IS LIFE.
  • Ash | EmeraldBookOwl
    January 1, 1970
    THANK YOU, NETGALLEY!:):):)so prettycan't breathei need i need i needbook 1 Wicked Saints 5/5 ★
  • Jessica Bibi
    January 1, 1970
    12/18--will review closer to 2020 lmao but i am SHOOK AND DISTRAUGHT, I TELL YOU. SHOOK AND DISTRAUGHT!!!!!
  • Amy Imogene Reads
    January 1, 1970
    (I'm so ready)Thoughts on Wicked Saints.
  • maya
    January 1, 1970
    COVERguess who was just approved for an arcThIS BItCHthank you god
  • Celia McMahon
    January 1, 1970
    Hello. I am here to tell you that I was one of those people severely disappointed by THE WICKED SAINTS, but a glutton for punishment since I snatched up the sequel. It is with a light heart that I tell those naysayers that this sequel far surpasses its predecessor. The writing is so much better, and the story had so much DARK. Although I still did not feel truly connected to the characters (save for Serefin. He is my little cinnamon roll), it did not affect my rating as much. That ending, though Hello. I am here to tell you that I was one of those people severely disappointed by THE WICKED SAINTS, but a glutton for punishment since I snatched up the sequel. It is with a light heart that I tell those naysayers that this sequel far surpasses its predecessor. The writing is so much better, and the story had so much DARK. Although I still did not feel truly connected to the characters (save for Serefin. He is my little cinnamon roll), it did not affect my rating as much. That ending, though. WTF WAS THAT???? fhvi;snkuu9wojsvk($904jegnIf you want more dark, more violence, more lovely deaths, this is the one you've been waiting for. *lets out a breath of relief*
    more
  • Katrin D
    January 1, 1970
    Excuse me, but this cover is one of the most depressing things I've seen lately.
  • booksneedcaffeinetoo
    January 1, 1970
    i'm just here to read about a tattooed Malachiasz dripping in blood and covered in iron spikes.i love dark books staring monsters, blood, cool outfits, and that goth aesthetic. mmkay. the trilogy is called Something Dark and Holy but really it should be called Something Dark and Bloody. you know...because everyone is always covered in blood. (if this trilogy was made into a movie half the budget would go into making the fake blood.)
    more
  • Tiffany BookwormFiles
    January 1, 1970
    (physical arc provided by the publisher)Ha...haha...ha...That’s the sound of my nervous, terrified laughter throughout this book. MY CHILDREN. My sweet, horrible, bloody, disgusting, awful children! *Okay, form a coherent thought*Ruthless Gods is the Slavic Chaotic Cosmic Horror (a new genre?) I was dyyyyying for. Wicked Saints was dark at points, but this book is So Much MORE. These three ridiculous kids are just so in over their heads. Someone is always covered in blood. There’s so much Eye St (physical arc provided by the publisher)Ha...haha...ha...That’s the sound of my nervous, terrified laughter throughout this book. MY CHILDREN. My sweet, horrible, bloody, disgusting, awful children! *Okay, form a coherent thought*Ruthless Gods is the Slavic Chaotic Cosmic Horror (a new genre?) I was dyyyyying for. Wicked Saints was dark at points, but this book is So Much MORE. These three ridiculous kids are just so in over their heads. Someone is always covered in blood. There’s so much Eye Stuff. The gods are supremely pissed. All the side-characters are just trying to keep up with all the awful decisions their friends keep making. Serefin is still just so damn tired! It’s GLORIOUS. It ripped my heart out. This isn’t out until April so I’m not going to give anything away. But just, OMFG. My GD heart! Where do I go from here?!
    more
  • Carol (StarAngel's Reviews) Allen
    January 1, 1970
    Damn...I know you have heard this many many times...but that ending? Gut wrenching...bewilderment...anticipation...with a bit of hope!And to wait another year to find out what happens to our cleric, prince, monster, and queen? Ugh...I am going to go through withdrawal!Full review to come in 2020
    more
  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    January 1, 1970
    Please be better than the first book, please be better than the first book
  • Laura
    January 1, 1970
    Um, EXCUSE ME. I BETTER HAVE ANSWERS AND HAPPY THINGS BECAUSE I AM DISTRAUGHT AFTER WICKED SAINTS. I don't mean to shout but I have so many feelings and I never learned how to communicate them appropriately.
  • Emily (moonlight&moths)
    January 1, 1970
    I was told that if I liked the last quarter of the first book I would love this one. So despite my slight annoyance at the first book I’m reluctantly hoping the second one is better. Crossing my fingers for spooky cosmic horror.
  • Nia •ShadesOfPaper•
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you Macmillan and Wednesday Books for the ARC.Blog | Twitter | Instagram | BlogLovin’
  • Tori Kiersten Frost
    January 1, 1970
    RUTHLESS GODS builds a whole new genre on the foundation laid by Emily Duncan's debut, WICKED SAINTS. Combining cosmic horror, Slavic folklore, and a thread of theology, this book is unlike anything else I've encountered in YA fantasy. Readers who crave the gothic thrills of video games like Bloodborne and the arcane adventures and witty banter of a good Dungeons & Dragons campaign will easily fall under this series' spell.
    more
  • mandabutler
    January 1, 1970
    I received an advanced reader copy e-book of Ruthless Gods via NetGalley, St. Martin’s Press, and Wednesday Books. All opinions are my own. I read Wicked Saints in July and I loved it. I was so eager to get Ruthless Gods, I didn’t want to wait until April! I was so thankful to receive an e-arc through NetGalley. This is my first highly anticipated e-arc.Wicked Saints left us wanting more, and Ruthless Gods brings it. This book brings more death, magic, gods, and confusion. Everyone has power but I received an advanced reader copy e-book of Ruthless Gods via NetGalley, St. Martin’s Press, and Wednesday Books. All opinions are my own. I read Wicked Saints in July and I loved it. I was so eager to get Ruthless Gods, I didn’t want to wait until April! I was so thankful to receive an e-arc through NetGalley. This is my first highly anticipated e-arc.Wicked Saints left us wanting more, and Ruthless Gods brings it. This book brings more death, magic, gods, and confusion. Everyone has power but no one knows how to use it and it is CHAOS. In Wicked Saints, we only hear Nadya and Serefin’s points of views, but Ruthless Gods brings us those points of views with the additions of Malachiasz, Parijahan, and Kacper. This sequel answers many questions that I was left with after book one, but there are so many more unanswered questions. While most of Wicked Saints took place in Tranavia, this book takes places in Kalyazia and you learn more abou the magic and history, as well as meet many new characters. However, the journey mainly follows Serefin, Nadya, and Malachiasz as they work to fix (or finish) what they started. The gods are angry and magic is changed. What is Nadya and where did the magic she possesses come from? Will Serefin survive his second chance at life long enough to prove himself as the new King of Tranavia? Is Malachiasz lost forever as a monster or is the lost boy still there? I do especially love that the stories of Kacper, Parijahan, Katya, Ostyia and Rashid were expanded and twisted with the pasts and futures of our main characters. Waiting until 2021 to find out how this trilogy ends will be torture.Blog | Instagram | Twitter
    more
  • Cat
    January 1, 1970
    Ruthless Gods is a dark, delicious masterful follow up to Wicked Saints, full of the darkness of nightmares, the light of it too, and blood- so much blood. Our main characters have been left in the aftermath of their decisions, haunted by each other and the echo of what was cut away, floundering for a reason to go on, a way to fix what was broken. But with a break like that, they need to be broken more, again, to even try to heal. And this is what Ruthless Gods is, but it's not the clean break a Ruthless Gods is a dark, delicious masterful follow up to Wicked Saints, full of the darkness of nightmares, the light of it too, and blood- so much blood. Our main characters have been left in the aftermath of their decisions, haunted by each other and the echo of what was cut away, floundering for a reason to go on, a way to fix what was broken. But with a break like that, they need to be broken more, again, to even try to heal. And this is what Ruthless Gods is, but it's not the clean break a doctor administers before setting a bone, it's ruthless, it's gore laden, dropping in shadows, and disgusting. There's an Eldritch god made by their own hand and the lost cleric who loves them despite it, and lies abound dancing circles around themselves until they might as well be truth. Sentient forests out to kill the non divine by driving them mad to boot. And in the end, the doctor(author) chops the leg off in a brutal fashion when it could have easily healed(if you wanted a bad book.) Duncan has done it, she has created a second book, a middle book, that doesn't get lost in the heart of what it is, the crossroads of the journey. It is just as important as the first, and will be just as important as the end. And by god is it a horrifying ride all it's own, a knife at your throat promising blood and pain that you'll willingly reach for. Ruthless Gods is a beautiful book, as beautiful as it is ugly, and that's what makes it perfect.
    more
  • Christina Helms
    January 1, 1970
    I need this book now! How can you make us wait until 2020? I went into Wicked Saints expecting to either like it or hate it. I didn't know it would destroy me (in the best way possible)! We need a support group to get us through the wait 😂
  • Virginja ↢ 99% imp
    January 1, 1970
    Just looked through the author insta page and found out that the non-sense prophecy of the two-bit witch involves other two character whose names are probably Torin and Artanna. Enjoy the infos and let me know when this book is out so I can DESTROY IT PIECE BY PIECE.
    more
  • Megan
    January 1, 1970
    Here's hoping this one is even better than the first!
  • Jenna Major
    January 1, 1970
    I am very conflicted about this cover. On one hand it's very mature and grim which I like, but I also find it's lacking the AHHHH factor of the Wicked Saints cover.
  • Meedah
    January 1, 1970
    Review to come but ONGAWWWWWWWD WHAT EVEN ARE WORDS!!!?
  • Melissa ♥ Dog/Wolf Lover ♥ Martin
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you Netgalley!!! Mel 🖤🐶🐺🐾
  • Mia
    January 1, 1970
    Need me some more Serefin
  • Seo
    January 1, 1970
    please we must protect serefin, king of moths
  • Elza B
    January 1, 1970
    Me: *was ambivalent about Wicked Saints*Still me: *sees the author calling this "Serefin's book" Also me: *sighs* guess I'm going to have to read this then if my boy takes center stage
  • BLGB
    January 1, 1970
    The title. The title!ThE TitLE!Serefin, bring me the stars
Write a review